Mountain Goat Lodge Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,4
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,6

Puntuación basada en
67 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Great people and surroundings

4,6 en julio 09, 2014

Very nice weekend. Good food and comfortable


Mountain Getaway

5 en junio 03, 2014

Our stay at Mountain Goat Lodge was wonderful. Our room overlooked the Arkansas River valley and Mt. Shavano. Gina was the perfect hostess, fun to talk with, and our only regret was not being able to take in a goat class and taste cheeses! Animals are fun to watch and the whole atmosphere was very relaxing for us. Highly recommend.


So Much More Fun Than Prim, Proper B&B!

4,0 en mayo 30, 2014

Mountain Goat B&B is part comfortable lodging, part small animal farm, campfire circle, and rollicking good time. The owners, Gina and Darcy are typically welcoming hosts, but with a counter culture edge to them that makes conversations so much more than "host to guest". Gina serves up amazing breakfasts, with Darcy...a merchant mariner who is often away...serving up a variety of flavored and non-flavored lattes. Kids, and dogs are welcome....and this is a place where families can enjoy watching baby goats, hanging out around at campfire at night, checking out the geodesic greenhouse, and petting Pilar the pet llama. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, as is the downstairs living and dining area. For anyone who wants to "rough it", there is now a cozy Retro trailer on the premises as well. This place may not work so well for people who want to sleep in late, but I can't imagine most folks not enjoying a good time at Mountain Goat!


Wonderful place, great people

4,8 en mayo 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights and were very impressed with the room and the service. Our dog was welcomed and was given the run of the place. It's a little pricy ( I could be out of date on this,) but it was a great visit.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your comments...As for our prices - There are always going to be less expensive and more expensive venues. We try to give you as much value for your dollar as possible, while still maintaining a small boutique experience. Anyway, please know you are welcome back into our little farm anytime!


Mgmk

5 en mayo 15, 2014

Being able yo share the experience with our pet made it special. Goats, a llama, chickens and acres to explore we're great. Breakfasts were super!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking your time to review us. We agree, having the chance to vacation with our pets is a win-win. Glad to have you all share in our little farm experience!


Bed and breakfast

3,8 en mayo 15, 2014

Great place, my wife and I had a wonderful time

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We realize there are lots of places you could visit, and are very honored when guests choose us!


Dog friendly B&B

3,6 en abril 07, 2014

Great place if you're a dog lover....if not it might not be the place for you. Family dog has her spot on the sofa and all furniture is well loved by animals. We didn't travel with our pet on this trip. It is located on a farm so expectations for cleanliness should be adjusted accordingly. Food was awesome!

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Mountain Goat Lodge! While we do cater to animal lovers, we certainly don't want any guest to feel that our cleanliness is effected by our dog or other visiting animals. We take pride in maintaining a clean home and property but we value your feedback and strive to provide the best experience possible for each guest. So glad to hear you loved the food and we welcome you back any time!


A Lovely weekend at Mountain Goat Lodge

4,0 en marzo 06, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Mountain Goat Lodge. We spend time walking the fields, playing with and feeding baby goats, and dining at Fritz in Salida (yum!) My boyfriend and I took the cheesemaking class and Mountain Goat and it was fantastic!!! I highly recommend it. Our fridge is loaded with homemade cheeses and even yogurt now. The gourmet breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts were generous, friendly and fun. I highly recommend Mountain Goat Lodge. If you get


Great Salida B&B

4,6 en marzo 03, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Mountain Goat Lodge. First and foremost, we stayed for two nights and the breakfast served each day was absolutely outstanding! Gina does a wonderful job making sure you leave for the day well fed. The only complaint we had (which is minor) is that it is hard to sleep past 7am...a lot of noise starts happening downstairs and the walls are pretty thin. We would definitely stay here again...it was just lovely and worth every penny.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for being honest with the feedback - you had the mixed experience of being here when we were completely full - great for conversations and making new acquaintances, but not so great for sleeping in. Those that come here during the week make the comment of how quiet it is! We are planning some upgrades to insulated doors and drapes in hopes that we can dampen down some of the sound. Glad you had a good weekend though!


Great!

5 en febrero 28, 2012

Loved the place! It was welcoming, fun and a wonderful, relaxing environment.


A perfect getaway

4,0 en febrero 26, 2012

We highly recommend this place for a weekend (or longer) getaway. The surroundings are gorgeous, the rooms are very nice and the owners are very welcoming. The cheese making class was a lot of fun as well. And of course the goats are an added highlight. We were sad to leave.


Mountain Goat Lodge - Salida CO

4,2 en febrero 21, 2012

My wife and I decided to try this B&B since we were going back to my hometown for a visit ,and we were blown away by the service given to us by Gina and her staff. I work for a National FF&E Hospitality company and could have stayed in one of the many hotels in Salida but decided to try something a little different; WOW were we suprised on how beautiful and clean the property was with the views I grew up with right outside our balcony. I would recommend the Mountain Goat Lodge to anyone staying in the Salida area a hundred times over and yes i already have. Thanks Gina!!!!


Wonderful experience! We will be frequent customers.

5 en enero 23, 2012

Gina is a wonderful host. The rooms are impeccably clean; the breakfasts are delectable. The atmosphere of the lodge is warm and friendly -- you'll feel at home at the Mountain Goat Lodge.


Great rooms and location

4,0 en enero 02, 2012

lgc


Goats and relaxation on the mts!

5 en octubre 19, 2011

THE GOAT LODGE IS BETTER THAN BEING AT HOME BECAUSE GINA WELCOMES EACH VISITOR AS IF A FAMILY MEMBER HAS ARRIVED! SPOTLESS GREAT FOOD BEAUTIFUL LOCATION GO!


over all great experience

3,2 en octubre 18, 2011

rainbow over the top--goats gorgeous--view excellant--building outstanding--evening marg. the best i have had---suggest finger food and lemonade etc. for non alchol fans in the evening---missed the cinnamin rolls you suggested--meeting locals for breakfast great--enjoyed the waterfall out our window--will probably return --cheers


October in Salida

5 en octubre 13, 2011

Nice place, great breakfast, comfortable rooms and common areas, great views, friendly Innkeeper, friendly goats, friendly dogs, picturesque llama and chickens. All in all, very relaxing and fun.


5 outta 5

5 en octubre 03, 2011

had a wonderful weekend at Mountain Goat Lodge.. what a beautiful property. Service was exceptional! Gina was so friendly and was passionate about her goats. Got the grand tour and introduction of each goat! Will definitely be back!


autumn in Salida

5 en septiembre 30, 2011

Our room was well appointed and had a spectacular view of Mt. Shavano. The decor of the common areas was upper-end with lush leather sofas facing windows with a view and a towering fireplace, and antiques including a grand piano. The breakfasts were scrumptious. We look forward to returning to "the Goat" soon.


Great CO B&B

5 en septiembre 26, 2011

Takes dogs! View of 4 14ers from the back deck. Inventive breakfasts. Gina strives to make your stay wonderful.


Incredible place!

5 en septiembre 20, 2011

This place is dog friendly. Gina serves an outstanding breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The goats are fun. The setting is beautiful. One of the best places we have ever stayed. Gina agreed to serve 16 extra people who did not stay there. They were in for a wedding. Can't beat that for service.


Unique Retreat

5 en septiembre 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The scenery was beautiful, the food delicious, and the goats delightful. We took the cheese making class and were amazed at all of the different kinds of cheeses that can be made so easily. Gina is a great teacher and a delight to be with. We stuffed ourselves on the Feta both during the class and afterwards! We had a great time. Thanks so much Gina.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you so much for your kind words - and for being gracious guests and A+ students! Please keep us in mind as your year round vacation home. I will be adding to our cheese repertoire after I return from a master cheese-making class in New England this fall. As always, drive safely and watch for wildlife! Gina


The Best

5 en septiembre 10, 2011

Excellent experience! Gina is a marvelous hostess and very welcoming. The Lodge is beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. The views of the mountains are breathtaking! The animals made it most enjoyable. Wish we could have stayed longer!


Fantastic Labor Day weekend '11

5 en septiembre 07, 2011

We had a WONDERFUL stay at the inn, and will rwturn soon, and many times more. Thanks!!!


Delightful

3,4 en agosto 11, 2011

We had a delightful visit. My only "complaint" is that this lovely B&B sits a little too close to the road.

Respuesta del propietario

Our location near the highway is convenient for access, but not the ideal for traffic noise at times. We hope to improve the two rooms on the highway side with sound-deadening window shades. Until then we always encourage guests to use the cooler for "white noise". Thank you for your kind words. Please drive safely and watch out for wildlife! Gina


Home away from home

4,4 en agosto 05, 2011

Very open and accomidating, personal yet private, very helpful and knowledgeable in regard to local events and activities. Highly recommend if you are tired of hotels this is the better option, feels like home.


Great house for animal lovers!

4,0 en julio 29, 2011

The house is wonderful, the animals are all friendly, the food is great. The host and her assistant do a very nice breakfast. Great location for activities anywhere in the valley and up to the Divide.


Fresh goat milk lattes for breakfast at the Mountain Goat Lodge.

5 en julio 25, 2011

Enjoyed our stay in the "Fish" room. Such cute decorations -- down to the fishing lure shower curtain rings! Fun meeting the goats and llama and the fresh cooked breakfast with goat milk lattes, yogurt and cheese was excellent! Gina was a very accommodating and friendly proprietor who made us feel welcome. The only drawback would be the noise from the highway, but closing the windows and using the evaporative cooler helped.


Great B&B

5 en julio 15, 2011

Gina Marcell wins the prize for the wonderful, one woman show. Don't know how she manages everything, but she does!


Summer sun...

5 en julio 05, 2011

The Mountain Goat Lodge was the perfect escape from the stress of work and school. Gina was charming and suuuuuper friendly and made me (and all of the other guests) feel at home. The atmosphere is cozy and relaxing, and the guests seem to develop into a psudo-family during their stay. The lodge itself is nestled in a most beautiful landscape. It is bright, airy, clean...and painted with soft rays of the sun during the day and the glow of a thousand stars on a clear night. The animals are both cute and friendly...and seem happy to greet the weary vacationers as they return to the lodge... The nearby town(s) offer many activities for townies and nature-lovers alike. Salida boasts many delicious independent restaurants, coffee shops, bars, boutiques and galleries...etc. Within less than an hour's drive there are hiking trails, kayaking, whitewater rafting (beginner and thrill-seeker), bat caves, wildlife, fishing, mountain biking...hot springs...etc etc etc...never a shortage of things to do! Needless to say, this is a LOVELY place for a get-away. You will be well taken care of...well-relaxed...and replenished. Oh...and the food is delicious :)


Fun at

3,8 en julio 04, 2011

Very friendly owners, and a delicious breakfast. The decor is outstanding, and each room is done up with a different theme. My fisherman's room was cute and the bed comfy. Even the pad of paper on the desk carried the fishing theme. I enjoyed the goats and chickens, as well as their 3 very friendly dogs. Gina is outgoing and helpful, and I felt at home. I recommend it highly.


Great fun place to stay!

5 en junio 12, 2011

I only got to stay one night but once I was there I could have stayed a week!! Excellent breakfasat and Gina, the innkeeper was so fun and pleasant. I loved the animals and the bedroom was beautiful as was the view. I will definitely be back. Ginger from AZ


Comfortable, scenic, dog-friendly--plus a great breakfast

4,8 en junio 05, 2011

My spouse and I have visited B&Bs that were more elegant and more tranquil than Mountain Goat Lodge--but seldom have we enjoyed a more comfortable stay and more scenic location than our recent "just passing through" visit to this establishment. Gina's skills as a proprietor were exemplary--chatting with guests, ensuring our comfort, dealing (promptly and expeditiously) with problems, and preparing an excellent breakfast. We enjoyed the "goats-and-chickens-view" options, and the degree to which our dog was welcomed (even in a "full house" with other fellow dog-travelers). Not to be missed: the astonishing and spectacular dark and starry skies (and the goat yogurt!). The Mountain Goat Lodge is a great choice as a stop near Salida (one of the more charming Colorado small towns) or as a getaway destination on its own.


In another home for one night

3,4 en junio 01, 2011

Though we only stayed one night, the host made us feel at home immediately. A mini farm like setting with great views. I was expecting to be set off the main highway further but the host has made the best of the location. The french toast, strawberries and specialty coffee was a nice way to start out the morning. Thank you.


Highly recommend to anyone staying in Salida!!!!

4,4 en mayo 11, 2011

View from room spectacular!! Warm, cozy, and clean! Loved the goats, dogs, and chickens.


Great weekend!

5 en abril 26, 2011

My family and our friends had a great weekend at the Mountain Goat Lodge. Our room was spacious, neat and clean. The view of the mountains was spectacular (when the clouds parted!). We enjoyed petting the goats and I even milked a goat! Gina was a great host and excellent cook. We had two fabulous breakfasts and all the good coffees, expressos, teas you could drink. We plan on going back!


Highly recommend this place

4,6 en abril 18, 2011

If you want a B&B secluded in the mountains away from the hustle and bustle (yet 10 minutes to Salida for restaurants), a completely beautiful view of the mountains outside your window, great service, very clean and modern rooms, and much more, you need to stay here. I cannot say enough positive things about this place. We will be back for sure.


We love this BnB!

3,6 en marzo 30, 2011

We keep coming back for the comfortableness, the genuineness of the staff, and the goats, we loooove the baby goats:)


Great place to stay

4,4 en marzo 29, 2011

We just got back from spending a weekend at the Goat Mountain Ranch and we had a great time. The Goat Mountain Ranch was very clean, the breakfast was awesome and the common areas were very comfortable. We went with another family and couldn't have asked for a better situation, comfortable places to sit, talk and drink tea and then a quiet place away from everyone. We brought our dog and I think she had an even better time than we did ! This is a B and B worth visiting.


First Class Accommodations in the Rockies

5 en marzo 28, 2011

This is the place to stay if you are looking for mountain activities or just to relax and get away from the hectic pace of the city. After a day on the slopes, we looked forward to the afternoon hospitality hour (beer, local wines, and other refreshments served) and getting to meet and relax with other guests. Gina served a variety of healthy breakfast items during our stay--even gourmet espresso drinks! We loved the rustic decor of the Lodge and were very comfortable in the large suite we stayed in. It's a great value for the price and we highly recommend it if you are visiting the Salida area.


Best B&B by far!

4,6 en marzo 28, 2011

Wow, what a lovely place to stay. The rooms are large, the breakfast a delicious feast and the owners very welcoming. I highly recommend The Mountain Goat Lodge and look forward to returning again. Many Thanks Gina and D'Arcy!


Wonderful Experience

4,4 en marzo 24, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at the lodge for a couple of days. Our room was bright, clean, and had plenty of room for all of our gear. Breakfast was excellent, especially Gina's egg dishes. The lodge is beautiful, with great views of the mountains. There are dogs, goats, chickens, and even a llama on the property. We had a lot of fun visiting with the baby goats and the very friendly dogs. The lodge is conveniently located, only about 10 minutes from Salida, 20 minutes from Monarch Mountain ski resort and about 30 minutes from Buena Vista. We are already making plans to come back!


Great for Families

4,6 en marzo 19, 2011

Family vacation, Wonderful breakfast, Outstanding Hospitality


Two Thumbs Up!

4,0 en marzo 15, 2011

Two thumbs up! My husband, 14 year old granddaughter and I stayed at the lodge four nights during a ski trip to Monarch. This was our first stay at a B&B. The lodge is beautiful with wonderful mountain views, comfortable beds, very clean rooms, hot tub and good wireless internet service. Gina, the innkeeper, is an excellent host. The huge breakfasts and lattes were delicious! A happy hour featuring local wine is an added bonus. We enjoyed visiting with Gina, other guests and their dogs. There is plenty of space to spend time alone, too. The goats, llama and dogs are charming and entertaining. A highlight of our trip was watching the birth of two adorable baby goats. My granddaughter loved her time with the goats. We also played card games and listened to the piano in the commons area. Our dog, Mudd, was killed by a hit and run driver our first night at the lodge. We were overwhelmed with grief and surprised with the outpouring of sympathy from Gina and her neighbors. They helped us bury Mudd, and Gina arranged for a memorial sign in his honor. It was a difficult week, but we enjoyed our stay. We are planning a return trip. I would recommend staying more than one night.


Can't wait to go back!

4,2 en marzo 15, 2011

This place is truly a gem! The experience was wonderful! I will never hesitate to stay here again if even remotely close to the area.


Everything we had hoped for!

4,8 en marzo 01, 2011

There were no disappointments at Mountain Goat Lodge. First, before you even get there, you are awed by the stunning mountain scenery, which is framed by many of the windows of the rooms and common areas. We stayed in one of the two suites, but I had a chance to look at all the rooms, and they are all lovely, clean, well-decorated and comfortable. It was a pleasure talking to Gina and the other guests, but we had plenty of alone time, too - no pressure to be anywhere or do anything. We brought two dogs with us, and they were warmly welcomed. We've never stayed at a place that allowed dogs where the rooms were so clean and pleasant - usually we end up in some filthy hole because of the dogs, who are actually sweet and well-behaved (not that we're biased...). If you're worried about dog hair (or worse) in your room - don't! Gina does a great job of cleaning and you'll never know that there might have been a furry creature in there previously. Now, the goats - what fun! Except for the time when I accidentally let two of them in the front door (sorry Gina - I've never herded goats before and didn't know what to grab!), we had a great time watching and petting them. There were 5 babies cavorting around, sucking on our thumbs, and generally being silly. We had a great couple of days there - it's close enough to Salida that you can slip into town and take advantage of the great restaurants and shopping, too.


review

4,2 en febrero 28, 2011

beautiful inn...Gina was a gracious host...loved the goats!


Heavenly

5 en febrero 01, 2011

Gina and D’Arcy are excellent hosts and the bed and breakfast is just beautiful. Not a spot of dirt could be found.The breakfasts served are exceptional in quality and presentation, and served with a smile every day.


A home away from home

4,4 en enero 30, 2011

My husband, puppy and I booked last minute on New Years Day. The rate was very reasonable and the B&B was pet-friendly -- bonus, Gina is the perfect hostess. Doggie welcome bag & adult reception were much appreciated. Entire lodge is a home away from home!


fantastic weekend getaway

4,8 en enero 23, 2011

we had a fabulous time there, perfect weekend getaway. Gina and D'Arcy were wonderful hosts and the location and views could not have been more perfect. We can't wait to go back!


We'll Be Back

4,6 en enero 07, 2011

First time in the Salida - Monarch Mountain area. The Mountain Goat Lodge was perfect. Easy access to Salida, but the great colorado scevnery the lodge offers. And easy access to the mountain, without worrying about being stranded by heavy snow or an avalanche. The common area of the Lodge has a really home like feel. Enjoy conversation with Gina, the owner, and the other guests, but head for your room to take a nap, read a book or watch TV. Yes - PERFECT! We'll be back.


The best stay of our trip!

5 en enero 04, 2011

Sadly we only stayed for a night at Mountain Goat Lodge, but three months on it still remains a highlight of our trip across the States. Gina was fabulous and took time to introduce us to the goats of different shapes and sizes- which our ten year old loved. We milked one then went walking with them up the hill!The room was beautiful and breakfast was delicious. We would definately recommend a stay here and go out of our way to visit again!


Like home away from home.

5 en diciembre 28, 2010

Gina, an excellent cook and hostess, makes you feel very welcomed. The lodge is very conveniently located near Monarch and Salida but in the country with a spectacular view! The home is beautiful inside and out. Would love to go back some day. Enjoyed eating Christmas dinner with her and the other guests.


A great place to stay

5 en diciembre 13, 2010

Loved the dogs and the goats. The breakfast was excellent. I have recommeded Mountain Goat Lodge to all my friends!


Great place!

4,8 en octubre 26, 2010

nothing bad to say about anything... very friendly, clean, comfortable, cozy. Gorgeous views & the animals are fun to watch... We had a hard time leaving!


my second stay

5 en octubre 17, 2010

This was my second stay, but my first stay with the new innkeepers. The breakfast in the mornings were excellent. Great conversation and excellent food. Gina is a great cook and host.


We had a great time at this friendly, welcoming B&B

4,6 en septiembre 09, 2010

We had a quiet, comfortable room upstairs with lovely views of the surrounding mountains and valley in two directions out the window and the balcony. The room had plenty of luggage space and a private bath. The complimentary afternoon happy hour, featuring home-made goat cheese plus beer, wine and sodas, gave us a chance to meet other lodgers and Gina, the owner, and discuss things to do in the area. We brought road bicycles and enjoyed riding over to the town of Salida, about 5 mi. away. We also enjoyed eating breakfast with the other guests. We plan to return to climb one of several 14ers that are not far away. We would also bring our dog next time. The B&B was very pet friendly. Date of Stay: August 2010 Visit was for: Leisure Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner


What a Gem!

5 en agosto 18, 2010

Recently a group of us had occassion to desend on Gina and D'Arcy's B&B for two nights. The home is lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, the conversation was great and Gina did everything in her power to make our stay special and worry free (restuarant reservations, special food, great breakfast, welcoming public rooms to share). I would highly recommend this special place (with the dogs, the goats and the chickens too!) to anyone looking for a clean and friendly place to stay at a great value.


An excellent place to stay in Salida

4,2 en agosto 13, 2010

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful B and B this July. Gina, the hostess, was wonderful and charming and provided the most delicious breakfasts. The rooms were very pretty and comfortable, with great views of the surrounding landscape. The goats were so much fun too and she even helped us to milk a goat. We had a great time and I can't wait to go back and stay with her again.


Comfortable setting

3,0 en agosto 09, 2010

Our room was nice, but barren. Not overly homey. Suggest to change the towel color and provide more per room.


Exceptional breakfast

4,4 en julio 25, 2010

The hearty hot breakfast kept us well fueled for a big hike and the latte drinks were a special treat. Loved the goats. Hostess Gina was personable and enthusiastic. Would definitely return. Liz from Evergreen, CO


A must!

5 en mayo 19, 2009

This is a beautiful lodge with awesome views of Colorado's highest mountains. Very welcoming and interesting hosts. highly recommended!


Outstanding Atmosphere & Hospitality!

5 en febrero 07, 2009

What a wonderful place! We plan to return next year. Great layout with great reading area & views from every side. Enjoyed the hot tub and beautiful outside surroundings. Hosts were very helpful with interesting conversations. We looked forward to each day's afternoon snack/beverage.


outstanding!

5 en junio 11, 2008

beautiful rooms, excellent service, wonderful breakfast


Beautiful

5 en mayo 08, 2008

Roomy-great breakfast buffet. Clean! Views! Great location.


Colorado Crossroads Bed and Breakfast

4,0 en mayo 08, 2008

What a wonderful place. Great views/ very relaxing. The staff could not have been more accommodating.


First Time

3,8 en octubre 17, 2007

Our first time in a B&B and from our experience there, we'll being doing it more often. It was such a personal experience.


Mountain Goat Lodge

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $138 - $202
  • Comentarios (67) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7195397173
Arriba