Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,2

Puntuación basada en
206 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great weekend getaway from Chicago

5 en mayo 11, 2014

Made a last minute decision to get out of Chicago and go to Galena for the weekend. Know B&Bs aren't crazy about Saturday night stays only, when ideally they'd like you to stay Friday and Saturday if during the weekend, but they accommodated us since it's right before the busy season really kicks in and they weren't completely full. Recommend the Goldmoor experience package. It includes couples massage, champagne and keepsake glasses and a $50 dinner voucher. It was worth it. Our two massage therapists were top-notch! I would come back just for the massage, but there are plenty of other reasons to come back. We stayed in the First Lady Suite which was wonderful with plenty of comforts. The property sits sort of on a bluff with a view of the Mississippi River (it's not right at the river's edge but overlooks it). There are bicycles for anyone to use and some lawn chairs to sit and enjoy the views. The restaurant is open to the public for dinner besides guests. We had lovely riverside views in a booth. There was a good selection of entrees. Our dinner and wine were pleasurable as was the service. Breakfast was also tasty and filling, they don't skimp! We ordered breakfast in so we could stay in the big fluffy Goldmoor robes and continue lounging. There is also a little room off of the lobby that sells some retail items, wine, bottled water and has a drawer of I-forgot-to-bring toiletries. It is a great place to get away and relax. The main street of Galena isn't too far away if you want to shop or stroll. We recommend and will come back.

Respuesta del propietario

So glad that you enjoyed yourself! Thanks for leaving a review, we love to hear how we are doing from our guests. We'll definitely be keeping the Goldmoor Experience Package. Have a wonderful day!


A slice of peace and heaven!

4,8 en septiembre 18, 2013

We are repeat customers and we come to stay in the cabin every year with our dog. We look so forward to this getaway every year. The cabins are so fun and comfy and the property around them is so well groomed and beautiful. There is nothing like waking up early in the morning and sitting on the cabin front porch with a freshly brewed cup of coffee and having deer (and sometimes their off spring) run through the front yard. It's so amazing. We also enjoy our Saturday night dinner at the Goldmoor Inn in their awesome Gazebo being waited on by Sue who is just a wonderful addition to the Goldmoor Inn. She makes our dinner very special. Our experience at the Goldmoor Inn is nothing short of outstanding. Thank you! Randy & Mary Hutton


Nice place to relax

3,8 en agosto 23, 2013

My wife and I visited for our anniversay and found the Goldmoor to be very relaxing and peaceful. There are some newer rooms and some older rooms so be careful which ones you choose. The food was a bit pricey but well worth it.


Fantastic Getaway

4,2 en agosto 07, 2013

My husband and I went to the Goldmoore at the recommendation of some friends and we were pleasantly surprised. The view is gorgeous and the food was spectacular! We were hesitant at first, as our room had been recently deep cleaned and felt damp. They immediately let us choose another room and gave us a voucher for a free meal that valued $100! The new room was beautiful and the staff was so friendly and serving. The 20% off of your second stay is pretty good motivation for us to return someday.


The Goldmoor was glorious!

4,8 en julio 01, 2013

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and everything exceeded our expectations. The charm of this place is hard to describe; modern elegance with just the right balance of seclusion and exposure to nature. It's also only approximately a 20 minute car ride to the quaint shops and dining establishments in Galena. We might have to think of another special occasion to celebrate and return there soon!


A wonderful experience.

5 en junio 09, 2013

A truly wonderful experience. The food is great, the view is serene. The rooms are a incredible experience unto themselves.


awesome

4,6 en junio 02, 2013

We had a family emergency and had to cut our stay short. The staff was very helpful and refunded us by giving us a gift certificate for another stay. We will definitely be making the trip up their again!!


Outstanding Honeymoon

5 en mayo 31, 2013

We just enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon at the Goldmoor Inn. The surroundings are gorgeous, the location is beautiful, the accommodations are first-class, the service was exemplary and the cuisine, for both dinner and breakfast, was delicious. We strongly recommend the Goldmoor Inn and will return for our anniversary.


Goldmoor stay

4,6 en mayo 20, 2013

Had a great stay. The service of all the staff members was incredible and the room was spacious and clean.


Outstanding visit!

5 en abril 19, 2013

This was out first stay at the Goldmoor. It far exceeded my expectations. When we arrived for our breakfast in the dining room, the coffee was poured, and the muffins were on the table. Our room was absolutely beautiful, and romantic. The view of the Mississippi was breathtaking from our room. The spa was also great. We're looking forward to another trip there in the fall! Carol Ervin


Romantic Getaway

4,6 en marzo 18, 2013

Excellent weekend. Service was outstanding and Restaurant was excellent.


Goldmoor Inn

4,0 en marzo 06, 2013

Very comfortable rooms. Good breakfasts. Close to downtown Galena. Helpful staff.


A perfect getaway weekend

4,4 en marzo 06, 2013

I thought this was a perfect getway for just the two of us that just needed som us time. I will be back for a girlsweekend in the near future.


Unforgettable

5 en febrero 28, 2013

The staff were the friendliest people we have dealt with. The rooms were so elegant comfortable. I just can not say enough about how wonderful our stay was. I am looking forward to staying here again. Thank you for a marvelous weekend.


Wife's 55th BD

5 en febrero 27, 2013

Third time back and enjoyed another special weekend getaway in the most peaceful relaxing setting. Had the most wonderful massage to start on Friday and an enjoyable dinner in the streets of old Galena, the town as well as the people at the inn were so gracious of hosts. The breakfast to start the days were more than enough and the plates were left clean as the taste was unbleievable. The Irish Cottage was to date our favorite stay with the stone waterfall in the shower and spacious room to help wind down ...thanks for a great peace of mind...


Great View!!

4,8 en febrero 27, 2013

This was a great place to get away too! We had a great view of the Mississippi river and surrounding countryside. Nice and quiet! Dining was excellent. Definitely recommend staying here. Will be back!


Review of leafland cabin

3,8 en enero 23, 2013

The cabin and the area it is in was beautiful. We really enjoyed staying here and felt very relaxed!


January 2013

5 en enero 23, 2013

Our stay was wonderful as always. It's our 5 or 6 time staying here.


Stay in the Genieve suite over the holidays

3,8 en enero 05, 2013

Our stay was very nice. I loved the suite. We also ate at the restaurant and our meal was exceptional. Our waitress was new, but very sweet. She needs some training on the wine list and mixed up our beef wellington entrees. I thought the breakfast room service was a nice touch. Thanks for having handicap accessibility for my husband. My only recommendation is to keep the thermostat a little lower because when you run the fireplace and the jacuzzi at the same time it makes the room extremely warm. We opened the deck door to cool the room down. Also, keep a main light on when you first enter the suites. It was rather dark and the guest from the next suite was standing behind the door in the dark when we first entered. Lucky I am not frightened easily, but an elderly guest could have had an accident.


Great cabins

4,6 en enero 02, 2013

We stayed in the Leafland Log Cabin for a weekend break. The cabin was bigger than expected and very comfy and warm despite the cold conditions outside. As a break away from a small baby we were very happy to just stay in the cabin and relax for much of the time, especially with the fantastic hot tub in the corner or the room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the massage ladies were very good. The only slight downside was the food which we felt was a bit too rich and heavy for our tastes and there didn't seem to be options for those wanting a lighter meal.


Holiday Stay!

4,8 en enero 01, 2013

This was our second time at the Goldmoor amd we truly loved our stay! This time we booked one of the freestanding cabins, and enjoyed the experience! Breakfast was lovely, and everything about the stay was comfortable! We hope to return!


A WONDERFUL SHORTENED STAY

4,4 en diciembre 26, 2012

This was the best stay in over forty years of travel and countless accomodations. Every detail advertized was accomplished with a caring smile and genuine concern. All extra requests were fulfilled. A family emergency required a shortened stay and the staff helped us through that and provided a credit certificate for a future stay. They really didn't have to do that, but they did! We will return!


Excellent atmosphere and service

4,0 en diciembre 20, 2012

All around wonderful experience. But for nearly $400/night I expect some Puffs Plus and Charmin Ultra Soft...not thinly sliced sandpaper.


Anniversary

4,6 en diciembre 14, 2012

Loved the room, loved the view. Service was excellent. Great dinner. A great choice for our 20th wedding anniversary.


Pleasant, romantic anniversary experience

4,0 en diciembre 10, 2012

Great experience, we will definitely be back again!


Wonderful Anniversary Celebration

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

Will definitely be back!!


Wonderful stay and AMAZING food!

4,6 en noviembre 21, 2012

We had a great getaway vacation at the Goldmoor. We stayed in the covington suite and had a blast! Service was great along with the complimentary breakfast! We had dinner there the first night and it was the best meal I ever had!!


Great Place for a Romantic Getaway

4,2 en noviembre 12, 2012

Beautiful B&B and rooms. Innkeepers were very friendly. We will return and stay in the same room. Had trouble with the speakers over the hot tub and notified the front desk on two separate occasions. Not a big deal, but would have appreciated a response. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will recommend the Goldmoor to our friends and family. Thanks!


Halloween Weekend

5 en noviembre 07, 2012

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast. We received the stay as a wedding gift. It was nice, quiet, cozy and very beautiful. We would definitely stay here again.


Excellant

4,2 en noviembre 05, 2012

We stayed in one of the rustic cabin and it was exactly what we were looking for. The service was outstanding and we were pampered and all of our needs were met. Thank you, Goldmoor Staff for a wonderful relaxing weekend!


Hideaway B&B in Galena

4,4 en octubre 25, 2012

Very relaxing view of the Mississippi River as you dine. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming. We had the Covington Suite....you couldn't hear other people in the building. 20 minutes from town (at least with the detour) so a very country feel.


return visit

3,2 en octubre 24, 2012

This was our second visit to the Goldmoor. This time we stayed in the Gwenivere room, #15. The room was nice and clean, though the bed wasn't very comfortable. We'd preordered a meat/cheese/cracker tray with champagne, but it wasn't there when we arrived at 6. We had to call and ask for it and received it by 7:00 (and our bill was credited for the inconvenience). The current road detour was quite long, so we decided to stay and eat in the restaurant on site. We both had the beef wellington, which was very good. Service was slow, but we weren't in a hurry. The area is beautiful and relaxing. Despite being fully occupied, the inn was peaceful and quiet. There seemed to be less attention to detail in the services than when we'd previously stayed. However, the Goldmoor continues to be a favorite of ours and I'm sure we'll return.


Disenchanted

2,4 en octubre 24, 2012

Very nice place, but it has a very "new" feel, and not the old/classy/rustic feel advertised. The perceived niceness is a bit contrived. Breakfast looked nice, but wasn't that great. Extraordinarily poor service for such a high class restaurant. Waters and wines were not offered to be refilled; we were told we'd get bread twice and we only got it after asking 30 minutes later. The waitress had a curt, hurried attitude and made us feel as if we were a burden. The meals were good, but just OK given the prices. Their flagship meal, the beef wellington, tasted like an unsalted/seasoned filet from TGI Fridays wrapped in a cheap pastry. Not special. Don't get wrapped up in the enchantment of this place. It was a nice place and food wasn't bad, but it's nowhere near being worth the money you pay.


AMAZING!

5 en octubre 22, 2012

Goldmoor Inn made our 6th Anniversary so special! Everything was beautiful and definately to our satisfaction! We've been telling all our friends that they should check it out. We will go back there again for sure! Plus the food was AMAZING!


Wonderful Relaxing Stay

4,6 en octubre 17, 2012

The Goldmoor Inn was fabulous, the staff was helpful and courteous and really made us feel like they were there to serve us. The dining was amazing, the breakfast was fresh and delicious and our evening meal was amazing. The view from the Inn and our room was great, and to be honest our only complaint at all was that the mattress was probably a year or so beyond when it should have been used. It was very firm and not giving at all. Felt like sleeping on concrete. We spoke with the staff about this and they said most rooms had been replaced with new memory foam mattresses and they just hadn't gotten to our suite yet. I would highly recommend the Goldmoor Inn and we are already trying to decide what room/cottage we are going to stay in next. - Rich


Can't wait for next year

4,8 en octubre 10, 2012

I wish I could give six stars to the staff. They were outstanding and friendly. My wife and I particularly enjoyed dining at the Chef's Table, and the food was great, too. We are already booked for next year.


Our always plesant stay at the GoldMoor Inn, Galena, IL

5 en octubre 06, 2012

I absolutely love staying at the GoldMoor Inn/ Aarons Cottages. We always try to stay once a year for our wedding anniversary. I highly recommend. Rooms are amazing and so is the staff and food ;)


Perfect for our Anniversary

4,6 en octubre 03, 2012

My husband and I were looking to get away from Chicago without having to hop on a plane. The Goldmoor was perfect. The cabin we stayed in was private and quiet, but still had luxurious amenities like the fireplace and whirlpool tub in the room. It was so nice to lounge in the morning (they delivered breakfast to our room every morning) in the bathrobes provided by the Goldmoor. And the setting could not be more beautiful, especially in the Fall. Overall a great getaway without having to go too far away.


Galena 2012

4,4 en septiembre 30, 2012

Beautifull view. Very quiet. Excelant food. Worth the money.


Nice Place to stay

4,4 en septiembre 19, 2012

We originally booked a room, but then we were given the opportunity to upgrade to the French Cottage. It was very clean, and the service was great. Every morning we would call and order our breakfast and it would arrive withing in 15 minutes, usually faster. It is a little pricey, but the cottage is good size, has a microwave, refridgerator, a large great room, whirlpool and nice bathroom. It was a great place to stay and I would reccomend it to others as well as go back ourselves.


Peaceful, Gracious Get Away

4,0 en septiembre 18, 2012

Everything at the Goldmoor Inn is superior from the spacious, well appointed rooms to the gorgeous grounds and excellent cuisine. Staff is very gracious and accommodating. Have only heard raves from others who have stayed here, also. Will definitely return.


Romantic Getaway

4,4 en septiembre 16, 2012

The Goldmoor is a beautiful place for dinner, romance and reconnecting. My husband and I were delighed with everything and are looking forward to our next getaway.


Goldmoor Inn- English Country Cottage

5 en septiembre 10, 2012

We stayed in the English Country Cottage for our 1 year anniversary. It was everything we expected and more. The staff was accommodating, extremely friendly and a pleasure to work with. The breakfast was amazing! It was a relaxing and incredibly romantic time for us. We decided going forward we will be returning for our anniversary yearly. Shawn and Jenna


Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

4,6 en septiembre 07, 2012

For our 20th anniversary, we stayed in the English Cottage with it's beautiful view. Enjoyed the hot tub and shower. Had the best ribeye ever in the dining room!


outstanding

5 en agosto 31, 2012

I loved how they paid attention to detail...from the decor, to my entrance into my cotttage (they had a romantic song playing for my wedding anniversary stay), to the breakfasts. Staff really knows how to add those extra goodies, we even got fresh baked cookies left each day after the housekeepers cleaned. The most romantic view...this will always be the most memorable experience of my life and whenever we need a little getaway we will take it at Goldmoor Inn. Thank you all!!!!


Our trip to Galena, IL

4,8 en agosto 23, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Goldmoor Inn. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. The location is a short distance from town and the scenery is great. The food and staff at Goldmoor Dining is second to none. While a lot of people come for the the shopping, we came for the cycling and the canoeing/kayaking. The river valley, the roads, the Galena River and the Mississippi River are great exploring. We'll be back!


A Peaceful Few Days With Our Dog

3,2 en agosto 22, 2012

We got out of the city when the air & water show was going on. What a lovely place to relax. The log cabin was very comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfasts on the terrace.


Nice stay...

3,6 en agosto 21, 2012

We had a great time at the Goldmoor, definitely met our expectations. One issue that was surprising to us was how poorly the grounds at the Goldmoor are being kept. I understand that it's been a very dry summer, but the weeds and bushes near our cabin were very unkept...quite surprising.


Galena B&B

4,2 en agosto 13, 2012

The room was very comfortable and gave us plenty of space. Breakfast was good. The use of bikes was nice as well.


Glorious time at the Goldmoor!

4,6 en agosto 10, 2012

We celebrated our tenth anniversary at the Goldmoor. We had a wonderful time! The restaurant, room, staff and view were outstanding! Also, we enjoyed the restaurants and shops of Galena. A hot air balloon ride was an unforgattable ending to our stay. We will be back. :)


Awesome Place!!!!!

4,0 en agosto 09, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Goldmoor Inn in the Turret Suite (for my birthday). The suite was very quaint and great for couples. The separate downstairs area was perfect, because the bed and jacuzzi was placed on the upper level away from the kitchenette and restroom. The room had plenty of windows with beautiful views at every angle of the wooded area. When we arrived the place was very clean and the package my boyfriend purchased (flowers, champagne & strawberries) were placed perfectly. The staff was very gracious and made sure all of our questions were answered and provided us with bikes and downtown tourist information (since it was our first time in Galena). The resturant was clean, quaint and the server was very attentive without being overbearing. The food was delicious...just the right proportion. Overall; The Goldmoor Inn raised my expectation of a bed and breakfast and I plan on visiting them again in the near future.


Amazing place!

4,4 en agosto 08, 2012

The room and place was beautiful. The only down side to it all was that there was a wedding going on that weekend and there were young kids running around. We could hear them stomping around upstairs for most of the day and night.


Honeymoon Getaway

4,4 en agosto 04, 2012

The welcome basket I had ordered to greet us wasn't in the room when we got there but the front desk person "Kyle" quickly remedied the problem and we really appreciated his sincere concern.


A get away weekend with family and the man I love!

4,8 en agosto 02, 2012

We have stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for the past three years for our special celebrations, birthdays and our anniversary. The rooms are romantic and the beds are so comfortable. It is peaceful and quiet tucked away in the country away from the hustle and bustle of town.The restaurannt has excellant food and presentation! You will love this bed and breakfast!


Anniversary Weekend

4,4 en julio 25, 2012

I would highly recommend the Goldmoor Inn if you are looking for a relaxing quiet weekend.


Anniversary was PERFECT!

4,2 en julio 16, 2012

We spent a night at the Goldmoor for our 20 year wedding anniversary. Stayed in the Timberland Cabin, it was fantastic. Private, quiet, romantic, just what we wanted. The stars at night were spectacular. We walked the grounds, beautiful. No children policy makes this B & B extra romantic and quiet. Breakfast delivered right to our door. Hot and fresh. Immaculant housekeeping. We will definitely stay again!


Mother-Daughter Summer Getaway Trip

3,8 en julio 16, 2012

I found Goldmoor online while looking for a nice hotel in Galena where my 15-year-old daughter and I could stay with our little dog. We wanted a safe, quiet place and the themed cottage was appealing, so was the great, free daily breakfast! The description of "river views" is somewhat deceptive, but the whole area was in the middle of a drought, and its still sits on a nice bluff. Hosts are welcoming, staff is pleasant, but we didn't need much. Couple of things; the cottage had tons of earwigs, and we were constantly patrolling, removing them. Also, would have loved to rent the bikes and take my daughter for a spin but the roads around Goldmoor are far too dangerous for 'newbie bikers' like us (folks on their way to work in a hurry on a two-lane, winding road-blind corners, etc). As a runner, I quickly ran out of areas to explore, because Goldmoor is kindof on a bluff with not a lot of options, plus (as it the case for running in the country) the horse flies were relentless and biting. If you want a quiet getaway, a 'country' experience and top-notch foods, this is the place. We didn't mind the 6-mile drive into town, plus the views are so nice along the way!


Loved our wknd getaway!

5 en julio 15, 2012

We loved the cottage, the view of the river and the friendly service. We also had bikes available to ride around the area. The breakfast was wonderful and delivered to our room minutes after ordering. I would recommend the Goldmoor Inn to everyone and would stay there again.


Agreat place to stay, eat, or even get married

5 en julio 13, 2012

This was our second visit to the Goldmoor, we had got married there a year ago and went back for our 1st anniversary. Nothing had changed, the service was fantastic, very welcoming and very friendly. we felt like we were at home. the rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable our had an amazing view across the Mississippi. don't miss the dining, the chef is very very good. our only complaint............. (and this is how picky we are) please can you get English Breakfast Tea for Breakfast.as well as all the gourmet teas ? Thanks for a great stay again, we will be back. Andrew & Jackie


Wonderful stay!

4,8 en julio 06, 2012

Our cottage was absolutely fantastic and the service was excellent. Gladly provide our highest recommendation. We will be back!


Relaxing Countryside

4,2 en junio 29, 2012

The room was outstanding in most respects - view, size, porch, comfortable bed and furniture. The bathroom is dated, especially child height vanity and its cheap top. A screen was torn on the porch inviting the bugs in. Both of these shortcomings are in sharp contrast to the building exterior, grounds and nice dining room with even better food! Every person on staff and the owners were absolutely top notch!


Birthday Weekend

4,4 en junio 17, 2012

Our weekend get away was relaxing and peaceful. The room was clean and beautifully appointed. Breakfast served in the room was romantic and the creme brulee french toast was delicious! The highlight of the Irish Country cottage was the rock wall waterfall in the shower! and the gorgeous view of the river.


Wonderful Getaway

5 en junio 15, 2012

Please understand that I do not get to have vacations very often, and when I do something invariably goes wrong. The weekend my fiance and I stayed at the Goldmoor was the exception. I have rated everything with five stars simply because I did see any problems, nor did I experience any issues during our stay. I am by no means a Bed and Breakfast connoisseur, but every other B&B that I know of is really more like a spare room in someone's basement. This goes WAY beyond that, and shattered every expectation I had. Obviously, dinner was expensive, but you wouldn't make a dinner reservation in a place like this unless you expected to spend some money. Even so, for the quality of food and service, the price was very moderate. The drive to and from Galena ended up being a little further than I anticipated, but is well worth it. Galena is a lovely town to spend a day or two in, with shopping, various types of dinning, and all kinds of activities that we simply ran out of time for. In short, the Goldmoor makes for a fantastic getaway, and I know that we will be going back.


Beautiful Setting

4,8 en junio 13, 2012

A perfect anniversary getaway! The grounds, lodging, food and staff were all fantastic. We enjoyed our stay very much and would return for a future visit.


Fabulous inn!

4,8 en junio 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the mississipppi room for the weekend and absolutely loved it! Gorgeous room, outstanding view, fabulous service. I didn't want what they offered for breakfast one morning so they offered to make me whatever I wanted! It was delicious. Ate dinner there the first night and the food and service was excellent. Dessert was yummy too! Would definitely stay there again!


Mini-Honeymoon

3,6 en mayo 28, 2012

Beautiful room, breakfast was great. Will visit again to see more of the rooms!


Five star accommodations

5 en mayo 28, 2012

The Goldmoor is a fantastic place to stay. I would not go anywhere else in Galena. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The food is exceptional! We started going there 8 years ago. I look forward to every trip. It has been great to watch it expand and add services. I truly hope it continues to flurish so we can visit for many years to come!


Best place to go for a peaceful rest and gorgeous view.

4,6 en mayo 02, 2012

Outstanding, I return every year. The beautiful view stays with you for many weeks.


A Wonderful Place to Stay

5 en mayo 02, 2012

We wanted a nice weekend getaway from our hectic lives in Chicago and the Goldmoor Inn was perfect. Our room (The French Country Cottage) was exactly like it looks in the pictures, quaint yet spacious and had wonderful amenities. The views we spectacular and it was the quiet peaceful kind of place we were hoping for. We enjoyed our dinner at the Inn and the breakfasts we had were incredible. I would recommend staying at the Goldmoor to anyone and I look forward to our next trip there.


A wonderful visit!

4,0 en abril 29, 2012

I had never heard of the Goldmoor Inn. I was looking at the MW Quarterly one day and saw therir ad, went on to their website and poked around and said to myself this looks like a wonderful place for my wife and I to go and get away from the hustle and bustle. Right on target! The folks at the Goldmoor are absolutely wonderful. So very very nice! The room was beautiful and breakfast brought to our room the next morning was delicious. The grounds and views of the river are spectacular. A wonderful place to stay for a quiet get away.


Had a wonderful time...

4,6 en abril 17, 2012

Loved the view of the Mississippi and enjoyed our stay. We went on a Tuesday and had to order a pizza because they do not have the restaurant open on certain days. They were very helpful in the front desk and provided us with a phone number of a pizza place that delivered. There were bikes available for us to use but were disappointed there were no hiking paths for us to follow.


A relaxing getaway

5 en abril 16, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Goldmoor Inn in early April. We will definitely return for another visit soon! The view was spectacular and the area so peaceful. The room was elegantly decorated. We especially enjoyed the gas fireplace, lovely kitchenette area, and comfy bed. The private patio looked inviting but it was too chilly to sit out. The breakfast was so delicious! Having just remodeled two bathrooms in our home, the only negative comment we have is that the small shower stall doesn't fit with the rest of that gorgeous bathroom and bedroom setting. We stayed in the Lancelot room and look forward to checking out the other rooms during future visits.


Exceptional Room and Exceptional Service!

4,4 en abril 14, 2012

We loved this place! We were not sure what to expect, but were happily surprised to arrive at our cabin. It was a spectacular room and we loved it! The food at the restaurant was delicious and everyone was warm, inviting, and courteous throughout our entire stay!


Wonderful Weekend in Galena

5 en abril 09, 2012

We had a great weekend at the Goldmoor Inn. The cabin was very clean and beautifully decorated. The weekend was relaxing and exactly what we hoping for. We had a nice view of the river, and were close enough to drive to town. The staff was very helpful. The chefs at the Goldmoor Inn make delicious meals, and we were very impressed with our breakfasts every morning. Highly recommend staying at the Goldmoor Inn!


great stay at the goldmore inn

5 en abril 05, 2012

This was a great place located in a quiet location. The room was nice but the set up wad a little confusing. The staff was great so that made up for any minor problems.


Great Getaway

5 en marzo 29, 2012

I could not ask for a better getaway and the service was great. I will recommend this place to all of my friends and family.


Goldmoor Delight!

4,8 en marzo 13, 2012

Just a wonderful and romantic place. Could not have been better. The people, the room, the dinner, the hottub. Just all of it was perfect.


Lovely Inn with all the details covered

4,4 en marzo 04, 2012

The quality of rooms and service at the Goldmoor Inn are exquisite. We stayed for a couple nights in the Chef's Suite, and everything was fantastic. Tom, Patricia, and the rest of the staff are kind and approachable; everyone did a wonderful job making us feel at home. Right after we checked in, we wandered around the grounds to explore, and Tom gave us a tour of the suites that had not yet been checked in. All the rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The decor is elegant and not over-the-top. Tom grew up in the are and provided some good information of the caves and notable features in the area, as well as some Galena restaurant recommendations. Chestnut Mountain is just a mile down the road, and downtown Galena is about 5 miles away. For anything that we wanted that was not immediately in the room, the staff was very accommodating. (e.g. there was coffee and hot chocolate, but no tea in the room, but a quick request to the front desk remedied that. +10 for Mighty Leaf brand teas.) Perfect for a romantic getaway or a family reunion. A wonderful balance of getting away and delightful divertissement.


My stay in English Cottage

4,0 en enero 19, 2012

Hi there I stayed in the English Cottage in January 2012 I was looking for a place to get away and relax alone well I found it! The cottage is very nicely decorated and relaxing with a wonderful jacuzzi tub surrounded by windows with a view of the Mississippi river which I enjoyed a lot especially watching the sunset from it. The cottage has a fireplace a galley kitchen a dining table and sitting area all very cozy and convenient. The double head in the large shower was very nice and appreciated. I really enjoyed the breakfast served to my cottage the food was quite delicious! My check in was easy and quck and I was greeted warmly anytime I went to the Inn front desk.


First Class all the Way

4,0 en enero 16, 2012

Everything about the Goldmoor Inn is exceptional. From the moment you turn into the drive and see the spectacular castle-like building, to the rooms, the food, the view over-looking the Missipppi River, and the hospitality and welcoming feel that everyone at the Goldmoor extends to you. And only a short drive to downtown Galena. An experience not to be missed.


Can't wait to go back!

4,8 en enero 06, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are gorgeous and have everything you need or want in them. Breakfast is fantastic and comes with the room which we love! We can start the day out with a great meal and hit downtown Galena for Christmas deals! Thank you Goldmoor!


Romantic New Years Eve Getaway

4,6 en enero 05, 2012

Quiet, secluded and very romantic getaway at the Goldmoor Inn in Galena, IL is just the ticket for New Years Eve or Anniversary. Its very clean and well kept. Lots of amenities in the room and complimentary breakfast in your room or in the dining area inside the Inn is very good.


Celebrated 10 years of marriage at the Goldmoor

4,6 en diciembre 21, 2011

It was the perfect get away for my husband and I. The staff was so polite and helpful. I absolutely loved my spa experience. But the room...WOW. The room was tremendous, luxurious and absolutely perfect. We were trying to figure out when we would come back before we even left.


Outstanding Stay!

5 en diciembre 08, 2011

We had our wedding at the Goldmoor a couple years back, and were thrilled to stay there again! It is a very calm, quiet, absolutely beautiful location, and would highly recommend this Inn to anybody. Everything about this place is amazing, from the room down to the service! We plan on staying there again at some point down the road, and hopefully it will be for a longer period of time!


Fall stay at Goldmoor Inn

5 en noviembre 18, 2011

Beautiful place to stay, very relaxing, the room was spotless, we would recommend to anyone to stay at the Goldmoor Inn!


Beautiful Getaway!

4,6 en noviembre 15, 2011

Never been to a bed and breakfast before, but sure glad we did now! Absolutely amazing stay, and well worth the trip!


Nice Getaway!

4,2 en noviembre 07, 2011

My husband and I wanted a quiet getaway to celebrate our 11th anniversary and chose the Goldmoor Inn based on the website photos and it's vicinity to Galena. The curvy road through the colorful woods was picturesque, including the driveway to this B&B. As avid travelers, we have come to expect that the photos on the website show only the best views and reality is slightly less than the photos indicate but that just wasn't the case here. Everything appears just as it is in the photos; the grounds were breathtaking! On our second evening, my husband and I took a couple of wine glasses and a nice Cab out to the Adirondack chairs to enjoy the sunset over the Great Mississippi. I'm not sure anything could have made our stay better. One quick tip, if you have any intention on eating on site; make your reservations well ahead of your stay. The Goldmoor has the best food we could find, by far, and it's worth the forethought to enjoy it. Thanks for a memorable weekend!!


Goldmoor Inn-Lancelot Suite

4,8 en noviembre 02, 2011

What a wonderful setting for a relaxing and pampering getaway weekend! This was our second visit and we rebooked the Lancelot Suite as we found it comfortably elegant and cozy. The breakfasts provided a sumptuous start to our days and we were very impressed with the unique dinner menu. The Beef Wellington was especially delicious! We appreciate the care given to every detail of our stay and the entire staff could not have been more welcoming or efficient. We will definitely return.


Really good get away

4,0 en noviembre 01, 2011

This was our 2nd time and the Goldmoor and it won't be our last. The Mississippi suite is extremely comfortable and spacious.


An excellent country inn!

4,6 en octubre 28, 2011

The country side is beautiful and the accommodations are first class. We can not wait for our next stay!


Classy, cozy, country inn

5 en octubre 24, 2011

Once again, the owners, staff, and accomodations were fantastic. The Turrent Room was so romantic. The his/hers massage was excellent! If you have a special occassion or just want a special getaway, then check out the Goldmoor Inn. They don't disappoint. Enjoy :)


Weekday GetAway

4,6 en octubre 20, 2011

We spent 3 delightful nights are the Goldmoor Inn. The inn and its staff exceeded our expectations in every category. Our only hesitation regarding a recommendation to others is our fear that they become so popular that they wouldn't have room for a return visit from us.


goldmoor stay

4,0 en octubre 17, 2011

a very nice time, everything was up to or exceeded our expectations


Our Honeymoon

4,8 en octubre 16, 2011

We had a wedding ceremony at Goldmoor and it was beautiful. We were lucky with the weather, so our pictures are full of the best colours nature could give in October, bright sun and amazing scenery. Thank you for making this day unique!


October in Galena

5 en octubre 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Goldmoor for our honeymoon 11 years ago and thought we would go back for our anniversary. We were in for a big surprise, because the small A-frame house that was there eleven years ago had turned into a castle. Our room had a view of the Mississippi which was beautiful, the staff was very accomodating, and the dinner that we had in the dining room was the best meal we had all weekend.


Our 3-night stay at The Goldmoor Inn

4,4 en octubre 10, 2011

Our suite, The Mississippi, was glorious! Our evening meal on Thursday, 10/6, was outstanding. The soups were particularly marvelous. The calamata-olive butter for the bread was a unique and wonderful touch. The bread is a little too soft for a true french type baguette. All in all we couldn't have been happier with our stay at The Goldmoor.


Get away to Galena

4,0 en octubre 10, 2011

We wanted a place with a romantic feel and didnt want the older small Bed and Breakfast. We had that and more.....The room was large and so pretty with a great view, hot tub and fireplace. We ordered appetizers for dinner in our room and they were beautifully prepared and tasted great. We also had breakfast sent to our room and again it was great. It is a short ride down a country road and only 10 min. from town. I say go , enjoy and relax....


Goldmoor Inn - Winston Room

2,6 en octubre 06, 2011

Thought it would be closer to the river. Hot tub was a treat, but could tell it still had some residue so wiped it down before we used it Coffee pot & sink were stained Hair dryer could have been wiped down to be cleaner Inside decor nicely done. Plants outside were withering. Nice stay overall, but nothing special. Drove to Chestnut Resort to get a better scenic view.


Goldmoor Inn Visit

4,0 en octubre 02, 2011

We brought my parents to the Goldmoor this year when they were here on vacation, and they loved it. We truly enjoy the Goldmoor, and visit the 3 or 4 times a year. The view and the rooms are very nice, the food is wonderful, and the service is good. Pat the owner is very friendly and makes everyone feel welcome.


Beautiful place

4,0 en octubre 02, 2011

Beautiful location, very nicely kept grounds, awesome rooms and very friendly staff.


Highly Recommend...

4,8 en septiembre 29, 2011

We spent our anniversary weekend at the Goldmoor in the Turret Suite. This hotel is phenomenal. The service is outstanding and the food at the restaurant is excellent. There is not one thing about our stay that didn't impress us. I would highly recommend a stay at the Goldmoor. It is worth the price, without a doubt!


Goldmoor Inn

4,6 en septiembre 28, 2011

A beautiful atmoshpere inside and out, the cleanliness of the room is exceptional. You never want to leave, you feel so relaxed-beautiful room decor-cozy and luxurious. The breakfast is amazing!! You look forward to breakfast each morning, the french toast is like none other---so good! Complementary bikes were also a great addition to our stay. We are returning guests and can't wait to go back!


Wonderful relaxing visit

3,6 en septiembre 19, 2011

our visit was very relaxing. Several days we stayed in our room and felt as though we were at "home. Breakfast wasn't our favorite, as we were only given 1 choice, which wasn't always something we liked. The portions though were filling.


The absolutely perfect getaway!

4,8 en septiembre 16, 2011

We stayed in the Irish Cottage for our 14th anniversary and loved it. They didn't overlook any detail! From the jacuzzi tub by the fireplace to the rock wall in the shower, it was beautiful and we felt so pampered. The breakfast we had in our private room was delicious! The views and grounds were fantastic and it took my breath away when we drove into the driveway. I definitely want to go back and get pampered some more!


Weekend getaway with NO KIDDOS!!

4,6 en septiembre 12, 2011

Loved the location and grounds. The hot stone massages we received were wonderful. The rooms were spacious, well kept, and the place was quiet...just what we wanted. Would definately go back.


Charming Weekend

4,2 en septiembre 10, 2011

I attended a wedding over Labor Day weekend at the Goldmoor Inn. It was my first time staying there. I was looking forward to my stay based on what I had seen on the website. The Inn is every bit as charming and comfortable as it appears on the website. The wedding was lovely. The appetizers, main course and dessert were outstanding. I would definitely return to the Inn for a getaway.


An Amazing Stay

4,0 en septiembre 02, 2011

I booked a room for two nights to celebrate a one year dating anniversary, what an amazing time. The town of galena is beautiful and the main street is a fun time. The room was great and the breakfast was delicious. Highly recommended.


Weekend Getaway- Awesome

4,4 en agosto 22, 2011

The staff and food were outstanding. We had a wonderful weekend getaway and loved the cabin we stayed in. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks for a great time!!


NICE PLACE

4,0 en agosto 20, 2011

I was our 1st time there. It was one of the nices place we ever stay at. I told 2 other couples and they are going to book it.


Weekend get away

3,4 en agosto 17, 2011

When we arrived on Friday afternoon the receptionist was not as pleasant as she should have been for Outstanding customer service purposes--We enjoyed our room and privacy. Internet was out for a day which was unhelpful.


Celebrating our 20th anniversary at the same place we stayed on our honeymoon.

3,6 en agosto 14, 2011

We first went to the Goldmoor in July, 1991 and enjoyed the Mississippi Suite for our honeymoon. We loved it so much we returned for our 1st anniversary and at the end of July 2011 we returned to the Mississippi Suite to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The Goldmoor has expanded greatly in the last 20 years and there have been many improvements. They now offer gourmet dinners and ours was wonderful - food and service. They treated us as though we were family. The breakfast is as well-prepared now as it was 20 years ago. Highly recommended.


25th anniversary stay

3,6 en agosto 09, 2011

The Irish Cottage that we stayed in was very nice. We enjoyed the privacy.


Beautiful property!

3,8 en agosto 03, 2011

This was our second stay at the Goldmoon in the Leafland Cabin. We loved it both times & will be back again!


Goldmoor Inn

3,6 en agosto 03, 2011

Not there long enough to fully take advantage of the facility or dining room.


Wonderful anniversary memory

5 en julio 28, 2011

The room was beautiful, the staff very pleasant, and the chefs outstanding.


Romantic Get-Away

3,8 en julio 23, 2011

We have stayed here many times, usually for our wedding anniversary (summer). The cottages are beautifully decorated and have everything you need. No doubt you will say "Wow!" upon your first visit. The staff is very efficient and ready to assist at your call. Breakfast is always a special treat. The grounds are also beautiful. The location is about 5 miles south of the downtown area on Blackjack Road, which is a dark and winding treck at night - no walking please! You won't usually find children/families here. Each of the cottages and cabins have a jacuzzi tub, king size bed, full kitchen, nice shower (plus a waterfall in the Irish Cottage), small screened porch in English and French (larger porch without screen in Irish), and even a fireplace. All are luxurious.


Beautiful & Relaxing Birthday Weekend!

4,2 en julio 18, 2011

Every year all I ask for my Birthday in June from my husband is a weekend away. We try to stay at B&Bs whenever we can for weekend get aways. The Goldmoore in was by far one of my favorites! What a beautiful and relaxing place to stay! The room we stayed in was the Mississippi. I can honestly say that the room was exactly as pictured. It was nice and spacious and set up really nice. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi in the room was bigger than any I've ever had in a room. There's the perfect amount of things to do in Galena for the day and The Goldmoore is a wonderful place to go back to in the later part of the day. The rooms so relaxing and the scenery is beautiful! They even have a little bar there in the restaurant where you could have an after dinner drink. On top of that the staff throughout The Goldmoore was wonderful! It is pricey, but we stayed with a buy a night get a night coupon to save money. Now that I know how wonderful The Goldmoore is I would not hesitate to stay and pay for both nights! The only thing I would complain about is the breakfast choice. They only make one course and that is what you get, if you don't like it your other choice is cold cereal and fruit. I think it would be nice to have 2 different main items to choose from.


Grand Getaway at the Goldmoor Inn

4,2 en julio 18, 2011

The room almost took our breathe away it was so large and so lovely. The staff was very accommodating to all questions and requests. The Beef Wellington was done to perfection and breakfasts in our room at a well appointed dining table was just what a getaway demands. Can't wait to return.


25th Anniversary

4,6 en julio 11, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a romantic place to celebrate our 25th anniversary in the Galena area for a weekend getaway. We are really glad that we picked the Goldmoor Inn. This is the first time we have stayed at Goldmoor Inn and will definitely come back again and experience one of the other rooms.


Best B & B in Galena

5 en julio 11, 2011

My daughter in law and I came to Galena to celebrate her birthday and to shop in the great little boutiques that Galena offers. The Goldmoor Inn was the icing on the cake for our trip. The room was prettier in person than it looked online, the breakfast was great and the staff really nice. I will definitely continue to use the Goldmoor for future trips to Galena.


English Cottage Review

5 en julio 08, 2011

We honeymooned here and the place could not have been more perfect. The maids were very respectful of our privacy and only came when we were away. The breakfast on the porch was terrific! We loved the nature and view from our cottage. We would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone and have been spreading a good report of Goldmoor Inn wherever we go!


Can't wait to go back!!

4,2 en julio 04, 2011

Had an awesome experience at he Goldmoor Inn. Amazing property! Very well maintained. Staff was very friendly and helpfull. Loved how secluded it was. Very quiet expect for the trains going by near the river which I did not mind. We stayed in one of the cottages. It was perfect. The only complaint I would have about the room was the bed was very hard it gave me a serious back ache. Food was very good. Well prepared. Didn't want to go home. We are already planning our next trip back.


The Goldmoor Inn is the Gold Standard of Galena, IL

3,8 en julio 03, 2011

Always an exceptional place to stay...highly recommended for anniversaries and romantic weekends.....Will & Phyllis Safranski, Lombard IL


The Covington room at Goldmoor Inn

4,2 en junio 20, 2011

Our stay at the Goldmoor was everything we hoped it would be. Our room was beautiful (as it was pictured) and the screened in porch as well as the small patio outside were wonderful for taking in the beautiful view and silence of the night. The service was great and staff was wonderful & accommodating. The grounds are beautiful. Highly recommended. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return.


Perfect "No Kids" Get-a-Way

4,4 en junio 20, 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary this past week at Goldmoor and stayed in the Timblerland Log Cabin. We absolutely loved it. The decor was lovely, the grounds were pristine and the massages were amazing. It's a perfect distance from town and enjoyed having a nice dinner and then retreating to our own little cabin. We wished we had mowre time to sit on the porch and soak up the scenery. We will definitely return.


Perfect Galena Get-a-way.

4,6 en junio 20, 2011

Service impeccable thoughout our stay. Very quiet location, beautiful garden, soothing atmosphere. Will return here on next visit to Galena.


Wonderful, relaxing Inn

5 en junio 20, 2011

The Goldmoor Was such a quiet, relaxing place to stay. Wonderful views and grounds. Excellent service and food.


Anniversary Week End Par Excellence!

3,4 en junio 15, 2011

Our room was a cabin overly decorated with fishing gear. Most of the knick-knacks were dusty, so better care to dusting should be noted. Too much "wooden dead fish" on tackle hanging around for my taste. Those were the only downsides to our room. The service was excellent; the breakfasts were delicious; the Innkeeper, Tom, tried so diligently to fix our TV problem. The grounds were gorgeous and well maintained.


2nd Honeymoon

4,4 en junio 13, 2011

This is a very nice bed and breakfast located in a beautiful area of Galena. It was a wonderful trip and Galena is a beautiful area. The hotel staff were very nice and made our stay extremely enjoyable. Beware of the spa - the massage staff are not exactly the best, and don't exactly listen, it made our trip to the Goldmoor a little less enjoyable, but it was still nice.


Great experience

4,2 en junio 08, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Goldmoor for our first two nights after getting married. It was truly wonderful. We were in the French Country Cottage, which was a beautiful suite, in a separate building from the main Inn. It was spacious, spotlessly clean, and had a fairly good view. The perk of being able to have breakfast sent to our room each morning was also wonderful. And I have to say, the food was great. We also had dinner at the restaurant, and it was also excellent. This isn't your average place to stay, and that means a higher price tag than a hotel. I can't afford places like this on a regular basis, but I wanted to do something special for the first couple nights of our honeymoon, and let me tell you . . . I wasn't disappointed. If you're looking for something a cut above, check out The Goldmoor.


Great Anniversary Get Away

4,6 en mayo 31, 2011

This was a very relaxing and enjoyable anniversary get away. We enjoyed meeting the chefs after a exceptional dining experience. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and sitting on the Adorondak chairs over looking the river. Looking forward to a return trip.


Excellent getaway

4,4 en mayo 31, 2011

My husband and I had a great getaway and will definitely being doing this weekend again!


Comfortable, relaxing, enjoyable

4,2 en mayo 23, 2011

Stayed at Goldmoor for anniversary and we were impressed. The room was very nice, comfortable and extremely clean. Breakfast served each morning in our room was very good. The portions were large and service was outstanding. They said it would be delivered in 15 minutes and they were correct. Overall a great experience. Wonderful setting, beautiful grounds and a nice spot for a getaway. Would recommend to others and would definitely return.


Goldmoor Inn Review

4,4 en mayo 21, 2011

The English Cottage at the Goldmoor Inn was outstanding in cleanliness, decor and amenities. The service was outstanding from the fine dining to their breakfast. The view of the Mississippi was breath taking. We really enjoyed the peaceful, relaxing and serene environment. The staff is there to please their guests in every way. We would definitely return for another stay.


A favorite destination

4,6 en mayo 12, 2011

This was our third visit to the Goldmoor and the best yet. We stayed in the Irish suite that has the deck looking out on the Mississippi River. We sat on the deck every morning to have coffee and enjoy the view, listen to the birds and inhale the fresh country air. Friends joined us for dinner our first night and it was excellent. The beef Wellington and scallops were delicious, as were our appetizers and desserts and our server was very attentive. Breakfast each morning was equally good and enjoyable. I had a massage Sat. morning that was very good. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will return.


Lovely, quiet, romantic spot near the river

4,6 en mayo 08, 2011

If you want to be in town, this is not the place. But if you want a quiet romantic room, overlooking the river this is the place. We were there in late April. We bird-watched from our porch, seeing sandhills, american white pelicans and blue herons. Lovely quiet cottage, the Irish Cottage. Borrowed bikes and bikes along the river road.


A gem off the beaten path

5 en mayo 02, 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend at the Goldmoor Inn in February. We were so very comfortable thanks to the amazing staff.


Goldmoor Inn 04/2011

5 en mayo 01, 2011

I booked this weekend getaway as a surprise for our wedding anniversary. I read previous reviews for the Goldmoor and felt confident in making the reservation. Upon our arrival, the hospitality was top notch. The women were very sweet and welcoming. Our room(the turret suite) exceeded our expectations. The pictures online truly did not do it justice. It was exceptionally clean and just beautiful. The view looking up fro your bed is just gorgeous. The grounds themselves were neatly maintained and landscaped. Overall we were thoroughly impressed and will be booking another getaway out there soon.


Anniversary get away

4,6 en mayo 01, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights in a cabin at the Goldmoor for our 25th anniversary. It was very relaxing. The cabin's decor was very homey and comfortable. I especially like the curtain rods made of fishing poles. The staff was all very nice and helpful. The food was delicious. We hope to be able to return. Thumbs up!


Great Anniversary Stay

3,4 en abril 19, 2011

We stayed there for our 30th anniversary. We was quiet and very peaceful. Dinner was delicious and the sunset over the Mississippi was beautiful. The hot stone massage for two was very relaxing. We would definitley go back and look forward to doing so some day.


Worth a visit

4,0 en abril 14, 2011

Recently stayed in the Timberland cabin and had a great time. The cabin is lovely and having breakfast delivered to the room was a great touch. The setting is perfect and I would highly recommend the Goldmoor Inn.


Late March Getaway

4,6 en abril 13, 2011

Dining was exceptional! The room was extremely clean. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back!


Wonderful

4,8 en abril 09, 2011

We stayed in the turret room and, true to the name, felt like royalty for the two evenings we were there. The owners, who we met, could not have been more gracious hosts. Breakfast, which was also quite exceptional, is included. The property is kept nicely and the views are great. It's a few miles south of Galena, which actually proved to be a bonus since we found a nice walking path that, for us city folks, was one of the nicest parts of the entire weekend. The pictures here don't lie. This is one of the nicest inns you will find.


Goldmoor Inn

3,6 en abril 04, 2011

Beautiful atmosphere of both the inn and the surrounding area. Galena is a town that we were able to spend an entire afternoon in, just perusing the shops on Main St. The inn itself was kept up very well and provided a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. The jacuzzi in the room was phenomenal as well!


Dietrich

5 en abril 04, 2011

Robert & I enjoyed the two evenings immensely. We will be back.


A Fabulous Getaway

4,6 en marzo 02, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend in February. It was homey with the fireplace, elegant with remarkable views of the surrounding woods and Mississippi River, and extremely quiet and peaceful. The complementary breakfasts were sensational! We had a couple's massage that was truly relaxing and the entire staff was kind and friendly and exceedingly helpful. We dined with our family in a private dining room and got to meet the chefs in the kitchen. We felt the cost for the weekend was appropriate in light of the real value we received. We had a truly memorable time and are already planning when we will return - next time probably in the fall as we are certain the views will be even more lovely then!


Perfect Romantic Getaway

3,8 en febrero 13, 2011

Breakfast was mediocre, but dinner was amazing!! Our room was comfortable for the most part, though I prefer a bit softer bed. Wine and cheese and cracker tray in our room as requested. We had a couples massage, which was terrific. Very relaxing and we will be back again someday.


The place I am getting married at!

5 en febrero 03, 2011

This place took my breath away. My fiance and I stayed here in November 2010. We will be getting married here in June 2011. I loved it. Everything was wonderful and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was the best. I can't wait for June to come. I recommend this place to everyone.


outstanding stay

5 en enero 28, 2011

this was a honeymoon getaway for my husband & i. goldmoor was everything i was expecting and more: from the spaciousness of the suite and bathroom, to the cleanliness and order. i loved every minute, and can't wait to come back during the summer season! also, the staff was exceptional, and we wanted for nothing. thank you!


Goldmoor 2011 weekend

4,6 en enero 19, 2011

We loved everything. Again. This is our 3rd visit and we love it more each time. The stay is too short. We need to stay one more day to relax and tour. This time we did one of the wine tours and it was great. The best part about Goldmoor is the relaxing beauty. The rooms are all wonderful. I think this is our favorite B&B. It's a "no worries" place. Enjoy, relax, eat, visit...I would highly recommend anyone to try this place.


Review

2,8 en enero 17, 2011

nice place, people were very friendly. I was disappointed that they forgot to put the champange and cheese tray that i had ordered for my wife in our room prior to us arriving, for the amount of money that we spent, my expectations were very high to start out.


Great service, but no available food or drinks after 10 PM

5 en enero 10, 2011

We thought the Turet sweet was incredible, as well as the dining. The food and the service were outstanding. The only thing we did not like was that the kitchen closed at 10 PM and we could not order food or wine after that time. We were also hoping the room would have wine or cocktails available, but it did not. It was too late and too dark to leave to buy a bottle of wine and there was nothing available in the room for us. That was a huge disappointment. If I would have known this we would have brought snacks and drinks with us.


Beautiful Place

3,8 en enero 08, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Goldmoor just before Christmas. What a beautiful place...and so quiet. Galena is also quite quaint. We received fantastic service and the food was excellent. Thanks, Goldmoor, for such a relaxing getaway.


New Year Getaway

4,4 en enero 05, 2011

Would only suggest a small fitness room/center on the grounds for the opportunity of some work-out time during winter...beautiful grounds with plenty of space...service was incredible...


Goldmoor Inn

2,4 en enero 03, 2011

We rented a cabin (Wonderful decor! Except for a few odd things like a bloody bandage under the chair.), but the fireplace did not work for the first night. We were offered several other rooms, but they were completely different from ours, and we did not like them at all. We were offered no other compensation for our nonworking fireplace. We had paid for a welcome package and mentioned that it was our 20th anniversary. No mention of our anniversary was made at any time during our say, and for $45, we got a bottle of nonalcoholic champagne and four strawberries that were left in our mini-fridge (There were supposed to be flowers, but we never saw any.). We attended a Christmas carol dinner (Literally the most expensive, but certainly not the best, meal we have ever eaten). The music was nice, and the courses leading up to the main one were pretty good, but the main course was just average (The Cornish hen was undercooked, and the prime rib was over cooked and served without dips of any kind.). The meal took 3 hours to eat (We sat for over half an hour at the start at our table waiting for a glass of water.). The 20% gratuity was included despite mediocre service, so much as a complimentary nonalcoholic beverage was not. For the amount of money we paid, we felt like we had been had.


Great place to take a dog!

4,6 en enero 01, 2011

Really lovely and helpful staff, wonderful food, great to find a place you can take a dog that feels like a luxurious retreat instead of a dingy campground or 2 star hotel. Nice amenities and very comfortable!


40th Anniversary

4,6 en diciembre 23, 2010

Delightful way to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Staff was very friendly and service was prompt. The Christmas Carol dinner was memorable!


Great First Experience

4,4 en diciembre 17, 2010

We never had a honeymoon when we married 13 years ago, so I figured now is as good of time as any. I had no clue what I wanted or where we wanted to go. I picked this one "out of a hat" and was so very impressed! I wanted something exclusive and remote, a place we didn't have to share space with strangers, and somewhere that we could forget about the hustle and bustle of the world. I never imagined we would get exactly what we wanted! Not only did we get what we wanted, but we ate like royalty. We enjoyed a magnificently filling, candle lit dinner complete with elegantly presented dishes and our own private view of one of the most beautiful Pine trees decorated with white Christmas lights. Before leaving the next day, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast delivered to our cabin! Wonderful time that I have and will share with many people. Thank you!


Nice but not great

2,6 en diciembre 15, 2010

The view from the cabins and the grounds are very nice. The cabins are also very nice. The staff was polite and helpful. Breakfast was not that good. The selection was poor and the food had been sitting around. The resort is very nice but you're 6 miles from downtown Galena on a winding gravel road, so winter visits to Goldmoore must consider that.


Fridgid Anniversary

1,8 en diciembre 08, 2010

Upon arrival the cottage was 42 degress and was 58 degress when we went to bed. We were given a cheap bottle of wine and an apology but were not compensated in any other way or offered other accommodationd. This was the first night that my wife and I were able to get away in over 10 years. Let just say it will be a cold day in hell before I would go back to this Inn.


Outstanding romantic weekend

4,0 en diciembre 08, 2010

The view overlooking the Mississippi was phenomenal and with a fresh snowfall the night before made it even better. Very relaxing and very peaceful. My Wife and I are already trying to figure out when we can go back.


Absolutely Beautiful

4,6 en diciembre 02, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Goldmoor Inn. The breakfast was amazing! (I want the recipes). We didnt have dinner there, but I'm sure that was good too. Our room was immaculate and they not only decorated the inn for Christmass - but the room too. We will definitely be returning


Goldmoor Inn, November 2010

4,4 en diciembre 01, 2010

We loved every minute of our stay at the Goldmoor Inn and felt like we were staying in a beautiful little castle! Our room was amazing and the staff was more than helpful! The grounds and views are breathtaking - we didn't want to leave!


Anniversary Weekend

3,0 en noviembre 28, 2010

This was our 30th Wedding Anniversary weekend and I felt the service during dinner was okay. We specifically asked for a romantic table and we were seated next to the entrance door. I had hoped to be treated a bit special for this milestone celebration. Breakfast service was just okay as well -- the food was outstanding and we truly enjoyed the chef's breakfast creations.


Enjoyed our stay at Goldmoor Inn!

4,0 en noviembre 21, 2010

We enjoyed our weekend at the Goldmoor Inn in celebration of our 10 year wedding annivesary. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and wonderful! We enjoyed the cookies that were left in our room each morning and the breakfast was fabulous! Beautiful view of the Mississippi River....a truly wonderful experience. We look forward to staying there again in the future!


royalty

4,2 en noviembre 17, 2010

We spent the weekend in the Winston Suite to celebrate my 40th birthday. We felt like royalty staying in such a beautiful "castle." The old world decor is beautiful and the room was very comfortable. Quality was evident in everything from the furnishings to the extensive satellite television selections and even the toiletries. Although the inn was booked, it was very peaceful and quiet. The drive to/from Galena is longer than we expected due to the winding road that connects the Goldmoor to Galena. However, being out away from the town and traffic has its advantages. Our room did not have a view of the river, but the property is quite lovely, even in the late fall. It was nice to be able to eat breakfast in our room. The service is great. The breakfast was good, but not great. Our favorite restaurant during our stay was the Log Cabin.


Calm and Relaxing

4,8 en noviembre 16, 2010

My husband, Bill took care of everything for our weekend at the Goldmoor Inn. The first time we were there was the last weekend in October and we got engaged (yeah!) It was the same weekend this year. The colors of a lot of trees were still brilliant especially against the blue sky. This year has been an especially difficult one as my father passed away in mid January and most recently in late September, my mother passed away. Bill thought it would be good for me (us) to get away for a few days. He wanted for me (especially) to at least for a few days, try to relax and clear my mind. Going to Galena was a no-brainer. Our room was absolutely beautiful. The bed, oh my gosh the bed....put it this way, if I thought a king size would fit in my twin size car I would have brought it home. The view of the river, watching the horses trot around within the white fence of a neighboring home owner was relaxing. My mind and body felt calm and peaceful for the first time in a very long time. Bill surprised me with a massage he had set up beforehand. Awesome!! I highly recommend it. Food at the Goldmoor was outstanding. The best beef wellington I've ever had. Bill enjoyed the beef tenderloin tips with noodles he had as well. Breakfast the morning we left was excellent. The service was very friendly and professional. To everyone at the Goldmoor, thank you so very much for your hospitality. Very classy and down to Earth. Teresa and Bill


Great Place !!

3,8 en noviembre 15, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Goldmoor and we were not happy with the cottage that we were in on our 1st night so we called the desk at 11PM and we were given another room and we were very happy with the second cottage and the staff that we dealt with were outstanding we also were very happy with the food and the spa,we look forward to our next stay at the Goldmoor


"Memorable 40th Anniversary Stay"

4,6 en noviembre 13, 2010

Spent our 40th anniversary at the Goldmoor Inn and found it to be a quiet, beautiful property with lovely, well manicured grounds on a bluff overlooking the mighty Mississippi River. Great location. The staff was very cordial and helpful. All were very pleasant to talk to. Found the food to be very good. Overall, our stay was very nice, quiet and restful and I must say quite romantic. Would absolutely recommend the Goldmoor to others. Thanks for the memories...WE'LL BE BACK.


Our Stay at Goldmoor

4,6 en noviembre 11, 2010

My wife and I were very impressed with the accommocations. I was pleasantly surprised that the bathroom was so large. We enjoyed the breakfast and found the room to be very comfortable. Both of us would like to return.


my stay...

3,8 en noviembre 10, 2010

I only did the breakfast but the portions were small and why was everything a "bake" I know its easy to feed all guests that way. Just wasn't what i thought it could be. All in all it was a great weekend and I will return, but might go out for a full more tailored breakfast.


As always, a wonderful stay.

5 en noviembre 05, 2010

We are repeat customers at Goldmoor and we are never, ever disappointed. We almost always stay in the pet friendly log cabins so we can bring our dog, and they are just as lovely as the other cabins and rooms. We did eat at the restaurant for dinner for the first time and omg... can you say yummm??? The food was delicious, the staff friendly as ever... all in all an A+ stay :)


Goldmoor Inn

5 en noviembre 03, 2010

Beautiful setting overlooking the Mississippi backwaters. Quiet and comfortable.


I felt right at home.

4,0 en octubre 29, 2010

My stay in the English Cottage was great. I felt right at home. I had my own personal driveway, screened in porch overlooking the Mississippi River and an old fashioned swing set in an outdoor garden along the driveway. It was a very relaxing atmosphere, and I had one of the best massages I've ever had!


Babymoon at the Goldmoor

4,4 en octubre 28, 2010

We had a great overall weekend. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. Breakfast was average. The rooms were great and clean, and the staff, especially at the front desk were absolutely incredible. We will be back


EXCELLENT ROMANTIC GETAWAY

4,2 en octubre 27, 2010

We stayed in one of the log cabins. Very warm, private and roomy. Great meal in the restaurant. Short walk down the hill for a nice paved, quiet road for longer walk. Right next to the mighty Mississippi. Highly recommend and likely to return for stay and/or meal.


Get away to Galena

3,4 en octubre 23, 2010

Room was very nice and staff helpful and friendly. Had a problem with shower door and was fixed quicky when brought to their attention. Quiet and cozy in the room we choose. Breakfast arrived in room in under 15 minutes after our phone request. Ample servings of the daily choice and could add yogurt or other choices. Nice little table and chairs in the room for having breakfast with coffee maker with all supplies, along with minifridge. Gas fireplace and very nice, clean jacuzzi tub with towels. Our room had both an inside and outside entrance which is nice to be able to come and go without having to go through the lobby. We enjoyed our stay and would return for another stay.


Irish Cottage Stay

3,2 en octubre 23, 2010

Room was very comfortable and homey. Loved the views and the waterfall shower in the bathroom. Loved the peace and quite and look forward to coming back.


Cabin review

4,4 en octubre 20, 2010

Weekend stay. Cozy, comfortable, romantic, secluded. Lodge restauraunt serves excellent food, great service, wonderful view. A wedding party in lawn...close enough to see but far enough not to be disturbed by noise. Ski lodge approx five miles away...did not eat there but heard mountain view is breath-taking. Small town nine miles out. Galena 20 miles out.....a beautiful and rustic place...also hilly.


What a great time!

5 en octubre 19, 2010

We stayed one night. This was a wedding gift. What a wonderful, classy inn. And great food! We will be back!


In country location tops the list of a perfect weekend

4,0 en octubre 17, 2010

Excellant location and services for those wanting a get away- get reaquanited weekend. Close to Galena activities but far enough out of the way to spend that quiet time you can never find.


Disappointed with the details

2,6 en octubre 17, 2010

We booked the English Cottage for two nights for a honeymoon. Our first problem was finding the Inn. It would have been helpful for the Inn to send a map with our written confirmation.Our first impression was positive. The grounds are beautiful and the views breathtaking. Our first problem was the windows: only some of them opened and would stay open. We had similar problems with the shutters--only some of which would stay up or could be adjusted. I would have expected the in-room coffee service to include decaf and some tea bags. Likewise, after spending the extra $90 for champagne and strawberries, I expected something better than six chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of Asti Spumante. The toilet was not working, but a 10 p.m. call got a "we'll send someone in the morning" response. After three trips in and out of the cottage the next morning, the handyman declared the toilet fixed, and said he would let the maid know to clean up the mess he'd made. That never happened. The bed was comfortable, but the music system was terrible. Finally, I specifically asked for a specially-prepared vegetarian dinner for two and was assured this was no problem and that the chef would prepare a special vegetarian dinner for two, in the restaurant. Instead, we arrived and found the regular menu (with no vegetarian entrees). A saavy hostess told us that the chef could prepare a special stuffed squash--but when we tried to order it, the waiter told us this dish was not available. Despite the foregoing, we have been recommending the Goldmoor to friends as a lovely place to relax for a few days because the environment and service seemed commensurate to the price. The ranking of #1 Romantic Inn in Illinois and one of the 12 most romantic inns in the country, however, is undeserved.


Goldmoor Review

4,0 en octubre 15, 2010

Comfortable, welcoming environment with beautiful views and quiet away from the city. Dinner was outstanding with much attention to any requests or immediate needs. They anticipated what we wanted before we asked.


Anniversary stay

4,0 en octubre 14, 2010

We did not dine, so I have no opinion there. The grounds and view were wonderful. Fantastic ambience for a romantic getaway.


Outstanding Inn

4,6 en octubre 13, 2010

We stayed in the Mississippi Suite for our honeymoon and could not have asked for a better experience. The room was perfect, the view was amazing, and the staff was excellent. We will definately be back as soon as possible! Scott & Cori


Expensive but worth it

4,4 en octubre 13, 2010

Fantastic room. Fantastic food. Owner is a fantastic gardener so grounds are just beautiful. The location near the Mississippi makes it private and quaint. My spouse and I got a real kick out of watching the trains go by. They were far enough away to not annoying. We barely heard them. We sat outside at 6 AM and watched the hummingbirds come around to feed on the flowers. That was a real added plus! The town of Galena nearby so if you don't want to pay for an expensive dinner you can find a restaurant there or go to the store and bring something back to the room. We would definitely stay here again!


Very nice!

4,6 en octubre 13, 2010

The Inn is an outstanding stay. My wife and I stayed recently for our anniversary celebration, and we were very happy with the experience. It is priced at the high end, but worth it. The new, clean room was spacious, with all the amenities. The staff had turned on a romantic station on the satellite radio, and the champagne and strawberries provided a nice greeting. The views were also spectacular. We were a bit too early for th efull fall colors this year, but still beautiful sunsets and sunrises in the wooded setting, overlooking the Mississippi. The breakfasts were delicious, but they were pre-made casserole type dishes. I would have liked to have something more custom, but I am sure that the Innkeepers would have accomodated us if we had asked. Only one other small wrinkle - the outside landscaping spot light was turned onto the window in the dining area, and provided a bit too much light in through the blinds the first night. After a bit of landscaping of my own the second day (I adjusted the light), that small detail was taken care of. I would be happy to recommend the Inn to anyone.


Goldmoor Inn

4,8 en octubre 12, 2010

Great view. Riomantic atmosphere. I would higly recommend it. My husband and I went there for our Anniversary and had a wonderful time. The restaurant in the establishment was very good. Staff was friendly and accomadating. Will return again next year.


Stay at the Goldmoor

4,8 en octubre 09, 2010

We stayed in the Lancelot and Veranda Suites at Goldmoor Inn. They were beautiful and comfortable. They have a modern feel (not your typical grandmother's lacy victorian motif) The service was great and the breakfast delivered to our room was outstanding. Our only complaint was it took a long time for the water to get warm in the shower and the WiFi was very slow. We would definitly go back. The place has a very peaceful feel to it.


Goldmoor Special Night Out

3,6 en octubre 07, 2010

The property is outstanding; rooms ample & spotless. Dinner, however, left us wanting more. Website photos gave us 5 star impression, but meal was dissapointing.


Very Beautiful Place to Stay

3,6 en septiembre 27, 2010

Very nice, clean rooms. Gorgeous view. Staff was very accomodating. Restauraunt was pricey and the food was nothing special


Excellent Get Away, Will Visit Again

5 en septiembre 18, 2010

The cabin was top notch, private and had wonderful amenities such as heated towel bars, great whirlpool and fireplace. The bed was very comfortable too. The grounds and views were incredible, this truly is a pampering, get away from it all trip in a private, secluded spot, but still only 6 miles from town. Wonderful, we will go back.


Lovely weekend retreat

4,2 en septiembre 11, 2010

We had a lovely weekend at the Goldmoor Inn. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. At first, we had thought we wanted to stay in town to be walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We were so happy we chose to stay here instead. We did not eat dinner here, so we are unable to rate that. The included breakfasts were presented beautifully and parts of it were delicious and other parts of it were average tasting. We will definitely stay there again!


Midwest tour

5 en septiembre 08, 2010

By far the best bed and breakfast inn we've experienced. Beautiful scenic view of the Mississippi river bluff. We stayed in our own secluded pine cabin with breakfast delivered. A+ recommendation.


Perfectic romantic weekend!

5 en agosto 13, 2010

This was our first time to Galena. We wanted something relaxing and romantic without our kids for our anniversary. The inn is located on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. The drive out to the Inn is rustic and views are wonderful as you drive up. We stayed in the Turret suite and could not have been happier. We ate at their First Friday BBQ and the food was delicious. It was better than expected and the service was friendly! We ordered our breakfast to our room each morning and it was served right away. The Innkeeper was outside when we arrived and each time he saw us, he greeted us. An amazing place and we cannot wait until our next stay. Definitely worth every cent!


Amazing experience

3,0 en julio 28, 2010

The rooms, the views and the privacy was amazing. We stayed at the English Country Cottage and it had a great sound system, Since the cottage is its own building we could crank the musis without disturbing anyone. The food was somewhat dissapointing as it was nicely prepared but used cheaper, basic ingredients. There was only minimal staff (just a few on duty at a time) and most of the time the place seemed deserted except for one front desk clerk. The staff was also less professional than I had expected.


Great Place

4,6 en julio 21, 2010

We stayed in the Arthur Suite and it was wonderful. The room was great, the view of the Mississippi River was beautiful.


Goldmoor Inn

4,8 en junio 25, 2010

We go out of our way to stay at this inn once a year. We've stayed in different cabins and rooms for about 6 years now (at this inn). We'll return!


Amazing romantic getaway!!

5 en junio 24, 2010

We stayed in the leafland cabin. It was an amazing romantic getaway surprise by my husband. I felt very pampered and the attention to detail by the staff was amazing. The breakfast food was out of this world.


Amazing!

5 en noviembre 05, 2009

So me and my significant other needed a getaway and I must say....we came to the right place here at the Goldmoor! It's a breathtaking property and it's so peaceful and relaxing. The thing I loved most, is that the privacy was outstanding! We stayed in the Covington Suite and had our own private entry way to come and go as we please. Honestly the only time we saw a memeber of the staff was to check in, have breakfast delivered to our room and to check out. This place epitomizes the definition of romance!The town of Galena is a great setting as well! The people were friendly wherever we went and overall the town has a very unique vibe. I highly recommend the Goldmoor if you are in need of a plush, rich getaway! We will most definately be coming back!


Outstanding

5 en agosto 26, 2009

Everything about this inn was outstanding. From the decor to the service to the complementry breakfast. No expense was spared with the decor. Everything was clean and updated. I couldn't have asked to stay a better inn while in Galena.


Highly Recommend!

5 en julio 14, 2009

This was such a beautiful B and B. We stayed in the First Lady's Suite and were amazed at how spacious and romantic the atmosphere was.


GREAT WEEKEND

4,6 en noviembre 13, 2008

Everything was great but cost is a little steep but great location.


Outstanding Accomodations but Dining below average

3,0 en julio 14, 2008

The Goldmoor Inn is a beautiful inn and very clean. Some things that I would have expected: The 7-course dining was below expectations, the food was nicely presented but lacked in flavor. There is a chef's table which no one mentioned and might have been a nice treat. The wine list is extensive but the liquor was minimal, even the scotch and cognac list was bottom grade. They also did not have cappucino or espresso. They did offer a blended coffee which was increadibly weak. The bar was empty, since there are no barstools or bartender it seems a bit uninviting. The breakfast (included with your stay) was a bit disappointing. They have a wonderful breakfast menu list in the room, but none of those are being served. There is only one item served daily which left much to be desired. My husband actually became very ill after breakfast one morning, which ruined the entire day. I hope that in the future they make a few changes that would really make a big impact.


Inn with a view

5 en junio 07, 2007

My stay was absolutely amazing. The innkeepers were so accomodating and the dining experience was the best ever. The rooms are so luxurious and welcoming. I usually have troubles staying in other places and I felt right at home at the Goldmoor!


Perfect for Romance

4,4 en diciembre 19, 2006

Luxurious suites and cottages, with designer decor and lots of plush extras. Very private, yet good chances to mingle with other guests--if you wish.


Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $265 - $385
  • Comentarios (206) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 18
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8157773925
  • Sin cargo
    1-8002553925

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba