Old Chicago Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,0

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,7
  • Servicios4,4
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,1
  • Comidas3,6

Puntuación basada en
88 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

The Perfect Base for a Trip to Chicago

4,6 en abril 17, 2014

The Old Chicago Inn is a gem. Its owners have decorated the premises creatively, with many period pieces throughout. Having stayed at the Inn on multiple occasions, I've sampled several of the rooms. Some are spacious with large windows facing the street, and others are cozier and more secluded, but all are well-appointed. The neighborhood offers many attractions, with unique shops and restaurants all around. An 'L' station is a half-block away, which makes getting to other parts of Chicago super convenient. But there's lots to see locally, and it doesn't take long to walk to the lake shore. A nice base for vacationing or working in Chicago.


FIrst stay of many at Old Chicago

4,2 en enero 14, 2014

Our stay at Old Chicago was wonderful. David is an excellent Inn Keeper, he was very helpful in providing tips on getting around on the CTA! SPeaking of, Old Chicago's proximity to the Brown/Red Lines is invaluable. We had not trouble getting to the three plays in two different parts of town.


Outstanding experience!

5 en enero 04, 2014

Outstanding!!! David, Todd and Virginia are outstanding people. Friendly and hospitable. I recommend this fine facility to anyone with no reservations. Thank you for the fine experience!


Cosy Bed and Breakfast

3,6 en noviembre 03, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent four nights at the Old Chicago Inn and we really liked the place. The rooms are small but cosy, everything is clean and David, the host was very friendly.


Good location and Nice Place

3,4 en octubre 15, 2013

The Old Chicago Inn is a nice place to stay in a nice neighborhood. More appropriately titled a "Bed" since breakfast is minimal. Service was decent. Would stay here again.


Great stay, great location!

3,6 en octubre 11, 2013

Really isn't a breakfast involved. Cereal, coffee, Yogurt. Room 2C is too small but all the other rooms our excellent!


Great place, friendly hospitality

3,4 en octubre 07, 2013

Finding a room for a concert festival in this area was not easy or affordable. Old Chicago Inn gave us a very unique and pleasant stay for the price. We opted for 3A, which was even more beautiful than we expected, the private bath was clean and cozy. The access to the local gym and the vouchers for Trader Todd's were a great touch and gave us the flexibility for our days before the concert. Location is great and convenient, while still being on a quieter street. I believe we'd return if our travels take us back to the area.


A Pleasant Chicago B&B

3,8 en octubre 06, 2013

HIGHPOINTS --- A very gregarious and knowledgeable innkeeper went out of his way to be helpful. A lovely continental breakfast, including a fresh-baked item each morning, is a definite plus. My room, while quite small, was very clean and well-appointed with a comfortable queen size bed. The free wireless internet connected quickly. This b&b is located around the corner from the CTA Red Line and a of variety restaurants, coffee shops, and a pharmacy are close by. LOWPOINTS --- one of the two shared bathrooms on my floor had serious maintenance issues including broken floor tiles and a toilet that rocked on its base. My room had only one electrical outlet. Because of its close proximity to the CTA and restaurants/bars rooms at the front of the property are noisy late into the night on the weekend.


Baseball Fanatic

4,6 en septiembre 27, 2013

Great proximity to Wrigley Field! Would definitely stay here again. The service was excellent and so were the rooms. Super close to the train station to get around the city. Thanks for a great stay!!!


Doug

3,4 en agosto 20, 2013

It is a quaint little place. Room was a bit tighter than expected but still a great value in Chicago. It was the room we chose at the price we wanted. Well appointed with period furniture. Did not visit the speakeasy, but will next time. the Service desk personnel were attentive and informative. Next time we will pay a bit more for larger room and bath for more comfort.


Oldchicagoinn

3,8 en agosto 18, 2013

Love the location and Trader Todd's. Would like to see more towel racks or places to hang things in rooms.


August 3-4

3,4 en agosto 09, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to a friend


OMG Great Location

4,4 en julio 30, 2013

Stayed with another fun couple for the third time at this B&B. Wonderful location close to Wrigley, restaurants, and bars. ..And don't forget Trader Todds- fun place. The rooms are not huge but you won't be spending much time in there. Wonderful place. Go Cubs!


Great B & B! ! !

3,8 en julio 28, 2013

The innkeeper was extremely hospitable and tended to every need. It can be a bit noisy in the late night/early morning hours as the inn is next to a bar and the patrons are happy & noisy as they exit the establishment. However, it wasn't enough to make me choose to stay anywhere else. We highly recommend The Old Chicago Inn.


Helpful staff!

4,4 en julio 17, 2013

David was very kind and welcoming, carried my suitcase, and gave good restaurant recommendations. While I stayed four nights, I only got to eat breakfast once so don't feel like I can rate it overall - though the homemade apple crisp David served was delicious!


Great place to stay if you're in Chicago for a Cubs game!

4,8 en junio 27, 2013

Had a great stay at the Old Chicago Inn. The location was perfect: a block from a train stop, 4 blocks from Wrigley Field, and right across the street from Einstein Bagels and a wonderful pizza place. David, the innkeeper, was personable and wonderfully helpful. Highly recommended!


Great weekend trip!

4,6 en junio 24, 2013

Great place to stay if you are going to The Vic; it is only yards away. Easy walking distance to Wrigley Field also. Clean rooms and great atmosphere.


June 2013 Old Chicago Inn

3,4 en junio 19, 2013

I enjoyed my time at the Old Chicago Inn. It was a great base for exploring the rest of Chicago.


Fabulous!

3,8 en junio 13, 2013

fabulous place to stay. great neighborhood, great service, so quaint. David was so helpful and sweet. We can't wait to return! Aileen & Sean


Pleasant stay at a very convenient location

4,2 en junio 07, 2013

The Old Chicago Inn is very conveniently located to go to downtown Chicago (by metro). Also, there are a lot of inexpensive dining options in the neighborhood. The room was small, but clean and there was nothing we could complain of. The breakfast provided was actually very good and was more (and better) than what you might get at most hotels! I would recommend the Old Chicago Inn and would also go there again myself in the future.


Birthday Trip to Chicago

5 en junio 03, 2013

It was wonderful! Can not beat the location. Dave took exceptional care of me from the moment I arrived until I left. He even made me a cake for my birthday....which I forgot to take with me! Thank you Virginia & Cliff for making my stay exceptional. I will be back! Alan/Athens, Georgia


Homey Atmosphere in Vintage Bldg.

3,8 en mayo 18, 2013

I had the least expensive room on the 1st floor with an unshared bath across a small hallway. I think I had a more comfortable experience emotionally than I would have had in a chain hotel. The venue of the event I came for was 1/2 block away & I was able to walk there & back each night. The Belmont El station is 1.5 blocks away making the location convenient to everything. The subway/el goes from O'Hare to the Western Belmont station & a short taxi ride can leave one at the door of the Inn. The convenience of the location is incomparable.in several respects. The room was small with not a lot of clothing storage. Great for short stay, tho. Two people fit fine with the double bed.


Excellent stay for us

5 en abril 05, 2013

The pictures on the website weren't able to capture the beauty and charm of this B&B. It was very comfortable, inviting, and historical. The innkeeper was excellent and very accomidating. The B&B is located near everything. It is within walking distance of great food and entertainment. About a nine minute drive from the museums. We really loved it and plan on staying again next year.


Great Stay

4,6 en marzo 27, 2013

Excellent service, breakfast, rooms, location. I'll certainly be back. If you're flying into O'Hare or Midway don't bother with a rental car--or taxi. Check the Old Chicago Inn website for "L" information.


Fabulous Getaway with un-expected time machine ride

4,8 en marzo 06, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at the Old Chicago Inn. The staff and owners were very nice, extremely helpful in showing us around and giving advice about the city. The property was great and a fun way for us to be in a city we love. Be sure you love nightlife when you stay. There is so much to do and see. And the neighborhood helps you have fun. We stayed in 3A, a spacious room with a King bed that overlooks the street. It had a nice lounge right outside the door with a Chicago themed library. The amenities at this property more than met expectations - except for one. One out-did all our expectations altogether. If you plan on staying at this property over a weekend, you MUST go visit Room 13! Room 13 is a speakeasy, lovingly designed to authenicate what a period Chicago prohibition era speakeasy might have been like. This includes authenitic drinks and jazz music. They claim to have nothing in the space that was not made or connected to a company of the era. You also have to know the password! This was unexpected and so fun. We ordered the "extra" of the Speakeasy flight. And we highly recommend this to everyone (over 21 of course!) The bartenders when we were there - Ted and Luke - were terrific and very knowledgable about the period, the drinks, the city and fun in general. It turned out we were the first ever to order this special. How fun was that! It consisted of splitting 4 20's-era drinks that were hand-crafted and served lovingly with in-depth explanation by their creator, Ted who was schooled to craft the jazz era drinks. Thanks for the great time Todd and Virginia and your staff. We will be back.


Chicago B&B

3,2 en diciembre 12, 2012

This location suited my needs.


Charming B&B

3,4 en octubre 23, 2012

Old Chicago Inn has served us well on more than one occasion. We find the location to be superb with easy access to the 'L' system. The neighborhood is lovely, quiet and close to many restaurants and shops. The Inn is well cared for, the decor is charming and the accommodations are more than adequate. The innkeeper is wonderful to deal with, extremely helpful and a very good cook. We are sure to stay at the Old Chicago Inn again.


Great Location

4,6 en octubre 19, 2012

Great Location, The egg casserole was delicious, everyone very friendly


Warm Hospitality in the Windy City

4,6 en octubre 16, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn is a European style Bed and Breakfast with an emphasis on hospitality from the staff. The rooms are small and the facilities old, but it's comfortable, clean, and safe. The bed included a snuggly warm down duvet to ward off the cold rainy night! The plush robes for guests really were, the free wi-fi was fast, a complementary membership to a nearby gym (which I didn't use) was included, and breakfast was served until 11 a.m. with coffee, juice, milk, cereal, and delicious fresh baked pastries. Trader Todd's is a popular bar next door that also has food. Room 13, the Inn's own basement speakeasy, is open Friday and Saturday evenings and offers a quieter, more relaxing atmosphere, featuring unique early 20th Century cocktails and often live jazz. Bartenders and servers in both were friendly and gave great service. The inn is located in a busy and safe neighborhood within a two minute walk from the Belmont Red/Brown/Purple Line CTA "L" Station. It is convient to both fine and popular restaurants and other shopping conveniences. For baseball fans, it's an easy walk or one stop train ride to Wrigley Field. This is a very old, but clean property with first class hospitality, I'll be back.


Great Stay

3,8 en septiembre 27, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn has lots of charm, a very nice innkeeper, and is in a great part of town just a few blocks from Wrigley Field. We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept. 2012 and I would definitely stay here again. Not only is it close to Wrigley, it is a block from the L and the area has great area restaurants (the even give you gift certificates to one). The only downsides are those they tell you about on their site... small rooms, some of which share a bathroom, a small breakfast (not your normal B&B breakfast) and it can be noisy because well, it is in the city. However, for the price and service, you can't beat it. I would definitely stay here again.


Would stay there again.

4,4 en septiembre 24, 2012

Close to Wrigley and trains. Rooms need more hooks or something to hang up clothes. Breakfast was small but good and the TWO food vouchers for next door were an added bonus.


First Trip to Chicago

3,8 en septiembre 10, 2012

We were in Chicago to attend a conference at Navy Pier so we searched for a B&B that was close to the subway as well as in a character neighborhood & close to Wrigley Field for a ball game. The OCI met all our needs. It is a charming character building in a very interesting neighbourhood that we got to know quite well. Fabulous restaurants & bars all within walking distance! The simple continental breakfast was very handy as we did not have the time or the desire to go to a restaurant for breakfast in the morning & prefer just a quick coffee and something light before heading out. But by far the highlight of our trip was our Innkepeper David. He was an amazing source of information, gave the absolute best directions, was always within a bell's ring when we needed something and showed us the kind of souther hospitality that we rarely see anymore so it was a true pleasure to meet David and we will be back next August.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that David made your stay memorable. We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate your business.


An excellent experience

3,6 en septiembre 06, 2012

This place was a great alternative to staying in a chain hotel on my recent weekend trip to Chicago. The location in the Lake View neighborhood was great. It's only 1 1/2 blocks from the metro station and they provide a free parking permit so we didn't have to drive the car during our stay. The room (2C) was tiny but it met our needs. The best part about staying here was the "speakeasy" bar located in the lower level of the inn. It seemed very authentic to the 1920's era and had a lot of charm. The drinks were amazing and the bartenders were very friendly and knowledgeable. It was the best part of our stay.


Great Location

4,6 en agosto 24, 2012

A great deal for the location. Nothing negative to say about our stay: The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and available, it's a charming place right in the heart of the North side, and the price is very reasonable.


Expensive And Not Fancy

1,8 en agosto 19, 2012

Chicago lodging accommodations are notoriously expensive and Old Chicago Inn is no exception. The inn keeper was friendly and helpful. For the price, I expected a luxurious room and bath, and a gourmet breakfast. The room felt cluttered with several pieces furniture disjointedly crammed into the space. A basic continental breakfast was provided. The bathrom is functional but in need of aesthetic improvements. Very convenient location for those visiting Boy's Town. However, I will likely seek a nicer hotel downtown next time.


I don't think so...

1,6 en agosto 17, 2012

The innkeeper was a nice guy, although a bit clueless. I've never stayed in a hotel or B&B and not had the room and bathroom cleaned each day, but that is exactly what happened here. Nothing was touched during our 3-day stay. I cleaned my sink after two days with a washcloth and a towel, and tossed the stale towels in a corner of the tiny, nasty bathroom. The "mirror" in our private bath was about 7" by 10" - hardly big enough to shave by. The sleeping rooms are very basic, and the decor nothing special. It is mis-matched junk picked up from rummage sales, or salvaged from the street. I put something on a table in the room and CLUNK, a leg came off the table, and fell to the floor. The rug in the room was extremely dirty, and the free-standing air conditioner vented to the fireplace, which was covered by a draped towel. Obviously, the owners are trying to milk this property for every cent they can get. If you are expecting anything nice, forget it! I will take my $200/night and stay downtown, where there is a little more competition, and I can actually get what I paid for. Trust me, it is worth the hassle to hop on the L. This place might be ok at about half the price. Consider yourself warned.


Chicago visit with son and daughter

4,0 en agosto 07, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn was the perfect location for our recent visit to Chicago. Our son and daughter live within a short walk from the b/b, plus Wrigley Field, the train, and other destinations were right there. Very quaint, quiet, comfortable; friendly inn-keeper, David; breakfast was a great way to start our day. We definitely will return to this b/b in the future!


Friendly little Art Deco Inn.

4,0 en julio 23, 2012

My husband and I loved our stay at the Old Chicago Inn. Dave the innkeeper could not have been sweeter. He suggested lots of fun activities in the city and was fun to talk to over breakfast. The location could not have been better! Right in the heart of good food, shopping and theaters all in walking distance. The Inn was still quiet and peaceful and a great cozy placed that I looked forward to coming back to each evening. Clean, Comfy Beds, and a Great Art Deco style....Love it!!!


Quirky & Fun

4,4 en julio 19, 2012

We loved our stay! This is a great place for people who want a place that is friendly & full of character. The room was charming, the staff was helpful, and we had a FANTASTIC time at the Speakeasy in the basement! To top it off, we walked to Wrigley for the game in under 15 minutes...no parking required.


First trip to Chaigao

3,4 en julio 02, 2012

The location of the Inn was perfect for us, near Wrigly Fiel and public transportation. The surrounding area was an eclectic mix of commercial and residential. The area was very walkable and interesting. The Inn was exactly as advertised. It was quiet and clean. The rooms are small but comfortable. Sharing a bathroom was no hardship.The staff was very helpful. We would not hesitate to stay there again.


Great spot for a game

5 en julio 01, 2012

A group of colleagues and I stayed at the Chicago Inn because of its locality to the Wrigley Field. When we booked our stay we were all a little hesitant to say the least, but after arriving David the Inn keeper made us feel comfortable and at right at home. I highly recommend booking this hotel it's a great location and the atmosphere is second to none. We will definitely be staying here again!


For me it was just ok.

3,4 en junio 27, 2012

The location couldn't be better if you are visiting Chicago to go to Wrigley or are going to Boystown. I hate to sound like a whiner but it was just satisfactory for me. I have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before so I didn't know what to expect. On the plus side, street parking was free, awesome food vouchers to Trader Todd's, room was clean and quiet. On the downside, building and furnishings are outdated, in-room bathroom was tiny, street parking can be a challenge.


Great place to stay while exploring Chicago

4,6 en junio 27, 2012

A charming old aprtment building converted to a welcoming Inn. Close to the L, close to Wrigley Field, clean rooms and baths. And an inn keeper who could not have been more charming, helpfull, and interesting. This will be our place whenever we return to Chicago.


So quaint!!

4,6 en junio 26, 2012

We had an amazing stay here and were very impressed!! The innkeeper, David, was very friendly and helpful!! We had a great time, wish we could have stayed longer!!! :)


Old Chicago Inn

3,6 en junio 22, 2012

We stayed here because it was my wife's birthday and I wanted to get a room closer to Wrigleyville, since we were going to the game that night. It was what we expected, and the innkeeper was very friendly and the room was clean, but I would get a room with our own bathroom next time. They have different sized rooms and the one available was with a community bathroom. They also give you a food voucher for next door which is a bonus.


Fair

3,2 en junio 21, 2012

Have stayed here many times for value and location. Not for everyone but gives you a bed to sleep in close to Wrigley Field. Which is what I stay here for..


Great location!!

4,0 en junio 18, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn was a great choice for us. The location was perfect, right near Wrigley Field and the Belmont train stop. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.


Close To The Cubbies!

4,4 en junio 18, 2012

This property is delightfully close to Wrigley Stadium and Claek Street shopping and dining. David was very accommodating and available for our needs. We did not utilize the dining opportunities and our rating reflects the lack of exposure. We will be coming back.


Great location near Wrigley Field.

3,4 en junio 14, 2012

Our room was on the small side, but we just stayed one night, arriving early because we were on our way to a 1:00 Cubs game. (BTW The Cubbies WON!) The location could not be more convenient for that. David the Innkeeper was friendly and helpful, and made for great conversation. There are not many choices in Wrigleyville, so don't overlook this place.


Best Find and Value in Chicago!

4,6 en junio 05, 2012

I am writing this review because we were very, very happy with our stay. First, the price was definitely right, but I was worried because I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. We checked in after the Cub game, aroud 5:30pm, which was no problem whatsoever. We were only four or so blocks from Wrigley, and felt very safe walking back to the inn. At check-in, we were given excellent directions for parking our vehicle so that we would be assured not to get a parking ticket. Our car was safe for the duration of our stay in the mostly residential around that surrounds the inn. We didn't need to move the car at all, as the Inn is about 1/2 block from a major train station. We took the L straight to the heart of downtown to enjoy the fireworks at Navy Pier and all that the museums had to offer. The breakfast was "modest" but included coffee cakes, yogurt, cereal, hardboiled eggs, granola bars, orange juice, and coffee. We didn't leave hungry! We also received food vouchers for a bar and grill two doors down. That was a great little local bar with very nice employees and fun karaoke! The rooms at the inn were very small but also very comfortable and clean. Don't plan to hang out in the rooms except to get a great night's sleep and you won't mind their size! You also get access to a gym that is a few doors down (very close to the inn). We didn't try that out, but we walked right by it and it seemed clean and had lots of equipment. Bottom line, this is a rare find, both quality and value. We were both very happy with the experience and with the very nice innkeeper, David, who was eager to help. I would stay there again in a heartbeat! Thanks for a lovely stay in Chicago!


A very relaxing stay

4,0 en mayo 24, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to David for being such a lovely host. Our room was fantastic and the neighborhood was lively.


Small Historic Building. Fine for a hotel but not a true B&B

3,0 en mayo 16, 2012

Okay I wouldn't call this a true B&B, the breakfast was just a little contential thing, cereal, fruit, maybe some little pastries and juice. The room was very small (6ft wide) but that is par for the buildings of the time so to be expected. It could use some updates as the paint and walls looked worn. The bed was super tall, so it might be hard for a shorter person to get in/out of. I'm 5'9 and could just barely get in. We got a free dinner at the bar next door, which was tasty. Parking was about 4 blocks away on the street. we did get a free parking pass. the rooms seem like they have thin walls. we were next to the communial bathroom and could hear when people were showering. it didn't bother us too much though. The wifi sucked, I actually just used some other businesses that wasn't secure to be able to connect to the internet. The front desk guy was very friendly!


Chi-Town on a budget

3,2 en mayo 15, 2012

Great neighborhood location. Room was TINY but adequate. Funny having the toilet in the shower but I learned to live with it. Inn keeper was great and very accommodating. Breakfast area A bit musty smelling but very comfortable. All in all I would do it again.


Great place especially for a Cubs weekend

4,2 en mayo 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay. There is lots of good food very close by and a great night life. The speakeasy in the bottom of the hotel is awesome! Only reccomendation is to bring earplugs or some kind of noise maker when you sleep. We had room 2A which is very close to the street. It was very noisy at night with cabs and drunk people at 2 AM. I had to buy some earplugs. Other than that everything was excellent. Service is great and place is great. Will definitely be staying here again. IMO this is the best place to stay for a long weekend of Cubs games. You get the full experience of wrigleyville here. If you stay downtown for a Cubs game you have to ride in and out of wrigleyville and you don't get the full vibe. Staying at the old chicago inn gave us the full experience.


Absolutely Fantastic!!

4,8 en mayo 09, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It's a block from the El Train red line, has two great italian restaurants within walking distance, and Trader Todds, a Karaoke bar, which you get discount coupons off your meals for staying at the Old Chicago. There Inn itself makes you feel like your stepping into a piece of Chicago's history with old style furniture and decor. The Innkeeper, Dave, is friendly and helpful and will do everything he can to make your experience the best it can be! He helped me set up a romantic candle light dinner for two in their speak easy style lounge and even baked us a red velvet cake in the shape of a heart! We would recommend this place to anyone and everyone! Shawn & Kendra


Perfect for us

4,8 en mayo 06, 2012

We went to Chi-town for a small get away. It's located within walking distance of Wrigley Field, and is even closer to an El stop. The restaurant two doors down has amazing key lime pie and you get two 10 free vouchers for food every night you stay.


Old Chicago Inn

4,2 en mayo 04, 2012

The Old Chicago Inn was a great place to stay in Chicago. It was clean, staff were attentive, and the added amenities were a nice bonus.


Weekday stay

4,0 en abril 30, 2012

Excellent valued B&B. Friendly staff. Great location. Kinda noisy, but it is close to the train, gotta take the good with the bad. Definately would stay again.


Cubs Weekend

2,6 en abril 26, 2012

The rugs in the bathroom and the bedroom looked like they'd seen there better days. Although very convenient to Wrigley Field, I'd probably look to stay somewhere else the next time.


Quaint

4,8 en marzo 15, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Safe neighborhood, close to transportation and stores, restaurants. Will stay here again when come back to Chicago. Staff is very nice, rooms cozy.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your nice comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.


Great For a Weekend Get Way

4,0 en marzo 03, 2012

My wife and I wanted to have a quick weekend get away to Chciago. To be able to stay some place nice in the windy city is usually a bit of a budget breaker for us. Staying at The Old Chicgo Inn let us spend more of our money on having fun and not so much on accomodations. Old Chicago Inn has a very relaxed and elegant atomoshere, friendly and attentive staff and most importantly the rooms and bathrooms are extemely clean. The location by the Red Line makes getting to downtown very convenient. The Lakeview neighborhood where the Inn is loacated is worth checking out also. I would call this one of Chicago's hidden gems.


Old Chicago Inn

4,0 en febrero 27, 2012

I loved it. There was a pub/karoke bar 2 doors down. And I might add it was a honey hole! Gym 2 doors down the other way. Great energy in the area. Room was great. The staff was more than friendly. They made it feel like a real get away.


Something for Everyone

5 en febrero 10, 2012

Our family traveled from different locations to enjoy Christmas together in Chicago. The Old Chicago Inn was a perfect home away from home complete with homemade sweets and comfortable beds. The Inn was beautifully decorated with holiday decor including a giant Santa much to the delight of our grandchildren. The staff proved to be very charming, attentive and a great source of information for everyone's interest from Navy Pier's Winter Wonderland for the children to theatre and nightlight for the adults. The location is very convenient for sightseeing and shopping. It is located in a delightful walking neighborhood (close to Wrigley Field) and just steps from the El for downtown shopping and sightseeing. My husband and I loved the Inn's proximity to Trader Todd's for great food, drinks and karaoke. Located just a short walk from the inn, there was no need to hail a cab after a fun night out.


Old Chicago Inn

4,0 en febrero 01, 2012

We had a great time at the inn. The staff was very professional, the room very clean. The building had a lot of turn-of-the-century charm and afforded us the true B&B experience we were looking for. Great amenities - breakfast, robes included. Great location. Near everything and within walking distance to the El. The best value in Chicago. We will definitely go back!


Fantastic stay at the Old Chicago Inn

4,2 en diciembre 20, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at the Old Chicago Inn. The room was lovely and had all of the amenities I needed with the exception of a hair dryer. I had one the first day and had put it on on a table for other guests to use (as I was instructed) and never saw it again! This was the fault of the other guests and not the staff. I can't say enough about the staff -- all wonderful. I especially appreciated the kind use of the B & B phone when my cell phone wasn't working. That was really good customer service! The location is absolutely perfect, and I had a restful and fun vacation. Will be back and will recommend it to others!


Old Chicago Inn

3,8 en diciembre 19, 2011

Very comfortable, great bed, great location, fantastic poppy seed cake for breakfast, very helpful staff, no problems with the wireless. two minor complaints - the floors in my room squeaked with every step - which I find annoying, but not everyone would and I didn't have a bedside lamp to read by (but the ceiling light was on a dimmer which helped). I had a shared bath which worked out fine.


Great but poor wireless

4,2 en diciembre 02, 2011

This is a great option in a great area of Chicago. It's cheaper than other hotels in the area, and it has some personality to it. The owner was very involved and gave his number for any issues. The room was small, but comfortable. The only issue I had was that the wireless was so poor as to be almost unusable. It worked fairly well in the common areas, but in the room, it often went out and I couldn't connect at all. I was hoping to relax in my room before a big job interview and just watch a show, but I couldn't even check email.


GREAT service and location

3,6 en septiembre 11, 2011

My husband and I had a very nice stay at Old Chicago Inn. David (the Inn Keeper) was great! We were celebrating our anniversary which is also my husband's birthday and David baked us a heart shaped cake...way to go the extra mile! The location is perfect, very close to the train. We WILL be returning to stay at this B&B...next time, however, we will choose a room with a private bath.


Old Chicago Inn

5 en agosto 26, 2011

I found the staff to be very courteous and professional. The facility was charming and located in a great spot of the city.


Chicago Disappointment

2,2 en julio 25, 2011

Location was great with access to many stores and restaurants. Only one block walk to the "El" providing an easy way to get downtown and the Navy Pier. The room was okay with its own private shower however the carpet in front of the shower is always wet due a leak somewhere. Don't expect anyone to make up the bed ... it's up to you! It was supposed to be air conditioned but the the 100+ temp outside it couldn't keep up ... thank goodness for the ceiling fan! The breakfast was less than stellar. Kellogg's cereal boxes, cold coffee and mushy fruit... I ended up walking a couple of blocks to a diner for breakfast. Would I stay there again ... no.


loved it.

4,2 en julio 19, 2011

I was intrigued by the character and ambiance of OCI. I found it very comfortable, if small. It is definitely not the same as a big box vinyl room with a curtain wall and king size beds facing a big TV. The decor invites you to notice detail. The fireplaces are wonderful and the fixtures in the bathrooms are all authentic. There were no bathroom sharing problems in our rather large group. It you choose to stay in the inn rather than be out and about, It is a comfortable place to curl up with a book or hobby. Jon is one of the most interesting people I have met, and Virginia is a dear. I look forward to my next visit to Chicago and the Old Chicago Inn.


Wonderful Stay In a Cozy Location

4,4 en abril 27, 2011

When I checked In initially, I was greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by David, the innkeeper and Virginia, one of the proprietors of the Old Chicago Inn. The room I was staying in with my boyfriend was 3A and it was a gorgeous room (I love the exposed brick wall.) The room was huge and well heated (We came in late February.) We were so close to SOOOOO much. We visited Wrigleyville which was really close about 3 or 4 blocks I believe, walked to boystown which is right down the block almost which is so much fun with all its shops and everything, and went to downtown Chicago on the Red Line. Which is so cool, cause the Inn is about half a block from it and its not noisy at all! Oh and David's homemade cakes for breakfast are delicious! I would definitely stay here again the next time I come to Chicago.


Great location, good value, but some things were lacking

2,8 en abril 23, 2011

We loved the location and the price but the room and complimentary "breakfast" left a lot to be desired. While we we happy to have a private attached bath, the room was tiny and the bathroom seemed like an unfinished renovation. The bathroom door closed, but had no door jamb. You could feel the wind from outside blowing through the walls and baseboards so the bathroom was about 20 degrees colder than the bedroom. We had been concerned about the street parking issue, but it turned out fine. After driving around for 15 minutes we we able to find a spot nearby and left it there for the entire stay (returning only to change the daily parking sticker). Very convenient to the El train (half a block away) and right around the corner to Giordano's, one of the best pizza places in the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. Since we were on the 3rd floor, we could only access the wireless internet by sitting in the lobby of the main floor. This was a good option for a weekend stay in the Windy City, but I don't think I would want to stay for longer than that and will probably explore other options when I return.


Had a Lovely Time

4,0 en octubre 16, 2010

The inn reminded me of ones I have stayed in in London--from the front gate to the cozy inside featuring stairs leading to a surprising number of tucked away rooms. The innkeeper was friendly and knowledgeable. The room was just as pictured on the website; we had 2D with the "princess and the pea" bed, on which I slept the best I have slept in months--honestly! I enjoyed the novel use of space in the room, especially the dresser drawers used to hold linens and the brilliantly economic use of space represented by the "euro-style" bathroom. Staying at the Old Chicago Inn made our visit to Chicago most enjoyable.


Great for the price

3,0 en agosto 30, 2010

The only request I have is to bring out the breakfast earlier.


The whole package

5 en abril 05, 2010

Felt like I discovered -- and was accepted into -- a small community in the midst of a big city. The inn is very comfortable, and I loved talking with other guests and the owners over breakfast. There's so much to do in the area! But the most fun was ending up back at the restaurant/bar next door, Trader Todd's! It didn't take long to feel like a "regular"!


Character, comfort & location

3,6 en junio 11, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights. Great place & cool innkeeper (Jon). Jon knows Chicago well and was VERY helpful in giving us suggestions and directions. Stayed in the first floor room. Small, but the bed was very comfortable. Bath across the hall was ours (private but detached.) Breakfast is not a big spread, but it's a good continental (juice, coffee, teas, pastry, muffins, cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc.) Place is a short 5-6 block walk to Wrigley Field and a little over a block to the "L", which gets you to anywhere in the city. Don't bother bringing a car. Don't need it and parking in Chicago is a pain, anyway. Save some $ and buy a 1, 3, or 5 day pass for the "L" at the CVS on Clark (about 7 blocks - ask Jon.) Guests get a $10 meal credit daily for Trader Todd's, a bar & grill two doors down. Guests also have free use of a workout gym a couple of doors down. Jon is great - but the owners, Todd and Virginia are super, too. Made friends here!


Cubs game adventure

5 en enero 29, 2009

The accomodations are lovely, you receive food vouchers for Trader Todd`s Bar/Resturant, located near Cubs Stadium, the redline rail service is easy access. The host is very personable and I would highly reccomend staying there.


cozy and snug!

3,8 en enero 13, 2009

Excellent place to stay in Chicago! Convenient to everything and very homey. I will recommend to all!


fireplace inn room!

4,4 en enero 09, 2009

Very VERY kind and helpful innkeeper!


Gemütlich

3,4 en noviembre 20, 2008

Quaint B&B in the heart of Wrigley Field. Very personable service owing much to on-site innkeeper, Todd.


weekend on Chicago's north side

3,4 en noviembre 05, 2008

The Old Chicago Inn provides a place of quiet retreat near shopping, dining, and entertainment. Rooms are small, but quiet and private. Rooms do need some place to hang clothes and towels.


Chicago Inn

3,6 en octubre 02, 2008

We have enjoyed our stay here. The caretakers were very pleasant & helpful to make our stay very nice. Thank you.


Home away from Home

4,0 en septiembre 19, 2008

Inn and rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. The Inn is conveniently located one block from an 'el' stop with brown, red, blue trains. We felt like we were part of the neighborhood, and would stay here again.


Old Chicago Inn

3,0 en agosto 22, 2008

Great location (just above Boy's Town) and great eateries close by. Room was a little small but I wasn't in the room that much. Also floors were creaky so not sure how much noise I made for the other guests. Cool old 1920s phone in the main lobby that really works!


Wrigleyville Wonder

4,0 en agosto 14, 2008

Our stay at the Old Chicago Inn was an incredible experience! The location of the Inn, the decor, the atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff all contributed to our vacation. The neighborhood was alive and the Inn's sister property - Trader Todd's - was an equally enjoyable establishment that has been added to our fond memories of our adventure!


Good value for time out on the town

3,2 en julio 30, 2008

My wife and I just spent a Sunday - Tues at OCI. We had a great time and Chicago is an awesome city. OCI met our needs. We selected the cheapest room at the inn. It was small but we were told ahead of time that it was small. The bed was big and comfortable but that did not leave very much room in the room for things like getting dressed. We didn't mind. The shared bath was across the hall and clean. I believe we were the only residents on the floor for our stay which made sharing the bathroom easy. I would recommend the OCI for individuals who are going to be out of the inn for most of their stay. The is not a destination in and of itself but a nice place to sleep. The common area is small. There is no porch or balcony or outside area. The owners were very accomidating and helpful but not around (there wouldn't be much for them to do or oversee). So don't come to the inn if you think it will be a good place to "be" for any length of time in the city. (Hey! It's Chicago, so get out on the town!) There is a gym two doors down. The owner is accommodating and there is a lot of equipment. You are not far from Wrigley and a lot of good restaurants as well. The redline is just around the corner on Belmont. It's a great place for a Chicago getaway especially in the summer.


Top Notch!

4,0 en agosto 24, 2007

My family had a great stay at Old Chicago! They are so friendly there. I highly recommand Old Chicago.


Old Chicago Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $110 - $269
  • Comentarios (88) 4,0
  • Habitaciones 10
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7734722278

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba