Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed & Breakfast Comentarios

TOTAL

4,4

Más info

  • Habitación
    4,2
  • Servicios4,7
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza4,5
  • Comidas4,5

Puntuación basada en
45 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

found just by chance while looking in the intrnet

4,6 en julio 16, 2014

Excellent location for morning or evening jogging along the rim. 15 min walking distance to the city (through the park). Very freindly hospitallity and lots of suggestions where to go, what to see, where to dine. Excellent breakfast served. Authentic impression of old Victorian style.


Review

4,6 en julio 11, 2014

We stayed in the oxford room and it was beautiful. The service was fabulous, very friendly and kind. My husband I were surprised at how great the options were for breakfast, food was delicious. Great view, great experience overall will definitely go again.


Wonderful place

4,4 en julio 10, 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Dashwood. Our room, the Windsor Oak, had been the old dining room, and it was large, comfortable and had so much character. David was full of information about Victoria and the Dashwood, as well as being responsive to our needs, like arranging an early breakfast when we needed to catch a ferry. Although I didn't meet Michael, I know he is a wonderful chef - perfect poached eggs, and a lovely presentation every morning! The location is nice, too. The water is right across the street, and it was fun watching people and their romping dogs in the park during breakfast. You can walk to the Beagle Pub and shopping, but there's no bustle and noise at night when you want to sleep. We would love to stay there again!


Dashwood June 2014

4,6 en julio 07, 2014

We loved our six day stay at Dashwood Manor. It is a lovely old house that retains a lot of its former glory. The best part of Dashwood is the personable owners and staff who are helpful in every way. Breakfasts in the former music room overlook the ovean, and there are five delicious choices to choose from. We would highly recommend this B & B as it is on the ocean, a 20 minute walk to the inner harbour, and across the street from the park. There is no doubt you will enjoy your time there.


Perfect for a getaway

4,0 en julio 07, 2014

We love it! We will be back for sure


Delightful Seaside Mansion

4,4 en julio 03, 2014

My three night stay at Dashwood Manor was delightful. David and Michael were excellent hosts offering helpful information on sights to see, nearby restaurants and preparing a delicious breakfast each morning. My room was very comfortable with crisp clean bedding and towels and a lovely view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mts. The mansion and garden are charming and well maintained. I have already recommended it to other travelers.


Seaside location in a mansion

3,8 en junio 28, 2014

Beautiful, large room, very comfortable bed. Hot tub in room, sadly the jets were not working. When I told David he took $20.00 off our bill which I thought very nice of him. Garden needs lots of work.


Good service

4,2 en junio 11, 2014

Very accommodating people


Fabulous Location!

4,4 en junio 10, 2014

You can't beat the view! A great location to stay in Victoria, ocean views and close to town, easy access to anything you need. Literally a 1 minute walk to the park or the beach. David and Michael are wonderful hosts. It's a gorgeous heritage home, beautifully maintained. I wish we could have stayed more than one night, next time we will give ourselves more time.


Lovely!

4,0 en junio 02, 2014

The folks managing this place are very friendly, polite, accommodating and professional. They were great hosts at every opportunity. Our room (the Kensington) has a great view over the dog park and out to the Strait of Juan de Fuca. On a clear day, you can see the Olympics, the Cascades, and the islands in the sound. The breakfast was very tasty and the breakfast room looks out over the dog park as well, so you get some entertainment from watching the dogs during your meal, as well as the view of the water and mountains beyond. As well as being right next to the sea, this B&B is right next to the Beacon Hill park. It's just a 10 minute walk through the park to downtown and a lot of Victoria's tourist attractions. Altogether we had a great stay and would gladly come back again!


Excellent Getaway

5 en mayo 26, 2014

Stayed in the Chelsea room recently. Fantastic service, meal and accommodation.


Spectacular

5 en mayo 20, 2014

We've visited more than once and plan to visit again. The hosts are friendly, eager to please, efficient, and quick to do whatever it takes to make your visit a success.


Location, ambiance, and service are outstanding.

5 en mayo 20, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in the Somerset room at Dashwood Manor and enjoyed every moment. David and Micheal went above and beyond to make our trip to Victoria enjoyable, accommodating a very late check-in right off the start (1:00am).. The breakfast is delicious. The location next to the water made sitting on our private patio with a bottle of local wine, purchased up Cook Street, one of the moments we will never forget. The connections and information David made available will facilitate any activities you want to do while in town. If David didn't know the answer to a question, he went out of his way to find out. We will definitely be returning as soon as we can. Thank you guys for the wonderful stay.


review

4,4 en mayo 13, 2014

Good place


Wonderful B&B

5 en octubre 07, 2013

We were absolutely impressed with every aspect of the B&B. The assistance given to us by all of the management and staff was friendly and very helpful. Would highly recommend this B&B. Annette and John (Australia).


Another lovely stay.....

5 en agosto 25, 2013

Dashwood Manor is THE most beautiful location in Victoria. Our room was nicely appointed and comfy with a great waterfront view. Excellent food and service, the tradition continues.....


Gem in Victoria

4,8 en agosto 24, 2013

Great neighborhood with local establishments close by. Easy lenghty walk to city center. Great hosts and outstanding breakfast.


Service, Location and Charm

4,4 en julio 15, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. There were several delicious choices for breakfast which was served restaurant style in the sunny dinning room with views of the park and water. The location was ideal and there was plenty to do in the vicinity. However, we did have a car and took some day trips to other areas. Our room was smaller than others I looked at but we did have a balcony. The only thing we missed was that the inn did not have a living room, but it was so nice outside that we probably wouldn't have used it much. We would definitely recommend Dashwood Manor and hope to go back some day.


Outstanding!!!

5 en junio 10, 2013

David & Michael at the Dashwood Manor were beyond welcoming, helpful, engaging, knowledgable and friendly. The house is gorgeous and full of history. When we first arrived we spent a great deal of time admiring the glorious and beautifully kept gardens surrounding the house. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The linens were crisp and fresh. The breakfast that Michael prepared was scrumptious, made with fresh herbs from the garden. David was kind and engaging. Two lovely men in a wonderful house in the best possible location! We will definitely return to the Dashwood Manor!


beacan hill park

4,0 en junio 10, 2013

great location and very nice garden


Two Night at Dashwood--Very Nice!

4,4 en junio 05, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a great time. The B&B is right on the water and Beacon Hill park (just the right distance from downtown). Our hosts, who took over operations only six weeks prior, made us feel welcome right from the start. The house has some old quirks to it, but overall has a very regal feel to it. The breakfast was amazing. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks guys! Tyler & Catherine

Respuesta del propietario

Thank you for your wonderful review! We will look forward to your next visit. Michael & David


Outstandimg value with a great view.

4,8 en mayo 28, 2013

The new owners of this Inn really care about their guests and if it's not already, will be a highly sought after vacation stop for many travellers. They have done a great job of decorating the rooms and the breakfast area which has a nice view of the ocean. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent with a nice menu to choose from.

Respuesta del propietario

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Michael & David


Dashwood Manor

5 en mayo 16, 2013

Hollie & Mark


Dashwood April stay

4,0 en abril 09, 2013

Great new owners, we were there the first day, and we will come back next time we are in Victoria to see how David and Michael are doing. Very pleasant part of our trip.


Delightful place to stay!

4,2 en abril 27, 2012

It's not easy to find a bed and breakfast just looking at the descriptions in Victoria, since b&b galore. I got lucky and something about the look of the house got me interested. The house/rooms are beautiful, so well preserved and David is a gracious host, breakfast was very good and the view.... ah the views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and Olympic Moutains are amazing. The Inn is the last house on the orad before the high-bluff waterfront path. I shall be coming back to stay again.... and not only for the view, or the feeling of yester years but to meet David again as well.


Dash to Dashwood

4,2 en octubre 11, 2011

The Inn keeper (Dave) was very accommodating and help us by being around as we arrived long before check in time. We were able to leave our bags there while we toured Victoria on foot. Dave knows a lot about the area and can give you the lay of the land quickly. The nice thing about this place though is the location. It is about a mile and a half from down town Victory, maybe closer if you cut through the park, but we never did. We would wake up to a view of the Juan de Fuca Strait. We could have just sat and looked out the window all day. Between the Inn and the Strait is a road and on the other side of the road is a park where dogs will play off leash especially in the morning. Don't worry about the road, there is some traffic during the day but almost none at night, it is a pretty quiet area. If you are a dog lover, even if you are not, this view will bring a smile to your face. The dogs are having the best time. The walk to Victoria down town was a lot of fun. There is a smaller town along the way and you can stop for Coffee, a beer (love the Beagle), a coffee, pick up some supplies at the market, coffee or stop by the 5 and dime. I mentioned coffee a few times because there are probably 6 coffee shops on the way. And yes even a Starbucks. I like the local coffee shops. We didn't rent a car this time but I will in a future trip. There is parking on site but since we did not use it, I am not sure if you have to reserve it, call first. There is street parking close anyway. Taxis are not cheap so the car rental will pay off quickly if you plan on needing wheels to get around. But you don't need a car if you like to walk a little. I am not sure what else to say... My biggest complement is...I am going back to Victoria and staying at the Dashwood.


beautiful peaceful home :)

4,8 en agosto 21, 2011

I truly enjoyed my time in this beautiful peaceful quiet home. Being on the ocean with a long walkway was wonderful. It was close to town and easily to get most places by foot. I would recommend it to anyone!


Lovely seaside B & B

3,6 en julio 25, 2011

Dashwood Manor is a lovely home in a fabulous setting--right across from the ocean and an easy walk into downtown Victoria. The host is very knowledgeable about the whole region and happy to make whatever arrangements are needed. Breakfasts are terrific. A few minor additions would make the place just about perfect--reading lamps by the bed, a mirror outside the bathroom so two people can get ready at the same time, more dresser space, higher quality blinds. Do note that breakfast is a multi-course hot meal served at 9 am sharp, not a casual buffet.


Wonderful Place To Stay

5 en julio 25, 2011

The spectacular cliffside view would have been worth the price, but this was accompanied by a very comfortable room, delicious gormet breakfasts and great hospitality. We loved our stay.


June 2011

4,0 en junio 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Dashwood Manor. The ocean view is beautiful. It is worth to book a room having a jaccuzi. The hosts gave us very helpful recommendations to discover Victoria and the landscape around.


Dashwood Manor

3,6 en junio 22, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights of our honeymoon at Dashwood Manor. Loved the location, beside Beacon Hill Park, with a spectacular view of the strait and the Olympic Mountains from our balcony. Helpful hosts and a great breakfast- we'd recommend to anyone who wants to see how lovely the real Victoria is- not just the "tourist" sights.


Extraordinary Retereat

4,0 en junio 20, 2011

What an amazing place. Lovely home in a gorgeous location. Close to city but felt miles away. Fun restaurants and shoppes within walking distance. Great walking paths and excellent cycling. This was the best retreat I have had in years.


Relaxing stay in Victoria

4,4 en junio 09, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Dashwood Manor for a weekend at the end of a week's visit to Vancouver. We were disappointed at having to leave this tranquil setting so quickly. We both would rather have spent a longer time at Dashwood than in Vancouver. We stayed in the Fairfield room. It's one of the smaller rooms and the bathroom is a little tight which might bother some people. The view was wonderful even though at a slight angle facing east. We spent much of the time transfixed on the scene as the occassional freighter would glide through the channel. Just in case you're expecting a secluded location, I think I should mention that there is a busy walking path and a strip of high grass that is an off-leash dog zone that borders the water. Along with the constant traffic on the adjoining street this accounts for quite a bit of activity; it's not noisy though, just busy. If you're a dog lover or a people watcher the view can be entertaining as well as mesmerizing. I think the location is one of Dashwood's better aspects. A short walk through a lovely park takes you into 'downtown'. A shorter walk just up the street takes you to a small village with restaurants and a market. Breakfast was a surprise. Both mornings it was prepared and served with obvious attention to the experience being created for the guests. In a light and airy dining room with full ocean view we were served ham and mushroom quiches in personal size baking dishes, freshly baked muffins, croissants with brie, and raspberry stuffed french toast. Along with fresh fruit and of course tea, it was much more than we expected. It's very quiet and peaceful; I don't believe any of the rooms have televisions, and it feels like time for bed when the light finally dims around ten o'clock in summer. I'm not a veteran of B and B's, but we loved it and highly recommend it as a base for exploring Victoria.


Beautiful views, warm hospitality

3,6 en junio 02, 2011

Our stay at the Dashwood was very pleasant. The location is outstanding, being far away enough from the touristy core of the city, but close enough to not be an ordeal to get there (we had a rental car, which helped). They are situated next to two of the larger parks in the city, which made going for a stroll both easy and pleasant. We were in the Cambridge Room, which was very comfortable (FANTASTIC BED), had gorgeous views of the water. The only downside to this room was that the bathroom was extremely small. Dave was a wonderful host, helping us figure out fun non-touristy things to do, and even scoring us reservations for afternoon tea and dinner at Victoria's most in-demand establishments. All in all, a wonderful 3d/2n trip.


Delightful place

4,4 en mayo 27, 2011

Stayed there for three days, and everything was perfect. This B&B is located in a quaint neighborhood, twenty minute walk away from the city center. Yet, the morning walk through Beacon park, wether rain or shine, was a good way to start the day. Breakfast with views of the ocean was always delightful, and Dave always gave good advise for activities to do either in Victoria or surrounding areas. The availability of having coffee or tea once back in your room was a nice touch. You will not be disappointed by staying here.


Dashwood Manor May 2011

2,6 en mayo 13, 2011

The room appeared "old" and the WC was so tiny it was difficult to use. THe worst part of the experience was the odd, musty odor that permeated the house.

Respuesta del propietario

We are always disappointed when a guest leaves with a poor impression as we do work very hard to make our home comfortable, inviting and spotlessly clean for their benefit. We take pride in our home and the services we offer our guests. The fact that this reviewer seems dissatisfied about everything we offer and everything we did for them, including dining, service, value and rooms, makes me question why they chose to stay with us in the first place. Perhaps they would have been better off staying in a very expensive 5 star hotel or resort. Our home is a 100 year old building, so, yes, it is old. In fact, our guests generally choose to stay here because of the heritage nature of our home as well as the fabulous location and ocean views. The house is not musty or smelly. Any odour that would differ from what one would smell in a new home is due to the 100 year old building and the heritage wood paneling in the foyer and stairwell. We do not have a problem with dampness that may bring a musty smell, and, like all bed and breakfasts in Victoria, we have an impeccable reputation for cleanliness. We have never in our 15 years in business been cited for cleanliness issues while being inspected by Tourism British Columbia, Tourism Victoria or any one of our bed and breakfast associations. Cleanliness is taken very seriously by ourselves, our staff and by all the inspectors. Our home is exceptionally large, with over 10 000 square feet of living space. Our guest rooms are similarly very spacious, with the smallest just over 300 square feet and the largest a whopping 750 square feet. This reviewer does not mention which room they stayed in, so it's hard to comment on the size of the bathroom. We do have a couple of bathrooms that are on the small side, but the are efficient and comfortable. Again, the reviewer's criticism makes me wonder if they should have paid a higher price to stay at a luxury resort instead of a heritage bed and breakfast.


The Perfect week-end get-away

5 en abril 28, 2011

We had the Best week-end! The Dashwood Manor is a fantastic accommodation. It is a beautifully restored manor. I think the view is even better than the web-site photos. We did not have a car and chose to walk everywhere for the week-end. This B&B was in a perfect location. It is right along the Ocean with a great walking path and beach access. This spot is very popular with the locals. Cook Street Village, with lots of choices for restaurants and cafés is about a 6 minute walk away. Dave, our host, was very informative with what to see in the area and had maps for us to use. Dave and Sharon even adjusted my breakfast as to my dietary restrictions.


what a great place

5 en marzo 12, 2011

the room was wonderful and very clean...it was so relaxing and the owners of the b & b were very kind and friendly. the food was excellent and home made i believe. i would recommend staying here and we will be back next spring..deb and peter taylor maple ridge bc


More Than Just a Bed and Breakfast

4,4 en marzo 10, 2011

We felt we were staying with a friend for the weekend. Dave took interest in what we wanted to see in the area and gave us guidance on our travels each day. Before we set out the door each morning we were met with a superb breakfast. Dashwood was perfectly located for us: next to the water and Beacon Hill park, blocks away from Cook Street Village, and a short walk into downtown Victoria. We came home each evening to our cozy room with a fire in the fireplace, in a beautiful seaside home.


Lovely Honeymoon Spot

4,0 en febrero 26, 2011

Dashwood Manor is a bit pricey, but was wonderful as a honeymoon spot. The rooms had fantastic views of the ocean, and were wonderfully set up. If you want a super romantic location and have the money to spend, I would highly recommend it.


2 Nights in the best room

3,6 en febrero 11, 2011

This was our second stay at the Dashwood, and we will come back again! The reason for the middle-value review, is because we were staying in the Chelsea suite, and for the price, the value, cleanliness and the dining were within expectations, and those being very GOOD. Service, as always, was impecible. A very good place to stay when visiting Victoria... you couldn't possibly leave the Dashwood feeling anything but deliciously satisfied.


Our holiday weekend in Victoria

5 en diciembre 11, 2010

Dave was a wonderful host and their magnificent home was so elegantly decorated for the holidays. We will be back.


dashwood manor 3 night stay

4,2 en octubre 23, 2010

3 night stay ,beautiful weather for october very easy access to restaurants in cooks village downtown shopping and dining. the beach is just across the street great dog watching at the dog park. we took a whale watching tour which was fantastic saw the orcas.we definateley will return to victoria and the dashwood manor. our host helped with every decision we made with lots of suggestions. wonderful home cooked breakfast every morning .excellent


Dashwood Manor

4,0 en septiembre 25, 2010

Very nice hosts!


Great place to stay in Victoria

4,6 en julio 01, 2009

My wife and I spent our 6 year anniversary here. It was perfect for a romantic weekend.


Dashwood Manor Seaside Bed & Breakfast

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    CAD 110 - CAD 269
  • Comentarios (45) 4,4
  • Habitaciones 11
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-2503855517
  • Sin cargo
    1-8006675517

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba