Inn at Black Star Farms Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
199 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

wedding weekend was awesome!

5 en marzo 02, 2014

Our daughter had her wedding ceremony and reception here. We couldn't have had a more exceptional experience anywhere! From the welcome reception, facility,staff, organization of event, food, wine, it was just the best time ever! Thank you Black Star Farms for a great memory.


Absolutely love this place!!!

5 en octubre 13, 2013

2nd time visiting, absolutely love this place, all the staff is incredibly friendly, we love the Inn and surrounding farm area, great trails to hike, and best of all great wine! Will absolutely be back, highly recommend!


Mother daughter weekend

5 en agosto 05, 2013

My daughters and I stayed with you for a wedding near by. Our stay was incredible! Every detail was thought of, and we felt very spoiled! Our room was so beautiful! We are now planning to come back with our husbands to show off this amazing Inn!!


Beyond Excellent

5 en julio 29, 2013

My sister and I took our mother to the Inn for her 75th birthday celebration. From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel welcome. The room was more than we imagined from the photos- the staff treated us as if we were regulars ( which we may just become :-)) Our room was promptly kept every morning while we went to breakfast. From a food perspective, everythin that we were served at breakfast, the wine receptions and the BBQ we attended were excellent and the presentation beautiful. We cannot say enough about the beauty, the kindness and the service of the entire staff and we thank them for the wonderful memories we were able to create from our stay at Black Star Farms.


Great stay

5 en junio 27, 2013

Great trails, great company and wonderful wine!!!!! Thank you, to a most hospitable staff!


Escape into luxury

4,8 en marzo 25, 2013

The staff make you feel as though you've come back to your seasonal home but with the added benefit of being completely spoiled. The Inn is beautiful, the staff is very generous with their time, the food, the wine, and all the amenities. The staff at the tasting room is also very knowledgeable about what they serve. It is a very happy place and is our favorite place to stay.


Just What I Imagined!

5 en marzo 10, 2013

This was our first visit, and it was in February. Everything was perfect. I am so thankful we went in the winter. It was just like a painting. We plan on a return visit in the fall.


Nice Place

4,4 en febrero 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at BSF. This place is very modern and gorgeous inside and out. Make sure you walk the beautiful grounds and see their beautiful horses. The wine tasting and raclette cheese was wonderful. We loved waking up to the smell of breakfast which was delicious and we loved the granola. Coffee service in the morning should have been better attended to as the stations were often out of regular cream and equal/splenda, thus we were disappointed that we didn't get to start off our morning with that best cup of morning joe just the way we like it. We very much enjoyed the wine social hour and there was a very good selection of wine, but the hors d'oeuvres were a bit sparse and lacking (compared to what others have personally told us they received on their stay). We had dinner one night and it was good and the creme brulee was fantastic. It snowed during our stay, and in the morning when we went to leave, the inn had already cleaned off our car. What a nice little touch that was noticed and appreciated. We will return for another visit.


Great Get-A-Way

5 en febrero 19, 2013

We had a great weekend get-a-way! The Inn and the room was super clean. The staff was very courteous and the breakfasts were excellent! Highly recommend!


Another amazing stay At Blackstar Farms

5 en febrero 17, 2013

Everything about the Inn is absolutely amazing.


Fun Weekend!

4,0 en febrero 13, 2013

We had a nice time at Black Star Farms Bed and Breakfasts. The room was beautiful and very clean. The appetizers for the Friday night happy hour were very good, but Saturday was shy on creativity. The breakfasts were different, but very good. The only complaint, if I had any, was that we are early risers and we had to beg for coffee in the morning when we woke up. We were there with another couple and we all wake early. Chef Johnson wasn't very pleased that we were drinking most of his coffee because he was too busy making other things. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.


A bit of heaven

4,0 en febrero 04, 2013

The atmosphere, setting, and hospitality were all exceptional. Great getaway spot and staff readily available to meet your every need. Setting was perfect for complete relaxation. Peace and quiet, no screaming children and a wonderful accommodations.


Our favorite getaway spot!

4,8 en diciembre 31, 2012

This was our third trip to Black Star Farms, all of which have been in December. We absolutely love it! Outstanding food, great wine, and a true getaway. We will continue to come back.

Respuesta del propietario

We appreciate your repeat visits. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


Fantastic Engagement Weekend at Black Star Farms

4,6 en diciembre 05, 2012

My fiance proposed on the Leelanau Peninsula and then took me for a weekend at Black Star Farms. We had an amazing time. Our room was very nice for a country B&B - perfectly clean and I especially liked the high quality chocolates and triple sheeting. Highlights included strolling around the property, checking out the horses and animals and enjoying wine tasting at the on site winery. The included reception in the evening was wonderful. It was great fun talking to the other guests and the hors d'oeuvres were delicious and substantial (bacon wrapped salmon cakes, venison meatballs). The wine was plentiful and the innkeeper left mostly full bottles for the guests for the remainder of the evening. We had an excellent dinner at the Inn our second night there. Top notch service and memorable food. We hope to go back in February. Highly recommend!

Respuesta del propietario

Congratulations! We love to hear engagement stories. We hope to see you for future celebrations.


Awesome!

5 en diciembre 04, 2012

We had the most wonderful time and I cannot stop gushing about it. I recommend it to everyone. Thank you so much for a wonderful, romantic getaway! Margo Ryan

Respuesta del propietario

Thank YOU, Margo. We enjoyed having you. Our guests are our best ambassadors. We appreciate the referrals.


Beautiful bed and breakfast

5 en noviembre 26, 2012

We had the Diadem room which is beautiful, has a very nice bathroom, and the fireplace was cozy on the cold evenings. The wine tasting was awesome, makes it so much easier to find a good wine when tasing several kinds. The breakfast prepared by the chef is beautifully done and delicious. This was our third time there and will continue to make it an annual trip.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your continued business. We appreciate it.


Great get away

4,6 en noviembre 25, 2012

This was just a one night get away GREAT and will do it again at the same place. Kevin in the tasting room made us feel welcome.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for your visit. We look forward to hosting you again.


Wonderful romantic getaway. Unbelieval experience. Like royalty.

5 en noviembre 15, 2012

When the house first comes into sight, it is breathtaking. A beautiful colonial home nestled in a vast landscape with a sprawling vineyard, equestrian activities, a cozy café, wine tasting room and cheese room. There is enough to see and do onsite that you don’t have to leave the property. The hospitality is unbelievable, the food exquisite, and the experience a lifelong memory. I must for a romantic getaway to remember.


Up market facility.

3,8 en noviembre 01, 2012

The pralines on the pillow on the first night was a surprise outstanding quality, I was looking for them the second night unfortunately they were not there. The alarm went off at 2400hrs that night and we didn't set it! We had dinner at a concert there and I was surprised to have grilled pork chops with a qbeautiful apple compote with a slow cooked cider sauce, unfortunately there was no starch content to accompany the dish. Dessert was apple crumble I would like some other type of fruit dessert as we just had apple with the main course. Breakfast on day one was salmon quiche very light I thought it was a soufflé magnificent presentation and taste I nearly fell over what a great change, I would have liked to see more cereal choices and some more wholesome choices available. The second breakfast was a very sweet berry crepe for my tastes this is more of a dessert not a breakfast item. I must say the young lady preparing these items had put a lot of effort into the dishes and with some more direction will give this establishment a better nutritional standard.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We will address your concerns with the appropriate departments.


Beautiful Inn but maybe a little too pricey

3,6 en octubre 31, 2012

The Inn is beautiful, the Innkeepers are very accommodating and friendly; however, the food was subpar and the walls/floors are paper-thin. Considering how much we paid we were disappointed to hear every word coming from downstairs and next door and found the breakfasts to be disappointing.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your feedback. We strive for our guests to experience a relaxing atmosphere while visiting. I apologize that you were not satisfied. We will continue to explore ways to retrofit the house for additional soundproofing. I have passed your culinary comments along to our food service team.


October Fall Leaves - Beautiful

3,4 en octubre 27, 2012

Came up for quick weekend stay -- the inn was very accommodating with us for having 3 adults in one room for a last minute booking. The wine reception with appetizers was very nice with a good selection of food and drink. Dined at the inn that night -- the food was good, but felt some lighter options could've been offered -- more for a ladies' taste in food than a man's. Breakfast entree was delicious, but felt the baked goods were just marginal. Unfortunately it was raining during our short stay, so we didn't get to enjoy the property grounds.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your comments. I have passed your concerns along to our culinary team.


Amazing stay!

5 en octubre 24, 2012

I travel a lot and have quite good experience of staying in different places of different categories. So, I can say that this place is really amazing! Owner was very kind to arrange trip for us to see the farm and winery. That was very interesting tour and we learnt a lot. Accommodation was very clean, modern and stylish, like in a good house where everything is made for comfort and pleasure. I will recommend that place to everyone who likes good food, wine and dream about nice romantic rest.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. I hope you will visit us again.


"Best In Show" - Inn At Black Star Farms

5 en octubre 19, 2012

Everything was FABULOUS!!! From the oh so comfy rooms to the amazing breakfast each morning to the special wine tasting every evening!! We loved every single minute of our stay!! If you love animals - you will love this Inn - horses, goats, pigs, chickens and more! Simply wonderful from the moment you arrive !! Looking forward to many many returns!!!

Respuesta del propietario

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for visiting.


Inn-credible

5 en octubre 18, 2012

I was impressed with everything. An incredible experience. Thank you!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much!


Great weekend get-a-way

5 en octubre 17, 2012

Our stay at BSF was fantastic. Our room was lovely. The service and hospitality were superb. The food, wine and spirits were delicious. We wish we could have explored the beautiful grounds more, but the rain kept us inside by our cozy fireside instead. We will definitely be back again.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.


Annual Trip to Black Star Farms Always a Treat

5 en octubre 12, 2012

On September 26 -28, 2012 my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3rd annual trip to Black Star Farms. This year we were joined by 3 other couples in a mid-week adventure that involved eating, wine tasting, more eating and more wine tasting. We love Black Star because the staff goes out of their way to make you feel like home. Assuming, of course, that you have an 11 bedroom, two story sprawling mansion complete with a staff whose only goal is your comfort. Which naturally describes everyone's home. The prices aren't cheap but when you factor in the spacious rooms, impeccable facilities,delightful wines, gourmet breakfast, a happy hour second to none the price is more than reasonable. You get what you pay for and Black Star takes an obvious pride in attempting to deliver a first class value second to none. I highly recommend you consider Black Star Farms for your next trip to the Sutton's Bay area, you won't be disappointed.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate your repeat visits.


Honeymoon getaway

4,6 en octubre 12, 2012

The staff was all extremely helpful and friendly. They know so much about the area and were willing to give details and directions to any place around. The wine was amazing and trails to walk on were beautiful this fall!!!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We are nearly all long-time locals and love to share the secrets of the area with guests. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.


Wonderful Stay Again!

4,4 en octubre 10, 2012

This is our second visit to Black Star Farms Inn forour Anniversary. We had a wonderful time and looking forward to next year.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for celebrating with us!


Inn at Black Star Farms

4,4 en octubre 07, 2012

We just returned from a delightful stay at the Inn at Black Star Farms. They thought of everything to make our stay most enjoyable. We would especially like to thank Kelly for taking such good care of us. Don Coe, one of the owners was a wealth of information about wine making and the history of the area. He, personally, visited with us during breakfast and we found him most interesting. They were serving squash and sausage pancakes that were delicious. We are looking forward to our next visit and will and have recommended the Inn to our friends.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for your kind words. I love my job and it is truly my pleasure to take care of our guests.


Retreat at Black Star Farms

4,6 en octubre 06, 2012

The time we spent there was exceptional. The staff, food, and grounds exceeded our expectations. My only negative is one of fresh air in our bedroom. We stayed in the main level suite named Mira. The room was impeccable and extremely comfortable. I love to sleep with a window cracked for fresh air. The only window in the bedroom had three air conditioner /heat pump condensers right outside. The noise was to loud with the window open. I would definitely go back but would never stay in that suite again.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We will be discussing the possibility of retrofitting one of the french door windows to allow for opening. If you recall the layout of the room, there is not another spot in the bedroom to put in a window that would be away from the AC units. I know that many of our other rooms would work perfectly for your needs.


Kerin and Kate Dorris

4,8 en octubre 05, 2012

Loved it! Thought the cocktail hour was a great feature and the food was wonderful. We will come again.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you! We enjoyed having you.


Return to Excellence

4,8 en octubre 01, 2012

My wife and I got married at Black Star last year and returned this year for two days. The service is excellent and the food is fabulous. Breakfast both days was fresh and filling without being heavy at all. Kellie, Jill and Don are all very friendly. What I like about Black Star is it is small and whether you are sociable and like meeting new people or like quiet time to yourself they cater to both. Plenty of time to relax and see the fall colors. The rooms are very clean and the beds are very comfortable. We ordered the sheet set it was so comfortable!! We plan to return every year around this time - the weather and the inn were excellent!! A 10% discount for returning guests was also a pleasant surprise!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It was wonderful to see you again and we appreciate your candid review.


Friends, Wine, Cheese, & Fall Colors PERFECT!

5 en septiembre 30, 2012

We just spent two nights and three days in Suttons Bay area. This was our third trip up to Black Star Farms and we will continue these annual trips the first year it was just the two of us, the second year we had two other couples join us, and this year there were 8 of us. It is like having all your friends to your own home, with out having to do the cooking and cleaning. The staff at Black Star are the very best they have become part of the family we look forward to seeing them each fall.


Harvest Meal

4,4 en septiembre 27, 2012

Food was excellent. Enjoyed the access to jacuzzi and sauna. Great locationl.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind words.


A fantastic place to stay.

5 en septiembre 26, 2012

Great food, perfect location, warm and friendly staff and delicious wine.


An outstanding romantic and relaxing destination

4,8 en septiembre 21, 2012

The couples massage package really fit the bill. Rumor has it they are going to build a small spa within the building. Great idea and a needed addition whose time has come. Looking forward to our next stay.

Respuesta del propietario

I'm so glad you enjoyed your massages! We think our massage therapists are some of the best in the area. Stay tuned to our website for updates regarding the 'rumored' spa treatment room...


Black Star Farms

4,2 en septiembre 21, 2012

We only had wine and the fare served before dinner - we were not there when the dining room was open. The cafe was ok - but don't count on it for dinner. Fine dining available in the area. Great place to stay!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Hearth and Vine cafe serves casual fare for lunch and early supper. Our Arcturos dining room is open mostly on weekends, depending upon our catering schedule. I hope you will try us again when you can stay for supper. Thank you again for writing.


Absolutely Amazing

5 en septiembre 13, 2012

and I don't just speak of the house. THE STAFF TOO! I have walked away with amazing wedding memories, fantastic anniversary memories and true friends from the Black Star Inn! I absolutely love love love Stephanie, Jon & Jill! My husband and I will go back each year to the same spot we shared our vows and celebrate with those that made it perfect! Mr. & Mrs. Jensen


Will Visit Again

4,4 en septiembre 13, 2012

We had a fabulous time at Black Star Farms. Our one issue was when my husband dropped me off to check in, the hostess walked me to our room and assured me she would send my husband up when he walked in. She then took off and my husband spent 20 minutes walking around the lobby getting angry at me for abandoning him. The woman eventually saw him and asked him what he was looking for. Not a good way to start our stay, but it was otherwise wonderful.

Respuesta del propietario

I'm so sorry that this was your first impression of us! It is a large house and it can be easy to 'lose' people in it, but the innkeeper on duty at the time should have been more diligent about follow through. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apologies.


Amazing!

4,6 en septiembre 13, 2012

Blackstar farms is my absolute favorite place to stay! A little slice of heaven and we always leave feeling spoiled and well rested. Thank you, thank you! We hope to visit again soon...

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you!


Anniversary Stay

4,8 en septiembre 13, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Inn and it was wonderful as usual. Everything from the tasting room, to the grounds, to the staff, to the breakfasts were outstanding and exceeded our expectations. The "happy hour" was a great time and a good way to meet the other guests and get dining tips. The appetizers during happy hour were decent this time around but not quite as good from when we stayed at the Inn a few years ago. Last time we stayed at the Inn, the appetizers were cooked fresh for the happy hour. This time it seemed, they were cooked ahead of time and warmed up. They were still good, just not as good as I remember them being the first time around. That would be my only small complaint about our entire stay. Overall, a fantastic place to stay if you are visiting Traverse City or touring the many wineries in the area.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments regarding teh appetizer at hospitality hour have been passed along to our executive chef. We do occasionally warm something which has been prepared earlier in the day, however this should never be allowed to affect the quality of the finished dish. I hope we will see you again in the future.


Great value, beautiful setting, friendly, efficient service.

4,2 en septiembre 12, 2012

The staff is wonderful and the overall ambiance is delightful. A real gem in beautiful surroundings. Wine tasting was especially nice with some good wines.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves.


Great place for a relaxing getaway!

4,6 en septiembre 10, 2012

Our room was clean and had great amenities. The happy hour was very nice and the wine tatsting was wonderful. Loved the animals and the grounds. Highly recommend a trip to Black Star Farms!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you! We appreciate your feedback.


Delightful Inn

5 en septiembre 03, 2012

We had a lovely three night stay. The room was spacious, beautiful, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast each morning was a not-to-be-missed delicious adventure. Each evening's wine, hors d'oeuvres and social time with Jill, Kellie and other guests was a warm bridge between the days and nights activities. We only wish that the dining room had been open for dinner.


Awesome!

4,4 en septiembre 03, 2012

We were able to stay here due to a cancellation. We were so lucky because the inn couldn't have been any better. The personal attention is what makes this place great. Jill, one of the innkeepers was fantastic. The breakfasts and hospitality hour was great! We will be back.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We look forward to hosting you again.


Gem in Sutton's Bay

4,8 en agosto 27, 2012

We loved our stay at Black Star Farms, especially the front porch, the delicious breakfasts and the evening social hour with wine and appetizers.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your stay with us.


Beautiful building and surrounding grounds

4,8 en agosto 27, 2012

The rooms were quite comfortable and relaxing. A complimentary tasting with our stay was definitely a highlight. We greatly enjoyed walking the grounds at our leisure, especially the farm itself (chickens, sheep, goats, horses...) Very romantic. The breakfast was delicious each morning, and the staff were among the friendliest I've ever stayed with. Thank you BSF!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.


Review of Black Star Farms

4,4 en agosto 22, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 11th anniversary at BSF a week ago and we are already talking about when we can go back! The room(Atlas) was perfect for a romantic get-a-way due to it's cleanliness, size, and incredible bathroom with a whirlpool tub. Also, the view from the front of the inn is as beautiful as you will find anywhere. It's a perfect place to have some coffee in the morning as you watch the sun come up over the farm or relaxing while having some great wine in the evening. The peacefulness of this place is amazing even with the amount of people visiting for wine and cheese tasting throughout the day. The tasting rooms are located in the back of the inn away from the main sitting areas so the foot traffic is kept to a minimum. If you are lucky enough for the on site restaurant to be open during your stay, you have to try the short ribs...One of the best tasting meals I've ever had..anywhere!

Respuesta del propietario

We are honored to have been a part of your anniversary celebration. Thank you for your comments.


A Special Place

4,4 en agosto 22, 2012

The was the perfect place for a romantic getaway and as a home base for wine tasting on the gorgeous Old Mission Peninsula. The hospitality here is incredible, and there is a considerable amount of food and wine built into the price--a breakfast with a gourmet entree, a happy hour with free wine and appetizers, a bottle of wine in your room, treats in the afternoon. It's a very peaceful place, lovely in the morning with the lake fog and a good cup of locally roasted coffee. Rejuvenating.

Respuesta del propietario

I'm so glad you found a relaxing respite here on the farm. Thank you for sharing your experience.


So elegant, almost not a B&B

5 en agosto 22, 2012

We wish there had been an extra night available for our stay. The entire property was surely worth the drive. Our entire stay was beyond our expectations and we would recommend Black Star Farms to everyone

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you!


Cozy & Elegant at the same time!

4,2 en agosto 20, 2012

First time at this gorgeous B&B. Friendly and helpful staff made our dinner reservation. We were greeted with a bottle of wine. Hospitality hour gave us a great opportunity to mingle with the other guests. Breakfast was beyond expectations! We can't wait to return!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. We look forward to hosting you again.


No A/C in Mid-Summer?

3,2 en agosto 20, 2012

The inn is beautiful and the food exceptional. Unfortunately, the A/C failed on a 100 degree Michigan summer day--at 10 at night. Then never got working our entire stay. The staff did their best but unfortunately it had a pretty tough impact on our stay. Despite this, we'd give the Inn another try.

Respuesta del propietario

We are terribly sorry that you had this unfortunate experience with us. The hot weather we have had this season has tested our air conditioning systems and shown us their weak points. I appreciate your recognition that we did do everything we could, including a midnight visit in an attempt to defrost the unit, and provision of a portable a/c unit. I hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.


August 2012, Black Star Farms

4,0 en agosto 20, 2012

beautiful rooms, close to main roads but feels very quiet and peaceful and a million miles away! lovely views and horses will defnitely come back! very useful to have a separate bedroom if travelling with friends or family there wasn't a bathtub on our room but there is a very luxurious guest bathroom that one can book with the inn keeper, complete with high ceiling and chandelier!

Respuesta del propietario

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience.


Always a treat to stay at BSF

5 en agosto 19, 2012

Our third visit to this magnificent destination did NOT disappoint! Don, Jill and Kelly and his staff have worked very hard to create a place where you truly feel welcome AND pampered. The 5:30 PM wine tastings are nothing short of relaxing, elegant and a wonderful opportunity to meet new friends. We shall return. Bruce and Linda Sokolove

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much, Bruce and Linda! It was wonderful to see you both again this year. I always appreciate your funny anecdotes at hospitality hour. (Go State!)


Perfect Getaway!!

5 en agosto 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at BSF for a couple days in Aug. and had the best time! The grounds are beautiful with stables and a vineyard. The room was so cozy and the bed was THE BEST in comfort! We absolutely loved the breakfast and the chef- I believe her name was Michelle was absolutely the best! We will definitely be back and hope to make this a yearly trip!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again!


Wonderful time!

4,6 en agosto 18, 2012

We love the Black Star! It's the top of our destination list every summer!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you!


Absolutely Perfect!

5 en agosto 07, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at Black Star Farms on the first leg of our honeymoon. Just pulling into Black Star Farms is quite a sight! The grounds are beautiful. The inn is immaculate, our room (Betelgueze) was well-appointed and spacious, and the breakfast every morning was absolutely delicious! The staff at the Inn, Tasting Room, and Cafe were all wonderful. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful, with dinner recommendations, area attraction information, etc... Even the Managing Partner, Don, stopped by to say hello and chat during hospitality hour. We will definitely be back for another visit!

Respuesta del propietario

We are honored that you chose our Inn for part of your honeymoon. Best wishes to you and we would love to see you for your 1st anniversary!


Excellent B&B!

4,6 en agosto 05, 2012

This was our first time at the Black Star Farms and it was great! We were able to walk the grounds, sit outside and sip our complimentary wine and enjoy the scenery. Would love to go back!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again.


Wonderful time at Black Star Farms

5 en agosto 03, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Black Star Farms. Everything was outstanding and we would stay there again. The next time we book, we will do it for the days they serve dinner and the "outside" restaurant/snack bar is open. It is a bother to have to go off the property to get lunch and dinner. We recommend ordering a picnic basket. We had one and it was fantastic.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your picnic.


The perfect getaway!

5 en julio 29, 2012

We were delighted with our stay at Black Star Farms. The room we stayed in was fantastic, exceptionally clean, all the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We had an extremely stressful winter with my husband undergoing intense chemo treatments. We wanted to go somewhere quiet and restful but also have some activities to enjoy if we felt up to it. This is the perfect location, restful but close to water activities, walking, wine tasting, etc. The staff went beyong any expectation to make sure our stay was enjoyable.


Fantastic. Loved every minute.

5 en julio 27, 2012

Had the best time - loved the room (Mira), the staff, the FOOD, the wine and the farm animals. Excellent property.


Exceptional!

4,6 en julio 26, 2012

A beautiful inn in a beautiful setting! The accomodations were outstanding and the breakfast that was served was delicious. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to make it an annual trip.


Weekend Visit July 13, 2012

4,8 en julio 25, 2012

Great weekend getaway to a beautful Inn and its surrounding property. The staff is very accommodating and facilities were outstanding with the winery tasting room adjacent to the Inn.


Excellent experience

4,2 en julio 22, 2012

Wonderful room, great wine, great service. Can't ask for more!


Black Star Farms Review July 2012

4,6 en julio 20, 2012

Everything about Black Star farms is beautiful including the rooms, public areas, and the grounds. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Details like a personalized bottle of wine chilling prior to your arrival and home made cookies in the library made our stay feel very personal. Also the town of Sutton's Bay is very cute and worth spending a day browsing and stopping for lunch.


Simply outstanding

5 en julio 19, 2012

We enjoyed everything about Black Star Farms, it is nice and secluded yet close to Traverse City. Their breakfast are unbelievable! Lourdes and Fred Schaard


Serene B & B

4,8 en julio 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Black Star Farms. The grounds are beautiful, the B & B is grand and the staff is very welcoming. There is a restaurant and winery/cheese tasting room on the property. Black Star is located near many great towns, beaches, wineries, hiking and biking trails. Breakfast was terrific and the evening wine and hors d'oeuvres were great (loved the lavender short bread cookies). We will be back.


Visit of Gary & Nattie Horton to Black Star Farms

4,8 en julio 16, 2012

This bed & breakfast inn presents an inviting and gracious appearance upon entering the site. From the warm welcome to the property to the departure we knew we had came to a top-notch inn. The facilities are in immaculate condition but not at all intimidating. We enjoyed the welcome reception and the friendly, informal and creative meals we were served. Wine tasting was an added plus as was the short walk to visit the horses boarded on the site.


outstanding bed and breakfeast

4,8 en julio 13, 2012

Spent our 31st anniversary at The Inn at Black Star Farms and it was outstanding. Our room was beautiful along with the wonderful scenery of the vineyards. We had a wonderful time and will hopefully return again soon!


Exceptional Inn at Balck Star Farms

5 en julio 11, 2012

This was the most fantastic vacation at Black Star Farms. We booked 2 return visits during our initial staythere. The hospitality, the food, the room, wine and property was beyond our expectations. We have highly recommended Black Star Farms to friends and family and we are looking forward to out next visit in December.


Early July Visit

4,6 en julio 09, 2012

We are returning guests, and the property was as good as we remembered. Staff greeted us upon arrival like old friends. The attached wine tasting room is something we look forward to visiting.


A unique experience!

4,8 en julio 05, 2012

We wanted to go somewhere that offered something different that was exceptional for our 30th anniversary. We found it at Black Star Farms. The inn was beautiful, the staff were friendly and attentive and the setting was very serene! We got what we were looking for and more! Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfasts were different every day, were well prepared, made fresh when we arrived and were excellent! Our experience was outstanding and I highly recommend it! Dwight Sanders


A gem in Michigan wine country.

4,4 en julio 05, 2012

Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, great food and a lovely room (Vega). I can't wait to return again soon.


Black Star in June

4,6 en julio 02, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Black Star Farms B&B! Beautiful place all around. The staff was fabulous. We felt like we were very far from home in another part of the world for a few short days. Great mini vacation!


Perfect!

4,4 en julio 02, 2012

Picturesque setting....wonderful service....luscious wine...and incredible food.


Honeymoon at the Inn at Black Star Farms

5 en julio 02, 2012

Honestly there is not one bad thing I could possibly say about the Inn at Black Star Farms. From the bottle of wine upon arrival, the friendly staff and very clean comfortable room you really cannot go wrong. The breakfast each morning was above and beyond what I expected. And the best part of it all was being able to go out and visit the beautiful horses at the stables each morning. I HIGHLY recommend the Inn and will be visiting again, you can count on that.


June 2012 vacation

5 en junio 25, 2012

Absolutely fab! we had the Lyra room. it's the smallest, but not cramped with lots of storage. it was very romantic and quiet, even though the inn was full. the staff was outstanding. the breakfasts were fantastic - inventive and delicious. the grounds were lovely. we were able to take several long walks through the vineyards. The tasting room was great. they were very knowledgable about shipping to different states (Indiana has funky rules). we will definitely be back. Sally and Eric


Wedding Weekend at Black Star Farms

5 en junio 18, 2012

This Inn is over the top. I spent a weekend there for my grandson's wedding in early June and found this place to be the best ever. It rained all weekend, but didn't spoil the setting as the inside of the Inn is as charming as the outside. By far, one of the best places I have had the pleasure to sleep, eat, drink wine, and relax! The staff is superb and no detail is missed!


Lovely

4,4 en junio 13, 2012

Everything was great. It was pricy, but you definitely received a lot in return. Only complaint was that our room door to the back did not lock and that caused some anxiety. Wonderful sheets and comfy bed. Would definitely go back in the future.


Vega

4,0 en junio 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay; the room was clean and fairly quiet (the A/C unit ran steadily, but that white noise drowned out any other sounds so we slept very well) and the staff was very friendly and helpful (even the dog ;). The meals were truly outstanding and my wife and I both loved learning about the food and the preparation process from Stephanie, the Energizer Bunny Chef! Not having a gym was no issue, a hike or run on the grounds is an excellent workout. The WiFi service is very good, and the bar/reading room was a great place to hide out and catch up on work/email and let my wife sleep in.


You'll LOVE it here!!!

4,8 en junio 06, 2012

I can not say enough wonderful things about this place! The Inn and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is great. The two compaints would be the lady that worked at the cheese store. Crabby and rude!!! Asked questions about their cheese and she was a snot. Second compaint would be no fridge in rooms. Besides those couple issues it was perfect and I WILL be back:) P.S. The sheets on the bed rock! I bought a set in the little store in the Inn. Love them.


A fantastic Sunday at Black Star Farms

5 en junio 04, 2012

My husband and I were on our 21st anniversary vacation to the U.P. which included a Sunday stay at Black Star Farms. We have travelled extensively thoughout the last 20 years, but have not been up north in the spring for 19 years. We have never been to a Bed & Breakfast befere, and were looking forward to our stay. It was everything and much more than we anticipitated. To begin with all of the staff were wonderful, thoughtful and beyond helpful, including members of the tasting room. The wine and the cocktail hour was excellent. The staff in the tasting room went beyond the call of duty helping us with our tasting selections and picking out the case of wine, that we purchased. We decided we would spend the entire evening at the farm. We were a little concerned at first we my be a little hungry and bored, because the restaurant was closed. But were we wrong and hugely suprised! The food and wine at the cocktail hour was amazing. We ordered the picnic lunch for dinner. We sat out on the veranda with another bottle of amazing wine. The food in the picnic (cheese, crackers, salads and desert was plentiful). We saved one salad for lunch the next day. It was so peaceful to sit and look at animals and the scenery. We loved the music that played in the backgrouond and in our room. We took a long walk, looked at the variety of farm animals, (the curly pig really facinated me) and were ready to go to sleep in our comfortable, beautiful room. The next morning coffee was ready and we took a long walk in the woods before breakfast. The breakfast was one of the most delicious we ever had. It was all so incredibly fresh. The fruit, yougart, granola, assorted rolls. and expecially the eggs with the sauce ham and fresh greens. The chef was amazing and again service at breakfast was great. It was time to leave and head for the The Picture Rocks in Munising. We wish we had stayed one more day. We will definitely be looking forward to a return visit.


Peaceful luxury

4,6 en junio 04, 2012

Rooms were luxurious, quiet and immaculately clean. Services was efficient and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Looking forward to the next visit.

4,4 en junio 04, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Black Star in the past and purchased the most recent stay as a Christmas gift for his parents. Like us, they had nothing but rave reviews.


Excellent Inn, better than I could have imagined!

4,8 en mayo 27, 2012

The Inn at Black Star Farms exceeded our expectations in every way. Our room was wonderful and included a full kitchen. The food was fabulous and included afternoon snacks, an evening hospitality hour, and a gourmet breakfast that is probably the best I have ever eaten. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean. The grounds were beautiful also. I cannot say enough about the wonderful stay we had at the Inn. We will definitely return.


Black Star Farms

4,6 en mayo 21, 2012

We spent our 1st wedding anniversary at Black Star Farms, extricating ourselves from a week in Traverse City with family to spend a lovely evening on the peninsula. We were thrilled to find a hot tub in our suite, free wine tasting (the ice wine was out of this world) and fabulous cheese. The views were spectacular, the staff sweet and accommodating, breakfast was fabulous. I recommend.


anniversary stay

4,0 en mayo 13, 2012

excellent experience, all around great time.


What a great getaway!!

5 en mayo 11, 2012

Next time there is a discount at this place, I will be back. A great place!!!!!


Anniversary stay

5 en mayo 09, 2012

Great stay, incredible food, beautiful views and great service.


Another fantastic anniversary at BSF

5 en mayo 02, 2012

My husband and I have spent 7 of our 9 wedding anniversaries at the Inn at Black Star Farms and every visit is as wonderful as the last. The Diadem Suite is always immaculate and feels so familiar that we settle in immediately. The bed linens are divine! One of these years we will splurge and purchase a set to take home. Kellie, Jill and the culinary staff were exceptional, as always! A slightly rowdy crowd was staying at the Inn this weekend and it did alter the typical serenity we have come to expect, but that is certainly not the fault of the Inn or the staff. Breakfasts were superb. I have a dietary restriction (gluten) and this was handled perfectly. We decided to have the culinary staff prepare a picnic lunch for us to take wine tasting and have now found another BSF tradition to carry on! Well worth the price. Our only disappointment was that we were only able to stay 2 nights this time around :(


Had an amazing stay!

4,8 en abril 18, 2012

We had a great stay at Black Star Farms. The staff was friendly, grounds were beautiful and were very comfortable. We stayed in the Atlas room which had a huge bathroom and jacuzzi tub and the main room had a very comfortable bed. Would have liked a little more direction on the air conditioning which we couldn't really figure out when we got back late after dinner in Traverse City. Loved the afternoon's "happy hour" which was all you could drink wine and home made appetizers at the bar. Breakfast was excellent. And the dog Zoe is the best. It's definitely a little on the expensive side but if you are willing to splurge, it's well worth your stay.


Just Go !

4,8 en abril 11, 2012

The service. The staff. The food. The location. The Inn. Two words to sum it up: Just go!!


Anniversary Getaway

4,6 en marzo 12, 2012

This was our third or fourth time at Black Star. As always, the staff, Kellie and Jill, were very attentive and helpful. The facilities are spotless and the breakfasts are wonderful.


Wonderful winter get away!

4,6 en febrero 23, 2012

We enjoyed a great weekend get away this past holiday (Presidents Day Weekend) weekend. A stay in the Traverse City area wouldn't be complete without some wine tasting which we were able to enjoy with the many local wineries. The tasting at Black Star was our favorite (and a reason to stay at the Inn), as was the breakfasts! We made the most of our stay enjoying the many horses, snow shoeing on the property, and of course the private spa room with sauna, whirlpool, and shower. You can't help but feel at home, and with the great service, attention to detail, and perfect views making the stay even better. We have already looked on our calendars to find the next chance we can get back!


WOW!!!!

4,8 en febrero 03, 2012

I booked out room to stay 2 nights as my finace' and I were getting married. We had the whole place to ourselves since it was a slow time of year. The staff was so helpful and flexible. We were able to coordinate via email and they left a key for us, a cheese plate in the fridge downstairs as well as a selection of wines and two complimentary bottles. The room was perfect and even had a personalized letter to us waiting on the bed. In the morning there was coffee and tea waiting outside the room and when we went down to breakfast we were greeted by their incredible chef who made the best breakfast for us, truly gourmet. I would have been happy at Waffle House but this made me feel pretty darn classy. We left for the day and when we came back we had the same treatment, cheeseplate and wine left for us as well as cheesecake. Checkout was a breeze too. Class Act establishment all the way. Military friendly (we are both active duty Army and I was on R&R from Afghanistan). We also did a wine tasting with my in-laws and it was great. STAY HERE, STAY HERE, STAY HERE! We WILL be return customers.


Phenomenal B&B

4,0 en febrero 01, 2012

Fantastic weekend, accomodations were spectacular, and the staff was exceptional.


An Exceptional Experience

4,4 en febrero 01, 2012

Spend the weekend with my wife and another couple. The pictures do not do the actual facility justice. Breakfast the first morning was a pleasure but dinner that night was a pure joy; the experience was wonderful. I most certainly will be returning. The wine tasting was a fun experience with their staff.


Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway

4,4 en enero 09, 2012

We stayed at The Inn for two nights at the end of December. It was so peaceful to visit the winery in the stillness of the non-peak season. Make sure you attend the appetizer and wine hour in the early evening, as it's a great way to indulge in BSF wines and engage in conversation with fellow guests. The breakfast is creative and delicious, and the chef is happy to accommodate any food intolerances. We will definitely stay again!


Awesome B&B

4,6 en enero 05, 2012

This place was well worth the price. Even on a snowy Sunday we had a great time. We will be back.


Romantic Weekend Getaway

4,0 en enero 05, 2012

We enjoyed our romantic weekend getaway at Black Star Farms so much we're already planning a trip back in the summer! The staff was friendly, the grounds are gorgeous, the room was comfortable. We enjoyed in room massages and delicious wine and food while there. Couldn't have asked for a better winter weekend getaway!


Wonderful Place

4,8 en diciembre 21, 2011

Black Star Farms is a wonderful B&B to spend relaxing days and nights at. The inn is beautiful, the staff are warm and helpful, and the breakfast is to die for! We opted to dine with them for dinner on our 2nd evening there. It by far was one of the best dinners we have had. Black Star has and always will be a favorite get away place for us.


It was just what the Doctor ordered!

5 en diciembre 19, 2011

My fiance and I spent a "long weekend" at this bed and breakfast in December recently when it was 50 degrees and raining the entire time. The last time we went to Northern Michigan in December we went to ski....Go figure......With no hesitation it was 5 star all the way!


unbelievable weekend stay

5 en diciembre 12, 2011

our stay at Black Star Farms far exceeded any of our expectations! We absolutely loved it and cannot wait to return. We were blown away by the incredible service as soon as you walk in.. and it didn't even stop. We were very impressed with the Inn and all it had to offer. We were pleasantly surprised to receive an up-grade to a larger room and we were thrilled with the view, the fireplace, and the amenities. The spa/sauna/shower room was just what we needed after a stressful week and we loved that it was available throughout out entire stay! We thoroughly enjoyed the cocktail hour, where the hostess was there chatting and offering local recommendations. Lastly, the breakfast was outstanding. We raved about the presentation and flavor.. it was truly one of a kind. We could not have asked for anything more We cannot wait to return and cannot thank the staff enough for such an incredible weekend at the Black Star.


Oh the weather outside was frightful...

4,6 en diciembre 10, 2011

Despite the gloom of cold rain, the fireplace in Caster and Pollux was fantastic! We spent our mini-moon after our wedding last year at Black Star Farms in 2010 so it seemed fitting to return for our 1 year anniversary. While the room we had last year (Diadem) was booked, C & P was perfect...quiet, romantic, and cozy. Once again, the breakfasts were divine and fueled us for a day of exploring wine country on the Leelanau and Old Mission Peninsulas. After celebrating at the Cook's House for our anniversary dinner, we were able to enjoy our bottle of wine provided by the inn and snuggle in front of the fireplace. We were sad to leave on Sunday but look forward to returning for many anniversaries to come!


Fabulous B&B!

4,8 en diciembre 07, 2011

We try to get up to Blackstar every year. The atmosphere is so warm and relaxing, and the staff does a great job keeping the Inn clean and cozy.


best bed and breakfast

5 en diciembre 01, 2011

have been here wine tasting before bueatiful place kindest people ever . very down to earth food awsome everything raised and grown on farm.top notch chefs.best wine and spirits on bay a must stay booked honeymoon.AWSOME


Our favorite place to stay in Northern Michigan.

5 en noviembre 16, 2011

We've stayed at Black Star Farms nearly every year since they opened the Inn. Our favorite room is Diadem, but we've stayed in most of them and all are just wonderful. The breakfasts are a work of art, and those warm cookies hit the spot upon returning from an afternoon of wine tasting. Jill and Kellie are a pleasure, as are the chefs and Don, the managing partner. We've taken several couples with us to stay at BSF over the years, and all have had the same terrific feedback after our trips. We recommend BSF regularly to others. It's a very special place.


Weekend Getaway

3,6 en noviembre 15, 2011

This was our first time at a B&B and we really weren't sure what to expect. Our visit was at the beginning of the week and off season. Things were quiet but being the end of October we expected that. Would love to visit again another time maybe early or late summer when the farm has more to see. We very much enoyed the winemakers' contribution of port to the lounge.


Fabulous Get-away!

4,8 en noviembre 12, 2011

Our first stay here, for our 19th wedding anniversary, and we were treated like royalty! Cozy room, lounge for hors d'oeuvres and wine, fresh coffee outside our door in the morning. We are definitely coming back!


Pampered to Perfection

4,8 en noviembre 10, 2011

Black Star Farm Inn is truly an outstanding experience. From the moment you walk in the front door and are greeted by name, to the evening appetizer and wine reception, comfortable, clean rooms, and an awesome breakfast you feel that everyone is there to make your experience the best.


Black Star Farms

5 en noviembre 09, 2011

My husband & I found Black Star Farms years ago while doing our wine tour in Traverse City. We now celebrate our anniversary there either in october or November. We love it. This was our 4th year staying at the Inn. The Inn is so attractive, clean and comfortable! The food is spectacular and the wine is fabolous. The entire staff is so enjoyable, friendly and down to earth. We truly hate leaving when our weekend is over and we immediately look forward to returning.


Fall Get-a-way

4,2 en noviembre 01, 2011

Our room was very comfortable, nice to have 2 chairs! The eveing host was friendly and gave us a great suggestion for a local restaurant. The evening snacks and wine were delicious. We were expecting an outstanding breakfast however, the winter squash entree was rather bland (bealutiful presention though).


a wonderfule Weekend

5 en octubre 24, 2011

The room was very comfortable.The service and friendliness of the staff was above average.Along with the two breakfats we also had dinner there on the Saturday night and really enjoyed the meal.We will come again soon.


Pre-Honey Moon Stay

4,6 en octubre 23, 2011

The best Traverse area in Michigan has to offer is Black Star Farms. There is no better place to stay than here. Service, food, rooms, and everything else I can't even think of right now is no better than here. They new our names as we arrived, the book on service needs to be rewritten by them. Don't hesitate to ask about anything. If they can provide it they will and better than what you thought. If they can't they'll provide more education than you need to make an easy decision that once gains provides the best experience you can have in the area. The walk around the property as the sun was setting was the second most relaxing part of our stay. The most relaxing was the stay in our room. I almost bought the sheets and am regretting that I didn't. Cheers to the chef in the morning. The closeness to all things Traverse is a huge plus.


Black Star Farms

4,2 en octubre 21, 2011

Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Happy hour is a nice extra. Breakfast entrees are exceptional and presentation is lovely. This was our second visit; the inn is pricey but worth the occasional splurge.


Fall Vacation Trip

4,6 en octubre 21, 2011

We stayed one night as an overnight in between two other stops. All part of a planned vacation. Our experience at the Black Star Inn was the best. In hind sight we would have spent more time there and less in another spot. I will plan a trip back to Black Star Farms and I will spend more than one night.


Very Romantic & Relaxing Getaway

4,4 en octubre 16, 2011

This is the second out of three inns that my husband and I stayed at during our Michigan vacation. This inn was so fabulous that I couldn't help but be disappointed in the other two. For as fancy as the destination was, we felt extremely comfortable—almost like it was a second home. We would love to go back one day, and I wouldn't recommend any other inn in the Traverse City area over this one. Though pricey, I don't regret a single penny spent.


great

5 en octubre 11, 2011

we enjoyed a picnic and the romance pkg. breakfast was very good.


Black Star Farms in October

5 en octubre 11, 2011

What a wonderful time we had. The Inn was Outstanding as were it's staff and food. Many great wineries in the area. Wonderful weather while the colors were at their peak.


Great Getaway in Northern Michigan's Wine Country

3,8 en octubre 11, 2011

Celebrated our 15th anniversary with a trip to the Leelanau Peninsula wineries and Black Star Farms. The Inn is wonderful and the staff warm and inviting. Stayed in the Diadem room and didn't want to leave! However, the scrumptious breakfasts, nightly wine reception and dinner in the Arcturos Room drew us out. Also arranged for an in-room massage by the fire...simply decadent! Pricy but worth it for a special occasion.


Black Star Farms B&B what every B&B hopes it could be.

4,6 en octubre 05, 2011

Beautiful setting, Outstanding rooms, Great location, Reception hour was great, and the company was terrific.


Beautiful place, wish we had stayed 2 nights. Snacks Ok breakfast great.

4,0 en septiembre 30, 2011

Stayed 1 night, had a great time. Beautiful place. Lots of great wine....Wish we could stay 2. Will definitely go back.


10th Anniversary Memories

5 en septiembre 26, 2011

What a fabulous place to celebrate our 10th anniversary! It far exceeded our expectations


Black Star is the best.

5 en septiembre 21, 2011

I have been to many B & B's and the Black star is one of best I've stayed in. The room was beautiful with a wonder jet tub in the large bath. The food was well presented and very very good and the staff did all they could to make our stay enjoyable.


Best stay in Michigan

5 en septiembre 16, 2011

Top notch as always,the Chef's produce the most tasteful bruch I've ever expierenced. Rodger/Pat


Black Star Farms Bed and Breakfast

5 en septiembre 08, 2011

When you arrive you are greeted by a lady (Jacqueline on this visit) who checks you in and gives you a tour of the Inn. She was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the Inn, the grounds, the winery and the local area. Being a Bed and Breakfast, breakfast is included. I've stayed at a lot of B&B's, this breakfast is spectacular. They include a private wine tasting (with appetizers) everyday for Inn guests. If you wanted to escape from your world and come to quiet and pretty, this is the place. They have a winery and cheese making building on site, a little cafe for a light meal, beautiful grounds and wonderful/friendly staff. On the other hand, there are a lot of fun things in the area as well. We can't say enough good (obviously) about the Black Star Farms!


Made our 25th Anniversary very special!

5 en septiembre 08, 2011

Our stay was a very good experience! The accomodations were good, clean and well kept. The breakfasts were unique and always delivered warm and soon after our arrival at our table. The fact that there was an abundant amount of wine available for guest made our anniversary stay there quite enjoyable as well! Diadem was a special place! We did not want to leave.


Black Star Frequenter

4,8 en agosto 31, 2011

I have to come back to the Inn at least once a year. It feels like my own personal retreat.


Favorite Place to Stay in Michigan

4,6 en agosto 26, 2011

This was our second stay. It won't be our last. This is admittedly a bit of a splurge for us, but we love the wine, love the setting, love the rooms.


Black Star Farms is very nice!

4,6 en agosto 22, 2011

Everything was wonderful, from the beautiful room, to hospitality hour, to the friendly staff. The food was delicious, but we wish they could have accommodated our dietary restrictions a little better (we're pescetarians). We were not notified that there was meat in seafood paella, so I had to reorder my dinner entree, which was not properly made in time (although they didn't charge me for dinner and gave me the proper entree to go - that was nice). The beef tenderloin and ham in the breakfast entrees were simply omitted, nothing was substituted in their place. I kind of expected something comparable to other diners, not something less. However, we would go back for the service, friendly staff and beautiful location.


Always a nice time

4,0 en agosto 22, 2011

This was our second time at Black Star Farms. We plan to return next year.


Room too small

3,6 en agosto 20, 2011

We stayed in the Lyra bedroom--for the price and the associated amentities at the Inn, this room was quite unsatisfactory--too small, and a double bed. Of course we knew it was a double, but in all the many B&Bs we have visited, we have never had smaller than a queen and never this small a room. Otherwise the stay was great-most enjoyable breakfast and a friendly, helpful and knowledgable hostess at the evening wine hour


August stay

3,2 en agosto 20, 2011

The Inn has very friendly staff who create a cheerful environment. We liked the relaxed and open atmosphere and found it perfect for a lake vacation. The decor in the rooms and common are completely out of date. Black carpeting was used throughout our room, even in the bathroom. There also is no bag porter so you have to lug your bags upstairs - there isn't an elevator. Due to the outdated style and limited activities on the property, we believe the cost of the rooms was too high. There are so many options in the $400 range around the country, we most likely will not return, unless the Inn gets updated. However, if we need to return to the area this Inn is probably the best property.


Aug, 2011

3,0 en agosto 19, 2011

Everything about the Inn was what as expected due to their website. The staff at the Inn and wine tasting area were very helpful. We enjoyed the wine tasting and the discounts provided due to our stay. The equestrian facility was an added bonus as we are raised horses for 20 years. Stable staff very friendly. It's been some time since I have stay and tasted MI wine. I am pleasantly surprised how good they are. I would stay again. Too bad the afternoon wine and munchies are served so late, makes getting to dinner somewhere difficult due to the fact that the Inn is located at least 20 - 30mins from Traverse City.


Beautiful place

4,2 en agosto 19, 2011

They provide a complimentary bottle of wine on check-in, excellent chocolates on your bed, a ceiling fan and jacuzzi tube, lots of little things that add to the overall excellent accomadations.


Northern Michigan Delight

4,8 en agosto 17, 2011

Lovely large room with all wished for amenities; setting is beautiful; food is excellent; and most of all, people are really nice! Not inexpensive, but worth it. A perfect base for exploring MI wineries and/or Sleeping Bear Dunes Lakeshore.


A wonderful get-a-way

4,4 en agosto 17, 2011

We arrived to the Inn at Black Star Farms and we were immediately met by friendly and helpful staff. We loved the amazing breakfast each morning and the very relaxed, friendly atmosphere of all who work there. The room was warm and fresh. The grounds were lovely. The proprietor was on hand each morning for a breakfast "chat." Lovely touch. We would return.


Betelguise

3,6 en agosto 13, 2011

Very nice room although the walls are quite thin. The service and dining were excellent.


Great service

4,2 en agosto 09, 2011

Inn closer to main road than expected but otherwise exceeded my expectations. Best part was the great service. Very unobtrusive and made us feel like we owned the place. Great fun to walk around their grounds including farm animals, horses, tasting room.


Black Star Stay August 2011

4,8 en agosto 08, 2011

thoroughly enjoyed - the Inn is beautiful, the food marvelous, the views awesome!


Review of Blackstar Farms

4,0 en agosto 05, 2011

We stayed two nights at Blackstar Farms in Suttons Bay, Michigan, in the Mira room (suite).


Perfect place to unwind.

3,8 en agosto 03, 2011

We were very pleased with the facility as a whole. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The dining, the wines and cocktail hour treats were all outstanding. The farm and stables added to the very relaxing atmosphere.


Our second family

5 en julio 23, 2011

My wife and I have made the BlackStar an annual spot for our anniversary every year for the last 10 years in a row. We have never been disappointed with the ambiance and the royal treatment we get from Jill and Street and the rest of the staff every year. It has been so great that we have increased our stay to a full week for the last few years and it is still not enough. My brother and I are songwriters and have had a many inspiring moments there and our music has been greatly motivated by our visits there. We get treated like family and we consider this our true vacation home. There is not one room at the inn that will disappoint as we have had stays in most of them. And the food has always been great from our former friend Cory to now the infamous Street, never a bad meal has come forth on over 10 years. No one can pick a better place to make a vacation stay than the BlackStar. And to add, Suttons Bay is also such a nice town and as laid back as any small town in any other part of the country. There is no way you can have a bad experience in this great place. And I did not even mention the winery…….


Great stay at Blackstar Farms

4,6 en julio 20, 2011

This is a lovely property in Michigan wine country. The room, breakfast, wine, and farm aspect of the prpoerty was great! Also the surrounding towns were fun to explore with great views of water and vineyards.


Black Star Farms

4,2 en julio 17, 2011

We included a stay at Black Star Farms as part of a two day winery tour and it was everything other guests had said it would be. Relaxing and a great breakfast. Don't miss the tasting as part of the package.


Great weekend

4,4 en julio 12, 2011

Relaxing and graceful. We loved everythign about it- from the lovely landscaping to the wine tasting and evening appetizers.


First time at the Inn and will go back....

4,6 en julio 11, 2011

Delightful Inn with very warm and friendly staff. Food was fabulous. Very relaxing.


A grand affair

5 en julio 10, 2011

We love spending time here! It allows us to rest and rejuvenate in a luxurious manner!


Fourth of July Stay at Black Star Farms

4,2 en julio 08, 2011

Though there was a bit of an issue with the air conditioning in our room, they more than made up for it by upgrading us to a larger room and taking a significant discount off the nights we stayed in the room with the defective air. The grounds were gorgeous and the gourmet food was delicious. I highly recommend staying here if you are considering it :)


Celebrating

4,8 en julio 07, 2011

Our second visit. This time for our 45th wedding anniversary. Our children ordered special wine and 'treats' for our arrival and all was in place in spite of our earlier than expected arrival. Friendly and helpful staff. Food excellent - and chefs were always available to answer questions about preparation. Host greeted all guests at breakfast each morning. Evening social hour was a great mixer to meet other guests. Grounds and winery were spotless and fun to visit and walk. We will return again.


Wedding June 21

3,6 en julio 06, 2011

Jill, the innkeeper is one of the kindest, sweetest people you could meet. Very resourceful and creative. Jonathan, the chef, was arrogant and we were disappointed with our breakfasts. Our catered event was outstanding, everyone raved. Jonathan was the only person who was not friendly and caring. Everyone was so wonderful, asking if everything was OK. Chef Jonathan never bothered. We still love the place. I guess when you are capable of creating fine cuisine, your personality might be compromised.


An amazing time!

4,4 en julio 01, 2011

Our stay at Black Star Farms was amazing! The inn was clean & the staff was very helpful; they made us feel very welcome! The wine on tap was great! We will definately be back!


Small Honeymoon Escape

4,2 en junio 27, 2011

My new husband and I stayed here after a hectic wedding in Petoskey. It was a quiet, peaceful and amazing getaway to spend 3 nights. We were so relaxed after we left - I couldn't remember the last time I've felt that way. We had the romance package and got the massages which were amazing. The food was wonderful, breakfast was always filling. Would definitely come here again!


Great Michigan Wine but Only Average Accommodations

4,0 en junio 13, 2011

Beautiful setting and the best of Michigan wines but the rooms and the service are disappointing.


Excellent Botique Resort

4,0 en junio 12, 2011

Our stay at Blackstar was wonderful. We arrived at the resort after 9:00 pm and were glad our room key was waiting along with a picnic basket dinner prepared by the chef for us. We stayed in the Castor and Pollux Room, one of only 7 in the resort. The mood lighting is well designed offering a variety of options combined with a fireplace made for a very romantic dinner. The room was spacious with a comfy bed you will not want to get out of. The food is very rich with a French flair but a pleasant surprise to the palate. The food is grown on site with a menu that changes with the seasons. As a Cabernet fan, I was blown away at how good the House Red wine was that Blackstar produces. It is the best relatively inexpensive red wine I have ever drank. In addition, the 2010 Arturos Pinot Gris is an out of this world white. On our way out of town we were fortunate enough to get a personal wine tasting from one of the resort partners in the Tasting Room. Although fairly expensive this Boutique Resort is clearly worth the cost. We will be back in the future.


Beautiful Inn -- a must if you're ever in Northern MI

5 en junio 06, 2011

My husband and I stayed here recently in the Diadem room for our fifth anniversary and we had the most amazing time. Everything was absolutely perfect and the staff were all amazing. Don't miss breakfast -- it's worth the stay just for this fabulous meal!


Perfect Romantic getaway

4,8 en junio 04, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon last week, and were completely enamored by everything about Black Star Farms. The breakfast given each morning is amazing, and made with many organic products that are grown onsite (bacon, asparagus, etc) and/or from local businesses. The farm onsite has an array of animals, which for an animal lover like myself was a joy (baby turkeys, horses, chickens, goats, baby geese, pigs). The wine tasting that is given to you complimentary as a guest was wonderful. Besides finding many wines (Pinot Gris, House Red and White, etc) that were wonderful, we were also treated to finding some amazing brandy's that were made, as well as, some wonderful cheeses (There Raclette is a must try!!). I also have to mention there staff. Each and every person we encountered were true custodians, going above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyed. Most importantly, the room we stayed in was absolutely perfect. The room was very well made, having an abundance of storage cabinets for clothing, his/her sinks and the most comfortable sheets I have ever had the pleasure of having in a hotel/inn.


Great Stay

3,8 en junio 04, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Clean, spacious room; many common areas for relaxing. Gourmet breakfast and afternoon appetizers. High class all the way.


Ernie's 75th Birthday Adventure

4,4 en junio 02, 2011

Fabulous dinner in the Arcturos Room which included the seasonal asparagus and morel mushrooms on the menu. It was Asparagus Festival Weekend in Empire, so the inclusion of these Spring delicacies was divine. Ernie (the Birthday Boy) enjoyed his very first massage...and the Jacuzzi tub in the Atlas room was above and beyone our expectations! Imagine the ambiance of lightning flashing through the skylight, votive candles reflected in the mirrored tub surround - and a bathtub easily big enough for two tall people! It was wonderful.


Spring Stay at Black Star Farms

4,0 en junio 01, 2011

We stayed at Black Star Farms in mid spring. There are quite a few things to do right on their property and they are centrally located in the Traverse City wine country. The Atmosphere was very comfortable and Jill the innkeeper was very warming and welcoming.


Can't wait to go back!

4,4 en mayo 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a belated anniversary getaway in early May. The staff was amazing and so friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely outstanding - I still dream about those breakfasts! We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Highly recommended.


Pefect 25th Anniversary

4,8 en mayo 13, 2011

From the winery to the Inn, we were treated like royalty. The location is perfect. Brought our bikes and rode the Leelanau Trail for 30 miles (You can pick up the trail just down the road from Black Star Farms).


Gold Star for the Black Star Farms

4,0 en abril 30, 2011

This was our 25th anniversary and they made it special. We had a massage, a long stem rose for my wife and a special bottle of Champaigne with two Black Star Farms flutes to take home. The breakfast was a treat unto itself, we have dined at some good restaurants and the chef made this an experiece we intend to go back for. The off season was perfect for us, we had the inn to ourselves and it was very enjoyable. If you're looking for a mid week retreat that will treat you head to Black Star Farms.


Weekend at Blackstar Farms

4,2 en abril 30, 2011

Had a great weekend! Big comfortable room, great breakfast, and all the wine you can drink!


Exceptional as always

4,6 en abril 20, 2011

Staying at the Inn at Black Star Farms is an amazing experience. Every person you come in contact with is committed to making your stay the best experience of your life. The rooms are luxurious - even the smallest rooms. From the towels to the guest robes to the bed linens and pillows, everything about this inn screams luxury. The breakfast is prepared and presented flawlessly - made from products from their farm and nearby suppliers. A new addition to the experience was dinner in the Arcturos Dining Room. We had to try it - as good as any restaurant in the area.


birthday getaway

4,0 en abril 20, 2011

Just returned from a weekend at Black Star Farms and had a very good time. Unlimited wine for the weekend. The food was good though not everyone likes Eggs Benedict. Kelly served up the food and never told us what we were getting. The rooms were very nice and luxurious.


Outstanding in every way!

5 en abril 13, 2011

I could not imagine a better getaway for us and our friends. Everyone on staff was warm and genuinely good people- we ate ourselves into happy food comas at every opportunity. The facility, the wine and the people were amazing!


anniversary stay

4,8 en abril 13, 2011

The Inn is beautiful and the setting dramatic. The staff made us feel very much at home; the hospitality hour appetizers were creative and delicious and would have been a satisfying meal in and of themselves. However, I would not recommend skipping dinner because dinner in the Inn's restaurant was wonderful, great food, beatuifully plated, and a most gracious wait staff. Guests also enjoy a complimentary tasting in the tasting room next door and the staff there is just as knowledgeable, gracious and upbeat as the staff at the Inn. Overall, the stay could not have been more delightful.


4-1-2011 weekend stay at Black Star Farms

4,0 en abril 06, 2011

The overall presentation of the Inn was great. The hospitality of the staff was very warm and welcoming. Everyone was very personable and took time to have a conversation and share the secrets of the area. Before we left, my wife and I were discussing when we'd be back. The food was incrediable and we wish we ate there the second night. The only thing we wish they had was an espresso machine. There was plenty of food and drinks and it was a very relaxing and inviting place. Our next trip we plan to just stay at the Inn and not venture out because there is a lot to do just on the grounds.


Beautiful and Relaxing

4,4 en marzo 30, 2011

The Mira room was really beautiful, the staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was very inviting. The whole experience was outstanding! We will definitely visit again.


Birthday Weekend #5

4,2 en marzo 10, 2011

As always, spectacular service, food and wine. This is the 5th year in a row and I have never been dissapointed. My favorite food and wine get-away.


Black Star Farms

4,6 en febrero 24, 2011

We always love going to Black Star. Great rooms, great riesling, great breakfasts and hospitality hour...we try to make it up there at least once a year.


Inn at Black Star Farms

4,6 en febrero 24, 2011

We stayed for a winter getaway and it couldn't have been nicer. We will be back!


We can't wait to go back!!

4,6 en febrero 23, 2011

A friend recommended the Inn for our 25th anniversary weekend getaway. We can't say enough good things about BSF. Our weekend was relaxing, peaceful, fun, and just what we needed. The staff was very welcoming, the food was incredible, and the whole atmosphere was comfortable and yet classy. And did we mention the excellent wine? We can't wait to return and bring our friends.


Black Star Farms

4,6 en febrero 08, 2011

Amazing stay. Beautiful, serene, perfect for a snowshoeing weekend. The food was the best. Wish the rooms were not so expensive. Would stay more often!


Relaxing in the Winter

4,2 en enero 31, 2011

We took a few days to go to the Traverse City area to relax and snow shoe. The Black Star Inn has 168 acres in which to snow show, they have very good wine, very good service, good breakfasts and nice rooms allowing for a very relaxing time.


January Gem

4,2 en enero 26, 2011

Black Star is the best B&B I've been to...casual but elegant. Staff is genuine, easy-going, and attentive. Innkeeper Kellie makes you feel like you belong and Owner Don comes and greets everyone at breakfast. The happy hour was fabulous to get to know other guests. This B&B just gives you a happy feeling...you don't want to leave. Wine touring in the winter is great!...smaller crowds at the wineries, more personal attention, and everyone seems to be relaxed. Overall excellent experience.


Outstanding!

4,8 en enero 05, 2011

Stayed at the Inn during a light snowstorm in December. It was a beautiful and romantic place to relax with my fiance, who said "yes" to my proposal while at the Inn. Wine was great and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was gourmet!


Cozy Winter Retreat

4,6 en enero 05, 2011

We have enjoyed the beauty and hospitality of the Inn at Black Star Farms in the Summer, so we decided to make a visit in the Winter to celebrate the snow. With its delicious, hearty breakfasts prepared with locally-sourced ingredients, we were energized to blaze the trail for hiking and cross-country skiing. The Inn enfolds you with warmth as you return from a day out in the elements, and it is gratifying to soak in the tub and use the sauna after an active day in the snow. Not to be missed is the hospitality hour. The gracious Innkeepers, Jill and Kellie, pour selections from the winery, paired with light bites from the kitchen, and assist in making dinner reservations and answering questions about the area from their wealth of experience. If an Inn can be judged by its guests, then Black Star Farms is a jovial, intriguing friend, who we enjoy seeing time and again.


Black Star Farms....A Little Slice of Heaven

5 en enero 04, 2011

My husband and I wanted a low key New Year's Eve where we could ring in the New Year and not have the hustle and bustle of crowds and the worry of drinking and driving. Black Star Farms exceeded are expectations. We enjoyed ourselves from the moment we stepped foot in the door! Our room was awesome, I believe it was called the Mira. The tasting room, which we indulged in prior to the 5:30 to 6:30 hospitality wine in the commons area, was a pure delight! We met several other couples that we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know and then it was time for our 7:00 p.m. dinner reservation. Our waitress, Stephanie, was so bubbly and entertaining and made our eveing even that much more enjoyable! We grabbed a few of the party favors, hats and noise makers and made our way back to our room and took advantage of the complimentary bottle of Chardonnay in our fridge! I give this property an A+. It was incredible and I look forward to coming back soon! The staff was excellent and there wasn't a single detail they didn't think of or miss. A fresh pot of coffee and fixings for tea even waited outside our room in the morning. Chocolates on the pillow the night before.......absolutely the best!! That's the only way I can think to express it! Black Star Farms is definately a place everyone should experience, at least once! I know I plan on being back many, many times! Thank you Black Star Farms for a memorable ring in to the New Year, 2011!!


Awesome time..we want to make it an annual trip!!!

5 en enero 03, 2011

It was just perfect..the room..the breakfast seemed like something you would get at the Four Seasons or even better..it was the best romantic get away from the kids we have had in years..


December stay

4,4 en enero 01, 2011

This Inn is quiet and relaxing. The service and friendliness of the staff and the Inn and in the Winery is outstanding. Whenever we need a place to get away relax and recharge it is Blackstar Farms that we choose any time of year.


Black star was all Stars to us

4,8 en diciembre 12, 2010

Black Star Farm was a great place to stay. It was the best way we could think of to relax. The people that worked at the B&B real know how to make their guests feel welcomed. Thank for they stay.


Great first experience

4,8 en diciembre 11, 2010

We discovered that we were the only 2 guests (mid-week) and had the beautiful environs to outselves. Appetizers, complimentary bottle of wine, cookies, etc. were wonderfully thoughtful touches. Even though there were just the 2 of us we received full and cordial treatment from everyone on the staff. A perpetual snow shower certainly made the evening in front of the fireplace a toasty experience.


The Best B & B Ever!

5 en diciembre 01, 2010

The host and staff were very gracious and accommodating. The food was superb and the surrounding area was gorgeous. George Patak Farmington Hills, Michigan


Elopement

5 en noviembre 15, 2010

We eloped to Black Star Farms and had an amazing expereince. It was everything we hoped for and more. The room was gorgeous, the hospitality amazing and the grounds absolutely beautiful! I would strongly recommend staying there.


Fall at the Inn

4,4 en noviembre 07, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the Inn, you are treated wonderful from the moment you get there. Happy hour with fantastic snacks at 5:00, wine tasting in walking distance and a superb breakfast! The cafe was not open and dinner was not served when we were there because the chefs were away at a class. Super soft sheets and beautiful property! Highly recommend!


Black Star Farms...Very Close to a Shinning Star

3,0 en octubre 26, 2010

Beautiful inn, grounds, and setting. Enjoyed a three night stay in the Maira suite. Having stayed at many inns with simular room rates, Black Star just missed the ball on service. While Innkeeper and Staff were nice, they lacked going the extra mile to assure your satisfaction during the stay. I would not rule them out for future stays, just hope they strive for continous improvement.


Stay at Black Star Farms

3,4 en octubre 25, 2010

Absolutely beutiful facility, grounds are stunning. Limited dining options nearby.


Autumn at Black Star Farms Inn

5 en octubre 12, 2010

I was greeted by a gracious, friendly Innkeeper, welcomed back by the housekeeping staff, and enjoyed the social hour. I took advantage of the Hearth and Vine restaurant on the property to enjoy both lunch and dinner. The wood fired pizza was excellent! All of this to be topped by the marvelous breakfast created by the chef. I'm going back in two weeks and can't wait!


Love Black Star Farms!

4,4 en octubre 07, 2010

We look forward to coming here every Fall. Wonderful atmosphere, great wine and exceptional breakfast!! :)


Black Star Farms Enjoyable Stay

4,2 en septiembre 22, 2010

We arrived on Saturday and only stayed one night. The level of privacy is fantastic as you cannot even walk into the lobby without a key. If potential customers want information on the Inn, they have to take a pamphlet from an outdoor kiosk...I really enjoyed this as you don't have people walking around who are not guests (very nice).. Access to the wine tasting room and your tastings are unlimited as a guest at the Inn. You also have a private tasting in the lounge that is not open to the public but only the guests...This area was full of rich wood, fireplace and leather seating...along with the regular bar. Guests also have unlimited access to house wine on tap from 6:30pm until the next day. Gourmat breakfast was fantastic with homemade snakes and their own roasted coffee. My wife and I plan on returning 1 or 2 times a year for the R&R at this wonderful / private retreat.


You might want to hold up and and save your money

1,8 en septiembre 16, 2010

Nice but nothing special. Room was ok but small and not what was pictured. I have traveled all over and the dollar value was not there. This would be a 2 star hotel for perceived value and they really need to step it up a big notch to bring it up to a 4. I am very serious in saying that it's ok but nothing for the price. There are other much better deals in the area. Also the breakfast needs to be much more than what is given. Breakfast is the least expensive meal to prepare and to skimp, for the amount you are paying is ludicrous.


Perfect Escape

4,8 en septiembre 02, 2010

Black Star Inn is the the Perfect escape. It is a beautiful Inn in a gorgeous setting. It is impeccably clean. The atmosphere is elegant but relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast is a gourmet delight. All of our expectations were far exceeded. Of course the wine tasting was fun too. We can not wait to return.


Exquisite Experience

5 en agosto 21, 2010

We celebrated one glorious day for our 11th wedding anniversary and had a fabulous time. Thank you to the Innkeepers for arranging our stay in the Atlas room and the wine tour with A. Paradise tours. Kudos to the fabulous female chef who cooked us a sinfully delicious thai corncake, ham, egg & spinach breakfast. We joined your wine club and came home with lots of great wines and memories that we will never forget. We will be back!!!!!!! Thank you all so very much. :)


Outstanding Experience

5 en agosto 16, 2010

The service was a perfect balance between personal attention and unintrusiveness, the setting was beautiful, the wine was fun. We certainly would return.


Weekend WIth Friends

5 en septiembre 23, 2009

We brought 2 friends to enjoy the wonderful farm & all the amenities. We have been sharing for 9 years! We love it there.


Incredible!

4,8 en noviembre 17, 2008

This was by far the nicest, most luxurious bed and breakfast I have ever visited. Everything, down to the last detail, has been thought of at this inn. I stayed here with 3 friends and I will definitely come back and bring my husband next time!


Peace and Elegance

5 en enero 03, 2008

We toured the wineries, including the sampling room at Black Star Farms. We walked the trails in the woods behind the B & B. It was a beautiful and peaceful place to be.


Inn at Black Star Farms

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $225 - $395
  • Comentarios (199) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 10
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2319441251
  • Fax 1-2319441259

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba