Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,8

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,7
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,7
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,8

Puntuación basada en
57 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

my review

5 en julio 06, 2014

excellent stay and welcoming host.


Great experience

4,8 en febrero 17, 2014

I found about this place online and decided to plan a surprise gate a way for my wife. I must say most romantic and hystorical place i have ever stayed in. Whole experience left a smile on our face when we left the next day. Indeed a must visit place.


Best B&B you will ever stay at!

5 en septiembre 11, 2013

Sherry has paid great attention to providing old country charm with modern comforts along with the most scrumptious breakfast! I've stayed at similar inns around the world and B&Bs from Napa to Monterey California. Never before have I seen such amazing detail and charm in literally every inch of this beautiful old farmhouse! These rooms could easily go for 2-3 x more elsewhere and a short drive to Long Grove's cute village shops and Old Mill will complete the respite!


Charming & cozy

5 en septiembre 03, 2013

I stayed at the Old Victorian Farmhouse in September, 2013. I booked three of the rooms (all except the suite) for my my mother, sister, brother and myself. We came for the weekend from IL, MI and NC to celebrate my mother's birthday. I have stayed in many B&Bs and the Farmhouse compares very favorably. This is the first time I have stayed in a B&B where the rooms share a bathroom but since I only shared with family members it wasn't inconvenient. The owner, Sherry, is very friendly and accommodating and we greatly enjoyed visiting with her over the sumptuous breakfasts she served us! The rooms were clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We had everything we needed and our stay was very restful. The rooms are also very affordable, especially considering the high standards of hospitality. We all had a lovely stay and will certainly return if we have opportunity.


Great place to stay north of Chicago

5 en julio 30, 2013

We had a great time at the Old Victorian Farmhouse - this is a wonderful place to stay and Sherry did a fantastic job to make us feel at home. If you are searching for a great place to stay north of Chicago, we highly recommend the Old Victorian Farmhouse.


Amazing stay, loved it!

5 en mayo 26, 2013

This was my first time here and I have to say this place was just amazing. I stayed in the Serenity Cove and Sherry's style and attention to detail is awesome. Bedding smelled fresh and clean, breakfast variety was great. I was here for a wedding in Chicago and the drive into town was convenient. I've never stayed at a place so comfortable so much like home I would definitely stay here again. Relaxing, romantic and shops and restaurants in downtown Wauconda are great!


Wonderful place to stay

5 en enero 07, 2013

Brought my daughter for a mother daughter night away and what a gem we found. Sherry is fabulous the home is beautiful and we had a wonderful time. I've told all my friends about it so they can come and I plan on coming back in the spring/summer with both my daughters to enjoy the lovely screened in porch. Her breakfast is delicious! This is well worth a trip, you will make memories you won't forget.


So close to Chain O' Lakes State Park!

4,2 en octubre 01, 2012

I recently stayed at the Old Victorian Farm House Bed and Breakfast and I had a lovely experience. The owner was very kind and courteous and the food was very tasty. All the rooms are nice and the decor is very interesting and romantic. We were delighted to discover that chain o'lakes state park was 15 minutes away, and we traveled there for both canoeing and horseback riding. We only stayed for 48 hours (a nice trip that doesn't necessarily require time off from work) but it was well worth the visit. -Robin


business stay

5 en septiembre 20, 2012

stayed here for 4 nights on business when I had problems booking my usual hotel; I really enjoyed my stay here - it was almost like a home-away-from home (though a lot more beautiful than my actual home), and Sherry was a wondeful host; also a great restaurant nearby for dinner - fun to hear about the "Murder Mystery"events that Sherry hosts here...we may have to come back and give one of those a try.


THIS IS SO WONDERFUL AND FRIENDLY AMAZING BREAKFAST ..

5 en agosto 25, 2012

THANK U SO MUCH FOR LET US TO STAY THERE AND U ARE SO GOOD NICE PERSON U ARE .. WE MISSED AND WOULD LIKE COME BACK SOONER WINK .. GOD BLESS U ALWAYS


A step back in time

5 en agosto 03, 2012

Innkeeper has a gift for interior decorating. Loved the attention to detail throughout the house. Enjoyed eating breakfast, family style, with the Innkeeper and the other guests each morning. Hope to come back for a murder mystery event or high tea.


Friendly with the best breakfast you'll ever eat

5 en junio 09, 2012

I enjoyed my two day stay at the Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast immensely. I stay at B&Bs regularly, and by far, this one has the best breakfast I'd ever had. It's well decorated, comfortable, and has a friendly staff. Romeo, the house dog, is a love and a nice bonus. He's really well behaved, but adds to the charm of the place. I wish we lived closer to book one of the mystery dinners or high teas. They looked like they would be a lot of fun. Highly recommended.


very great time

5 en marzo 29, 2012

We had the most wonderful time, the food was awesome and very relaxing.


Perfect getaway

5 en octubre 10, 2011

Absolutely wonderful. My first B & B, so cute and charming. The service was wonderful, the rooms were beautiful and everything you could need was available to you. Breakfast was to die for, the best creme brulee french toast! Was wonderful to sit and visit with the inn keeper! I will definetly be returning! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!


Wonderful B&B in Wauconda

5 en agosto 01, 2011

Our family recently stayed at the Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, to attend a family wedding in Chicago. We have a wonderful time there and Sherry was so gracious and nice! The food was excellent, as well as the hospitality. The rooms were quite welcoming. We would definitely recommend this B&B and plan to make this site a family tradition!


Great Breakfast.

5 en julio 22, 2011

Sherry the host is extra friendly but not over board. The rooms were great. Very Victorian.


Murder Mystery Dinner was FUN, FUN, FUN!

5 en junio 05, 2011

Fun, fun, fun! I recently brought my family to the Murder Mystery Dinner and it was great fun for all ages. We had so much fun preparing for our roles and play-acting through the appetizers, dinner and dessert. The food and fellowship was great. It was instant friendship with all of the participants. Thanks for such a memorable experience. The Vadnais Family


Long weekend get-away

4,0 en abril 25, 2011

We were looking for a pleasant B&B not too far from Chicago, as we had plans to visit the museums in the city. The Old Victorian more than fit the bill - the room was cozy, Sherry (the inn-keeper) was very accomodating and helpful, and the breakfasts were delicious! Her companion animal Romeo, the standard poodle, was a most congenial host. We decided on a whim to participate in the Murder Mystery; it was decidedly the right choice and was a blast! We will definitely return again when our plans take us back to the area for another get-away, and will recommend the Old Victorian to our friends as well.


An Enchanted Weekend Stay

4,6 en marzo 16, 2011

Lovely B and B. Delicious food and interesting guests. What more could you want?


Murder Mystery

4,0 en noviembre 19, 2010

My friend and I went to Old Victorian Farmhouse for the Murder Mystery Dinner and overnight stay. Sherry, the Innkeeper, emailed us our characters and asked us to dress as our character. I thought this was really fun because we were actually part of the mystery. We also had a lot of fun picking out our costumes and putting them on. My friend even brought a pitchfork as part of her costume......Sherry was surprised and loved it! I had been to a murder mystery dinner before, but we just watched as actors performed. Participation is so much better. The entire house was spotless and homey and Sherry made us feel welcome right from the start. Each bedroom is uniquely decorated. The B&B is far enough out in the suburbs (we are from Chicago) to be very quiet and peaceful. The following morning Sherry prepared her "Overnight Coffee Cake" which was delicious!!! I liked it so much that I bought the entire cookbook just for that recipe. I was very excited to discover a lot of other good recipes in the cookbook too. Since the B&B is close to Long Grove, we went there to shop the next day. Overall I would say that this was a great overnight getaway. We look forward to going back for another stay or two or three. I am looking forward to going in the summer when we can ride the tandem bicycle listed in the brochure.


Great Mom and Daughter getaway!

4,6 en septiembre 20, 2010

My Mom and I came to Wauconda for the weekend because I was competing in the Bangs Lake triathlon and to do some antiquing. Sherry was so helpful and didn't add any stress to my pre-race preparation. My bike was in a safe place and I had a great nights rest. She even saved some breakfast for me for a post race treat! I will definitely plan to race again next year and stay at Sherry's place for sure. My Mom and I had a blast watching old movies and just relaxing. If you are looking to a quiet relaxing place to stay in Wauconda this is it!


Road Warrior Retreat

5 en agosto 29, 2010

I am a road warrior. I travel for work 40 weeks out of the year. On my birthday I get cards from airlines. I do not consider this a good thing. To relieve the tedium of another hotel room in my life I stay at B&B's when I can find them. They have all had their treasures and stories. And the Old Victorian Farmhouse added another wonderful story and sense of heart and home to the places I have visited. Thank you Sherry. Breakfast was wonderful, worth being late to work for.


Everything was amazing

5 en julio 12, 2010

I've never written a review before but the Old Victorian Bed and Breakfast deserves one. Everything about this place exceeded my expectations. I came to participate in the Civil War Weekend in early July and instead of camping I chose to stay here - and I felt like I had been transported back in time. The rooms were beautiful (I peeked into all of them) and every detail had been thought of. The feather beds were heaven to slip into at the end of the day (while all my friends were sleeping on the ground). The food, especially the creme brulee french toast on Sunday, was delicious. And Sherry was the most gracious hostess I have ever met. I will absolutely be back as soon as I can.


Say YES to the Old Victorian Farmhouse B & B

5 en junio 23, 2010

We only stay at B & B's, and it only took a quick look at Sherry's furnishings on (nice website) to make up our minds. Exactly what we were looking for-- decorative, fun, creative, but relaxing. We generally don't return twice, like to try new places, but this one we're pretty sure we'll try again. And the service was excellent, cheerful, not intrusive, but caring. Definitely a five star experience.


My first Bed and Breakfaste experience!!

4,8 en junio 17, 2010

I didn't know what to expect, as I've never done this before. Sherry is a kind caring person and host. She made us feel right at home, along with not even knowing she was there. The room we stayed in was classically beautiful, as were the rest of the rooms. Breakfast in the morning was over the top. Thank you so much Sherry! Tom


Pick this One!

4,2 en abril 15, 2010

Sherry is a most gracious, sincere and truly exceptional host. The level of privacy is very nice and she has thought of most everything when it comes to making guests feel at home. Our trip was actually for business!


Wonderful place!

5 en abril 02, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Old Victorian Farmhouse. The house was beautifully decorated and had everything you would ever want, including books, movies and games to enjoy, a parlor room to spend time in and free wi-fi. We stayed in the secret garden room, which was lovely. The bed, in particular, was incredibly comfortable. The feather mattress made for a great night's sleep. The hostess, Sherry, was very kind and accommodating and the breakfast she made was absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.


first bed and breakfast experience

4,6 en marzo 27, 2010

This was a wonderful introduction for us to bed and breakfast living. We throughly enjoyed our stay from the comfortable and beautiful surroundings to the delicious food. Thank you Sherry!


Old Vic

5 en febrero 03, 2010

Sherry, loved staying at the Old Victorian. Your breakfast was wonderful, and you and great host. Thank you for the comforting stay. It was a pleasure meeting you. Mike & Lori


Australia Comes to the Old Victorian Farmhouse

5 en septiembre 30, 2009

Hi, Sherry! Finally getting back to you. Your Australian guests, our cousin Walter & his wife Breda, left here on Friday. Needless to say, three weeks was too short a visit, we miss them already. But I just wanted you to know that one of the highlights of their visit was the time they spent at your Old Victorian Farmhouse! Not only because of the elegance of your unique & beautiful Bed & Breakfast, but also because of the ambience you've created -- warm & welcoming to the nth degree. Add to that the comfort of their gorgeous bedroom, "Paradise Cove", the gourmet breakfast each morning, the friendly company of your other guests, all topped off with the surprise good-bye gift of your absolutely delicious cookies (which our cousins shared w/ us later :-) -- what an unforgettable experience! Your motto, "Arrive as a guest and leave as a friend" is what we all did, thanks to your generous hospitality -- not only our cousins who stayed two nights w/ you, but us also when we joined them each morning for that scrumptious breakfast. We can't say enough about how lovely their & our time was at your Old Victorian Farmhouse. I consider your B&B one of Wauconda's prize jewels that we were lucky enough to discover. Your friend for sure! :-) Eileen PS. My sister & Breda tried your recipe from the "Illinois Bed & Breakfast Cookbook" (2009, ed. Becky LeJeune), & it was almost as delicious as when we first enjoyed it at your gracious table. ;-)


Fantastic Weekend Getaway

5 en agosto 07, 2009

My husband, dog and myself had an amazing weekend at the Old Victorian Farmhouse B&B. We highly recommend it and plan to revisit! From start to finish our experience was outstanding. We were thrilled to find a pet friendly B&B, and our dog Moose was welcomed with open arms. In fact, he and BB (the charming dog that lives at the B&B) had a wonderful time together. The decor is unique and beautiful - each room has beautiful details and special touches to make you feel right at home. The breakfasts were also amazing - candlelit breakfasts were a first for us! And Sherry made her "published" overnight coffee cake and creme brulee french toast for us - they were just as spectacular as they sound! We highly recommend this B&B!


Best B&B Value I have had.

5 en julio 20, 2009

It is an elegant and quiet setting. The service was exceptional and the creme brulee french toast was fantastic. We will definitely stay here again. This was the best value I have ever had at a B&B.


Two amazing visits

5 en junio 16, 2009

I have stayed at Old Victorian Farmhouse on 2 occasions. Sherry's hospitality and the beauty of her creative decor are warm and inviting. She greeted me like an old friend, showed me to my room, Peaceful Paradise and I fell in love. I woke to an exquisite outside my windows: 7 inches of snow. The frst morning, I had to leave before breakfast was served, but Sherry made sure I had warm muffins and coffee on the table when I came down. Her husband, Archie, had cleared the snow from my car. This is typical of their concern for guests. Sunday and Monday's breakfast were superb; you haven't eaten breakfast until you have Sherry's creme brulee french toast, with juice in gold goblets, fine china, and Sherry's delightful personality. If it seem too formal, Old Victorian is warm, comfortable and relaxing for adults and children. I was impressed with the old toy box of toys in the hall, the books and movies in the lovely sitting room. I left the B&B feeling relaxed on Monday. Sherry had a little gift fbag for me to take home--her warm homemade cookies; they didn't make it home. In June, I returned; I couldn't imangine the second visit being as wonderful as the first, but it was. Sherry was standing at the door to greet me with Mr. B, the poodle and Priscilla, the ragdoll cat. Both are loving pets and while the B&B is pet friendly, the whole place is spotless and no telltale pet scents, fur, etc. I was impressed. I stayed in Peaceful Paradise again and woke to a view of green trees and the lovely yard. Sitting on the screened porch, listening to the rain and birds was so relaxing. Visiting with other guests and Sherry at breakfast is a great experience. I looked forward to those good-bye cookies for home If you want to step out of the hectic world into a serene and relaxing setting, please visit Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast..


An undiscovered gem 43 miles from Chicago!

5 en junio 14, 2009

It's hard to believe this secluded Victorian farmhouse is 43 miles from Chicago. We are a family of four -- 2 children 12 and 6 -- who like to bicycle. This place is just a mile and a half from the millenium bike trail in Lake Country. Yesterday, we cycled here from Northfield and were met by the gracious hosts in Mundelein as it was getting dark. Sherry and Archie graciously volunteered to pick us up there! When we arrived at their b&b it was about 9:30. They showed us to a large spacious double room suite fit for Louis XIV complete with a gigantic jacuzzi. But everything else in the room was Victorian period down to the golden sheets we slept in! Our host and hostess bid us good night, but not before directing us to a family video collection. We selected a Disney movie which we watched in two installments. The next morning, we had a lovely breakfast with another guest and our hostess. Creme brulee french toast, would you believe! We had a lovely conversation with the other guest who was already planning two future visits here into the summer while the kids played with BB and Percilla -- the child friendly dog and cat. If you would like to really get out into the country and not travel four hours into Wisconsin or Michigan from Chicago, this is the place to come. It is absolutely ideal for cyclists as it connects in with the North Shore and Des Plaines River trails. It is great for families or retirees or honeymoon couples. The hosts are warm and caring, you won't find a better place than this in northern Illinois!


Great Mother/Daughter Getaway

5 en abril 22, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here a few weeks ago. I cannot recommend it enough. I have told all my friends. From the moment we arrived Sherry made us feel so welcome. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. The food was outstanding. And best of all was her lovely dog "BB"! My daughter fell in love with BB. They are withing minutes of great restaurants and only about 12 minutes from Long Grove. I highly recommend it especially for a mother/daughter getaway to Long Grove.


mom and dad's getaway

4,0 en marzo 16, 2009

we have stayed with Sherry and Archie numerous times. We even brought our friends along!! Love their house, the warmth and talking with Sherry. Great weekend get away!!!!


Warm and inviting

4,6 en marzo 10, 2009

My husband and I discovered this B&B online. We were so pleasantly surprised to find such a lovely and inviting place close to our evening activities in Waukegan, and yet so quiet and relaxing. Sherry, the innkeeper, greeted us warmly and took time to show us around. We stayed in the Vintage Comfort Suite, with a comfy king-size bed and a roomy whirlpool. The dining room and sitting room downstairs are also very open and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with great coffee and a very enjoyable French Toast. We especially enjoyed meeting the 'goodwill ambassadors', B&B the dog and Priscilla the cat. They were very friendly, and we fell in love with them. Breakfast was accompanied by easy and engaging conversation with Sherry. She and her husband have created a wonderful getaway haven that anyone would enjoy, if quiet relaxation and inviting hospitality is what you are looking for.


Wonderful Experience!

5 en marzo 01, 2009

J and P will be back to enjoy this outstanding bed and breakfast. Sherry does a great job running this establishment!


Wonderful B&B - what a delight!

4,8 en febrero 19, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed in Old Victorian Farmhouse over Valentines day and had a wonderful, romantic time. Upon arrival, we were cheerfully greeted by Sherry, who runs the B&B. She toured and gave a history of the house, rooms, and amenities. Many of the furnishings are period pieces and really add to the flavor of the house. We stayed in the Vintage Comfort Suite which was a fairly large set of rooms complete with King bed, Jacuzzi tub, shower, and beautiful decorations. We travelled to the local suburb of Algonquin for a nice dinner before retiring back to the B&B for the night. In the morning, Sherry prepared a wonderful full breakfast which I would describe as a french toast / custard combination with fresh fruit and whipped cream which was out of this world. The conversations we had with Sherry and the other guest of the hotel were fun and entertaining and we got to learn a lot about our new found friends. Having been to many B&Bs in my lifetime I absolutely think this is among the top few and would certainly go back and recommend to others.


Amazing First Time Experience!

5 en febrero 16, 2009

I had never been to a B & B, prior to Valentine's weekend. My boyfriend decided to surprise me with a romantic get-away, and chose this particular establishment. It was an amazing, first-time experience! The accomodations were wonderful. I had never slept on a feather bed, either!! Sherry is a fabulous hostess, and a marvelous cook! We were also impressed by the fact that we were allowed to bring our pet, Max, with us, so that we didn't have to board him with strangers. We were one of two couples there for the night, and breakfast Sunday morning was exceptional, as was the company and the conversation! We will not only be back, ourselves, but we will recommend it to friends and family! (We actually have already suggested it to a few people!). Thanks, again, Sherry, for helping Geno make this a Valentine's weekend to remember!! Debbie Taylor St. Louis, MO


Mother/Daughter getaway

4,0 en enero 14, 2009

Perfect place for girls weekend or couple getaway. Close to good shopping. House was more beautiful than I expected. Wonderful host!


Peaceful and relaxing

5 en enero 09, 2009

The Old Victorian Farmhouse is a beautiful home with elegant furnishings and an environment that is peaceful and inviting. Breakfast is delicious with very personable service.


A wonderful christmas experience

5 en enero 05, 2009

I had recently booked an overnight stay at the Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast. I wanted to suprise my mother and take her there for a christmas gift. Neither of us had ever been to a bed and breakfast before and I had chosen this location because my mother loves to shop at long grove. The experience was absolutely wonderful. The house is very beautiful and we were greeted by such a warm and caring person, sherri. The decoration of the home was unbelieveable and we had felt so warm and cozy just walking into the place. The home was very detailed, quiet and clean. It was perfect for a little getaway. We had met some really nice people and breakfast was very delicious in the morning. We all talked for a couple of hours and really had a great time. My mother and I will definately come back. I highly recommend staying here if you are in the area. It is also very convenient if you are going to visit the long grove shops.


A home away from home

5 en enero 01, 2009

This was our fourth visit since June, 2007, and each time we've left feeling more like family. Sherry is a warm and generous hostess, and her breakfasts are superb. Her standard poodle, Mr. B, and her ragdoll cat, Priscilla, (a breed known for low shedding) are very well behaved, and the song of her canary, Vic, is a delightful addition to breakfast. She takes great care in cleaning, and her decorating is charming without being fussy. She even has a small decorated tree in each room for Christmas, as was often common in the Victorian era. The property is within easy driving distance from Gurnee, Woodstock, Long Grove, and other northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin attractions, and only about 90 minutes from downtown Chicago by either car or train. This is a delightful place for a romantic getaway, a mother/daughter weekend, or just a high tea or wedding breakfast.


Great Honeymoon Spot

4,8 en noviembre 20, 2008

When my husband and I got married, just a couple weeks ago, we wanted a quiet weekend get-away spot that would be private but more charming and personable than a hotel, so we opted for a Bed and Breakfast. The Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast was in the best location for us. Wauconda is a lovely town and not too far from the city and the other events that we had planned. This really was the perfect place; it was amazing. The house is so charming and friendly and it is decorated with a distinctly personal feel to each of the rooms. Sherry is a fabulous hostess. She made us feel right at home! And oooooh the breakfasts were Delicious! We stayed for three nights, and each morning Sherry had some delightful and new breakfast beautifully arrayed on the table. The table settings were wonderful; just the right touch for feeling pampered. We are definitely considering returning for our one year anniversary. This is a wonderful place, we highly recommend it!


Warmest hospitality

4,8 en noviembre 17, 2008

What a perfect getaway to the Old Victorian Farmhouse, just 1 hour outside of Chicago- the perfect place to get away, relax, and enjoy the change of seasons. With Sherry, the innkeeper's hospitality and gourmet cooking to bout, we will certainly be returning to this extraordinary B&B!


Fabulous B&B

5 en noviembre 11, 2008

Fabulous B&B. comfortable and nicely decorated. Food was well above average. Sherry is very friendly. Pets were quite a welcome treat!


Outstanding all around!

5 en octubre 30, 2008

We stayed at the Farmhouse for an anniversary celebration. It was a wonderful way to celebrate! Sherry was great and her service was outstanding. I loved the rooms and the decor while my musband enjoyed the peace and quiet. Sherry served us a fabulous breakfast the next morning and we were able to enjoy her company plus learn the history of the home. I would recommend that anyone stay here and enjoy the hospitality Sherry has to share!


Warm and Inviting...

4,0 en octubre 28, 2008

The farmhouse is beautifully decorated as well as warm and welcoming. Sheri is a wonderful hostess and if you are lucky, she'll serve her Creme Brulee french toast for breakfast! We thoroughly enjoyed Sheri and being animal lovers loved BB and Pricilla. Carol and Harold Manitowoc,Wi.


Delightful stay

5 en octubre 27, 2008

Our stay at Old Victorian Farmhouse was wonderful. The featherbed was a highlight. Delicious breakfast Sherry. Thanks so much for a memorable romantic get-away.


A delightful place to stay!

4,0 en octubre 27, 2008

I've stayed at Old Victorian Farmhouse twice and each time the experience has been outstanding. Sherry is an excellent hostess attending to every detail to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. The atmosphere is restful and replenishing. After a comfortable night's rest Sherry serves up a fresh delicious breakfast which also includes friendly greetings from her beautiful well-behaved standard poodle BB. Sherry has created a family friendly atmosphere and it's also a great place for anyone who needs a quiet get-a-way from a stress filled life. I highly recommend Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast.


Old Victorian Farmhouse

5 en octubre 27, 2008

excellent and spotless


Lovely B & B

4,0 en octubre 22, 2008

We stayed at the Old Victorian Farmhouse B & B just one night as that is all we had time for on our visit but we found it most enjoyable. The owner has decorated it so beautifully and it was a very comfortable visit. The breakfast was great and her table setting was excellent. If we are in the area again, I know we will stay there again.


A very happy birthday

4,4 en octubre 22, 2008

I took my fiance here for a birthday treat. And it WAS a treat. From the moment you walk in and are greeted by Sherry's friendly face, you know you are going to be comfortable. The decor makes you feel like you are royalty. We stayed in the vintage comfort suite. It is the definition of luxury. The black and gold color scheme was elegant. The spacious suite had silky smooth sheets and a down type comforter on the bed. Also a chaise style chair. Even a make-up nook! The bathroom is huge! It includes a jacuzzi as well as a separate shower. After sleeping like a baby, we went downstairs in the morning and had an amazingly delicious breakfast prepared by the innkeeper. I will definitely look them up if I need to stay in the area again. Well done!


Lovely Home and Innkeeper

4,4 en octubre 17, 2008

You will love Sherry, and B&B (the Inn Keeper's dog), if you have a chance to meet him!


A weekend to remember!

4,4 en octubre 08, 2008

This place is amazing! It is totally worth the drive and located about 15 minutes from Gurnee mall. This was our first visit to a bed and breakfast and my boyfriend and I just loved it! The owner Sherry was delightful! The breakfast, creme brulee french toast with fresh berries and cream, eggs, bacon was amazing! The vintage comfort suite is more expensive than the other rooms but totally worth it with the private bathroom and jacuzzi tub. We rode the tandem bicycle in the morning through the forest preserve. The house is very updated. Sherry owns a lovely dog and cat, the only thing is my boyfriend is allergic to cats so heads up on that. The only mark down for cleanliness was that we found cat hair on chairs. You must go it will be a weekend to remember!


a peaceful, beautiful retreat

5 en agosto 27, 2007

I can't say enough about this wonderful place. From the charming Victorian decor to the delicious breakfasts, each detail showed warmth and care, and our hostess was more than generous. We were fortunate to stay twice this summer, and we look forward to our next visit.


Old Victorian Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $75 - $150
  • Comentarios (57) 4,8
  • Habitaciones 4
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8475269271

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba