The Gingerbread Mansion Inn Comentarios

TOTAL

4,6

Ver detalles

  • Habitación
    4,8
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,3
  • Limpieza4,7
  • Comidas4,4

Puntuación basada en
98 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

One night in Ferndale...

4,4 en septiembre 22, 2016

On a rather murky Tuesday afternoon in Northern California, the outlook brightened considerably upon our arrival at this delightful Victorian Inn. Greeted by the lovely housekeeper, whose name escapes me at this time, we were duly shown to our room; the Veneto. Only one word is really needed to describe this room...wow... Catching glimpses of the other rooms, ours was obviously not a one-off - the quality of decor and attention to both finish and detail is truly outstanding (museums and stately homes could do well to visit the Gingerbread Mansion for tips on how to 'do it' properly) The daily Cheese & Wine reception, prior to walking out into town for a pleasant dinner at a local restaurant, was a nice touch and the perfect opportunity to sample delicious Humboldt County wines. After our meal, retiring to our Venetian-inspired fantasy room ushered-in a sound and extremely comfortable nights’ sleep. Rising to a chilly morning, breakfast beckoned; sitting with our fellow guests over Frittata, Fruit & Toast – a fine way to prepare us for our next days’ driving tour in the States. All in all, we could not fault any aspect of this establishment; full marks for presentation, style and of course, charm.


Labor Day Weekend

5 en septiembre 19, 2016

The Gingerbread Mansion and staff provided a wonderful and enchanting getaway for my husband and I. The decor was beautifully done and the food was excellent.


On the coast

5 en agosto 31, 2016

This was a great find. We came over the mountains for a respite from the heat of Redding. The service was impeccable and the evening tea in the garden with wine and snacks really started the stay off well. Rooms were gorgeous and the staff was fantastic. Breakfast (included) was terrific! We had a delightful stay.


Lovely setting!

4,2 en agosto 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful mansion. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. Only wish we had more time to spend there!


Romantic Getaway

4,8 en agosto 24, 2016

We had been to Ferndale several times and had decided to make plans to stay in the gingerbread mansion for our 35 wedding anniversary.It was great!


AWESOME BED AND BREAKFAST

5 en agosto 22, 2016

This was my Grandchildren's first experience in a bed and breakfast. I do believe it will be a memorable experience. Cathy was great and spooked them with her ghost story. Highly recommend.


Wonderful B&B

4,8 en agosto 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived late and they were attentive to getting us settled in despite the late hour. Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty!


Romantic, beautiful, delicsious and fun.

4,8 en agosto 11, 2016

Best B and B in northern California.


The Place to Stay at in Ferndale!

4,6 en agosto 09, 2016

We stayed in one of the first floor bedrooms and thoroughly enjoyed the accommodations along with the social time with fellow travelers.


Just what we hoped for

4,0 en agosto 05, 2016

We spent a good portion of the day seeing the sights from Mendocino to Fernwood so by the time we reached the inn, we were ready for a little pampering and that's just what we got. Although we arrived just after the tea and wine social hour, the hostess allowed us to put together a plate of treats and pour a glass. We were even encouraged to snoop around the grand house (what a layout! nicely appointed and the top floor room is a sight for the eyes!). Not being able to decide on the two local restaurants that were recommended, we brought a local pizza back to our room, to take advantage of the private patio we had. Hostess turned down our bed and left heart-shaped chocolates behind. Room was quiet and bed comfortable for sleeping. Nice amenities in the bathroom. Breakfast is in the lovely dining room at a choice of tables. Waitstaff is attentive; food above average. One of the baked goods was slightly burnt, but overall, food was plentiful and tasty. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.


Pacific Northwest Trip

4,0 en agosto 02, 2016

We loved our stay at Gingerbread Mansion and we would definitely return. Ferndale is a lovely, quaint little town and we enjoyed our time there. When we arrived, Vicky was very kind. Showed us around, made dinner reservations for us and then we enjoyed some afternoon snacks and wine..lovely welcoming. The only complaint that we had was that the morning kitchen staff seemed harried and rushed and we didn't care for the main dishes as much as we have in other b & b's and we have been to many. The first morning was a runny type egg in a cream sauce...and the second morning was an overdone quiche. All of the other foods were delicious, but the main dishes were very disappointing.


Delightful

5 en julio 28, 2016

From the outside, it looks like something from a fairy tale, and inside it doesn't disappoint either. This hotel is just charming, no other way to describe it. Checking in is a breeze, so easy in fact I can't remember doing anything. The staff are ultra friendly and helpful, and they had told us we could arrive early and get booked in at noon as we wanted to get changed for a wedding. On arrival, seeing how much we were impressed with the decor, they said if you see an open door, just go on in in and look around, which we did the rooms are just stunning (see our and their websites photos). The room was large and well appointed, with a clawfoot tub in the main area and a nice bathroom with walk-in-shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. The breakfast was very good as well, not a lot of choice, but very good. Oh, yes, I almost forgot, there is a free afternoon tea as well. Highly recommended, we hope to stay there again soon.


A comfortable journey back in time

5 en julio 26, 2016

Upon our arrival we were greeted and invited into the house and given a short tour. Our room, The Hideaway, was wonderful. The absolute best bed/mattress Ever ! Nice home cooked breakfast too.


Best Gingerbread you'll ever have

4,8 en julio 19, 2016

Fantastic mansion and lovely staff highly recommend staying in this lovely inn.


Absolutely Fabulous!

5 en julio 06, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for r & r. We couldn't have made a better choice. The surrounding town is as charming and beautiful as the Mansion.


A Dream Come True

5 en julio 01, 2016

I had always dreamed of staying in The Gingerbread Mansion Inn, My dream came true on June 27! We stayed in the Lilac Room, a Beautifully decorated, Light and Purple room. The Bed was so comfortable, the Clawfoot Tub, soothing, the Stained glass window above the Tub, softly lit from the sunset, was gorgeous! The Food was so excellent, served with such a gentle smile, every moment in the Gingerbread Mansion Inn was Glorious, Thank you so much!


2 nights

4,6 en junio 22, 2016

Have stayed before and this continued to impress.


Wonderful stay

4,8 en junio 15, 2016

We had a wonderful stay. Quite, lovely setting, great town.


Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

5 en junio 06, 2016

Worth every cent of the cost! We truly enjoyed every minute of our stay, and poking our heads into the rooms that were not occupied at the time to check out which room we would like to return to next time.


Victorian Sweet

5 en mayo 12, 2016

The entire experience at Gingerbread Mansion was magical. It was like stepping back in time but with all the modern conveniences! We were greeted on arrival and given a tour of the common areas and our rooms. The room was beautifully decorated and spotless. Handmade chocolate hearts on our bedside table were there to greet us. Fresh home baked cookies and fruit were in the parlor. Breakfast was served at the time we chose, a delicious croissant sandwich with ham and eggs, fruits, juice and an assortment of pastries. The grounds were well kept and the gardens were a treasure. We would absolutely enjoy a return to Frendale and the Gingerbread Mansion.


Wonderful Stay!

5 en mayo 01, 2016

We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer! Vicky made us feel right at home on our arrival and showed us around the mansion. The beds were comfy in the Hideaway room and Kelsey fixed us a fabulous breakfast in the morning! Be sure to check out the gardens out back, they are absolutely beautiful!


Great Stay

4,6 en abril 04, 2016

Easy and friendly check in even though we arrived fairly late. The room was as cute as could be and full of everything we needed. Plus the shower and provided soaps were fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and filling. It wasn't the best food I've ever had but it was pretty great.


Simply Amazing

5 en marzo 28, 2016

My family and I found the Gingerbread mansion in a pamphlet, I was so excited to visit this place from the first time I saw the advertisement. Saying that my expectations were set very high. There was no disappointment, this place is amazing. The staff were all amazing and the food was delicious. The rooms were clean and very roomy. Our 10 year old daughter loved the place. The afternoon snacks were great and much needed after walking around their small town. The town is amazing, the churches and the cemetery are truly a site to see. Our family had the best time here and will be back. Thank you for such a great experience.


Two night stay at Gingerbread Mansion Inn

4,6 en marzo 10, 2016

My husband and I needed to unwind so we decided to drive up from the Bay Area and check out Ferndale. I saw the reviews for the Gingerbread Mansion on trip advisor so I booked it for 2 nights. We stayed in the Veneto room. It was perfect for us. It had lots of light and was plenty big. The bed was comfy and the temperature was perfect. The breakfast which Eugenia prepared every morning was absolutely delicious!


not enough time!

5 en febrero 26, 2016

This inn is a beautiful landmark! We stayed for only one night on our way to Trinidad. We drfinitely wish we had more time to enjoy the property, but we will be back.


Stay at the Gingerbread Mansion

4,0 en febrero 22, 2016

I wanted to rate this visit Outstanding but the survey would not allow it. My husband and I loved our stay at the Gingerbread house - the staff, the accommodations and the atmosphere! We already know which room we want to stay in next time!


Top Notch B&B

5 en enero 19, 2016

If you want a delightful stay in a beautiful high Victorian, the Gingerbread Mansion is the place! The atmosphere is delightful and the breakfasts are top shelf. All the staff were wonderful... and the rooms are just amazing. Downtown Ferndale is just a quick walk down the street and there is plenty to see in town with quick day trips to the coast, Eureka, etc. You'll love it!


Kicking Back at the Gingerbread!

5 en enero 03, 2016

My husband and I have wanted to stay at this beautiful high Victorian mansion since I discovered it while researching B&Bs. The home is exquisitely appointed and every room is a jewel. The staff are outstanding and the breakfasts are top notch. You'll enjoy delightful, handmade chocolates made by the hostess herself (who is also a great chef). We stayed in the Garden Room and the extravagant Empire Suite one night each. Both were charming! If you want a truly posh experience, The Gingerbread Mansion is the place to be. The town of Ferndale is also charming and there is much to see in easy walking distance from the B&B.


Anniversary Stay

5 en diciembre 10, 2015

We have stayed at many B&B's, but this place was special. From the rooms to the service everything was perfect! The town was so relaxing and people were so nice. My wife really enjoyed the shopping in down town. We will be returning! Paul D.


Charming and eccentric hotel

4,8 en noviembre 29, 2015

The Gingerbread Mansion is an experience not to be missed. The eccentric (in the best sense of the word) Victorian decor, the soft beds, the friendly and competent staff make this a great stay. This website requires one to rate the dinner, but the hotel doesn't have a restaurant. For meals, go to one of the nearby restaurants, the Vi is great.


Loved our stay in the Garden Room

5 en noviembre 28, 2015

We stayed two nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. The Garden Room was delightful. Beautiful views of the garden, a luxurious bath room with soaking tub, afternoon wine and terrific breakfasts. This was truly a treat and I'm sure we will be back.


Wonderful

4,8 en octubre 26, 2015

A great place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Wonderful homemade breakfast. We plan to return for a longer stay next time!!


This B&B is amazing!

5 en octubre 25, 2015

From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left, this place amazed us. I have given numerous friends the details so that they will stay here, too. Each room is outstanding - we took the time to look in each, and all were impressive. When roaming the B&B at night, the fires are lit and games are available. Our bed was incredibly comfortable with the best linens. Absolutely charming. I highly recommend this location.


Perfect stay in every way.

5 en octubre 19, 2015

We stayed one night in the Garden Room. We had french doors overlooking the garden and a private deck. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge. We arrived just in time for Happy Hour and were glad to see tea sandwiches and beverages including a most delicious local wine called Frog Alley. Eugenia was delightful and informative. The breakfast was made with local ingredients including biscuits and sausage gravy made with local sausage, A great meal to send us on our way. I would stay again anytime. Ferndale is a darling town and the Gingerbread Mansion Inn was the perfect place for an anniversary get away.


Wine trip

4,8 en octubre 13, 2015

Outstanding all around. Quiet town lost in time. We hope it never changes.


Sept 2015

5 en octubre 09, 2015

Good food, good conversation, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Doesn't get any better. Had a wonderful time. Sorry we couldn't stay longer.


Beautiful Victorian B&B in Ferndale

4,2 en octubre 03, 2015

We stayed just one night but wished it could be longer. Had the Hideaway room which is two stories. The main bedroom and upstairs a loft bedroom w dormer window. Beautifully decorated with antiques, Victorian decor and a small private balcony with seating. It would be a good room for a family or friends traveling together. The bathroom is small but very clean and a very good shower. Breakfast was lovely (though there is no ordering - it is what is being served that day. In our case very good French toast). There was wine, tea and light h'orderves in the evening. Ferndale is a great stopover off 101 with galleries, shops and several restaurants and is convenient to the Redwoods and the coast.


Amazing

5 en septiembre 30, 2015

Our stay in the Lilac room was great. The mansion itself is absolutely beautiful! We met very friendly couples that were also staying the night, had a very delicious breakfast, and a good nights sleep. I would love to stay again.


Great Breakfast!

4,0 en septiembre 26, 2015

The hostess Eugena was hospitable and friendly, greeting us upon our arrival. Wine and cheese was served from 4 PM to 6 PM - A very nice petite syrah. Breakfast was truly special- delicious quiche, collard greens and a wonderful coffee cake. The internet photos do not do justice to the elegance of the mansion and its rooms. We will return! For some reason I could not get the rating part to allow five stars. it is a five star B&B!


Unforgettable

3,6 en septiembre 24, 2015

I will stay again in GB Mansion anytime I'm back in Ferndale


One-nighter in Ferndale

4,4 en septiembre 14, 2015

We had an overnight stay at the Gingerbread Mansion. The house is fantastic, very grand, and the room was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone, but maybe consider staying more than 12 hours!


A delightful stay from start to finish

4,8 en septiembre 11, 2015

My wife and I had never stayed at a B&B before, and I have no iidea how any other place could exceed our visit to Gingerbread Mansion.


My wife and I had a wonderful stay.

5 en septiembre 04, 2015

The mansion is a beautifully decorated and maintained Victorian. Everything in the house and grounds is very well maintained and reflects everything one would expect from a manor. We were welcomed with a simple (and free) afternoon tea than included crackers, cheese, cucumber sandwiches and wine. Breakfast was delicious and made from local ingredients. The entire staff was very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again!


Great stay near redwoods

4,8 en agosto 21, 2015

We stayed there after visiting Avenue of the Giants. Nearby downtown. Very nicely decorated hotel; host and staff were very friendly and we had a wonderful breakfast meeting other guests.


cute little B&B to treat yourself really well

4,6 en agosto 05, 2015

Rooms as even better than on pictures and the afternoon tea, with cookies, cheeses, lemonade and wine is just a great treat! Breakfast was well above any expectation. It was a great stay in a nice little town.


Our favorite

5 en julio 10, 2015

The Gingerbread Mansion is a beautifully restored building with excellent staff, wonderful furnishings and rooms and a lovely garden. The breakfasts and teas served were restaurant-worthy meals. All of the staff were gracious and helpful and we enjoyed the other guests. When we were there the atmosphere was conducive to getting to know the other guests, but there was no pressure to mingle and plenty of space to be on your own if you prefer. We highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a comfortable, unique get-away.


Gingerbread Mansion going back in time

4,8 en junio 05, 2015

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed it was like going back in time. The service was great and the rooms were amazing!


Most wonderful B and B stay ever!!!

5 en junio 04, 2015

We were so fortunate to find the Gingerbread Mansion Inn for our first stop on our way up the northern CA coast. It is a meticulously decorated and maintained Victorian B and B and we were just in awe with the detail and care shown in this lovely home. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The location was great as we could simply walk into town for dinner and an evening stroll. We enjoyed our room's fireplace, turndown service, truffles and the spaciousness of the room. It was extra nice to have morning coffee served nearby so we could have a cuppa while getting ready for our breakfast. The morning breakfast was superb! Delicious, beautiful presentation and relaxing. Our only regret is that we wish we could have stayed longer at this most lovely inn!!!!


The Gingerbread Mansion Does Not Disappoint!

5 en junio 01, 2015

I remembered seeing the Gingerbread Mansion when I was a kid and wishing I could stay there. Some 30yrs. later I got to spend three fantasics nights at this B&B. What a complete joy! The room was outstanding. I have a disability and usually have to be careful in the bathrooms of B&Bs...but I felt totally safe using the shower and walking around on a wet floor. The breakfasts were great! The staff even packed a boxed breakfast for me on the day I was checking out....stuffed french toast and an omelette. I have never stayed in such a nice B&B as the Gingerbread Mansion and can't wait to visit again in the very near future!


A Wonderful Example of What a Bed and Breakfast Should Be.

5 en mayo 29, 2015

From the minute we walked into the front door of this gorgeous mansion, and wewere greeted with a welcoming smile, our entire stay at the Gingerbread Mansion was superb.We stayed for two nights, and we can't say enough about the incredible staff, the excellent meals, and the special attention given to us for two days. The beautiful Victorian decor was stunning, and the rooms were spotless and dust free. We have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts all over the USA for the past 35 years, and our stay at the Gingerbread Mansion ranks at the top of our list for a Victorian Inn to recommend. Some of the wonderful offerings in the dining and sitting rooms were: Red and white wines, fresh fruits, several different cheeses, several homemade cookies and cakes, chocolates, orange juice, milk, coffee, and tea. Being vegetarian, we were beyond delighted when the lovely Innkeeper Eugenia and the cook Colleen made us a custom veggie breakfast. They offered us fresh egg whites,(or any eggs), quinoa, muffins, oatmeal, fruit, potato gratin, and zuchini patties that were outstanding. We have never been so pampered, and so delighted. Bravo to the staff, and the Mansion, and our rating would definitely be higher than 5 stars!


Amazing!

5 en mayo 29, 2015

This trip was a pre deployment trip for my husband and I. We planned to go to the redwoods and just sight see. I don't know what I expected, but this places exceeded whatever expectations I did have. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were luxurious and clean, and the breakfast was amazing. We left at 5am on the day of check out and they even made sure we had a breakfast to go waiting for us. I didn't feel overwhelmed by the inn keepers ( I was a bit concerned because we had never stayed at a B&B before) we definitely got our privacy, yet the inn keepers were reachable should we have needed them. I had a wonderful stay. We plan to come back and spend about a week at some point. We want to enjoy the mansion more and explore the quaint little town of ferndale more!


Beautiful home with wonderful attention to detail

4,6 en mayo 18, 2015

The entire house has been beautifully restored and maintained; we loved being able to enjoy the fireplace in our room. Each staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The afternoon tea was lovely and we enjoyed breakfast as well. Will definitely return soon.


Charming B&B

5 en mayo 15, 2015

On our last visit to the Gingerbread Mansion we stayed in the Garden Room. The Garden Room has a balcony off the room which faces the beautifully manicured garden. The breakfast every morning was outstanding and the service could not have been better. We have stayed in other B&B's in Ferndale and the surrounding area, and the Gingerbread Mansion has been out best experience by far.


Awesome place loved it and Ferndale

5 en mayo 08, 2015

The food was so good and the people so very nice. We really enjoyed our stay. Ferndale is a great place to visit.


people

4,8 en mayo 06, 2015

best part about Ferndale were the people we met at the gingerbread mansion. of course the mansion itself is beautiful.


Very comfortable stay

3,2 en abril 28, 2015

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the breakfast and evening snacks delicious and staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you for a relaxing stay!


Delightful!

4,6 en abril 27, 2015

Eugenia is a most gracious innkeeper! She went out of her way to make us feel welcome. We shared the inn with a wedding party, and although the staff was busy preparing for the event, they managed to do extra things for us...prepare delicious breakfasts to accommodate our food allergies, bring us ice, make restaurant reservations. We cannot wait to return for another truly lovely stay.


Awesome Stay

5 en abril 12, 2015

The house manager was awesome. She catered beyond our expectations! She was wonderful in so many ways that words cannot explain. The breakfast was unbelievable. She made food that I, Ms Lactose Intolerant, could eat that was scrumptious, tasty, and just perfect. The afternoon snacks... In addition, the room was quiet, nice, and just right


Early Valentines Day

4,6 en marzo 02, 2015

Made "secret" reservations for the Thursday before Valentine's Day. We stayed in the Empire Suite, the "Best" room in the house and worth every penny! We have stayed in other B&Bs around the country and Canada and this was easily the best room we have ever stayed! The staff was absolutely attentive to whatever we needed. They made sure we had anything and everything in our rooms and they suggested dinner locations and made the necessary reservations. I wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night but we are looking forward to staying again and longer next time!


Wonderful Gem in Northern California

5 en febrero 21, 2015

As someone who travels for work, I stay in a lots of hotels all over the country. My coworker and I decided to get rooms at the Gingerbread Inn to end a long week of work travel. Not only was the price extremely reasonable (cheaper than most hotels in other California cities), the service was wonderful, the atmosphere was cozy, and the treats around the house were a great delight at the end of a long day. The beds are quite possibly the best I've ever slept on while traveling for work the last 3+ years. I cannot say enough nice things about the B&B.


Redwood Empire Suite

3,6 en febrero 19, 2015

Some amenities needed attention...Wi Fi did not work properly... one fire place was not functional...in room refrigerator made an irritating noise all night...maybe a bad motor bearing.


Magical weekend back in time!

5 en febrero 18, 2015

What a wonderful Valentine's Day surprise for my girlfriend! This home was everything a bed and breakfast should be. Great web page, great staff, (thank you Kaitlynn and company!) beautifully restored home, wonderful town (give yourself time to explore the shops) great dining out in town. We stayed in the 'Heron' room and loved every minute! What else can I say? I hope to return soon! Thank you again to the staff!


Wonderful Stay!

4,8 en enero 29, 2015

My mom and I only had the pleasure to stay here one night during our West Coast road trip, but I wish we could have stayed longer. From start to finish, our stay was just wonderful. Comfortable rooms, breakfast and tea were delicious, and the staff was warm and welcoming. This is a rare gem!


Our Christmas hideaway.

5 en diciembre 30, 2014

After spending every Christmas but one with family, it was time to getaway . It was so nice to travel back in time. Our stay was very relaxing. The staff was Extremely accommodating . Our room was cozy. The tea time cookies divine. On the last day I discovered the garden . Had the weather been warmer, I would Have taken my tea out there!


Great First BnB Experience

5 en diciembre 17, 2014

I had never stayed at a BnB before and this was an awesome first time experience. I'll absolutely stay here again!


Outstanding B&B

5 en noviembre 08, 2014

So nice. Elegantly furnished.


What happened to the Gingerbread Mansion's Service????

1,6 en octubre 27, 2014

I had visited the Gingerbread Mansion 6 years ago and its uniqueness, service and gourmet breakfasts nagged at me stay there again. BIG MISTAKE!!! Start with a dusty and dirty room equipped with only a king bed when it was advertised that it slept 3 giving the impression of sleeper sofa instead there was a bathtub! Next, only a 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no tissues. No extra roll of paper anywhere! Told the Inn Sitter the next morning at breakfast and you would think she would give me a roll or take it to our room...no again! Had to use napkins from breakfast! Now lets talk about the breakfast - gourmet? No way! A plate with a wheat pancake (mine was raw inside), a cold fried egg that looked like a gummy egg, a half slice of sausage (looked like a hotdog cut lengthwise) and 2 paper thin slices of melon. Toast? Muffin? Sweet roll? No, No and No!! That was it! The second day it was scramble eggs and bacon and the 2 thin slices of melon - so worst in my opinion! I had been looking forward to what my memory recalled me eating, that was vanilla yogurt with homemade granola, bowls of fresh cut-up fruit, half of a large croissant French toast topped with shaved almonds and maple syrup, slice of ham with dishes of fresh pastries! Now that was a gourmet breakfast!!! I can honestly say I got a better breakfast at the hotels we stayed in during our trip through Washington and Oregon! What happened to the service and uniqueness of the Gingerbread Mansion?? Where are the owners who catered to their guests?? I will NEVER stay there again nor will I recommend it! I can only hope that my first trip there will override my memory of my last stay there.

Respuesta del propietario

I’m sorry you had a bad experience. We opened our doors 2 years ago, during these short two years, we earned several awards, including 4 diamond rating from AAA (the only inn in Humboldt County to qualify for this prestigious award), and certificate of excellence. We undergo through lot of unannounced surprise inspections. We serve hundreds of customers a week, and we strive to create the best possible experience for our guests. I tried the same with you, when you did not want to come downstairs; I personally brought the afternoon wine to your room. Asked several times during the day, if I could do anything to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, offered to bring the roll-away bed that you thought was going to be in your room, you declined. I did not receive any requests from you, although I asked so many times. Brakes my heart to read this review, my daily life rotates around our guests. Their satisfaction and happiness are what I strive for daily. That is why I chose to become an innkeeper.


We didn't want to leave!

4,0 en octubre 25, 2014

Really, we didn't! The Inn & the Innkeeper are beyond fantastic, as are the accommodations, the food, the Tea & Wine Welcome & the location. We've heard praises sung about the Mansion for years & finally decided to check it out for ourselves. We stayed 2 nights in the Fountain Suite & had an absolutely marvelous time. Kait truly is "the Hostess with the mostest!" She was very welcoming, warm & open & we enjoyed getting to know her whilst sipping wine & partaking of a salami & cheese plate she prepared. She also shared her own homemade chicken soup which was divine. She recommended a wonderful restaurant within walking distance for dinner, Curley's Full Circle, & we enjoyed our delicious meal very much. Kait prepares a fantastic breakfast & even offers seconds upon request (which we did both mornings!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was made better by the presence of Kait. We took extra brochures to recommend the Mansion to everyone we know in the Sacramento area & plan to return very soon. IMPORTANT: for some reason, we weren't able to get any of the areas to accept the "Outstanding" rating above. Please be sure we want to rate the Mansion "Outstanding" in each category listed & would rate higher if allowed!


Vacation Stay With Adult Daughtr

3,8 en octubre 19, 2014

My husband and I were traveling with our adult daughter and really wanted to stay in a B&B in Ferndale. Found the Gingerbread Mansion on line and loved the look of it. Did not want to book two separate rooms as that would have been a little pricey for the two nights we wanted to stay. The Hideaway room was perfect for us as it had a loft which our daughter used,but the space was compact. The house is beautifully decorated in period style,with ample parlor rooms,to relax,visit, play games. Friendly helpful staff.


Gary from South Carolina

5 en octubre 18, 2014

The best service & food we experienced on our whole trip down the west coast.


Loved it!

5 en octubre 18, 2014

We will be back! Exceptional Inn, fantastic food, great service!


A gem of a place, in a lovely town.

4,6 en octubre 11, 2014

Lovely building, beautifully maintained, gorgeous bedroom, even though we picked the cheaper one on the ground floor. Really friendly reception from Caitlin, wine, delicious cookies, info on where to eat. Beautiful garden, just a great palace to spend a night.


A Brief Stay

4,0 en septiembre 27, 2014

The Inn is a marvelous gem and not to be missed. We had the top floor Empire Room and it was fabulous although the TV did not work and the staff in the evening did not know how to fix it. They did offer us another room but we declined. Walking the adjoining gardens is also a treat even for non-nature lovers. Well worth the side trip to Ferndale.


The Gingerbread Mansion

4,6 en septiembre 25, 2014

What a delightful place to stay. Well worth finding. Close to beach. Excellent rooms. Fabulous wine and cheese time and beautiful breakfast. Quiet, comfortable, clean, very charming. Kaitlynn made our stay all the better. She certainly knows how to take care of her guests. Would highly recommend this Inn. Sarah Smith


It was OK!

2,8 en septiembre 22, 2014

Chinzy B&B in a lovely old house. Our room was clean although I thought it was let down by the stained carpet. I wasn't keen on the coverlet and million cushions on the bed as they seemed a bit stale. I was distinctly unimpressed by old pillows on the bed, they didn't even fit the shams properly. I found nicer ones in the cupboard and used my own travel pillow. I did like the happy hour with wine and cookies and the pleasant staff. The breakfast was OK.


An outstanding place to stay

3,6 en septiembre 18, 2014

Beautiful rooms and really nice atmosphere


40th Anniversary and my Nieces Wedding - Celebrations

3,8 en septiembre 15, 2014

What a gorgeous B and B! I hope to visit there again, and especially sooner if I win the $1,000 gift certificate. The furniture and details of the home were outstanding! Whomever refurbished the home should give themselves a pat on the back. You may want to step up your breakfasts a bit, and do away completely with goat sausage. But we will definitely visit again; God willing! Thank you.


Adorable place...service not so much.....

3,8 en septiembre 09, 2014

We stayed one night at the Gingerbread House and were not disappointed by the house itself and our room. We were, however, disappointed in the 'feel' of the place...it wasn't warm and welcoming like the other B & B's on the same trip; definitely felt like a 'business' instead of a 'home'. Upon arrival, the greeter was not at all friendly. She showed us to our room but just didn't make us feel welcome. At breakfast, someone saw us standing in the doorway but quickly walked into the kitchen, like she was avoiding us. We finally seated ourselves at a table, and it was several minutes before anyone acknowledged our presence. The food was ok, again, we had much better at other B & B's on the trip. However, we would definitely stay here again. I would hope that they would wear more smiles and be friendlier in the future. Apparently they used to, because friends highly recommended the Gingerbread House because of their uniqueness, hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. ktintn


Beautiful Place, very Quiet

3,8 en septiembre 01, 2014

Something to see! Friendly staff. Stayed two nights, bed was not made upon return. Not sure if this not customary in B&B? Towels were replaced upon request by tag on door in the morning T.v remote did not work properly, asked for fresh batteries but this did not solve the problem, volume could not be turned up or down and had to manually shut the t.v off. It did say it might take a little to warm up the t.v. Oh well, wasn't that big of a deal. Very quiet town, no window screens but not needed either because it is a sea climate :) Fantastic breakfast. Tea at four, fun to experience. Definitely worth staying for a night!


Birthday stay

5 en septiembre 01, 2014

The rooms were amazing with great attention to detail. Staff was fantastic and very accommodating. The breakfast that was served everyday was awesome. This was a place that I would very highly recommend. If people were not travelling through this area, I would actually tell them to specifically come and stay at the Gingerbread, because it is an EXPERIENCE !


Lovely Victorian B&B

4,8 en agosto 31, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this beautiful B&B a couple of weeks ago. We loved everything about it. Our Garden Room was lovely, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent and plentiful and presented beautifully, along with wine, lemonade and coffee. The location was perfect for strolling the downtown Victorian shops, the old historic cemetery or just walking around the charming town of Ferndale. I would recommend this B&B for a romantic getaway or a relaxing mini-vacation, particularly for couples. Would love to do it all over again!


Pretty awesome b and b!

4,6 en agosto 27, 2014

Stayed one night. We arrived a bit later than we'd planned-close to 9 PM. Turndown service is from 6-8, so we missed it! No chocolates :( So sad. It would be nice if these were on our pillows waiting for our arrival. However, house and room were pretty amazing. Lots of historical info on the house in books set out in the sitting room. Water and a variety of juice in the fridge to grab if needed. Our room was quite warm. Uncomfortably so. Didn't sleep all that well because of the temperature. Shower was amazing-a waterfall style showerhead. Breakfast was fresh fruit, a blueberry bread pudding type dish and sausage that we decided was elk but never did ask. Everything was fresh and delicious. We would definitely stay here again. Also, just a point of interest-there is an historic graveyard a couple blocks away that was pretty cool. If you're in to old graveyards.


Lovely Spot in Ferndale

4,4 en agosto 12, 2014

The Gingerbread Mansion Inn is a lovely place to stay in Ferndale. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. Enjoyed the generous wine, hors d'oeuvres and homemade cookies in the afternoon. We stayed in the Garden Room which was very pleasant, with high ceilings and a private patio area.


Memorable

5 en agosto 11, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay. Beautiful House, charming room, friendly staff, nice food. I am recommending all my friends to visit Gingerbread Mansion and enjoy Victorian style house.


Bed and Bring Your Own Breakfast

3,0 en agosto 04, 2014

The house and garden are marvelous, but that is all they have to offer. If you are expecting a nice hearty breakfast, you will be highly disappointed. Me and my girlfriend were amazed at how skimpy they are. We walked out hungry and disappointed.


Cute B&B

4,0 en julio 31, 2014

Gingerbread Mansion was a lovely place to stay for one night on our trip along the coast from San Fransisco to Portland. We met a lovely couple from Sweden/California who we chatted with at length. Our room was large and well equipped with the necessities. The B&B offered many niceties; snacks (both sweet and savory), wine, and tea upon our arrival. Breakfast was nicely served in the dining room. Although yummy, there was no option but the bread pudding and it was a sweet entree for breakfast. It was very tasty though and served with cut up fruit and sausage. The staff was friendly but very business like. They were all hired help, not the owners. There is usually a difference between meeting with the owners of a B&B and others. All in all we had a nice experience and would recommend The Gingerbread Mansion. The property is lovely with pretty gardens surrounding it. The town is small, one main block with a few nice restaurants. All of the homes are Victorian style which was pretty to see.


Back in time

4,2 en julio 30, 2014

Lovely night stay. Loved the clawfoot tub and comfortable bed.


New experience

5 en julio 27, 2014

Loved the house


Perfectly Pampered

5 en julio 13, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay in The Garden Room and it was hard to come home! Our room was both beautiful and comfortable. The staff was perfectly hospitable, helpful and friendly. I could say that my dietary requirements were "met" but that wouldn't be accurate - they were exceeded (I am a vegetarian). Each breakfast was a true treat. I wish that the daily afternoon tea/wine service could have followed us home. We truly felt at home in every way (if "home" was a gorgeous, charming mansion)! We cannot wait to come back again.


Wonderful, relaxed stay at the Gingerbread Mansion

5 en julio 01, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the Strawberry Hills room at the Gingerbread Mansion. The mansion is beautifully restored and the staff (Kate and Anna) are very warm and inviting - note to them, next time expect a whole pizza! Harry, the mansion's owner is very gracious and loves to entertain. We greatly enjoyed his company as well as the afternoon refreshments! We are looking forward to our next stay at the mansion.


Spring Get Away

4,2 en junio 24, 2014

Best ever. The town is ornate too.


Incredibly gorgeous inn

5 en junio 19, 2014

The inn turned out to be nicer in reality than the pictures led us to believe. The facility is beautifully decorated, the staff were warm & friendly, and the breakfast was out of this world. All this and treats on arrival & chocolates at bed time. Words are inadequate to describe how lovely our stay was.


Best B&B Victorian

5 en noviembre 18, 2013

My husband and I love visiting old Victorian B&Bs and this one tops them all. They have kept it original as possible and the staff is so amazing. The grounds are very well taken care of and are just beautiful. We didn't even want to leave the house to enjoy the town, that's how GREAT the Gingerbread Mansion is.


Great choice in Ferndale!

5 en noviembre 13, 2013

Beautiful restored building, bed extremely comfortable and entire place spotless. Linda the innkeeper was very helpful making dinner reservations for us. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.


Comfy

4,6 en octubre 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Gingerbread several times over several years. We were delighted see this wonderful Victorian welcoming guests again. Linda is extraordinary. We will be back again soon.


Dogs are Allowed

3,6 en mayo 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gingerbread Inn. It looks beautiful from the outside, and just as pretty inside. However, I was not happy to see a little dog in my room after we checked in. I thought this was a no pet establishment, and since I'm allergic to dogs it made my stay not as pleasant.

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for shedding light on this matter. Please accept our apologies. The person responsible for the incident is no longer associated with us. We want our guests to leave 100% satisfied and I hope you visit us again and experience the true nature of what we promised to you.


Greatest Get-Away Ever

5 en mayo 15, 2013

We spent two glorious nights at the Gingerbread Mansion and I cannot say enough about the friendly service, elegant surroundings and delicious food. The room was clean and well supplied with all the necessities. There were plenty of cozy rooms downstairs to just sit and enjoy the furnishings and the company of others. Our breakfasts were so good I wish I could have eaten more. We will be back!


Gingerbread House: Ferndale Ca

4,4 en marzo 29, 2013

This was an accidental "find" for us. We were just looking for a reasonably priced layover and chose thisB&B based on price and appearance on the website. The house was everything it appeared to be and more. Outstanding attention to detail and cleanliness, exceptional rooms and bedding. Truely a remarkable, memorable experience. We will be back.


The Gingerbread Mansion Inn

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $165 - $425
  • Comentarios (98) 4,6
  • Habitaciones 11
  • Se aceptan tarjetas regalo

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-7077864000

Sitio web »

Ver detalles

Arriba