Doryman's Oceanfront Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,3

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,3
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,2

Puntuación basada en
109 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Victorian

4,0 en junio 26, 2014

The Victorian room was great! Decorations were wonderful and room was very clean. Service was helpful when asked but understandably busy. Location was wonderful and there was not too much noise from traffic and bars at night.


Fabulous little getaway! Very peaceful and relaxing.

4,4 en junio 03, 2014

We booked this little one night getaway at the last minute and were very pleased to have such a great place to just relax and enjoy. Watching the ocean out of our window was fabulous.


recommend

5 en mayo 31, 2014

This experience here at the Doryman's Inn was great. Very friendly people and RIGHT ON the beach. Right in front of the popular Sharkeez bar and newpot beach pier. Highly recommend the stay.


noise

3,6 en mayo 28, 2014

Having 4 bars in the same area as the hotel, there was quite a lot of noise at night that tapers off at about 3 am on weekends. After the drinking crowd leaves the street cleaner comes to clean up the large beach parking lot . Around 5:30 am the surfing crowd shows up, needless to say to noisy to sleep! The rooms were quaint and neat. If not for the noise I would frequent the Dorymans more often.


Wonderful Birthday

4,6 en mayo 15, 2014

I booked Room 7 that faces the ocean for my wife's birthday. We came in the early afternoon. Check in was easy. The room beautiful. We walked along the beach and had dinner at Pescadu. After another walk on the beach, we went back and enjoyed the rest of the evening in a relaxed and comfortable environment. We plan on going back soon and making the Inn part of a new routine.


Business trip in SoCal

4,0 en abril 25, 2014

Very nice and you couldn't ask to be any closer to the beach and boardwalk. Very accommodating staff and genuinely concerned about making sure you are taking care of.


Romantic Getaway

3,8 en abril 06, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Rooms are quaint and romantic. Staff is very nice. Good breakfast. Pricey, but nice.


The best location on Newport Beach

5 en marzo 11, 2014

This was a great place to stay. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was scrumptious and it was close to all the things that Newport Beach has to offer - surfing, running, the pier and restaurants.


Wonderful Hotel

4,4 en marzo 10, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary here. We were blessed that it was raining this weekend so we got maximum use out of the room ;)


Birthday night

3,8 en marzo 01, 2014

Had stayed at this lovely establishment 27 years ago for our honeymoon and never thought it could be better but it actually was! The lady that greeted us upon arrival in the evening was so polite, kind and helpful! We had room #4 and it was so delightful to have this 2 story suite for such an evening- way better than the photo shown! We love the marble step down bath/showers with the beautiful details on the faucets and the fact that they include bubble bath is a treat! I did read the reviews about the noise so I was glad to know that ahead of time and bring our own music to offset the bar noise so it wasn't an issue at all. We had such a relaxing evening and was delighted that our room had a door out to the breakfast patio. The continental breakfast was mostly as expected, with the little quiches being a nice touch! The reviews had said that it was hard to get service during the breakfast hour so I was prepared for that and was able to hunt someone down to put a new pot of coffee on when it was out and they were pleasant. Nice to have option of indoor or outdoor seating. The location is so great as we took a long walk on the beach after breakfast. I would love to stay 2 nights next time and would like to return and I highly recommend this B&B. Is so nice that they have their own private parking lot as well!


Nice location on water but too loud

3,2 en febrero 12, 2014

We wanted to stay close to Newport Beach as most of the activities for the weekend were in the area. Other hotels required a two-night minimum stay so we settled for a B&B. Unfortunately, we didn't sleep well due to rowdy people staying out and yelling in the parking lot from Saturday night until 3AM on Sunday.


Great location and comfortable

3,4 en enero 31, 2014

It's literally right across from a small market off the beach where the dorymen sell their morning's catch, so not exactly serene in the early hours. Beautiful view and the place has real character.


Always thre best...

5 en enero 24, 2014

This a one of the places we go to that is 40 miles from home that we never tire of. The Inn is well taken care of, you get personal service, and the restaurant 21 Oceanfront has the best sunset view of any place in So. Cal., not to mention the wonderful food and service there. I highly recommend both the restaurant and the Inn...


Doryman's Oceanfront Inn

3,0 en enero 09, 2014

Nice cozy room. The fireplace was a nice touch. The decor transports you back to Victorian Era. However the bed mattress is too firm for us. And boy the pillows needs changing because its old and worn. Disappointed with breakfast because only offered a one dish "quiche", cereal and juice and coffee. :-(. Note: the outstanding dining rate reflected in this review was meant for the 21 Oceanfront located just below and around the corner.


Perfect Location Perfect Evening

5 en enero 09, 2014

It was our first night our in California and we wanted a great place by the beach and we found it! This Doryman's inn was truly a great experience. From check in to check out everything ran very smoothly. Please recognize the location of some of the rooms are located facing the beach. However, this includes the Newport Beach public parking lot. At times you might hear some noise from the outside, however it is not so much that it will ruin your evening or keep you awake. Parking is free, food, shopping, pier and beach are footsteps away! If we can get the hotel at the price we recently got it for we will be back ASAP! Enjoy your stay and have a great stay!


My girl loved everything.

5 en diciembre 22, 2013

The perfect getaway in the perfect spot. Walk everywhere romance is in the air


A Wonderful Getaway

4,4 en diciembre 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I always enjoy staying at the Doryman's Inn. It's relaxing and romantic. It always recharges our batteries.


Weekend stay

3,2 en diciembre 17, 2013

Very comfortable,large room. "Extended" continental breakfast very ordinary. HBO or something other than basic cable would a nice addition.


Cute place

2,4 en diciembre 15, 2013

Dorymans Inn is very cute...room was very cozy and nice looking. Here are some butts, there was some kind of stain up in the bathroom cealing by the entrance door, looked like blood spray...made us wonder if perhaps someone got hurt or killed in there. Also, there was no warning whatsoever about how loud the next door bar was... They kept us up til about 3am... We LATER in the morning noticed a little frame that had a note saying to ask the front desk for earplugs! I think we should have been told prior to our stay. Overall, I don't think we would come back.


GREAT STAY

5 en diciembre 13, 2013

HADN'T BEEN IN 15 YEARS, WEN'T FOR OUR 43 ANNIVERSARY..IT WAS AS WE REMEMBERED...PERFECT


wonderfully detailed both inside and out.

5 en diciembre 11, 2013

The whole experience was smooth from booking to check in to dinner reservations. Room 1 had gorgeous views and we loved the decor!


Feigelson Wedding Fun

5 en noviembre 25, 2013

I could not truly rate dining as I did not visit the restaurant on this visit but have heard wonderful things about the restaurant below. The provided continental breakfast nothing to rave about but most breakfast that doesn't come freshly prepared off a menu isn't expected to knock your socks off in my opinion. Otherwise all accommodations were lovely!


Great times at the Doryman's

4,6 en noviembre 19, 2013

We had room #2....fantastic view of the pier and the beach. Everyone at the Doryman was happy and helpful ! we will be back.


Second Stay

4,6 en noviembre 18, 2013

Stayed at Doryman's for an anniversary and it was wonderfull. Rooms are very clean, bright and decorated to the 9's. Had the dinner package at Ocean's 21. What a meal and what a night. Highly recommend a stay here.


Location and Decoration

5 en noviembre 04, 2013

Wonderful location. Sumptuous room. Unique and most enjoyable.


Romantic Getaway

4,0 en octubre 31, 2013

We had a great nights stay in Room 6 and a wonderful dinner at 21 Oceanfront. We received a package stay as a gift. Loved the romantic room decor and enjoyed the fireplace all night long. The pillows are not very conformtable and need to be replaced. However, breakfast was very good, quiche, fruit, yogurt, bagels, etc. I would definately to stay again and suggest to others. We also had dinner in the


wonderful view, good value for money

3,4 en octubre 23, 2013

This is a fantastically located little hotel where you get good value for your money


Very hapoy!

4,4 en octubre 22, 2013

The staff were great, the rooms were great! The only disapointment was the breakfast. I just thought it was lacking.


getaway

5 en octubre 07, 2013

My, sister and I have come twice to stay a night at your lovely place. We love it and will come back. WE both love antiques, and quaint beautiful settings. We love it there, and the ocean, the town, but mostly your lovely hotel. Thanks, and we'll be back


Great quick trip to Newport

3,6 en octubre 07, 2013

We decided to try the Doryman's Special dinner and room package. The hotel is right on the beach so we could see and hear the ocean. Our room was very cute with an antique look. Dinner at 21 Ocean never disappoints - service and food is outstanding. Couple of recommendations - Rooms 1,3 probably have a better chance of being quiet - because no one can park under them. We were awakened at 3:00 AM by a group of kids hanging out at their car and carrying on. Window block most of the noise. Still - a quaint and charming hotel and great food. Perfect for a romantic getaway.


Lovely B & B

5 en octubre 07, 2013

B. Harrelson


Fantastic

5 en septiembre 21, 2013

It was a fantastic stay and the front desk was absolutely wonderful. I will be staying there again.


Des Moines, IA

4,6 en septiembre 04, 2013

Very romantic, out of the ordinary


Wonderful find.

4,8 en agosto 31, 2013

The price is steep, but it's Balboa. Having a hassle-free parking spot is worth $50. If you like Balboa, it's a great place to stay.


Perfect Location

4,0 en agosto 14, 2013

Great room and great location. The best on the peninsula!


Great Anniversary Place

4,4 en agosto 14, 2013

We celebrated one of the decade anniversaries and the Doryman's Inn is a fabulous place with great appeal, ambiance, service and location in Newport Beach. Great area for dining, wining, beaching, local shopping and snacking. The Doryman's Inn is attached to the restaurant "21" that is superb with access to your room and a quaint patio for evening sipping and a quick breakfast (comp). We loved the experience and service. We will be back.


Outstanding time at Dorymans!

5 en agosto 03, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get a room very last minute. The price was surprisingly great (maybe a last minute cancellation that we were lucky to cash in on). THe entire stay was spectacular and more than we expected... we cannot wait to return!!


We love this place!

4,0 en julio 25, 2013

First stay and we were extremely happy with the experience. Great location with fun rooms and a roof top patio. Looking forward to another visit.


Awesome Location

4,2 en julio 25, 2013

If you in Newport to play .. then this is the spot you want , i cant say relaxation because i was in town to play. the people that were out having fun did not bother me.. but i did find it extremely convenient that hotel was across the street from the beach and just about everything else.. the room#5 are small but definitely clean and a nice classy feel to it. enjoyed the sound of the ocean every night and every morning ..


Mary's Sabbatical

4,8 en julio 20, 2013

Had issue with getting to the roof with the maintain person locking the gate.


Doryman's Oceanfront Inn - smack dab in the middle of the fun.

3,2 en julio 14, 2013

The beautifully decorated B&B, Doryman's Oceanfront Inn - where we stayed two nights in an ocean-view room - is right in the heart of the action of Newport Beach's Balboa Peninsula. This had its good points and not-so-good points for us. Good Point - Walking distance to excellent restaurants. Good Point - Walking distance to cool live music. Good Point - Walking distance to the beach and pier Not-so-good Point - Noisy late-night cruisers and party people on the street right below our windows made it difficult to sleep (and impossible to leave the windows open to enjoy the ocean breezes). Not-so-good Point - I know parking in the area is a premium, but... I think the Doryman should consider some other option than their current parking system where our car was buried 3 cars deep in a lot that resembled a life-size sliding tile puzzle (the cars being the tiles). The hard working attendant had to shuffle 6 cars to get ours out of the lot. Those are the main points of concern. The Doryman has a nice little spread for a continental breakfast. I'd suggest they add something for evening as well - like wine and cheese - or - tea and cookies. The Doryman is a lovely little place, and we might consider staying there again, but if we do, it sadly wouldn't be in an ocean-view room because of the late night noise.


One of the most memorable experiences of my life!!!

5 en mayo 27, 2013

The Doryman's has eleven beautiful rooms on the beach of Newport Beach CA. The rooms are on the second floor over the award winning 5 star restaurant Oceans 21. The rooms are beautifully decorated with Victorian furniture, fire places and sunken marble bathtubs. We had a "get a way" package that included an ocean facing room and dinner at Oceans 21 including a free bottle of champagne with dinner. (we had them put it in our room on ice while we were dining). The service from the people checking us in, to the waiters and chef and was impeccable. The food was to die for, the view stunning and needless to say, finishing the night in a sunken marble tub, a bottle of champagne and fireplace was..... well worth the price....... that's for our own review....... Thank you Doryman's... See you in September 2013...!!!!


A Hidden Newport Beach Treasure

4,2 en mayo 20, 2013

Pacific breezes blow through the ocean front rooms of 19th century luxury, a gas fireplace lights at a switch, and surf sounds are your lullaby after a sumptuous fill at the intimate 21 Oceanfront Restaurant (steps away through a private stair). This place is its own world, and surprisingly reasonable. If the noise of late night beach revelers disturbs you, the management supplies ear-plugs, or it's all in good fun. The bath is the size of a small swimming pool, large enough for four and romantic beyond all expectation for two.


Mini Staycation the best in OC

4,0 en mayo 14, 2013

Loved it stayed in Room 6 very very quiet and nice, no oceanview in this room but very quiet and the giant canopy bed is fantastic. Loved it, and the breakfast is great on the patio right outside the door!


Great weekend

4,4 en abril 29, 2013

Outstanding Inn for a great rate. Room are wonderful, with a lot of extras. The staff to the location was #1.


Short but Sweet

4,4 en abril 06, 2013

To be sure, our stay was short, 24 hours, but sweet. We attended a cruise wedding in the evening, preventing us from actually using the evening dining offer. Returning from the wedding event, we did enjoy walking on the boardwalk and finding a coffee/bakery for an evening snack. Breakfast on the veranda was particularly enjoyable and the staff was very accommodating, when available. The room was wonderful. although, be mindful if you are a sports fan...the cable offering is extremely limited and not wifi offered. Price value was good for us, although, we did book during the off-time. Not sure what prime-time value will feel like. Thank you, Doryman's for a short but sweet visit.


Birthday stay

5 en marzo 30, 2013

What a darling place to stay, and to have dinner at 21 Oceanfront restaurant, wonderful! Close to home but a great place to celebrate that special day. Can't wait to go back!!


The place to stay in Newport Beach!

5 en marzo 27, 2013

I have stayed at Doryman's many times throughout the last few years and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Newport. The staff is friendly and accomodating, the rooms are beautiful and the location is right in the middle of all the action! The bonus is the convenient parking - can't get it anywhere else! Thanks Doryman's - until next time!


Very Romantic

4,4 en marzo 10, 2013

With a couple of minor exceptions my stay at the Doryman was very satisfying. The room was very comfortable and the assistance of staff was outstanding. Once brought to their attention all of our needs were taken care of. We will be back to share in the excellent accommodations and breakfast. Thank you Doryman's Inn staff for making our visit great.


perfect location

4,6 en marzo 10, 2013

Great location. But very noisy. The noise level was to be expected considering its surrounded by bars. So if your looking for a quiet hotel this one is not for you. But if u want nice rooms in the perfect location than u would love this hotel. Value was also excellent for being right on the ocean.


Honeymoon at the Doryman's Inn

3,0 en febrero 27, 2013

The room was lovely unfortunately it was very noisy outside with the parking lot and beach bustle right out the windows. The front desk was unmanned most of the time. Everyone was very nice, but you had to go hunting people down - they seem understaffed. The 'breakfast" was nice, although I had hoped for a little more variety, the quiche was delicious!


Fun place

4,0 en febrero 27, 2013

Enjoy the nude paintings!


Brief Vacation

5 en febrero 20, 2013

Friendly, Available, Restful


Highly recommend for a little romance in your life

4,8 en diciembre 17, 2012

This is our 4th visit over the years and we have enjoyed each and every one. It's a bit pricey, but the experience is well worth it. Certainly not a "cookie cutter". If possible, stay in Rooms 1, 2 or 3 for the best ocean view in Newport Beach. Our favorite feature: the intimate patio breakfast nook. We plan on returning over and over and over.....


Great stay

3,8 en octubre 16, 2012

Great hotel. Had a wonderful time. However the reservation process was a little awkward. Overall it was a great experience. Required to entire a dining score to complete the review however we didn't dine there so I really can't say.


Great location, breakfast not so great!

3,2 en septiembre 19, 2012

Location, location, location. Pricey for what you get but extremely convenient to the beach. Breakfast was subpar for such a nice place. Store bought English Muffins. Web-site boasts the adjoining restaurant owned by Doryman has a pastry chef but not ONE pasrty offered for breakfast. 21 Oceanfront restaurant was fabulous for drinks and appetizers. Very classy.


Great place

5 en agosto 29, 2012

Room was spacious and very comfortable. It is a bit loud in the mid morning if you are a light sleeper, but that is expected when you are staying literally on the boardwalk next to the beach.


beach bum

4,2 en agosto 20, 2012

This was an awesome stay if you want to be right on the ocean. There was allot going on because it is right on the boardwalk overlooking the Newport beach pier and there was allot going on until 1 or 2 in the am. So with the windows open you are above allot of hustle and bustle most of the time but I thought it was kind of cool being right in the mist of all the action plus have a nice little private retreat. The rooms were very charming. It had an antique feel to it. I highly recommend room number one because a had a beautiful view of the sunset and sunrise from our quarters.


Wonderful getaway

4,2 en agosto 06, 2012

I live locally and just needed a quick getaway. Doryman's Inn was wonderful and gave me a chance to recharge my battery and still be able to go to work.


Our Getaway

4,8 en agosto 03, 2012

Since I don't eat eggs, breakfast was a little sparse for me. Otherwise, everything was great, including Oceanfront 21. This was our fourth stay.


Excellent place for honeymoon and romantic getaways

5 en julio 31, 2012

The staff was super friendly, the rooms have a spectacular view of the ocean, it was a little noisy at night because of the bars nearby but the stay there was amazing ajd worth it.


Paradise across the street from ocean....absolutely wonderful

4,2 en julio 23, 2012

Staff was so helpful and bed was like sleeping on a cloud and the view out window was superb...


We loved this place and will be back!

4,8 en julio 11, 2012

We felt very at home and loved the look and feel of The Dooryman Inn. It is in the perfect location too.


One Night at Doryman's Inn

3,6 en junio 18, 2012

As my wife and I were travelng to Orange County for a family reunion and staying only 4 days, we wanted to get away for one night. I chose the Doryman's Inn because of it's different atmosphere for the locale. We didn't want to stay at a commercial hotel. The pictures of the rooms are exactly what you get at the Doryman's Inn. From the moment you turn out of the elevator to the small lobby, you get the feeling of going back in time for a moment. The quaint Victorian, old style, rooms were something I knew my wife would like. Adorned with old late 1800's style furnishings from the wall paper to the furniture to the bed coverings. She had visions of a commercial type room and hotel near the beach, but was totally taken aback whenwe arrived. The Doryman's is very conveniently located to the Newport Pier (across the street) and some of the local shopping. the weather was excellent as we laid out on the beach the afternoon of arrival and evening stroll along the beach after dinner. The combined restaurant, 21 OceanFront, has excellent food although a little bit pricey. Expect to spend about $200 if you are having drinks or wine with your meal. But it was a fine dining experience. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Helpfully informing you of the local businesses and attractions. The Doryman's Inn has a nice sun deck on the roof and a small but spacious patio area on the 2nd floor to sit and enjoy a cool drink and people watch as they mull through the square. A continental style breakfast was available the next morning up at the deck which we again enjoyed and then took a stroll down the pier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Room 7, it has a view of the beach and Newport Pier with 2 windows looking to the west. If you are planning to get away for a romantic change of pace, I recommend the Doryman's Inn at Newport Beach. A total transformation when you are in the facility. Greg & Teri Canyon Lake, Texas


Back After 22 years

3,6 en junio 13, 2012

I proposed in Room #2 22 years ago. We stayed in Room #8. Lovely room. However, the outside noise was simply impossible (people drunk and very loud all night). The food at the adjacent restaurant was very good - but the service was unacceptable. Our ticket was lost in a large party and it took far too long to eat. The manager took the appetizers off the bill, but even then, far too long.


Great bb

3,8 en junio 06, 2012

My room was very nice, clean and a great king bed, also had gas heating and a large shower. In a great location , If you need to stay in the area I definitely recommend staying there. Baz syd


dorymans inn

5 en mayo 27, 2012

I stayed at the dorymans inn 25 years ago with two of my girlfriends sho have since died. I wanted to go back to the place that brought me so many fun memoris. It was a perfect stay! The weather couldn't have been nice, I had a ocean view and loved it.


Very Romantic and Charming B&B

4,8 en abril 18, 2012

Doryman's Inn was an exceptional Bed and Breakfast, It is close to the beach and the shops while still offering a quite charming night if wanted. It was the first time my fiance and I had visited and we look foreward to coming back and making it our retreat for relaxation. Its definately going to be our future anniversary stays for many years to come! Absolutely LOVE the place!!!!!!!!!!!


Who cares about a little noise below

4,6 en marzo 30, 2012

OMG! This place is the BOMB, and I am from the OC and live in another beach city already. My sister and I were planning a very last minute let's get out of town or get away for the weekend but where...? We'll as a former concierge I can tell you this is best place in town. Its cozy staff is great MaryAnn or Miriam (can’t remember the exact spelling of her name) who greets you at the front and the rest of staff are TOP NOTCH!! And room service direct from the restaurant what more can you ask for!?! Ok so.. there might bit a little noise on the weekends, but the NB police are always quick to response to disturbances and they go away. I would highly recommend this place to anymore and the Bellagio is the BEST ROOM!


Absolutely Delightful!!!

4,8 en marzo 27, 2012

My wife and I recently decided to get away for the weekend and we chose the Doryman's Oceanfront Inn in Newport Beach. We stayed in one of the king oceanfront rooms and it was amazing. The staff was courteous and professional tended to all of our needs. We dined at 21 Oceanfront Restaurant which is located below the inn. Our dinner was awesome and we had our dessert delivered to the room afterwards. We will definitely be back..hopefully sooner than later.


Noise from outside spoiled a great room in a great location

3,6 en febrero 05, 2012

We've stayed at this B&B several times over the past 12 years. Unfortunately, this last stay will probably be our last. Nice people, fantastic rooms in a premium location, but the noise from the local party people disrupted each of the three nights we were there. Not sure how this can be solved - it would be very expensive to sound-proof the rooms. So, unless we decide to party into the wee hours ourselves, we probably won't be back. Too bad because its a wonderful place.


Doryman's Oceanfront Inn

3,8 en enero 25, 2012

Very satisfied!!! Didn't eat here. Service was great! However, when I asked to have come ice cubes, the front desk kept telling me they're coming, but they never came....


Great place to get away in Orange County!

4,0 en enero 23, 2012

The Dormyman's Inn has rooms that will take you out of OC and into another era with some of its Victorian era rooms while providing a beautiful place to walk outside and enjoy the beautiful beach front.


Great overnight!

4,6 en enero 01, 2012

This is a delightful inn that I come to every year to regenerate. Quiet and vert comfortable. Excellent location to wonderful food And beautiful, inspiring beach.


Outstanding

5 en noviembre 17, 2011

Great service and location


Doryman's and 21 Ocenafront

3,2 en octubre 26, 2011

I wanted to like Doryman's more, however, it is just too noisey with all the bars around the inn. If I were up for party'ing down near the pear and then staying here. It would be great. Some of the plumbing fixtures need to be cleaned of calcification. Breakfast was nice. Staff was very nice. Room was nice except for what I mentioned. The restaurant connected to the inn (21 Oceanfront) was amazing. Hotel would be 4 stars if they would soundproof a little better, and have better upkeep on little things like the in room bar faucet etc.


A great night

4,0 en octubre 03, 2011

Great night. We stayed in room 7 and loved it. The 24hr donut shop kept us full and all the choices of eateries were awesome. Definitely recommend it if you can afford it.


wonderful experience

3,2 en agosto 26, 2011

I was pleased that the room rate included parking and continental breakfast. Also, the rooftop patio was a nice surprise that we enjoyed. The inn is in a great, central location surrounded by the ocean, pier, bars and restaurants. We wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit.


Enjoyed our night at the beach.

3,8 en agosto 03, 2011

During our recent trip to California, my husband and I were planning a week of being gypsies by staying at various locations in the beach area of Orange County. When our night to spend at Newport Beach arrived we were very pleased with the friendly staff; clean and well decorated rooms and the ocean breeze blowing in through the windows was an excellant way to spend the night on Newport. We had booked the weekend getaway package and which also included dinner in the Ocean's 21 resturant downstairs. Our stay was one that we will remember and recommend the Doryman B and B to anyone who wants to have a lovely time and special experience on the beach.


Love the Doryman!!

5 en agosto 02, 2011

My husband and I love staying at the Doryman. We are a younger couple that likes to enjoy the ocean as well as the night life Newport Beach has to offer. Staying at the Doryman allows us to enjoy just that! We highly recommend staying here! Dont forget that you can also have amazing food downstairs at 21 Oceanfront. They have the best service and food in Newport! :) Thank you to the Doryman for always making our stay with you amazing!


Doryman

4,0 en julio 20, 2011

We loved our room it was very quaint. We had a great ocean view and easy access to everything around us. There was not a whole lot of service not really anyone around but us most of the time but that was not a bad thing. It was very peaceful and the people very friendly when they were around. It was the first time I have ever spent that much money to spend the night anywhere. But for a special occassion I would do it again. Thanks Doryman for a memoriable day. The Gann's


Great Location....

4,2 en julio 19, 2011

I stayed in a one bed with an ocean view. It was a great location and the staff was really helpful.


Would Go Back Despite Snags

3,8 en junio 22, 2011

Very beautiful place indeed. The room was beautiful also, however we noticed right away that the bathroom sink leaked around the bottom, making a puddle on the floor. We felt that was unacceptable and asked to be moved to another room. All rooms were booked. My husband asked for a reduced rate and the desk clerk said she would check into it. She placed a towel around the base of the sink. We went for dinner at Oceanfront 21, downstairs, which was exceptional, and when we came back the towel pretty much resolved the water issue. STILL not cool for such an expensive night, but it was ok. Just as other reviewers stated, noisy, drunken revelers outside made it impossible to get a good night's sleep without ear plugs, which we had wisely brought along! Breakfast was delightful (self-serve) and beautifully presented. All employees were gracious and helpful. No further mention was made of any reduced rate because of the leak at the base of the sink but we decided not to push the issue when we checked out. All in all, as long as you know ahead of time about the noise and are prepared, it's a very nice place. We would go back, for sure.


50th birthday weekend

4,8 en mayo 27, 2011

We really enjoyed our weekend. Everything was very nice in the room and the service/employees were all very helpful. We stayed in room 3 and it was very nice. We will definately be coming back.


Dorymans Bed and Breakfast

4,2 en mayo 19, 2011

My room was somewhat on the small side, but was quite nicely appointed and had a beautiful ocean view. Our dinner at Ocean 21 restaurant was superb and we had a window table with a beautiful view of the sun setting over the Pacific. While the food was excellent, the restaurant over all was quite expensive and, in my opinion, over priced relative to comparable restaurants in the area. However, we bought the package deal which included an ocean front room, overnight parking, a bottle of champaign, and a $132.00 voucher toward dinner for a total of $349.00 plus tax, which, considering the quality of the room and cuisine, was, I think, an excellent value. Additionally they have a happy hour, served in the bar area, with 50% off on appetizers, which one could make a meal on. Also the staff was very courteous and helpful. I highly recommend both the inn and restaurant and plan a return visit. Benjamin B. LeCompte, III.


Great re-energizing week-end

4,2 en mayo 01, 2011

This is the one place that we go that we know when we leave we will be completely rested and regenerated. It is such a calming atmosphere and there are some many beautiful places to see within walking distance. We love to park our vehicle when we arrive and never get back in it until it is time to leave to go home. It is our favorite place on the west coast. Our grown children don't call us when we have our special weekends at the Doryman. It is the only time in 32 years of marriage that is our time and our place exclusively. We will be returning for many years to come. Nothing like falling asleep to the sound of the ocean when you live in the Nevada desert.


Doryman's Stay

4,6 en abril 08, 2011

The room was amazing as well as the service at the Inn. The meal at 21 Oceanfront was good but a bit over priced even with the coupon. Overall we had a wonderful time. We live only a few miles from Newport Beach and would recommend the Bed and Breakfast to friends and family.


Nice but noisy

2,4 en marzo 29, 2011

The Doryman's Inn is an unsuccessful attempt at something special in Newport Beach. The rooms in general are pretty and well decorated with lots of woodwork, antique-looking furniture, and repros of paintings (though some of the nudes are low class brodello quality - not exactly Titian!). The staff were largely friendly and helpful. However, it is a noisy place. On the oceanfront side, the rooms face the parking lot and then the beach behind. At night, you can hear the cars, patrons from the restaurant below the rooms, and revelers as this is an active night life area. Further, the thump of the bass at Sharkeez (a pub) across the street is constant until 2 a.m. Worse still are rooms on on the patio side. Not only can you hear the blare of music and constant thumping of Sharkeez' bass, there is a lot of street noise until well after 2 a.m. The Doryman's patio is available for use until late, and the patio-facing rooms get to hear the people right outside their windows and the clanking and scraping of the metal chairs on the patio deck. The net result is that it is rather difficult to have much of a break while staying at the Doryman's Inn. All the Architectural Digest-like furnishings in the world cannot make up for the noisiness of the environment. In our particular stay, the above problems were compounded by the presence of a film crew during the weekend. The Inn gave us no warning that there would be a film shoot, and the crew members were noisy and unpleasant. Overall, the Doryman's Inn strikes us as a nice attempt but ultimately a place to pass on. While there are few decent places to stay on the Balboa Peninsular, it does not seem worth the price ($199 to over $300) per night to stay there amid the racket.


A step back in time

4,4 en marzo 29, 2011

We had a great stay in room one. Wonderfully decorated, very clean, amazing view. The downside was a squeaky, too soft bed. Would stay again!!


What a great find!

5 en marzo 16, 2011

This was the cutest place with the best views of the ocean. The staff (especially Andrea) were so nice and helpful. We will definitely stay here again!


great!

5 en marzo 09, 2011

We stay here every March. We love it. It is always wonderful.


lovely, but also disappointing

3,0 en febrero 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I went down to Newport Beach for a romantic overnight stay. The room we stayed in was small but had a lot of ambience. The bed was comfortable as was promised, but the pillows were below average: flat, thin, and not at all high quality. The shower was also extremely disappointing...so glad I chose not to wash my long hair, because there wouldn't have been enough water pressure to ever rinse the shampoo out. Otherwise, everything else including the service and the breakfast (although skimpy) was nice. It was still a restful getaway, but not sure if I would return.


What a find!

5 en febrero 09, 2011

The Doryman's Oceanfront Inn was the most pleasant B&B stay we have ever had. The location is perfect, right on the beach and the Newport Pier. The rooms were nicely appointed and the beds were extremely comfortable. The oceanfront view was breathtaking at sunset and it was just fun to watch the activity on the beach and pier from our window during the day. The front desk help could not have been more wonderful. They were helpful with recommendations places to dine, made our reservations for 21 Oceanfront Restaurant and even brought us late night coffee on a tray with a rose. The breakfast they provided was delicious and beautifully displaced. We stayed three nights and will return for another stay when we are in the area.


Jewel of the Nile

4,6 en febrero 09, 2011

this B&B was a pleasure to stay at. Laid back as a B&B should be, room was exceptional, quiet, large well appointed with a deep jacuzzi and seperate shower and bathroom. The restaurant of same owner is 1st class. Large selection of fresh seafood, excellent wine list, very professional staff with bartenders that are great cocktail makers. Bar room had very good live entertainment. Only mini complaint would be the WIFI was not working on my side of building. So, i had to walk to breakfast nook to get internet connection.Struggled with the sun and my fresh coffee. I will go back anduse the doryman as a base for my next trip to SoCal.


January 2011

4,6 en febrero 06, 2011

Outstanding location to get the most out of a stay in Newport Beach!


stay at Doryman's

3,0 en febrero 03, 2011

We arrived Saturday night and left Sunday morning. The only thing that was disturbing was the noise on the front street at 1:30 a.m. on Sunday morning.


Not as good as last time

2,6 en enero 15, 2011

A beautiful location with very pretty rooms with ocean views. The staff was friendly and helpful but seldom around. Usually, there was a sign that to get help, you needed to go downstairs to the restaurant. There was no maid service after my first night. After I left a note, they cleaned the room for the other two days. Also, the windows were not clean - too bad with such a beautiful view. The restaurant is nice but way overpriced. This was a business trip. My wife and I stayed there once before and had a very good experience. I decided to try it again. It was O.K. but certainly not spectacular. I would probably stay there again because of the location and the nice rooms but I wouldn't go out of my way to do so.


Christmas away from home....

4,2 en diciembre 30, 2010

Great place to stay. Staff was wonderful. Location was great. Rooms very comfortable and very nicely decorated. As a "home away from home" for Christmas, it exceeded expectations.


GREAT EXPERIENCE

4,2 en diciembre 20, 2010

My stay was very pleasant! Even with the rainy weather, I enjoyed the location with its ocean, pier, pubs, and staff. The staff was so pleasant and helpful in informing me on various places of interest near the area. Loved the room...the shower water pressure was fantastic, by the way! My only negative would be the parking situation. I can live with the 200 foot walk, even in the rain...but those parking spaces are TIGHT. AND, half the time someone from the adjacent pub was parked in my parking space. I hope to experience the breakfast/dining the next time I stay.


Nice Getaway!

3,8 en diciembre 01, 2010

Very nice quaint old Hotel converted to B&B. Great for taking a romantic escape, right across from Newport Pier, and famous Crab Cooker restaurant. An easy bike ride to Balboa Island shopping. Nicely decorated, clean rooms. Only negative, was from the street noise outside, bars and pubs close by. Recommend this one more for couples, not so much for kids and families


Absolutely Amazing!

5 en noviembre 25, 2010

We stayed at the Doryman's Inn for our anniversary last weekend and purchased the overnight package. From the moment we checked in, the staff was professional and welcoming. Our oceanfront room was beautifully decorated with victorian flair. We dined at 21 Oceanfront Restaurant, located just below the inn. What an incredible dinner and weekend. We will be back!


Fabulous Location- Good Value--but beds not great

4,0 en noviembre 12, 2010

The Doryman's location, right on the waterfront, across from the Newport Pier, can't be beat. The ocean view from even our modest room was stunning. The Inn's website is clear that the location is "lively" especially in the evenings, so those looking for a quiet retreat should go elsewhere. We loved it. The rooms are charming, finished in brick, oak and brass, with period furnishings. Love the old-fashioned elevator from the tiny, yet elegant lobby-- and the secret passageway back down, complete with hidden door! Service was friendly and competent, and there is a five-star restaurant right on site on the first floor. Our single complaint is the bed-- squeakly, lumpy, and sunken in the middle. When even the moderate chain hotel/motels are investing in premium bedding, its time to get with the program! C'mon guys- it is a BED and Breakfast...the bed should be job one! Which reminds me, the breakfast, while served in a cute rooftop patio, is nothing to write home about--muffins, toast, and mini-quiches-- ho hum. Still, the charm and location of this place go a long way. A good value for the money.


Great Getaway!

5 en noviembre 11, 2010

This is my favorite place to stay in Newport! The rooms are beautiful, the location is phenomenal, and the staff is friendly and helpful! I have tried other places in the area, but nothing really compares to Doryman's Inn. I strongly recommend this B&B to everyone!


Family Vacation

4,6 en octubre 25, 2010

The staff at Dorymans was amazing. We can't wait to stay there again!


Wonderful!

5 en octubre 24, 2010

Our stay at the Doryman's Oceanfront Inn was absolutely wonderful! The location is great! The staff was friendly and professional! The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable! Without a doubt, I will stay here again!


October 2010

4,6 en octubre 22, 2010

Great location able to listen to the waves on the beach. Very comfortable and the staff were exceptionally helpful.


Awesome

5 en octubre 11, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights, 3 days and it was awesome. Relaxing to hear the waves crashing, flat screen tv to watch and the fireplace to warm up with. Have wanted to stay here for a long time....well worth the wait.


Good for the Location

3,6 en septiembre 29, 2010

The Good: The location was the best aspect of my stay at the Doryman’s inn. I celebrated my birthday at Sharkeez with some friends and we partied all night. The best part was that I didn’t have to worry about driving at all. After everyone had left my boyfriend and I walked across the parking lot and crashed at the Doryman’s Inn:) The room was very romantic; we really enjoyed the huge marble bath tub/ shower combo. The Bad: I thought the room was a little small compared to the picture on their website, we stayed in room 5 and I saw a few pincher bugs in the room which was very disappointing. The breakfast was more of a continental breakfast, but I still thought it was good. The other thing that I didn’t like was that they advertised the room as one price and then charged my card for another. They should inform their guests of all of the final taxes, fees, and what not before they book the room.


very cozy

5 en agosto 27, 2010

The room was nice and the view from the adjacent balcony was amazing. Everything was within walking distance. The continental breakfast was very fresh. The managers even went out of their way to bring our dinner up to the balcony with a view of the ocean, it was perfect. We will be back many more times.


Doryman's Oceanfront Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $199 - $399
  • Comentarios (109) 4,3
  • Habitaciones 11

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-9496757300
  • Fax 1-9496732101
  • Sin cargo
    1-9496757300

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba