Give the gift of a getaway!

Recent Reviews in Ellicott City, Maryland

A night a way from home at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on April 13, 2015

The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor is a beautiful historic property. My wife and I wanted a night away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary and this place met all our needs. We stayed in the Y suite. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast to blow your mind, this is not the place to go. The breakfast was good, but not impressive. The rooms had everything they described, but wasn't as you expected. For example, a fireplace in our room, was a pilot heater with fake flames. Also, be sure to ask for a tour of the place. When we arrived, we were given a tour of only the first floor. After an evening out, my wife and I explored the property a bit, but did not know of the billiard room downstairs. If you are looking for a place close to Baltimore and Washington DC, but away from the city noise, then this place is your answer.

View more reviews for this inn


we will be back at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on April 03, 2015

since we were there for a next-morning funeral we were not able to partake in the full breakfast. we will on our next visits.

View more reviews for this inn


FANTASTIC stay at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on April 02, 2015

We LOVED our stay here!!! It was so romantic and quiet, and beautifully decorated! When we arrived, we had a LOT of luggage. We were supposed to be in a room a few floors up, but when the people at the front desk saw us with all of our bags, they upgraded us to a first floor, much bigger room. In fact, it was a suite with two rooms! (It was both winter aka slow season and the elevator was broken, so I don't think it was a hardship for them, but they were also definitely being kind!!!) The rooms were gorgeous, we could snuggle on a couch/decorative pull-out bed in front of the fireplace in one room and sleep in the other, having both a fridge and a microwave in the room helped us out a LOT, the shower and jacuzzi bathtub were beautiful, my fiancee took advantage of the complimentary breakfast (DEFINITELY above the normal quality of complimentary breakfasts) (I was at work)...it was pretty quiet for being in the city...it's going to sound strange, but the only downside was the pillows...they were too fluffy, They were uncomfortable to use and they were all the same..I slept okay without one, but it caused my fiancee to not sleep so well. It wasn't the bed; the bed was great. It was the pillows. Besides that one little thing, we loved our stay here and can't wait to come back!!

View more reviews for this inn


A Great Getaway at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on March 31, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night at this beautiful & historic Inn. We highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great getaway with superior comfort and a delicious breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


Snowed in at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

3.6 reviewed on March 01, 2015

The Inn was terrific. The snow and resulting traffic along with my wife's illness made the getaway a little less pleasant. But no fault of the Inn

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Valentines Weekend at Wayside Inn at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on February 28, 2015

We had a wonderful time. Every was so nice and the food was great. .I wanted more :-). Get a room with a fireplace in it. It's the best and the jetted tubs were very relaxing. We will be back again¿

View more reviews for this inn


Undercover Best Get Away Around at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2015

The staff at the Inn was absolutely phenomenal. Ted, the front desk man, was hilariously quirky and accommodating. We went the day after Valentine's Day and they had a jazz trio playing and wine for the guests to enjoy during the show! The room was simple yet cozy and very warm in the cold winter. The bed was the best bed ever- including my own. Our room had a detached private bathroom, which we were nervous about, but ended up being no trouble at all. The breakfast the next morning was the bomb- I recommend the pancakes WITH ENTHUSIASM! I literally have nothing bad to say about the Inn.

View more reviews for this inn


One night getaway at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

3.4 reviewed on February 21, 2015

There are both pros and cons for this B&B, just like any other place. If you are looking for a good home cooked breakfast, some live entertainment (at times), friendly staff members, an intimate atmosphere, cleanliness, and a place that is conveniently located to a historic city, then this inn is the place for you. If you are more interested in an elegant, fancy setting, updated decor, upkept landscape (especially for the amount you will pay for a room), then you may want to look elsewhere. Hope this helps!

View more reviews for this inn


We will be back at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2015

Convenient, private, warm, romantic

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 16, 2015

My brother, daughter and I gave this gift to my parents for Christmas and they had a great time. They said they would return in a heartbeat. Thanks for the great time!!!

View more reviews for this inn


When are we going back? at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on February 13, 2015

Let me be very clear: this was, hands down, the best time I've ever had at a B&B. My husband took me there for Valentine's day this year. We stayed for 5 days. I'm already planning to go back for our anniversary. The rooms are all unique, and all have their own character. We stayed in the C suite, which was absolutely gorgeous, and included a king size bed, with Tempurpedic mattress, living room with fireplace, bathroom fireplace, gigantic bathroom with round Jacuzzi garden tub and separate steam shower, and a huge walk in closet. The inn is full of split levels and sitting areas like the well-stocked library, or the alcove on the side of the dining room, where you can just sit down with a book, or a drink. Then there is the game room. You have pretty much full access to most of the house. You can also grab a soda from the fridge in the library. Or serve yourself a cup of coffee or tea from the coffee bar. Want a snack at 1am? Go nibble on some cheese and crackers they lay for you every evening. The owners and staff will treat you like family and truly bend over backwards to make your stay as wonderful as it can be. They want you to be happy, and in our case they really went out of their way and did way more than the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The location is for lack of a better word, perfect. Not even half an hour from Baltimore, it’s close enough for a spur of the moment getaway. You feel like you are secluded and away from everything, in that gorgeous romantic timeless house. At the same time, you are less than 10 minutes away from an AMC mall and a Cheesecake factory, and if you don't care for chains, enough good restaurants around to satisfy the toughest foodies. To summarize, there was simply zero downside to our romantic getaway at the Columbia Inn at Peralynna. We fully intend to come back next year for Valentine week, and probably before that, too. I'd go on, but I’m all out of available characters

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing retreat at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 09, 2015

We just returned from a one night stay at the 1840s Carrollton Inn, and we had a wonderful time! The Carroll Suite was gorgeous and the romance package was worth every penny - such a surprise for my husband to come back from dinner and find the entire suite filled with candles and rose petals! Breakfast was delicious - Eggs Benedict and the Ham Omelet were both well liked and the fruit medley was nice, fresh fruit, not mushy stuff! To echo an earlier comment, the restaurant that was recommended on the Inn's site was not worth it at all...sorry, La Tavola. Adam at the front desk was great! Thank you for a lovely stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend! at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2015

Stayed at the Wayside in to visit my daughter in Ellicott City, my second time at Wayside, my wife's first. We were very happy with the pleasant service, great mattress and excellent food. We love old homes and felt very comfortable there. We had a great suite with a large bathroom. Linens were first rate. Susan and David were very welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


We would stay again in a heartbeat at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

5 reviewed on February 03, 2015

We recently took a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary and found the 1840's Carrollton and we absolutely loved it. The rooms were gorgeous, the staff very friendly and the location was good. We were disappointed by the Italian restaurant that was suggested (who appeared to be a co-advertiser), but we don't fault the hotel staff. The winter rates make the B&B much more affordable for those on a more modest budget. We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 30, 2015

We left the baby with the babysitter and celebrated a kid-free overnight here. Although we only live half an hour away, it truly felt like a vacation here! The room was beautiful and the bathroom was spacious. (loved the jacuzzi tub, too!) The owners were super-friendly and hospitable. And the breakfast was absolutely delicious. We appreciated the 9:30am breakfast time - a lot of places stop serving at 9, and the extra half hour really made a difference - true luxury. We'll definitely be back next time we get the chance to leave our baby with the sitter!

View more reviews for this inn


amazing facility, except...... at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

3.8 reviewed on January 27, 2015

our second stay at a wonderful facility in a great location. everything about it is top notch and breakfast choices are great, whether partaking downstairs or in the privacy of your spectacular room. only problem we experienced, both times, is that the whirlpool tubs did not function. they are basically oversized bath tubs. that is fine, but we were lured into registering (at a premium price) specifically because we go our of our way to find rooms with fitted tubs - not an easy find. so, if you are looking for that elusive jetted tub in baltimore, this might not be the place for you.

View more reviews for this inn


A classy, historic spot in a contemporary neighborhood! at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on January 19, 2015

My stay at 1840s Carrollton Inn was by far the best B&B to date. The rooms are beautiful, classic and the whirlpool tubs in their chic bathrooms are just a lot more packed into the reasonably priced (we made use of one of their many frequent specials!) What made this place really stand out compared to other spots was their service. Not once did any of the staff make me feel like it was a business, or that I was their client. They made it my home away from home. I would definitely stay there again! Highly recommended!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Inn at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on January 17, 2015

This was our second stay at the Wayside Inn. It's close to home and makes a nice mini-vacation for us. We always recommend this Inn to friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Beyond expectations at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on January 07, 2015

As a long time B&B guest/traveler, I have learned to moderate my expectations when making on-line reservations. I have probably stayed in 20-25 different hotel/motel/B&B's in each of the past 20 years. I would like to express my thanks and respect to the owners and staff of the 1840s Carrollton Inn. It is 5 star in every respect. After returning from Italy, and staying at $500 - $700 per night 5 stars over a period of two weeks, I was so, so pleasantly surprised this weekend by Carrollton's value and features that I thought I should let others know.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to stay, historic yet timeless at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on January 04, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Wayside in on December 30, checked out on New Year's Eve, had a great time. The owner David is a great host, the Inn has every amenity in your room you could you could hope for...the fresh made coffee machine conveniently located for guess has seemingly unlimited flavors. Great creative breakfast and the luxury of staying in a 200+ year old home/Inn, RBeasley Silver Spring MD

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful holiday getaway at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 27, 2014

We arrived for an impromptu holiday getaway between visits to family. David, the proprietor welcomed us warmly after our rush hour commute. There were even cookies waiting and he upgraded our room since it was Christmas. The jacuzzi was exactly what we needed, as was sitting on the couch in the common area in front of the fire to relax before dinner. Soft music, beautiful lighting, period furniture. It was like stepping back in time, but also having great wireless! The breakfast was amazing and we were encouraged to express any food aversions, so I think anyone needing a special menu would be in for a treat. I would recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. It's also 2 easy miles from downtown where you can eat delicious food and buy some nice wine for your room.

View more reviews for this inn


Exactly What a B&B Should Be at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 20, 2014

We recently stayed for two nights at The Wayside Inn to celebrate our 40th anniversary. Dave is a wonderful, cordial host, and everything was simply outstanding including the breakfast. Of the many B & B's we have visited, this one ranks #1. Everything was exactly what one would expect from an inn on both the Select Registry and in the Diamond Collection of BedandBreakfast.com. We hope to make many joyous returns. Ron & Karen Parker/Moorestown, NJ

View more reviews for this inn


lovely getaway weekend at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on December 13, 2014

Lovely accommodations; gorgeous property; wonderful breakfast; stayed in the "L" suite, very roomy and relaxing.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing stay at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

5 reviewed on December 12, 2014

We just stayed for one night, but we had a really nice time and really enjoyed the beautiful room. Everything was very clean and up to date. We didn't eat the meals there, but the breakfast spread looked very appetizing.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

4.8 reviewed on December 05, 2014

This was our first time visiting a bed and breakfast and it exceeded our expectations. The house was beautiful, the room quaint and charming, and the service excellent. Our favorite part was the amazingly comfortable sheets! Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific place to stay at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

4.6 reviewed on November 26, 2014

Our stay at the Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast was memorable and fun--a beautiful and stately home, great location just a few minutes from historic Ellicott City and all its wonderful amenities, great breakfasts, and very congenial hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at 1840s Carrollton Inn (Baltimore, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2014

Our room and our experience was superb. I highly recommend the 1840s Carrollton Inn. It's location is simply an added benefit to an already wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Best b and b at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

Thank you for everything! Terrific stay. Room was very clean and comfy. Great location close to baltimore, dc and fredrick. Historic charm meets comforts of today. NAlso very quiet and relaxing too.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful overnight at The Wayside Inn Bed & Breakfast (Ellicott City, Maryland)

4.4 reviewed on November 16, 2014

We were able to stay just one overnight at this lovely Bed and Breakfast. It is a lovely home, beautifully decorated and well kept. The owners were wonderful hosts and breakfast was delicious. David and Susan went out of their way to accommodate our late arrival, which we truly appreciated.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place, needs some work on minor details at The Columbia Inn at Peralynna Manor (Columbia, Maryland)

4.0 reviewed on November 12, 2014

We went for an anniversary getaway. The family that runs this is still running strong a couple of decades after it was built, but the place needs some upkeep. Our room needed spackle and paint in a few places, and there was a picture missing from one wall (hooks there, picture missing). The TV should have been mounted or at least the wires should have been hidden. Overall it's looking a little run down. A fairly small investment in spiffing it up would derive significant benefits. I was surprised by how tight the room was, tho. I should have read the description better - cozy is right! That said, we pretty much spent the whole day lounging in bed, so it didn't really matter. Would have been nice if there were a way to bring a hot breakfast up to our room. The walls are a little thinner than I'd like (though listening our very vocal neighbor was quite titillating, and we learned that the restaurant we had planned to attend had no reservations available - saved us a call!). All in all a nice place and convenient location but not a place we loved so much we want to return to it again.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}