The Elms Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
133 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Labor Day Get-Away

5 en octubre 23, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Jerry was the epitome of a true southern gentleman. I loved our room, we stayed in the Carpenter Suite, the service was excellent, and I enjoyed sharing in the history of the home. I especially loved one of their resident cats, Maggie. She showed up with some love right when I was missing my own cats. I would definitely stay there again.


Fall in Natchez

5 en octubre 11, 2014

Lovely accommodation within walking distance to downtown Natchez. Gracious and friendly host and staff. Attractive rooms, well furnished, satisfying hot breakfast, available assorted beverages throughout the day. Enjoyed sitting on the upstairs veranda looking out over spacious grounds.


Great stay!

5 en octubre 04, 2014

Jerry, Mark and Esther were great hosts! Exactly what we were looking for - clean, historic and great breakfast.


Wonderful stay

5 en septiembre 25, 2014

We were welcome with great hospitality and have enjoyed staying in such a memorable environment. Beds are great!


The best of Natchez

4,4 en septiembre 17, 2014

The innkeepers here are the best, friendly and helpful and fun to be with in their B&B. They even had a list of restaurants for us to go to on a Sunday night.


A perfect time in Natchez

4,6 en agosto 30, 2014

It was unbelivable to spent the time in such a great place! The details of every room have shown dedication to the history of the Elms, but although respect and thoughtfulness for the visitors. It was really a highlight of our travel through the southern US.


Great place to stay

4,4 en agosto 18, 2014

Great place to stay, the best service.


Our Stay with Esther & Mark

3,8 en agosto 06, 2014

This was our second stay at the Elms and it remains a very enjoyable experience at a very competitive cost.


July visit to Elms

3,4 en agosto 01, 2014

Hospitality was wonderful. Breakfast was good and service very good. The house is old and one would expect antique surroundings but it was more "worn" than I expected.


Evening at the Elms

4,2 en julio 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Elms. We were greeted by Jerry with a glass of wine, a tour of the home, and suggestions for things to do and a place to eat. The home was beautiful and our room (Kellogg Room) was great. Breakfast was delicious! We do highly recommend The Elms.


Great stay!

5 en julio 09, 2014

We went to Natchez for the first time over the 4th of July weekend. We booked a B and B because we wanted the feel of the Old South. Our expectations were exceeded by the staff, the Southern breakfast and the room. The room was clean and well-stocked, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They knew the area well and made wonderful recommendations for activities, entertainment and dining. We will definitely stay at the Elms again on a future visit to Natchez!


Our Anniversary Stay at the Elms

3,6 en junio 23, 2014

Derrill and I really enjoyed our first stay at The Elms and will probably make plans to return.


Amazing place

5 en mayo 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night over the Memorial Weekend and we loved it. The house is steeped in history. We stayed in the Drake Room but were lucky enough to visit all of the rooms and they are all beautiful. the breakfast is really good and the attention to detail is excellent. I loved the muffins and generally everything about this place. It's in a good location too, you really can relax here. The staff are all lovely so will defo be back.


Amazing B&B

5 en mayo 21, 2014

3 generation girls trip. The Elms looked just like it appears in the pictures. The staff and owner were fabulous. The food and service was top rate. I will return again.


Just wonderful

5 en mayo 13, 2014

Everything about The Elms was just wonderful: the "room" was actually a very luxurious suite; our host and the owner were very helpful in terms of giving us advice on what to do and what to see in Natchez, besides being just genuinely nice folks; the breakfast was lavish, expertly prepared and tasty from start to finish; and the property has just the right atmosphere for Natchez, and is conveniently located within the town. Could not have been better.


Spring trip 2014

5 en mayo 13, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay in The Drake Room. Southern hospitality abounds at The Elms.


Lovely place with outstanding food!

5 en mayo 11, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at The Elms twice. The house is lovely and has lots of character and old charm. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are nice and tidy, food is outstanding, especially the muffins.


The Elms

5 en mayo 02, 2014

If your looking to experience staying in a period home with charm and beautiful grounds then the Elms is for you. You will be greeted by Esther Carpenter a 5th generation owner of the Elms. Esther is a warm generous person who will give you information of her home and of Natchezs. You will also meet Mr. Jerry who will take you to your room and see that your comfortable given refreshments and a tour of the Elms. He is also very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat while visiting. I have saved the best for last and that is an amazing breakfast in the morning with a table set for honored quests. Truly enjoyed our stay.


Need an accomodation in Natchez? Book at The Elms

4,6 en abril 14, 2014

A nice day spent in Natchez, the property is beautiful, this historic house is very interesting, excellent hosting and accomodation, really to recommend


The Elms B&B Natchez. MS

4,6 en abril 08, 2014

The Elms is a wonderful home built in 1805 with additions in 1856. The stay also included a tour and history of the ground floor of the mansion. We had a two bedroom suite, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The thick soft robes were a treat on a chilly Sunday morning. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Will definitely go there again.


Charming, historic bed and breakfast.

4,6 en abril 06, 2014

Charming, historic rooms and home, gracious host, and fabulous breakfast.


Wonderful place to stay.

4,8 en marzo 19, 2014

My wife and I chose The Elms for an Anniversary getaway. It is a lovely old home with great furnishings. Large porches for relaxing with a cup of coffee or admiring the life oaks. Been in the family for 144 years. Lots of history. The staff and owners are welcoming, accommodating, and make you feel right at home. Everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was a treat. Our only regret is that we did not plan for a longer stay.


A must stay

5 en diciembre 25, 2013

When we arrived Mr. Jerry was there to let us in. We stayed in the Kellogg room. It had a wonderful king size bed, big claw foot tub, and a large walk-in shower. Breakfast was served early and it was a true southern breakfast. A cup of fresh fruit every morning followed by the main course. The pancakes are a must if you stay here. The room was big and spacious, the service was absolutely wonderful. I would thoroughly recommend the Elms to anyone interested in staying in Natchez. It's close enough to downtown and good dining, as well as good shopping. Mr. Jerry is a wonderful host and very knowledgeable about the house and it's history. Grey F. Vicksburg, MS


Incredibly nice!

4,4 en diciembre 08, 2013

Wow! The house was charming and the owners were generous hosts to include providing great recommendations for lunch and dinner (try Cotton Alley Cafe!). I scored bonus points with the wife. We stayed in the Kellog room with a king size bed and a (wait for it)...claw foot tub! The shower was awesome too! Everything was impeccably clean and in very good condition You won't go wrong staying here...


A bargain and peaceful

3,4 en diciembre 01, 2013

I found the quality of the room and service exceptional


Great Stay in a Great City

4,0 en noviembre 10, 2013

The Elms is a lovely historic home dating back to 1804. My wife and I stayed in the Kellogg Room with a big comfy king bed and fabulous updated bathroom. Our host, Jerry, is one of those kind, genteel Southern gentlemen that seems to walk right out of a classic novel. He really made our stay feel like we were family. Breakfast each morning was simple, but excellent and hearty. With its close proximity to downtown Natchez, the Bluffs, and the eccentricity that is "Under the Hill", I'd recommend The Elms without hesitation.


Charming B & B

5 en octubre 31, 2013

Loved this beautiful B & B. My daughter & I stayed in the Drake room. We were able to go outside to the wrap around porch, watch the squirrels, make friends with the cat, and sip on some glasses of wine. A super relaxing evening. We were offered true southern charm, enjoyed it immensely.


Warmed our hearts!

5 en octubre 07, 2013

My invited guests for Saturday's dinner at The Elms are still raving about the food, Esther, the antebellum home, the stenciled bedroom - everything. It was a splendid evening, completed only by Esther's presence at the table. We loved the opportunity to learn more about Esther, personally and professionally. The dinner guests are professional women of varied backgrounds who relish the opportunity to witness another incredible woman who has followed her passion into a thriving business that makes such a positive difference in the lives of others. Her skills as a chef are impressive - YES, but the talent that she has in creating magical moments and memories is the one that I will remember most. Thank you, Esther, for filling our stomachs and our hearts!


I love The Elms !

5 en septiembre 23, 2013

The Elms is a beautiful home ! Mr Jerry was great ! He was very informative and hospitable ! Mrs Kathy cooked a great breakfast both mornings and very nice ! I would definitely stay at The Elms again !


Girlfriends Getaway

5 en septiembre 17, 2013

What a fabulous trip...Thank you to Esther,Jerry and kathy...when we arrived we were immediately made to feel welcome.... The rooms were beautiful and so relaxing as we'll as the veranda....as their we're six of us we had the whole second floor to ourselves...we had breakfast every morning at 8:30 and it was always delicious with something a little different each day...would stay here again!....thanks for a wonderful time!


60th Birthday Stay in the Drake Room

3,6 en agosto 21, 2013

I made my reservations very early for my special occasion and they were lost and I felt like the unwelcome guest on arrival. I learned that the gourmet chef was laid up in bed and our 1st breakfast was not worth getting up at 8:30AM on vacation. No coffee was offered upstairs and the pot downstairs small so not gracious enough to even offer coffee in room later if skipped breakfast. Also, the yipping poodles woke us up every morning which is not very nice way to be woken. We also did not like the way the doors were locked at 10 PM and had to walk up some very narrow stairs. I would never stay here again because I felt unwelcome and the food was not cooked by a chef. I also do not like leaving my belongings in a place that does not have locks on each room. Jerry took pictures of me and my husband on my birthday in front of the house and did not send them by e-mail as he said he would.


Cordial and Charming and Authentic

5 en julio 31, 2013

We highly recommend The Elms. The owners, inn keeper, and staff made us feel at home, and allowed us to glimpse the rich history of the house and Natchez. We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the house, especially since we left a fast-paced, less contemplative California. We regret that we could not have stayed longer.


wonderful stay

4,8 en julio 14, 2013

The staff was very kind. We felt right at home.check in and out was very simple and quick. we had a beautiful clawfoot bathtub and the most comfortable bed! I was very happy with the rates as well. thank you for a wonderful stay.


The Elms B& B Natchez

3,4 en julio 06, 2013

The property at The Elms is beautiful. The owner is very nice and shared some interesting history of her family and The Elms. Two cute dogs live there but they bark quite a bit.


10th Anniversary and a BARKING dog

3,6 en julio 01, 2013

We arrived on Friday, and we were impressed and excited by the beauty of the home. We were looking forward to a relaxing two days and nights, but that didn't happen. An employee greeted us, we were shown our room, and given information about our stay. We never saw the owner. We stayed in the Drake room on the second floor; it was very clean and beautiful. The first night we were awakened around 1:00 by a barking dog somewhere inside the house, and it barked ALL night long. The next morning at breakfast, another couple said they called the owner (who was out of town for the weekend and left her dogs to wake up the guests) in the middle of the night, so I assumed it wouldn't happen again... WRONG! Saturday night it started around 2:00 and it didn't stop until the employee arrived to start breakfast. Those were the two worst nights of sleep I have had in a while, and I have 2 children! We will not be going back to the Elms again. The breakfast was very good, and each day it was served at 8:30. After breakfast each morning, we rocked on the veranda and took in the beauty of the grounds. If the not for the barking dog, it would ave been a perfect trip.


Great stay

5 en junio 25, 2013

Everything perfect


Wonderful, Relaxing Stay

5 en mayo 30, 2013

My husband and I took a short trip to The Elms before our first child was born. We wanted to relax, and that's exactly what we did! We stayed in the Drake Room, which has balcony access. The balcony is where I spent most of my time, as the breeze was perfect and the landscaping beautiful. Breakfast was delicious both mornings; Esther is a great cook and provided us with traditional Southern fair. The complimentary drinks were a great touch. This will not be my last stay at The Elms; I'll certainly return!


Wonderful Weekend Getaway

5 en mayo 30, 2013

Esther is the perfect hostess, the breakfast is great, the rooms are wonderful, and the price is right. We will definately return.


Natchez Stay

5 en mayo 28, 2013

Room was wonderfully decorated with comfy bed and an outstanding bedroom. Breakfast was very good.


The Elms

5 en mayo 08, 2013

My husband and daughter stayed with me at The Elms when we were in Natchez for a wedding. We loved it. Our room was so beautiful and the walls were hand painted by the owner and it looked exactly like antique wall paper. I can not believe that the owner did it. The beds were so comfortable and that is so important to me. The shower was exceptional. There was a wonderful woman that cooked breakfast for us every morning on beautiful antique china. We were in heaven. A gentleman named Jerry was there to show us the home and to take care of us. He was such a Southern gentleman. I felt like he was part of my family before we left there. I would recommend The Elms to anyone.


Wonderful Place

4,6 en mayo 06, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Elms, and it was wonderful. The minute we arrived, we fell in love with the house. The Kellog room, with it's king size bed was extremely comfortable. The neighborhood was nice and very quiet. My wife and I enjoyed a peaceful afternoon rocking on the second story porch, and loved the striking nighttime view through the grand oak trees. We felt like we were swept back in time, however the amenities of today accompanied us. Even though Esther was out of town, Jerry and Kathy were wonderful hosts. Jerry knows so much about the home, and Kathy provided us with a tasty breakfast. We want to come back very soon. Again, we had a fantastic weekend at The Elms.


Lovely B&B in Natchez

5 en mayo 03, 2013

We are an Australia couple travelling through the southern states of the US and we really enjoyed our stay at The Elms in Natchez and the wonderful people we met over the breakfast table during our stay. Ian and Jan Melbourne Australia


Great History--Great Hostess--Great Stay!

5 en abril 23, 2013

Wonderful hospitality, very comfortable rooms and beds, spacious facilities, a master chef for a hostess, a glass of wine on the porch after a great day of touring overlooking a vast lawn with Spanish moss dripping on old, big live oaks--what could be better!!!


Terrific & Wonderful

5 en abril 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Elms B&B. The house is a living museum filled with period pieces. The location is perfect for walking throughout the downtown area which is filled with Mansions and Restaurants. Esther and Mark are wonderful hosts and there are so many places to sit and relax on the property.


Enjoyed our stay at The Elms

4,6 en abril 15, 2013

This is a beautiful old home. We had a suite in the new, 1858 section of the home. Esther is welcoming and her breakfasts are to die for.


Beauty in Natchez

4,6 en abril 11, 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful old home - it is well cared for and the rooms are large with comfortable beds. The food is outstanding - we stayed 4 days and had great breakfasts each day. They were served in the old dining room with elegant dishes and table settings. The owner is gracious and helpful besides being a wonderful cook!


The Elms is great!

5 en abril 06, 2013

Our room was beautiful! I didn't know it was on the tour of homes when I booked it. What a lovely surprise. Esther was delightful. We loved Natchez!


A Pleasant Getaway

3,4 en abril 03, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the Babymoon Package and stayed in the Carpenter Room. It was very nice to relax and get away from the busyness of life. The room was nice and authentic but not old feeling. The service was good, but I would have like to have had a schedule of when things were or a least what I should expect. I just felt a little anxious about when things were when I was trying to relax. Aside from that the stay and service was excellent.


Wonderful experience!

4,8 en marzo 24, 2013

We were warmly greeted by our hostesses, shown to our rooms and then given a glass of wine to enjoy on the gallery upstairs. Breakfast was delicious each morning. The Elms is a beautiful home and our every need was quickly taken care of. Thank you for making our stay so relaxing, Esther.


Charming B&B

5 en marzo 16, 2013

Our recent stay in the Drake Room was a true delight. Our rooms were furnished with period pieces and felt like a step back in time. It had a wonderful, spacious, and modern renovated-bath. The room opened onto a wrap-around porch furnished with rockers, peace and quiet, and a beautiful view of the gardens abloom with camellias. Breakfast was marvelous and the staff a delight. Location is easy to find and centrally located for touring the old mansions. Loved every second of my time there.


A wonderful stay at the Elms in Natchez

5 en marzo 04, 2013

My friends and I were very impressed with this beautiful home and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. There were 3 of us and we stayed in the Drake room. We felt very lucky to have this spacious room for the three of us to get around. We were impressed by the modern facilities and loved the cute, historical charm. I highly recommend staying at the Elms. Service was great. Breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly and professional.


SIMPLY EXQUISITE!

5 en enero 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Elms to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. It was our first time to ever stay at a bed and breakfast, and to be honest, we were each holding our breath not knowing what to expect! Once we arrived, however, all of our concerns and fears vanished. Esther, owner of The Elms, was welcoming and charming! Her home is beautiful and the room we stayed in was elegant, romantic, and exquisitely furnished! The food was also delectable! We will make it a point to let Natchez become a regular "get away" destination for us and hope to be Esher's house guests again!!


The Elms

4,2 en diciembre 17, 2012

convenient. great grounds, great food


Charming B&B and Hostess

4,4 en octubre 29, 2012

Our room was nicely furnished with antiques, and the service was great. We had the romance package, and while nice, I wish they had provided a better bottle of champagne than Cook's. Saturday evening, Esther first sent us to her across the street neighbor for a piano concert, then provided a fabulous dinner of lamb chops. It was great! I hope to return for a couple of her cooking lessons.


New Friends and Relaxation

5 en octubre 11, 2012

My first trip to a B&B was the best getaway I have ever had to relax and enjoy meeting people. Esther Carpenter is a gracious hostess and has a wonderful staff. The home is lovely and her dining experiences ( breakfast & dinner) are the best. Her home is filled with historical furnishings/elements that have been in her family for 130 years or more. "The Stone House" across the street was once the billiards room of this home. It is open for a classical piano concert by Joe Stone. Lots of history in Natchez. We enjoyed our stay with the 7 ladies that were also staying at the Elms. We became friends quick. It's hard not to be hospitable in Natchez! A must for everyone!


Anniversary weekend

5 en septiembre 05, 2012

We just enjoyed a weekend stay at the Elms for our 13th anniversary and my husband's birthday on September 2, 2012. We stayed in the Kellogg room, which was very comfortable, and had all the historical charm that you could imagine from a Southern mansion. We especially enjoyed getting to know Esther and her friend Mark. Esther's southern breakfasts were to die for, and if you happened to leave the table hungry, it would be your own fault. We would recommend the Elm's, and would gladly go back again!


My favorite B&B of all time!

5 en agosto 14, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at The Elms. Serendipity landed us at The Elms for a weekend get away two years ago and we fell in love with the home and the hostess Esther. Through the years, we have stayed in several B&B's on the East Coast and this is by far our favorite. We love the authentic contents of the home, the history of the generations of the same family that have maintained the home, the updated bathrooms are marvelous but in keeping with the integrity of the style of the home, the luxurious linens, the absolute free run of the home, and the food! What a delight to find out we were staying at the home of a professional chef and artist!


A beautiful city, a beautiful place to stay!

5 en agosto 11, 2012

I would recommend the Elms to anyone staying in Natchez. My family of 5 stayed in the upper floor Carpenter room, and it was wonderful. We had a balcony, and at night, we would sit in the rocking chairs and just imagine what life must have been like over 100 years ago. The breakfast was great, and just the whole atmosphere was like stepping back into another time. Natchez is also a wonderful city full of Southern charm!


Southern Charm

5 en julio 19, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Elms B&B. The house was so pretty, full of southern charm, and history. Ms. Esther was a beautiful and classy southern lady, who made sure our stay at the B&B was delightful. We were offered wine upon our arrival, which we later sat out on the balcony to enjoy. The next morning we were served breakfast, which was amazing! The BEST grits I've ever had! Our stay was perfect! I would absolutely recommend!!


The Elms is Excellent

3,4 en julio 07, 2012

The Elms is a very charming b and b. The antiques were breathtaking. The owner/chef served a delightfully good breakfast.


A wonderful getaway

5 en julio 05, 2012

The house was amazing, we were warmly welcomed with southern hospitality. I'm not sure if anything can be as peaceful as sitting on the second floor balcony at night looking at the star shaped lights hanging from the trees and listening to the crickets. We will definately be back. Stacy and Cory Baldwin.


Delightful!!!

4,2 en julio 02, 2012

Beautiful home...lots of history....delicious breakfast...makes for a great get away! Our kids loved it too!!!


Wonderful mini vacation!

5 en junio 30, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our room. Everything was beautiful and our host was gracious and so easy going and enjoyable. The accommodations were pleasant and most relaxing. We will definitely be making our reservations to stay here again!


Great Weekend

5 en junio 14, 2012

Esther & Mark were fantastic host!!! We will definitely be back


Great Place to Stay

4,8 en junio 07, 2012

Everything about The Elms was wonderful- the location, authenticity, cleanliness, and breakfast were great. The only slight disappointment (which is not a formal complaint) was that our first morning there we were given vouchers to eat breakfast elsewhere, which sort of defeats the purpose of a Bed and "Breakfast". But my disappointment was short lived as soon as we walked in and ate at The Castle Restaurant at Dunleith. Esther was a gracious host, and the home is beautiful. I would definitely stay here again, and would certainly recommend it!


peaceful and wonderful

5 en mayo 21, 2012

We had a lovely Sunday night stay and were the only guests. We stayed in a two bedroom with access to the porch and a large beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and service was very friendly. Definitely recommend!


A special place to visit this great town

5 en mayo 13, 2012

We had a large room with big bathroom and enjoyed relaxing on the really deep first floor balcony. The house has been restored and many of the original pieces or furniture and family belongings are in use or displayed - the main rooms have guide books to tell you about the contents - amazing. The breakfasts were superb as Esther is a great chef. The location is ideal - just a short walk down Washington St to the Mississippi River and a selection of restaurants. And service is what really counts - Esther kindly posted some shirts I had left in the closet and refused payment. Stay here!


Spring in Natchez!

5 en mayo 08, 2012

The Elms was a great place to stay! It was very quiet and peaceful and provided a relaxing getaway for us!


Best time in a long time

5 en mayo 01, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Elms a few weekends ago, we had a great time. The staff was very hospitable and the food was awesome. Everything about this place exudes history there is modern conveniences but the house is amazing. We hope to return there soon. 2 maples in Natchez


Disappointed at The Elms

2,2 en abril 18, 2012

We had reserved the Drake room several months in advance and received a confirming e-mail but were instead given the Kellogg room upon arrival. The Kellogg room was considerably smaller and did not have a nice view but there was no apology about switching - we were just told that a larger group needed the Drake room. Breakfast was only ok - not up to the standards of many of the other b&bs we have enjoyed.


great place to stay

4,0 en abril 11, 2012

The Elms is a beautiful place that is very rich in history. My family really enjoyed our stay. The only problem we had was the t.v. not working.


Historic Old B&B

3,2 en abril 04, 2012

Beautiful old home, very fine furnishings and linens, very comfortable bed. We were given a different room than what was reserved, even though we were the only guests there. Our room wasn't thoroughly cleaned - a previous guest's blouse was found in our room and an empty champagne bottle and two glasses were on the porch outside our room. We were offered a glass of wine, which we enjoyed on the porch overlooking the beautiful grounds. We were disappointed to learn Ms. Carpenter would not be preparing our breakfast the next morning, however she gave us a voucher for breakfast at Dunleith.


A Well Kept Secret

5 en abril 01, 2012

The Elms is a beautiful, quiet, and restful place, with a great deal of charm and southern hospitality. The hostesses is a gourmet cook and and a very gracious human being. It was a real pleasure to stay at the Elms. A stay in the large Kellogg room is like turning back the clock with contemporary conveniences.


The Elms, Natchez, MS

4,8 en marzo 21, 2012

This was our first experience with a B&B as well as an historic home. The propietor is the 5th generation owner of The Elms and the house has been in the family since 1870. Ester Carpenter, the owner, was very personable and willing to answer all our questions regarding the property. One of the more interesting items in the home was a handwritten letter of recommendation from President Filmore to one of Ms Carpenters relatives. The grounds of The Elms is beautiful with huge trees covering the 1 1/2 acre estate. According to Ms Carpenter, the house is about 6000 sq feet, although I would not be a bit surprised if it were much larger. There are 3 floors, with Ms Carpenter living on the third floor and guests on the second floor. Ms. Carpenter is a renowned chef, and the breakfast was fabulous, served on pre-heated plates. The Elms is located centrally to many of the other antebellum homes in the Natchez area, making it an ideal location from which to visit the others. One of the two other couples staying at The Elms other than ourselves was a couple that had retired from Iowa, moved to Arkansas, and visiting Natchez. This was a repeat visit for them to the Natchez antebellum pilgrimage. The guests had an opportunity to fellowship over breakfast and resulted in a very enjoyable time for all. We visited and talked with Ms. Carpenter and her staff while breakfast was being prepared and found out a lot about the house and its former occupants. We would encourage others to help preserve a bit of history by scheduling a stay at The Elms. The owners of these antebellum homes get no financial support from the government and rely on visitors to maintain them. This is truly a labor of love.


Wonderful B&B

5 en marzo 15, 2012

The Elms was a wonderful experience. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever eaten. The buttermilk biscuits were better than my grandmother's. The rooms very lovely and full of charm. Esther was a wonderful host. I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone staying in the Natchez area.


Nice B&B

3,4 en marzo 09, 2012

Stayed in the Drake Room with my husband and we thought that it was nice. The bed was really comfortable and loved the bathroom. Ms. Esther was a sweet lady and the breakfast was delicious. Would recommend.


Wonderful stay

4,6 en febrero 16, 2012

It was such fun staying in this historic home. The room was spacious and charming, and had everything we needed. The breakfasts were delicious (loved those biscuits!). Esther was a very gracious and welcoming host. The location provided convenient access to the downtown and restaurants, and for our side trip to Vicksburg.


Feel the athmosphere of old south

3,8 en diciembre 05, 2011

We found a very charming lady very proud of its heritage (I would say she can be), ready to share it with you if you show some interest. For those who like athmosphere rooms, that's THE place you should not miss. Breakfast was prepared with love and very complete. Bravo


Beautiful B&B

4,0 en octubre 24, 2011

The Elms was a nice quiet getaway. Esther was very accommodating yet gave us our space. Her breakfast was delicious!


Love Love Love The Elms!

5 en junio 19, 2011

My husband and I just returned today from a two night stay in the Kellog Room. We enjoyed the Romance package. I did not want to leave. Esther is a wonderful hostess. We felt pampered! The room was incredible. The bed was super comfortable. The house and grounds were beautiful. The breakfasts each morning were superb. If I could, I would give the overall experience ten stars. We will come again.


The perfect romantic B&B location!

5 en junio 08, 2011

The Elms was fantistic. My Husband and I spent a couple days there on our honeymoon and it could not have been more romantic. The Kellog Room was perfect, beautiful and extremely comfortable. The bathrooms was nice and relaxing and both the shower and tub (which had bubble bath to go along with it) were suited for two! The staff was very friendly and yet unobtrusive. The breakfasts were also delicious and served beautifully. If we had it to do all over again, we would still choose The Elms for our honeymoon and we will definitely be going there again at our first opportunity for a getaway!


Mid May stay at the Elms

4,6 en mayo 30, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Elms May 12th and 13th (two nights). Had a wonderful stay. Stayed in the Castle Room. The bed was very comfortable, linens top quality and towels very plush. Antique furnishings beautiful. Grounds were extensive, we enjoyed sitting outstide in the afternoons after our daily excursions. Esther was a perfect hostess. Breakfast was very good. The house is very close to "downtown" Natchez and we were able to walk to many of the sites. Only improvement we would wish was for more seating areas on the porch. Rather than one big seating area perhaps three smaller groupings. Shades on the bedroom windows that could easily be closed at night would have been nice. But overall loved the Elms and would stay there again.


our 1st trip to Natchez

4,8 en mayo 20, 2011

Breakfast was delicious! Personalized service was exceptional. It included making our lunch & dinner reservations as well as helping us optimize our sightseeing time in Natchez.


Absolutely wonderful!

5 en mayo 13, 2011

Our stay at the Elms was fabulous! The room was stunning. The towels and bathrobe were so luxurious, I felt spoiled. There was magnolia-scented bubble bath for the claw-foot tub! The location was ideal for our sightseeing. But the absolute best part was Esther and her incredible cooking! You WILL gain weight on her breakfasts. They are too wonderful to resist. Pawallis


Made to feel at home

4,4 en mayo 04, 2011

I can't say enough good things about my stay here. Esther was so gracious and kind. She gave a wonderful tour of her home and the breakfasts were outstanding. She lives very close to some major attractions that you could actually walk to but the house sits on two acres so you in no way feel crowded. The porches that you access from your rooms are wide and real nice to sit on. I just wish that I would have had more time to enjoy them. I look forward to the day that I can stay there again. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast.


Wonderful Weekend

4,6 en mayo 01, 2011

I stayed two nights at The Elms with my mother and mother in-law and couldn't have had a better time! The rooms we stayed in were wonderful; the beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom reminded me of something you'd find at a spa. Esther was a great host; her tour of the home was probably the best tour we had all weekend, even better than the homes run by the Garden Club. Breakfast was wonderful; it embodied a Southern-style experience. I will definitely stay at The Elms again in the future and will recommend it to anyone I hear who's going to Natchez.


Superb

5 en abril 22, 2011

The stay was even more than we had hoped for. The history we saw that was maintained not only in the home, but the grounds surrounding The Elms was just fantastic. Esther not only was a great hostess but don't let on that you know what a great cook she is! Breakfast was excellent, not only in the food but the presentation as well. We will be back!


Fabulous Bed and Breakfast

5 en marzo 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and The Elms and neither one of us wanted to leave! Esther is such an awesome host. The rooms are gorgeous, a wonderful blend of old and new, antique furniture with beautiful new bathrooms. The linens are something special. The breakfast bar none is the BEST breakfast I have ever eaten. Esther is such a wonderful chef. The food and service are really something special. We had such a great stay, the grounds are beautiful. Couldn't have been better!!!!


Cousins on a historical trip.

5 en marzo 17, 2011

My cousin and I went to Natchez to tour the historic homes of the city. To describe our stay in simple words is impossible. We stayed at the Elms. We were greeted as we arrived in the pouring rain. Mark brought our luggage up to our room. We stayed in the Drake room, which is a fabulous 2-room suite. The bathroom was very large and gave both of us plenty of room to get ready for our days of touring. We stayed from Saturday to Tuesday and really didn’t want to leave. You need to have a love for uniqueness and history if you plan to stay at the Elms. This home is full of history. Esther is the most gracious hostess. I am an early riser (4:00 am) and she set the coffee pot to come on at a time that I requested so that I may have my coffee early. I would go down to the kitchen to get my coffee. A carafe and cups on a tray were already prepared for me. I only had to pour the coffee from the pot into the carafe. Having coffee on the porch in the early morning is such a peaceful, quiet, moment of solitude that was wonderful. We felt like we were at home as we were treated like family. This is an amazing place to stay. Breakfast was a wonderful experience for Esther is an incredible Chef. I have never experience such a breakfast like it in any B&B I have stayed in, in the past. My cousin and I have promised ourselves we will return to Natchez one day, even if for nothing else but to stay at The Elms. I must mention Lucy and Gumbo, two precious toy poodles. They are the most adorable, friendly animals I have ever seen. (I am not an animal lover)


Lovely Weekend Retreat

4,0 en marzo 07, 2011

My husband and I were recently at The Elms for a 2 nite romantic getaway. We stayed in the Kellogg room - very warm, cozy, intimate setting. The large soaking tub and the sit down shower were both fa-bu-lous! The ambiance of the lighting in the rooms along with the period furniture were beautiful. Esther was a great hostess. We very much enjoyed our visit to Natchez and hated to leave. Thanks Esther! We will be back. John and Georgette


Best girls vacation ever.

5 en marzo 04, 2011

My mother, sister and I had an absolutely wonderful experience for my mothers 55th birthday. This was my second time staying at the Elms, and Esther has proven to be a wonderful host each and every time. We loved the history of the home, the carpenter room was just perfect for the three of us. It was probably one of the best breakfasts that I have ever eaten, Esthers' cooking is magnificent, and anyone who chooses to pass this place up is definitley missing out.


A Wonderful Hostess!

5 en marzo 03, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at The Elms and found it a delightful experience. We stayed in the Kellogg Room, which was furnished beautifully, with quality appointments. This is a fifth generation Natchez family home with lovely antiques and interesting family history. Esther is a fabulous professional chef!


Wonderful!!!!!!

5 en febrero 18, 2011

She was one of the only B&Bs who would allow us to bring our little ones, 4yrs and 2yrs old. But I think breakfast was the best part, she is wonderful cook and she cooks with things from her garden, can't get fresher than that! The room was very clean, never lost hot water and we all slept great. It was a wonderful weekend and my husband and I are planing on going back without the kids!


Wonderful!

4,8 en enero 12, 2011

This was one of my favorite B&B's that I have ever stayed in. The home it's self is filled with wonderful antiques and has many, many years worth of stories that fill each room with many wonderful memories. Ester's cooking is literally "to die for"! She has the best eggs I've ever had, along with her grits and orange scones and I could go on, and on for days. The only thing I didn't like was the coffee. It had Chikory in it, and I just don't like that. (I'm norhtern). The location is great. You can walk everywhere, which is what we did the whole weekend. The front porch is a great place to sit and read a book. Or to just sit and stare at the lovely, massive Live Oak trees in the front yard. I really could go on and on about how lovely this B&B is. It's old and needs some loving, but Ester makes you feel right at home. I will diffently come back and stay here again. Any excuse to eat her breakfast!


Overnight stay

3,8 en enero 10, 2011

Best eggs I've ever had! My impossible to please mother-in-law was even pleased with the room and service.


Everything was outstanding about The Elms!

5 en diciembre 15, 2010

We loved our stay from start to finish and can't wait to return! It was the perfect getaway and the perfect location within Natchez. Breakfast was incredible! We really enjoyed the tour of the home from Esther.


Best Breakfast

4,2 en diciembre 13, 2010

This is a charming home with a fascinating history, and Esther's cooking is NOT to be missed. Not only did we receive the best breakfast in town (even better than the Castle's breakfast at Dunleith), but the turn-down service included yummy homemade chocolate candy. Additionally, the clawfoot tub came complete with foaming milk bath.


Wonderful weekend in Natchez

5 en noviembre 21, 2010

The Elms was a wonderful place to stay for my new daughter-in-law and mother and family for her wedding. The rooms are lovely, bathrooms roomy and spotless, and Esther is a terrific chef. Breakfasts were delicious, and the ambiance of the antebellum home was perfect. Great for brisk walk downtown and close to the church. Anyone staying here will get the royal treatment.


Wonderful Stay!

4,8 en octubre 21, 2010

Our stay at The Elms was just wonderful. Our room was comfortable, warm and spacious, and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The hospitality of Esther and her staff was outstanding. We would recommend The Elms to anyone traveling to Natchez.


Wonderful Get-Away

4,8 en octubre 12, 2010

From the moment my husband and I stepped in the door until we left we were treated like special guests. We had planned on many tours through out the city but instead we found ourselves coming back to "The Elms" to relax in our room or sit on the porches reading. A most relaxing retreat. Ms. Esther and her staff were wonderful and the extra touches made it just that much more special. The first morning we ate breakfast in the kitchen and were able to watch Ms. Esther create our delicious meal. The next two mornings we had breakfast in the dining room and shared a delightful meal with the other guests. We will return again. Thank you Ms. Esther.


Only Place We Stay Point Forward

5 en octubre 11, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay a night on short notice and had local recommendations to contact the Elms. We could not have been happier with our stay. The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. Esther is an amazing chef that places you eating an unforgettable meal in a setting that makes you feel like royalty. We are planning future cooking classes, anniversary getaways, and any other excuse we can come up with to stay at the Elms. Esther and her staff were so inviting, interesting, and went out of their way to be so helpful after my husband injured himself (at the town cemetary of all places). So for us point forward it is the only place we will be staying when visiting Natchez.


A romantic birthday weekend for my wife

5 en octubre 10, 2010

I planned this weekend for my wife's birthday. I read the many many great reviews about Ester and The Elms, and chose her B&B for this reason. We could not have been happier. Let me say right off the bat, this house is a wonder to behold. The splendor of this beautiful house was overwhelming. If you enjoy the cold lifeless setting of a hotel, you may want to stay away from The Elms. From the moment Ester or Adyelle (hope I spelled that correctly) meets you at the door, the world stops spinning and time slows almost to a halt. We reserved the Kellogg Room. There was a beautiful clawfoot soaking tub fully equipped with soap, bubble bath, and emboidered towels. We left Friday evening for dinner, only to return to a turned down bed, soft music playing on the tv, cold ice water and wonderful chocolate treats. Mark even walked me into the mens parlor and showed me the assortment of complimentary premium cigars. We sat on the second floor balcony and enjoyed a glass of wine while looking out into the beautiful front yard. The next morning we awoke to the smell of fresh coffee and breakfast being prepared downstairs in the kitchen. I cannot tell you how wonderful the breakfasts are. Everyone gathers around the dining table to fresh fruit, orange juice and the most wonderful breakfast you will ever experience. I dont think anything has ever been allowed to rest on that table if it wasnt made from scratch. The food alone is worth much more than the cost of the room. . The level of personal service you will recieve at The Elms goes second to none. This is not a hotel made into a B&B, it is a home that you are invited into and they treat you like royalty the entire stay. It was heartbreaking to check out, and we are already planning our next visit. If you want a quite, relaxingly slow romantic experience, give The Elms a try. You will not be dissappointed! Tony and Christina


Really enjoyed our stay.

5 en septiembre 28, 2010

We stayed in The Drake Room (which includes an extra room with two single beds and a modern bathroom that just "looks" old. Esther has stenciled the walls of The Drake Room - they're just beautiful! The beds were very comfortable with 1000 thread-count (I ordered some just like them for my own home.). Breakfast was just the "BEST!" I would not change anything about our stay & I highly recommend The Elms.


Great exprience

4,8 en septiembre 22, 2010

Breakfast was wonderful. Owner was hospitable and delightful. Location is perfect. Overall, a delightful experience.


A romantic weekend we'll never forget!

5 en septiembre 05, 2010

In a word - unbelievable! We've stayed at many historic BandB inns before, but the Elms was hands-down our favorite! This grand mansion is filled with family antiques, since it had been the home of the current owner's grandmother. Every item has a story and hostess Esther will share them with you. It creates an authentic ambiance that can't be beat. And gourmet chef Esther made the breakfast experience unforgettable. We'll be returning as soon as possible!


Great attention to detail; Esther is wonderful!

3,0 en agosto 01, 2010

Enjoyed our stay at Esther's family home on a girls get-a-way package. Esther's extensive culinary experience is obvious -- everything was delicious! Our suite was very nice and the attention to detail was very much appreciated. The house has apparently been in Esther's family for a long time and Esther's history in Natchez was very interesting to learn about. The house has been through one or two add-ons through the years and I found myself almost continually 'lost' as we wandered around the property. (I'm sure the add-ons made sense at the time...) The house seems a little 'tired' and could use a little exterior sprucing up. Ultimately, it's all about the room/suite and full breakfast and both were very good.


Wonderfull

5 en julio 19, 2010

We stayed 3 days in June . What a wonderfull place. Esther and staff were outstanding. The morning meal what can I say. So much great food we saved money because we did not eat lunch the whole time in Natchez. Mitzi & I will stay the next time in Natchez.


An Anniversary At The Elms

5 en julio 04, 2010

Esther Carpenter is your classic "Southern Magnolia" and her home is a fabulous place to spend a long weekend. A very charming place. cozy and quiet, the rooms are magnificient, antiques from the 1700's and 1800's throughout. Esther is such a talented owner with a southern flare; and outstanding chef (I do not believe that you could top her breakfast) and an extremely talented painter in her own right. If you are looking for a warm friendly smile, the charm of the old south and a clean comfortable place to stay, the Elms is it. This is our third trip and there will be more. Fred and Debbie Gwin


Wife's special birthday trip

5 en julio 02, 2010

We wanted a quiet getaway for the wife's big birthday and we found it at The Elms. It was wonderful. The room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was large enough for the two of us to get ready for the day. The breakfasts...oh my gosh, they were fantastic Southern delights. The turn down service was an added treat. Mark gave us a wonderful tour of this historic home and all the family heirlooms in it. Esther was the perfect hostess. (Sad to say I forgot the other lady’s name who helped out at the house but she was good to us too.) While the outside of the home isn’t all glamour like some of the houses we visited in Natchez, the charm, warmth, and family history inside was spectacular. We would stay here again.


A wonderful Place to Stay

5 en junio 22, 2010

Our stay at the Elms was wonderful. My husband and I had The Drake Room which has a sitting area with two twin beds for our two children. It was perfect for our family. Esther and Mark gave us a great tour of the home, spending so much time telling us about the history. Our family really enjoyed seeing it and hearing the stories Esther had to share about her home. The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms modern, and the breakfast each morning was wonderful. Our family is looking forward to going back and staying again. We would highly recommend staying at the Elms for anyone who would like the experience of staying in a beautiful and gracious home.


Belated Anniversary Trip

2,8 en junio 20, 2010

My husband and I booked 2 nights at The Elms for a belated anniversary trip. It was enjoyable, quiet. A nice weekend get-away.


wonderful experience

5 en junio 07, 2010

Have stayed at several B&B in Natchez over the last several years, but this is our new found favorite. Very comfortable accomodations, gracious hostesss, and rustic surroundings. Breakfast exceeded our expectations, and rooms were charming with updated baths. For the history buffs, this is IT....not the usual Holiday Inn.....but the real deal. Esther is the best, welcoming us with complimetary wine upon arrival, turn down of beds in evening with sumptuous treats left at our bedside. By all means...check this out......


Wonderful getaway

3,4 en mayo 31, 2010

My husband I and spent the weekend at The Elms and had a wonderful time. Breakfast was glorious and the staff was great. The Drake Room was beautiful and the walls done by Esther were beautiful. Our only disappointment was that we were not given any history at all about the house and we never saw Esther except to pay when we were leaving. I was looking forward to a tour of the home and the history that is associated with it, but we never got any of that. We chose this B&B because of the reviews about all the personal contact with Esther and that is not at all what happened, but we did have a wonderful trip and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The linens and personl touches in the room were quite a treat and the home was lovely and well maintained. I would recommend this home to anyone.


The place to stay!

4,0 en mayo 06, 2010

We have stayed at many B&B's in Natchez and this is one of the top 3! Very relaxing, cozy, comfortable and Esther is a wonderful hostess. Great breakfasts, and the history of the home from someone who grew up there ~ can't get much better than that! You won't be disappointed ~ a nice B&B gem in a city full of history.


Having a wonderful time!!

5 en mayo 02, 2010

Wow...I really don't know what to say, I was in shock, the rooms were amazing, so was the house, Ms. Esther is an amazing cook, artist, AND hostess. The grounds were beautiful! Every evening Ms. Esther would come in and turn down the sheets and plump the pillows and put out a fresh pitcher of water and clean cups out for us, then she would put the TV on some soothing music. The breakfast was great! I felt like I was in a Jane Austen novel, with all the fancy china and silver. I felt as if I just put life on pause and rolled back in time. The porch was a great place to relax and cath a breeze! I will come back someday!! Thankyou Ms. Esther


The Elms - What a wonderful visit we had!! Breakfast was the Best!!

5 en abril 13, 2010

My husband and I were treated like royalty during our 2-night stay at the Elms, one of the famous antebellum homes of Natchez, MS. We have been married over 25 years. It was our first time away from the kids, so we enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere that permeates the Elms and its graceful gardens. The historic home had lots of space to relax, in the sitting room downstairs, or outside in the shade. Our upstairs bedroom was large, with a four-poster bed and our own bath, equipped with a claw-footed tub and warm shower. The bedroom had its own thermostatic control for heating and cooling. We were pampered with beautiful music playing every evening on the flatscreen tv, chocolates on the table, and our bed being turned town for us, magically, every evening. Bountiful breakfasts, tastefully prepared, were served in the beautiful dining room at 8:30 each morning, and we thoroughly enjoyed the meals!! Mmmm! I have several food allergies, which I had told the hostess before arrival, and she made sure I was able to eat the meals, along with the other guests. What a special treat for me!! While in Natchez, my husband and I enjoyed a nostalgic, top-notch performance by locals at the Little Theater, dinner and sunset along the Mississippi River, and tours of several mansions that dated to before the Civil War. It was my second time to Natchez, and my husband's first. We would highly recommend the Elms.


Very Recent Visit

4,6 en marzo 02, 2010

Oh my gosh! Esther is not only a Master Chef and Artist, but a superb hostess! Mark and other staff were like family. Hospitality at its finest. Miss you guys already! Be back in May I hope! Monica


"SPOILED ROTTEN"

5 en febrero 19, 2010

The Scarlett O'Hara girlfriend getaway package was a true delight. Ester was a most gracious hostess, excellent chef, and a connoisseur of sort to accommodated all of our needs. The rooms were large and clean, sheets satiny luxurious, with Esther spoiling us to turned back linens and decadent chocolate awaiting us at night time. Our updated bathroom was large, with thick towels, bathrobes, special soaps and lotions all set in antebellum opulence. Ester, a five-star chef, served a fabulous full southern breakfast. Everything was included from fruit cups, eggs, potatoes, bacon, grits, petite biscuits, jellies, juices, coffee or teas, and my favorite her blueberry muffins. This was my best bed and breakfast experience, and yes Ester, you spoiled us rotten--but in a good way!!! We will be back soon.


Exceptional Experience

5 en diciembre 26, 2009

Stayed at the Elms with my 9 & 10 year-old children. The rooms were excellent. My suite had one wonderfully large bed and in the other room, two twins for my children. The rooms were separated with a pocket door. Bath was large and modern with tile and marble...beautifully done. Master walked onto the second floor wrap-around veranda. Food was unbelievably good. Esther paid attention to every detail. From your pre-heated cups of coffee to your breakfast being served on hot plates, nothing was left out. We drove in from San Antonio and our friends drove in from Memphis. We had a great time during Christmas week. My family and I will certainly return.


A Unique Opportunity- Just Book It!

4,4 en noviembre 03, 2009

I've stayed in many B&B's and the Elms is exceptional. I highly recommend it for the following reasons: The charm of the experience of staying in a gracious, rambling family home being brought back from its faded glory by a talented artist The really lovely modern and spotlessly clean bathrooms - very unusual in any B&B but doubly so in a somewhat dilapidated 200 year old manse. These bathrooms are straight out of a Rejuvenation Hardware catalog and are just terrific - no expense was spared here. The sumptuous beds and linens. Heirloom bedsteads but brand new high-end mattresses, pillows and linens. This is a place that irons its sheets. Gracious hosts with tons of personality. We didn't just have a great place to sleep - we visited. We really enjoyed getting to know William, who has enough entertaining stories to while away many happy hours. Also, he's a great cook. Beautiful things to admire - tons of them. Five generations of collecting leads to lots of cool stuff. I love china, light fixtures, furniture, carpets - I was in heaven. Attention to detail. This is a place where your host preheats your coffee cups in the morning, not only irons the napkins but starches them, too, provides "silver" canisters of cotton make-up removal pads and Q-tips in the bathrooms, and sends you up to bed with a gold-rimmed pitcher of ice water with an antique linen napkin to set it on. The galleries overlooking the live oaks in the lawn. This is just a magical place to relax. Arrive early, so that you have time to enjoy view from the upper floor galleries. Natchez is a terrific tourist destination, but there is something about the verandas of the Elms that is even better than all the sights in this history-rich town. Great central location in a very interesting little historic city. Easy to find, but if Mapquest tells you to turn right onto Pine Street from Route 61, know that Pine Street is called Martin Luther King now.


What a lucky find!

5 en octubre 28, 2009

We got lucky in late September when planning a spontaneous trip to Natchez. Weddings at both the Monmouth and the Dunleith Plantations meant there was no vacancy at either. After scouting out B&Bs on the Internet, we came across The Elms and booked ourselves into the Drake Room. The Elms is run by the immensely gifted but modest Ms. Carpenter, an artist, gourmet chef and a woman with Natchez history in her blood. We settled into our spacious surroundings where every detail echoed Esther’s finely-tuned aesthetic sense. The bed was high with down pillows and duvet. Moments later, Esther returned with a tray of cheese, crackers, and grapes, an ice bucket, and wine. We sat out on the porch to enjoy our pre-dinner treat and gazed out at… OAK trees. Esther tells us there probably once were ELMS at The Elms but not today. The breakfasts are enough to carry you through a day’s worth of sightseeing without a lunch break. In fact I hold those breakfasts responsible for preventing an opportunity to sample Big Mama’s Hot Tamales. Where do you get peaches as sweet as those in the fruit compote? How do you make biscuits as flaky as those sweet little ones Esther baked each morning? Apple crisp and grits too! I was fascinated by Esther’s account of clearing the attic and sorting through centuries of treasures and everyday items from trunkloads. As a flea market junkie, these tales had me salivating. The bathroom has hotel magnifying mirror, good lighting, excellent stall shower, lovely fixtures, and windows on two walls! Plush monogrammed towels. Crisp linen curtains. I wouldn’t be surprised if they had been rescued from one of the trunks. Can’t ignore the ceiling in that bathroom as it appeared to be original multi-toned wood that wears its antiquity well. If you prefer, a 3-seater outhouse is still intact. Gorgeous stenciled walls executed by Esther’s hand. Among the books, a 1957 history of Natchez plantations. One of my favorite B&B experiences.


Genuine Southern Hospitality

5 en septiembre 12, 2009

My husband and I visited Natchez for the first time and found The Elms and its owner to be charming. We chose The Elms because we wanted to experience the historical Natchez of the pre-civil war era. We picked the right place. The Elms is being lovingly restored by owner, Esther Carpenter, who played there as a child when it was her grandmother's home. An artist extrodinaire, Esther is carefully restoring each part of the house to its historical pre-civil war period. When we first arrived, I was a little worried that my allergies might give me fits because of the stuffing in some of the furniture, but I had no problem at all. The bedroom was very clean and centrally air conditioned. The King-sized bed was quite comfortable and was endowed with luxurious linens. The room (Kellogg) had a very nice large bath with both tub and shower. Esther is a gracious hostess and a marvelous cook. The food was delicious! We were lucky enough to enjoy an evening meal prepared for us by a master chef (Esther). The grounds are beautiful and the location is convenient to town and eating establishments. The mighty Mississippi River and many of the historical sites are within walking distance. For a true step back in time into old Natchez, The Elms is a perfect choice. We were delighted with our stay. We want people to know that because portions of the house are in the renovation process, don't be alarmed if you see some stages of disrepair. It will not interfere with your enjoyment. In due time, Esther will have it all in great shape.


Beautiful house - but room made me sneeze!

3,8 en septiembre 08, 2009

We were referred to The Elms by Oak Hill Plantation (Oak Hill was full for Labor Day Weekend). William was very friendly on the phone and took down my name & number (no credit card info to reserve the room). I called back to request a vegetarian breakfast. Esther (proprietress) was very accommodating and even bought us soy-based yogurt and milk from Whole Foods. (Non-vegetarians were served eggs & bacon.) Our room (Drake) was on the 2nd story - consisting of a very nicely appointed and modern bathroom, a separate room containing two single beds, and another room containing a four-poster queen bed and a huge flat panel TV with satellite service. The house is a big, rambling, multi-room 100+ year old structure in various stages of remodeling/repair. The house has been in Esther's family for generations upon generations. There is antique furniture everywhere, and small nicknacks for sale are on display. We got a tour of the whole house from William, who also knew quite a bit of the history and construction of the structure. The only reasons that are preventing me from giving it 5 stars out of 5 are: (1) something in the room made me sneeze - I'm guessing mold? (2) our bed was terribly squeaky and kept us up all night as we tossed and turned to find a comfortable position. Otherwise, the house is gorgeous, the hostess is gracious, the breakfast is delicious (although nothing extraordinary - fruits, juice, coffee/tea, milk, oatmeal, homemade biscuits), the location is very convenient to downtown Natchez & riverfront, and the property is very quiet. The Elms is relatively new to the B&B market in Natchez (just opened in Feb '09) but it's hard to imagine this house as being anything but a B&B.


TRUE SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY

5 en agosto 09, 2009

We just departed "The Elms" after a two night stay and I must say that I have never felt more at home. Ester, the owner, and her friend William made it difficult to leave. The home is a beautiful work in progress and is gently being restored to it's original beauty. Each room is filled with furniture and personal articles passed down from Ester's family. The food is world class and the hospitality is even better. The massive oak trees surrounding the home appear to frame the beauty of the home and reflect upon the once and still beautiful south. The home has "Character" and one leaves for home feeling as thought one is actually leaving home. While one is but a guest of the family, one feels as though they are a part of the family and even more a part of the beauty and history of this amazing home. We will soon return and I highly recommend this B & B to anyone who wishes to experience the meaning of true "Southern Hospitality. W.C. Smith and Susan Ridgeland, MS. 601-898-9013


Anniversary stay at the Elms

5 en julio 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ms. Carpenter's Elms Bed and Breakfast recently to celebrate our anniversary. We had never been to Natchez before so the experience was new all around. The stay was wonderful!! The plantation was comfortable and our room was very nice. The service was outstanding, Ms. Carpenter made us feel at home. The Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, antique shopping and viewing the local architecture. The river is about six blocks away which has a small casino boat for those that like gambling. The breakfasts we ate there at the Elms were quite delicious. We would definetely stay again. Carolyn


Right out of a tennessee WIlliams novel

5 en mayo 29, 2009

Esther and William have clearly spent incalculable hours restoring this gem of a mansion. While the accommodations are exceedingly comfortable, we most enjoyed breakfast chats with the aforementioned on issues ranging from the Mississippi tomato queen contest to snooty southern belles who still hold forth in the Natchez Garden Club. Don't miss this experience.


An April 2009 stay

5 en mayo 05, 2009

My stay at The Elms was my first stay at a Bed & Breakfast. What an experience! Esther Carpenter is an accomplished chef who creates the most amazing breakfasts in the friendliest atmosphere you can imagine. She gives a personal tour of her home. Her presentation is not a canned speech which she gives time after time, but a remembrance of her childhood. The rooms are large and spacious, and the bathrooms are new, modern, and very clean. Esther is an artist and you will see some of her work on display at The Elms. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I can recommend The Elms as a comfortable and friendly place to spend a few days.


Very Special People in a Very Special Place

5 en abril 27, 2009

Another innkeeper in Natchez recommended Ms. Carpenter and the Elms, and we are so grateful for the recommendation. When calling the Elms and speaking with Esther, I discovered we had an immediate connection because Esther had recently moved back home from Los Angeles. Since I'm originally from Kentucky and now live in Los Angeles, I thought it would be the perfect place for us, and I was right! She is an extremely nice and incredibly gifted lady, as a chef, an artist, and an innkeeper, and her family home is an incredibly neat place. She hasn't missed a detail in her renovation of the Cassell room, at the top, and I would recommend it for anyone that can handle the steps to the 3rd floor. We met interesting people, had unbelievable food, and saw amazing art and antiques without even having to leave the Elms. We hope to go back again and take her up on cooking class. The Elms and Esther and friends are amazing, and we'd recommend them to anyone!


A most pleasant stay!

5 en abril 26, 2009

When we first drove up to The Elms we didn't readily see the address, but I recognized it from the internet photos. I was immediately captivated. The gardens and trees are just beautiful, in a relaxed welcoming, laid back kind of way. The home is being beautifully and meticulously restored. Such a wonderful eclectic blend of the old mixed with the new. Charming new baths with the look of yesterday and all the modern conveniences of today. Large guest rooms, beautifully decorated in exquisite antiques and the most comfortable beds in the world. You'll love the tour of the home, which will be given by the gracious hostess herself, Ms Esther Carpenter. It was amazing to see the tons of memorabilia, antique books, gorgeous antique furnishings, heirlooms, and the photos of the home, from then to now. Voted one of the top 20 female chefs in the South, Esther serves a worderful southern breakfast. (Make sure you don't miss the breakfast and Esther will share her biscuit recipe with you if you ask) Loved the food, Loved the home and just loved the talented and gracious hostess. Our stay at The Elms was like visiting a friend who just couldn't wait to see you. We will definitely be back. Barbara & Philip Stiell, Spanish Fort, Al


B3 - Best Bed & Breakfast

5 en marzo 29, 2009

Esther Carpenter takes a multi-generational stakehold in the heart of Natchez and has added her innate sense of style, substance, and sophistication. The house is the definition of eclectic - bridging three stylistic periods of Natchez architecture and possesses a mix of Empire, Colonial, and Baroque furnishings reflecting the evolution of Natchez nabob interiors. Esther, a master painter-designer and chef, delivers a tour-de-force of both elements during your stay. She has updated her guest rooms with a nod to the present while honoring the past. Bathrooms are brand new and clean with chrome and white decor patterns. The bedding is most comfortable and high-end. The breakfast is delicious and if you pay attention, you might learn how to cook better from one of America's top haute cuisine artists. The final cherry on this delicious sundae is Esther's warm hospitality and sincere personality - she is a modern woman bred with Southern manners - all befitting the lady she is. Five stars for the Elms.


Reliving the Antebellum Grandeur

5 en marzo 25, 2009

I made a reservation based on a local recommendation during the Spring Pilgrimage 2009. I spoke on the phone with Esther Carpenter, the 5th generation owner. She returned recently to inherit and restore the former grandeur of the Elms. Any doubt about this newly opened B&B dissipated after her warm welcome on the phone. When I checked in to the Elms, I was immediately captivated by the beautiful garden and trees surrounding the house. The Elms is situated in a secluded English garden despite its city location. The “Elms” allusion to the English poem is absolutely appropriate. The house appears unchanged in history, and all the furnishings are original to the period. Esther gave me tour of the mansion and showed me the 4 rooms available for B&B guests. There are 2 large suites, one room with 2 twin beds, and the attic penthouse, all with central air-conditioning and upscale baths. Esther had spent hundreds of hours herself painting the walls to restore the original patterns. The attic room where I stayed is truly unique. I had access to the entire attic which includes the room and an artist studio. The bathroom is modern with a relaxing bathtub hanging above the garden. The room opens directly to the front roof of the Elms. You can walk along the entire metallic roofing. The panoramic view above the Elms is one of my most memorable images of Natchez. Southern Breakfast was cooked by Esther, a renowned chef, and served in the family dining room with antique china and silverware. I felt more an invitee than a B&B guest. I was already planning in my mind a future return since Esther would be able to arrange private dinners. I would love to come back for dinner, overnight stay and breakfast at the Elms, reliving the grandeur of the old South. The Elms is truly a precious gem that is hard to find in these days of bland “hotel-like” B&Bs. It’s about re-experiencing the antebellum grandeur. David Lee, MD New Orleans


Am I in Heaven?

5 en marzo 18, 2009

We were looking for an authentic ante- bellum mansion b&b for our visit to Natchez and a friend at Architectural Digest recommended The Elms. We could not have been more pleased! The house itself is a national treasure! It is chock full of exquisite antiques and is run by the most delightful innkeeper! Miss Esther epitomizes "Southern Hospitality" at its best and can she ever cook! In fact, she does ALL the cookin'!


What a way to live

4,0 en marzo 18, 2009

Little did I dream what the accomodations would be like. We have stayed in several B & B's over the years, but nothing can compare with this. The Cassell Room was great, I can hardly imagine what it would be like to have this room during the balloon races in October. It was every so spacious and the bathroom was great. All new and pristine. The breakfast was to die for, prepared by owner and master chef Esther Carpenter. You can eat in the formal dining room or sit in her warm kitchen and watch her cook. We did both. A most gracious hostess. Book you room and have a great weekend.


The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $145 - $275
  • Comentarios (133) 4,6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono (601) 445-5979

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba