The Baird House Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
196 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Breathtaking vistas

4,2 en octubre 26, 2014

We have stayed at several bed and breakfast locations in 5 different states. Tom and Dee Dee are the best hosts we have had the pleasure to meet. The fall colors were spectacular and the service simply outstanding. We highly recommend the Baird House. Stan & Marcia October 2014


Baird House

3,6 en octubre 22, 2014

Tom and Deede are excellent hosts!


Awesome B&B!! Incredibly warm and friendly hosts!

4,8 en octubre 16, 2014

Clean room, great service, awesome food, warm hosts.


A grand weekend!

5 en octubre 11, 2014

My brother and I had a wonderful stay at Baird House. What a beautiful place! And there were two great, unexpected perks – first, the food. Wow! It impressed my brother whose career revolves around excellent food – not easily done! Also, what a bed in the main room of the Highlander! That may seem like a small thing but not to me!! Add to all that, the nice company and the graciousness of the owners – it all made for a grand time!!


Visit to Baird House

3,2 en octubre 10, 2014

Nice Old Inn, Nice Innkeepers, relaxed atmosphere...good getaway.


Baird House Review

5 en septiembre 29, 2014

Stay was great. Tom and Deede Hinson were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay great.


Lovely B&B

4,6 en septiembre 24, 2014

Fantastic hosts. Delicious food. Very nice accommodations. We would come back again.


Great place to relax and fish

4,4 en septiembre 16, 2014

We were first timers to the area. Tom and DeeDee made us welcome and explained to us the lay of the land. They made reservations for us for dinner on the first night at a restaurant they recommended. It was a great place to eat and unwind after the winding Blue Ridge Parkway ride to their place. Scenery was wonderful. Hosts made it a wonderful stay with the engaging conversation.


EVERYONE SHOULD STAY AT THE BAIRD HOUSE!!! WE'VE BEEN THERE MANY TIMES AND PLAN TO GO AGAIN!!!!

4,6 en agosto 31, 2014

The owners, Tom & Deede are so hospitable/friendly/caring/personable/gracious and Deede's breakfasts are amazing! We go back for the experience, hospitality, ambiance, quality of care, peacefulness, tranquility, and all around #1 place to stay!! We highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting the area. You WILL NOT be disappointed!


Great Time at the Baird House

5 en agosto 31, 2014

Gary Jordan and Shirley Phillips


Perfect stay every time

5 en agosto 20, 2014

We have been staying at The Baird House for over a decade and our expectations are exceeded each and every time. Tom and Deede go above and beyond to ensure a wonderful experience. We would not consider staying anywhere else in the High Country.


comfortable, great service

4,4 en agosto 11, 2014

our first time at a bed and breakfast. Enjoyable stay.


Couldn't ask for anything more

4,8 en agosto 10, 2014

I can't express enough the amazing experience we had at the Baird house BB. The owners were gracious hosts who made us feel welcomed and confortable. The apple view room was a private cozy getaway. Dede's breakfasts were absolutely Devine. I highly recommend the Baird house for any couple looking for a romantic relaxing getaway.


A perfect retreat.

5 en agosto 05, 2014

I have never been to a bed and breakfast before but imagined how it would be. The Baird house was a dream come true. The atmosphere, the innkeepers, the food, the funky vine covered-paint -peeling-outbuildings, the crystal clear river, even the sweet old golden retriever wandering the yard were all so perfect. I felt as if I were on the set of a movie. So lovely.


Restful weekend at the Baird House

5 en julio 16, 2014

I arrived at the Baird House exhausted from a very busy week and after two wonderful days, I was refreshed and restored. The Hinsons welcomed us as friends and truly made us feel at home. The sound of birds and smell of bacon woke us each morning and Deede's marvelous breakfasts sent us on our way to explore the countryside around their beautiful home.


First Bed and Breakfast Experience!

5 en julio 14, 2014

We had the best time at The Baird House Bed and Breakfast! It was definitely worth the money spent. The Sarah Jane room was perfectly romantic. Breakfast couldnt have been better..we cannot wait to go back!


A Lovely Stay

4,2 en junio 20, 2014

This lovey bed and breakfast has welcoming inn-keepers, clean and spacious rooms, delicious food, a beautiful river, singing birds, and adorable deer. For the price, you can't ask for anything more.


Refreshing

5 en junio 09, 2014

The Baird house stay was the most comfortable experience we have had in years. Everything was exceptional, the Sarah Jane room was perfect and a beautiful view of the River. Tom and Deede are great people and excellent innkeepers. They truly made the entire visit worth every moment. Raleigh, N.C.


Getaway

4,8 en mayo 28, 2014

Great place to stay - awesome breakfasts


Short but great stay at the Baird

4,6 en mayo 28, 2014

We stayed at the Baird for a wedding in Valle Crucis and had a great experience. The inn keepers were incredibly knowledgable and helpful and we felt welcomed for the short time we were there. We only wish we could have stayed for another day to spend more time at the B and B just relaxing. Definitely recommend this place!


Great hosts, and a restful stay!

4,6 en mayo 21, 2014

My wife and I were pampered with the comfort and hospitality of Tom and DeeDee at the Baird House. Our room was quiet, the bed was just right, and the breakfast was outstanding! It was definitely worth the extra drive to this secluded spot in the cool mountains. We will definitely return on our next visit to that area. DRM Greensboro, NC


Great Anniversary Trip!!!

5 en mayo 18, 2014

This was our first stay at a B&B and I do believe that it will be hard to beat. Great food, great friends, great service, great food. I would highly recommend. This was one of me and my wifes favorite trips. We had a great time.


Mountain Escape

5 en mayo 07, 2014

We have been staying with Tom and Dee Dee for years and always enjoy, not just the relaxing mountain river atmosphere and comfortable rooms, but also their hospitality. Breakfasts and always-available snacks are amazing. Already planning our return trip. Thanks for re-energizing us!


Best B and B ever

5 en abril 30, 2014

The best experience we have ever had at a B and B. I have never rated one at 5 stars in every category before. Every detail from the time we arrived until our departure was taken care of. Alex and Ann, Burlington, NC


Come as strangers, leave as friends

4,8 en abril 29, 2014

Ever been to a place that begs you to just relax? The Baird House features history, a bucolic setting, plenty to do and wonderful food. The innkeepers are the epitome of hospitality. I would definitely return. A good place "just to get away" from it all. But surrounded by fun places to go, hike, shop, dine.


Best B&B We've Stayed at

4,8 en abril 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Baird House. After the quick tour of the home and the history we were guided to our room with fresh cookies. Delicious. The room was fantastic and very comfortable. The morning breakfast was delicious and the conversation with the other guests and hosts was wonderful. We will definitely stay at the Baird House again when we are in the Boone area.


First ever stay in B&B

4,8 en abril 08, 2014

My wife and I wanted a getaway for the night and since Boone was less than an hour drive, we decided to try our first experience in a Bed & Breakfast. Amazing is an understatement of our experience with The Baird House. The hosts were very friendly, warm, and had a great sense of humor. We felt right at home in their B&B. The room was the perfect size for our night away from the kids. Coffee and cake was delicious and I normally don't drink much coffee. There was plenty of space in our room, the bathroom was decorated above average and we loved the matching robes. We had a great night of sleep. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Company at the breakfast table along with conversation was great. We thank Tom and Deede for their hospitality and friendliness and welcoming us to their B&B. We highly recommend this stop on your way through Northwest North Carolina. We will be coming back


baird house experience

5 en marzo 26, 2014

a very relaxing and pleasant stay; tom and deede were very accomodating and went out of their way to meet our needs in every aspect; including a very detailed description of the area and its sites and eateries.


Charming and Beautiful B&B

4,8 en marzo 16, 2014

Wonderful stay. Very warm and welcoming hosts. Would love to have another opportunity to come back and just hang around the B&B.


Very relaxing

4,8 en marzo 10, 2014

At first I was a little hesitant about how I would like the property, but I had a fabulous time. it was very relaxing, laid back, and I enjoyed being able to interact with the other guests over breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was fantastic! Also, the innkeepers were very nice, accomodating, and easy to talk to. I would consider staying there again.


First timer

4,8 en marzo 06, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want a real bed and breakfast experience. Everything was great including Tom and Dee Dee. They were the best host ever and made you feel right at home. Better than a hotel in the mountains. Looking forward to my next visit..Shamekia


Excellent Valentine Getaway

5 en febrero 20, 2014

Had a great Valentine Getaway at the Baird House. Tom and Deede are wonderful hosts and the breakfast is just wonderful! We stayed in the Appleview Room in the Carriage House and loved the room. It was the perfect winter weekend getaway and we do hope to visit again soon in the spring!


top notch southern charm

5 en febrero 17, 2014

Absolutely lovely historic home, with wonderful homey and cozy decor that honors the history of the home and area. The owners and hosts,Tom and Dedee, were fantastic as well. I couldn't recommend this more highly. And what a wonderful breakfast!


A delightful stay

5 en enero 24, 2014

Baird House is a beautiful old home (1790) with character and charm. The setting next to the Watauga River is gorgeous and the hospitality warm. Breakfast was full and delicious. Recommended.


Fantastic as always

5 en enero 23, 2014

Always a pleasure.


Casual, Relaxing, Inspiring

4,6 en diciembre 27, 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in the Boone area and couldn't have been more pleased the Baird House. Our stay not only provided us a calm atmosphere to rest during a busy season of life, it was truly rejuvenating for our souls. The beautiful old house has so much character. Breakfast is served on the old family table and is absolutely delicious. Tom and Deede go out of their way to meet every accommodation and then some. Just like the sign over the door says, we entered as strangers and left as friends. Many thanks to Tom and Deede for being such wonderful, inspiring hosts! We will be back!


A winter visit

4,0 en diciembre 19, 2013

Very friendly proprietors; beautiful scene right on the shallow Watauga River; 10 min. drive to "downtown" Valle Crucis and the Mast General Store; accessible to Boone. Fantastic breakfast too (the biscuits are exceptional!)


the big 60

5 en diciembre 12, 2013

This was our third time staying here and it was great as usual. You couldn't ask for better hosts than Tom and Dedee.


Wonderful weekend getaway!!

4,8 en noviembre 17, 2013

We decided to take a trip to the mountains and wanted a bed and breakfast and this place was just the place we needed. quiet at night and good conversations in the morning at breakfast. The owners are very nice and make sure you are happy with everything. The place was clean but still had that old time look and feel. Great breakfast food.


Lovely, quaint place to stay

5 en octubre 22, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Baird House and it was even more fantastic this time. The breakfasts are awesome and the service is outstanding. I can't say enough good things about this place. I would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone!!


Baird House

4,2 en octubre 15, 2013

All great. Especially enjoyed Deede and Tom's warm hospitality.


Great Place to Relax!

4,4 en octubre 13, 2013

Margie and Larry


Baird

3,8 en octubre 07, 2013

Tom was very hospitable. Great directions and suggestions.


BAIRD HOUSE

4,6 en octubre 07, 2013

Wonderful people.. Great place to stay !


Great B&B

5 en octubre 04, 2013

If you are looking for a truly rustic, charming B&B with great personality and warm caring hosts,the Braid House in Valle Crucis, NC is the place to stay.. They make all aspects of your stay 110 % outstanding.


Perfect stay

5 en septiembre 05, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. This place is absolutely perfect. Deede & Tom are so great and really set the bar high for B&Bs for us as this was our first experience at one. Deede is an awesome cook - you can tell she loves to make sure everyone is happy and full - ready for their day. It was great to hear Tom tell us the history of the home upon our arrival. Also, a bonus for us - Gabby - their sweet old dog - hung out with us time to time making us feel right at home. The river across the road is an extra treat! Would love to go back here some day.


Beautiful place near Boone, NC

3,4 en agosto 20, 2013

Great weather-a cool morning (in August!) with very friendly Innkeepers and a fantastic Breakfast!


Great retreat in the mountains.

5 en agosto 11, 2013

Tom and Dede are great people to stay with in a beautiful setting beside the the river. Dede is a great cook. The breakfasts and the cookies are terrific. Jogging down the country lane in the morning is really enjoyable. I will stay there again.


RELAX, UNWIND, TRULY AWAY FROM IT ALL!

3,8 en agosto 06, 2013

TIRED? STRESSED? NEED A QUIET PLACE TO GET AWAY AND FEEL PAMPERED? LOVED THE RUSTIC ELEGANCE, DOWN HOME FEELING.. SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE. I GOT THE REST NEEDED


The Baird House in peaceful Valle Crucis

4,2 en agosto 01, 2013

We just had a wonderful visit to the Baird House, and stayed in the Sarah Jane Room - a lovely, spacious and comfortable room. Deede gave a through history of the house (which is very interesting), and she and Tom were excellent hosts. Their directions and restaurant recommendations were very helpful. I like that they have an extensive movie collection and provide DVD players and VCRs, although the weather was far too nice for us to be indoors watching movies. We were grateful for their willingness to work with our food restrictions; we wish we could have eaten the other items on the menu, which looked delicious. They serve breakfast at one sitting, which is easier for them I imagine, and gives a good opportunity for getting to know your fellow guests around the dining room table. The setting is beautiful. I was slightly disappointed that the river was across the road as opposed to on the property as it appears in some of the photos. It's not a busy road, though, and a very short walk. We enjoyed the chairs in the back yard, and the hammock in the front. We enjoyed ourselves very much and wouldn't hesitate to go back. I understand the inn is for sale!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind review. Our front yard/property is the grassy area on the Watauga River...Watauga River Road actually cuts through our property :)


Great Stay in the Mountains!

5 en julio 18, 2013

Great mountain location on the river. Great host. Great Beds.


A wonderful Saturday

5 en julio 17, 2013

Delightful stay. Tommy is the perfect host and DeeDee prepared a Fabulous breakfast. We would love to return. J&J from Brevard.


Top Notch Beauty and Service on the River!

5 en julio 15, 2013

Tom and Deede are wonderful Innkeepers, who provide some of the best service and kindness you will encounter in a Bed and Breakfast. The fresh baked cookies and cake to welcome you, along with their friendly faces, is unbeatable. The history of the home and the setting along the Wautauga River make for an especially enjoyable stay. We've stayed there twice and will continue to return to the Baird House when we find ourselves in the area. Thank you again for making our stay a fantastic one!


Fabulous stay at the Baird House

4,8 en junio 29, 2013

We spent 3 weekday nights in the Apple View room and were the only guests there at the time. We LOVED it. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the company of Tom and Deede was a wonderful, unexpected addition (we'd never been to a B&B before and didn't know exactly what to expect). They are terrific hosts and great people to get to know. I chose this B&B because of the Watauga River running through the front of the yard--Hubby wanted to try fly fishing with his newly acquired equipment. The river is pleasant to wade in or to sit by and watch the tubers and kayakers go past. Would return in a heartbeat (and plan to). We highly recommend it. Tracey & John


Great as usual

5 en junio 24, 2013

Every stay feels like we wre visiting family. Tom and Deede are fabulous hosts. We always look forward to our stays at the Baird House.


A Fathers day stay

5 en junio 21, 2013

HAving stayed at many Inns through the years and in fact also been Inn Keepers we have certain expectations. The Baird House is simply a place that does not disappoint. It is filled with comfort. The Inn is seeped in history but remains simplistic. The InnKeepers, Tom and Deede are a delight, they draw you into a place that makes you feel like a family friend. The river is a bow on this package. Not stuffy, but comforting.


The Perfect Getaway!

5 en mayo 29, 2013

We had such a wonderful time staying at The Baird House of Valle Crucis this weekend. The inn is gorgeous, our room was perfect, and the area is just so pristine and peaceful. Breakfast was to die for each morning and Tom & Deede are such hospitable and gracious hosts. Definitely an experience we will soon be looking to repeat!


The Baird House - Thank you Tom

4,6 en mayo 28, 2013

My sister and I had a wonderful stay at the Baird House. Tom, our host, was welcoming and informative. He shared the history of the home and how he and his wife made the decision to purchase the property and keep the original name of the owners as the name for their Bed and Breakfast. By the way, there is a river (for fishing if you like) right across the street. Upon arrival, Tom gave us a tour of the house and our room. Our room was the 2 bedroom suite at the top of the stairs. We had lovely accommodations, comfortable beds, a private bath, and a fireplace. We also had a sitting area. It was perfect; more than we expected. Everything about the Baird House was warm and inviting. Tom recommended Proper's for dinner. It is a local restaurant and the food was homemade - delicious! There was plenty to eat and drink at the house - so you won't go hungry. We highly recommend The Baird House for a lovely and quite get away to the mountains of Boone!


Wonderful Stay!!

5 en mayo 20, 2013

Tom and Deede were super hosts, beautiful location and very relaxing. We are looking forward to another stay at the Baird House.


Baird house, don't miss out!

4,6 en mayo 08, 2013

Great place! Delicious breakfast! Can't wait to go back.


Overnight Getaway at Baird House

4,6 en abril 29, 2013

Very comfortable, friendly accommodations in a peaceful setting.


Restful and relaxing B&B

4,8 en abril 17, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Baird House and we were very pleased with our accommodations. The breakfast was outstanding as always. We will definitely visit again soon.


Tranquil Stay

5 en abril 13, 2013

My daughter and I were looking for a quiet place in North Carolina for a relaxing get away. We couldn't have made a better choice. The price was fantastic as we stumbled on an Internet special and got our rooms for only $99 a night. But even at full price it would be hard to find a better B&B. The Baird House is right down the road from the original Mast General Store in a very peaceful area yet it is a short drive from Boone. Tom and Dee were wonderful hosts. They were so friendly and interesting to talk to each morning. They made us a delicious, and filling, breakfast. There were always drinks available and my daughter says we have to go back if only to have a few more of Dee's amazing cookies. Our room was charming and cozy although my daughter is now insisting we get a jetted tub for our house! She had a great time exploring the countryside and the Watuga River which flows right across the road. We are already planning another trip and encouraging others to check out this gem.


Relaxing B & B

5 en abril 03, 2013

The Baird House is in such a peaceful setting and you just feel so relaxed while you are there. Tom and Deede make your stay so enjoyable. We enjoy our visits with them each morning. This is our favorate get away place in the High Country!!


They really take care of you here.

4,6 en marzo 30, 2013

The room and place where beautiful, but what impressed me most was the service. Tom called us when we were on our way to make sure he would be there when we arrived, and when I expressed uncertainty about the directions, he emailed them to the restaurant we were eating at and had them print them out for us. When we arrived, he gave a completely thorough tour and explanation of all the ways our needs would be taken care of, including great snacks and beverages and movies available all night long, without being at all intrusive or taking too much of our time. I felt very at home. The property is also beautiful. We got a room in the building apart from the main house, and it was very quiet.


Amazing Getaway Weekend

5 en febrero 12, 2013

My wife and I booked two nights at the Baird House as a quick mini-vacation. We were amazed how great our experience was. The best part were the hospitality of Deede and Tom. The homemade breakfast she cooked in the mornings could be the best thing I've ever tasted. I definitely recommend the Baird House for anyone looking to get away for a few days.


Home Away from Home

4,6 en enero 05, 2013

Comfortable, warm, delicious breakfasts, friendly innkeepers and dog, plus we had a light dusting of snow during our visit! Let Tom make a reservation for dinner for you in nearby Boone. Large selection of DVDs and videos to view in your room when you return from dinner. Wonderfully relaxing!


The Baird House at Christmas

5 en enero 03, 2013

Nothing but raves for every aspect of The Baird House. The hosts are charming and very helpful with dining and shopping hints. The breakfasts are out-of-this-world good. On top of it all, you're staying at house that is 222 years old.


After Christmas R&R for Mom & Dad

5 en enero 02, 2013

We always enjoy our time at the Baird House. The Hinson's offer excellent southern hospitality. The furnishings are comfortable and welcoming and Deede is an awesome cook.


Wonderful First B&B Experience--Awesome location--Awesome People--Beautiful Setting

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

From the time we arrived for our weekend getaway we felt at home! Tom welcomed us with a brief history of the Baird House and then took us personally to our room in the carriage house! Appleview was awesome...private, comfortable and gorgeous mountain views. Deede's breakfast was fabulous and warmed us up on both cold mornings in Valle Crucis! Tom made restaurant recommendations and made us reservations, complete with a hand drawn map of how to get to the Bistro Roca! Everything was so nice at the Baird House and we can't wait to go back!


The Baird House

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

The hospitality of the hosts is what keeps us returning to The Baird House. Deede is the best cook and conversationalist...a multi-tasker as she can do both at the same time! She makes you feel right at home. Don't look any further for a bed and breakfast...this is the best!


Alan and Connie / Sarasota, FL

5 en noviembre 06, 2012

We had a great stay at The Baird House. The Baird House has a great location and the area is a real treat. Deede was a fabulous host and we couldn't have been more pleased. We can’t wait to return to The Baird House.


Great Place to Stay

4,4 en octubre 31, 2012

This was our first stay in a bead and breakfast and it was great. The owners were very hospitable, the room was nice, and the food was awesome. We will definately be staying here again if we make it back to the Boone area.


Excellent B and B.

4,4 en octubre 22, 2012

Very friendly hosts - great food and rooms. River walks, very quiet but easy drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Valle Crusis, Boone, Grandfather Mountain and the Linville falls. A gem.


Extremely comfortable and cozy

4,6 en octubre 18, 2012

The breakfast was amazing! Dee Dee, Tom, and Gabby are more than just inn keepers they are friends now.


The best B& B ever.

5 en octubre 11, 2012

The hosts at the Baird House were the most hospitable people we have met. We were welcomed into their home and enjoyed our evenings chatting and laughing in their kitchen with other guests, sharing wine and stories x The breakfast was gorgeous and our room with an open fire was perfect xx


Warm and cozy

4,2 en octubre 10, 2012

We recently stayed at The Baird House B&B in Oct. 2012 It was our first stay at any B&B and we fell in love with it. The house is charming and cozy and you feel like you can just make yourself at home. The proprietors Tom & DeeDe were what really made us feel at home. They are both committed to providing the utmost care and service and treat you as a friend from the first moment you meet them. We had the Highlander Suite and it was wonderful to have the mountain breeze coming in the windows at night, and the glorious smell of bacon wafting up in the morning. The breakfasts were delicious and all of the guests there seemed to truly enjoy each other's company during the meal. The large front porch is perfect to just sit and ponder life or read a good book or gaze at the river. Whatever you want. If you are just looking for a place to put your head at night, you might want to just stay at a hotel. But if you are looking to stay at a place that will enrich your horizons and restore your confidence in the good of humanity, stay at The Baird House. You won't be disappointed.


October stay while visiting Grandfather Mountain

4,0 en octubre 09, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Baird House this past week. We had such a nice stay. We took a walk along the river which is picturesque. The owners were lovely and made our stay very enjoyable. We sat on the front porch and looked over the river. The breakfast we fabulous! We would not hesitate to stay here again, in fact look forward to it. Thanks to Tom & DeeDee Pam and Mark Lambert


Unique Experience!

4,4 en octubre 02, 2012

I titled the review "Unique Experience!" because this was my first experience in a Bed & Breakfast. Therefore, I did not know what to expect. Tom and Deede were excellent as host and hostess, and I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast on Friday Sept. 28th. Unfortunately, I had to leave early on Saturday Sept. 29th. to get back for a funeral, and I missed the delicious breakfast. I would love to return sometime when we are less rushed and can actualy spend more time at the Baird House enjoying the rocking chairs on the porches as well as all of the other amenities. The only thing that I would change is to add air conditioning to the room. With windows open, the room was cool enough, but the mountain air was humid which caused sinus problems. Overall, this was an outstanding experience! Thank you for the opportunity to review!


Peaceful, beautiful old home, awesome hosts...we wouldn't stay at any other bed and breakfast!

5 en septiembre 15, 2012

We love the Baird House! We've stayed twice and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and beautiful place to stay. Tom and Deede are super friendly and hospitable. You won't be disappointed.


Outstanding B&B

5 en septiembre 15, 2012

Our stay was only one day but we wish it could have been longer. The facilities were fine but above all it was the attention and friendliness of our hosts really stood out. Mary Lou & Ed Burtell


Birthday weekend

4,6 en septiembre 02, 2012

Deede and Tom were excellent hosts and provided a great informational introduction to the home and its history. Was worried about the lack of A/C but the night was so cool that the open windows were enough. Close to Boone and several restaurants. Breakfast was FANTASTIC!


Wonderful Getaway at the Baird House

4,0 en agosto 29, 2012

The Baird House was so peaceful and relaxing. The innkeepers were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the history of the house ! My favorite part of our experience was the delicious breakfast! Anyone who is looking for a romantic quiet vacation must visit the Baird House. We loved it!


History filled stay that was too short

4,4 en agosto 27, 2012

We were the only ones in the house as we stayed on Sun-Mon night. It was quiet peaceful and amazing. We were greeted by Gabby who maintained a constant vigilance when we were around and was always there when we needed a dog to scratch! The location was secluded but safe and Tom and Deede were gracious, selfless and accommodating. We couldn't have been happier. The history of the house is a story to itself. Thanks for a wonderful stay. We'll be back!


Baird House Aug 2012

4,4 en agosto 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Baird house this August and really enjoyed the wonderful atmosphere created by Tom and Deedee. We felt very at home and cared for while there and really enjoyed its fantastic location -- its beautiful and has great access to things to do in the area. Highly recommended stay.


Fantastic

5 en agosto 14, 2012

Fantastic experience with Tom and DeeDee at their lovely b&b.


Our July Stay

5 en agosto 12, 2012

Have stayed here many times and we're never disappointed.


Wonderful get-away.

4,6 en agosto 07, 2012

Clean, quiet and lovely B&B. Friendly proprietors. Delicious breakfast.


Baird House stay

4,8 en agosto 01, 2012

We celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary in Boone, NC and at the Baird House. This historic property is well taken care of, and the owners can be justifiably proud of their charming, comfortable place in Valle Crucis (The Valley of the Cross) NC. We were very pleased to have met Tom and Deede, and must say that it was like staying with family. We will return. Cheers.


Best Experience Ever!

5 en agosto 01, 2012

My husband stayed at The Baird House and what an experience. Tom and DeeDee were incredibly hospitable and gracious. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The grounds were well taken care. We were absolutely spoiled. We will definitely be back!


nice respite

4,6 en julio 14, 2012

A great last minute get away. Tom & Dedee are great hosts. Breakfast was wonderful as always. A very peaceful setting. Just what we needed.


Baird House June 2012 visit

4,0 en junio 21, 2012

We visited this B&B for the first time and were very pleased! The breakfasts were excellent and the overall house and accommodations very much cleaner than experienced at other B&Bs. Deede and Tom were great hosts, the river view was outstanding and the quiet times were plentiful. The Valle Crucis area is fortunate to have this historic landmark and it is definitely worth the visit!


Great place to stay!!

5 en junio 14, 2012

Tom and Deede always make you feel at home. The rooms are large and comfortable and the breakfast can not be beat!


Fabulous!

4,4 en junio 13, 2012

We only stayed one night but it was very comfortable and Tom and Deede make you feel so at home. They recommended a perfect spot for dinner and the breakfast in the morning was wonderful. We will definitely stay again if we are ever in the area!!


A bit of heaven on earth

5 en mayo 27, 2012

Our hosts were gracious, fabulous cooks and interesting people. This was a delightful two night stay in an idyllic setting on the river, with southern hospitality running through every experience we had.


Visit to the Baird house,

4,6 en abril 26, 2012

We thorougly enjoyed our night at Blowing Rock and the Baird House. Tom recommended a few restaurants. The one we chose, he was spot on. Excellent dining experience. When we arrived back at the Inn we enjoyed some wonderful chocolate cobbler by Deede and their grand daughter. We visited with many of the other guests before calling it a night. the rooms were very clean and wonderfully aquainted. We will probably go again in the near future.


Wonderful hideaway!

4,6 en abril 05, 2012

We were both looking for a relaxing and laid back atmosphere and that is exactly what we found! What we also found was a comfortable bed, wonderful and friendly hospitality and amazing cookies! There is only about a 15-20 min drive to blowing rock and very nice dining in Valle Crucis as well. The breakfast is wonderful and not to be missed. You will be glad that you planned a visit here and you will look forward to your next.


Beautiful

5 en febrero 19, 2012

We LOVE The Baird House! It's our special place for solitude.


YUMMO!

4,0 en febrero 01, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a little R&R without the kids or pets. Tom and Deede are delightful and in addition to preparing some of the best breakfasts we have ever had, directed us to some of the BEST resturants around. Deede even gave me a biscuit makuing lesson which has proven to be my kids favorite souvenir.


snowy

3,6 en enero 30, 2012

Had a pleasant one night stay at The Baird House.Our first time in a B & B. We stayed in the Highlander which was big enough for a small army. I thought it a bit pricey but not enough to stop us from going again.


A pleasant stay.

4,0 en enero 03, 2012

The house and location are very charming and the home was very clean. Tom and Deede are delightful hosts and they prepare quite a breakfast. The atmosphere is very welcoming and I would definitely stay there again.


Friendly, Historical, Excellent Southern Cooking

4,4 en diciembre 08, 2011

We stayed here for our anniversary in July. Loved talking with the friendly owners about the home's rich history. Tastefully decorated but relaxed. We stayed in the Apple Room atop the carriage house. Clean, private and relaxing. No air conditioning and it was unusually warm during our visit. Would recommend staying during a cooler season. Didn't affect us much since we were out during the day and the nights were milder. Would love to visit again!


An amazing getaway!!!

4,6 en noviembre 30, 2011

What a hidden gem! Tom and Deede were wonderful and so accommodating. The food was absolutely the BEST!!! It was in a beautiful location, off the beaten path but close enough to area attractions. Charming old house with charming hosts! We would definitely return!


Baird House

3,8 en noviembre 28, 2011

A lovely weekend at the Baird House. My wife and I love the NC Mountains and this trip was a special romantic getaway for us. We stayed in the Sarah Jane room at the top of the stairs. The smell of bacon in the morning and a wonderful breakfast both days! My wife had coffee and I an apple cider while we read by the fire. So soothing. Tom & Deede were excellent hosts -- they were great with directions and recommendations! We hiked to nearby Valle Crucis falls and strolled downtown Blowing Rock. Spent way too much at the Mast General store -- I love that place! We even chose and cut our own Christmas tree right down the road on the way home.


Like a visit to grandma's!

5 en noviembre 12, 2011

We visited Tom & Deedee over the weekend of October 30, 2011. It was a dreary, cold & rainy day. From the moment we arrived, we found endless warmth & comfort. Deedee had just baked some fresh chocolate chip cookies and a cake was still in the oven. Coffee & tea were on the table waiting for anyone who arrived. As more guests began to appear, it became obvious that this is a destination location for many who come back year after year. Our spirits were lifted immediately by the lively chatter and stories from others, combined with those delicious warm cookies... The Baird House itself is a 220 year old home that just oozes history, though it is decked out with all modern conveniences (including wifi). Sitting in the living room one can just imagine the many family gatherings that occurred here over the centuries. This is truly a special place!!


Wonderful Hospitality!

4,4 en noviembre 09, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Baird House. The hospitality and scenery was unbelievable. Kathy's wonderful homemade breakfast and warm personality was the absolute highlight of our stay. She made us feel right at home!!!


Mountain Escape

4,0 en noviembre 03, 2011

Would stay here again but would get a different room, the room was comfortable, but having the bathroom in the hallway was very awkward and we would not choose to do so again. As it was our first stay here and this was the last room available and we were visiting family we decided to go ahead anyhow with the reservation. The host and hostess were very gracious and the food was wonderful!


Relaxing b&b

4,4 en octubre 27, 2011

Very relaxing stay in a beautiful setting. Fall is the perfect time to visit. The scenery and surroundings were wonderful. We loved the firepit. The homemade cookies when we arrived were delicious and breakfast was outstanding.


Fantastic Stay

5 en octubre 26, 2011

The Baird House feels like home away from home. Tom and Deede are the most wonderfully fantastic hosts ever. It's more like we are having a "visit" rather than a "stay." Can't wait to go back again.


Fall leaf season at Baird House

4,2 en octubre 23, 2011

I visit a lot of B&Bs - these folks had a Superior breakfast!


Solitude Southern-style

4,4 en octubre 06, 2011

Having never stayed in a B&B, we weren't sure what to expect. But Tom and Deede made us feel right at home. We loved the remote location and the beautiful landscape. Tom kept us entertained with his storytelling, which complemented Deede's yummy homemade cookies very well. And, it didn't matter what attraction or restaurant we asked about, they could quickly tell us about it and give us detailed driving directions. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever had and I certainly hope we have an opportunity to return at some point!


Great place for a relaxing weekend

3,8 en octubre 02, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Baird House during our 20th anniversay weekend. Tom and DeeDee were excellent hosts, the breakfast was delicious, and we enjoyed the river and walking the grounds. It was a gorgeous setting, and we couldn't have had a more relaxing weekend. Thanks again!


The Baird House B&B Valle Crucis, NC

5 en septiembre 29, 2011

You could not ask for a more beautiful place or two more gracious hosts than the Baird House! LOVE it! Looking forward to our next visit.


Home Away From Home

5 en septiembre 28, 2011

We have stayed at The Baird House a couple of times now. The owners are not only friendly, but go above board on meeting the needs of their guests. They are ready to assist you with local information. The food is delicious and the cookie jar is a delight. Fly Fishing available right across the road! We have enjoyed our visits to The Baird House and look forward to returning soon. John and Terri, Arcadia, NC


Charming!

4,6 en septiembre 26, 2011

Relaxing retreat! Great Innkeepers, wonderful location, beautiful setting, fantastic breakfast.


Sept Stay

4,2 en septiembre 22, 2011

We loved the Baird House. Tom was great! The Apple view room was perfect for us. Breakfast was good but different. They accommodated a vegetarian couple who was also staying there, so it was not a full blown southern breakfast. Very peaceful setting and a wonderful history behind the B&B. We would stay there again.


Isolated and peaceful

4,2 en septiembre 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night of our honeymoon during our tour of the Blue Ridge Mountains. The Baird House is tucked away against the hills and right across from a picturesque river. Tom and Deede (the owners) were delightful. The rocking chairs on the veranda of the Carriage House were a perfect way to spend the evening looking at the stars and enjoying the peaceful night sounds. in the morning, we awoke to the sounds of wild turkeys on the hill. Overall, the experience was wonderful!


Delightful Secluded B&B

5 en septiembre 17, 2011

Stayed 2 nights in the Appleview Room. Had more amenities than most B&B's (coffee maker, refrigerator,etc) Loved the private porch. Breakfasts were great and there were always cake & cookies in the dining room. Tom & Deede were great hosts providing all the area information we needed.


The Baird House Bed and Breakfast

4,6 en septiembre 15, 2011

The hospitality and food at the Baird House could not have been more enjoyable. My only regret is that we did not have more time to spend at this lovely and charming bed and breakfast. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. Valerie Beason St. Charles, MO


Baird House

4,2 en septiembre 12, 2011

This B&B was a tremendouse experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The host and hostess were exceptional and the breakfast was outstanding. We will definatley return.


no place like home except the Baird House

5 en septiembre 07, 2011

It was a friendly, sociable environment. The food was delicious and plentiful. Our hosts were very helpful giving directions and making reservations. They brought the guests together and created a fun atmosphere will definitely go there again


Loved it !

4,6 en septiembre 01, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Baird House. The host's were very friendly and accomodating and the food was great. It was like staying at "Grandma's" house. A lovely small river runs in front of the house, great for just sitting and relaxing. I would definitely recommend to friends and family. Barbara


Knight away

3,8 en agosto 30, 2011

This was a sort of last minute trip and was just what we needed. Nothing planned, just a relaxing quite couple of days. We recommend the Baird house for your relaxing get-away.


Wonderful surprise!

5 en agosto 24, 2011

I made reservations for some friends and my parents when they helped my husband and I move to the area in August 2011. Tom and Deede were gracious, warm and entertaining hosts. My friends and family loved their rooms and breakfast was spectacularly good. So good in fact, that we bought the cookbook! The stuffed french toast was the best I've ever had. We sat in the swing on the porch of the guesthouse later that morning, drank some delicious coffee and listened to the river for about an hour. What a treat!


Southern Hospitality at its Best

5 en julio 26, 2011

The Baird House will give you amazing recommendations on local flair, delicious food, spectacular hospitality and a place to rest that compares to none other. Tom and Deede treated us like family and made our stay wonderful. We plan to take our kids back for the leaf changing next year. This is by far the best bed and breakfast in Valle Crucis.


Like coming home

5 en julio 19, 2011

We have been visiting Tom and Deede for 4 years now. They do not miss a beat nor do they forget a detail. It is so nice to consider them friends away from home. We have both sent and arrived with some of our closest friends to stay with them. They all have agreed that The Baird House is the pinnacle of B&B's!! Joe and Dea Campola


Simply outstanding

4,6 en julio 18, 2011

Tom and D made us feel very welcome and provided a very home like atmosphere. We will be back.


Tops on our list!

4,4 en julio 14, 2011

My husband and I enjoy staying at B&B's. We stayed at The Baird House last weekend. What a great place-the accommodations were great, breakfast was delicious and filling and the owners-Tom and Deede were so friendly and hospitable-we felt like we were staying with old friends!!! This place is "tops" on our list. We hope to go back there again!


A wonderful place to stay

4,8 en julio 08, 2011

This is the best B&B. We have been going back at least once a year, sometimes two or three times a year for seven years. The innkeepers are warm, friendly and make you feel like you are part of the family. The Baird House is down a quiet country road, just a few minutes from the town of Valle Crucis but is a serene, beautiful location. And have I mentioned the breakfasts? So wonderful. Different every morning. Breakfast is an event.


July 4th Baird House

4,8 en julio 08, 2011

We stayed at the Baird House over the July 4th weekend, and were very impressed! A beautiful B&B in a gorgeous NC mountain setting. Deedee and Tom were wonderful hosts, whom we now call 'friends'. Breakfast and cookies are delicious!


A river runs by it, a wonderful time at the Baird House!!

5 en julio 04, 2011

A trip to the kitchen rewarded me with two of Deede's fresh from the oven Baird House chocolate chip cookies and a trip back in time to when I was a little girl in my Mom's kitchen. Our room, the Sarah Jane room was just great. It is large, with three windows and great fresh mountain air gently filling the room. The large front porch was very relaxing any time of day. For a morning cup of coffee or to visit with family and friends after a day exploring the area. Tom and Deede were just the best!!


A lovely getaway near Boone, NC

4,4 en julio 01, 2011

We had a truly lovely stay at the Baird House. The room was very comfortable and clean, the breakfasts were ample and delicious (really yummy biscuits!) and the hosts were very warm, accommodating and fun! The house is situated in a beautiful river valley - a great place for an early morning walk or run (which we recommend, given the generous breakfast!).


Mountain Vacation

5 en junio 28, 2011

Tom & Deedie were great hosts during our stay and the meals were simply wonderful!


Appleview Suite

5 en junio 27, 2011

We had such a great stay in the appleview suite!! It's the perfect place to relax. Tom and Deedee were the best hosts we could have asked for. We would reccomend to everyone we know!


Our stay at Baird house

3,8 en junio 26, 2011

Unique place and setting. A beautiful stream just across the road from the front door. No Noisy traffic.Hosts some of the best we have had out of many B & B's. Breakfasts were very good and reflected a Southern approach to preparation. Guest interaction highly encouraged by hosts via "porch sittiing" and converstions with hosts and other uests at breakfasts. A desk with mirror in our rom would have been useful. No AC, but not needed at thsi time of the year in the beautiful NC Mountain community of Valle Crusis.All in all, a great experience. Bob & Linda, Dobson, NC


b&b review

3,8 en junio 22, 2011

My stay far exceeded my expectations. I am already planning my next visit.


Randy & Robin

5 en junio 20, 2011

The accomodations are only exceeded by the warmness of the fellowship with Deedee and Tom (the inn keepers). We have stayed here numerous times and have never been disappointed!! Quiet and relaxing but close to shopping and good restaurants.


R&R by the Rippling Watauga River

4,8 en junio 09, 2011

We have stayed in many B&B's, but our stay at the Baird House was the most enjoyable ever. The bountiful breakfasts were beyond delicious, the surroundings were beautiful and relaxing, and our room spacious and comfortable. Our hosts, Tom and Deede, were gracious and friendly. There was a wonderful "vibe" at breakfast with them and the other guests.


A week at the Baird House

5 en junio 08, 2011

We came expecting to stay 3 days and ended up staying a week. It was so hard to leave, and Tom and Deede are such wonderful hosts. If you want to sit on the porch and let the clouds float by, this is the B&B for you. On the other hand if you want lots to do, the Mast General Store and several restaurants are only a few miles away. The rooms are lovely. We spent 3 nights in the Mary Elizabeth room which has its own bathroom and sitting area. The rest of the week we spent in the Highlander room which is really a suite of two rooms, each with a queen bed. The Highlander also has its own bathroom. The parlor was fun to sit in and read a good Zane Grey novel. Deedee and Tom make a wonderful breakfast. You wont go away hungry, that's a fact. I cant wait to come back when the leaves have turned!


Weekend Getaway

4,4 en mayo 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Baird House our first travels away from our two small children so a trip we were very excited about. The owners were very welcoming and wonderful hostesses. The breakfast was amazing and the table was set beautifully. My husband and I really enjoyed the front porch that overlooked the rushing water of the river. Best of all were the cookies that were fresh baked each day and the selections of teas. I recommend this Inn we had an amazing time and would certainly go back there again.


Jewel in the moutain valley

4,8 en mayo 11, 2011

This is the hide away that is conjured in our minds when we think of rustic quiet retreats.


Love the Baird House

5 en mayo 10, 2011

We always enjoy our stay at the Baird House. Tom and Deede are such gracious hosts, they always make us feel at home. The rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is scrumptious, and the cookies...wow! Can't hardly wait to come back.


Fabulous Getaway

5 en mayo 04, 2011

Tom and Deede are the consummate hosts. They have devoted thoughtful care and attention to providing a beautiful, comfortable retreat -- warm, charming and relaxing. By far the best B&B in the NC High Country!


The best place to stay near Boone, NC!

5 en abril 28, 2011

The Baird House is owned and operated by two of the friendliest, most interesting innkeepers. The breakfast is 4-star! The B & B has lots of history from the 1700's. The rooms are cozy and pleasant and some are romantic.


As always..the best!

5 en abril 24, 2011

First of all, my wife and I stay here almost exclusively. Tom and Deede are simply wonderful hosts. The rooms are clean and beautifully appointed. We can always depend on them to guide us to great places to eat and Tom even makes the reservations, if required. We just feel at home here, and you just have to take that seriously.


OUTSTANDING.

5 en marzo 30, 2011

First time in the area and just had the peaceful easy feeling that we were looking for. Thanks to Deede and Tom for all their care and wonderful stories. Oh yeah, the food...A W E S O M E!


First stay at Baird House

5 en marzo 22, 2011

The perfect place to stay in the charming little town of Valle Crucis. Our room was cozy with the most comfortable bed and gas logs in the fireplace. The sounds of the Watauga River flowing by are so relaxing whether sitting on the front porch or walking along the river. You won't be hungry for lunch after you have enjoyed the excellent breakfast that Deede and Tom prepare each morning. We look forward to our next visit!


Baird House Review

5 en febrero 07, 2011

Outstanding hosts made us feel like family. Wonderfully appointed and romantic room, great guests and supurb food convinced us that we should return often.


Baird House

4,6 en enero 02, 2011

Tom and Deede are wonderful hosts. I've stayed in quite a few B&Bs and this one was by far the warmest, friendliest one yet. They worked hard to see to our every need. The breakfast is to die for!


Winter Wonderland

4,6 en diciembre 31, 2010

We came in along with the snow on the day after Christmas and stayed two nights. We were heartily welcomed. Tom gave us a great tour and history of the Baird House. He showed us to our room-the Highlander suite which was cozy and nicely furnished. We loved the fireplace. Tom helped us with our bags and also set up ski lessons for our children at a local resort. Furthermore he gave us good recommendations for dinner. This was our first stay in a B and B with our children (11 and 10). But we felt very comfortable and cared for. The vibe is relaxed and the views are breathtaking with the river view. We loved Deede's breakfasts each morning. What a lovely way to begin the day. The food was so plentiful that we skipped lunch both days and had an early supper. Valle Crucis is a special place made more so by Tom and Deede and the Baird House.


Home at last!!

4,0 en diciembre 16, 2010

We have stayed as a couple and especially as a family for our annual trek up the mountain for our Christmas tree before Santa comes. Tom and Deede have a wonderful way of making us feel right at home. We love the house, the atmosphere and the food. It's such a part of our tradition that we can't wait until the next year!!


Nice Getaway

3,2 en noviembre 30, 2010

The Baird House was a wonderful treat away from home. The room we stayed in was gorgeous, the bed comfortable, the fireplace warming and the view spectacular. Deede's breakfast was honestly one of the best I've ever had! I will definitely be purchasing the cookbook! I had a wonderful stay and I would recomend this place to everyone!


A Very Nice Place to stay.

4,4 en noviembre 22, 2010

Everything was exceedingly nice. The hosts were very friendly and I would recommend it to anyone. Great breakfast.


On the way to a Minnesota funeral

4,8 en noviembre 18, 2010

Tom & Deede were most understanding when we had to change our reservations from two nights to only one night in order for us to drive to Minnesota for a funeral. Thank you for your prayers and words of encouragement. We will return. J & C


BESIDE THE RIVER THERE IS A BLESSING!

4,6 en noviembre 14, 2010

The down to earth Innkeepers full of love and compassion. The great warmth you feel when you are sitting around the breakfast table. A trip back into time with great history.


Amazing

5 en noviembre 07, 2010

My husband and I had an amazing stay at The Baird House. Our room was very neat and clean. Tom and Deede were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Breakfast was excellent as well. We would recommend this place to any and everyone.


Took a chance....

5 en noviembre 07, 2010

I booked 3 days with the Baird House, hoping our experience would not disappoint us. Our hopes were surpassed. Tom and Dede are outstanding hosts. The house is beautiful, our room (Highlander) was gorgeous. Loved having a fireplace in our room to ward off chilly mornings. The breakfast served each morning was delicious. We really enjoyed the conversation with the other guests. I highly recommend Baird House especially to any first time B&B goers.


Great Time at he Baird House

3,6 en noviembre 06, 2010

Wonderful atmosphere in a wonderful setting. Great food and very accommodating hosts.


Beautiful fall getaway

4,4 en noviembre 04, 2010

This was my second time staying at The Baird House. Deede and Tom are gracious hosts and always make you feel welcome. The room and bed were cozy and comfortable. We stayed in the Mary Elizabeth room, which was a little noisy in the mornings, because it's downstairs, but if you get up early that won't be an issue. The breakfasts, what can I say...They alone are worth the price you pay to stay. After one of these fantastic breakfasts you won't need to worry about lunch, because you'll still be full. After you stay once, you wont want to stay anywhere else.


Beautiful setting & great hosts.

4,4 en octubre 29, 2010

This was our 3rd stay at the Baird House. As always, the service was exemplary, the food scrumptious, and the setting absolutely beautiful. Watauga River road, on which the end sits, is a wonderful place for a bike ride along the river through mostly bucolic settings. The atmosphere at the Baird house is very peaceful and we always leave feeling restored. Thanks Deede & Tom!!


A nice place in Valle Crucis

3,6 en octubre 18, 2010

We spent one night at the Baird House. We would happily return. The innkeepers were very helpful and friendly.


Wonderful Hospitality

4,4 en octubre 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Baird House for our 18th anniversary from a Friday night through Sunday morning. By the end of the weekend we felt as if we had made new friends in Tom & Deedee Hinson. They are wonderful people with a great gift of hospitality. They're cooking was excellent too! They took the time to have conversations with us and get to know us. They even provided us a hand-written map of the area so we wouldn't get lost going to the nearby scenic locations. We would definitely stay there again.


What an awesome breakfast!

5 en octubre 16, 2010

Very peaceful location with wonderful hosts. Tom and Deede made us feel right at home. The Apple View room was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and bountiful. My wife and I will definitely make a return visit.


Wonderful experience

4,4 en octubre 10, 2010

Tom & Deede are exceptional hosts. A warm freindly atmosphere to stay in. Wewill most certainly be back.


A perfect place to stay

5 en septiembre 29, 2010

The Baird House was beautiful and Tom and Deede were great hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We'll be back.


Wedding night stay

3,8 en septiembre 27, 2010

Tom & Deede were just great. Their hospitality was next to none!!! Breakfast was great, and the view from the front porch is great!


Another great visit

4,2 en septiembre 01, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at The Baird House before and loved it. Tom and Deede are fantastic hosts and the breakfast is awesome and we love the fellowship time while the entire house enjoys the breakfast together. Tom and Deede make you feel like friends instead of strangers who are paying to stay at their house. You won't be treated any better anywhere else than at The Baird House.


Friendliest B&B ever

3,8 en agosto 23, 2010

We have stayed at many B&B's, but this one had the friendliest innkeepers by far. We felt perfectly at home, and the food was OUTSTANDING and plentiful. We plan to go again.


A great place

4,0 en agosto 10, 2010

I would recommend the Baird House for anyone who wants a quite retreat place. Everything you could think of was provided. Deede and Tom were gracious hosts.


wonderful!

4,8 en octubre 13, 2009

What a lovely place, lovely people and great food. Deede keeps a constant supply of chocolate chip/pecan cookies ... and that's just the start. I'm so glad I came here.


Wonderful Stay

5 en abril 03, 2009

Lovely place and so peaceful.


We enjoyed your beautiful home

5 en abril 02, 2009

We go to many B & B's in the NC mountains. This will be the first time that we are going to return to the same one! We enjoyed your company and your beautiful home. Stay well and we will see you again in July. Steve & Vivian


Outgoing Hospitality

5 en marzo 02, 2009

Your outgoing hospitality & willingness to make our stay at the Baird House a special time is truly appreciated! We loved the cookies and butter pecan coffee cake.We loved playing the piano downstairs, watching a movie & listening to the history of the High Country from Tom. Your inn gave us a place for the 3 of us to have a great family time.


The most romantic getaway since our honeymoon

5 en febrero 20, 2009

Thank you for this peaceful escape you provided us. This was the most romantic getaway we've had since our honeymoon in 1991. We hate to leave but hope to come back soon to enjoy your warm hospitality ( and OUTSTANDING breakfast ).


Wonderful 25th anniversary weekend!

5 en febrero 01, 2009

What a wonderful weekend! My husband and I chose the Baird House to celebrate our 25th anniversary and we were not disappointed. Tom and Deede are delightful innkeepers and their home is warm and inviting. Our room was cozy and romantic. The food was fabulous. Looking forward to returning soon. A new home away from home!


Want a Wonder Vacation in NC?

5 en julio 30, 2008

The Baird House is a great place to relax. The first tie we stayed, I slept all night. While away from from. I could not believed how much relax I was the next morning my husband loves the river. We enjoyed Tom and Deede. They always make us feel welcome.


Best B & B we have ever experienced

5 en julio 24, 2008

Best B & B we have ever experienced. The innkeepers make everyone feel at home and after just 3 days they are like old friends. The location is beautiful and convenient to local sights, shopping and restaurants. And the breakfast's are nothing short of spectacular! We hope to go back.


A relaxing story

4,0 en julio 24, 2008

The Baird House was just what my wife and I needed for a quick getaway. We felt right at home with the Hinsons and the location was convenient to everything we wanted to do.


"Outstanding"

5 en julio 16, 2008

Hosts - Tom & Deb Hinson - were helpful, generous & gracious. Breakfast - sumptuous & delicious. Setting - Scenic & Peaceful. Summary: A Wonderful Experience


the Baird House

5 en julio 14, 2008

Excellent Hosts!!


Porch Therapy

4,2 en julio 09, 2008

We had a peaceful, relaxing getaway weekend here in the NC mountains, made even better by our friendly and approachable hosts, Tom and Deede. The breakfasts were so delicious and filling, we had no desire for lunch. Their location was convenient to tourists destinations and to fishing, especially with the Watauga River at the front door. A lovely B&B.


Peace and quiet

4,4 en julio 01, 2008

Enjoyed great breakfast, comfortable room, and rocking chairs on front porch for some peace and quiet in the country. Excellent hosts. Expect to return for future visits.


Just Like Grandmother's House!

5 en junio 18, 2008

We have stayed at this B&B numerous times over the years. We found the Hinson's and their family to be more like the family that we all wished that we could have had growing up. Deede's Breakfast is a gastronomical delight that is worth the stay, if for no other reason. We have found the rooms to be comfortable, well appointed in the "Your Grandmother's House" type style of decorating and hearing the rain on the tin roof at night takes one back to a simpler time of life. Sitting on the front porch, watching the Watauga River lazily flow by, engaging in conversation with the host's and other guests, relieves the stress of the big city life. It's hard not to be tempted by the "bottomless cookie jar" and a cup of good hot coffee on a late night after walking the nearby trails and playing with the family dog, Gabby. I am a fifth generation great grandson of the origional Ezekiel Baird. I went looking for my ancestors, and I found their ghosts and history; but I also came away with a new family who is taking care of the Baird's historical legacy. Disputing Thomas Wolfe's words but, "You Can Go Home Again!" I highly recommend this B&B.


The best B & B we've ever stayed at

5 en junio 11, 2008

Can't say enough about The Baird House. From our arrival to our departure Deede,Tom and Gabby (their blonde lab ) made us feel like their home was ours as well. The food was beyound fabulous. Don't miss an opportunity to stay at The Baird House. It is by far the best one we have ever stayed at. We will go back again. 5 stars in our book.


Memorable Experience

5 en junio 06, 2008

The Hinsons are great innkeepers for this historic old house. We went there mainly to see a house built by an ancestor of mine and came away having had a wonderful experience. Our room was absolutely charming, the host and hostess were friendly - and the hostress is a great cook! The host provides a wealth of information on the house's history as well as dining information and places to see (and how to get there). The rural location is peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed good conversation with other guests at the bountiful breakfast. We also indulged in Deede's homemade cake and cookies, which are available for snacking. For anyone wanting to unwind and relax, this is a great place to go.


Wonderful folks & great breakfasts

5 en mayo 13, 2008

I chose The Baird House for several reasons...initially, the website that included great pictures and descriptions of the various rooms...and then, I read something about a hashbrown casserole, cookies that people come from miles around for, and I knew that was the place for me. And, just as I expected, the hashbrown casserole was incredible...if you ask Deede nicely, she'll make if for you. twice in a row..the cookies are also delicious. They serve a great breakfast, and are very sweet folks - very sharing. They have a lovely dog named Gabby, who will follow you around just for a pat on the head. All in all, it was a lovely stay...beautiful country...wonderful folks. Our room was quaint and very nicely appointed. We will definitely be going back.


Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

5 en marzo 06, 2008

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Baird House for a girls weekend away in the mountains. The breakfast was delicous, the owners are very friendly, and the bed was extremely comfortable! We will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to the Boone area.


Breakfasts to die for !!

5 en febrero 21, 2008

What a wonderful weekend we had! As young parents we needed a break without the little one, we definitely found the perfect place for that. Not only the house and the rooms are cozy and very well decorated but the owners are also delightful and we greatly enjoyed their company! Special mention for the breakfasts: they are to die for!! We can't wait to go back. Probably during summer time.


We will definitely be back !

5 en febrero 08, 2008

We came to the Baird house to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday, and we were treated like royalty! Deede made suggestions (and the reservations) for restaurants and things to do in the area alomost immediately upon receiving our reservation, and even arranged for a birthday cake to be delivered to the Inn. Tom called us the morning of our arrival to let us know that our room was ready if we wanted to come early, and then met us at the door, showed us around, and declared us officially checked in as he gave us some of Deede's famous peanut butter-oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies. We were quickly spoiled to delicious beakfast served at the dining table every morning at 9:00, and to the conversations with the other guests and our hosts that most assuredly followed. To top it all off, Tom made sure that firewood for our wood burning fireplace was in our room each night. We will definitely be back !


The BAird House is first rate

4,0 en enero 30, 2008

I have stayed at B & B''s from North Carolina to California and the Baird House is first rate. You will never find more congenial inn keepers. The food is always delicious and you won't want to leave without buying the cookbook!


Nice getaway

3,4 en enero 23, 2008

Nice calm place nestled in the middle of the valley. The innkeepers were quite hospitable and friendly.


Respite Complete

5 en diciembre 08, 2007

This is a beautiful property, hosted by a beautiful family. On a cold, rainy night we were welcomed into their home as if we were family -- the warm fire was such a welcome treat. From homemade cookies/cake to a gourmet breakfast, we found Baird House to be the perfect respite.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 en agosto 15, 2007

We stayed at the Baird House during one of the hottest times, but even with that the rooms were still comfortable without a/c. I can't say enough about the innkeepers. Tom and Deede were just like being with family. This is a beautiful area to visit and we had a very relaxing time at the Baird House. The breakfast that Deede served each morning was delicious and there was no need for lunch. Thanks Tom and Deede for your generous hospitality.


the epitome of hospitality

5 en febrero 14, 2007

We started going to the Baird House 7 years ago and have yet to find another B&B that has the same level of hospitality and quality of accommodations. These folks go out of their way to make your stay a wonderful experience. As if that wasn't enough, the breakfasts are fabulous! We go back every year and look forward to it the rest of the year.


Loved It!

5 en enero 23, 2007

Tom and Deede are great. We have a wonderful stay. Loved our room, the Mary Elizabeth. Deede is a great cook and makes the best bisuits in the south. Not only was breakfast good but fun. Tom & Deede joined us for coffee and a lively conversation ensued. They have many repeat guests and I can understand why.


GREAT B&B

5 en enero 06, 2007

This was our first B&B and we enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was the best part of our whole stay!


The Baird House

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $129 - $179
  • Comentarios (196) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 7
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8282974055
  • Tel. móvil
    1-8282974055

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba