Margarita European Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,2

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,9
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas3,9

Puntuación basada en
151 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Out of the Ordinary

3,8 en agosto 21, 2013

The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of a Metra train, which was an important factor in our choice. The lighting in the hallways is pretty dim, but the room was very nice. It is a unique hotel, and I will probably stay here again.


Stay was too short

4,4 en julio 28, 2013

Our stop at MEI was the most perfect night at the end of our trip. I wish we had known earlier about this charming inn and spent our entire vacation here. Room 415 recommended – until we visit again and fall in love with a different room.


Great service and a comfortable stay

4,8 en junio 06, 2013

As always, Katherine and her staff gave us great service. Even walking us to the room on our arrival. Love to stay at the Margarita.


A beautiful, elegant place to stay

3,4 en mayo 23, 2013

For our first trip to Chicago, we decided on Margarita European Inn because of it's convenient location to public transportation and because of the reasonable cost. We were not disappointed! We easily got everywhere in Chicago we wanted to visit, our rooms were clean, bright and comfortable, and the neighborhood has every kind of restaurant you can imagine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


We stay here whenever we are in Evanston

5 en marzo 31, 2013

We come to Evanston a few times a year to visit family and we always stay here. The rooms are interesting and unique with large bathrooms with great shower water pressure, always important. Also, within walking distance to downtown Evanston, and one of our favorite restaurants, Lulu's. Within walking distance to Northwestern Univerrsity, the lakeshore, and the El. Staff is very helpful and friendly, and the large living room and complementary breakfast are great. An added attraction is the small library room. This is a wonderful, unique place to stay in an unbeatable location. highly recommended.


Great Experience!!!

3,4 en marzo 22, 2013

We stayed here for our first anniversary. The building and people are very charming. It was a refreshing feeling not to be in an "industrial" hotel room!!


Dependable Accomodations

3,4 en febrero 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Margarita on three separate occasions, each time choosing one of the European/shared bath rooms. We were never disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The shared parlor/dining space is an inviting space to sit & relax. The continental breakfast was more than adequate. The shared bath was well maintained. The on-street free parking is manageable. The Margarita is a great value.


A great place to stay in winter near a friend

3,8 en enero 10, 2013

We enjoyed the simplicity and old-world charm of the Margarita. We liked the easy walking distance to the El, which took us to the Art Institute, and the few blocks walking to the multi-plex movie theatre where we saw "Lincoln." Also the ease of entry to Lake Shore Drive which took us to the Field, the Shedd, and the Mus. of Sci and Ind. The front desk people gave us wonderful help. The maid service was excellent. And we had lots of privacy & quiet.


An Adventure into Yesteryear

4,8 en diciembre 20, 2012

Don't tell too many people but the Margarita European Inn B & B is a rare treat in the world of affordable hotels. At he moment you approach the entry and see the greeting of international flags, you have a hint that this is not just an ordinary hotel. Through the doors and into the lobby and parlor, one enters a world from a a bygone era. The appointments seem very little changed from the construction and decorating in the early years of the 20th century, when it was established as a "club" for young ladies who needed a safe retreat to live while working in the "big city". Everything absolutely clean, with a helpful and friendly staff, and the best ambiance ever experienced while traveling. Great coffee(their own custom brew) and ample continental breakfast accompanied by a variety of newspapers. Chicago is a favorite city of mine, and now I have a favorite home away from home.....the Margarita!


A total CHARMER!!!!

4,8 en octubre 28, 2012

A jewel of a spot if you like old movies, Bogart, the 30's, a European feel, quaint, charming, comfortable, home-made cookies set out in the evening, classical music playing in the front drawing room (and yes I would call it a drawing room more than a lobby). The place has a 1920's/30's feel and they haven't messed with it!! They know some of US love that kind of thing. Included with your simple but comfy room is a tasty morning continental breakfast, free wi-fi in the public areas, etc. The Italian restaurant that occupies part of the lower level is definitely a winner. Elegant, great service, not too pricey. Good wine list. The bldg itself boasts an old elevator with a sliding "see through bars" kind of door. I love this stuff--not everyone would--but if you go in for this sort of thing, this is a winner all the way! I can't wait to go back. It's a step out of this world into a more refined one--though not expensive. The price is great too.


Excellent hospitality in USA.

4,4 en octubre 28, 2012

I was very satisfied by the welcome and hospitality I experienced at the Margarita and would certainly stay again. Only 30 mins journey from the loop in downtown Chicago by the Metra train it was a relief, on returning each evening, to have escaped the frenetic bustle of the city and sleep soundly without the continuous hum of metropolitan life. Not that I wasn't thrilled to travel downtown every day! The self service breakfast was very efficient as it meant you could take as much time or as little time as one wished, with the daily newspapers on hand. Infact the whole experience was very relaxing with such friendly service.


We liked the stay in Margarita European Inn.

4,0 en agosto 06, 2012

First of all, the receptionist was so nice to make us comfortable. Room was also nice and neat. It has nice living room and cozy library where we can use free internet unlimitedly. It places near the subway station and there are a lot of restaurants to have nice meals. Moreover, the price was reasonable, so we lied the stay in this Inn.


Beautiful place

3,6 en agosto 03, 2012

I have stayed twice and will likely return. It's a very beautiful setting on a lovely street, quiet area. Convenient location to visiting my daughter at Loyola University. Staff is helpful and accomodating. I would have liked more than a Continental breakfast for the price


THE PLACE THAT SURPRISED ME

3,8 en julio 25, 2012

I book a room at the Margarita never having seen the place because it was the cheapest in the area and I needed someplace to stay for the night. Through the course of my short visit I realized that the Margarita itself is a destination, and far more than just a place to lay one's head. I wished I had booked two nights, to have more time to stay in a setting that reminded me of all my favorite places. This is a unique and lovely inn and I look forward to visiting often. -Chris


Very special b&b

3,8 en julio 02, 2012

this is a very special place. it is almost a museum, as it is a house with a long history. i really enjoyed my stay here ! the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean ( i had a twin room with shared bath ). breakfast is somewhat on the sweet side, some cheese would be great ;-) anyway, definitely recommended !


Charming B&B

4,0 en junio 25, 2012

Lovely rooms and common spaces, including a library, conference room, and breakfast area, puts this B&B far ahead of others we've stayed at. Near many restaurants and stores. A great place to stay if you're in Evanston!


Comfortable & welcoming

4,6 en junio 20, 2012

What a unique and comfortable hotel! I had a wonderful stay. When making my reservation, Margarita Inn staff suggested that I use Horace's taxi service from the airport. I am so glad that I did; he is a very pleasant and courteous fellow. I arrived from the airport early in the morning and check in was not until the afternoon. However, I was invited to drop off my bags and to have a coffee & a morning snack in the parlor. I was able to hang out and use the wireless there while I waited until it was time to leave for my conference. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable and clean. The TV was an old one and the wireless connection was weak in my room but I was not using those much anyway. I would definitely stay here again.


Kathryn and staff were great

4,6 en mayo 29, 2012

The staff was so accomodating during our stay it was a pleasure to stay at the Margarita. Easily within walking distance of Northwestern where our daughter is a student. We had a great time at the Margarita and plan on returning.


Dorothy Parker Would Have Slept Here

4,4 en mayo 09, 2012

I stayed at this lovely in on April 12th on my way to a wedding in Indiana. As soon as I walked in I knew The Margarita European Inn was something special and very befitting of the name. Joan was at the front desk--she was so welcoming and friendly. A 20's and 30's vibe is apparent though out and I imagine this would have been the type of place that Dorothy Parker would have loved. When I returned to Chicago on April 15th, there was no question of where I would be staying and since returning to Minnesota I've told all my friends and family about my amazing experience.


Felt like Europe

4,2 en mayo 07, 2012

I stayed at the Inn in April, 2012. My room was a standard, shared bath, which is so reminscent of Inns in Europe. The facility was charming with it's antiques and oriental rugs. I particularly liked the eclectic decor---the result of years of evolution versus having a decorator who designs everything to match. The history if the Inn added particular interest for me as well. The staff was friendly and helpful in every way. The Inn is close to public transporation and to good restaurants. I would stay there again for sure.


great little get-a-way!

3,6 en abril 30, 2012

Breakfast was lacking. The free breakfast at most hotels can beat it hands down.


An Unexpected Treasure

4,6 en abril 21, 2012

I didnt think such a place as this still existed A wonderful caring atmosphere, more of a home than a hotel, with exceptional attention to service I wish there were more of this type of accommodation available for travellers


Weekend in Evanston

3,4 en abril 07, 2012

This is a nice BnB which is more like a hotel. Lot of history to the place. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Good place for a quite get away, close enough to the city if you want to take the train (few blocks from the station) but lots of restuarants and stores within walking distance.


We'll be back.

4,0 en marzo 31, 2012

After an exhausting period of web research looking for a base for 4 days of sightseeing in Chicago, I discovered the Margarita Inn. It sounded good, so I called and was lucky enough to reach Kathryn Weimer, its general manager. Her answers to my questions, enthusiasm for her inn, and generally soothing manner sealed the deal. One of our biggest concerns about making reservations with other Chicago area inns had been their stern cancellation policies. Kathryn assured us that should we hit a snow storm en route from Minneapolis, all we'd need to do is ask for her. The building is full of old world charm and history. Eating in the lounge each morning, we sometimes had unexpected interesting conversations with other guests. Access to rail service to Chicago was, as advertised, merely a 5 - 10 walk away, and parking was cheap and convenient. We picked an inexpensive room to save money and while small and nothing fancy, it was clean and comfortable. Finally, the workers at the desk were friendly and helpful. One in particular whom we'd asked for restaurant advice in Evanston announced "I'll tell you the best restaurants." When my wife asked "Do you mean the most expensive ones?" she replied, "No. The ones I'd take my parents to." We were charmed. Thank you, Kathryn, Corinne, and Heather. We will be back.


we had a wonderful and warm stay

4,0 en marzo 25, 2012

we had a very pleasant stay.Warm and friendly reception.Would recommend.


Nice alternative to impersonal hotels!

3,0 en febrero 24, 2012

This was an unexpectedly interesting alternative to the usual standard hotel, and very reasonably priced, conveniently located, and charming. The elevator is just like the one in "The King's Speech," complete with door and sliding gate! With one exception, the staff was very helpful and friendly. My only complaints--and these are very minor--were the lack of internet service in the room and the smell of the shampoo! And for a rustic place, the internet service problem led me to sit in the interesting sitting room areas, which was enjoyable in and of itself. The breakfast was very nice--continental, but I'd say more than continental, including hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, pastries...On the whole, I highly recommend it!


Great atmosphere and service

4,4 en enero 02, 2012

Vintage atmosphere, felt like stepping back into the 1920s. The service was amazing. The staff was helpful and friendly. Near the "L", the Metra, Chicago and Northwestern. My new go-to hotel


Absolutely Delightful!

4,8 en diciembre 02, 2011

My other half and I just stayed for three days at the Margarita European Inn. We thought we'd found a nice enough place to stay. The prices were so reasonable that we figured there would be some drawback to the place. Boy were we wrong. It's charming just to walk into the Inn and the more time you spend there the better it feels. We got a very large room for two (one king sized bed) and the price was less than we had been paying to stay in the same area in any of the chains that are so uninteresting. The room was charmingly, and simply, appointed. With a sofa and a chair, and good lighting, it was a lovely place to sit and read a book. I never had that feeling of "I have to get out of here" that I always have in the chains. Being in the Inn was a delightful part of being on vacation. The bathroom was large and inviting, too. The great room is so old world, large, and exquisite that you just feel great being you when you go in. Take a book when you go for the continental breakfast. We visit Evanston because friends are associated with Northwestern, but even if I didn't have a specific reason to be in Evanston I would seriously think of the Inn as a place to stay when visiting Chicago. The staff is marvelous. And do not miss the library! It's a stunning little surprise on the mezz between the 2nd and 3rd floor! We didn't eat in the Inn as we had engagements out, but friends nearby said everyone claims it's the best food in Evanston. This is, by the way, the only review I've ever written for an inn or hotel or B&B. I asked on leaving if we could write a review somewhere, because we liked the place so much, and the manager said, yes, we could write one here. I am so happy to do it, and you will be quite happy to stay at the Margarita.


Awesome

5 en noviembre 19, 2011

Quaint and charming! The Margarita is the perfect home-away-from-home in the impressive city of Evanston. Kathryn (Babycake's Mom) made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in, and she went the extra mile in providing maps and information for us to tour Evanston and Chicago by walking or riding the trains. The beautiful antique-filled parlor made breakfast really special and also provided a wonderful environment for just sitting and conversing. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The preservation of history at the Margarita is exceptional.


Touching history, with great service

4,0 en noviembre 16, 2011

There are so few places where one truly gets a sense of another time. From the authentic, friendly service like the careful attention to which room is the best match for which guest, this B&B provides both an inviting place to stay, with interesting antiques and decor throughout, and a sense of a time when proper "business women and girls" only stayed in a place just for them.


Meryl Streep and I ROCK!

5 en noviembre 04, 2011

What a delightful Europeon style inn with such a beguiling history! I stayed in a mini-suite that used to be the "House Mother's" room back in the Margarita Club Days. I definitely felt a connection to her, whoever she was, because I am an advocate for young women and speak on college campuses with my films about the risks & realities involved within the "hook up culture." If you want to know the history of The Margarita Club, "A refined home for business girls and women at moderate prices," Just ask the delightfully informative proprietress, Kathryn Weimer. She spun some good tales about the celebrities that have slept at her Inn. It was especially interesting to note that Meryl Streep had stayed there when her daughter was attending Northwestern University and that she had a preference for one of the "rockers" in the parlor. Of course, I couldn't resist having my picture taken in "The Meryl Streep Rocker." I also enjoyed the bygone era ambience of the vintage parlor where a lovely continental breakfast was served. It was easy to imagine that I was back in time; morning light barely skimming in through the windows, soft 1930's retro sounds playing, and a feeling that I was sipping my coffee in the company of all the bright young "spirits" of business women past & present.


Charm, Convenience and Comfort

4,0 en octubre 30, 2011

Start with the historic building and the charming parlor exuding old world civility and comfort. Move on to a location that features everything that matters within an easy walk, including transportation, entertainment, food and drink, shopping and Lake Michigan natural beauty. Finish with a staff that treats you like family, the part of the family that actually likes you. You really can't go wrong. Book it.


Like a boutique hotel

4,6 en octubre 28, 2011

I stay there for 2 week for business in a room with share bath. The service was outstanding and very helpful for a stranger in town. They provide me umbrella for raining day, Aspirin pills when I suffer pain, direction to wherever I supposed to go and even very useful dressing suggestions for the chili Soldier Stadium. The facilities (quite old but well maintained) provide a boutique experience Breakfast (very basic but I find it sufficient) in a European furnished room with Jazz at the buckhound, rob is provide for a convenient access to the clean share bath room, nice conference room and library same atmosphere and a roof garden mostly useful to smoker. It definitely be my first choice for my next visit.


Comfortable place and pleasant stay

3,6 en octubre 26, 2011

This is a well-maintained historical building (originally a residence), full of character in its public rooms (e.g., a lovely library). Guest rooms are smallish, but comfortable and clean, staff is very friendly and helpful---a great buy for the Chicago area, located in a nice part of Evanston.


A little piece of heaven

5 en octubre 19, 2011

I stayed at the Margarita European Inn for three nights and loved every minute! It was the perfect location in Evanstin, a minutes walk from excellent resturants and bars. The staff was so friendly an attentive, they gave great reccomendations and always had a smile. The parlor was such a noice place to spend my mornings and in the evening I read in the library. The breakfast spread each morning was just enough to tide me til lunch time. The perfect defintion of a bed and breakfast!


A great place to meet people

3,2 en octubre 12, 2011

The best part of my brief stay was meeting people at breakfast. With the clustering of chairs and furniture that feels like a well-appointed living room, it's easy to strike up conversations with strangers. I was rewarded each time. I'll be back!


When in Evanston will stay here if at all possible

4,2 en septiembre 19, 2011

This Inn is like a "home away from home". Kathryn, the manager, and the others at the front desk are so friendly and helpful! The parlor, study, and roof garden are great places to hang out. Why stay anywhere else when this inn has so much character and charm and is such a great value?


most comfortable silence and relaxing room: the grand parlor

4,6 en agosto 20, 2011

By entering the Margarita Inn you make a step into another, old and gone world - pictures original from 19th century as if you would be in Art Museum of Chicago, rooms, also charming toilets and bathrooms of 100 years ago, you feel everywhere welcome. But by discovering the Grand Parlor you think at first: impossible, unbelievable ! You are wrong, in a movie - but no ! it is all real - you can sit down in lot's of different corners, very comfortable old armchairs, rocking or not - here you feel like in a morning paradise, you never want to leave to. Starting the day in this phantastic breakfastroom with music from the twentieth, you have the best morning you can imagine. The most comfortable silence room I have ever seen. I will imagine every morning sitting in your rocking chair and enjoying the easyness of life. Best start of day ! PLEASE: Don't change !! This juwel HAS to remain, to last, to continue ! Besides - wonderful service by the heart and soul of all: Kathryn... Thank you for all --- I HAVE to come back.


Heavenly Haven

4,8 en agosto 18, 2011

I had the most amazing experience with this beautiful establishment from making the reservation to checking out! When I called, Kathryn answered and took the best care of me! I was coming in for my birthday. Back to my home town, So I didn't want a typical cold hotel! She arranged the best room for me ever! Room 415! 4 poster bed, charm charm charm! This place is like a walk back in time. My husband said it reminded him of the movie Somewhere in Time. I loved the old classic atmosphere at every turn. Form the library filled with books, the front room filled with antiques, to the classic elevator that made you feel like you were in the 30's! The bathrooms are all new and beautiful. So you have the old charm and the new comfort! Everything about this place was magical. I will go there again and again!


Wonderful Stay

4,6 en agosto 17, 2011

I loved the solid feel to the place and that I felt as though I was in a museum. I often can't sleep well in hotels, but I had a very restful stay here. Thank you Margarita Inn!


Wonderful and Unique

4,4 en agosto 15, 2011

This bed and breakfast combined class and friendliness. The staff was excellent.


A home in Chicago for those who prefer to avoid hotels

4,4 en agosto 03, 2011

Margarita, it's all the relaxation and enjoyment without the salt. This location is excellent for anyone wishing to avoid the hustle, keep within a 7 minute walk of the train, and have access to some terrific dining. Not enough can be said about the staff. They are simply charming. . .this is no franchise, or some cookie cutter inn; this is a home away from home. Breakfast is served in a lovely parlor whose tall east facing windows allow the sun to spill in everywhere. What a way to start the day. For dinner be sure to enjoy the restaurant downstairs. The food is nothing short of excellent, and again, the people tending will convince you that they genuinely care. At Margarita I found that good service and good attitude go hand in hand. Enjoy!


Home Away From Home

4,0 en julio 23, 2011

Personalized and courteous service from our arrival to our departure. Special thank you to Kathryn :) Much appreciation, Gail and Jaime


Beautiful, and a fantastic value

4,0 en julio 22, 2011

The common areas are gorgeous and my room was lovely. I was trying to save money. So I opted for a shared bath down the hall and didn't mind at all. The hot water for the shower was a problem. The continental breakfast was fine and the employees and owner were extremely nice. I loved the very European elevator! This was an incredibly good deal, especially for Evanston, and is well-located right near the "L". I would absolutely stay there again.


Not the best for seniors!

1,4 en julio 21, 2011

Many stairs to attain the lobby but without help with heavy suitcase on arrival. If you count on having WiFi don't stay there. Dust bunnies under the dresser in first room on third floor. Had to wait 15 minutes for hot water when taking a shower. Very small. Room on the second floor was bigger, cleaner and hot water was readily available. Overall, nice for the younger and tougher set, not the best for seniors!


Disillusion

2,6 en julio 19, 2011

Circuit breaker flipped 3 times, toilet stained,flush handle damaged, A/C is a portable unit with a water basket you need to empty yourself and could not cool room in the 90 temp; Sitting room is beautiful but unusable (no A/C). Breakfast very basic not the usual B&B treatment. You are better off in a Motel 6


Margarita European Inn- a place of Old World Charm and Elegance

4,6 en julio 09, 2011

As you see a few reviews on this site that are negative in nature- don't give them any credibility. After staying at the inn for 4 days, I can also say that those people who gave negative reviews are out of their minds! In all reality, the negative reviews came from the types of people who go to Starbucks and order the "triple pump, no foam, 1/4 soy 2/3 goat milk, with 43 sprinkles of cinnamon" on their drink- nothing will ever be good enough for them! For the rest of us, the Margarita European Inn is a veritable oasis where you can unwind and relax from the hectic and often chaotic world. From the moment you set foot into the lobby you really will feel like you were teleported back into (what I imagine) the 1930's to be. Old world elegance and charm, and literally the friendly staff you normally only dream about! As someone who has travelled the world, I cannot stress enough how amazing and kind the staff was at The Margarita European Inn. From the moment I called the inn over the phone to the moment I left, I was continually blown away by everyone I met- especially Kathryn who is the general manager. You should stay here just so that you can meet her and talk with her! Just like many of you who are most likely perusing this website and trying to decide whether or not to book a stay- I can confidently and unequivocally say you will fall in love with this quaint and charming inn. There is so much personality, history and service in this one building that you will never want to book a room at a major hotel again! Outside of the amazing accommodations, you can take the PACE bus directly from O'Hare to the front of the Inn- or the metra to evanston and then walk a few blocks to get here. This inn is also located very close to Northwestern University and the main shops of Evanston- so no excuses, book here now and discover a true gem of Evanston! N. Lee DC


A wonderful choice near NU and the Lake

4,4 en julio 05, 2011

We had a wonderful stay, the lounge was very restful, and the library was perfect! As we live relatively nearby, we certainly plan to come again, it was a nice restful stay in a great area.


When in Chicagoland, stay at the Margarita

3,8 en julio 01, 2011

We recently celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Margarita Inn. Much to my wife's chagrin, we stayed in a standard room on the 5th floor with shared bath. Excellent value for the dollar. Stepping into the Margarita is like stepping back to the early 20th century. And as they say, location, location, location. In contrast to the urban concrete jungle in downtown Chicago, the Margarita is on a very quiet tree lined street. Evanston has much to offer (bike paths, lakefront, dining, and neighborhood walks). And, just around the corner is the El, with easy access into the city. When in Chicagoland, I would always stay at the Margarita.


Amazing--They found us a room DURING graduation weekend

4,4 en junio 26, 2011

I booked a room through a travel website. Or at least I thought I did; I made a mistake with the month. So, when my teenage daughter and I showed up we really didn't have reservations until the FOLLOWING month. We had been traveling all day. We were tired and couldn't imagine getting back in the car let alone looking for other lodgings. (Evanston was booked solid for Northwestern's graduation, so we would have to drive to find something.) The staff was so gracious and amazingly found us a room! AND they didn't make me feel stupid about my mistake. We enjoyed our stay.


We could like here!

4,4 en junio 01, 2011

As nomads, we have slept in accomodations of all sorts. Margarita Inn was definitely among the most enjoyable and pleasant places we have slept in a long while. The bath robes were a special treat. The breakfast buffet offered great choices. The folks were welcoming and helpful. Yes, we could live here!


The best home away from home I ever stayed at.

5 en mayo 31, 2011

This is a warm, friendly place with great touches like the British style library and the old fashioned elevator. The parlor, continental breakfast and room furnishings are exquisite. The restaurant on the lower level is beyond excellent and well worth the price. The location enables a nice walking tour of Evanston which has most of Chicago's attractions and none of its hassles. A delightful experience.


Old World Elegance

4,0 en abril 28, 2011

Step back in time to a truly unique experience. Sunlit great room, quiet library, and antique furniture all give a comfortable but elegant atmosphere. The staff is responsive, willing to help with anything you might need. No hotel can compare.


Shabby Chic

3,4 en abril 18, 2011

A good deal for Evanston and a nice atmosphere. The carpet, linens and other things in the room could definitely use updating. I do not mind the European shared-bathroom style. I never even saw another person in the bathroom so it did not feel awkward at all. The continental breakfast goes along with the "European" theme, but as an American, I would've appreciated a few more hot dishes. Maybe I've been spoiled by the gourmet breakfasts I've had at other (much smaller) B&Bs.


Perfect harmony!

4,6 en abril 10, 2011

This Inn is in perfectly harmonious balance with a ladies' club of a hundred years ago; a fine Victorian presence in its quiet, clean and beautifully furnished public areas; rooms cleanly quiet for sleeping; and hosts that both honor privacy and are there with whatever might make one's stay as pleasant as possible: when asked the whereabouts of a concert the night we arrived, they emailed us a walker's map to the concert hall, and even offered to drive us to the hall, a mile from their door! Continental breakfast turned out to be baked offerings from their fine restaurant, and delightfully good coffee, trimmed with juices, hard boiled eggs... This place is now a family favorite: we have attended friends' son's wedding as well as an 80th birthday party in their main living room, and now take nearly for granted their friendly reception to their guests. Enjoy!! - Martin Buchman


Ok

2,2 en abril 10, 2011

Decent place for the price, beds are hard as a rock, rooms are warm, making it difficult to sleep at night. Wifii didn't always work. Staff very nice and is located in a very nice and safe area. Paking is $8 a day, cable or lack there of is crappy. Stay here for the price and ambience, not if you like all the amenities of a chain hotel


I love this place!!!!

4,2 en abril 09, 2011

Cozy, beautiful place. Community bathrooms Very clean and kept up. Everything in very good working condition. I love the European style rms. you cant beat the deal.


Comfortable visit

3,6 en abril 03, 2011

I stayed twice and my wife once while visiting our Northwestern U. student. The rooms are comfortable, not crowded, but without lots of space. The public restrooms and showers were fine, but could be cleaner. The breakfast and coffee bar are so homey and just the perfect retreat, in the huge sitting room with plenty of couches and chairs. This is a delightful part of the Inn. Close enough to the Davis stop for transportation, or almost any N.U. building, on foot. I recommend this as a budget inn with many comforts. I found this to be a quiet building, with just the ringing of the church bells on Sunday morning, about a block away.


Charm and Tradition

4,0 en febrero 21, 2011

Following a 22 year tour of duty in Europe I had the opportunity to stay in Evanston for several meetings in Chicago. I chose the Margaretta European Inn. I was not disappointed. Truely authentic from the buildng to the staff. Clearly a brilliant find and one of a kind. I would not stay any other place while on business in the Chicago area. Very well done to both Kathryn and Fiona. R. Moore CEO RBMA


Very disappointing.

2,0 en febrero 13, 2011

Disappointing. This B&B could be beautiful. But the accommodation is basic & expensive for what it is; the breakfast comprises the bare essentials only (cold croissants, packet oatmeal and a little cake) and the overall impresssion is that the owners do not want to spend one dime to make your visit memorable. So you leave, not feeling it was worth it and not wanting to return. G Hasler.


Wedding anniversary celebration

4,4 en enero 29, 2011

Celebrating our parents 65th wedding anniversary 5 siblings and Mom and Dad stayed at this lovely Inn. With it being winter we did not want to have to walk far and having excellent dining right downstairs was ideal. Also, the continental breakfast was delightful. We gathered for cocktails in the parlor prior to dinner and the Inn host started a fire and kept it tended and the bar staff was very attentive. When we checked in the desk clerk couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Parking was very convenient right behind the Inn. I would highly recommend the Margarita Inn.


Serenity and Class

5 en enero 28, 2011

Although my stay was only 24 hours I enjoyed every minute of the the lovely decor in an historic building with a staff that delivered impeccable service. It was a luxury to be able to have cocktails in the parlor and a delicous dinner on the premises without having to find transportation or deal with the frigid temperatures outdoors. We were even provided with a private hospitality room for family our to gather. It was refreshing to be away from the large chain hotels and receive personalized service in a quiet, relaxing atmosphere. I could easily make this my home away form home.


Xmas at the Margarita

4,6 en enero 15, 2011

Once again happy with our stay. The ambiance is so much better than the usual chains and the staff is always freindly & gracious


An elegant, comfortable home away from Home

4,0 en enero 09, 2011

The Marguarita was a delightful surprise. For a total of seven days at different times now, I have enjoyed both the grandeur of the main parlor, and the privacy of the smaller wood-paneled library. As a single woman traveler,I especially appreciate the friendly and extremely helpful On New Years morning, chairs were placed around the long library table in the parlor facilitating friendly, relaxed conversation between guests from four different states and South Africa. The Marguarita is a comfortable home away from home with personal attention rivaling that of a 5-star hotel.


Time Traveling can be so sweet

5 en noviembre 28, 2010

I am a traveing salesman and had the fortunate opportunity to stay at the Inn for 20 nights. The rooms were very comfortable and charming. I loved the decor that was from a time unkown to most. it was like being in a livable museuem. I loved it! Everymorning I would start my day in the parlour with a tasty pastry and coffee to die for. The place is very relaxing and not pretentious. I recomeend this for those who want to experience something different and memorable. There is a rooftop garden where you can see a beautiful Chicago skyline. Below, is the exquisite italian fine dining of Piensiero. Wonderful ambiance and excellent service. I felt as if I time traveled many decades back where things were slower and less stresful all the while getting my business done. They have wifi and access to a fax machine keeping me in contact with the crazy world of today. The real jewel of Evanston though is the hotel manager, Catherine. She was so helpful, graceful, gracious, caring...I just loved her and felt that the city actually should have her on their payrole because she added value to it. Please enoy a night or two there and find yourself time traveling.


Be warned!

1,6 en noviembre 16, 2010

Unless you spring for a private bathroom, you will be sharing a communal "dorm-style" bathroom on each floor. That is not made clear in the inn’s literature. Beware -- Women's is on the fourth floor, Men's on the third. Meaning, if you are single woman and you get a room on the third floor, and need to pee in the night, you have to go down the hall, up the stairs, and down the hall to get to the bathroom. Or, you could do what I did and use a paper cup in your room. Once you get to the bathroom, the hot and cold faucets in the sink run separately, so you have to mix your water in your cupped hand. The faucets are quite old and spring-loaded, so they don't stay on when you take your hand off them. It is challenging to mix hot and cold in your palm under these exigencies. There was hair pooled in the sink trap which was not cleaned out during my two-night stay. The shower water pressure was very low. The room carpeting was nasty -- make sure you bring slippers. The ceiling fan clattered. It appeared not to have been dusted in quite a long time. The rooms are heated with ancient radiators and were hotter than the blazes. To “adjust” the heat, you are instructed to turn the radiator off and open the window. The Continental breakfast was very disappointing. The pastries were store-bought and stale. Instant oatmeal in packets -- banana or apple-flavored, and no plain. At least there were cold hardboiled eggs for some protein. If you're planning on staying on a Friday night, be warned that garbage trucks come roaring and clanging down the street at around 7:30 a.m. on Saturday morning, and for some reason they need to go back and forth under the windows, beeping the whole time. So bring earplugs. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the lobby and living room have a great deal of charm. But once you get in your room, it feels like a prison. The accommodations are sub-par.


nice inn

3,0 en noviembre 09, 2010

an inn with tons of character. mattress was a bit old, but on the whole a good place.


Like WOW!

4,8 en noviembre 08, 2010

The elegance of yesteryear pervades this once genteel but not shabby hostel.I've travelled the world but have never found a more welcoming homelike atmosphere characterized by sincere warmth and vintage splendor.The location for anyone visiting ChicagoLand and\or the North shore is unrivaled in terms of access to public transit and the timeless local charm of Evanston,a quaint and opulent old college town immediately adjacent to America's vibrant Second City.Factoring in the above with very reasonable rates yields what may well be one of the great bargains to be found by those sojourning in the Midwest. As icing on an already luscious cake,the cellar of the Margarita boasts a world-class restaurant, Va Pensiero,offering astonishingly delicious dishes with an unmistakable Italian accent. To make everything perfect is the gorgeous nightclerk,Corinne,whose deep luminous eyes,classic beauty,and unique Mona Lisa smile utterly captivated this wistful romantic. When visiting Chicagoland,this is unreservedly the place to stay on any budget.


Hidden Treasure

5 en octubre 19, 2010

My visit to the wonderful city of Chicago was made so pleasant by my stay at the Margarita! I was visiting my son, a student at Loyola who was running the Chicago Marathon. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with all my questions. The room was very comfortable and even the shared bath provided ample privacy. The building had such old world charm, a phrase oft used, but seldom so applicable. Transportation into Chicago was easy with the el and buses, and I even walked down the lakefront from Evanston to Loyola on a beautiful October afternoon. Evanston has a vibrant college town atmosphere, the public library is wonderful and close by, and while downtown Chicago is 30 minutes away by el, there are plenty of restaurants and cultural, including a great movie theater and bookstores nearby the Inn. I am defintely coming back and would recommend the Inn to all travelers who enjoy the more sophisticated, less commercial experience.


Underwhelming

4,0 en octubre 17, 2010

Visited in October, 2010. Old, old, old fixtures and furniture. No cable, no wifi. Rugs over old carpet. Dust near floorboards. Lots of stairs to climb, or enter antique elevator. Watch your step out of elevator on floor 3! Hair dryer or iron – must ask for one. Entry oriental rugs on steps need updating. Not recommended.


Nice...would stay again

4,2 en octubre 14, 2010

We stayed 3 nights and was very pleased. We did not get the chance to use the dining area but the rest was all anyone could want. Service is great !


Convenient to Chicago & Evanston & full of charm!

4,8 en octubre 11, 2010

All the hotels in Chicago were booked last weekend due to the Marathon. Consequently, we searched for a place to stay outside of the city and found the perfect place. Two blocks from the subway (a 20 minute ride to Chicago) and 4 blocks from downtown Evanston made this B&B an ideal location. The manager Kathryn was so friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating that I assumed she must be one of the owners; If I had a company, I would want someone like Kathryn to manage it. You will like Kathryn the first time you speak to her on the phone. The Inn & the people running the Inn are full of charm. The rooms are very clean, the sheets are clean and good quality. Some of the rooms have private baths; our room did not. We shared our bathroom and it was actually kind of fun. There are so many nice restaurants, cafes, & bookstores walking distance from the Inn. However, one evening we were tired and opted to eat at the Pensiero Italian Restaurant located inside the inn. Excellent choice for Italian food and superb service! Most of the patrons were locals and each evening the restaurant was packed. Try the scallops! One evening our son had his dinner in the bar and ordered pizza & beer, so you can see there are many options without ever leaving the premises. The Inn's breakfast was continental style; sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, muffins, toast, bagels, etc Breakfast is served in a beautiful parlor room complete with baby grand piano. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Chicago or Evanston.


Kellogg Candidate Mom on a budget

4,6 en octubre 09, 2010

My daughter attends Kellogg and I was invited to stay at her studio apt in Evanston this summber (2010) while she was away. Upon her return to Evanston, wanting to spend a few days with her and realizing not enough space in her unit for all of us (including her fiance) (and also on a budget) I booked a room at the Margarita Inn which was just 3 blocks away. Since I had such a pleasant experience I'd like to share: First person one sees at the reception desk upon entering is Kathryn who welcomes you, assures you that your stay will be fine (my first time in a B&B) and is just outright delightful. I spent 5 nights there--enjoyed their large formal Victorian salon (like an oversized living room) while using my computer and reading newspapers at breakfast. Another plus is their close proximity to the YMCA (next block) where I worked out. You won't find sleek modern furnishings in your bedroom; but the bed was extremely comfortable, had TV and air conditioning and sparkling clean bathrobe and towels. I thought what I received in accommodations and the personality of the place was well worth the conservative price of the room and will definitely stay again--


Just what we were looking for!

4,2 en octubre 08, 2010

Our stay at the Margarita Inn was delightful. Very close to everything, good parking and the front desk is staffed by wonderful people. The building is very interesting and there is plenty to explore. We will stay again soon, we want to try the restaurant, the menu looked great!


Found by Accident; Will Return on Purpose

4,2 en septiembre 20, 2010

A random search online of hotels near Lincoln Square is how we found the Margarita Club. What a find. From the moment we walked in, we knew we were in store for a treat. Warm hospitality, unique furnishings and decor, old world charm. Comfortable, affordable, attractive, close, and inviting. We'll be back. - J and D, Bloomington, IL


My New Home Away From Home

4,0 en septiembre 10, 2010

My name is Cheryl Lorraine Brownand I spent two FANTASTIC days at the Margarita European Inn. I was having some work done at my home and needed to escape the noise and the mess. I was immediately made to feel like family, right down to the gourmet cookies before turning in at night, everything was perfect. I have told my friends, family and co-workers about the Margarita. They couldn't believe such a treasure is right here in our hometown. I loved every minute I spent there and will certainly return in the future.


Lovely Inn & Outstanding Customer Service

4,6 en septiembre 07, 2010

I had been planning a reunion with some college friends for quite some time, but waited until the last minute to book our hotel. When I started calling around, I discovered that every other hotel in the Chicago area was booked solid (which I later found out was due to the filming of Transformers downtown in mid-July). I inquired at the Margarita European Inn and they had one room available, but it wasn't big enough for our party of 4. The desk woman was so helpful that she took down my information and said she would call if a larger room opened up. And sure enough, they called me at 9:30 pm the night before my departure for the city to let me know that they had a room for us. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the Inn when we arrived. My friends and I have traveled throughout Europe and this was one of the nicest places we've ever stayed - it had plenty of old-world charm and was full of fascinating decor. Our mini suite was pleasantly furnished, just big enough, and had the modern convenience of a brand new air conditioner that was much appreciated. The breakfast provided every morning was delicious and included croissants, pastries, oatmeal, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, and juice. It was replenished as necessary throughout the morning so none of us left hungry. Overall, we had a delightful stay at the Margarita European Inn and I will not hesitate to recommend it to my friends and family. I will certainly be back and hope the next time that it is with my husband for a relaxing weekend getaway!


A Pleasant Stay in a Pleasant Town

3,2 en agosto 12, 2010

The Margarita European Inn is located on a quiet side street in Evanston. It is within easy walking distance of Northwestern University and easy driving distance of northside Chicago. The staff is friendly and unfailingly helpful. My only negative criticism concerns the second b in b and b. Juice, coffee, sweet rolls, instant oatmeal, and hard boiled eggs provide adequate nutrition, but most motels today offer as much, if not more. Would I stay there again? Most definitely.


Old-World Warmth & Charm

4,4 en agosto 11, 2010

I felt so welcome from the reservation call to check out. My room as comfortable, quiet and meticulously clean. Breakfast in the Grand Parlor made me lose all ambition for the day, although the desk staff were more than helpful in providing information to get out & around Chicago. We plan to make the Margarita "our place" to stay in Chicago.


Great!

4,0 en agosto 11, 2010

We had a great time in Evanston,at the Margarita Inn. The Hotel has it`s charm and we would love t come back some day! Thanks for really good service! ;) Greatings from the Sweeds and The Norwegian


Inn a Pinch?

5 en agosto 10, 2010

My wife Laurie and I arrived in Evanston at 8:30 PM on our tandem bicycle looking for a place to stay. We had traveled 85 miles from Milwaukee and were wiped out to say the least. When we arrived they were all hotels were booked and we were stuck in the dark literally. A guide book we carry had the Margarita listed so we gave them a call. ONE room left and at a much more reasonable rate than the chain hotels too. Now all we had to do was find it in the dark on our bike. The woman at the Margarita's desk was very gracious in accepting our continuous calls telling her where we were and giving us further directions. When we arrived she fed us cookies and helped us take care of our bicycle so we could shower and get some dinner. Wow, what a relief. The accommodations were exquisite but exploring them would have to wait until morning as we needed sleep. The morning brought a fresh outlook and Katherine was there at the desk to make sure our day started out properly. She spent the time on the internet finding a route to the bicycle path along the lake. She even printed the directions and offered to print the map for us. Breakfast was awesome and it even carried us all the way to dinner later on which says a lot for 2 insatiable appetites. To wrap up the great experience the Margarita provided; we realized that I left my cycling helmet on the front porch when we were 10 miles out of town. We called Katherine and asked her to look for it. When she found it she offered to have it shipped to our home in NY. What a life saver. I hated to ride without it but our trip around Lake Michigan (1000 miles) was coming to an end that day at our car in Gary, Indiana so I risked it. I found my trusty helmet waiting for me when I arrived home. We will definitely use the Margarita as a "home" base next time we visit the Chicago area. We would highly recommend it to anyone traveling through the area. Roy Dando


Wonderful bed and breakfast

4,4 en agosto 06, 2010

We truly enjoyed our three night stay in your charming bed and breakfast. It is so well located for everything we did while in the Chicago area. We plan on staying with you on all of our next trips to Chicago. The staff was excellent!! So very helpful and accommodating to our needs. Thank you again for a wonderful stay. William and Paula


Charming with it's own sense of style.

3,8 en julio 31, 2010

I have to start out by saying that I am a very nostalgic person. I don't like sleek, modern, or a cold contemporary feel. That being said, the Margarita made me immediately feel at home. Old world charm with quirky details made this place a winner for me. This is not to say that I am not spoiled. It took me a little while to get over having to go down the hall to use the facilities (I did not book a room with a private bath, opting for adventure!) but once I got over myself, I had a great time. The room was just big enough, the temperature nice and cool (I slept with the air on) and the television clear. The best surprise about my adventure, however, was the AMAZING fare that the Italian restaurant downstairs presented. Saying that they present five-star food is an understatement...the service was impeccable, the meal divine. Ooh...the hotel also provided a fabulous driver service to and from the airport. Highly recommended (ask for Horace!) I shall return!


Great Location, great getaway

4,0 en julio 28, 2010

From the tree-lined street, to the formal parlor, to the old-fashioned elevator, to the very comfortable "king suite", to the rooftop patio, the Margarita had everything needed for a relaxing weekend. Add to everything, the Margarita is a block for bot a L-station and a comuter train station. We were able to take a rocket run down to the Loop for $5.00 round-trip.


Stepping back in time

4,2 en julio 23, 2010

The Inn is like stepping into a movie set. Every piece of furniture and decoration fits the period and there is a feeling of warmth. THe public areas are the most interesting of any hotel that I have seen. The rooms are of average size but comfortabel and clean. The bathroom/shower is more modern but still stylish and well lit. All in all staying there was an enjoyable experience.


A Special Inn in Evanston !

4,0 en julio 22, 2010

I was so very impressed with many aspects of the Margarita Inn. The building is really lovely and the grand parlor where people meet to eat breakfast is very special. The location is excellent and it is an easy walk to restaurants and to Lake Michigan. What impressed me most of all was Kathryn, the manager who from the first time I called to make a reservation was so very pleasant and enthusiastic and efficient and everything I like in a manager of a bed and breakfast. She goes out of her way to please, and she is so appreciated for that ! She has a wonderful sense of humor and the whole atmosphere at the Margarita is happy and lively because of her presence. She has fortunately for all who visit been at the Margarita for 10 years and it shows. ! She is so knowledgeable about the whole area and goes out of her way to find the answer to any question that is asked her. I know that I will be eager to return to the Inn just to see Kathryn again ! The wonderful Italian restaurant that is below the Inn just reopened and though I did not get to eat there, some customers told me that it was marvelous. Anyone who stays at the Inn should be very pleased. Annette Hrkel


Parents One Night Getaway

4,2 en julio 20, 2010

My husband and I live in the far North side of Chicago and love to visit and dine in Evanston. We stayed for one night in this hotel as an "escape" from our busy life with work and four kids. We got exactly what we hoped for - a nice, relaxation evening in a very cozy and welcoming environment. We will definately stay in this hotel again.


Our favorite home away from home!

4,6 en julio 19, 2010

We started staying at the Margarita European Inn 6 years ago when our son began studying music at Northwestern. We always choose to stay there now when in the Chicago vicinity. Evanston is a favorite place because we have fond memories there amongst which includes being greeted by Kathryn each time we arrive at the Margarita. She is wonderful and makes our stay personal yet professional. It was several years before we found out she wasn't the owner because every attention to detail she gave had us convinced only the proprietress would treat us with such warmth & genuine interest.


Highly recommend

4,6 en julio 18, 2010

My last trip to Chicago was a great experience due in large part to my stay at The Margarita European Inn. It is within walking distance of the beach, and the L train. The Inn is elegant while at the same time it felt comfortable enough for me to sit in one of the reading rooms or the open parlor, with a good book for an afternoon. The staff was friendly, warm, and professional. The staff took the time to make sure that all my needs were met. The staff was extremely helpful with their knowledge of downtown Chicago and it's transit system. Being from out of town, I liked that! The food at Va Pensiero (located in the Inn)was simply outstanding! The pasta and vegetables I had was perfectly al dente. The vegetables were very fresh and flavorful and the sauce was a nice compliment without taking over the dish. Finally a chef who know how to achieve balance with garlic! The reasonable price is what drew me to The Margarita European Inn, and my enjoyable stay is what will take me there again.


Local and Lovely!

4,4 en julio 16, 2010

The staff of Margarita Inn, especially Kathryn, helped make my extended trip to Evanston comfortable and enjoyable. Its proximity to downtown Evanston and affordable, well-cared-for facilities provided for a positive and productive research trip.


the best damn value in Chicagoland - period

4,4 en julio 14, 2010

Firstly please allow me to explain my "rating" for dining - the acclaimed Va Pensiero on the ground floor of the Margarita Inn closed abruptly on Easter 2010 with no warning to anyone. It is currently being readied for a reopening, so there was no dining at this facility during our visit. Evanston is a charming community 12 miles north of Chicago's "Loop" and the Inn has easy access to ALL public transportation ... less than two blocks away. As the home to Northwestern University, food at all price points is readily available and in easy distance. The Margarita staff was exemplary and everyone took a genuine interest in seeing that our needs were met. Every morning's continental breakfast served in the grand parlour was fresh and welcome in its elegant simplicity. The signature coffee was one of the finest I've had the pleasure of having. For travelers weary of dealing with corporate blandness, this gem deserves a look! They will be our Chicago "home" for the foreseeable future. cordially, J. Graber OH


A place to make a memory!

4,8 en julio 09, 2010

This is an Inn to experience, not just a place to stay. This has been our third visit and we plan for many more. The rooms are very comfortable, but even more there is a lovely grand sitting room and a cozy library for relaxing. The Margarita is walking distance from the lake and restaurants that allow you to feel you are in Italy one day and Spain the next. We have recommended to all our friends and we recommend it to you! We have traveled to many places including Europe and this is a favorite! Johnny and Sandy Howard, Sheffield AL


Northwestern Graduation

4,6 en junio 23, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed for the weekend when our daughter graduated from Northwestern and we had rooms for our parents also, so a total of 3 rooms, each with a private bath. We all enjoyed ourselves greatly. The beautiful parlor offered us the perfect space to have a champagne toast! And the breakfast in this beautiful, sunny room each morning is just a delight. I can't say enough about Kathryn and all the staff at the Margarita European Inn, they make the experience so personal you feel right at home. If you like a bit of a step back in time stay here, you will enjoy the architecture, history, food and warm hospitality.


Great value in a homey setting.

4,0 en junio 13, 2010

I had read all the reviews, so knew what to expect with a small double room w/shared bath. But the charm, history, and uniqueness coupled with outstanding value made it an excellent choice. Evanston is a little gem of a town, felt very safe, close to public transport in to Chicago, and has a nice beach! Who knew? The Inn is a delightful 15 minute walk along tree-lined streets with historic homes to the lakefront and it's walking/bike trail and park. I was able to drive to Lincoln Park on a weekend in about 25 minutes. All in all, for what I paid, I would do it again next time I need to go to Chicago. And Katherine at the front desk was extremely helpful and continent breakfast in the lovely parlor was very relaxing. Try the Cajun Chicken Pasta at the Dixie Kitchen, yum......


Wonderful family reunion

4,6 en junio 06, 2010

My family from Bend, OR, my son from Miami, and I stayed at the Inn for a grand reunion. The accommodations and service were excellent. We love the Margarita Inn and return on an annual basis. Special thanks to Kathyrn at the front desk for her guidance and loving support. We highly recommend this establishment and consider it our second home in Evanston. Rob Glueckauf, Ph.D. Tallahassee, FL


A Little Piece of Heaven

4,6 en mayo 10, 2010

Out of the ordinary with its quaint Old World charm, the Margarita is our favorite place to stay when in Evanston to visit our daughter at Northwestern University. The staff makes our stay comfortable and enjoyable. While I wish there was something more substantial than a Continental Breakfast in the morning, that is even better than most chain accommodations have to offer. Take a room with a private bath if sharing one European style does not appeal to you. We have found it to be not problem when we've "shared". Nice restaurant downstairs for fine dining in the evening. E from Wisconsin


Margarita European Inn is ideal

4,2 en abril 17, 2010

This was a perfect place, unique, clean and comfortable. The service was ideal, breakfast fulfilling. With construction next door noise was to be expected but if you are up early the coffee is excellent, and a terrific bakery is just a block away. We will return to the Margarita Inn as it is good value, great location and a fun place to discover. Margarita Inn is like the setting of a novel from by gone days, yet it offers great comfort and all modern conveniences.


Definite Destination

4,4 en abril 12, 2010

My family recently stayed at the Margarita while we attended a family wedding. We were unfamiliar with the area and everyone at the front desk went out of their way to recommend places for us to eat and/or visit. They paid special attention to our two kids and helped us get information about various local attractions. Additionally they got us information about the busses and trains. We will definitely make the Margarita our "base camp" when we come to visit the Chicago area.


shopworn elegance

4,8 en febrero 11, 2010

we love staying at the margarita inn and have made it our destination base for many years, when traveling in and around chicago. the history of the inn is delightful and unique. rooms are cozy and sweet with warm touches. breakfast in the sitting room is relaxed with swing tunes on the radio and lots of newspapers to peruse. services are prompt; keys are old-fashioned; there's a real library; and more! a wonderful restaurant on the premises as well - Va Pensiero-not affiliated with the inn but not to be missed!


Had a great weekend in Evanston

4,8 en febrero 09, 2010

We stayed at the Margarita European Inn for a friend's surprise 50th birthday party. The owner was extremely accommodating, allowing us to add 2 guests to our 2-room suite, making sure we had enough towels, adjusting checkout to help late-rising college students and making sure we all got breakfast before she closed it down. She even allowed us to host an after-party at the Inn's fifth-floor library at no extra cost. The surprise party was held in the Grand Parlor of the Inn, which was elegant and cozy with antique furniture and a blazing fireplace. The food for the party was provided by Va Pensiero, the restaurant occupying the lower portion of the Inn. It was exquisite! I would highly recommend the Margarita European Inn to anyone who plans to visit Evanston, Ill.!


what treat!

4,2 en febrero 07, 2010

I have had the pleasure of this Inn several times in the past and most recently with my daughter. The great benefits include proximity to public transportation, a short walk to the lake front and the variety of local cafes all in a residential neighborhood which feels relaxed, friendly and safe. This is always my first choice when visiting Chicago. I feel welcomed and have truly enjoyed every room. Kathryn Weimer and her supporting staff are more than helpful. For example, after walking a long, chilly afternoon, we were met with hot coffee. We will return!


A wonderful memorable stay

4,2 en enero 25, 2010

I loved the hospitality room next to the lobby with the fireplace and the piano -- and it the music was wonderful. The breakfast was great and simply elegant. The room was nice and the service was excellent! It was so charming -- everything that we loved in a hotel. Thank you!


Great value, cozy inn, best place to stay in Evanston

4,8 en enero 24, 2010

We stayed in a shared-bath room and weren't quite sure what to expect, but it was such a great rate that we couldn't pass it up. I'm happy to say that we loved the experience. The bathrooms were superbly clean and were stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and bath gel in dispensers. Not having our own bathroom wasn't at all inconvenient, and we never had to wait for the shower. We loved the Margarita, and we can't wait to stay there again.


Warm and comfortable

3,4 en enero 15, 2010

Not a “cutesy” B&B, the Margarita is more of an old-school traveler's hotel with nicely preserved period furnishings and fixtures. It was a warm change of pace from where I usually stay on business trips. The room was comfortable, and the surroundings of antique wood actually felt much more homey than the usual hotel or interstate motel. Service at breakfast was pleasant and unobtrusive; the food was a better-than-average Continental breakfast. I think I met the owner or manager during check-out, and she was very genuinely interested in me and my travels. I chose to stay in one of the shared bathroom accommodations, as I don't mind that arrangement. The shared bathroom was perfectly, cleanly maintained, and I actually never encountered another guest. Definitely be aware if you book that you also have the choice of a room with private bath, if you are not comfortable with the shared bath arrangement.


Christmas Visit

4,6 en diciembre 28, 2009

A very nice place to spend the weekend, great friendly service with a great Evanston location.


My days at the Margarita

4,4 en diciembre 28, 2009

Always a quite relaxing atmosphere. The staff from Kathryn at the desk to the cleaning people are all freindly and efficient. Feel like they are all glad to see us.


Margarita European Inn, Evanston IL

4,2 en diciembre 06, 2009

The Inn caters to both people who must have private bathrooms and to budget travelers like me. The elegant, spacious salon and the cosy library are delightful. There is even a bus from O'Hare's Kiss 'n Fly - #250 - which goes along Oak Avenue before reaching Davis Station. Chicago is an easy express train away. Bus #213 from Davis Station takes you 14 miles further north to the Chicago Botanical Garden - well worth the trip. Evanston has lots of good restaurants including a great tapas bar; the trains, the restaurants and the University of Illinois are all within easy walking distance. I liked being on the top floor of the Margarita Inn and next time I come to Chicago will request the same room again. The room was pretty - just like on their website - and I didn't mind not having a wash-hand basin. I'm sure the more affluent travelers will have all the usual commodities in their rooms. Staff couldn't be friendlier. Enid, Houston, born Scotland.


Caveats

3,8 en noviembre 28, 2009

Overall a perfectly pleasant place to stay, and for the location a great value. But could not rate 5 because of the $5 "energy surcharge" not included in the quoted rate. It's not a lot, but this sort of deceptive practice leaves a bad taste. Also, no computer/printer for boarding passes etc, which seems pretty much mandatory these days.


Very Warm and Comfortable

4,0 en noviembre 27, 2009

The hosts were very accommodating, and the room was better furnished than I expected. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the atmosphere was relaxing. The furniture and hallways reminded me of walking into a very nice, well established home, and, most importantly to me, the neighborhood and Inn were quiet at night so I could get some sleep. If you are a person who is more impressed by the newest, big television, you might want to stay somewhere else. Otherwise, I would highly suggest definitely staying here instead!


Overall, a nice place, but

2,8 en noviembre 25, 2009

This is a fine place for the price. My room was exceedingly warm and the desk clerk said nothing could be done about it but to open my windows which I did but it made for an uncomfortable night of sleep. The TV was difficult to watch without looking at it through the bed frame at the end of the bed.


A wonderful experience - now my "go-to" place for Chicago.

3,8 en noviembre 02, 2009

I took a chance on this hotel and chose it over staying at the Hotel Orrington. If you like staying at cozy, one-of-a-kind places, this is your dream come true! The room was lovely, warm, and inviting. The common areas were just as intimate and friendly. As a trained pianist, I GREATLY appreciated that there was a baby grand in the parlor. (Definitely a main factor for me to return!) I loved the library and spent some wonderful hours there reading, writing, and thinking.


Will stay again

3,8 en noviembre 02, 2009

After a glitch with hotels.com, Katherine found us a room...she was very accommodating. Less accommodating was a night clerk, but upon my complaint the next morning, the inn was very apologetic. Service other than that was outstanding. Charming hotel, close to Chicago, transportation and restaurants. I plan to stay there whenever I'm visiting my two Northwestern U. students.


My regular inn

4,6 en noviembre 02, 2009

I always stay at the Margarita when I visit Chicago. Much more charming than any Hilton, close to restaurants and public transportation.


Wonderful and reasonable

4,8 en octubre 29, 2009

We stayed two nights at the inn. The room was very nice and very comfortable. The service was very good. The inn is convenient to public transportation and a number of shops. I highly recommend the Margarita Inn and will return some day.


Margarita Inn

4,6 en octubre 24, 2009

Spent a weekend (2 nights) in Evanston in early October. Great place to stay and great location. Very comfortable lounge area. Room was old and "quaint", but all we wanted or needed. Restaurant in the place is very good and worth a visit for dinner. Service was nice.


It's a treat

4,0 en octubre 19, 2009

As new Northwestern parents, we wanted a place to feel at home while helping our son move into the school. This will now be our regular place to stay. The rooms are lovely, Katherine, the hostess, is a gem, and when we had a problem with the shower, someone was there right away to fix it. The breakfast is okay, not fabulous, but other than that, we enjoyed it thoroughly.


Margarita European Inn --Great Valuel

3,6 en octubre 11, 2009

The Margarita European Inn was a delightful old hotel with an old world ambience. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Joan and Margaret at the front desk. The breakfast was very delicious, with wonderful pastries and excellent coffee. Very good location for walking or shopping. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Chicago and Evanston areas.


B&B with hotel location and convenience

3,6 en septiembre 25, 2009

We really enjoyed staying where we could walk to or take public transportation to anything we wanted to see while visiting our old place of residence. The "continental breakfast" was very good. H&M Adams, Maine


Fabulous find

4,2 en septiembre 18, 2009

The Margarita Inn is an oasis of calm for busy visiting Northwestern parents. Their European style rooms make weekend visits affordable and convenient. Hostess - Katherine is a gem. Be sure to get aquainted, she is accommodating and cordial to a degree you will be hard pressed to find anywhere. I look forward to my daughter's four years at NU knowing I'll be able to utilize my new "home away from home"


Very charming b&b

4,4 en septiembre 16, 2009

This b&b was very charming. It was very convenient to for a short walk to the "L' train and the hosts very very helpful and accommodating. We thought the rooms were a bit small, but they served our needs. It is located on a quiet street, but you were close to many restaurants.


Greaaaaat Stay

3,4 en septiembre 11, 2009

Stayed here in July to attend a wedding. Returned from wedding after midnight, air conditioner was inoperative, called room service after some discussion was given another room. Was told the next morning a fuse blew out. The restaurant Va Peniesro was outstanding in fact it exceeded my expectations in both service and food. I was told it was expensive which I didn't find to be true.


My stay at the Margarita European Inn

4,8 en septiembre 06, 2009

My stay at this unique was unlike any other hotel. When I walked into this restored hotel I instantly had a feeling of warmthness and comfort. I was excellently greeted at the front desk. The room was so wonderful. My whole time sleeping was like sleeping in a vast sea of comfort. They had a wonderful breakfast filled with baked goods. The staff was probably the best part of this whole stay! They keep the hotel very clean and fresh. They also had a wonderful lobby area were you could sit with family and have a nice breakfast and conversation. I would definitely recommend this astonishing hotel!


A Small Gem

4,2 en agosto 23, 2009

What a lovely inn - so close to the trains and walking distance around Evanston. The service is friendly and very helpful. It reminded us of many stays throughout Europe. It is aptly named.


Extraordinary charm and value

4,8 en agosto 23, 2009

The history of this building alone is worth a stay here. But additionally, the continental breakfast is one of the best I've ever seen in the U.S. and the coffee is definitely the best. If you like strong coffee, stay here! The staff is extraordinarily helpful with any question you may have. The rooms are small but clean and inviting. Great location to explore Evanston and downtown Chicago.


What an unexpected treat

4,4 en agosto 16, 2009

My wife and I are 72, have lived abroad for prolonged periods and have done a lot of traveling on the cheap, which means shared baths are no mystery. But the Margarita is in a class by itself. It certainly has a European flair, but it was more like stepping into a “Way Back” machine and finding ourselves transported to the 1930s (give or take a decade). It was wonderful, as long as you don’t spend a lot of time in your room. With the Margarita, this is the last place to be. There is a very large and sunny parlor with 14-foot high ceilings, a grand piano, fireplace and lots of early American and European decorations. Nearby is a classic, snug library that would have suited any whaler captain during long New England winters. The desk staff is very helpful. The two women we dealt with looked as if they had been hired after an audition to see who best matched the ambience of the place. One unusual aspect of this hotel: It draws patrons between ages 20-35 and 60-80. We’ve never seen such a happily incongruous mix. We could have stayed in one of the Margarita’s 22 rooms with bath (which, from what we could tell, were several notches nicer than ours). Since we didn’t, it’s worth noting that our room, which was farthest from the bathrooms, was 18 and 12 paces from the men’s and women’s facilities. Not a problem, especially since the Margarita supplies very nice bathrobes. We thought our share-the-bath double was a real bargain at $79 per night, plus taxes and energy surcharge. This brought the price to $94.67. Add $6 for parking and the final tally was a very reasonable $101.67, including breakfast. Minor, but nice touches: The hallways were wide with ceilings high enough to avoid that “rat-corridor” feeling that goes with many newer hotels. And a real effort has been made to decorate the halls, especially with paintings of the pre-impressionist French style and framed photos and newspaper articles from the days when the Margarita was a home for working girls.


Please clone this place!

4,6 en agosto 09, 2009

How I wish there were a Margarita in San Francisco, New York, and Washington D.C.! When we recently stayed at the Margarita for several days for a family wedding, we were so grateful for the hospitality of the staff, who went out of their way to accomodate our every need, and even our every whim! The elegant yet comfortable grand parlor was the perfect place, not only for the daily complimentary breakfast, but for afternoon tea or wine, with our many relatives, with the breezes from the treelined streets wafting through the large parlor doors, over and through our conversations. Any scholar would enjoy this place, with its awesome library for individual repose or study. And any frugal person would so enjoy the rates for the rooms without the private baths. The only slight, very small, criticism is that by late Saturday morning, the hot water wasn't as hot as it might have been. I would recommend this place to all but the most fussy, but I don't want them to stay with me anyway.


My sister's wedding!

4,4 en agosto 09, 2009

My sister hosted her wedding at the Margarita Inn! Every one from the bride's side had to travel and most stayed at the Margarita Inn. The reception was wonderful and the food was great. The service at the front desk was helpful and friendly. It was amazing all that they did to make this a home away from home for a very meaningful family event. Great find!


A great weekend trip from Wisconsin

5 en agosto 03, 2009

We came in by Metra from Wisconsin, walked from the Metra line to the Margarita Inn (a small inn, or bed and breakfast). . Saturday morning Hit the red line el, a few blocks away. Took the red line to Belmont for cinnamon rolls at Ann Sathers. Then the red line downtown (exit at Lake). Red line to Chinatown. Red line North/Clyborn stop for sangria swirls at Uncle Julios and CB2 Red line to Belmost stop for Halsted Market Days. At Belmont el stop, took the BROWN line for an elevated ride around downtown Chicago. Sunday, walked to the Celtic Knot for an Irish breakfast . Shopping at Pier 1, Borders, Uncle Dan's, Urban Outfitters, Whole Foods. The Margarita Inn is a restored bed and breakfast in downtown Evanston, charming and affordable. There is also parking available, but for us, it was much easier for my husband and I to take the Metra in from Wisconsin (Kenosha) and walk the two blocks to the Margarita Inn. We plan to come back with other Wisconsin friends for a weekend getaway to Chicago. For anyone from Wisconsin this is a great getaway. Just get on the Metra and stop off in Evanston (a friendly college town just a bit north of Chicago proper). Stay at this lovely bed and breakfast, the Margarita Inn, and take the red line el wherever you want to go. The red line el can take you into Chicago's downtown, and you can transfer to the elevated brown line if you'd like to loop the city and site see. Every stop along the red line has something amazing. Great theater, great food, neighborhood festivals, great shopping. At the end of your day, take the red line back to Evanston David Street stop...hit a jazz bar or wine bar on your way back, or the eclectic and delicious Cozy Noodle...and go explore the Margarita Inn's charm. Or--explore the award winning Zagat rated restaurant on the first level of the Margarita Inn. Have a glass of wine at an outside table and fall in love again with your partner--and Chicago.


Our favorite place to stay

4,0 en julio 26, 2009

We always stay at the Margarita European Inn when in the Chicago area. The location is quiet and convenient to downtown Evanston and to the "L" if you're going to Chicago. It's also just two blocks from the Rose Garden, and a nice stroll to Lake Michigan. The free breakfast includes English muffins, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, coffee cake and fruit. Beautiful and interesting building, lobby and library. And don't miss the roof garden, especially at night! Rooms are small, but I'd rather be in a small room in a historic and friendly inn than in a big room at one of those anonymous motels. The last time we were there we were towing a boat, and were concerned about parking. The woman at the front dest was very helpful with suggestions about where to park, and we were glad to be able to leave our car and boat in the hotel's lot. When we got to our room I could not find the hand soap. (Of course, it was right there on top of the towel, but I overlooked it.) I found the maid right outside our room and asked her for soap, and she dropped what she was doing and got a bar immediately.


Margarita is fantastic!

4,6 en julio 17, 2009

A friend and I were in Chicago last week to take in the Cards-Cubs series and we stayed at the Margarita. It was a pleasant, quiet atmosphere right in the heart of Evanston. This Inn has great charm and outstanding service. It is close to everything and the L is only a few blocks away. There is a rose garden park just a block away and you are within walking distance of NWU and a beautiful walking path along the lake. Will definitely stay again.


A European Classic Gem

4,8 en julio 01, 2009

Beautiful classic lobby, exceptional service, attention to detail and complementary breakfast that will knock your socks off. Incredible value in the heart of Evanston and 30 minutes from Chicago loop via L. Highly Recommend this one!


Fantastic Stay

4,2 en junio 30, 2009

My daughter and I were in town for the start of Northwestern summer program. We opted for a shared bath room, which was perfectly fine. Where there are so many shower /private sinks & toilets there was never any wait. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was just right, breads, bagels, coffee, tea juice, fruit etc. The large parlor filled with antiques was a comfortable setting. I liked the location, walkable to great restaurants, though quiet. We walked to Northwestern to check out the campus and stumbled around an arts fair on Church st. We are going back when I visit again soon-You can't beat the price! Maryann


We always go back to the Margarita Inn

4,6 en junio 27, 2009

We found the Margarita when our son was 7th grade and returned as he visited Northwestern Univ. He selected NU so we visited frequently. We will try to go back again even after his recent graduation. The Margarita is Historic, Calming, Unique. It is a touch of Europe near Chicago. Don't miss the roof garden with a nice view of downtown. The library is tucked off the stairway to 3rd floor. Breakfast encourages conversation with other guests. In the winter there is a fire to enjoy. The Margarita is oriented to Northwestern and Evanston but there is easy access to the "L" and downtown is 45 min. We just found the resturant down stairs on our last visit. It is great Italian.


Home Away From Home

4,4 en junio 23, 2009

The Margarita has provided us with a series of lovely experiences over the 4 year period of our son's college career. Oozing charm with the gorgeous parlor and homy rooms. The BEST part is Catherine at the front desk. Above and beyond! Finding an auto mechanic in an emergency or securing an impossible dinner reservation on Commencment night.


Our place of choice when visiting Chicago

4,2 en junio 15, 2009

My husband and I first discovered The Margarita European Inn last summer when looking for a place to stay within relatively close driving to our son who was a student at DePaul Univ in Lincoln Park. We were delighted by the quaint and homey feel we got from the room and the staff. The room was small but very clean as was the bathroom. This past weekend when our son graduated from college, we again chose to stay at the Margarita, although we opted for a larger room with a king size bed and a sofa. It was a comfortable size and the bath was more than adequate. The hot water was very slow coming, but eventually did arrive. Breakfast is served in a VERY large parlor that is filled with many sitting areas that encourage one to make the aquaintence of fellow travelers. We have often heard many different languages being spoken here. To be honest, the breakfast is not spectacular, but well stocked and adequate. We plan to continue staying here in the future. The staff has always gone out of their way to answer any questions both in person and online. It truely gives one the feeling you are in Europe.


Elegance in Evanston

4,6 en junio 15, 2009

Even though the hustle of Chicagoland is nearby, you would never know it while you're inside the Margarita Inn. I sometimes wish that I had lived in the more elegant 1930s, and staying at Margarita Inn gives me that chance. The rooms are small and a little spare; nonetheless, they are comfortable. Both shared and private baths are always clean. It is the public areas that sets Margarita above other inns. Breakfast is served in a large elegant sunroom; it's such a beautiful space that I always feel underdressed there (maybe I should go put on a tie?). The staff is friendly and accommodating. On my last stay, I requested a $79 room but had to reserve the only reamining available room for a higher price. When I checked in, though, I was told that a less expensive room had opened up if i wanted it still. I really appreciated their effort to save me about $60, probably at their expense. I have stayed at Margarita a deozen times or so during the years and never had a bad experience. BTW, Chicago mass transportation (both Metra and CTA) is a few blocks away, and many of Evanston's restaurants, tea shops, and bakeries are a short walk away.


Consistently Excellent Old-style Inn

4,2 en junio 02, 2009

My wife and I first stayed at the inn when a relative was very ill at a nearby hospital. The staff were caring and compassionate. Later we stayed when our son graduated from Northwestern University. And later still we stayed when we visit another son and his family. Each time we've enjoyed the "old world" ambiance ant quiet comfort. New improvement make a fine inn even better. It's close to public transit to Chicago and to really fine restaurants in Evanston.


Recent stay

4,0 en mayo 31, 2009

Stayed here May 2009 for 7 nights. Very convenient to Evanston and CTA or METRA to Chicago. CTA To Loop took 40-60 minutes. Helpful and friendly front desk. Small, pleasant room. Shared bath clean and always available. Breakfast was varied and plentiful but could use an upgrade.


the perfect location

4,6 en mayo 23, 2009

There is nothing to dislike about this inn. Comfortable,friendly,historic,and perfectly located the Margarita is home away from home for me!


A place I want to go back

3,4 en mayo 23, 2009

My 4 days visit to Chicago were brighten up with the consideration of the host at The Margarita European Inn. In this historical Evanston Institution, clean and well kept, I felt very comfortable upon my arrival and I appreciated very much the proximity of its location from Downtown Chicago. Mon voyage de 4 jours à Chicago a été agrémenté par mon séjour au Margarita European Inn à Evanston, à proximité du centre-ville de Chicago. L'immeuble historique qui abrite cet hôtel est bien entretenu et l'accueil y est attentif et courtois.


Best Accommodations in Evanston!

4,8 en mayo 22, 2009

The Margarita European Inn is absolutely gorgeous and was perfect for my visit to Northwestern. The service is top notch and the staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful. I highly recommend the Margarita for prospective NU students and visiting parents. Beautiful architecture, comfortable and charming all around. Great breakfast and phenomenal coffee in the morning. Fantastic Italian restaurant downstairs. Five stars.


yes!

4,2 en mayo 22, 2009

The Inn is lovely and very interesting. A long time ago it was a home for working women. The large reception room is very, very pretty. It is furnished with antiques and oriental rugs. The breakfast was coffee, tea, juice, fruit and yummy pastries. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. the Inn is within walking distance of downtown Evanston and Northwestern University. I would definitely stay there again.


Great for a Women's Weekend

4,2 en mayo 19, 2009

A group of six friends met for a reunion at the Margarita Inn. We ate at Va Pensiero in the basement, which was excellent. I was very pleased with the helpful service we received in making the booking. The hotel is convenient to a variety of restaurants, shops, and the Metra station. We'll be back!


Lovely Inn

3,8 en mayo 18, 2009

Very charming inn with nice sized rooms. Shower head did not work too well and breakfast was a little sparse. Otherwise the inn is extremely nice and the people working at the inn are anxious to please your every need. Among the more interesting places in Evanston to stay.


Charming European style inn

4,0 en mayo 13, 2009

This is a charming, European style hotel, with an elegant reception area. The parlor is delightful and filled with many beautiful antiques. The rooms are comfortable and adequately furnished; shower did not function too well. We missed not having a coffee/tea maker. Many Europeans love their early morning tea. Having stayed at many bed and breakfast places which pride themselves on their delicious cooked breakfast, and rightly so, we were disppointed by the continental breakfast. The selection was very small, barely reaching the standard of the inns that dot our freeways. I thought a listing in the bed and breakfast guide promised something better.


Always a great stay!

4,4 en mayo 02, 2009

I have the opportunity to be in Evanston once or twice a year- and twice now I have opted for the Margarita Inn over several area hotels. The Inn is charming--its in the perfect location, close to el and bus station, and just blocks away from Northwestern --where I have meetings. I love that its so close to downtown restaurants and shopping-- and has casual as well as fun places just a short walk away. The best part of the Margarita Inn is the personal service. The staff is so great- accommodating in every way- from initial reservations, finding certain places in town-- to getting transportation to the airport. They even confirmed my flight for me-- This is a quaint, simple place- history abounds on the walls, and if you are someone who needs a place to stay that is moderately priced, clean and hassle free- I think this is it- I know, I'll be back.


The Charming Margarita Inn in Evanston

5 en abril 28, 2009

The Margarita Inn has become the only we place we stay in our frequent visits to Chicago. The spacious and well appointed parlor, quaint rooms, quiet neighborhood,and charming library are all big attractions for those tired of routine lodging when traveling. But most of all, the outstanding and personal level of service we receive sets it apart from all others. The Italian Restaurant downstairs (Va Pensiero) is excellent. Downtown Evanston is only a block away and features several other fine restaurants and easy shopping. A 10 minute drive to Old Orchard Mall.


Old World Charm

4,8 en abril 07, 2009

What a delightful find! If you like elegant, old-world European ambiance you'll love this hotel. 1940's tunes play softly in the exquisitely decorated front parlor. Floor to ceiling windows let in lots of light to read by while you sip your coffee or tea. Shared bathrooms--ladies and gentlemen are separate--are spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff went out of their way to welcome me. They were so kind, warm, and genuine, it was like meeting up with three old friends! Parking is inexpensive, and it's walking distance to everything! The room is small but who cares, when you have that beautiful antique parlor and the quaint old library? It is a one of a kind. Nothing in the area compares.


fits my impression of evanston:

4,0 en marzo 25, 2009

having lived and worked in the Chicago area as a kid and a grownup, my impression of evanston was always a spot that differed from the hustle and shove of Chicago, and the majority of the rest of my travels. this hotel is just that. the folks that run it know their community, and their buisness. our family lives all over the country, and last summer, we met here, walked, took the train and rode bikes to wilmette, the beach,and into chicago. great food options in the hotel and walking distance from it if need be. great roof garden. i fell asleep in the sun, and woke up with my family all looking round at the city, at 9 at nite!


Picturesque, Quiet, Convenient

4,8 en marzo 16, 2009

An unusual place: its origin as a long-term residence for “business girls and women” really shows, for they have refurbished the place rather than remodeled or rearranged it. A very old-fashioned, but extremely well-maintained, feel. Very clean, spotless linen, lots of dark panelling in both rooms and the public areas, including a very pretty, cozy library. The fixtures in our private bath were quite new. (We did not look into the shared baths.) The continental breakfast is OK, but the room it’s in is very impressive. The location is excellent, right at the residential edge of downtown Evanston near the L. The off-street parking, while we were there, is cheap and adequate. This is perfect for parents with kids visiting NU or business travellers who want a quiet atmosphere and a place to sit and confer.


Another World

4,0 en marzo 16, 2009

If you love all things "euro" you will love the Margarita. From the period parlor, to the quaint library, to the vintage rooms, the ambience is anything but ordinary and the staff provides that one-on-one service that you just don't get at chains! We've been staying there for three years while our son is in college in Evanston and every visit is a delight! It's also within walking distance of the heart of the community and has a fabulous Italian restaurant within the Inn. We LOVE the Margarita!


Margarita European Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $134 - $179
  • Comentarios (151) 4,2
  • Habitaciones 46

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8478692273
  • Fax 1-8478692353
Arriba