Blue Lake Ranch Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,6
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas4,5

Puntuación basada en
114 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Extraordinary Experience

5 en septiembre 30, 2014

This was our first time to stay at a B&B and it was an extraordinary experience. The room was gorgeous, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the other guests seemed to be all enjoying their stay also. We felt very much at home at the Blue Lake Ranch. In fact, we did not want to leave even though our travel itinerary had us moving on to Colorado Springs. If we are ever near Durango again, we will make Blue Lake Ranch home for the duration of our visit. Kari & Greg


a piece of paradise

5 en septiembre 20, 2014

Well I must say this was one of the most enjoyable vacations I have ever had with the family! if you want peace and quite, outstanding views and unprecedented wildlife this is for you. the staff was very helpful, delightful and courteous well beyond what would be normal service. we also had my daughters wedding with them and they were amazing and helpful throughout the whole process as we were from out of state. Breakfast's were top notch and well beyond you typical "continental breakfast". My wife and I will be coming back ASAP. :)


Last week we spent 3 lovely & cozy nights in the Lake View room. The staff was helpful & knowledgable about the area, breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Can't wait to come back to see the gardens in the summer. Very quiet area with lovely views.

5 en diciembre 11, 2013

D&D Kelly


A beautiful place to stay in an out of the way setting

4,6 en octubre 28, 2013

Enjoyed our recent stay in the La Plata Vista room which was lovely with a nice view. Felt price was very reasonable in comparison to some of the other places we have stayed. Location is very peaceful although you need to drive a bit to get to restaurants and shopping. Breakfasts were very good and very ample. Staff was nice but our only frustration was that they alternate days and communication was a bit lacking. We requested a box lunch from a staff member for the next day. She was not working the next day and did not communicate to who was working the next day. Would have been nice to have had cookies or snacks available in the evening, however I am not complaining as the price we paid for the room was very reasonable. TV reception was lacking (probably due to mountains but radio was good) They do have DVD. I wish we had brought our own DVDs as their collection was not very broad. But I highly recommend this place to stay and we would definitely return again.


Relaxing

3,8 en julio 21, 2013

We stayed a week—four adults ages 42 to 72. Because we booked late, each couple stayed in two different rooms during our visit. All four rooms were pleasant, private and beautifully decorated in Southwestern style. The landscape is a high desert mix of sagebrush, pinon trees, and shrubby dry-land flowers, but there are also many big areas of cultivated flowers, including hundreds of hollyhocks attracting hummingbirds. We spent two gloriously relaxing days at the ranch just reading, looking at the flowers, talking in the many quiet shady areas, and eating delicious box lunches provided by the staff. The breakfast each morning was a delight—homemade granola and yogurt, fresh fruit, dried fruit, and nuts. There was also a cooked breakfast that varied daily—bacon, scrambled eggs or poached eggs with basil, ham cooked with potatoes and corn, tamale pie, etc. There were many beautiful places to sit—by a trickling fountain, on a shady porch, or overlooking a garden. The staff were friendly, helpful and casual. This is a very nice place to stay.


Fun, Romantic Getaway

5 en mayo 15, 2013

Beautiful, pleasant inn. The grounds were spectacular. We stayed in the Lake View suite, which is in the main house. It was beautifully decorated and had a big picture window with a relaxing view. The balcony was very pleasant and we enjoyed sipping wine and watching the sun set. Breakfast was very good, especially the home-made granola (yum!). We will go again! The Ranch is located close to Durango and very convenient. Friendly, efficient staff.


Would love to come back

4,6 en octubre 31, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and helpful while allowing us as much privacy and space as we desired. I didn't include this request when making our reservation, but Candace made a gluten-free waffle for me when I saw that waffles were on the menu for breakfast. We recommend the Kennebeck Cafe for dinner. We are thankful for the mid-week, off-season rate for our room (Sunset Casita) because it was affordable for us and just amazing. We recommend the drive to Silverton and Ourey which was spectacular!


Great stay at Blue Lake

4,0 en octubre 15, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sage room for one night. The ladies running the Inn were just lovely - very helpful and very friendly. The room itself is gorgeous, it's like luxury camping. The grounds are beautiful, we hope to return and spend more time at the ranch.


Great fall stay

4,4 en octubre 05, 2012

Beautifuk stting, would be really beatiful with all the many flower gardens in full bloom.


Blue Lake Ranch--a hidden jewel

4,2 en septiembre 30, 2012

Stayed in a cottage among a sea ofperennials--a perfect and relaxing getaway.


The very best B&B in Colorado

5 en septiembre 30, 2012

We ahve been return guests for the last 10 years, this was our fourth time to visit and stay in the Cedar Casita we wish we could visit more often. We rate every other B&B against Blue Lake they have become the benchmark for our stays. the food and staff are awesome.


First timers

4,4 en agosto 04, 2012

We were in the Garden Room and loved the decor, comfort, and patio view of the lake. We will surely stay with you whenever we are traveling in this area.


Amazing!

5 en julio 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Blue Lake Ranch. It is truly the ultimate Bed and Breakfast experience and then some. The rooms, hospitality, food, and grounds exceeded our wildest expectations. Sitting on the balcony and viewing a thunder and lightning extravaganza while sipping Colorado wine was the ultimate in vacation splendor. If you are looking for the comfort of an upscale bed and breakfast in a beautiful rural setting, then the Blue Lake Ranch is for you.


Amazing Experience.

5 en julio 21, 2012

Amazing Experience. Well appointment rooms, exceptionally friendly and helpful serice from the entire staff. Landscaping that bedazzles your eyes and senses. Highly recommend that you consider spending a few days there. Rick Kamenshine, Seattle, WA


Pleasant place but dirty sheets.

2,6 en julio 18, 2012

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The area is beautiful, the breakfast was delicious and the service was great. On the downside, the sheets had stains on them, a used bar of bathsoap (not ours) was left in the soap dish in the shower, there was no coffee though the room had a coffee grinder, coffee maker and coffee cups. It gave the impression that the room was abandoned before the cleaning was complete. Upon notifying the staff of the situation they immediately provided clean sheets and coffee, but left the used bar of soap in the dish---yuk. Instead of removing it, they left us 4 new bars of soap, so I think they misunderstood the used soap issue. The exterior of the casita we stayed in had numerous cobwebs around the doorway and light fixture and the lamb's ear plant at the entry into the gate was so overgrown we had to high step over it to gain entrance to the casita. But overall, the grounds were well kept and lovely.


July 2012

5 en julio 17, 2012

We visited 10 years ago and fell in love with Blue Lake Ranch. We decided once our kids were old enough to appreciate we would share the experience with them and we were not dissappointed. We stayed in the Mountain View Suite and loved it, perfect for a family! The views of the mountains are wonderful. Plenty of wildlife to enjoy. Breakfast was amazing - I've never seen my oldest eat so much! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The kids are still talking about the fishing.


June 2012

5 en julio 01, 2012

spectacular-David and Shirley are great hosts who take both pride and pleasure in having guests stay in their lodging. also, Jackie was extremely sweet and prepared a breakfast spread like no other and took so much pleasure in a guest's enjoyment in the most humble and gracious manner.


Night and Day

2,8 en junio 28, 2012

This review represents the average of two nights, one of which was dreadful and the other of which was fantastic. We spent two nights at Blue Lake Ranch. The first night was in the Mountain View suite. It was dreadful. The a/c didn't work and when we returned at 8 pm the room temp was 91 degrees. We had no alternative but to open all the windows and run a large fan to try to cool the rooms. By the time we went to bed at 10 pm it was 88 degrees. I understand mechanical malfunctions, but more inexplicable was the lack of attention to the Mountain View Suite. While there were good views from the large picture windows, it appeared they hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. When we first arrived we killed a dozen spiders, and there were all forms of bugs. Fortunately none of them seemed interested in humans. The second night we were moved to the Upper Sprinklake Suite, which was a totally different experience...one of the best places we've ever stayed. We were amazed at the number of deer in the early morning and at dusk. If you stay there, be sure to ask for one of the newer accommodations and definitely stay away from the Mountain View.


Blue Lake Ranch

4,0 en junio 06, 2012

The pictures on the website give an accurate portrayel of the rooms and main building. The place is srruounded by flowers, plants and all the accompanying insect, bird and wild life that it would support. It is beautiful and a perfect place to relax outside with a glass of wine and a good book. There is also a large pond with huge fish, geese and ducks. The room was confortable, although it could get a bit warm since it was upstairs but there is an air conditioner that worked well. The staff was friendly and helpful, from the person who checked us in to the cook. There was a wide variety of food to choose from, including vegetarion options, and everything was delicious. Although we were attending a wedding, we visited both Durango and Mesa Verde and both locations were easily acessible from the Ranch.


A peaceful visit

4,4 en marzo 07, 2012

This places wonderful. We will be visiting again in the future and bring friends next time. The staff are the most helpful and kind, they treat you like family.


Best second visit ever!

5 en enero 03, 2012

Our second visit was as wonderful as our first 17 years ago with our children. Now with our grandchildren it was even better. It has become a family tradition that we hope to continue. Best get-away ever!!!! Thanks for the wonderful memories. Kennemer and Boyle families


A Fantastic Place to Stay

4,4 en diciembre 21, 2011

My wife and I have been to Blue Lake Ranch a number of times, and we are constantly impressed and pleased with the staff, the rooms, and the food. This is a great place to stay, just 15 minutes outside of Durango. We highly recommend it!


November Stay

5 en noviembre 18, 2011

I have never been to a bed and breakfast before but my stay at the Blue Lake Ranch was phenominal! The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable. The property is very beautiful, quiet, and private. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. I recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to get away. Very relaxing!!


Third Trip

3,6 en noviembre 09, 2011

Loved it. Our third trip to Blue Lake Ranch. Just had the one hiccup when we found a syringe on the floor in our room. I'm sure we'll be back!


BEST B&B IN COLORADO

4,6 en octubre 28, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this location. Facilities and grounds are beauitiful in addition to being comfortable and clean. Gormet breakfasts will keep you coming back if nothing else! We would never even consider staying anywhere else in southwest Colordo.


Blue Lake Ranch

4,0 en octubre 14, 2011

The rooms were outstanding, as well as the atmosphere. the views were gorgeous and the staff was very friendly and helpful.


A very charming place to stay

4,0 en octubre 12, 2011

The breakfast end of this bed and breakfast is fantastic. They served us what was truly the best posole I'd ever had in my life the first day, and on others, fantastic bread puddings, pancakes, and so forth. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, the ambiance wonderful. Be aware, though, this is the countryside and you may find countryside things in your countryside cottage. Lastly, the thermostat in my room was non-functional during my two-night stay. I didn't realize this until the second night, however, when it got very very cold just when it was too late to feel comfortable bothering anyone on staff about it. If you're staying in the fall or wintertime you might want to inspect such things before curling up for the night. All in all I enjoyed myself very much. The grounds and views were gorgeous, the rooms were charming, and the service was friendly. Recommended place to stay.


A home away from home

4,0 en octubre 06, 2011

My husband and I had reason to visit Durango for 5 days in August, 2011. We were so glad to have stumbled upon the Blue Lake Ranch website. The Upper Spring House exceeded expectations -the view and changing light over the La Plata mountains was very beautiful and we enjoyed the privacy that the Spring house affords. The accommodation was spacious comfortable and very homely. The staff were friendly and attentive. The breakfasts were delicious and varied - coming from Australia we appreciated the opportunity to sample a variety of local fare. It was great to be close to Mesa Verde and the Durango/Silverton Train station but also to have a private oasis to return to in the evening. The proximity of the local restaurant, Kennebac? was another bonus as it saved us having to travel into Durango for dinner. Durango CO is a beautiful area and should we have the opportunity to return Blue Lake Ranch is a must.


Blue Lake Ranch

3,4 en octubre 06, 2011

Blue Lake Ranch is a beautiful place to stay. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of options and the cook would make to order if required. Housekeeping could have improved somewhat.


This is a lovely place - we will come back

4,8 en octubre 05, 2011

The accomodations were excellent; the service was very professional and friendly; the setting is absolutely lovely.


LOVED our stay!

5 en octubre 05, 2011

Wonderful place to stay!


West Texas comes to the Blue Lake Ranch

4,0 en octubre 03, 2011

This is the first Bed & breakfast I have ever stayed at. I was really impressed with my room and the great view of the mountains it presented. The food was excellent and during our conference I had the treat to actually see Mule Deer bounding through the property outside the window. My work partner advised me that he is planning on bringing his family the Summer of 20212.


Lovely stay

3,6 en septiembre 29, 2011

Had a wonderful stay and loved our room and property is gorgeous! Breakfast was okay - was expecting a little more, and more homemade items.Overall had a wonderful time and would def recommend it so anyone.


Cozy Winter Wonderland

4,6 en septiembre 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 room nights in The Cedar Casita in January 2011. We loved it. There was alot of fresh snow but the staff had paths cleared so it was no trouble getting around. The Casita had a lot of room but felt so wonderfully cozy with the fireplace. The bathroom was spacious and well-appointed with a great soaking tub. We look forward to going back perhaps int he summer. The homemade jams are unbelievable and the great thing is that you can buy some to take home with you when you depart.


Our vacations

5 en septiembre 16, 2011

This place is a very beautiful place. My family and I will be coming back again. It was nice to wake up to the beauty of the mountains and deers every day.


beautiful colorado setting

4,8 en septiembre 08, 2011

perfect base for dropping off my daughter at fort lewis college in durango. beautiful grounds, spacious rooms, great breakfasts.


A Beautiful, Romantic Escape

4,4 en septiembre 06, 2011

This is the one of the best places we have ever stayed in the US. The setting is very special and peaceful with gorgeous views and beautiful gardens. The accommodations are outstanding, and the same can be said of the friendly staff and delicious breakfasts. It is the ultimate couples get-away! The owners have provided everything a guest could possibly want.


Fantastic!

5 en agosto 25, 2011

We loved our mid-August 2 night stay. We booked one of the casitas which we knew going in might be a little tight for a family of 5. We were ecstatic when we arrived to find out that the innkeepers has given us a complimentary upgrade to the Spring House (lower) because of a cancellation. We stayed in the lower half of the large Spring House. Absolutely gorgeous interior - 2 bedrooms with ultra-comfy king beds, high-end luxury bathrooms with open showers (1 w/jacuzzi tub), lovely living area w/2 bay-window type built in day beds. Half kitchen (no stove/oven, but refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, flatware, plates, glassware) was just what we needed. Great views, nice "lake" (more of a large pond) just outside the door. Wonderful full and tasty buffet breakfast each morning in the main house. Place is a little on the expensive side, but well worth it. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't spend more of our stay there as we had other tourist activities to do (Mesa Verde, Silverton, etc.). Staff was very friendly and helpful.


Blue Lake Ranch

4,2 en agosto 22, 2011

Blue Lake Ranch is a great place to stay near Durango. Our room was fantastic and there is so much to explore on the property. We took a walk through the gardens and down to the lake each morning and before sunset. One morning we saw four mule deers near one of the ponds. Service was excellent and they worked with us when we had to make a change to our arrival date. Great attention to details.


Too short!

4,0 en agosto 22, 2011

Sunset Casita was a fantastic suite. Loved the decor and the peacefull surroundings


Blue Lake Ranch B&B is truely a hidden gem just outside of Durango

4,8 en agosto 22, 2011

When you first enter Blue Lake Ranch Bed and Breakfast, it’s hard to know what to expect…there are no large monument signs and no visual structure to lead your eye. As you follow the signs, making your way up a meandering hill, you come across the “Ranch House,” which is the focal point of the property. As you enter the Ranch House you’re warmly greeted by the splendor of the space and the majestic views of Blue Lake. The property around the Ranch House is beautifully landscaped with a variety of trees, plants and colorful blooms to delight the senses. While the Ranch House serves as the focal point for activity, it’s also home to three rooms, including the Lake View Suite, where I stayed. My accommodations were very well-appointed and spacious with a king-sized bed, beautiful old-world style woodwork and cabinetry, with a lavish bathroom that included a whirlpool tub. There was plenty of room for luggage and relaxing. The deck overlooking the lake, while watching the sunset beyond…was especially enjoyable. Then there is the secluded lake-side cabin with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, which is perfect for families. For a romantic get-away, you may opt for the “Cottage in the woods.” Whatever your accommodation requirements, the Blue Lake Ranch can probably fill it. Blue Lake Ranch Bed and Breakfast is really a place where you can truly relax and rejuvenate. I typically like to explore the area in which I’m staying, but I felt bound to the Ranch with its gravitational pull toward nature. My walks through the property yielded wildlife sightings like deer, geese, elk and a number of birds. There are so many colors and textures throughout the property that each time you pass by the same location, you often discover something new that attracts your attention. You can click the following link to see my video and pictures of Blue Lake Ranch Bed and Breakfast. http://www.mikesroadtrip.com/blue-lake-ranch


Awesome B&B just outside of Durango! Perfect venue for a wedding.

5 en agosto 19, 2011

We are blessed to have stayed in a place where we not only felt welcome, but also relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings with our family and friends for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding. We could not have asked for a more perfect venue for this once in a lifetime event. Thank you, Shirley and David for being such wonderful hosts! P.S. We also loved the Don Gaspar Inn in Sante Fe!!! We will definitely be back!


Blue Lake Showing Wear

3,4 en agosto 17, 2011

Always love Blue Lake Ranch. We live nearby and have stayed there 6 times. Stayed in the Oak Grove Casita and we love the casitas. They are private, secluded with beautiful views and gardens. Showing some wear and the jacuzzi tub was dirty. Did not LOOK dirty but when in it there was a residue ring in it. Still recommend Blue Lake highly. Love having the mini fridge and kitchenette. They have added TV choices too. Used to you only got local snowy channels.


Blue lake beauty

4,6 en agosto 17, 2011

Beautiful and restful. It's a little piece of heaven.


Summer stay

4,0 en agosto 15, 2011

The staff was very friendly and the food was amazing. The rooms were very nice as well.


TX trio

4,8 en agosto 11, 2011

This was our second visit to Blue Lake Ranch, and we enjoyed it just as much as the first. The Spring House is so peaceful. Breakfast has something good for everyone. We will be back.


One of the finest stays I have ever experienced

5 en agosto 09, 2011

If there was ever a time to use perfect to describe our experience at a bed and breakfast, it would be our time at Blue Lake Ranch. The rooms were gorgeous in every detail and views breathtaking. We have recommended Blue Lake to ALL of our friends. WHAT A BLESSING!!!


Garden Room

4,2 en agosto 09, 2011

Our stay at blue Lake Ranch was a real respite, the flowers were incredible, and the food very enjoyable.


Great time

3,8 en agosto 08, 2011

If you want peace and quiet, this place is it! The staff was very pleasant and helpful, too. Knowledgeable about the area and things to do. Would definitely stay here again


Beautiful place

3,2 en agosto 05, 2011

Everything but the breakfast was great. The breakfast had too many carbs, refrigerated pop-in fresh cinnamon rolls etc. Poor selection of juice.


Nature, historical, ...peaceful retreat

4,6 en agosto 02, 2011

Peaceful, beautiful landscaping for nature preserve, quaint historic property, great service, quaint indoor/outdoor dining space, great evening restaurant nearby, nearby Mesa Verde NP, and perfect destination for escaping 100 degree heat in Kansas City.


a week at blue lake ranch

4,0 en agosto 01, 2011

The property is spectacular, and the folks who work there are the very best. They responded to each and every request quickly and efficiently. I look forward to returning next summer, and have already booked my room!


Not quite what we expected

2,6 en julio 24, 2011

This is the first time that we stayed at the Blue Lake Ranch. The Blue Lake Ranch grounds are spectacular! We stayed in the Sunset Casita. It was roomy and comfortable. There was a small "kitchenette" area. The bathroom was large. The toilet was located in a separate small room, with a door. The toilet was set rather low, which made it difficult for someone tall to use. We were able to eat breakfast at Blue Lake Ranch on only two mornings. The food was delicious, and it was prepared fresh! Our room was not as clean as I would have expected. There was a layer of dust under both the bed and the armoire in the bedroom. There were cobwebs and dust everywhere. My husband and I killed a medium-sized black widow spider in the bathroom. Lastly, with the exception of the service that we received in the kitchen during breakfast, the staff whom we encountered lacked manners. For example, when we arrived during the standard check-in time, we had to wait five minutes for the young woman who was there to finsh talking on the telephone before she even acknowledged us.


Most quiet and relaxing place imaginable

4,8 en julio 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here two nights in July in celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary and wish we had stayed longer. The accommodations were very spacious, homey and private. We could relax on our porch, in beautiful shaded gardens or down by the lake. There was an abundance of flowers which were in full bloom as well as many other plants and trees. We could not imagine a lovelier place for rest, relaxation and enjoying nature.


Lovely, Serene & Restful

3,8 en julio 17, 2011

Friendly & accommodating staff, very comfortable bedding, glorious breakfast w/ gracious service from the kitchen staff & beautifully serene surroundings. A great place to unwind & refresh one's self. Definitely worth the visit.


Beautiful

4,4 en julio 14, 2011

The place was beautiful. It was so quiet and peaceful and I loved being able to walk around and to see such beautiful flowers, plants and the geese. I will recommend it to everyone. I wish the pastries had been baked fresh, but otherwise everything was great.


BLR Review

4,6 en julio 13, 2011

What I did not like was the tall weeds/grass in the yard that had an unkept look. The grounds around the main office which had alot of flower beds was very appealing and that should be carried over to the rental units.


long time guest, will be back...

2,6 en julio 13, 2011

LOVE blue lake ranch and have visited for more than a decade. this visit though seemed to show some wear and tear around the edges. food used to be glorious in the mornings, now, just average and when departing from our trip i checked under both beds to assure we hadn't left anything behind. only to find someone else's flip flop (a previous guest i presume) and a 1/2 inch of dust under the bed and on the stranger's flip flop. BLR needs a little sprucing up. still a favorite...kind of like a marriage over time, goes thru some rough spots but you stick it out. seems to have lost a little of it's "magic", hopefully will be back to it's norm when we make our next annual visit!


Outstanding

4,6 en julio 11, 2011

If you are interested in a beautiful, relaxing and friendly place to stay - this is the place. Will definitely stay at BLR again and will let my friends and family know about it.


Blue Lake Ranch

5 en junio 27, 2011

Fabulous bed and breakfast!! Truly a piece of heaven on earth. We loved the garden room and the gardens on the property were in in full bloom and were spectacular. Even though the bed and breakfast was booked we felt as if we were the only ones there - so quiet and peaceful. Blue Lake is a hidden gem and the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. Cannot wait to go back.


Blue Lake Ranch

5 en junio 18, 2011

Fantastic gardens, great view, lovely room with fireplace and incredible breakfast.


One of our favourite places on the planet

4,6 en junio 16, 2011

We had many wonderful stays at Blue Lake Ranch when we lived in California. We recently moved to Oregon which is much further away but we missed our visits to Blue Lake so after a 4 year hiatus we drove there this summer and it is still a little piece of heaven on earth. We will always go back.


Thank you

4,6 en junio 16, 2011

We stayed in one of the Casitas when my son got married at the Blue Lake Ranch. The people that I talked and emailed with were very easy to work with and accomodating. We had a very late check in so I called them to let them know. They took care of it and were wonderful about everything! The people on site were great too, I am unsure if they are the same ones I emailed and called. We didn't eat there so can't grade that. We will go back again and eat breakfast there next time. Thank you so much!!


A wonderful get-away

4,6 en junio 15, 2011

Spectacular flower gardens with the La Plata Mountains rising in the background. Breakfast is tasty with excellent coffee. Chose between the dining room or the covered porch for meals.


A great getaway with all the service!

5 en junio 09, 2011

We were surprised at the quality of the lodging and service at the ranch. The room was spacious and warm, and we had a beautiful picture window that looked out onto the prairie and the mountains beyond. Many mornings we woke up to deer outside the window. The walk from our casita to the ranch house for breakfast was very nice, as it took us through the gardens. The views from the breakfast room are really nice, and in warmer weather, we would have eaten on the porch that overlooks the lake. The staff was always very helpful, including the morning we woke up to find our truck was needing a new generator. We are planning to go back again, for sure!


Very relaxing - missing amenities for bird lovers

3,6 en junio 08, 2011

When I arrived on Wednesday, this place was so beautiful I immediately decided to stay another day (which would have added Friday night to my itinerary). When I asked, I was informed that they were booked, but they would talk to someone and let me know for sure the next day. They didn't let me know, and I had to call the person myself to confirm that there wouldn't be a room available Friday night. When they took my wife and I to our lodge, they gave us a bag of charcoal for the grill. Both nights, we decided to stay in and grill steaks, because the place was too gorgeous and relaxing to leave. Wonderful is the word--we just couldn't imagine a restaurant that would compete! Given the price of the place, the grill was a cheap model and the charcoal was difficult to light because something was missing from the bottom of the grill and it wasn't letting air in. Even so, the lodge we were in had a really nice patio, two reclining seats and an awesome view of some snow-covered peaks. There is a large pond, gardens, trees, and everything comes with amazing views and landscaping. I take a lot of pictures of birds, and this is a really good place to do that. I did get some good shots, which included two new species of birds to add to my life list. But to be really successful (and I wasn't -- I had to go home without close-ups of a red-winged blackbird or a Magpie), you have to find a spot the bird is going to be and wait for it. But the benches are arranged with the amazing views in mind, instead of close-up birdwatching. I would like to see benches facing the places where birds hang out. If there was a low bench closer to the pond, near the cattails, for example, one could get closer to red-winged blackbirds. So more benches everywhere would have been nice. The food was home-made, original and awesome, the service great, the staff helpful and friendly. Notwithstanding my previous comments, this is an great place to run away to. I plan to return!


One of most favorite places

4,4 en junio 05, 2011

The peacefulness, the accommodations, the surrounding beauty and the "staff" at Blue Lake Ranch make it a #1 destination in my book!


May 20011 visit

4,0 en junio 05, 2011

Very pleasent, nice atmosphere, very cozy, great food, beautiful surroundings, staff was great. Will be back!!


The best B&B in Colorado

5 en junio 02, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Blue Lake Ranch for many years because it is the most peaceful, relaxing get away we have found. The views are spectacular, it's quiet and romantic. The morning breakfasts are great! Everyone is so welcoming. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. We are excited that our daughter has decided to get married at the Ridgewood Event Center and have everyone stay at the Ranch (she fell in love with the place).


Blue Lake Ranch

5 en junio 01, 2011

The staff was friendly and attentive loved the rooms and property it was on!!! Everything about Blue Lake Ranch was awesome and look forward to another visit soon!!


May 2011 Blue Lake Ranch Anniversary Weekend

2,2 en mayo 31, 2011

First of all, the property was absolutely beautiful--couldn't have picked a better setting. The staff was also very nice. We stayed in the Cabin on the Lake, which was very private and quiet....but it sure could use some TLC. For starters, it seemed that it had not had a thorough cleaning in a while. Lots of cobwebs (inside and out) and flies in the windowsills. Plus there was a major beehive outside right by the bbq grill. I know the cabin was build 30 years ago, but doesn't seem that there has been regular maintenance kept up on it and for the price you charge you would think everything should be in tip-top shape! We had a great stay.....just a little disappointed in the lack of upkeep in our particular cabin.


Great Location for 4 Corners Area

4,6 en mayo 27, 2011

We (two couples) visited Blue Lake Ranch for 5 nights earlier this month. The service was great (Brad, Jackie especially) and the breakfasts were an unexpected treat. It was a quick 15 minutes or so to Durango, and easy day drives to Shiprock, Hovenweep, and Mesa Verde. The view from our cottage towarad Mt. Hesperus was beautiful - even when it snowed in May!


Breathtaking Getaway at Blue Lake Ranch

5 en mayo 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 4 days at Blue Lake Ranch early this May (weather was perfect). We stayed at the Lower Spring House. We were so impressed when we arrived, we extended our stay by the next morning. The accommodations feel like home, or the home you'd like to have if you lived in SW Colorado. Besides the wonderful decor, they were roomy, fully stocked with all possible necessities from dishes, forks and knives, to whole ground coffee in the fridge (with a coffee grinder provided!). This coffee grinder was cleaned every day. The views of the mountains and the surrounding grounds are beautiful, full of great plants, flowers and animals (birds, bunnies, deer). There is enough space between the guest houses to have privacy. The staff was very helpful and the main house is fully stocked for visitors with maps, binoculars, and such. They also have a huge selection of movies that you can take back to your accommodations. Breakfast was generous, buffet style, with home cooked specials every day. Standard: Yummy whole grain and fruit dried cereals, yogurt, tons of nuts and dried fruit toppings, fresh fruit, turkey, ham, and cheese, bagels and bread to toast. These were accompanied by 2 specials like peach cobbler, egg frittata, scrambled eggs with cheese and veggies, biscuits and gravy. The cook is on site, right there in the open kitchen and he accommodated my wishes for plain scrambled eggs every day. All in all, and amazing vacation. We would like to make it a yearly trip. It seemed that many of the guests came here every year. An added bonus is nearby Durango which is a charming town, a mix of Colorado's healthy, crunchy granola vibe, and chic sophistication (NY Soho style boutiques next to the Vegetarian cafes and all natural skincare stores...). Mesa Verde National Park is close-by (this was our reason for visiting the area). You will fall in love with Blue Lake Ranch.


Beyond Our Dreams

5 en mayo 21, 2011

We took our honeymoon for our first anniversary. Blue Lake Lodge staff understood what we wanted and greeted us with a surprise upgrade from an absolutely fabulous room to an incredibly private 'mansion' with fireplaces in every room and whirlpool tubs, marvelous views of the gardens and mountains, a chilled bottle of champagne, beautiful decor, immaculately clean and maintained, welcoming, and well ... just perfect! Breakfast was superb and unique each day with a warm, welcoming dining room off the gardens. Our hosts were friendly, casual, and really made our special occasion memorable forever! Thanks!


I didn't want to leave!

5 en mayo 15, 2011

We arrived late at Blue Lake, and drove up to the "Lower Spring House" when it was dark. A warm glow was pouring out of all the windows, and I couldn't believe how beautiful it was from the outside. Walking in took my breath away! The house is beautifully decorated, and spacious. Since we were there late, our kids had fallen asleep in the car. But they easily fell asleep in their room, and the next morning were excited to explore their room and "OUR OWN BATHROOM!" as my son said. The master bed and bath were beautiful as well as cozy. The fireplace was such a nice touch in each room, and provided comfortable heating. The master bed faces floor to ceiling windows, with a view of a small spring, and the mountains in the distance. It was amazing. A short walk up a path to the main house, and we were surprised to find a lovely breakfast buffet arranged in the kitchen. The dining room was large, and we were able to sit and eat while enjoying the gardens outside. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Lake Ranch, and will definitely be returning! The staff is gracious and inviting. I'll be recommending it to all of my friends. -Sophie


Best Honeymoon Accomodations!

5 en mayo 11, 2011

My (new) husband and I chose Blue Lake Ranch for our honeymoon destination, we were thrilled upon our late arrival when we arrived to the Ranch. It was beautiful! My husband and I stayed in the Sunrise Casita, it was just perfect! THe service was amazing, we were greeting as old time friends. We will be returning for anniversary next year... if not sooner! Thank you Blue Lake Ranch for the unfortgetable memories.


Blue Lake Ranch

4,6 en mayo 07, 2011

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast in a great location. Very romantic. The service was exceptional! We had a great time.


lovely

3,8 en mayo 05, 2011

I thought our stay at Blue Lake Ranch was lovely. The weather was dreary so we didn't get a chance to walk around the property like I would have liked. The view from our room was very nice, but the chill kept us in by the fire, which was very nice and cozy. My only disappointment was that there was no hot water to fill the beautiful tub! Even after an hour of waiting, we still had no hot water!... to my dismay the water was finally hot in the morning but I was out of time.


As near perfect as it gets!

5 en mayo 03, 2011

This place was, quite simply, superb. Our suite was spacious, warm, comfortable and well equipped. They even provided barbecue coals. The bathrooms (each of our bedrooms had one) were of a standard that you would expect in somewhere far more expensive. The setting - in its own extensive grounds - is both quiet and beautiful, with our rooms having views towards the La Platta Mountains. The breakfasts were ample, tasty and well presented, with a different hot main course each day we stayed. It provided a home from home for some Brits far from their native shores - if only we could have stayed longer. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. One small point: a kettle would have been useful - we had to make tea using a coffee machine.


I great place to stay and play

5 en mayo 02, 2011

I great place to stay and play. My wife and I recently stayed there and you if like to fly fish (nad even if you don't) there isn't a better place to make you base camp in the Durango area. Blue Lake Ranch has access to a pond on the property to work on your casting (there are some lunkers in there) and access to a small creek, the La Platta River, to catch spunky little brookies and to top it off they have private access to a large stretch of the Animas River just downstream of Durango. That stretch of river kept me busy with 16-20 inch rainbows and browns for two days. I hope to go back soon.


Darn Close to Heaven

5 en mayo 01, 2011

This was the last night of an 8 day adventure for me and my daughter, and it left us feeling so pampered. The service was casual and friendly with total attention to detail. We were given an upgrade to a casita and it was so lovely that we had a tough time leaving our casita even long enough to get some dinner. My only complaint is that we didn't plan enough time in our road trip to stay longer. Relaxing by the fireplace after enjoying a soak in the jetted tub and then waking up to a view of the mountains followed by a tasty breakfast in the lodge was the perfect end to our adventure. We look forward to visiting again soon.


Family trip

5 en abril 28, 2011

The location was spectacular. We woke up to incredible views and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The facility was clean, had immense character and the hosts and food were excellent.


a peace of heaven

5 en abril 11, 2011

We had the immense pleasure of spending two nights in the Casita Sunrise at BLR. What a beautiful suite made with love from historical wood! Loved the decorations, the generous space, the quaint Indian baskets full of mystery, the delectable breakfast and most of all, our host's charm, grace and oh-so-contagious, deep laughter! What a lovely place to stay. Hands down the best accommodation in the Four Corners area. If you're visiting Mesa Verde, you deserve to treat yourself with a stay at the Blue Lake Ranch. David even owns a B&B NEAR Chaco and one in Santa Fe. Next time we're on holiday, that's where we are going to indulge! Thx. for everything!


Perfect in every way

5 en abril 11, 2011

We made our reservation in the Sage room, but were given a free upgrade upon arrival. Our room was spacious and yet very cozy and comfortable, and the bed was wonderful. The staff could not have been more kind or accomodating, answering all of our questions and making great suggestions as to what we could do for the day. In fact, we extended our stay an extra night because we enjoyed it so much! Breakfast was great, and the decor, furnishings and atmosphere were just beautiful. We hope to make plans to visit again.


Anniversary get-away

5 en abril 08, 2011

Rarely does anything exceed expectations these days. But we must say that The Blue Lake Ranch does! Our suite was soooo comfortable and we felt completely at home and relaxed, and completely pleased with our choice for our anniversary get-away. The staff was gracious, accomodating (I am gluten intolerant,) friendly and helpful. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. They encourage hiking throughout the area. And, the accomodations cover a nice range in variability - some single rooms, some suites, some whole apartments and some whole houses that could accomodate a family of 12. In addition, the countryside could not be more beautiful!!! The ranch looks right out to the La Plata mountains - gorgeous! We wholeheartedly recommend The Blue Lake Ranch. Leah and Barak


Special beyond words

4,6 en abril 02, 2011

Blue Lake Ranch is one of the most special places on this planet. The grounds, the rooms, the people all come together to create a space of gracious beauty and support.


Beautiful Get Away!

3,6 en marzo 04, 2011

This is very nice get away spot for you parents or anyone. The scenery is beautiful and the people are very friendly and nice. The food was great and the breakfast was nice.


As good as it gets

4,8 en febrero 16, 2011

My wife and I have been going here for years. It is one the most relaxing places I have stayed that wasn't on a beach. The owner is super friendly and you can tell he loves what he does. The breakfast is wonderful. For valentines day they brought in a chef for an amazing dinner with entertainment. Blue Lake Ranch is much more that a B&B, it is an amazing country get away.


Wonderful stay!

4,6 en enero 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Blue Lake Ranch. We were upgraded to the Upper Spring House. What a view! Typically morning time is something we don't look forward too but the breakfast was delicious and the hospitality was outstanding. They were willing to bend over backwards to provide snowshoes and David Alford is a treat to talk too. Ask him about gardening and the fish in the pond...smile.


Blue Lake Ranch

5 en enero 30, 2011

We keep coming back to Blue Lake Ranch--it is a superlative experience in every way


Blue Lake Ranch XMas Stay

4,2 en diciembre 30, 2010

I tooky family to stay at Blue lake for Christmas Vacation this year (2010). All I have to say is that the staff treated us tremendously well. There were never Amy hints of fake "hello's" or fake "good mornings". They were genuinely nice people and this is a rare attribute in today's society and especially customer service. The Breakfast is plain decadent. Everything cooked by hand. We plan on making this an annual visit now. You wont be disappointed. Thank you Nancy. Thank you Avonlee.... Your San Antonio Christmas guests.... :-)


Our favorite place

5 en diciembre 22, 2010

Every moment at Blue Lake Ranch is beautiful, joyful and wonderful!!!


french toast

5 en diciembre 12, 2010

We got a free upgrade to one of the casitas and it was very nice. Breakfast was outstanding. We had the place to ourselves.


My absolute favorite!!!

4,4 en diciembre 11, 2010

In order to stay at a B&B only about an hour from your house, it has to be pretty memorable. I absolutely love this place. I have stayed in about 5 different cabins and suites during all seasons of the year - with work colleagues, with my family, with girls for a bridal shower, and with my husband on a romantic date. The staff is always very friendly, the decor is so tasteful and unique, and the grounds and flowers are truly incredible. I highly recommend this for a more rural, quiet retreat.


Mountainview Suite

5 en noviembre 25, 2010

Great roomy suite w/ 2 BR and 1 1/2 bath. Full kitchen, dining area and warm propane fireplace. Breakfast spread was outstanding and menu changed daily. Friendly, helpful personnel in all areas of the complex. My third visit and not my last!


Cottage in the Woods

4,0 en noviembre 17, 2010

We had a wonderful weekend but were disappointed in the cleanliness in the bathroom (found dead mouse and many droppings). Would suggest this be checked just before check in time of the guest. We understand we are in the woods and mice are a fact of life and this cottage may not of been occupied for a while. It would also be nice if the bathroom had some heat in it. I know we chose to stay in the winter but......it was uncomfortable to use. We loved the gas burning fireplace, comfortable bed, and the overall feel of the cottage. We will be back.


Blue Lake Ranch Never Disappoints

5 en noviembre 16, 2010

We've been visiting Blue Lake Ranch whenever we're in the Durango/Mesa Verde area for the past ten years or so, and we have never been disappointed in any aspect of our stay there. The staff is helpful and friendly, the accomodations are beautiful and comfortable, the food is great, and the setting is exquisite. And this has remained true from year to year, which, sadly, has not always been our experience when we've returned to a once-favorite inn. Often, the carpet has become worn, the mattresses sag, and the attention to detail has been lost. Long live the spirit of Blue Lake Ranch!


One of the most beautiful B and B's I've ever been to!

5 en noviembre 14, 2010

We love this place. This is the second time we have stayed there - first for our 25th anniversary and more recently, for our 30th. Unfortunately for us, the flowers are gone at the time of the year we visit (November) but there is still much beauty in the early fall landscape. The main house also has a picture book of how the Ranch looks when the flowers are blooming and it is spectacular. The staff at the Ranch are all exceptionally welcoming and we really appreciated their helpfulness and generousity (they left us a bottle of champagne in the fridge). We had to change rooms for a reason not important here and they were very accomodating to our request. The food is healthy and gorgeous and yummy. The cook, Jackie is one of the warmest, friendliest and funniest people I have had the pleasure of meeting in a long time. Next visit will be in spring or summer so we can see the flowers. We love this place! Tricia and Eric


October Stay

3,4 en noviembre 02, 2010

The entire staff was very friendly and accomodating. We will recommend Blue Lake Ranch to our family and friends.


Omar & Kristy Widdup

5 en octubre 30, 2010

We loved the breakfast, the room, the scenery, and the warm welcome. Our stay could not have been better. We definitely will be back! Thanks for your great service! Omar and Kristy


Honeymoon trip

5 en octubre 24, 2010

Our stay at Blue Lake Ranch's Cottage in the Woods was exactly what we were looking for for our honeymoon. The cottage was secluded and yet a convenient and beautiful walk to the Ranch House for breakfast and other needs. The staff was so welcoming and they went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. We will definitely go back.


Hidden Treasure

4,6 en octubre 18, 2010

What a fantastic B&B! Huge room with a gorgeous view, very friendly and helpful people made me feel at home immediately. Will definitely return there for a peaceful vacation.


Beautiful-sucluded-Top Notch Get-a-way

4,6 en octubre 11, 2010

Two night stay at special location. Spectacular views. Delicious food. Gracious and warm host/hostesses. Serenaded by coyotes and other "critters".


Professional, quiet, lovely, and warm

3,8 en septiembre 27, 2010

A beautiful setting, enhanced by extensive gardens. Guest rooms are quiet and well separated. Common area is convivial and well appointed. Food is outstanding. But what is perhaps most remarkable is the upbeat, positive attitude of the staff. Clearly, this is a happy place, run and staffed by happy people.


Can't wait to go back!!!

5 en mayo 08, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Blue Lake Ranch for my birthday and everything was excellent: the place, the food and the service are the best we have had-the owner was great as well. We are planning to come back sometime soon..thanks Ms. Sue for a wonderful stay-Jeff and Maila (Pueblo West, CO)


This place is awesome!

5 en abril 09, 2010

My wife and I recently had the chance to stay here for a few days and I must say we are very pleased. This was a great get-away. The rooms very great, the food was great and the staff, views and everything else was great. I'm usually very picky, but I will never have an issue staying here. I've recommended this to all my friends and I think one may have already booked some time. If you get a chance, and need a place to relax and enjoy this is it. I haven't felt this good in years.


A "must" experience!

5 en enero 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in 12/09.Our hopes and expectations were exceeded from the moment we checked in. The staff were all very warm, welcoming and memorable. We still talk about Jackie (our cook), and her fabulous breakfasts and great sense of humor.We were upgraded to the Lower Spring House by Walter, and we could only utter "wow" over and over as he showed us our accomodation.We woke to a snowcapped mountain view each morning, bathed in the heat of the fireplaces, and soaked in bubbles of relaxation in the whirlpool tub.This was perhaps the most relaxing and enjoyable getaway we've had yet. We have already reserved the Spring House for our 2010 family Christmas gathering-they have to experience this!


Hidden treasure!

5 en noviembre 10, 2009

We came in very late and to our surprise had been upgraded to the lower springs house. When we pulled up all the lights were on and there was a note on the door welcoming us. The house looked so cozy and homey. The breakfast was nothing short of AMAZING and Jackie (the cook) is so sweet. The surroundings were breathtaking when we woke up. We were treated very well at Blue Lake Ranch!


An amazing stay

5 en septiembre 09, 2009

We stayed at Blue Lake Ranch for only 2 nights in the Sunset Casita and it was the most amazing room. We had a beautiful view and enjoyed our stay. It was the perfect little get-away and I would recommend it to anyone. The staff were very pleasant, the breakfast was excellent and our only complaint was that we could only stay two nights. We will definitely be back.


What a wonderful relaxing place!

5 en octubre 22, 2008

I needed a little retreat from my stressful life and decided to stay at Bluelake Ranch. It was more than I could imagine. The suite (Sunrise Casita) was incredible, except for the immense sunshine pouring through the windows every morning. (Not a bad complaint). Breakfasts were great and the staff and hosuekeepers were wonderful. The manager at the other inn they own in Santa Fe, recommended this place and it was beyond my expectations. I relaxed in the jacuzzi tub and read 2 books and didn't leave the grounds once. The gardens are so beautifully attended too. It's amazing! I will be back with my boyfriend next time. It is a perfectly romantic spot as well!


Best Relaxing Vacation Ever

5 en junio 21, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at Blue Lake Ranch in the lovely Pinon Suite, absolutely gorgeous! Blue Lake has wonderful staff, an awesome breakfast and views to die for! We fished, took in the beautiful gardens and just enjoyed ourselves immensely. Our 11 year old daughter had a great time exploring the ranch and checking out the wildlife. You will not be dissapointed! We planned another trip there this fall!


Amazing

5 en junio 10, 2008

As part of our Honeymoon, our stay at Blue Lake Ranch was absolutely amazing. The room was beautiful, the views were awesome, and the breakfast was melt in your mouth delicious!! Highly recommended!!


best bed and breakfast ever

5 en enero 28, 2008

We had the pleasure to stay 4 nights at Blue Lake and it was perfect, perfect room, Innkeepers were the best, very nice, very accomdating, breakfast was wonderful.


b&b experience

5 en abril 02, 2007

we had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at blue lake ranch. it is definetly the finest b&b we have stayed in. superb accommodation,excellent breakfasts and most obliging and pleasant staff. congratulations


Blue Lake Ranch

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $139 - $439
  • Comentarios (114) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 16
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-9703854537
  • Fax 1-9704031156
  • Sin cargo
    1-8882583525

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba