New York Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

3,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,8
  • Servicios4,1
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza3,7
  • Comidas3,3

Puntuación basada en
37 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

New York

4,2 en agosto 27, 2013

The house was clean and well kept. As it was only 5 mins or so away from the train station is was good for getting around. My sister and I stayed for ten day and were very happy with house


Fantastic place for independent travellers

3,4 en mayo 05, 2011

Get a whole house near Manhattan for the price of a Newark room: use of the kitchen and living room if you're happy you might share (you only have to plug the fridge in, Real Mess). If you hate the fussiness, stuffiness and claustrophobia of hotels, this is ideal. We stayed with our kids for 9 nights. George was there when we arrived and left and otherwise we came and went as we liked in peace and borrowed parking from the church across the street. Broad Street station in Newark is 5 mins walk - get the Light Rail and PATH to the World Trade Center or the New Jersey Transit train to Penn Station. The street is quiet but you can hear the trains whistle past in the distance, which we loved - really city sounds! Brilliant value for the low maintenance guest - we had money to spend on all the NYC sights. The occasional bad reviews here say more about the authors than the accommodation. It's unusual, and that's what makes it good. Thanks for having us, George. We'll be back. Andy, Alison, Suzy & Izzy Hull from England.


An excellent value for the money.

4,2 en mayo 02, 2011

I stayed at NY Bed and Breakfast for two months during a job transfer in 2009. I needed to find a place to stay quickly, and I needed to be near Newark. I had an excellent experience. Without a doubt, the greatest asset this place has is George. He worked very hard to make me comfortable. Also, since I was a more long term guest, George always let me know when someone new was coming and for how long. These efforts made me feel at home. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who is looking for a safe, quiet and comfortable place to stay.


Very good deal to visit NYC

4,0 en abril 30, 2011

We are a family of 5 coming from Switzerland and it was not possible for us to pay the high price of an hotel in Manhattan. NY B&B was just the perfect place for us, as we have the whole house for ourselves. Clean, practical, we used the kitchen everyday for he breakfast or even sometimes the dinner. A small grocery is in the area to buy some light food or drinks (milk, cereals, bread, butter, pasta ...). But you've better to bring back your meals from NYC, as there is no mall or supermarket in very near area. The railway station is only at a 5 minutes walk and the trains lead you to Penn Station NY in about 20 minutes (5$ each way). Downtown Newark is also close to the flat with the light railway if you want to go to a hockey or basketball game or to the famous BBQ restaurant recommended by George. If you want to spend your money better for shopping than for an out of price hotel from Manhattan, NY B&B is the place you have to stay.


Third time is a charm!!!

4,0 en abril 27, 2011

This is a family oriented place that you want to keep coming back to. Its close enough to the city but yet far enough away from the hustle n bustle for a good night sleep!!! The owners go above n beyond to make your stay comfortable. Its very affordable, clean, n boy "THE PRICE IS RIGHT"!!! I would highly recommend this establishment to my friends n family!!!!

Respuesta del propietario

Dear "Third Time" Thank you very much for your support. You are wonderful.


New York on a budget

3,2 en abril 27, 2011

My Australian friend and I wanted to visit New York on a budget and were very happy with the New York Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations were quaint, clean and comfortable, within a 5 minute walk to the train straight into Penn Station. (20 minutes into New York) George picked us up and dropped us to the airport for a reasonable cost.(Taxis have been known to take advantage of tourists). George genuinly cared that we had a good experience in New York. The B&B is only 10 minutes from the Newark Airport. He showed interest in our visit and went out of his way to give us any information we needed. I would recommend it for budget conscious travellers.


A real mess !

1,4 en febrero 08, 2011

The owners don't live there, it's just an house with three bedrooms and one bathroom. No towels in the bathroom ! No breakfast served ! Yes, a kitchen but bring your groceries and cook yhem yourself ! An old TV in the livingroom, but not connected to a cable !!! Just 3 old DVD on the TV table !!! The refrigerator wasn't connected, probably because it doesn't work anymore ! No parking, even if it was promised to get a secure parking ! We got an appointment with the owner on the following morning, but he didn't appear in time ! After an hour, we left and we won't be there anymore ! I can't understand how BedandBreakfast.com has such a member in his listing !!!

Respuesta del propietario

"Real Mess" made a one night reservation in February w the idea to leave his car and comeback after several days. We had a hard winter and almost one snow storm every week. Streets and parking lots were impossible. Our house invites the adventurous and independent traveler. Easy to get to Times Square and its live shows. The kitchen is equipped for your use. Welcome to prepare your own meals, breakfast can be purchased upon request. We provide steam cleaned linens and fresh towels. We are proud to be on the Silver Listing of Bed and Breakfast.com. Many of our guests came back or sent relatives and friends. Our reviews describe our place as a "Serene and clean"; "Good Value"; "Very well Situated"; "helpful host"; "Perfect place for a family"; "Perfect to explore Manhattan"; "Little gem"; "Excellent".....too much to list. Please come, and see it for yourself!!!


Great location for visiting NYC

4,4 en diciembre 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for 6 days in December and had a house almost all the time (except last night) for ourselves. Upon our arrival we got the keys, hosts were just a phone call away. Great advantage of the place is excellent location: you can reach NY Penn Station in 20 minutes with a train (station is really just around the corner), 45 minutes by Path (from Newark Penn Station- 20 min by walk or 5 minutes by Light Rail) and vicinity of Newark International airport (to get there we used Light Rail to Newark Penn Station- 5 min, than train to the airport- less then 10 min). The house was clean and cosy, maybe it could be a little bit warmer in the evening, because outside was really cold. We didn't prepare dinners, but it was convenient to be able to have breakfast and coffee in PJ's when planning our day. Also, it was really nice from our host that we were able to leave our luggage in the living room last day, since we had flight at the evening, and wanted to go to NYC in the morning. One thing I missed- hairdryer. If it was summer I wouldn't mind, but it took me much longer to dry my hair...


A first class B&B to stay in the USA

4,0 en octubre 18, 2010

This was a first class place to stay,I enjoyed The owners help,this was first rate,George fetched me from the airport for a small charge excellent I hope to come back to the USA and stay at this B&B,again. Dennis Roadnight from the UK.


Close to everything

4,4 en octubre 05, 2010

We have recently spent 10 days at the New York Bed and Breakfast and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone seeking quiet, affordable and clean accommodation. George was and excellent and helpful host . N.Y. central was a pleasant 20 minute train ride away.We would not hesitate to come again.


Excellent place to stay when visiting NYC

3,8 en septiembre 14, 2010

This is a great place to stay when you want to avoid the high prices of NYC. It's clean, affordable and in a safe neighborhood. The train station is just a few blocks from the house and it only takes about 20 minutes to arrive at Penn Station (NY) with trains running often. The host was also very helpful during our entire visit. If we are in New York again, this is where we will stay!


Our start and finish in Newark and NYC

3,4 en septiembre 06, 2010

Back again, in our own country (The Netherlands) after our trip in USA and a part of Canada (Toronto). With a start and finish in your B&B house in Newark. A good location to explore NYC; we have seen a lot! The biggest advantage of your B&B is: “Privacy”, by the fact that we have had the whole house for ourselves. We were not used at the different noises (train/railway, bridge, AC) in the nights, so that give us sometimes some less comfort. Due to the weather conditions (especially in the second period), it was very hot in the house. So, our advice: put a fan (or two) on the ground floor. We thank George for leading us to the nearest Supermarket on the evening of our arrival. Thank you again and good luck with all. Best regards, Martin, Annemarie, Wouter and Lilian


Great place to stay

3,8 en septiembre 02, 2010

I stayed at this wonderful B&B for 6 nights in August. It was comfortable and clean. I felt like I was house sitting as there was everything available. The window air conditioner kept the room at a comfortable temperature. It was nice to be able to make a cup of tea and to have a fridge to put items in. I was alone and always felt safe going from the train to the house, even after midnight. The train to NYC is 2 blocks away and only takes 15-20 minutes to Penn Station. I have already booked a return trip. Tip: There is a corner store about 3 blocks away that is very reasonably priced. It has a meat/cheese counter so small amounts can be purchased.


very helpful host

3,6 en agosto 10, 2010

this place has an ideal location close to Newark Broadstreet Station- Perfect alternative to expensive rooms in Manhattan. Ideal, if you arrive at Newark Airport. but most important: extremely helpful and reliable host, was there to meet me although I arrived with a big delay. If you do not mind going by train to Manhattan (only two stops, about 20 min in total), it is the ideal base for exploring New York and surroundings. Rooms and Bathroom are clean, nothing fancy. Kitchen equipped with everything so you can make your own breakfast or meals. will recommend it to all my friends.


Clean, safe, and practical

4,6 en julio 01, 2010

Very clean, well located and safe. But most important, excellent attention by innkeepers!!! Looking forward to return. Hector


Long Weekend at the B&B

3,8 en junio 14, 2010

Stayed at the New York Bed and Breakfast for three nights. The inn was extremely clean and we were able to have the whole place to ourselves. There was no central A/C but the window A/C unit in the bedroom cooled the whole area down. There was also WiFi available, which was great. George was kind enough to save us a parking spot in the back and allow us to keep our car parked there, which was a great perk. This inn is very close to the train station that takes you into NYC (Penn Station) Although the train only comes along every 20-30 minutes and stops running at 1:20 in the morning. I felt safe in the area, even walking back from the train station late at night. Overall we had a great experience staying at the B&B and i would certainly stay there again. Great Value!


great place to stay

4,0 en abril 17, 2010

We stayed in March for one week to visit NYC. The place was great, just a 5 minute walk from the NJ transit train station. We had the whole house for ourselves so we felt like home. You will find everything you need, a kitchen, bathroom, two bed rooms and a nice living room. It is not a 'real' bed and breakfast because you have to make breakfast yourself but this is not a real issue. George was very helpful in case we needed anything. We enjoyed our stay and will consider to chose this B&B again when we'll be in NYC the next time.


Great little Gem

4,2 en marzo 23, 2010

I stayed here for 9 nights in March. I love the place! I thought it was awesome. It's a short walk from the train station, so it's real easy to get to New York from there. There is a great kitchen in which you can cook your own food and save money, and I would really recommend this for a small family or a small group of friends traveling together. There are plenty of entertainment options available in the house - DVDs, CDs, and a dart board in the kitchen are just what I caught.The value of the place is outstanding! I looked into a night at the Waldorf-Astoria for one night of my trip due to events in NYC, and you know, for the cost of one night at that hotel, I got run of a whole house for 9 days with a decent amount of money left over. You can't beat that value, really. I do want to point out, though, that this place isn't for everyone. There are some things which might be dealbreakers for some people, and it's best to realize these things before you book. The house is divided up living areas downstairs, and bedrooms upstairs. The steps are somewhat steep, and I know from experience living with older people, that sometimes steep steps and morning emergencies do not mix well - especially when you have multiple people inhouse who are getting ready for big days. If you have to have the bathroom right when you wake up, this might not be a good place to be. And also, the place itself is not wheelchair accessible at all. One last thing to note is that the neighborhood can be boisterous and loud, and a lot of outdoor sounds are very audible at all times - not to the point of being a problem for most people, but if you come from a very quiet place or are a light sleeper, this could be an issue. But, if you don't have any of these issues, I would heartily recommend this place. Thanks for the great place, George, and next time I come, I hope to meet you, Julia.


A great base for a visit to Manhattan

4,2 en agosto 16, 2009

Four of us stayed here and were pleased and surprised to find we had the house to ourselves. The decoration has been updated since the pictures were taken and all was comfortable. George couldn't have been more helpful, meeting us as we arrived and then bringing us bagels and coffee for breakfast in the morning. The station for Penn Station was really close, making this an ideal base for a trip to Manhattan. The only down side was some traffic noise in the front bedroom, which could have benefitted from some air con. Otherwise a great trip. Thank you!


Great spot for large or small group

4,2 en agosto 11, 2009

My family and I stayed in both houses as there was 8 of us for this trip. We enjoyed the houses and their close proximity to Manhattan. Though we simply used the houses to sleep in (long days in the city) we enjoyed our stay. Julia and George were great communicators and were very available and flexible during our stay. Their email correspondance made planning this trip ver simple. The only downside was staying in the one house that didn't have air conditioning during a hot August week. There were several fans however and this made it quite liveable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay while visiting the area. I'll be back!


a very great stay

3,8 en julio 22, 2009

A very peaceful and calm neighbourhood. A lot of people living there came to say hi and to wish us a pleasant stay.My daughter and I are very satisfied: the house was charming and clean, we slept well without any noise, we had connection to the internet, the kitchen was spacious ...George did everything to make us feel like home.It takes 3 minutes to get to the station and once in the train it takes 20 minutes to reach Manhattan.George also brought us at the airport and during our stay he gave us very good advice.We're really thinking about coming back again next summer.


Gracious and helpful hosts

4,0 en julio 07, 2009

I had been looking for a cheap place within easy reach of NYC for my wife and daughter to stay at, during the busy holiday season. I checked out a number of places, and I am thorough as I am a state government employee in Australia and we are not very busy at the moment. As well as Google maps, I used Google streets. As an ex taxi driver, and psychology major, this is a great place to stay if you want affordability mixed with proximity as well as some experience of the life regular people live near this megapolis. George and Julia couldn't do enough and have all the facts of the city at their fingertips.


Loved it!

4,8 en mayo 18, 2009

My friend and I wanted a nice, safe place to stay while visiting NYC and we found it. The train station taking us into the heart of the city is just around the corner and George is very nice. They sent us emails about what was happening in New York during our stay and George gave us a few more ideas when we met him. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and are planning on coming back next year.


Newark B&B Review

2,8 en enero 09, 2009

My husband and myself were spending our new year holidays in the newark B&B. We were very satisfied with the value for money of this place. The main convenience is the location: 5 min walk from the railway station, from which it takes you 20 min to get to the center of Manhattan. The owners of the place are very hospital and nice. The place has all the conveniences: nice and comfortable room, kitchen, cozy dining room. The slight inconvenience is the bathroom, which is located on the first floor and is sharable in case there are several guests staying in the house. We recommend this place for staying, you will find a good ratio of the comfortable and pleasant stay, convenient commute to NY and a price!

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Guests, The House was in demand during the holidays. Next time I will offer you a better room with private bathroom.


best alternative for an expensive hostel in manhattan

3,4 en diciembre 29, 2008

from here you can get easily to manhattan, just take the train and be there in 20 minutes. the train station is 3 minutes to walk away. the rooms are functional and clean.


Great place to stay

4,2 en diciembre 27, 2008

The place was spacious and nice, just 2 minutes walk from train station with frequent trains, just 20 min ride to downtown Manhattan. Great place to stay if you want to see the city. Kitchen is spacious and has all you need for cooking. Hosts friendly and helpful.


Undecided

2,6 en octubre 25, 2008

We stayed here because of the price - everything in Manhatten was at least double the price. We had the house to ourselves for the first two nights, then someone else stayed on the last night. We were told we had the house to ourselves when we arrived, so I got quite a shock to see other peoples gear there when we arrived back late on our last night. I thought the owners would have let us know that someone else was arriving. The house is very old and you can hear quite a bit of road noise, and you can hear the trains. Plus it was a bit chilly... and fall has only just started. It is very close to the train station (2-3 minute walk), however I didn't feel very safe in the area at all. There were dodgy looking people parked outside a lot, and you can hear sirens quite frequently. The owner met us at the house on arrival (which was nice considering we arrived at 10.30pm), however we did not see or hear from him again during our 3 night stay. I expected there to be some maps or info about NY there, however there were just a few pamphlets left behind by other guests. The train ride to Manhatten is easy- it takes about 15 minutes and costs $4 each way. There were no towels left for us. There is no double bed in the house (just 4 singles), which I didn't know until we got there. If you are in a group of people and need somewhere cheap to stay then this might be ok, but I wouldn't stay here again, as I didn't feel safe in the area and would have liked a bit more involvement from the owners.

Respuesta del propietario

Dear Undecided, Sorry that you did not feel safe. Read other reviews, you are the first person feeling unsafe. Most of my guest are very independent and are happy to have the house or half of the house for themselfs (since there are only two bedrooms). The single beds can be put together to everyone's convenience. This house is located in a historic district (about 110 yrs. old) Its a row brick dutch colonial, renovated and clean and we are proud of it. It has very easy access to Manhattan,


Good value for money

3,0 en octubre 23, 2008

Good value for money if you only want to sleep there. The owner/manager was very helpful, the room very basic but clean. It is very conveniently located to railway and bus stations. The area is safe and relatively quiet. The only irritation was that there is only one bathroom and that the only toilet is in the bathroom - it gets a bit hectic during rush hour in the mornings.


Okey place to stay at.

2,6 en octubre 18, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay i New York B&B. It is a small house and we hade it for our selfes most of the stay. The train to NYC is only minutes away and tkes 20 minutes to get in to Penn Station. The neighbourhood is calm but not much to do as far we were aware of. The inkeepers was very nice and helpful. Overall it met our expectations and we would consider to stay there again.


Perfect Base to explore Manhatten

4,2 en octubre 13, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at this clean accomodation and enjoyed it preparing our own breakfast in the kitchen and then to spent the rest of the time in NY only 20 min by train to Manhatten Penn Station. George was very helpul and the whole contact was pretty straight forward.


Bed and Breakfast

4,6 en septiembre 04, 2008

I found this little Bed and Breakfast online and was enticed by the great prices, but even more please once I arrived. The house is simply furnished, clean, and perfect for a weekend stay. I wouldn't recomend making the b&b a family weekend get-away, but for a short business trip or a quick stay in the city, it's perfect. This is made especially true because the train station is litterally a 300m walk from the house. Moreover, the owners are both flexable and friendly.


New York Adventure

4,0 en agosto 20, 2008

I stayed at this Bed and Breakfast in Newark, NJ in August 2008 and it was perfect for me. The place was nice and clean and the train to New York was a block away. The street was also very quiet and you could only hear the train slightly, not enough to bother your sleep. The train ride to New York was about a 20 minute ride and it only costs $4 dollars one-way. This is not your typical bed and breakfast because the owners do not reside on the premises. They basically give you the key and leave you at the house. There are only two bedrooms and there is a nice size kitchen. Additionally, the owners are very nice and friendly and very helpful. If you are looking for an adventure and an inexpensive but nice place to stay, stay at this bed and breakfast. Lee


A perfect place for a family visiting Manhattan

4,4 en agosto 01, 2008

We, a family with 5 members, made an agreement with George about staying for 4 nights in the nice little house, where everything worked perfect. We enjoyed having a kitchen after 10 days at hotels with restaurent food. George picked us up at the station, drove us to the closest supermarket and helped us finding a cheap car for rent, when we left the place. We went to ceremony in the local church/temple and was warmly met by everybody around us. We felt safe and secure and can recommend a visit to the beautifull local library, where it is possible to borrow computers with internet-access.


Helpful Host

4,0 en julio 23, 2008

The house is clean and the street seemed safe. Our room was clean, and we were the only ones staying there for a few days, so we had the house to ourselves. Secure parking was across the street. Our host was friendly and was able to answer our questions and provide some advice. We would stay there again, it's probably the most reasonable price where you can stay and go into Manhattan daily.


Very well situated B & B

3,2 en julio 11, 2008

I was very satisfied with the stay at this B & B. Innkeeper is very friendly and the location near Broad Street Train station just perfect. I found the most charming Braod street Cafe on this street as well. On my next trip to NY i will like to stay there again.


Good value B&B close to New York

3,2 en julio 02, 2008

I stayed with my family at this B&B, conveniently located in Newark, close to the Broad Street Newark Station for easy transit to Manhattan. The house is nice and clean. The price is very reasonable. There is no breakfast served because the inkeepers are not living at this location, but I knew what ot expect before making my decision. I will consider using it again in the future and recommend to friends.


Serene and clean

5 en junio 26, 2008

The place is in a quiet neighbourhood, very well maintained and within 5 minutes to the transit station. There is access throughout the stay to the kitchen with all the amenities and also the living room. The owner is very friendly and helpful with suggestions and advice which is so much welcomed by any tourist. We really enjoyed our stay and plan to go there again.


New York Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $40 - $79
  • Comentarios (37) 3,8
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2017025400

Más info

Arriba