Waldo Emerson Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Ver detalles

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
162 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Best stay ever

5 en agosto 29, 2016

Love our vacation to Maine. It was such a great experience staying at the Waldo Emerson Inn. It was very clean and central to everything best breakfasts ever. Your Host's are very charming. Love, Love this place! Paulette Pierce


First B&B experience

5 en agosto 20, 2016

This was my first stay in a B&B, and John and Kathy set the bar high! They went over the top to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfasts were beyond our expectations. This is somewhere I'd return again.


East Coast Trip

5 en agosto 19, 2016

Loved it !!! John and Kathy were great hosts! Made us feel right at home,and provided us with any info we needed. Beautiful home,Great breakfasts,and the company of Waldo! AAAA++++


Beautiful and affordable B&B in Kennebunk

5 en agosto 07, 2016

This is a beautiful and affordable B&B in Kennebunk. Beautiful grounds, tastefully appointed rooms and great breakfasts! Also very close to Kennebunkport.


First B&B experience

5 en agosto 03, 2016

We, very much, enjoyed our first stay at a B&B and having stayed at Waldo Emerson Inn has convinced us to choose a B&B for future stays. John and Kathy (and Waldo) were very gracious hosts and very helpful in pointing out things to do and see, as well as places to eat. The breakfasts were plentiful and very tasty (John does well in the kitchen) with a course of Kathy's granola. It was a great way to meet people from other areas while sitting around the breakfast table each morning. If looking for a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay in the Kennebunk area, we would highly recommend a stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn. We will definitely stay here if we are in the area again. Thanks to John and Kathy (and Waldo-their dog) for the hospitality.


Updated but historic character retained

5 en julio 27, 2016

A n amazing truly historic old home. Wonderfully updated but retaining the historic character. Wonderful dining; gracious hospitality.


Charming and uber-friendly.

4,8 en julio 20, 2016

John and Kathy are wonderful hosts and the property is beautiful and convenient.


Our Bucketlist Trip to Maine

3,8 en julio 11, 2016

We were very comfortable at the inn and our hosts were very helpful in pointing out the various things to see and do in this beautiful part of Maine.


Lovely historic inn outside the crowded tourist village of Kennebunkport.

4,8 en junio 29, 2016

We loved the Kennebunk location and would stay here again rather than in the much more touristy Kennebunkport. But the great news is that you can drive in just a few minutes to the restaurants in the port and, in the other direction, to some nice "lobsters in the rough" spots nearby. Delicious breakfasts here, served family style.


Perfect stay in this area.

3,6 en junio 14, 2016

We stayed in the Yellow Room which was great. If you are a tall person I would choose a different room as the shower is very small. Otherwise it was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and John provided interesting conversation.


waldo emerson

5 en mayo 31, 2016

The innkeepers were welcoming and friendly. Felt like home. Fine dining for a most delicious breakfast. Will definitely be a repeat visitor.


Beautiful Historic Home

4,6 en abril 18, 2016

The Waldo Emerson Inn was beautiful. The historic significance and period furnishings made it a great place to stay. John and Kathy, the inn keepers were very friendly and welcoming. We were in the Yellow Room which was a bit small with a tiny shower but the morning sunlight and big windows were very nice. We expected a TV in the room but there wasn't one - which we met with mixed feelings. The TV in the living room was available and with the inn not at full capacity while we were there, was a private setting for us. Overall, the weekend we spent was lovely and comfortable.


More than accommodating

4,0 en noviembre 17, 2015

Spent a long weekend, enjoyed first class breakfasts, complete with homemade granola. John and Kathy truly treat you like family.


Outstanding!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5 en noviembre 13, 2015

This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast. what an outstanding place! can"t wait for our next trip. You can't help but fall in love with John & Kathy.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank for your very generous review. It sure helps us to know that you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you both again soon. It is our goal to keep improving our guests comfort and experience.


Would definitely return ,amust stay in Maine.

4,6 en noviembre 05, 2015

Caretakers of this bed-and-breakfast are very knowledgeable about the history of mean in the house. The rooms are clean with a lot of East Coast character. The breakfast served in the morning was delicious. Wonderful location to downtown area. Care provider Were knowledgeable on recommendations for dinner and sight to see the town. We would definitely return to this bed-and-breakfast.


Comfortable and Recommendable

4,6 en octubre 28, 2015

Waldo Emerson Inn Review Comfortable and Recommendable My wife and I stayed two nights at the Inn on our self-drive round New England. We found the Inn very comfortable and Kathy and John very welcoming. The communal breakfast was more than adequate with lots of imaginatively presented food. Our room was very cosy and well-furnished. The Inn is some two miles from The Port (for evening eating) but fairly easy to find in the light traffic.


Fantastic hosts

5 en octubre 27, 2015

Totally enjoyed our one night stay here, John and Kathy were very kind and knew the local area very well indeed. Breakfast was superb !


Delightful inn!

4,8 en octubre 25, 2015

We had a wonderful time in Kennebunk at the Waldo Emerson Inn! Kathy and John were great and the breakfasts were delicious. Loved enjoying the meal around one large table with the other guests. The quilt shop is lovely also.


This is what a B&B experience should be!!

5 en octubre 08, 2015

Excellent experience - this is what a B&B stay should be!!! Beautiful historic home, beautifully appointed yet comfortable rooms, host and hostess that are charming, fun and possess a wealth of local knowledge and ideas, and a scrumptious and beautifully plated and served breakfast. We will be back to stay with John and Kathy again!


Host Extraordinaire

5 en octubre 07, 2015

Host makes you feel like you have known him forever. And has great sense of humor. Not a small thing to us. Would go back.


Wonderful Time!

5 en septiembre 29, 2015

We had a wonderful time! John, the Inn Keeper, is very warm and friendly and gave us great suggestions for dining. The breakfast was very delicious and abundant! Great experience. I highly recommend.


Feeling At Home

4,8 en septiembre 28, 2015

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, John, the innkeeper, made us feel at ease and as comfortable as if we were at home. We were appreciative of the orientation he provided to us regarding the local area, including suggestions of what to see and what not to waste our time on. He regaled us with stories and made us laugh many times. The breakfast was outstanding and one of the best meals we had in our whole time in Maine.


Wonderful family like B&B.

4,4 en septiembre 27, 2015

john was a wonderful host and owner. He was always pleasant, had plenty of info on the history of the home and area that was very interesting, and was more than accomodating with anything we needed. His cooking skills far exceeded our expectations and the other guests eating with us were very pleasant and a pleasure to chat with.


Rich in History!

3,6 en septiembre 09, 2015

A fun place to stay if you are looking for quaint and historical. As a historical location you should expect a window AC unit and not a modern hotel experience. It added to our experience of the area and John & Kathy were very accommodating hosts. They gave us a good history briefing and a tasty breakfast!


Breakfast is the most important meal of the day

4,6 en agosto 26, 2015

... and as it turns out, the most fun. Not only can John cook up a storm, but Kathy is a gracious hostess who facilitates a nice breakfast conversation. The history of the house, it's character and charm, the friendliness of the host and hostess and the information to be had from Kathy about the whole area is all excellent. Our only regret is we forgot to buy some of her homemade granola to take home with us.


Waldo Emerson Inn

4,6 en agosto 24, 2015

John and Kathy couldn't have been more welcoming! Their home is old - that is what makes it special!


Perfectly Charming and Friendly

5 en agosto 20, 2015

I enjoyed my stay tremendously. The innkeepers were wonderful, Waldo their dog was friendly and became a quick new furry friend. I loved the old style rooms, furniture and beautiful quilts. The breakfast was better than perfect. I made some purchases in their quilt shop, and peeked over the fence to the Wedding Cake House. I recommend this wonderful place to everyone. I'll be back! :) C. L. Porter


Wonderful bed and breakfast

4,6 en agosto 05, 2015

John & Kathy were very friendly and very helpful with suggestions on where to eat, what to see and especially with beach towels, chairs and beach passes! Lovely inn and wonderful breakfasts each morning we were there!


Great Mother/Daughter Getaway

4,8 en agosto 05, 2015

It was a perfect place to stay while in Kennebunk! Thank you for the warm and informative welcome! We were so comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious with delightful company to boot! Thank you John and Kathy!!!


Sister's Week-end

5 en agosto 05, 2015

Wanted a B&B that could sleep 4 in 1 room. The Waldo room was perfect! The breakfast was yummy. We will revisit again.


Great Stay!

4,0 en julio 22, 2015

John and Kathy were great hosts-warm, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. Their suggestion of Mabel's Restaurant for dinner was wonderful. The breakfast was delicious. I especially loved Kathy's granola. The room was very charming as was the rest of the Inn. Would definitely stay there again.


Wonderful time!!!

5 en julio 12, 2015

john and Kathy were the perfect hosts, explains the history of the house and local landmarks and restaurants. The breakfast was perfect, better than the Maine Diner where we always stop. Highly recommend and can't wait until our next visit


Waldo Emerson Inn

4,4 en junio 05, 2015

We had a lovely stay at the Inn. Kathy and John were most helpful in giving us information about the area. The breakfast was huge and delicious! Unfortunately, we had to leave very early the next morning and weren't able to enjoy it again. The rooms were charmingly furnished, according to the period, and were very clean and pleasant. We would highly recommend it to anyone in the area.


Amazing historical B&B!

5 en junio 04, 2015

We have stayed on the Waldo Emerson B&B several times and always enjoy the ambiance. As a historical B&B, the rooms are very authentic with wide plank hardwood floors (original) and working fireplace. We always have a fire going at night! It is definitely worth the trip to Maine for this B&B, just lovely!


Great find in Maine!

4,6 en mayo 30, 2015

We loved our stay at Waldo Emmerson Inn! John and Kathy are the most welcoming hosts, they made us feel at home and gave us information about the area and what to see. It was great chatting with John, learning about the history of the house and but also their life and how they came to own the B&B. The room was comfortable especially the bed, and the breakfast was incredible. If we are ever back in Maine we would definitely stay here again. Thank you so much!


Wonderful Memories

5 en mayo 21, 2015

My daughter and I had a lovely stay in this beautiful old inn. There's a sense of rich New England history throughout. Our room was comfortable, immaculately clean and nicely decorated. And oh, breakfast was icing on the cake! Thank you!

Respuesta del propietario

We thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.


December in Maine

4,2 en diciembre 21, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Waldo Emerson Inn in Kennebunk, Maine. Kathy and John, our innkeepers, were wonderful. John made us a fabulous breakfast each morning and engaged us in interesting conversation as well. The Inn is located just outside of the business center so you need your car, but Kathy was at the ready to get us set up with dinner reservations and suggestions for places to go during the day.


Cozy B&B

4,0 en diciembre 15, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Waldo Emerson Inn. The home is cozy and comfortable and the price was right. The owners were very nice and the breakfast was awesome! I loved having a fireplace in my room at night. I would recommend this B&B for the weekend.


Above and beyond all expectations

5 en diciembre 11, 2014

The Waldo Emerson is a beautiful Inn but it was John and Kathy who made our stay memorable. I called the Inn a few days prior to our arrival to alert them of our late arrival, while doing so I requested a small plate of cheese ad crackers along with some beer for a snack be available. They went above and beyond with a fantastic assortment of snacks. They had also strategically placed signs to make navigating to our room easier. The breakfasts were perfect! Their homemade granola is the best I have ever had! Thank you so much for a beautiful weekend. Both John and Kathy are charming people who really take pride in their work. I look forward to visiting again this summer.


Wonderful stay at Waldo

5 en noviembre 05, 2014

My husband and I highly recommend the Waldo Emerson Inn B & B in Kennebunk. John gave us a warm welcome and enlightening and entertaining tour of their historic home. He graciously provided tips for restaurants and areas of interest to visit. He, Kathy and Waldo, their sweet four-pawed son, ensured that we had a wonderful experience with their friendliness and warm hospitality. We also thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast that John prepared and served. Not only was it very tasty, but presentation was outstanding as well! Look forward to going back for a future visit!


Great Price for comfort and location.

3,2 en octubre 29, 2014

Cozy and fun to be in this 1700's house with modern conviences. The other guests were interesting. The best thing was the location near to Kennebunkport, the beach, many places to eat and shop. and then come "home" to the quiet of the B&B. We do not like it when breakfasts are served with sweets as the entree two days in a row...even when they are delious. The price is just right!

Respuesta del propietario

We thank you for your kind review and that you enjoyed your stay. We do rotate, on a daily bases, the kind of breakfast we serve and we are sorry that we had two sweet days in a row. It just so happened that this was the result of a convergence of two cycles. We have now added one more hardy breakfast to the series to make it an even cycle and prevent this from happening in the future. Again, thank you for brining this to our attention. We are looking forward to having you with us again sometime in the future.


Per un esperienza "Old" New England.

3,4 en octubre 23, 2014

Inn d'interesse storico che può essere un'ottima introduzione al New England W.A.S.P. (a Kennenbunk c'è la casa estiva dei Bush). Colazioni ottime. La Land Lady Kathy ben rappresenta questo territorio ed è in sintonia con l'atmosfera del luogo. John, il Land Lord è altrettanto interessante.


Excellent B&B

5 en octubre 07, 2014

I find the Waldo to be a very clean comfortable friendly convienent place to stay for vacation I would give an outstanding rating to all 5 categories Rooms Service Value Cleanliness and Dining but I can't make your rating thing work. So I guess I would not rate this rating system as friendly Okay I yhink I just got it to work


Fall

3,8 en octubre 02, 2014

Very Nice!


Lovely, welcoming inn

5 en septiembre 28, 2014

We found this inn to be the nicest we have ever stayed in. Ambiance, food, comfort, hospitality - perfect! We were completely comfortable and relaxed here and the food was like eating at a fine restaurant.


They missed the advertising mark

4,0 en septiembre 27, 2014

The inn is very lovely. John is most fun to talk to. Kathy seems tired -- ready for the season to end. When we first arrived she made a point to mention tipping. This was new to us -- tipping in NOT done at a owner run b & b. I even googled it to see if the practice had changed, it had not. The homemade granola is delicious. They offer a bag with the recipe for $10. I just wanted the recipe, as we still had several more weeks of traveling. The cost for just the recipe was $5!!!! And Kathy did not even have an accurate recipe: she had to hand write several changes to the xerox copy. What a missed opportunity for advertising! A copy of the recipe by your breakfast in the morning to take with, would have immense advertising potential. Each guest would share it with friends, mentioning where they had received it. Incredible word of mouth publicity. And they could still sell bags of the granola to those headed home. John's Dutch breakfasts were superb. The dog poop on the carpet was a bit disconcerting.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review. It is indeed helpful for us to improve our future guests experience even more. Being an owner operated Inn means that we were going for at least 5 months at 24/7 with not even one day break during this period. Kathy was overdue for some urgent surgery which she elected to delay until after our busy season. You are correct about the tipping issue however we pride ourselves, that for the more than 12 years as innkeepers, we do not discuss nor suggest tips even if it is indeed becoming more popular with other small inns (larger Inns even included it as a service charge on your bill). We went to some extent, with our credit card processor, to not printout the traditional spaces for guests to enter a tip. The mere mention of tips may have had something to do with our young lady (who is working herself through college). We are sorry with the issue about the granola recipe. Most of our guests suggest that a sample of the granola goes with the recipe. The recipe as is, has withstood the test of time (some 12 years by now) but we do suggest at times (when asked) that if you would like to make changes, to meet the individual’s taste, to ONLY do it with minor adjustments to the amount of honey and/or maple syrup added . We are so sorry about Waldo’s mishap at the carpet by the entrance door. It is totally my fault as I did not leave him outside long enough as I was in a hurry to get the breakfast started (we cannot leave him unattended outside as he as a little pup went for a squirrel across the street and was hit by a passing car. Waldo is in the habit of sitting by the door waiting for someone to open it and as you know that door is some distance away from the keeping room. Please give us another try when in our area.


A very very pleasant stay.

4,6 en septiembre 11, 2014

The place is really nice and relaxing. The breakfasts are wonderful; it's almost abuse. Kathy and John welcomed us with a touch of history and a Dutch coloring.


A Great Stay in Kennebunk

4,0 en septiembre 03, 2014

John and Kathy are great hosts and the Inn is charming.


Beautiful Old Lovely Home

4,2 en septiembre 02, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful old home. The history here is amazing and the rooms were quaint and lovely. John and Kathy are very sweet and made us feel very welcome and were very helpful in getting us around town and suggestions for dining. They even provided us with chairs and towels for the beach. Breakfast was a special treat. All those lovely Maine Blueberries! We would stay here again in a heartbeat!


Pleasant stay. Good breakfast.

3,6 en agosto 29, 2014

A very pleasant stay in a good location. Very attractive historic building with interesting period furnishings. Room was clean and roomy. Breakfast each day was very good... especially John's apple flapjes!


Great experience

5 en agosto 27, 2014

We showed up after hours and the personal touch couldn't have been more evident. Cathy called to check in on us and to make sure we knew where to go once we arrived. When we got to the B&B there were personalized signs welcoming our party, a light on in the room-- such strong hospitality from the very beginning. Breakfast was wonderful, the concierge services were through and the relaxed culture of the place was superb.


One Night in Kennebunkport

4,4 en agosto 24, 2014

The innkeepers, John and Kathy are great. Breakfast was excellent and we met some very nice folks at breakfast. We would recommend this Inn.


Lots of History in This Inn

3,0 en agosto 24, 2014

Loved being next door to the Wedding Cake House!


nice B&B in Kennebunk

3,0 en agosto 22, 2014

The place is nice, John and Kathy very warm. It's a little far from town center and the beach so you need to take your car. Overall very pleasant


Felt Cheated

2,0 en agosto 21, 2014

We reserved via phone because we wanted: 1. Secure a certain room 2. Pay with B&B giftcards. During the phone call innkeeper Kathy confirmed that we could stay in the room we wanted, and that she accepted gift cards. Once we arrived it turned out that we had to stay in two different rooms. Apparently someone else booked the room we wanted to via internet. This was a very unpleasant surprise. Especially because the room we moved to did not have its own bathroom, and we had to share the bathroom with the innkeepers and stay on the floor where they live. Something we did not want and we weren't prepared for. Upon check out we presented the innkeepers with our gift cards. However, they told us they already ran our creditcard and they did not want to reverse the charges. In the end, we were stuck with a room we did not reserve and did not want, some B&B giftcards we cannot use anymore, and unexpected charges on our credit card. Especially the feeling there is nowhere we can go about these charges and claim our money back makes us feel we will probably not stay at a B&B again, and especially not this B&B.


Lovely Historic Home

4,0 en agosto 11, 2014

Best part was the friendliness of the owners John and Cathy. Stories about the house were very interesting especially about the indian shutters. Breakfast was wonderful and one of the best on our trip. They were most helpful in letting us know what we could do in our short visit and told us about the fabulous blueberry pie at Bartleys! We loved it! Wish we could have stayed longer. The room is what one might expect in an historic home and it was very clean. Only drawback was there was not a TV in our room but one was available in their parlor.


August 2014 Visit

5 en agosto 05, 2014

Kathy and John are outstanding hosts with a true interest in the people that stay there. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The rooms, location, amenities and especially the hospitality were truly awesome. Lots of history to this Inn which adds a lot to the stay. This was our third stay here, and all were consistently wonderful. Can't wait to go back again.


Decent - Exactly as expected

3,6 en agosto 05, 2014

Good location, nice old house, met interesting people, all guests in their 50's. Good hosts.


Enjoyed our stay.

3,8 en julio 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn. Kathy was a great source of information about the Kennebunk area and the inn, and both she and John were very friendly. The shower was very small but everything else was fine.


Comfy historic Inn

4,4 en julio 11, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this historic house. John and Kathy are wonderful hosts and we made use of the invaluable beach passes and beach chairs. Terrific breakfast in the morning, we wish we had stayed longer and will definitely stay again if we are in this area in the futue.


Charming

4,8 en julio 05, 2014

The breakfast is a bit late but very good.


Highly recommend Waldo Emerson Inn

5 en junio 30, 2014

Everything was excellent. In addition to the standard amenities, they also provide complimentary bikes, which we really enjoyed.


Waldo Emerson Inn

5 en junio 11, 2014

What a lovely home and couple, we will definitely go back!


Great night, wonderful hosts, will return this summer

4,6 en mayo 27, 2014

Came up overnight on my motorcycle for a bike show nearby. Love the historic charm of The Waldo Emerson Inn and loved that I got a bit of the Inn's history upon arrival. The room was clean, neat, and had a small fridge. The hosts were wonderful as was the scrumptious breakfast. Waldo the dog was well behaved and sweet. I'll be back!


Ocean village

3,8 en mayo 21, 2014

The owners went out of their way to make reservations at a special restaurant for our anniversary , which resulted in our getting special attention and a table overlooking the ocean ! So friendly and helpful ...we may make this our new anniversary tradition at the Waldo Emerson Inn !


Charming B&B

4,4 en mayo 19, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Waldo Emerson Inn. The Innkeepers John and Kathy were great and gave us valuable information about the area and the breakfasts were wonderful. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 en abril 14, 2014

Stayed here recently for a quick little get away and everything was wonderful. The rooms were cozy and romantic and John was a fabulous host. The breakfast Sunday morning was yummmmmmy :) Thank you John for a wonderful weekend. Looking forward to Xmas Prelude xo n Cheryl and Michael.


Cathartic

4,6 en marzo 26, 2014

My mother, sister and I just spent March 21 - 24 at this beautiful inn. Reuniting with friends we hadn't seen in over 40 years, I wanted for us all a memorable B&B experience. The 2 months I spent researching where we would stay paid off. I chose the Waldo Emerson Inn based on many, many traveler's reviews and photos (the poodle, Waldo, who really is the best dog ever, was one of the deciding factors!) It was one of the best weekends of my life. The inn keepers Kathy and John were very welcoming, but not overbearing. The house is amazing and in an ideal location. John cooked delicious breakfasts. The room was "refreshed" every day. We didn't want for a thing. Not a negative thing to say about our stay. I plan on returning with my husband.


Excellent B&B

5 en febrero 26, 2014

If you are looking for a very historic B&B, this is the place to go. The inn is well kept and the innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. The 3 course breakfast was also excellent. Would we go back? Yes ABSOLUTELY. Tom and LuAnn


Perfect hosts. Warm and cozy.

5 en enero 02, 2014

John and Kathy were friendly from the moment we arrived. They had extensive knowledge about Kennebunk, and gave us great suggestions for places to visit. Breakfasts were wonderful, and Kathy even made us cups of tea in the afternoon. I hope to return to Kennebunk in another season and will be definitely contacting John and Kathy for a room. Highly recommend.


Favorite place in Maine

5 en diciembre 31, 2013

Excellent hosts. What a B&B should be. Consistent and service oriented.


Happy Texas visiting winter.

5 en diciembre 18, 2013

This is our 5th visit and we consider it our home in Maine. Will continue coming back.


Wonderful anniversary getaway

5 en noviembre 23, 2013

20th anniversary getaway. John and Kathy are excellent host. Outstanding breakfast, great with directions and suggestions.


Wonderful Experience

4,2 en noviembre 16, 2013

The innkeepers offer a wealth of information about the area. The breakfasts are outstanding.


Pleasant Stay, Helpful Host

3,6 en noviembre 05, 2013

The innkeeper was extremely helpful in explaining the surrounding area and its attractions, providing numerous maps to help us on our trek, including available parking, places to avoid, best values, etc. He also provided wonderful details about the house's history and unique features. As difficult as it may be to mix modern comforts in while preserving historic value, I felt more could be accomplished with the inn, it's current state provided not enough of either - almost an awkwardness to the place. Still, it's location provided easy access to Kennebunkport, Kittery, Ogonquit, and surrounding areas. The stay met our expectations and we were very satisfied, just not dazzled.


Lovely B&B

4,6 en octubre 30, 2013

My sister and I found our one-night stay to be way too short. The Inn itstelf was lovely and the innkeepers were full of so many historical tales. The rooms were spacious with private baths and the breakfast was amazing. We will return for a longer stay.


Review of Waldo Emerson Inn Experience

4,6 en octubre 27, 2013

This was our first time in Maine and we fell in love with this lovely Bed & Breakfast. Our hosts John and Kathy couldn't have been nicer. It was a lovely experience.


Very special

5 en octubre 25, 2013

Very special being wellcomed in Dutch. The history of the building and the writer Emerson. And the vicinity of Kennebunkport. A one hour walk but worth the value. Good restaurants. Not to forget the breakfast at the "community "table.


Weekend getaway

4,8 en octubre 24, 2013

Friendly and informative innkeepers. Excellent breakfasts! Convenient location for visiting and exploring southeastern Maine. Would stay again. A great value.


A thing to remember....

4,0 en octubre 22, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay. The people very friendly and the meal very good.


A Charming Place

5 en octubre 21, 2013

We enjoyed a two night stay at the charming, historic Waldo Emerson Inn. The bed was comfortable and the parlor was warm and cozy. We woke up to delicious coffee and wonderful breakfasts (Kathy's granola was amazing). We would definitely stay again.


The Standard by which other B&B Inns should be compared

5 en octubre 13, 2013

Jon and Kathy did a wonderful job with making our stay most enjoyable. The Blue Room with private bath and fireplace is quite large and very comfortable. Jon is the chief and makes a splendid breakfast - different every day. Kathy jumped in a got us dinner reservations at a hard to get into place in Kennybunk and spent quite a bit of time showing us places to visit during our too short stay. Make a reservation and you will be glad that you did!


Loved Waldo Emerson Inn!!!

5 en octubre 08, 2013

If you want to go back in time, this is the place! John and Kathy were so kind and helpful...it felt like being at home! The bed was so comfortable and the breakfasts delicious and filling. We love history and Emerson, so this was fun. We will be back when we travel here again from Texas!


Charming

5 en septiembre 29, 2013

Great historical inn, very cozy


Great stay.

5 en septiembre 25, 2013

We only were there one day but it was a charming old Inn with very welcoming hosts. Had nice chats with other guests. Great advise as to where to eat, park, what to see. They even arranged good weather when the weather man called for rain.


Trip advisor

4,0 en septiembre 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the congeniality of both Kathy and John. Breakfast was outstanding, and they were very helpful in giving suggestions and directions to all amenities around Kennebunkport. Would certainly recommend it!


Waldo Emerson B&B Review

4,8 en septiembre 20, 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Found the location convenient for touring the Kennebunk area, The hosts were very friendly and helpful in giving driving instructions. Food was great.


Beautiful weekend stay

4,8 en septiembre 19, 2013

We spent a beautiful weekend in the Kennebunkport area. The inn is quaint and the host is witty, informative, and makes a great breakfast.


Surprise, surprise, surprise!

5 en septiembre 17, 2013

Kathy, sorry we missed you last week, as John was left to his own devices! We did not know he was a former Dutch astronaut and he only missed the breakfast "mood" music one day. Not to worry, though, Kathy, because the conversations with the rest of the guests was wonderful. Great food, extremely clean, but best of all, wonderful hosts!


A short stay in Kennebunk

3,4 en septiembre 12, 2013

We spent only one night in the Waldo Emerson Inn on our way from Boston Airport to Machias, Downeast Maine. Everything was fine, the breakfast was delicious. Kathy and John were very nice, the inn has a charming athmosphere. I wish we could stay there for more days in the future.


Sept 6-8

4,0 en septiembre 12, 2013

John and Kathy were very warm and welcoming. Gave us useful information but did not over do themselves which was nice. Will stay there again


Waldo Emerson inn

4,8 en septiembre 02, 2013

Lovely room, very helpful innkeepers who gave us excellent directions and we met other travelers that we really enjoyed.


Wonderful Bed and wonderful breakfast

4,8 en septiembre 02, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay.The management,John & Kathy were delightful and warm. We hope to return and highly recommend this B&B.


Highly Recommend

4,8 en agosto 25, 2013

Our daughters gave us a fabulous anniversary gift of a one night stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn. Even though we were there just the one night, the owners John and Kathy went out of their way to be helpful and to assure us of having a great stay. We arrived early and Kathy allowed us to get into our room to change for the beach while the room was being tidied up. Kathy gave us a personal tour of the historic significance of the house. Our room had a fireplace, was charming, and had all we needed. In the evening we enjoyed watching a Yankees vs. Red Sox game on their flat screen TV in the "family room". We enjoyed a bountiful homemade breakfast seated in the dining room with other guests from three different states. Kennebunk is only minutes away from Kennebunkport. I highly recommend this Inn. Doris from Acton, MA.


A Great Historical Inn

4,6 en agosto 21, 2013

This historical Inn is a delightful place, the house is lovely and extremely well maintained. John and Kathy are perfect welcoming hosts. We loved our room which was cosy, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and John and Kathy keep a very relaxed and warm atmosphere, with just the right amount of caring without being intrusive. We will certainly go back!


Warm & Cosy

4,2 en agosto 19, 2013

This is the oldest house in Kennebunk (not to be confused with Kennebunkport) and you can feel transported back in time! We were in the "yellow room" (which wasn't very yellow, but very lovely nonetheless). The innkeepers were wonderful and full of great suggestions (the lobster shack at Cape Elizabeth was fantastic!). It's only a few minutes from Kennebunkport, so a great option. Also located right next to the Wedding cake house! and has a lovely quilt store attached to it!


First Class

5 en agosto 19, 2013

Hospitality was first class. Food was great. Room was clean and comfortable. We had a great time. Looking forward to visiting again.


Great Stay!

5 en agosto 19, 2013

What a blissful retreat! Far enough from town to enjoy the peace and quiet, yet close enough to get to the shops and eateries without delay. Didn't even have to bother locking the doors to the house or to the rooms!!! I took my coffee out on the lawn one morning and spent the time waving to passing bicyclists. Very comfortable setting in a historical building with all the modern conveniences. The best part, though, were the innkeepers, John and Kathy. They provided much useful information, punctuated with hilarious quips and observations. They are definitely a gem! By the way, don't forget to ask "Where's Waldo?"


Family reunion

5 en agosto 19, 2013

We had a family get together at the Inn. The Waldo room was just right for the 4 of us. It was the perfect location and we were able to sit out under the shade of the trees to enjoy the warm summer day. Hopefully, we can have the same reunion at the Inn next season.


Lovely Authentic B&B

4,4 en agosto 01, 2013

Thank you for your cheerful service! The rooms were all beautiful and the entire inn was very clean. The meals were beautifully prepared AND presented.


A first-class B&B

5 en julio 23, 2013

Kathy and John are among the nicest and most helpful innkeepers I've ever met. Very professional attitudes with a refreshing sense of humor. They went over and above expectations to make dinner reservations, accommodate dietary restrictions, and provide site seeing recommendations. The homemade breakfasts are beyond compare. The rooms are very clean, and the historic buildings and grounds are well-maintained. I would not hesitate to return.


Wonderful place to stay

4,8 en julio 22, 2013

My wife and I go away each summer with 3 or 4 other couples and we've stayed at a number of places. However, the Waldo Emerson Inn was the tops. Kathy & John, the innkeepers, were dedicated to making our stay the best it could be. From ensuring our rooms and their Inn was in tip top shape, recommending places to go and restaurants to eat at, mapping out how to get wherever we needed to go, and making reservations for us that we are sure we couldn't have made on our own. Then there's the FANTASTIC breakfasts. Each day a different breakfast always with fresh fruit, incredible homemade granola, plenty of hot coffee and scrumptious eggs, waffles, etc. We were all very happy to have stayed at the Waldo Emerson Inn and can't wait to go back there again.


Review

4,8 en julio 16, 2013

We felt welcomed and very much at home at Waldo Emerson! Our hosts were exceptional and the food outstanding. Kathy and John were most helpful in suggesting activities and places to see while in Maine. We hope to go back!


Wonderful Independence Day holiday!

4,2 en julio 08, 2013

Nice quiet inn just outside of the tourist bustle of Kennebunk. Beach passes are available for guests, and it is a 5 minute drive to restaurants, shopping & beaches. Very large front yard with seating where we enjoyed a late afternoon glass of wine. Scrumptious breakfasts!! John & Kathy are wonderful hosts/owners who truly love their inn and their town. Scott, Julie & Sara


Great Owners

4,8 en julio 03, 2013

Great inn- great hosts. Go out of their way to make you comfortable. Breakfast was delicious!!


Looking forward to staying there again soon

4,4 en junio 28, 2013

While our romantic get-a-way stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn was unavoidably cut short, we very much enjoyed our stay there. The Inn is charming, and John and Kathy are wonderful hosts (thank you both again). The warm, homey feel of a bed & breakfast is so inviting and so much more comfortable than a large, cold hotel. The history of the Inn is also very interesting. Our room was neat, clean, and comfortable. Waking in the morning to the sounds of birds in the garden, opening the door to the smell of freshly brewed coffee in the hallway, and then enjoying a delicious homemade breakfast with the other guests is such a nice way to start a day away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We are looking forward to going back very soon. Frank and Doris


Wonderful Hospitality

4,6 en junio 28, 2013

We loved the Inn and we loved Waldo and his family. Fantastic gourmet breakfast every day prepared us for active days in the Maine outdoors. Very family friendly. Everyone was very helpful and knew the area really well. We will be back as many of the fellow B&B people whom we met there are returning guests.


Waldo Emerson

3,6 en junio 26, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in the Historic House's Red Room. Great breakfasts - now suffering withdrawal. Thank you both for the Dutch American feasts


simply wonderful

5 en junio 26, 2013

We were finally able to get away for a long vacation weekend. John and Kathy were so welcoming and helpful. John is a super cook and Kathy's granola is yummy. They provde all kinds of littlel amnmentites like beach passes, umbrellas for the rain if needed, bicylcles for loan if wanted. Quiet and beautiful colonial home a couple of miles away from the hub bub of kennebunkport.


great weekend

4,8 en mayo 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waldo Emerson Inn for our 22nd Anniversary. It was wonderful. The house is old and new at the same time. The house itself is very old and homey but with modern bathrooms (which is perfect in my mind ) the rooms were very roomy. the inn is very clean and the innkeepers a delight. Only negative was a $10 charge for a tv. I don't understand that but paid it anyway. Breakfast was very good and special diets were dealt with without any problems. We are looking forward to returning when time allows.


Best stay ever!

5 en marzo 07, 2013

My fiance and I stayed with John, Kathy, and their very sweet pup Waldo this past weekend, and it was wonderful! The room was immaculate, with a wonderful working fireplace (a nice touch during a Maine winter!), comfortable bed, wonderfully maintained. In the morning, John puts out a homemade, fresh, filling, and downright delicious breakfast! Fresh fruit and house made granola are always on the table. Our first morning we had big waffles with berries on top, and the following morning we had eggs bennedict with home fries. The best thing about the stay for us, though, was the overwhelmingly welcoming feeling. It felt much more like visiting old family friends than staying in a regular inn or hotel. John and Kathy are both quite warm, happy to talk and tell stories, and full of great information!! We will absolutely be back! In the meantime, give Waldo a bit of sausage for us, he love it! :-)


A Wonderful stay!

5 en febrero 22, 2013

My finacee and I stayed two nights, Feb 17-18, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. John and Kathy were extremely attentive, helping us find places to eat, places to visit. Our room was simply beautiful, comfortable, and clean, and the breakfasts were outstanding! We truly intend to stay there again, and recommend the Waldo Emerson Inn without hesitation.


Lovely, quaint place to stay!

4,6 en octubre 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed there one night. John and Kathy made us feel SO right at home, from the very start. VERY, very, VERY nice people (did I say how NICE they are?) :)...the hospitality was some of the BEST we've ever experienced!! The room we stayed in, and bathroom, were each quite smallish, (if that's something that would matter to you)...yet at the same time it was very cozy, clean, and still quite lovely. The metal headboard of the bed, when sitting up against it, does wobble back, but I just took it as part of the old-time quaintness of the place (befitting the historical nature of the home). It also sits fairly close off the road, where traffic can be heard, if that might matter to someone. However, it wasn't overwhelming in any sense of the word...just could be heard to some degree...yet certainly nothing obnoxious at all, or that would keep one awake, or awaken one, unless they were the very lightest of sleepers. Overall, the pluses of the inn more than make it a recommended place to stay!! Beautiful, SWEET inn with lots of history... I would recommend this B&B to anyone. The breakfast was outstanding...they really outdo themselves with all that they serve!! Overall, we give this inn an A+ rating...definitely a place where we would wish to stay at again!! THANK you, John & Kathy, for a WONDERFUL time at your BEAUTIFUL inn!!


Exceptional

5 en octubre 11, 2012

David and Gayle, the owners of the Inn are wonderful people. They made us feel very welcome in their Inn. We would consider going back simply to see them again. Thank you!!


great experience

4,8 en octubre 10, 2012

We enjoyed the hospitality, location and wonderful breakfasts


Waldo Emerson Inn

4,8 en octubre 07, 2012

Lovely old home and wonderful welcoming innkeepers. Would definitely stay there again.


A Wonderful Gem!

4,8 en octubre 06, 2012

This B&B is not to be missed. The history of the Waldo Emerson house is fascinating. John and Kathy are so knowledgeable about every aspect of it. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The house is decorated beautifully, especially the dining room where the table is set with fine china. They serve an incredible breakfast to you on that china which makes you feel pampered and treated like royalty. As for things to do and local attractions, John gives his honest and informed suggestions about what to see and where to eat. He helps to steer you away from tourist traps. Overall, the place is wonderful and we wish we had more time there!


Great fall weekend inn

4,8 en septiembre 25, 2012

John and Kathy are wonderful hosts at this delightful and very historic inn. Kathy kindly met us and gave us a tour which captivated my daughter. We stayed in Ralph's Library which true to its name has a lovely bookshelf with many choices, comfortable bed and efficient bath. Breakfast, prepared by John, was outstanding and easily personalized for individuals. We would gladly go back and stay again! I highly recommend visiting-my only regret was we could only stay one evening.


Charming and Friendly

4,6 en septiembre 20, 2012

John and Kathy hospitality are outstanding. The breakfast was delightful. The historical house and rooms are beautiful, although not in all details perfect. Doesn't this make it charming ? The conversation at breakfast with the other guests and John were special (Dutch hospitality ?). John's recommendation for the best lobster restaurant in town were excellent. We will come back.


Sweet 15th Anniversary

5 en septiembre 11, 2012

Such a sweet place and incredibly kind and knowledgable hosts. The Inn Keepers were very welcoming to all the diverse guests we met during our stay. Was a very busy weekend and yet they made each of us feel special and comfortable. The breakfasts each morning (we stayed three nights) were absolutely stellar, very fresh, unique, and from the heart. Thank you for everything John and Kathy Daamen, for making our 15th Anniversary so memorable. We highly recommend this B&B!


Delightful

4,6 en septiembre 03, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with charming and knowledgeable innkeepers. The food was amazing and the history of the inn colorful and well-shared. They were so accommodating! And Maine is gorgeous!


Supercalifragilidiexpialidocious

5 en agosto 31, 2012

Please John and Cathy accept our apologies for waiting that long before we write a review.This is the third time in a row we come to them and this tells it all. John's breakfats are just supercalifragilidiexpialidocious. Cathy is a wonderful host and Waldo ( their dog ) likes to go the beach, I mean the bank, errr I mean the beach... This inn is just wonderfully decorated and maintained. Cleanliness is top notch. And the bikes are in the garden, free to be used by the guests ! We do wish ourselves many happy returns to the great inn !


Simply wonderful

5 en agosto 26, 2012

My husband and I discovered this place on bedandbreakfast.com and feel truly lucky that we were able to get a room last minute at Kathy and John's inn. Their hospitality is second to none, the breakfasts were spectacularly delicious, and the inn is simply beautiful. They also treated our baby girl like a princess, which as new parents, is really heart-warming! We look forward to coming back in future summers to spend long weekends at the Waldo Emerson.


Nice place

4,2 en agosto 25, 2012

Breakfast was great! Room clean. John was great! History very interesting.


Excellent stay!

4,4 en agosto 17, 2012

We had a lovely stay at The Waldo Emerson Inn. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding. We would happily stay here again on our next trip to Maine! - Ivan & June


Warm and welcoming.

4,6 en julio 17, 2012

We felt like valued guests throughout our two-night stay. The innkeepers, John and Kathy, couldn't have been nicer. The Inn was spotlessly clean. Our room was smallish, but extremely comfortable and pleasant. John is an excellent cook. Breakfast was delightful. We made use of the beach pass, beach chairs and beach towels - a wonderful touch.


Our stay at the Waldo Emerson Inn

5 en julio 15, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Inn after I made reservations on line. We found everything to be beyond our expectations from the charm of the Inn itself to the friendliness of John and Kathy Daamen the owners of the Inn to the outstanding gourmet breakfast prepared by John. And Waldo the dog was a special treat as he entertained us "ringing" the bell.


Great stop on our Mother-Daughter Maine tour!

4,8 en junio 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Waldo Emerson Inn-- the innkeepers are exceptional and take quite a bit of time introducing their patrons to the history of the house and the town of Kennebunkport. We really appreciated all of Kathy's recommendations for things to do and places to eat around the town. It was also a treat to stay in a house with so much history! Extra bonus-- yummy homemade granola (among other very delicious breakfast foods) that you can even buy to go, with recipe included!


Quaint, comfortable and friendly

5 en junio 25, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Waldo Emerson Inn and the only regret that we had is that we could not stay longer. It is a beautiful inn with a very rich history, which John and Kathy will share with you. The rooms are beautiful with old time charm, but also with modern day comforts (our private bathroom looked newly renovated and we were grateful for the AC on a very hot evening). I loved the fresh flowers on the antique dresser and the beautiful Amish quilt on our so comfy bed. The quilt shop next door had some amazing pieces and we will be coming back someday for one :-) Breakfast was amazing, and it was a pleasure to meet our fellow guests around the table. The time and care put into the preparation and serving of our breakfast was an unexpected delight. You can tell that John and Kathy love what they do and that they truly care about making the best possible experience for their guests. They and their little dog Waldo were a pleasure :-) We hope to come back for a more extended stay.


Wonderful Hospitality

3,8 en junio 07, 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights with the the Daamen's at The Waldo Emerson Inn. The accommodations and food were excellent but what was truly special was the great conversations at breakfast and in the common rooms with the other guests. We even were fortunate to meet the owner of the famous "Wedding Cake" house next tour and received a tour! What a treat.


Perfection!

5 en mayo 16, 2012

Gracious, charming, perfect interesting hosts, fabulous and huge breakfast - what more is there.


Better than we could have ever hoped for!

5 en mayo 05, 2012

My husband and I could not have asked for a better experience at this bed and breakfast. The owners were kind, knowledgeable, and told some great stories! The room was cozy and comfortable - we haven't slept that well in a long time! Breakfast was absolutely delicious and satisfying. Staying at this B&B made our vacation even more enjoyable. If we ever come back that way, we will definitely be staying at this inn again!


Romantic B&B

5 en marzo 02, 2012

Wonderful old house with great host, hostess, and greeter (the dog Waldo). We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fireplace in our room and fell asleep listening to the fire crackle. The breakfasts were delicious. We loved the area so much we are now building a house there and plan on staying at the Inn several times during the process.


Waldo Emerson Inn B&B

5 en noviembre 06, 2011

I was very happy with the stay and breakfast.


The River view room

5 en septiembre 20, 2011

One of the most wonderful weekends of memories, romance, relaxation, food and friends. We can not wait to stay at this Inn again, of course we will want to reserve the River View Room facing the Kennebunk River, again! The Inn was explicably manicured and maintained, the owners where the most friendly and personable couple you may ever come to meet, we felt so relaxed and welcome during our entire stay, can't wait for a return stay! ~Jim & Brenda~


Wonderful Old House with Great Innkeepers

5 en junio 19, 2011

Charming early American house with all the details you would expect on the oldest house in Kunnebunk, ME. These dear B&B innkeepers were well informed about the sites to see in the area and more than helpful in providing info including beach parking passes and bug spray! This husband & wife team offered a great full course breakfast that you should not miss! Happy to deal with dietary considerations.


What a perfect B&B should be like

4,6 en junio 12, 2011

Coming from Europe we had high expecations to find a romantic B&B. We were far more than satisfied. John and Cathy are very caring hosts and have beautiful house. I was amazed by the fact that the house was built in 1758 and had beautiful oak floors. You can really enjoy a bit of history here.


Beautiful people, great place!

4,4 en marzo 27, 2011

John and Kathy were awesome hosts. The rooms are cozy and very clean. The food was delicious and the service outstanding. The location was perfect! Just 2 miles from the hustle and bustle of Kennebuckport. I went during low season (end of March) and the cost was a value; the prices are very reasonable during high season too. Choose this place; you will not be sorry. I'm planning another visit soon.


Amazing Inn, Caring Innkeepers

5 en octubre 22, 2009

This is the best Bed & Breakfast I've ever been to. The Inn itself is the oldest house in Kennebunk (it's far more cost effective to stay in Kennebunk than Kennebunkport), it's got several historical aspects, like the windows etched, the indian shutters, the rooms, and the cold room. My girl and I koozied up next to the fire, which was very sweet. They gave us maps and amazing places visit, sights to see, and great places to eat at. Then the breakfast was the best homemade granola I've ever had with Belgian Toast. I told John that I would definately comeback. Don't forget to play with Waldo, the dog.


Historic Kennebunk Home-Charming

4,4 en septiembre 30, 2009

My husband & I stayed here over the Labor Day weekend in tourist-Mad Southern Maine. Yet the atmosphere in this beautifully furnished home was relaxed and welcoming. Nice innkeepers, comfy rooms and excellent location.


The Waldo Emerson Inn

3,0 en septiembre 25, 2009

Lovely, historic B&B which we enjoyed very much. Innkeepers very warm and accomodating. Very delicous breakfasts that kept you going for the day. A truly great experience.


Beautiful Historical Inn

3,8 en septiembre 06, 2009

This is a very nice historical house. The innkeepers are very pleasant .They were helpful with directions and suggestions and making reservations. Unfortunately the inn is on a very busy and noisy road. The traffic started very early in the morning.


Wonderful stay

4,8 en septiembre 01, 2009

Great hosts, Kathy & John were very pleasant, funny and hospitable. Food was excellent, great to get 2nd's. Very nice rooms. Charming building. Even stayed cool with 85F weather, and dry (Hurricane Bill). Highly recommended. Worth every penny.


Beautiful location

4,8 en agosto 31, 2009

Great house, great food, great guests, great innkeepers, great location. We thoroughly enjoyed it.


Gourmet stay in historical home

4,4 en agosto 25, 2009

This welcoming home in Kennebunk, ME, is the oldest home in town and was part fo the underground railroad. Our hosts were fun and informative. Nice place away from the hustle of nearby Kennebunk Port. Wonderful breakfast.


Carolina Couple in Maine

3,4 en agosto 17, 2009

My wife and I loved the history of the Inn. Kathy and John were great hosts and very helpful in planning local activities. This Inn is a great value for the price. The only negative is that it is a 5-10 minute drive to Kennebunk Beach, and Kennebunkport. Nothing is within walking distance.


Awesome!

5 en agosto 04, 2009

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay! John was so nice and he is a great chef. Waldo the dog was a hit with our 10-year old. Plus, the history of the house is nice to know. Great place to stay!


A Great Place

5 en agosto 02, 2009

The Innkeepers were very friendly and offered their guests a history of the Inn. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were modest yet accommodating. Waldo was a very nice dog to have around and was never a nuisance to anyone. The breakfasts were delicious and well presented. My wife and I felt the price per night was very reasonable for the area. The Inn is located in a nice area that is very close to many points of interest. The innkeepers were extremely helpful sharing information about the area. It is a wonderful place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.


beautifull old home, wonderful inkeepers, great value

2,6 en julio 09, 2009

The home was a great old home with lots of charm. Loved the story about Abe Lincoln being a descedent of Kathy and the letter written to her grandfather by Mark Twain was quit a story. Breakfast was great if you didn't have dietary issues. I had to bring my own food because they could not provide me with what foods I needed, but were gracious enough to cook them for me. Our rooms lamp shade had a 1/2 inch of dust on it, although everything else seemed clean enough. The innkeepers were very gracious with plenty of great sightseeing suggestions and there dog waldo was a sweet dog. The location was good being centrally located and close to all points but I found it noisey in the early morning due to traffic.

Respuesta del propietario

We really appreciate your thoughtful observations. We had a traffic reroute due to bridge (Durrell Bridge) repairs/closure just up the road. Also we checked all the room lamps and shades and we did not find any with a ½” dust layer (as we were joined by an arriving guest at the time we printed out your observations). However, we did change our (antique) lamp shade dusting/vacuuming schedule to weekly from ones a month (these are very delicate shades – but just to make sure). Many thanks you for your great review and suggestions.


enjoyed our stay very much!!

4,8 en junio 30, 2009

Beautiful room and hosts were courteous and very friendly. Breakfasts were an every day surprise!


Fantastic Time

5 en junio 24, 2009

What a fantastic time we had. We rented the entire Inn for my sister's 60th birthday. We were 14 women (and as you can imagine - we all have our own ways) but everyone...and I mean everyone had a great time. John and Kathy are two of the most hospitable peopel you could ever want to stay with. This was a return trip to the Inn as we had previously stayed there (6 couples) and everything was just as wonderful then and this trip too. We are trying to think up the next "event" so we can book again! The rooms are so quaint and the Inn holds soooooo much history and best of all BREAKFAST........hope made granola and stuffed belgium toast and sausage was to die for! See you soon John & Kathy. - Justine


Hospitality Extrodinaire

5 en junio 22, 2009

It was my 60th birthday and I was spending it with 13 other women. Kathy and John could not be more hospitable from the time I made the reservation til the time we got in the car to go home. All the women loved it and promised to return at another time. Many said the pictures on line did not do the inn justice. I look forward to returnign again and again


Hospitality with a capital H

5 en junio 22, 2009

We were 14 women and there was not one complaint. We thoroughly enjoyed the facility but above all our hosts, John & Kathy. They could not have been any kinder. Thanks for the great memories!


The best thing of a B&B

5 en diciembre 01, 2008

Terrific innkeepers, John and Kathy. John has great breakfasts to everything from Dutch pancakes to souffles. The bed was so good you didn't want to get up. Waldo Emerson Inn is GREAT!


outstanding innkeepers

5 en noviembre 04, 2008

Friendly innkeepers, proud of their beautiful property, excellent breakfast provided great information.


thanks for the memories

3,8 en octubre 24, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this inn, which was one of the first places where the excellent website actually MATCHED the real experience!


Exellence

5 en agosto 13, 2008

We stayed here for a family gathering and the hosts were wonderful and made us totally welcome. As a couple from Europe, the house was enchanting and had lots of character appealing to most. Lovely BB in a wonderful area, a must for visitors to Kennebunk. John and Cathy are special. The gift shop a must to all visitors. Thanks Cathy and John, we will be back.XX


"Very nice..."

4,8 en agosto 01, 2008

Very nice clean, convenient great breakfast


"Fantastic.."

4,8 en agosto 01, 2008

Fantastic Hospitality!! Beautiful N.E. Inn.


A fantastic gem

5 en enero 03, 2008

My girlfriend and I, both young adults, found this to be the perfect getaway. The innkeepers were delightful, sociable, and helpful, but also afforded us the privacy we wanted. Their dog Waldo is also wonderful and well-behaved. At breakfast, the well cooked food and good conversation made it something to look forward to. It is at a perfect location between Kennebunk and Kennebunkport centers... both directions yield interesting destinations, (we went shopping and dined out in Kennebunkport, but also went cross country skiing in a neighboring town in the other direction). The value is outstanding, and I very much look forward to returning.


What a wonderful expierence!

4,4 en octubre 03, 2007

Just spent two days at this Inn and loved every moment we were there. The room we stayed in was just as they described it...the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The breakfasts included three courses, were very tasty and ever so well presented. The hospitatlity from the Innkeepers was exceptional and we would defintely return here for more of their great hospitality.


Beautiful home with a lot of history

5 en marzo 22, 2007

A beautiful home with a lot of history, the Waldo Emerson Inn is a delight. Innkeepers provided a tour of the home, telling much of its history -- and also highlighted the "sights" of the area, including George HW Bush's home in Kennebunkport....a fun drive. Wonderful breakfast, comfortable rooms, great hospitality. Book your room today!


Waldo Emerson Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $125 - $225
  • Comentarios (162) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 4
  • Se aceptan tarjetas regalo

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2079854250
  • Sin cargo
    8775218776

Sitio web »

Ver detalles

Arriba