Hale Ho'onanea Comentarios

TOTAL

4,3

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,4
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas3,9

Puntuación basada en
99 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Very caring!

3,2 en diciembre 07, 2014

Our stay here was wonderful! It was beautifully decorated and a very comfortable bed to sleep on. Also very quiet and restful. We also had our private space outside with a BBQ and a view of a beautiful sunset - very romantic! The owner was very kind and accomodating. She provided us with accessories for the beach - chairs, umbrella, boards, etc. The room had a very cozy, cottage feel. The breakfast was placed in a basket, which included cereal, oatmeal, and basic breakfast food - so don't expect a lavish breakfast. The fridge also needs a bit of work, but if you are OK with that, you should be fine. Thank you for the wonderful stay.


Nice place but could use a deep cleaning.

2,6 en octubre 20, 2014

Cute place, good utility, nice owners, great location for nearby beaches. We would have had a good memory of this place had it not been for the lack of cleanliness--the entire place needed a good scrub. The refrigerator was soiled with stains on the surfaces, the light switches were caked with hand dirt, grout in the tiles were black. We're not exactly germaphobes but we had to give it a good clean for our own peace of mind and left the place cleaner than we found it. It's a nice place and I wish this wasn't the primary memory we have of it!


A little home in paradise

5 en septiembre 09, 2014

If you want to get away from it all, this it the place. Really quiet with a great view of the Pacific. Fresh Papaya, Yogurt, and Kona Coffee made for great breakfast. You will need a car as you are a drive from everything, but we loved it. Thanks Bruce and Melanie.


Wonderful place in a great location

5 en agosto 27, 2014

Of all the places I have stayed at in Hawaii, this was the best by far. Perfect size for 2 people, comfortable bed, great lanai to hang out and watch the sunset, close to nice beaches. And all at a reasonable price.


Peaceful place to stay

4,0 en junio 11, 2014

Beautifully located and easy to find. Lovely views...we enjoyed our stay very much.


Lovely place to stay on the Big Island of Hawaii

4,2 en junio 08, 2014

Our week-long stay here was lovely. It was a great location to anchor our trip. We enjoyed multiple excursions to local beaches for snorkeling, and also spent several days hiking the rugged north shore terrain. It was great to come back to our "base camp" after our excursions, to enjoy a warm shower and sipping tea in the pretty living room.


A very nice place

3,2 en abril 17, 2014

It`s a realy nice place, with a great view to the ocean. We have seen beautyful sunsets from the lanai and also the Mauna Kea in sunset light.


Wonderful and Relaxing

4,6 en abril 01, 2014

It was very quiet and peaceful and we loved our time there.


Hidden gem on Big Island

4,6 en marzo 14, 2014

We arrived at our room to be met with a fresh loaf of bread, fruit, yogurt and milk. The view of the ocean was fabulous. We barbequed on our lanaii. This is bed and breakfast with separated living areas. We wil definitely stay here again. Also, very reasonably priced.


Great views, comfy bed. Very relaxing

3,8 en marzo 10, 2014

We chose this accommodation based on location, value and reviews about tranquility. It fulfilled our expectations and more. Good size space for 2 people. Great breakfast choices for a do it yourself place. Fabulous sunsets. Close to restaurants, beach and Hawi. Very comfortable bed. Clean. Would definitely recommend.


Perfect for me!

4,8 en febrero 22, 2014

If you like to be away from the hustle and bustle and aren't looking for a new fancy place, then this might be perfect for you as it is for me. Plenty of good b-fast food in a basket and the fridge, beautiful open living room with expansive view, and very helpful hosts who are not overbearing. You can prepare your own meals and not have to eat out. I usually stay 5-8 days and feel like it is home away from home. Thanks again Melanie, Bruce, Sumner (and happy dog, Jack!)


Hale Ho'onanea in early February 2014

4,8 en febrero 19, 2014

Highly recommended. There were many unadvertised available features: Gas grill on the lanai and snorkeling and beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, towels, water shoes). There were also great printed tips for beaches and close by restaurants and markets. A true house of relaxation. --Nick and Amy


Stay in Paridise

4,6 en enero 22, 2014

Our stay was great; the hosts, Melanie ans Bruce were great sources of local information. The room was roomy and had all the comforts of home. The sunset view was fabulous!


Beautiful view

5 en enero 21, 2014

Was on the island for 3 weeks and stayed at several places. We stayed our last 2 nights here and it was just perfect. The view was beautiful as well as the accommodations. It was nice to have a basket of goodies for breakfast as well as some yogurt in the fridge, so we didn't have to get up at any specific time to have our breakfast. And there was also some snacks for us to take on our adventures during the day. It was also nice to have a grill on the deck to cook our dinner. We loved that our room wasn't just a room, but our own private space. This was by far the best Bed and Breakfast we stayed at. Thank you Bruce and Melanie.


unique for hospitality, seaview and breakfastbasket (papaya and Melany's cake)

5 en enero 19, 2014

Anita and Michael Müller from Switzerland


Between the desert and the sea

5 en diciembre 11, 2013

The Biddles were exceptional hosts, offering not only an outstanding view of the Pacific and a chance to watch the sunset every evening, but a well-equipped kitchenette and bath, and a roomy, comfortable bedroom and living area as well. Highlights included helpful local information given with a smile and, most especially, homemade teabreads and fresh local fruit every morning.


Relaxing Stay....

4,4 en noviembre 27, 2013

We stayed a couple nights, and found Hale Ho'onanea an excellent base for exploring the northwest parts of the Big Island. Comfortable, and well-appointed bedroom and kitchen, and both Melanie and Bruce made point of checking in to see how things were going. We especially appreciated being able to stay in our room until later on the day we left, since flights back to the mainland leave at night. Would definitely recommend.


Great place to spend your vacation.

4,4 en noviembre 03, 2013

Very clean, great service from owners, and the pictures of the rooms on the web site does not do them justice.


Awesome

4,6 en octubre 31, 2013

The Tranquility Suite was perfect! Clean, well-stocked, and private. Close by restaurants, convenience store, and beaches, yet secluded. I will be going back!


Beautiful B&B

3,6 en octubre 28, 2013

First of all it is a lot nicer than the pictures you will find online! We were staying in the Bamboo Suite. Large bedroom, large living room, modern kitchen.....the patio is outstanding! Simple breakfast is provided in a basket DIY. Though we didn't actually meet the owners, Melanie was very nice when we knocked at her door to say good-bye. Don't expect any service.....but the place is beautiful, very clean, amazing view... We would go again! Thanks PS: Dining is not part of the B&B, but as it is a required field here......there are some nice restaurants in the area


Lovely peace and quiet

4,4 en septiembre 20, 2013

We stayed in the Tranquility Suite in Sept. 2013. While the accommodation is somewhat rustic, it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were given generous food for breakfast and snacks. There were all the necessary items for us to feel right at home. We enjoyed the ocean view and gentle, cooling breezes. Bruce and Melanie have thought of everything needed for their guest comforts. Thanks to you both for a great stay! Bud & Delores


The Perfect Place to Stay in Hilo

4,4 en agosto 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hale Ho'onanea, the house has been immaculately restored to provide a clean, private, and relaxing environment. Christine was a fabulous host for breakfast and we would recommend this to anybody who is staying in Hilo.


WONDERFUL AND RELAXING!

4,8 en agosto 11, 2013

Hale Ho'onanea is a wonderful place to stay, either to just relax and enjoy or go to the best beaches and fun shopping on Big Island.


Great Stay on Big Island near Wiamea (Kamula)

4,2 en agosto 11, 2013

About 10 miles outside of Wiamea (Kamula) but we liked not being in the middle of town. Bamboo Suite rooms were lovely with ocean views from porch and front room, side window of bedroom. Kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, dishware, etc. and a grill outside but no stove. (Ignore the dining rating (I had to rate in order to post the review)--you make your own meals or eat elsewhere except for a wonderful breakfast basket with cereals, homemade bread, pineapple/fruit, coffee/tea and yogurts provided). Rooms were clean. Did not meet Bruce but Melanie and Sumner were available when needed (but not intrusive), very friendly, great with local information. A wonderful place if you are independent (not high maintenance), value the privacy they offer, and want a lovely "base" from which to explore. Will certainly book again if travel again takes us to the area. Mahalo, Melanie, Bruce and Sumner!


Wonderful Week

4,4 en julio 26, 2013

My son and I spent an entire week at Hale Ho'onanea. You have to understand what you're getting at this B&B so there is no surprise. If you're looking for a mega-resort with air-conditioned suites and places for massage and toenail-painting, this is not your place. If you are looking for a quiet Hawaiian experience, off the beaten path, with incredible views, this is the place for you. Pros: Breathtaking views of the ocean and mountains; friendly owners Melanie & Bruce, and their 'do-all' Sumner and the little dog, Jack. Most kitchen facilities, including delicious home-made breads, fruit, cereals, smoothies, Kona coffee, eat at your own leisure. Quiet, non-touristy, soak up the atmosphere. Close to Hapuna Beach and other world-class beaches. Close to historic Hawaiian sights. Some good restaurants close by. Short drive to Hawi, Waimea, not too far from Kona (for shopping and touristy things). Forty-minute drive from Kona Airport through some spectacular scenery. You can certainly get to Mauna Kea to spend an afternoon or evening. Cons: Far from Volcano Nat'l Park. Questionable: No air-conditioning, but it's really not necessary unless you're spending the entire day at the B&B. The mornings and evenings are actually quite cool after a nice shower. There are some ants, but you have to expect this in a tropical climate. There are also geckos; they are shy and completely harmless and they eat the nasty insects. If you freak from tropical insects you probably ought to stay at the Hilton. My son and I each had a room to ourselves and we enjoyed the entire week and were sorry to leave. Highly recommended if you're open to the Hawaiian experience without the nonsense of a mega-resort or tourist area. Room Tip: We stayed in the Bamboo Suite, which is the top accommodation....and worth it.


Privacy and the ability to cook our own dinners-Perfect.

4,4 en julio 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed 9 nights on the Big Island, 3 nights each in 3 different B&Bs. Though they were each nice, Hale Ho'onanea was our favorite. We enjoyed the privacy of our own lani and mini apartment, the Bamboo room. The BBQ has a burner on one end for cooking, we enjoyed making our own dinners and watching the sunset from our lani. The breakfast basket was resupplied daily with tasty homemade bread, fruit, coffee, ect. We enjoyed a lovely chat with gentleman who cleans the rooms and he brought us a delicious mango from his tree. We met Melanie the 1st night and Bruce another evening but really felt like we had the place to ourselves. The ocean is a drive away so if you want to be right on the water this isn't the place for you. On the other hand if you want your own private getaway this is the perfect place. It was clean, airy and nicely furnished. We would definitely stay again. As someone else noted we did not receive a receipt or confirmation of our reservation. I did call before we left and talked to Melanie to confirm our reservation-a small glitch in an overall good experience.


Nearly Perfect in Every Way

4,0 en julio 17, 2013

We stayed eight nights and had a wonderful stay. It was like having our own vacation home in North kohala. The location worked out perfect. The view is amazing! We spent many hours sitting on the patio drinking coffee and watching the ocean. Every evening was a perfect sunset. The nights are dark and quiet. The night sky is amazing with very little light pollution. Our stay was a Fantastic value and we would book this room again in a heartbeat. Melanie and Bruce are very accommodating and have done a great job providing guests with everything they they might need.


happy guest

4,4 en junio 24, 2013

Melanie takes excellent care of her guests. The Bamboo room is comfortable and offers a great view. Note: the dining score refers to the outstanding breakfast.


WORST B&B EVER

1,0 en mayo 20, 2013

DO NOY STAY HERE "Ocean View" is miles from the ocean, past a refinery, up the slope of a windswept desert filled with half-done building pads. No sound of the ocean, only the wind and the conversation of your neighbors below. ROACHES, ANTS, LIZARDS, MOLD The "Home-Made" cranberry bread was stale, dry and over-cooked, burned actually. Then we saw roaches eating our papaya. We threw away the papaya, were afraid to eat any exposed food for the ants and roaches were everywhere. Lizards inside. The linen is never changed, bed is not made. No clean up of the dead insects or bathroom. No clean towels the second day. The dry cereal is near it's expiration 08/13 Cookies were stale.The coffee put in a jelly jar was stale and not enough to make a full pot. Refrigerator rusty and dirty. Curtains fall on your head just bed sheets hung on spring loaded rod. Shower curtain slimy, furniture filthy, windows permanently rusted half-open. Mold on floor tile of the shower, liquid soap dispensers on moldy wall. No place to put anything down bath. Needs a coat of paint. Can hear every word of conversation of your neighbors below / no insulation. Porch has no covering for rain, porch furniture dirty, moldy and wet. No hammock like in the ad picture and that hammock was in the owners' yard anyway. We never saw the owners despite the fact they live on the property. We are well traveled for many years now on several continents and in every kind of economic environment in the modern world and in the third world. This was the worst B&B experience ever, anywhere, or at any cost. We WOULD NOT RETURN ever.


April stay Hale Ho'onanea

3,6 en mayo 10, 2013

I made our reservation on line, since I could not reach anyone on the phone. I never received a reply that our reservation was accepted or not. My phone calls and email sent were never answered. We enjoyed our stay and were even upgraded to the second floor rooms, but the lack of communication from the owners should be corrected as soon as possible. I also never got the email receipt of our stay which was to be sent to my email. Since getting home, I have asked for a receipt, but have not received a reply. A nice place to stay, Greek yogurt was wonderful and we enjoyed exploring the north west part of the island.


great place!

5 en abril 26, 2013

Our family of three stayed here for 2 days and nights. Melanie, our host, Was friendly and easy to talk to. the Bamboo Suite was lovely with hardwood floors and antiques. Clean, light, and just all around pleasant. Watching the sunset from the lanai was a real treat. The homemade breakfast loaves, fruit, juice, coffee and snacks were fabulous. We explored up the entire Kohala coast from here and down to north Kona. Great location! Don't miss the restaurants at Kawaihae - each one we tried was great!


A great place to stay!

5 en marzo 18, 2013

We loved staying at Hale Ho'onanea. They had a great view of the ocean and the sunsets. Every need was anticipated before we even arrived. We would recommend it to everyone visiting Hawaii.


Good location

4,4 en marzo 13, 2013

Good location for exploring north western part of island with great beaches close by. Wonderful sunset views from lanai. Great sunny area. Helpful friendly hosts.


A room with a view!

5 en febrero 11, 2013

Melanie's fresh, tasty sweet breads really made our day start off great, along with the nice vartiety of breakfast options provided!. Our Bamboo Room had a great view, the grill enabled us to add variety to our dining, the location was great for us to sight-see the northern and western sides of the Big Island, and the room was clean and nicely appointed. I would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for anyone visiting this part of the Island!


Hale Ho'onanea Ahhhh Hawaii

3,4 en enero 21, 2013

This is a very peaceful B & B. The view is fantastic & the sunsets gorgeous. We were comfortable in the Tranquility Suite but, the noise from the suite above is noticeable. Melanie was very friendly & answered any questions we had about the area. Her suggestions were appreciated. We happened to be there when the trade winds were roaring through & a wind warning was in effect. A couple of time I thought the suite above would fly off but, that mother nature. I would recommend this B& B & if I ever return to the Island I would not hesitate to book it again. Mahalo


Always my 1st choice!

4,6 en diciembre 29, 2012

This was my 5th time staying. Melanie, Bruce, and Sumner are so helpful with many unusual requests. I love the location away from the hustle and bustle, but within easy driving distance of everything on the north end of the island. I also love the b-fast basket that can be eaten anytime I want. I usually stay 5-7 days and just relax! Just an FYI - be prepared for the friendly gecko. I had forgotten to warn my friend. They just hang out waiting for crumbs.


complete bliss

5 en diciembre 24, 2012

Our room was beautiful with a large bathroom. We had everything we needed there. We enjoyed the fresh pineapple for breakfast. Melanie baked a bread for us each day. We used the bbq and dined on the lanai while watching the sunset. There was very little traffic so it was quiet at night. Thank you for a lovely stay.


A peaceful, private, country experience

4,8 en noviembre 27, 2012

When I arrived at Hale Ho'onanea, I was pleasantly surprised to have such a private experience in the country. The bed and breakfast (at least the Tranquility room) was an entire apartment. It had everything necessary for a stay in Hawaii. Coffee/tea maker, juice and milk, snacks, beach supplies, shampoo and soap, guide books, ice packs, cooler, mini fridge/freezer... it's more than a hotel could provide you. The privacy and peace of the country side makes for a very relaxing morning and evening after a day of exploring. The location was ideal for exploring the Kohala area (Waipio, Pololu) and even the north Kona beaches. The directions to get there were very helpful, and Melanie and Bruce were happy to answer any questions. Sugar ants are only a problem if food is left out or not stored in the refrigerator. I had a wonderful experience at Hale Ho'onanea, and I would definitely stay there again during my next visit!


Great stay in Bamboo Suite

4,4 en noviembre 23, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Bamboo Suite. Very relaxing and comfortable - great views . The peace was well appreiated after an 8 day circuit of the island, Appreciated the room, the beach towels, chairs and lovely basket of goodies provided each day. Would stay again - longer next time! Can be a little warm, but many fans were provided.


Radness on toast

5 en noviembre 13, 2012

This place is a great find. It's got great views out to the sea and it's so far away from the towns and resorts that the stargazing is incredible. The host Melanie is very helpful and she prepares huge and delicious breakfast baskets for you every morning. The B&B is about an hour away from the Kailua-Kona so if you're looking to go out and cruise the bars in the evening this is not the place for you. However, there are some excellent restaurants down the road (Plantation Grill, Blue Dragon) so if you're looking for somewhere to maybe have a nice meal then kick back on your verandah looking at the stars then this place is perfect. The only caveat I would put on the place is that it's quite high up the mountain so it's VERY windy, but if you don't mind that then you'll have a great time.


Very Pleased

5 en octubre 29, 2012

I researched and read many reviews on other B&Bs before deciding on Hale Ho'onanea - we were not disappointed! The Bamboo Suite had fabulous views, was private, comfortable and spacious, with a great covered deck. It was well-appointed, and although we only had two nights there, it would work well for a much longer stay (already thinking about this!). It really is a great base location to explore all around this side of the island - from 5 minutes to two hours to see so much (Mac Farm, Botanical Gardens, historical ruins, beaches, Hawi, Kona, etc.). You can also use all the amenities at the gorgeous resorts-eat, drink, swim (black sand beach at one of them), and go back home to the "House of Relaxation". Great work Melanie!


Nice place to stay!

4,2 en octubre 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Tranquility Suite. Melanie provides everything you need to have a great stay and a great beach day. The only thing that happened to us was that due to the Ironman we couldn't get to the beach and because we planned so far in advance we could have switched the time we came here to enjoy the wonderful beaches on the Kohala coast. Otherwise this a a great place to consider and Melanie's basket can almost sustain you through the whole day.


Great stay

4,0 en octubre 15, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Bamboo suite. Very comfortable bed, full kitchen, wifi, everything was provided that I needed. Beach towels, wonderful home baked bread with cereals and fruit for breakfast delivered the night before. The view from the lanai is outstanding. Would highly recommend to others!


Lovely setting, clean room

4,6 en octubre 02, 2012

Stayed in September 2012 in the Tranquility Suite. It was very spacious, clean and kitted out with everything we needed. The bathroom is amazing for a B&B! (by UK standards). Location is great for visiting Hawi, the horse riding and Mauna Lani & other beaches. Would not hesitate to recommend. Bruce was also extremely helpful.


Wonderful!

5 en septiembre 23, 2012

This was our first experience staying at a bed and breakfast and it was delightful. The food basket left in our room allowed us to eat when we wanted and plan our day accordingly. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and the wonderful sunset views. We would definitely stay here again!


Sunset Heaven

5 en septiembre 20, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay - lovely furnishings, the best of beds and showers, with a delicious breakfast basket complete with fresh baked breads, fresh island fruits, and treats to take for snacks throughout the day! Fully furnished kitchen, travel books. Watching the sunset off the lanai was a special experience!


Welcomed and comfortable

3,6 en agosto 31, 2012

My husband, daughter (22), neice (16) and I throughly enjoyed our brief time at Hale Ho'onanea (August 19 & 20, 2012). Clean (naturally) and comfortable with a nicely stocked refrigerator plus a yummy (gluten free) loaf and fruit. The location is very convenient for exploring and evening dining is within a reasonable drive. Bruce and Melanie are wonderful hosts. We wished that we could have stayed longer.


Luxurious and beautiful

4,6 en agosto 27, 2012

The Hale Ho'onanea lives up to its name - it truly is a house of relaxation. Our Bamboo Suite was absolutely stunning, and all the details the owners have put into it are perfectly touching. The view of the ocean from the lanai was unsurpassed. Despite lots of plans to go out and do things, once we stepped foot into the Bamboo Suite, all we wanted to do was stay in and relax, watching the sun set over the ocean each night. A beautiful visit. We hope to return again.


Hale H B&B

4,0 en julio 13, 2012

Fresh home-made bread was brought every evening for the next day's breakfast. Great selection of items for breakfast including fresh tropical fruit, many teas, special granolas and macadamia nuts. Beautiful views of the Pacific and sunsets over the ocean. Spectacular stars at night. Very comfortable and roomy accommodation with nice balcony (even a BBQ!).


Great place, our best on Big Island

4,6 en julio 02, 2012

We stayed in House of Relaxation for 3 days in June 2012. We felt at home right away. Rooms were clean and were extremely well equipped: MP3 radio, BlueTooth DVD, good collection of books (tourist info and novels), even table and card games. Breakfast was of very high quality and even have the sweet touch of including home baked banana bread (or other kind). The owner Melanie made us feel so at ease, we were feeling as if we were sleeping over a friend's house. I recommend that place to anyone looking for great relaxing time and would definitely go back there myself.


First Big Island visit.

4,4 en junio 20, 2012

Great view. Peaceful and quiet. Everything you might need for a vacation to the big Island.


Fantastic B&B

4,2 en mayo 29, 2012

Fantastic place and very friendly people. I can absolut recommend this B&B!


Quiet and Comfortable

4,2 en mayo 10, 2012

Received detailed instructions to find place (which were necessary). Arrived later than projected, note on door with instructions. Breakfast provided with basket of fruit, cereal, homebaked carrot cake or banana bread, plus juice, yogurt, milk in refrigerator stocked the previous afternoon. We appreciated breakfast on our schedule plus the coffeemaker and coffee in the room. Although situated on a dry hillside among scattered residential development there was a view of ocean below. Host provided info on area, nearby beaches for snorkeling and provided snorkel gear for guests.


Clean and well kept room

4,8 en abril 03, 2012

Great hosts, they were helpful with things to do and see around the area. Rooms were kept clean and neat.


A generous and caring hostess

4,6 en marzo 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B, at a good location on Big Island, fulfilling most travel wishes because beaches, sights, good restaurants, shopping areas and malls are nearby. Beautiful views from the Lanai. Kitchen well-equipped. Everything available for guest usage when going to the beach: foldable chairs, mats, cooler bag, goggles, snorkel, boogie boards, etc. Unusual and novel breakfast idea. Instead of a sit-down breakfast the hostess provided a "breakfast basket" that she lovingly put-together with much care. It included local Hawaiian products, fresh island fruit (pineapple, papaya), fresh milk, juice, cereals, coffee, teas, etc. Also wonderful homemade breads. All varied each day. The advantage to such a breakfast is that we could get up, eat and leave at our own leisure, not being bound by a set time for dining. The only possible disadvantage: there may be no chance to meet other B&B guests. This was amply made up by talking with our hostess, who generously gave of her time and knowledge, providing us with information and materials. Although we had not mentioned it at the time of booking, we were still given the senior discount, when we mentioned it.


First ever visit to Hawaii

4,4 en marzo 16, 2012

Beautiful peacefull surroundings in an ideal location. We loved the very health conscious assortment of breakfast items left in our room each day. We felt welcome and at home. We made good use of all the complementary beach gear and the helpul dining and activity suggestions. Enjoyed the independance, yet felt we were thoughtfully looked after.


Love Hale Ho'onanea!

4,0 en marzo 14, 2012

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful two nights at Hale H'onanea! Beautiful views and great location to experience the northern area on the Kona side. We wish that our schedules would have allowed us to stay a whole week since this was the best Bed & Breakfast that we have ever stayed at! It was so private compared to other B&B's and condo's. It has the amenities in your own room to prepare your own lunches and dinners as well as the delicious Breakfast items that were provided. We look forward to staying there again!


Felt Like Home

3,8 en marzo 05, 2012

We loved staying here and would come back if we get to the Big Island again. Sweet breads were delicious in the mornings. Everything we needed was available in our suite. Melanie and Bruce are gracious hosts who respected our privacy, while still making sure we had everything we needed.


If relaxation is priority number one, this is the place.

4,2 en febrero 20, 2012

My wife and I spent 8 days with Melanie and Bruce. Feb 2012. We used the Bamboo Suite as our home away from home and as a base to further explore the BIG ISLAND. The first couple of days we just enjoyed the sunrises and sunsets, the birds signing and just slowing down. Next we took trips to the north part of the island and across the Saddle Road to Hilo and vincity. Perfect. And did I mention Melanie's bread---home made and fresh-- great way to start the day. The best beaches on the island were within minutes. Great vacation. Thanks Bruce and Melanie. The Pattersons.


Great stay!

4,0 en febrero 18, 2012

We enjoyed the lovely accommodations very much, and appreciate the warm aloha along with the beautiful views and weather. Mahalo Melanie and Bruce for your hospitality.


A gem in the Kohala region!

4,2 en febrero 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the palm suite in January and found Hala Ho'onanea to be just perfect! Located in a residential neighborhood just up the road from spectacular beaches - we spent all day at beautiful Hapuna beach. A 30 minute drive north to Hawi for the most spectacular sushi dinner (sushi rocks) or 10 minutes several equally fantastic restaurants, it did not feel too far away from food or nightlife but it is nice not to be in the cluster of resorts that are just down the hill. Breakfast baskets with coffee, bread, fruit, cereal and milk/OJ and yogurt in the fridge were left each day and were very thoughtful. Melanie was kind and helpful when we met, however the owners keep to themselves and do not seem to want to be very involved with the guests so if you are looking for a "B&B" experience you may be disappointed. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable suite with the caring touches of a small inn, you will love this place.


Oasis on a hill, stunning sunset views

4,6 en enero 16, 2012

Melanie and Bruce took great care of me and my husband during our three night stay in the lovely Bamboo suite (despite the fact that we never did actually see/meet them!). There was a basket of breakfasty goods in the kitchen, always stocked, as well as delicious goods in the fridge at the ready. The location is outstanding, close to the stellar beaches of the Kohala coast, near the divine restaurants in town in Kamuela, and an easy drive south to Kona or Northeast to the Hamakua coast. The grounds are beautifully kept, with access to boogie boards, snorkels, beach umbrellas, the works, for borrowing. It was so peaceful, unbelievably private, and truly felt like a home away from home. I would highly recommend this B&B to any friends or family who might be visiting the Big Island.


No complaints

3,8 en diciembre 29, 2011

Spacious and cleanly rooms with great views of the ocean and sunsets. It was extremely windy during our stay, which may be typical. The breakfast options were not the best but there are plenty of good dining options nearby as well as a fantastic fish market and small farmer's market. Bruce and Melanie were both very nice and accommodating. Considering the cost, this place is more than adequate.


3rd time and coming again!

4,8 en diciembre 22, 2011

I've stayed in each room now and think they are all a great value! This B&B is always my first choice for a B&B on the Big Island. The sunsets are fantastic and it is so peaceful. There is always a risk that the other guests will have screaming children and that happened one morning, but other than that it was a fantastic 6 night stay.


Most accomodating B&B ever!

4,6 en diciembre 15, 2011

Bruce and Melanie did a superb job meeting our every need. The breakfast loafs were delicious!


Great for my family

5 en diciembre 08, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hale Ho'onanea. Melanine was very considerate and even baked us gluten free spice bread. My family -- two parents and two adult children -- grilled steaks in the evening on the lanai and also relaxed there in the morning. The room was spacious and accommodated us well -- a great place to return to after a day of excursions. We also appreciated the availability of boogie boards, water shoes, and snorkeling equipment. Many thanks!


Hale Ho'onanea

4,8 en diciembre 05, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. Very worth it, especially after staying at other Big Island lodgings for similar prices. Delicious homemade pumpkin cranberry bread and coffee in our breakfast basket, among other treats!


Our Stay in Kahala

5 en diciembre 03, 2011

The sunsets and stars from the lanai were SPECTACULAR. The room was great (I recommend you get the bungalow. That lanai is worth the extra money. Overall, it could not have been better...


Very enjoyable break from the resort hotels

4,4 en noviembre 26, 2011

We bailed after 3 days in one of the big hotels in Waikoloa Beach and are glad we did. Not the usual model of B&B with a sit down (and scheduled) breakfast. Instead, a nice breakfast basket of goodies (local fruit [yum, papaya!], yogurt, muffins, coffee). Supplied with a gas grill which worked out very nicely since there's a fresh fish market a 10 min drive away (or go catch your own). Beautiful view, convenient drive to beaches etc. Melanie and Bruce are very hospitable and helpful. We loved it here.


3 giorni indimenticabili, di totale relax e pace

4,2 en octubre 29, 2011

ITA: un appartamento molto accogliente e tranquillo. É dotato di tutto (tranne l'aria condizionata,ma non ce n'é bisogno,la sera fa fresco): cucina attrezzatissima, con the,caffé,zucchero,sale e pepe a disposizione.c'é anche il BBQ. La casa é arredata in modo molto curato.i decori sono fatti da Képi, la proprietaria. Tutto in tema marino: tartarughe e sirene ovunque. La casa é pulitissima. Képi inoltre é molto disponibile e ci ha dato numerosi consigli su cosa visitare ma soprattutto dove mangiare bene spendendo poco. Siamo stati solo tre giorni ma saremmo rimasti per sempre. Grazie. A presto!!


Late September visit.

4,0 en octubre 17, 2011

Convenient location. Welcoming hosts. Quiet with lovely orientation to view sunsets off our own porch/lanai.


great value for the price

3,6 en septiembre 26, 2011

although the rooms are dated, the hosts and amenities are wonderful! you are made to feel welcome and the goodie basket is well done-a great place to stay to get away from it all!


Wonderful sunset from the lanai

4,2 en septiembre 02, 2011

The B&B is located on a hill only a few minutes driving from the best beaches of Big Island. You can enjoy a romantic sunset from your lanai. Rooms are very large, comfortable, with a kitchenette to have your meal whenever you like (breakfast is at your own disposal in a basket prepared the night before). Everything you need for the beach is free (towels, pins, snorkel etc.). Melanie, the host, is very nice and friendly At night nothing breaks the silence The rooms can be a little warm but there are three ventilators to use The first night we found some ant (it's a tropical area don't forget!) but using the insecticide we killed them


House of Relaxation

4,6 en agosto 28, 2011

Wonderful stay. Lovely accommodation. Fantastic views. Really relaxing. Of 7 places we stayed in Hawaii, this was our favourite. Highly recommended. Gary Cole, England


Nice Place that won't break the bank.

3,4 en julio 20, 2011

We liked the cottage we had, and it was very quiet. No A/C, so got a bit hot at times. If we closed curtains on west side in the afternoon, it stayed cooler. It was quiet and had a nice deck and a beautiful view of the ocean and sunsets...and the series of fireworks shows along the Kohala Coast on the 4th of July. The breakfast food was very good and plentiful, and we loved the fresh baked quickbreads. Our only complaint about food was that we didn't realize the kitchen had only a microwave and toaster oven. We expected a stove top so we could cook more meals, so we didn't cook as much as we wanted. Grill outside was good and had a side burner, but heat was variable or too low on burner when it was breezy, so cooking was a challenge. Owners were nice and were responsive to our needs, like when the gas bottle was empty on the grill. They replaced it in an instant. Our favorite was the assistant Sumner, a Hawaiian surfer dude of a certain age who restocked towels and breakfast baskets. He was a riot! Very friendly and funny, and we loved talking with him. We loved the location of the B&B, out of the hustle and bustle of Kona and up above a very cool little harbor town called Kawaihae. Just a few restaurants in Kawaihae, but all really good. Loved Anuenue for fabulous shave ice with homemade syrups. We would stay at this B&B again. Just a note for those who are nervous about critters...there are a couple of geckos that live inside the cottage. They mostly stay out of your way, but it's weird to see them crawling around the walls and the floor if you are not used to it, and it's best to look first before grabbing a curtain to close it! And don't leave food out or you get visits from both geckos and ants. But hey, this is Hawaii!


A Great Value for a Quiet Stay in Hawaii

3,8 en junio 27, 2011

Our experience this year at Hale Ho'onanea was wonderful. Although a little farther from "town" than expected, it was relaxing and charming. Our room was more like a small house and was more than comfortable for two people. Melanie and Bruce were wonderful and nice to talk to. Everything was clean and what they provided you with was outstanding (i.e. everything a hotel would, plus more)! We will definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to other friends who desire to relax on the big island! What a great value. Thank you!!


Miller 6/11

4,6 en junio 26, 2011

The room was larger than we expected, clean, and very well equipped. Service was great -- the host greeted us and came back twice (the second time to say teenagers were above us and if they were noisy the hosts would adjust our rate) (unncecessary--there was no problem with the teens). The breakfast basket was just right. We liked this place!


Good Location

3,6 en junio 13, 2011

The Hale is a very hands off B&B, but one with many amenities for an island visit. Beach chairs, snorkels, toys for the kids, beach towels, boogie boards are provided. Modern grills available for cooking. You want quiet, you will have it at the Hale. Wonderful birds. Cool nights. Wonderful place for locals or visitors.


Hale Ho'onanea

4,0 en junio 07, 2011

Great place to stay. Good and generous breakfast! Nice surroundings in the garden haven but a bit too much mosquito activity making lanai basking in the sun and at night slightly difficult.


House of relaxation

4,4 en junio 02, 2011

Our beautiful and comfortable little house was a home for us for 3 days, we wished it could have been longer. Sunset from our lanai, outdoor kitchen range, peace and quiet. High speed internet connection, tv, a sensational beach just 10 min. away, we couldn't have wished for more. I recommend it without any hesitation.


great escape north of Kohala resort district

3,8 en mayo 01, 2011

We have stayed at Hale Ho'onanea several times because it's a good value in a location that suits our preferences for visiting the Big Island. There are 3 suites, we were in the spacious Bamboo Suite. Comfortable king bed in separate bedroom - we want this bed in our own home! Bathroom has large walk in shower (no tub). Kitchenette with full size fridge, Brita pitcher to filter water in place of bottled, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, breakfast bar. Dining table & 4 chairs; sofa folds out to queen futon. Cable TV, set to Hawaiian music to welcome guests. Lanai with gorgeous view from this hilltop location overlooking ocean, sunset, and Maui in distance. Propane BBQ on lanai also has side burner, so easy to prepare your own meals as desired. Breakfast is continental style offered in basket replenished the night before: fresh fruit, coffee, tea, hot/cold cereal, a small loaf (e.g., banana bread), with milk, juice and yogurt placed in fridge, easy to enjoy at your leisure. Traveling the coastal highway provides for whale or dolphin sitings depending on time of year you visit. About 10 minutes to Hapuna Beach, 15 or so minutes to Waimea (Kamuela). This home is about 35 minutes north of the Kona airport in semi-rural area (goats alongside the Bamboo & Tranquility Suites). Perfect for exploring Kohala Coast (the best beaches), Waimea, Hawi, Waipio Valley and more. Beach equipment may be borrowed: chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, snorkel gear. If you're looking for luxury and resort amenities, this is not for you; if you want peace, quiet, comfort and good value, Hale Ho'onanea is worth considering.


House of Relaxation for sure!!

5 en abril 10, 2011

We really loved our 2 day visit to Hale Ho'onanea, which was a truly relaxing beginning to our Big Island vacation. The room was spacious, with full kitchen and a great 'breakfast basket'. We ate or grilled out on our lanai overlooking the ocean every day. Bruce and Melanie were gracious innkeepers to the point of cutting a fresh coconut off one of their palms so my 6 year old son could mail it home! They also have beach umbrellas, snorkel gear and beach mats available for you to use - well worth it since there are several great beaches nearby. Would definitely come back for a visit the next time we are on the Big Island!


Great hostess

3,2 en marzo 26, 2011

Not a very fancy place, but hospitality by our host was outstanding.


Excellent B&B

5 en marzo 24, 2011

My wife and I heartily recommend this B&B. We stayed in the Bamboo Suite, which was actually a well-appointed, spacious, extremely clean and well-maintained bungelow. This B&B is fairly close to some of the Big island's best beaches. We only met one of the owners, Melanie, but she was very nice and helpful. We especially liked the fact that each day, we would get a basket of food, including homemade bread, that we could eat when we liked. This allowed us to not have to get up at an early hour to get breakfast. (In addition to the basket, we got milk, yogurt and orange juice, which were placed in the refrigerator.) Barry W.


Wonderful stay!

4,4 en marzo 16, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Hale Ho'onanea and would recommend it to anyone!!! Can't wait to stay there again :)


pam suite 3/5 to 3/8

5 en marzo 15, 2011

We had a great time. Everything was wonderful. Best part of our trip. Even better than our stay on poipu beach in kauai. We can't wait to go back


Ahhhh, just what I needed

3,8 en marzo 14, 2011

The stars and the ocean view were breath taking. The indoor gecko was different but he ate the bugs so that's a good thing. It was truly a wonderful place to stay.


peace and quiet

3,8 en marzo 06, 2011

Very pleasant small house, with friendly and helpful hostess. Convenient base to visit great beaches and the interesting north Kohala area. Borrow-able beach equipment was a big bonus for us. The breakfast basket, instead of served breakfast, made for flexibility in planning and when to get up.


Mahalo Melanie

4,6 en marzo 05, 2011

We stayed in the Bamboo suite for only two nights but wish we could have stayed the week. It's set up with everything that you would need to live there including a full kitchen with outdoor grill and in a great location with beautiful views and sunsets. Melanie greeted us warmly, and even allowed us to use the washer. The breakfast basket left for us contained more than enough food with fresh fruit, homemade bread, nuts, granola, yogurt, milk, juice, coffee... We highly recommend Hale Ho'onanea if you want a nice, reasonably priced accommodation with privacy.


Great value - nice hosts

4,2 en marzo 01, 2011

We enjoyed the "breakfast basket" and delicious homemade breads! Great location!


Lovely stay!

4,4 en febrero 15, 2011

mahalo Melanie and Bruce for a lovely stay at Hale Ho'onanea last week. I enjoyed it very much and hope to return in the future.


I keep coming back

4,8 en febrero 15, 2011

Web site describes this perfect get a way place. Quiet, (love to hear the birds especially cardinals)& restful. View of the ocean with horizon is great. Great view of sunsets. Have small appiances, and a grill, so can make food yourself. Breakfast baskets with homemade bread, fruits, juices, etc are a great start for the day. I love to come back. Have stayed in all units. All good!


Hale Ho'onanea

3,0 en enero 27, 2011

The hostess was very helpful & informative. The fresh made baking was great.


Couldn't be better

4,8 en enero 20, 2011

We spent a total of 12 nights at this perfect place on the Kohala coast. Location is perfect for the greatest beaches on the island. Good view, perfect temperatures (slightly cooler than waterfront). Suite had everything we needed including kitchen with microwave, toaster oven and outside grill. Melanie was helpful in every way


Christmas 2010

4,6 en enero 17, 2011

We stayed in the Tranquility Suite which was the lower half of a duplex building unit. There was a little squeaking from above when people walked about at night but if you're a sound sleeper its nothing. we were exhausted by sundown somewhere around 7pm or so and basically just flopped on the bed and were out like lights given we were on the go for each day - hiking, swimming and drivin' all over the island. Our stay was from Dec 18 - to Dec 30th. Our hostess, Melanie, was great. She dropped off breakfast food which compromised different twists on homemade banana bread + native fruits like pineapple, mangos and papaya and of course not to mention the macadamia nuts. OJ, Milk and organic granola too and coffee. Plenty of healthy food for breakfast and getting our days going on good grub. There were outdoor lounge chairs and a wrought iron table plus a BBQ on the porch if we wanted to use but we found the mosquitoes too much for us no matter what time day! The view was awesome as well as you're actually looking down over the ocean and on clear days its impressive. Quite a site to see the vast ocean in context with the horizon and the other parts of the island. We really liked the area. We're big fans of Waimea on the Big Island and this in that general area so we were definitely happy about getting into Hale Ho'onenea on relatively late notice over the Christmas holiday time. Also, Melanie dropped off a Christmas grab bag of things for us on Christmas day which I thought was a nice touch. We noticed Santa dropped off a new washing machine for her which given all the chores of housekeeping when you own a B&B had to be godsend for her! And now that i think about it I should mention Melanie will let you use the laundry facilities if you give her a heads up. So. All in all a big thumbs up to Melanie and making our stay nice and relaxing and trouble free! Cheers, Steve + Amy


truth in advertising

4,6 en enero 15, 2011

The website describes this place as having the convenience of a bed and breakfast and the privacy of a vacation rental, and that's bang on. Terrific value, this spacious apartment went beyond our hopes.


Great sheets

3,6 en diciembre 31, 2010

The sheets were fabulous. Very clean. Some noise from upstairs unit. Nice to have beach accessories available.


Mahalo

4,8 en diciembre 29, 2010

A wonderful place to stay - come on kama'ainas ;) Aloha, A.


An oasis!

4,0 en diciembre 16, 2010

A cool, treed oasis high on the volcano on the Kohala coast. We had a very comfortable bed and the homemade bread in the morning was perfect. The coffee was excellent. It must have been Kona. Bruce and Melanie were very laid back and provided us with everything we needed. We really appreciated the boogie boards for our day at Hapuna Beach. Cafe Pesto has excellent pizza and a good selection of local tap beers. Ruthie and Steve from Minnesota


Hale Ho'onanea

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $100 - $130
  • Comentarios (99) 4,3
  • Habitaciones 3
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8088821653
  • Fax 1-8088827975
  • Sin cargo
    1-8778821653

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba