Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
203 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Amazing service and food!

4,6 en diciembre 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in September and saw more of Maine than we thought possible with Mary Jo's driving suggestions. The food...unbelievable! Each dish was a work of delicious art - it's like being in France right here in the US. The best duck since La Tour D'Argent. I NEVER write reviews, but this beautiful Inn is beyond wonderful.


Can't Stay Away!

5 en mayo 07, 2013

Since we have been going to Maine in the early 1990's, we have been staying at the Hartstone, simply because there is no other place we would rather be. Mary Jo and Michael, as well as the entire staff, are exceptional in every aspect. Each stay becomes longer and this June we have extended our stay for 10 days. Michael's meals are to die for!! The rooms are cozy, comfortable, clean and every detail is lovingly manicured to profection. The hospitality is beyond complimentary words. There are two problems - we have to leave Mary Jo and Michael and the lovely rooms, and we leave having gained weight. It is so worth every pound of delicious, gourmet food though - with thanks Michael and Mary Jo for the fond memories past and to come!!


Best B&B

5 en noviembre 16, 2011

Could not have enjoyed a better place. Food was outstanding. Will go back again.


Terrific Place to Stay in Maine.

4,2 en noviembre 09, 2011

Stayed for a Fri - Sun weekend vacation. Didn't eat there, although they offered meals. Picturesque Inn located in a quaint New England town.


What a lovely way to end our Fall Leaf Tour

4,8 en octubre 31, 2011

Our stay at the Hatrstone Inn was wonderful. Attention to detail in every area of the operation. Kind and helpful staff, lovely setting, incredible FOOD!!! As we ended each day exploring how lovely it was to go "home". A cocktail was waiting and then a magnificent meal! We hope to visit again!


First time ever at a B&B

5 en octubre 29, 2011

My husband and I were on a tour of the New England States as a way to celebrate our "Empty Nest"! We chose the The Hartstone Inn after much research. We had never stayed in a B&B and we were not disappointed! The Inn is beautifully decorated and centrally located near the quaint downtown of Camden, Maine. The rooms are spacious and elegant. We stayed in the Mansard room on the third floor which had a private bath. The bath was stocked with spa products, not your little one time use bottles at most places. The bath salts were wonderful as was the whirlpool tub. The bed had a memory foam mattress and pillows that were very comfortable. Another plus was each room had a television, which was not the case with many of the B&Bs we researched. My husband is an avid St. Louis Cardinals fan and they were in the play-offs so this was a bonus for him. We chose not to have dinner at the restaurant at the Inn because unlike me, my husband is not a "foodie". Eric, one of the Inn Keepers, was very helpful and we ate at a local restaurant he recommended and it was excellent. After a wonderful nights rest, breakfast began with a fresh mango-blueberry smoothie, followed by a poached apple with a wonderful cinnamon sauce and whipped cream and the last course was french toast made with freshly baked raisen bread and brown sugar-cumin bacon. My mouth waters just thinking about that bacon. It was an overall ourstanding experience and I highly recommend The Hartstone Inn for your next stay in Camden, Maine!


Poptech at the Hartstone Inn

4,2 en octubre 26, 2011

Had a great stay at the Hartstone Inn in Camden Maine. A very nice property with unexpected amenities such as movies to watch in your room, and tea, coffee and snacks available in the parlor throughout the day. Truly excellent breakfasts and dinners await you as well. Definitely recommend this B&B.


Annual Treat to myself in Camden

5 en octubre 26, 2011

My stay at the Hartstone in Camden is a highlight of my year. The food is out of this world. The breakfast is creative and delicious. Be sure to book a dinner during your time there. The staff is incredibly helpful - great source of info about tings to do in the area.


Unique Character but Didn't -Wow- Me

3,0 en octubre 25, 2011

I had a decent experience at the Hartstone just last week. I stayed for 4 nights but only ate with them once - not because of anything they did or didn't do, I just had other plans. The meal I did have there was delicious and surprising - nothing like what I could make for myself at home. The room was small but stuffed - mostly the bed took up all the room. It was a great bed but huge. Bathroom was teeny tiny but functional. Not a lot of room to do work - and I had a laptop with me for the purposes of doing some work. I ended up sitting it on my lap while on the bed. The Inn is conveniently located. Parking was kind of tight and I was driving a small Ford Focus. Would I stay there again if I ever come to Camden, it would depend on why I was in Camden I suppose.


Our review of the Hartstone Inn

5 en octubre 24, 2011

Everything was as good or better than we remembered it. We would not stay anywhere else in Camden. Excellence in hospitality, food and dining, and the overall experience


Highlight of trip to New England

5 en octubre 20, 2011

We had an amazing experience at the Hartstone and hated to leave. Be sure to make a reservation for dinner as it is fabulous and you won't be disappointed. We had two rooms - one for us and one for a guest traveling with us. Our guest said that it was the highlight of our trip to New England, that she loved her room, and that if she had to pick only one course from our dinner the evening before to be served again the next day, she wouldn't know which to select as each course was so delicious. The owners and staff were great and I also recommend getting a copy of Chef Salmon's newest cookbook - it is a beauty and is a great keepsake of our time enjoyed at their establishment. We are self-proclaimed "hotel snobs" and have only happy memories and words of praise about our time at the Hartsone Inn & Hideway. The Chamberlains, Louisiana


Exceptional !!

4,8 en octubre 18, 2011

My wife and I enjoy B&Bs and have stayed at many over the years, including other properties in Camden, ME. Our stay at Hartstone will definately be one of the most memorable ever! We stayed in "The Loft" which was a beautiful room with a firplace and a great skylight over the bed. We opted for the Chef prepared dinner at the Inn, and Michael prepared an amazing 5 course meal that was not only unique and delicious, but a great value too. A good wine list completed our evening in the dining room. This was our 6th trip to Camden (over 25 years), and our 5th B&B in Camden ... but this will be our permanent Camden B&B now!


Hartstone is a Special Place

4,2 en octubre 17, 2011

If you are a foodie, you will love the Hartstone Inn. Imaging having a gourmet chef cook breakfast for you each morning. And the optional dinner was one of the best dinners we have ever had. Anywhere. The staff is also very eager to please and is very helpful. We stayed here to celebrate our 20th anniversary and we made a fabulous choice. Hope to return one day.


Went beyond to make our stay outstanding!!

5 en octubre 17, 2011

As always, the Hartstone Inn made our stay in Camden a romantically pampered getaway. You can tell from every detail of your stay that the owners Mary Jo and Michael want your visit to be perfect. The food rivals any 5-star restaurant in NY(yes, REALLY!). A special commendation to Chef Salmon for preparing our meal a bit earlier, so that we could make our flight without missing his sumptuous breakfast! THANK YOU Chef Michael!!!


Fabulous Stay

5 en octubre 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed a night at the Hartstone in Camden Oct 12th and it was fabulous. We stayed in the Paris room and the decor was amazing along with the comfy bed. We ate dinner as well as breakfast and the meals were outstanding. I would highly recommend staying here if you visit Camden.


Simply Superb!

4,6 en octubre 16, 2011

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay three nights at this fantastic inn recently. Our room, the Cottage Suite, enchanted me from the first time I saw it online. I found it quite lovely in situ, albeit a bit overwhelmingly Victorian for my usual tastes, but I soon became accustomed to the richly detailed décor. The suite includes the ravishingly red-walled bedroom, sunken bathroom with Jacuzzi , and sitting room with Victorian hassock and beautifully functional sideboard. We enjoyed a private entrance and small patio. The Inn is beautifully appointed with elegant antiques, and boasts small lovely gardens. The very best features of this establishment however, are the food and the service. Each breakfast includes creative and thoughtfully prepared gourmet delights. Special dietary needs and requests are cheerfully observed with appropriate substitutions prepared with the same care and expertise given all ingredients. Dinners at the Inn are a very special experience, prepared by the incomparable chef/owner Michael Salmon. My husband and I had the incredible Maine Lobster with Vanilla Beurre Blanc and Angel Hair Pasta– it was outstanding. The waitstaff are extremely pleasant and precise, offering both service and knowledge in a friendly yet subtle manner. Each table is equipped with an ipad displaying continuously evolving photos of the most recently completed European Culinary Tour, along with handy maps of the local area. If you need more customized information and advice, co-owner, Mary Jo Brink or any of the management staff are more than happy to oblige. Upon return to your room after breakfast, you will be pleasantly surprised to find your room serviced during your absence. The Hartstone offers many more amenities, including a spa, culinary classes and foodie adventures – I plan on returning in order to indulge in this heavenly inn’s exceptional menu of hospitality.


Wonderful evening

4,0 en octubre 15, 2011

We only stayed at the Hartstone for one evening, but we so enjoyed the comfortable room, friendly service and beautiful setting of Camden. Very well worth the trip!


EATING AND ROMANCE

3,8 en octubre 11, 2011

My wife and I celebrated 25 years of marriage and were in the perfect place to do so. We enjoyed exceptionally delicious meals with peace and quiet. The hideaway was a very romantic, classic New England enjoyment. We would love to come back.


It keep's getting better

5 en octubre 10, 2011

As an frequent visitor to the Hartstone Inn, we're truly amazed in how it just keep's getting better and better. From new decor and themes for the rooms, the wonderful staff, outstanding dinners, the morning gourmet breakfast and the great amenities,it's truly a memorable experience each every time. Highly recommended.


Fantastic Stay

4,0 en octubre 09, 2011

A really terrific property. Beautifully decorated, comfortable and delicious food. If ever in the area again, will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a wonderful time.


Honeymoon in Camden, ME

5 en octubre 06, 2011

We'll stay again. Very charming, relaxing environment. Makes me wonder why people go to hotels......the Hartstone blows them away.


Best B&B in Camden, ME:

5 en octubre 04, 2011

This is by far one of the best B&B we've stayed in..it was the best we were in while in Maine and Vermont. The food is outstanding as chef Michael owns this B&B and is the cook!! Wonderful breakfast and we had dinner there one night and it was a 5 star!!! I highly recommend this one!!!


The Inn of your Dreams!

5 en octubre 01, 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Hartstone celebrating my wife's birthday! Our stay exceded our expectations! Excellent website accurately portrays the Inn. Chef Michael and wife Mary Jo put their love of cuisine, antiques and hospitality on display everyday! The moment we opened the front door our stay was nothing short of perfect. Staff are very friendly/helpful, but not intrusive. Staff also assisted with special special surprise request! Each day after a sumptuous breakfast, we would return to our room and find it already made up! That's service! Breakfast - something new each morning with freshly made juices! Had the most flavorful, delicate blueberry waffles with house made syrup one morning, along with house made pork sausage! Dinners are a MUST at the Hartstone. There are two seatings from which to choose where Chef Michael personally serves you the main course! The Lobster course our final evening was pure heaven on a plate! Such artistry/flavor perfection, beyond words! For wine aficionados there is an impressive wine list. Part of the decision to stay at the Hartstone was the reputation of Chef Michael -- we were not disappointed. Rooms exquisitely decorated/furnished with antiques collected by the owners. We stayed in the secluded Arbor Suite, a short pleasant walk from the Main house through one of the beautiful gardens. It was well appointed, very roomy/relaxing; the bed/bedding superb! Quaint town of Camden a short walk from the Inn! As we would walk around town, or out on one of many day trips, when asked where we were staying, the questioner would reply how lucky we were to be staying at the Hartstone. Lucky indeed, the Inn of our dreams!! A birthday to remember!! John and Susan from San Antonio, Texas


Style and Comfort

4,0 en septiembre 30, 2011

We stayed at the Hartstone Inn recently for 3 nights. This is a top-class B&B with attention to every detail. It is also a Fine Dining establishment and the food was excellent, both at dinner and breakfast. All meals are set, but on 2 occasions when my wife was not keen on a particular course, a substitute was offered. The B&B is well-located in Camden, a most beautiful sea-side town, although it should be noted that bedrooms at the front of the house are right on the main road and suffer somewhat from noise (actually a problem with all 3 B&Bs we stayed in during our vacation). Overall, a tremendous start to our holiday and well-worth considering.


They've raised the bar for the kind of service I expect...

3,8 en septiembre 29, 2011

On our way up to Bar Harbor, we broke up our trip by staying in Camden, ME. After doing a bit of research online, we opted to book a room at the Hartstone. I loved the look of the rooms - homey, yet stylish - and was not disappointed. The location (about a block up from downtown Camden) was perfect. We opted to eat dinner at the inn, which I highly recommend if you're looking for something quiet, cozy, and absolutely delicious. The Greek salad was the best I've ever had, and the beef melted in our mouths. Truly worth it. But the real reason we'll stay here again was the service. Every person on staff was welcoming, attentive, and absolutely professional. We were duly impressed and highly recommend the Hartstone to anyone looking for a lovely getaway.


Mixed review for Hartstone Hideaway

3,4 en septiembre 28, 2011

Hartstone Inn and Hideaway is conveniently located with walking distance of the center of town. We had a room in the Hideaway which was on the second floor and quite comfortable. Dinner in the main dining room was delicious and the staff quite well trained. However breakfast the next morning in the Hideaway was inedible. The french toast was either microwaved or left in the oven too long and could not be cut with a knife. When we commented to the server on the hardness of the bread, she responded that she was sorry that we were not hungry that day. Breakfast the second morning was much better so that's why I have a mixed review.


F. Baumer, Switzerland

4,4 en septiembre 26, 2011

The two breakfasts we had, were the most surprising and positive breakfast that have been prepared for me! Thank you


Wonderful Stay

5 en septiembre 22, 2011

We stayed 3 days during our coastal Maine vacation and prefer staying at B&Bs. The Hartstone Inn didn't disappoint. It's in a great location within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. We had a suite located outside of the main house which made us feel like we had our own little cottage. The food was wonderful for breakfast and dinner. It was great having an IPad on each breakfast table so we could easily check the weather forecast or look for other events or activities. The gathering/living room where you could get early morning coffee or order a cocktail prior to dinner, was nice but small.


A wonderful and charming B&B

4,4 en septiembre 21, 2011

What a great experience! The Hartstone Inn and Hideaway is so charming and pays much attention to detail in decor and service and the food is outstanding! Everyone is very gracious and attentive. We stayed in the Hideaway in the Sweet Woodruf room with a King size bed. The bed and pillows were so comfortable. There wasn't a lot of extra room, but then we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyway. The shower was great! We would love to go back someday.


Beautiful B&B with Magnificent Meals

5 en septiembre 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 35th anniversary and felt totally pampered for the 4 days we were there. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and Mary Jo and Chef Michael were wonderful hosts. They checked with all the guests at meals to be sure they were comfortable and everything was just so. Our Garden Suite was beautifully decorated to the detail. It was impeccably clean, roomy and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were amazing. There are 2 courses with a fruit and sweet dish to start, such as almond muffins topped with delicately cut fruits on top, or an amazing baked fruit. The homemade mixed juices were incredible, followed by the main course, for example a scrumptious apple pancake baked in individual skillets or eggs Benedict topped with smoked salmon. The presentation was beautiful and the taste was even better. We enjoyed a fantastic 5 course dinner. The appetizer was wild mushrooms and brie tied in a crepe bundle with a chive bow, surrounded with a pear sauce and cranberries. The main course was halibut cooked to perfection over a rice pilaf with an amazing delicate sauce. The finishing course was Chef Michael's famous souffles. That night was strawberry souffles and when presented a semisweet chocolate sauce was poured in the center. Amazing! They also serve an early 2 course dinner and the menus sounded wonderful and the price is very reasonable or even less compared to other restaurants in town. The location of the Inn is great, with ample parking. We were in Camden for the windjammer festival and could park our car and walk to everything. We absolutely loved the Hartstone Inn and would recommend this to anyone. The rates compare to the other B&B's and the food is outstanding. We had a very memorable time and hope to come back!! Thank you to our wonderful hosts!


Very nice and attentive to detail

3,8 en septiembre 18, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in the Sweet Woodruff.....nice room but could have used a flat top table or desk for luggage/laptop....no place to put things. Had to take up window seat with luggage. Beautiful room but could be more functional.


Elegance meets exquisite in this Camden B & B

5 en septiembre 18, 2011

From the moment we stepped into the entryway, we were awe- struck by the sweet loveliness of the Hartstone Inn. Every staff member with whom we came into contact was pleasant and accommodating. Our room boasted the most comfortable bed ever - tempur-pedic, enough said - along with a quaint little sitting area and every amenity you can think of (and some you can't!). The food was divine - each meal was artfully presented and equally delicious. The spa services were excellent and well above typical standards, while costing the average amount. All in all, the town of Camden is blessed to have such a gem just minutes from its cosy downtown, and you will be grateful you chose the Hartstone Inn, just as we are!


So close but so far away

3,4 en septiembre 18, 2011

Hartstone is located just a block away from the heart of Camden, where all the action is, and yet feels so distant once you are inside its walls. Our suite was lovely with plenty of room, the main building is homey and inviting, and the crowds enjoying Camden simply don't intersect. The staff procactively asks guests during breakfast whether they can help with ideas or directions for their day's activities, and quickly accommodate any special requests. Our only real complaint (other than they make their mojitos a little too sweet for our taste) is that housekeeping didn't clean the sink or counter in the bathroom when they replaced towels and made the bed daily. Nevertheless, Hartstone is our destination next time we go to Camden!


Outstanding B & B

5 en septiembre 14, 2011

Loved the room we were in!! So cozy and comfortable, yet spacious. Staff was welcoming and very accomodating. Breakfast each day was really a treat, delicious!! We have already recommended Hartstone Inn to friends that we know who travel to Maine. We would definitely stay here again. Kathy & Tom Gleason


An Excellent Vacation!

5 en septiembre 12, 2011

The Hartstone Inn is beautiful, and the people make it even better. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel special from the first moment. Chef Michael is friendly and fun, and his food is amazing! Mary Jo's touch makes the Inn seem like home - a beautiful, happy home. We can't wait to go back!


A wonderful getaway

4,0 en septiembre 07, 2011

The Hartstone Inn was elegant in every way. The food was magnificent in taste, presentation and variety. The attention to detail made this Inn stand out from anywhere we've stayed in the past.


Lovely Property but the kitchen is over-rated.

2,8 en septiembre 06, 2011

Sorry...I know that they have worked hard to create a culture of good food here at the Hartstone. And indeed the presentation of the dishes at dinner was artful. I just wish that the spicing had more clarity. Flavors were muddled instead of bright. But I would recommend this as a great place to stay in Camden. But you might want to eat somewhere else.


Best B&B

4,8 en agosto 30, 2011

This is one of the best B&B's where we've ever stayed and if you consider the evening meals it is the best. Mary Jo and Michael are wonderful hosts and Michael is a five star chef. A wonderful place for a relaxing holiday. Breakfast is a culinary adventure. The five course dinners leave you comfortably full and amazed at the variety of flavors. Mike Ferland Tualatin, Oregon


Perfect Getaway in Maine

4,8 en agosto 30, 2011

We stayed in the French Thyme Suite, which had a gorgeous front porch with two rocking chairs, a generous sized sitting area, HUGE bathroom, and gorgeous sleeping area. We had a 30 minute fire in the bedside fireplace each night as we curled in bed and watched TV. I also took full advantage of the enourmous jacuzzi tub, which was incredibly relaxing each evening. The breakfast each morning was fantastic, with refreshing freshly squeezed juices and a variety of tasty entrees. One morning we enjoyed a cheese and berry blintz which was kind of like "breakfast dessert," followed by a prosciutto quiche that was savory and scrumptious. During breakfast each morning, Michael circulated around to see what everyone's plans were. As we mentioned that we had thought about going up to Acadia National Park, but weren't sure since it was a bit far, he proceeded to recommend a trip to St. George's Penninsula. He took a tour map and drew a perfect route with all sorts of scenic, food, and shopping highlights along the way. We followed his recommendations to a tea, and it was the best day that we had! The personal attention and willingness to help make our entire stay tailored to our desires was amazing. We also took advantage of the multi-course dinner offered at the Inn, which was spectacular. Each course was tasty, unique, and beautifully plated. We ended the meal with a cappuccino souffle with a kahlua creme anglaise that was absolutely fantastic. I would definitely recommend making a dinner reservation while you are at the Inn. When we go back to Camden, we will most certainly stay at the Harstone Inn!


Great get away in August

3,6 en agosto 28, 2011

Great location and a good price. Breakfast was excellent. We would choose for another visit.


Wonderful experience

4,4 en agosto 27, 2011

Our stay as perfect. All meals were excellent; however, the dinner was one of the best meals we had ever eaten. Everything about the meal was superb.


Beautiful B&B in the heart of Camden

5 en agosto 25, 2011

Located just steps from downtown Camden, the Hartstone B&B was a great place to stay. Our room was very well decorated, clean, and had an A/C unit that was strong and quiet. The inn itself is cool with local artist paintings hanging on the wall for sale. The complimentary breakfast was declicious and unique and the happy hour special cocktails were splendid. Overall it was a very nice B&B and I thought well priced.


A Maine Retreat

4,0 en agosto 25, 2011

As always....the Hartstone Inn is our 'home away from home'– from the gracious hosts and owners to their warm and friendly staff. In the midst of where the sun meets the sea, we couldn't ask for a better place to stay...old world elegance, with a touch of Maine, and a bit of Caribbean 'zing'! Chef Salmon conjures magic in his meals and Mary Jo does the same with the inn's decor and ambiance.


breakfast

3,4 en agosto 25, 2011

everything was great with the rooms. we didnt eat in the main dining room. my issue was breakfast was so late. 8:30 is just way too late. should have had coffee and some fruit/yogurt available at 7am latest, or earlier if possible.


Enjoyed our stay in Aug

3,4 en agosto 24, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hartstone B&B. Camden is a gorgeous town and the inn is well situated for walking. I specifically choose the Tally Ho room for price knowing the bathroom was private but off hall. We would close the door when we left but each time back the door would be open making me think they also used it as public restroom although we never actually saw anyone in there.Also, there is only one window and could not be opened because there was an air conditioner unit installed which wuld bother me if the weather was cooler. We left our room early for breakfast and for the day but when we returned to get showered for our evening plans our room and bathroom had still not been made up or cleaned. My families rooms were made up right away so I don't know how they missed our room. We would stay here again but would absolutely only want to be in the main inn. Didn't have dinner at the inn although we would like to in the future. Breakfast was fine,each day started with a dish that was quite sweet and then a main dish. We enjoyed it but I would personally like to be able to order just a normal egg or fruit and yogurt. Coffee was available each am in the living room. Very comfortable weekend,easy parking,nice owners. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years and this one is well maintained,good water pressure for showers,etc.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 en agosto 24, 2011

Incredible attention to detail, delicious food artfully presented, and a warm and friendly staff make this a place I would visit again and again.


Very nice!

4,6 en agosto 23, 2011

It was a beautiful place. We enjoyed the social hour and wonderful breakfast.


hartstone inn

5 en agosto 23, 2011

Beautiful inn Very friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast and dinner..Very reasonable price for what you get...Highly recommend


Unbelievable dining!

3,2 en agosto 21, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hartstone and we absolutely loved the five-course dinner there! We stayed in the Florence room, which is right off of the entryway in the main building. The room was nice, however we could hear quite a bit of the comings and goings from the entryway. The staff was friendly and pleasant. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.


Best B & B in Camden, ME

5 en agosto 21, 2011

We love the Hartstone Inn and Hideaway. Michael and Mary Jo Salmon have created the perfect relaxing retreat in one of Maine's loveliest settings.


August 2011

4,2 en agosto 21, 2011

The inn was great. Staff was very pleasant and came around during breakfast if people needed directions for the day or suggestions. The food was great and eating dinner ought to be on your plan.


nothing but the best

5 en agosto 20, 2011

The stay we had was just fantastic, from the service to the dinning it is amoung the very best! Michael and Mary Jo have put a lot of love and care into the Hartstone Inn, and it shows in the decor, and the staff is as pleasent and willing to help in any way they can to insure that your stay is a memorable one. The maels prepared by Chef Michael from breakfast to dinner were just great. Again I would like to say thank you for a lovely time with wounderful people! We will be back Thank you Michael Bomba


Wonderful experience staying at the Hartstone Inn

4,0 en agosto 20, 2011

We had a beautiful room with all the amenities and more for a bed and breakfast. The breakfast was well prepared and delicious. We had excellent service and enjoyed our stay very much.


Hartstone inn August 2011

4,4 en agosto 20, 2011

Absolutely great customer service! Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location.


Wonderful Weekend at the Hartstone Inn

4,8 en agosto 19, 2011

We spent three wonderful nights at the Hartstone in August. We really enjoyed the bi-level Garden Suite - the king-size bed was extraordinarily comfortable. The bathroom was nicely modern and the sitting room area was comfortable. Dinner on Friday night was terrific and the breakfasts were a huge treat - Michael Salmon's creations are simply delicious, portions were just right and the homemade cocktails that they made available for dinner and the mixed-juice breakfast juices were great treats. Tiny negatives: I thought that the light from the clockradio was quite bright at night (no autodimming feature), parking can be a challenge, especially for larger vehicles (but the RiteAid pharmacy has a handy lot right next door), the TV was somewhat small which might be a bigger negative in the winter than in the summer. Big picture: the staff goes out of its way to make your stay and dining experiences special, the accomodations are top-notch and you're a short block away from the center of Camden! I can't recommend it highly enough!


fabulous stay at Hartstone Inn

5 en agosto 18, 2011

YUM The food is amazing, the service is perfect , the setting and rooms are beautifully appointed with no detail overlooked. I have stayed in 5star hotels that were not as nice.


Lovely weekend getaway!

3,6 en agosto 17, 2011

We had a lovely time. Terrific room, delicious breakfasts, wonderful hosts! We'd stay here again without hesitation!


Excellent B&B

4,4 en agosto 17, 2011

We spent two nights at Hartstone Inn. The room, service, and food were top-notch. Our stay felt very luxurious, though rates were less than some other B&B's that didn't offer as much. Dinner was a gourmet but comfortable experience. Location is perfect for enjoying Camden.


Our Week at the Hartstone Inn

5 en agosto 17, 2011

An outstanding Inn in an outstanding town. The Hartstone is just steps away from the very center of Camden. The breakfasts are incredible. Be sure to sign up for one of their gourmet dinners while you are there. Our room, The Florence, was lovely with tall windows and a sitting area.


Love this place!

5 en agosto 17, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and wished we were staying longer -- The Hartstone is outstanding in every respect -- service, rooms and especially dining. Breakfast and dinner are a gourmet feast!


What a special place.

4,8 en agosto 16, 2011

My wife and I recently spent two perfect days/nights in the Arbor Suite at the Hartstone Inn. It was the highlight of out trip along the Maine coast to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything about this Inn is special: the beautiful and well-appointed rooms, the great service, the interesting and delicious cocktails, and especially the incredible food prepared by Michael. Our dinner at the Hartstone easily surpassed all other meals on our trip, including an evening at the renowned White Barn Inn in Kennebunkport. And the breakfasts were just as delicious. Finally, we must mention the warmth and graciousness of Mary Jo, Michael, and their staff. It is easy to see that this Inn is a true labor of love for them and that they are committed to insuring that their guests are happy and satisfied. We have been fortunate to stay in many great Inns throughout Maine, New England, and the rest of the country over the years, and we have never enjoyed a stay as thoroughly as this one. Camden has become our new favorite town on the Maine coast and we will definitely return to the Hartstone at our very first opportunity


Was as good as my friend said!

5 en agosto 13, 2011

Room was lovely, bed was comfy, and very relaxing. Enjoyed tea with nice homemade cookies and while I usually do not drink cocktails these were a treat. We enjoyed dinner at the inn and dinner more than lived up to the reviews. My friend told me breakfast was her unexpected best and I understand why. We'll come again.


Hartstone Inn: convenient and lovely

3,6 en agosto 13, 2011

The Hartstone Inn's Hideaway (across street) is beautiful, clean, and within walking distance of town. The bathroom was spotless, brightly lit, a good size, and (makeup alert!) had a 10X side mirror. Complimentary tea and cookies await, lobby has a computer, and breakfast was sumptuous both days. An iPad is present on each morning dining table, which we never touched because (for us) it defeats the purpose of getting away (which is to reconnect and talk!). Highly recommend this Inn.


Beautiful B&B

4,6 en agosto 11, 2011

We stayed during the weekend of Rockland's lobster festival and didn't get a chance to dine with Hartstone. There should be a N/A option in these surveys. Definitely will stay again and next time we'll stay longer. We'll certainly make it a point to dine at Hartstone next time since the menu looks exceptional. The service was surperb and our room couldn't have been more gorgeous! So much so that we'll do all we can to make this an annual trip.


great stay

4,6 en agosto 11, 2011

We stayed in the Hideaway, across the street, which was very quiet and pleasant. Both locations are superbly located to everything in town, yet a step away from the noise and fray. Camden is a lovely, picturesque town and we will be back!


Very Nice Stay

5 en agosto 10, 2011

Stopped here on the way to Bar Harbor from Manchester. The service was excellent. Chef Michael did an excellent job on breakfast. We did not eat dinner there because the dinner that evening had 2 seafood courses and my wife does not eat seafood. The room was also clean and comfortable and had a nice Temperpedic mattress.


Great food, nice rooms

4,8 en agosto 10, 2011

Lovely stay at the Hartstone Inn. Food was so good the first night that we reserved a second night and weren't disappointed! Rooms are lovely, hosts friendly, and food excellent. What more can you ask for?


Outstanding!!!

4,6 en agosto 06, 2011

This has been our 3rd visit with Hartstone and each time has been wonderful. the service and dining are outstanding. Looking forward to going back next year.


Our August 2011 Stay

5 en agosto 05, 2011

The food was unsurpassed, the room was well appointed, quiet, and comfortable. The owners were friendly and accommodated our every need. We would not hesitate to stay there again.


Very nice inn

4,8 en agosto 02, 2011

Excellent room, service and food.


Exquisite & Charming

5 en agosto 02, 2011

The Hartstone Inn will not disappoint! The hospitality is first-class, the rooms are lovely, and the food is exquisite. You will definitely want to make a reservation for dinner. Breakfasts were a gourmet two-course experience. It was wonderful and I look forward to returning again.


Camden Vistist at Hartstone inn

4,0 en julio 31, 2011

We were very pleased wit the service and attention to detail. The food was excellent. We would definately come back


Anniversary Getaway

4,6 en julio 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hartstone as an 18th Anniversary getaway. Upon arriving we were warmly welcomed and then accommodated in the Cottage Suite. The room was outstanding with much attention to detail. We dined at Hartstone and the gourmet five course meal was absolutely amazing. We looked forward to breakfast each morning just to experience more culinary treats. Our three night stay passed by much too quickly. Would highly reccommend this Inn and dining experience. Columbus Grove, Ohio


Wonderful vacation!

5 en julio 28, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with the casual elegance and friendliness of the inn and the staff. Warm, friendly, sophisticated, but not pretentious.


Hartstone's Heart

3,6 en julio 26, 2011

Our stay at the Hartstone was a very pleasant experience. The service provided by the Inn Keepers was excellent. We especially liked their visits at our table during breakfast and lunch to see how our visit was going and provide recommendations on what to visit in the area. We plan to make a return visit.


Honeymoon at Hartstone Inn: July 2011

4,6 en julio 25, 2011

We loved the Hartstone Inn and the owners. They are amazing people who really seem to love what they do for a living. Everything was beautifully done. If we had to change a few things, we would offer the following ideas: 1) Tell guests at breakfast that there are other options (fruit bowl) for food. We found ourselves overwhelmed with the rich and fattening foods offered and did not know that we could ask for other items. 2) Tell guests that the pass to the Y is free. We did not know that until we asked about the Y for working out. But beyond those tiny critiques, this inn is top-notch, first-class, crazy lovely! ;) Thank you so very much for everything~~~~ Jackie Dailey and Tommy Stewart. We will be back next year.


July 15th vaca

4,0 en julio 25, 2011

Mary Jo and Michael were gracious hosts. The room was so beautiful and the bed and bedding so luxurious, didn't want to get out of it. The robes were a nice touch and oh so beautiful I had to buy one to bring home. The food was excellent. A must have is to buy one of Michaels' cookbooks. I have already made two of the receipes and they were delicious!! ALso a shout out to Paul and to Ti Ti for making the breakfast setting so enjoyable. Can't wait to go back again.


We loved Hartstone Inn

5 en julio 24, 2011

This was our first visit to Camden, Maine and we loved the Hartstone Inn! From the moment you enter this beautiful Inn to the amazing room (we stayed in the Lark's Nest) everything was perfection!


As usual, great

5 en julio 24, 2011

A return visitor, who found the same wonderful food, well cared for property, and helpful innkeepers. Of special note, the restaurant will take into account any particular ingredient issues (we hate garlic) when you reserve. New touch, ipads on each table at breakfast. We'd like to go in the winter next time.


Wonderful Treat For My Wife

5 en julio 21, 2011

The champagne was chilled and waiting for us along with the chocolate dipped strawberries. They were much enjoyed. The rooms were well furnished and very quiet. We enjoyed being away from the noise of the city. Breakfasts were a gourmet delight. We enjoyed our dinner at the Inn and Michael coming to our table. I bragged on the dinner to a friend of mine in Colorado and he has ordered a cookbook for his wife and wants us to return with them for a weekend. The lobster pail lunch was enjoyed on Sand Beach in Arcadia National Park, only a two hour drive from the Inn.


Highly recommended!

5 en julio 20, 2011

Beautiful decor, convenient location, friendly hosts, delicious food. Every detail is carefully thought out to ensure that your stay is comfortable and welcoming.


Relaxing B&B

4,8 en julio 20, 2011

This was my first time staying in a Bed and Breakfast and I couldn't have been more pleased. The staff at Hartstone was fabulous! We only had breakfast there as we were in town for a wedding, but the food was great. They took extra care to prepare special food for those of us with food allergies. The rooms were Outstanding. The beds super comfortable, super soft sheets, luxurious baths...............I will definitely come back to this B&B.


A most enjoyable and relaxing experience

5 en julio 20, 2011

The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner was melt in your mouth. The rooms were comfortable, well decorated and everything that you need was at your fingertips. The location was perfect! My favorite vacation in many years. I could have been a million miles away and not had a better time.


A Fantastic Getaway

5 en julio 19, 2011

Everything about our stay was excellent - the service, the food, the room - the list goes on! Thank you for such a wonderful two nights. We hope to be back again next year.


july get away

4,4 en julio 19, 2011

The food was fantastic and the service was wonderful! Very friendly and helpful staff, loved the ipads on the tables!


Charming Place and Staff

4,0 en julio 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Camden at the Hartstone Inn & Hideaway. The staff were helpful and our suite was a delight- we couldn't have asked for anything more.


Our first Inn experience - A good one!

4,6 en julio 12, 2011

We would go back. It was a very friendly atmosphere. Everybody was very helpful about where to go and what to do in the area. We loved the Inn and the town.


A Pleasant Stay

4,2 en julio 11, 2011

We had such a bad experience with an inn in Bar Harbor that the Hartstone was a welcomed relief. The staff were extemely helpful and friendly. The Hartstone is located in the center of town and it makes for easy walking to all that Camden has to offer. We highly recommend this inn.


Rained all weekend but still was great

4,2 en julio 11, 2011

In June, my lovely wife and I celebrated our 10th year of being married. Nice relaxing room, service was great, the chef was amazing and it was in walking distance to the downtown/ waterfront. Mix in some nice drives and some visits to the local vineyards and you have the recipe for a nice romantic weekend!


We highly recommend the Hartstone Inn!

5 en julio 10, 2011

We absolutely loved everything about our stay at the Heartstone Inn! From the cozy, comfortable and beautifully decorated room to the fabulous dinner and breakfast prepared by Chef Salmon, it was all wonderful. Michael and Mary Jo are such warm, welcoming people and of all the towns we visited, Camden was our favorite!


visiting camden, ME

4,8 en julio 09, 2011

If you love great food, a shockingly inexpensive wine list and a lovely inn, you absolutely should not miss Hartstone in Camden. The rooms are pretty, reasonably spacious and offer a short stroll downstairs to one of the best (if not the best) chef in Maine. The food while not too fussy, is amazing. Lots of clean plates. Each dish perfection. We will be back.


A real review from a real local

4,6 en julio 08, 2011

First off I'll say that I am from Maine and wanted a semi-local vacation up and down the coast. I stayed at multiple B&B's on this trip harbor hopping the whole week. The highlight of our trip was at the Hartstone Inn. The room was comfortable, clean, refreshing, and we were very pleased. The 7pm seating for dinner was promt, all 5(?) courses were tastfully done and were just plain tastfull period. I highly reccomend the "Happy Hour" refreshments, the "Lemon Rosemary" martini was amazing (I'm not a martini guy either). We will definately return the the Hartstone Inn, and I can't say that of other places we stayed. A+ in my book. We don't have a high level of income, but felt comfortable spending the amount we did.


Summer 2011

4,6 en julio 07, 2011

My wife and I were thoroughly impressed with the Inn and its surrounding community. We felt welcomed every time we returned to our room. The dinner we had was absolutely amazing and was definitely worth the modest price.


great place to stay - awesome food and service!

4,6 en julio 06, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at the Hartstone. The owners and their staff were personable and available, ready to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. the rooms were clean, attractive, and full of amenities. best of all, the included breakfasts were delicious and filling. their 5 course dinners were also delicious and beautifully presented. would definitely stay here again.


Perfect Romantic Weekend

4,6 en julio 06, 2011

We have stayed in a number of high-end Inns in ME and the Hartstone is one we come back to. Friendly, helpful staff. They have great suggestions and can connect you with all the best tour operators. First rate kitchen! The prix fix dinner is perfectly executed and a real bargain...a must. Breakfasts are tasty and elegant. Great location means no driving or parking for anything in Camden. Walking distance to great casual dining (Cappy's just down the street is a must). Best Inn in Maine!


25th wedding anniversary stay

3,8 en julio 05, 2011

Wonderful place to help celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Michael and Mary Jo were both personable and helpful. The best feature though was the delicious meals. Coming down for breakfast the first morning was our first hint that the food was incredible. We were so impressed that we made dinner reservations as well!!


Excellence at the Hartstone Inn

5 en julio 01, 2011

Beautiful home and accomodations, efficient, friendly, extremely helpful staff, wonderful location and out-of-this-world food. We had a wonderful 4 night stay.


First Rate Inn

3,6 en junio 30, 2011

The Hartstone Inn in Camden, Maine is a thoroughly delightful place to stay. It is very well located in the center of the village, and is close to many attractions. The rooms are very nicely laid out, and quite comfortable. But the real attraction is the food, which is absolutely first rate. Chef Michael can be counted on to serve up wonderful meals both morning and evening. And his wife Mary Jo could not be more helpful in planning your day's activities.


Great gourmet B and B in Camden, Maine

4,8 en junio 29, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hartstone Inn. Our room was beautiful and comfortable although the bathroom was a little small. Our dinner at the restaurant was excellent. The owner, manager and staff were delightful!


Truly an amazing B & B!

4,8 en junio 28, 2011

It was our first time in Maine, and Hartstone Inn & Hideaway made our time in Camden very special. So many special touches that I can't name them all. I totally recommend staying here - true value and an extraordinary place.


Living in luxury

4,8 en junio 26, 2011

We had expected a nice little inn, but what we found was a cozy, romantic hide-away, with luxurious touches that spoiled us thoroughly. We ordered the picnic lunch, which was delicious and plentiful. The breakfasts were amazing, creative, and the evening meal was a delight to the palate. The staff was incredibly helpful with plans, directions, reservations, and ideas for recreation. We would recommend this Inn to anyone!


High Quality Inn with Outstanding Service

5 en junio 26, 2011

We stayed in the Hideaway -- lovely room with quality furnishings. Both breakfast & dinner (particularly) were just outstanding. Great attention to detail and fine service. These people know the definition of hospitality!!


Wonderful place to stay!

4,4 en junio 22, 2011

We stayed here on our trip last fall and it was amazing! The staff was very friendly and helpful - they helped us book a boat trip along to coast and the food was amazing (dinner and breakfast). We paid the little extra to have their dinner and it was well worth it; we purchased the cook book before leaving. The beds were very comfortable too! We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to any traveling this way.


Our Camden Experience

5 en junio 21, 2011

We have been staying at the Hartstone since 1993 and always go back when we are in Camden. Beautiful rooms, great location and excellent dining.


Maybe the best B&B ever!

5 en junio 20, 2011

The Hartstone Inn was superb from start to finish. We were toured by a delightful staff member named Emese from Hungary and shown to our gorgeous room with a private entrance, The Arbor Room. Lots of info on what to do in the area with recommendations were readily available. We took advantage of many to the ideas. Breakfast was great both mornings and the presence of an i-Pad at each table made browsing local events or national news easy and fun. The attention to detail was amazing and both Michael and Mary Jo were always nearby and provided a touch that only great owners can. We had dinner at the inn one evening and it was terrific with a nice wine list and wonderful food. Cocktail hour at 5:30 each evening was a hit giving us a chance to chat with other guests from across the U.S. and the world. Great, innovative drinks and light hor'douerves are served. We fully intend to return to the Hartstone as soon as we can. It could not have been better.


a wonderful inn

3,8 en junio 19, 2011

very nice deco, helpful staff, great location, excellent breakfast


Great location and wonderful food

4,8 en junio 15, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Hartstone Inn! Our room was really pretty and the breakfasts were wonderful. We had heard about the optional 5-course dinners and elected to do this twice during our 3-day stay. Great decision as the dinners were just great. The owners and staff were all friendly and helpful. The location of the inn is perfect as we were able to quickly walk to the downtown and harbor area of Camden in just a few minutes. We'll definitely stay at the Hartstone Inn when we visit Camden again and would recommend it to anyone interested in a peaceful place to stay with wonderful food and service.


Wonderful stay in Camden!

4,2 en junio 15, 2011

I stayed at the Hartstone Inn with two friends for a girls getaway and we could not have been happier. We stayed in the Rose Hip suite which had a King size bed as well as a separate room upstairs with two twin beds. The room was luxurious and had terrific small touches such as fresh flowers and high end bath products for your use. There was a flat screen tv in each bedroom as well. The bed was heavenly and had high end sheets which were amazing. The entire staff was terrific from check in until check out and the owners made sure to say hello each time we had a drink and also at breakfast. The service for breakfast was very friendly - we arrived early but she immediately served us. The food was very good as well and we left full! I would definitely go back with girlfriends or my husband!


go go go

4,4 en junio 13, 2011

The Inn was wonderful. food out of this world. I would highly recommend to everyone. The inn keepers are very nice not at all stuffy.Very friendly and heldful. It was a great location if you like to walk as you were in the middle of town. I would happily return . Mary


Diana Barhorst

3,2 en junio 11, 2011

While I chose the Wedgewood online I was disappointed when we arrived. It was on the 3rd floor; he room was too cramped and the bed was not comfortable (I was awake til 320AM and tried to lay on the very small loveseat w/my feet swung on the matching bench). This was our 2nd stay yet it was my mother/sister in law's first (Cooper) and they were upgraded to the garden suite at no extra charge. I know there were other rooms available. Perhaps I should have said something but thought the innkeeper/hostess would since she saw us struggle up the steps with luggage. MaryJo asked if we needed help but we were already 1/2 way there. The cocktails are good and the breakfast exceeded expectations. I will stay there on my next trip to Camden but won't stay on 3rd floor nor Wedgewood.


a perfect weekend

5 en junio 11, 2011

A well recommended B & B in Camden. We had perfect weather, wonderful accommodations and FABULOUS food! (both Breakfast AND DINNER) We hope we can return and spend more time! It was glorious!


My stay at the Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

3,8 en junio 09, 2011

I have stayed at the Hartstone Inn a couple of times before and knew it to be a beautiful place. My expectations were met with the beauty and quality of the inn. However I didn't see the innkeepers even once during my stay and to me a big factor in a bed and breakfast is the hospitality and personability of the innkeepers. I stayed in an inn in Bar Harbor the two days prior to my stay at the Hartstone and while they were comparable in beauty and quality, the innkeepers in Bar Harbor were SO friendly and always around that it made my stay there overshadow my stay at the Hartstone. However the Hartstone is still a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful town.


Another wonderful stay!

5 en junio 08, 2011

We absolutely love the Hartstone Inn - the accommodations are excellent, the breakfast is delicious, the innkeepers are fantastic, and the location is perfect. We can't wait to return!


Hartstone Inn

5 en junio 08, 2011

Excellent B&B!! Food, staff, room were all top notch!!


Beatufiul B and B

5 en junio 06, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hartstone while in Camden for a wedding. We were completely blown away by this beautiful inn. The rooms are quaint and clean, beds very comfortable and cozy. The food is of course awazing. I have no trouble recommending this Inn to anyone who is in the area.


Heavenly Hartstone

4,4 en junio 06, 2011

Loved the location and meals at this lovely Maine Inn. Wonderful attentive service. Great meals and ambiance. Loved home-made cookies at tea time. Paul was great at suggesting how to spend our limited but fun time in Maine. The rooms were furnished in great style, including the great paintings. The afternoon cocktail hour was a nice touch, but would have been nice to have a free glass of wine or beer, and only charge for nixed drinks. Did not mind them peddling the Michael Salmon cookbook, but having the common sitting room look more like a yard sale/Gift shop was a bit on the tacky side. Overall though wonderful and would be pleased to return ! Great location near town !


Memorial Day Weekend Hartstone Trip

4,2 en junio 05, 2011

Hartstone is beautiful and charming B&B. My boyfriend had a wonderful time and loved the couples' massage. The breakfast was scrumptious. The location was in the heart of Camden and very convenient. We will definitely return next year!


The Heartstone Inn

3,2 en junio 03, 2011

The inn was charming. We loved the room but would have been more impressed if there had been a choice of pillows instead of just really soft ones. Also, I would have expected a high count egyptian cotton sheet instead of the micofiber sheets. The food was excellent. The prices for drinks at happy hour were a little high. The owners never took the time to say our names which is something other inns have done. Overall i would say the experience was good but not outstanding.


Dissapointed

3,8 en mayo 31, 2011

My spouse and I went for our anniversary last year and had excellent service and a wonderful dinner. Everything was perfect and we loved it so much that we decided to stay again for this years anniversary. The service the second time around was so poor that we considered leaving however our room was nonrefundable. We made reservations online a month and a half in advance for dinner and when we got there he said we weren't on the list. The previous year we also ordered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to be in the room when we arrived and they were incredible. We saved the champagne bottle as a keepsake and planned to do so every year. After we were told that we didn't have reservations we went to our room to find that the strawberries and champagne weren't there. When we called to ask about it the man was rude but finally said he would send them complimentary. We insisted on paying for them to ensure that we would get what we originally asked for but he said it was taken care of. When they arrived we were so disappointed. He gave us two tiny bottles of champagne and 4 of the strawberries. We really loved the whole experience the first time we stayed that we planned on staying there every year but now I can't say that we'll be returning.


great weekend

4,8 en mayo 29, 2011

planned a getaway weekend for my wife in mid-may. great dinner at inn first night and surprised her with a message the following morning and even got in 2hr workout at rockport ymca(pass from inn). very quiet and relaxing weekend. will be back next year.


First Time Visitors

4,0 en mayo 24, 2011

My husband & I stopped with another couple (we were both sharing our 30th wedding anniversary). We were traveling from Mississippi to Portland & driving to Boston & stayed a little over 24 hours in your beautiful city. Not only did we love this bed and breakfast, the city was fantastic. Although the weather didn't coperate, we didn't let that stop us. The people were friendly, the service at the bed and breakfast couldn't have been any better. The rooms were the best out of any other bed and breakfast we've ever visted. We wish our stay could've been longer, but we made many memories that we will cherish a lifetime! Anita & Tommy Boney, Biloxi, MS


From Biloxi, MS to Maine

4,8 en mayo 23, 2011

Had a great trip and was very happy with our stay at Hartstone. Everything was beautiful and the people were all very nice!


Delicious food, kind host, beautiful inn and location

4,8 en mayo 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Hartstone twice, and have completely enjoyed each occasion. The breakfast is delicious (blueberry-filled blintz, fresh fruit, and a mini-quiche, with coffee and juice), and the Inn itself is beautiful. Lovely art on the walls, spotlessly clean rooms, very comfy bed, and a great location near "downtown" Camden. The night we stayed there, two other rooms happened to open up last-minute, and Mary Jo (the hostess) allowed us to have our pick of room, at no extra charge. Very kind indeed! Highly recommended.


Hartstone Inn Lived Up to the Hype

4,6 en mayo 18, 2011

We recently completed our first visit to the Hartstone Inn; we stayed in the Sunflower Room. The room was massive (more of an apartment than a room), clean and had a great two person jacuzzi tub, gas fireplace and a comfortable bed. The only complaints about the room were that the televisions are quite small and the bathroom lacked storage space. There is free wifi, but the connection was quite slow. They offered us a free loaner Ipad for the weekend which was a great touch. The staff we encountered were all extremely friendly and helpful. They were chatty, but not intrusive. We had heard a lot about the great food at Harstone Inn and this area did not disappoint. We were greeted with a variety of freshly baked cookies upon arrival (I especially enjoyed the molasses ones). There was a late afternoon cocktail hour each evening with yummy $5 martinis. The breakfasts were creative, nicely presented and delicious and are served with freshly made juice concoctions. We also enjoyed the five course dinner and each course was outstanding; the food was on par with some of the nicer restaurants in Chicago where we have dined. The wine list had very reasonable prices and also featured some local wines which was a nice touch. My only complaint in the food area is the coffee; while it was drinkable it definitely needs improvement. The grounds of the Harstone Inn are nicely maintained with lots of tulips giving it a pleasant ambiance. The Inn is well located, adjacent to downtown Camden. In short walking distance are several nice restaurants and shops. Everybody in Camden we encountered was extremely friendly and a nice contrast from our urban life in Chicago (we were amazed that cars actually stop to permit you to cross the street). There are many activities a short drive away such as hiking, golf, boating, wineries etc. I wish we had another day or two to explore and will definitely return!


Two Night stay in the Cottage Suite

4,2 en mayo 15, 2011

Friendly and welcoming. Room was to a very high standard. Inn keeper was very informative on the area and happy to recommend an alternative dining experience. Breakfasts were a little underwhelming and therefore disappointing, almost too complicated in their design.


Wonderful! To bad we were sick!

4,6 en mayo 13, 2011

I had just got over some terrible bug going around and I was not totally better, but ready to go on vacation. Once there we were upgraded and shown to a room in the Hideaway with a living room and an amazing bed. (very quick walk away from the main inn). My new bed at home was now sub par to this!! The room was very very very clean. I cannot say this enough because this was my only concern about staying at a B&B, I though the rooms would be old and dusty- this was NOT the case, It was very nice. We had planned our 4 day stay around eating and drinking and really taking in the amazing food that we had read about. However we had dinner one night at the Inn and my husband had the exact sickness that I had. I tried to eat but I still had zero appetite so we did not get to enjoy that part. What we did have in the mornings for breakfast was very good and the owners even made us a special breakfast because what they were serving was way to heavy for either of us to enjoy. They were very helpful with the extras for the room that we needed and helped us pick a very low key pretty drive on our last day when we started to feel better. I would stay here again except maybe more in the late spring or summer. We stayed the first week in April and it was a little to cool for outdoor fun. Not that we got to enjoy the weather much. I would come here for the food alone and the very romantic rooms. They are very private for a B&B. If you LOVE food. Stay at the Hartstone Inn!


Highly recommended

4,4 en mayo 11, 2011

Have visited several times. Have never been disappointed with any part of our stay. Their attention to detail is exceptional. Suites are beautifully decorated. Dining is outstanding.


Great Getaway

4,6 en mayo 11, 2011

Our stay at the Hartstone's Hideaway Inn was perfect in most every way. We stayed in the French Thyme Suite and it was more than we could have hoped for. The staff was beyone friendly and the service exemplary. While we did not have the opportunity to dine with them for dinner, the breakfast was delicious. All in all, a great stay.


Loved it! Will go back!

4,6 en abril 28, 2011

My wife and I spent the weekend in the cottage suite. We loved it! It was absolutely beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable and had a memory foam pad and super high. The jacuzzi was awesome. We loved the fireplace in the sitting room and the hidden TV. We were surprised by the size of the room. The dining room was small but quaint. We enjoyed breakfast, which was included in the price of the stay. Dinner, however, was about $50 a plate; so, we did not eat dinner there. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. They have free wi-fi, iPads you can use in the dining room for free, and DVDs for guests to watch (for free). The house was beautiful. The town was small but also beautiful. Unfortunately, the chooses for food were limited to seafood and pizza. All in all, it was awesome. We will return.


the loft

4,0 en abril 28, 2011

Great stay and location! Nice cocktail hour and decadent breakfasts. Staff very accomodating to all requests and always available. IPADS at breakfast to assist with daily plans/news/info. Impressive staff! Cozy room. Nearby churchbells and seagulls...enjoy maine~!


April 23, 2011 Romantic Evening Away

4,4 en abril 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a last-minute evening away with the hartstone Inn & Hideaway. We stayed in the "Victorian Charm" room. It was lovely. We weren't able to experience dinner at the inn due to the holiday weekend bookings, but the folks at the inn were very kind to recommend local restaurants. We had a great dinner at 57 Bayview. The breakfast at the inn was FABULOUS and we were tickled to use the loaner iPads. We included an "extra" and got a picnic lunch prepared for us by the inn and it was delicious! We can't wait to use the picnic basket again, but I'm sure our homemade lunch won't compare to the prosciutto panini, potato salad, cheese and crackers and strawberry shortcake! We'll be back!


A perfect weekend get away!!!

5 en abril 17, 2011

Excellent breakfasts, our 5 course dinner was delicious, the wait staff and Inn keepers where fantastic. The weather didn't co-operate much, but we didn't care. We were warm, cozy and well fed. The cookies and "little extras" really made us feel welcome, and the staff were friendly and very professional. We will definately be going back for another visit!!


More Like A Nice Hotel

3,2 en abril 12, 2011

Having stayed at a handful of Select Registry B&Bs, among others, I have to say this one feels by far and away the most commercial of the bunch. It's hard to put a finger on it, but it just didn't feel genuinely homey. Yes, all the physical elements were in place for a nice look, and the comfort factor was generally great, but the general feel was more like a business transaction more than a genuine "welcome to our home" approach. Lots of opportunities for them to make money, and given the innkeepers' backgrounds, it's not surprising to see. The food was fantastic, bar none. Dinner felt somewhat rushed. Wish due respect to the smaller kitchen and the need to get food out to everyone in a timely manner, we still felt like we needed to move through the meal rather than sit and genuinely enjoy it. Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but it just wasn't what we look for in a B&B.


Hartstone Inn and Hideaway

4,4 en abril 10, 2011

It was a wonderful experience. Fantastic food! The owners and staff of the Hartstone Inn always make you feel welcome and their knowledge of the surrounding area, which they gladly share with their guest make every visit to Camden enjoyable.


Coming back again!

4,0 en marzo 24, 2011

Everything about our stay was excellent. We enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts and the dinners are superb. We definitely reccommend the Hartstone to anyone who wants an experience to never forget. It was our first stay and definitely wont be the last. We were on our honeymoon and will be trying out each suite on each anniversary to follow. We will probally even do a couple trips a year just to get away. Thank you to the Hartstone for the hospitality and service, Mr. & Mrs. Blake Hunt.


Our Hartstone Weekend

4,6 en marzo 21, 2011

My husband and I get away every year to a B&B for our anniversary. We love meeting new people and sharing our vacation with others. Harstone is the perfect blend of seclusion and community. Over breakfast, we could talk to other guests at different tables if we wanted--our room however was very private (we stayed in the Mansard) and romantic. The innkeepers were very friendly and provided us with lovely restaruant reccomendations (many within walking distance) as well as an amazing lighthouse tour. We visited 4 different lighthouses our first morning! The breakfast was simply stunning. Not only was everything delicious, its presentation was perfect! My husband and I are somewhat 'foodies' and we loved everything. The meals were creative and balanced and we appreciated the care and attention that went into the preparation of our food. One last note worth mentioning-- in our bathroom, there were bathsalts provided for our jacuzzi...such a sweet bonus!


Excellent B&B

5 en marzo 17, 2011

Wonderful stay; excellent value for the money. Top notch dining - would stay there again!


Wonderful stay!

4,8 en marzo 11, 2011

We stayed in two different rooms (Carriage House and Garden View) and loved them both! The food was phenomenal - both dinner and breakfast. We loved Camden, even for a winter stay. Highly recommended!


Hartstone review

3,8 en marzo 09, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent dining. Suite (Lavender) was very comfortable and plenty of room. Good location in town. Will definately visit again. We B&B all the time and this is the best. Jill and Colin


Wonderful Weekend

4,8 en marzo 09, 2011

The inn is charming as are the hosts. Very friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, and fantastic food. Our cooking class with Michael was fun and informative. We have been to the Hartstone many times and have always had a lovely stay.


Truly Outstanding

5 en marzo 09, 2011

From he moment we walked into the door we felt at home. What a wonderful way to spend a weekend. I have already recommended the Inn to friends as a must do


Always makes for a perfect evening!

5 en marzo 02, 2011

The people are very nice... beautiful room - bed is wonderful - jacuzzi is very nice! Breakfast the following morning was excellent. Always a perfect stay in the Arbor Suite at the Hartstone Inn.


Average accommodations, great food!

3,6 en marzo 02, 2011

Chef Micheal lived up to all the hype. OUTSTANDING FOOD!! Room was average at best, the shower/tub was dirty. No cutains, just shades so the room was very bright in the morning. Overall a nice weekend, we would return just for the food!


The Hartstone Inn Comes Through Again

5 en febrero 28, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at the Hartstone Inn since 2000. The key to the Inn's success in my opinion is attention to detail. This goes for the rooms, the food (breakfasts, lunches, and dinners), and the service. After more than a decade, the folks at the Hartstone could certainly take us for granted, but they never do. That's why we keep coming back.


Wonderful

3,2 en febrero 28, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast doesn't let you down! whether is in the Summer, Winter, Fall or Spring. Rooms are delightful, clean ... the food is wonderful and the staff is great. I rated this "met my expectations" because we have been there 3 times and the reason whey we go back is because of the outstanding care and service (of the property and people) you get ... so I have gotten used "expectating" no less .... You won't be dissapointed.


Not to be missed

4,2 en febrero 28, 2011

Great dining experience. The Chef and his wife are very personable which contributes to making your stay and/or dining experience special. Located in the heart of downtown Camden makes it very convenient to explore the towns attractions.


Wonderful experience

5 en febrero 27, 2011

We have been coming to midcoast Maine every summer since 1993. We have stayed in this inn 6 times - 3 were with previous owners. This summer will be the 4th time with Michael and MaryJo. We have always experienced incredible friendliness of staff, excellent gourmet breakfasts, outstanding dinners, and very nice rooms. We prefer the suites and have also stayed in the single rooms. We love the location and proximity to the beautiful harbor. Camden is our favorite midcoast town and we find it close enough to travel to Bar Harbor or Freeport while staying there. We have enjoyed meeting the guests who stay in the inn as well. We cannot wait to get back in July! See you soon. From Cincinnati, Ohio.


Great time at Hartstone Inn & Hideaway!

4,6 en febrero 27, 2011

We had a great time at the Inn. The service was fantastic! And the diner was delicious!


Return Trip

5 en febrero 25, 2011

We simply had to return this winter after last year's wonderful experience at the Hartstone. It was even better.....this summer we did do just dinner with Chef Salmon..outstanding! WE look forward to making this more than just an annual event


Lovely inn, very pleasant stay.

4,0 en febrero 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights over the long weekend (February 18th and 19th). The inn was delightful. It was warm, pleasant and very clean. Our room, the Sunflower Suite, was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and did a fantastic job dealing with many dietary restrictions (we are both vegetarians, and I have several food allergies) for both breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious, and complimentary tea and hot cocoa are always available, along with cookies every afternoon. I would highly recommend the Hartstone Inn & Hideaway, and we will be back!


The Harstone Inn

4,4 en febrero 17, 2011

My Fiancee and I stayed at the Harstone inn for Valentines day. Being off season, our room was very inexpensive, about have the price of the normal summer rate. We stayed in the French Thyme Suit in the Hideaway house. It was very clean, and well laid out. The king bed was very comfortable, and the 2 person jacuzzi tub and the classy gas fireplace were fantastic. Breakfast was one of the best i've ever had at a bed and breakfast. I would recommend this place to anyone.


hartstone/maine

4,2 en febrero 16, 2011

This place is amazing, the owners and staff were so friendly. The food was over the top and the dinner is a must, the best 5 course meal ever. I only wish we didn't have to leave.


Had a relaxing weekend

5 en febrero 16, 2011

Everyone was considerate and polite the owners were very hospitable. Food was excellent and surrounding were clean. Good location right on the edge of town so you could walk to many places.


Great Weekend Away!

5 en febrero 09, 2011

We were only able to get away for one night but it was worth it! The room was clean and well maintained. We really enjoyed the fireplace and oversized whirlpool bath tub, especially when it started to snow outside! Although the room was great, the highlight of the evening was dinner. If you go, you must make reservations for their 5 course fixed menu dinner. It was amazing and well worth the money! We eat out a lot and enjoy great food and wine and you will not be disappointed! Breakfast in the morning continued the great experience with a 2 course breakfast. It was a great way to start the day and 10 times better than other B&B's that offer continental breakfasts or buffet style. The whole experience was 5 stars - the worst part was leaving!


Would visit Hartstone Inn again!

3,6 en enero 26, 2011

A nice sized Inn in a quaint New England town, the Hartstone Inn was a pleasure to visit. The buildings and rooms were nicely and tastefully appointed and were not cluttered as some B&Bs can be. The service was very good, as was the food. Although it's a larg-ish Inn, the innkeepers knew exactly who we were and accommodated our requests without any fuss. When we did comment on a couple of things we thought could be improved, they discounted our room to compensate us for our trouble (which it wasn't - we had a great stay)!


Great getaway!

3,8 en enero 26, 2011

This was a birthday getaway for my husband(and me). It was charming and restful. The food was wonderful and the staff was delightful.


A romantic weekend away

3,2 en enero 21, 2011

The room was delightful. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room with the fireplace and jacuzzi were wonderful.


A wonderful experience

4,2 en enero 13, 2011

This is a great place to dine then stay, and a great value. And the town is an easy walk away with nice shops. I highly recommend this inn!


wonderful

5 en enero 12, 2011

this was our second time at the inn. as before, everyone and everything was wonderfuland and there was great attention to detail. we even had a surprise waiting for us welcoming us back when we got to our room!


The best B&B.

5 en enero 08, 2011

Food and wine list are absolutely phenomenal. If you go there, insure that you make a reservation to eat at least one dinner there, if not more. Everyone is friendly and keen on making your stay as pleasant as possible. All pricing, room and food, is extremely reasonable. Wine mark-up is also quite modest. When in the area, I would not think of staying anywhere else.


Always Outstanding

5 en enero 07, 2011

Our trips to the Hartstone are always wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The staff is kind and courteous. The dinners are fantastic. We are always excited to get up in the morning to find out what is for breakfast! I would highly recommend the Hartstone Inn!


Hartstone Experience

4,2 en enero 06, 2011

We've been here before and loved it. This time, we checked into the Garden Room, and it was very noisy - kitchen sounds, footfalls, etc. They were very gracious about moving us to a nicer, quieter room. The only disappointment was dinner - not the food, but the fact that they were so full that they had to set up tables in the gift shop for us and another couple. It was like eating in... well, a gift shop. No ambiance as in the dining room and, after all, isn't ambiance a big part of what we want in a dining experience? So, it really took away from the great cooking. Since they take outside diners, I would suggest that they guarantee their guests the good tables, and if they are going to be overbooked, let the outside diners know that they'll be eating in some place other than the dining room. That was a big disappointment to us and ruined the romanticness that we were really looking forward to.


Great Food & Romantic Stay!

4,0 en enero 06, 2011

The room was pristine and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was superb! Two wonderful courses and very filling. The only negative I would say is that our room was located above the kitchen and it was a little noisy at night from music and in the morning with doors slamming beneath.


New Year's Day

5 en enero 06, 2011

As always, we couldn't be more pleased with our latest stay at the Hartstone Inn. We love the rooms and the breakfasts/dinners are outstanding. We can't wait for our next trip.


Visit every year

5 en enero 04, 2011

We visit the Hartstone every year in December or January and it is a wonderful experience. From the beautiful rooms to the lingering, elegant meals, we always soak up every moment of our stay. Michael and Mary Jo are wonderful hosts, as are all the others at the Inn, and we always feel special as returning guests.


Delightful Camden Haven

4,6 en enero 03, 2011

This Inn is truly a gem, from the thoughtfully imaginative decor of the room to the wonderfully friendly management. The Hartstone manages that delicate balancing act of being an excellent host while allowing you the privacy to make your stay your own. The bed was fantastically comfortable, the bathroom perfectly appointed, and the dining room was charming.


Great weekend

4,2 en diciembre 28, 2010

Great dining and a wonderful room. Loved all the little touches like the fireplace and the music already on when we arrived.


The Harstone Inn is a Total Win

5 en diciembre 21, 2010

From the decor, to the comfort of the rooms, to the massage to the world class food and service this is place to stay in Maine.


The Perfect Get A Way

5 en diciembre 19, 2010

The perfect get away, every detail you'd hope for. The food was just delicious. Bring a book, they take care of everything else. This was our second stay, already planning our next.


a Perfect 10

5 en diciembre 13, 2010

The Hartstone Inn was absolute perfection...from the rooms to the service to the food. The Innskeepers were so very friendly, without being overbearing. Our room had everything necessary for utter and complete relaxation, especially the fireplace and comfy robes. The 2-course breakfast was amazing on both days - fresh food prepared in a most interesting way. My husband and I consider ourselves foodies and the Hartstone Inn did not disappoint. We are not ones to return to too many places, preferring instead to always try new locations, but we have definitely found a place worth returning to - often!


Excellent B&B In Maine

4,6 en diciembre 08, 2010

The Hartstone Inn was wonderful and staff was excellent and discreet. Time spent there was relaxing and allowed me to fully recharge.


We loved everything!

5 en diciembre 06, 2010

The room was just great. Private, nice fireplace, fine bedding, great bathroom. The breakfast and dinner was way above average. Loved everything about our stay.


A great experience

4,2 en diciembre 06, 2010

We arrived on a Tuesday evening after making reservations just one week prior. We were not able to get the room we wanted because it was already booked. In order to keep our stay at the Heartstone Inn we had to book several different rooms. At first we thought tis would be cumbersome but it turned out to be ideal. The morning of each of our relocations the staff came in while we were gone to breakfast and moved our luggage to the new room. It was effortless and we enjoyed trying out the different rooms. Our favorite was the Hideaway. It is secluded and beyond comfortable and so cozy too. It is also a very romantic setting...did I say that? All and all, we can't wait to go back to Camden and make our stay at the Heartstone Inn and Hideaway. Oh, did I mention the food? Bring your appetite. The food is delicious.


We can't wait to go back!

4,2 en diciembre 01, 2010

My husband and I chose Maine for our 25th Wedding Anniversary getaway and we found the Hartstone Inn online. It looked nice so we booked it. The place was FABULOUS, the food TO DIE FOR and every member of the staff was friendly and very accomodating. We stayed at the Hartstone's Hideaway in located 1/2 block from the main Inn. Our room was beautiful, very comfortable and clean! Camden is a lovely little seaside village...so quaint, very romantic, just perfect and the Hartstone Inn is the place to stay :). If you don't stay there, you HAVE to at least go for dinner one evening, you won't be disappointed.


Great Stay

3,6 en noviembre 29, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. Would visit again, great value in a beautiful location.


November 2010 Stay

4,0 en noviembre 29, 2010

We always enjoy our time at the Hartstone. I enjoyed the breakfast but my spouse did not, the staff was quick to notice and brought her a bowl of fruit - very nice!


Hartstone Inn retreat

4,2 en noviembre 29, 2010

This is a very pleasant inn. We just stayed one night so did not get the full benefit of their assistance in planning daytime activities. Rooms were well decorated in traditional fashion and common areas were comfortable. Next time we will try to stay for one of Chef Michael's gourmet cooking classes.


Hartstone and Hideaway are excellent

4,4 en noviembre 28, 2010

Lovely rooms but the decor is a bit overdone and with too much furniture to move about freely. Service and dining was excellent. The breakfasts are phenomenal! Overall a great place to stay in a great location.


A favorite weekend getaway

4,4 en noviembre 24, 2010

A very well run inn with outstanding service and food. The breakfasts are terrific.


Simply the best

4,4 en noviembre 17, 2010

The Garden Suite was among the top 5 nicest rooms I have ever stayed. Everything was well thought out and very nicely decorated. The service however is what sets The Hartstone above and beyond the rest. I.e.. Upon check-in there are some amazing cookies available to guests. Being on a low carb diet I looked at them and commented. The Innkeeper recommended I try some but my wife explained that I was unable to partake due to the low carb diet. At each morning breakfast, different Innkeepers all knew about my diet and asked if i would prefer a low carb breakfast.


Wedding Gift for my Niece

4,8 en noviembre 14, 2010

Hello, I actually did not have the pleasure of staying at the Harstone (but from what I've heard, I wish I did!) It was a Wedding Gift for my Niece. She lives In Louisville, Kentucky, and wanted a New England Honeymoon! (We have lakesdie cabin in Vassalboro, but it was closed by the time she came to New England. And, Camden is one of my favorite places!) She loved the Hartsone. She actually, gave me an autographed cookbook from the Chef as a thank you to me! Take care, kathy Berry


What a treat!!!!!

4,8 en noviembre 14, 2010

The Hartstone Inn & Hideway is a beautiful place. It is very comfortable, cozy, warm and relaxing. The staff is awesome in giving you the very best service it can. The breakfast that comes with your stay was excellent. The service was fast. I had an eloquent breakfast that I could enjoy and still have plenty of time to have fun in Camden. Thank you Mary Jo & Michael. I'll be back!!!!!!


Review

4,2 en noviembre 10, 2010

We loved our overnight in the Mansard Room. Took advantage of the jacuzzi. Our salmon dinner was very good, but the next evening's dinner looked even better (with crab cakes and lobster). Breakfast rancheros were excellent. We plan on returning sometime, hopefully for the toboggan races.


Exceptional dining, here in Maine

4,4 en noviembre 10, 2010

If you're looking for a unique dining experience, make a dinner date at the Hartstone Inn & Hideaway in Camden, ME. Whether it's a five course meal for dinner or breakfast, be prepared to be wowed! Don't look for the plain old bacon and eggs for breakfast, or a pork chop with gobs of gravy for dinner. Check out their menu online - every dish we ate evoked sounds of mmm, wow. We weren't overwhelmed with stuff way too extravagant, but we were very delighted with dishes like Butternut Squash Ravioli or the Portabella Mushroom soup. The rooms were nice (we stayed at the Hideaway, another building just off Route 1). Also had a nice massage in that same building. Overall a very nice stay and awesome dining! Well done Mary Jo and Michael!


Hartstone takes it to heart

5 en noviembre 05, 2010

We had a room at both the Hartstone and the Hideaway. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and comfortable. The staff were excellent and accommodated everyone with care and friendliness. The food was the best I have ever had at a B&B and we woke up each morning anticipating the breakfast. We had dinner on Friday night and the food quality and flavors were five star.


Recommended

3,6 en noviembre 03, 2010

We stayed at the Hideaway (a lovely old house) which is one street away from the Hartstone Inn. It was our first visit but in speaking with other guests who had stayed at both their preferance was the Hideaway because it is quieter. Our room (Viola) was small, but had a king size bed, separate sitting area and full bathroom. It was clean, comfortable and charming. The common areas were also. The staff was welcoming and attentive. The only "negative" is that the breakfasts were too sugary (pancakes, french toast, etc.) a choice between sweet and savory would have been nice. We give it an 8.5 (10 being outstanding) and would definitely stay there again.


Perfect in Every Way...Both Times!

5 en noviembre 01, 2010

The first visit with my daughter to the Rose Hip room of the Hideaway at Hartstone Inn, was so cozy and welcoming, that I returned six months later for a romantic weekend with my husband. The Inn is elegant and yet Paul, the manager - and all the staff we encounter - emits a casual friendliness that immediately puts one at ease. The breakfast is absolutely divine. A creative, delicious, gourmand's delight. The room and bed are so comfortable, it was hard to leave! Though I live only two hours away, I will return again and again to Camden and the Hartstone Inn for a wonderful getaway weekend.


Hartstone Inn

5 en noviembre 01, 2010

The inn posts a world famous chef. Where was he last week? Not doing the cooking. That was a little disapppointing.


Always a lift!

4,8 en octubre 29, 2010

An absolutely wonderful place. Mary Jo and Michael work hard to meet expectations. This was our third stay it remains a favorite place.


Hartstone Inn /October 2010

4,2 en octubre 18, 2010

Beautiful room, more than comfortable bed, kind staff, DELICIOUS breakfast!!!


The perfect B&B for for a night or few on your honeymoon

3,8 en octubre 07, 2010

I would call the Hartstone Inn & Hideaway the quintessential B&B. Beautifully appointed rooms, old world feel, and on one of the best meals I have had in some time, this B&B is well worth the money. It is readily apparent that the customers satisfaction is the first priority. It was the most memorable of all of our stops on our honeymoon perfectly situated near the center of town. If we could do it all over again we would have spent many more nights at the Hartstone Inn.


Wonderful place to stay in Camden

4,0 en octubre 06, 2010

we did not have dinner at the Inn. We did enjoy the afternoon cocktails & hors d'oeuvres, and breakfast - both of which were great


Wonderful stay, amazing food

4,4 en octubre 04, 2010

Traveled to the Hartstone with my mother in September. The rooms were beautiful and the beds were incredibly comfortable. I can't say enough about the food....fantastic breakfast and dinner. Thank you Hartstone!


The best inn experience you'll ever have...

5 en septiembre 25, 2010

very clean, excellent food (both breakfast and dinner), wonderful host and top notch customer service. We'll be back again and again.


Camden Gem

4,0 en septiembre 05, 2010

This was the nicest place we stayed during our coastal Maine trip. Definitely worth a return trip!


Charming B&B

5 en agosto 18, 2010

Wonderful accommodations, very friendly and most helpful staff, would definitely go back.


BEST Bed and Breakfast in Camden

4,0 en junio 25, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at this beautiful inn. The staff were so professional and attentive to all of our needs. Innkeeper Meghan and co-owner Mary Jo made sure that we had plenty to do for our three day vacation. One of the highlights of their concierge services was a reservation they made for us on a two-hour sail out of camden harbor, a short walk from the inn, with Capt. Jack and his first mate Barbara on their incredible schooner 'Surprise'. Back at the inn, we especially enjoyed the dining and co-owner Chef Michael's cooking was one of the highlights of our stay with a five-course dining extravaganza and gourmet breakfasts to spoil us every day. Our room was in the main house and we loved the luxury bedding and amenities. It is like staying in an elegant and luxurious European boutique hotel....except with all the personal touches and attention to detail. A visit to this pretty sailing and fishing village is only complete when you stay at what we consider to be one of the best inns anywhere!. Can't wait to return.


Content in Camden

4,4 en junio 23, 2010

My husband and I visited Camden, ME on June 17, 2010 and we stayed at the Hartstone Inn Hideaway. Our room was large and very comfortable. There is a happy hour at the inn from 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. with $5.00 martini's & mojitoes. I had the Key lime martini and it was excellent. The afternoon cookies were delicious and breakfast was wonderful. I purchased both of the chefs cookbooks. The inn is located within a short walk to town which made it very convenient. We will go back there next time we are in Camden.


Real Winter Romance

5 en enero 07, 2010

What is better than spending a romantic night in a warm, cozy room when it is cold and snowy outside? My boyfriend and I came all the way from Europe to experience New England in Winter. We stayed at many inns during the 10-day trip, and the Hartstone Inn was far the best of all. We checked into the Arbor Suite at 3 pm and didn`t get out the room till next morning. As we stepped into the hidden suite which had a private entrance in the snow-covered garden, we felt like we were in heaven. We tried the homemade chocolate-covered strawberries and the ice-cold champagne while sitting on the comfortable sofa near the fireplace, watching a romantic movie - borrowed from their DVD library. Later we enjoyed the cold champagne in the huge hot Jacuzzi tub also. The room was spacious, clean and smelled like Lavender. We fell asleep while we were watching the stars above our heads in the skylights and felt like we were sleeping on clouds. It was hard to get out the comfortable bed the next morning, but it was worth. Breakfast was exceptional. Being European, neither of us are huge fans of American breakfast, but Michael makes magic. We had a candlelit breakfast on a private romantic table in the parlor by the fireplace, which was 2 courses: fresh fruit and yogurt followed by granola and apple crunched French toast with whipped cream and fresh banana topping. The freshly squeezed and mixed juice was yummy too! The staff is excellent; you can tell their biggest goal is to make you happy, no matter what it takes. We will definitely be back to the Hartstone Inn in Camden.


We look forward to returing!

5 en enero 01, 2010

What an experience! We consider ourselves pretty well traveled and have frequented many inns but have to say that Hartstone Inn ranks as one of our all time favorites. We had read about it originally in Travel & Leisure magazine and had the opportunity to stay at the Inn 2 years ago and most recently, late this summer. This last time, we stayed in one of their suites, the Cottage Suite, and had our own private garden of wildflowers and the bed and linens were to die for. It's the Salmon's attention to detail and quality that brought us back and will keep us returning. We especially enjoy Michael's meals, always inventive and delicious. He changes the menu daily based on what the area offers and his culinary passion comes through in everything he does.....and Mary Jo is the consummate hostess. Together, they provide an experience beyond any other. You'll love it!!!!!!!!!


Excellent overall

4,0 en octubre 13, 2009

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at Hartstone, especially the friendly and attentive service! Tied for top rating with service was the great food. The hot breakfast, my favorite meal, was hearty, tasty and nicely served, and the dinner we signed up for by Chef Salmon was excellent from start to finish. The rooms and overall ambiance of the Inn were comfy and warm. The only constructive suggestion for improvement we have is the bed in our room -- a little high on the edges and soggy in the middle. Tom & Eve Murphy San Diego


So many different rooms

4,6 en noviembre 19, 2007

I had the chance to see both the Hartstone and their sister property, the Hideaway. I was amazed at how different every room was - each lovely, and each with a very different decor. I didn't get to eat at the restaurant, but I've always heard it was great. The inn is within an easy walk of downtown Camden. It has a fabulous gift shop, filled with jewelery made by the innkeeper, Mary Jo, and other neat stuff. I particularly liked the two-level rooms, with beautiful living rooms and loft areas. I highly recommend the Hartstone.


Outstanding B&B with Gourmet Dining

5 en septiembre 18, 2007

Hartsone Inn, located in the delightful town of Camden, is an outstanding B&B in every way. The hospitality, service, location, and accommodations are excellent--and the food is exceptional. Michael Salmon,the "husband innkeeper" of the exemplary husband/wife team, is an internationally acclaimed chef whose cookbooks are available for purchase at the inn. A superb 5-course gourmet dinner is available at the inn each evening, but reservations are highly recommended as far in advance as possible since seating is limited. This is an inn I would love to visit again!


Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $115 - $285
  • Comentarios (203) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 21
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2072364259
  • Fax 1-2072369575
  • Sin cargo
    1-8007884823

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba