McKenzie House Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,9

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,9
  • Servicios4,9
  • Estimación4,8
  • Limpieza4,9
  • Comidas4,9

Puntuación basada en
42 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Wonderful and Relaxing B&B

4,8 en julio 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Sherry & Bruce were such gracious host. They made you feel welcomed and right at home the minute you walk through the door. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We really appreciate the extra effort they made to accommodate special diets. Looking forward to a return visit.


Best value

5 en mayo 27, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at The McKenzie house to celebrate my birthday. I was a first timer for staying af a B&B but I don't believe I'll ever stay at a hotel again. Sherry & Bruce were gracious hosts & they operate with a spirit of excellence. My room was wonderful & very clean, I would definitely stay here again in the future. Would recommend 2 anyone desiring a relax & comfortable getaway.


Incredible accommodations!

5 en mayo 11, 2014

We just returned from staying two nights in the Courtney room. It was beautiful! The bed was very comfortable with wonderful linens, the room was exceptionally clean with a delightful jacuzzi tub. The kitchenette was perfect for our needs and the fire pit on the deck outside was wonderful. We can't wait to go back again, next time with our friends. The breakfast and pastries were phenomenal. Bruce and Sherry were delightful, friendly and very helpful hosts. Thank you!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on you recent stay at McKenzie House. We love what we do and we want all our guests to have the best experience possible. We look forward to your return visit and the fact that you want to bring your friends. That in itself tells us you loved your stay. Glad we could help out with little extra touches to make it a great getaway for the two of you.


Awesome Valentine's Day Weekend!

5 en febrero 18, 2014

This was our first bed and breakfast experience. We had read many reviews online and decided that we would give McKenzie house a try. McKenzie House far surpassed all of our expectations! Bruce and Sherry are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Courtney Suite. The suite was beautifully decorated and full of wonderful touches that made you feel at home. The breakfast was phenomenal! We can't wait to go back!


Wonderful B&B

5 en febrero 03, 2014

I stayed for the first time at the McKenzie House this past weekend. What a wonderful relaxing B&B. The rooms were nicely decorated and spotless. The room met our expectations and them some, Sherry has thought of every last detail. Then their was the breakfast. I honestly wish I could give it more stars. The homemade pastries were the best I've ever had! Honestly, the breakfast in and of itself is worth a visit!! I'm definitely going back!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for our bed & breakfast. We are so glad you enjoyed your first visit and we look forward to seeing you again. Our greatest pleasure in the bed & breakfast are the guests and creating a relaxing atmosphere for each person.


Great location

5 en agosto 01, 2013

Nicolle's Suite was perfect for us. It was roomy, had a kitchen, and was the only room on the top floor. Hence, it was very quiet. Bruce and Sherry were very knowledgeable of the area and the breakfast was wonderful.


Perfect Anniversary Getaway

5 en julio 31, 2013

We just returned from a very relaxing and wonderful weekend getaway for our anniversary. The generous owners of McKenzie House had donated a two night stay in their Mollie suite for a silent auction that our church held. My husband and I were the lucky bidders and won a weekend that we will never forget. We felt our worries and stress melt away in the tranquil suite. We loved the jacuzzi tub, the SO SOFT feather bed, the swing on the back porch, and the amazingly delicious breakfast. We had packed our bikes, and being just minutes away from the Pumpkin Vine Bike Trail gave us a chance to pedal away the calories from the breakfasts! We highly recommend this bed and breakfast! It truly deserves all the great reviews it gets!


WOW!!!

4,6 en noviembre 15, 2011

I found myself in charge of a small trip for all of my Aunts and Mother who have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts all over the world and I have never stayed in one at all...talk about pressure. After 2 weeks of searching and researching online I finally decided on McKenzie house for our mini vaca. What first drew me to this wonderful place was the huge suite that comfortably slept all 4 of us along with plenty of room to just "hang" out. The second was all of the reviews about Sherri's fabulous cooking and they did not lead me wrong. I loved the "homey" feel of the entire place with the modern decor, the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in and even though we were right off of the freeway and a major road it is landscaped and set in a way where you never hear a car, you feel like you are in the country! All of my family couldnt believe that I had found such a gem on my first try and they all fell in love with the place. Thanks Sherri and Bruce for getting me so many points :) We will be back!!


Perfect to the last detail

5 en octubre 05, 2011

I stayed with several friends on a getaway weekend. Our hosts were warm and generous with their time, service was impeccable, they did everything they could to make us feel welcome. The rooms were very well appointed and comfortable, extremely clean, more than enough towels and toiletries. Our meals were expertly cooked and delicious, and presented beautifully. The facilities, especially the pool and hot tub with the surrounding patio and porches, made it easy to visit with each other and relax. I have recommended McKenzie house to several people since my stay there!


Mackenzie House Raises the Bar to all other B&B's

5 en agosto 23, 2011

If you visit their website you'll see a common phrase they like to use "Come as a guest, leave as a friend", it sounds like a really nice phrase... but it's not just a phrase.. it's a true statement. We rated everything as "outstanding" and we're being completely truthful. There is not one area that I was disapointed with. The rooms were extremely clean and cozy. The bed was exactly how I imagined it would be, soft and comfy. Sherry's breakfast...simply outstanding!!! Their service...... again, outstanding. We had our 6 month old child with us during the stay, one evening we were headed out to the back patio to relax and they offered to babysit our son in the living room for a while so my husband and I could enjoy a little break together. We are telling all of our friends about this place... you have to experience this place! We will definitely be back!


This is a Gem!

5 en agosto 14, 2011

This B & B is truly a wonderful gem tucked into Northern Indiana ~ the rooms, amenities, hospitality and food were beyond my expectations. Bruce and Sherry are magnificent hosts, with a genuine knack for making you feel as though you have been friends for years. The breakfast was an awesome '10'. I enjoyed tasting some of Indiana's traditional foods ~ baked oatmeal with peaches....mmmmm! Our room was like a picture out of a current decorating magazine and very clean. Bruce and Sherry, all the little extra touches put your B & B over the top! I hope to return.


Wonderful place!!

5 en julio 31, 2011

What an AWESOME place to stay!! Bruce and Sherry were wonderful hosts, and I can't wait to go back and brig some friends for a girls weekend!! I highly recommend the McKenzie House to anyone looking for a place to stay in the Middlebury area. Kristi from MN :o)


WONDERFUL

4,6 en julio 27, 2011

This is our second time visiting for a girls get away and we just love staying here. The rooms are very nice and the beds are soooo comfortable. If you want quiet, great food and wonderful conversations with the owners or other guest this is the place. We are coming back in August and bringing our husbands for a romantic get away!!


Refreshed

5 en julio 12, 2011

I came to this bed and breakfast in need of some rest and refreshment. I was totally blessed with that and more. The room was so comfortable and very accommodating to my friends and I. The hosts were amazing and the food was absolutely incredible. My friends and I were encouraged and uplifted by Sherry and Bruce. They provided a great place to be refreshed. What a great get away!


Relaxing Summer Days at McKenzie House

5 en julio 10, 2011

The decor was beautiful and modern, I slept on a comfy pillow-top mattress. Cooled down in the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Loved the natural setting, saw a mother bird feeding it's young and heard birds singing. The breakfast was very delicious with many yummy treats to choose from. Bruce and Sherry made me feel welcome and at home. Enjoyed conversation and meeting others there too.


First time at a bed and breakfast

4,4 en junio 28, 2011

This was our "first" bed and breakfast - it was a wonderful experience. Sherry and Bruce were very friendly, the rooms were very clean and had a wonderful feeling of comfort. They truly made us feel welcome and part of the family. Breakfast was great, I even asked for a receipe for the french toast. I highly recommend this inn and would love to return to it sometime soon.


We Love McKenzie House!

5 en junio 06, 2011

We enjoyed our stay so much! This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience and I have to say McKenzie House has set the bar very high for any future B&B's we may visit. The rooms were very clean and decorated wonderfully. The hot breakfast was wonderful! Bruce and Sherry are wonderful innkeepers and we enjoyed them very much. This was a get-away to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and we thank Bruce and Sherry for the great memories. We would love to return for another stay!


We WILL be back!!

4,6 en junio 01, 2011

This is the first Bed & Breakfast I've ever been to, and it was a fantastic experience. The home and property are gorgeous. Sherry and Bruce do a fabulous job making you feel right at home. The house isn't stuffy or uptight. The decor is simply modern. The food was incredible...accented perfectly by Bruce's chefs hat :) I planned this ladies getaway weekend praying this place would be nice...It was exactly what we all needed, a home away from home. I will be bringing my husband soon!


Outstanding

5 en mayo 23, 2011

My wife and I have a summer home in the area, but we are doing some work on it. During the work we have had an opportunity to try a couple of B&B in the area and McKenzie House was by far the best one. We have also spent several vacations in Ireland and feel that the McKenzie House would rank in the top 10% of the B&B's we have stayed. We would not hesitant to recommend this B&B to friends/family or anyone else who might ask.


Girls Night Out

5 en abril 21, 2011

Three sisters with one of their daughter's came to go shopping in Shipshewana and spent the night in Courtney's Suite. We were given a grill to fix our dinner, a firepit, complete with wood for a bon fire. It was perfect, very relaxing, a good girls day and night out. Breakfast was wonderful. We all ate way too much, but it was very good. I can't wait to take my husband back there for our Anniversary. Bruce and Sherry were very accomadating to all of us.


Fabulous ski get away!

4,2 en febrero 15, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the McKenzie House Bed and Breakfast! We enjoyed an afternoon of skiing at Swiss Valley and then spent the night at the warm, relaxing McKenzie House. We stayed in Molly's suite and greatly enjoyed the quiet winter evening. The McKenzie House is absolutely beautiful!! Bruce and Sherry were wonderful, friendly hosts. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast while visiting with Bruce and hearing of his journey across the United States. We will definitely be back to the McKenzie House for another stay!


Hidden gem

5 en febrero 13, 2011

Very pleasant surprise with a lot of extras. It felt like your own luxurious getaway house. Exceptionally clean and comfortable, especially the beds. You can not be bored at this place. The basement is set up as a home theater along with whatever else that may entertain you such as board games, keyboard, exercise machines....etc. BYOB friendly. The friendly and quiet atmosphere made for a very relaxing getaway. Last but not least, the food is delicious with home made sweets available all day and night.


Wonderful Experience

4,8 en diciembre 26, 2010

The Courtney Suite is so charming and warm. Feels like home if not better. Breakfast was unbelievable and Sherry and Bruce are the best. Would strongly recommend to all our family and friends. A wonderful experience. We felt spoiled.


What an incredible place

4,0 en octubre 15, 2010

We just had the most amazing woman's retreat at the McKenzie house and it was incredible. Thank you Sherry and Bruce for welcoming us into your home. I know it is a bed and breakfast but to us for the last 3 days it really was home. A safe and comfortable place to be ourselves and truly relax. The accommodations are incredible and the food was amazing. We will return many times and look forward to getting to know you better in the future. Thank you for taking such good care of us!! Sue


Special Retreat!

5 en octubre 08, 2010

My Mom, Sister and myself enjoyed a very special stay at McKenzie House. Everyroom was beautifully decorated and accessorized with every ammenity one would hope to have. Breakfast was elegant and incredibly delicious! Sherry & Bruce are delightful hosts. This will meet all your expectations.


Almost like home...

5 en septiembre 28, 2010

I found this McKenzie House online and booked the Courtney Suite for my husbands birthday.. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendliest hosts. We were given a tour of the beautifully decorated and immaculate surroundings created by Sherry and Bruce. After the main house tour we were taken over to the Carriage House where our suite was located. Amazing does not describe what we found. The large suite was not only spotlessly clean but had all the little touches we did not expect in our room. We loved our stay so much we not only stayed the weekend but came back to extend it another night. I cannot say enough about the hospitality and the superb breakfast and accommodations we received. Sherry and Bruce not only take pride in their establishment but treat each guest as a close friend welcoming you into their home.


Great Romantic Getaway

5 en septiembre 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our 20th Anniversary. We just wanted a nice relaxing getaway. We got alot more than we expected. The suite was perfect! We had rose petals scatterd throughout. We had our own private deck and a beautiful jacuzzi tub. The bed was the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. The breakfast each morning was heavenly and Sherry and Bruce were great hosts! I highly reccommend the McKenzie House and will be going back!


Perfect Retreat

5 en agosto 27, 2010

I wanted to find a place to stay for an overnight personal retreat. Normally I stay in a hotel, but decided to try a B&B for the first time. I picked this place randomly off the web listing of northern Indiana B&Bs, and decided later it was the most perfect choice. I stayed in the carriage house in the upstairs suite and loved the privacy of my own deck...the huge jacuzzi...the ability to make my own dinner and just be by myself to regroup. The breakfast was AMAZING - so much food and all of it was so good! I appreciated Bruce and Sherry's willingness to spend time with me (with all the guests) during breakfast. Even when I got ready to check out, Bruce stopped his work to talk to me and actually get to know me as a person! I absolutely plan to go back and stay again. This is the perfect place to escape! I will have to stay in a different suite next time so I can enjoy more of Sherry's beautiful decorating! I've been recommending McKenzie house to everyone at work too! (And I don't normally push things quite that much, so they're paying attention!)


the honeymooners

5 en agosto 17, 2010

This was the first time we stayed at a bed and breakfast. I'm very particular about my accomodations and I will say that we were pleasantly surprised at how clean and nice the entire grounds were. Our suite was well beyond my expectations. It surpassed the images on the website. We were immediately welcomed upon our arrival and instantly felt like we were visiting friends. The main house was beautiful (decorated with such taste) and our suite in the carriage house was unbelievable! Sherry and Bruce were extremely friendly, yet they allowed us to have our private time too. Their attention to detail is amazing. Every inch of our suite was perfect. You felt welcome upon walking through the door. Sherry's cooking is fantastic!!!! Our breakfasts were just wonderful and it was nice to be able to talk with Sherry and Bruce while enjoying our breakfast. Thanks to the great hospitality of Sherry and Bruce, we had the most relaxing couple of days we could have ever dreamed of. We are planning on a return visit shortly and will continue to return as often as we can. We have strongly recommended McKenzie House to family and friends. Sherry and Bruce-you have found your calling and you are naturals at this. We pray you have a long and happy adventure welcoming people to your home away from home. Thank you again for your hospitality, friendliness, courteousness, and genuineness. Best wishes!!!!


Great evening with fine people

4,8 en julio 21, 2010

My wife and I spent a night at the McKenzie House and was very pleased with the facililty, the hospitality, the atmosphere, the freedom given, and of course the breakfast was excellent. The room was very relaxing complete with our own TV and our own bathroom. We have stayed at several bed and breakfast locations and this one has to be at the top of our list.


A wonderful stay

5 en julio 11, 2010

My wife, two kids and I stayed at the McKenzie House while we were in the area for a wedding. The moment we arrived we were utterly impressed with the our suite and the inn in general. It is beautifully appointed and arranged with utmost thought for guests. And the owners could not be more considerate (or the breakfasts more delicious). We plan on staying each time we visit Northern Indiana. - The Nilsson Family


What a B&B should be!

4,8 en junio 30, 2010

Everything was wonderful, from the clean, tasteful accommodations to the homey, not fussy atmosphere. Celebrated a 40th anniversary with our extended family, occupying 3 of the 5 rooms. The pool was a great bonus, providing the kids with plenty of entertainment. Close to great dining (The Essenhaus) and shopping in Shipshewana. Breakfast was filling and delicious. Can't wait to go back, this is truly a classic bed and breakfast for the modern family or couple. Overall wonderful experience!


Loved Our Stay

4,8 en mayo 08, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at this B&B prior to it becoming McKenzie House. The accommodations are beautiful. We had always enjoyed our vistis but never experienced the hospitality we received from Sherry and Bruce. Without a doubt they are very gracious and friendly hosts. By the time you leave you feel as if you have known them most of your life. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the food is excellent and the hosts are fantastic! You won't be disappointed.


Can't say enough about McKenzie House!!!

5 en abril 29, 2010

McKenzie House B & B has been my favorite getaway since it opened! I spend a fair amount of time in Northern Indiana because of my family members at Notre Dame, and this is the best place to stay I've found within a thirty mile radius of campus. You just feel at home when you are at the McKenzie House!


Memorable, worth repeating experience

4,6 en abril 17, 2010

Beautifully designed and maintained lodging with outstanding choices in accomodations. Gracious hosts who make you feel very welcome. Incredible breakfasts - future Food Network challenge participant? Bruce and Sherry have a wealth of information about the local history and attractions - and if you have a question they can't answer they will do research and get back to you with the answer. We would look forward to staying at the McKenzie House again. The Lee family.


Needed a break from stress!!!!

5 en abril 10, 2010

My 2 boys and I visited the McKenzie house for two nights over spring break. Our room was amazing! I have never stayed at a B&B and was a bit skeptical as to how It would feel to be a guest in someone else's home with my boys. The Innkeepers made us so comfortable and went out of their way more than once to accomodate some personal needs we had. They were helpful in finding directions for us and the food was so good! Breakfast was amazing and plentiful! I'm not sure I will be able to satisfy them on school mornings now after they were so spoiled at the McKenzie house. You HAVE to go to this place! It is a kid friendly home with enough room and options to entertain them, but also never see or hear them if that is what you choose! Perfect for anyone! I will definately try to get there again this summer. Carrie Hicks - Grandville, Mi


Best Experience at a B&B Ever

4,6 en abril 05, 2010

We were looking for Ski Resorts in Western Michigan and saw the Mckenzie House listing on one of the resorts websites for accomodations nearby. We were suprised to find this hidden gem just half and hour from a resort in southeast Michigan. We stayed at the Carriage House and I can's say enough about how nicely appointed it was, updated and had all the amenities possible. The inkeeper Sherry showed us the room, showed us all the other rooms in the in and also recommended a restaurant in town for dinner. I found the inn to be wonderful, Sherry and Bruce had breakfast with us in the morning, I felt like I was one of the family. I would definitely by back for rest and relaxation and the accommodations and company couldn't be better. I was extremely impressed and will recommend the McKenzie house to all friends and family.


My home away from home!

5 en marzo 24, 2010

What can I say? McKenzie House B&B felt like my "home away from home"! I did not want to leave! My husband and I visited McKenzie House for a little getway and we were greeted with friendliness and lovliness. Sherry and Bruce made us feel right at home...showing us around, sharing stories, and inviting us to feel at home. The rooms are ALL beautiful and comfy/cozy...but our room...the cottage...was my absolute favorite! Decorated beautifully...with all the perfect touches! Candles, music, all the amenities you'd ever need, the tub, and the bed...unmatched by any other! The combination of this lovely home and the most gracious innkeepers one would ever meet, certainly calls for another visit (many more!)...very soon! I now recommend this B&B to all my friends!


Amazing Bed And Breakfast For Nita and Ed Drake of Muskegon MI.

5 en marzo 05, 2010

OMG! What can I say to describe the beautiful rooms and service of the McKenzie House. My husband and I went there for my birthday in Oct. and I was so surprised and pleased with everything! Sherry had put beautiful flowers and candy in the room for me and the room it's self was perfect! When we walked in the soft music was playing and candles were glowing, the room decor was so beautiful and the whirpool bath had candles glowing all around it. Sherry and Bruce have done a wonderful job with all the rooms and the service. We were in the little cottage that is seperate from the big house and that it's self is so unigue. Now to the food... The breakfast Sherry served was outstanding! The food was all homemade and so much of it, my husband and I were so full when we left... sooo tasty! We have since been back there in February for Valentine's Day and the service and the room was still outstanding! We will be going back to Mc Kenzie House when ever we get a chance. My husband and I are both very picky about where we stay and how we rate places and this is one of our favorites. Go see for yourself then you can see what we are talking about!


A Life Saver!

5 en marzo 04, 2010

Being in the military, we travel a lot. On our Christmas vacation we were visiting family in the area. After booking a motel with some great reviews on-line we showed up to a hole in the wall. Leaving that place frustrated, tired, and in a snow storm we came across this extremely cute bed and breakfast a couple miles down the road. As soon as we pulled in the drive way we were greeted. The McKenzie House was so warm and cozy, the best home feeling ever. The house was extremely clean and well kept-that is the most important thing to me when staying somewhere.The breakfast was unbelieveable and the innkeepers are who made the entire stay worth it. Definately will stay here again!


Very much impressed!

5 en marzo 03, 2010

This was our first time at any bed and breakfast and Sherry and Bruce made us feel welcome and right at home. They were more than friendly with a beautiful setting and rooms as well as delicious food. The extras touches are too many to name but the attention to detail is obvious. We'll be returning. We were delighted with our stay!


Feeling right at home in Amish Country

5 en febrero 23, 2010

I took my two nieces to McKenzie House in December. We went shopping at Das Dutchman Essenhaus and had a blast! The rooms we stayed in were so comfortable and relaxing. Sherry and Bruce were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was wonderful and we met some interesting people. Will be back as soon as the schedule slacks off!


McKenzie House Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $109 - $149
  • Comentarios (42) 4,9
  • Habitaciones 5
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5748259787
  • Sin cargo
    1-8778259787

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba