Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
132 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great weekend get away

5 en octubre 13, 2014

Xanadu far exceded our expectations. We have been to numerous bed and breakfasts, Xanadu is nicest we have been to. The setting is quiet and picturesque. They have boats and canoes to use, good fishing on Elbow Lake. Breakfast alone was a reason to stay. Don't know who is the better cook and all guests were asked about likes and dislikes. What really set Xanadu apart from others was the conversations with the owners. They really enjoy socializing with all of the guest, whether at breakfast or in front of the 100 year old fire place. We plan to make this anniversary tradition.


A time for us!

4,8 en octubre 12, 2014

Wonderful, romantic and worth it!


wonderful

5 en octubre 03, 2014

Zanadu is like a " little piece of heaven" Fell in love with it on first visit and come back twice a year. It is so relaxing and peaceful. The owners Bubba and Margie go above and beyond every visit. You can use the boats,beach,canoes with no extra fees.We love the fishing. The breakfasts are awesome and. fill you up all day. Margie always asks if you have allergies or restrictions and modify. There are trials,state parks lots to do. I highly recommend going here! Kay and Jim Clemmer.


Will go back again and again

5 en septiembre 25, 2014

Beautiful place for a quite get away. I would recommend going in the fall or spring if you really want a quite weekend as they do rent cabins out to families but we were there earlier September and it was perfect for just a few moments of peace.


Peaceful, relaxing Xanadu

5 en septiembre 10, 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Xanadu. Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts. We had a chance to take the canoe out on beautiful, clear Elbow Lake before breakfast one morning. We enjoyed the loons and the peacefulness on the water. The history of the property is very interesting as well. The breakfasts were awesome and end with dessert!! We would highly recommend Xanadu to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


Unique B&B

4,8 en agosto 29, 2014

We had a lovely time. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. The scenery was inspiring.


Our favorite B&B

5 en agosto 29, 2014

Bubba and Margie have what it takes to provide their guests an outstanding experience at their lovely B&B. We recently returned from our third visit to Xanadu Island and will return next year. And, did I mention the wonderful breakfasts and snacks?! Superb!


Birthday Celebration at Xanadu!

5 en agosto 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Xanadu B&B. Margie and Bubba were fantastic hosts! The rooms were extremely clean and the breakfast amazing. It was fun get to meet the other guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you!


Xanadu is magical!

5 en agosto 25, 2014

As one enters the property the lane narrows to as if to squeeze out any weights of the office or home. Relaxation personified!


Take the time to stay

5 en agosto 21, 2014

Our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful experience. We will definitely stay again.


Not sure another B & B can beat Xanadu!

5 en agosto 21, 2014

Our stay was absolutely amazing! Bubba and Margie by far are the best hosts we have ever had the pleasure staying with. They make you feel as at home as you can possibly be, like they have known you forever. The food was delicious, enough to make you want to miss lunch all together. The house and Island are breath taking. Battle Lake has so much history in it's small town, I never knew and I'm glad we got a chance to figure it out! I now understand why Xanadu Island has so many returning guests. We will be adding to that list! Thank You Bubba and Margie for welcoming us into your home and onto your beautiful island! Angie and Matt- Andover, MN


the perfect getaway

4,8 en agosto 20, 2014

Absolutely just a beautiful place to stay


Everything was great - except...

4,6 en agosto 18, 2014

I liked everything about our stay except that the water smelled like fish. It wasn't romantic to take a jacuzzi in a hot tub full of water that made me smell like a trout. I know it was on a peninsula and was surrounded by a lake, which was AWESOME. But the water smelling and tasting like lake water was pretty gross. I don't know if they can use some sort of filtration device or something - but everything else was fantastic!


A great place to kick back and relax

4,6 en agosto 17, 2014

The owners, Margie and Bubba were wonderful and the breakfast's are delicious. It's a peaceful location, loved hearing the loons in the early morning.


Love this Place

4,8 en agosto 16, 2014

Peaceful, serene, hospitable, kind, tons to do, excellent food, gracious hosts... Cannot wait to go back.


The truth of Xanadu Island

5 en agosto 10, 2014

Meeting people like Margie and Bubba makes a person's life better. You are more than just dollar sign and occupant of the room. You are treated as a member of the family. They go above and beyond any type of service from a hotel and make it your home away from home. We could rave on and on but we will just say you can never go wrong with visiting Xanadu Island.


Gem

5 en agosto 03, 2014

This is a gem. A must stay if you are in the area. The rooms are large & very comfortable. The breakfast was great as well.


.the most romantic and relaxing place on earth

5 en julio 24, 2014

We drove there and didn't know what to expect, when you get off the tar road you drive on gravel for a 1/4 of a mile, and then down a narrow path beside a corn field, then into the woods, the road narrows and curves along and then you come out, and up, and the house is in front of you, kind of quaint, until you walk in the front door, huge living room, wood and windows, very beautiful, very comfortable, the view from the deck, and the magnificent oaks, and the lake.Margie comes out and welcomes us, and shows us around, then in comes Buba, nice fella, we had the most fun and felt like we had come home from a long trip, we talked , and felt like we were family, we will go back and stay longer next time, we stayed in the fireplace room, huge windows that opened up towards a view of the lake, and the other window a view of the bay on the other side of the island, a massive stone fireplace, with have of a log for a mantel, the bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed many hours there, we sat and sipped wine cheese, and crackers out on the deck, that we brought with, and we accidentally dropped a cracker and low and behold here's this chipmunk comes right up to us and snatches that cracker and eats it in front of us, all the sounds of the lake were prevalent there, the loons, and the ducks, and herons, when you go you will have to check out the two person hammock, what fun, in the morning I woke to the best cup of coffee I've had in a long time and me and zona polished off two carafes before breakfast, and then we ate like royalty, anyway it felt that and who doesn't want their get away to feel that way, I've, we've never felt so welcomed at any place where we have stayed like we did when we stayed at Xanadu Bed & Breakfast, and Resort, It will always have a special place in our memories, and we will return to make many more.John & Zona.


Excellent Care and Stay

5 en julio 22, 2014

I had a wonderful stay. Not only was the place immaculate but the hospitality was incredible. I felt at home and had the most amazing breakfast!!


Exceeded our expectations

4,8 en julio 17, 2014

Lovely, warm, and inviting property. The in keepers were very welcoming and we loved the location. While visiting you have to check out the civil war museum a must see!


Xanadu is Amazing!

5 en julio 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Xanadu and it will not be our last! We always have such a wonderful time here- and Margie and Bubba were born to run a B&B. They make it seem so effortless!


Shhh!

5 en julio 14, 2014

Looking to relax in a serene setting with an over the top breakfast? Look no further...I won't say more....want to keep this quiet.


Great Experience

4,6 en julio 13, 2014

We stayed at one of the cabins and has a wonderful experience. The surroundings are lovely. We enjoyed access to kayaks and paddle boat. The cabin was clean and very comfortable. Since we did not stay at the B&B, we did not have breakfast. We did enjoy some surprise cookies one afternoon. I highly recommend a stay at Xanadu.


our favorite getaway

5 en julio 03, 2014

Bubba and Marge are the ultimate hosts, and this place is serene and beautiful.


Wow!

4,2 en junio 25, 2014

After reading glowing reviews of this B&B prior to booking you still never know if it'll be great. Well, my gamble paid off. This place is awesome. Even more awesome are the owners Bubba and Margie. They truly went above and beyond to make our 2 night stay fantastic. The beautiful weather helped greatly as we were able to spend hours on the lake using their boats and toys. The location is also very close to Glendalough state park which we also spent many hours biking and kayaking. I rarely write reviews but because I'm still so happy about our stay I wanted to share...


Perfect getaway

5 en junio 20, 2014

Bubba and Margie are so wonderful. Bubba spent about an hour one afternoon helping us get out sailing on their sailboat. The breakfasts were incredible and the location is so peaceful and isolated. We will definitely be back!


In Xanadu...

5 en junio 17, 2014

Beautiful lake-side retreat; great setting, great company, great food, cost was at same price-point as previous night's boring motel room with stock experience...


Great place!

5 en junio 14, 2014

Beautiful home, welcoming owners, quiet, peaceful property and exceptionally clean. Wonderful place for a relaxing getaway!


Absolutely perfect

5 en junio 11, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The property is very well-maintained. The service of Margie & Bubba was outstanding. Very relaxing, beautiful little island.


Even if you do not like sailboats, paddle boats, fishing, you will love it here.

5 en junio 01, 2014

It was so relaxing. Battle Lake has great restaurants....better than Alexandria. We wished we could have stayed longer.


A hidden gem on a beautiful lake.

5 en mayo 31, 2014

You will be so glad you visited here. WE were!!!! The owners make you feel right at home and relaxed. Delicious treats and breakfast. Comfortable and clean room with lovely surroundings.


Peaceful, friendly, interesting, and so much to do, if you want, or just do nothing

4,8 en mayo 30, 2014

So much is included! Plan to spend some TIME! We didn't realize what an amazing place this is. It is truly an island, apart from the causeway which was built in 1920 so you can drive onto it (OK - and probably for construction).


Wonderful Getaway

4,0 en octubre 27, 2013

My wife and I had such a lovely time! Bubba and Margie are splendid hosts. Our highlights were the food, the jacuzzi, and the kayaks.


A Real Find

4,8 en octubre 07, 2013

This place is so special. Bubba and Margie make one feel right at home and the breakfasts are phenomenal. Fireplaces in some rooms and a wonderful lake view. Excellent restaurants in nearby Battle Lake. We hope to be back.


Wonderful, relaxing and beautiful!

5 en septiembre 25, 2013

Met my in-laws at Xanadu last weekend for a family getaway, and had a fantastic time! Bubba and Margie are gracious and sweet hosts, and the food is amazing. We relaxed on the deck, watching the lake, visited in front of a roaring fire in the great room, and generally enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere of this beautiful lodge. Our second trip here, but certainly not our last! Jennifer and Jack, Valley City, ND


A great place

4,4 en septiembre 19, 2013

The breakfast meals are wonderful !


Boats, canoes, kayaks and a great bed and breakfast

5 en septiembre 12, 2013

This is a great bed and breakfast if you want to get away from it all. The house is on an island in a beautiful lake, joined to the mainland by a short causeway. There are boats, canoes, and kayaks for guests to use. Cake, cookies and soft drinks are available for guests during the day. Breakfasts are wonderful. A highly recommended bed and breakfast


Do Xanadu

5 en septiembre 04, 2013

This was an unexpected slice of perfection in the middle of Minnesota’s lake country! Margie and Bubba make you feel like family (the fun side of the family!) and are very accommodating when it comes to dietary allergies. The location is the quintessential north country resort; quite, remote and beautiful. Unless you are looking for a wild nightlife, you could not ask for a better place for a get-a-way from the grind of everyday life. We will be returning to Xanadu soon. Deb & Russ


Perfect getaway

5 en septiembre 03, 2013

Me and my girlfriend were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful this place is. It truly is on it's own little "island" and is a wonderful place to relax at. Everything about it is great; the views, the rooms, the service/food, super clean and clear lake, fire pit. It's located on Elbow Lake which is fairly small, but that's nice if you're looking for a quieter relaxation time. Margie and Bubba are gracious hosts and make you feel right at home. You are even welcome to stay and enjoy the amenities after check out time so don't pack your swimsuit early! And Battle Lake is just a few minutes away where you can enjoy shopping and dining out. My only wish is that we would have been able to stay for more than one night. Xanadu will definitely be on the list of places to go back to.


Xanadu Great Again

4,8 en septiembre 01, 2013

Great Weekend with warm friendly hosts and great breakfasts on an island. Former "fishing shack" for wealthy family so don't expect modern hotel rooms and room service, just comfy beds in a variety of panelled rooms with big windows overlooking the lake. Large living room and deck are available 24 hours a day and plenty of books on the shelves. I didn't look inside the cabins which were former servants quarters. Unfortunately we didn't have opportunities to use the lake. Kayaks and fishing boats are available to borrow. Ask Margie and Bubba for local events like the delicious turkey roast fundraiser for a local fire department we attended.


9 year anniversary

5 en agosto 29, 2013

Awesome place to go! Very relaxing and peaceful!


A beautiful short getaway for my wife and I

5 en agosto 11, 2013

My wife and I were headed from the Twin Cities to my parents farm in North Dakota, this time without our kids with - they are technically adults now. We thought we'd break up the 8 hour drive by stopping halfway and stay for 1 day/night. We both enjoyed kayaking and boating on the lake, relaxing on the shore, and staying in our gorgeous room and eating a delicious breakfast. Margie, Bubba, and their granddaughter were so very kind and entertaining.


Paradise in Battle Lake, MN

4,8 en agosto 09, 2013

We only stayed a couple nights, but totally enjoyed our room, the hosts, the other guests and the food was delicious to say the least! We would definitely recommend to our family and friends and are looking forward to staying there again soon. Patrick and Candace


Fantastic Place to stay

5 en julio 21, 2013

Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts and provide a relaxing beautiful retreat! Would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.


Outstanding!

5 en julio 07, 2013

What more can I say? Xanadu Bed and Breakfast rooms and lodge provide the perfect space and ambience for a relaxing, soulful getaway. A tasty breakfast and 2 of the most sincere proprietors makes you wish that you had booked a longer stay. Highly recommended!


Beautiful getaway!

5 en julio 05, 2013

The facility is beautiful, quiet, & very charming. Excellent breakfast! Bubba & Marge are very friendly & accomodating. Highly recomment!


Quintessential Bed and Breakfast Resort

5 en junio 30, 2013

Even though my fiancee and I only stayed here one night, we felt like we really bonded with this place. We went paddle-boating and kayaking out around the island and saw three blue herons as well as many tiny fishes swimming around. The other guests confirmed that there are larger fish in the lake because they caught some. Afterward the beautiful sunset on the lake, we went back to the house and had some freshly baked wonderful cookies. fresh fruit and nuts as we played some board and card games. Then we retired to our bedroom and snuggled down and were quickly asleep. In the morning I drank coffee in the rocking chair and listened to the birds chirp. They had binoculars there if I wanted to try and find them but I settled for just listening. When my fiancee woke up we went out to the hammock and were entertained by a family of birds who were flying in and out of the birdhouse that was attached to the same tree as the hammock. Breakfast was amazing and Margie and Bubba were fantastic. Bubba cooked breakfast and Margie. a very gracious host, served us. I felt like it was a good mix between visiting your favorite Aunt and being in a classy restaurant for breakfast. We chatted with the other guests who included a honeymooning couple, and two couple on their 20-something wedding anniversaries. Breakfast included fresh fruit with a custard, a quiche-like main dish with hash browns and a delicious banana dessert. I wish I was more of a foodie or had a better memory because Bubba told me what the quiche-like main dish was the night before but I cant remember. Regardless of what it was called, everyone loved it and was full. I wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back sometime.


A great weekend in the lake country

5 en junio 26, 2013

We loved our weekend stay at Xanadu Island B&B. You couldn't ask for a better place to locate a lodge that on an island in the middle of a lake. What a way to get far from the maddening crowd. We've stayed here several times before and they've all been wonderful. This time we were in the Master Bedroom which is our favorite so far. Margie and Bubba are the hosts with the most! and serve a fabulous breakfast, plus some great company too.


Solitude

5 en junio 18, 2013

This was our third stay at Xanadu Island. The weather was chilly, raining and windy. Only improved our opinion, Bubba and Margie are the best! Enjoyed story telling with them by the fireplace in the main room. Also enjoyed the fireplace in our room. This is a remote setting with lots of ambience and Quite solitude! Bedding is very comfortable and breakfasts are to die for! Would highly recommend Xanadu to anyone! Peter and Lynn


a slice of heaven on earth

5 en junio 11, 2013

Xanadu is peaceful place with hosts that gracious and interesting.


Great!

4,8 en junio 04, 2013

A very nice place in a beautiful location. All details are thought of. Go for it!


Peaceful and Beautiful!

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

What a wonderful place for my wife and I to stay for 3 days. Terrific hospitality, delicious breakfasts, and we even had a wood-burning fireplace in our room. We would definitely go back again when we're next in Minnesota.


Wonderful experience with great people

5 en octubre 27, 2012

Even though it rained and many things were closed for the season it was a wonderful relaxing stay. We met many nice people, including the owners. We plan to visit again next year.


Fab weekend getaway!

5 en octubre 23, 2012

Excellent little house in the woods and on an island! In Minnesota! Nice


Perfection.

5 en octubre 22, 2012

We just returned from another amazing stay at the Maid's Cottage on Xanadu Island. What a glorious place! Quiet and peaceful. We love taking the canoe out on the crystal clear water and watching the turtles, fish, muskrats, and beavers swim. This last trip we saw a pileated woodpecker! Margie made us the best cookies, and we had a lovely time chatting with Margie and Bubba about the wildlife. We booked our next stay before we left - this time for a whole week! We'll look forward to it all year. Highly recommend this amazing place to anyone looking for a little R & R!


Excellent in all respects

5 en octubre 16, 2012

We stayed at Xanadu on our last day of a ten day tour of Minnesota. We were in the fireplace room. My husband lit the fire and we had a lovely blaze in about a minute! the coffee cups were pre-warmed--how wonderful--and the common area looked out from the shelter of tree branches over the lake with the mists rising off of it. And, we enjoyed another couple who were charming--a lovely culmination to our time in Minnesota.


One of our Favorites

4,6 en octubre 08, 2012

My husband and I stay at b and bs at least 4 times a year. Xanadu rates at the top of my husband's list and in the top 3 of mine. Great hosts who made us feel completely at home providing coffee for my early rising husband and cookies at all time of the day/night! You wonder why this is my husband's favorite? A beautiful setting physically and mentally making it impossible not to relax. I hope we can come back for more pampering.


quiet, relaxing, fun

5 en septiembre 21, 2012

we enjoyed Margie and Bubba's hospitality you feel so welcome


A Wonderful Hideaway!

5 en septiembre 18, 2012

We just stopped in for one night at Xanadu and could have easily stayed longer! A relaxing setting, inviting hosts, and fabulous breakfast. Forgot to ask for the toasted almond cookie recipe...they were scrumptious!!

Respuesta del propietario

Bubba and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed a relaxing getaway at Xanadu Island. The peacefulness and beauty here are hard to beat and we're happy to hear you would have liked to stay longer. I am always happy to share recipes so if you'd like the cookie recipe, please send us an email and I'll be happy to send it to you. It's a guest favorite.


Wonderful place to "get away" and relax in beauty

5 en septiembre 04, 2012

Great palce to get away from the daily rigors of life and relax. Marggie and Bubba are terrific hosts and the house is truly lovely. We only wish we could have stayed longer but will do so on a return visit Harold and Maxine Slobof


Fantastic B&B

4,2 en agosto 31, 2012

Check in is a 3:00PM but we asked to come early and were told that was fine. When we showed up we were greeted with a tour of all the complimentary things available to us. The house and lake were beautiful and we enjoyed it all. We had a fabulous lunch at Stellas in Battle Lake only a few minutes from the B&B. Afterwards we took out the complimentary kayaks on the beautiful lake. The room was wonderful and so was the breakfast. Bubba and Margie were very friendly. One of our favorite B&B's!!


Wonderful weekend at the cabin

4,8 en agosto 30, 2012

My family recently stayed in the Groundskeepers cabin for two nights and Xanadu was as amazing as I remembered from my stay several years ago. The cabin was delightful and Bubba and Margie were so hospitable. Margie's cooking is fantastic! We will definitely be returning to this secluded treasure in the heartland of Minnesota.


outstanding in every way

5 en agosto 23, 2012

Bubba and Margie are the perfect hosts - they just seem to attract the most interesting guests!


This B&B is the best!

5 en agosto 16, 2012

My husband and I went to Xanadu for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a great time and it was so relaxing. Bubba and Margie are the best hosts. Their hospitality is wonderful and the food is to die for. I would recommend Xanadu to EVERYONE!!


We love it here!

5 en julio 28, 2012

We have been coming to Xanadu Island for many years and have always enjoyed our stay. It is such a peaceful, restful, and beautiful spot. We love walking the country roads, swimming and boating in the lake, and just relaxing and unwinding. The breakfasts are big and delicious, the rooms are beautiful and so comfortable. Bubba and Margie are such great hosts and really provide a very positive experience. We hope to continue to visit for many years to come.


No doubt, will be be back, again and again.

4,4 en julio 26, 2012

The room was lovely, food delicious and hosts graciously attended to our every need. You can play in the lake, fish, enjoy a fire, read in the hammock or just nap. It is cozy, lovely and inviting. Of course we chose to stay during some of the hottest, humid days of the summer.... and we realized we are indeed overly spoiled by our air conditioning at home and in our vehicles. That simply meant the lake was that much more welcomed as well as the ceiling fan in the room. There were endless cool beverages and it was easy to find breezy places to play and rest. A true retreat.


Our Best B&B Experience!

4,6 en julio 22, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Xanadu. Bubba and Margie and their granddaughters were extremely friendly and hospitable. Our room was very comfortable and the gourmet breakfasts were incredible (as were the homemade cookies). We look forward to our next visit!!


Amazing and Wonderful!

5 en julio 19, 2012

We had an amazing time at Xanadu Island. Wonderful accommodations. Delicious, hearty breakfasts. Gregarious and engaging owners/hosts.


Little slice of heaven!

5 en julio 18, 2012

What a wonderful place Xanadu Island is! Nestled back in the woods along a winding gravel path it really feels like you're out in the middle of God's Country. The location is perfect! The lake water was so clear and clean you could see fish all over. The two large snapping turtles in the area made for a fun evening's watch. Bubba and Margie are the best B&B host I've ever met in my travels. They are fun to be around and include the guests in any activity. When they say, "Make yourself at home" they mean it! The ability to use multiple boats, canoes, kayaks and a paddle boat without extra cost add to the charm. The breakfast prepared was beyond incredible. We will for sure be visiting Xanadu Island again!


Always a great getaway

5 en julio 18, 2012

My wife and I are regular visitors to this wonderful B&B/ resort. We always welcome the privacy, comfort, and service that makes this place second to none. Bubba and Margie have our full respect and our wholehearted endorsement.


Fantastic property and fantastic setting

5 en julio 16, 2012

fantastic


Fabulous Anniversary

5 en julio 13, 2012

This was a stay that spoiled us for all other B&B's. Wonderful friendly owners, Bubba and Margie have created a relaxing, peaceful and healing atmosphere. Highly recommended!! Canoe ride in lily padded lake, paddle boat, and just the view of a crystal clean lake added to the setting. Food was terrific. Once you stay you will want to stay again.


Xanadu is the place for anyone and any event!

5 en julio 12, 2012

We spent two nights over our 5 year anniversary at Xanadu Island and were tickled pink! Everything about the B&B made our special weekend memorable! No detail was overlooked and everything was tastefully warm and welcoming. The food was amazing!!! We were so fully we didn't need lunch either day. Margie and Bubba are the most friendly, warm and caring people! We would highly highly recommend Xanadu to anyone for any occasion with the utmost confidence!! We will be back!


Nice Getaway!

4,8 en junio 14, 2012

We needed a quiet getaway for the weekend with just the two of us. The breakfast was AMAZING, owners were friendly and super accomodating, and the house was beautiful with an interesting history. I'd love to come back some day and spend more than the weekend!


Great Honeymoon!

5 en junio 12, 2012

Our honeymoon at Xanadu Island was awesome! Great people and relaxing atmosphere! Cant wait to go back!


Great Place for Peace and Quiet

4,4 en mayo 31, 2012

Xanadu Island bed and breakfast is a great place to stay! The owners were helpful and friendly, breakfast was amazing, there were many fun activities available to guests and the scenery was beautiful. Great place to get away for a few days and relax!


Excellent

5 en noviembre 06, 2011

Margie & Bubba were very personable & welcoming. Very clean! Lots of extras. Breakfast was huge & great. The island was relaxing with a lovely landscape. The appearance of the inn was appealing. I'm going back!


Perfection!

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

They make you feel like family.


Outstanding!

5 en octubre 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights in the Master Suite for our wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Our breakfasts were crazy delicious. Margie and Bubba were delightful hosts. We'll be back!


Wonderful old home charm

5 en octubre 11, 2011

What a beautiful home! The downstairs is all original wood and fieldstone from 1920 and absolutely gorgeous. The upstairs has been refinished. Bathrooms are all modern. Wonderful complementary amenities including motorboats, kayaks, canoes, paddleboat, games, as well as complementary water and sodas. Food was scrumptious and more than we could eat. The setting could not possible be improved on - right on the lake's edge with a deck to enjoy the view or watch the stars come out at night. Very wooded area. Absolutely beautiful! Margie, the owner, was friendly and fun to talk to. We missed meeting her husband as he was out of town but he sounds like a very fun and funny man. We recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone.


breath of fresh air

5 en octubre 08, 2011

The atmosphere surrounding Xanadu is amazing.The perfect get away for my wife and I on our anniversary.Breakfast was nothing short of amazing.For the fisherman a wonderful location for a weekend get away or even a week.We look forward to our next visit.


Xanadu Island

5 en octubre 04, 2011

The site is beautiful, the host and hostess friendly, the meal delicious and the whole experience wonderful.


Heaven

5 en octubre 02, 2011

We have stayed at many B&Bs, but never one like this. The B&B is the entire island. It is so peaceful. Our windows (6 of them) looked straight out at the beautiful lake. The sound of loons was welcome. The porch was a great visiting place. My husband loved canoeing at dawn. The food was incredible.


Xanadu Island paradise

4,8 en septiembre 15, 2011

Everything about our stay was outstanding, from the warm welcome we received to the delicious breakfasts.


great suprise

4,8 en septiembre 14, 2011

Margie and Bubba out do themselves with luxury combined with the great at home feeling. We had never been to a B&B but I think we found our favorite getaway with great service, great food and unbelievable scenery and surroundings.Look forward to our next visit there.


A fantastic experience

5 en septiembre 07, 2011

We had never stayed at a B&B before and came from a very emotional funeral. Walking in, we smelled chocolate and the owner was taking toasted almond chocolate chip butter cookies fresh from the oven! That was the beginning of being well cared for. Our room had four huge windows open with lake breezes blowing through. Our bed was a four poster loaded with pillows and we also had a fireplace of our own. The breakfasts were amazing and we enjoyed every minute!


A wonderful Date Night

4,6 en agosto 31, 2011

Margie and Bubba covered every detail of the house so that people feel so welcome. We enjoyed a peaceful evening and wonderful relaxing couple time. Then in the morning they were such amazing hosts at breakfast- making all the couples feel so comfortable that we felt like old friends.


Will be back!

5 en agosto 30, 2011

Great place. Wish we would have known about it before. Will be back every year now.


Lovely weekend getaway.

4,0 en agosto 30, 2011

We rented the maid's cottage. Paddled the kayak and canoe. Watched the sunsets. Napped in the hammock. Went into Battle Lake to Stella's for good food. Enjoyed the hospitality of Bubba and Marge and generally RELAXED. Great low-key, laid-back vacation for the three of us.


George & Jackie Barnes

5 en agosto 29, 2011

The perfect place to relax - the most peaceful place I have been.


A perfect, relaxing vacation!!! (great for our babymoon)

4,8 en agosto 21, 2011

We stayed in the B&B one night and in a cottage for the remaining nights. Both were great! The property was gorgeous and quiet -- often we were in the only boat on the lake. The hosts were fantastic -- very generous and the most welcoming, hospitable folks we've had yet in a B&B stay. The B&B breakfast and desserts were delicious! We were able to fully relax with no TVs or internet and plenty of time to read, play lawn games, and enjoy the various boats while fishing (successfully catching several good sized fish) and swimming in water that was very clear (up to 15'). We also enjoyed the nearby town, which had a very good bait shop and some good choices of restaurants. My husband is begging to go back again next year.


Peaceful get away

5 en agosto 17, 2011

We celebrated our first anniversary on Xanadu Island and enjoyed all the comforts of home and more! The bed and pillows were very comfortable, private bath and fresh air all made for a restful sleep. Then breakfast was out of this world! We enjoyed visiting with the other couples and Margie and Bubba called everyone by name! The photos do not do justice to the beautiful setting. Impressive!


Xanadu stay

4,8 en agosto 16, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Xanadu and will continue to go back. The setting is beautiful. There are lots of activities such as fishing, canoeing, and games. And it is a great place to just sit and read or visit. Worth going just to sit and visit with Bubba and Margie.


Xanadu Island B&B

4,8 en agosto 07, 2011

Living up to its name, we had to traverse a very narrow causeway to reach our island retreat in the Central Lakes region of Minnesota. The B&B has stellar scenery and accommodations with a breakfast to match. From Xanadu's deck we enjoyed the sight of loons, pelicans, hummingbirds & more. Lovely hosts.


What a beautiful and quiet place to rest and relax

4,4 en agosto 05, 2011

We stayed in the master bedroom. It had windows on all three sides to let the air go through the room. We had a wonderful stay. We were greeted with ginger cookies and some chocolate bars. Yummy. We took a swim in the beautiful lake. Supper was great. Went to Zorbaz on the lake. Awesome mexican food and pizza. Joined in the bonfire chat at night. The breakfast was delicious.We had pork chops, quiche, potatoes and cream brulee. What a great cook. We can't wait to go back and go paddle boating and canoeing. Bubba and Margie were great hosts and have a beautiful place on the lake. So peaceful. Would really like to stay two nights next visit. Al and Lori


Great Place

5 en julio 27, 2011

Loved my stay here. Location was perfect with views of lake. Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Can't wait to come back!


Restful Retreat

3,4 en julio 20, 2011

Bubba & Margie made sure we felt at home once we arrived. The atmosphere was was very relaxed and the accommodations were above and beyond many other B&B's.


Xanadu Island is wonderful!

5 en julio 18, 2011

We've stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts over the years, but this one tops them all! The location is beautiful, and the breakfasts that Margie and Bubba serve are over the top.


A wonderful Oasis

5 en julio 15, 2011

We randomly chose this B&B and it was a wonderful surprise. After traveling on some unpaved roads through farmland suddenly you're in the midst of a delightful hideaway on a quiet lake. The Lakeside room was bright with a beautiful window overlooking Elbow Lake. The lake is abundant with fish and canoes and motored boats are available for use. Breakfast both days was delicious and satisfied until dinner. Lovely desserts as well! Bubba and Margie are engaging hosts who feel more like family as you say your farewells. We highly recommend this delightful resort.


Margie and Bubba rock!

5 en julio 14, 2011

My family stays ONLY at Xanadu Bed and Breakfast (the cabins are awesome too!)--we have been too spoiled to go anywhere else. The combination of the location, natural beauty, luxurious and clean accommodations, over-the-top breakfasts, tasty snacks, and superb hosts make it impossible to think of staying in another B & B. Stay at Xanadu and you will make friends forever with Bubba and Margie.


Xanadu, a peaceful retreat

4,4 en julio 04, 2011

We received the opportunity to visit Xanadu as a gift from family, and what a great gift it was. The location is close enough to be able to enjoy some of the great amenities that exist in the lakes country, but far enough out that we were able to disconnect and enjoy the near seclusion of the location. The hostess was fantastic! Margie's vast experiences and anecdotes made for great fireside chat as did those of other guests. We are anxious to meet the legendary coowner-Bubba during a future visit. Having met a family that has included Xanadu in their summer plans for over 30 years-says something about the quality and atmosphere. My Bride and I look forward to another stay in the fall. Troy & Cheri


Charming

4,6 en junio 25, 2011

Charming place with a charming history...charming hosts and charming room! I was the only guest the night I visited and Bubba and Margie treated me like I was a long lost relative coming to visit. The house has a very peaceful, relaxing feel. I stayed in the Blue Room which is on the first floor - it was very quiet and the mattress was soooo comfortable! Thanks!


Chauffers Cottage

2,8 en junio 24, 2011

We were disappointed that the bedrooms didn't have walls that went all the way up to the ceiling and only curtains for doors. It made it difficult for the light sleepers in the group.


Amazing week!

5 en junio 19, 2011

We stayed in one of the cabins the week of June 4-11. We had an absolutely amazing time. My kids loved the fishing, the beach, going for a ride in the boat, and visiting with bubba and Margie. Each of our three children were very much in their element at Xanadu. The fisherman, the socialized, and the quiet child who just needs some time alone and with her parents. Sometimes you find a place that you do not want to tell anyone about because it is so wonderful that you want it to always be available just for you. Xanadu is one of those places that you want to keep a secret because it is so WONDERFUL!


Another Wonderful Weekend!

5 en junio 08, 2011

This is our third visit to Xanadu, and I daresay we'll be back next year! Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts, everything we needed for a wonderful weekend was available and we enjoyed just sitting and visiting with them. The breakfasts and snacks were fabulous, the room was perfect, and we can't wait to go back again. It might even be this year!


Amazing place, people and food!!

4,4 en junio 06, 2011

My wife and I have been going to B & B's for about 5 years now and this is the first place I can honestly say was over the top friendly. All the guests were engaging, talkative and genuinely nice people. I don't think I can share with you enough about how awesome the owner were, very friendly, do anything, caring, considerate and great to listen to and talk with. Then there is the food....Amazing!!! My favorite had to be the baked grapefruit!! If you are heading to, live near or need a peace break, stay here!!!


Beautiful!

4,0 en junio 02, 2011

Great experience. Bubba & Margie are great host and hostess! Their home is warm and beautiful. Surroundings are very relaxing. Would highly recommend!


Nature's Retreat

4,0 en junio 01, 2011

Naturals surroundings that attract all the right species - woodpeckers, hummingbirds, orioles, waxwings, fish, muscrats and box turtles plus several known snappers, along with a few humans who appreciate the quiet retreat. Then of course there are the hospitable and knowledgeable Margie and Bubba who keep their guests pampered and informed.


Why go anywhere else?

5 en marzo 24, 2011

My wife and I have been coming to Xanadu for the last seven years. Not only did we fall in love with it on our very first visit, we even designed our own log home around many of Xanadu's awesome features! Bubba and Margie have truly found their calling as innkeepers. Our annual stay is the highlight of our entire year! If there is a deficiency in Xanadu, it is the distance from the Blue Room to our front door...we wish we were closer!!! We have discussed trying other destinations in the summer, but...we know exactly what we are getting at Xanadu and we absolutely LOVE IT! Thanks Bubba and Margie!! See you in July!


Relaxing Retreat for the 2 of us!

5 en noviembre 27, 2010

Beautiful view of the lake, peaceful and quiet, clean and cozy, yummy treats when we arrived and snacks for the evening. Great breakfast and fabulous hosts!!! We have been to 20+ B&Bs and this is in our top 5 for sure!!! We loved it and will be going back next fall. :+)


Oasis of peace

4,8 en octubre 19, 2010

If you want to separate yourself from the world, come to Xanadu and feel the natural serenity, the unhurried pace, the peaceful pampering, the calmness from decades of existence. Imagine this stately two-story guest mansion with natural stone fireplace, original birch furniture, spiral staircase, cozy chairs, comfy beds & private baths. Taste the delicious and plentiful breakfasts! Hear the gentle waves of Elbow Lake & occasional loons. It's a sweet spot to visit!


Mood lit View

3,8 en septiembre 07, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a room overlooking the lake. It was lit by a full moon. Beautiful place, very clean, excellent food, wonderful host, especially the grand daughters who waited on us.


Anniversary weekend

5 en agosto 31, 2010

Very enjoyable weekend, hosts were the best, the B&B one of the best overall that I have stayed in the food was more than I could imagine and they made sure you did not leave hungry. We will definitly come back to this B&B...Thanks Bubba and Marge. Scott & Melinda Barnum 8/27-8/29


A Delightful Visit

5 en agosto 31, 2010

Every time we stay at a B&B, I hope for a lovely and comfortable room, a quiet and relaxing setting, a nice breakfast, an interesting home/house, and warm hospitality. Xanadu went far beyond my hopes on every aspect of our visit.


Relaxing Getaway

5 en julio 29, 2010

A beautiful house in a charming setting run by wonderful people.


Blissful Relaxation

5 en junio 24, 2010

Our time on Xanadu Island was wonderfully blissful. The B&B was in a beautifully appointed home, every room was uniquely and luxuriously furnished, adn our host, Margie, was so pleasant and welcoming. A truly relaxing experience. Great breakfast!


Leave your worries behind

5 en octubre 13, 2009

Once you wind your way into this quiet retreat, you can't help but leave your worries behind. Margie greeted every quest, big and small with a very big welcome and she did every thing to make our stay a memorable one. The lodge is so homey and you start to relax the minute you walk in. Our gueat room was top notch too. We had a beautiful view of the lake. At night it was like sleeping under the stars. We woke to the singing of the loons. It does not get any better than this. Breakfast was very delicious and served in a very relaxed manor. I would highly recommend you put Xanadu on your list of fantastic places to stay.


Perfect Hide/Getaway

4,8 en octubre 07, 2009

The hospitality and integity that was shown to everyone from Margie is the basis of why the upper midwest earned it's reputation as having authentic homestyle personality


Can't wait to go back!`

5 en octubre 01, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at Xanadu for my brother-in-laws wedding. I never knew such a place existed! I shared our unbelieveable experience with my sister and her husband once we got back to Illinois. We are all planning on going there with our kids next summer. Margie, you rock!


A peaceful retreat

4,8 en septiembre 30, 2009

Xanadu Island is an unexpected retreat surrounded by farmland. Once you enter via a winding, narrow road, it's like you are in a different place completely. Very relaxing, great food & hospitality. We want to take our entire family back.


Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort

4,0 en septiembre 28, 2009

Xanadu was hard to locate but a delightful place to stay. I'd have enjoyed more time there just to wander around and enjoy the scenery.


A Little Piece of Heaven on Earth

5 en septiembre 25, 2009

A year ago this past weekend, my boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Xanadu Island B&B Resort. We were so taken with the beauty, seclusion, amenities, and friendliness of the owners Margie and Bubba that this past weekend we came back and were married on the property. We could not think of another place that would have more meaning to us than Xanadu. Our family absolutely loved it and many are going to be returning as well. The kids could catch sunny's and bass right from the dock. The lake is not built up at all which makes it seem like it's completely yours. The canoes and paddle boat and even the motor boat were used by all. Margie and Bubba have really taken the time to think about every detail to make your stay there special. Our personal favorites are the instrumental cd's in the rooms, bathrobes, and special soaps, fireplace, and the exceptional breakfasts. We have stayed at many resorts throughout our lives as children and as adults and Xanadu Island by far tops our list. Thank you Margie & Bubba for sharing your little peace of heaven with all of us & we look foward to seeing you again!


Kubla Khan Paradise

5 en septiembre 23, 2009

Kubla Khan eat your heart out! This was the most quiet, serene, beautiful island setting we could ask for! Food & hostess extraordinary! Paradise revisited!


Listen To The Lake

4,6 en septiembre 23, 2009

Xanadu is on a lovely, secluded island setting. The view from the lodge is very serene. It is a perfect get away from it all setting. The breakfast was superb.


Anniversary weekend

3,4 en julio 30, 2009

Overall experience was excellent! Owners, Bubba & Margie, were warm and fun hosts. The food was superb! The location and view was awesome. We would strongly recommend it!


A haven - we'll be back!

4,6 en julio 21, 2009

Needed accommodations on short notice - web site was great to use, appreciated immediate reservation confirmation Friendly, helpful hosts, congenial fellow guests. Bed maximally comfortable. Spent an hour sitting on the dock watching birds, a turtle, and an otter get ready for sunset.


luxury in the woods

5 en julio 20, 2009

Xanadu is a lovely, beautifully maintained B&B originally built as a hunting/fishing lodge for a wealthy owner in 1912. It's current owners are lively, providing a fantastic breakfast in a rustic environment. Beds are super!


Absolutely perfect!

5 en julio 17, 2009

Everything was wonderful! The room, the food, the grounds...all were what we hoped for. Bubba and Margie are wonderful hosts and we are already trying to plan our next visit.


peaceful and charming getaway

4,8 en julio 16, 2009

When we booked this B&B, we weren't sure what we would experience- sometimes inns don't meet up to the photos. not this time! It was awesome! Wonderful breakfast, perfect ambiance, lovely room, charming, cozy lodge feel and great hospitality!


You've got to be Kidding!

5 en junio 25, 2009

I've been to many B&B's and this is easily the nicest, most peaceful, warm B&B I've experienced. Xanadu should e a retreat, its that relaxing. The owners were friendly and full of good humor. Breakfast was delicious and healthy.


Staying at Grandma's house

4,6 en mayo 27, 2009

Fishing was great. Xanadu Island was great. The owners were wonderful. The food was outstanding. We were on the lake and it was magical. I would recommend this to everyone. Great for relaxing. Always service with a smile and a story.


Very Nice

4,8 en julio 02, 2007

The new owners are wonderful. Highly recommended. Great place.


Xanadu Island Bed & Breakfast and Resort

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $110 - $165
  • Comentarios (132) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 5
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2188648096
  • Sin cargo
    1-8003969043

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba