Nichols Guest House B&B Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,1
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,4
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
43 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

A charming and comfortable value

3,0 en enero 21, 2014

This was adequate for our needs and the hostess was very pleasant.


Welcoming, cozy, and charming B&B!

4,6 en octubre 28, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted a different experience from a chain hotel, and with Nichols' rivaling prices, why not? We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of Walt & Dorothy -- they were helpful from giving tips on dinner places to providing a DELICIOUS breakfast! The house itself was very homey with all sorts of charming, country-like touches. Sure, it's not as spacious as a hotel room, but with the TLC that is provided by Walt & Dorothy, we'd definitely stay there over a hotel if we ever pass through that area again... and we'd recommend it to others! Thanks so much!!


Cozy B&B

4,0 en agosto 23, 2013

We stayed one night in this charming house. The room (Muriel) was very comfortable and had all we needed. Dorothy and Walt are great and made us feel like home. Breakfast is amazing! I'll definitely come back


Another great stay

5 en julio 05, 2013

Many thanks to Dorothy and Walt for having us at their home. It is nice to be able to stay at a residence that really welcomes you. We always stay here whenever we are in the area because we feel comfortable and enjoy our talks around the breakfast table each morning. As usual, the food is varied and delicious. We will be back.


Personal Touches by the Bucketload

5 en junio 13, 2013

My friends (from Australia) and I (from Portugal) spent a night at the Nichols B n B and it was surely one of the highlights of our visit to USA. The breakfast table was positively groaning, with a selection of hot and cold dishes, all beautifully presented. The rooms and public areas were decorated to match the age of the house and every conceivable item had been added, to ensure one's comfort. century. -Most importantly, the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of Walt was way beyond the call of duty. We were so sorry we could only stay one night. Dee Orvalho


Wicked Nice Right Down to the Price!

5 en noviembre 12, 2012

Everything about my stay was ever so pleasant. My only complaint is that I could not stay for longer! ~ John Robbins from Rocky Mount, N.C.


Simply Charming: Looking forward to visiting again

5 en noviembre 10, 2012

The Nichols Guest Rooms was a quaint, charming B&B. Dorothy and Walt were very warm and friendly making us feel as welcome as life-long friends. They were helpful and knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. Breakfast was fabulous and we had the opportunity to meet and talk with other interesting guests from around the country. The Muriel Room was delightful and the entire house had the warmth and charm of an old New England home from the 1800s that has all the modern conveniences. My husband and I felt that Dorothy and Walt made our trip to the New England area memorable and we look forward to a return trip. Thank you Dorothy and Walt from TX.


So much fun!

4,6 en marzo 08, 2012

A fantastic place to stay, very comfortable! Our hosts were amazing, incredibly friendly and breakfast the next morning was beyond what I expected. I would absolutely stay here again. :)

Respuesta del propietario

It's so much fun to have guests like you come to stay at Nichols!


This was a true Bed & Breakfast. Older homes have charactor.

3,2 en enero 09, 2012

Had a peaceful stay. I stayed in the Muriel room, which was very cozy. Dot made me a wonderful breakfast the next morning. I would stay there again.

Respuesta del propietario

Glad you had a restful stay. Come again when looking for a retreat.


Charming B & B Friendly and Helpful Hosts

4,4 en noviembre 30, 2011

Comfortable room; Excellent breakfast; Hosts joined us for breakfast and shared great stories about the house. Would defintely stay there again!

Respuesta del propietario

Every nook and cranny holds a memory. Glad you enjoyed your stay.


Nichols Rocked!

4,8 en octubre 11, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Nichols Inn! The house was old and quaint and just what we were looking for and at the right price! It was very homey and warm. The hosts, Dorthy and Walt made us so comfortable and the food was fabulous! We spent the morning with them talking and celebrating Walt's birthday! (I hope he got that orange creamsicle cake?) We would for sure stay again next time we are in beautiful Rhode Island.

Respuesta del propietario

Every breakfast is like a party. Glad you were here right on a real birthday!


Very nice bed and breakfast

4,6 en octubre 10, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Nichols Guest House this past weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Dorothy and Walt were so friendly and easy-going; we felt like they were friends by the time we left. The breakfast was just excellent, with lots of variety. I've stayed at other B&Bs where they just recycle the food for the second day, but at Nichols it was a brand new beautiful spread. We liked that we were close enough to go to Newport, Rhode Island for the day and that the Cape also wasn't far. Overall we had a great time here and will definitely go back if we're ever in the area again.

Respuesta del propietario

Love to cook and having guests enjoy eating it is the best compliment.


Like a stay in grandma's creepy attic... only worse.

1,6 en julio 13, 2011

I've stayed in many B&Bs and always had great experiences... until now. The Nichols Guest House was absolutely dreadful. We stayed two nights and were disappointed the moment we opened the front door. The house is musty and cluttered (think: "Hoarders") with stuffed animals and tchotchkes everywhere. Our room barely fit around the bed and the only window was screwed shut (!) around the air conditioner, with an emergency fire escape ladder set on the floor in front of it (that we would use, only after finding a screwdriver, presumably): total fire hazard, especially with all the dusty kitsch surrounding us. Also, I had to take Benadryl immediately because the musty, dusty air in the room was making me sneeze uncontrollably and we couldn't even open the window for some fresh air. Because we stayed in the Cameron Room, we shared the downstairs bathroom with the owners, who had clearly NOT cleaned it for our arrival. Just gross. Breakfast was ok, but nothing you wouldn't make yourself at home (not sure what all the reviewers who think it is "amazing" and "excellent" usually eat... cereal... PopTarts?). Overall, it felt like the owners had figured out this B&B thing was a great scheme for letting people sleep overnight in their unused upstairs bedrooms, cooking them a little breakfast and raking in significant extra income without really having to do any extra house cleaning or alter their lives much at all. At breakfast, we silently seethed in anger as we listened to them talk about their boats (yes, that is plural) and recently purchased vacation home, feeling we had been swindled out of our money and the romantic little B&B vacation we thought we were going to have. :(

Respuesta del propietario

This guest never indicated anything was awry during her stay, and opted to stay two nights. Statements in this review are inaccurate: the Cameron room is safe. With yearly inspections, two routes out of every room, emergency ladders, smoke detectors, auxiliary lighting and extinguishers, we exceed fire safety requirements. The bedroom and bathroom were both cleaned and the bathroom is not shared with the owner. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Most guests love the mini teddy bears and tiffany lamps. We'd prefer that guests express a concern, if they have one. while they are with us so we can attempt to remediate the problem if at all possible.


Welcome Home!

5 en febrero 01, 2011

Dorothy and Walt are perfect hosts and perfectly proud of their quaint, comfortable and historic house. My wife and I enjoyed three cozy, peaceful and restful nights and three sumptuous, varied and yummy breakfasts at Nichols B&B.

Respuesta del propietario

Come again and stay longer!


Just like Ireland B&Bs

5 en septiembre 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed there after a Gaelic Storm concert. Room, price, food, and hospitality were outstanding. We've stayed at B&B's in Ireland, England, and France and this was equal to the best ones we found in those countries.

Respuesta del propietario

The old house is nostalgic for me. Glad you enjoyed it.


Soooo comfortable

5 en junio 19, 2010

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary by attending a Jesse Winchester concert in Fall River and exploring the area, and thought we'd try staying at a B&B along the way. Our first contact with Dorothy was by phone and I thought she was delightful! We felt like we were staying with family for the 2 nights we were there, with all of the comforts of home and wonderful, family style breakfasts as well. We came to know Dorothy and Walt as well as other guests over hearty, healthy breakfasts, but never felt either intruded upon nor intrusive. There were movies available for us to watch, lovely sitting rooms, use of a fridge ... We stayed in the Muriel room, which has a sink outside of the bathroom that allowed both my husband and me to be productive, and while the room was small, we found it cozy and quite comfortable. We look forward to visiting with our new friends, Dorothy and Walt, the next time we head down to their neck of the woods!

Respuesta del propietario

Welcome back to our neck of the woods anytime.


A great place to stay at a great price

4,0 en mayo 04, 2010

I think that, for the price, Nichols is a great place to stay. It doesn't offer every single modern convenience (for instance, some rooms don't have private baths), but I think the comfort and the great food make up for that. I would highly recommend this place to business travelers and families. Couples may want something a little more private if they are looking for a romantic getaway, but I will say that this is a great staging location if you are visiting Providence, RI and vicinity.

Respuesta del propietario

Nice to know you felt you got good value for your money. In tough economic times this is important.


Our Stay at Nichols Guest House

3,4 en abril 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Nichols Guest House, Walt and Dorthy are very good hosts and very helpful in directions to places we wish to visit during our stay. We enjoyed sitting and talking with them.

Respuesta del propietario

So much to see and do in the area. It's intriguing to send guests off on daily adventures.


a great night out

4,6 en noviembre 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the Nichols House. It was very enjoyable. The room was beautiful and cozy. The down bedding was soft as were the pillows. We were very comfortable. The electric woodstove was a nice touch and provided a good amount of heat. Dorothy and Walt were great hosts. The breakfast was out of this world; well cooked and served. We had scrambled eggs, ham, french toast, fruit with yogurt and danish..all served on elegant dishes. I will definately recommend this B&B to our friends.


Beautiful home, wonderful hosts and delicious breakfast!

4,4 en octubre 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at this charming home-like B&B. Dorothy and Walt made us feel at home in their lovely house. The Eleanor Room was small, but cozy with many details to be admired. And we cannot stop talking about the enormous and absolutely delicious breakfast they served us! Back in Germany, we keep telling everyone they had to stay at Nichol's Guest House to enjoy the best American breakfast ever. The B&B is conveniently located near Providence and Newport. Our hosts were helpful with any questions we had. All in all: a "must stay" when you are in the area! Maria and Ronny from Dresden, Germany

Respuesta del propietario

Fun to meet guests from other parts of the world: Always makes for interesting discussions. Glad this enjoyment was mutual.


Tiny accommodations

4,0 en septiembre 11, 2009

The innkeepers are charming, and the breakfast was lovely. However, the accommodations were simply too small and dark--the sink was in the bedroom; the door to the shower and toilet was of the louvered bi-fold variety; lighting was inadequate. The photograph on the website makes the setting look rural--in fact, the house is located on a suburban street.

Respuesta del propietario

The whole house has windows that are candlelit all night. The bedroom has 12 energy efficient lightbulbs which can be changed to incandescent upon request. There's 24 hour free wifi which is recommended for use in the sitting room adjacent to the bedroom. The sink in the room was by design.


Warm and inviting

5 en agosto 20, 2009

Our hosts were very friendly and warm. Our room was cozy and charming. Loved our stay with these kind people.

Respuesta del propietario

Appreciate your kind words.


It's like staying with family!

5 en mayo 26, 2009

We loved our room, the area, and Dorothy and Walt were amazing!! We felt right at home and we will be back!! Class all the way! Best breakfast, too! :)

Respuesta del propietario

Glad you were happy with your room. Do come back.


outstanding value!

4,6 en mayo 20, 2009

We had a very nice stay in Dorothy's lovely old-fashioned home! Scrumptious breakfast served on formal dishes/stemware. Dorothy and Walter were kind and went out of their way to be most welcoming.


One of the best!

5 en abril 29, 2009

Oh my...where do I begin?? Outstanding breakfast, extremely nice and accommodating service from the innkeepers, and authentic 1800s house with beautiful rooms. It does not get better than this! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and cant wait to go back.


nice stay

4,6 en febrero 23, 2009

nice stay


nice stay

4,6 en enero 12, 2009

nice stay


great stay

5 en diciembre 11, 2008

great stay


home away from home

4,0 en noviembre 17, 2008

Comfy room, outstanding breakfast, Dorothy and Walt, the hosts, are great company and made breakfast very enjoyable. Dorothy sets a beautiful table. Appreciating the extras- candy and soda for our excursions.


Pleasant surprise and great food!

4,4 en octubre 24, 2008

charming quarters and truly hospitable hosts. very reasonable


Wonderful place in historic area

5 en octubre 22, 2008

Impeccable rooms with comfortable beds. Close to all tourists and scenic venues. Food service was 5 star quality with a different menu every morning.


A nice way to Relax.....Grat Place

4,0 en octubre 17, 2008

Usually we stay at Chain Hotels, this time we thought we would try a B&B...What a great choice. We felt right at home during our stay. The rooms were cozy, the bed was comfy and the food was stupendous. I highly recommend the Nichols Guest House.


Lovely place to stay

4,2 en septiembre 16, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at this charming Inn. Dorothy and Walt made us feel right at home. We enjoyed the lingering breakfast conversations. The rooms are cozy and have all the essentials. We will have to come back as we didn't get a chance to try the apple pancakes (I'll request them next time). All in all, a great place to stay! We'll be back!


A fabulous stay!

4,8 en agosto 28, 2008

we're from Italy and we found the Nichols Guest House address when looking for a place to stay overnight in Providence on our road trip thru New England. The place seemed nice from the website and Dorothy's kind emails soon convinced us. We were looking forward to a nice, cozy B&B as a change from our motels routine, but what we found totally exceeded our expectations! the small photos on this site unfortunately dont do the rooms any justice, the house is absolutely beautiful and we were speechless while Walter was showing us our rooms. We were 11 ppl, so we had reserved all of them and this made us feel really at home. We started taking tons of photos of all the lovely decorations details, the quilts, pillows, teddy bears, candles, flowers, lights, etc...its obvious that a lot of care was put in decorating the house and making the rooms as comfortable as possible. Some of them are small (having a kid we were in the loving attic room, that although having a low sloped roof could accomodate a small bed for our son), but they're all equipped with everything needed (tv, dvd, fireplace, in-room sink, bathroom etc). Walter was absolutely nice, and so was Dorothy once we met her the next morning for the delicious breakfast (sure the best we enjoyed during our trip!) and a nice chat about her previous trip to italy. At night instead of going out for dinner we even decided to have some take-away pizza that we could eat in the garden, so we could enjoy the lovely house a bit more! i've visited several B&B in England and Canada but i think this would rate as the best one! all in all our only regret is that our trip plan only allowed one night there, but if we hit New England again we'll make sure to stay there longer! i definitely recommend!


April 2008

4,2 en junio 03, 2008

The rooms, service, cleanliness, and dining exceeded my expectations. The value was outstanding.


Comfortable, quiet, great food

4,8 en junio 02, 2008

Rooms are small, but light, well-ventilated, and clean. Bed was very comfortable, and it's a quiet and restful environment. Hosts Dorothy and Walt are gracious and accommodating. They are justifiably proud of their breakfasts, which are exceptional for freshness, quality, and variety. A comfortable, homey place, and a good value.


Just Great!

3,8 en marzo 15, 2008

I had a terrific experience. Dorothy & Walt were just wonderful. I would recommend a stay with them. They were great!


Great Bed and Breakfast!!

4,4 en marzo 12, 2008

Just got back from this delightful bed and breakfast. The 1800's era house has been lovingly renovated by Dorothy and Walt. We were greeted at the door by Walt who graciously told us that Dorothy had upgraded us from the smaller discount rate attic room to a more spacious 2nd Floor "Muriel" room. Dorothy actually grew up in this house and all of the rooms are named after her siblings. Stained glass lamps, quilts, candy jars, and other homey touches make the entire Bed and Breakfast as warm and inviting as Walt and Dorothy themselves. Nichols Guest House lives up the bed and breakfast name with a wonderful morning repast cooked up by Dorothy herself. We chatted amiably with the other guests as we feasted on danishes, parfaits, omelets, Boston baked beans, corn bread, and more. Nichols is just a short 10-15 minute drive to Providence and with such great value and great service you'd be silly not to check it out. The room's aren't the biggest (especially in the cheaper sloped roof attic rooms) but for a cozy and quaint stay you'd be hard pressed to find better. Cash only but very close by to a Bank of America ATM.


Cozy home B&B

5 en enero 24, 2008

Warm home environment. THe owners are enlivened and friendly. THe breakfast was great. Would stay there again.


Charming and Family Friendly

5 en enero 05, 2008

I was travelling with my parents and my 11 year old son. By the end of the first breakfast I felt as if we were staying with family. The food was delicious- the only downside was there was so much of it! The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The individual fireplace heaters were perfect for the cold New England winter nights- and my son thought they were quite the novelty! Sometimes at a B&B you feels as though you are intruding on peoples lives- this was like a home away from home. We cannot wait to go back.


Friendly and Cozy.

5 en diciembre 14, 2007

It feels like home. The beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious! I will be coming back each year!


Charming B & B!!

5 en octubre 10, 2007

My husband and I traveled through New England for a road trip, and stayed here for 1 night. We wanted to spend a night in Providence RI, but found the B & B's over there to be quite pricey. Seekonk is a cute little town, just MINUTES from RI, and this particular B & B gave you great value and WONDERFUL hospitality! We stayed in the Eleanor room, which was VERY nice, clean and comfortable- the entire house was just beautiful. The next morning, Walt and Dorothy served us a huge, FABULOUS breakfast! They are VERY friendly and do everything they can to make you feel "right at home"- we really enjoyed talking with them. I highly recommend this place if you are visiting Providence or any of the surrounding areas! :)


Diamond in the ruff

5 en junio 08, 2007

To most people, Seekonk is not the ideal place to stay in New England. My experience indicates otherwise. My wife and I found this to be a great place to stay. We were within one hour of every place we wished to visit, and Walt's hospitality really made us feel like we were "at home away from home". We will (barring a full house) will visit this place again.


Nichols Guest House B&B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $89 - $99
  • Comentarios (43) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 3
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono (508) 761-7146

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba