Bed and Breakfast Afloat c/o Constitution Marina Comentarios

TOTAL

4,1

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,1
  • Servicios4,3
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza4,4
  • Comidas3,7

Puntuación basada en
25 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

A pleasant surprise

4,6 en julio 27, 2013

We went to Boston where we stayed on the yacht "out of the woods". It was just after the Fourth of July holiday and consequently very difficult to find accommodation so this would not have been our first thought but it turned out well. We were moored in a marina and we could sit on deck and watch the sun set behind the Boston sky line. All very romantic. The cabins were small as you might expect but the lounge was surprisingly roomy and of course we had the after deck with its table and chairs. The Marina Hi-Fi was variable but the Staff, who could not have been more pleasant and helpful, were only too happy to let us use their office facility when we needed to. I liked Boston. The city was the home of my favourite fictional detective, Spencer. I had made notes of all the bars mentioned in his books. Harvey, my son, and I set out to visit them. It’s an unusual but definitely to be recommended way of visiting a city. We got to see some definatly non-tourist areas and to meet some interesting Americans. They were interested to know we kept The Mayflower in Bristol harbour.


excellent experience in Boston Harbor

5 en junio 25, 2013

We visited Boston to watch Chicago Blackhawks win the Stanley Cup. Staying with Bed and Breakfast Afloat was perfect. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom 60 foot sale boat floating in the Constitution Marina, just steps from the USS Constitution, the Garden, Boston's north end, etc. We were able to take the water taxi from the airport directly to the marina for $20/pp. We were able to take a different water taxi from the marina to the Aquarium and other Boston attractions. $3/pp. The marina is filled with beautiful private yachts and created a very cool atmosphere. The boat had 2 a/c units which were key in the 90 degree heat. It was clean and tidy and very comfortable. Highly recommend.


Wonderful stay!

4,0 en octubre 16, 2012

Exceeded expectations. We stayed in the Rozinante for one night only, and it was charming, cozy, clean, facing the harbor (with a mini deck, no less), and equipped with cd/tv/dvd systems. A jacuzzi on a boat? Amazing! Loved the beautiful wooden interior. Pretty spacious for a boat. There was a bit of a walk from the boat itself to the cafe where they gave us a gift certificate for breakfast, but the cafe was tasty enough that it was worth it. Definitely recommend staying here.


Constitution Marina; Bed & Breakfast Afloat

5 en octubre 13, 2011

CONSTITUTION MARINA Early Fall 2011 – Bed & Breakfast Afloat Experience My friend and I recently had the pleasure of visiting the city of Boston for a combination business/relaxation weekend away. During a prior visit, and while walking the docks at the marina, I recalled seeing these quaint floating houseboats that could be rented for over-night visits. I became very excited at the thought, and contacted the marina to schedule the visit. My friend and I had the opportunity to stay aboard two of the houseboats. Never having stayed overnight on the water, we had no idea what to expect. Our excitement was validated with every journey to and from our houseboat. We were pleased with all of the amenities which matched any top notch hotel room we’ve ever visited. We had a variety of weather, including thunderstorms, which brought more excitement to the experience. The very mild sea movement rocked us to sleep each night, and the secure environment allowed us to capture the rest we needed. It is obvious that this marina caters to their visitors and boaters by providing a comfortable, safe, and clean environment. You couldn’t ask for a better location to stay in the city, and how lucky to have the beautiful view of the harbor right outside your door. We’ll be back!! Laurie C


R and R at breakfast afloat

4,0 en agosto 16, 2011

It was just what we needed, a nice comfortable relaxing environment. Our accommodation was very nice. Good size bathroom especially for a houseboat, comfortable bed, fridge, tv etc. Close to the tube station (green line). We were able to bar b que one evening which was great. The staff very knowledgeable about the area. Suggesting that we take the local transport ferry from USS Constitution to the other side where the aquarium is then its a short walk to Fanuiel Hall.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for this nice review. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Beantown.


The Best Way to Experience Boston

4,4 en mayo 03, 2011

If you are anything like our family visiting a city, spending a lot of money on a room you never see is a waste. Our family likes to “experience” the city and staying at the B&B Afloat has been one of the best trips we have ever taken. Plenty of safe parking, easy check-in, friendly and courteous staff. The pool is heated and the deck is good for chilling. There are updated shower/toilet areas and coin operated laundries. We received coupons for the nearby coffee shop which more than covered our coffee, drinks and light breakfast for the four of us each day. Miss Molly has a slip view of The Garden to the West, and the harbor opening to the East. Neighbors were friendly and they didn’t seem to mind our kids. The boat was small, but the wakes were not an issue. Anything you want to do is close. We walked to the restaurant district. Took a stroll on the Freedom Trail. Hopped on a water taxi to the Acquarium. And visited The Constitution. What really sets apart the Afloat from a hotel (as should all B&B’s) is Bobby’s passion for Boston Harbor. He really made sure my family was enjoying themselves and having a good time. He had been encouraging us to see the local islands (which I had no clue about) when we got a lucky break. A film crew was there to do a piece about the harbor and Bobby asked if we would like to join along. We were treated to a full day of historic river and harbor cruising with our own personal guide from the State Parks. We enjoyed an all you can eat and drink cruise on a 90ft yacht complete with lobster, filet mignon, champagne and a Jacuzzi. The highlight of the trip was the exclusive tour of George Island that provided us with a historic perspective that I had not previously realized about Boston. Obviously the tour didn’t hurt, but our stay at Afloat would have still been memorable. We wanted something different from our normal Hyatt stay. More intimate, more fun and more local for our family and we got it.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for such a lovely review. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your family & getting to spend the day together on yacht Secret Love...what a great day! We hope you can visit again the next time you come across the pond.


Evening on "Port"

3,0 en agosto 13, 2010

We were booked into "Casita" but due to an oversight, the room wasn't made up when we arrived, so we were "upgraded" to "Port" which was a far nicer unit. The bed was comfortable, the bath spacious (a tub/shower even), the water hot, and the mini-frig cold. The covered porch with chairs was a great place to sit in the evening and watch the marina activity. Breakfast at the neighboring Sorelle Bakery was convenient, although nothing special. The USS Constitution is berthed right around the corner and we highly recommend a visit to the museum and ship. With a location on the Freedom Trail, this makes a nice base of operations for a walking tour of Boston.


Great Customer Service

3,4 en julio 26, 2010

We were very excited to stay on one of their houseboats and looked forward to taking the water taxi from the airport right to the marina. However, unfortunately our reservation was canceled just 5 days before our arrival. Now that was very disheartening, but the management of the Constitution bed and breakfast came through, by booking us with replacement accommodations, and paying for the difference for the upgrade. I would be more upset about the short notice cancelation; but with the unique situation of having a limited number of units (boats and houseboats available), I suppose there is not much that can be done if there is a problem with one of the vessels. I'm sad we won't get to spend the night on the house boat; but am very happy with the customer service.

Respuesta del propietario

We were sorry that we had problems with this boat and that we had to cancel your reservation with such short notice, especially since we were fully booked and had no other vessels available. However, we were happy that we could get you a room (with a great view) at one of the newest and best hotels on Bostons' waterfront. Of course we covered the difference. It was surprising to see the low ratings that you gave for our rooms, cleanliness, dining, and value; as you did not stay with us. We thought you ended up with an excellent value. You paid $185 for the houseboat and ended up in a room that costs $399. Please let us know the next time you plan a trip to Boston and the houseboat is on us for the night.


Dirty, Stinky Miss Molly

1,8 en julio 17, 2010

Avoid this boat (Miss Molly) and owner!!! Boat was not cleaned from previous guest stay. Smelled terribly sour. No air conditioning and it was over 90 degrees during our stay. Marina staff were very nice and tried to help. We did get clean towels. Clean sheets we recieved only on the SECOND night! It was such a terrible experience! AVOID THIS BOAT OWNER!!


A Boston secret everyone should know about!

5 en junio 14, 2010

My wife and I spent an entire week relaxing and enjoying the sights and sounds from our very own boat. It was terrific. The smell of the sea, the rolling of the waves, and after some long miles walked, it was great to cool off our feet right in the bay at night. The Sea Chalet was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed to enjoy our visit. Some of our best memories of our time in Boston are from sitting on the porch of the Chalet and enjoying the moon rising over South Boston on a fine fall evening. Everyone was polite and nice and helpful - any question we had about pretty much anything was answered quickly and without any weird looks at the "out of towners". If you staying anywhere in Boston, do yourself a favor - skip the hotel and go afloat!! Terry and Stacy K.

Respuesta del propietario

Terry & Stacy, Thank you for the lovely review. We really appreciate the feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at B&B Afloat in Boston. Please come back again soon. Maybe next time you can try one of our larger private vessels, like the sailing ketch Rozinante or yacht Lady and the Coach, you’ll be the king & queen of your own castle for a few nights! Best regards... Bobby T


Floatiing B and B

4,2 en octubre 13, 2009

Miss Molly was small, but very nice on the inside and out. It was very fun, unique and interesting way of seeing Boston.

Respuesta del propietario

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay on Miss Molly...isn't she cute! She currently is the lowest in price of our private vessels. Perhaps next time we might interest you in one of our larger more luxurious sailboats or motor yachts. Call us any time and we will be happy to find something that fits your budget and needs.


much better than a hotel

4,6 en agosto 25, 2009

My wife and i came for a night to get away from the kids, but enjoyed it so much, we stayed a second night and brought the kids. Highly recommend the lady and coach.

Respuesta del propietario

Hotels can be wonderful, but there's certainly nothing like staying right on the water. The Lady and the Coach (the yacht you stayed on) is one of a wide variety of privately owned vessels in our Bed & Breakfast Afloat, and we get new ones every year. We agree, she is a splendid yacht to spend a night, or a week if you have the time. This past season the Lady and the Coach was our most popular private vessel. We hope you can return soon for another wonderful vacation in Boston...don't forget to bring the kids.


Our night on the Lady and the Coach Yacht

4,2 en agosto 17, 2009

We arrived at the Constitution Marina in the mid afternoon and it was a bit overcast. We found the office and went in to tell them we had arrived. I asked for Bobby as he had been most helpful to us in planning this getaway. He promptly took us to the yacht and proceeded to show us everything on the yacht, making sure to tell us what we could and could not use. We were VERY impressed with the yacht and could not wait to sit down and just plain enjoy the boat and the surroundings. We had a wonderful night with our friends, chatting, enjoying some drinks and a great dinner. When it came time for sleep, it was so nice to fall asleep with the soft waves lulling the boat. It was an experience that will not soon be forgotten, thanks in part to the Lady and the Coach as well as the friends we travelled with. We have already told several people about this and I am sure that some of them will be looking into staying on this Yacht again. We LOVED it!!!!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for this kind review, it was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to hosting your friends, and we hope you can come back again soon.


our unique Bostonian experience

4,0 en agosto 15, 2009

Bed and Breakfast Afloat was an amazing overall experience. Being able to sleep on the water in Boston Harbor right by Freedom Trail and the U.S.S. Constitution was fabulous. The "room" was pristine, spacious, and comfortable. The A/C was amazing to come back to after a hot summer day in Boston. This is so much more than a regular bed and breakfast.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for this lovely review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are so inclined, we would like to know how we might be able to improve our service to our guests. Your specific feedback would be most appreciated. Please feel free to call us at your convenience at 617-241-9640.


WAY OVERRATED AND STAFF NOT GOOD

2,4 en julio 21, 2009

I was unhappy with the overal stay although it was clean. Bobby seems to be the only one who knew anything. Sebastian, although helpful, always made it seem like I was bothering him. The dock hands were very helpful but the girl at the counter was too busy talking about the other guest who was bothering her, to check me in. Parking was a mess. Was told of an upscale breakfast. Well "upscale" breakfast was an egg sandwich at a lunch counter. Great view was a retaining wall. View of USS Constitution required a step later or a short swim. Boat was decent but I could have stayed at an upscale hotel in d-town for same price with amenties and actual service. I like B and B's but the experience at this one doens't give you a cool adventure or any amenities...big mistake on my part...and I am a boater so I was not blind goping into this.

Respuesta del propietario

We love reviews…no matter whether it’s a pat on the back, or this-or-that could be better - it’s all about the guests’ enjoyment and always finding ways to improve. A little background: this was the busiest day in Boston this year. Tall Ships come to Boston only once every eight years and the event brings millions of visitors and thousands of boats to Boston Harbor. Our Bed & Breakfast and marina were sold-out. On that afternoon, about a quarter million visitors (including this guest) came to Boston for Tall Ships. We are located at Constitution Marina where every single slip was filled beyond capacity...boats were rafted side-by-side. We probably had over 1,000 people come through that day. Regarding parking - with over 400 spaces there is plenty of parking. However, because of the special event the lot was very busy that day. The houseboat in question (Port) has a lovely view, you can see it on our website. There are flowers planted all around this small houseboat, and though there are some boats in front, our guests can enjoy a wonderful view of the inner harbor and the North End. Regarding the retaining wall – this is on the water at a marina, and behind many of the boats is a retaining wall. Tides drop ten feet at low tide and as the tide-level goes down more of the retaining wall (behind the houseboat) comes into view - that’s normal for any marina. The historic USS Constitution is at the next dock and we encourage our guests to go to the end of our dock where there is a splendid view of “Old Ironsides” and the inner harbor. When our guests inquire about breakfast, we let them know that we give them $6 gift certificates per person to a “European style café & bakery” next door. You can view their menu at www.sorellecafe.com/citysquare.html. We love the Breakfast Fajitas and Latte’s. Again, we are happy when we receive any review. Our guests’ opinions are VERY important to us and we strive to respond to any and all requests.


Casita

4,2 en octubre 28, 2008

Our stay on the Casita was great. We were there only one night and didn't have much time to do much while we were in town, but the staff went out of their way to help us take in as much of Boston as we could. After seeing the sights we could fit into one day and having a wonderful dinner at a nearby restaurant that was suggested by one of the great staff there at the marina, we had a restful night's sleep. A couple of times during the night boats came into the marina creating wakes that were slightly larger than they should have been, which made the picture hanging above the bed start to bang against the wall, however. Simple fix, though. Too bad I forgot to mention it when we checked out.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your kind review. All feedback (whether positive or negative) is so important to us. Our philosophy is, “it’s ALL about the guest”, and we strive to respond to our guests’ needs and comfort. We were not aware of the movement of the picture on the wall and we will button down the hatches, so-to-speak. Please accept our apologies for the wake action. Casita, or “little house” is our economy vessel, and its size certainly lives up to its name. Maybe next time you can enjoy a larger vessel. Please know that we sincerely appreciate that you took the time to post this review. Thank you so much and we hope we get to enjoy the pleasure of your company again the next time you visit Boston. We are open May 1 – October 31. Best regards... Bobby T Bed & Breakfast Afloat, Boston


The best place to stay in Boston!

5 en octubre 22, 2008

I recently stayed in the Green Turtle floating cabin, in the Loggerhead room and it was a fantastic experience. It was an excellent base to explore Boston - especially getting the water ferry in to the city centre (very cheap $1.70 each way). There was plenty to do and see nearby including the Freedom Trail and US Navy dockyard and musuem. To eat, I would recommend the fish and chips (and other food) at the Inn on the Harbor (within the marina complex). Now back to the cabin, the room and bathroom were decorated beautifully and the bed was soooooo comfortable. I loved the little touches such as the very well stocked fridge and snack basket and having breakfast delivered each morning. The view of Boston Harbour and all the daily marina life was such an added bonus. There was also a really friendly atmosphere within the Marina and Artie and Karen could not have been more helpful - thanks guys! I think this is one of the most fun places I have stayed, including the slight swaying and bobbing up and down - all part of the experience!! If I come back to Boston I would definitely choose to stay here again. Perfect! Karin, Surrey UK


Dream Weekend

4,8 en octubre 20, 2008

We stayed in the Sea Turtle houseboat which had a million dollar view of the Boston waterfront, and was in walking distance of the USS Constitution and the Freedom Trail and downtown Boston. It could not have been a nicer weekend. Our hosts bent over backwards to insure that we had an enjoyable time.


Certainly a One-Time Thing for New SeaFarers!

3,2 en octubre 02, 2008

I stayed at a boat called Sea Chalet, and the view was spectacular, although the masts from the adjacent docked boats partially obscured the view of the Boston skyline. I was a little disappointed upon learning that the price was higher than the one advertised on their website. Perhaps the moderator should consider keeping it up-to-date to prevent unexpected surprises. The toilet bowl was leaking a bit. I was glad I only stayed 1 night here. It's a great experience for those who've never done it, but I still felt the same swaying motion 2 days after leaving even though I was on land. If you are sensitive towards nausea, this may not be the place for you, but certainly would be great for those looking for the road- or harbor- less travelled.

Respuesta del propietario

We were happy to receive this review and we changed the location of the Sea Chalet to a spot with un-obstructed views, from the deck of this small houseboat. We also replaced the seal in the toilet right after you told us about it. It's normal "wear and tear” but we're sorry that we did not notice it prior to your arrival. You are certainly right that staying on a boat is not for everyone. Being a small houseboat the Sea Chalet does have a certain amount of movement. Perhaps next time you might try one of our larger vessels where there is considerably less movement. However, there will always be some motion on any boat – many people find it quite comforting with the feeling of a gentle rocking to sleep. Thank you for posting this review. This kind of constructive feedback helps us to make our bed and breakfast a more comfortable place for future guests.


GREAT LOCATION / GREAT VALUE

3,6 en junio 25, 2008

Unique experience, great location, convenient to everything. Friendly and helpful staff. Would do it again.


Unique accommodations!

3,8 en junio 16, 2008

Not for everyone, but great for us! We stayed at the Constitution Marina's Bed and Breakfast Afloat for a two night anniversary getaway. We stayed in the "Port" a small houseboat with a full size bed, full bath with hot water, cable-TV, fridge, and VCR. The houseboat is supplied with fresh linens, towels, soap, shampoo, hairdryer, drinking water, coffeepot (and supplies for the coffeepot), iron and small ironing board. The "Port" has two outside chairs located outside of the houseboat via a sliding glass door and an additional outside table with chairs located in front of the houseboat. The "Port" was basically a bedroom on the water with great views of the Boston Harbor. The "Port" had a little unpleasant odor (not sure if it was from stale smoke or a mildew odor or a combination of both) but the houseboat was clean. Vouchers ($6.00 per person, per night) are given for breakfast at Sorelle's coffee shop which is nearby the marina. We stayed at the B&B Afloat early June and it was very quiet on the houseboat and around the marina. The Marina has a small outdoor swimming pool and a sunning deck. The walk from the gate of the marina to the houseboat is about a five minute stroll. I would not recommend the houseboat for handicapped persons nor for anyone expecting luxury. I would describe staying on the houseboat as "deluxe camping" with a comfortable bed. The Marina is located in Boston's Charlestown neighborhood and is very close to the USS Constitution and the USS Constitution Museum which are on the Boston's Freedom Trail. Boston's North End, the Rose Kennedy Greenway, TD Banknorth Garden and Boston's North Station (T stop) are all about a 10-20 minute walk from the marina.


Great value

4,2 en junio 15, 2008

Stayed on the Sea Chalet for 1 night. Now wished we would have planned more time as this is a fun way to spend time in Boston. Much less than other area hotels and the view was spectacular. Location near USS Constitution and the 10 minute ferry to downtown was great.


Stayed on the Galileo

4,8 en junio 11, 2008

Four of us stayed on the Galileo. What an excellent experience. Great location, awesome service, I would recommend this to anyone. We will be back! Brian U'Ren


It was perfect!

4,8 en mayo 15, 2007

What a wonderful experience this was! The ocean air, nice clean room, comfortable bed, amazing views of both the city and the USS Constitution. We will definitely be back this summer. It was a great location to spend the night before attending a Sox game. We wouldn't consider staying overnight anywhere else after our experience this past weekend. The neighboring boat owners were very friendly and one can really get a sense of a small community there on the docks. Overall I rate our stay a 10!


ARE WE IN HEAVEN?

5 en abril 03, 2007

Staying on Boston harbor was heavenly. We loved waking up on the water. It was so peaceful and the boat was beautiful. The free tour of the Constitution ship next door was fascinating. Our kids enjoyed the pool and we went on a beautiful sunset cruise our first night there. The duck tour was lots of fun. We’ll definitely stay there again.


Bed and Breakfast Afloat c/o Constitution Marina

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $175 - $354
  • Comentarios (25) 4,1
  • Habitaciones 9

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-6172419640
  • Fax 1-6172423013

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba