Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Nice Place to spend your 35th Wedding Anniversary. at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My wife and I had been to Galena many times. Great little town. We decided to stay at a B & B for the first time. It was great. Robert and Douglas gave us the best service. The food was excellent. I highly recommend staying at the Aldrich House if you are ever in Galena. We will definitely stay again!!!!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


The best in the area! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Spending a weekend in Galena for a birthday getaway, I booked Aldrich House based on the picture from their website and their promise of "no doilies". We were not disappointed when we arrived. We were greeted at the door by both Robert and Douglas and they gave a tour of the house and took our luggage to our room for us. Upon booking (months prior) I briefly mentioned to Douglas that we would be celebrating a birthday the weekend of our stay. When we arrived in our room after a night out we found chocolate covered strawberries with a happy birthday note for the birthday girl! What a pleasant little treat! I was so shocked he remembered. The room spacious, the house is over 100 years old and the beauty of the architecture is simply amazing. The private bathroom was furnished with the original clawfoot tub and the goat milk soaps smelled like heaven. We both would have loved to spend the entire morning in the comfy robes provided, but the town is so cute we had to explore. The house is a 5 minute walk into downtown, which is vibrant with shops and restaurants. Robert and Douglas really helped make this weekend very special. Breakfast both mornings was simply AMAZING. I can't say enough about how fantastic Aldrich House is. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


June 2016 Visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better time! The accommodations are fabulous, the living room is so inviting and homey with the many quilts and afgans! The dining room is awesome! Spent our evenings playing games! Also working on a puzzle in the LR. And then there is the breakfast. They are so delicious, they are to die for! Susan, Don & George are there to help make your stay fabulous! We cannot wait until our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


great first time at a bed and breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2016

The owners of Farmer Guest House are so wonderful and the place is beautiful! The room was great and the suite worth it with the great bath tub with jets! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING!!! We will be coming back and staying more than one night next time, that's for sure!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend with friends at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Farmers Guest House. Don and Susan made everyones stay so enjoyable. The inn is clean. The hosts friendly. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. We plan on returning and hope to take a cooking class with Susan on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


anniversary get away at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2016

we had a wonderful time staying at the Farmers Guest house. Warm, inviting atmosphere helps you relax and feel like home. Innkeepers were great hosts along with Charles. Rooms were clean and comfortable with luxury linens and towels. Breakfasts were delicious and flavorful.We would highly recommend a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent breakfast and service!!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

We had an outstanding stay the weekend of May 21-23. Outstanding gourmet breakfast each day. Very close to Main St. We loved wine night each night too! We had issues with the AC in our room but Don and Susan moved us in to the cottage at no extra charge. We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to recommend the Farmer's Guest House to our family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Bed and Breakfast!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

We had an amazing stay in the cottage room as part of a romantic weekend. Don and Susan are top notch hosts, welcoming, helpful and friendly. I really felt like we were old friends coming back. When I had questions before my visit, Susan was very responsive. She provided local dining recommendations and then offered to make the reservations for us. The cottage was fantastic--private, comfortable, romantic and immaculately clean. The breakfast was unbeatable--loved Susan's special twist on French Toast. We will come back again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Royalty Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

If you want to be treated like a King/Queen, then you must stay here. Don and Susan are the ultimate hosts. The place is immaculate and it's so relaxing! Susan makes a mean breakfast and you will NOT walk away hungry. After two days, I didn't want to leave. I will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


1st B & B! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Great hosts, food and location! Certain that we will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Setting and service shine at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2016

A wonderful wedding weekend was made all the more memorable by our stay at Aldrich House. Robert and Douglas' warmth and kindness elevated the entire trip, showcasing their beautiful home and restful experience. Their flexibility in accommodating our group was exemplary, providing a level of care and consideration well beyond our expectations. A heartfelt thank you to our hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Stay at this Lovely B&B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

This is a beautiful home from the mid-nineteenth century, but with modern conveniences. Everything was sparkling clean! Douglas and Robert are fantastic hosts, who are easily engaged in conversation and clearly love talking about their home and Galena. The hosts and the home induce feelings of calmness and relaxation. Breakfast and Wine at 5:00 provided time for great conversations with other guests. We spent two nights at Aldrich Guest House, and breakfast both days was fabulous. Douglas and Robert were helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shops, and places to visit. We enjoyed the location and beautiful surroundings - in a quiet area, but only a short distance from the main street. This was our first time in Galena, but we will be back and will definitely stay at Aldrich Guest House again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality, facilities and food for the value at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Farmers Guest House has the best hospitality, rooms, service and dining for the value, Don, Susan and Charles were very attentive and accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2016

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and we were very happy with Stillman Inn, we made the right choice! The house is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and Dave and Bernadine make sure you are taken care of! Dave was very informative about the house and Galena itself. Anything you need, they are sure to take care of! The breakfast was outstanding! We will be back!! Gary & Kim Crystal Lake, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We stayed overnight on 4/9/16 and had a wonderful experience. Our hosts were very welcoming. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Happy hour was very nice and breakfast was superb. We would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Douglas & Robert have hospitality down to an art. They have thought of everything. Aldridge Guest House is absolutely gorgeous! It's obvious when you step through the front door that its restoration has been a labor of love for these gentlemen. Breakfasts were beyond delicious, and coffee and scrumptious cookies were always available. We truly couldn't be happier with our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Easter Vacation at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

First time staying at a B&B, but will not be the last. Don, Susan, and Charles are very welcoming and have all the little details down. Breakfast was AMAZING! We really enjoyed eating in the well decorated dining room with relaxing music in the morning. Wine time in the evening is also really nice. The house is right next to main street so we could walk everywhere. Our room was perfectly clean and we liked winding down at the end of the day by picking out a DVD from the big collection and watching it in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


A memory to last at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2016

The Inn was the perfect dream place to celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary. Dave wanted to fulfill all he could to ensure our expectations and needs were met. The food was outstanding! We would love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Photos don't do justice at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2016

I stayed in the master suite, which is a stunning space that looks way better in real life than in photos. Everything was peaceful and lovely, and the breakfast was great. I also never met the owners, but they were very responsive too my request for an earlier breakfast. I would definitely stay again. The only minor thing was that the jacuzzi style bath took FOREVER to fill up and the water from the tap was not very hot. So, just be prepared for that.

View more reviews for this inn


Sets a new bar for B&Bs at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 06, 2016

Robert and Douglas were amazing hosts. What they have created at The Aldrich House sets a new standard for B&Bs! We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back the next time in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Romantic Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 23, 2016

My 5-star review goes without hesitation. First and foremost, Don and Susan (and Charles) were fantastic. Their hospitality is second to none to the point where I felt we may be distant relatives. My wife and I stayed in the newly remodeled Annie’s Cottage a couple weeks ago, which was a surprise getaway for my wife that went down as the most romantic getaways to date. The rustic yet modern décor coupled with the oversize Jacuzzi, fireplace, winding decks, etc that populated the 2-story cottage not only exceeded my expectations, but certainly gave my bride an experience that she will remember for some time. There were many highlights to note, but one to mention were the phenomenal breakfast entrée’s prepared by the famed Food Network celebrity, Susan Steffan. The dishes were paired and portioned perfectly, so that you can savor every succulent bite to the end feeling full but energized. Another special treat were the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, and the wine sourced from the local vineyards. Needless to say, my wife and I look forward to returning in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Valentines Day at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 18, 2016

Susan and Don were great hosts. Great ambiance in all of the inn. Our room (the Jennie) was spacious and tastefully decorated. Great wine and cheese reception in the evening. Gourmet breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to downtown. DVD library if you'd like with viewers in each room. WiFi connection was good. Very comfortable stay. Will return.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.4 reviewed on February 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit, went by way too fast. Breakfast was amazing and Susan and Don were great hosts. Enjoyed wine time to get to know the other guests. Hope to be back in the future!

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent stay! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 10, 2016

We visited the Farmers Guesthouse last weekend and had a wonderful time. The breakfast and great, as usual, and I noticed a few cute decorations were out for Valentine's Day and I love seeing the different festive things Susan puts out. I also sit in on the Saturday Breakfast Diva class and I loved it!! The food we made was delish and easy enough to follow the recipie at home. I'll definitely be back for another class too!

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on February 02, 2016

We stayed three nights at the Aldrich House with four other couple friends. We all considered the experience to be exceptional. Although the facility is unique and well maintained, the real difference between other available B & Bs was the personal service that both Robert and Douglas provide.

View more reviews for this inn


Better late than never at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

4.6 reviewed on January 28, 2016

Stayed in June, 2015 here & we loved it. The rooms were clean, charming, and comfortable. Dave was such a friendly & gracious host, and Bernadine a marvelous cook! We enjoyed our visit to Galena and the Stillman Inn so much that we stayed 2 nights instead of one!

View more reviews for this inn


BEST IN GALENA at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 27, 2016

FARMERS THE BEST! LOCATION GREAT, FOOD OUTSTANDING! SUSAN TREATS YOU LIKE FAMILY. SHE APPEARED ON THE FOOD NETWORK SHOW FOR HER OUTSTANDING BAKING, WHICH SHE WILL MAKE FOR HER GUESTS, CAN'T BEAT THAT! DON'T MISS OUT ON FARMERS GUEST HOUSE

View more reviews for this inn


Personal Retreat Vacation at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on January 18, 2016

My husband recently passed away and I had been dealing with estate issues and finances for three solid months. Plus all the emotional aspects of the loss and learning to cover all the responsibilities and make all the other everyday decisions life was throwing my way. I was exhausted and needed to 'get out of Dodge' for a period of relaxation and meditation. I had two dogs who were also adapting to the new way of life and I was reluctant to kennel them so soon after my husbands death. Michelle and Dave were so helpful and understanding. This was the first time traveling with the dogs by myself and they helped me get the kennels from the car into the room in very cold weather. They are such gracious, friendly hosts. Michelle is a wonderful cook. At breakfast you are surrounded by food! Her poached pears are awesome as are her baked apples and pears! I arrived home after my trip renewed and ready to continue adjusting to the new normal in my life. Thanks you two!

View more reviews for this inn


Winter getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 15, 2015

The fresh baked cookies, wine and cheese and the overall hospitality are top notch. I would recommend this B&B to all my family and friends. I have stayed there twice and I going to set up another trip for February.

View more reviews for this inn


One of our favorite places... at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming to Farmer's Guest House since before we were engaged. This was our fourth time staying there, and it only gets better! We chose to stay for a few nights after our wedding as a "mini-moon" since we can't take our actual honeymoon until later this year. It was the perfect getaway after a busy wedding weekend! We feel so relaxed when we stay at Farmer's Guest House. The food is delicious! The hospitality is impeccable. We splured for a suite and it was well worth it! We loved having a little extra space to relax, a private entry, and a cozy jacuzzi. We love that the town is a short walk away so we never have to drive. We feel okay indulging at the restaurants because we get a good amount of walking in. Don't take that the wrong way though, the town is in no way far away, and should you choose to drive into town, it would take 5 minutes and parking is a breeze. You can't go wrong staying at Farmer's Guest House!

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}