Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
154 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Canadaigua Trip

5 en septiembre 18, 2014

Lynne and Bill were so gracious and accommodating. The morning was always started with a delicious homemade breakfast made using local produce. We were given fresh towels and wash cloths every day and little chocolate candies appeared in our rooms every evening. Also were given history of the house and the general area with recommendations for things to do and places to eat. There were games, jigsaw puzzles,DVDs ,etc available for us to enjoy. Our rooms were very comfortable and each one was decorated with wonderful antiques as was the major portion of the house


Very enjoyable stay

4,0 en septiembre 18, 2014

The Keipers paid attention to many small but important details in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. We brought our bikes with us, and well before our arrival Bill contacted us to offer help in designing appropriate cycling routes for our level and experience. It's a very welcoming place and we look forward to future visits when in the Finger Lakes area.


Very comfortable and peaceful stay

4,8 en septiembre 06, 2014

We only stayed 1 night but Bill and Lynn made our stay feel like we were at home!


Great accommodations, food, and service!

5 en septiembre 03, 2014

Oliver Phelps was our first Bed and Breakfast. My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary there and we could not have asked for anything better. Beautiful rooms, excellent service, and the food was outstanding. I would recommend Oliver Phelps and definitely will make a return visit in the future. Our hosts were very accommodating and eager help with any questions we had.


Oliver Phelps Review - August 29, 2014

5 en septiembre 03, 2014

We had a fabulous time in Canandaigua last weekend capped off by a lovely stay at the Oliver Phelps B&B. Within a minute of parking our car we were greeted at the door by Bill the owner. He was very friendly and gave us a brief history of the house. The rooms were extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I would have is that the bed squeaked a lot when either of us moved. So I was cognizant of that all night. But that's minor compared to the rest of the house. Coffee was ready for us in the early morning and Lynne provided a culinary masterpiece for breakfast. We plan on coming back again and will not stay anywhere but the Oliver Phelps house. Earl & Charlene Leising Williamsville, NY

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for the kind words and the great feedback! We were unaware of the squeaky bed and will work on it today (it's an antique wood frame canopy bed and I suspect padding the wooden slats may solve the problem). We'll be happy to have you test the fix on your next visit! Thanks again.


Warm and Friendly Stay

5 en agosto 22, 2014

A charming place to stay in a lovely town. This historic house has been beautifully restored. Rooms are well appointed and all the pleasures of the town are close by. Breakfast is a feast with amazing variety and especially desert for breakfast! Our hosts made our stay even more enjoyable. Highly recommend.


Our home away from home for one blissful week each summer.

5 en agosto 22, 2014

A lovely old house, each room with it's own sweet character, sumptuous gourmet breakfasts where they flawlessly accommodate any food allergy you give them notice of, superb suggestions and advice, and innkeepers whose genuine warmth and kindness let you know that optimizing your stay with them is their paramount concern. Our review title says it all!


Highlight of our trip to the Finger Lakes

5 en agosto 18, 2014

Lynne and Bill are some of the most hospitable people you could ever meet. Lynne's cooking was like something you'd see on Master Chef, always scrumptious and making us look forward to the next morning to see what she would come up with next. Bill was so very helpful with bike routes and restaurant recommendations, even calling in for us to make reservations. If you play an instrument, bring it and play it on the back porch or gazebo in the evenings while sipping on some excellent wines or micro brews from the Finger Lakes region. Our stay here was definitely the highlight of our trip to upstate NY.


Great B&B

4,4 en agosto 07, 2014

Excellent B&B. The owners are insightful and very helpful. The home is beautiful a a short walk to stores and restaurants. We had a memorable time


Great room and gracious hosts.

5 en agosto 06, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Oliver Phelps. Room was gorgeous. Bathroom large and clean. Breakfast was delicious. We were in town for a wedding and would gladly stay here again when we are back in the area.


Great week at Oliver Phelps

5 en julio 30, 2014

I stayed at Lynne and Bill's B and B while taking a week long class at the Wine and Culinary Center last week. Even though I called very late in the game, they were able to accommodate me for all five nights. I agreed to move rooms in order to accomplish this, which was absolutely no problem, and I was able to experience 3 of their rooms! Since I had to leave early each morning, I wasn't able to attend breakfast, but Lynne was kind enough to leave a scone or muffin in my room each day! They were very helpful with local boat rentals, restaurants, sites, etc. all of which were great. There was nothing I would improve upon, and would definitely stay there next time I visit Canandaigua!


Wonderful visit

4,8 en julio 22, 2014

Lynne and Bill were fantastic hosts. They were full of helpful tips for visiting the area - including restaurant menus, maps, and books. Lynne's breakfasts were outstanding. My husband requires gluten-free food, and Lynne completely spoiled him - she even made him gluten- free cookies every day! I cannot recommend staying here enough. We are already planning on going back again.


Wonderful Stay

5 en julio 20, 2014

Beautiful home, lovely and knowledgeable hosts, delicious breakfast and very nice room. Too bad we could only stay one night.


RAVE REVIEW

5 en julio 19, 2014

Our main interests in visiting Canandaqua and the Finger Lakes were bicycling, wine tasting, and good food. Staying at the Phelps House provided a fantastic staging area to accomplish all three tasks. Also, it is within walking distance of the main part of town which was very convenient. Bill and Lynne provided a wonderful homey atmosphere that allowed us the opportunity to reach our goals for our short visit. Bill has bike routes preplanned that include waypoints for wine tasting at the vineyards and also highlights of places to visit while out exploring the area. Bill also provided plenty of good advise on places to eat...he missed his calling as concierge (I'm kidding you Bill). Always prepared with local knowledge which made the trip very enjoyable. Lynne's breakfasts were wonderful...using the local fare as her main ingredients. Never left the table hungry and we always looked forward to seeing what would be served the next morning (posted on a chalk board by the steps every afternoon...nice touch). I'm told that she keeps track of what was served on previous visits and never serves the same breakfast to repeat lodgers....Eggs Benedict for our next visit, please. Lynne and Bill certainly reinforced our concept of why we enjoy visiting B&B's on our trips. The house is decorated in a Victorian fashion and tastefully done which gives one the impression of what it would be like to live in a home of that era. Of course, not sacrificing comfort, as the beds were extremely comfortable and cable and wireless internet were also available....isn't that what we're trying to get away from on these trips though? I know, we can survive without the cable but not the internet, right? Great job, Bill and Lynne, and we will definitely return and hope to be able to stay in your lovely home again. (Practice up on TSS, Bill as it might rain on our next visit!) Kerry and Eric

Respuesta del propietario

Glad you had a good time! You'll have your choice, SPI or Avalon Hill - I found the old AH Gettysburg game in the attic.


Superlative Bed and Breakfast

5 en julio 15, 2014

Beautiful well maintained historical charming B and B.Host/hostess Extremely friendly and attuned to guests needs. Gourmet breakfast excellent. Inn keepers very knowledgeable about the history of Canandaidua and surrounding area. A Must place to stay for several days while you explore the city and area, including the wine and bike tours. A variety of guests made the visit a real plus.


Relaxing Weekend Getaway

4,6 en julio 09, 2014

Lynne and Bill are exceptional hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. The Inn is very comfortable, clean and well kept. The food was incredible. You won't need lunch after one of the breakfasts they serve! I will definitely recommend it to my friends and stay here again the next time I visit the Finger Lakes.


can say enough - more than five stars

5 en julio 06, 2014

Lynne and Bill are wonderful! The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast and cookies were beyond excellent. Warm welcome and it continued for the six nights I stayed with them. I will be back with them next year!


We found a jewell.

5 en junio 30, 2014

This was a last minute find. The town of Canandaigua is fascinating. We enjoyed walking from the B and B to town and the lake and ate at a cafe next to the Lake. We stayed 2 nights and had 2 great breakfasts. The owners, Lynne and Bill were very helpful in making the arrangements. Due to flights, we arrived after 11 pm and Bill met us with a smile and help. Would love to go again.


Lovely B&B

5 en junio 26, 2014

I returned to the Oliver Phelps for the third time and it was definitely a charm. I enjoy staying with Lynne and Bill. They are both kind and hospitable hosts. Bill greets me in the driveway and assists with my luggage. Lynne greets me inside and welcomes me back. They treat me like family. I stayed in 3 different rooms and all are comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts are delicious and made with local food products which Lynne mentions. The hot tub is a nice feature in a pretty garden setting. The living room is a lovely place to relax. I appreciate all the extras that Lynne and Bill offer like afternoon and evening iced and hot tea and home made baked goods. I received a thoughtful thank you note and a treat the second time I stayed with Lynne and Bill. I highly recommend this lovely B&B. Canandaigua is a scenic town and there is much to do in the area. I look forward to returning to the Oliver Phelps.


Great choice b&b

4,2 en junio 23, 2014

A great choice for a stay in the Finger Lakes.


Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

5 en junio 16, 2014

My husband and I would highly recommend this b & b. The owners were gracious and fun. The food was excellent and the room was beautiful.


Great Escape

5 en junio 14, 2014

My best friend and I were looking for a local place to get away for a few days since we are both really busy. Our room was gorgous and the breakfast that was homemade daily was more than worth the stay. Prices were fair. I would suggest this place to anyone and hope to make this an annual place to visit


Great Experience

5 en mayo 22, 2014

We couldn't have asked for anything more. Bill made us feel right at home and Lynne's breakfast's were just great. The rooms and house are even better than shown on the website.


Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

5 en mayo 15, 2014

From the moment we came into the Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps it felt like home. Lynne and Bill are very welcoming and the Oliver Phelps room with it's fireplace was a wonderful respite on a long day of touring Canandaigua and several other finger lakes. What we loved best is gluten free brownies upon arrival and the great gourmet gluten free breakfast. As someone who has Celiac disease I truly appreciate being able to eat a truly tasty meal without having to worry about getting sick.


Great Stay in Canandauga

4,4 en mayo 03, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Phleps and the hosts were great and the breakfast yummy. Trev & Deb


our first but not our last

5 en febrero 13, 2014

We celebrated Valentine's day at Oliver Phelps. Bill & Lynne are wonderful. They certainly enjoy what they do and take pride in their beautiful home. Lynne is also an amazing chef and baker. Bill was very helpful and full of lots of information. It was our first time in Canandaigua and our first time staying at a B&B but we'd love to go back!


Oliver Phelps

4,8 en enero 29, 2014

Bill and Lynne do an amazing job making you feel not only welcomed but almost like part of their family. Although we only stayed for a night, I really felt like I got to know the Innkeepers. They are extremely flexible, kind and warm-hearted. They went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and clean. The homemade breakfast was fabulous and filled the B and B with terrific aromas. I would highly recommend staying at the Oliver Phelps house, I plan on making it an annual trip myself. Cheers, Mike and Kerry


Loved it!

5 en diciembre 18, 2013

We had an awesome romantic evening! Peaceful location, great hosts, delish breakfast!


BEST BnB

5 en noviembre 04, 2013

I had the best stay I have ever had in a BnB the house keepers were so nice and thoughtful. I loved them and definitely want to go back! WINE COUNTRIES FINEST BNB!


We loved our stay at Oliver Phelps B&B.

5 en noviembre 01, 2013

We stayed at the Oliver Phelps on our first trip to Canandaigua. The experience was wonderful! Lynne and Bill were great hosts and the house is absolutely beautiful. Great food, a beautiful, comfortable room and little touches like coffee at the ready and homemade cookies by the fireplace added to our enjoyable stay. As first timers to the town, Bill gave us suggestions of what to see and do and Lynne gave us great lunch and dinner recommendations. We will be back!


Everything excellent, except street noise

4,4 en octubre 22, 2013

Everything was great about the B&B - the room was very nice, the hosts were friendly and service oriented, the breakfasts were gourmet. The only problem was the noise from the busy street it was on. We required the window open due to the unseasonable heat, and thus had lots of noise from the street.


Awesome Fall Weekend!

5 en octubre 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time, with our wonderful hosts and inn keepers, Lynn and Bill at Oliver Phelps. Highly recommended!


Great chef/host

5 en octubre 12, 2013

This was our first time to a bed and breakfast and our hosts far exceded our expectations. First, we had eaten at some of the best restraunts that they area had to offer and Lynne 3 coarse breakfast was our favorite meal both days. The rooms were great. They were very clean, i could tell the inn keepers took a lot of pride in there inn and guests. Bill and.Lynne went above and beyond to ensure everything we needed was taken care of. I can guarentee the few people that wrote negative adds were people that were unpleaseable and should be ignored. Bill and Lynne have set the bar high, and i cant wait to go back. Thanks.


Fantastic stay!

4,8 en octubre 11, 2013

Beautiful house with large rooms throughout that made it feel very warm and inviting! Breakfast were served at 9am with a gourmet spread of nut/fruit breads, parfaits, baked apples, orange ricotta pancakes, etc. with everything being served and plated with perfection. Hot tea and coffee along with baked sweets were always available and delicious. A favorite for us was the outdoor hot tub that was enclosed in a gazebo, perfect way to relax and unwind on a nice fall night with spa robes available in our rooms and plenty of towels to use. Great stay encompassed with elegance, class, and warm hospitality!


One of our best B&B experiences!

4,8 en octubre 09, 2013

This B&B offers everything one expects and with an added bonus...Lynne and Bill! They are wonderful proprietors. You can tell they enjoy what they do. Plus they are quite knowledgeable about the area. We did just about everything they recommended and they were spot on! They are extremely accommodating with dietary needs and the like. We highly recommend Oliver Phelps!


A most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast

5 en octubre 09, 2013

Outstanding in every way.


Very nice, rate 9 out of 10

4,0 en octubre 08, 2013

I enjoyed many things, Bill and Lynn are very nice. They arranged for a Masseuse to come to B&B for us, and surprised us with a small gift bag with soaps and nice toiletries, also a bottle of bubbly grape juice, since we don't drink. Lynn is a great cook, and likes to make yummy breads, cookies, and brownies, and muffins. In addition to gourmet cooked fruits, and quiches. Great coffee and juices. I like meeting new people and enjoyed our breakfasts. The jacuzzi hot tub was super, the in room message, nice, the shower has some great jets. Also the in room fireplace was nice to warm our room when there was a bit of a chill on the night. The only thing I didn't like, and it's small is the bed was a bit hard, the sheets were a bit scratchy, and because we were on Main St. in the front room I could hear loud traffic at night. Good thing I had ear plugs. We watched a DVD from their collection and the in room chairs were not that comfortable for 2 hours, we had to move to the bed. There was a 2 night min. Stay On the weekend, I would have preferred not having that, but I waited too long to book our anniversary and our choices were limited.


Welcome Home

5 en septiembre 28, 2013

Bill and lynne have continued to set a high bar for B&Bs , from taking our bags in early to asking the right questions so that we would be able to keep our schedules on track, our 2 day stay was awesome. They were always available and made great suggestions for dinner. The area has so much to offer. The room was great, breakfast and all the fresh baked snacks just as good. See you next year!!!


Loved this place!

4,8 en septiembre 26, 2013

Hosts were very attentive and knowledgable about the Finger Lakes region. Centrally located, and a lot of resturants to choose from in this area. Didn't get to use any if the outside areas due to weather, but they looked great. I plan in coming back next year.


A Lovely Place to Stop and Rest

4,4 en septiembre 24, 2013

Two nights and two breakfasts at this delightful home was more than I had hoped for. It is in the historic section of Canandaigua and a perfect place to rest your head.


Graet place to stay

4,4 en septiembre 11, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to spend two nights at the Oliver Phelps and we were more than pleased with the accommodations and were especially pleased with the friendliness and professionalism of Bill and Lynne. They were very helpful in pointing out local attractions, dining spots and local places for an afternoon libation. The Oliver Phelps is walking distance to these local spots and situated in a beautiful and safe neighbourhood. I would highly recommend this establishment if travelling to the Finger Lakes area.


Lovely B&B

4,6 en septiembre 08, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling around the state, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is close enough to walk to a restaurant for dinner and the owner recommended one which was excellent. Breakfast was delicious, our room was spacious, welcoming sitting room downstairs, all in all an excellent stopover.


The coziest place possible

5 en septiembre 05, 2013

There is so much love and effort put in the house! We stayed at Oliver Phelps BB with my mother for a weekend - and that was one of our best gateways: room was just perfect: clean and cozy, and with everything you might need: books, TV and internet, soft bathrobes, all information on town and nearest events. Noteworthy - the breakfasts were outstanding! I'll never forget the French toasts! The location is also very convenient - walking distance from main town's restaurants and fairly close to the lake. So, I would definitely recommend to stay here and plan to come back myself once. or twice. (though if your plan was to loose some weight - prepare yourself to resist both the delicious breakfasts and yum-yum cookies which will be waiting for you every evening ;) ) Thank you, Lynne and Keiper


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

5 en septiembre 05, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps. We were in need of rest and were attending a concert at CMAC. It was the best choice! When we arrived, Bill suggested several restaurants for lunch and we had a great lunch down by the lake. We came back to a spectacular room - with two chair situated in front of a fireplace. Although it is summer (and we had no need for the fireplace), it presented such a relaxing atmosphere that we both ended up having a very comfortable nap. The bed is beautiful and comfortable. The house itself is perfectly appointed. It was built in the early 1800's and yet is maintained to perfection. Modern updates to the bathrooms make it totally comfortable. Bill and Lynne are wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome. The three course breakfast in the morning was delicious and the perfect end to a quick getaway. We will return and hopefully get to spend more than one night!


Wonderful B&B

5 en septiembre 04, 2013

My husband and I visited the inn over Labor Day weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Oliver Phelps room. It was beautiful. The owners were very helpful, they gave us information about the wineries and labeled maps for us. The provided a cooler and ice for a day outing. My husband called the morning of our arrival and asked if we could have a dozen roses in the room and Lynn made it happen. The breakfast was GREAT. The food and the drinks were from local businesses and farms. We will return to the inn. It was a fabulous get away.


1st Experience at a B&B

3,4 en septiembre 01, 2013

Our room was lovely and the bathroom was huge just as was shown in the pictures. On our first morning, the shower worked perfectly, but the second morning I was only able to get a trickle of water. My friend explained to the host on the first night that the breakfast that morning had been too sweet for her taste. On the second morning no menu accomodation was made for her. So as we left for our five hour drive home we were unshowered and she had had no breakfast. No more B&B's for me.

Respuesta del propietario

We regret we weren’t able to address these issues at the proper time. It’s unfortunate that our guest mentioned the problem with the shower at checkout and not earlier. I tested the shower immediately after their departure and it worked. Just in case it was an intermittent problem I had our plumbing company (which we maintain a service contract for fast response) come out to inspect it. While they found no problem before or after disassembling the faucet, they did replace the cartridge and temperature protection valve just to be certain, as everything was apart. The process took less than an hour and either testing or maintenance could have been accomplished sooner had we known. Regarding breakfast, we understood that this guest’s friend enjoyed the first day’s breakfast main course (polenta with mushroom ragu) as it was a savory dish, which she preferred to the sweet preliminaries. We typically alternate sweet and savory main dishes from day to day, and we try to balance each with a bread or a fruit course that leans to the opposite. In this case that second day included bittersweet chocolate chip scones and grilled peaches with raspberry sorbet; no added sugar, but regrettably they sounded too sweet for our guest’s friend. As the friend told us she enjoyed the cookies on the snack platter, we had assumed sweet foods weren’t ‘out of bounds’. We also post our planned menu by noon for the following day just in case there would be a problem, especially for dietary restrictions that may not have been mentioned previously. If this guest had let us know she wouldn’t try the menu and requested an alternative, we would have been happy to accommodate her. We substitute courses or portions whenever a guest tells us they have an issue with an item. We hope that one experience won’t prevent this guest from trying another B&B. If so, we'd encourage her to speak to the innkeeper about any issue.


An excellent getaway

4,8 en septiembre 01, 2013

We stayed at the Oliver Phelps for two nights and were met with extreme kindness and a sense of welcome. Whenever we had questions, both Bill and Lynne were there to help us with whatever we needed. I will definitely recommend this to family and friends, and we both are already looking forward to a return visit. Thank you Bill and Lynne


Gracious hosts and outstanding accomodations

5 en agosto 31, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful time at Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps. Our room was gorgeous and spacious. The bath was luxurious and each breakfast was not only delicious but beautiful in appearance. Our hosts, Lynne andd Bill went out of their way to assure that our stay was enjoyable. We will be going back.


Reccommend in a heartbeat!

5 en agosto 29, 2013

Lynn and bill were superb hosts. Wonderful house and ambiance. We had a wonderful stay in canandaigua! Laura and bish


Great B&B Option!

5 en agosto 28, 2013

Lynn and Bill were wonderful hosts. The property is beautiful - early 19th century house, comfortable and welcoming throughout. This is the only B&B I have ever stayed at where I really wanted to spend time in the common room - but the chairs, the lighting, the atmosphere were all great. I am happy to recommend B&B at Oliver Phelps - good luck and best wishes to Bill and Lynn. Oh, and the meals are GREAT.


Canandaigua Sojourn

2,8 en agosto 26, 2013

Nice old Victorian B&B with typical period furnishings. Historic house that has been appropriately updated with modern plumbing & air conditioning. New owners are gracious & anxious to please. The breakfast was a disappointment and not to our taste. Overall, we had a pleasant overnight experience that was nice but kind of average.

Respuesta del propietario

We’re sorry to hear that any guest had an ‘average’ experience. We aim to make every visit special. A big part of that is our breakfasts. We typically alternate between savory and sweet themes daily, and serve three courses to provide a tasty variety in the bakery, fruit and entree servings. We’ve also tried to enhance the federal period ambience of the inn with amenities that make for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. We regret that we weren’t able to thrill this guest but appreciate this review as a reminder to always work harder to make each guest’s stay at the Oliver Phelps an exceptional experience.


Great stay

5 en agosto 26, 2013

What a find. Very nice owners bill and Lynne . Wonderful service and a to die for breakfast.


Excellent B&B

5 en agosto 23, 2013

The house is gorgeous inside and the rooms spacious and clean. We had a great sleep in our bed. The property is large with mature trees and a hot tub in back. Breakfast was served as a gormet meal. Bill and Lynn went out of their way to add little extras that made our stay outstanding.


Oliver Phelps B&B sets the bar

4,6 en agosto 13, 2013

Absolutely stunning home with 15 feet ceilings, lovely antiques, and things to do (besides TV there are puzzles, lots of books and games). Bill and Lynne are very solicitous. The breakfasts were wonderful. This is the best B&B we have stayed in. Only improvement I can think of is to have coffee ready earlier (although there is wonderful iced tea at all times!)


Oliver Phelps - Fantastic Stay!

4,8 en agosto 12, 2013

Bill and Lynne were fantastic hosts! Everything about our stay was wonderful! Our room was spacious and clean, breakfast was amazing every morning, the location was great, and the amenities were above and beyond our expectations. We could not have asked for a better B&B for our trip to Canandaigua! I would recommend to everyone and would definitely stay there again.


Weekend Wedding

5 en agosto 11, 2013

We visited Canandaguia for a wedding recently and stayed at the B&B at Oliver Phelps. This was our first B&B experience and was wonderful! The home is absolutely beautiful and Lynne and Bill are very gracious and accommodating hosts and the breakfast is amazing. It was so much better than staying in a hotel. Very quiet and peaceful. Would definitely stay here again if our travels ever bring us back to the region.


don't miss this one!

5 en agosto 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and each day we had the most amazing breakfast, even a dairy free for me.! The location was fabulous, lovely walk to some restaurants. Everything you could possibly need was provided: ex., refrigeration for anything you bought, delicious snacks in afternoon, special touches of personal items in bath, expert directions and menus for restaurants. The best part was our friendly, helpful and fun hosts!


Excellent B&B - would definitley go again.

5 en agosto 10, 2013

This is one of the best B&B we have encountered. We were there four nights. Every morning was a treat at breakfast, the Inn Keepers were welcoming and helpful from the minute we arrived. We felt like old friends by the time we left. Ample parking, a nice walk to the town. A jewl in the heart of the Finger Lakes.


Wonderful Stay

5 en agosto 07, 2013

Lynne and Bill have an eye for detail in the furnishings of this wonderful building. They made us feel at home, served sumptuous breakfasts and provided information on the surrounding area. We highly recommend a stay at Oliver Phelps.


Wonderful weekend

5 en agosto 01, 2013

The new owners, Lynn & Bill were so nice & saw to our every need before we even had a thought of asking and the food was superb! We look forward to staying there again. Pat & Jack McGrew Canal Fulton, Ohio


lovely accommodations, reasonable

4,8 en julio 29, 2013

The owners were lovely people who went out of their way to accommodate us.


The best B&B we've stayed in!!

5 en julio 27, 2013

The hosts went over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was gourmet/outstanding 3 course meal that would take you through the day. The owners were in a separate location giving guests the freedom of the house which made it very comfortable. There was always music playing in the large living room area with beverages and home made snacks 24 hours per day. The B&B was spotless. I never met a more friendly welcoming couple before. I highly recommend this B&B and will return.


Weekend getaway

5 en julio 25, 2013

This was the first time my boyfriend and I had stayed in a B&B, and it was wonderful. The 3 course breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to come back and stay another weekend.


Wonderful Time at a Wonderful Place!

4,8 en julio 09, 2013

We decided to stay at the Oliver Phelps on a bit of a whim, but boy are we glad we did! My husband and I stayed for two night around Forth of July to getaway and celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival, the innkeepers had a birthday card waiting for me in our very cozy room. We really felt welcomed and at home in this lovely bed and breakfast. The house struck the perfect balance of old world and modern conveniences. The inn keepers were friendly, helpful, and kind without being overly involved. The town itself was wonderful. We spent the days walking to the cute little shops on the historic Main Street and to the Lake. If you need to getaway, enjoy some rest and relaxation, and enjoy some small town charm, we would highly recommend The Oliver Phelps!


On route from Midwest to New England!

5 en julio 07, 2013

We had previously stayed at Oliver Phelps while exploring the lakes for a few days several years ago and enjoyed our stay with Jack and Donna. Booked a single night this time on our way to Boston with new owners Bill and Lynne. We look forward to a second return visit. Especially enjoyed breakfast at Lynne's table shared with other guests.


Comfortable, clean and well run

4,6 en julio 05, 2013

Bill and Lynne are recent owners of an already well-rated B&B. This is their first inn experience, but they run it like pros. They are very attentive and accommodating without being intrusive. If you have any needs whatsoever, don't hesitate to ask. There are no "curfew" restrictions, and guests are free to come and go anytime. We liked staying in the Wickwood room. It was very comfortable and clean, but the bathroom is not "en suite." The room has a private bath accessible from the hallway. This was not a problem, as the door to it is right next to the room door, and the bathroom is very large. It has a tub with a shower. There were linens, TP, shampoo, soap and a hair dryer provided. Wine glasses were in the room for guest use. A flat screen TV in the room, though small, was much appreciated. It was too warm to use the fireplace in the room, but that would have been pleasant on a cold night. I will note that the room sort of faces the busy street, which is noisy during the day and early evening, but not bad during the night. Breakfast was very good, with homemade baked goods and a good choice of beverages. As someone without much of a sweet tooth, I would have preferred more savory dishes (even the delicious ham and cheese scones were a tad sweet), but I still enjoyed everything that was served. Cookies, brownies and coffee are available at any time in the dining room. B&Bs are not normally our first choices for accommodations, with their usual excessive amounts of lace, overly frilly and old decor and limited privacy, but this one is an exception to that sterotype. We would be happy to stay here again when we return to the area.


Very nice place to stay.

5 en julio 01, 2013

Delicious breakfast, great location and good price.


A Great B&B!

5 en junio 28, 2013

Lynne and Bill have been fantastic. They are very flexible and kind. We had a wonderful stay and received many recommendations from them for restaurants in the area as well as some trails that we could hike/bike. Like others have stated, Lynne and Bill are attentive and accomodating.We would definitely stay there again and recommend others to stay at this B&B.


A jewel of a B&B

5 en junio 25, 2013

Lovely rooms, nice innkeepers and seriously delicious breakfasts


Wonderful BB Experience

3,6 en junio 19, 2013

New owners were delightful and so accomodating Property was beautiful It was a fun experience


Lovely Getaway

4,4 en junio 09, 2013

Such a romantic, beautiful place! Terrific hosts.


Exceeded my expectations!

5 en junio 07, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer. We were able to look at each room and can't decide which one to stay in when we return. Innkeepers Lynne & Bill were delightful and very attentive to our needs. Will definitely go back.


Getaway at Oliver Phelps

4,6 en junio 07, 2013

The hospitality was wonderful! The grounds were beautiful, the room was nicely decorated and very comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely delicious!


Oliver Phelps

4,8 en mayo 14, 2013

Lynne and Bill, the new owners couldn't be more accomodating. Our stay, although too brief, was very pleasant due to the suptuous accommodations, the surrounding area and the warmth of our hosts. They even arranged for a dove to be caring for her brood near the front door.I am sure Lynne and Bill will have much success in their new venture. We highl recommend a stay here. Trudy and Chuck San Diego


Great Place!

4,2 en mayo 14, 2013

Bill and Lynne were excellent hosts. Our room was very clean and the breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely stay there again.


Thoroughly Enjoyable

5 en abril 29, 2013

We stayed in the Oliver Phelps suite for two nights mid-week on our way back from Niagara Falls. The room was very large and suitably decorated in period style. The king bed was comfortable and the large bathroom was an unexpected treat. The breakfasts served by Lynne and Bill were absolutely delicious and were great beginnings to our days of local wine and beer tasting adventures. Lynne also makes darn good cookies for afternoon/evening snacks. The location was an easy walk to town where Bill and Lynne recommended several good restaurants for us to try for dinner. It was a very lovely stay in Canandaigua and we wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend it to anyone.


My First Stay at a B&B.

5 en abril 24, 2013

To try a first time stay at a bed and breakfast is not easy for a single traveler. In my search, certain things appealed. The Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps seemed they would cater to my needs. I loved the look of the inn, with it's high ceilings, many fireplaces, warm, comfortable rooms. BBOP delivered on all my expectations and Lynne and Bill, although having just taken over, were the epitome of accommodating. So many details, all taken care of warmly, with such obvious care for me as their guest. They have certainly set the bar for excellence.


Outstanding Visit

5 en abril 18, 2013

Celebrating our sister's 60th birthday, we booked three rooms and truly felt at home - with special touches. Bill & Lynne were very welcoming and gracious, their home is lovely and we look forward to staying again! We enjoyed some sunshine sitting in the gazebo, enjoying the atmosphere of Canandaigua.


Delightful stay!

5 en abril 10, 2013

We were in town for a class at the New York Wine and Culinary Center and decided to find a place to stay the evening. Lynne and Bill were incredible hosts and truly made us feel welcomed and catered to. They were incredibly helpful setting up a dairy-free menu for the weekend and even shared their delicious recipes! We can't wait for our next visit to Canandaigua so we can stay at Oliver Phelps again.


Wonderful even in Winter

5 en diciembre 31, 2012

The house is gorgeous, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and breakfast was among the most delicious we've had in 30 years of B&B stays! It was an easy walk into town for good restaurants, antiquing,, and Sonnenberg Gardens. Donna and Jack were excellent hosts! We'll be back.


Excellent!

5 en noviembre 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay ay Oliver Phelps, it was excellent! The houseis warm and inviting as are the innkeepers Jack and Donna. We highly recommend and we will return! We stayed in the Oliver Phelps suite which is very spacious and has its own fireplace and extra large bathroom. Our breakfast was outstanding!


Exceded our expectations

5 en noviembre 08, 2012

Canandaigua was part of our week-long tour of the Finger Lakes for our honeymoon...and we we thrilled to have discovered this B&B. Of course, all of the reviews speak for itself...we certainly will add to the stellar line of EXCELLENT reviews! Jack & Donna we so very hospitable, made us feel so welcome, and are a pluthera of knowledge of the area and things to do. The rooms and the home were immaculate (not to mention gorgeous). Breakfasts were 5-star! If planning a stay in Canandaigua, this place is a must! We will certainly stay there again in the future.


Enjoyable stay at B&B at Oliver Phelps

4,2 en octubre 13, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the B&B at Oliver Phelps. A lovely house, accommodating hosts, delicious breakfast.


Weekend Getaway

4,4 en octubre 07, 2012

We booked our stay at Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps as a relaxing weekend away. Upon Arrival we were met by Jack and Donna and given a tour of their home and our room. Jack gave us several ideas for dinner and asked us what time we wanted breakfast and if we had any dietart restrictions. Breakfast both mornings were culinary delights and Jack and Donna were very helpful in giving us ideas on things to do around town. Overall we had a very nice stay and would recomend our friends and family to stay here.


great stay

5 en septiembre 19, 2012

We just finished a wonderful three day stay at Oliver Phelps. The rooms were all very nice and the property was like being in your own park. Jack and Donna were very welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to please. Would definitely return again if we are ever back in the area..


Wonderful hosts

4,6 en septiembre 13, 2012

Donna and Jack are great hosts and they work hard to make everyone feel welcome. They prepare gourmet breakfasts that exceed the quality of 4star restaurants.


I wish I lived here all year round.

5 en septiembre 01, 2012

The home was beautiful with comfortable furniture and extra amenities. Jack and Donna were very gracious as well as helpful with advice about the area. They were both very personable, much like staying with and visiting family.


Fantastic Weekend at Oliver Phelps

5 en agosto 30, 2012

Everything was First Class! Breakfasts were outstanding and Jack and Donna were great hosts.


over the top

4,8 en agosto 29, 2012

The best recommendation I can give is that our group rebooked before we left. The accomodations were just what we needed and more and the area has more than enough to do to have a return visit


Great breakfasts in a beautiful setting/ helpful owners

4,8 en agosto 28, 2012

We stayed two lovely nights at Oliver Phelps in their room with the king size bed. It was a great room with a spacious bathroom. Jack and Donna were very hospitable and helpful in giving us suggestions for how to make the most of our short stay in the Finger Lakes. We ate breakfast on the terrace in the morning sunshine among the well-tended flower boxes. The food and service was excellent. We would definitely go back there and recommend it our friends.


A wonderful place to stay. Innkeepers greatly enhanced our vacation.

4,8 en agosto 21, 2012

We had a wonderful weeklong stay at the Bed & Breakfast at Oliver Phelps. Our room was warmly appointed and very comfortable, with lots of space for our belongings. The Inn itself has well-decorated, generous and comfortable common spaces that made us feel right at home. The breakfasts do indeed live up to the raves of previous reviewers, but we'd like to add a few notes: Jack and Donna were exceptionally accommodating to several food allergies we had--seamlessly working around them--and the breakfasts were the best 'fuel for the day' (for our very active vacationing style) that we've ever encountered. The breakfast offerings were exceedingly healthy, and healthily prepared, yet so flavorful and filling with sumptuous fruit courses, unique and satisfying baked goods, and delicious entres. What we found of greatest value were our hosts generous and resourceful advice and suggestions to our many inquiries regarding local/regional activities, restaurants, shops, directions, and the inevitable rainy-day alternatives. As we are Rails-to-Trails bicyclists, we particularly appreciated their shared wisdom in helping us select the best options for our desires. We were exceedingly well taken care of, and we look forward to staying with Jack and Donna again. -Robin & Barbara


A little slice of heaven

5 en agosto 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and will be returning again in the fall. We had such a good time. We stayed in the Greencrest Room, which was beautiful. A very nice touch to the room was having 2 wine glasses by the bed along with a wine opener, which are very handy in wine country. The only downside was one central AC control for the entire house, but there was a lovely breeze most of the time we were there so it wasn't an issue. The breakfasts Donna and Jack made were scrumptious! They also made excellent recommendations for local restaurants. We had a wonderful time and I can't wait to try the hottub when we come back in the fall!


Highly Recommended

5 en agosto 10, 2012

A beautiful B & B with very warm, welcoming hosts! Jack and Donna made us feel at home and Jack helped us with a bicycle route cue sheet and suggestions of places to stop and sightsee. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious...a great choice if you are staying in the Finger Lakes region!


Romantic Honeymoon!!

5 en agosto 06, 2012

We went to the Oliver Phelps for our honeymoon and it was even better than we could have imagined! Jack & Donna are wonderful and the atmosphere is so inviting! We will be going back for our anniversary for many years to come! Brian & Macie Turner


Quiet & Charming

4,2 en agosto 05, 2012

Outstanding service and breakfast. Not your average B&B. The place to stay in the Finger Lakes. Beautiful B&B.


our stay at Oliver Phelps B&B

5 en julio 29, 2012

This place was wonderful. Loved Jack and Donna - great breakfasts - one inside and one on the porch the day we left. They both gave us terrific recommendations of places to go, places to eat and the best wineries to visit; also gave us a back road that was next to the lake. Some of the best scenery ever. It is centrally located; we will definitely return. We stayed in the Kilenny room - was like a small suite. Loved it!.


Wonderful B&B

5 en julio 26, 2012

We had a marvelous time. The B&B centrally located to reach outlying destinations. Donna and Jack could not have been better hosts. Kilenny room was like a small suite - had a bath tub which I love. Breakfasts were great and they gave wonderful advice on which places to dine and which wineries to visit. Will definitely be staying there again. Outdoor breakfast on our last day was sooo nice.


Amazing Stay at Oliver Phelps B&B

4,8 en julio 25, 2012

Donna and Jack were the most gracious hosts. We loved eating out on the patio and the food was both creative & delicious! The rooms were clean and comfortable. If we're ever back in Canandaigua, we will definitely stay with them again.


Wonderful stay

4,6 en julio 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Oliver Phelps. The room was very neat and clean, and the food was outstanding. If in Canandaigua again, we will stay with Donna and Jack!!!


Amazing B&B- Will return

5 en julio 19, 2012

Stayed here one night in July 2012 and it was amazing. Rooms were nice & clean and our breakfast was amazing! We had breakfast on the deck overlooking the beautiful back yard. B&B is very close to lake and I would love to return to do some wine tasting at the Wine and Culinary centre down the street.


Wonderful hospitality

3,8 en julio 18, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Oliver Phelps. Great location and wonderful host and hostess. We wish our room and bed were a little larger, but the breakfast was wonderful.


Our first B&B

5 en julio 14, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and we can't say enough good about it! First class treatment and such friendly and warm hosts. Thank you!


beautiful step back in time

4,8 en julio 14, 2012

beautiful grounds, rooms decorated to give you the feeling of being in another century. attention to my needs were obviously a skill jack and donna have developed over their years of being in business. the perfect choice when your looking for a historical retreat. breakfast was excellent, as I had hoped for. loved the large clawfoot tub for an old fashioned bath.


VG

4,6 en julio 13, 2012

Beautiful home, lovely room, and very knowledgeable and informative innkeepers.


A perfect relaxing place

5 en julio 13, 2012

Nestled at the top of Canandaigua town this 19th century b&b was a delight to stay in. Bristling in recent history as well as the shadows of ancient pasts, the area is a delight to discover with beautiful lakes, forests, waterfalls and vineyards. Our hosts Jack and Donna were incredible accommodating and so helpful in guiding us with local knowledge. And the breakfasts, well what breakfasts! Outstanding with something different every day. By the end of our trip it felt like we had been staying with old friends. Highly recommended.


Lovely!

5 en julio 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, the owners friendly and accomodating, and the location superb!


Great place and terrific breakfast!

5 en julio 11, 2012

The owners were very nice and helpful.My wife and I cant wait to go back!


Excellent food, but rooms could be cleaner

3,0 en julio 09, 2012

Lacking in cleanliness, but charm was wonderful. The food is beyond expectations!

Respuesta del propietario

As you can imagine, this type of review is very disturbing for an Innkeeper and even more so for us as we are totally confused. We have as our very first priority the cleanliness of our inn in every respect. We have never, ever had one single comment about our inn not being clean. One returning guest leaves her cleaning wipes at home because she knows she can count on everything being sanitary and clean. We pride ourselves on cleaning, not simply refreshing but cleaning, every room, every bath, every day until it shines. We simply have no idea what more we can do but we would like to assure all of our guests that we will try even harder. Please remember as fellow travelers, if you have a specific comment that may help your hosts don't hesitate to let them know but a sweeping generalization gives your hosts no way to specifically improve. If you choose our inn you will, we assure you, find it clean down to the corners of the baseboards and the tip of the crown molding.


Perfect!

5 en junio 27, 2012

The Oliver Phelps is a perfect place for a getaway. Jack and Donna are wonderful, and the rooms are gorgeous! Would recommend to even my pickiest friends. Can't wait to return!


Awesome B&B and centrally located

4,8 en junio 13, 2012

This was our first time staying at a B&B, and we will do so more often because of our stay at Oliver Phelps. The breakfast here was outstanding and you could tell the owners put a lot of love and care into their home and property.


Neighborhood Retreat

4,4 en junio 06, 2012

We were looking for someplace special to celebrate our anniversary. The Oliver Phelps B&B was ideal. We walked to the downtown shops and ate at the Office. Jack and Donna were gracious hosts and made us feel right at home. Overall, it as a great experience.


Tranquility for a great get-away

3,6 en mayo 23, 2012

A beautiful home with a peaceful & well manicured back yard where we enjoyed our cocktails in the pm. Jack and Donna were great hosts and made our stay most pleasant. They were helpful in directing us to the popular golf courses in the area. Breakfasts were both unique & delicious. Looking forward to a return visit.


Wonderful Mother/Daughter Weekend

4,6 en mayo 18, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps is a charming, relaxing and delicious place to stay! My daughter and I spent time there recently as we toured the Finger Lakes, and I would highly recommend it. Jack and Donna are awesome hosts and the gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Can't say enough about it, and hope to go back soon with my husband!


Food and Wine Lovers enjoy a perfect stay at Oliver Phelps.

4,8 en mayo 14, 2012

Four of us had plans to go to the New York Wine and Culinary Center and needed a place to stay overnight. We had located the Oliver Phelps B&B online, which was only about a mile up the road from the Center. When we arrived, Jack and Donna met us at the door and were exceptional hosts. The house, now 200 years old, is kept immaculate and comes equipped with all the antique bells & whistles, along with all the modern niceties. We felt welcome immediately. After an overeating binge and some wine at the Culinary Center, we came back to a most relaxing hot tub! We loved our stay at the Oliver Phelps Inn and highly recommend it! We will be back!


Simply Elegant Inn, very comfortable stay while visiting Canadaigua Lake area.

4,6 en abril 25, 2012

Jack and Donna are wonderful hosts of a beautiful historic Inn. Elegant, but very comfortable and relaxing. Oliver Phelps is a great place to stay for a get away to the Finger Lakes area. The breakfast was amazing, exceeding our expectations.


Wonderful.

5 en diciembre 06, 2011

Late night arrival wasn't a problem. They were waiting for us. House is amazing. Food was delicious. Wish we could have stayed longer to have enjoyed other amenities.


Perfect location for wine touring

4,0 en noviembre 01, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Oliver Phelps on the return leg of a recent trip to the Boston area. It was our first B&B experience so we weren't really sure exactly what to expect. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Located a short walk from the cute downtown area and a short drive from several of the finger lakes winery tours, the location was ideal for us. We like the quiet charm of the city with the proximity to the more bustling areas on the larger lakes. The B&B itself was very nice - one of my concerns was that the decor and hospitality might be target to an older demographic, but Oliver Phelps accomplished a nice midpoint - the home was an attractive historical home with more up to date touches. The food was phenomenal - not your average scrambled eggs and toast - we enjoyed 3-course breakfasts comprised of local fare and fresh ingredients. As first timers to the area, the hosts provided a nice rundown of the area attractions and recommended a couple of the wineries which were all on par with our expectations. We will definitely be returning.


A great B&B in Canandaigua

4,2 en octubre 18, 2011

We recently stayed at Oliver Phelps B&B and we were extremely happy with the service, the B&B and room. The hosts were extremely helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was done nicely. We recommend Oliver Phelps highly


A Lovely, Lovely Bed and Breakfast with Fantastic Hosts

4,8 en octubre 16, 2011

We stayed in the Oliver Phelps room and it was very, very liveable and lovely. It is maybe the largest room we've ever stayed in (and we've stayed in many, many bed and breakfasts, and it definitely has the largest bathroom, but the best features were the many windows and the two chairs facing the fireplace. While it was too warm for the fireplace, the ambiance was terrific and we want to include the same feature in a future home. Jack and Donna are exceptionally nice and prepare a gourmet breakfast each morning. Tables are private but if there are chatty guests there, it can take away from the "privacy," but that is a fine price to pay for such good food and service. The only negatives for us were our most beautiful room was warmer than we would have prefered (they were having an Indian summer and we were seeking the cool of a New York fall) and it was on the main street which is a busy one. That being said though, we would stay there again and in the same room.


Oliver Phelps

5 en octubre 13, 2011

Jack and Donna are great hosts and operate a first class B&B. The facility is beautiful and in an excellent location, easy to find. The service was Top Notch and the breakfast was a great start after a quick morning run. We would suggest the Oliver Phelps to anyone traveling through the Finger Lakes.


Wedding weekend

4,8 en octubre 02, 2011

This was my first time at a B&B and it was a wonderful experience.


Finger Lakes Find

4,2 en septiembre 28, 2011

The B&B at Oliver Phelps is a wonderful restored historic home close to downtown Canandaigua and the waterfront. The grounds are expansive and well-landscaped. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent, and our hosts were extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants and places to explore. WE really enjoyed our stay.


Perfect in every way!!

5 en septiembre 22, 2011

We chose Oliver Phelps by default but maybe it was fate. The previous reviews just confirmed our experience. The hosts truly love to make sure each and every guest have a perfect stay. The home was well kept and the rooms were clean, private and quiet. Donna and Jack can arrange for any service needed, your personal concierge. We read about the breakfasts and yes, they are exquisite. Three courses served on your timetable. Everything is freshly prepared with local in season ingredients. For those who are considering a stay here, DO NOT HESITATE!! Rooms book fast for good reason. This is truly a place to come and relax. We paid a little extra for the "Top end" suite and well woth the $$$. Lounge chairs, fireplace, wine glasses, king size bed and a jetted shower. You may never wan't to leave. Already planning the next stay. Dale & Eileen Buffalo, NY


A gem in Canandaigua, NY

4,6 en septiembre 20, 2011

We have been to Canandaigua many times, but have never taken advantage of the B&B's in the town or surrounding area. What a marvelous surprise and experience. Jack and Donna are exempliary hosts, making us feel like members of the family in their their early 19th century home. The breakfasts are exceptional, the rooms and common areas large and well appointed and the location perfect for visiting the area. All-year round engagements are in the offing.


Lovely B&B in Canandaigua

4,2 en septiembre 08, 2011

Very good location, reasonably priced and excellent breakfast. You can immediately tell that the owners have a lot of pride in their B&B.


A jewel in Canandaigua

4,6 en septiembre 08, 2011

This is a perfect B&B. Friendly and helpful innkeepers, gorgeous and bright historic home in immaculate condition, beautiful property with outdoor hot tub in a screened gazebo, and the most delicious and creative breakfasts we have ever had the pleasure to eat. The rooms are fairly pricy, but I suppose you do get what you pay for. Don't miss this one for a true Finger Lakes experience. Although the lake is walkable distance, the town is not pretty or quaint so a 5 minute car ride to plentiful free parking and then walking along the path on the lake is a better plan. Kayak rentals are available there at reasonable hourly rates.


Good times!

4,2 en septiembre 05, 2011

Bring your bicycle. Jack gave us wonderful routes and ideas. The breakfasts were great!


Outstanding stay at Oliver Phelps

4,4 en septiembre 04, 2011

Jack and Donna spared no expense in making us feel welcome and comfortable in their unbelievably gorgeous home. High ceilings, amazing antiques and historical rooms made for a delightful and relaxing weekend away. The breakfasts were stellar examples of unique and tasty cuisine, local fruit and fare mixed with home-made pastry made for a unique and tasty experience. Highly recommended and will definitely return!


excellent

4,6 en agosto 19, 2011

lovely home, beautiful grounds and fantastic innkeepers!


A wonderful time.

5 en agosto 14, 2011

Our stay and the Oliver Phelps was fantastic. Everything was beyond what anyone could want. Jack and Donna were very helpful and gracious. The breakfast was delicious, and the presentation of the food was equal or better than that of most upscale restaurants. Their attention to detail was magnificent. We will definitely return there.


Very nice, relaxing stay at the Oliver Phelps B&B!

4,2 en agosto 10, 2011

My husband & I really enjoyed our weekend (2-night) stay at Oliver Phelps. Since we booked a bit on the late side, we wound up with what I believe was the smallest room, the Wickwood, although it was sufficient for our needs. We were a bit surprised to see that our "adjacent" bathroom was actually out in the hall, but it was for our own private use, and it was spacious and quite quaint. Jack & Donna were incredibly nice and helpful without being in the way. They served delicious, 3-course breakfasts and were even accommodating of a food preference. We would definitely recommend this Inn as well as consider returning in the future, although I think we might select a different room (perhaps even the suite!) next time.


Delightful place, charming hosts

4,6 en julio 11, 2011

We were totally comfortable here: the hosts are masters of friendliness and anticipating any needs and have that often rare quality in bed and breakfast hosts of not intruding on the time of the guests in any way. The house itself is magnificent and restored perfectly. The hosts pride themselves on unique breakfast dishes which are still appealing to more traditional eaters, of which I am married to one. Since this is in the middle of wine country, they offered to chill any wine for us and had provided wine glasses in our rooms. Presented us with coffee and a muffin for a very early departure. If I tried to think of a criticism, I couldn't.


A wonderful Holiday weekend!

5 en julio 07, 2011

This was our first stay at a b&b and certainly not our last! Donna and Jack were perfect hosts in every way, very friendly and welcoming. The 2 breakfasts we enjoyed were both unusual and delicious. Our room was very large and beautifully decorated. The reclining wing chairs were a treat as well. We will recommend this inn to our friends and we will be returning ourselves. Thanks Donna and Jack for helping to make our weekend getaway perfect in every way.


Oliver Phelps in Canandaigua

3,8 en julio 06, 2011

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit - the breakfasts were just great, and the hosts were so friendly, offering lots of advice on places to go, or with directions. The B&B is a lovely home, and being there made me feel right at home.


Oliver Phelps is an excellent choice

4,8 en junio 27, 2011

The two most amazing aspects of a stay at Oliver Phelps are the service and the breakfast. Jack and Donna are terrific - friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. On our first afternoon, we went for a walk from the house and got caught in a torrential downpour. Jack and Donna remembered that we had gone walking and called our cell phone to make sure we were ok. They came and picked us up a few blocks from the house to make sure we didn't have to walk home in the rain. Such excellent service. The breakfasts were gourmet!


weekend getaway

5 en junio 08, 2011

Jack and Donna have the art of innkeeping down to a science. Room was lovely and comfortable...breakfasts were outstanding...restaurant recommendations were right on target...and the attention to detail made us feel very pampered and welcome.


oliver Phelps b and b

4,8 en junio 07, 2011

I couldn't say enough good things about the lovely proprietors of the Oliver Phelps b and b in Canandaigua. Jack and Donna went above and beyond in making our stay comfortable and knowlegdeable. The history of the building and its surroundings were shared with us. And the room was beautifully decorated and breakfast on the deck was beyond compare. I would go there again and again. Cathy S.


weekend stay

4,8 en junio 02, 2011

We had a great long weekend. Donna and Jack were perfect hosts. They created a friendly atmosphere by introducing all the guests, gave great directions and suggestions for activities and restaurants, and were most helpful with directions and in every way. The house is truly grand, comfortable and cozy. The breakfasts really scrumptious and special!


Lovely B and B

4,4 en junio 02, 2011

Wonderful service, great rooms and amazing breakfast! Great place to visit for a weekend getaway.


Living large in the Finger Lakes

4,6 en mayo 31, 2011

My sister and I have not experienced feeling so at home anywhere else in our travels. This is a gorgeous B&B, period decorated to the nines, loaded with visitor information, the coolest kitchen and best breakfasts we've had anywhere, fully stocked rooms (we stayed in the spacious Oliver Phelps Suite), and a Maine Coon cat for feline fans who really knows how to hang. A beautiful experience in the beautiful Finger Lakes region of western New York state.


Outstanding Stay

4,6 en enero 04, 2011

My husband and I stayed overnight at this lovely B&B. Friends of ours also stayed that night and we spent part of the evening in the lovely living room in front of the fireplace, enjoying some wine and good conversation. Our hosts were very accommodating in providing us with a cheese board and napkins for our snacks. The breakfast was so delicious. We had homemade raspberry scones, fresh cut up fruit and individual frittatas made with cheese and tomatoes. We were offered a variety of juices and many refills on the wonderful coffee. Jack and Donna were delightful and such charming hosts. This was our second stay and it was just as wonderful as the first time. Cathy Laneri


My first bed and breakfast experience

4,0 en diciembre 21, 2010

We had such a pleasant time! I was a little leery about staying at a b & b, but after a short while I felt right at home. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and very relaxing and our hosts were friendly and welcoming. And the breakfasts were AMAZING! I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to doing so.


Lovely

4,6 en diciembre 06, 2010

What a lovely place to stay. The only thing that could have made me rate it a bit higher on the room would be the addition of newer gadgets in the rooms. Last summer we stayed at a B+B that had I-pod jacks in the room. These were so nice because we could listen to our music while we enjoyed the room.


Delightful

5 en noviembre 29, 2010

Jack and Donna are warm and wonderful hosts. An elegant home, breakfast was yummy. We are looking forward to a return visit!


Mike & Denise Urban Review

4,8 en octubre 16, 2010

- This was an outstanding stay and we are looking forward to our next visit - Jack and Donna were the kind of hosts that you hope for but rarely get!


The Art of Hospitality

4,6 en agosto 31, 2010

The art of hospitality is a gift to be shared and enjoyed those fortunate enough to find it. Inn Keepers of the Oliver Phelps House, Jack and Donna, have perfected the art. You will not be disappointed. The house is immaculate, the amenities surpass all reasonable expectation; the food is authentic, fresh and creative able to satisfy the most discerning palette. A gracious sensitivity distinguishes the Oliver Phelps House, above all. Rest in the gardens, sink into freshly laundered linens on premium beds, and you will find peace. Whatever your schedule MAKE time to simply enjoy this nurturing retreat. I highly recommend it!


What Hospitality!!

5 en noviembre 11, 2009

Jack and Donna are INCREDIBLE innkeepers. What wonderful conversations we had with them both. We learned that they both are marvelous chefs with specialties for each. Our room was adorable ... very clean and quaint. We had gotten engaged during our stay and Jack and Donna were so kind with the special little things they did for us. We will never forget them... nor do we plan too. The weather was chilly but the outside of this home is incredible for summer delight. We look forward to coming back. Thank you so much Jack and Donna for making our stay PERFECT!


Family Gathering at Oliver Phelps

4,4 en septiembre 28, 2009

There were 5 of us in 3 rooms and we were delighted to have all of the rooms right next each other. We stayed for two nights and had a very memorable experience. Donna and Jack were wonderful and very accommodating with our "extra" wishes. The breakfast was delicious and a work of art. The B&B is roomy and had many public areas (inside and outside) and is in an ideal location near the Lake. Would have loved to turn on the fireplace in the living room - I guess we could have asked! Would definitely recommend and go back if the opportunity arose.


Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

4,2 en agosto 24, 2009

A joy from beginning to end. Donna and Jack were born to be innkeepers -- we'd visit again in a heartbeat!


Oliver Phelps

5 en junio 18, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The owners are incredibly nice and helpful. The breakfasts were fantastic. They also had a nice hot tub and deck. It's a great place to relax!


Finger Lakes Finest

5 en junio 17, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed with Donna and Jack. The Inn is lovely with all kinds of gracious details. The breakfasts are superb. Jack has planned lots of excellent bike rides for us both times. And both Donna and Jack can't do enough to please.


Our "Getaway"

4,6 en mayo 24, 2009

Although we don't live far from Oliver Phelps, we felt as if we had traveled a thousand miles. The house was immaculate and the gardens in full bloom. It was a side of Canandaigua that we all too often take for granted. My wife and I wanted to get away but not travel far. Jack and Donna made us feel as welcome as if we had traveled from another country and had never visited before. My wife has special dietary needs and they were able to exceed the need. Gluten Free cooking is not for the inexperienced and Jack and Donna did a fantastic job with the food. They get Five Stars just for that. We had a great weekend an enjoyed just sitting and being treated as friends not just guests.


home away from home

4,6 en abril 17, 2007

Jack and Donna treat us like family. They know the area well and are able to recommend suitable activities for us to enjoy. They also have excellent relationships with local restaurants and are able to get us a table when the house is "full". The inn is a charming blend of historical preservation and modern amenities. Each room is unique and Jack and Donna let us see them all so now we can choose one our favorites on our next visit. The breakfasts are the best I've ever had and they try to never repeat a menu during one's stay. Happily, they made an exception and at my request and repeated our first day's breakfast on our last. You can park your car and walk or ride loaner bikes to the lake, shops, restaurants, etc.


Wonderful hospitality, yummy breakfasts

4,4 en diciembre 16, 2006

Donna and Jack are warm and welcoming innkeepers; helpful and knowledgeable about the Finger Lakes. My room was comfortable and uncluttered, and the breakfasts were outstanding, especially the baked apple pancakes.


Bed and Breakfast at Oliver Phelps

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $140 - $190
  • Comentarios (154) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 5

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5853961650
  • Sin cargo
    1-8009261830

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba