Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

1st B & B! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Great hosts, food and location! Certain that we will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Setting and service shine at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2016

A wonderful wedding weekend was made all the more memorable by our stay at Aldrich House. Robert and Douglas' warmth and kindness elevated the entire trip, showcasing their beautiful home and restful experience. Their flexibility in accommodating our group was exemplary, providing a level of care and consideration well beyond our expectations. A heartfelt thank you to our hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Stay at this Lovely B&B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

This is a beautiful home from the mid-nineteenth century, but with modern conveniences. Everything was sparkling clean! Douglas and Robert are fantastic hosts, who are easily engaged in conversation and clearly love talking about their home and Galena. The hosts and the home induce feelings of calmness and relaxation. Breakfast and Wine at 5:00 provided time for great conversations with other guests. We spent two nights at Aldrich Guest House, and breakfast both days was fabulous. Douglas and Robert were helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shops, and places to visit. We enjoyed the location and beautiful surroundings - in a quiet area, but only a short distance from the main street. This was our first time in Galena, but we will be back and will definitely stay at Aldrich Guest House again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality, facilities and food for the value at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Farmers Guest House has the best hospitality, rooms, service and dining for the value, Don, Susan and Charles were very attentive and accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2016

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and we were very happy with Stillman Inn, we made the right choice! The house is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and Dave and Bernadine make sure you are taken care of! Dave was very informative about the house and Galena itself. Anything you need, they are sure to take care of! The breakfast was outstanding! We will be back!! Gary & Kim Crystal Lake, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We stayed overnight on 4/9/16 and had a wonderful experience. Our hosts were very welcoming. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Happy hour was very nice and breakfast was superb. We would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Douglas & Robert have hospitality down to an art. They have thought of everything. Aldridge Guest House is absolutely gorgeous! It's obvious when you step through the front door that its restoration has been a labor of love for these gentlemen. Breakfasts were beyond delicious, and coffee and scrumptious cookies were always available. We truly couldn't be happier with our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Easter Vacation at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

First time staying at a B&B, but will not be the last. Don, Susan, and Charles are very welcoming and have all the little details down. Breakfast was AMAZING! We really enjoyed eating in the well decorated dining room with relaxing music in the morning. Wine time in the evening is also really nice. The house is right next to main street so we could walk everywhere. Our room was perfectly clean and we liked winding down at the end of the day by picking out a DVD from the big collection and watching it in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


A memory to last at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2016

The Inn was the perfect dream place to celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary. Dave wanted to fulfill all he could to ensure our expectations and needs were met. The food was outstanding! We would love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Photos don't do justice at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2016

I stayed in the master suite, which is a stunning space that looks way better in real life than in photos. Everything was peaceful and lovely, and the breakfast was great. I also never met the owners, but they were very responsive too my request for an earlier breakfast. I would definitely stay again. The only minor thing was that the jacuzzi style bath took FOREVER to fill up and the water from the tap was not very hot. So, just be prepared for that.

View more reviews for this inn


Sets a new bar for B&Bs at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 06, 2016

Robert and Douglas were amazing hosts. What they have created at The Aldrich House sets a new standard for B&Bs! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back the next time in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2016

My 5-star review goes without hesitation. First and foremost, Don and Susan (and Charles) were fantastic. Their hospitality is second to none to the point where I felt we may be distant relatives. My wife and I stayed in the newly remodeled Annie’s Cottage a couple weeks ago, which was a surprise getaway for my wife that went down as the most romantic getaways to date. The rustic yet modern décor coupled with the oversize Jacuzzi, fireplace, winding decks, etc that populated the 2-story cottage not only exceeded my expectations, but certainly gave my bride an experience that she will remember for some time. There were many highlights to note, but one to mention were the phenomenal breakfast entrée’s prepared by the famed Food Network celebrity, Susan Steffan. The dishes were paired and portioned perfectly, so that you can savor every succulent bite to the end feeling full but energized. Another special treat were the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, and the wine sourced from the local vineyards. Needless to say, my wife and I look forward to returning in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Valentines Day at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Susan and Don were great hosts. Great ambiance in all of the inn. Our room (the Jennie) was spacious and tastefully decorated. Great wine and cheese reception in the evening. Gourmet breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to downtown. DVD library if you'd like with viewers in each room. WiFi connection was good. Very comfortable stay. Will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on February 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit, went by way too fast. Breakfast was amazing and Susan and Don were great hosts. Enjoyed wine time to get to know the other guests. Hope to be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

We visited the Farmers Guesthouse last weekend and had a wonderful time. The breakfast and great, as usual, and I noticed a few cute decorations were out for Valentine's Day and I love seeing the different festive things Susan puts out. I also sit in on the Saturday Breakfast Diva class and I loved it!! The food we made was delish and easy enough to follow the recipie at home. I'll definitely be back for another class too!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2016

We stayed three nights at the Aldrich House with four other couple friends. We all considered the experience to be exceptional. Although the facility is unique and well maintained, the real difference between other available B & Bs was the personal service that both Robert and Douglas provide.

View more reviews for this inn


Better late than never at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on January 28, 2016

Stayed in June, 2015 here & we loved it. The rooms were clean, charming, and comfortable. Dave was such a friendly & gracious host, and Bernadine a marvelous cook! We enjoyed our visit to Galena and the Stillman Inn so much that we stayed 2 nights instead of one!

View more reviews for this inn


BEST IN GALENA at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 27, 2016

FARMERS THE BEST! LOCATION GREAT, FOOD OUTSTANDING! SUSAN TREATS YOU LIKE FAMILY. SHE APPEARED ON THE FOOD NETWORK SHOW FOR HER OUTSTANDING BAKING, WHICH SHE WILL MAKE FOR HER GUESTS, CAN'T BEAT THAT! DON'T MISS OUT ON FARMERS GUEST HOUSE

View more reviews for this inn


Personal Retreat Vacation at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on January 18, 2016

My husband recently passed away and I had been dealing with estate issues and finances for three solid months. Plus all the emotional aspects of the loss and learning to cover all the responsibilities and make all the other everyday decisions life was throwing my way. I was exhausted and needed to 'get out of Dodge' for a period of relaxation and meditation. I had two dogs who were also adapting to the new way of life and I was reluctant to kennel them so soon after my husbands death. Michelle and Dave were so helpful and understanding. This was the first time traveling with the dogs by myself and they helped me get the kennels from the car into the room in very cold weather. They are such gracious, friendly hosts. Michelle is a wonderful cook. At breakfast you are surrounded by food! Her poached pears are awesome as are her baked apples and pears! I arrived home after my trip renewed and ready to continue adjusting to the new normal in my life. Thanks you two!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2015

The fresh baked cookies, wine and cheese and the overall hospitality are top notch. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. I have stayed there twice and I going to set up another trip for February.

View more reviews for this inn


One of our favorite places... at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming to Farmer's Guest House since before we were engaged. This was our fourth time staying there, and it only gets better! We chose to stay for a few nights after our wedding as a "mini-moon" since we can't take our actual honeymoon until later this year. It was the perfect getaway after a busy wedding weekend! We feel so relaxed when we stay at Farmer's Guest House. The food is delicious! The hospitality is impeccable. We splured for a suite and it was well worth it! We loved having a little extra space to relax, a private entry, and a cozy jacuzzi. We love that the town is a short walk away so we never have to drive. We feel okay indulging at the restaurants because we get a good amount of walking in. Don't take that the wrong way though, the town is in no way far away, and should you choose to drive into town, it would take 5 minutes and parking is a breeze. You can't go wrong staying at Farmer's Guest House!

View more reviews for this inn


SNOW at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2015

We had another enjoyable and unforgetable stay at the Goldmoor. Thank You for ordering the beautiful snow during our stay, but more importantly thank you for allowing to carry-over our one night stay from our June fiasco of a flooded basement. We continue to appreciate your attention to detail and you have earned our trust in that we will always be treated as family when we stay with you both.

View more reviews for this inn


Bright and Cheery with Great Hosts at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 22, 2015

We picked this B & B for its bright and cheery rooms. The rooms were very clean and fresh appearing. Both Robert and Douglas were great hosts as they catered to every need. The wine and appetizers were perfect for a relaxing evening. The breakfast was gourmet and delicious. Couldn't ask for a better stay. Would highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Simply the BEST at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 19, 2015

This was a return visit for a quilt retreat. Our room was recently redone and just perfect. The breakfasts over the top and the whole environment was warm and relaxing. Get a massage of some kind.!

View more reviews for this inn


Couldn't have been better! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

To be honest, our choice to stay at the Farmer's Guest House was a random one as we desperately looked for a nice, QUIET place for a weekend away on our car trip home from a particularly harried family vacation with two toddlers this summer. What we found when we arrived at FGH was nothing short of heaven. From the very first greeting, Susan and Don were so sweet, friendly, and helpful. The rooms (we chose The Charlotte) was large, beautiful, and exceptionally clean. Amenities ranged from beverages and cookies available 24/7 to help from Susan to set up nightly reservations at some of Galena's best restaurants. Nightly Wine Time was just the icing on the cake and we will be back most definitely.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on October 29, 2015

We had an excellent stay and were delighted with Farmers Guest House, the people and our room !

View more reviews for this inn


Pleasant Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on October 23, 2015

We want to thank Susan & Don for a very enjoyable stay at the Farmer's Guest House. I had never stayed at a B & B before and this was a very pleasant experience. Susan is a great cook and they are very caring & helpful. I would recommend this B & B to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Loved the privacy! at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on October 21, 2015

We were looking for a quiet, private way to celebrate our anniversary, and that's exactly what this B&B provided. We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves! Breakfast was set out for us and there were plenty of great options - waffle mix to make Belgian waffles, gourmet muffins kept on a warmer, fresh coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, and bowls of fresh fruit. And we had the kitchen to ourselves!

View more reviews for this inn


An unforgettable first-time getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on September 23, 2015

To say that our stay was a complete joy would be an understatement. As first-timers to Galena, Susan and Don were extremely accommodating. Our day began with a delicious, home-cooked breakfast, followed by enjoyable conversation and interesting facts about the town. We felt like we were in a different world, able to relax and enjoy our little get-away. Be sure to join in on wine-time, as this is a wonderful opportunity to take a break from all of the sight-seeing. My only regret was not making arrangements for a massage during our stay. Once we realized that was offered, all appointments were booked. We will definitely be returning!

View more reviews for this inn


HIdden gem at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on September 11, 2015

We've lost count of how many times we've stayed! A private retreat with amazing soaking tubs. Breakfast is self-serve but I appreciate the behind-the-scenes operations and not being forced to interact with other guests.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}