Recent Reviews in Edenton, North Carolina

Wonderful Service at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2016

The Teacherage is a very nice b&b that was perfect for our trip. We were driving to the Outer Banks and needed a place to stay for one night and Brenda was so incredibly accommodating. We needed to book a room for the same day and arrived way later than expected, but found ourselves in an incredibly cozy and 100% clean room. The place has a very interesting history and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

View more reviews for this inn


Peak summer stay at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on July 29, 2016

Brenda and Graham are super sweet and friendly. Not a whole lot to do when it's excruciatingly hot out, but Merchant's Millpond is right there, and the drive to VA Beach is roughly an hour. Warning: There is a cat indoors! Which my allergies found out sooner than later.

View more reviews for this inn


Girls getaway weekend at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on March 02, 2016

My sisters and I stayed in the historic tobacco Pack House - we each had our own lovely room and slept soundly in good beds. Each room is large with a sitting area for visiting. We also enjoyed the common room downstairs with the warm fireplace and lounging area. We had good meals at The Table. Innkeeper, Susan, was highly attentive to our needs. This is a perfect spot for a girls get away. We spent the day in historic Edenton admiring the architecture, Albemarle Sound, and the shops. Edenton's history of women colonist activists, the real "Tea Party", only adds to this being the perfect spot for women to gather and reconnect.

View more reviews for this inn


A nice place to break up the drive to the beach. at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on August 03, 2015

We were on our way to the Outer Banks and decided to stay overnight fairly close by so as to avoid the long traffic that usually happens on the weekends there. We had driven quite a few hours by the time we had arrived at the Teacherage. At first we saw the old house which was in need of an exterior paint job and thought 'uh oh'. We knew though that it was an old house from the 40's that used to house the teachers who taught at the school next door. Brenda came out to greet us and show us around. On the outside the house seemed a little 'midnight in the garden of good and evil' but on the inside it made me think of my grandmother and her quilting bee friends sitting around fanning themselves in the parlor of the old farmhouse drinking big glasses of sweet ice tea with the heat of the southern climate on a summer day. it was sweet the memories the old house brought. Our rooms as well were nicely done with that mix of old-fashioned and eclectic. The house doesn't have central air however there is a window unit in the bedrooms and the living room along with a big porch full of chairs and table to hang out on. We were all so beat from the heat and driving that we pretty much crashed in our rooms the rest of the evening with the exception of a walk outside in the curiosity an hope of seeing a Bob White bird that was singing outside of our window. It was shy but we enjoyed listening to it. We slept well and had a huge breakfast that would see us all the way to dinner there was so much. From yogurt to fresh cantaloupe to fresh made eggs, it was all delicious and much appreciated! A day later, I was even more thankful to our innkeepers for finding and letting me know I had left a unique silver ring behind. I felt so bad that on our way back home we ended up swinging by for the ring rather early on a Sunday to pick it up but can't thank Brenda and Graham enough for letting me know I left it. Thank you for a lovely stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at The Teacherage at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on July 24, 2015

This was our first time using Bed and Breakfast.com, so we were a little nervous about a lot of things as most people would be. Without the backstory, I booked with The Teacherage and had to cancel on the same day. I had used PayPal (which I recommend) and had a debit card in that service. My refund was delivered to my bank account in less than 10 days (counting a weekend). I ended up re-booking with them within a couple of days. Everything went through without a hitch.I also had to call Bed and Breakfast.com for some help and was pleased with their service as well. The inn was just as it appeared on the site. It was a really beautiful little place. We stayed 2 nights and were pleased to see 2 to 3 other couples had booked both nights. Unfortunately, our plans did not allow us to take in the restful quality of this little gem, but we were more than satisfied that we had found a good deal and some great new friends. I have no complaints, so the following is for informational purposes only. The rooms and inn were IMMACULATE. We had the room with the private bath. It was tiny but very functional. Be careful, the shower floor is very slick. We stayed in the worst part of summer, and since the rooms are individually cooled and heated, it was a little warm but cooled off. Pulling the drapes during the day helped a lot on the 2nd night. Our plans took us to Chesapeake/Suffolk area, and the 35-45 mile drive was quick and very beautiful. Would not recommend staying here if you were going much further as it is in rural NC but included in the Chesapeake MPA. We would stay here again, without a doubt. Graham and Brenda have done an outstanding job with this little diamond in the rough.

View more reviews for this inn


Enjoyed the stay at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

3.8 reviewed on April 26, 2015

Arrived around 5 pm on rainy,drab Sunday. Brenda offered/served delicious coffee/hot tea and lite snacks in parlor. She graciously answered my questions about the B&B, it's history, and it's acquisition. Our itinerary for the two day stay was almost non-existent since the trip was made on impulse. Graham's suggestion to visit The Hermitage in Norfolk suited our interests perfectly. With the improving weather, hikes we took through the Dismal Swamp and Merchants Mill Pond State Park made the visit to the area delightful. Our room in The Teacherage was clean, interesting and the bed comfortable. The breakfast in the dining room at 8:30 each morning consisted of eggs, delicious zucchini bread, cinnamon roll, yogurt, toast, orange juice, coffee, tea, ham, sliced cheese, cereal, milk, jam. We certainly enjoyed our brief stay, and appreciated the reasonable rates for the room. If making reservations on line, include in the comments if you would like breakfast.

View more reviews for this inn


charming step back in time at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

3.2 reviewed on April 01, 2015

Very nice old house being lovingly restated by the owners, a very nice couple. It was my best stay on a road trip through the eastern coast

View more reviews for this inn


A Perfect Escape From the Daily Grind at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on February 20, 2015

I live about 35 minutes away from the Teacherage and I had no idea it existed. I wanted to do something special for my girlfriend on Valentine's Day. So instead of staying home, I searched for a "home away from home". I decided that hotels were too impersonal, so a bed and breakfast was ideal for us. Their prices for room and breakfast are very reasonable, if not a steal! My girlfriend and I, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I was able to pass along some local gossip to Graham and Brenda; and they made me feel very welcomed in Sunbury, NC. I highly recommend booking a stay at the Teacherage, if you are ever in the area!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice, but a little rustic! at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on January 04, 2015

The inn has new owners and they are working diligently to freshen things up (which the facility needs). We were there on a cold night, and one of our two rooms was on the cool side. The breakfast (New Year's Day) was great. The Innkeepers were delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Bed & Breakfast in Edenton, North Carolina! at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.4 reviewed on December 29, 2014

Our stay over the Christmas Holidays was lovely in Edenton at this wonderful Inn. The food was delicious and the owner was very attentive to our needs. You could tell she really cares about her guests and their time at her Inn. I highly recommend this Inn to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Candlelight Tour at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

3.4 reviewed on December 23, 2014

Very large room & bath. Great service & place to relax.

View more reviews for this inn


The ONLY place to stay in Edenton, NC at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on December 21, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here in Room 16. It was downstairs off from main lobby and seating area. The new owners made changes in décor and since this was our second time staying here we have to say A+ to the changes. The room was quiet and bed very comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding....new owners nailed this too! Wasn't a buffet (we prefer being served) and we were presented with egg strata, blueberry pancakes, bacon, grits and fruit cup. PERFECT! We will return next year!!

View more reviews for this inn


House tour at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on December 18, 2014

Staff was excellent and made us feel right at home. Very comfortable relaxing in the common areas.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway. at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on December 10, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Pack House Inn. They made special arrangements for our stay as we were traveling with our fur baby.

View more reviews for this inn


Thanksgiving Visit to Pack House Inn at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2014

We have stayed at the Pack House Inn in the past, but under its new ownership, we find an extra touch of customer service, innovation and friendliness. We can't say enough about this wonderful property in historic Edenton, NC.

View more reviews for this inn


Everything you love about B&Bs! at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 27, 2014

We visited the nearby state parks and stayed at the Teacherage for a base camp. It has a very interesting history, and it's great to support the cause of its preservation. The room was spacious and comfortable, very quaint, and even had a fan/heater and box fan if we wanted it. Breakfast was delicious and varied - we couldn't eat all of what was offered! Speaking with the owners was an experience unto itself, too! Such stories! We'll definitely stay again when we come to the area.

View more reviews for this inn


A beautiful old home! at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.2 reviewed on November 19, 2014

We stayed in the Proprietor's Inn and thought it was fabulous! The furnishings and rooms are incredible. Love the high ceilings. The staff was very friendly. In fact, we were able to tour both buildings and choose the room we wanted to stay in. I enjoyed having snacks and a hot drink available after hours in the guests' kitchen. The only negative was that the bathtub had a clump of hair at the drain and the toilet seat had a spot of dried urine on it. Being a mother of three, I just took care of it and moved on. But I'm sure some guests would have been appalled. I would definitely stay here again because I liked how beautiful each room was and how welcoming the staff was.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on November 03, 2014

Myself and two friends spent a wonderful visit to Edenton at The Pack House. It was a very nice experience for all of us. The room was lovely and accommodated all 3 of us with separate beds. The breakfast was delicious and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

View more reviews for this inn


Unique Inn With Nice Surprises and Comfort - A wonderful stay! at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2014

My wife and I along with our English Bulldog were delighted in staying at The Pack House Inn. It is an unusual property with a number of buildings so different from each other. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch with our dog and socializing with other friendly folks! The inn was undergoing a change in ownership while we were there. We were fortunate to have met Susan, the new owner, who was a most gracious host. Susan was very caring about us as guests and wanted to make certain everything was being done to make our visit enjoyable. She explained she has great plans to make The Pack House Inn a premier guest location. You won't be disappointed in breakfast it was served and coupled with a wonderful buffet with many choices. A real plus is the very short walk to downtown Edenton, a real main street town where the chains have not ventured. We shall return to The Pack Hours Inn!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place wish i could have stayed a little longer. at Inner Banks Inn (Edenton, North Carolina)

4.0 reviewed on October 29, 2014

We arrived and our keys and room were all ready for us, staff was friendly and helpful. Explained about breakfast but didn't mention it was in a different building, but found it anyway. Very friendly owner spoke to us on the porch about the area and the history of the inn.

View more reviews for this inn


What a country B&B should be at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

4.8 reviewed on October 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Teacherage in early October 2014. We were visiting family in the area and did not want to go too far - what a find in the Teacherage. The history of the place is so interesting. Graham and his wife Brenda purchased the school and the "teacherage" through the NC Historic Preservation Society and are in the process of doing a remarkable job of bringing back the historic touches. The Teacherage was the actual building that single female teachers stayed at while employed at the school - located next door. It's a classic country style large rambling house, four bedrooms up and and four bedrooms down. Large rooms, large windows and high ceiling with original wood floors. Rather than try to turn the house into something it's not, Graham and Brenda have stayed true to the period and done a beautiful job. Our room was large, airy and most importantly - clean. We loved it and are already planning our next visit when we visit family again in November. Hearing the history of the school and learning about their work to bring this little piece of history back into a useful part of the community is wonderful. We spent a lovely evening out on the side porch, having a small cocktail with Graham, listening to the crickets and enjoying the breeze. The next morning we opted for our breakfast on the same porch and our hosts served up a wonderful European style breakfast that left us both satisfied, filled and happy without being stuffed. Truly this is the way a B&B should be run - we highly recommend it if you find yourself anywhere in the area. It's well worth the visit.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

5 reviewed on September 28, 2014

Grahm and Brenda were very nice and interesting to talk to. My son and I were bicycle touring and found this place along the route. Excellent price and very comfy room and bed. We had the breakfast in the morning to get us on the road. Would definitely stop there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Out of the way, a nice find! at The Teacherage (Sunbury, North Carolina)

3.6 reviewed on August 21, 2013

Basic, no frills B&B with very nice hosts, quiet, no tv, has wifi, breakfast on the porch. Very nice younger couple run this quaint B&B

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Inner Banks Inn (4.37)
  2. The Teacherage (4.31)
Top
}