The Connecticut River Valley Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,7

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,5
  • Limpieza4,8
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
67 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Perfect in Every Way

5 en abril 11, 2014

Our experience was perfect from beginning to end. The hosts are friendly, warm and attentive to your needs -- we got great dinner recommendations each night, too. What really stands out is the attention to detail in the house and grounds -- it is so lovely, and in a great location if you are interested in getting in to Hartford easily, but not staying there. You can't miss choosing this perfect B&B!


Charm and Fabulous Design Galore!

5 en febrero 20, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here while visiting my family in Glastonbury. What a treat it was! Everything was delightfully thought of. I hate sleeping in hotels and most places away from home, but this was definitely the exception. The rooms were very comfortable and everything I needed for a comfortable stay was thought of. I can't say enough about Pat Brubaker's design sense. It is a wonderful old home that the owners have renovated into a beautiful, luxurious B&B and the decor is amazingly unique, elegant and charming all at the same time. Just wonderful! And, the breakfast, oh my, just terrific! We loved our stay with Pat and Wayne so much that we have changed our wedding plans from CA to CT to have our wedding at this Beautiful B & B. Truly a wonderful experience!


Wonderful rooms!

5 en julio 25, 2013

We just stayed for one night but we were sad we couldn't stay longer. Wonderful rooms and great breakfast! We loved the interior and exterior design. The breakfast was fantastic! Great location too!


Weekend of a Lifetime!

5 en junio 05, 2013

We recently had a wedding at the Inn. Both families stayed in the rooms and we used the grounds for the reception. Comments from guests said it best, "Absolutely spectacular", "What a setting" and the families just loved the size of the rooms to relax before and after the reception. Pat was a pleasure to work with and was very professional when dealing with caterers etc. We had 90 people at the reception and it was a day to remember for all who attended. Isn't that what everyone wants for their wedding day


A delight - even in mud season!

5 en abril 09, 2013

We reserved our room at The Connecticut River Valley Inn after reading the repeatedly excellent reviews on this site, and I assure you that they are not an exaggeration. Our stay was brief (a single overnight), but we left the next morning reluctantly, wishing that it might have been much longer. The rooms are decorated to convey a seasonal ambiance, and have been decorated with such attention to theme that they have an almost theatrical quality about them. I stayed in the Winter Solstice room and indeed, with its white, gray, black and touches of pale lavender hues, felt I had entered into a space of quietude and peace - a place akin to the world after a newly fallen snow. The intentional conjuring of such a fantasy land somehow provides another dimension to the notion of escaping to an inn! Having requested something involving vegetables for breakfast, Pat got up early and baked acorn squash stuffed with nuts, cheese, mushrooms and scallions, accompanied by saute-ed sweet potatoes, and a spinach and apple side. Beyond delicious! We never met Wayne during our brief stay, but Pat, with her vibrant blue eyes, is clearly passionate about making sure all of her guests feel pampered and welcomed. We missed the gardens due to it being April in New England, but the promise of what is to come in the next month or two was evident in the abundance of flower beds scrolled throughout the grounds. Dare I say that this inn may be the best reason to visit Glastonbury, CT.!


A great place for an event!

5 en marzo 08, 2013

We held my daughter's baby shower at The Connecticut River Valley Inn and it was an event to remember! Pat and Wayne were wonderful and opened their place to us. The house is gorgeous and each room on the main floor was decorated to feel homey and extravagant. Thank you both for your wonderful hospitality!


Very enjoyable stay

5 en febrero 21, 2013

The reviews I read on this site about the CT River Valley Inn made a significant impact as to why I chose to stay here. The inn keepers, Pat and Wayne are very pleasant, warm and welcoming. They have done an incredible job remodeling and updating this inn. The third floor suite is very romantic. The breakfast was delicious. The inn is located on Main Street, which means you're close enough to shops and restaurants but far enough away to enjoy some quiet time as well. You will definitely enjoy your stay here. I look forward to a return visit!


Nothing Better

5 en noviembre 24, 2012

The Connecticut River Valley Inn is a joy. In all our travels we have rarely found an inn with the attention to detail and comfort this inn supplies. Wayne, the host, a gracious fellow, was extremely helpful. The grounds stretch back toward the CT River and offer wonderful views from the balcony. Laura, the greeter, went out of her way to made us comfortable. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. It reminded me of many of the most enjoyable memories of childhood.


Great Getaway Spot

4,8 en noviembre 16, 2012

If you like bed and breakfasts - this one will not disappoint. Clean, lovely and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast in a beautiful diningroom with fireplace. Local town is charming with plenty of restaurants. Inn keepers are both friendly and accommodating. Enjoy!


Great B&B

4,4 en octubre 29, 2012

There is nothing not to love at the CT River Valley Inn. Beautiful home with a very comfortable king size bed. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. Lots of great restaurants in the area and many sights to see. Pat and her husband were perfects hosts and I love Lolo and Widget, the B&B dogs.


The Connecticut River Valley Inn

5 en octubre 15, 2012

Beautiful Inn, great host and hostess, many fun guests. The property and rooms are exceptional. Probably one of the nicest Inns I have ever stayed at. Also, Glastonbury is a really nice town, lots to do.


Unexpected Pleasure!

5 en octubre 14, 2012

I was in Glastonbury to teach a four day class and my reservation was made by the company that hired me. I was expecting the standard hotel /motel with generic lobby and a comfortable but quite forgettable room and a breakfast of rubber egg product. I was completely unprepared for this lovely place. Pat and Wayne Brubaker are great hosts and made my stay a wonderful experience. Their grounds show the thousands of hours of work and the house is fantastic with Pats artistic touches and decorating. The handmade river rock thresholds are unique. The breakfast quiche is great.and the place is quite clean. The bed in my room was quite comfortable and the room was very quiet despite facing the main street. The only complaint I can come up with is that a power strip at the desk in my room would make it easier for those of us who have to have more than one device at a time plugged in. Timothy Riley Ipswich, MA.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you, Timothy for your kind review. Having the power strip at the desk in addition to the 2 outlets is a good idea and one which we have on our "to do" list. We will be adding those to all our rooms shortly. Thanks for the suggestion!


The place to stay in the Glastonbury, CT area

5 en septiembre 25, 2012

My wife and I initially picked this B & B because it was the only one in the area that offered king-size beds, but once we arrived we were blown away by the house, the grounds, and the excellent state of the rooms and their appointments. The innkeepers Pat, Wayne, and Laura were all very friendly and attentive to our needs. We stayed with them for several days, and each morning began with a delicious hand-prepared breakfast. In summary, an excellent place to stay at a price that is competitive with other B & Bs in the area. We will stay there again the next time we visit !


Weekend Escape

5 en agosto 29, 2012

We recently returned from a relaxing, one night get away at the CRVI and had a wonderful time. This historic Inn is gorgeous inside and out and has been meticulously maintained by owners Pat and Wayne. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, including the bathrooms. We spent the afternoon exploring the shopping district of Glastonbury by foot and then ambled down to the river, just a short walk from the Inn. After enjoying a glass of wine and some reading on the deck, we had dinner in town at a wonderful restaurant. The next morning, Pat made a wonderful breakfast ready for us before we hit the road back home. We wish the get away had been longer, but we plan to return soon.


A gem!

5 en agosto 28, 2012

The Connecticut River Valley Inn is a gem! From the moment we arrived, my husband and I knew this inn was special. The grounds are enchanting and so peaceful, with gorgeous landscaping and gardens and several inviting places to just sit and relax. Patricia greeted us immediately and welcomed us into her beautiful home. The furnishings are lovely and Pat’s magnificent artwork can be enjoyed throughout the inn. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious, extremely quiet, and oh so comfortable. We stayed in the Summer Wind room and loved it. We were surrounded by the feel of a summer garden, including charming hand painted flowers and bits of poetry on the shower tiles – and by the way, the shower jets are fantastic! Pat and Wayne were absolutely wonderful hosts. They were friendly, attentive, warm, and so easy to talk with. They made us feel at home right away. Within the first hour, Wayne found us in the dining room and came in to have a chat, and Pat brought us each a glass of wine and set it on the mantle in our room. She stayed a few moments to show us a map of the trail out back that leads to the banks of the Connecticut River, answered some questions about local restaurants (there are several excellent ones), and then she was off. The next morning Wayne and my husband had a great discussion about the inn and the work he and Pat have done on it. Laura, who was helping with breakfast that day, was also very friendly and kind to us. And let me not forget Widget and Lolo, the inn dogs who were as sweet and cute as they could be! Thanks again, Pat and Wayne. Everything was perfect, and we are already looking forward to our next visit!


Perfection!!!

5 en agosto 12, 2012

Pat and Wayne are the best. The pictures on the website truly depicts what they offer without exaggeration. The landscaping and garden are breathtaking. Everything is detailed to perfection, from the magnificent rooms down to the dinnerware that your breakfast is served on. This was our first time ever going to a B&B, and we are so lucky to have chosen this one. Angelique & Frankie


Beautiful B&B

5 en agosto 10, 2012

We had a fabulous and very relaxing time! Stunning property and beautiful interior design. The bathrooms are as beautiful as the rooms themselves! Wayne and Pat cooked up a delicious breakfast and we went to Bricco for dinner which was yummy as well :D Very professional, clean, and wonderful service. Enjoy your stay at the Connecticut River Valley Inn!


fantastic

5 en agosto 05, 2012

This place was amazing, well worth the drive from NJ for even the one night. Gorgeous room and building, beautiful relaxing, peaceful grounds, a great breakfast, and beautiful nature trails to walk around the area in the morning. Perfect for a couple's getaway.


A pure treat!

5 en julio 23, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely overnight stay after hosting our wedding at the Inn. From the moment that we started the planning process months prior, the Brubaker's were extremely cordial and accommodating They did their very best to anticipate our every need and were still at the ready to help with whatever we may have needed in addition. Both the private and public quarters inside are warm, inviting and nicely appointed - Patricia's artwork that creatively adorns many points in the Inn make it even that much more special. The grounds and gardens were beautiful groomed and tended to and made a picture-perfect backdrop as well. We look forward to visiting again!


Breathtaking B&B

5 en junio 30, 2012

The Connecticut River Valley Inn is not only beautifully and tastefully decorated inside and out, but Pat and Wayne are amazingly inviting people as well. My boyfriend and I spent 3 days/2 nights there and we did not want to leave. We stayed in the Autumn Glow room and marveled at the detailed decor coupled with the comfort and plushness of the room. It was our first time at the B&B, and we'll definitely be returning. Pat and Wayne were extremely helpful in regards to suggesting restaurants for dinner and other activities in the area, and they always gave us our privacy. And the breakfasts are delicious!


Best Inn

5 en junio 25, 2012

The innkeepers were so gracious. The rooms absolutely stunning. Everything was perfect about our stay. We will continue to visit at least annually.


A beautiful home with gracious hosts

4,2 en junio 22, 2012

Our 2-night stay at The Connecticut River Valley Inn was the perfect get-away. It is a beautiful, spectacularly decorated home, with stunning gardens and impeccably manicured grounds. Pat's lovely artwork is ever present and adds the perfect accent to the guest rooms. The breakfasts we enjoyed were sumptuous and plentiful – if you’re lucky, maybe Pat will serve her breakfast pizza during your visit as well! Wayne was a great source of information about things to do in the area and was extremely helpful in assisting us with mapping out our routes so that we could enjoy more scenery and less local traffic. The home is located in the most charming little town, easily within walking distance to shops and local eateries. You will enjoy your stay at the Inn, I am sure of it.


FANTASTIC!

5 en junio 22, 2012

We stopped over for one night on our way from NYC to Boston. Booked the penthouse room. Let me say this, it was a room to kill for, And the breakfast the next morning was fabulous. The proprietors were warm and engaging and we will definitely be going back


Quaint little B&B with a lot of charm

5 en junio 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this inn just a few days ago and had a great experience. Unfortunately we did not arrive to the Inn until some minutes to 8pm, so we were not able to spend a lot of time in town on our first night. The inn was very well maintained, clean, and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Winter Solstice room and LOVED IT!!! We were given an opportunity to see the other rooms which were also tastefully decorated and inviting! Wayne and Pat were gracious hosts and very helpful. The dogs Allie and Widget were very friendly although Widget is a barker. His bark is much bigger than his bite. He eventually warmed up. We did not get a chance to sample any breakfast because we often stayed in our room way past breakfast time because we were so comfortable. All in all, it was a great place to stay and if you have a chance to visit, might I suggest going to Plan B for a burger. It was DELICIOUS and they had many vegan and vegetarian options too! I would definitely stay at this inn again.


Wonderful Inn and Even Better Hosts!

5 en junio 21, 2012

Pat and Wayne put their hearts into the restoration of this beautiful B&B and treat guests like close family. As a matter of fact we had the pleasure of being there when their children's families were visiting and felt right at home with the whole clan. Beautiful rooms, great food, and gracious owners. It just doesn't get any better than that and we would highly recommend it! Dave & Mary, PA


Perfection in a B&B

4,8 en junio 21, 2012

We stayed here last July and were blown away. We could not believe the attention to detail in each room, it felt both lavish and homey at the same time. Breakfast the next morning was delicious-there was a huge assortment of fresh fruits, baked goods and the keish was exceptional, rich in flavor but also very light eating. The owners were nothing but genuinely kind, courteous and helpful. They gave great recommendations for all different sorts of restaurants (all of which are a stones throw down the street). While we didnt stay long enough to fully enjoy the gardens and grounds the views were spectacular. The location is perfect, quiet and quaint yet close to the highways, eateries and shopping as well as direct access to the CT river. I would highly recommend staying here - the food is delicious, location is ideal, rooms are exquisetly decorated and the owners warm and welcoming. Perfect for just a weekend getaway or an extended stay.


The Idilic Place to Refresh and Recharge

5 en mayo 11, 2012

I had the opportunity to room at this "Oasis of Solitude" during a two day business trip to the area. The hosts are friendly, accomodating and sincere in making one's stay not just a routine but a quintessential New England Experience. The quiet and solitude of the garden served as inspiration for a presentation that I had to give the following day. The rooms in this 18th century built Inn were clean, EXTREMELY comfortable and provided the antidote for a hard day's work. I look forward to the re-visit when I can have the opportunity to explore the local area. This place is a GEM just waiting to be discovered!


Great place. So, why lie?

3,4 en febrero 26, 2012

The house is beautifully rehabbed and very clean. The service was wonderful. On arrival we were asked if we had dinner plans. Since we hadn't decided on a place the hostess made suggestion for us and even called in a reservation. One thing that I just don't understand is why did the hostess lied to me when I called to book our stay. She voluntarily told me that each of the rooms came with a steam shower, Apple TV - so that we could watch streaming Netflix, and California King beds. Personally I didn't really care about any of these amenities, though I was looking forward to trying the steam shower. The seam shower didn't work. When I asked about it the next morning I was told they are all currently disabled because they had not yet installed full shower doors. Why specifically tell me that you have them if you KNOW they don't work? There was a TV with a standard cable box, but no Apple TV. I really didn't care, but why lie about it? The California king bed was 2 twin mattress put together. This was a little annoying because if we wanted to be close, one of us had to be on the uncomfortable crack between the beds. Over all this was a great place, but I was really annoyed about the lies. My suggestion to the owner is to stick to the amenities you actually have and your guest will not be disappointed.

Respuesta del propietario

It was a low blow being called a liar. If the property is beautiful, the service wonderful, if I went out of my way to make reservations, yes, why would I lie? This guest did not mention any dissatisfaction with any part of their stay when asked. If they thought I was lying, I would have appreciated being given the benefit of the doubt & be given the opportunity to correct and or apologize for any misunderstandings. From time to time guests misread what is clearly posted on all our online information sites. These guests apparently misread information on line and are now recalling that I offered the information to them. All our info says that we WILL have steam shower capabilities in the future. Why would I be so stupid as to I tell a potential guest we have steam showers when we do not? That would surely get us in LOTS of trouble & reviews would show it. All rooms have Cal king beds OR LARGER. This guests' configuration was actually larger than a Cal King. The bed not only was wider than a king but the twin mattresses are extra long so as to accommodate tall people. Standard in the B&B industry, since most B&Bs only have a few rooms, is to maximize various sleeping arrangements by using twin beds together. I am not aware of any other B&B who describes this set up in any other way. Many guests not into the technology of using Apple TV can be confused by it. So, we set the device up in for them if they wish. I erred in that I did not ask if they wished us to connect the Apple Tv for them. However, all guests are given my personal cell # & are specifically told to PLEASE call us if there is anything not right with their room or if they needed clarification on using the technology in their room. They only needed to ask instead of assuming I was lying &they would have had their Apple TV to use. We believe since this couple normally stays at budget hotels (reviewer info), they were not familiar with the culture of a B&B & the extent of service provided.


Special Occasion, Special Service

4,4 en octubre 12, 2011

We spent two nights here, celebrating a milestone birthday. Pat was nice enough to bake a special birthday cake on our last morning there, and also sent us off with some delicious gingerbread cookies. The inn is very close to many dining options, as well as plenty of options for walking/running. Glastonbury is a short drive away from Hartford - the Mark Twain house was worth the visit.


Stay at "The Connecticut River Valley Inn"

4,8 en octubre 01, 2011

A perfect place to stay!


A clear recommendation

5 en agosto 29, 2011

Spacious cozy rooms, friendly familial atmosphere, ideally located in the Conneticut river valley....will definitely go there again when we are in the area. Thomas from Switzerland


Lovely Inn; Lovely People

4,0 en junio 21, 2011

Charming inn with imaginative, comfortable decor, set in an historic town that offers a throwback to quieter times.


The Connecticut River Valley Inn

4,0 en mayo 27, 2011

Pat and Wayne have done an amazing job renovating, decorating and maintaining this beautiful property. They are lovely hosts and their work is clearly a labor of love.


Dream-like place to stay

5 en mayo 19, 2011

I was at this resort for business and now want to return for pleasure. The owners are so hospitable I feel like family. The decor with artistic yet historic and modern taste to each room gives such elegance to each room. You have original art work on each air conditioner (and throughout the vacinity), a fireplace, amazing shower, breathtaking bed and exquisite furniture in each room. The home-cooked food is delicious to your liking (I don't eat meat and was still pleased). It's quiet, comfortable, elegant, and beautiful yardwork. Nothing negative about this place and the owners are remarkable with generosity and making you welcome.


Attention to detail

3,4 en mayo 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night. Needed to leave at 7:30 am to attend a UConn graduation. We were served breakfast earlier than usual, 7 a.m., to meet our needs. Even though on Main St, the grounds are serene, as well as beautifully manicured. The inn is completely remodeled my an artist and her husband... much thought and love have been poured into every detail of this great property. Both were warm and welcoming in a typical New England way. If you'd like a good night's sleep in an upscale B&B this is the place!


Amazing

5 en mayo 01, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our trip from PA to MA. It was a rather quick stay as we arrived in the evening and departed pretty early the next morning. However Wayne and Pat made this place feel like home for us. We stayed in the Autumn Room which was absolutely beautiful - especially with the morning sunshine showing off the rooms colors. The home is amazing, the grounds look beautiful and the town seems like a great place to spend a long, relaxing weekend. Breakfast was superb. I guess we would only have one major complaint...we couldn't stay longer. We definitely hope to be back though and we will stay longer!


Much more than we were expecting!

4,6 en abril 02, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while I was 7 months pregnant with baby #3 as a little getaway before the baby. We knew the place looked beautiful from the website, but really, the website photos don't do it justice! My husband and I have stayed in our fair share of bed and breakfasts and this one was definitely the most well decorated and simply gorgeous one we've ever stayed in. Since we were the only ones there at the time, they told us we could poke around at all the other rooms and we got to see them all - ALL of them are spectacular! We stayed in the Autumn room - we had a balcony where I sat and drank my morning coffee and an awesome shower that I could have stayed in all day. The innkeepers Wayne and Patricia went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. They hooked up a DVD player in our room for us to watch movies, made breakfast for when we wanted to get up (again, we were the only ones there at the time), and even gave us gifts when we left! (Including something for the new baby.) They were very sweet and easy to talk to and you can tell they love what they do. They are very accommodating and hospitable and their hard work on the older home to make it modern yet classically elegant shines in every room. The food was amazing too! We had a delicious quiche and french toast the two mornings we were there - along with lots of fresh fruit and pastries. Another bonus is the Keurig coffee machine in every room, along with the one in the dining room. They offer coffee, tea, and hot chocolate one cup at a time, whenever you want it! There are tons of nice restaurants in the area, many within walking distance. The innkeepers are great at suggesting places to go and know the area very well. They also pointed out a walking path near the Inn and we enjoyed that as well. All in all, the place was much more than we expected and the owners are incredibly nice. What a wonderful and relaxing stay. We can't wait to go back!

Respuesta del propietario

Thanks so much for your kind review! You must e-mail photos of your new baby when he arrives!Much luck to you both!


A GREAT PLACE TO STAY!

4,2 en marzo 09, 2011

The innkeepers were very friendly, the breakfast was outstanding. The inn is lovely. I would recommend staying here.


Home Away from Home (without the work!)

4,6 en febrero 23, 2011

This was our second stay at the Inn and once again, we were delighted. The rooms are extremely comfortable and elegant and Pat's breakfast alone is worth the trip! Can't wait to stay there in warmer weather just to see the gardens!


Beautiful, elegant, cozy and romantic!

5 en enero 26, 2011

We had our wedding here and our guests kept commenting on how beautiful the inn is! The fact that Patricia (who runs the inn along with her husband Wayne) is an artist is immediately evident from the beauty and elegance of the interior design. Each room has a gas fireplace, giving the inn a very cozy and romantic atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious (especially the quiche!) Highly recommended.


My stay at The Connecticut River Valley Inn

5 en enero 14, 2011

I recently stayed at The Connecticut River Valley Inn in Glastonbury, CT. I was in town for business and training for 5 days and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. It was truly like home, and Pat and Wayne were like family. Amazing place to stay! ps- great food too! My oatmeal was organic whole grain...yum!


A Quiet Weekend Getaway in a Beautiful Inn

5 en enero 05, 2011

We have been visiting Connecticut B & B's and Inns for almost 20 years and agree that The Connecticut River Valley Inn tops the list! Pat and Wayne, the Innkeepers, could not have been more accomodating and friendly, making us (including our two children) feel as if we were at the home of a long-lost relative. Every detail was attended to, from the gorgeous decor of the Inn to the mouth-watering breakfast every morning. Pat's artwork adorned the walls and added an additonal warmth to the holiday decor. We stayed in the Spring Rain Suite, which provided us with two rooms (perfect with the kids!) and a bathroom that felt like a spa! The fireplaces in each room added a cozy feeling as well as a place to sit and ponder. Everything was clean, fresh and uncluttered. Due to the recent snowfall, we even had the opportunity to enjoy the large property of the inn, as it is nestled on the river. We used our sled (and one of the Inn's) and even built a snowman! Before we left, our 5-year old son said to Pat, "Can we stay here forever?" So even the young ones enjoyed the splendid weekend of relaxation, good food, good conversation, and fun in the snow! We are already thinking about when we will return! Thanks Pat and Wayne for a fabulous weekend!

Respuesta del propietario

Wayne and I totally enjoyed you and your wonderful kids - the best behaved and friendly kids we have ever met! We have a photo of Chloe holding Widget - a very precious photo - We will be sending it to you.


Lovely gracious place and people

4,4 en diciembre 30, 2010

A lovely place with great staff, beautiful rooms (with especially nice showers), and some very nice amenities. I accidentally left my beloved stuffed bear, Sebastian, at the inn and they promptly found it and sent it along. Though I am sure he will never forgive me for this atrocious grievance, I really appreciated their kindness and help.


Very relaxing and welcoming! Second stay even better than the first

5 en diciembre 28, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautifully restored inn located in the center of charming Glastonbury, CT. We stayed here in late August and returned in late October for some family events and were thrilled to be back.


The perfect New England getaway

5 en diciembre 08, 2010

We totally enjoyed our return to CT and New England charm in our too short stay at the CT River Valley Inn. Our host and hostess were so friendly and charming. The romantic room with fireplace was cozy with ironed sheets and all the amenities.. even hot chocolate for morning wake-up! The Shower ... the best ever... the homemade breakfast was delicious, the cranberry cake recipe is a winner! We met lovely guests, also in the airport the next day... and the highlight was the 1812 ledger the owners found in the attic while renovating the home. It was a history buff's delight! We will return... and we even heard a marching drum band and looked out the window and saw an antique car parade.. all that in just one night's stay... we are innkeepers also and highly recommend this inn for a perfect getaway... the artist/owner and the cute pets added to the individuality of the B&B... kudos for all your hard work! Gail and Dave, Turtle Beach Resort, Siesta Key, FL


Terrific Inn in Glastonbury, CT

5 en noviembre 29, 2010

The accommodations at the Inn were outstanding. Each of the rooms has a theme. We stayed in the Winter Solstice room that had a wrap around balcony for the warmer weather. The entire Inn was spotless, breakfast was cooked by the male Innkeeper and couldn't be better. They have two pet dogs, Allie and Widget, that made the stay seem homelike. They have spacious areas for the guests, that include the entire downstairs. A sunroom, living area with plenty of reading material, the kitchen and dining roo. The rooms are located on the secod floor and are spacious. The bathroom was unique. Felt like we were at a spa with all of the body jets in the shower. If you are in the Hartford, CT area, please make sure that you make a reservation to stay at this Inn. This Inn rate at least a 10.


Beautiful property, lovely owners

4,0 en noviembre 28, 2010

I decided to stay at this inn when I saw their gorgeous website and realized it was close to the friends I was visiting. I felt as if I was staying at the home of close friends as they were gracious but also allowed me as much privacy as I needed. The room was stunning, breakfast delicious and the shower to die for. I will definately stay again.


Lovely, relaxing stay in CT!

5 en noviembre 16, 2010

The location is beautiful, near the CT river, walking paths, close to shopping in town. Inn has gas fireplaces that provide cozy and romantic ambiance as well as warmth. Food was wonderful, fresh, served hot. Coffee set up in room as well as dining room with different selections. Beds very comfortable with big pillows and soft sheets. Room was big with lots of closet space and access to upper deck with view of the backyard. Don't miss looking at Pat's little gift shop as well.


Weekend in October

4,8 en noviembre 08, 2010

A friend from out of town stayed here and raved about the rooms and the friendliness of the owners. He will stay here again the next time he is in town.


Wonderful Inn Perfectly Situated!

5 en noviembre 07, 2010

This was our first visit to CT to visit family who had moved into the area. The Connecticut River Valley Inn popped up as we searched for accommodations. Photos were lovely and the reviews were excellent so we decided to reserve a room. So glad we did! Pat and Wayne provided us with walking and driving maps to help us become familiar with CT. The Inn backs up to a riverfront park so guests need only to step outside to begin exploring the area. It is situated in a neighborhood of charming stores, coffee shops and restaurants. Our room was a delightful combination of original charm and modern comfort. Bedding, shower and towels rivaled those in luxury hotels. Breakfast each morning was delicious and beautifully set. We look forward to staying at the Inn again soon!


Home away from Home

4,6 en noviembre 07, 2010

I do not usually write reviews and am well travelled. This home is top-notch. Very comfortable, classy and the owners go well out of their way to provide for their customers. Will always try to stay here when I am in the area.


Autumn stay

4,6 en octubre 25, 2010

The automatic fireplace was a wonderful addition to our already cozy room. Our hosts were very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. They've done a beautiful job of restoring this property.


A wonderful experience

5 en octubre 20, 2010

Beautiful modern decor in an historic home and well located position ; room was luxurious and very comfortable - included good coffee machine; lovely hosts with time to chat; fabulous breakfast and service; highly recommended


Beautifully decorated

4,6 en octubre 18, 2010

This inn is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms are gorgeously decorated and the attention to detail is stunning. The Keurig coffee/tea maker in each room was a nice surprise.


Best B&B Ever!

5 en octubre 13, 2010

The house is beautifully decorated, the acres of land and access to the river are incredible, and the city of Glastonbury is a tranquil paradise for anybody looking for time away from the hustle and bustle of work. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody who wants to unwind and relax with the person they love.


40th

4,6 en octubre 06, 2010

Pat's wonderful artistic touch was everywhere and her attention to detail tied everything together. We enjoyed the view from the balcony into the back yard and the mums were a breath of autumn. And breakfast was yummy!


Extra special B&B

5 en octubre 05, 2010

The innkeepers are extraordinary people who make you feel at home. The attention to detail in the decoration and artistic touches exceeded any previous experience in lodging.


Beautiful B&B in colonial setting

4,6 en septiembre 14, 2010

We had such a pleasant stay at the Connecticut River Valley Inn this summer. The location is just right—close to the center of town, so that it’s interesting to take a walk, but set back enough from the street that the room was very quiet. The grounds are beautifully maintained. It would be the perfect place for a wedding reception—there’s even a church next door. Our room was comfortable and attractive. We particularly appreciated the fact that there was ample lighting. The Inn is still new, and it was fun to look at the scrapbooks that show the transformation from a single family home to the freshly created inn. Oh, and breakfast was very good—a nice combination of fresh fruits and yogurt, followed by extravagant French toast. Our tablemates were people who had stayed at the inn before—a testimony to this very agreeable place.


Would defniiely return!

4,4 en septiembre 11, 2010

We spent a long weekend at the CT River Valley Inn and could not have been more pleased with the experience. Pat and Wayne have clearly put a lot of time, talent, and heart into renovating the entire inn and making each room its own private, beautiful, quiet, and comfortable space. The Glastonbury area was beautiful as well -- we recommend the Haddam Neck Fair (about a 30-40 min drive) if you're there over labor day weekend for a real county fair experience.


Charming B&B has many highlights

5 en septiembre 06, 2010

Charming B&B in an historic New England town. Beautiful grounds. Enjoyed the carillon coming from the church next door, while relaxing in the yard. Hosts were very friendly and accomodating. Dinner recommendation (2 Hopewell) was excellent...best filet mignon we ever had. Bed was extremely comfortable. Beverage maker in the room was much appreciated. A variety of coffees, teas, or hot chocolates could be ready in minutes. Spa shower was unique. Body lotion was the best. All in all, an excellent B&B.


Wonderful B&B-I'm actively looking for excuses to come back :)

5 en septiembre 05, 2010

I picked this B&B on a whim, and couldn't be more pleased. My intent was to have a pleasant evening, and visit the Mark Twain House (10 min. away) on my way up from Virginia to another permanent destination. I am already planning my return visit. Patricia and Wayne Brubaker, the owners of the inn, have left no detail unvisited. From remote controlled air conditioning (tastefully hidden behind silkscreen) to Bose sound systems and steam bath options, the 300 year old house has much more than the average modern convenience. While the outer structures have retained the beautiful integrity of the historic period Glastonbury is known for, the rooms were full of romantic (but completely updated!) aesthetic. 3 minute's worth of walking brings you to a beautiful river trail, three minutes in the opposite direction brings you to multiple high quality restaurants (I had a great meal at Cafe Pazzo's) and shops. Please, please, please take advantage of the breakfast part of the experience--the quiche alone is fantastic, and the scones, well, I don't want to rub it in too much. I would feel guilty if you couldn't share it. For Military folks, the inn has exceedingly generous offer for you--nights in each room for 50% off!!! You won't regret visiting this spot.


Beautiful, historic, attention to detail

4,8 en septiembre 04, 2010

Had a wonderful time in CT, and am so glad I choose your B and B; beautiful surroundings, comfortable bed, exceptional shower, tasty food with eye candy presentation, not to mention simulating company of humans and pets. Thank you for the info on the ferry to Rocky Hill (Tapestry Rose), as simple as it was, it proved to be almost the highlight of the day.


Fantastic food not worth putting up with ZERO housekeeping.

2,0 en agosto 25, 2010

My now husband and I chose this inn, after much research, several months before our wedding. Unfortunately we were ignored due to the inn hosting a wedding and catering all weekend to those wedding guests. Our first morning, the inn keeper actually said “I hope you don’t feel overlooked”. No extras. No refreshments. No HOUSEKEEPING!!! Not kidding here. The only time they actually came into our room was to retrieve pillows for the other guests off of our bed! Almost a thousand dollars…wasted. Lesson learned. Beautiful home. Fantastic food. Great reviews. BUYER BEWARE.

Respuesta del propietario

As new B&B innkeepers, we try very hard to make sure that all of our guests are happy. We are very sorry that this was not the case. We did have a wedding the weekend of this reservation, but we made that known to the guests at the time that they booked. We also made it a point to provide the same level of service as we would at any other time. Unfortunately, many of the things that we did/provided for these guests went unnoticed. At this B&B, (also our home) , we take pride in treating all guests as friends & family, as opposed to "innkeeper" and "guests. All guests are provided our personal cell # so they can reach us anytime regardless of our location. All our rooms come with bottled water, single serve coffeemakers w/over 20 coffee, tea & hot chocolate choices. In the dining room a variety of cookies, chocolates, granola bars and snacks are at our guest's disposal. When we make other goodies such as apple pie, gingerbread cookies or cake, that is on the buffet as well. To conclude, we go out of our way with every guest as all the reviews on this & other sites show. This past weekend, we noticed a guest’s tire was defective and so did the only right thing to do – we helped to change the tire! Now these guests jokingly call our B&B “The Connecticut River Valley Inn and Tire Shop!”


Warm, Friendly Bed and Breakfast

5 en agosto 05, 2010

We had an amazing stay at this B&B. They treated us like family! We immediately felt welcomed and were treated exceptionally well!! I highly recommend the Connecticut River Valley Inn, from the artistic, cozy rooms to the delicious breakfast. Hands down this is a 5 star establishment!!


A hidden gem in Glastonbury

5 en junio 18, 2010

What a fantasic stroke of luck. The local Hilton Garden was fully booked and I had never really considered a B&B while on business travel. But a Glastonbury local recommended it to me and wow.... What a hidden gem. The owners Pat and Wayne were charming, polite and gave some great insights to the local area. The room was so much better than any hotel room I'd stayed in and had all the facilties. The Pièce de résistance was the breakfast. Freshly cut fruit, a proper cooked breakfast like only your mum could make and a chioce of 10 different coffee varieties. I will certainly be booking in advance for my next trip to the Glastonbury area.


Best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in.

5 en noviembre 14, 2009

Gorgeous old home restored with the greatest attention to detail. The rooms are spacious, extremely comfortable, quiet and private. Who knew a remote control could start up the gas fireplace and heat the room! California king bed, body spray showers, linens, towels - all chosen for ultimate comfort. The rooms lack no modern convenience. Pat's artistic touches are everywhere - making each room a very unique setting. Pat and Wayne are warm, welcoming and very friendly Innkeepers/homeowners. They make every effort to provide for every need and answer every question. Their pride in their home is well deserved. Their attention to detail is remarkable. Pat's breakfast was delicious and hearty - she has many talents! My husband and I extended our trip by a day so we could stay at this Inn a second night! It is perfect!


Stay here. You will be happy you did! :-)

4,8 en agosto 02, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in July. We chose this location due to its close location near my In-Laws as we were gathering for their 50th wedding anniversary. What a great decision. The innkeepers are welcoming and personal. They are so friendly more than happy to share ideas of what to do in the area. I really feel like we made new friends in meeting them. We stayed in the Winter Solstice room and what a fantastically luxurious room it is. First, the decor is restful, light and airy. We visited in July and the air conditioner worked well, always keeping us comfortable during a very hot and humid couple of days. Every room has a fireplace so I would expect that the inn is a very romantic place to stay in the winter. Our room overlooked the beautifully landscaped gardens and had a private balcony with table and chairs. The room itself is gorgeous! The linens are the most comfortable I have ever experienced! The towels are fluffy and large. The bathroom features a shower with body sprays, rain shower head, and hand held wand. The fantastic experience does not stop with the beautifully appointed room and incredibly welcoming inn-keepers, but extends to the breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic - above and beyond what we have experienced at other inns. The quality and quantity was enough to hold us to dinner each day. The location of the inn is wonderful. The inn is in the heart of Glastonbury and in walking distance to many restaurants and wonderful beautiful walkable neighborhoods and historic points to interest to include walking trails along the CT river. If you are visiting Glastonbury, Hartford or that general area, stay at the CT River Valley Inn. You will be glad you did and looking forward to your return.


The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $185 - $250
  • Comentarios (67) 4,7
  • Habitaciones 4
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-8606337374
  • Fax 1-8606330776

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba