Shady Oaks Country Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,3

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,9
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,5

Puntuación basada en
67 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Shady Oaks Review

4,8 en octubre 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. John was a great host especially helpful with dining and wine tasting ideas.


Fantastic breakfasts with knowledgeable and friendly owners

5 en octubre 16, 2014

Great location in St Helena set amongst the vines. Short trip this time - would love to stay again soon!


Our First Napa Visit!

4,4 en octubre 04, 2014

As this was our first visit to Napa we were unsure of how the wineries were laid out We took what we thought was a risk staying in St Helena and what a great choice it was! All the key wineries were so close and the small downtown was terrific as well as great restaurants!


Recent stay

4,6 en septiembre 22, 2014

Wonderfull place to stay and the Runnells were wonderful hosts! The room was clean, quiet and most comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Strongly recommend


Cozy hideaway close the best St. Helena has to offer.

4,0 en septiembre 12, 2014

B & B was very quiet with great couples to share stories over breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious server with a mimosa to start our days. I would definitely go back.


Couples getaway!

4,2 en julio 17, 2014

We had a lovely time. The b&b was so cute and romantic. The breakfast was amazing. We were impressed with the accommodations.


Great find!

4,6 en julio 01, 2014

Here's the same review I posted to yelp: Absolutely loved our stay here. Such a great b&b. No, there isn't a person on staff here at night but I mean, really people, it's a b&b, so it's not uncommon. Besides, if anyone ever needed anything, the owners were a phone call away. We felt totally safe anyway. John, the owner, was so hospitable and informative. In the main house, the Rose room and Blue room have views of the vineyard. We stayed in the Brooke Room of the main house. It was quiet and had views of their backyard and partial of the detached winery retreat rooms. Every room has a hair dryer and iron which is not so common at b&bs, so that was a bonus. We are so glad we were able to make it to their sit-down breakfasts at 9ish. Truly delicious and kept us satiated until lunchtime. If you are expecting diner-sized portions, you'll be disappointed. Portions were more than enough for us though with fruit and their delicious cream sauce to start, followed by their daily breakfast special. One day we had croissants and eggs Benedict, another day we had walnut waffles with a maple syrup and a warm peach topping. Loved chatting with all the other guests. It was like a morning social. We were there for the wineries, but felt so at home at Shady Oaks and could not have been happier with our choice. Thank you, John! Hope to see you again soon! P.S. This place is at such a central location. Can't beat it!


Pleasant Place to Stay in NV

3,4 en junio 08, 2014

Shady Oaks was perfect for our two nights in NV. The location is excellent and easy to find. The common area was really nice and we enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine. Our room was just what we needed. It was clean and comfortable. The photos are very accurate. The shower in the small room isn't great. The water sprays out in all directions as if the shower head is missing, but the pressure is fine and there was always plenty of hot water. The breakfasts were excellent! This was definitely our favorite part of the stay. We had sausage and waffles the first morning and sausage and french toast the second. Delicious! Considering the prices at most places in NV, Shady Oaks is fairly reasonable and a great option for something a little different.

Respuesta del propietario

Please let me know what room you were in so I can fix the shower. I am glad you liked your stay. Warmly john


Idyllic B & B

3,8 en mayo 22, 2014

I stayed at Shady Oaks for the first time while in Napa Valley for a business meeting and wine tastings. The room was quaint and quiet with plenty of room and pretty furnishings. Breakfasts were outstanding, and the hosts and staff provided excellent service. My meeting was in St. Helena, so the location was perfect: off the beaten path but close to town. The only complaint I had was that there were no drawers for storing clothes. Notwithstanding that, if I have a another meeting in St. Helena in the future, I'd stay at Shady Oaks.


Very Good Stay

4,2 en abril 29, 2014

Great Stay. Enjoyed the wine and cheese afternoons. Owner made the stay wry pleasant. Cook lady was fantastic. Overall a very good stay


Great location

3,2 en marzo 25, 2014

John was a great Inn keeper. He came out to share wine with us in the afternoon and was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was average at best and the cook was a bit snarky. We stayed in the blue room which was tiny, tiny, tiny with no bathroom amenities. Location was great, close to wineries, resturants and town. Property was quiet, we'll kept and peaceful.

Respuesta del propietario

I am sorry you felt the breakfast was not so special. Most of our guests love our full champagne breakfast. I have never had anyone complain about our Innkeepers. "Snarky" Hope is a wonderful sweet woman is what ALL of our guests say. We do supply Soap, Shampoo and lotion in the rooms. Maybe somehow you missed them or we forgot to put them in that day. I am glad you enjoyed me and our location and the condition of our Inn. We do our best to keep everything clean and up to date.


Lovely Place to Stay

3,8 en febrero 24, 2014

I loved the fireplace in our room and the service was wonderful. Easy check-in and very helpful when trying to find dinner spots. Also, hooked us up with an inexpensive car service.


Not for yuppies or established professionals, over priced! Worth $89

1,8 en enero 22, 2014

Oh God. We are extremely disappointed with this BB. My Fiance took me to our second trip to Sonoma, Napa, St. Helena. I was in charged of a romantic BB selection. He wanted a special place. I did spend a few hours reading reviews, searching maps and based on the reviews, I choose the Sandy Oaks. I even spoke with the owner. Really? She never showed up to to great us as she told me. Most of the comments mentioned the owners hospitality, we never saw them in premises. The comments talks about how special this place is, maybe was 70 years ago. The rooms are OLD, but OLD fashioned, the carpet needs URGENT replacement. Everything is 'military' scheduled. If you are not at the breakfast table at 9:00am, you will miss it. I think we missed understood the menu, but my fiance was expecting eggs benedict, his favorite breakfast. Instead we got sausage and french toast. (I am vegetarian, didn't have a choice!!!) The worse, the pictures in their website are misleading. Not from their premises. We are frequent travelers, a semi retired couple in our early 40's, not a place for us. This place is worth $89.00, we paid almost $250.00! - unbelievable! Again, if you are a yuppy or an established professional, this is not a place for you. Keila


Amazing place

5 en octubre 17, 2013

Everything was great about this place. The staff was friendly and helpful and you cant beat the breakfast spread each morning. Its a perfect location!


Tranquil, Peaceful Oasis

5 en junio 04, 2013

Lovely, peaceful, serene setting for a get-away. Our Winery Room, located in the small, adjacent building was charming and atmospheric, with a rock wall and lovely antiques. Breakfast, served outside on the wisteria-covered patio, was fabulous and filling. Hosts Lisa and John made us feel like we were visiting the home of long-time dear friends. Shady Oaks will definitely be our destination on future visits.


A warm and hospitable wine country delight

4,8 en noviembre 16, 2011

We couldn't have been better cared for, appreciated, tended to, or resourced. The only thing wrong with our stay was that our commitments prevented us from enjoying more of the wonderful breakfasts. It was a wonderful stay!


Shady Oaks Country Inn

4,8 en octubre 31, 2011

Excellent location in Napa Valley. Located on Zinfandel Lane, which during this time of season did have car noise. Innkeepers were very available and helpful and also allowed us to see them making the wine that they serve in the evenings. The breakfasts were outstanding. Our room was cozy. We would definitely return again!


High Hospitality

3,6 en octubre 14, 2011

Delicious breakfasts and wine & cheese happy hour made this stay both delightful and informative. Great Napa-central location. Showers quite small.


Perfect plact to stay in Napa Valley area!

5 en octubre 02, 2011

Stayed 2 nights, room was very clean, breakfast was delicious and inn keeper helped arrange a wine of wine tours that was out of this world. Location is perfect, because you're 15 minutes to the north end of the valley and 15 minutes to the City of Napa, and right in the middle of the biggest/best wineries. Highly recommend and we are making plans to visit Napa again with friends and stay in same place.


2011 Napa Visit

4,2 en septiembre 30, 2011

We have been visiting the Napa and Sonoma Valleys annually for the last 5 years. It is always difficult to find a place to stay in northern Napa Valley, but our stay this year at Shady Oaks Country Inn was fabulous. The staff were very friendly and the Inn was very cozy. Breakfasts were superb and they even treated us to wine and cheese tastings in the evenings. We will certainly look at booking a stay at Shady Oaks next year when we are planning our visit to Wine Country!


Shady Oaks

4,2 en septiembre 28, 2011

Because the room had a terrible smell, which we believe was caused by cement mixture in the wall, it literally permeated the room....our stay in the room was adversely affected. We TRULY enjoyed the breakfasts which were excellent and our weekend hostess, Hope, was warm and welcoming and eager to help. Next time we'll request a different room.


Beautiful Bed and Breakfast in Napa

5 en septiembre 22, 2011

Our stay in Napa was wonderful. We had an beautiful room and the complimentary breakfast each morning was delicious. Also, we really enjoyed talking with other vistors- the complimentary happy hour each evening on the porch was alot of fun as well!


pleasant family stay

4,2 en septiembre 21, 2011

Something new for European, but perfect, family atmosphere, quaite place, nice care!!! Thanki you very much! Hannah and Jiri


September 2011 stay

4,8 en septiembre 19, 2011

While not there when we arrived, innkeeper Lisa left clear instructions for check-in. She later joined us and the other guests, providing wine and cheese along with lively conversation. We stayed in the Country Blue room; everything was extremely clean and neat, well decorated and freshly painted; the bed was very comfortable. The food was fresh, very tasty and nicely presented. Everything about our stay was enjoyable. We have stayed at many B&Bs over the years and not all were good experiences. It's no mystery why the Runnells have been successful operators for over 25 years! We'd highly recommend a stay here.


Harvest Time in St. Helena

4,6 en septiembre 19, 2011

Lisa and Hope are great hosts! The room was very nice and perfectly located in the Napa Valley area.


Great Napa Experience

4,2 en septiembre 19, 2011

This country inn is in the heart of Napa Valley, well located to serve as a point for departure to most wineries. Staff and owners were quite attentive and friendly, providing service beyond what I had expected. The breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese gatherings were an enjoyable opportunity to share experiences and advice from the staff as well as other guests. I'd go back.


Quiet Getaway

4,2 en septiembre 12, 2011

Loved the quiet atmosphere & friendly, personable service!


Great B&B conveniently located

5 en agosto 30, 2011

Wine and cheese with the owners in the evening and home made breakfast in the morning - can't be beat. Great location - very cozy. Highly recommended.


A Great Stay

5 en agosto 15, 2011

We enjoyed out several days at Shady Oaks. The location, rooms, breakfast, recommendations and the people we met were all great. I just wish I had an extra 4.5 million to buy the place next door. Dave Wilkinson Moorpark, CA


Nice bed and breakfast!

4,0 en agosto 15, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Shady Oaks B&F. Our host, Hope, was very nice and friendly. If you need recommendations all you need to do is ask and she'll be happy to help you. We will definitely come back to Shady Oaks in the future! :)


Great Guests

4,4 en agosto 04, 2011

A well run B&B most interesting quests I've met in a long time. All in all to be recommended.


Heart of wine country

4,4 en agosto 03, 2011

Old fashioned room. A truly fabulous breakfast with a friendly proprietor and an opportunity to meet other guests made this a great way to enjoy the wine country.


Don't miss this place!

4,0 en julio 24, 2011

A friendly place in a great location with a wonderful staff and breakfast! Lisa will give you outstanding recommendations for things to do and see while in the valley.


Great Experience

4,2 en julio 18, 2011

Wonderful place to stay. Quite and great food. Owner was very nice and spent time with us over coffee.


Shady Oaks Country is Fabulous

5 en julio 05, 2011

I found the Shady Oaks Country Inn outstanding in every way. Rooms, hosts, breakfast, the other guests. I have stayed in numerous places in St Helena, Calistoga, and Napa. With out a doubt, The Shady Oaks combines a marvelous experience with an incredible value.


Dave's review

4,6 en julio 03, 2011

The Shady Oaks Country Inn provides a quiet and restfull retreat. It is centrally located in the heart of Napa Valley for taking advantage of great wine tasting. John and Lisa prepare a wonderful breakfast and make you feel at home. I recommend this B&B for a wonderful experience.


Blue Room

4,0 en julio 03, 2011

Lovely setting. Fabulous breakfasts, especially the croissants! Very personable and helpful host (Lisa) who provided us with great recommendations for our trip. Blue room was lovely but small. So a few more hooks located around the room on which to hang things would be nice. We would definitely recommend this place to friends.


St. Helena B&B- Amazing

5 en junio 21, 2011

Beautiful house with outstanding hospitality from the host. Very cozy and clean rooms and common area. The breakfast was simply outstanding and delicious. Truly enjoyed staying at this B & B, and will certainly stay again.


Awesome stay at Shady Oaks B&B

4,0 en junio 07, 2011

Very good B&B with a great location to Napa vineyards, great rooms, great breakfast's and the afternoon wine and snacks was also a great touch attended by most all guests each day we were staying. We will certainly stay again and would recommend this B&B to anyone.


Fine Time at Shady Oaks

4,6 en junio 06, 2011

My son, his fiance, and I spent one night, Sunday May 22, at Shady Oaks and were completely delighted. Our welcome was warm--wine and snacks outside-our rooms were comfortable and cozy, the other guests were friendly and convivial. Our breakfast Monday morning was excellent--in true B&B style. I would definitely return.


Great location, great breakfast!

3,6 en mayo 23, 2011

We only had time to stay one night at Shady Oaks, unfortunately. Next time, we'll stay longer. The owner, Lisa, was very helpful and informative. Our room was well-appointed and comfortable--although we couldn't get the gas fireplace to come on. The breakfast--stuffed French toast--was great! We'd highly recommend this establishment as a base for exploring Napa.


Visit to Shady Oak B&B

4,8 en mayo 20, 2011

I stayed at Shady Oaks B&B for three nights in May 2011. Lisa, the owner, was fantastic. She provided a home like environment with very pro-active services. I felt comfortable from the time I first stepped into the living room. She provided good advise on places to visit and helped us understand the area. I would highly recommend this B&B. Finally, it is centrally located and made it easy to visit the Napa Valley, Sonoma and the Russian River area.


great place

4,6 en abril 02, 2011

really great place in center of it all w/peaceful surroundings. Lisa was a great hostess, great lady.


WE LOVE Shady Oaks!

4,0 en marzo 08, 2011

Lisa and John continue to make our visits to Napa so fabulous! This is our second year to stay with them and each time has been so perfect! We wouldn't stay any where else and plan to be there this time next year again. Thank you Lisa and John!!!


Great Valentines Day stay at Shady Oaks

4,8 en febrero 19, 2011

Wonderful stay at Shady Oaks. Lisa was an outstanding hostess. The breakfast was amazing, perfect eggs Benedict and John's homemade croissants. Great location, close to wineries and St. Helena but out in the vineyards. Loved our room, the Winery Retreat. Would love to come back.


A great place to stay for visiting the Napa Valley area

5 en febrero 08, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Shady Oaks Country Inn. Lisa, the inn keeper, was a delight. She gave us wonderful recommendations for dining in St Helena and for wine tasting visits. We had stayed at their sister bed and breakfast a few years ago and it was full - we were directed to Shady Oaks and what a wonderful idea!!! We will be back and will definitely recommend this B&B to friends.


Wonderful first-time B&B experience.

3,8 en enero 11, 2011

This was the first time staying at a B&B and it was wonderful.


A great place to stay in the Wine Country

4,0 en diciembre 31, 2010

We stayed in the Rose Room at Shady Oaks and Lisa was a great help to me in setting up my husband's "perfect day" to celebrate his birthday. She got us in touch with a great driver who took us to some of our favorite wineries and was able to suggest a few new ones that we hadn't tried before. She also recommended a great restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the other couples who were there, and I adored our room (I love roses) and the location was perfect.


Shady Oaks

5 en noviembre 15, 2010

This is an outstanding, quiet, inviting facility. Well located, easy access. Excellent service and an excellent value. We would definately stay here again when we are in the area. HIGHLY recommended.


B&Bs can be for girls' weekends, too!

3,4 en noviembre 05, 2010

Lisa was an extremely gracious hostess who made some wonderful recommendations for wineries to visit while we were there (places I hadn't heard of despite living in the Bay Area). The room was adorable and the bed SO comfortable! A friend and I went for a girls' weekend, not a romantic weekend, so it was nice to be able to have the extra bedroom in the Sunny Hideway room. Convenient, central location in Napa Valley.


Lovely stay in St. Helena

4,0 en noviembre 04, 2010

Great location near center of St. Helena. Home and rooms were very nice; comfortable bed and common areas. Would definitely recommend to my friends


The Lenn's Opinion:

4,8 en noviembre 03, 2010

The evening wine and cheese with the owner makes staying at Shady Oaks an added plus. The knowledge of the area as well as the winery recommendations makes the visit memorable. I would advise that you contact the innkeeper and plan well in advance so you will have access to some of the better wineries since their tours tend to fill up fast. You can depend upon the staff at Shady Oaks to make your trip to St. Helena and the Napa Valley spectacular !!


Short Stay

3,8 en octubre 21, 2010

We arrived on Thursday and departed on Saturday as scheduled. We stayed in the wine room which was interesting. It could you a few more outlets but otherwise, it was comfortable. The following night we stayed about that in their largest suite and that was nice and comfortable. The room structure could use a some updating such as fixing the screens or lack of on their windows and update the TV's. Otherwise was fine. Breakfast was always awesome and Jenna was constantly there to please no matter what with dinner recommendations etc. Love her sense of humor and tell it like it is attitude.


stay at shady oaks

3,4 en octubre 12, 2010

needs some updating. breakfast was great. jenna and carlos very friendly and very helpful with recommendations, they'll even take u where u want to go. pricey but everything in napa is.


Like Stayig at Grandma's

4,2 en septiembre 29, 2010

Shady Oaks Country Inn was perpect for a week of travel to Napa, the Coast, San Francisco, and Lake Tahoe. The breakfasts were delectable. Assistance in making arrangements for tours and evening meals was excellent. Everywhere we ate in the valley had great atmosphere as well as great food. The host of Shady Oaks even printed our return flight tickets!


The perfect retreat for a girls getaway & great value

4,4 en septiembre 22, 2010

We booked the Sunny Hideway suite which consists of the entire 2nd floor with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. It was plenty spacious for 4 women with a lot of luggage. Bedding has been updated from pictures online which was a nice surprise. Bedrooms where nice sizes. Breakfast was really good, but you have to be present in the dining area around 9 am to get it. Great location which was convenient to all areas in Napa Valley. I would definitely stay there again, specifically in that suite. Great value for 4 people over Labor Day Weekend as I have stayed at 4 star hotels in St. Helena in the past and this was much better.


Fabulous weekend!

4,4 en septiembre 03, 2010

We went to St. Helena for the first time to attend a friends wedding. Shady Oaks is in a great location to wineries and town. We arrive late and Jenna kindly left out wine for us. We relaxed in the dining room and at a table in the front yard near the bocce ball court and sipped wonderful Napa Pinot Noir. The home cooked breakfast was fabulous!! The service and kindness of Jenna was refreshing and we enjoyed our stay very much. Looking forward to a trip back when we can visit more of the area. Thank you Jenna!


great weekend at Shady Oaks

4,2 en agosto 27, 2010

We are from Louisiana and being in Napa enjoying the wonderful cool temps was a great getaway for us. Shady Oaks was wonderful and the breakfast meal was fabulous. Jenna was a perfect hostess! We will definitely be coming back! Randall and Julia Welch


Shady Oaks Country Inn

3,8 en agosto 25, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Inn for his birthday in August, 2010. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was somewhat small but comfy. Bathroom could use some updating. Location is perfect for touring the wineries. Breakfast was excellent, and Jenna was a doll, really going out of her way to make our stay enjoyable and meet all of our needs. All in all, a great stay!


An extremely wonderful experience

5 en agosto 24, 2010

The rooms were beautiful, the food was marvelous and the location was breath taking. We plan on staying again.


Shady Oaks Retreat

4,2 en julio 22, 2010

Our two day stay at Shady Oaks Country Inn was wonderful. We stayed in the Winery Room which has a private entrance. The only down side of the room is there isn't a window because it was once used to store the wine barrels so is made of stone. However, the addition has a small window with an air conditioner in it so the room temperature was comfortable. The breakfasts were quite good and plenty of food. What I appreciated was Lisa and Jenne making a group of strangers feel as though we had met before. It is a real value for the money.


Country Comfort

3,8 en julio 20, 2010

I arrived from Toronto, Canada to be greeted by the most wonderfully hospitable Innkeeper. Jenna was a complete Joy. She was informative, helpful, and kind. My breakfast was always creative and scrumptious. My room, grounds and surrounding communal areas of the home were clean and well stocked. One problem . . . I couldn't stay longer. Highly recommend this.


Our Favorite Place to Stay While Visiting Napa

4,6 en octubre 22, 2009

The location is unbeatable, the breakfast is amazing, and Jenna is so helpful and sweet. We have stayed here twice and plan to do so when we return to the area again.


Can't beat it

4,8 en julio 30, 2009

Amazing bed and breakfast in Napa. Wonderful inn keeper named Jeanna who would help with anything. Got us last minute reservations at the most amazing place! She had the inside to best vineyards, restaurants, servers, spas, etc. Delicious breakfast. Not the most beautiful decor. But also very friendly co-guests. And a good value. My pick for napa.


excellent place to stay

4,6 en marzo 11, 2009

This was a great and romantic place to stay. The breakfast was more than expected along with the service. Glenn and Cathy


Wonderful week

4,2 en agosto 15, 2007

WE spent an entire relaxing week at Shady Oaks. What a wonderful time! Breakfasts were such a treat-top notch! Jenna is an expert in steering you in the right direction as you tour Napa and plan where to go out for dinner. She goes out of her way to help her guests as they plan for the day. The inn is lovely and cleaned thoroughly each day. Her arranged private wine tastings at the Inn are a special treat-Hagafen Winery was "WOW"!!


Vineyard Beauty

5 en junio 01, 2007

What a great find on Zinfandel Ln. in the middle of the NApa Val;ley. We could actually walk across the street to Kelham Vineyards. The rooms were great, the breakfast out of this world and Jenna could not have been more informed and helpfull. We will be back


Shady Oaks Country Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $144 - $319
  • Comentarios (67) 4,3
  • Habitaciones 5
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7079631190
  • Fax 1-7079630463

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba