Spirit Tree Inn B&B Comentarios

TOTAL

4,1

Más info

  • Habitación
    3,8
  • Servicios4,5
  • Estimación4,0
  • Limpieza3,9
  • Comidas4,3

Puntuación basada en
45 Comentarios

Escribir un comentario

Wine country visit

3,4 en octubre 14, 2014

Nice and quiet. Great good, friendly folks.


Wonderful place!

3,4 en julio 18, 2014

We loved the location and Mary Jane was great!


Unique and unforgettable

4,6 en junio 29, 2014

Barbara and I were fully satisfied with the two nights at Spirit In. Tom served us a special dinner in celebration of our 52nd anniversary that we will long remember. We would recommend it to anyone as a great value. Tom also is a history "buff" and we had conversations about many things and he went out of his way to be sure our experience was everything we expected. It exceeded it.


Unique in every way

4,0 en abril 29, 2014

Spirit Tree Inn is not your typical chair hotel. It has much more character than that. When they say it is a former OLD ranch house that is exactly it. It is old, and therefore has some rather funky corners. We loved it but it took a little while to appreciate it all. The hosts and other guests were extremely friendly, the patio provided the best birding we found, the room was clean, and the grounds beautiful. Breakfast was gormet but a bit sparse. We plan to return for a different season to see what other species of birds show themselves.


Pleasant Base for Birding

4,4 en abril 27, 2014

We visited this area to do birding. Situated outside of Patagonia on a small ranch, the setting was lovely; being originally from Amish country the story of the barn was all the more interesting; the pair of Elf Owl's was a plus we didn't expect; and Tom was the perfect host - informative; a good conversationalist and attentive to our needs.


April visit to Spirit Tree.

3,4 en abril 22, 2014

We especially enjoyed sitting outside and watching the birds come and go through the day. The dinner Tom prated for us one night was delicious, as was the wine.


Birding at Spirit Tree Inn

3,4 en abril 15, 2014

This away from traffic noise is a wonderful location for birders to SE Arizona. Many wonderful birds are found in the vegetation, and at the feeders around the patio. Birders and naturalists may be dismayed to see two cats roaming free around the property. There is also a dog, but it is a quiet one. The best thing about this B&B is the warm welcome given by Mary Jane, and the way that guests are made to feel at home. I appreciated the tea selection in the evening, and the wonderful hot breakfast prepared by Tom in the morning. I definitely hope for many return trips.


Terrific Quiet Getaway

4,6 en marzo 26, 2014

Rustic, homey. . .like visiting your friends on their farm / ranch with little uniqueness all around. Definitely going back - rest, relaxation, delicious breakfast and great company!


tucked away in Patagonia

5 en enero 16, 2014

My husband and I needed a quiet retreat in a part of Arizona we already loved for its rolling hills and hidden wetlands. We found it here. There are lots of personal touches to the house, a fantastic breakfast, and magical surroundings. I definitely recommend Spirit Tree Inn.


Excellent Host and Hostess!

4,8 en octubre 16, 2013

I stayed at the Spirit Tree the weekend of Oct 12th and was pleasantly surprised. It's a very quaint B&B in a quiet, remote but very accessible area near Patagonia.Tom greeted us upon arrival and during our stay continued to entertain and educate us about antiques, history,cooking, just about anything! Mary Beth is an incredibly gracious hostess and made us feel welcome and very much at home. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard and relaxing at the end of the day with a glass of wine from one of the local wineries. I plan on returning soon.


Hacienda Experience

4,0 en marzo 08, 2013

This hacienda has history! The room was too warm the first night. Ask the host to turn the thermostat down. Remote and quiet, except for the Border Patrol trucks at night. My husband didn't hear them at all--I only heard them because I got up at night.....The adobe walls block noise. Great food, and knowledgeable hosts.


birthday getaway

5 en febrero 03, 2013

the place was beautiful, the food was delicious, the hosts were super friendly, and the room was extremely comfortable!


Sounded great

1,6 en enero 21, 2013

The Oriental room, wasn't quite ready as Tom explained he had been repairing frozen water pipes all day. So, we went back to the Arizona Trailhead we had passed a half mile down the road. We returned to the house just before 5 pm and we asked if we could walk the property. He said sure, he was just going to clean the morning dishes and by the way, the other guests who were supposed to be staying another night would not be returning, so we would have the whole place to ourselves! We had already read a review that said the place wouldn't be fancy, but shed after shed seemed to be piled high with stuff and it became clear maintenance and cleanliness were lacking. Back inside, the kitchen counters were cluttered. There was a quart of half and half left out as well as a bag of oranges with an open tube of white caulk in it. In the refrigerator were rotting cucumbers. The water in the water cooler next to the dining area tasted terrible. At night, the heat was blasting in the room. It could be that concentration of heat made the ants start coming out of the bathroom wall near the register. Before I noticed them, the ants started crawling up my legs biting me as I stood using the toilet at 5:30 am. Tom came in at 6 or so and we told him we would be leaving earlier than planned. He walked us out to the car with a flash light and just kept talking until we finished packing the trunk and got in. The Town, Arizona Trail, dark sky full of shooting stars, and the ranch setting are cool, but unfortunately, we didn't have the greatest overnight here.


A great Christmas break

3,8 en diciembre 30, 2012

Not only did we enjoy the accomodations but we were awed by the quality and variety of the food served us. We also had the opportunity to explore Southern Arizona down to the border, especially the San Rafael Valley where the movies Oklahoma and McClintock were filmed.


Birding Paradise

3,8 en mayo 15, 2012

Mary Jane was very helpful and accommodating when I called her on the phone. Because of this we decided to spend two nights here. The door was open when we came up the stairs and Tom said come on in--just like we were family. And he was right there to greet us. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We chose this B &B because we wanted to see birds. And we saw them . Lots of birds were on the patio—in the trees, at the feeders and on the ground. More birds were on the fence posts and in the trees in the paddock. When I called to see about reserving a room, Mary Jane said that Tom would show us where some of the birds were and he kindly went out of his way to show us. He was also very good about identifying a lot of the birds for us. The house itself reminded me a bit of my grandmother’s—it is not the Ritz. If you want a spa or swimming pool or to be catered to 24/7 or a television or phone in your room this is not the place for you. However, if you want to see birds or be out of the town at some place quiet and relaxing and to have your spirit refreshed then THIS IS THE PLACE FO R YOU! Do not expect lunch or supper (we knew this ahead of time so were prepared to go into town to eat). Tom prepared breakfast for us. He had breakfast ready for us at 5:15 each morning just so we could go birding by 6. Tom we loved your mesquite pancakes. Tom was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were very sorry to miss Mary Jane. We will certainly try to stay here if we are in Patagonia again. (For birders, Tom has cards for a bird guide--Matt Brown- (The Patagonia BIrd and Butterfuly Company.We hired Matt and were very happy--he went out of his way to show us lots of birds..) Only guests are allowed on the property to see birds unless by prior appointment with Tom and Mary Jane.


Great place for birding

4,0 en mayo 05, 2012

Mary Jane & Tom have a great place for those wanting a quite break with great birding available in the area. Tom is a great chef and Many Jane makes you feel most welcome. We would certainly not hesitate in staying at the Spirit Tree Inn again & hope to do so in the near future. Lesley & Gerry Grady


Great Place in Nature

3,8 en marzo 13, 2012

We had a great time at Spirit Tree with our dog staying in one of the casitas. It is away from the town and the stars there at night are amazing. Mary Jane and Tom are great hosts and we felt totally comfortable and relaxed for our stay.


stay on Feb 28-29, 2012

4,0 en marzo 05, 2012

Thanks to Tom's suggestion we did see an elegant trogon


Quiet Getaway

3,8 en diciembre 22, 2011

We booked the Spirit Tree B&B to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary and were pleasently suprised when we checked in on November 14, 2011. If you desire a fancy, posh Inn, go elsewhere, but if you need a quiet place on a rustic ranch where you can rest mind and body, this is the place. Mary Jane and Tom went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experiance. Our cabin was set up to make our arrival warm and friendlly and the evening meal we requested was designed by Tom to be a dining pleasure. When our hosts learned about wanting to renew our wedding vows, they found a pastor to perform a renewal cermony for us. To be treated as a dear friend made the environment one where we did not want to leave and will return when we can.


Brightest shooting stars ever!

4,8 en julio 02, 2011

Mary Jane and Tom have created a very special ambiance at the Spirit Tree. Their warm, welcoming, easy going nature, all the antiques, the incredible Amish barn and the peaceful location all added up to a restful and warm stay.


Beatiful place for birding and relaxing

4,2 en marzo 14, 2011

We Wanted to go to the Patagonia area to experience the nature and look at the birds in the area, and we had just come to the right place. We stayed in the Oriental Room, that was not very spacious with the twin beds, but we enjoyed it anyway. In the morning when we woke up and looked out of our window, we saw a lot of birds on the patio, because they fed the birds intensively. The breakfast was excellent. Tom is a very good cook and very flexible about the time. Tom and Mary Jane were very friendly, and during breakfast Tom sat at the table talking with us and telling us about the good things to see in the area. We highly recommend this beautiful place


Quiet, lovely rural setting. Yummy breakfast.

4,0 en febrero 28, 2011

We stayed in the Lavender room which has a king sized bed. There's a door to the main part of the house, plus a door to the glassed in side porch. The room has everything you might expect: a private bath with shower stall, one comfy chair, lamps, bedside tables, bench for luggage, etc. Breakfast is served at whatever time you specify the day before. Tom is an excellent cook and had no problem with our vegetarian requests. The house is located about 3 miles outside of the town of Patagonia and 15 miles from Sonoita. The innkeepers are very helpful with everything from restaurant choices to things to do and see. We had a lovely weekend there and look forward to visiting the area and Spirit Tree Inn again.


Rustic Get-away

4,2 en febrero 17, 2011

Spirit Tree is a great place to go if you want to get away to a rural woods environment, a place that is very quiet and close to nature. The B&B was created from a working ranchhouse and out buildings, and has been there for almost 100 years--so the facilities are genuinely old, but very clean. The people who staff Spirit Tree were very friendly to us, and took their time to tell us about our surroundings so that we could get the most out of them. There are trails to hike and walk, and you can also use trail-type bycicles. This is not a place to go if you want to keep your business suit and high heels on! This is a place to be informal, and relax. You will be asked to conserve water, and they keep the rooms at 65 degrees in the winter, which is too cold for some people who have health issues. The food was great, the scenery was heart-openingly beautiful! The Spirit Tree is a real tree that is breathtaking! Even the pets and animals are friendly (dog, cats, goat). The dogs in the kennel will bark a little in the evening, but I had no trouble ignoring the sound and fell right to sleep. We stayed in the Equine room, where the bathroom is very small, but it was fun! We highly recommend this beautiful place, and we plan to come back!


Great food, warm and helpful hosts in a lovely location for hiking, birding and relaxing.

3,6 en enero 30, 2011

The Library room was our favourite room, spacious and comfortable with lots of windows to look out over the property. Dinner was an option and we are so glad we did as it was wonderful, Tom is a GREAT cook.


"rustic" camping style B&B

2,0 en enero 04, 2011

We arrived in late Dec. with a winter storm coming in to find a slightly run down property located in a wonderful nook under Red Mountain. We entered the main house to find it deserted and a bit cluttered but interesting. Eventually, someone wandered out, saying nothing led us to our cottage. The cottage was cold, the heat not having been turned on for our arrival. We were told not to turn the heat above the #2 setting but it had to be turned to full force. We then found a broken window the doors it got covered with something. Directions to trails from the owner were faulty. We found our own hikes. We had the B&B make us dinner our first night and the food was good but not great but the owners manner left little to be desired. I was scolded by the owner because I did not feel like eating eggs for breakfast and was not offered an alternative the next morning. The coffee the color of weak tea and the cream curdled. We were not offered replacement. The second morning's breakfast was cold bacon and rather soggy pancakes. (same coffee) The shower did not work at all--no water! No credit for the inconvenience was offered. If one is looking for interesting hikes and know how to find your own and a very very rustic camping dwelling situation this place will suffice. But if you are intending on having a romantic comfortable getaway with excellent service and food, unfortunately, this is not the place to go.


Get Away

4,4 en diciembre 02, 2010

Needed a get away from the big city and bright lights. Spirit Tree Inn was great. The stars at night were amazing. Tom and Mary Jane were easy to be with and made us feel comfortable. The food was outstanding. Tom is a great cook. He made special accomodations for gluten & dairy free breakfast for my partner's diet. She said it was delicious. We stayed in The Sonoran Bunkhouse and the heater kept everything cozy.


Wonderful Retreat near Patagonia

5 en octubre 12, 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Spirit Tree Inn in July 2010. We stayed in one of the little cabins and loved the privacy. We were very surprised to find that a full, hot breakfast was served every morning in the main house--usually when we have a separate cabin, the most we get is a basket with muffins the first morning. The main house and dining room are beautiful. The big ranch property is amazing. Manyl areas to walk, including a canyon, cave, labyrinth, many birds, flowers and butterflies. as well as an occasional stream running right behind our cabin. The innkeepers were extremely kind and helpful, e.g., going out of their way to assist when we had car trouble and point out nesting birds, etc.


Good Medicine

4,2 en junio 20, 2010

We were looking for a little respite from 'Big City' life and found just what the Doctor ordered. Our overnight stay at Spirit Tree Inn B&B was healing, relaxing, rejuvenating....and comfortable. We felt like we had come home. Thank you Mary Jane, Tom and Joe for you genuine hospitality and infectious passion and knowledge of the enchanting Mountain Empire you live in. We can't wait to come back when we can spend more time.


Lovely setting

4,0 en junio 06, 2010

The proprieters were wonderful, the food was excellent, not as clean as I like but enjoyed the stay.


Nice place -- lots of cool birds!

3,0 en abril 12, 2010

The situation was very convenient for what we were doing, and the room was pleasant -- closet was full of stuff so we had to hang clothes over chairs and the ladder to the loft. Food was very good but they don't understand vegitarian -- one guy who was eating breakfast with us was and when he reminded them, they said -- No problem, the bacon is turkey! It's a charming place, but needs some serious maintenance.


Awesome mountains views!

3,2 en marzo 22, 2010

My husband and I previously stayed at Spirit Tree Inn (B&B) a couple of years ago, and we came back again this time for a one night stay, bringing a couple of friends along. Mary Jean (the owner) was very friendly and knowledgeable of the Sonoita and Patagonia areas. In addition, she is well known by the locals and most of the Sonoita wineries. Spirit Tree Inn is a relaxing and peaceful place to stay after a long day of hiking, and a great place to unwind after visiting all the wineries around the Sonoita areas. Breakfasts at Spirit Tree Inn are delightful as well. The views of the mountains are amazing! One downside is that we were not allowed to use the indoor fireplace. That was one of the charms of the place that we wish we could have utilized.


A wonderful & beautiful place to stay

5 en marzo 21, 2010

My stay at the Spirit Tree Inn B&B was wonderful. My stay was mainly for birding. Mary Jane & Thomas ensured a comfortable stay. Thomas prepared a delicious & healthy breakfast. Joe was very knowledgeable & informative with birds in the area. Set away on a beautiful & cozy property but, not too far away from the happenings of Patagonia. A variety of birds can be seen right in the patio or on the property. A five star place! Highly recommended.


outstanding

4,8 en enero 09, 2009

Great bed, outstanding food, perfect company, located in an outdoor paradise


Spirit Tree Inn

3,4 en diciembre 01, 2008

I went to Patagonia for bird watching. The place, folks, and service was great. The sleeper sofa I stayed on was not bad, but not as comfortable as I hoped.


Perfect Romantic Getaway

5 en octubre 14, 2008

My Husband & I just celebrated our 21st anniversary with a two night stay at The Spirit Tree Inn B&B. The entire weekend was so relaxing and peaceful! We had a small room inside the ranch house that was very comfortable, clean and adorned with beautiful antiques. The staff here cares about your stay and they go out of their way to make everything just right. We were greeted and given a tour the moment we arrived. The Inn is at an old ranch and has many treasures inside and out . . . beautiful antiques from the 1800's, the actual "spirit tree" cottonwood tree that whispers in the wind, and the expectional food prepared by our hosts! We enjoyed touring the area around Patagonia. Our hosts recommended a great restaurant our first night called "The Velvet Elvis". We highly recommend their special "Wine & Dine" offered at the inn, a package which included two wine glasses, a wine tasting tour at The Sonoita Winery, and a 5 star dinner prepared by Chef Tom. We are looking forward to returning again next Spring for another chance to get away from the hectic city and enjoy the peace and quiet of this delightful B&B. I am a native of Arizona and I feel like I have discovered a new treasure in my home state. Thanks to our gracious hosts; Mary Jane, Tom & Joe!


A Piece of Heaven!

5 en agosto 08, 2008

The Spirit Tree Inn is truly a "piece of heaven"! I lived in Az back in the 80's and recently had the opportunity to come back and visit. I wanted the Arizona experience of living in the desert country surrounded by nature. This past June was my second visit to the Spirit Tree Inn. My first time was so memorable that when the chance to stay again came up, I was thrilled. The peaceful serenity of the beautiful inn was so welcoming and I felt at home. The Inn keepers, Mary Jane and Tom were so welcoming and "Quiet Joe" our expert on all the local events and history was very informative. Not to forget to mention Joe was a great tour guide of the new "old" barn that was just built. The food was so delicious and great care was given to the preparation for my delight. I loved the variety of teas to choose from and bought some to take home with me, including a special tea pot steep it in. But I especially loved the room that I slept in. I had noticed it on my first visit but it was already occupied, so when the library was available on my 2nd visit I was very happy. The room has a window seat and a garden window with trees all around. A great getaway place to visit and just hang out in. And of course a wonderful place to come back to after a day spent walking or exploring. Can't wait to come back for another visit!


What a getaway...

4,8 en julio 21, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at the casita twice. The first time we went in October for two nights. We were very pleased that we had complete privacy. And the quiet! We had the grand tour of the main house and my husband was invited to play the piano whenever he wanted to. The second time was recently in July. It was monsoon season so we left the doors in the casita open because we didn't need the air conditioner. We were accomodated with bicycles and a grill upon request. We also had the opportunity to say hello to Wayne, the goat. I was able to read in complete peace. The Spirit Tree Inn is a charming, cozy place. Perfect for a quiet, romantic getaway. If you go, remember to state whether you are vegetarian or have any food allergies. Close by is Patagonia. There is a cafe that has wi-fi, great pies and tasty coffee.


Excellend Hosts

4,6 en julio 19, 2008

Basically, we were looking for a quiet B&B in which we could relax and enjoy the wildlife in the Patagonia area. We arrived late the Sprit Tree and the host took us immediately to view some very interesting sites around the property. What impressed me most was the host's attentiveness and willingness to share his impressive knowledge of the local wildlife and other good viewing sites in the area. We would highly recommend this B&B to others.


Peace & Quiet at Last!

4,4 en junio 22, 2008

We arrived and were greeted by a charming and enthusiastic Joe Bartholomeaux. He gave us the lowdown on the property, showed us around, asked when we would like to have breakfast in the morning and took us to our room so we could rest.Joe was a wonderful host. The meals he cooked for breakfast were tasty, fresh and light. Guests are given almost full access to the property and the main house where there are two large, comfortable and most importantly...peaceful common rooms to hang out in. I spent most of my time in the Music Room when I felt like being alone,(a beautiful room but no one ever was in there) and in the main room off the kitchen when I was up to conversation with other guests. There is a hiking trail around the property which requires good shoes and moderate stamina, and a full size Labyrinth which is a great meditation walk in the early a.m. The Bunkhouse and the Homestead house are both very rough & rustic on the outside which is deceiving as they are exremely nice and comfortable inside with bright paint, comfortable furniture and lovely wall pictures. Just from their property we saw a coyote, deer, roadrunners and squirrels. This was our first B&B experience and we didn't know what to expect. All in all a great get a way. We will definitly be going again.


Peaceful; Natural Beauty; Gracious Service

5 en junio 17, 2008

What an extraordinary place, Spirit Tree Inn. We stayed for three nights, everything was a pleasure for two reasons, the setting is beautiful and the proprietor, Joe Bartholomeaux, provided exceptional service. On our first day, Joe delighted us with a wonderful breakfast and interesting information about the Patagonia area. We especially enjoyed his detailed, enthusiastic tour of the historic, 1880s barn and how it was recently brought from Pennsylvania and re-built by hand at Spirit Tree. We felt like we had been to a special museum and had lucked out being able to have the A+ guide with whom everyone hoped to spend time! Joe was simply amazing extending himself and bailing us out when we had trouble with our rental car – he solved the problem when our insurance company couldn’t. Joe gave us maps for hiking and driving and the in-depth local stories and history that made our exploring very satisfying. Eventually we discovered the peace of sitting in the garden amongst flowers and the many species of birds who are attracted to this secluded sanctuary. We stayed in the “Sonoran Bunkhouse” enjoying the privacy and views of the mountains. It was perfect. We’ll be back!


Relaxing Southwestern ambiance

3,6 en junio 15, 2008

Wonderful hosts, great location. If you are a light sleeper you won't want to sleep in the main house or else you'll be up at 5 am. Great amount of places to relax, read, watch birds or TV. Food quality was great but a B&B should have some breads, muffins, or something besides fruit & Frittata.


A charming oasis & great service

4,2 en mayo 30, 2008

We stayed in the Lavender room, quaint and nicely furnished with antique furniture. The owners are great hosts and very knowledgeable about the area. The light breakfast was tasty and well presented. The property has charm. There are animals to visit with and plenty of wildlife - a birder's paradise!. We definitely recommend this spot.


Memorial Weekend

4,8 en mayo 26, 2008

It was the perfect get-a-way for the long weekend. It felt like being in the middle of a "novel". The owners are the perfect hosts and very accommodating. The gourmet breakfast is unremarkable. It was easy to meet and interact with other guests, and yet my privacy was respected too. I was made to feel at home the moment I arrived with an on-site tour and history of the Inn. The story of how the 1930's barn became a part of the Spirit Tree is amazing. A wonderful experience of Patagonia and the surrounding area. Thank you!


What a find!

5 en mayo 26, 2008

I was searching for a place to "get away from it all" and fortunately for me, I found the Spirit Tree Inn near Patagonia, AZ. As a career pilot I have spent many nights at many hotels, motels, etc. The Spirit Tree is a real gem and a welcomed relief from the usual fare. My home is near Tucson and is only about an hour's drive from Patagonia. A friend asked me why I would spend the night at a place so close to home. My answer was that I wanted to find a place to "get away" and I liked what I read about the Spirit Tree. I decided to give it a try and I am so glad I did.... WHAT A FIND! Mary Jane Pottebaum was extremely helpful in making the arrangements for our visit. The Spirit Tree is better than advertised, the beauty of the place well exceeded my expectations and the staff's obvious, number one priority is making a stay there as pleasant and memorable as possible. The accommodations were neat and clean and were well prepared for our stay. There is a lot of history about the place and all you have to do is ask for a "tour". Tom and Joe Bartholomeaux went "above and beyond" in their efforts to assist us and make us feel at home. The breakfast prepared by Tom was simply outstanding and he even shared one of his "secret recipes". I won't tell you what it's for, you will have to go there and find out for yourself. You'll be glad you did! Joe was most helpful in directing us to some great hiking and we didn't even have to leave the premises. My only regret is that we were unable to stay for more than one night, a mistake I won't make again. I'll be taking advantage of summer rates and specials and can't wait to schedule another, longer visit. If you just want to "get away from the rat race" and truly relax for a while I cannot think of a better place to do it. Leave your cell phone at home, it won't work there anyway and believe me, you won't miss it!


Wonderful

4,2 en marzo 10, 2008

Excellent hosts and a wonderful place to kickback and relax. Worth every penny and then some.We will return.


Spirit Tree Inn B&B

Detalles

  • Precio/noche
    $105 - $160
  • Comentarios (45) 4,1
  • Habitaciones 6
  • Se aceptan las tarjetas regalos

Contacta o Reserva

  • Teléfono 1-5203940121
  • Fax 1-5203940081
  • Tel. móvil
    1-5206030406
  • Tel. móvil
    1-5204010541
  • Sin cargo
    1-8663940121

Sitio web »

Más info

Arriba