Up to a free $75 gift card!

Recent Reviews in East Berlin, Pennsylvania

Beautiful Old Fashioned Inn Ideal for Gettysburg visit at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 12, 2014

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Gettysburg, (which has gotten quite touristy and crowded) somewhere that allowed us to experience the countryside that the soldiers of this battle would have seen. The Bechtel Mansion is located in tiny, quaint East Berlin, just 20 minutes from the battlefields, and is a gem in every respect.This beautiful victorian inn is kept in immaculate and pristine period condition by innkeepers Carol and Richard. Not only has each room been lovingly restored and outfitted to perfectly fit the period in which this mansion was built, but the comfort and convenience of the guest is also kept to equally high standards. Often historic B and B's can be a little too historic, to the sacrifice of comfort, but the beds are so clean and high-quality, there are plenty of modern conveniences in each room (individual heat/air settings, down comforters, hairdryers, access to refrigerator and microwave, etc) and Carol's homemade breakfasts were delicious and wholesome. Carol and Richard also know quite a lot about the surrounding area and had great recommendations for places to see in Gettysburg, places to eat nearby and tips on where to find good antiques and yard sales, which abound in this area of the county! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again when next we visit Gettysburg!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on October 22, 2014

This place was extremely good. The owners are very pleasant and are always around if you need them. The rooms are very clean and very well decorated. Outlets were easy to find for charging phones. No wifi, but your not here to play on the internet right? The food was incredible and perfect. The owners also were knowledgable of the history of the house. Easy parking, and only 2 turns and 20 minutes away from Gettysburg. The price was very good as well

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on October 22, 2014

My mother and I recently stayed at the Bechtel Mansion and we loved it! It captured just about every aspect of the Victorian era. There is one TV and no Wifi, which may be a setback for some, but for us, it was the perfect break from the real world. It was great to be able to go back in time a bit. Carol is such an amazing innkeeper! The place is literally spotless, even the trinkets were dustless! She is also wonderful to talk to. Breakfast was outstanding! Fresh fruit, apple crisp, coffee cake, scones, french toast, if you left hungry, it was your own fault! We didn't want just some hotel, we wanted a guinine inn that we could appreciate, and that is exactly what we got. Will definately be staying there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful hosts! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in a beautiful home with character. But I must say the hospitality was an added bonus! They were very careful with my dietary needs - and breakfast was amazing! The conversation at breakfast was also a great way to start the day! The house is easy to find and on a main road. I'd definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Very nice B&B at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on October 14, 2014

Great host & home. Busy traffic in front but inside was quiet. Very accomodating to dietary needs.

View more reviews for this inn


A really nice B&B at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on September 18, 2014

We stayed one night here recently while visiting family. It was very enjoyable and we will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Good stay at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

3.2 reviewed on August 27, 2014

Some road noise, but a nice stay otherwise

View more reviews for this inn


Stepping back into the Victorian Era at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 03, 2014

If you love the Victorian era, don't miss your chance to stay in this charming Inn. You couldn't ask for more personal, attention- to-detail service. I've had the pleasure of staying more than once and look forward to returning. Comfy beds, delicouse breakfast, gracious hosts. Step back in time, relax, get away from the hustle and bustle of modern living! Reasonably priced!

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful gem off the beaten path at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on March 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed one night in "Beulah's Boudoir." What a beautiful home! The owners have done an excellent job in restoring all of the Victorian charm to this house-- it didn't look like you could go wrong with any of the rooms. Our hosts provided an excellent breakfast and good conversation. Slightly off the beaten path, but well within convenient striking distance of York and Gettysburg. If you're hoping for dinner in town, we suggest you make reservations well in advance-- the nice places in town are popular with the locals and book up fast! We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent Gettysburg Option at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on March 01, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our hosts, the wonderfully decorated and welcoming atmosphere, and our excellent breakfast. The updates to the historic home are impressive, giving you a well-maintained room in a Victorian setting. And Carol and Rick are conversational hosts who join you, rather than merely "doing their jobs" while you play the part of guests. All rooms are good, the Master is best, and I'd stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Like stepping back in time at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on December 11, 2013

What a wonderful property in a lovely, quiet town! We loved the eclectic layout and the wonderful, period furnishings and decor. The hosts are affable and breakfast was a real treat.

View more reviews for this inn


great time at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 28, 2013

House was clean and tidy. Able to come and go as we pleases. Innkeepers pleasant to talk to. Breakfast on time every morning and delicious.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent value a short drive from Gettysburg at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on October 16, 2013

The Bechtel's innkeepers are wonderful. They're friendly, attentive and the food is excellent!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 08, 2013

Our room was spectacular! We stayed in the Master Bedroom which had everything you would want in a room. The breakfast spread was outstanding as was the conversation at the breakfast table. Always felt at home and never as a guest. Great place!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice "out of the way" B & B at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on August 29, 2013

Perfect location to visit the surrounding tourist attractions, Lancaster, Gettysburg, and Intercourse Pennsylvania.

View more reviews for this inn


One heck of a place to stay!! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 11, 2013

We had the most enjoyable stay that anyone could've imagine at the B&B. We could have not ask for better innkeepers then Rich and Carol. The breakfast that were prepared were superb! This B&B is very neat and charming. Anyone will not go wrong by staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful Victorian Architecture. Well-maintained B&B. at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on March 06, 2013

We were very impressed with our stay at the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn. Both Richard and Carol Carlson were extremely courteous and conversant. They spent time with us explaining the history and how the mansion was built. The breakfast was great and we had adequate portions. And yes, the mansion is haunted! Both my wife and I would be happy to stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


The Carlton's Castle at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on February 06, 2013

If you do not appreciate the elegance of true Victorian architecture and ambiance, then this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you do, this is a gem not to be missed if you're anywhere in the area. It is worth the few extra miles if your Gettysburg bound, or just looking for a getaway (like we were). The experience is sweetened by a 5-star restaurant (Sydney) jus a few easy to walk blocks down the street. SK and KK/RC and MC

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Place! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2012

The inn keeper, Carol, is one of the nicest people I have met. She is very welcoming. She gave us a tour of the entire house. If you love historic places you will love this place. Breakfast every morning was fresh and delicious. I haven't eaten that well for breakfast in a long time. It's just 20 minutes from everything in Gettysburg. Our stay was everything we wanted it to be. I can't wait to go back.

View more reviews for this inn


A great way to start our vacation, while visiting family! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on September 22, 2012

Wonderful stay! Great hospitality from our hosts! Great conversation at breakfast with all of the others that stayed. We really enjoyed everything! Even the men, who thought us girls were "silly" for wanting to stay there, admitted the next day that they really enjoyed it and were glad that they had the experience!! Thank you Rich and Carol!!!

View more reviews for this inn


A very nice evening at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on August 15, 2012

Our stay at the Bechtel was very pleasant! It's located only 20 min. from Gettysburg, making it a wonderful end to a park visit! It's also very close (20min) to the Gettysburg Wine and Fruit Trail which offers a number of wineries, orchards, and fruit markets. The price was reasonable and beats staying at a chain hotel!

View more reviews for this inn


First timer at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

2.8 reviewed on July 18, 2012

This was a quaint little town and the house had great detail and furnishings. I didn't know what to expect for breakfast, but I guess I wasn't expecting 2 kinds of coffee cake; one cold one hot. The people were very nice.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful B& B at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on June 03, 2012

I have stayed twice at Bechtel. It is much nicer than staying in a hotel! I am very comfortable there because of the beautifully decorated rooms and the innkeepers, Carol and Rich. I travel to East Berlin for Weaving Workshops at the Mannings and plan on staying at the Inn each time I come. BTW, the breakfasts and baked goods are FABULOUS!

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in East Berlin at the Bechtel at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on May 19, 2012

Just passing through and very happy to have landed at the Bechtel. Lovely, hospitable, and interesting owners (Rich and Carol) - Carol prepared a delicious breakfast too. You've got to be content with top to bottom Victorian style - we certainly thought it was fun for a night (and you have to appreciate the hard work they've put into it - and into their garden). A few minutes' walk from Sidney - a restaurant worth travelling for - so you can stumble back without any problems!

View more reviews for this inn


Warm & Friendly at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on May 17, 2012

This inn was very well managed and mainained, both inside and out. Very friendly atmosphere, a piece of history.

View more reviews for this inn


great place to stay!!! at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying in this B&B, the owners are so nice, the rooms are so cozy and lovely and the food is great. We highly recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this B&B and would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Dr. Kelley at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 25, 2012

Great place and great hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Our First Visit at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on November 21, 2011

My husband & I throughly enjoyed our first visit to a bed & breakfast and we had a wonderful experience. Carol & Rich are great people & they have the perfect personality to making their guests feel welcomed & at ease, as well as Rich 's knowledge of the Inn and the area and the great breakfast dishes that Carol creates for all. The Inn is beautifully decorated in the Victorian era and everything is clean and very inviting. We really had a great first experience in the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn B & B.

View more reviews for this inn


Bechtel Victorian Inn at The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (East Berlin, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on October 19, 2011

We stayed in the Parlor Suite which was very nice. Food was tasty and the Innkeepers were very nice. We were even visited by Flossie's Spirit during both nights of our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn (4.56)
Top
}