Ruby Room Inn & Spa Comentarios

TOTAL

4,2

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios3,9
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas3,5

Puntuación basada en
41 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Relaxing escape in a hip area of Chicago

4,8 en junio 28, 2014

I walked in intrigued by the spa and shop. The staff was kind and knowledgeable about the healing stones and essential oils. They squeezed me in for the most amazing facial. I decided to stay in town one more night instead of driving home in the rainstorm. The room was clean and comfortable. I had my choice of multiple restaurants walking distance. I was alone but felt safe. It would be fun to share this experience w/ a lover, friend or family.


Great value

4,8 en mayo 20, 2014

On a recent trip to Chicago we booked a 4 night stay at the Ruby Room. It was conveniently located close to where our son lives. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The shower in the adjoining bathroom was wonderful. While guests there my husband and I scheduled one hour massages which were very good and worth every penny. The area is surrounded with great shops and restaurants. When we travel to Chicago the next time we will definitely book the Ruby Room again.Kevin and Kathleen, Kansas City, Missouri


This is not a bed and breakfast. Coffee is only available if you or another guest make it. Half and half was clumpy and there is no food.

3,2 en octubre 13, 2012

The room was nice but did not have a reading area as advertised. Bed was very comfortable. Outside door to building was never locked. Great location with lots of interesting shops and restaurants.


Stayed there to run the Chicago Marathon

4,4 en octubre 11, 2012

I read a bunch of reviews before settling on the Ruby room. The reviews were either very good or very bad. After staying there I can understand why. The Ruby Room is not a typical hotel, its very boutiquish and quite unusual. If a patron is expecting a 15'x30' room with two queensize beds, a TV a night stand and a desk, this place isn't for you! I came to Chicago to run the Marathon last Sunday. I didn't have a problem with the stairs. When we walked in the room the first thing out of my wifes mouth was "this place is great, you done good picking this one." The room was very comfortable, large enough for my gear and all our clothes, The steam shower was fantastic. the bed was comfortable. Coming from a construction background the renovations were well done. The location was perfect, the blue line was only 6 stops to the centre of town, which was excellent for getting to the start of the marathon and also wonderful for doing sight seeing on the other days we were there. I really liked the neighbourhood, very hip. For coffee Caffe Streets was awesome, the people at the Alliance bakery were brilliant, we had two great meals steps from the Ruby room. The Tappas place was very good and a couple of blocks up the street Prisano was excellent. In summing up DONT GO THERE IF YOU WANT TO STAY AT THE Marriot or the Sheraton. If you have a physical disablity probably not the best place either. if you are looking for a cool, quiet, clean, reasonably priced place to stay this would be a good choice. By the way ran my best marathon ever.


We love the Ruby Room!

4,2 en mayo 06, 2012

We love staying here at the Ruby Room. The rooms are clean and peaceful. The staff is friendly and the spa is beautiful. The location is conveniently located just a few blocks from the blue line and loads of great restaurants are within walking distance or a short "L" ride away...can't miss the Bongo Room for breakfast! Thank you again Ruby Room and we hope to see you again soon! :)


So wonderful!

4,6 en febrero 28, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time! The Ruby Room was calm, clean and relaxing. The staff was professional and pleasent. Sarah made us feel welcome and explained how the Spa could enhance our 2 night stay. My favorites: the steam shower (looove!!) the fluffy King sized bed and the almond croissants from the bakery across the street. Heaven! We will be back.


Amazingly cozy..

3,8 en noviembre 11, 2011

Pros: - awesome steam shower - super comfortable king size bed - quiet with no television or phone (perfect to get away from it all..) - located in a great neighborhood with plenty of shopping/dining to choose from Cons: - no breakfast (but there is a kitchenette stocked with coffee!) - no designated parking (just street parking) - steep spiraling staircase


Loved it!

4,4 en noviembre 04, 2011

I loved the ruby room inn! There is a yoga room on the 2nd floor and a spa downstairs! Amazing!


Quiet, private self serve inn.

4,0 en octubre 23, 2011

The Ruby Room is a small inn in a hip neighbourhood in Chicago. $12 cab ride will get you downtown, and $15 to McCormick Place. It is not a B&B, as there is no breakfast available. You do get a very comfortable king bed, modern shower bathroom, and access to a small kitchen. The spa of the same name next door serves as the front desk, resulting in limited hours of service. They do have plans for out of hours arrivals and departures. A yoga studio on the second floor has drop in classes and the spa is full service. Grabbing a breakfast across the road was a ritual during my 4 night stay. I would stay there again and recommend it to others.


A wonderful weekend stay in a fantastic neighborhood

4,2 en octubre 15, 2011

My wife and I were in Chicago for a weekend, and we loved the Ruby Room. The room itself was large and comfortable, with amazing sheets and a very comfortable bed. The shower was large and the water was hot. There is no tub, just a large walk-in shower, outfitted with a steam-bath feature. The neighborhood is fantastic. Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, bars, and shopping along Division (Mana, a vegetarian restaurant across the street, was a favorite). The staff do not enter your room during your stay, but if you need anything (new towels, change of sheets, etc.) you can leave a note in the hallway and they will see to it. We appreciated not being bothered by housekeeping staff during our stay. The kitchenette (no dining area, tho) is well-stocked with dishes, pots and pans, so one can make coffee, toast, or even more complicated meals if one wants. There is a market just down the block that would supply basic necessities. Each floor had a portable clothes steamer, which we appreciated, as our fancy clothes were wrinkled from being packed in our luggage. It worked great. Our room did not have a TV (and we assume that's true in the other rooms as well). We liked that fact, but others may find that a negative feature. It's a steep climb up stairs to the rooms (they are on the 3rd and 4th floor), so those who have trouble with steps will probably not enjoy the stay. There is a back garden, which we enjoyed, but the waterfall was far too loud. Perhaps it can be made more gentle? Our room was near the kitchenette on our floor, and that made things a bit more noisy than we would have liked. For the most part, other guests kept quiet, but the walls can be a bit thin, and there is little to no noise-dampening in the hallways, so we were slightly disturbed from time to time by the noise of other guests. But it was not enough to ruin our stay--not by any stretch--and we would definitely stay here again.


A Chicago Jewel

4,2 en septiembre 12, 2011

I absolutely adore the Ruby Room...the rooms are so clean, stylish, and comfortable. The overall vibe is relaxed, low-key, simple. I don't like daily housekeeping, so that aspect gels beautifully with my low-maintenance preferences (and if you need anything, it's easy...just post it on the hallway board, a charming touch that isn't one bit summer camp-like). The area surrounding is really cool, and parking is normally a breeze. (There is no dining option in the hotel, which isn't a problem in Chicago.)


Not what you'd expect

2,6 en julio 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in July. From a first look, it is very clean and nice. The girl at the front desk was very friendly. What they fail to tell you is that it is quite a narrow and steep walk up, so keep this in mind if you are traveling with big luggage or if you have difficulty with stairs. There is also a yoga studio below which for some reason was playing music so loud that our floor was vibrating. The most irritating thing during our stay was the ceiling leaking. When I say leaking I mean a constant pour out of the ceiling. They were clearly aware of this beforehand because there was a poor attempt at patching the hole with a plastic circle. We called the desk and were told that someone would come by, but that was never done. Despite the very comfy king size bed, we were kept awake all night by the dripping of water into a garbage can. The neighborhood was very nice though with lots of little shops and restaurants. So, not awful but probably unlikely that I would stay here again.


out of breath and took my breath away

4,0 en junio 28, 2011

Climbing the winding stairs to the fourth floor was a bit much for me with my luggage,out of breath by the time I reached the top. Next time I will pack lighter in separate bags to even the load. Once I reached my floor and entered the safety code it took my breath away to enter the hallway and then quickly into my room. Adorable, tasteful, clean, well decorated, comforatable!! The room was WONDERFUL...once I got up to it. The stairs were not only a bit of a climb (although I was warned at the time of reservation) but also seemed to not be ventilated or cleaned much. There was a strange odor in the stairway and the carpet needed a good vacuuming. A great value in Chicago. Two blocks from the Metro and bus stops so it was easy and cheap to get into the loop area of town. Some cute local flavor with in blocks and across the street. Beware: Japanese place was yucky and had poor service! Parking was free but not easy. Side street only overnight and we had to move our car once we finally found a spot due to schedule street cleaning the next day and threating tow signs if we didn't move. If you care more about a gorgeous and comfortable room with characther than the frills of a Loop hotel with expensive parking and many hands awaiting a tip, stay here. I will again and I will hope to find the stairs more enjoyable.


Anniversary getaway

4,6 en junio 13, 2011

I searched for a few months to find the right bed and breakfast for my wife and I to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. When I began to read about Ruby Room and all of the reviews, I knew it was the one. After I booked our stay and showed my wife the location and what the room had, she was thrilled and could not wait. I really enjoyed the fact there was no television, it gave us time to talk and relax together. The staff is amazing and friendly, I wish major hotel chains had such a staff. Her and I cannot wait to book another stay and add in massages on our next visit.


Good Place, But Not Great This Trip

3,8 en junio 08, 2011

I'd stated at RR several times; this time, however, it was very noisey due to other guests. Slamming room and entrance doors; loud talking in the halls and in rooms; and being disturbed by staff around 4:00 pm, so not very soothing or relaxing this trip. But, it was an abberation and we'll probably return, getting a room away from the floor entrance door. Nice neighborhood, close to the subway and all sorts of great places to eat but the scope and variety of disturbances this time weren't a good thing.


Wonderful Relaxing Getaway

4,6 en mayo 22, 2011

We had a wonderful time! The room was great. It was really easy to book, and everyone was really nice. The bed was ridiculously comfy! Kitchen was easy to access. Not for those who don't want to climb the stairs, but that wasn't a problem for us. Steam shower was intriguing, but we couldn't really figure out what it was for, other than steaming up the bathroom. Far more value for your dollar than staying at a hotel. We were so close to downtown. We took the el everywhere, and it was really easy since we were only 2 blocks from the Division Blue line stop. Plus we were within walking distance of so many great restaurants! Free wi-fi made planning our day easy too. Loved our stay here. Would definitely stay there again!


mothers day

4,0 en mayo 13, 2011

the room was basic and nice. very frustrated that i asked about the price which was 141 and i paid 175. ridiculous. everyone I called to discuss this was very short and inflexible. I SAW POSTINGS ABOUT CHAMPAGNE FOR MOTHERS ETC BUT WE GOT NOTHING EXTRA. I still wonder how it is labeled bed amd breakfast which did not even include a cup of coffee.. i would love to talk to someone about these issues actually.


Amazingly comfy bed!

3,6 en octubre 21, 2010

I had a great stay here and found it a very relaxing and cozy spot of a weekend getaway. I arrived late, but the late check-in process was easy. I never actually saw any staff since I also checked out early (also easy). As the title indicates, the bed was super comfy. It was easily the best part of the room. The bathroom is gorgeous, but small. The shower is big and was equipped with a steam shower. I couldnt stand the steam shower thingy, but that's just me. The supplied soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. were all way nicer than what I'm used to finding at a hotel. My room had a reading nook with a comfortable (but oddly shaped) chair. There were three big windows and lots of light. Some problems with the room: There was a broken light switch, the alarm was left set by the previous guest and went off on me in the morning, there were no robes in the room as advertised, and there was only one bedside table for a king bed. Also, if you need any housekeeping service you have to write down what you want on a chalkboard in the hall.


Perfect Relaxing Retreat

3,8 en octubre 21, 2010

The Ruby room really is a gem in Wicker Park. It has a perfect location. My husband and I stayed for 3 days and were able to explore Wicker Park, Ukranian Village, and walk 5 minutes to take the train down into the Loop. It was very easy to get to, we flew into midway and simply made one train switch in the Loop. The staff was extremely nice. We arrived before check-in and they were happy to hold our bags until our room was ready. They were incredibly helpful at suggesting things to see and do in the neighborhood. The rooms were great. The beds were comfortable and I thought there was plenty of space in the room. We stayed in 4d (the garden room) and had our own patio and view of the skyline. The communal kitchen was nice for making breakfast and storing leftovers from dinner. My only complaint would be: the walls don't shield a lot of noise. We could hear every time someone was in the hallway and when a truck came down the ally... and I wish they served breakfast (even though there are plenty of great places just a couple blocks up). Despite that, Ruby Room set a great tone for our trip: relaxing and removed from the busy city. I will definitely stay here again and recommend anyone else to stay here.


Incredible Find: Stay Here If You Can!!!

4,2 en octubre 17, 2010

This place is great. The staff was helpful when we checked us in and gave us a tour and very detailed description of the facilities and amenities. The room was a marvel, beautiful molding and decor, chandelier, and of course the famed steam shower, which was revelatory. I honestly think my wife is going to steal some design ideas. Many people had mentioned that the noise from Division was too loud and distracting, to which I say poppycock! it was fine and no louder than any other street in chicago. Although in the traditional sense, this was not a B&B as there was no breakfast, there was a community kitchen which we would have used had I any interest in cooking that weekend. Maybe they could consider partnering with the nearby bakery. All in all i have one minor quible. and i mean minor. The cd player in the room could have used a in-jack for ipod/mp3 player as opposed to the cd provided. I am very much looking forward to staying there again. I plan on it everytime I don't want to bother a friend in the city for a couch. Thanks Ruby Room!


the best place to stay in chicago.

4,8 en septiembre 28, 2010

this is the second time i have stayed at the ruby room and it surely won't be my last. i LOVE this place. the friendly staff and clean rooms are an oasis from a busy city. great coffee at a bakery right across the street...and dinner at smoke daddys (a block away) is scrumptious! i highly recommend staying at the ruby room!


Soft beds, loud neighbors

3,6 en abril 16, 2010

My husband and I usually stay at the Wicker Park Inn when we come into town, but decided to give the Ruby Room a try this time. As pretty much everyone else has said, the beds are super comfortable. The main problem we had was the yoga studio downstairs. We could hear the music ALL NIGHT until at least 9:30, and it didn't sound like your typical "yoga" music. Too much bass, and it actually vibrates the floor. I would recommend staying on the 4th floor instead of the 3rd if you can handle the stairs. Or you should just stay somewhere else.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We were really disappointed to hear your comfort was compromised by the volume of the Yoga Studio. As a direct result of your comments, management performed a complete review of the sound system, adjusted the settings and recommunicated to yoga teachers the importance of maintaining a peaceful environment for all our guests. We would like to extend a complimentary night stay as a gesture of our regret. Please contact me directly at 773-235-5678 extension 235 so I may personally arrange your stay. We are grateful for your business. Thank you. John Leydon Innkeeper


such a sweet stay..

4,2 en febrero 22, 2010

This is our second stay at the RubyRoom and we've loved it both times. Yes, there are stairs, so don't overpack! The rooms & bed are delicious and clean. :) You'll be happy! If you have to park, you will need a couple extra minutes and make sure you understand that there is no 24 hour check in.


Four Star Quality

4,4 en diciembre 04, 2009

I needed a place to stay over Thanksgiving weekend in Wicker Park. I chose Ruby Room as it was near the friends I'd be seeing. The room was beautiful and incredibly spacious. The bathroom was huge and the bed was very very comfortable. We had access to a kitchen too, which was very convenient. I could walk down the hall and make a cup of tea or coffee. I would definitely consider staying there again.


Exceptional Stay

4,6 en octubre 26, 2009

We reserved our room online based on some reviews we had read and on it's location. We were incredibly impressed with the room and it's amenities. The bed the was fantastically comfortable and the shower was amazing. We loved the privacy and convenience of this bed and breakfast. We would strongly recommend this B & B to anyone we know. Just as an aside, there is no dining available so it is not applicable to rate.


Unique and reasonable

3,2 en septiembre 28, 2009

Prior reviews helped me to know exactly what to expect. Room was very comfortable - mine had an exterior exit to the stairs leading to the garden, which was nice since the room was a bit dark otherwise. No food on site but lots in the neighborhood. Saturday night is VERY busy. Yoga studio on 2nd floor is GREAT!


Ruby Room - Wonderful place to stay in Wicker Park area

4,0 en septiembre 27, 2009

Spent two nights at the Ruby Room, bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The room was extremely clean. I have stayed at big hotels in Chicago and have already decided next time I'm here I'm coming back to the Ruby Room. There are no real services unlike the big hotels but I realized I don't need them. The neighborhood has so many great places to eat and get whatever you need within a few hundred yards. Very private since there is a small number of rooms. I was here for two days until I saw another guest. The air system in the room has a fan that can be set on manual which is just enought to drown out any city noises that might find it's way in. The building is set up to be very secure as well. The only downside that you should consider is that there is no elevator or television. They do have free secure Internet. I stayed on the third floor but didn't have any problem carying two bags up the three flights of stairs. I'm in my mid 50's. I will be coming back again!


pleasant surprise

4,4 en septiembre 15, 2009

This place was amazing. Our first bed and breakfast stay was a complete success! The room was beautiful and the location was incredible. Things could not have worked out better for us at the Ruby Room!!!


Very Nice

4,6 en septiembre 14, 2009

Very nice, clean rooms and comfy bed. Love the Aveda products. Perfect location since it is close to my family and hip bars and restaurants. Not your typical hotel, though (no room service, etc) so it may not be for everyone.


WE LOVE RUBY ROOM!

5 en agosto 31, 2009

For Mother's Day, I gave my wife and my 10 year old son's mother, a Yoga Retreat Weekend. We took the retreat from the amazing Seane Corn at nearby Moksha Yoga. I booked Ruby Room on Moksha's recommendation and after reviewing its website. I was a little apprehensive because we always stay downtown when we visit Chicago. My apprehensions proved baseless. Ruby Room was a perfect compliment to our retreat in every respect. The furnishings, style, decore - everything about Ruby Room exuded peace, tranquility and vibrance. It is blessed by its proximity to the wonderful restaurants (Mana across the street was especially fantastic) and shopping in the Wicker Park neighborhood that enhanced the entire experience of our stay. We are looking forward with great anticipation to our next opportunity to visit the Ruby Room. Great Thanks.


Raves for Ruby Room

4,6 en agosto 18, 2009

The Ruby Room is an outstanding B&B. Hands down the best 'hotel' bed and shower. The room was crisp and clean yet warm and inviting. The simplicity of the room naturally eased the tensions of life's chaos. I highly suggest the rooms with a balcony as you can exit out the back stairs and they are much easier to climb than the interior circular staircase. The zen garden out back provided a great place to sit and relax outside as well. the location is fantastic and provided convenient access to restaurants and shopping in a more boutiquey area. A great neighborhood away from the Mag. Mile, again adding to the city experience. We loved seeing all the true Chicago residents out walking with their dogs, kids and friends rather than mobs of tourists. The one downfall, parking was tough especially upon arriving on a Friday night.Bravo Ruby Room! We will absolutely stay again when we travel without our children!


lovely relaxing room-perfect location

3,6 en agosto 15, 2009

noise from upper floor could be heard but sounds from Division Street which we overlooked were quite muted. no terry robes although 2 websites promised them


Ruby Room Guest Rooms

4,2 en julio 28, 2009

This undiscovered gem is in Wicker Park, an easy trip on the train from the loop or O'Hare (the CTA's blue line stops two blocks away). It's a refuge from the bustle of the city yet convenient to museums and shopping. If you're in Chicago for an appointment at the Ruby Room spa, you can easily find things to do in the neighborhood--restaurants, comfy bars, book stores, movie theaters and more are just blocks away. Some might find the lack of maid service an inconvenience, but what's the bother if you're staying just a night or two? The community kitchen has a refrigerator and coffee maker, all I need for a quick breakfast and a place to keep restaurant leftovers. Late check-in (after 6 p.m.) presented a problem, probably more than it would have if I'd caught all the emails they sent, but the instant I made the reservation I started traveling, so missed directions. Nonetheless, I had excellent service using the emergency number left with the directions. The room was immaculate and quiet (no TV, but a radio with a CD player and soothing music on a CD). The service was kind, gentle, and unobtrusive. This is an excellent value, especially if you're staying during the week.


Loved it.

4,4 en julio 12, 2009

Ruby Room is funky and unusual but we loved our stay and will definitely book again on our next trip to Chicago to visit family. Well located, not too difficult to find parking on the side streets, great breakfast places across the street (especially recommend Milk & Honey), Wicker Park Fitness gym a few doors down (day pass available). Ruby Room is exactly as it is advertised: clean, spacious room, REALLY comfortable bed and upscale bathroom, lovely patio in the back of the building. Read the description carefully and know that no amenities are offered. Pack light as you carry your own bags up several flights of stairs. We'll be back for sure! A great find in Chicago.


Great Location, Great Vibe

4,2 en julio 05, 2009

My husband and I just returned from Ruby Room and were very pleased with the experience. It was in a great location. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The steam shower also was great. We only missed having a tv for the weather report. I took advantage of the on-site yoga studio and spa and would recommend both. The courtyard was also soothing to experience. A relaxing weekend, just what we wanted!


Charming Well Located Spot

4,2 en junio 03, 2009

This charming and unusual stay could not have been more comfortable. Truth be told after reading some reviews I had my doubts. The staff was delightful. The room was beautiful. The back garden provided a wonderful spot for a late night glass of wine. We stayed during the Division Street Festival, unbeknown to us, so the street side room was kind of noisy. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room off of Division. The location was so convenient and there's a wonderful bakery right across the street. In all, this more than met our expectations. I'm already looking forward to our next trip!


Really, really like it

4,4 en abril 27, 2009

I really like this place. Had a great stay and and enjoyed the unusual and very unique layout, design and amenities. My steam shower was like i was staying in a spa (which there is one on the property). Lastly, I keep dreaming about the bed. I think it was made out or marshmallows. The word comfortable does not fully describe it. I slept like a newborn. I recommend this inn to anyone that's coming to chicago.


Absolutely wonderful

4,2 en junio 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for severeal days. We were amazed at the room, in fact the moment we walked in our jaws dropped! The staff was very kind and was quite generous to us. The room smelled incredible, it was like stepping into a field of flowers...but not overwhelming. The showers were great and the bed was super comfortable and soft. Definately a treat! The Ruby Room is in a great neighborhood with easy access to transportation (bus, train, or even taxi). We are planning to visit the Ruby Room next time we go to Chicago. The experience is definately worth it!


Fantastic Stay

4,6 en mayo 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here to get away from the kids for a night. We both very pleased with the room: clean, smart/comfortable decor that blends contemporary furnishings with vintage feel, great bed, steam shower was nice touch. Ruby Room was very upfront about lack of TV and maid service - not a problem at all for us. Location is outstanding. Bucktown and Wicker Park otherwise have very few places to stay - 3 other B&B's, none of which look as nice as Ruby Room, but, to be fair, I have not stayed at the others. Still, based on our experience, we won't try the others - we'll just come back to Ruby Room. BTW, we did not use any of the Ruby Room's other services (spa, salon, etc) so cannot comment.


Great stay!

3,2 en agosto 07, 2007

Pros: you get to stay at a spa where you can use their services; shopping boutiques; yoga lounge; garden; great price; nice flowery bedsheets; homey and clean rooms. Cons: no elevators. I had to carry my huge luggage up 4 flights of stairs. No 24hrs staff. The neighborhood was not so nice. There was construction going on all around, from next door to downstairs, but it didn't disturb my sleep, and perhaps it will look better once the neighborhood is all built up. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.


Relaxing...just a great weekend

5 en febrero 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Ruby Room for a long weekend. We were choosey on which room we wanted and the front desk help was very accommodating. The room was lovely and the bed was to die for. We also enjoyed a massage and I also enjoyed a facial while my husband spent time reading in their bookstore. We'll be going back again to get away from the kids! There are great eating options in the area as well.


Ruby Room Inn & Spa

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $125 - $185
  • Comentarios (41) 4,2
  • Habitaciones 8
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7732352323
  • Teléfono 1-866RUBYROOM
  • Fax 1-2351001
  • Sin cargo
    1-8667829766

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba