Get a free $60 with a gift card purchase of $300

Recent Reviews in Elk, California

Sandpiper Disciple at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.8 reviewed on July 04, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the Sandpiper House Inn and, again, we loved it! Tracy, the inn-keeper, was wonderful; she even went so far as to ask our favorite winery to open their tasting room for us (which they did). We will definitely return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming weekend stay at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 14, 2014

The Sandpiper Inn is a work in progress, and we can't wait to see what Tracy does with it. We felt relaxed and in good hands... like a real home away from home. Tracy is a born innkeeper... and a very nurturing woman - she keeps the energy in the house positive and light...and has wonderful recommendations in the area. ....ooh, and Lily the dog rocks! Loved our stay and would definitely return! Pati and Jon Fisher

View more reviews for this inn


The Best Place Ever!!!! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

5 reviewed on May 10, 2014

This is the most darling inn with the greatest and I do mean the GREATEST!!!! innkeeper Tracy. My husband Frank and I spent the most wonderful 3 days for his birthday in April at the inn. The hospitality, food, view, room, and Tracy (most of all) was just exceptional. If you get the chance to stay in the Winston (fabulous!) the view is nothing short of spectacular. It was a vacation I could go on and on about, but I think you get the point. Unforgettable!! Thank you Tracy for helping to make it Frank's best birthday ever!!!!!! We will NEVER forget our time with you. We love you and we loved everything about our time on the Mendocino Coast.

View more reviews for this inn


Old world charm with great views at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.4 reviewed on May 05, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sandpiper Inn. Great views, delicious breakfasts, excellent service with special touches for special occasions. We plan to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


wow! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

5 reviewed on February 26, 2014

The most amazing place with the most amazing host! Tracy is the sweetest end keeper ever. I took my girlfriend up with plans for a proposal and Tracy helped out with flowers and wine! Views are incredible and with new ownership the place is on its way to being really great. All previous reviews are not relevant anymore, trust me.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay on the Coast at Elk Cove Inn (Elk, California)

4.8 reviewed on August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Inn in May for part of his 30th birthday trip and had a great time. Everyone was so nice! We really enjoyed the breakfast, it was a great spread that had different items everyday. We also enjoyed getting to know the staff. We were able to use the spa and enjoyed a couples package while we stayed. The ladies at the spa were very friendly and made it a great expereince. Elk is a nice town and a little up the road you can go see redwoods or in the other direction go paddling up the river. There are a lot of art galleries and wineries to keep you busy. We also spent some time wandering the beach right below the inn and took the time to watch the sunset from the rooftop patio. I highly reccomend anyone who loves a personal experience with great people to stay here!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful B&B with a View at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.6 reviewed on August 06, 2012

Who needs a TV when you have a view like that? Wow incredible! Very confortable bed & enjoyable breakfast. Innkeeper was really pleasant. Nice and quiet except for the waves to fall asleep to. No conplaints here. Elk is a quaint little oceanside town. A wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing and scenic get - away at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.4 reviewed on July 30, 2012

Although the property was going through an ownership change, Bill and staff treated guests with a very comfortable charm. I would definitely go back.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stay at the Sandpiper House Inn at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.4 reviewed on July 30, 2012

We immediately felt welcomed by Bill who was fabulous during our short stay. Wonderful cooking, wonderful service, beautiful setting. Can't wait to see what the new owners do to the garden and structure.

View more reviews for this inn


Disappointing at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

2.0 reviewed on July 29, 2012

The website for this B&B is extremely outdated and deceptive. The gardens are not maintained and overgrown. The B&B is in need of overall maintenance, cleaning and tidiness. The entryway/porch has potted, dead plants with old, badly stained patio furniture. The website (on the photo gallery page) states there are wine & hors-d'oevres in the evening. There was no wine. Except for the carpet stains in our room, the bed and bathroom were clean and our views were awesome. Had we paid more than we did via Groupon, we would have been quite unhappy. There is so much potential for this B&B if it were to look like it does in its website.

View more reviews for this inn


Stunning views at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.8 reviewed on July 23, 2012

Gorgeous view out the bedroom window! Recommend the Weston room.

View more reviews for this inn


Not As Advertised at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

1.8 reviewed on July 21, 2012

Breakfast was especially disappointing. It was not a 2-course gourmet breakfast. Also, there were day-old cookies left out on the dining table & that's it other than the 1 slice of french toast & 1 thin slice of melon & cool coffee for breakfast. Orange juice wasn't offered & the coffee was cool. Of course, the weather(drippy fog) didn't help. The Inn needs repair & the garden needs attention!

View more reviews for this inn


sandpiper inn at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.4 reviewed on July 19, 2012

If you get a room with a view...great. Otherwise don't bother. The gourmet breakfast was one slice of French toast. No maid service

View more reviews for this inn


awesome place to stay at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2012

The service was amazing and the view wad beautiful. The room was clean and comfortable. The inn keeper Curtis was real nice and his breakfast was delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2012

We stayed in the Weston room very nice, with an excellent view.The Inn Keeper Curtis was an awesome cook !!!!! We did hear some disturbing news that the Inn may close down I hope not it was a wonderful place.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Stay at the Sandpiper House Inn at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.8 reviewed on June 24, 2012

Wonderfully quiet location. excellent room and supberb service. We will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and peaceful at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 22, 2012

My husband and I LOVED the Sandpiper House Inn. We had a breathtaking view of the cove from our room, the room was clean and relaxing, and the innkeeper was helpful and easygoing. The innkeeper, Curtis, provides breakfast (which was delicious) and is willing to help with any question you have regarding the surrounding area. One thing to keep in mind: there is practically no cellular phone service...so if your intent is to stay "plugged in", think again.

View more reviews for this inn


Chris made up for the obvious need for maintenance at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 19, 2012

I knew from the reviews that the inn was a little "shabby sheek" so I sort of expected this. And that is what it was. I stayed in the Headlands room which was large and comfy. It is one their rooms where you can have pets so I am thinking maybe that is why it may have seemed a little shabbier than the other rooms. The chair upholstery should definately be cleaned and the carpet. Curtis the regular innkeeper was out of town so Chris was filling in and he was wonderfully personable and helpful. He also prepared very tasty and filling breakfasts from the dining room which has an amazing view. The view sitting in the adarondack chair on the lawn and sipping tea was the best part. This experience and the charm of Chris who even helped me with a problem I had on my laptop made up for some of the inns obvious needs for repair and maintenance. The stairs down the cliff look a little unsafe so I didn't venture down them but if they were maintained better it would be fun to go down to the cove below. I hope they keep Chris around. He is a huge asset for the inn.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible View! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.2 reviewed on June 19, 2012

We recently (June 11-12) had a very enjoyable stay at the Sandpiper Inn. The view from our bedroom was to die for! We felt that many of the reviews we had read are unfair and unjustified, particularly those aimed at the caretaker, Curtis. This B&B is over 100 years old, starting to slope toward the ocean (maybe because of all the weight staring out at the beautiful ocean setting all at once!), and has generally fallen into disarray in many aspects. The carpets definitely are in need of professional cleaning! But you get the feeling that the owners have not put anything into it as they should have and perhaps Curtis, himself, was restricted in what he could do. In other words, Curtis has been placed into a difficult situation. And, in spite of a pending change forthcoming for this classic old house (new owners?) that will leave Curtis without employment, we found him to be very pleasant for the most part, doing what he was suppose to do. Although the “afternoon snacks” were not what we expected (one day – nothing but the crackers from the day prior), the breakfasts were great and delicious. The Inn was quiet and very accessible; we brought dinner in both nights and enjoyed wine and dining in front of one of the most incredible views we have ever witnessed. Paul & Diane, San Jose, CA

View more reviews for this inn


Overall a great experience at Sandpiper due to their awesome views and fantastic service at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.4 reviewed on June 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time because of the customer service. He made our getaway unlike any other that we've had in years and we've gone to many "higher end" BnB's too! The views were fantastic and walking down to the water was breathtaking. I do wish better food was provided but it is what it is. Overall experience is a A-

View more reviews for this inn


Sandpiper House Inn Stay at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.6 reviewed on June 12, 2012

I took my mom here for her birthday celebration. It was very relaxing and comfortable. The innkeeper Curtis was very kind and a wonderful cook! The location is perfect! Our room had the most amazing view of the ocean. I would recommend this place to friends and family.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome ocean views! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.4 reviewed on June 11, 2012

This is a lovely timeless craftsman home situation on a bluff with spectacular ocean views and a lovely garden. We stayed two nights in the Weston room, which was very comfortable, quiet, and nicely decorated with spectacular ocean views from the large picture window. We thoroughly enjoyed waking up to this view from the comfy king bed. The room has a nice sized bathroom, which was clean and well stocked. Curtis the innkeeper was pleasant and helpful and fixed a tasty breakfast. We would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful getaway at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2012

The setting and view to the ocean are amazing. Unseen from the road, we would not have known this beauty was there, just passing through the quaint town of Elk. Curtis was a very gracious host and shared interesting information with us about the area. He even let us use the dining room for our picnic dinner when a bit of rain kept us from eating on the patio of our charming and very comfortable Headlands room. We walked along the beautiful beach and explored the caves below. The breakfasts were deliciously prepared and nicely served by Curtis. Very tranquil stay and we look forward to coming back.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely BNB at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.8 reviewed on June 04, 2012

Beautiful hidden gem - the old house has a lot of character, and the rooms are super comfortable with great decoration. Even had a refridgerator to keep some food. We stayed in the Weston room, which I think had the best view. WIth that view - we never wanted to leave our room! Great for a honeymoon, or just a weekend away for two. Worth the price. They even made breakfast - Waffles with fresh fruit. There is a great garden out back that you can sit in and enjoy the weather and the view. Very quiet. Unfortunately there is not an easy way to get to the beach and enjoy the view close up. Also, there are not many restraunts around. So make sure to plan ahead.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely stay at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.6 reviewed on June 04, 2012

The views in this B&B are outstanding. The back gardens with the view of the Elk cove are amazing - places to picnic and read. Rooms are big relative to other B&Bs, and the availability of king-size beds is great. Breakfasts were excellent in a beautiful room with a stunning view. We'll go back and recommend this to anyone interested in a beautiful coastline stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Picturesque B&B at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.2 reviewed on June 04, 2012

We had a nice relaxing stay. The view was absolutely stunning! The B&B was quaint but did not meet the value.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful view! at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.0 reviewed on June 01, 2012

While the house is on the older side, the overall quality was fine. The view was exceptionally good. We had a wonderful time.

View more reviews for this inn


beautiful views in a quaint setting at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.6 reviewed on May 31, 2012

The Views from the room were stunning - to say the least . Everything about the room - furniture , colors , etc .. blended very well . The Inn-keeper even took care of the fact that we were on a Vegan diet for the breakfast . The garden behind the Inn is beautiful - though the steps that lead down to the beach needed some maintenance.

View more reviews for this inn


A Room with a View at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

4.2 reviewed on May 29, 2012

In the many years my husband and I have traveled the North Coast we've never had such a beautiful view. The Clifton afforded a spectacular view of the ocean and gardens - all from a king size bed and sweet sitting area. Curtis made the stay memorable with delicious breakfasts. Loved the gardens and wildlife (bunnies and birds). What a delight!

View more reviews for this inn


Sandpiper House Inn at Sandpiper House Inn (Mendocino-Elk, California)

3.8 reviewed on May 25, 2012

Wonderful views, wonderful location, great stay!!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Elk Cove Inn (4.83)
  2. Sandpiper House Inn (4.10)
Top
}