The Scranton Seahorse Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
86 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Perfect weekend in Madison

4,6 en julio 09, 2014

My wife and I were in Madison for a wedding and fortunately we found Scranton Seahorse B and B. The bedroom and public areas were very comfortable in good taste and not too fussity. Breakfast was delicious and our host Michael was very helpful. He noticed our packing for the beach and came over with a town beach pass! Looking forward to a return visit and exploring more of the Ct. shore Don


Quiet, Comfortable, Peaceful!!!!

4,8 en julio 07, 2014

The Scranton Sea Horse is a wonderful little B&B with some cozy rooms a short driving distance from some of the CT's great beaches. Michael prepares some amazing gourmet breakfasts and the inn is extremely well-kept. Definitely will return.


Amazing Breakfast!

5 en junio 17, 2014

Amazing stay!


Very friendly B&B

4,6 en junio 04, 2014

A brief but very enjoyable stay, even though brief we were made feel very much at home and amongst friends and were given useful advice regarding local attractions.


Lovely place to stay

4,8 en mayo 09, 2014

I've stayed at the Scranton Seahorse a number of times and will always return. Michael is amazing, I always sleep well, breakfasts are the best and it's a 1/2 block for Madison's Main Street with lots of cute shops.


What a gem!

5 en abril 24, 2014

The Scranton Seahorsse is a lovely place in all it's details... lots of character and charm. Our host was friendly and accomodating and the food was fabulous! I will definitely stay again when I am in the area!


The Scranton Seahorse Inn.

5 en enero 11, 2014

We enjoyed the whole Inn experience. Being "off season" gave us the opportunity to relax and unwind. Michael prepares delicious breakfasts. I tried a new way to make grapefruit and will be adding it to my own Sunday brunches. The hospitality made us feel comfortable the moment we walked in with personal touches such as a welcoming message near our room. Michaels warm and friendly personality really shines through. We enjoyed meeting his two Labs after breakfast. They add to the charm.


Our home away from home

5 en noviembre 14, 2013

We have extended family in Madison and make a trip there a few times a year. The Seahorse has become a home away from home for us so much so that it's part of the reason we we visit our kids and grandkids so much. Michael and his mother (and sometimes the dogs) always make us feel special and welcome. Our rooms and the inn have always been spotless and comfy. Each room has it's own AC setting which is important to us. We get to walk to the beach in the mornings before breakfast which is always a highlight since we don't live near the ocean. The food is always creative, fresh and abundant. I'm gluten free and even on waffle day I'm taken care of. Michael allows outsiders to come to breakfast (for a fee) too. The inn is on the main road but set back so it's quiet but we opt for the room towards the back just in case. There is a great bookstore just 2 minutes walk that is a must. We don't usually eat out when we are here but there are plenty to walk to from the Seahorse.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you guys! Meeting you and your family has been one of the highlights of this adventure. Looking forward to seeing you in February.


Fine ... but "Outstanding?" ... No

3,6 en octubre 25, 2013

Pros: Very convenient location, easy walking distance to downtown. Clean and quiet. Added charm of the front of the house decorated up for Halloween. Breakfast was quite good. I noticed that another reviewer complained about small portions but I found them ample. However, Michael did NOT offer more as he said he does in his reply to said guest. Cons: Quirky and (sometimes) rather tiny rooms come with the territory in converted old homes. However, rather than presenting them as such, Michael's cropped photos of the rooms goes beyond reasonable marketing-speak in my view. In short, some rooms don't remotely "measure up" to a five-star review or experience. The bathroom switch powers a dim light/exhaust fan combo that was old in '78. Honestly, you wouldn't find this in a Motel 6. We arrived in the early afternoon (when check-in is allowed) to a locked main entrance with the innkeeper INSIDE the house. The word "unwelcoming" comes to mind. You would have thought the place was in a bad area of Bridgeport rather than lovely Madison. Overall, you take the good with the bad. Certainly that this inn has been rated so highly by some guests is ... rather shocking. I just want potential guests to have a different viewpoint from this seasoned traveler.

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for staying with us. It’s unfortunate your impression with the inn wasn’t what I work hard to perfect. I tried and have learned from experience that leaving the doors open and unlocked is not really an option, even when I’m INSIDE. Since this is a bed and breakfast in a large house (not a hotel with a front desk and excess staff) I have decided to ask guests to ring a doorbell at either entrance when they arrive. Even though we are in lovely Madison and it is safe there is a lot of pedestrian traffic by the inn going into town and to the beaches. Why invite trouble? Ringing the bell also alerts me when guests are arriving. It's a big house and I could be anywhere (welcoming guests, in the kitchen or my favorite, doing laundry!) and the doorbell is my signal that a guest has arrived. It takes seconds to drop what I am doing to open the door and welcome new guests. The alternative is them wandering around wondering where to go or where I am where I am. Once checked in guests have their own keys to come and go and are encouraged to lock the doors behind them. So while you found ringing the doorbell unwelcoming my intent was exactly the opposite. I will take another look at the photos on my website but I can say with 100% certainty that there is no trickery or magic cropping in the photographs to make any guest room look bigger than it is. Most guests think the photos don’t do the inn justice and this is my intent. Having guests pleasantly surprised is the experience I strive for rather than what yours was. All of our bathrooms were remodeled in 2008 and each comes with multiple lighting options - one of which is the light/exhaust combo. Unfortunately the combo won’t go away soon since it is a code requirement. Thank you again for the feedback. Your comments have encouraged me take a step back to assess what I think I’m doing right and consider changes.


Exceptional accommodations

5 en septiembre 07, 2013

A perfect escape from the everyday routines the room was warm and spotless. Breakfast was great. Michael was the best host attentive to every detail of our stay. The common areas in the inn are beautifully appointed. Great local restaurants within walking distance from the inn. We will be back!


AWESOME inn!

5 en septiembre 04, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend for our first anniversary. We loved it! The inn is incredibly charming and cozy and Michael is the perfect host. His cooking is right out of a TV show and his welcoming and friendly personality makes you want to sit and chat with him for hours. We will be back for sure. A+++ P.S. The jacuzzi in the Madison Getaway room was great! :)

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for staying and then writing such nice things. I really enjoyed our conversation while you were here. I hope we see you both back here for your 2nd, 3rd, 4th….!


Great location, great service

4,6 en agosto 08, 2013

Wonderful experience at the inn with hospitality and area recommendations from Michael. Convenient location near beautiful beaches and shopping/restaurants.


Impressed a non-bed&breakfast guest!

4,8 en agosto 01, 2013

We decided to go to Madison at the last minute and could not find a decent hotel, so even though we usually do not stay in inns, what we read sounded very good so we took a chance. We were impressed from the very first view to the very last conversation. Beautiful, well-maintained, comfortably furnished and delicious breakfast -- what more could we have wanted. We will definitely come back!

Respuesta del propietario

We love converting hotel lovers to bed and breakfast lovers! I hope we see you in the near future!


Wonderful Experience

4,6 en junio 25, 2013

We were late getting to the Inn, but were greeted with true warmth. That set the tone for our stay. The food was so good we wanted to take Michael home with us. We especially enjoyed the ambiance and visiting with the other guests. The next time we visit Madison, the Seahorse is where we will stay.


Destination wedding in Madison, CT

5 en junio 24, 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful stay. We booked all seven rooms so our family could be together for a destination wedding in Madison. Everything about your B&B was perfect; peaceful, quiet, private, close to downtown and done with such taste. You have created something magical. We'll be back!

Respuesta del propietario

We loved having you and your family here while you celebrated your son's wedding day. Hope to see you here again soon and thank you.


breakfast disappointing....

2,0 en junio 14, 2013

We had high expectations since the website advertised the owner was a trained pastry chef... breakfast was VERY disappointing, portions too small and flavor bland. Also, sleep was disturbed each morning at 5am by other guests making coffee on second floor, this area should be kept downstairs. Plus: great walkable location to center of town. Would not stay here again.

Respuesta del propietario

Sorry to read your experience was not what you had hoped. I do put in a lot of effort making every stay special. Every guest is offered seconds as the table is cleared so I am disappointed to read here that your portions were too small. I hate the thought of a guest leaving the table hungry. Thank you for the feedback.


Night Away

4,0 en mayo 15, 2013

Upon arrival we had a warm welcome and great goodies waiting for us . Our host was wonderful to talk with and very helpful . I definitely would recommend this place to anyone !

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks for taking the time to compliment us! We hope we see you both at the inn again soon.


B&B experience at its best

5 en marzo 20, 2013

Room I stayed in was beautiful, breakfast delicious, host very welcoming, nice location, only complaint was that water for shower was not hot.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your review and kind words. Very sorry to hear about he water not getting hot for you. I wish I had known we would have corrected it immediately. We have ample hot water but sometimes guests get confused with the faucets in the room you were in and turn the knob too far! Thank you again for staying and we hope to see you again soon.


Scranton Seahorse is a Gem

4,8 en febrero 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here many times in many of the rooms. This inn has a special place in our hearts. The Inn is clean, with interesting decor, special touches all around and special on holidays with decorations. Michael and Olive are warm, welcoming and just the best of the best! Breakfast is gourmet with Michael's cooking. I love this special Inn. It is within walking distance of town and restaurants, a 10 minute walk to the beach and when the weather is warm , there are bikes for guests to use.


Love the Inn!

5 en enero 13, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn's Madison Room. We thoroughly enjoyed the fireplace every night before bed and the jet tub in the room. The food was amazing and everyone was very accommodating. We will be going back very soon!


Another Great Stay at Scranton Seahorse Inn

5 en noviembre 28, 2012

I always enjoy my stay at the Scranton Seahorse. Comfortable rooms and great breakfast. And cookies

Respuesta del propietario

...and we love seeing you. I'm happy that you enjoy the coffee room and cookie room too. We do take requests for your favorite cookie!


Distinctive

5 en septiembre 18, 2012

Although our stay at the Scranton Seahorse Inn was only two nights, it somehow felt longer. This partly is because Michael Hafford’s effortless hospitality makes you feel at home. Also, because the experience is so positive, you quickly realize how pleasant it would be to stay longer. My wife and I were impressed by the fact that each morning at breakfast (wonderful!), there was a different guest who was living at the Inn on a long-term arrangement. This suggests to us that the excellence we experienced was not a lucky or short-term occurence.


Loved It!

5 en agosto 21, 2012

My husband, myself, and our two well behaved terriers had a wonderful time at the Seahorse. Michael is an excellent host, chef, and all around nice guy. We have already booked our next stay and can't wait to enjoy the outstanding breakfasts, wonderful inn atmosphere, and charming location again. K.C.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you Thank you. We really loved having you and the dogs (is there such a thing as a poorly behaved terrier!?). And we really appreciated you sharing the basket of vegetables from your gardens. It was great fun cooking with them. See you next year!!


Great value on the shoreline

4,6 en julio 10, 2012

Had a wonderful 2 day stay for a family wedding. Great location, clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was gourmet and we looked forward to having the homemade cookies every afternoon with our coffee. We will return!


Outstanding

5 en abril 17, 2012

Our first visit was on April 14, 2012 we will definitely be back! The inn was beautiful and centrally located so we could walk to dinner. After dinner we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine on the side porch while watching the cars and people pass by. The breakfast was extraordinarily tasty and the guests all very friendly. Although we did not meet Bill and Olive, Michael was a delight. We really cannot wait to go back. Natalia & Aimee


WOW!

5 en marzo 25, 2012

We were blown away upon our arrival when Michael's mom indicated they were upgrading our room free of charge, to 'The Town View" (the best in the place). We enjoyed a suite complete with a huge private porch, sitting room, whirlpool with rain shower, and then falling asleep in 'dream' of a bed while enjoying the warm glow of our bedside fireplace. We awoke to one of Chef Mike's incredibly healthy breakfasts., and needless to say, we hated the time when it came for us to leave.


Just like Home!

5 en noviembre 27, 2011

Whenever we would leave the house for a while, we had to make sure the doors were locked. And also, coming home, we used the key to unlock the door. Lights were all on, regardless of the hour, so that made it easy to climb the stairs to our room, which had been tidied, and a light left on. Also, we met the nicest people at breakfast, and had a wonderful conversation. Our Host, who remembered all our first names, was so warm and caring, much friendlier than a regular hotel. We loved it here and would definitely come back. Thank you Michael, Bill and Olive, but especially Michael for your exceptional hospitality. Robert & Rachel


Great Location!

4,0 en octubre 04, 2011

Our second time staying at this lovely inn right in the center of lovely Madison, CT. Breakfast was wonderful, room was clean and of a good size. Only complaint I have is that there was only a reading light on one side of the bed.

Respuesta del propietario

First, thank you for the repeat business. We love when our guests come back to see us. This is not the first time we've gotten feedback about the lighting - but it will be the last! We have additional reading lights in all rooms.


Great Bed and Breakfast vacatioin get away

5 en agosto 21, 2011

We stayed in the Madison room. I was outstanding. Spent lots of time on the porch. Breakfasts were spectacular. We are definitely retuning again in the Fall.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you very much for your comments. We LOVE our porch too. It's nice to sit in the middle of the garden and watch the dog walkers, the birds and the butterflies. Can't wait to see you both in the fall.


Wonderful Seaside CT inn!

4,0 en julio 26, 2011

We stayed at the Scranton Seahorse Inn while attending a wedding in the area...on the hottest weekend of the summer. What a refreshing find the Inn turned out to be! Michael and Olive were very welcoming and accommodating throughout our visit. The Inn is very charming with many ammenities, including the use of a refrigerator, as well as coffee and tea available at all times. Wonderful breakfast scents began to waft upstairs in the morning, leading us to a delicious and varied meal both mornings. The Inn is in a perfect location to explore the seaside town of Madison and is just a short walk to the beach via a beautiful residential road. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided by the Inn. We also enjoyed an excellent dinner in an upbeat cafe (Elizabeth's) just across the street. This is a special place...thank you!

Respuesta del propietario

What a pleasure it was to have you for the weekend. I recall it was 97 degrees at 10pm that weekend. Glad we were able to keep you comfortable and cool. Please visit us again. Our heat works just as well in the winter if you want a December getaway!


We loved it!

5 en julio 19, 2011

An absolutely fabulous place! Clean, charming and comfortable! The mroning breakfast was delicious, too. We will be back!


Perfect Getaway in Madison, CT

4,2 en mayo 11, 2011

Incredible time and memories created. That is what you will experience at this perfect getaway, nestled in downtown Madison. Close to the beach, and situated downtown, but on an "off" street. A beautiful B&B - great service, delicious breakfast and an enjoyable staff. I would highly recommend this to all.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you Thank you! We like to hear when we provide a perfect get-away. Can't wait for your next visit.


a nice place to visit

3,2 en abril 19, 2011

We thought the room was a nice size but it lacked a comfy chair to sit in and the floor was uneven-which would have been quaint if they had taken the time to level the bed...instead we slept with our feet at a higher level than our heads! The service was great however and I loved the idea of the serve yourself coffee and solf drinks as well as the DVD library. The breakfast was delicious and the decor througout the house was nice-formal enough without being stuffy.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your feedback. Goodness I hate the thought of any guest sleeping upside down like a bat. One of the "perks" of an old home built in the 1800's are floors that aren't even. Some call it charaacter. I personally make all the beds and do stay on top of these things but I must have missed this one! All of our guests rooms have a comfy chair or 2 in them. So sorry you missed yours. You're welcome to come back as my guest and sleep right side up for a night and this time we'll all test the bed first.


A night of bliss

4,0 en abril 07, 2011

My fiance had a very nice time and Ms. Olive was very helpful about our chocie of places to dine at. A wonderful day. We will definitely come again. Thanks Mike for breakfast


What a nice getaway!

4,4 en febrero 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I needed to get away for a night, so we went to the Scranton Seahorse Inn over Valentine's Day weekend. It was just perfect for what we needed. We stayed in the Madison Getaway Suite, which I think is the biggest room they have. It had a jacuzzi tub and a fireplace, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The bed was the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in. Mike, the innkeeper, was very attentive when we needed something, and invisible when we didn't - exactly as it should be! He provided excellent recommendations for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and lots of fun, hanging out with the other guests. I highly recommend this inn.


Comfortable, Cozy, Charming, and Clean!

5 en febrero 15, 2011

The Scranton Seahorse Inn was perfect for our romantic getaway! This quaint bed and breakfast is conveniently located close to the highway set back on a charming New England street – filled with restaurants and amenities. Entering the inn we were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable, cozy feel set by the décor and friendly innkeepers – a home away from home. Our room, Long Island Mist, was clean and adorable with its own unique design. A perfect fit for a romantic stay with its own private bathroom and rain showerhead. The bed was the coziest part of all – clean, fresh, and fluffy! We enjoyed a deliciously fresh breakfast cooked and presented by the innkeeper, Michael. Upstairs there is a room with fresh coffee, treats, and mini fridge available at all hours. There is also a selection of movies since each room has a TV/DVD player (and internet). There is available parking, although with limited spaces. Overall, this is the best inn we’ve been to – comfortable, cozy, charming, and clean!


relaxation

5 en enero 31, 2011

Delicious breakfasts attentive to food allergies. Relaxing, beautiful time. Thank you, Michael.


An enjoyable stay in Madison, CT

3,6 en enero 04, 2011

This is a very charming spot, in particularly the lovely and spacious porch. I'd return and certainly recommend its genuine New England seaside character.


Outstanding

5 en diciembre 19, 2010

I booked all seven rooms for a business meeting that was held in Madison, CT. Accomodations were outstanding; each room elegantly appointed; very clean. Perfect location for business travelers; centrally located; easily accessible to major highways & public transportation. Innkeepers (Mike & Olive) were extremely personable & accomodating...can't wait to book my next meeting!


Loved our stay at the Scranton Seahorse Inn!

4,0 en noviembre 06, 2010

Our stay at the Scranton Seahorse Inn was just fantastic! We could walk to the very quaint little village, eat at fantastic restaurants and enjoy outstanding breakfast at the Inn.


Scranton Seahorse Inn--Highly Recommended!

4,0 en octubre 18, 2010

The Scranton Seahorse Inn is simply the best B&B in the Madison/Essex/Old Saybrook area of Connecticut. It's only a mile from the beach in one of the cutest towns in the Connecticut shoreline area. The staff are friendly and low-key, the rooms are nicely furnished with comfortable beds, and the breakfasts are delicious. I wish there were a few more rooms, as it is often booked solid!


Lovely Time!

4,6 en septiembre 28, 2010

Our weekend at the Inn was beautiful. Michael was great host and Great Chef. Our room - was very cozy and comfortable. There's alot things you can do around there and its only walking distance. Michael is very informative so asked away about where to eat and what to do. He recommended 2 places to eat Cafe Allegre and Elizabeth's. My husband and I went to Cafe Allegre - the food is there delicious. He also set up alittle table our floor for guest - maps, restaurants etc. just in case you needed a little help where to go on your stay. My husband notice a brochure to the Essex Steam Train and Riverboat - we had a great time there. I do recommend you go there. Our stay at the Inn was great and I do recommend you stay there - you won't be disappointed. My husband and I are thinking about when to come back early next year. 2 THUMBS UP!!!


The Perfect Honeymoon Suite

5 en septiembre 22, 2010

We reserved the Madison Getaway room as a surprise wedding gift for our son and his Bride...Michael arranged for roses in their suite, as well as handled a few special gifts to be in the room before their arrival...we were able to do all of this from California and the folks at the Inn could not have been more helpful. The kids ADORED the room, the fireplace and roman tub and the rain shower were big hits...as was the private entrance and porch. With all the family and friends in town for their big event, it was the perfect getaway for them after the big day...just lovely!


Wonderful Inn

4,6 en septiembre 08, 2010

Excellent stay overall and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. The meal, room and service were all outstanding. We brought our dog as well, he had a great time and the innkeepers were very welcoming and accommodating.


Scranton Seahorse Inn Review

5 en septiembre 07, 2010

My fiancee and I just spent a night here and it was a wonderful experience. The inn is gorgeous with a charming, historic feel. Everything is so clean and well maintained. There were a lot of little things the innkeepers did that really made us feel at home from writing a personalized letter for us to find when we arrived to knowing us by first name. The room we stayed in, "Sereno's Retreat," is elegant and cozy. There is a beautiful chalk painting on the wall that was done by hand that really adds to ambiance. There are some delicious cookies in the cookie jar in the coffee room and a great selection of DVD's to watch. If we could have stayed a few more nights we definitely would have. We felt so at home! The food is outstanding as well. My fiancee is a vegetarian and they were very accommodating. Much of the food they serve is grown or purchased locally and was very healthy and delicious. I could go on for a while about how great this place is but you should just stay a night and see for yourself! We will certainly be back.


Loved it!!!!

4,0 en agosto 25, 2010

Excellent, helpful and pleasant staff. Pet suite was wonderful with private exit to gardens and porch. Decor charming, bedrooms comfortable. Slept very well. Breafast tasty.


Jewel in Madison

4,4 en julio 25, 2010

This jewel can be found in the most charming town on the coast of CT! Michael, the innkeeper, was a marvelous and thoughtful host. The inn is beautifully decorated. My bed was very comfortable and the linens were luxurious. And even though it was 95 degrees the July day I visited, I so appreciated that my room was cool when I arrived, with the shades drawn against the scorching sun. The self-serve coffee room on the first floor was such a welcome feature -- cool spring water and delicious Newman's Own organic coffee with 'real' half and half -- and a wide selection of movies from which to choose. The breakfast Michael served consisted of three courses of delicious, home-prepared food -- a berry compote, frittata and sausages with whole wheat toast and home made strawberry jam, blueberry muffins, and to finish, a scrumptous and moist apple cake! The gardens were welcoming and someday soon I hope to return to the Seahorse to enjoy them! A Brown


July Getaway

5 en julio 19, 2010

Michael is a fabulous host,,,very thoughtful and accomodating not to mention an amazing chef,,,his breakfasts are to "to die for" delicious! The inn is set in the charming town of Madison,,,filled with character and welcoming rooms. I'm a returning guest that will continue to return for relaxing getaways!!


Exceeded my expectations at every opportunity, a truely outstanding inn.

5 en julio 18, 2010

I had a wonderful time during my stay at the Seahorse Scranton Inn. I have never stayed anywhere with such friendly and helpful owners and with such a personal touch. I was greeted with homemade breakfast every morning and the Inn itself is beautiful and charming. I would absolutely recommend this inn to anyone staying in the area, staying there increased my enjoyment of an already amazing trip and I would be very happy to go back.


A weekend to remember...

4,8 en julio 18, 2010

From the minute we arrived Michael went above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel right at home during our stay. We loved his personalized attention to detail. From the immaculately clean rooms to the warm and welcoming environment. The beautiful rooms and grounds that make up the inn gives its guest space to relax and unwind as well as provide any amount of privacy and respect you may need. The Seahorse In was an excellent choice. It was very accommodating with flexible options. (my partner especially enjoyed the fresh foods and cheese plate which made an appearance in our room around 10:00 p.m.) Wonderful and flavorful, it was exactly the the refreshment we needed after a long of sightseeing in New Haven. Excellent place for a couples getaway. His overall approach to running the B&B and connecting with the guests made all the difference and we look forward to being back soon. Thank you so much again for a wonderful weekend!


Simply the best!

5 en julio 15, 2010

This is a perfect place to stay for a relaxing getaway from the hassles of city life. Mike's breakfasts are superb. Madison is a charming village with lots to offer nearby. The inn is lovely and tasteful.


Wonderful experience

5 en julio 06, 2010

The Inn is exquisitely decorated, comfortable atmosphere, friendly and helpful management, and our room was fantastic. We loved the breakfast and the location and the easy way we could come and go and it felt like home away from home. I highly recommend the Scranton Seahorse Inn.


Let your cares float away

4,8 en mayo 20, 2010

After a death in the family, a new job for me, a new job for my spouse, and a move to a new city coming up, I was in serious need of a get-away. Scranton Seahorse Inn has impeccable service, charmingly appointed rooms, and exudes relaxation from every spotless nook and historic cranny.


We had the best weekend!!

5 en abril 23, 2010

The innkeeper was so friendly and even though we showed up an hour early he let us check in to our room AND gave us a cup of tea and some awesome biscotti. The room was a good size and nice and clean. The linens on the bed are so so soft we almost didn't get out of bed. Breakfast was incredible. Triple chocolate scones, berry pancakes, amazing "peppered" bacon. Service was top notch. There is a cute coffee lounge with coffee and tea to choose from all day and a very ecclectic collection of DVD's (in a good way!) which we took advantage of since it rained all day the second day we were there. We had an awesome dinner across the street at Elizabeth's (on Mike's recommendation). We'll be back.


great stay

4,2 en abril 20, 2010

The house it lovely and the location can not be beat. The food was outrageous and our host was super friendly.


Charming B & B

4,0 en marzo 10, 2010

Pleasant stay in a charming inn. Michael was a gracious host and wonderful cook.


Great B&B

4,6 en marzo 07, 2010

Why stay in a chain hotel when you could stay here. Room was nice and very like home. The breakfast was outstanding. Across the street from shopsand a wonderful restaurant


Cozy, Classy, and Close

5 en marzo 03, 2010

This is a wonderfully cozy B&B, that is also pet friendly. Michael is the Innkeeper who is also a talented chef. He compliments the warm feeling of "home" that fills this historically, beautiful "get-away weekend" inn. My well trained canine companion, was welcomed and pampered by Michael. The cheeses and fruit selections left in my room when I arrived was wonderful and the morning breakfast of granola parfait, fresh brewed coffee, and "morning glory" muffins was spectacular!. My furry friend enjoy his stay as well and we will return soon. Thanks,


Outstanding B&B

4,6 en enero 18, 2010

Outstanding experience, we had not stayed at a B&B before. Friendly and carring, willing to take care of any of our needs. Breakfast outstanding and beyond to ordinary.


Miid Winter Trip

4,6 en enero 12, 2010

Very cold weather but the hospitality was warm and gracious. The room was great and the breakfast excellent


new years stay in scranton seahorse

4,6 en enero 03, 2010

very nice. great location, friendly service and comfortable room.


wonderful stay.

4,2 en octubre 27, 2009

We were only there for one day and night. But we felt comfortable and welcome. Everything was spotless and smelled great. would go back but would stay longer.


Charming Stay, Great Food

4,4 en octubre 24, 2009

Michael, the owner/chef is a great chef and a wonderful host. Everything was homemade: granola, smoothies, pancakes, raspberry jam, and more. The house is in a great spot, lots of foliage and a super short walk to the main street, lined with small shops. I would gladly return, its a great stay and a great price!


Madison Getaway

4,4 en octubre 21, 2009

The Scranton Seahorse Inn is a great example of all of the attributes that make B&B stays so pleasant for us. A warm, homelike atmosphere with a lot of conversational interaction with other guests, great food and comfortable accomodations.


A marvelous location for a family gathering!

5 en septiembre 19, 2009

The Scranton Seahorse Inn is an exceptional place! My family and friends enjoyed a marvelous wedding weekend there, thanks to the warm and gracious welcome we received. We highly recommend the inn for its charm, delicious food and excellent location.


Welcoming B and B

4,8 en agosto 03, 2009

The Scranton Seahorse Inn is in a great location on the Connecticut shore. The innkeepers provided a warm welcome, attentive service and a terrificbreakfast each morning. We will definitely return.


Great location

3,2 en julio 30, 2009

In a charming village, and you can walk to stores, coffee shops, etc. Atmosphere was warm and hospitable, however our room had the smallest bathroom I've ever experienced. And, there was dim lighting. In fact, there was no good spot to sit and read a book in the room or in the common areas.


A beautiful place to stay

4,6 en julio 15, 2009

You'll have no regrets staying at this lovely inn on the CT shore. I recommend it highly.


Great spot, wonderful breakfast

4,4 en julio 15, 2009

Lovely inn with a top-shelf breakfast. We stayed with our dog -- private entrance was nice -- and had a nice chat with one of the owners over a really good breakfast. A little expensive for us, but worth it for the convenience and amenities.


Great experience!

4,8 en julio 13, 2009

Everything was perfect. The breakfast was simple, cooked from scratch, and delicious. The room was really nice, which was a nice surprise as you never know what you are getting with B&B rooms, even with pictures.


Warm hospitality, delicious breakfast. America at her best.

4,6 en junio 21, 2009

Great B&B in the center of town. Lucky for us our host is a talented locavore chef. We enjoyed our walk to the beach before breakfast.


It's awesome.

5 en junio 09, 2009

Definitely stay here. This place is great!!!


Everything was just perfect

5 en junio 03, 2009

We stayed for multiple nights over Memorial Day and amazingly enough it just got better with each new day. The breakfasts were the highlight and every morning we were amazed by the fresh muffins and breads and the homemade granolas. One morning we hade the most amazing french toast and the next the best spinach frittata we ever had. The rooms were clean, the host Michael (and his mother Olive) we accomodating and helpful. If we ever travel to Madison again - we know where we'll stay.


Great Stay

4,0 en mayo 26, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was yummy and not too early. We would stay again.

Respuesta del propietario

First a big thank for staying with us recently. Second thank you for your review of our inn and services. Feedback from our customers is our greatest source for ideas on improvements. We strive to deliver the perfect getaway for everyone. Your review of the inn gave us less than perfect scores for service (4 out of 5) value and rooms (both 3 out of 5). If you have more details or suggestions to share on how we might have delivered better in those categories I would love to listen. I am new to innkeeping an sincerely appreciate feedback like this. Once again, thank you for staying and thank you for taking the time to review the Scranton Seahorse Inn. Looking forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Michael.


Best Breakfast

4,4 en mayo 23, 2009

Great B and B. Went away for my anniversary. The room was great. Had a whirlpool tub. The breakfasts were outstanding.( we had two) Freshly made everything. Great place to stay.


Lovely Madison, CT B&B

3,8 en mayo 11, 2009

Scranton Seahorse Inn is well located in the center of Madison, a picturesque old seacoast Connecticut town. It is within a 5 minute walk of the village green and even closer to the "shopping district." Madison and the nearby coastal communities are well worth a long weekend visit. The inn is well decorated and comfortable. Rooms are nicely appointed, but of varying size, which some may find too quaint for their likes. Delicious breakfast with chef/owner Michael serving. Wish we had more time to talk -- hope to revisit someday.


FANTASTIC INN!

5 en marzo 20, 2009

Highly recommended! Wonderful cozy room and fantastic gourmet breakfast the next morning. Inn is located within easy walking distance to town (Madison). Michael, the Innkeeper, could not have been nicer!


Quiet Retreat

3,8 en febrero 17, 2009

Charming.. A nice romantic get away. Lovely Inn Keepers as well as guests. Would like to revisit..


Delicious!

5 en enero 14, 2009

The inn keeper is a chef and we were treated to many delectable tastes--the banana-nut muffin with cardamon was outrageous!


Beachy cute

4,2 en enero 13, 2009

I have stayed at this wonderful and welcoming inn a few times. It is located in the very nice downtown area of Madison, a beach community, and the rooms reflect this.


excellent accommodations

5 en enero 09, 2009

very friendly and welcoming owners!


fabulous find

5 en noviembre 05, 2008

This is a charming place, well located near the center of Madison. What really made it special was the warmth of the innkeeper. A pastry chef, he provided us with delicious home baked muffins and breads at breakfast. He was also knowledgeable and helpful in finding places to eat in New Haven.


Scranton Seahorse

4,0 en octubre 28, 2008

nice stay


A wonderful place!

4,2 en octubre 26, 2008

What a lovely setting for a fall getaway weekend! The house is an easy walk into quaint Madison, but it is still pretty quiet. Our suite was spacious and extremely comfortable. Mike the innkeeper was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was continental, but the baked goods were homemade and delicious, and there was a good variety of foods. We would stay again...


Great Stay

4,8 en octubre 17, 2008

We stayed overnight on our way from Rhode Island to NYC. Beautiful clease house and very friendly hosts. Will return!


"Exquisite"

4,4 en julio 10, 2008

We loved our stay!!! Beautifully decorated. Tremendous amount of ambiance, relaxation and privacy. Can't wait to go back. Already planning our next long weekend. J & A , Northford, CT


The Scranton Seahorse Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $100 - $200
  • Comentarios (86) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 7
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2032450550
  • Tel. móvil
    1-2038238599

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba