Carroll Villa Hotel at the Mad Batter Restaurant Comentarios

TOTAL

4,3

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,1
  • Servicios4,4
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
78 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Excellent place to stay

4,2 en julio 08, 2014

Rooms were nice, service outstanding, people were extremely polite and helpful. Food was outstanding :-) Will definitely be back!


still enjoyable thru all these years

3,6 en julio 04, 2014

i have enjoyed this B&B since '79. It's location is ideal for beach and shopping. The attached restaurant is casual upscale in food prep & presentation. Their complimentary ($30) breakfast for tenants at the Mad Batter is a great, tasty deal. Many rooms are small so viewing them on line before reserving is a must. The service was exemplary from the frt desk to the bartender at Happy Hour next door.

Respuesta del propietario

We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we especially appreciate your continued patronage. Have a wonderful summer from all of us at the CV and the MB.


Purr-fect!

4,6 en junio 25, 2014

Darling room with cozy ambience. Our front corner room #13 had a peek a boo view of the ocean too! Staff was very nice and the restaurant, The Mad Batter, was excellent! Location was prefect. An easy short walk to the beach or shopping and restaurants etc etc. No on site parking. Free parking is provided But it is a 7 minute walk from the hotel. We thought this would be very inconvenient but was actually fine as everything we wanted was so close. We would be happy to stay again in future.


Charming Bed and Breakfast

3,6 en junio 19, 2014

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. It is located 1/2 a block from the beach and room #4 has a side view of the ocean. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. You get a 30% off dinner coupon for the Mad Batter restaurant which is directly below the hotel and $15.00 voucher per person to use towards breakfast or lunch. There is no set time for breakfast which I liked that you could go anytime. The food at the restaurant was very good and large portions. Overall I would go back again soon.


Very nice

3,0 en junio 02, 2014

Room 28 was nice. The ocean view was great. It wasn't cleaned very well from the last guest though. There were some crayons on the ground and the bedside tables weren't wiped off very well; I assume someone with kids was in before us. But I'm also a germ-a-phobe and every time I visit a hotel room, I bring Clorox wipes with me to go over the high-touch surfaces once again. So, if you're not persnickety regarding cleanliness (like me), it should be fine for you. It was nice that we got vouchers for the Mad Batter; that restaurant is phenomenal! Everyone was very nice.

Respuesta del propietario

We are glad that you ultimately had a good time and enjoyed the ocean and our restaurant as well but are sorry for the apparent hasty cleaning of the bedside tables and the errant crayons. Please accept our apologies and we promise to do better next time. Thank you for your review.


Breakfast was a positive surprise

3,2 en mayo 26, 2014

No big surprises besides the breakfast. The old Victorian villa beautiful to look at but not really comfortable inside, especially for second floor guests


Great B&B!

4,8 en mayo 02, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carroll Villa. Our package was wonderful and the food at the Mad Batter was incredible. Our only complaint was that we don't like footboards on beds because my husband is tall. We would have enjoyed more opportunities to talk to other guests at breakfast but understand that the restaurant's design doesn't lend itself to this.

Respuesta del propietario

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your getaway package and your stay. We appreciate your nice complements very much. For future reference, please know that quite a few of our rooms do have beds without footboards such as 16, 21and 25. We hope you will stay with us again sometime. Thank you for your nice review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter.


Carroll Villa

4,2 en octubre 07, 2013

Best reason to stay here is the Mad Batter Restaurant downstairs.


Excellent B&B

4,6 en septiembre 04, 2013

I stepped into the room, and immediately noticed a fresh scent and the clean, well maintained bedroom. The bathroom was very clean and very well kept (I was very impressed with this as I am rather particular about bathroom cleanliness). The room was snug but adequately sized for two people. You get a $30 dining credit for each morning you stay at the Carroll Villa and it is more than enough. The breakfast portions are generousely sized, and that is probably an understatement. The staff was friendly, and helpful. You are less than a 1 block walk from the beach and 1 block from Washington Street which is the town outdoor shopping mall. Fantastic experience and we would stay again.


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway!

5 en abril 18, 2013

We were excited to yet again, spend another anniversary at the Carroll Villa. We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave. From our arrival, until our departure, our needs were met at every turn. We were fortunate to stay in a recently renovated room that we said will become the room we request going forward as it was perfect! The Carroll Villa's location to the beach and shopping can't be beat! Can't wait to return!!


Home away from home!

4,8 en marzo 20, 2013

5 of us enjoyed our St Patty's Day weekend at The Carroll Villa. The staff was terrific! Friendly & helpful. HAPPY HOUR was great!!! Adding the 3rd night for $50.00 a bonus! Breakfast was delightful! Only improvement that could be made...the showers left something to be desired. We'd love to make St Patty's an annual event in Cape May at Carroll Villa!!!


Winter-time Stay

3,8 en enero 27, 2013

Great time of the year to avoid the crowds and explore the cape in its winter chill.


Excellent

4,4 en diciembre 31, 2012

The Room, The Food, The Desk Clerks, all were friendly and everthing was perfect. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. Can't wait to go back. - Deborah Davis, Carlisle, PA.


great place to stay

5 en noviembre 19, 2012

Carroll's never disappoints: good service, clean and quiet rooms. The food is excellent. Happy Hour is a great time to relax.


Great weekend at Carroll Villa!

4,6 en agosto 01, 2012

We've just returned from a weekend at the Carroll Villa, and had a wonderful time as always. We enjoyed the vintage furnishings and elegance, and the staff was uniformally friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of Cape May, less than a block from the beach and near the pedestrian mall and some of the beautiful Victorian houses. Our dinner and breakfast at The Mad Batter (located in the hotel) were excellent. We plan to return soon, and highly recommend both the hotel and restaurant.


Just Love the Carroll Villa !

5 en mayo 04, 2012

We have been coming to the Carroll Villa for 15 years and just Love It !


March Getaway

5 en abril 03, 2012

As a young girl, I always wanted to stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Due to a wedding down the shore, I finally received the opportunity to. This hotel is exceptionally beautiful, fantastic, and has very friendly staff. Anything we needed was available and the location to the downtown, shopping, restaurants, and sight-seeing was fabulous. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here. I look forward to coming back soon!


Carroll Villa Getaway

4,8 en octubre 09, 2011

The hotel was charming and the Mad Batter breakfast was outstanding.


Enjoyed the stay...and especially the bisque

4,2 en septiembre 14, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay. Since it was after Labor Day it was quieter than during the peak season. The location was great and the Mad Batter had some great lobster and crab bisque.


Excellent!

4,2 en julio 21, 2011

We had a great room, fantastic service and a wonderful experience at the restaurant & bar!


Best B&B in NJ

5 en julio 13, 2010

The service is outstanding, as is the dining, which is the attached "Mad Hatter". The private rooms are gloriously clean and decorated. The common rooms and porch were also very nice. The price is somewhat high.


Wonderful!

4,0 en julio 12, 2010

The staff was friendly, the room was very clean, and the restaurant was very tasty. The location was perfect!


Why to Avoid Carroll Villa in Cape May

2,2 en abril 10, 2010

Here is why you should avoid the Carroll Villa hotel--rude service by the check-in agent and even the owner. When I walked to the check-in counter, the lady working gave me the key and told me where to find my room. After I went upstairs, I noticed the room she gave me was not the room I specified booking through bedandbreakfast.com. So I went back downstairs, told her it was the wrong room, and asked to move rooms. She told me the room was the only one available and that, if there was a problem that I didn't get the room I wanted, then it was bedandbreakfast.com's problem. I asked her to cancel my reservation, at which point, she told my I couldn't cancel. I told her I didn't think it was very good customer service, at which point, she raised her voice to me to the point where she was almost yelling. Since I had not raised my voice once in our conversation or used any type of profane language, I asked her why she was raising her voice to me. She said she raised her voice because I [direct quote] "wouldn't shut up long enough for her to..." I stopped her at the "to" and asked to see her boss. She went away for several minutes and then came back with the owner of the B&B. I recounted the story for him, and he said he stuck by his employee and that there was nothing that they could do about the room. He wouldn't let me cancel my room. His big customer service idea? He offered to buy me a drink to start over and offered me 30% off if I had dinner in his restaurant. What he didn't know is that I had been on his web site and thus knew that any guests staying in his B&B already got 30% off on dinner. While my fiancee and I met plenty of nice people in Cape May, these two folks were not among them. I certainly intend to go back to Cape May and will definitely use the bedandbreakfast.com service again. But I will avoid this place like the Plague.

Respuesta del propietario

We are sorry that this person had his issues with us. The reality of the situation is that his booking was madethru bedandbreakfast.com . This is true and he was the person who picked out his room..We honor peoples choices. We were full this nite and there was nothing we could do for that person...As it says on this website all communication should be made thru bedandbreakfast.com if when booking thru them. We do offer 30% off dinner and happy hour to our hotel guests. I was just trying to make their experience a happier one...


Carroll Villa Hotel at the Mad Batter Restaurant

4,2 en diciembre 08, 2009

Very small, clean, pretty room and great food.


Carroll Villa is Top Notch

4,4 en septiembre 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Carroll Villa for 3 nights. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. A must stay!


Andy and Sheryl Wayne N.J.ite"s hit the Cape

5 en septiembre 13, 2009

Year after year the Carroll Villa (Mark and Pam) along with their staff just seem to get better with time. Very likeable inn-keepers consistently make you feel part of their family. I even commented this time around the staff has been exceptional this year. It is so nice the relationship has truly become personal throughout the years. We are always welcomed with a welcome back balloon in our room, complimentary drinks, tee shirts, and gift certificates to be used at their restaurant. Tremendous breakfasts along with wonderful room accomodations remain consistent to make our annual shore trip worth waiting for. Mark is constantly making his rounds to make sure things are perfect. Along with the great antiquing up Rte 9, cape May Zoo, the beach one block away, the Lewes Ferry to Delaware (outlets) are just a few things that take up our 8 day stay. Trust me on this one. If you are looking for the one and only B&B in Cape May this needs to be tops on the list!

Respuesta del propietario

We thank you for returning again this year and are gratified to know we have succeeded in our endeavors to please our guests. We feel that one of the things that help us maintain our level of service is that we have a consistent staff. Many of our people have been with us for years and truly are members of our "extended family". Because we value our return guests, we try to welcome them appropriately so that they are aware of our appreciation. We look forward to your return and encourage you to check our website at www.carrollvilla.com regularly for specials.


I would not come back there

3,0 en septiembre 05, 2009

Okay cleanliness is rated great, there is no room service, so i really can't tell you how good they'll be. The restaurant at the 1st floor of the Inn has great servers but average food. Or maybe it just didnt soothe my taste buds. The value is just about right. The room is smaller than I expected and I would have given this 2 stars for room except, they have a quiet time of 10-8am and it was past 11 and it was still blasting away all nights I was there . What makes it worse is the monotone melody that kept repeating over and over and over again...It almost drove me crazy and thought never again will I return here. I also felt it is my responsiblity to let people know about this. I felt bad for those who have children and had to sleeo early. I suppose others have better experience. But this is mine.

Respuesta del propietario

We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than enjoyable and wish you had spoken to a staff member while you were with us so that we could try to make your stay more to your expectations. We do however, appreciate your accolades to our servers and will certainly be sure to pass them on.


We'll be back!!!!

4,8 en septiembre 04, 2009

Just got back from our second stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel...it went way too fast...wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean...hotel staff was very efficient and also very friendly...could not do enough for you. Loved that the hotel is just a short walk to the beach. The food is beyond good...even when we stayed at other places in Cape May (have been coming for 20 years) we always ate breakfast at the Batter...no place can compare to their breakfast. This time we also ate dinner there...it was amazing! I look forward to coming to Cape May each year and in my opinion there is only one place to come back to...the Carroll Villa Hotel at the Mad Batter.

Respuesta del propietario

We love to hear from return guests. It's helpful to know we are on the right track. We feel that including breakfast with your room and 30% off of dinner for our guests is an added benefit as well as providing coffee in the parlor each morning. We look forward to your return and encourage you to check our website at www.carrollvilla.com regularly for specials which are posted year round.


another great time

4,0 en septiembre 02, 2009

our third visit to Carroll Villa the end of July and it was great again. convenient to the stores, and beach. visit the mad batter for breakfast and dinner and you will make your stay perfect.


Yes to breakfast, but avoid the hotel

2,0 en agosto 28, 2009

The best part of our stay were the delicious breakfasts, especially French toast, at the restaurant. The problem, though, is that all of the resources are being poured into the restaurant: the fun spaces, like the porch, that would normally be shared by guests in a Victorian B&B, have been subsumed by diners. Worst of all, though, the room we stayed in smelled strongly of mildew. The floor was damp underneath of the carpet, and the decor looked faded and tired...unlike the spiffy decor in the restaurant below. My recommendation: stay somewhere else, especially if you're allergic to dust, mold, or mildew.


Best stay in Cape May

5 en agosto 23, 2009

We've been staying at the Carroll Villa for some time. The location is perfect, about 1/4 block from the beach. The rooms--we've stayed in both the main hotel and the annex--are very clean and comfortable. Every morning, the NY Times is available free in the main room. Employees are wonderful. Staying in the Carroll Villa gets you coupons for breakfast and dinner at the Mad Batter, one of the town's excellent restaurants. The restaurant has an outdoor porch that's fun, a very nice bar area, and a regular dining room, but I like the porch. Omlets are great for breakfast and the dinner's are creative and excellent. Try the red snapper, but do not miss the skirt steak.


One Night at the Villa

4,0 en julio 21, 2009

Since it was my and my wife's first visit to Cape May and to Carroll Villa we really didn't know what to expect. With that said, it is hard to rate our experience re expectations of the room and value. The only negative we experienced, and it was not monumental, was the size of the room. Room 11 is quite small, but we didn't spend much time in it, so no big issue. The positives outweighed the negative, for sure. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is outstanding. Half block to the beach, 1 block to the very popular shops in the outdoor mall and many restaurants. We only had lunch at the restaurant at the Carroll Villa and it was very good. The quality of the food was evidenced by the many people from other hotels/B&B waiting to have breakfast. The setting for the meal, large front porch was ideal. Pleasant ocean breeze and cool temperature. Couldn't have been nicer. Would highly recommend. Sheldon and Janey Hays Georgetown, TX


mini vaca

4,0 en julio 15, 2009

Our children gave us a gift cert and we combined it w/another gift cert and stayed 2 nights. It was very nice. Cape May is beautiful. The inn was clean and friendly and our room was quiet. We came and went and no one intruded. The front porch was cute and a fun place to have breakfast. It's a half block from the beach which was excellent. We would go back.


Best Place in cape May

4,0 en julio 11, 2009

wonderful place to stay in Cape May, Only place to stay for us. Rooms are lovely, everyone who works here are super nice and very accomodating. hope to see you all soon


A Charming little hotel in the heart of Cape May

4,6 en julio 11, 2009

A cozy room with beautiful details. Perfect for two people in love. This hotel is in a perfect location. Nearly everything in Cape May is within walking distance. The Mad Batter is one of the best breakfast places in all of Cape May. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to stay in a classic Victorian hotel and doesn't mind forgoing some modern amenities other hotels may offer, such as a microwave, refrigerator, or large TV.


Cape May

3,2 en julio 05, 2009

I thought the room was very small. The air conditioner air dropped directly on our heads but was cool and adequate. The food was excellent but for the chicken salad in the bar. The chicken was tasteless. I was wishing for a place to sit and relax outside but of course the porch area is the restaurant which is lovely. The service was friendly and good and I appreciated that the clerk printed out my boarding pass!


Our one night stay

3,4 en julio 02, 2009

We only had one night in Cape May but the stay was very fun. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The room decor was old fashioned but the amenities were modern--air conditioning was cool and the bathrooms well equipped. Thanks for the great time.


great staff, wonderful location

4,0 en julio 01, 2009

The location of the Carroll Villa is fantastic! The staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable and offered outstanding suggestions to provide us with the most enjoyable Cape May visit. They are more than accommodating. We had both dinner and breakfast at the Mad Batter and thoroughly enjoyed both. Breakfast was especially good. Overall our stay in Cape May was highlighted by our time at this Bed & Breakfast.


Beach Vacation

4,0 en junio 22, 2009

Carroll Villa was a very nice B and B. It is very close to the ocean and the shops and restaurants. Also the Mad Batter was a wonderful place to eat. We had breakfast (of course) and dinner there one night and we were all impressed.


A Perfect Weekend

5 en junio 04, 2009

Anyone considering a visit to Cape May, NJ should put the Carroll Villa Bed & Breakfast at the top of thier list of places to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Decorated with period pieces, the rooms reminded us of an earlier era of travel. The friendly staff and delicious breakfast , along with with a scrumptious dinner at the Mad Batter restaurant, made for a perfect weekend.


We Loved It

4,8 en mayo 10, 2009

We stayed at the Carroll Villa over Halloween weekend last year (2008). It was one of the best trips we've ever taken. The place is so charming. There's just a pleasant vibe to the place that's hard to describe until you've been there. The people were outstanding. The rooms were clean. No complains at all!


great weekend !

5 en abril 27, 2009

We have been coming to Cape May for years, but this was our first time staying at the Carroll Villa. My husband and I visited this past weekend and everything was perfect ! We had dinner at the Mad Batter. It was heavenly !!! We also had breakfast on the porch which was great as well. We would highly recommend this Hotel and restaurant and hope to stay with them again. Thank-you so much for a much needed weekend away !


Great 1st Visit

4,6 en abril 21, 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Caroll Villa Hotel for our honeymoon (3 nights/4 days) & it was wonderful!!! The atomsphere was very relaxing, the rooms were just the right size & the food at the Mad Batter was very good. We would visit this hotel again in the future.

Respuesta del propietario

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here. Please come visit us again. The staff of the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter


Our first visit to the carroll villa

4,4 en abril 09, 2009

Our children gave us a gift certificate to the carroll villa and we just returned from our 3 day mini vacation. We had never stayed in cape may and thoroughly enjoyed this beach resort. The Carroll Villa was very accomodating and had all the amenities one would need. Since it was off season, parking was not a problem for us. I was pleasantly surprised that we received a $30 voucher for our two breakfasts which covered them. Breakfast was truely outstanding - many choices - each delicious. We also ate dinner there and had a 30% discount included. Only complaint was the menu was a bistro menu (off season) for dinner only and the choices were limited - what we had was good but more choices would have been nice. Hard to leave after 3 days - would def consider making a return visit. 4/8/09

Respuesta del propietario

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant. Our full breakfast lunch and dinner menus are available seven days a week from April-October and on weekends thru out the year. Our bistro menu is used for dinners off seasone during quiet times to maintain quality and pricing Hope to see you again! Mark Kulkowitz and Pam Huber, Innkeepers


Would Definitely recommend!!

4,2 en abril 03, 2009

We have been staying for two years now and we just love the whole atmosphere. The dining is really great and you have to experience the breakfast to believe it. Would definitely come again.


Favorite Weekend Trip

4,6 en febrero 07, 2009

My girlfriend and I had a little weekend getaway to Cape May this past January. We stay at the Carroll Villa and loved it!! When we arrived they upgraded our room to a larger one free of charge and breakfast was included for the entire stay. Breakfast at the Mad Batter was amazing and I highly recommended trying the Helsinki. Fabulous!! We plan on going back soon for another getaway.


Christmas at the Carroll Villa

5 en diciembre 31, 2008

2008 was our 6th Pre-Christmas visit to the Carroll Villa. Our room is a delight, made better this year with a flat screen TV and refrigerator. Always clean and bright and a new heating system made it so cozy and warm. Breakfast is wonderful each day, included with your stay,and the Hotel staff always go out of their way for us. They truly treat us like family. Our special dinner on Saturday nights are always better than the last and the food top rate. It is like home away from home for our group this year of 17 wonderful friends to share this Blessed season at the Villa. Each year we return for the same weekend, the Hospitality weekend and it's the best. We take over the living room area, inviting everyone and anyone to join us for some holiday cheer. Mark and the staff are always happy to see us, and we so look forward to coming back each year. This year, 2008, marked my husband and my, 24th year of coming to Cape May at Christmas, and I also get to celebrate my birthday which is why this tradition started so many years ago. It doesn't feel like Christmas until we come to Cape May and the Carroll Villa. Look forward to returning in the New Year and spending another Holiday with the Carroll Villa hotel and staff.


Carroll Villa Hotel

4,8 en noviembre 14, 2008

Very nice stay and excellent service


Many amenities but parking was awful.

3,4 en octubre 15, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this AAA value B&B and Mad Batter Restaurant in October. For the price of accommodations, I think there should be valet parking. We were two women, who arrived after dark and had not been to Cape May before. The beds were excellent, it was close to the beach and within walking distance of what we came to see. The restaurant food was outstanding. We received a 30 percent off coupon for dinner, which was excellent and very artfully presented. The service for dinner and breakfast was quick and attentive. There were many amenities in the room and they did not require a two-night booking. We used the Chamber's booking service to setermine what B&Bs had vacancies. We plan this as an annual trip and would recommend this facility. As I said the only down part is the lack of valet parking, since the parking directions were unclear and printed on the back of the permit. We still ended up in the wrong numicipal lot, so we just moved the parking cones and replaced them when we left. That little factor made the trip begin on a bad note and end on a bad note. So if you don't mind walking in the dark to find your hotel without a map, then the parking won't be an issue. The B&B next to us did have valet parking. We won't forget that when we return.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you had so much problem with parking. Parking has always been a problem in Cape May as the Victorian town never thought about cars when these beautiful houses were built in the late 1800's. In an effort to accomodate guests, we provide off street parking in the Cape May city lot about a 7 -10 minute walk back to the hotel. Since we are centrally located in the the center of town and historic district most guests find that they do not need to use their cars after arrival as walking is the best way to see Cape May. There are directions back from the Cape May city lot to our hotel on the back of the parking permit. We explain to all our guests upon arrival how to get to the city lot. We also explain in our confirmation letters where the lot is for our guests. We are glad that meals were enjoyable, service was good and that other than the parking issues our guests had an enjoyable stay.


Carroll Villa - wonderful stay

5 en octubre 13, 2008

We've stayed at this cozy B&B on two Oct occasions, enjoying the fall weather at the shore. Meals have been excellent, the staff friendly and flexible and the rooms charming. We were able to use coupons that reduced the cost further, making for substantial savings overall. We expect to return to this site again and again


Best Bacon Ever

4,0 en octubre 11, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We liked the fact that everything was within our hotel like fine dining, a friendly bar, and casual outdoor eating. During our stay, there was an Oktoberfest with a beer garden, German brats, and street vendors. It was really festive. My husband raved about the bacon. It was the best bacon he's ever tasted. All the food was excellent! It was a perfect weekend getaway.


Loved the Carroll Villa

5 en septiembre 30, 2008

The Carroll Villa is a great place to stay in Cape May. We loved every minute we were there. I would rate it higher than 5 if I could. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful, quilt on the bed, flowered wall paper, embroidered shower curtain, flat screen TV, and a beautiful view of Jackson Street. The breakfast was terrific, $15 per person to order whatever we wanted. And delicious too. A discount of 30% for dinner was also great, and delicious food also. Even better was eating breakfast and dinner on the front porch. We would definitely stay there again. We loved and so will you.


Great food, nice (small) rooms, amazing location

4,0 en septiembre 04, 2008

Loved the Carroll Villa. The staff was very nice, the brunch (comes with the room) was fantastic, and the location was amazing - right by the beach and the shopping - we didn't use our car the whole week. The rooms are nice, but ours was quite small.


Can't wait to go back

5 en agosto 23, 2008

We just returned from our first stay at Carroll Villa. The room was lovely. The bed was very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised by the flat screen tv to watch the Olympics! The location was perfect. The beach towels were a nice touch. I can't rave more about the Mad Batter. Breakfasts were superb! The wait staff is totally professional and knowledgeable. Went one night for dinner and the food was the best in Cape May! Will absolutely return.


Wow...

5 en agosto 21, 2008

Have been going to Cape May for the last 19 years and have eaten breakfast at the Mad Batter all those years...it is the best, but never stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel until this year. Had the most amazing time...food was great, room was clean, staff was friendly and the entertainment at the bar was the best...can't wait to go back next summer!!!


Carroll Villa Hotel at the Mad Batter Restaurant

5 en agosto 14, 2008

The Carroll Villa is a beautitful old building in a lovely Victorian section of Cape May. The hotel and associated classy resturant are run by knowledgable plesent people. We have a greater century association with them.


A Favorite, Year after Year

4,6 en agosto 09, 2008

I've been visiting Cape May with a group of college friends for nearly 10 years, and Carroll Villa Hotel is our very favorite place to stay. We no longer even bother to check availability and room rates at other hotels - and we are a difficult group to satisfy! Couples, single girls and families are all welcomed & accommodated by the friendly staff. The staff members, especially Kathi, are wonderful. One of the women in our group celebrated a birthday during our stay and was surprised by a balloon and salt water taffy as a gift from hotel staff. The rooms have been updated with flat screen tvs and a nice size refridgerator (larger than a dorm fridge). The air conditioning worked well (a must for August). The hotel is very conveniently located less than a block from the beach and about a block and half from the center of downtown Cape May. One of the best aspects of staying at the Carroll Villa is breakfast at the Mad Batter. Guests of the hotel receive a $15 voucher for breakfast and lunch, which is more than enough to have a large, tasty meal with money left over. The menu offers many options that always satisfies my group. I am already looking forward to a return visit. I just wish I lived closer so I didn't have to wait until next year.


Outstanding

4,4 en agosto 08, 2008

Love the little touches and recent improvements with flat screen tv and refrig in room. Also love Mad Batter breakfasts


Romantic Summer Getaway

4,8 en julio 27, 2008

My significant other & I were extremely pleased with our accomodations, the hospitality and friendliness of the staff, the excellent location and the value of our hotel stay. We never needed to pay for breakfast or lunch as paying guests, plus our meals were discounted during certain hours. The entire staff seemed to second-guess our every need. Plus, the Hotel Carroll Villa is just a few short steps to the beach!!! We wouldn't hestitate to stay here again, for a longer period of time.


All I can say is fantastic

4,2 en julio 21, 2008

What a wonderful Bed and Breakfast. Since there is a wonderful resturant in this B and B you get the best B and B breakfast ever. There are lots of choices right off their breakfast menu. I can't wait to go stay and eat at the Mad Batter again.


July 2008

4,2 en julio 19, 2008

My husband and I have stayed MANY times in Cape May, but never at the Carroll Villa. We had a gift card and decided to give it a try. Well, the visit exceeded our expectations on every level. For me, the three most important things are cleanliness (I'm a bit of a clean freak), good and cold A/C in my room and a nice sized clean bathroom (I'm a bit of a girly girl that needs her bathroom space!) Well, the Carroll Villa met all three requirements! Plus, the bar downstairs is excellent and the Happy Hour is so much fun. You get a real 'South Beach' Miami feel while you're there. My husband and I will definitely be making a return visit - SOON!


We loved this place!!!

4,6 en julio 10, 2008

Hello all: I had the most wonderful experience at the Carroll Villa Hotel in Cape May. It is by far a great hotel for those with limited funds, yet the staff makes you feel very special, with their friendly smiles and lovely demeanor. The rooms are definately sized to the pricing so there is no surprise, when you look at the room on the web, it is exactly the same when you check in. The rooms are immaculate, bathrooms sparkling clean. And the meal vouchers to eat in one of the most famous Cape May eateries, the Mad Batter are the icing on the cake! (People actually line up down the block to get in!!) And the few yards you walk to the beach, can't beat it folks....So if you go to Cape May but don't really want to stay in the conventional bed and breakfast, try this place. They will definately make you feel welcome!!! Give it a try folks!! Will definately be back! Char


Quaint b&b

3,4 en junio 28, 2008

Nice, quality b&b. Excellent location (one block to beach and shopping/resturants); has a popular outdoor restaurant with great breakfasts; and a friendly/courteous staff that lets you keep a low profile if that's what you prefer.


Pleasant Experience - Great Location

4,0 en junio 26, 2008

We stayed here for a weekend while in town for a family wedding in June. That is peak season so everything is pricey. This is a decent deal as they give you a wonderful breakfast with every night and 30% off on dinner which again is worth it in Cape May. The food is excellent, the rooms are tiny but clean and extremely charming. As everything is in Cape May, it is circa 1800's so expect crooked floors and ancient fixtures - but how cool is that for a change?


Sea Stay at Cape May

5 en junio 17, 2008

Having recently stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel in Cape May, NJ, I felt inspired to write a few words to try to match everything from the quaintly appointed and very comfortable rooms with spacious bathrooms and sleep-like-a-baby beds to the delicious and varied food at their Mad Batter Restaurant to the last, but certainly not least - impeccably courteous, helpful, friendly, and delightful staff. Please don't forget to go up to the peak of the building's lookout where the view is spectacular and there is a lovely space to relax and take in all 360 degrees of the southern tip of the Garden State! The price was extremely fair for the historic getaway we received, and there is free parking, a coupon toward meals, and many other perks. We will definitely stay there when I pass that way again!


Great attention to detail

4,8 en junio 14, 2008

I was very impressed with the physical condition of the rooms. It's very difficult to maintain a building that age, and it's not uncommon to see neglected details e.g. in plumbing. But our room was clean, updated, and well-maintained. That makes a huge contribution to being able to relax and enjoy a room.


like staying with old friends

4,6 en mayo 28, 2008

went for a wine dinner(excellent) and loved the room a wonderful romantic getaway close to the promenade and beach. owners friendly and staff very courteous


4/24/08

5 en mayo 27, 2008

Staff is very accommodating. The food is wonderful and dinner is "fine dining!"


4/24/08-4/25/08

5 en mayo 27, 2008

The Victorian decor enhances the awareness of present and past exposure to history.


Great Stay and Eats!

5 en mayo 14, 2008

This was our first stay in their B&B, but we have eaten outstanding meals there for over 20 years. The lodging was wonderful, very clean. Seperate bath. Staff very friendly and helpful. Have already made new reservations for our end of summer vacation. Heavy meal discounts and free breakfasts.


The best ever

5 en mayo 14, 2008

My stay at the Carroll Villa has been a truly amazing experience. The service is top quality and the friendly faces are heart warming. The new renovations have added to the already beautiful space. It is a unique place. Almost enchanted.


Anniversary get-away

5 en mayo 12, 2008

we love everything they have to offer with your stay. It is our favorite place to go on our Anniversary. Quiet and relaxing, It's perfect!!!! We highly recommend it to others.... the Breakfast menu is great.


Cape May's Best Deal

5 en mayo 06, 2008

We have stayed at numerous places in Cape May, including some of the high priced hotels, you will not find a more friendly and accommodating staff with beautiful rooms and the best food in Cape May right on site at the Mad Batter. Happy Hour and 1/2 price drinks always draws a friendly crowd at the bar. We high recommend it.


The Caroll Villa is beautiful!

4,4 en mayo 01, 2008

This was my first visit to Cape May, and I do not think I could have picked a better place! We were 1/2 a block away from the beach and a 1/2 a block away from the mall. This B&B is a great place to stay for first timers and regular visitors. I will definitely stay here again.


Loved the Carroll Villa

4,0 en abril 15, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely Victorian bed and breakfast very much (and so did the friends who accompanied us). The hotel was charming and our rooms spotlessly clean, the food at the attached Mad Batter Restaurant was delicious, and everyone on the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Can't wait to return for another visit.


Great Place...Great location

4,2 en abril 14, 2008

It's a very cool place with a wonderful staff... Only spent one night but would certainly stay there again. Nice inside room..Small but we already knew that. Clean and decorated nicely.. Great Location..walk to everything..1/2 block to the beach Parking can be a pain in the summer, but that goes for all the places in Cape May.


B&B friendliness with hotel-like amenities

4,2 en abril 12, 2008

As someone who generally shies away from the often claustrophobic atmosphere of B&Bs, I am delighted each time I stay at the Carroll Villa. One short block from beautiful south Jersey beachfront, the Carroll Villa somehow embodies a cozy, centuries old Victorian aura--antique room furniture and period-specific furnishings--but with great amentities such as modernized, spotless private baths, in-room flat screen TVs, and mini-fridges. They also offer a 30% dinner discount coupon for their resetaurant, The Mad Batter, whose dinners are excellent, especially in light of the fierce competition for tourist food dollars in this tiny resort town. Front desk help has been exceptionally friendly, each and every time, and we won't hesitate to return for many more stays.


Easy Living

3,4 en diciembre 27, 2007

I liked the idea that I parked my car and didn't drive again until the day I left. We had a great breakfast ever day and the walk to the beach is a 1/2 a block. We have gone to this place many times and have never been disappointed. Last but not least sun set at sun set beach.


Carroll Villa Hotel at the Mad Batter Restaurant

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $80 - $299
  • Comentarios (78) 4,3
  • Habitaciones 21
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-6098849619
  • Fax 1-6098840264
  • Sin cargo
    1-8772758452

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba