Featherbed Railroad Bed and Breakfast Resort Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,5
  • Servicios4,6
  • Estimación4,2
  • Limpieza4,3
  • Comidas4,2

Puntuación basada en
84 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Tropicaboose

3,8 en abril 19, 2014

It had been years since I have stayed at the Featherbed. I suggest to book in advance they book up quickly, the room I wanted one day was booked the next day so we too the Tropicaboose. It was a truly relaxing atmosphere which is what we were looking for. The Tropicaboose had a bit of an odd smell inside so we went to the store and bought Febreeze which helped somewhat, and left it in the bathroom for the next guest should they need it. Not sure what is was but once you were inside for a while you didn't notice it. The private dock is wonderful, with a few surprises left on the deck, ducks laid eggs...lol. The new owners are absolutely delightful and very accommodating, we will definitely be back. The Tony said he was going to have kayaks and pedal boats available to rent in the future, looking forward to that. It's a great place to stay, I highly recommend it if you have never been.


Bed (hard) & Breakfast (terrible)

2,2 en abril 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently for my birthday weekend. The caboose was cute and snug, but had everything we needed. The heating/cooling unit was very loud and we couldn't keep it on at night. When we checked in, we asked about what to do and where to eat, she was not a wealth of knowledge. In fact, she told us that we could go swimming in the onsite pool. We were looking forward to lounging by the pool...but when we got there, it was locked and hadn't even opened for the season!!! They advertise "feather beds" and when I hear that, I think something lofty and cloud-like. NOT! The feather mattress topper was so compacted that it was like sleeping on a board. I had two of the worst nights sleep in ages. My hips were so sore every morning. The breakfast Saturday was just terrible. Again, I think of a B&B with some good choices for breakfast; waffles, omelets, scrambled eggs, pancakes, fried potatoes...Not here! What we and all the other guests got was the same thing: one muffin sized frozen hash brown concoction (still watery in the center), a miniature scone...2 small bites and this Costco scone was history, and some watermelon balls. I've had much better free breakfasts at motels - even they have waffle makers half the time. To top things off, breakfast is only served between 9-10:00! So restrictive! While we were in the dining room, another couple told the manager that their caboose didn't have any bath towels and they had to use hand towels to dry themselves off. The manager asked "What caboose are you in so I know who to yell at?" Really? You actually said that out loud in front of all the other diners? I will say, they have a nice location on the banks of Clear Lake but they did not have any boats to rent like they advertised, so we were not able to enjoy the water. Sunday, we could not face another breakfast in the dining room. Luckily I had brought fruit salad and peanut butter and jelly fixings. We were much more satisfied with our breakfast.

Respuesta del propietario

Wow - what a different experience that most of the others here. I'm impressed that you thought our breakfast was so professional that it came from Costco but it's just me getting up at 5 and making it from scratch. I guess having frozen waffle batter and freeze-dried eggs like they do at a motel is a time saver but, ew, not our style. Since we have farmers locally who have to feed their chickens I'd much rather do fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. However we have made PB&J oatmeal and that is super good. We go out of our way to help people maximize their stay when they share their questions with us in advance, it's how we'd like to be treated ourselves. Unfortunately there is no way to go back in time and fix your getaway but we hope the next time you get time to yourselves whichever motel has the best freeze-dried breakfasts with frozen OJ and mystery meat sausages is just what the doctor ordered. We're going to go lounge in a fluffy featherbed that others have mentioned in their reviews - this response writing is hard!


Our Second Visit---

4,8 en abril 06, 2014

We had such a great time on our first stay w decided to return - to a different caboose!! Our first trip was in the Casablanva- a unique experience complete with the movie, a piano, and an appropriately decorated 'cottage'. This time was in 'Celebrations' - with a little more space, but all the expected amenities, and LOTS of wall plugs to use!!The included daily breakfast is definitely a good start to your day - aqnd not to be missed. Chef and general CEO Tony holds forth on the property - with his wealth of useful (and sometimes strange) information. We have to go back - at least 6 more cabooses (cabeeces) to try!!


Birthday weekend;)

4,6 en marzo 25, 2014

I booked our weekend from Living Social and we really got our money's worth! We stayed in The Lovers caboose. The decor was dated but the caboose was clean and the setting was beautiful. Tony and Peggy went out of their way to accommodate us including GF cupcakes for my birthday. We took advantage of the wine Limo tour and had in caboose massages. We will be returning ;)


Unique getaway on a beautiful gem of a lake in northern CA

4,4 en marzo 25, 2014

My husband surprised me with a weekend at Featherbed Railroad B&B. The moment I saw the cabooses, I was delighted, as we both love to stay in unconventional places with character. This place is clean, the Innkeepers are warm & welcoming, and their breakfast is delicious. They have a private dock on Clearlake where you can enjoy a glass of wine while taking in the sunset. We will be back!


A wonderful retreat!!!

4,2 en marzo 11, 2014

I booked a weekend at the Featherbed Railroad for my partner's birthday. As it turned out, he had to have an unexpected minor back surgery, so his birthday weekend became a recovery weekend! Tony & Peggy were great. Our caboose, "the "Lovers," was dated in terms of decor, but clean and had an AMAZING two person jetted hot tub. My partner was able to sleep and recover as much as he wanted, and when he felt like getting out, we had a great time at the nearby casino. The breakfast each morning was enjoyable, and catered to my vegetarian partner. Now that I have read this review, I realize I want to go back so I can be the pampered one! :)


Fun, unique, and yummy

5 en enero 25, 2014

This neat place is as much a destination as Clearlake is. It is so charming! The owners are extremely helpful and friendly, and are great company besides. The breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommend staying here!


Wonderful Relaxing Experience

5 en julio 14, 2013

Rail Station Managers Tony and Peggy have become our friends since our first visit four years ago. We live over 150 miles away and manage a visit at least two to three times a year. This unique B&B is fabulous and if we lived a lot closer we would be visiting at least every two months.


What a find!

4,0 en marzo 02, 2013

We were on a whirlwind 2300 mile road trip, heading from Sacramento to the California north coast. We needed a place to stay around Clearlake. With the wonders of smart phones, we found this delightful B&B as we were leaving Sacramento. The ambience is spectacular, scenery mellowing, and food was great. The innkeepers are proud of their business and it shows. Not having a regular shower was a small price to pay for such a unique experience. We would stay again.


Outstanding!

5 en febrero 01, 2013

As we work our way through staying in each adorable room, Peggy and Tony continue to add a very special warmth to our visits. The rooms are private and all so very unique, most with jacuzzi tubs to relax in, comfortable beds, and a remarkable view of Clearlake you can enjoy on the private dock or deck from some rooms. Keep up the good work Featherbed Staff. We look forward to our next stay as much as the first!


More than Nice

4,8 en enero 09, 2013

Upon our arrival I was taken away. The clear sky, fresh air, beautifully lit grounds & serene lake a hop skip away made for a wonderful stay. The Casablanca room was romantic & cozy. I won't forget the hot tub. The breakfast was delicious. I had a great time meeting other guest & talking about all the area has to offer. A winter stay that has bribed us to come back in the summer.


Great for a vacation or stay-cation

4,0 en enero 05, 2013

I'm a local but have always wanted to stay over for a night or two. Took advantage of the New Years Eve "holiday" and stayed over for the duration. Great room, breakfast and company! Thanks Tony and Peggy - I'll do it again!


Nice Change

4,8 en octubre 26, 2012

The Featherbed Railroad B&B was a unique and pleasant experience. Private room with its own theme and the hosts were not only super-accomodating (they let us borrow their kayak) but they are wonderful chefs as well. Each railroad car (room) is separate from the other so you have a lot of privacy and are a short walk to their dock looking over Clearlake. My only small critique is that our room just had a jacuzzi and while there was a hand nozzle, it was a little tough if you just wanted to take a shower. If in the area, we would definitely return. Their 2 dogs are also very cute.


Dave and Tracy's Road Trip

4,8 en octubre 08, 2012

Stayed here over the summer for a few nights on our road Trip around California it's a great fun place to stay with very friendly owners. Had the best time in the Easy Rider . We have shown all our friends here back in England the photos and they think it look great. keep up the good work you are doing to make peoples stay wonderful .


Unique to the max

4,6 en agosto 12, 2012

This B&B is wonderful. It is so unique with cabooses being used as rooms. Just adorable. The grounds are beautiful, meticulous landscape. The breakfast was good.


Wonderful visit

4,8 en julio 11, 2012

My wife found this railroad-inspired B&B as a treat for our anniversary trip. Quiet, quaint, and a great surprise. It was fun to stay in the caboose and climb up to the top of the cupola to view the lake. Very relaxing site. Owners very personable. They arranged a anniversary cake for us to top off the stay. Nice little breakfast in the dining area. With only a few rooms, it would never feel crowded.


Perfect Get-away

5 en mayo 26, 2012

What a clever idea for a B&B. We loved it. Had such a good time. It is so peaceful sitting out on the grounds. The food was delicious. We would definitely recommend this to everyone. We certainly hope to make a return visit! Also, we attended the local Passion Play that was held in Upper Lake area - that, too, is highly recommended. Del & Diana


A Little Piece of Heaven By the Lake

5 en mayo 21, 2012

We loved the place. We used a Living Social coupon which was great because I would not have known the Featherbed Railroad was even there if not for the Living Social coupon. The grounds were beautiful, a park-like setting. The breakfasts were awesome and filling and our caboose was lovely. The jaccuzzi tub was huge and I loved how far apart each caboose was. They felt very private. There was a rope swing in the middle of the grass area and I decided right then, this was what heaven must look like!! We got to see several of the different cabooses on the inside and each were all wonderfully decorated. I can't wait to go again and try a different caboose. Definitely go!! Tina C.


Always the Best!!

5 en abril 12, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Featherbed for our anniversary every year for the last 5 yrs. and plan on going this year also. Tony & Peggy are the best and always happy to see us. We have stayed in almost every caboose and they are clean and the esthetics are impecable. Peggy also does a fantastic job on the breakfast. Everything is wonderful!


Out of the ordinary - for frequent fliers ready for something special

4,6 en marzo 26, 2012

Both of us have spent many years on the road and one Hilton looks like another. No matter how nice the accommodations, the big chains all look alike. My husband puts a phone book on the table to know where he is. So for our vacations, we want something special. As train nuts, a few nights in a caboose is just what we wanted. And then, to have it on the lake, with wineries aplenty - this is a recipe for a terrific weekend. On Friday, the dinner was an expertly crafted beer tasting menu, with beer incorporated into each item. By the time we left, we felt like friends of the owners, not paying guests. I almost hate to say how great it is, because I want to be able to go back.


Great Unique Experience

4,8 en marzo 25, 2012

The stay here at the Featherbed was excellent. I have stayed at other B&Bs before and was let down on more than one occasion. This one, however, was awesome. My wife and I stayed in an old cabooses for the night. We will definitely be coming again. I recommend this place to everybody. A must visit.


Amazing B&B

4,6 en marzo 25, 2012

So unique! great service, food, and accommodations. Couldn't have asked for a better stay. Highly recommended for anyone that wants a peaceful and fun night.


Unique, Friendly Bed and Breakfast

5 en febrero 19, 2012

We got a deal and decided to give this place a try. We weren't sure if it would be hokey, but figured worst case scenario we would have a good story. Tony and Peggy are great hosts and the rooms are very comfortable. They are ready to help with anything and wanted to make sure we had a great stay. It was fun to sit up in the cupola and relax. There was a great view of the TV both from the bed and the hot tub. Breakfast was great - and I'm a picky eater! One of the few bed and breakfasts we've stayed at that I'd go back to based solely on the accommodations as opposed to just picking a place because of the location.


Getaway prior to my deployment

4,4 en diciembre 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in September before I left for my deployment. We had a wonderful time a perfect getaway before I left for the sandbox. We stayed in Wild West Caboose, its a nice and cozy room that is perfect for quiet time. The breakfast the next day is delicious...We definitely plan to come back when I come home from my deployment..


Unique with a Fabulous View

5 en noviembre 26, 2011

My husband loved exploring the caboose details and talking 'train' with Tony. I loved that breakfast was delicious, local grown, and health-conscious (thanks Peggy). A great relaxing retreat!


First Anniversery

4,6 en noviembre 14, 2011

Beth and I spent our First Anniversery at this very unique Inn. We loved the atmoshere and location right on the lakeshore. We stayed in the Wine Country Caboose and were very impressed with the decor and ammenities. I also enjoyed having an early cup of coffee while reading up in the copola with a view of the lake. Tony and Peggy were very knowledgable and helpful in suggestions of antique shops, wineries, and restaurants in the area. They also gave us a packet of coupons with discounts to the various businesses in the area. The breakfasts were fantastic and couldn't wait to find out what they would serve each morning from the appetizer to the dessert which Tony pointed out no meal should be without. We would also recommend setting up a couples massage with the masseuse recommended by Tony and Peggy as she came to the caboose and gave each of us a very relaxing massage on our Anniversery Night. It was a very memorable Anniversery and we will be back next year if not sooner. Bob and Beth Evans


Peaceful, Gorgeous & Fun!

4,0 en octubre 26, 2011

Staying in a caboose that is decorated with a theme, with attention to little details, was absolutely over the top! We stayed in the Orient Express and it was cozy and comfortable. It also has a cupola, so we climbed up and opened the window and just relaxed as we inhaled the balmy night air, listened to the fish jumping and watched the moon set over the hills. A beautiful spot to relax and enjoy. We're sorry we only had one night to stay. Next time, we'll stay longer.


Cool, peaceful getaway by the lake

4,0 en septiembre 28, 2011

Clear Lake is a really nice lake so the location of this B&B is great. It is located on a spacious, park like lot of land. The themed rooms are cool, especially the Easy Rider, and most or all have a 2 person hot tub which was so relaxing. The rooms are narrow(can't change that) and could use more lighting. I liked that we can borrow movies, books and games from the office. The breakfast was delicious and a good portion. I would stay here again if I was planning another trip to Northern California.


“Fun, romantic & casual birthday escape!”

4,2 en septiembre 20, 2011

My lovely bride wanted to do something different, and this place fit the bill perfectly. Advance reservations were a snap, and were handled the old-fashioned way: with a live, person-to-person telephone call. Nice touch. After a scenic 2+ hour drive, we felt as though we'd stumbled across a hidden sanctuary, our own rustic escape. There were no Wal-Mart's, McDonald's, or neon signs of any kind. Instead, we found a charming collection of quaint railroad cabooses, each lovingly converted into themed rooms. Featherbed Railroad is 'Glamping': glamorous camping. Our caboose featured a relaxing Jacuzzi, a large bed, and just enough appointments to be comfortable. Our front door opened onto a park-like lawn area, surrounded by beautiful trees framing a fantastic lake view. The Ritz it was not - and that's the point! We found a place to escape. Here, we were able to completely relax and shed the burdens of our daily grind. Our hosts were thoughtful, considerate, friendly, helpful, and rather interesting. The breakfasts reflect their individual style, and their concern for guest enjoyment. And suggestions for local businesses, meals, nature walks, scenic drives, and more were all spot-on. We enjoyed exploring the area - bird watching, local wineries, and a couple of local restaurants. And we appreciated at least as much the opportunity to simply unplug and lounge poolside, followed by a stroll by the lake. Thank you for an enjoyable trip!


Wonderful anniversary get-away!

5 en septiembre 19, 2011

We found out about Featherbed Railroad B&B through a Living Social get-away deal. What a wonderful place! The grounds are beautiful and relaxing. Peggy and Tony made us feel very welcome -- and obviously love what they do! The breakfasts were all superb. The room was decorated very nicely and had all the comforts of home. I wish we could have stayed longer! J&J Johnson


exciting travels

5 en septiembre 07, 2011

We were on the harley on vacation. we had decided to stay at the Featherbed Railroad. I have always wanted to stay there. We beleived that the stay was one of the highlights of our trip. We stayed in the Wild Wild West room. The way the room was decorated was fun, our room was clean, the breakfast was always very good. The inn keepers were very friendly, they have games to play, a selection of cd's to watch in ur room. The have a dock across the street that is for Featherbed Railroad guests. We had fun staying and we plan on returning and getting a different room next time. I think we are going to try the Orient Express. You just can not beat the experience. We recommended the Featherbed Railroad to anyone that is looking for a usual, fun place to stay. Staying in a caboose was quit the experience.


A Great Place to Get Away!

4,6 en agosto 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I just had a weekend getaway here and it was fabulous. The Lovers Caboose was clean and comfortable and very cute with its little cherub statues. The jacuzzi tub was a big plus too! The grounds are well kept and very nice. The hosts are knowledgeable about the area and recommended a nice little place to have dinner that was nearby called The Blue Wing Saloon. Breakfast was delicious and not served too early in the morning. My BF and I look forward to coming back the next time we are in need of a little getaway!


Incredible, unique experience

4,4 en agosto 25, 2011

On a lark, I googled for "train" and "B&B" and found the Featherbed Railroad B&B. What a find! As others have described, this B&B is ideally situated right on the shores of Clear Lake -- a gorgeous view whether or not you indulge in some water sports during your visit. But of course, the main attraction is the "rooms" themselves: actual train cabooses on bits of track, all situated in a beautiful grove of trees. Each one is decorated differently. We stayed in the Casablanca caboose, complete with a jacuzzi and piano. The room, although nicely decorated, felt a bit worn at the edges: the mini-fridge didn't work, and the bathroom faucet dripped, but these were so minor it's hardly worth mentioning them. I had the best night's sleep I've had in a while in the caboose, and was utterly thrilled with every detail. There are so many great aspects of this B&B. We didn't get a chance to ride the tandem bike, though I would have loved that. There are bits of train memorabilia and details everywhere -- fun to explore! The price was higher than I would normally pay for a night's vacation, but given its uniqueness, totally worth it. The breakfast was a little light, although delicious: a German pancake with fruit on top, a sausage, sorbet, and juice and tea. I can also recommend Sicily's Cucina, an Italian restaurant in nearby Lakeport, which Peggy and Tony pointed us to for dinner. The food was truly outstanding -- a wonderful experience. Overall, I would have loved to stay for an entire weekend. There's so much to explore here, including hiking trails and other great sights. And more nights in a caboose!


Unique and so pleasant

4,8 en julio 04, 2011

Staying in a caboose complete with jacuzzi, one of 8, was so relaxing and fun. We loved the shaded yard, the scrumptious breakfast, the dock, the fish and birds, and the coupons that led us to some great places to visit and shop and gamble. Lakeshore Drive is quiet and walkable with wonderful views of the lake and Mt. Konocti.


Coast to Coast Trip

5 en junio 08, 2011

Traveling by motorcycles Coast to Coast from Florida to California and back. On the road for 35 days and the Featherbed Railroad B & B was our favorite place of all. We chose the "Harley" Caboose and loved it. Tony and Peggy were excellent in their customer service and took excellent care of us while we were there!


A Great And Unique B&B

4,6 en febrero 25, 2011

A Wonderful And Unique Experience To Enjoy. My Husband And I Love It And Have Tried 3 Of The 8 Cabooses So Far. We Look Forward To Trying Them All Out Eventually. A Great Setting With Wonderful Hosts.


Unpretentious and peaceful

3,4 en octubre 13, 2010

The views of the lake and the hospitality delivered this beyond my expectations. I prefer victorian B&B's, yet my 'room', Wine Country, provided comfort and lake views that I longed for in my evening getaway. Peggy and Tony were considerate, kind and committed to my comfortable stay.


A great, relaxing visit

5 en agosto 17, 2010

My wife and I had never been to Clear Lake in California before and came across this B & B. The description of the railroad cabooses intrigued us so we book one. We had a great couple of days. The cabooses are nestled amongst older shade trees and look out over Clear Lake. They are quantly decorated according to a theme. Breakfasts were delicious and the innkeepers provided friendly and valuable suggestions on where to eat and what to do. If we ever visit Clear Lake again we will definitely stay at the Featherbed Railroad.


Awesome place to stay

4,6 en julio 28, 2010

We stayed at the Featherbed Railroad during the my fiance's birthday / wine tasting trip in and around Lake County. When we arrived to this beautiful park like setting with Redwood trees with tree swing (have to ride that swing), Peggy greeted us warmly. Tony and Peggy are the owners. They run a cozy, friendly, and adorable establishment. She told us about the wineries in the area, great recommendation Peggy. Our room was what we expected according to what we saw on the website. Everything was clean and well kept. Our room had a view of Clear Lake, foothills and was charmingly decorated (as all rooms are) in "La Loose Caboose" theme, nice burgundy jacuzzi with full mirrored wall, queen bed sits under a mirrored ceiling, very romantic. we were enjoying the sunset with great wine on our "front porch" and their private pier. The next morning, Tony greeted everybody at the dining hall. He also gave us an alternate routes home with more wineries along the way. Thank you Tony, we found some great wineries. Breakfast was delicious, with homemade quiche, chicken apple sausage, great coffee, very nice touch with homemade strawberry ice cream. Definitely worth a visit if you are planning to be in the Nice / Clear Lake areas, not the cheapest place, but if you love unique / great theme rooms, good breakfast and old-fashioned Southern hospitality, this is the place for you. ps. The follow up thank you email was a class act. We will be back.


Great place to have a weekend with your lovah!

4,6 en julio 12, 2010

This is a really fun place. The rooms are so clean and well kept and come on - you're staying in a train car! it's so fun. The owners are super nice and make a delicious breakfast! This place is great!


Nice place to stay, great experience.

4,0 en mayo 14, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed the "Orient Express" railroad car very much. The owners were friendly and helpful.


Another perfect anniversary!

5 en mayo 10, 2010

We decided to stay at the Featherbed for our Silver Anniversary. It was a special day for us as we have gone through a lot together and still have a strong bond. We arrived to a quick check in and opened our door to find a beautiful balloon bouquet that played the song "Still the one". To top it off, the inn keepers had a little celebration with us as it was also their two year anniversary for owning the inn. The one thing that stood out was the room which had everything needed to keep you comfortable, especially the Thanksgiving coffee, teas, and Crystal Light drink selections. The temp dropped during the night but the heating system quickly kicked in and regulated. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the room was decorated cleverly. I wish there was a sixth star to give this very nice couple!


A B&B Adventure

4,4 en abril 14, 2010

I surprised my husband with a trip to the Featherbed Railroad and we stayed in La Loose Caboose. What a great room and a great experience. Peggy and Tony are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed visiting with them and their dogs. The in room hot tubs are a delight. Breakfast was wonderful. Such a fun getaway!


First time

4,6 en febrero 11, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The food was so good, I left there totally relaxed. The owners were more than hospital, and the atmosphere great. I would recommend staying there.


Our Featherbed Railroad Experience !

5 en diciembre 01, 2009

What a great place to stay. Great owners that make you feel so welcome. They are very knowledgeable about the surrounding aera,always pointing out points of intrest that might intrest you. Definitely a thumbs up place to try.


Awesome place

5 en diciembre 01, 2009

We had a great stay at the Featherbed Railroad Bed and Breakfast in Nice, CA at Clearlake. The owners, Tony and Peggy, are very nice people. We went during Thanksgiving and all the guests are invited to join Tony and Peggy for Thanksgiving dinner. The place is really neat and each Caboose has a different theme. The grounds are just beautiful and it’s right across the street from the lake. They have a really cool swing that’s fun too. They also have a swimming pool and spa that is open during the summer. The breakfasts were delicious. I loved everything they served. It’s not your typical breakfast, much better. I highly recommend this place for a very unique experience. How often do you get to sleep in a caboose.


A very unique and wonderful B&B

5 en septiembre 15, 2009

The Featherbed Railroad was the most relaxing experience we have had in a very long time. We stayed in the Oriental Express and it was so unique...we loved it. And when you walk in the door the first thing you see is the jacuzzi tub...WOW! The featherbed was delightful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and fresh and every day there was something new. When you walk in the dining room, they not only listed what was on the menu but different things to do in the area. This was great in planning our day. Tony and Peggy were very welcoming hosts. Always making sure we never needed anything. It was a wonderful trip and we cannot wait to go back.


Very Unique and Quiet too!

5 en septiembre 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the caboose called Orient Express which even had it's own patio with a great view of the lake! Tony and Peggy made sure that we ate great food and had a great time for our extended (5 day) weekend. The best part? It was sooo QUIET!! With the cabooses being made of metal and being 25+ feet apart from each other, we heard nothing but silence from the outside world. No loud TV from the next 'room' (usually people complain about ME having the TV too loud!), no talking, no sounds at all except at 12 noon each day when they blow the Train Horn (they let me do it one of the days we were there!). There are plenty of things to do nearby as well and the fresh air (tested cleanest in California!) was welcome as well... I know we'll be back again to try out other themed cabooses as well!


Wonderful Experience

4,0 en agosto 18, 2009

Third stay since September 2008. First stay with the new kitchen. Food is fantastic. The "Train Station" is very cozy and a great place to interact with the other guests. Before dinner, the veranda is a great place to sit and relax with a cocktail or glass of wine. Tony and Peggy are very gracious hosts and do their best to make your stay a wonderful experience. My wife and I will return.


Great Vacation!

4,2 en agosto 13, 2009

Me and my family had a wonderful week at this beautiful resort! The accommodations were great and the breakfast was fantastic. Clear Lake is just a hidden Jewel and I had no idea of what a beautiful area it is. The innkeepers spoiled us and we will back again. I will recommend this place to all of my friends.


Fun on the Orient Express!

4,0 en agosto 06, 2009

My husband and I just got back from an anniversary stay in the Orient Express caboose. It was a very relaxing and romantic stay, with a very comfortable bed, in-room hot tub, and a lovely view of the lake. Breakfast was exceptional each morning, complete with dessert. We called ahead to let Tony and Peggy know that I am a lacto-vegetarian, and they went above and beyond to accommodate my dietary needs. My breakfasts were some of the best I've had in my nearly 30 years of being vegetarian...very creative and tasty. They strive to use local, organic produce...and it shows in the meals they serve. The grounds were well-lighted and we felt very secure in leaving our bicycles on our roof rack overnight. We usually take them into our hotel rooms with us, but we didn't feel that was necessary at the Featherbed. I'm sure we'll be back, and I've already recommended the inn to friends and family. Keep up the good work.


A serene stay

3,4 en agosto 03, 2009

The Cabooses, themed, were clean, well kept, breakfast for 2 was delightful & the owners very accommodating. A most enjoyable stay.


unioque stay with friendly staff

4,4 en julio 18, 2009

We recently spent our 30th anniversary at the B&B. You couldn't find a nicer set of owners. It was everything we expected and even had some surprises. We had never seen birds running on water and we did. Breakfast was grand and judging from past comments we are pleased the new kitchen was up and running. Now the owners are even trying to rearrange and improve the new kitchen to satisfy themselves and visitors even more. The one thing we learned while staying is that the owners try their best to make everyone happy and we noticed a drip in one of the faucets. They called the plumber and had it fixed pronto. They said they wished whenever anyone found a problem they would give them the opportunity to remedy the situation. Like most owners they try and keep everything pristine and if no one tells them of problems and the clean staff misses something... how can anyone expect to have it fixed. We enjoyed the stay, the owners and the food... we will go back. Also it happened to be very hot while we were there and the tree cover and the greenery kept the temps down.


A Wonderful Getaway Place

5 en junio 27, 2009

Unique, quiet, romantic, and beautiful to start off with. The owners are lovely people, the food is excellent and plentiful. You will want to come back again and again!


Great Experience

3,4 en junio 26, 2009

Was very pleased with the room, and the grounds were very well kept. The view of the lake was great! Would love to come back and stay in another caboose! Breakfast was great too!


Experience

1,4 en junio 24, 2009

I reserved a caboose as a birthday gift for my fiance, what a mistake it was. We had a private deck that looked like it hadn't been swept off in a month. The room was adequate, but dirty with numerous cob webs mainly in the cupola and on door ways, and bugs (dead) inside the wall sconces. The breafast were lacking originality with quiche being served both mornings (albeit with different fillings) strawberries and cool whip and a small muffin. The juice was not self serve and if you wanted it you had to ask for it. I've had much better continental breakfast for less money. One evening we went to see if the inn had a carry out menu for a local grill and as we were talking to Tony a friend of his pulled in and he promptly started talking to him choosing to make us wait so his friend wouldn't be inconvenienced. The lighted private dock had half the lights burned out I guess the better to enjoy the sunsets.


Honeymoon by Clear Lake

5 en junio 11, 2009

Enjoyable stay in private caboose. Hot tub was also special. Breakfast was excellent. We celebrated our 58th wedding anniversary here!


We will alwways share this memory!!!

4,0 en mayo 29, 2009

My boyfriend and I shared a wonderful evening in your Wine Country room. We were like to small children in a candy store. The room was really wonnderful!!! The only thing that perplexed us both was how to turn on the heater. It took us till morning to see the button that you point the remote to so we could warm up. We did however LOVE the experience and will make this a destination for future outings. Thank you for the personal touch by leaving a hand written note to him prior to our arrival. We live in seperate states and you made this stay very special. I say "2 thumbs up" or should we say 4 in our case :-)


"MINT JULEP"

5 en mayo 19, 2009

Hi, We had a wonderful weekend in Nice, Ca. The Featherbed Bed and Breakfast was just what we needed. We experienced great food and conversation with other families and with Tony and Peggy. The Featherbed grounds are kept up very well. I can't wait until we visit again!


Our Perfect Anniversary at the Featherbed

5 en mayo 07, 2009

We stayed at the Featherbed this week and it was fantastic. The Loose Caboose suite was perfect with a comfortable bed and a fabulous large spa tub. It was walking distance to a local restaurant and bar plus the view of Clear Lake was beautiful. We are going to make it a tradition to stay there every year for our anniversary. It is so unique for those special moments when you want to do something different or make a great memory!


Absolutely Perfect!!

5 en abril 11, 2009

This was my 4th time staying at Featherbed RR, and it was by far the best stay I have had!! Tony and Peggy were the perfect hosts, they really made us feel welcome and we felt like friends. Tony even jump started our car on the day we left because the battery had died. Breakfast was delicious, I loved the heart shaped waffles. That was a nice touch. I had set up with Peggy to have a birthday cake and a rose in the room when we arrived and the cake was one of the best I ever had! We stayed in Casablanca and the room was awesome as always. This is the perfect place to go to relax and get away from everything for a few days.


Can't get enough!

5 en marzo 25, 2009

Even though we live in the area, the Featherbed Railroad has always been a place that we would drive by to look at whether we were in the area or not. We finally ended up staying there our wedding night, after the more than accomodating Tony and Peggy let us have our ceremony on the grounds. It was an exceptional day with a wonderful place that more than exceeded both of our expectations. The room was gorgeous, as were the grounds, but it was certainly made more special by the atmosphere that the new owners had created. Besides the fantastic breakfast prepared by Peggy, we were able to stay late and Tony let my husband blow the train horn at noon! The fireplace was getting fixed that day, and we wish the weather would be colder so we can go back and sit in front of it. Though the Oriental Express caboose was incredible, we can't wait to go back and stay in all of them. The Featherbed Railroad is certainly the BEST place to stay in all of Lake County. I know I wouldn't waste my money on places that really do overcharge for what you're getting, like Konocti Harbor. Regardless of what others have said about cleanliness, etc., Tony and Peggy are making improvements others couldn't even fathom and the cobwebs are outside, not in. It's called nature. The Featherbed Railroad is truly unique and certainly a requirement on a list of great places to stay! Thanks again! -Mr. & Mrs. Michael Sanders


Over Joyed

5 en marzo 14, 2009

My wife and I Stayed at The Featherbed Railroad Company, on our Honeymoon in April of 2000 we really enjoyed our stay and Loved the Caboose we were in. I believe we stayed there in 2002 for our Anniversary and we enjoyed that stay as well. We have not stayed there since then do to a certain Situation that happened in 2003. Now the Previous Owners might have kept things Clean and tidy , But The man who ran the place had NO Respect or Honor for People who did work for him. My Friend/Boss and I were 2 days into the Job of Repairing The Asphalt at the B & B and My friend and I walked off the Job and Never Returned because this man had no value for who we were as a Business and for the work we were doing, he was not Professional in the way that he talked to us. This Situation Set a Seal on my decision of never staying at this B & B again. But on March 13, 2009 while looking at The Lake County News online and saw how The Lakeport Chamber of Commerce was Honoring The Featherbed Railroad Company, I was Filled With Joy to see there were New Owners, and I enjoyed seeing that they are providing Organic Food as well as Organic Coffee. And now that there are new Owners that are working to Change and Reestablish The Flow of Business in the Beautiful County of Lake, We might just Have to come and stay at Featherbed Railroad Company again and Reestablish the tradition. Bless you Peggy and Tony, thank you for being so Awesome.


Above and Beyond

4,8 en enero 22, 2009

Tony and Peggy went out of their way by serving a prime rib dinner for all the guests on New Year's Eve, supplied party favors and champagne. And they got a group of strangers to celebrate together as if we were old friends!


Outstanding

5 en enero 09, 2009

It is the perfect getaway place. The hosts were outstanding. We had the best time. We have booked a caboose for July 2009!


Outstanding B&B

5 en noviembre 21, 2008

Each caboose has a theme. Very unique and fun! NEW owners, so check out recent reviews. Tony and Peggy are fabulous. We rented all 9 cabooses and this super couple planned a wonderful weekend for our crazy bunch! We'll come again!!


Honeymoon Night

4,6 en noviembre 18, 2008

We stayed at the Featherbed Railroad for the first night of our honeymoon. We had so much fun. The Inn Keepers were very friendly and we had a great time with them. We had a full moon that night and walked out to the lighted deck and looked out over a beautiful lake with a shining full moon lighting the water. The breakfast was delicious. Each Caboose is so unique. We will stay here every year for our anniversary. We arrived strangers, but left feeling we had made friends and had a wonderful time. We stayed in The Casa Blanca. It took you back in time! We toured several of the other cabooses and each is unique in it's own way. We will try each one each year. We really loved our stay and we had such a memorable time. We have to thank the Inn Keepers, as they made our stay great! Bill and Nickie


Wonderful and quiet getaway!

5 en noviembre 10, 2008

Tony and Peggy were the greatest hosts and made our stay unforgettable! The "rooms" were awesome and it was very peaceful and quiet! We even got in some fishing on their dock directly across the street. Definately worth visiting and I know we will be back in the very near future!


Improvement needed

1,8 en noviembre 02, 2008

We stayed here in October for one night. We have stayed here before with the previous owners. I like the railroad theme and the caboose idea is quite charming and unique. I like the shade trees on the grounds, the lake front and the restaurant down the street within walking distance. In my humble opinion the new owners need to learn the priorities of running a B & B and working in the hospitality industry. The room, the grounds and the common areas can not be too clean or well kept. So one priority is to clean-up the cabooses exterior and interior as they are dirty and dusty. The insides need a deep cleaning and dusting, especially the air conditioning unit, the mini blinds, valances and high places/dust catchers. Do not neglect common areas. Planter boxes need to be planted and maintained or removed. Think curb appeal. The food is 50% of the experience so breakfast and afternoon snacks are somewhat scrutinized. Costco or other bulk food products are immediately noticed. We always hope to be treated to a unique home cooked recipes with special touches. Our breakfast here was adequate but somewhat boring by B & B standards. However it was home cooked and served well. Quality teas and locally roasted coffees are still needed here. I found the bed comfortable and slept well, my wife did not so we are at a draw here. But do keep in mind that the bed is where your guests are likely to spend the most time. Keep them fresh and comfortable. Customer service was adequate. We were able to get a room on short notice and the owners were hospitable and friendly. They understand that they have some work to do and seem to have the ambition to do it. I look forward to returning and seeing the improvements.

Respuesta del propietario

Greetings from the Featherbed Railroad and thank you for posting your review. I always am disappointed to hear that someone's vacation wasn't an exceptional experience here. As you can see by the majority of the reviews, most people have very good things to say about our little spot on the lake. There are a few things I'd like to comment on, however. First of all, I'd like to agree with you about the coffee and tea. We've been researching the best source for coffee and have used typical restaurant coffee in the interim. As of today (November 11) we are now using a brand new coffee service - Thanksgiving Coffee Company. Our new brew is 100% organic and fair trade and, in my opinion, is quite terrific. Our goal is to make every part of a guest's stay an exceptional memory including the coffee and tea. We've fixed that. We are also in the process of finding a new housekeeping staff that shares our ideology about cleanliness and enthusiasm. We have a few candidates narrowed down and should have our new team in place within the week. As for the breakfast, we use locally-grown organic fruit and vegetables as well as locally-sourced eggs. Even the coffee now only travels from Fort Bragg (although, obviously is grown overseas). Costco is about 75 miles away and we don't go there, period. I'm really not sure what you ate that you thought was from Costco. We are firm believers in buy local and support local businesses, farms and organizations. I always value the opinions of all guests and truly appreciate your allowing me to post our policies and practices. You also gave me a great opportunity to brag about our new coffee as well, thank you! We're very proud of the improvements we make on a continuing basis.


Loved it! So much charm

4,4 en octubre 15, 2008

We had a great time staying at Featherbed Railroad Company. Tony and Peggy are great hosts and want to make sure you have a great time! The property is unique and I'd have to go again to discover another caboose as they are all unique and so creatively decorated! It is extremly peaceful with a gorgeous view of Clearlake. You can go and fish or relax off the private dock. We had a lot of fun on the tall swing hanging off one of the gorgeous old tree that adorns the properly. And there is so much to do in the area. A place to try if you haven't been there before!


Cool get away

4,6 en octubre 11, 2008

A very relaxing and comfortable way to enjoy a vacation. Great people and a neat idea for a B and B. Tony and Peggy are just starting to get their legs after recently buying the property and it will only get better. Nice area to relax. Glenn and Judy Goza


Highly unique, for train buffs

3,6 en octubre 08, 2008

Very interesting and unique lodging, fun and interesting. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, and eager to please. Could use a little more dusting in the upper seating. Would efinately return.


perfect getaway

3,6 en octubre 04, 2008

this was the perfect romantic getaway weekend. we stayed here on our anniversary and it was fantastic. the caboose was charming and romantic, Tony and Peggy were very gracious and friendly hosts. we will definitely stay there again


Outstanding Service

3,8 en octubre 03, 2008

Tony and Peggy really went above and beyond to ensure our stay was great. Definitly would book again next time we are at Clear Lake.


beautiful location

5 en septiembre 07, 2008

The grounds are calm and serene. Our 1 year old twin boys were able to 'hang out' on the lawn area with plenty of room to crawl around. Easy Rider hot tub was a great way to start our 3-night stay. Peggy and Tony were great hosts. Charming and unique. The lake is incredibly beautiful and a 30 second walk!


What a let down

1,6 en septiembre 03, 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B and were very disappointed. We had stayed many times with the prior owners and it was fantastic. This time we had our reservations made in advance. The day we arrived we were told that they could not serve breakfast because they were working on their kitchen...instead we were given coupons for 2 free breakfasts at a nearby cafe. That was for the first day only the next day they ordered breakfast from a bakery in the afternoon and served it the following morning...it was given to us to put in refrig. and put in microwave in the morning. This is not my idea of a bed and breakfast...we had to drive for our breakfast the first day and then the next day we had to warm up prepared food. Our 2 night stay was very expensive. If we had been told that their kitchen was out of order we would not have stayed. Since they waited until the last minute to tell us, what could we do...at least they could have given us a discount on our stay but nothing was offered. The room was okay, clean but needed a few things repaired. The flies were terrible...if you walked out side of your door you better make sure you cover your mouth and nose or you would be eating them. It was very very hot there and the swimming pool was to dirty to swim in. Needless to say it will be some time before we return again. Hopefully they will make some changes in the future.

Respuesta del propietario

I'm always disappointed to hear that someone had a less than perfect experience on their vacation with us. Our policy is to never let someone get upset about anything here. We work hard to bend over backwards to over correct the situation when we are aware of it. I wanted a Bed and Breakfast because I love the communal breakfast experience. I also love trains, so when my wife and I saw the Featherbed Railroad for sale, we snapped it up. Since then we have worked hard to put in a brand new kitchen at the behest of the County, who have been very cooperative in the process. During construction we have worked with a local bakery to provide an excellent in-room breakfast, or with the very best local cafe around to provide breakfast for our guests. This isn't our ideal situation - as a bed and breakfast I'm looking forward to sharing the breakfast part of the experience with our guests in our dining room. We have also been very clear about our lack of a kitchen in confirmation e-mail messages and over the phone. Unfortunately, we also get a lot of last-minute reservations so the only time we can tell these guests about the breakfast is when they're here in our lobby. That being said, our kitchen was approved today and starting Tuesday, September 30 we will be able to serve a proper breakfast here. Check our web site for photos - we've brought back the hash brown quiche that was so popular plus some very new things. I can't wait to serve our first four-course breakfast right here in our remodeled dining room.


GREAT GETAWAY

5 en septiembre 02, 2008

Tony and Peggy are awsome. They do a great job. The property and rooms speak for themselves they are beautiful. Really enjoyed ourselves. THANK YOU


Love this train stop!

3,8 en septiembre 01, 2008

Hot tub in a train a HUGE PLUS! Very comfortable and clean rooms. Peggy and Tony are fabulous hosts. They are welcoming, humourous and fun to be around! They are also extremely accommodating to their guests needs (i.e. provided transport for our rented kayak to nearby slough; gave sample itineraries based on our interests). Would definitely stay here again.


Honeymoon Fun!

2,8 en agosto 26, 2008

My Husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The cabooses are so unique. Loved the outdoor pool and the jacuzzi tub in the caboose! The breakfast at Judy's Junction was incredible and way too much to eat. It will be nice once the kitchen is done to be able to enjoy breakfast on site. The only thing that needs work is the cleanliness of the cabooses. The outside and inside of the caboose were covered with spiderwebs. The cleaning crew definitely needs to be talked to about this. Other than that, no complaints. We'll definitely stay here next time we're in CA. Thanks!


Quiet and Cozy!

4,6 en agosto 23, 2008

Featherbed Railroad was a quiet, relaxing time by the lake in vintage (HUGE) cabooses. Clearly the new owners are working on upgrading the place but it has a charm that hasn't been lost with the work being finished. Food vouchers at the local dine-in was fine by us. Innkeepers Tony and Peggy said to try the breakfast platter there and they were right! Huge Food! The lake and private dock were charming and we watched some beautiful sunsets from there, the 70 foot swing made us feel like big kids. The nice part is just plain kicking back in the shade of the mature trees and greener than green lawn and sipping some wine. Went to stay two days, ended up staying four. Enjoy!


Cool Caboose!

4,4 en agosto 20, 2008

We stayed in a neat caboose called the 'Wild Wild West' during our visit. It was a comfortable and unique experience. We understood that we would have breakfast vouchers to local eateries while remodeling was taking place. This was no problem for us. We had a wonderful and relaxing 6 days with quiet grounds and a beautiful view of the lake. We even fished off the private dock. We will definitely be returning.


An unusual stay

2,6 en julio 28, 2008

This is a unique idea in a beautiful location. We loved the novelty of the whole concept. The swing was great fun! Sadly, we found the rooms to be a bit "tired". There was no food available due to work being done. This was a disappointment. Vouchers were handed out for a nearby cafe but that wasn't what we were looking for. A really great idea but needs room work to make it worth the money and a discount on price for no food on site.


Caboose lodging

3,0 en julio 25, 2008

A very nice place with a unique style. Can't rate the dining portion because the breakfast portion was not available. Good lake access with launch ramp. Host and hostess very pleasant folks. George and Marion Weller, Minden Nevada


What a great idea!

3,0 en mayo 31, 2008

This place was absolutely charming. Our room was very cozy, we had a great view and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back!


Featherbed Railroad Bed and Breakfast Resort

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $129 - $220
  • Comentarios (84) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 9
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7072748378
  • Sin cargo
    1-8009666322

Ver el sitio web del B&B »

Más info

Arriba