Get a free $20 gift card with every $100 purchase

Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Lovely 1882 Mansion at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on July 25, 2014

Delicious breakfasts and lovely setting in 1882 brick mansion with period furniture.

View more reviews for this inn


Higher expectations based on the web site. at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

2.0 reviewed on July 22, 2014

We did not expect to be staying in a place under construction. The exterior of the house is scary and our bathroom was still under construction, with unfinished plaster, unfinished fixtures and missing molding. On a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 2 at best. Oh, and cats everywhere.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B & B at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed staying here, it is so clean and so must history we loved the house and the meal were awesome and even treats at night and when our plans changed and we had to leave early they worked with us and we got to come back at another and enjoyed more the second time.

View more reviews for this inn


The best place ever!! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2014

My husband and I went and stayed at the Manor a couple of months ago. It was really amazing!! Seriously, I couldn't have asked for or wanted anything more. Kathy and Virl, were so nice and accommodating. I told Kathy that she didn't need to fix breakfast for us, and I am so glad that she insisted. Holy Cow! Quiche, ham, french toast, green tomato bread...not to mention the dessert the night before. I think that Kathy and Virl should be the poster people of the Midwest. Thank-you again for such a great night, just what we needed. Sincerely, jess weiler.

View more reviews for this inn


1st experience at a bed and breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2014

Don and Susan were great and very helpful in planning where to eat and what to see. Loved being served a very delicious breakfast that Susan made. Met some very nice people too. Would recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B we have stayed at!! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2014

Virl and Kathy go above and beyond for their guests. Breakfast is amazing!! There is desert in the evening and if you can't be there when it is served you can just go to the fridge and take it to your room. I am sure we all gained a few pounds! We asked the two gals that worked there for a place to eat supper and they gave us some great places to eat! It is true to B&B with some modern conveniences (cable tv and WIFI). There was a rain storm late evening and I sat out on the swing on the porch and watched the rain and lighting. All and all we love it and will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Squires Manor at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

Everything about this stay was lovely, from the hosts (Kathy and Virl) who made one feel like a long standing friend, to the friendly other guests Very relaxing and welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


A great addiction at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 25, 2014

From our first visit several years ago, we've been back at least five times. You won't find a better place to stay in Galena, or Illinois for that matter, that is as wonderful and romantic as the Inn at Irish Hollow! The cottages are beautifully decorated, making you not want to leave, but you must, in order to enjoy the lovely grounds and incredible food that awaits you in the main house. We were there in January, and happily only left our cottage to stroll thru the snow for breakfast, then back to our cottage for a relaxing day in front of the fire. Back again in March (staying at a different cottage, equally as enchanting), and we've booked our next stay for October. No doubt, we're addicted!! The food is some of the best we've ever experienced, and always something surprising. The innkeeper, Matthew, really knows how to take care of his guests, and you want for nothing. This is most definitely worth the price!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on June 20, 2014

Don & Susan are wonderful! They make you feel at home. They have delicious home made breakfasts with generous portions and go out of their way to provide for special diets! The wine, cheese and crackers, beverages and cookies are a plus :)

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 18, 2014

This is our 3rd time back at Farmers Guest House. We just love all that it offers, from the great breakfast,the wine time and the endless cookie jar. Don, Susan and Charles do so much to make your stay so nice. The new Spa Room was a nice touch. We enjoyed our massage it was just what the Dr. ordered.Thank you Don and Susan we had a wonderful time and are looking forward to coming back again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


A real treat at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortably updated, and the historic building was delightful to explore. Freshly-baked cookies and wine time were nice hospitality touches. The breakfasts were varied and delicious. Don and Susan had a lot of information about Galena and area activities. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Charming and friendly at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2014

Charming and friendly place to stay. We loved the beautiful accommodations, which were right around the corner from historic downtown Galena. The B&B innkeepers made sure our stay was perfect. We enjoyed the wine and cheese time and the delicious breakfast. The room was spacious and perfectly clean!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2014

Had an extremely enjoyable experience at Farmer's Guest House. Breakfast and service was excellent, owners and staff made us feel at home and provided a luxurious experience we've never had at other B&B's. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful B&B experience! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 10, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Farmer's Guest House and we couldn't have been happier with the experience. We have been going for several years now and each time is still a delight. The whole house is warm and inviting and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The food was excellent – my wife loved the Strawberry French Toast but I loved the Mushroom and Egg Flatbread. Susan and Don went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed (from dietary restrictions to making dinner reservations to local attractions). I would recommend the Farmer’s Guest House to anyone looking for a relaxing and very enjoyable weekend away. We always feel welcome and we've already booked our next stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2014

This is an amazing place to stay and the hosts are so much fun to talk to! The drive there from the Cedar Rapids area is outstanding too. We plan to return for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Great first experience at bed and breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2014

We can't say enough about Don and Susan and their hospitality. We have never stayed at a bed and breakfast and would never stay at a hotel again if given a choice. Wonderful company and conversation. Spacious cottage with jacuzzi. Delicious homemade breakfasts, cookies always in the jar, frig with soda and water. Great resource to Galena activities. They were so warm and welcoming. Thank you Don and Susan

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Place to Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 02, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay! They innkeepers, Sue and Don, are wonderful. I felt like I was at home even when I was over 200 miles away. They do the best they can to give you discounts or gift cards to make the stay more affordable. The breakfast was amazing every morning and are more than willing to make something that you will eat. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend to anyone!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 20, 2014

Wonderful guest house. Amazing hosts. Unbelievable food. I highly recommend this fine establishment! Robert S. Rochelle, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Exceptional B&B at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 17, 2014

Having stayed at many B&B's this is one of the best, breakfast delicious with options offered, gracious hosts that attend to every detail. It was perfect for our wedding reception and the mansion is truly romantic, would recommend to all!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful vacation! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on May 17, 2014

We loved our stay here, it was entirely worth it. Kathy and Virl were wonderful, and they were so accommodating. We loved learning about the history behind the manor. If you are in town it is well worth the price paid to stay here. We hope to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend getaway from Chicago at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2014

Made a last minute decision to get out of Chicago and go to Galena for the weekend. Know B&Bs aren't crazy about Saturday night stays only, when ideally they'd like you to stay Friday and Saturday if during the weekend, but they accommodated us since it's right before the busy season really kicks in and they weren't completely full. Recommend the Goldmoor experience package. It includes couples massage, champagne and keepsake glasses and a $50 dinner voucher. It was worth it. Our two massage therapists were top-notch! I would come back just for the massage, but there are plenty of other reasons to come back. We stayed in the First Lady Suite which was wonderful with plenty of comforts. The property sits sort of on a bluff with a view of the Mississippi River (it's not right at the river's edge but overlooks it). There are bicycles for anyone to use and some lawn chairs to sit and enjoy the views. The restaurant is open to the public for dinner besides guests. We had lovely riverside views in a booth. There was a good selection of entrees. Our dinner and wine were pleasurable as was the service. Breakfast was also tasty and filling, they don't skimp! We ordered breakfast in so we could stay in the big fluffy Goldmoor robes and continue lounging. There is also a little room off of the lobby that sells some retail items, wine, bottled water and has a drawer of I-forgot-to-bring toiletries. It is a great place to get away and relax. The main street of Galena isn't too far away if you want to shop or stroll. We recommend and will come back.

View more reviews for this inn


Feel Like Part of the Family at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 17, 2014

I cannot describe how wonderful this place is - as well as Kathy & Verl and the rest of the staff - For the past 7 years in July we stay on our way home from Wisconsin. The rooms are fabulous, the food is great, and Kathy & Verl are so considerate and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you could possibly need. Kathy is a wonderful cook, Breakfast is wonderful, and she makes the best pies and cakes, I cannot tell you my favorite. I look forward to returning many more times. Connie B - From Kansas City, Mo.

View more reviews for this inn


Wedding Weekend at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 14, 2014

We wanted a destination wedding without having to fly. Bernadine's Stillman Inn was the perfect destination. Dave & Bernadine were absolutely perfect...Dave is a wonderful wedding coordinator, officiate, and B&B host. Bernadine handled the photography while Dave conducted the service. Then Dave took over for the pictures as Bernadine served the reception. No worries!! My husband and I were able to enjoy the day without having to worry about anything!

View more reviews for this inn


Home Away From Home at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 13, 2014

I've stayed at Squiers Manor for the last 3 years while attending the Woodcarvers Congress, and make reservations a year in advance, for the next Congress, because I would be devastated should I find there are no rooms available. The owners, Kathy and Virl, make their guests feel not only welcomed, but like family. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, clean and spotless. The bed in my room is more comfortable than the one I have at home. Their employees are so very friendly that I hug them good bye at the end of my stay. The breakfasts are gourmet - more than I can ever eat - and the desserts are simply spectacular. I feel so fortunate to have found Squiers Manor, but even more fortunate to have found two new friends in Kathy and Virl. Their B&B is truly a "Home Away From Home." Spending a week at Squiers Manor is a luxury I give myself every year. Thank you Kathy and Virl!

View more reviews for this inn


Very Relaxing at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 07, 2014

Squires Manor is a very relaxing get away. Nicely restored home and wonderful hosts. Evening dessert and hearty breakfast were excellent. Would highly recommend and will definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful escape at Quiet Walker Lodge (Durango, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on April 06, 2014

John and Deb greeted us warmly when we arrived on Saturday afternoon, Deb showed us to our room and we walked around the property to check things out, including the solarium with koi fish - beautiful. The Moonlight and Roses room we stayed in was great. This was my fiance's first stay in a B&B, and he found the experience well worth it. We loved the hospitality of John and Deb, they are wonderful hosts; they also had a great winery suggestion, which we checked out and will probably revisit. John also whipped up a breakfast to meet my dietary needs, which was outstanding. If you're looking for a nice and relaxing getaway, while minutes from historical Dubuque, this is the place to go.

View more reviews for this inn


Mom's get away! at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on April 06, 2014

We booked a room last minute at the Redstone as the reviews of the motel we were supposed to stay at were scary. Robert treated us like royalty the whole time. Not only did he let us in before check in time and let us hang out after check out time, he served us treats and carried our bags and served us amazing food. We are already planning on coming back and bringing our husbands, hopefully this fall! This place is a rare treasure and is reasonably priced also.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Anniversary Getaway! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 02, 2014

Kudos to my husband (Marco) for planning this trip all by himself,and surprising me with the dates to get ready. This is a trip of firsts for us ... our first trip to Galena, and our first stay at a B&B. Our stay at Farmer's Guest House immediately set the bar high of any expectation we have for any future B&B's. It was an amazing experience, and it will really be difficult for us to stay at another B&B! Don and Susan are so warm that you feel right at home and welcomed. Breakfasts are always something to look forward to. We come down in the morning excited to see what's for breakfast. Love the coffee, fruit servings, muffins, and the main dish. We got to taste the sticky buns, and they are to die for! Wine time is fun time! Great wine selection, cheese and crackers on the side, and best of all good company. It was a good time to meet the other guests and catch up on how our day went, swapped stories, and get good laughs out of it. We stayed at the Melvina room, and it is a nice and quiet room. It was always kept clean and neat with the help of Charles. Thank you Charles! Oh, and all the testimonials about the "chocolate chip cookies" of Susan are true. We are already plannning our next trip, and will definitely be back at the Farmer's Guest House! Thank you Don and Susan for making this our first trip to Galena a memorable one.

View more reviews for this inn


Top Notch at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 30, 2014

What a wonderful stay! We felt immediately at home when we walked into the front door foyer. We were greeted warmly and shown all the amenities. We were very pleased with the Julia suite. The bed was very comfortable, I did miss my feather pillow though. It was so comfortable we slept 10 hours each day. Needless to say we definitely got much needed sleep. Our inn keepers were very hospitable and knowledgable about the town and the area restaurants. We can not say enough about breakfast. The food was delicious. The innkeepers even prepared a breakfast for our special diet. The Farmers Guest House has all the amenities you would look for in a top notch B&B but with a personal home type feel. We will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


When can we come back?! at Clarke Manor (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on February 25, 2014

We had an amazing stay in the Italian Room at Clarke Manor! It was our first time staying at a B&B and I can't wait to come back. The rooms were beautiful, learning the history behind the house was fun and engaging and the stuffed french toast that Rose made is to die for!! Thank you so much for having us and I have a feeling that we will be back soon!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}