Carriage House on Capitol Hill Comentarios

TOTAL

4,0

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,2
  • Servicios4,0
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas3,4

Puntuación basada en
32 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Recent Stay in Washington DC

4,0 en noviembre 22, 2011

I just loved my recent visit to Washington DC. I would recommend the Carriage House to others and would stay there again as long as I could afford the price. Many thanks!


Capitol Hill Stay

3,8 en noviembre 20, 2011

Beautiful home in a lovely, quiet, and safe neighborhood. Very easy to get around and the family was very friendly.


A great find.

3,8 en noviembre 18, 2011

A wonderful house with lots of interesting characteristics. Very convenient to Capitol Hill and restaurants.


What a find in DC

4,2 en septiembre 29, 2011

Great location! Owners very nice and welcoming. Rooms are great. I recommend Carriage House to everyone!


A great place to stay

4,4 en septiembre 28, 2011

I would highly rec. this B&B. It is a lovely place, the rooms were perfect and the whole is very comfortable and beautifully decorated


The best B&B iin the entire world!!!

5 en septiembre 10, 2011

This is the best and most amazing B&B that I've ever stayed at. I love B&B's because of the "homie" feel to it and this one tops it all. The owners are very friendly and they are there when you need them, they keep the place very clean with touches all over the house that makes it a great place to stay at when visiting the nations capitol! I will highly recommend this bed and breakfast to all my family, friends and acquaintances.


I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

5 en agosto 01, 2011

I stayed in this bed and breakfast for six nights while I was attending a workshop at the Library of Congress. It's proximity to Capitol Hill (just 5 blocks or so) was fantastic. And it was such a great, safe neighborhood...with a lot of restaurants nearby and a couple metro stations. The actual bnb was amazing. Great rooms, each done in a different design with their own full bathrooms and tv. Breakfast was continental/serve yourself, and it was perfect...especially for my schedule. Plus, free wi-fi. The owners were great. Very welcoming, but gave you your space. They even offer free street parking (a pass they give you to display in the windshield) if you have a car. There was a small fridge outside the rooms stocked full with bottled water...which helped beat the July heat and humidity. They also allowed me to do a load of laundry while I was there, which was a nice touch. I don't have a single complaint! They do have a dog and a cat, but they were so sweet and didn't come into your room unless you wanted them to.


Great House, Great Location

4,4 en julio 29, 2011

The Carriage House was a great stay. The location was fantastic- a ten minute walk to the Capitol and a Metro, as well as being six blocks from 8th St and all of its restaurants- and it was very clean, but what set it apart was the couple running it, Mark and Diane, who were so nice and welcoming. They had a great houseman to help maintain the place, who was also very friendly. They had four rooms, each with a balcony and uniquely decorated with its own theme. The only thing to watch out for is they have a dog and a cat. However, as long as you like animals you'll be fine because they're two of the sweetest pets you'll ever meet. I'd highly recommend the Carriage House. Their houseman told me they frequently have repeat guests, and when I go back to DC, I'll be one of them.


library of congress trip-stay at carriage house on capitol hill

4,6 en julio 29, 2011

The carriage house on capitol hill provided a tantilizingly eclectic decor. Walking distance to our business responsibilities at the library of congress. The coffee and breakfast foods were always fresh and ready for us in the morning. Our rooms were cleaned every day. I especially enjoyed the community fridge outside our rooms! I give the carriage house five stars!


Check on the specific room you are assigned!

2,2 en julio 08, 2011

Several other rooms appeared very nice. I did not happen to get any of them!!! Great location!


Excellent choice for our stay in DC

4,4 en mayo 13, 2011

Great location within walking distance of the metro, the Capitol, and many restaurants. Quiet neighborhood, comfortable bed, self-service cold breakfast with wide choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt, baked goods, tea and coffee, so we could set our own morning schedule. Access to refrigerator, clothes washer and drier, lovely gardens, porches and patios, and whole house wireless internet. Hosts had good suggestions of places to visit beyond the Mall. Suited our needs quite well and would definitely stay there again.


Review, Week of April 2nd

2,8 en abril 13, 2011

There were small ants living in the bedroom where we stayed, and the last night that we were there we experienced a strong thunderstorm. Water poured through the ceiling from an hour and a half. We placed a bucket underneath the leak to prevent damage to the carpet, but there was evidence in the ceiling outside our room of previous leaks.


Brief visit to Washington, DC

3,4 en abril 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Carriage House on the Hill in DC, March 21 and 22. This was a most enjoyable B & B from the accomodation POV. The room was lovely in size, furnishings, comfort and cleanliness. The house is splendidly located in DC for tourists such as us, who did not want to drive (we came to DC by Amtrak from NYC). Nearby dining was excellent and we were directed there by the owner (via 'phone and in-room information folder). We were a little disappointed not to meet the owners (except for a chance encounter because an insurance adjuster was coming). Breakfast was a self-serve proposition; the array of breakfast foods was very good, it was "all-you-can-eat" and the coffee was excellent. Just missed the full experience of interacting with our hosts. We met one other guest at one breakfast.


Lodging for business travels

4,0 en marzo 30, 2011

As desired when selecting lodging, I was able to walk .5 mile to the business event location from this B&B. All amenities exceeded expectations; owners (& pets) were personable; neighborhood is charming and safe/comfortable for extended evening walks. Will select this B&B again when staying in the D.C. area.


Great informal stay-away-from-home

4,2 en marzo 18, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Carriage House and absolutely enjoyed it. The air of informality was the most welcoming aspect of this b&b -- nothing planned, breakfast on your own pretty much whenever you wanted it (with a nice selection of breads, cereals, juices, and fruits), access to the house's utility room with washer/dryer and big wide ironing board, owners who were warm but gave us the private space we wanted. A perfect home base in a great location for sightseeing around Capitol Hill and downtown DC. Highly recommended!


Spring Break

3,6 en marzo 17, 2011

Very enjoyable experience. Close to everything we needed. Good restaurants only a short walk away. Diane, thanks for the brownies.


Great place to visit.

5 en febrero 06, 2011

My family and I had a great time at the Carriage House. We couldn't have been any better. The host made us feel at home. The Carriage House suite accommodated our family of 6 very good. We will definitely be back. Many thanks to Diane, Mark, Tamrat, Lauren, and Haven for the great week.


A great stay

4,8 en junio 28, 2010

Very convenient to the Capitol and most tourist sites. Room was very nice, and bed was great. Diane our host was hardworking, accommodating and truly interested in making our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was good: healthy cereals, plenty of fruits, and a variety of choices. When I asked about soy milk, and bran muffins, Diane found both, and they appeared at breakfast the next day.


Great location, unsatisfying breakfast.

2,8 en mayo 20, 2010

Overall, 3.5 out of 5 stars. The location is fantastic--just a short walk to the Capitol, Library of Congress, Senate--even a few senators/congressmen live close by Carriage House. The room/bathroom was tastefully decorated, and the house itself was clean and welcoming. The innkeeper stayed out of your way and was mostly helpful. A bit noisy from downstairs but quieted down after 9pm. I'd suggest going elsewhere for breakfast--it was just a sampling of muffins, cereals, and teas on the kitchen island.


Convenient and Lovely

3,8 en abril 27, 2010

I was lucky enough to get a room in this beautifully furnished and located home because of a cancellation due to the Icelandic volcano. And lucky I was! The house is clean and spacious, the breakfast perfect for someone who is getting up and wants to help herself to a quick bite before heading out, and the location was just blocks away from the Capitol Hill South Metro stop. The house is situated at the top of a steep set of stairs and there are also stairs up to the rooms, thus this would not be appropriate for someone with difficulty climbing stairs. This was a work trip for me and the accommodations suited me well. The bed was very comfortable. For a family with young kids, this B & B would not be appropriate. I would definitely stay here again!


Carriage House on Capitol Hill - affordable luxury close to where eveything is happening

3,6 en abril 27, 2010

Great place at walking distance for everything. And at the end of the day, the metro home is as easy. And the cat and the dog make you feel at home !


charming

4,4 en abril 26, 2010

beautful acommodation, very private and comfortable. the owners are very flexible and accomodating


Fabulous haunt in DC

5 en marzo 19, 2010

Everyone needing to be near the Hill should stay at the Carriage House - a superb location, fabulous atmosphere, great decor and wonderfully comfortable and welcoming. What a find!


Carriage House

4,0 en marzo 18, 2010

Great location and friendly...We plan to stay there again.


Excellent Place to stay in Washington DC...

4,0 en marzo 17, 2010

I loved this B&B. It was centrally located, an easy walk to all of the sights of DC. Restuarants are an easy walk away, the family was very nice. We were somewhat disappointed in the breakfast, being cold and quick. But I can't think of a single reason that I wouldn't want to stay again. Thanks to the proprietor.


Carriage House on Capitol Hill

3,0 en octubre 15, 2009

Good location, wide choice of restaurants 10 minutes away. Maps of area and book of local information to know would have been helpful; house styled eclectically!


Best B&B I've stayed in.

4,6 en agosto 23, 2009

Carriage House was even lovlier than the photos. I spent five days in DC for business and could not wait to get back to the house at the end of each day. The house is spotless yet welcoming. The decore is tastfully eclectic, graceful and even whimsical. I felt completely relaxed and at home each evening as I sat in the lovely courtyard and sipped tea; then slept like a baby in a wonderfully comforable bed. My hostess Diane was available and amiable in assisting me with recomendations for eating, transportation and sight-seeing. Anything I needed was provided including a full size ironing board and iron, the guest fridge was filled with cold bottles of water perfect for getting you to your destination in the hot Washington sun. I wouldn't think of staying anyplace else in DC and can't wait to return.


Great place to stay with our family.

3,4 en junio 29, 2009

We stayed in the sepatrate coach house and loved the character and privacy of this home. The 5 of us felt comfortable and safe. We found the owners to be very kind and helpful. She even stocked a few items in our fridge. We will return for sure!!


We will be back!

5 en mayo 19, 2009

Never having been to D.C. before, my husband and I opted for a pied a terre from which to base our visit of more than a week. What we found at the Carriage House was a celebration of good conversation surrounded by a truly remarkable environment. Our host and hostess, Mark and Diane, have created an island of happiness with easy access to Capitol Hill and the Metro. Diane could not have been more helpful when it came to my tourist inquiries - hand drawn maps and directions, wonderful suggestions for meals, all delivered with her obvious enthusiasm for helping us enjoy our stay. The House itself is a visual treat. Stepping into the front porch, music invites you to linger, but this B&B invites you in, to wander about and discover treasure after treasure. The decor, a melange of eclectic pieces intermingled with architectural antiques, makes this home more than a base from which to visit to D.C., but a destination in itself. Our breakfast conversations were a highlight of the day - that “family” moment you sometimes feel in B&B’s world wide. I found myself wishing D.C. and The Carriage House were closer to Southern California. I will be back -tea anyone?


Unbeatable location-homelike stay

4,8 en mayo 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Carrige House for 6 nights, a mix of business and sightseeing. This small B&B could not have been better located. We walked to the Smithsonian's or took the nearby Metro. This is definately the owners home, lots of their personality, most of it very beautiful, certainly nicer than a generic hotel. It is on the smaller side, I think just 4 rooms. The owners were helpful and friendly as were the other guests we encountered each morning. The courtyard is nicely gardened and made for a relaxing, quiet spot to enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. We will happily return on our next visit to DC.


What a disappointment!

1,0 en mayo 02, 2009

This B&B defied my basic assumption. Facilities vary, food varies, locations vary, but one always assumes that B&B social, people who enjoy meeting people and who willingly opening their doors to offer hospitality. The feeling in this home was the exact opposite. We felt like we were an inconvenience on these people's lives and if it wasn't for the money they would have never unlocked their doors for us or anyone else. This prompted us to avoid coming in at any time the family might be around. The B & B is one block from the Highway! A long stair climb from the sidewalk to the entrance door, puts your bedroom window level with the traffic which produces a wall of constant sound, punctuated only by jets lifting off across the nearby river. With windows shut, drapes drawn etc, the noise was tolerble. Given that the hosts were loath to turn on the air conditioning despite unseasonable warm days in the high 90s, we were forced to sleep with windows open. Food provided was a joke. We ate out most mornings. Stale baked goods and sugar packed breakfast cereal was passed as breakfast. Though new construction and ample sized rooms, the place felt cluttered. Stuff everywhere. The room felt lived in, closet half filled with clothing, the dressers already filled; hard to unpack a carry-on suitcases and fine a place for belongings. Poor lighting; the single bedside lamp too low to read by, the ceiling light not bright enough. Black mold on the shower curtain was no surprise. The houseman, a young man from Kenya just learning English, was friendly enough. He put great effort toward converting us to a religion viewpoint that he espoused.


Excellent Stay

5 en marzo 20, 2009

We enjoyed a stay at the the Carriage House with hosts Diane and Mark from Feb 25th through the 28th. The house is a feast for the eyes as Diane and Mark have furnished it with wonderful antiques and a great sense of style. The two of them, plus their wonderful Ragdoll cat are gracious and friendly hosts who maintain a spotless house, provide great breakfasts, and are available for conversations in the morning and evening. This was our first stay with Diane and Mark, but it will not be our last. The neighborhood is fun to explore with wonderful row houses and the Eastern Market, Navy Yard and the Capital and Mall area an easy walk. Metro access is easy with 3 Metro stops in easy walking distance. FIVE STARS all the way.


Carriage House on Capitol Hill

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $125 - $350
  • Comentarios (32) 4,0
  • Habitaciones 6

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-4135829888
  • Sin cargo
    1-8778933233
Arriba