Bay House Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,3

Puntuación basada en
182 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great B&B

5 en diciembre 24, 2014

Fantastic location and views. Very nice hosts. Delicious breakfast.


Great stay at the Bay House

4,8 en noviembre 29, 2014

We stayed at the Bay House for two nights and loved it. The rooms are wonderful and the breakfast of fresh fruit, omelets, and bread was amazing. The Bay House is just a few minutes from restaurants in Hilo and a short drive to waterfalls, beaches, and adventure. Highly recommended.


Excellent View

5 en noviembre 28, 2014

Excellent view, a beautiful & clean room, fresh fruit for breakfast every day, just amazing! You fall asleep to the sound of ocean (and frogs - if you don't like it, ear plugs are provided there for you at the night stand - the land lady just thinks of everything :) )


Great stay at the Bay House

5 en noviembre 23, 2014

Super location close to downtown. 180 degree ocean view. Good Parking. Owner provides a special breakfast with local fruit, eggs, and pastry/breads. Ed Clark Maui


Great location for Hilo airport and Volcano Natl Park

3,2 en noviembre 23, 2014

We flew into Hilo arriving late evening - this B&B was just minutes from the airport and was nestled just a 100 yds or so from the crashing waves of Hilo Bay. Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Each of the 3 rooms had a basket containing a loaf of homemade banana nut bread, an omelet, and some frest local fruit that you take back to your room and eat on your private porch/balcony. Soaps and amenities were average but adequate. Only saw our hosts for a few minutes the first morning, so not much interaction - but overall, would recommend.


Outstanding Value at The Bay House

5 en noviembre 12, 2014

As recorded in our previous review, Tom and Tina offer wonderful service at their home. No need to consider anywhere else to stay in Hilo.


Amazing Stay!!

5 en octubre 23, 2014

Our stay at the Bay House was amazing. I would definitely stay again. The place is spotless, rooms are spacious. beautiful views from each one. No A/C but it was not needed with the fan and the breezes. I loved the sounds of the frogs at night. The breakfast was delicious. Anything you needed was found in the common area. It was very close to shops and restaurants too. I loved the Bay House, and Im so glad we had the opportunity to stay there! Hopefully we will be able to be return guests!


Generous flexibility

5 en octubre 22, 2014

My husband and I made reservations at Bay House for Oct. 16-18 and when we arrived in Honolulu a day before we were to fly to Hilo just as a hurricane was reported to hit the Big Island. Tina was so kind to allow us to cancel without charge. I can't wait to come back and actually get to stay at this beautiful place.


Bay House is a great place to stay in Hilo

4,2 en octubre 20, 2014

Our stay at Bay House went really well. The location is excellent, slightly removed from the centre of town but an easy walk to restaurants and shops. Room was well appointed and breakfasts were excellent. Overall a really good B&B


We would stay here again!

5 en octubre 13, 2014

My husband and I were both very, very pleased with the friendliness, hospitality, outstanding breakfasts, and extremely comfortable accommodations offered at the Bay House. It was within walking distance to downtown Hilo, the Farmer's Market, and dining. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast as a good value.


"Perfect balance between relaxation and adventure"

5 en septiembre 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Bay House in Hilo! The location was perfect, just outside of Downtown Hilo which meant we were close enough to walk into town and just far enough out for a quiet, relaxing stay listening to the waves lap against the shore. The hospitality of both Tina and Tom was outstanding. They went above and beyond, helping us out with all of the little things, making our stay all the more special. Here we found just the right balance between adventure (being close to Mauna Kea and Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park) and relaxation. We'd highly recommend The Bay House to anyone staying in Hilo!


Happy

5 en septiembre 21, 2014

We spent 5 nights in the harbour room and were so happy that we decided to stay here.our hosts Tina and Tom could not have done more to make our stay comfortable.The view from our room was to die for!! Sept.2014


A Room With A View

5 en septiembre 20, 2014

We stayed in the Harbor Room, which has wonderful views of Hilo Bay and the Banyan Drive area across the bay. From our lanai, we enjoyed watching sunrises and the stars, as well as boats, paddleboards, and canoes. The breakfast is available on trays in the pantry/lounge area beginning at 7 a.m. - excellent for people who want to get up and go. Each morning we took it back to our lanai and watched the scene on the bay. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, and has wi-fi. The hosts had included a notebook with menus from various Hilo restaurants. We stayed five nights. Couldn't ask for more.


Wonderful B&B, perfect location

4,4 en septiembre 16, 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Very helpful and friendly hosts. Respect your privacy. Very conveniently located at walking distance from shops and restaurants. Will stay here again when visiting Hilo.


Bay House

4,4 en septiembre 11, 2014

We spent two nights at the Bay House. This is a very nice bed and breakfast in Hilo. The rooms are right on the bay and in a very convenient location. You will fall asleep to the sound of frogs and the ocean. We liked the frogs, and found it relaxing. The rooms are comfortable, clean and private. There is a refrigerator available to put some drinks and snacks in. The breakfast is outstanding. We ate on the patio and watched the sunset in the morning, which is also outstanding. The Bay House is a little bit more pricey than the local area hotels. The price may be worth it as most of the hotels we saw in Hilo were somewhat run down.


Wonderful Stay at the Bay House

4,4 en agosto 07, 2014

Fabulous stay. Host is very friendly but not intrusive. Bay House supplied gluten free bread, along with a lovely breakfast, and left a special gift of chocolates and wine for my husbands birthday, which was a nice touch. We stayed in the Palm Room which was spacious, and the lanai was private. The premises are well taken care of and really clean. Short walk or drive into Hilo to restaurants and markets.


4 nights in the Bay Room

5 en julio 17, 2014

We had a perfect stay in the Bay Room. Can't say enough about the accommodations, the yummy breakfasts, the proximity to everything in Hilo and the marvelous sound of the ocean waves.


Lovely b&b

5 en junio 23, 2014

The palm room was spacious and private, on the corner. Ocean view from the lanai was beautiful, although not as wide as the view from the other 2 rooms. Tina was very pleasant and gave us some great suggestions (farmers market, manta ray snorkel tour). Location was walking distance to Hilo downtown area where there are stores and restaurants and farmers market. Breakfast consisted of a hot dish, tropical fruit, bread, coffee, juice (yogurt and hard boiled eggs were in the fridge for anytime). Highly recommend this b&b.


Very pleasant stay, despite the frogs!

3,8 en junio 14, 2014

Happy having made that choice instead of a regular hotel room. Nice breakfast, great view of the Bay.


A wonderful stay - one of our best.

5 en junio 10, 2014

The setting is stunning - we had the Gabor room with lovely views of the sea. The breakfast wer varied and delicious - a full choice of hot and cold, fruit, cereals and juices. Bay house was also within a easy stroll to od Hilo town. Tina was a wonderful hostess who made us feel very welcome. In all a highlight of our holiday in Hawaii.


Bay house

4,6 en mayo 27, 2014

The bay house exceeded meg expectations. The room was lovely, breakfast every morning way so yummy. The breeze from the bay really helped cool the room down since there is no a/c. The location was ideal also


Great place to stay

4,2 en mayo 25, 2014

Excellent location within walking distance to downtown Hilo. Tina made our stay a happy one and we were pleased with the comfort of the room (Palm Room). Would recommend and stay again.


Outstanding value!

5 en mayo 05, 2014

We have always been a little leary of bed and breakfasts, and this was our first b & b experience. Bay House has completely changed our minds about b & b's and left a most favorable impression. As one other guest said, the Easter bunny visits every morning leaving attractive baskets of tasty food! The rooms are very clean and well appointed, and restaurant recommendations were right on and very helpful. The location is great for doing things in Hilo or exploring, and the views from the lanais are incredible. Highly recommended!!!


Amazing Stay

4,4 en mayo 05, 2014

What an amazing stay we had in Hilo! Whatever were my expectations just didn't matter once night fell and the frogs began their serenade, accompanied by the waves. The sounds and views are beyond amazing! I will return to The Bay House many times in my mind until the next time I can come in person :) The owners are very attentive to every request and the inn is amazingly clean and well kept.


Great View

3,4 en abril 23, 2014

We felt very comfortable and enjoyed the lanai with the great view and the nice breakfast..


Another great stay!

4,6 en abril 13, 2014

I'm a repeat customer at the Bay House, and for good reason. Tina and Tom have a great location, right on the bay and walking distance to town, and provide well appointed, clean rooms, a great breakfast, and wonderful hospitality. Why would you go anywhere else?


Great for Exploring Hilo & Volcano and the East side

4,4 en marzo 20, 2014

This place is a great spot to stay for checking out the east side of the island. Neatly appointed just over the bridge within walking distance to downtown Hilo. We stayed in the Palm room, a smaller room with a smaller lanai, albeit with more privacy which I appreciated more than space. Our hostess was gracious, and very nice. I don't love B&Bs, but this was a perfect compromise. Breakfast is enjoyed on your lanai not in a communal dining space. The food was wonderful and perfectly proportioned with a nice selection of native fruits, an egg scramble, juices, coffee and cereal and yogurts offered as well. Our room had a homey tropical motif and a very comfortable bed. The layout was similar to my bedroom at home and I was so relaxed I woke up briefly forgetting where I was! The sun rises right across the bay for a beautiful wake up call. The Coqui frogs chirp at night, but it was not an issue for us, rather with the bay waves was a nice natural white noise. If one closed the windows for the evening it would dampen the noise enough for those who might find it problematic. Great value and great location. You are 40 minutes from Volcano and just over an hour should you make the trek to Mauna Kea. Drive up north along the coast and see some other cool towns and catch the whales!


Our stay in Hilo at the Bay House

3,6 en marzo 16, 2014

A beautiful location on the shoreline of Hilo Bay and convenient to downtown Hilo. The nocturnal tree frogs could have turned down the volume a bit.


Wonderful stay at the Bay House!

5 en febrero 23, 2014

Had a wonderful stay and highly recommend the Bay House.


lovely view

3,4 en febrero 20, 2014

The room and the view were great--also the location as it was close to town. If you are the type who wants to stay in a B&B but be sort of by yourself then this is for you. If you like meeting other people and chatting over breakfast then this is not for you. There is a fine line between too much innkeeper in your face and this where you could literally not see another person with the exception of the brief check in process. The innkeeper was very friendly and available by phone if one needed anything.


loved it

5 en febrero 13, 2014

5 Days of beautiful sunrises.


How do you spell HAPPY?

5 en febrero 09, 2014

Had a really great time here. Waves, surfers, stand up paddlers, kayakers… Such a great spot to just watch all the activity on the bay. Cruise lines come in the early morning and depart around dinner time. Tina prepares a really nice buffet which includes just about a little of everything for everyone. We loved eating on our own lanai. Ample parking. Walking distance to town and all the restaurants. Tina is very friendly and willing to do just about anything she can to help with your stay. Owners live on the other side of the house so we had lots of privacy. You get your own keys so you can come and go as you please. When we had to leave early our last day, Tina was more than happy than to get up early and make sure we had a full breakfast at 6 AM. Thank YOU! We would definitely recommend and would stay here again.


Down to a science!

4,6 en febrero 06, 2014

Well done! Everything about our stay was pleasant - great room, great view, great food, convenient location. Lots of little extras - fly repellant, guide books and snacks. My partner had never stayed at a B&B before and was a bit hesitant... after our stay he was very impressed by The Bay House.


Wonderful!

4,8 en febrero 05, 2014

Lovely two-night stay with wonderful views. Great location close to downtown and many restaurants. Quite and had the most comfortable bed I've slept on. Would love to visit again!


Simply Great!

4,8 en febrero 04, 2014

We recently stayed at the Bay House B&B on a trip to the Big Island. The location is fabulous. Our room was very spacious, clean and bright. We would highly recommend this accommodation when staying in Hilo!


Lovely spot on the bay at Hilo

4,0 en febrero 04, 2014

Right on the water at Hilo, Bay House offers super clean and comfortable rooms with private balconies overlooking the water. We watched surfers during the day and were lulled to sleep by the surf and very vocal frogs. Breakfast was very good, served buffet style (with trays you take to your room patio).


Excellent Stay as always

5 en enero 16, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here, first time in the Palm room the second in the Harbor room. The beds are comfy, the shower is warm with good pressure, the view is outstanding and the frogs not so bad (we could still hear the waves over them). We were excited to see an egg scramble added to the breakfast since our first stay in '08. We will stay here again should we ever make it back to Hilo!


Hawaiian Honeymoon

4,6 en diciembre 31, 2013

This is exactly how I imagined visiting Hawaii when I closed my eyes.The sound of the waves, the surfers, the frogs… the view across the bay. Close to Hilo but far enough away. Private from other guests. Sitting in the hot tub with the waves crashing on the cliff. Breakfast is served early so you can get on with your day.The big island has so much diversity and it is BIG. Definitely recommend.


Oceanfront Hilo location

5 en diciembre 30, 2013

The Bay House is on the water and walking distance to downtown Hilo. The farmers market and restaurants are a 10 minute walk over the bridge. Nice buffet is set out at 7 am. Tina is very friendly and accommodating. Just 45 minutes from Volcano National Park and 20 minutes from Akaka Falls, zip lines, and the botanical gardens. Free wifi and easy parking. Would we stay here again? Definitely. Stayed in November 2013


Best stay on our vaccation

4,2 en diciembre 29, 2013

We loved staying here, it was better than any of the hotels we stayed at. We felt just like home! And the bed was outstanding, so comfy! The insects outside are loud, but we didn't have any problems falling asleep. And they provide you with earplugs if needed, I didn't use them though. My boyfriend proposed to me on the balcony.. So it's a good room ;) Thanks for you hospitality and kindness!


pleasant stay

3,0 en diciembre 13, 2013

very pleasant stay but not particularly friendly. between airplanes, trucks, motorcycles, frogs and surf somewhat nosy at night. nice location with short but not very comfortable walk to town; fast traffic and low lighting in narrow walk lane at night a bit scary.


Hilo B & B

3,6 en noviembre 24, 2013

Perfect location from town. Farmer's market on wednesday was awesome. Breakfast was wonderful and plenty. Ceiling exhaust fan in bathroom needs cleaning and top of doorways. Clean freak that I am! Great room and location. Would return in a heart beat.


L&G November Visit

5 en noviembre 23, 2013

Lovely B&B. We will return the next time we are in Hilo.


You are a short walk from downtown, but you feel like you are staying in a secluded paradise!

4,6 en noviembre 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bay House on our honeymoon and loved it! I would highly highly recommend a stay at The Bay House. Hilo is beautiful, and the B&B is gorgeous and sits right on the water. You feel like you are deep in the rain forest, but you are an easy walk to restaurants and shops downtown. Tina was extremely accommodating. We arrived late, and found our key and an instructional note ready for us. The breakfast was delicious- especially the fresh fruit. When we had to leave before 7 am for an early flight, she prepared food that we could easily eat on our way out. And when we were looking to go to a secluded snorkel spot, they loaned us snorkels and towels and gave us directions to an incredible spot. Everything was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We would definitely go back.


Fantastic stay at the lovely Bay House in Hilo.

5 en noviembre 16, 2013

The Bay House is not only easy walking distance to town but it is right on the bay. Beautiful view from the Harbor Room. We never heard the other guests from our rooms. Tina was fantastic. She was nearly transparent except for the evening she knocked on our door to share the best stuffed mushrooms we have ever had. Tina's breakfasts, left in the shared foyer each morning with our room name on them, were everything we desired and more. Perfect. The Coqui frogs were just like home, we loved listening to them. Martin's - Montesano, WA


Excellent Stay

5 en noviembre 12, 2013

This was such a beautiful bed and breakfast with a wonderful room and breakfast in the morning. Also we loved the ocean view with the hot tub in the back yard.


The closest I've ever slept to the ocean. Like being on a raft.

5 en noviembre 11, 2013

Oceanfront and walking distance to downtown Hilo and restaurants. Each guest room has a lanai overlooking the bay. Stayed here in November and the surf was huge. Breakfast is served buffet style and you eat on your own deck, not family style with a group. The coqui frogs can be loud, buy they add to the ambience of being tucked away and surrounded by nature. Tina is friendly but not an overly fawning hostess. Stay here!


Excellent! Thanks!

5 en noviembre 03, 2013

An absolutely wonderful stay, Thanks you so much. Dana & Jerome


Wonderful B&B experience!!!

4,8 en octubre 28, 2013

I have never stayed in a B&B. This place was wonderful. I would recommend to anyone. Beautiful and very clean room. The morning breakfast was very good. My husband an I woke up late and the breakfast of goodies was still set waiting for us. Also, had a beautiful view from the lanai.


Comfortable but Not Quiet

3,6 en octubre 24, 2013

Lovely clean and spacious room with enjoyable views and breakfast with a difference but just right for the climate. Frogs and waves sing you a rather loud lullaby for a comfortable nights rest. Host was very helpful and you do not have far to go to the volcano national park attractions.


Great place

5 en octubre 22, 2013

Great place in hilo. Highly recommend


2 night stay

3,2 en octubre 18, 2013

Definately nice, clean & friendly. I guess I always pictured B & B's as nicer than a hotel. One day, our room was completely re-arranged, moved suitcases & everything.. not sure if I liked that.. we didn't make a mess, we just didn't have it a certain way, or something. If you are busy siteseeing, this is great, a place to crash at the end of the day. If you want service, not so bueno. Great location! Some hotels in Hilo are pretty run down, check your room first !!


Bay House Bed and Breakfast

2,2 en octubre 10, 2013

The view from the Lanai was excellent, room was clean and neat; did not replenish a bar of soap for the bathroom only liquid body wash and shampoo was available after three days. Service from engaging with guests was poor. The policy of hand carrying all breakfast and food to the Lanai table was cumbersome. Typically made eight trips to carry food out, refill coffee cup and carry dishes back each morning. Fresh tropical fruit appears to be inexpensive at the local market as we purchased our own and ate in the evening. The fruit was sort of rationed in terms of quantity at breakfast. I am a heart patient and a verbal review upon arrival or written review prior to arrival to insure items that I try to avoid for breakfast would have prevented us refusing to eat the eggs and other omelette ingredients for the first two days of our five day stay. We will stick to hotels the next time we visit the Islands.

Respuesta del propietario

Aloha. I am so sorry about the bar soap not being replenished. If you had told us, we could have rectified that in a few seconds. For all our guests, if there is anything you need, please tell us! We want you to be happy. If I had known about your dietary restrictions, I could have easily worked around it. It is much better to let us know what you need when you are here, rather than say nothing and wait until you get home to write a bad review. You are on vacation! We want you to have an excellent time while you are here. As for the breakfast buffet we serve in the morning... it is exactly that. Served buffet style and taken back to your private lanai. We state this on our website. We provide each guest room with a large individual basket filled with papaya, pineapple, rambutan, dragon fruit, lillikoi, baked bread, and sausage with eggs. In addition, there is coffee, tea, oatmeal, two types of cereal, nutella, and peanut butter on the breakfast bar. Yogurt, hard boiled eggs, Jellies, butter, juice, and milk are kept in the fridge to be shared by all. We love what we do and we truly want you to have an excellent time here. Mahalo, Tina


Excellent place to stay

4,6 en septiembre 19, 2013

Wonderful views over bay


The beauty is in the details!

4,8 en agosto 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The view was great, our room was clean and decorative but not over the top. I loved the private patio we had and waking up to the sunrise over the ocean. The details here are not overlooked. Umbrellas by the front door, travel guides in the lounge area, ear plugs for the frogs, Aveda shampoo and conditioner, and a fridge stocked with things to grab if you're in a rush. Absolutely perfect!


Charming B&B

4,8 en agosto 20, 2013

Very nice B&B, beautiful view of the bay, very clean room, and very nice breakfast.


Bay house

4,2 en agosto 01, 2013

Great location, only a short walk to the water and shops. Service was excellent, enjoyed having breakfast on our lanai with ocean view! Always a great holiday when waking up to the sound of waves.


3 Nights At Bay House Bed & Breakfast in Hilo

5 en julio 06, 2013

Words alone cannot describe our stay at the Bay House. Tina was such a delightful & accommodating hostess and so enjoyable to talk with. The Palm Room was absolutely gorgeous! And the ocean breeze and singing of the frogs was wonderful! If we ever go back to Hilo we will stay at the Bay House. I miss it!! Rose Mary & Geoge


Gorgeous & Friendly B&B

5 en junio 24, 2013

Beautifully furnished room with a private lanai. Great ocean view with a magnificent sunrise. Superb breakfast buffet with a delicious variety of foods. Extremely friendly hosts offering exceptional service.


Bay House / Hilo

4,4 en junio 21, 2013

The rooms are very nicely decorated, breakfast on the lanai with a view over the ocean is a perfect start into the day... we highly recommend it


Perfect place to start our Big Island Vacation. us relax, whether we were sitting on the lanai or sleeping in the king-sized four poster bed.

5 en junio 15, 2013

Bay House was even better than the pictures from the website. We stayed in the Bay Room. The ocean breeze and the sounds of the surf filled the room. The view was private and it was hard to imagine we were only minutes from downtown old Hilo. There was a magnificent tree framing our view of Hilo harbor. The room was spotless. I felt like everything was fresh and updated. Our bed was a king-sized four poster with a gorgeous ceiling fan. The quilts and pillows decorating the room were fresh and clean. Breakfast was fresh fruit, eggs, and fruit bread. We stayed 5 nights and were sorry to leave Hilo as we moved to Kona for the rest of our vacation. J & R Hall


Would stay here again

4,6 en junio 06, 2013

Location right on the bay was fabulous. Enjoyed breakfast and relaxing on the lanai looking out over the water. Walked into Hilo for dinner, sightseeing and the farmer's market. Very comfortable bed.


Bay House in Hilo is WONDERFUL

4,6 en mayo 31, 2013

Everything about Bay House was fantastic - from the beautifully appointed room and bay view lanai, to the common area and its central location making it an easy walk downtown. Our innkeeper Tina made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, and recommended excellent restaurants and activities. Breakfasts were fresh and plentiful - such a great way to start and end each day! Highly recommended!


Bay House B&B

4,8 en mayo 18, 2013

A beautifully decorated room in a great location, a fabulous breakfast and a very pleasant and helpful owner.


Great view of the bay, clean, good breakfast

3,8 en mayo 12, 2013

The Bay House is at a great location. Very close to the center of Hilo and with a view over the bay. The breakfast was great with banana bread, papaya, omelet and more. The room was very clean and well maintained.


The Bay House was beautiful with a terrific location

4,4 en mayo 08, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights in the Harbor Room at the Bay House. The location was great, the room was beautiful with luxurious linens, comfy bed, exceptional décor. It was meticulously clean. The coqui frogs at night were extremely loud all the way to daybreak, the hosts graciously provided earplugs, and although charming at first, the noise was still tough to sleep through for me. Breakfast was delightful. I must say information was lacking- no where in our room was information on anything- wireless access, breakfast protocol, TV info, welcome guests... We did see Wifi info taped to a door in the lobby area as we were leaving. The hosts were invisible, which appeals to some. I would recommend it and stay there again.


Hilo B&B experience

4,4 en mayo 06, 2013

This facility is walking distance from downtown Hilo (across the bridge). Breakfast made good use of fresh fruits from the area and a selection of fruit juice, freshly brewed coffee, and could be modified to suit dietary needs. Rooms are well ventilated and have views of the Bay from the lanai (covered porch). At least one of the three rooms has a desk and chair which is nice for those using a laptop computer or doing some writing. There is a WiFi connection to the internet. There was a hot tub outside, but we did not use that. As found at most facilities in Hilo, there is a chirping sound outside from tree frogs at night, but ear plugs are provided to eliminate that sound if needed. One does not hear much noise from the hi-way.


Outstanding in every catagory

5 en abril 17, 2013

Beautiful rooms with a great ocean view for every room, great daily breakfast, and owner Tina was very friendly, helpful, and made us feel very comfortable. We booked the entire place with one room for each of our kids and their spouses and all said it was the best part of all our different accommodations on all of the islands.


Beautiful location with excellent hosts

5 en marzo 24, 2013

Excellent B&B just outside Hilo but within walking distance of the town. Very noice rooms with exceptional views over the bay. Highly recommended.


Great Location

5 en marzo 19, 2013

The host and hostess were great at answering questions and offering suggestions. The breakfasts were excellent and the view from the room fantastic. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.


A Seaside Oasis - with surf and frogs!

4,6 en marzo 19, 2013

We (2 couples) stayed for 2 nights in the Harbor and Bay rooms. The location is excellent - on a seaside cliff just off the highway on the edge of Hilo. It is cllose to everything but private and quiet. Ideal for us. The layout is a main foyer that doubles as the breakfast location and all 3 rooms and the host residence open into the foyer. You can eat there if you wish but we took our trays back to the lanai. Our room was large with lots of ventilation. We slept at night with the windows and deck doors open but screened. The ocean surf was heavy and the crashing waves were soothing. Oh yes, and so were those coqui frogs. There were lots of these, and they are LOUD. Ear plugs were supplied for those that find this a problem. Our other couple simply shut the windows, but for me I loved falling asleep to the sounds of nature. An evening soak in the hot tub was excellent. I counted 5 of the frogs without trying just by shining my flashlight around. Chatting with the hosts was pleasant and they had good suggestions for places to eat and things to do. Hilo Bay Café and Café Pesto were nice places to eat. Breakfast was a hot dish, fresh fruit, drinks, and home baked goodies. Eggs were available as well. Overall a very good experience and we would return again.


Fantastic Stay

5 en marzo 19, 2013

We were a little worried, based on reviews of other accommodations in the Hilo area, but The Bay House was fantastic! Great breakfasts, very clean room, hot tub overlooking the bay, waves crashing outside (and down a little cliff). All-in-all, we'd go back again in a heartbeat.


Wonderful!

4,2 en marzo 10, 2013

We booked our stay here based on other reviews. We were not disappointed. It is a wonderful place to stay. The view of the bay was beautiful and the room was lovely. Most important to us the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Tina made a wonderful breakfast that had a variety of food, including fresh fruit. Very yummy. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend the Bay House. Lynn & Jerry


Bay House - Hilo

4,0 en marzo 09, 2013

Right next to the ocean. Quiet (modern) neighborhood but can easily walk to downtown Hilo if desired.


Best B & B in Hilo

4,6 en marzo 09, 2013

Private rooms, very clean, yummy breakfast, access to a hot tub under the stars and a very efficient host. We would absolutely stay here again.


A true gem!!

5 en marzo 06, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 fabulous nights at this exceptional bed and breakfast and stayed in the Bay Room. The setting is lovely with a great view overlooking Hilo Bay and the morning sunrise. The Bay House is located a short walk across the bridge and within an easy 10 minute walk to the main tourist area in Hilo. Breakfast on your own private lanai facing the ocean is relaxed and peaceful. Host Tina serves a delicious breakfast promptly at 7 AM and it includes papaya, pineapple, rambatan, scrambled eggs with potato and sausage, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, and delicious banana bread. If you want to sleep in, no problem, breakfast is waiting for you in the common area to pick up and bring back to your own room. The common area has a fridge, microwave, toaster, bookshelf filled with books to read and a comfortable couch. This allows guests to interact with one another or maintain one's private space in your room. There are only 3 rooms available so it wasn’t noisy at all. Our room, the Bay Room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. A TV and wifi are also in the room. Tina has complimentary ear plugs on the night stand for the sound of the Coqui frogs that sing at night and for the sound of the waves crashing in front of your lanai. I found both to be quite soothing. The common area and our room was clean, bug free, quiet and the linen and towels are fresh. There is a hot tub on the cliff where you can sit and relax at the end of a long day of hiking and exploring. It overlooks the rocky coastline and was a nice touch. Tina was a gracious and super helpful host during our stay. She was prompt in contacting me for the reservation request and very professional. I would stay here again in a heart beat and recommend this lovely B and B, you will not be disappointed. Brenda


Comfortable, clean rooms with fantastic breakfast!

5 en marzo 02, 2013

Tina and Tom were the friendliest hosts and their B&B is fantastic! The rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and a lanai to eat breakfast at in the morning. Tina's breakfasts are delicious and healthy, looked forward to them every morning. The location is perfect to walk to downtown Hilo and the hottub is amazing with views of the bay. We will definitely stay here again next time in Hilo!


Wonderful Place To Stay!

4,2 en febrero 23, 2013

If you are in Hilo, this is a great place to stay. It is within walking distance to downtown. The rooms are clean and the inn keepers are friendly and helpful. Breakfast on your private patio each morning is a real treat.


Wonderful room with comfortable bed and great view of Hilo Bay

4,8 en febrero 21, 2013

Great location right on Hilo Bay with an unubstructed view of the water. Delicious breakfast to eat on your patio. Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for an upscale place in the Hilo area.


Quiet, private oasis

4,2 en febrero 19, 2013

You cannot beat the excellent location near downtown and dining, yet very quiet and right on the bay, with your private covered deck with sliding glass door overlooking the water. A nice breeze blows in your room all night and helps with the fact that there is no air conditioning. Tree frogs sang all night long (we were there late January) but the sound of the surf and the breeze smoothed it over somewhat and we didn't have trouble sleeping. We did miss the lack of AC as Hilo is quite humid (for us, anyway). It's not a place that is set up for mingling with your host or other guests too much. There is not really a common area, and your breakfast is laid out on the counter and you come and get it and eat on your deck. However, when you do talk to the host, she is very friendly and accommodating and has excellent suggestions for activities and restaurants. The excellent breakfast includes good, plentiful coffee, fresh mangos and pineapple, nice egg dishes and freshly baked breakfast breads. I thought the Nutella and peanut butter left out all the time were an added bonus. The entire place is extremely clean and the rooms are large and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.


Paradise in Hilo, Hawaii

5 en febrero 18, 2013

This residence is a short drive to the airport and and within walking distance to Hilo. It is right on the bay and you can hear the surf. It lulls you to sleep at night. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was set out for us each morning and we could eat on our deck overlooking the water. So peaceful. Tina was helpful in directing us to local snorkeling spots. She also provided a great tour book- Hawaii Revealed- to help us get around. Our stay was so great I just didn't want to leave.


Pleasant B&B

2,8 en febrero 14, 2013

Conveniently located near downtown, we enjoyed the Bay Room which opens directly on the Bay and probably has less frog noise than rooms with more nearby vegetation. But if you have the windows open, I suspect you are going to hear frogs most anywhere in the Hilo area. The host was polite although we saw little of her. Breakfast was mostly self-serve, motel style, although we did enjoy eating it on the Lanai in the privacy of our room.


Two nights by the sea

5 en febrero 06, 2013

The Bay House was clean, the room was exceptional, breakfast on the lanai overlooking the sea, excellent location, friendly hostess ... good stay.


Five Stars

5 en febrero 04, 2013

We spent 3 fabulous nights at this exceptional bed and breakfast. The setting is lovely, overlooking Hilo Bay. Breakfast on your own private balcony facing the ocean is relaxed and peaceful. Breakfast includes any or all of the following, being papaya, pineapple, scrambled eggs with potato, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, granola, toast, and a delicious banana bread. This B&B is set up as a private wing of a beautiful home. This allows guests to interact with one another or maintain one's space. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. TV and wifi are available. Bay House is an easy walk to town. It is centrally located whether heading to the Volcano National Park, Akaka Falls, the spectacular Hawaii Tropical Botanical Gardens, or to the Pacific Tsunami Museum and fun farmers market. We would have loved to stay longer and would readily return. My husband considered this or a hotel stay. He made a great choice!! Stayed January 2013


Ideal location for Hilo, Hi

4,2 en enero 25, 2013

Near airport and good view of the bay. Very homey. Tina was very nice and helpful.


Perfect local spot close to downtown Hilo

4,0 en enero 14, 2013

The Bay House was a pleasant surprise! As typical hotel goers, we needed to search outside of our comfort zone to find a place to stay in Hilo. The room was more than sufficient, super clean, tv included, had one of the most comfortable couches I've ever sat on (seriously!) and bed was very comfortable as well. Tina set out a wonderful breakfast spread in the mornings which included local fare that was delicious. Very private location, yet within walking distance to downtown Hilo. Would definitely stay here again - thanks for everything!


Fantastic B&B

4,8 en noviembre 28, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights here, and we have nothing but good things to say about Bay House. Sadly, Tom was sick during our stay, but Tina was wonderful; she was quite friendly and helpful. The room started out very clean and comfortable, and was consistently freshened up for us by the time we returned at the end of the day. The rooms share access to a community area with refrigerator (stocked with juice, condiments, and other useful miscellaneous items), silverware and dishes, etc. The breakfasts were amazing, and consisted of fresh Kona coffee, fresh fruit, bread, and an skillet egg dish--plenty to keep one going during morning hikes at the volcano park. We would highly recommend Bay House to anyone looking for a clean, quiet, and friendly bed and breakfast near Hilo.


Great stay!

5 en noviembre 24, 2012

Tina was a great host. Her breakfast were great. Stayed three nights for our honeymoon. Relaxing, quiet and no frills! Would stay again! Thanks Tina for our our honeymoon gifts!


Great spot, happy vibe

3,6 en noviembre 08, 2012

Definitely recommend this B&B! In a great location, overlooking the bay and a very easy walk over the 'Singing Bridge' to downtown Hilo. Was a bit worried about the nighttime frogs as I am a very light sleeper, but I didn't even need to use the complimentary earplugs to get a great night sleep! Lovely host who is there as much or as little as you need. Really enjoyed our stay.


A very pleasant stay

4,0 en noviembre 07, 2012

We stayed at Bay House for 5 nights in early October and really enjoyed the stay. We were met by Christine who explained where everything was and how breakfast was served but we were left alone for the rest of our stay which suited us fine. The room was lovely, very comfortable and a fantastic view across Hilo harbour. Breakfast was served daily with small variations every morning but there was always plenty and the kitchenette had facilites and food provided to make extra toast and drinks which was useful. The whole place was kept very clean and our room was always serviced very quickly while we were out and about during the day. The box of chocolates was a lovely little extra. I'd point out to anyone staying that there is the occassional aircraft going over but that's the same in most of Hilo as the airport is adjacent to the city. The frogs are noisy but I had 5 wonderful nights sleep and found the frogs and the sound of the waves outside seemed to help me nod off every night! Well recommended to anyone.


Paradise

5 en octubre 28, 2012

It is always a pleasure staying at The Bay House. This trip was our eighth visit and it is all ways a treat. It's paradise..!!


Best place in Hilo!

5 en octubre 24, 2012

A very nice B&B with every comfort you could need. If you're in Hilo, stay here. The owner, Tina, is super-nice and prepares a wonderful breakfast every morning for you to eat out on your private balcony. Parking is available for guests. There are very loud crickets in the trees outside, but Tina provides earplugs on the night stand. It's actually kind of soothing to be honest. Once we were asleep, we stayed asleep; the crickets didn't wake us, so don't worry about that. Very nice view from the balcony. Very good central location for excursions and going into town also. Highly recommended!


Would stay at the Bay House again!

4,6 en octubre 22, 2012

Bay House is a gem of a B&B. The Harbor Room was incredible and had great views of the bay. It was great being able to have our breakfast basket out on the private lanai and just take in the views. I would definitely recommend staying at this inn. Tina was very welcoming and we had a great time. Thank you so much Bay House!


Great B&B

5 en octubre 13, 2012

Stayed here in August for 5 days and loved it from the moment we arrived. The rooms are as beautiful as they look on the website. Only 3 guest rooms and we never heard any noise from the rest of the house. We mainly dealt with Tina, who is down to earth and warm but went above and beyond to assist us (e.g. driving us out to the airport to pick up our rental car). The breakfast was yum (choice of breads and cereals, with a platter of fruit, cake and eggs every day) and we were impressed by the bathroom products (including Aveda). Definitely recommend this B&B.


Hilo Stay

4,4 en octubre 06, 2012

Great spot, freindly host & hostess Breakfast scrumptous Convenient to town Very Clean


Could not be happier

5 en octubre 05, 2012

This B&B perfectly capped off a week's stay on the Big Island. Over two nights, I greatly appreciated the room's cleanliness, comfort & view, not to mention the hosts' generosity and friendliness. Ideally situated within walking distance to downtown Hilo as well as en route for additional exploration along Rt 19, this spot made it easy to appreciate the Eastern side of the island. Thank you Bay House!


A lovely place to stay

4,2 en septiembre 26, 2012

The Bay House was a gtreat place to end our trip to Hawaii. The room was large and beautifully furnished. The balcony overlooked the bay but was very private with greenery all round. The owners were extremely accommodating but definitely gave us plenty of privacy. They even supplied ear buds for the noisy frogs! Thanks Tina and Tom


Perfect Hilo Hideaway.

4,6 en septiembre 19, 2012

Bay House is the perfect place to relax after a day exploring the big island, very convenient to downtown Hilo yet extremely private. The rooms we had were very clean and comfortable, the service top notch, and the breakfasts were a delicious way to start each day.


Good value for money

4,0 en septiembre 17, 2012

It's a nice place very close to Hilo and attractions on that part of the island. The rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was good. It's a good value for money.


Great Bed and Breakfast

5 en agosto 15, 2012

Great place to stay. We were in Hilo for 4 days and Tina and Tom's place was wonderful. The rooms were comfortable, clean and the view was fantastic. We were a party of 4 and our rooms shared a very nice size lanai that we could sit and enjoy our wonderful breakfasts together on. The location was perfect. Not far from the airport, downtown Hilo, Volcano National Park, etc. The frogs at night were very loud but it didn't bother us at all. They provided ear plugs if we wanted but we didn't use them. Would recommend the Bay House.


Charming B & B

4,2 en agosto 07, 2012

Christine and Thomas were pleasant and helpful hosts; not overbearing, but there when we needed them. The two rooms we rented (Bay and Harbor) were delightful, and had great ocean views. Just after we left, we got a call on our cellphone from Tina that my wife had left a robe there. Tina also said that if our daughter (age 18) needed anything while she was spending the summer in Hilo on a research interniship, she could call them anytime. This meant a lot to us.


A Great Hilo stay

5 en agosto 01, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bay House on Hilo Bay at the end of July for 4 nights. Tina, the proprietor, was welcoming and friendly. She made sure our stay was comfortable and convenient. The views of the bay from our lanai (we stayed in the Palm Room) were fantastic. The only downside for my wife was that there was no air conditioning. We kept the windows open with a large ceiling fan moving the air. She said she felt "clammy", but I didn't have that problem. There are also loud frogs that sing all night, but interestingly, it did not present a problem, since they lulled us to sleep. Overall, a wonderful, relaxing stay with a very attentive proprietor. Definitely recommend the Bay House for a great Hilo stay.


Hawaii hospitality!

4,8 en julio 18, 2012

Tina and Tom showed us excellent hospitality, room was immaculate, bed was comfy, ocean and frog sounds were soothing. Tina even hooked me up with some ice packs when I tweaked my knee running around Hilo. Breakfast was cool, always fruit, sweet bread and some kinda specialty breakfast item like a mini omlette or something. I think they also just redid the rooms because they look way cooler than on their website. Just bring your own bath products, they have terrible minty soap with random religious propaganda on the label. I know, super weird. But still, five stars. Outstanding.


Very nice B and B

4,6 en julio 13, 2012

That B and B would be absolutely perfect if acces to the ocean would be possible -but unfortunately it is impossible there-and if the noise of the frogs would disapperar to allow taking advantage of the song of the ocean waves.


Bay House B&B

4,8 en julio 07, 2012

Great location (except for the frogs). Very clean. Hosts are okay. Bring good ear plugs for the frogs (the soft silicon work best); close windows; put pillows under and on top of head. You will adjust.


very goog memories

4,8 en junio 11, 2012

A very good stay, the room has a fabulous view on the sea and the plateau of the breakfast is really great Surprised go will be you Valerie and Franck


Bay House BB in Hilo, Hawaii

3,6 en junio 05, 2012

Overall very good. Nice rooms, very clean, and the owners are very friendly. Excellent views from all rooms. Some complain about the loud frogs at night but I found the noise enjoyable, they supply earplugs in the rooms if needed. Close to downtown Hilo, 45 minutes on the highway to Volcano National Park. I would stay there again. Watching the sunrise/mornings from the room is amazing.


Amazing place :)

5 en mayo 29, 2012

Found this place as an alternative to a hotel... was SO happy we found it. Loved the setting, the quiet location, the easy access to town (and the rest of the island), and the breakfasts were amazing as well. Would highly recommend it to anyone, and would certainly stay again if we are able to go back to Hawaii


Quick Stop

4,0 en mayo 15, 2012

My husband and I wanted a nice, quiet place to stay on the Hilo side of the island for 2 nights while we explored the area. The Bay House was a great choice! It is VERY well located both to the tourist locations we wanted to visit and lots of good dining options in Hilo. Our room was clean, comfortable and very nice. Upon telling the owner we would be leaving to explore the island early on our first day, she kindly set out an easy breakfast for us to take on the road the follow day - very thoughtful. At night you could hear the ocean & sounds of the forest sing you to sleep. Overall our stay was great and I will return to both the Big Island and the Bay House. Thanks!


Hilo Delight

4,8 en mayo 14, 2012

The Bay House is a great location in Hilo. Our Hostess was pleasant and accomodating. The whole place was so incredibly CLEAN! Loved the hot tub overlooking Hilo Bay!!


Clean Bright and Cheery

4,4 en mayo 08, 2012

Lovely spot convenient to everything. Tina was great. Beautiful room and so clean.


Our Stay at the Bay House B & B

4,4 en mayo 04, 2012

My wife and I had a most pleasant stay at the Bay House B & B. Our room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and the view from our lanai was awesome. Our hostess was very personable, prompt and helpful in telling us telling us where the good restaurants were as well as some of the "must see" places to go in Hilo. I would highly reccomend the Bay House B & B and would certainly stay there again. Randy and Louise W.


Perfect 'Home away from 'Home

5 en abril 28, 2012

We found the Bay House B&B to be a perfect place for our stay in Hilo. We were greeted by Tina and entered their spotlessly clean, warm and inviting home. Our room overlooked the beautiful Hilo Bay, we had our own balcony to enjoy the amazing view. Tina and Tom had provided for our every need from a huge comfortable bed to large, fluffy towels in the bathroom. We awoke to find a fresh hearty breakfast waiting for us in the dining room, fresh fruit, homemade muffins and savoury delights. A large bookcase contained local guide books for our use and Tina kindly lent me her own home phone to use my phone card with. The Bay House is close to Hilo town - walking distance and easy to find. Perfect stay! A & T Australind Western Australia


Loved it!

5 en abril 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We flew into town and she allowed us to drop off our luggage early, even though our room wasn't free. We had a zip-line adventure scheduled and didn't want to leave our luggage in the car. When we arrived she took our luggage and even loaned me a jacket! That night when we got back our luggage was in our beautiful room. We got the best night sleep the two nights there than anywhere else on our trip. The breakfast was delicious and just the right amount. We will definitely be back!


A very Satisfactory Stay

4,0 en abril 14, 2012

The pictures accurately describe the rooms (except they have been refresshed with new spreads and linens. The location is wonderful - a pleasant 10 minute walk from the town centre. Hilo is delightful community, not to be missed. We spent five nights at the Bay House and were sorry to go. For lunch or dinner try the Cafe Pesto - wonderful!


Delightful hideaway on the bayfront

4,8 en marzo 10, 2012

We would return to Hilo, just to stay here, listen to the waves, enjoy the view, a two minute walk to town, lovely Hawaiin country decor, fantastic owners..true ALOHA spirit!


Great Stay at the Bay House

5 en febrero 23, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Bay House. This was our second stay here after almost 7 years and the Bay House has kept its high standards. We will definitely stay here every time we visit Hilo and we highly recommend this place.


Two lovely nights in Hilo

3,4 en febrero 18, 2012

We stayed in the Palm Room in February, 2012. I was a bit put off by the Koki frogs churping (whistling) all night next to our bedroom windows the first night. The owners thoughtfully supplied ear plugs, which I used. The second night the frogs were quieter and didn't seem disturbing to me. The room was very comfortable and was tastefully decorated in island decor. I thought the way they handled breakfast was a great idea; and we certainly had more than we could eat of fresh tropical fruits, eggs, cereal, and breads.


Our Bay House stay

2,8 en febrero 16, 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay at the Bay House. The rooms and bay view are great, even with the noisy frogs! Tina and Tom were very accommodating hosts and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B.


From Joan Herrett

4,0 en febrero 13, 2012

The B & B was a highlight to our trip to Hilo. Because we were two couples, Tina removed the barriar on the Lanei. It was gorgeous sitting by the water. At night time because it was cool, the windows could remain open. We enjoyed hearing the water break over the rocks, the breeze through the trees and the coques (may be annoying to some). Tina could not have been nicer and more helpful. Her breakfasts were declicious and her recommendations for restaurants were appreciated. The rooms were supper clean.


Wonderful BnB Stayed in the Harbor room

4,0 en febrero 13, 2012

This BnB was our first. What a great first. This BnB was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfy and we slept like babies. The breakfast in the morning was great. We had cereal hot or cold, hard boiled eggs, fresh prepared fruit and a baked good. You could have yogurt, juice and toast also. It filled us up to start our day. We loved sitting on our lanai in the morning having our coffee. The book shelf was full of great local books to help with your planning. You could come and go as you liked because we had a separate entrance to our part of the house. Tina and Tom were there if we needed them and were very helpful but more or less left us alone. I liked that. I loved the decor in our room, I felt like Hawaii.


Amazing home base in Hawaii!

4,0 en febrero 08, 2012

We spent our first two days on the big island in Hilo exploring the nearby Volcano National Park. We spent more time here than planned because my husband had to work, but it was a great location to spend some extended time taking advantage of their wi-fi, and lounging in the hot tub out back overlooking the ocean. The owners made us fresh coffee and were generally gracious and kind, and the property is very well maintained. We would stay here again most certainly!


Nice sounds of the bay.

3,4 en febrero 07, 2012

It's a lovely house right on the bay, within walking distance of Hilotown. The breakfast is in continental style which would have been fine, but the items served should have been a bit more diverse and of a little better quality.


Bay House in Hilo Hawaii January 2012

5 en febrero 02, 2012

Our stay here could not have been any better. Everything was perfect, as stated/shown on their website. Most importantly, it was sparkling clean! We had an early flight off the island and they provided breakfast earlier than usual, which was very much appreciated. We would highly recommend them. I am sure we'll be back.


2 From Atlanta

4,0 en enero 29, 2012

If you are looking for clean, spacious, quiet and convenient lodgings - this is the place. The reason you come to the Big Island is to avoid the urban hustle and bushel. And if you have done so and want to avoid the “Resort” atmosphere – again this is the place. The rooms are impeccably clean, a fresh sea breeze always available, a view that is right out of the travel guides, and beautifully decorated. Plus for a B&B – your own private bath. Hilo is a quaint little place, walking distance to some fair food, small shopping area and a cool coffee stand (Hilo Sharks Coffee). Nothing fancy, but also no crowds and little traffic. You can relax and do nothing. You can sit on your private lanai or in the hot tub and watch the fisherman in the bay on their boards and small boats. The “Breakfast” – of the B & B is fresh, adequate and surprisingly pretty unregulated. Just take your room’s serving (ready at 7:00) to “your” lanai and eat at your leisure – no sit down 7:00-8:00 AM deadlines. And there is a “Frig” and “Micro” available for your use. This is your base camp – an hour or two gets you to the sights, sounds and glamour or the Island. You can hire, take or drive yourself to the touring opportunities. Your host Tina will provide you recommendations and guide lines. If you’ve come for the” lava” (as we did), there are lots of fields to view – but alas, none were orange or moving during our stay. We did however see the “Glow” on an evening excursion to Volcano Park. Highly recommended – want a view? Try “Google Earth” and take a street level tour…………………..


I had a really lovely visit and experience here!

4,4 en enero 26, 2012

This B & B was exceptionally managed by the owner Tina. She was a lovely hostess and made sure my food needs were all met (I am gluten-sensitive). The rooms were impeccably kept, spotless and really comfortable. The home was located within a 5 minute walking distance of the main Hilo area, and well within a short walk of several decent dining options. I stayed in the Palm Room. My only complaint was the proximity to traffic noise from the main road, but that was managed by a very solid palm frond border on their property, and by closing the windows on that side of the room for the night. The other two rooms were on the ocean side and did not have any windows on the road side of the house. I highly recommend a visit here!


Bay House Trip

3,8 en enero 03, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty! The umbrellas for the guests saved us from getting soaked.


Overlooking the Bay

4,4 en diciembre 10, 2011

Beautiful location overlooking the bay at Hilo. Walkable to downtown and restaurants. Very nice room with lanai.


Great place

4,0 en diciembre 09, 2011

We stayed in B&B for 2 nights,great location, nearby center of town overlooking bay, set up in lovely tropical garden. Room is specious, nicely decorated. Would definitely come back again.


An excellent stay in Hilo

4,2 en diciembre 03, 2011

As a first time guest at a B & B, we did not know what to expect but our stay at the Bay House could not have gone much smoother. It had all the comforts of home plus the sounds of Hawaii (frogs and surf). The bed was very comfortable, the room neat and breakfast was wonderful with Kona coffee and Earl Grey tea for the missus. I would absolutely recommend the Bay House to anyone looking for a quiet non resort experience.


Bay House fun

4,0 en diciembre 02, 2011

Tina, the manager, is a bundle of joy to visit with. She puts out a sumptuous morning meal of fresh local fruit and all the fixings on individually prepared trays to take your room. All that we could want. Fresh hot coffee and linen napkins, and the other amenities, including the wonderful room are a touch above other B&B's by a long shot. The Room we had for two nights had a view of Hilo bay and at night, the moon reflecting from the dancing water, left me stunned. a perfect place to stay when in Hilo. John and Joy Taylor of Grants Pass, OR.


Great Stay.

5 en noviembre 25, 2011

This was a lovely stay in Hilo. The rooms were great and the breakfast plentiful. It was wonderful to overlook the ocean and hear the waves. Really good value.


Thoroughly enjoyable stay at Bay House

4,0 en noviembre 19, 2011

The rooms are welcoming and of a good size, have their own private lanai from which to view the bay, the bedding and linens are comfortable. The outdoor jacuzzi, which is very clean, provides a welcome relief from the days adventures and to view the bay and the stars at night. Breakfast is plentiful and delicious and organised so that you can dine in your room. Great location being 5 minutes walk from Hilo shops and restaurants.


A great place to stay in Hilo

3,4 en noviembre 13, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Hilo. Very nice accommodations and so close to everything. We had beautiful views of the bay and I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay there. I wish I could be there now, lying in the comfortable bed at night with the cool breeze blowing through the windows and listening to the coqui frogs. Sure bliss!


excellent stay at bay house

5 en noviembre 12, 2011

I stayed at the Bay Room, the room has been improved from the on-line show. It was really a surprise when I enter the room.


A different Bed and Breakfast!

3,4 en noviembre 05, 2011

Beautifully decorated and very comfortable toom with nice deck overlooking Hilo Bay. The cold breakfast is put out for guests to pick up and take back to their room. Nicely done with lots of fruit, a piece of cake and hard boiled eggs and cereal available. Fine for a couple of nights but would be monotonous after that. Owners were rarely seen and, after much door bell ringing and knocking we checked out without seeing them before our departure.


October 2 night stay

5 en noviembre 03, 2011

The best word to describe our stay is "fantastic" could not be better.


A peaceful and beautiful place to stay!

4,8 en noviembre 01, 2011

From the moment I pulled into the driveway of the Bay House, I knew my stay was going to be a great one... and it was. From the comfortable beds to the beautiful views from the lanai, the rooms were everything you could ever want while on vacation. The owners were a delight, helping me with everything I needed, and the breakfast baskets each morning were stunning, with a fantastic variety of fruits! I woke up each morning to sun and birds, and fell asleep each night to the gentle chirping of frogs. My only regret is that I didn't stay here longer!


Very nice Bed & Breakfast!

4,4 en octubre 25, 2011

The Bay House B&B is in a good location from town, pretty setting and nicely decorated. Our room was very clean and the Harbor setting was very pretty. Tina is very personable and provides any information you need. She was enjoyable to visit with. Her continental breakfast was excellent and the breakfast spread was more than what we could eat. We had time to walk to town for the Farmers Market and enjoy some of the local offerings. We would diffinitely come back to this B&B next time we visit Hilo!


September in Hilo.

3,8 en octubre 08, 2011

Very clean, and comfortable, beautiful views, friendly hosts. Enjoyed our stay very much!


Beautiful View

4,4 en octubre 07, 2011

Beautiful room with a gorgeous view. The house is lovely. It was a little difficult to find the sign was on the gate that was swung into the property. Also there wasn't clear instruction of where to check in. Breakfast was delicous and filling. We would definately stay again and recommend to others.


ear plugs?

4,2 en septiembre 24, 2011

Very nice. My husband and I were wondering about the ear plugs at the bedside. But when the night came our question was answered by the singing frogs (O: Thankyou for the wonderful hospitality and the delicious breakfast!! Not to forget the chocolates. 9/19/11 Ryan and Becky Bryant/krebs


Perfect base for exploring Hilo and surroundings!

4,0 en septiembre 24, 2011

We stayed in the Palm Room. The room is excellent: surrounded by plants, the only thing you hear is the surf of the ocean. There is one little remark: the window shades need an upgrade, the window sills were a bit dirty and in some places a bit of paint wouldn't hurt. Breakfast is excellent - the first time I have encountered a healthy breakfast in the US! Fresh fruits of excellent quality! No greasy eggs or bacon, just good, wholesome stuff. The Bay House is within easy walking distance of downtown Hilo, and is an excellent departure point for Volcanoes National Park, Mauna Loa plantation, and Waipio Valley.


Wonderful!

5 en septiembre 23, 2011

We loved this beautiful, scenic b&b in Hilo! While we weren't fans of the city itself, we couldn't have asked for a more lovely place to stay, nestled among trees, on the bay, with the sounds of singing birds lulling us to sleep. And the breakfast basket in the morning, filled with baked goods and fruit, was delicious. One caveat is that because of the setting there were mosquitoes outside, so if you want to take in the sunset on your lanai and relax a little, you might want to take some precautions.


Wonderful place to stay in Hilo

4,6 en septiembre 13, 2011

Spent two nights at the Bay House Bed and Breakfast. Absolutely delightful and charming place. Well decorated, good location, and beautiful views. The bed was very comfortable and it is immaculately clean. Breakfast in the morning was waiting for us and always good. Remember, however that you are in the tropics and will experience some colorful sounds from nature. Actually, it is very soothing and peaceful. Would totally recommend it and would gladly stay again.


Great B&B along the Hilo Bay

3,6 en septiembre 08, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at the Bay House in the Harbor Room. From the outside it looks like a standard house in the neighborhood, but the rooms and the interior common area were just what you'd expect a B&B should be. Not cheesy and overly decorated with frilly prints and pillows, but simply and nicely decorated. The bed was super comfy (the pillows were quite lacking in volume though). The bathroom in the Harbor Room looked the smallest of the three rooms but it was fine. The room itself was fairly large and the lanai had a wonderful view of the Bay. Breakfast was simple pastry and fruit. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We didn't run into any problems with the room. (I read and have had friends tell me that Hilo has a humidity problem that results in mildew in some places, but this place was clean and airy.) Even the coqui frogs and the waves were consistent sounds to lull us to sleep. Wonderful stay!


Wonderful Experience

5 en septiembre 06, 2011

I am so glad we chose the Bay House for our stay in Hilo. The room was beautiful and the balcony right across from the ocean. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the owners very nice and helpful. The location was perfect, as it is walking distance from downtown Hilo where all the restaurants and shopping our.


A wonderful place

4,2 en septiembre 04, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bay house. Christine is a great host who values great comfort and warm welcome. She takes great care of her guests and makes them feel everything is taken care of as 'by magic'. The rooms are perfect and the huge local breakfasts on the lanai overlooking the bay is unforgettable. Thks again!! We'll come back!


ENCHANTING B&B :)

5 en septiembre 01, 2011

We've stayed for 2 nights in this beautiful B&B!!!! The location is very convenient - in walking distance of downtown Hilo and there is parking available onsite. We had the Palm Room, which looked out onto the ocean; it was bright, spacious, and spotlessly clean with typical Hawaiian furnishings. Breakfast was a delicious variety of fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, coffee, juices. We absolutely loved eating out on our private lanai!!! The owners are friendly and very helpful :) We would higly reccomend this place!!! If we ever came back to Big Island, we would stay there again without any hesitation! Mahalo!


Wonderful little B&B

3,6 en agosto 31, 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. It was comfortable and the owner was super helpful. The only negative was the noise at night from the night time critters outside our window. They are loud and if you're a light sleeper you'll need the ear plugs that are provided.


Beautiful accommodations, great location, highly recommended

4,8 en agosto 18, 2011

One of the best B & B's we've ever had the pleasure to stay at. Excellent in every way. The owner, Tina, was friendly and helpful. Each of the three rooms was beautifully decorated, with everything you could want, including comfortable seating and a private lanai. We didn't try the hot tub, but it looked inviting. The beautiful location, overlooking the sea just outside the Hilo business district, was very also very convenient to town and to the airport. Hilo itself was a pleasant surprise. It was a real Hawaiian town, not a cookie-cutter resort area, and we enjoyed the Farmer's Market.


Wonderful view, superb breakfast

4,6 en agosto 06, 2011

It was a wonderful stay in Hilo with a very nice room and excellent ocean view. We could have breakfast with fresh local fruits in the Lanai, watching early paddlers trying to catch the first morning waves. The room was elegantly decorated with really high quality furniture. Several Big Island travel guides were available for reference, together with free Wifi access and recommendations from the landlady, we had a wonderful stay.


Our Hawaii Vacation

4,4 en julio 30, 2011

The Bay House Bed and Breakfast has a beautiful ocean view with the constant sound of the waves hitting the shore. It was very relaxing.


The true feeling of Hawaiian hospitality

4,8 en julio 21, 2011

We just returned from a stay at your wonderful bed and breakfast. Tina, Tom and family are terrific hosts and work hard to assure a gloriously comfortable stay. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. The breakfast on the lanai put you in the total "I'm in Hawaii now" zone. We especially loved the Dr. Brommer soap in the bathroom. I'm still feeling the tingle today. Tina pointed me in the direction of the farmer's market. It was a real treat. Thanks Tina for all of the little touches that made us feel special and welcome. I will come back to your home anytime I am in Hilo.


Bay Views

3,6 en junio 11, 2011

Beautiful views of the bay and within walking distance of town and the farmers market.


Great Place!!!

4,8 en mayo 31, 2011

The Bay House was wonderful. Perfect location right off Hilo Bay. Room was great and the view was Spectacular. Breakfast was great and nicely laid out. Would highly recommend a stay here.


Great place to stay in Hilo

4,4 en mayo 28, 2011

Great B&B, right across the bridge from downtown Hilo. Walk to dinner, parks. Tina was great in making accommodations for my strange breakfast schedule. Would highly recommend!


Bay House

4,8 en mayo 24, 2011

The reality was consistant with the website. Beautiful view, right on the ocean, great decorating, nice fresh fruit for breakfast. Location is very convenient. Very friendly host.


Lovely time at the Bay House

3,8 en abril 26, 2011

Our stay at Bay House was exceptionally beautiful. We enjoyed the view of the bay on our private lanai. Our breakfast was simply wonderful with fresh fruit from the island. My favourite touch was the smell of Jasmine and Gardenia from the property.


Nice place

3,0 en abril 26, 2011

Used "Harbor Room." Nice view. You eat breakfast on your own lanai which is nice in one way, but I miss eating and talkng with others communally. They proviced earplugs, not for airplance noise, but for the quoqui frogs. We didn't use them though.


Great find in Hilo

4,2 en abril 24, 2011

Very pleasant rooms, great location--secluded, close to nature, yet convenient to town and sights, including Volcanoes NPHosts were very friendly but not intrusive. We'd definitely stay there when in Hilo.


Very nice B&B with a great view

4,4 en abril 20, 2011

We stayed in the harbor room and really liked it. Super clean, great view to hilo bay. Breakfast was great and plenty, and the inkeepers are great people.


bay house april

4,4 en abril 12, 2011

beautiful home, right on ocean. room a bit small, but gorgeous....breakfast wonderful--fresh fruit, cinnamon rolls, etc. grounds lovely, with lots of plants...


Great Stay

5 en abril 12, 2011

My five day stay was exceptional. Would recommend the Bay House to all.


A Beautiful location on Hilo Bay

4,4 en abril 07, 2011

My husband and I just spent two beautiful nights at the Bay House B & B in Hilo. We are seniors and this was our first time ever at a B & B. We enjoyed the prepared breakfast every morning on our private lanai overlooking the bay. It included wonderful fresh fruit, pastries plus other items and freshly brewed Kona coffee to get us going. The bed was so comfortable and the room beautifully decorated in a Hawaiian style.


Excellent Location and Hospitality

4,0 en abril 02, 2011

We stayed at the Bay House in Hilo in late January 2011. It is a 5 minute walk into DT hilo across the bridge. Our room had a terrific view of the Bay. We enjoyed having breakfast on the lanai in the morning sun. cinnamon rolls and tropical fruit were tasty. The fridge had other healthy snacks such as yogurt and hard boiled eggs, and bread and cereal were also available on the kitchen counter. The room was well kept and clean and other guests and innkeeper were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.


I want to go back soon

4,0 en marzo 16, 2011

The palm room is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean with ample bathroom space. Tina was extraordinarily helpful with personal needs and prepared a delicious breakfast. The bed was a tad too soft for my sensitive low back but overall this B&B was far above average. Ron Davis


fine place to stay in Hilo

4,6 en marzo 13, 2011

We have stayed at half a dozen places in HIlo and this is by far the best. We enjoyed the great coffee and fruit at breakfast but would have liked some adult cereals among the cereal choices. We plan to make this the headquarters of out annual visit to Hilo.


Eye popping view of Hilo Bay

5 en marzo 09, 2011

Rooms sit right on the water. We watched the cruise ships come in, paddle surfers, kayakers, all morning out on the bay from our guest room lanai. The rooms are spacious and Hawaiian themed. Coqui frogs are loud, but they did not bother us. Breakfast consists of fresh tropical fruit, bread, cereals, yogurts and cooked eggs. We ate buffet style and took it back to our room to enjoy the view and activity on the bay. Hot tub is a must. Would stay again.


Great Location - Even Better View

3,6 en marzo 09, 2011

View from lanai was outstanding as was the location. Just a short walk to downtown shops and dining. Room decor was very attractive with good furniture pieces and room for suitcases.There was not a lot of storage space for clothing in the Harbor Room and bathroom was serviceable but quite small. Palm Room suffers from traffic noise but is larger and has more bathroom and storage space. Harbor Room has the best view. Our hosts were friendly and available for advice but didn't hover and let us set the tone for how much contact we wanted...an attitude we appreciated. Only a cold breakfast is available but it is served early and there is wide variety. Baked goods were adequate. Fresh fruit every morning was delicious, attractively presented and abundant. In a city where it rains a lot the covered parking was a plus. The Bay House is definitely a spot we would not hesitate to book again.


private

3,2 en marzo 05, 2011

Nice and private, with minimal interference from the innkeeper. We're not into sitting with strangers and chatting at breakfast. It's nice to just go get your breakfast whenever you want and take it back to your room. Beautiful views.


A Really Great Place to Stay

4,4 en febrero 23, 2011

We stayed five nights at The Bay House. Our room, The Bay Room, has a beautiful view of Hilo Bay. All three rooms have private lanais. Sounds of surf and birds. Delicious breakfasts with lots of local fruits and homemade baked goods. Rooms are lovely. Staff is exceptionally nice. It's also walking distance from downtown Hilo. Hard to think of how it could be better.


Nicely Done

4,2 en febrero 12, 2011

Only one problem, the hot tub was not open consistantly for our use. Otherwise, this is a very nice place to stay and is close to downtown. It looks just like the photos on the website. The owners have done a nice job of providing a comfortable place to stay.

Respuesta del propietario

The hot tub is available pretty much all the time, except during thunder storms. If the cover is shut, don't let that stop you from enjoying it. Just flip the cover over and close it when you are through.


Perfect Place to Stay

4,8 en febrero 01, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Bay House B&B and wished we would have stayed here longer. This was much more peaceful than staying at a resort. We would highly recommend this bed & breakfast and would definitely stay here again. Great location if you want to go to Volcano National Park. Wonderful view from the room. Nice lounge area with a couch and books about the area restaurants and things to do. Great breakfast assortment - consisted of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cereal, hardboiled eggs, bread, and baked item. Microwave, toaster and refrigerator for guests to use. We would take our food to our private lanai each morning and eat overlooking the bay. At night we could hear the waves crashing and the frogs (lulled us to sleep each night). There are ear plugs in the rooms in case guests need them. Private entrance, private bath, beautiful rooms/view and extremely clean. Stay here if you get a chance - you will definitely not be disappointed. Mahalo!


Awsome view and stay

5 en enero 31, 2011

Bay House B&B was a great place to stay in Hilo. My husband and I were very pleasantly surprised with the great hospitality, accomodations, view and the breakfast was great.


Enjoyed our brief stay

4,8 en enero 23, 2011

Beautiful room with an even more beautiful view of the bay with a lovely breakfast tray.


beattiful view

3,2 en enero 17, 2011

We spent two nights here in January 2011. The B&B is just a few blocks from downtown Hilo and is situated directly on Hilo Bay. Each of the three rooms has direct water view and a nice big lanai. The building is far enough off the road as not to have much traffic noise. The building has no grounds as such but does have a hot tub which is also directly on the bay. The morning breakfast consists of a basket of fruit and sweet rolls, everyone can help themselves to cereal, yogurt, toast etc from the front kitchen like common room. You take your food back to your room/lanai as there is no other eating place. The place is very convenient to all the activities around Hilo and was only a few minutes to the airport when we left.


Lovely Hilo B&B

4,2 en diciembre 27, 2010

The room was lovely and quiet, except for the very loud coqui frogs. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We didn't see much of the other guests and the owner, but when we did they were very friendly. This is not the kind of B&B where you sit in the dining room and hang out with the other guests, it's very private. We would definitely go back if we were visiting Hilo again.


Don't Pass This Place By-It's Great !!!

5 en noviembre 24, 2010

We've stayed at many B&B's and this one rates as one of the best -- Hilo is a sleepy place with not too many good hotel options -- While other B&B's might be rated higher, this place is a gem -- Tina was wonderful to deal with and was helpful during our visit -- The rooms are just as advertised on their website -- Wonderful -- We would not hesitate to recommend this place to our best friends -- Thanks Tina -- Look forward to coming back in the future -- Donna & Georges, Southern Cal


Wonderful surprise!

4,6 en noviembre 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Bay room at the Bay House in early November. It was wonderful. I have never been a B&B kind of girl but we wanted to stay in Hilo for 2 nights and visit HVNP and I wasn't impressed with the hotels in the area. I loved this place. Tina ,the innkeeper, was wonderful. She was there but not in your way. The rooms were private but you did have the chance to meet the other guests if you wanted to in the common room while everyone was getting their breakfast. Now that is where the treats really began. Tina prepares a basket for each room with fresh baked bread (ours were banana one day and lemon the next) and delicious ripe sliced fruit. The coffee pot is loaded the night before so the first one up brews the coffee. We ate breakfast watching the sunrise over the water. We spent most of our days visiting the Volcano and sights in the area so we weren't in the room much during the day. One of the other nice things was I had read that there was no food available at Volcano National Park so before we left we made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and took them with us. Also, when we arrived, there was a box of chocolate covered macadamia nut turtles on our bed. This was a wonderful surprise!


Angei & Peter's stay at Hilo

5 en noviembre 03, 2010

Wow what an experience. The room was as displayed on the internet, the breakfast was beyond expectations and you didn't need lunch after that. Our host, Tina, well what can one say, she was more than accommodating and just so friendly and helpful catering for our every needs even a special breakfast juice request. Apart from the frogs (Tina provided excellent ear plugs however after 2 nights you get used to them) the place is idyllically peaceful and quiet although just a hop and step from town. The view of the ocean from the balcony and the cruise ship and the spa which unfortunately the rain prevented us from indulging in. We would recommend our friends to stay there when visiting Hilo.


Sleeping on the oceans doorstep.

4,0 en septiembre 13, 2010

We were right on the bay in Hilo. A short walk to downtown and still very peaceful. Tina was an excellent host. Breakfast was simple yet very well prepared. Would visit again. Cliff & Beth


Bay House

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $175 - $175
  • Comentarios (182) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 3

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8089616311
  • Fax 1-8089616311
  • Sin cargo
    1-8882358195

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba