Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed & Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,5

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,4
  • Servicios4,8
  • Estimación4,1
  • Limpieza4,6
  • Comidas4,7

Puntuación basada en
80 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

The icing on the cake ...

5 en octubre 21, 2014

David and Michael took care of all the details for our 20th anniversary getaway. Dashwood Manor is charming and full of character. The breakfasts were great and Cora is a gem. We stayed in the Cambridge room and loved it. Great ocean views and a fanastic soaker tub and lovely fireplace. We were very touched by the champagne and strawberries that we found in our fridge.We can't wait to go back. And we highly recommend it.


Best of Victoria

5 en octubre 15, 2014

Great location, great rooms and breakfasts.


Restful stay in Victoria

4,8 en octubre 11, 2014

You don't have to "dash" just because you are staying at Dashwood Manor. It is a short drive to town and a short walk to local pubs and shops. Also, take time to walk along the seawall of Dallas Ave. or through Beacon Hill Park - all lovely. Michael and David were wonderfully welcoming and helpful with booking our trip to Buchart Gardens. The morning breakfast menu was varied and the poached eggs were the best I've ever eaten. Our third floor room had a balcony overlooking the ocean and Beacon Hill Park. While our room was on the third floor, the staircases are not steep and the landings gave you a break before your next ascent. My sister and I are well into out 60's and had no trouble with the stairs.


October Trip

5 en octubre 09, 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay and we will be sure to come back.


Absolutely beautiful

5 en octubre 08, 2014

A beautiful historic building with wonderful owners with attention to detail in every way....it was our wedding day and the owner placed flowers in our room to match our colour scheme. Bubbly awaited us in our exquisite room with a raspberries in our glasses. Beautiful stain glass... wonderful ocean view....pleasant ,helpful staff. We would recommend Dashwood Manor to everyone. What a joy to be there. Thank you David and Michael.


Wonderful B&B in a very nice location

5 en octubre 04, 2014

Our hosts David and Michael were great hosts - very friendly and helpful! The room we had was very comfortable and well kept throughout our stay. The breakfasts were a real treat (beautiful presentation as well as being tasty) and the service was great!


Extraordinary B & B

5 en octubre 03, 2014

We stayed at Dashwood Manor for 4 nights and were delighted with their hospitality and location. Michael and David are the quintessential hosts, the place is spotless and impeccably decorated, and even the tiniest detail was attended to, even down to 2 champagne glasses and a split of bubbly left in our room fridge when they discovered it was our 25th wedding anniversary! Dashwood is right next to a lovely park and the water, it is a 1 minute walk down to a beautiful beach, and a leisurely 15 minute walk through the park into downtown waterfront Victoria. There is also a small village center with several nice restaurants and pubs, all within a 5 minute walk. We will be returning to Victoria (impossible to enjoy it all on one trip) and will definitely be staying at Dashwood Manor again!


Memorable experience

5 en octubre 02, 2014

The home is comfortable, breakfast delicious, and scenery beautiful. Guests are made welcome and hosts know all about the city. Would recommend the Tudor Room with it corner location and many windows. The only negative is having to leave Dashwood Manor and vibrant Victoria!


Great stay at the Dashwood Manor Inn!

4,4 en septiembre 27, 2014

Earlier this month I had the pleasure of staying at Dashwood Manor for 3 nites and truly wished I could have stayed longer.I would recommend this to a couple or single.The only slightly negative thing I can think of is that it's a tad out of the way but this only adds to the charm.It was like being at a seaside resort in England-beautiful ocean view from my room, a nice large bed to sleep in and a wonderful unrushed and well presented breakfast to start the day with.The hosts Michael and David are charming and will help you with any questions you may have.Special mention to Cora who helps with the breakfast serving and rooms-she was a delight! My room- the Fairfield- was lovely and I was lucky to see a few others on the ground floor and they were huge (former apts. I was told).Please do not hesitate to stay here-you will not be disappointed!


This turned out to be our dream B & B!

5 en septiembre 21, 2014

We'd never traveled to Victoria before and we choose Dashwood because it looked "close enough" without being right in the busy part of downtown. What we didn't realize until we got there was that it is in an absolutely ideal location, easy walking to the hustle and bustle of downtown, but situated in a lovely little neighborhood with its own village center. Dashwood is right on the sea with easy access down to the beach for sea glass searching and watching the amazing sunsets, and it borders Beacon Hill Park with its beautiful rose garden and fountains. The view from our room was gorgeous and the room has two comfy wing chairs placed to take best advantage of the scene. Michael and David are the quintessential hosts, they treated us like honored private guests, with soft jazz playing in our room when we arrived. They even tucked two champagne glasses and a split of champagne in our room refrigerator when they found out that it was our anniversary. Breakfasts are delicious, simple and wholesome breakfast fare with plates filled with fresh fruit. We will definitely return to Victoria and we definitely will return to Dashwood Manor! Cynthia and John, New Jersey


Wonderful B&B

4,2 en septiembre 19, 2014

Thanks Michael & David for this great stay! You made our honeymoon stay in Victoria unforgettable! We loved your breakfast & the location is just amazing!


Dashing Weekend at Dashwood

5 en septiembre 18, 2014

My sisters and I celebrated being together with a trip to Victoria. Our stay at Dashwood was fabulous! The location looking out over the straits was breathtaking, and the beach trail walk into downtown was perfect in every way. Michael and David, the proprietors, were so helpful in making our stay easy and enjoyable. The delicious and beautiful breakfasts kept us going all day long. I plan to stay again at Dashwood and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a special place to stay in Victoria.


Wonderful B&B

4,6 en septiembre 12, 2014

Dashwood Manor provided us with one of our most enjoyable stays during our 8 week holiday. Our room was large and comfortable, with a great sea view. Breakfast was excellent. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. We loved staying here.


Honeymoon stay at Dashwood manor September 2014

4,8 en septiembre 11, 2014

I can not recommend this B&B enough. We were on our Honeymoon touring around the west coast of Canada. We stayed in a lot of five stars hotels along the way and the service in this B&B was exceptional and better than some of the hotels. Our breakfast was delicious. Michael and David were great hosts. If you go to Victoria you should definitely stay here. Thanks guys for your wonderful service, Jennifer & Adam


Mesmerizing, a step back in time with a beautiful ocean view

4,6 en septiembre 10, 2014

This is a relaxing location, close enough to enjoy Victoria, but away from the crowds. We enjoyed the local neighborhood restaurants (great food) and coffee shops. The people in the community were friendly and we felt we slipped into the everyday life of Cook Village. Leisure time spent on the beach and in Beacon Hill Park was especially enjoyable. B&B owners made every effort to help us with recommendations on sightseeing and restaurants. Dashwood Manor is step back in time but with the comforts of a delightful room.


My expectations were more than met.

5 en septiembre 10, 2014

Staying at Dashwood Manor for the first time, the visit has turned to be an unforgettable one with my family. The staff was always extremely helpful, and the location was really great. They recommended a nice restaurant for dinner, and the breakfast at Dashwood was delicious. The view from our room was great, and very clean and comfortable, personally, I really like their decor. Overall - Outstanding!!


Amazing place all around!!

5 en septiembre 10, 2014

What an amazing place! Great hosts, amazing room and breakfasts, and a location that simply can't be beat!! Michael and David were awesome, helping us decide what to do while we were in Victoria and got us tickets right at the B&B! we will be back for sure:) Rob and Danielle


Wonderful Stay at Dashwood

5 en septiembre 09, 2014

This was our first experience in Canada at a B&B. The hosts, breakfast options and service was outstanding! Thank you Michael, David and Cora for a wonderful, relaxing time!


Great B&B!

4,2 en septiembre 06, 2014

The location is fantastic - on the water and within walking distance of downtown attractions and great neighborhood eateries. Our room was cozy and private with a deck view of the strait. The best part are the people who run this inn (and the breakfast!). Michael, David, and Cora put this place in a class by itself.


A Charming Place to Stay

4,4 en septiembre 01, 2014

This B&B is located off of the ocean just a mile or so from city center. The owners are incredibly friendly and willing to do whatever necessary to make your stay the most enjoyable. The included breakfast is quite lovely and tasty. I would highly recommend this B&B and would certainly return if I am ever in beautiful Victoria, BC again.


Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed & Breakfast, Victoria BC

5 en agosto 27, 2014

Our stay at Dashwood Manor B & B was beyond outstanding. The room was beautiful with antique wood pieces, very comfortable bed, free standing tub plus very nice bathroom. Every morning we had a hot breakfast we selected from their menu along with fruit & a pastry. Michael and David were more than helpful with suggestions for activities in Victoria. They will also offer to help get you tickets for several area attractions to save you time. Dashwood Manor is in an excellent location across from a walk along the beach or across from a lovely park. This is a gem that I hope to return to in the future. Thank you! Doug and Cyndy Fowler


Beautiful place to stay

4,4 en agosto 21, 2014

Our first visit to Victoria. We were given wonderful recommendations on things to do, places to eat, places to go. We were next to the ocean, across the street from a beautiful park, within walking distance of so many places we wanted to visit. Breakfast choices were amazing! Michael and David were so welcoming, helpful and pleasant. Thank you both! And thanks to Cora for starting our day with her sunshiney smile and personality.


Highly Recommend Dashwood Manor Again and Again!

4,6 en agosto 21, 2014

We had a great stay and enjoyed the location, view, beachside, and the food. We highly recommend Dashwood Manor and will return time and time again.


Best B&B in Victoria

4,8 en agosto 18, 2014

This is my second time staying at this beautiful B&B. Love the charming rooms which are spacious and most of them have super views of the ocean which is just across the street. Can't be any closer to the water. I really appreciate the hospitality that the hosts (Michael and David) deliver and the breakfast is beautifully presented and has lots of choices. They also make it super easy to pay for your activities at their reception so you don't have to worry about getting your tickets. Would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a fabulous vacation place to stay in Victoria.


All good at the Dashwood Manor B &B Inn

4,8 en agosto 13, 2014

A lovely place to stay with exceptional service. Welcoming and pleasant hosts - we cant think of any negatives really.


A perfect spot

4,6 en agosto 11, 2014

Bright, beautiful rooms, fantastic location for walks on the beach and through the park to the wharf and downtown. Wonderful and fun hosts and staff. Would go back without a doubt.


peaceful and conienent

4,6 en agosto 07, 2014

michael and david are excellent and well experienced hosts. they were very helpful in providing information in and around the area and booked several tickets for us which made for less fuss when we got to the events. they were also very respectful of our privacy and we didn't get barraged with the usual "20 questions" at B&Bs. the B&B is across the street from a very large and beautiful park and and the beach and walking trails. we actually walked to downtown through the park (20 min). taxi to downtown is $8/car. the only downside, is that there is not really a common room except the breakfast room, so one is pretty much tied to the bedroom. our bedroom, the dorset, did have a very nice patio with views of the puget sound. the suite was huge, very nice linens, furnishings and interesting archetural features. the bathroom was also enormous with both a tub and walkin shower. I also like that the large and bright breakfast room had private tables to enjoy the beautiful breakfast. they provide a short menu of individually prepared items. no airconditioning of course for this part of the world, but even on the 3rd floor the room remained comfortable during the day in late july. we would certainly stay again.


What a Treat!

5 en agosto 04, 2014

Our only regret is that we were able to stay just the one night. We will definitely return, however, for a longer stay.


The wonderful stay at Dashwood Manor during my Victoria trip

5 en agosto 04, 2014

It was just GREAT. Wonderful location, awesome people, and great breakfast.


Friendly and Comfortable B & B

4,2 en agosto 04, 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions around town. The breakfast omelette was the best I have ever had anywhere. The room was spacious and had everything I needed. I would definitely return.


Returning to an old Victorian favorite

5 en agosto 03, 2014

We returned to Dashwood after a long absence and were delighted with everything. The new owners have returned to what made this B & B the best in Victoria: unique rooms, great service, truly wonderful breakfasts, and an unmatched location. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and the views were breathtaking. We will return. Terry Buchanan


Spectacular rooms with generous hosts

4,0 en julio 28, 2014

We stayed In The Windsor oak room and it was stunning. The hosts were generous and helpful, very personable and friendly. The location of this inn is excellent- many lovely shops in reasonable walking distance. Parking may be an issue if you have a large vehicle but this is true for many Victoria inns. Breakfast was tasty and beautifully presented. We will DEFINATELY return to this lovely inn.


Perfect Place to Stay

5 en julio 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Oxford Grand room. The room is very large and a great view of the mountains and water. The breakfasts has a lot of food including many different fresh fruits. We definitely want to come back here again.


Fun stay in scenic BC

3,8 en julio 26, 2014

My mother and I stayed in the Chelsea room on our vacation to BC from Seattle and it was awesome! Everyone we met were very helpful and friendly. Beautiful rooms and views!


Perfect spot to give visitors a taste of Victoria

5 en julio 24, 2014

We were so happy to have booked in here for one night with our guests from Japan. Service in Japan is consistently really high, this was their first trip to Canada, and we were hoping to impress them. The Dashwood Manor did not disappoint. Everything was handled professionally and very hospitably. Both rooms were lovely - we were particularly taken with the Windsor Oak room, the old dining room of the house, with a great two person tub and a nice view from bed. We all slept really well, the beds were very comfortable and the location is beautiful and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed watching hang gliders drift by as we ate. I have no hesitation in recommending the Dashwood Manor to anyone looking for comfortable, upscale accomodations in Victoria. I'm sure we will be back on our own for a nice overnight trip from Vancouver.


found just by chance while looking in the intrnet

4,6 en julio 16, 2014

Excellent location for morning or evening jogging along the rim. 15 min walking distance to the city (through the park). Very freindly hospitallity and lots of suggestions where to go, what to see, where to dine. Excellent breakfast served. Authentic impression of old Victorian style.


Review

4,6 en julio 11, 2014

We stayed in the oxford room and it was beautiful. The service was fabulous, very friendly and kind. My husband I were surprised at how great the options were for breakfast, food was delicious. Great view, great experience overall will definitely go again.


Wonderful place

4,4 en julio 10, 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Dashwood. Our room, the Windsor Oak, had been the old dining room, and it was large, comfortable and had so much character. David was full of information about Victoria and the Dashwood, as well as being responsive to our needs, like arranging an early breakfast when we needed to catch a ferry. Although I didn't meet Michael, I know he is a wonderful chef - perfect poached eggs, and a lovely presentation every morning! The location is nice, too. The water is right across the street, and it was fun watching people and their romping dogs in the park during breakfast. You can walk to the Beagle Pub and shopping, but there's no bustle and noise at night when you want to sleep. We would love to stay there again!


Dashwood June 2014

4,6 en julio 07, 2014

We loved our six day stay at Dashwood Manor. It is a lovely old house that retains a lot of its former glory. The best part of Dashwood is the personable owners and staff who are helpful in every way. Breakfasts in the former music room overlook the ovean, and there are five delicious choices to choose from. We would highly recommend this B & B as it is on the ocean, a 20 minute walk to the inner harbour, and across the street from the park. There is no doubt you will enjoy your time there.


Perfect for a getaway

4,0 en julio 07, 2014

We love it! We will be back for sure


Delightful Seaside Mansion

4,4 en julio 03, 2014

My three night stay at Dashwood Manor was delightful. David and Michael were excellent hosts offering helpful information on sights to see, nearby restaurants and preparing a delicious breakfast each morning. My room was very comfortable with crisp clean bedding and towels and a lovely view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mts. The mansion and garden are charming and well maintained. I have already recommended it to other travelers.


Seaside location in a mansion

3,8 en junio 28, 2014

Beautiful, large room, very comfortable bed. Hot tub in room, sadly the jets were not working. When I told David he took $20.00 off our bill which I thought very nice of him. Garden needs lots of work.


Good service

4,2 en junio 11, 2014

Very accommodating people


Fabulous Location!

4,4 en junio 10, 2014

You can't beat the view! A great location to stay in Victoria, ocean views and close to town, easy access to anything you need. Literally a 1 minute walk to the park or the beach. David and Michael are wonderful hosts. It's a gorgeous heritage home, beautifully maintained. I wish we could have stayed more than one night, next time we will give ourselves more time.


Lovely!

4,0 en junio 02, 2014

The folks managing this place are very friendly, polite, accommodating and professional. They were great hosts at every opportunity. Our room (the Kensington) has a great view over the dog park and out to the Strait of Juan de Fuca. On a clear day, you can see the Olympics, the Cascades, and the islands in the sound. The breakfast was very tasty and the breakfast room looks out over the dog park as well, so you get some entertainment from watching the dogs during your meal, as well as the view of the water and mountains beyond. As well as being right next to the sea, this B&B is right next to the Beacon Hill park. It's just a 10 minute walk through the park to downtown and a lot of Victoria's tourist attractions. Altogether we had a great stay and would gladly come back again!


Excellent Getaway

5 en mayo 26, 2014

Stayed in the Chelsea room recently. Fantastic service, meal and accommodation.


Spectacular

5 en mayo 20, 2014

We've visited more than once and plan to visit again. The hosts are friendly, eager to please, efficient, and quick to do whatever it takes to make your visit a success.


Location, ambiance, and service are outstanding.

5 en mayo 20, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Somerset room at Dashwood Manor and enjoyed every moment. David and Micheal went above and beyond to make our trip to Victoria enjoyable, accommodating a very late check-in right off the start (1:00am).. The breakfast is delicious. The location next to the water made sitting on our private patio with a bottle of local wine, purchased up Cook Street, one of the moments we will never forget. The connections and information David made available will facilitate any activities you want to do while in town. If David didn't know the answer to a question, he went out of his way to find out. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can. Thank you guys for the wonderful stay.


review

4,4 en mayo 13, 2014

Good place


Wonderful B&B

5 en octubre 07, 2013

We were absolutely impressed with every aspect of the B&B. The assistance given to us by all of the management and staff was friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend this B&B. Annette and John (Australia).


Another lovely stay.....

5 en agosto 25, 2013

Dashwood Manor is THE most beautiful location in Victoria. Our room was nicely appointed and comfy with a great waterfront view. Excellent food and service, the tradition continues.....


Gem in Victoria

4,8 en agosto 24, 2013

Great neighborhood with local establishments close by. Easy lenghty walk to city center. Great hosts and outstanding breakfast.


Service, Location and Charm

4,4 en julio 15, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. There were several delicious choices for breakfast which was served restaurant style in the sunny dinning room with views of the park and water. The location was ideal and there was plenty to do in the vicinity. However, we did have a car and took some day trips to other areas. Our room was smaller than others I looked at but we did have a balcony. The only thing we missed was that the inn did not have a living room, but it was so nice outside that we probably wouldn't have used it much. We would definitely recommend Dashwood Manor and hope to go back some day.


Outstanding!!!

5 en junio 10, 2013

David & Michael at the Dashwood Manor were beyond welcoming, helpful, engaging, knowledgable and friendly. The house is gorgeous and full of history. When we first arrived we spent a great deal of time admiring the glorious and beautifully kept gardens surrounding the house. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The linens were crisp and fresh. The breakfast that Michael prepared was scrumptious, made with fresh herbs from the garden. David was kind and engaging. Two lovely men in a wonderful house in the best possible location! We will definitely return to the Dashwood Manor!


beacan hill park

4,0 en junio 10, 2013

great location and very nice garden


Two Night at Dashwood--Very Nice!

4,4 en junio 05, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great time. The B&B is right on the water and Beacon Hill park (just the right distance from downtown). Our hosts, who took over operations only six weeks prior, made us feel welcome right from the start. The house has some old quirks to it, but overall has a very regal feel to it. The breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks guys! Tyler & Catherine

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your wonderful review! We will look forward to your next visit. Michael & David


Outstandimg value with a great view.

4,8 en mayo 28, 2013

The new owners of this Inn really care about their guests and if it's not already, will be a highly sought after vacation stop for many travellers. They have done a great job of decorating the rooms and the breakfast area which has a nice view of the ocean. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with a nice menu to choose from.

Respuesta del propietario

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Michael & David


Dashwood Manor

5 en mayo 16, 2013

Hollie & Mark


Dashwood April stay

4,0 en abril 09, 2013

Great new owners, we were there the first day, and we will come back next time we are in Victoria to see how David and Michael are doing. Very pleasant part of our trip.


Delightful place to stay!

4,2 en abril 27, 2012

It's not easy to find a bed and breakfast just looking at the descriptions in Victoria, since b&b galore. I got lucky and something about the look of the house got me interested. The house/rooms are beautiful, so well preserved and David is a gracious host, breakfast was very good and the view.... ah the views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and Olympic Moutains are amazing. The Inn is the last house on the orad before the high-bluff waterfront path. I shall be coming back to stay again.... and not only for the view, or the feeling of yester years but to meet David again as well.


Dash to Dashwood

4,2 en octubre 11, 2011

The Inn keeper (Dave) was very accommodating and help us by being around as we arrived long before check in time. We were able to leave our bags there while we toured Victoria on foot. Dave knows a lot about the area and can give you the lay of the land quickly. The nice thing about this place though is the location. It is about a mile and a half from down town Victory, maybe closer if you cut through the park, but we never did. We would wake up to a view of the Juan de Fuca Strait. We could have just sat and looked out the window all day. Between the Inn and the Strait is a road and on the other side of the road is a park where dogs will play off leash especially in the morning. Don't worry about the road, there is some traffic during the day but almost none at night, it is a pretty quiet area. If you are a dog lover, even if you are not, this view will bring a smile to your face. The dogs are having the best time. The walk to Victoria down town was a lot of fun. There is a smaller town along the way and you can stop for Coffee, a beer (love the Beagle), a coffee, pick up some supplies at the market, coffee or stop by the 5 and dime. I mentioned coffee a few times because there are probably 6 coffee shops on the way. And yes even a Starbucks. I like the local coffee shops. We didn't rent a car this time but I will in a future trip. There is parking on site but since we did not use it, I am not sure if you have to reserve it, call first. There is street parking close anyway. Taxis are not cheap so the car rental will pay off quickly if you plan on needing wheels to get around. But you don't need a car if you like to walk a little. I am not sure what else to say... My biggest complement is...I am going back to Victoria and staying at the Dashwood.


beautiful peaceful home :)

4,8 en agosto 21, 2011

I truly enjoyed my time in this beautiful peaceful quiet home. Being on the ocean with a long walkway was wonderful. It was close to town and easily to get most places by foot. I would recommend it to anyone!


Lovely seaside B & B

3,6 en julio 25, 2011

Dashwood Manor is a lovely home in a fabulous setting--right across from the ocean and an easy walk into downtown Victoria. The host is very knowledgeable about the whole region and happy to make whatever arrangements are needed. Breakfasts are terrific. A few minor additions would make the place just about perfect--reading lamps by the bed, a mirror outside the bathroom so two people can get ready at the same time, more dresser space, higher quality blinds. Do note that breakfast is a multi-course hot meal served at 9 am sharp, not a casual buffet.


Wonderful Place To Stay

5 en julio 25, 2011

The spectacular cliffside view would have been worth the price, but this was accompanied by a very comfortable room, delicious gormet breakfasts and great hospitality. We loved our stay.


June 2011

4,0 en junio 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Dashwood Manor. The ocean view is beautiful. It is worth to book a room having a jaccuzi. The hosts gave us very helpful recommendations to discover Victoria and the landscape around.


Dashwood Manor

3,6 en junio 22, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights of our honeymoon at Dashwood Manor. Loved the location, beside Beacon Hill Park, with a spectacular view of the strait and the Olympic Mountains from our balcony. Helpful hosts and a great breakfast- we'd recommend to anyone who wants to see how lovely the real Victoria is- not just the "tourist" sights.


Extraordinary Retereat

4,0 en junio 20, 2011

What an amazing place. Lovely home in a gorgeous location. Close to city but felt miles away. Fun restaurants and shoppes within walking distance. Great walking paths and excellent cycling. This was the best retreat I have had in years.


Relaxing stay in Victoria

4,4 en junio 09, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dashwood Manor for a weekend at the end of a week's visit to Vancouver. We were disappointed at having to leave this tranquil setting so quickly. We both would rather have spent a longer time at Dashwood than in Vancouver. We stayed in the Fairfield room. It's one of the smaller rooms and the bathroom is a little tight which might bother some people. The view was wonderful even though at a slight angle facing east. We spent much of the time transfixed on the scene as the occassional freighter would glide through the channel. Just in case you're expecting a secluded location, I think I should mention that there is a busy walking path and a strip of high grass that is an off-leash dog zone that borders the water. Along with the constant traffic on the adjoining street this accounts for quite a bit of activity; it's not noisy though, just busy. If you're a dog lover or a people watcher the view can be entertaining as well as mesmerizing. I think the location is one of Dashwood's better aspects. A short walk through a lovely park takes you into 'downtown'. A shorter walk just up the street takes you to a small village with restaurants and a market. Breakfast was a surprise. Both mornings it was prepared and served with obvious attention to the experience being created for the guests. In a light and airy dining room with full ocean view we were served ham and mushroom quiches in personal size baking dishes, freshly baked muffins, croissants with brie, and raspberry stuffed french toast. Along with fresh fruit and of course tea, it was much more than we expected. It's very quiet and peaceful; I don't believe any of the rooms have televisions, and it feels like time for bed when the light finally dims around ten o'clock in summer. I'm not a veteran of B and B's, but we loved it and highly recommend it as a base for exploring Victoria.


Beautiful views, warm hospitality

3,6 en junio 02, 2011

Our stay at the Dashwood was very pleasant. The location is outstanding, being far away enough from the touristy core of the city, but close enough to not be an ordeal to get there (we had a rental car, which helped). They are situated next to two of the larger parks in the city, which made going for a stroll both easy and pleasant. We were in the Cambridge Room, which was very comfortable (FANTASTIC BED), had gorgeous views of the water. The only downside to this room was that the bathroom was extremely small. Dave was a wonderful host, helping us figure out fun non-touristy things to do, and even scoring us reservations for afternoon tea and dinner at Victoria's most in-demand establishments. All in all, a wonderful 3d/2n trip.


Delightful place

4,4 en mayo 27, 2011

Stayed there for three days, and everything was perfect. This B&B is located in a quaint neighborhood, twenty minute walk away from the city center. Yet, the morning walk through Beacon park, wether rain or shine, was a good way to start the day. Breakfast with views of the ocean was always delightful, and Dave always gave good advise for activities to do either in Victoria or surrounding areas. The availability of having coffee or tea once back in your room was a nice touch. You will not be disappointed by staying here.


Dashwood Manor May 2011

2,6 en mayo 13, 2011

The room appeared "old" and the WC was so tiny it was difficult to use. THe worst part of the experience was the odd, musty odor that permeated the house.

Respuesta del propietario

We are always disappointed when a guest leaves with a poor impression as we do work very hard to make our home comfortable, inviting and spotlessly clean for their benefit. We take pride in our home and the services we offer our guests. The fact that this reviewer seems dissatisfied about everything we offer and everything we did for them, including dining, service, value and rooms, makes me question why they chose to stay with us in the first place. Perhaps they would have been better off staying in a very expensive 5 star hotel or resort. Our home is a 100 year old building, so, yes, it is old. In fact, our guests generally choose to stay here because of the heritage nature of our home as well as the fabulous location and ocean views. The house is not musty or smelly. Any odour that would differ from what one would smell in a new home is due to the 100 year old building and the heritage wood paneling in the foyer and stairwell. We do not have a problem with dampness that may bring a musty smell, and, like all bed and breakfasts in Victoria, we have an impeccable reputation for cleanliness. We have never in our 15 years in business been cited for cleanliness issues while being inspected by Tourism British Columbia, Tourism Victoria or any one of our bed and breakfast associations. Cleanliness is taken very seriously by ourselves, our staff and by all the inspectors. Our home is exceptionally large, with over 10 000 square feet of living space. Our guest rooms are similarly very spacious, with the smallest just over 300 square feet and the largest a whopping 750 square feet. This reviewer does not mention which room they stayed in, so it's hard to comment on the size of the bathroom. We do have a couple of bathrooms that are on the small side, but the are efficient and comfortable. Again, the reviewer's criticism makes me wonder if they should have paid a higher price to stay at a luxury resort instead of a heritage bed and breakfast.


The Perfect week-end get-away

5 en abril 28, 2011

We had the Best week-end! The Dashwood Manor is a fantastic accommodation. It is a beautifully restored manor. I think the view is even better than the web-site photos. We did not have a car and chose to walk everywhere for the week-end. This B&B was in a perfect location. It is right along the Ocean with a great walking path and beach access. This spot is very popular with the locals. Cook Street Village, with lots of choices for restaurants and cafés is about a 6 minute walk away. Dave, our host, was very informative with what to see in the area and had maps for us to use. Dave and Sharon even adjusted my breakfast as to my dietary restrictions.


what a great place

5 en marzo 12, 2011

the room was wonderful and very clean...it was so relaxing and the owners of the b & b were very kind and friendly. the food was excellent and home made i believe. i would recommend staying here and we will be back next spring..deb and peter taylor maple ridge bc


More Than Just a Bed and Breakfast

4,4 en marzo 10, 2011

We felt we were staying with a friend for the weekend. Dave took interest in what we wanted to see in the area and gave us guidance on our travels each day. Before we set out the door each morning we were met with a superb breakfast. Dashwood was perfectly located for us: next to the water and Beacon Hill park, blocks away from Cook Street Village, and a short walk into downtown Victoria. We came home each evening to our cozy room with a fire in the fireplace, in a beautiful seaside home.


Lovely Honeymoon Spot

4,0 en febrero 26, 2011

Dashwood Manor is a bit pricey, but was wonderful as a honeymoon spot. The rooms had fantastic views of the ocean, and were wonderfully set up. If you want a super romantic location and have the money to spend, I would highly recommend it.


2 Nights in the best room

3,6 en febrero 11, 2011

This was our second stay at the Dashwood, and we will come back again! The reason for the middle-value review, is because we were staying in the Chelsea suite, and for the price, the value, cleanliness and the dining were within expectations, and those being very GOOD. Service, as always, was impecible. A very good place to stay when visiting Victoria... you couldn't possibly leave the Dashwood feeling anything but deliciously satisfied.


Our holiday weekend in Victoria

5 en diciembre 11, 2010

Dave was a wonderful host and their magnificent home was so elegantly decorated for the holidays. We will be back.


dashwood manor 3 night stay

4,2 en octubre 23, 2010

3 night stay ,beautiful weather for october very easy access to restaurants in cooks village downtown shopping and dining. the beach is just across the street great dog watching at the dog park. we took a whale watching tour which was fantastic saw the orcas.we definateley will return to victoria and the dashwood manor. our host helped with every decision we made with lots of suggestions. wonderful home cooked breakfast every morning .excellent


Dashwood Manor

4,0 en septiembre 25, 2010

Very nice hosts!


Great place to stay in Victoria

4,6 en julio 01, 2009

My wife and I spent our 6 year anniversary here. It was perfect for a romantic weekend.


Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed & Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    CAD 110 - CAD 269
  • Comentarios (80) 4,5
  • Habitaciones 11
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2503855517
  • Sin cargo
    1-8006675517

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba