Garth Woodside Mansion Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
153 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Sweet Retreat

4,8 en febrero 19, 2013

What a wonderful surprise tucked into the woods not far from Hannibal, MO. This historic mansion is beautiful and the folks who run it are so gracious and helpful. What a find!


Excellent place!

5 en febrero 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Samuel Clemens room on December 9. The room was lovely--they had chocolate-covered strawberries waiting in the room when we arrived, the food was awesome (we only had breakfast at the mansion, though; we had a delicious dinner at La Binnah Bistro), and John and Julie were warm and friendly! The only thing we would change about our visit was the weather. Thanks to the cold, we weren't able to explore the grounds. We're planning to return during warmer weather to take advantage of the trails around the mansion. We recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys history, Victorian splendor, and old-fashioned hospitality!


Quiet Seclusion

4,8 en noviembre 29, 2012

Garth Woodside Mansion is an excellent choice for a romantic get-away. The mansion is beautiful with all the charm of another place and time. The breakfast served at a time of our choosing was fantastic. The owners were very friendly and just made you feel at home. I am looking forward to going back with my husband soon or in the spring or summer along with my 4 sisters for a fun sisters weekend. Thanks again, John and Julie.


Great Experience!

5 en noviembre 20, 2012

5 stars on all of the above!! More than 5 stars :) We will be back for sure, not soon enough though!! Great company, beyond peaceful and more relaxing than I could have imagined! Can NOT wait to go back! Matt and Julie Mileszko


Great place for a romantic getaway

4,4 en noviembre 20, 2012

This was our 10th stay at the Garth and everything was perfect as usual: great food, beautiful mansion, super comfortable beds, enjoyable hosts, gorgeous grounds, breath taking view, etc. I just can't say enough about the Garth. You MUST try it!!


A gem in the wilderness

4,6 en octubre 02, 2012

The Garth Woodside Mansion in Hannibal Missouri will be your “Outstanding and Exceptional” that you will compare to all other Bed and Breakfast experiences. I was pretty surprised to be 'kidnapped' and taken away this past weekend by my sisters and mother. I was under whelmed when they said we were going to Hannibal Missouri. Do they have paved roads and indoor plumbing? Yes, they do by the way. Wow, the Garth Woodside Mansion is one of America's true jewels and gems. I am so happy to see one of these special places preserved, functioning and glorious. It's a privileged - and fun - to 'live' for a moment in a house that was once a real home and represents a time in our country’s history. But it wasn't a museum stay; we laughed, relaxed, gossiped and shared a special weekend together. The area does not have the types of activities we normally do together - plethora of antique and gypsy markets, multiplex movie theater to indulge in something we wouldn’t see at home, quirky art community to gawk at the unusual and truly extreme creative minds. Since there were four of us we entertained ourselves and chatted away. The Garth Woodside Mansion has a large-ish dining area so you’re not served ‘family style’ around one grand table in the formal dining room. That may vary with occupancy. For us it was fine but I know sometimes, with my husband, we want to visit and mingle with other guests. It is a bit pricy for the “average” weekend getaway. But remember you really do get what you pay for and once there you remind yourself this is the story you will always tell about the most exceptional B&B experience you have ever had. I recommend everyone who has been to at least one B&B to make the Garth Woodside Mansion in Hannibal MO a priority stay.


September 2012

4,4 en septiembre 30, 2012

We stayed in the Dowager Cabin. Lovely, peaceful, cozy. Looking forward to staying again.


Absolutely Beautiful!! We will be back!!

5 en septiembre 26, 2012

The innkeeper's John and Julie were wonderful. They made you feel at home the whole time you were there. We enjoy a bed and breakfast every year for our anniversary and this was definitely one of the best ones we have been too! We will be back!!!


Warm and relaxing Bed & Breakfast

5 en septiembre 22, 2012

This was our last stop on our vacation and we had such a wonderful time that we didn't want to leave. Julie and John are the most perfect innkeepers and treated us like family. The food was excellent. The grounds were a delight to take a walk thru and relax in. We had a great time. Mary and Dana


Garth Woodside Mansion Review

4,4 en septiembre 21, 2012

Very relaxing wrap-around porch - great for sitting back with a good book. The food was outstanding, the service was fantastic, the room was very quiet, and the owners and staff were very friendly.


If I could live anywhere in the world . . .

5 en septiembre 13, 2012

it would be Garth Woodside Mansion being taken care of by Julie and John. The mansion and Julie and John feel like home and family. I have taken both of my granddaughters there for their 8th birthday! Can you imagine the owner of such a lovely mansion letting 8 year olds wander through precious objects unguarded! Well, not only did they do that, they encouraged them to feel at home -- and they did. I could never say enough about the relaxation and inclusion you feel when you are there. But -- as Julie says "Treat your family like guests and your guests like family." John & Julie live it! Thanks for everything!


Stay at the Garth Mansion

5 en septiembre 06, 2012

This was a wonderful place for a weekend getaway! The mansion is beautiful and verty private....we enjoyed meeting with the owners and other guests on several occassions but also had plenty of "alon time". Would recommend this to anyone looking for some peace and quiet, good food, wonderful atmosphere and great food.


The Garth Mansion is always the only place to stay!

5 en septiembre 01, 2012

The service and accomodations are always outstanding!


Absolutely a foretaste of Heaven!

4,8 en agosto 14, 2012

The setting, the inn-keepers, the decor, the dining are the best we've experienced anywhere!


Fantastic B&B..Treated like royalty

4,2 en agosto 14, 2012

Stayed here on a whim, so our room was not one of the larger ones. The rooms are outfitted with period pieces and the most wonderful feather beds. They are very clean. What is most special is the way we were treated. I felt like we had gone to visit favorite relatives and felt sad to leave. Our stay was filled with great food, conversation, beauty, peace and best of all, a feeling that we were welcome. I would recommend the total experience to anyone who desires the B&B experience.


Best Bed and Breakfast

5 en agosto 08, 2012

My husband and I love the Garth Mansion. The Mansion itself is beautiful, but we keep going back because we love the owners, John and Julie. They make your stay so special. We have stayed in different rooms in the mansion and have loved each one. We have also rented the Dowager Cottage, you will love the amazing walk in shower. My husband and I love this place so much, we were married in the little Gazebo on the property by Julie herself. This is really a special Bed and Breakfast. I know you will fall in love with it too. Tami Hanna


Anniversary Stay

3,8 en agosto 07, 2012

First time to stay at a bed and breakfast with my wife. We both enjoyed the owners hospitality along with the wonderful accomadations/breakfast. Will definitely look in coming back again.


A fantastic getaway!

5 en agosto 07, 2012

John and Julie made us feel very welcome! Amazing company, home, and food! We will visit again!


Guaranteed Smiles

5 en agosto 06, 2012

We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts around America, and found the Garth Mansion to be more than we hoped for....it is a beautiful historical place, the food is exceptional and plentiful, and the hosts are immediate friends. I'm not the type of person who says this casually. I don't believe anyone would be disappointed if they book a room at Garth. It isn't just a place to sleep. It is an experience that will be a pleasant and fulfilling memory. We were tourists checking out the history of the Hannibal area, and including the Garth Woodside Mansion complimented the trip. We stayed for two evenings and found all the staff to be attentive to us and to their duties. Our room was on the 3rd floor, and during very hot days in Missouri, the temperature was cool as could be and we were very comfortable. Lots of water pressure too! In summary, the Garth Woodside Mansion successfully works hard to make your stay a perfect escape.


Best Way to spend a 40th anniversary

5 en agosto 03, 2012

Have never done the Bed & Breakfast thing. However, we hit a homerun with our choice with Garth Woodside Mansion. We will definitely do this again very soon.


Great B & B

5 en agosto 02, 2012

This B & B is all it promises to be! We will definitely return!


Romantic Missouri Getaway

4,2 en julio 27, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at the mansion to celebrate our first anniversary. We've only stayed at a B and B once before and loved it so we thought this would be a good opportunity to try out another spot! The mansion is a beautiful and majestic structure with a wealth of antique furnishings to fill it out. Some of the furnishings in the house seemed a little quirky, but our room was gorgeous, spacious, and the jetted tub was a nice feature. If you are a literature buff like me, you'll also be impressed by the Mark Twain connection and his signed photograph at the top of the stairs. Our hosts were quite accommodating, friendly, and willing to give advice on what to do in town. The breakfast was fresh and satisfying and the cooks were ready to take dietary restrictions into account. We also ordered the wine and cheese package, which included local wine, seasonal fruit and two varieties of cheese. I might skip this addition next time as the cheeses were pretty much standard grocery store varieties, two hunks of spiced havarti that we could barely put a dent in so they mostly went to waste, but still, it was nice to have a little glass of wine waiting when we arrived. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to others looking for a unique experience of Missouri.


Unexpected pleasure

4,8 en julio 17, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B and at first I wasn't sure, but by the time I left on Sunday morning I was very pleased and can't wait to go back. The owners were very nice and attentative to our needs and/or wants. The room was very clean and had supplies that we may need and also had a night shirt and robe. By the time we left we felt like we knew the owners fo a long time. Very nice and enjoyable. J&S Kallal


fun stuff

4,8 en julio 15, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise!! It is secludes enough that it feels like your away from it all, but close enough to attractions if you want to do sight seeing too. The host & hostess (John and Julie) are very nice, sociable and helpful. The breakfasts are wonderful too! Dave & Marie


Beautiful, relaxing, and full of history!

4,0 en junio 16, 2012

We chose to stay at the Garth Mansion after reviewing the website. It met and exceeded all our expectations! One of the owners, John Rolsen, was very welcoming and always available to answer our questions about the history of the home. We stayed in the Dowager House which is beautiful and really makes you feel pampered, and the mansion is truly beautiful inside and out. The antique furniture, all the fireplaces, all the architectural detail, and the staircase, whoa! AMAZING! The breakfast each morning was very good. My husband loved the "Garth Juice" and was trying to figure out how it was made. It's their secret recipe. :) We especially liked the history of the mansion and did not realize how much it was connected to Mark Twain. A beautiful home and a history lesson all in one! We will definitely return in the future. If it were up to me I'd love to spend time in each of the rooms in the Mansion. They all have a story to tell!

Respuesta del propietario

Ah, but the juice recipe is in the cookbook. On your next visit you may take a peek at it and see how easy it is to make. Glad you enjoyed your stay in the big cottage.


Happy From llinois

3,4 en junio 02, 2012

John and Julie were very gracious hosts. The room was pretty much what we had expected,clean and spacious with a beautiful bedroom set. The breakfasts were very well presented and very good. Every year at Christmas, our kids give us gift certificate to a B & B. We never know where it will be until we open the envelope. Because of this, we have stayed at several B & B's over the past several years and would rate the Garth Woodside Mansion in the top two of the B & B's that we've visited. We would recommend the Garth Woodside Mansion to all of our friends.


A trip to the woods

5 en mayo 16, 2012

Garth Woodside Mansion Estate is a wonderful getaway. Before I traveled to Hannibal, I did my usual internet research to try to find a good place to stay. I saw some questionable reviews about Garth Woodside Mansion Estate but it looked to charming to pass up. I am glad I decided to take the chance because John and Julie are as pleasant as their Inn is fabulous. We had a great time the room was clean and resplendent with a truly historic vibe. History with no mold is hard to come by. We stayed in the Samuel Clements room, after all isn't that the draw of Hannibal? The food was great and the Garth juice seemed to be made from fresh squeezed Garths !! I highly recommend this establishment. And if all that was not good enough I found my first four leaf clover in their lawn. I spent hours in my youth trying to find one. Now I can mark that off my bucket list.


Nice stay but...

3,4 en mayo 08, 2012

We stayed overnight and had a great time but a real review would not be accurate unless it talked about the run down modular house at the foot of the hill. The property is beautiful but you are greeted with a trashy house the shares the same driveway as the B&B. Too bad. My advise to Garth is buy that dump and deep six the crack house to complete the experience. Most of us go to a B&B because of the whole experience and not just what's inside the house. Great breakfast and house with decent garden and gracious hosts.


1st Anniversary at Garth

5 en mayo 01, 2012

My husband and I spent our first Anniversary at the Garth Mansion. It was wonderful. The room was great, and romantic with a fireplace and huge tub. The owners, John and Julie are excellent hosts and the food is outstanding. I highly recommend for a special occasion!


Very memorable!

5 en mayo 01, 2012

I could not have been more pleased. The place is so lovely, the innkeepers were extremely hospitable and friendly, food was delicious and service was above and beyond. I will definetly be a frequent visitor!


Helms family reunion

4,8 en abril 30, 2012

John, Julie and their staff make a very commendable team and they were always very organized but flexible in their orchestration of an exceptional facility and magnificent setting. Both John and Julie went out of their way to assist my family in our every request. The evening dinner was both tasty and elegant. Following each of the three breakfast meals one-hundred percent of my party raved about their pleasure with the group table setting and delicious personalized cuisine. Additionally, the breakfast schedule was flexible and prepared at the different times requested by my family. Further, I place the Garth Wood Mansion on the number one location of all within 100 miles of Hannibal MO -- the next time I am in that area I will plan to make my reservations at Garth Wood Mansion.


Best b&b in the country!

5 en marzo 26, 2012

This is a wonderful place to spend a few days and relax. Gorgeous scenery. Very quiet. Beds and furniture are extremely comfy. Recommend having dinner at the mansion whenever possible. The food and atmosphere there is wonderful!!


Garth Mansion Rocks!

5 en marzo 20, 2012

Wonderful, beautiful, up to date 19th century mansion in a pastoral setting. Clean with a new feal. Food was incredibly fresh and nutritious with a gourmet touch. We will recommend to friends and family, young and old.


Our home away from home.

4,8 en febrero 24, 2012

Julie and John really go out of their way to make you feel at home and service and the Mandion itself is out of this world.


weekend getaway

4,0 en febrero 07, 2012

What an awesome place to stay for a Hannibal getaway. The accomedations are wonderful and food wonderfuly perpared. We've stayed twice and without a doubt will return for more pampering. Mike & Rhonda


Fantastic food

5 en enero 25, 2012

The multi-course breakfast must have had like 20 kinds of fruit, and that was before the main course (some kind of frittata) I am big eater and even I couldn't finish all the food they served.


Quite and relaxing

4,2 en enero 19, 2012

We were impressed with the mansion up on the hill. Just like the pictures. John gretted us and showed us to our room and made sure that the room was perfect. Dining was always a great experience and on time. Julie always made sure that we were well fed and cooked some special items that she knew we liked. The conversations were a great way to learn about the mansion and the surrounding area. This B&B is a perfect spot for that quite getaway in a very warm cozy Victorian house. There are many original items and antiques to look at and enjoy. I would recommend the Garth Woodside Mansion to everyone.


our second honey moon at garth mansion

4,6 en diciembre 23, 2011

we were greeted very warmly, they carried our luggage for us and met all our expectations. We loved our stay there even more than we did sixteen years ago. the owners were so friendly to us. We plan on staying again soon. It rained the whole time we were there, but it still was a wonderful stay.


Garth Mansion in Hannibal MO

4,2 en diciembre 09, 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Garth. Talking with Julie and John it was as if we were visiting old friends. The only thing I would do different would to change rooms...we had a neat old tub with a shower but the other rooms had walk in showers and that would have made our experience finenominal...nothing like a great shower to start your day...we will return and look forward to visiting again


November 5-6, 2011

4,4 en noviembre 09, 2011

The hosts were charming, every request was granted cheerifully, the historical house is the best maintained building I've been in. The stay was wonderful. The llamas were fun to learn about.


Wonderful Weekend

5 en octubre 25, 2011

We chose the Garth Woodside Mansion to celebrate our 3rd year anniversary. We had an amazing time. The accommodations were beautiful, and John and Julie were wonderful hosts. We will visit again.

Respuesta del propietario

Aww, that is so sweet of you to say! We truly enjoy our guests and like to treat them the way we would like to be taken care. I am glad you are taking time for yourselves to get away! Keeps the relationship going strong.


Garth Mansion B&B

4,6 en octubre 11, 2011

We had a great room and loved the mansion. Breakfast great, rooms great, owners are wonderful hosts.


Anniversary Weekend in Hannibal

3,4 en octubre 04, 2011

This B&B was pleasant and restful. Being out away from town, the quiet and the solitude were most welcome. Food was good, our hosts were friendly and gracious, the antiques throughout the mansion were stunning. The grounds are wooded beauty--we even saw deer grazing on the front lawn. The only drawback to the experience was the bed itself. Advertised as a queen-size, it was more the width of a full-size mattress--we had little room to turn over or move during sleep, without bumping into each other. Also, the bed wasn't particularly comfortable (we were glad to return home to our own bed). Still, it was a nice weekend.

Respuesta del propietario

We enjoyed our time with you and sorry to hear you did not sleep well; I can assure all that each of the mattresses were purchased at the same time and are all Queen sized beds. Sometimes when we are used to our king beds at home going to a queen CAN seem much smaller than we remember, but I am glad you enjoyed the deer and such as much as they also enjoyed my gardens. Come back and try the Dowager House as that cottage/house has a King sized bed.


Wonderful!!!

4,4 en septiembre 12, 2011

Our stay at Garth Mansion was a memorable one! How fun to be welcomed by two young deer in the front yard! We immediately felt comfortable and relaxed. I was impressed with the beautifully decorated rooms and attention to Victorian details in every corner. I loved every minute of our stay....from playing games in the living room, relaxing in the hot tub, to the delicious breakfast in the morning. I look forward to another stay soon and will recommend it to everyone for a wonderful get away weekend!!!


Wonderful time!

4,4 en septiembre 10, 2011

Our two nights at Garth were great! We came for our 25th Anniversary/Birthday celebration, and we can't imagine having been anywhere nicer. John and Julie are very friendly, hospitable and accommodating. The Garth Mansion is very historical, yet very comfortable. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts while we were there, and they were delicious. The 'extras' included fresh, homemade Garth juice, raspberry butter, and sprigs of chocolate mint. Hannibal is a very fun addition to your trip also. Thanks John and Julie for providing a very memorable time away for us!


Garth Mansion Getaway

5 en septiembre 07, 2011

A great place to getaway for a fantastic weekend. The cottage was outstanding - peaceful and private. John and Julie were great and took care of every need and answered every question about the area. Will be on the top of our list for a repeat visit


Happy travels

4,4 en agosto 30, 2011

My husband and I were ooking for a quite and relaxing weekend! That is exactly what we got! The service was excellent, the accomadations were great, and the food was awesome! We had a great time and definitely plan on returning!


Garth Hospitality Lives On!

5 en agosto 13, 2011

The exterior view of the mansion is stunning. The friendliness of the Rolsens immediately puts a visitor at ease. There are a number of rooms from which to choose. Each is authentically appointed. Breakfast is a highlight of the visit. Amenities are thoughtfully provided. The Garth family would be pleased to know that their passionate hospitality is still being experienced at the mansion today.


Hannibal Trip

4,0 en agosto 11, 2011

Went to Hannibal for a get away night with Hubby and decided to make it romantic. Stayed in the John Garth room and just loved it. It was beautiful, quiet, and so clean!! I so want to go and stay longer!!!!


friendly, spotless and relaxing

5 en julio 17, 2011

The cottage was delightful, with quiet surroundings, comfortable bed, nice shower and crystal clear hot tub. The coffee is always hot and fresh in the dining area.


Great 2-day stay at Garth Woodside Mansion

5 en julio 16, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Dowager House in the Garth Woodside Mansion complex. It was a private home, very nicely designed, nicely decorated, with unique interior features such as a heated-towel rack, spiral staircase, etc. Oh, and the breakfasts were delicious!! We were able to select what time we wanted breakfast each day, and they notified us by a "Ready" swittch in our bedroom when breakfast was ready. The owners, Julie and John, were delightful!!! This was so good that we didn't leave until check-out time to fully enjoy it.


Relaxing Anniversary Get Away

5 en julio 12, 2011

We pass through Hannibal frequently when traveling to visit family, and over the years have come to look forward to a brief visit to the historic downtown shops and restaurants. This year, in honor of our 18th anniversary, we decided to spend the night at a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the Samuel Clemons room, which was perfect for us since our family has enjoyed the museums, plays, tours recounting his life and work. My husband pre-ordered a romantic gift basket that contained wine and cheese, chocolate covered strawberries and other fruit, crackers and several other snacks. Perfect!


Weekend at the Garth Mansion

5 en junio 28, 2011

Great place for a restful, relaxing getaway. Friendly, relaxing atmosphere. Enjoyed the food, excellent chef, nice selecion of spirits. Will be back again and again.


Return guests for years....

5 en junio 28, 2011

We first toured the Garth before John & Julie purchased it. We've witnessed all they've done to make the mansion more pleasing while keeping historical integrity (i.e., larger showers in mansion rooms; barn restoration; construction of restaurant; cottages; Dowager house; walking paths; llamas; gazebo; bridge; blacktop driveway; patio & fireplace; flower gardens; fine linens & feather mattresses; upgrading towels/toiletries; rocking chairs & seating on veranda; TV/DVD; gas fireplaces; hot tubs; jetted tubs; notepad computers available; robes, etc. They have spared no expense & work hard to continue to improve the property & experience. A prime stay is 3 days & 2 nights. The 1st day/night you're still in high gear from your workaday life. The 2nd day you're at a loss as to what to do with yourself as you just aren't used to such relaxation. The 2nd night you're so calm & content - you wander around with a cup of coffee looking at nothing in particular enjoying the quiet or the laughter of new friends if you visit with others. The 3rd morning it is virtually impossible to get out of bed & go have breakfast. After breakfast all you want to do is go back to your room & hide hoping nobody will find you & you can extend your stay. I have noticed many people don't give five stars for value. Yes, the Garth Mansion is expensive. If you are aware of what it takes to keep a home of this age in prime condition the price is fair. John & Julie are not charging it to get rich, but rather to maintain & improve the home they care for. Two years ago I started taking our daughter for mother/daughter weekends. Our last day I said "Come on sweetie, we need to get home." She said "Mom, why do you rush to leave? This is a dream & we should stay until the last minute we can." That consolidates the Garth experience into two sentences. Pricey? Maybe, but memories & reconnecting with friends, family or spouse - whomever you happen to take with you is priceless.


Making Memories

5 en junio 27, 2011

My nine year old granddaughter and I stayed at Garth Woodside Mansion and we will never forget the wonderful time we had there. Julie and John were excellent hosts and made us feel so special. When I handed my camera to Julie and asked her to take a picture of us, she took the time to take several pictures of us in and outside of the mansion which was very thoughtful of her. The room was charming, the bed was extremely comfortable and breakfast was delicious! Lauren and I are already talking about when we go back!


Garth Woodside Mansion Review

5 en junio 21, 2011

Well this was my first experience at a B&B and Col John and Julie totally exceeded my expectations. The property itself was gorgeous. The mansion was gorgeous. The area was so beautiful and serene. We were close to things but felt so far away. The room was beautiful. The bed was sooooooooo comfortable. The meals were delicious and the dining area was so quaint and beautiful and calming. Their hospitality was amazing and I would go back over and over. I would never stay anywhere else in Hannibal, Mo. Thank you to Julie and Col John for being such amazing hosts! Colleen from San Francisco


Class of '64 "Slumber Party"

5 en junio 21, 2011

We had such a fun relaxing time together in this beautiful place.


The Garth Woodside Mansion is our favorite place

5 en junio 07, 2011

This was our third trip to the Garth Woodside Mansion. It is so romantic. The rooms are all beautiful, it is our goal to stay in all of them at least once. The cottages are lovely, private and have hot tubs on private decks.Julie and John make you feel very welcome. Hannibal is a fun place to visit, we went on the riverboat cruise and toured Mark Twain's Cave. Let me just say that is it our favorite get away.


Don't miss The Garth Woodside Manor!!!

5 en mayo 27, 2011

This was such an amazing and relaxing weekend! The food was amazing! The staff was so kind and sweet. It was definetly like coming home! Can't wait to go back and sit on the veranda!


great ambiance

5 en mayo 22, 2011

Great hospitality. Excellent food and the rooms were wonderful. We are already planning our next stay at the Garth Woodside Mansion.


Third time at Garth

5 en mayo 17, 2011

This was our third time staying at the Garth Mansion and everything was as wonderful as ever. John and Julie make everyone feel very welcome...you really feel as if you are a part of their family. Try them out...you will not regret it!


Great getaway

4,6 en mayo 10, 2011

Beautiful surroundings to take a serene hike through the woods. Fantastic hospitality! One of our favorite places we have visited.


Great Experience!

5 en mayo 03, 2011

I had a marvelous time, highly recommend this B&B, staff goes above and beyond to make sure you are happy. I will definetly being going back!


Wonderful Stay

5 en mayo 03, 2011

This is a hidden Gem . Beautiful rooms with great ambienance, outstanding Inn Keepers, located in a beautiful setting with superb aervice. I have traveled all over the world and if you want a stay in a qiet but elegant place this is it. Hard to see how it can be improved yet, John and Julie are constantly improving the Garth.


Fun at the Garth Mansion

4,8 en mayo 03, 2011

My friend & I stayed for the Just Girls Weekend & had a really great time. From the moment we walked in, we were treated very welcome. John gave us a tour of the Mansion & answered all of our questions. Julie kept us entertained with her money toss & humor. The room (Samuel Clemens) was beautiful & very comfy. We enjoyed a pizza pj/movie party, 2 yummy breakfasts & a prime rib dinner 1 evening ~ all included in our JGW price. The mansion is gorgeous & the host & hostess are super. Thanks so much for getting the JGW together. We really enjoyed ourselves.


A Too Well Kept Secret

4,6 en abril 03, 2011

Julie and John make this Bed and Breakfast the welcoming place that it is. The breakfast each day was outstanding!! You will find yourself feeling like you are visiting close friends when you state at the Garth Mansion as Julie and John are often out and about visiting with their guests. You might find them in the dining room some evening after dinner just sharing stories and company. This was truly the relaxing getaway we were hoping for.


Wonderful Time

5 en marzo 29, 2011

Our stay was very peaceful. The food was wonderful. Our overall experience was fantastic. We plan on coming back very soon. Thank you for a great time. The Kitchell's


Spoiling Yourself is Fun!

4,8 en marzo 05, 2011

My husband and I love staying at B & B's, and this one was certainly among the best we have every visited. Julie and John were pleasant and welcoming, the rooms are exquisite, and the food is way beyond yummy. It was the perfect getaway for us and close to home, too!


Julie and John Rock!

4,8 en marzo 01, 2011

I felt like family. Food, service superb and friendly. The Rolsen's are excellent hosts...and Julie is a blast!


very relaxed and renewed

5 en febrero 24, 2011

We are always very happy with are stay at Garth Mansion JoHn and Julie and staff are always there to please and to make sure you have everything you need. Food is wonderful and service is the best. Renee and Geoff Pherigo


Dream Come True

4,8 en febrero 23, 2011

My husband surprised me with a night in the Dowager House to help rekindle our marriage after a hard year. I was completely blown away. The staff was nice and very friendly. I couldn't get enough of the shower and hot tub (which is amazing when it is freezing outside). Even after one night my husband and I left feeling more connected - and incredibly relaxed!


Finally Finding A Wonderful B & B

5 en febrero 23, 2011

The stay was a Valentine's gift from my husband. We've stayed at several B & B's and none really convinced me that staying at one would make me want to do it very often. Just walking through the door, you can feel the warmth and welcome of the home. The innkeepers, Julie and John, make you feel like they really want you there to enjoy the home as much as they obviously do. We didn't do the dinner but after experiencing the breakfast, we hope we can on our next visit. Breakfast was excellent in a very charming dining room. We stayed in the John Garth room and it felt like stepping back in time without any of the inconveniences. Comfy bed (marvelous sheets), relaxing jetted tub, cozy fireplace with chairs to sit close and warm up by. The home is a treasure of antiques and you are welcome to walk around and enjoy the rooms downstairs. Looking forward to visiting during a nicer, warmer time of year to sit on the porch and walk around the grounds.


It was decent

3,0 en febrero 14, 2011

John and Julie were great. The room was really nice, we stayed 2 nights, the first morning there our room was infested with lady bugs. I brought it up and was told it was "normal" and Julie acted as if it were not a big deal. No offer for a different room or anything. She just told me keep collecting them in a cup. The next night we registered for dinner, at $25 per person I would expect something a little nicer. The salad was bland, the tortellini was bland as was the sauce and the dessert wasn't all that great. So all in all a nice place to stay (just make sure your room isn't on the sunny side of the bldg) but don't pay for the dinner. It's not worth it.

Respuesta del propietario

As innkeepers we are to respond to each and every review, so I will. There are guidelines we are to follow, and fine, they are generally good guidelines to help the innkeeper understand the guest and "take complaints as compliments" Fine enough. But, I truly love the BedandBreakfast.com website as they allow the innkeeper to respond and not delete the responses (unlike Tripadvisor). So, come on folks, when there is 28" of snow one day and 3 days later there is 55 degree weather do not expect nature not to freak out. Mother Nature does weird things, like wake up the little lady bugs on the sunny side of the house in winter. The guests did let us know about these pesky rascals nine hours after breakfast and stated this should get them some free drinks at dinner. We all know the type and have some friends just like them, and still consider them friend, too. So come and stay, complain if you see a lady bug and ask if you can receive a free bottle of wine when you check out, too. But, you have to collect them and put in a cup. (grin) Ok, truthfully, we do take complaints seriously, when they are legitimate complaints. We are a Diamond Collection Member for a reason.


Wonderful!

4,8 en febrero 10, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! Hospitality from John and Julie is outstanding! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful...couldn't get John to reveal what was in the "Garth juice" though! We plan to stay there again on our next trip back to Hannibal.


The Best B&B I Have Stayed At.

4,4 en enero 26, 2011

Julie and John make our stay with them a warm and fun place to stay at. Julie's cooking is worth signing up and having dinner their, you can not beat it at any local restaurants for the price. Halloween and New Year's Eve are two of the most fun time to stay at Garth Woodside Mansion.


Beautiful Place

5 en enero 05, 2011

I love B&B's and this Mansion is wonderful. Beautiful building. The owners have done a wonderful job at not only maintaining, but adding to the amenities, such as installing larger showers and adding on the dining room in the back of the mansion. The llamas behind the dining room are also a nice addition to the grounds. All of the rooms are beautiful, clean, and nicely furnished with wonderful period pieces and amenities. The common areas on the main level were all decorated beautifully for the holidays, as my stay was over New Years. The food was delicious and Julie is a great cook and loves to take traditional recipes and adds her own unique spin to them. Julie and John, the owners, are wonderful, friendly, and welcoming. I was there by myself and they made me feel at home. They love to play various games and puzzles and encourage everyone to join in participate. It was a wonderful stay and I would strongly encourage anyone to visit this amazing establishment. You will not be disappointed. Sincerely, M. Savard, West Allis, WI


A stop off after a long drive.

5 en enero 03, 2011

My wife and I recently traveled over the holiday's to see family. The Garth Mansion was half way from them to our home. They patiently waited for us to arrive and serve us supper. The entire stay was exceptionally clean, friendly, and enjoyable. We have recommended the Mansion to many family and friends. We will stay there again.


Garth-What a Place!

5 en enero 01, 2011

We just got back from our visit to The Garth Woodside mansion-what a vist it was! We showed up as guests and left as freinds! We stayed in the Red Cottage and could not have picked a better spot. Private, but with access to the mansion and all the fun there! We highly recommend the Gart and John and Julie are womderful. You must experiance for yourself. Already planning our retuen visit! Mat and Cathy


Garth Woodside Mansion

4,6 en diciembre 20, 2010

Wonderful experience and the owners and staff were top notch!


Weekend away

5 en diciembre 08, 2010

Me and my wife needed some time to our selves, away from everything. When i came across the Woodside Manor I knew that it would fit the bill. The look on my wifes face when we walked into the cabin was priceless! Not only does the cabin look better than the pictures but there was total privacy and utter peace and quiet. After a night in the cabin we were fully recharged and completely relaxed. The staff was exceptional from the moment we arrived and they knew our names before we even said hi. Breakfast was exquisite, especially the muffins! All in all we were totally satisfied and are looking forward to making this a yearly tradition possibly even bi-annually;)


Beautiful inn, wonderful innkeepers!

4,2 en noviembre 24, 2010

We just stayed at the Garth Mansion for the eighth year in a row. I can't decide what I like better: the impressively beautiful decor of the B&B, or the warmth of the innkeepers John & Julie. It feels like we are part of their family. We are only there once a year, but they always remember details about us, our children, etc. We truly love coming back each year and can't say ENOUGH about what a wonderful retreat this beautiful mansion is. I hate leaving. I actually teared up on the way home! It is such a comfortable relaxing atmosphere at the B&B. It truly has a resort-type feel. We feel like special guests each time. The breakfast Julie prepares is phenomenal! Book your reservation now, they always fill up fast!


Excellent B&B

5 en noviembre 16, 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Garth Mansion. I loved the authentic and beautiful rooms. We stayed in the John Garth room and it was especially nice. Innkeepers John and Julie could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The relaxed atmosphere made us feel right at home and meals at the restaurant were sooo good. Besides the wonderful breakfasts, I especially enjoyed trying a few wines and finding just the right one to go with our delicious evening meal the night before we checked out. If you're looking to have a great B&B experience, I strongly recommend Garth Mansion.


Best weekend ever

5 en noviembre 07, 2010

This bed and breakfast has the best service ever. John, Julie and Jesse(our waitress) are Great people! Breakfast and Dinner couldn't have been better, the chef was fantastic! The room was fantastic, clean and sparkling. We will be back again for the third time soon.


Wonderfully Welcoming

4,6 en noviembre 03, 2010

My husband surprised me by planning the entire getaway weekend. I had no idea what to expect, or really where we were going; other than to Hannibal. I was incredibly pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. Innkeeper, Julie, and staff, Jessie, were very welcoming and sincerely interested in everything being perfect for us. The food was delicious and the setting was absolutely storybook. I will go stay there again, and recommend it to all of my friends.


Classy Retreat

5 en octubre 27, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful retreat in this gorgeous Victorian mansion. It's beautifully restored and yet has all the modern conveniences you might need. The Rolsens are perfect innkeepers - great company and great food. Highly recommended!


Very Special Place

3,8 en octubre 23, 2010

We were a little concerned when we found ourselves driving down a dirt and gravel road, but our eyes popped when we drove up the (paved) drive to beautiful Garth Mansion. John and Julie could not have been more accommodating. Julie is very funny and an amazing chef, too. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was small but adequate. Beautiful grounds, lovely breakfast each morning, and John has a wonderful supply of DVD's. If you want a couple of days to learn everything there is to know about Mark Twain, I can't think of a better place to stay in Hannibal than Garth Mansion. And it's a great bargain to have dinner there each night, too.


Garth Woodside Mansion

4,6 en octubre 20, 2010

We stayed here 8 year ago and loved it! We were going to be in the area again and wanted to return to Garth Woodside. It's our favorite B & B, and we've stayed in quite a few. To get an "outstanding" on the room, the bed would need to be at least a queen. The breakfasts were wonderful!


Dream Getaway :)

4,8 en octubre 19, 2010

It was a weekend getaway without the kids, to celebrate our marriage. It was an absolute dream. We enjoyed time on the mansion grounds reading, walking, and resting. Enjoyed amazing breakfasts and dinners with the innkeepers. Both John and Julie are so much fun and really personalize the trip. We also requested (for an additional fee) a special arrival basket with chocolate, cheese, and fruit. It was tremendous and well worth it. I encourage anyone wanting time away to take that time at Garth Woodside Mansion with John and Julie!! :)


Relaxing seclusion

5 en octubre 17, 2010

2 nights here and you'll feel pampered and rested. Definitely will return!


weekend at B and B

3,6 en octubre 14, 2010

Rooms smaller in size than expected. The innkeepers were very pleasant. Made us feel comfortable, welcome, and at home. Col John Rolsen was great. Both John and Julie sat and visited with the guests at breakfast. The grounds are beautiful. The mansion is beautiful and beautifully maintained


Hannibal's (and all of northeast Missouri's) finest

4,0 en octubre 13, 2010

I have stayed at the Garth at least once per year since 2004. Every visit has resulted in excellent service, both lodging and meals, in a beautifully restored mansion. I am also quite pleased with the common areas.


October Visit

4,8 en octubre 13, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights and felt totally pampered. The food was excellent, the room was totally charming and extremely comfortable, housekeeping was also excellent. A huge plus for this Inn is the personal service and attention provided by the owners, John and Julie. They made the stay really fun. The local activities and shopping were excellent as well. I will definitely return!


first time visit to a b&b

5 en octubre 11, 2010

We had a wonderful time! The owners treated us like family, the rooms were very cozy and clean. The food was delicious. We will be back!


Garth Getaway highly recommended!

4,0 en octubre 09, 2010

The Garth Mansion is a wonderful way to step back in time. The rooms are beautifully appointed and authentically 19th century. You can imagine Mark Twain and his contemporaries rubbing elbows with you on the spectacular main staircase. John and Julie are warm and welcoming hosts and a stay here is as comfortable as any you will ever find in your travels. The special dinner option is such a good value that you cannot afford to pass it up. But, be aware that there are no individual entree choices. You receive a salad, main course and dessert of the hosts' choice and it is adequate, but not exciting. Value-wise, the Garth Mansion is on the expensive side but the experience warrants the expense.


Highly recommend

4,0 en octubre 05, 2010

Our stay at the Garth Woodisde Mansion was wonderful and we would definitely return. My one regret is that we did not eat dinner at the mansion on the day we arrived as Julie is a great cook.


Peaceful

5 en septiembre 25, 2010

My husband and I needed a much needed "time away"-this lovely place exceeded our expectations. Enjoyed every minute!


Overpriced ,Overrated!! Save your Time and Money!

1,6 en septiembre 21, 2010

We stayed in the Dowager House. Looks very nice on website, pricey $395 a night. The carpet in the Bedroom was FILTHY! SPOTS everywhere! Just plain NASTY! The food was average at best, I had to microwave it to get it warm as it was cold as soon as they turned on the private food is on table light. They where not friendly. We where touring the grounds and spoke to an employee, not the inn keepers and she looked at us like why in the hell are you talking to me! The Inn Keepers just seemed ok, I had read they where funny about tipping. I have no problem with tipping and always do when I get the type of service I expect, usually 17-20%. We asked for a tour of the main home. It was another couple there who was given all types of info and history on the home. We had to take the self guided tour. I would never go back or advise anyone to WASTE money on it as well. It is way over reviewed and priced. We have traveled the World and this was a very POOR choice to visit and stay.

Respuesta del propietario

If someone is staying in the most private cottage in the Midwest we will most certainly NEVER knock on their door and ask if they want a tour, or want to play dominoes with us and the other guests. I am sorry if we misinterpreted your desire for interaction vs. privacy. If you are staying here and want a tour we love this place and love to share it with others and point out all of the reasons we chose this mansion above several others we looked to purchase. Food is out of the 350 degree oven to an insulated carrier & immed. brought over, not sure how else to get it any hotter unless baked in the cottage. Cannot comment on the tipping comment as I am not sure what they are talking about since they did not have dinner with us. If you are a guest in our inn or any B&B please ask to speak with the owners if you have an issue. In our inn we like to say you are only one person away from the owner, seek us out and we will rectify any problems you have immediately.


Missing Garth and Hannibal....

5 en septiembre 15, 2010

It's almost our anniversary again and when we stayed last September, while we were excited, we never thought we would leave on such a high! The innkeepers are so fabulous, talented and know all the great things to do or not to do, depending what you are looking for! I am so missing it there and so is my husband. We were able to reconnect and will do our best to go back again and again, as long as they let us :) Thank you so much John and Julie~we miss you guys and the Garth Juice!!


Garth Woodside Mansion

3,6 en septiembre 10, 2010

We were disappointed with the food service. Dinner was certainly priced reasonably, but it was not very tasty. The fritatta served at breakfast the following morning was very bland. I would have preferred some choice of entrees and breakfast juices. I found the Garth Juice very peculiar in taste. The french toast the second day was delicious but the syrup was the same one used on the dessert the first night at dinner. It seemed a little too soon to be recycling the same thing. The bathroom lavatory was so tiny that there was not even room to place a glass for teeth brushing, etc. The wash stand closest to the bathroom lacked a mirror. I found myself running around the room trying to find a mirror with adquate lighting and adquate shelf space for makeup and toothbrushes. I think some rearrangement of furniture, mirrors, and lights could correct the problem. The hosts were most congenial and with some corrections to menu selection and seasoning, I am sure they can improve food service.


Beautiful Place

4,2 en septiembre 09, 2010

There are walking paths which we enjoyed and the lama's provided a nice extra to an already beautiful BB. The place was well maintained and the Inn Keepers were welcoming. The breakfast was good and the "Garth" juice was delicious. The only thing I can think of that would have been nice is having different a breakfast for consecutive days, we had the same thing two days in a row.


Wonderful B&B in Twain Country

4,0 en agosto 30, 2010

Innkeepers are serious, professional and Delightful


fabulous

5 en agosto 24, 2010

Every single little detail about Garth Mansion is well, perfect. The comfy beds, the beautiful grounds, John and Julie, the food, no tv. We travel far and wide. In the midwest Garth is SUPERB. No more needs to be said. Thank you


What's not to like?

5 en agosto 22, 2010

We had a great experience at this fabulous B&B. Julie runs a superb kitchen - dinner and breakfast were extraordinary! John is friendly and accomodating. Just a great place, full of history yet up to date accomodations. The grounds are lovely. We will definitely return!


Great B&B in Hannibal

4,4 en agosto 21, 2010

The innkeepers are delightful and the house and rooms are beautiful. Enjoyed the restored Steinway especially! Dinner was excellent, and a real bargain as well. Sorry it was too hot to explore the grounds, but we certainly enjoyed our stay in the wonderfully restored mansion.


A great weekend get-away

4,8 en agosto 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Garth Mansion. Our dinner was very good and the two breakfasts were excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable. John and Julie made us feel welcome.


First Timers

4,8 en agosto 15, 2010

I have tried for years to get my husband to stay in a bed and breakfast and he finally agreed to on our trip to Hannibal. He was pleasantly surprised and even agreed to go back to the Garth Mansion. John and Julie were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and the room was beautiful. Thanks John and Julie.


Fantastic Bed and breakfast

4,8 en agosto 15, 2010

The garth mansion was superb with regard to location, service and the staff was delightful and very helpful. They go out of their way to provide your needs


Great way to relax

4,8 en agosto 14, 2010

Wonderful relaxing atmosphere. Felt at ease with owners immediately--like one of the family. Food was outstanding and way too much of it! One of the cleanest B&B's I've ever stayed at. Very obvious that owners enjoy what they are doing! Looking forward to next time.


Made our 25th Anniversary a Success!

5 en agosto 13, 2010

I risked it all by taking my wife to place I had never even heard of before for our 25th anniversary. Garth Woodside Mansion came through with flying colors. The Rolsens are wonderful people and are great at what they do. Garth Mansion has it all, the food, the furnishings, the setting and most importantly John and Julie take you in and make you feel like family!


Heavenly

4,6 en agosto 05, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Dowager Cottage at the Garth Woodside Mansion for our couple's getaway. It was the best experience I have ever had at a B&B. Evey detail was taken into account. The bed was so comfortable, I hated to get out of it. My favorite part was breakfast. Julie's cooking is wonderful. Once she was done setting up breakfast in the kitchen, Julie would flip a switch which turned on a little red light in the bedroom so we wouldn't be disturbed. Genius! My least favorite part was leaving. I actually teared up as we drove away (cheesy, I know), but I wasn't ready to come back to reality yet. So now, as I am back to the grindstone, I am even more thankful for our experience at the Garth.


Wonderful Getaway

4,8 en agosto 03, 2010

My husband and I booked a room here at the last minute...we absolutely loved it!! We just went last month and are already planning on going back next week! It is the most lovely mansion, so charming. The owners and very friendly and made us feel very much at home. Easy to find, clean, wonderful food.


It's better than Disney!

5 en julio 13, 2010

I told John and Julie that their B&B has the "Disney touch". Let me explain. If you've ever been to Disney you will notice their focus on details. It's fun, friendly, exciting, informative, and a relaxing experience you will never forget. Oh, and your friends will tire from hearing you go on and on how great it was and all the different things to enjoy there. Well that's explains everything at the Garth Mansion. Actually, it's better than Disney. It's all about relaxing! We will be back again. SOON I HOPE!! Michael & Bonnie


Awesome

4,0 en junio 28, 2010

My husband & I had a wonderful experience at Garth Mansion. It was the first time we had ever stayed at a B & B. It will be hard to top this one. John & Julie are really nice hosts. Julie is a wonderful cook. The staff is very pleasant. The mansion is awesome and the grounds are beautiful. We will certainly be back!! Deb:)


Amazing

5 en junio 27, 2010

Had Amazing time at the Garth Woodside Mansion in Hannibal! Home is Beautiful! Food was delicious and Julie and John were perfect Hosts! Thank You so Much! Shane and Jessica


Back Again

5 en marzo 14, 2010

I have been to the Garth several times but not in the last year and a half. As always, it exceeds my expectations. This is my "happy place." John, Julie, Sean and Sheena are awesome. I am already looking at my budget for my next return!!!


Woods Trail cottage

4,0 en noviembre 05, 2009

The only negative item noticed during our stay was that the room was dusty. I probably wouldn't have noted it except for my alergy to dust. Frequent sneezing caused me to look around and it was then that I noticed that better attention could have been given to dusting. I especially enjoyed dining in our room and the staffs willingness to make that possible. It would have been even better if we could have had breakfast in the room as well. When we desire to escape together, it is especially nice when we can spend our entire time together alone. This was our second escape to Garths and both times were very relaxing and enjoyable.

Respuesta del propietario

I am so glad you posted this review! I chatted nicely with the housekeeper and she actually told me of the nice note you left for her about her attention to dusting. Sure enough she did not tell me until I spoke of this review. If this happens again to you or any traveler, please notify the innkeeper/owner as well. This way we are sure to rectify ANY issues. Owners are always the best bet. At Garth Mansion you are always only one person away from the owner. Thanks again!


The BEST EVER

5 en noviembre 04, 2009

Our stay at Garth was the BEST we have ever had and we have traveled all over the US and stayed in many B&Bs. The service was great and was only out done by how friendly and helpful John and Julie were. I would never stay any where else when in the area!!!

Respuesta del propietario

YOU are why we ARE innkeepers. We are very lucky to be able to have a 'job' we both enjoy!


Great get away!

4,8 en octubre 10, 2009

Price of overnight stay includes an excellent evening meal, and of course a fabulous breakfast while watching the lamas, squirrels, and bluebirds. A rural setting close to Hannibal MO attractions. All the rooms we toured were fabulous. The rainy day made the gas fireplace toasty and romantic! We enjoyed watching our dinner being prepared on their webcam! We would enjoy a repeat visit.

Respuesta del propietario

You are welcome anytime. Next time ask to eat in the kitchen and you can be the next star on the webcam!


Charming Mansion

5 en octubre 02, 2009

This was our first time at the Garth Mansion. We just loved it. The mansion is very charming and beautiful. From the moment we walked in the door, we could tell the mansion was very loved and cared for. The innskeepers John and Julie were very warm, friendly and welcoming. The property surrounding the mansion was simply breath taking. It had a story book setting. Simply beautiful. The food served at the mansion was wonderful. Their french toast was so amazing as well as the fresh juice!! The room/rooms were so beautiful and very tastefully done! The staff was amazing! We will be back again to visis the mansion. We just loved it! We had the chance to go anywhere in MO and we chose the Garth Mansion. We are so glad that we did! We just fell in love with the charm and beauty with the mansion as well as the land it resides on! Just lovely!


Return Visit Just as Rewarding

4,6 en agosto 27, 2009

This was our second visit to the Garth Woodside Mansion. It is just as lovely as ever. They now have a restaurant attached to the house. It is a lovely, inviting room. Although Julie and John were gone, Sean and Sheena were the perfect hosts. Will try to visit again. We love this place.


Bang for the Buck!

5 en agosto 06, 2009

We have two daughters ages 12 and 11. "Aunt" Julie and "Uncle" John were SO kind and welcomed all of us to their place. They are very detailed about your comfort--you are responsible for letting them know because they can not read minds, but they will do anything to make your stay and meals the BEST. Not only was breakfast included in the price of our stay, but the dinner as well. We just had to pick up the taxes. We never ate so much in our lives. If you go away hungry-- it's your own fault. The place is very clean. They have two llamas to feed and pet. A pond you can fish in and an area to play catch. It is set back in the woods for walks or a beautiful wedding. The cabins are private with a hot tub and the main house is full of antiques. My husband and I plan to go back (minus the kids) for some together time. I have already told many people about this wonderful place. Stayed Aug 3-5, 2009


summer getaway

5 en agosto 05, 2009

Julie and John are great host. The mansion is beautiful and the food was out of this world


Can't wait to return

5 en mayo 01, 2009

All we can say is WOW! My husband and I had never stayed at a B & B before so for our anniversary I planned a night at Woodside. We came with no expectations and were overwhelmed with kindness and beautiful surroundings. We had no complaints from the amazing room to the amazing sense of home. John and Julie are so helpful and welcoming you will find it hard to leave. Looking forward to our next visit and the baby lamas. Kay & Doug Illinois

Respuesta del propietario

The baby 'crias' are due in 2010 around the 5th of May. Keep an eye on our site, I hope to get a webcam for llama watch.


totally charming

5 en enero 28, 2009

From the moment you arrive, everything is wonderful and everything you would want is seen to. So relaxing and so peaceful. We come twice a year to the same B&B; there is none other!


beautiful

3,2 en octubre 28, 2008

very quiet and relaxing. Gourmet breakfast was exceptionable. Julie is a wonderful innkeeper. Can't say the same for her husband. guess it's just his personality, but he's not friendly.


Get-a-way

5 en octubre 14, 2008

Incredible B&B, so much thought and attention, one of the best.


10 Plus

5 en octubre 10, 2008

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary celebration at Garth Mansion was a 10 Plus. We know we have been a guest at the very best B&B in the midwest.


Garth Mansion

5 en septiembre 30, 2008

When we travel, it is usually to visit family, and we stay with family members. We have occasionally traveled on our own and have stayed at hotels/motels. A few times we have stayed at B&B's. This one was the best!!


WONDERFUL

5 en julio 17, 2008

I really enjoyed my first stay at the Garth. John and Julie were so friendly and the food was delicious. I was able to relax in my jacuzzi tub and get away from the city for a night. I will definately come back again and again and I am spreading the word. I can't wait to come back again!


My Birthday

5 en julio 09, 2008

I was already excited since it was my birthday, just when I saw my surprise I was elated. The charm, warmth, food, owners were great!


An incredible find

5 en julio 03, 2008

An exceptional experience The Dewager Cottage was wonderful & the breakfasts out of this world. Highly recommend.


Spring

4,4 en junio 23, 2008

Flowers were in bloom and everyone had an air of freshness and happiness with a wonderful place to stay.


Fantastic!

5 en junio 19, 2008

Our room was gorgeous - the beautiful bed, fireplace, and clawfoot tub were wonderful. What a treat to stay in such a fabulous mansion!!


Over-all Impression

3,4 en junio 19, 2008

Food was very good. Hosts made us "feel so welcome."


Anniversary Visit

5 en junio 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Garth Woodside Mansion for our honeymoom in 2006 and recently went back for our 2nd anniversary. Our 2nd visit was just as outstanding as our first visit and we can't wait to go back again next year. John and Julie make everyone feel right at home and the breakfast that is served is excellent. There is a resturant on site so if you want to have a wonderful meal you have come to the right place. Stay at the Garth and you won't be disappointed.


Great

4,8 en junio 10, 2008

Excellent getaway - Would highly recommend - Very personable food excellant, service excellant. We were pampered from beginning to end.


The Garth Woodside Mansion is Great!

3,6 en junio 09, 2008

The Mansion is beautiful, the country setting is charming. The hosts are warm and friendly and made our stay a pure delight.


Garth Mansion

4,8 en junio 06, 2008

The mansion was beautiful and well maintained. The hosts were wonderful. The food was very good.


awesome place

5 en junio 05, 2008

what a wonderful experience. way beyond our expectations. the accommodations were perfect, hospitality was out of this world and the food was to die for. perfect perfect perfect! this is well worth the trip for anyone. fantastic!


great getaway

5 en junio 05, 2008

peaceful setting, friendly and at home atmosphere. fantastic food with great personal service. we highly recommend it. can't wait to go back


Garth Mansion

5 en mayo 28, 2008

Garth Mansion is a delightful walk into the past. The pwners are very hospitable and the food is excellent. The grounds are beautiful.


“Not our "cup of tea" - our first and last trip to the Garth”

1,0 en abril 10, 2008

My husband and I booked a room for our anniversary, and although we have never stayed in a B&B, we live in a similarly appointed home, so we knew what to expect as far as "comfort" is concerned. We really didn't get a tour or history when we checked in, the gentleman proprietor showed us to our room, and then awkwardly suggested that he could turn down the bed for us. It was 4:30, and a little early for that, but I think he insisted so that the crocheted bedspread could be removed from the room. Anyway, with that out of the way, he raved about the complimentary toothbrushes (who cares?) and told us we could look around until our dinner reservations at 6:00. Our dinner took 3 full hours from start to finish, and we had to have a steak recooked, but the food was OK overall. It was hardly busy in the dining room though, so it should have taken half that time. Also, the proprietors spent most of their time obsessed with another couple who was on a return visit, and rarely spoke to us. Breakfast was in their restaurant (like dinner) instead of at the home's dining table so you really couldn't talk to the other guests. And there wasn't a TV in the place! (That bothered me more than it bothered my husband, but for a place that advertises it has high speed internet connections, you think that TV is a given). Overall, our experience was pretty poor, and the $350 we spent on the room & dinner will be forever gone!

Respuesta del propietario

I love to review guest reviews like this one. They usually post the same one several times on several sites time and time again. Still bitter over two years later, they stayed in 2006 and posted in 2008? She is right, you cannot please everyone ALL the time, sorry we thought they might want to take a nap before dinner. And yes, we spend time with guests that come back and want to spend time with us, if you are not a real chatty-cathy we are not going to be in your face and try to be your new best friend. We are here if you want, and leave you to your privacy if you like. And, BTW, two years later-we do have TV's with built in DVD players---BUT---if one of you does not want it, then we hide the remote control from the other one of you. (grin)Come and stay with us and make your own decision, we promise not to make you laugh on John's toothbrush story!


Wonderfully Romantic!!

4,6 en febrero 14, 2008

My partner and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary this past December 2007 and stayed at the Garth Mansion for our celebration weekend. We were thrilled with nearly every part of our stay and absoluetly loved the mansion. We stayed in the Rosewood room and it was amazing. We had our own fireplace with warmed the room great as well as set a very romatic mood to cuddle in front of. The room size and quality was spectacular. The best part, aside from our very comfy bed, was the claw foot bathtub in our bathroom. Perfect for a romatic day or night. I can't tell you how great it was!! The Rolsen family that runs the household were very friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home but at the same time gave us our privacy and respect. The food was terrific. High quality delicious breakfast and don't miss a dinner in the dining room it was awesome....order the crab cakes!! Overall, my partner and I can't wait to return in the summer to enjoy more of the outdoor grounds and have another fantastic get-a-way at a wonderful place to stay!!

Respuesta del propietario

It is guests like the both of you that make it worth our while to continue to being innkeepers. Innkeeping is a way of life and I am glad you chose us for your first B&B. We hope to see you this summer when so many flowers are in bloom and you can enjoy another wonderful dinner, but this time on the patio under the stars. See you soon...


Christmas at Garth Mansion

5 en enero 19, 2008

This was the second Christmas Eve and Christmas that my wife and I have spent at Garth. From the warm front door greeting by John, Julie and son Sean, it's like taking a step back into a more gracious, warm, and romantic era where time goes by slower and you can savor all of the sights, sounds, and aromas of a special place in history. The original 1800's furnishings surround you in a peaceful and warm environment. Julie, John and Sean are always at hand to make sure all your needs are attended to, and to offer great conversation over a cup of hot coffee. This year it was extra romantic because there was a lot of snow on the ground for a white Christmas. If it is romance and the quiet of a bygone era you are looking for, then look no further. The dining was among the very best we have ever experienced. The gourmet chefs are creative and offer personalized menus as you prefer. The total experience of this serene country setting is available at a most reasonable price. As the Rolsens say, you arrive the first time as guests, but you'll always leave as family making Garth a part of your life from then on.

Respuesta del propietario

If you like the Christman season, try staying the week of Thanksgiving and stay two nights and get one of those free when you help put all of those wondeful ornaments and trees up. We are in Tom Sawyer area and we try to do the "Tom" thing and have you help out. See you in November??...


Fabulous B&B

5 en noviembre 19, 2007

Relaxing, enjoyable, beautiful, comfortable, friendly.... Great place to stay for a relaxing getaway. The owners are extremely nice and hospitable. The food is fabulous!!!


Grand Experience.

5 en octubre 08, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating our 25th anniversary at Garth Woodside Mansion with hosts John, Julie, and Sean. The accomodations, ambiance, and meals were exquisite.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for taking time to find the site and make such nice comments. Guest like you are always a joy to serve. Please come again when it is NOT a special occasion, just because you deserve it. Warmly,


Excellent Experience!

5 en agosto 09, 2007

My husband and I were referred by a winery to this beautiful mansion to experience the outstanding wine list... upon entering the property, we decided to spend the night and could not have been more pleased! The service was friendly (we were always called by name).. food was superb, very intimate surroundings and positively BEAUTIFUL! We left feeling pampered and relaxed!


Family Reunion

4,4 en julio 19, 2007

John, Julie and Sean were great hosts this past weekend. The grounds are beautiful, food and service were excellent. I like the idea of no tv's in the bed rooms. I had a great time.

Respuesta del propietario

If you would come more often, I would not have to break this news to you. We put some small flat screens in the rooms. But the remote is only given out if BOTH guests ~grin~ agree to having one in there rooms. They basically are for watching a variety of movies (which there are over 400 DVD's) to choose. Let me know you are coming and we can whisk it out of there before you arrive.


A wonder experience

4,6 en julio 18, 2007

The host & hostess made us feel like family but gave us space to do what we wanted. The comraderie was wonderful.


Stayed here in 2001

5 en julio 15, 2007

Everything about our stay was great! That was six years ago, but I still remember what a wonderful time we had and would like to return. The breakfasts were so good! The rooms were incredibly furnished. I like to brag about my stay in the Samuel Clemens room. Innkeepers were so friendly!


Memorial Day Weekend at the Mansion

5 en junio 08, 2007

My husband and I spent the Memorial Day weekend at the lovely historic Garth Woodside Mansion Bed and Breakfast located in a rural area of Hannibal, MO, and owned and run by John and Julie Rolsen. We were made welcome immediately upon arrival. After check-in, John gave us what he called the ‘5 cent tour’ of the mansion, while explaining the rules and amenities for the mansion stay. He showed us to our room and turned down the bed for us (how nice!). We even got to see the rooms that were still vacant at that time (all beautiful). We were taken by the extraordinary restoration and detail of the mansion, inside and outside. The décor was beautiful and kept to the era of the mansion. Each time we walked through the mansion we saw things we had missed when we had walked through previously. There are so many furnishings, ornaments, and unusual antique pieces and pictures, all so fun to be a part of in this tranquil setting. No TVs or phones in the rooms, which encouraged us to relax and forget about our too busy lifestyle (something we needed to do). Breakfast was fabulous! The food, and the enthusiasm of our hosts as they served us, made this a great experience. The dinning room (windows all around) provided us a view of the owner’s three lamas, a lovely garden and birds of many species. We enjoyed the quiet comfortable room and bed, which has not always been our experience at Bed and Breakfast stays. Julie was fabulous at getting everyone to relax and have fun while we ate. We walked the spacious and scenic grounds of the mansion, which was also enjoyable. Thanks John and Julie and son for a wonderful weekend we will not forget! The only thing I might ask to be changed is the check-in time. Could it be check-in at 3PM, not 4PM?


the weekend at garth woodside mansion

5 en marzo 04, 2007

we stay at garth woodside mansion twice a year to regroup our mind and soul and we are never disapponted. the owners john and julie are the most wonderful people that we have ever meet and they always make sure you stay is unforgettable.


Comfort, elegance, history

5 en enero 20, 2007

Beautiful hilltop setting, stunning Victorin mansion, great history. I loved staying in the room where Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens) slept when he was a frequent visitor to this grand home.


Garth Woodside Mansion

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $189 - $395
  • Comentarios (153) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 11
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5732212789
  • Sin cargo
    1-8884278409

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba