Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Anniversary Trip at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2016

A Very enjoyable and cozy country like setting. A Scrumptious breakfast!! Susan and Don are very gracious innkeepers.

View more reviews for this inn


Dubuque weekend at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Great two days. Most comfortable and relaxing stay we have had in a long time. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a good time.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful place to stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

We had the great pleasure to stay at Farmers Guest House in Galena, Illinois last week. It was truly a welcome respite from the daily grind of the work week. Susan and Don were the most welcoming hosts and treated us to a relaxing stay in their lovely inn. Within the first few minutes, we felt as though we had known them for years, as they graciously chatted with us about our upcoming stay. Extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding restaurants, attractions, and amenities, they took it upon themselves to make sure we had a great experience. We would be remiss if we did not mention the scrumptious breakfasts that awaited us each morning...from egg casseroles, to caramel apple pancakes, to farm fresh scrambled eggs, each meal was a culinary delight. The cinnamon rolls, berry coffee cake, and french toast (a special request from my husband) were to-die-for. It is clear that they are passionate about treating each guest to a visit they will remember for years. We highly recommend the Farmers Guest House and most assuredly would not hesitate to return for another wonderful vacation stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect Stay at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on August 02, 2016

Can not thank Susan and Don enough. We showed up hours before check to get our day started and walked in to find Don at the desk all smiles and ready to help. Gave us all sorts of great tips, and made our dinner reservation. Walked around town for a few hours but of course made it back for wine time. More then generous pours and great conversation. The room the Jennie was perfect for us, we knew we were going to spend more time out and about then in our room but the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave! Would go back for sure and would highly recommend. I know I will be back since I forgot a cookie on my way out. Oh and how could I forget breakfast, amazing is an understatement!! Thank you again Don and Susan.

View more reviews for this inn


Anniversary Getaway at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I couldn't have had a more pleasurable experience at Farmers Guest House. The atmosphere was inviting and relaxing. The breakfast was deliciously prepared with fresh locally grown produce. Don and Susan were incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Farmers Guest House for any stay in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


The BEST vacation I have experienced on so many levels!! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 21, 2016

Coming from a busy winter season in Argentina, I was desperately looking for some vacation and time off in nature, peace and beauty. The Inn at Irish Hollow was the perfect "green" setting with the lovely sounds of birds chirping everywhere you set foot. Each meal was not only a work of art, but also made with so much love and incredibly delicious. They especially offer fabulous gluten-free options for all of their dishes that are absolutely spectacular (like the Salmon Eggs Benedict, homemade granola and muffins)! Their organic coffee and teas were the best I have ever tasted and they even sell all of these wonderful products in their lovely boutique. I was fortunate enough to stay in two different cottages, Station House and Gardener's Cottage and oh-my-goodness the design and layouts are gorgeous - each with a precious and spacious patio area! Taking a bath with champagne by the fireplace and then taking a nap in the most comfortable bed every day made this the perfect vacation. The masseuse was also incredible (I fully recommend the 90 minute hot stone massage). The entire staff is absolutely wonderful and one immediately feels like they are a part of the Irish Hollow family upon arrival. Thank you so much Bill and Tony for having created and for sharing this special "oasis" - which is unique to the world! Am feeling vibrant and renewed and am definitely planning on coming back as soon as I have more vacation time :)

View more reviews for this inn


Exceeded Expectations at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.0 reviewed on July 14, 2016

This B and B has it all---location, quality, friendliness, amazing food, Inkeepers (Don and Susan) who truly want your stay to be memorable and are accommodating in every conceivable way, and just a very warm vibe that makes you feel at home the moment you arrive. Everything is super clean and neat. Every room is unique in a very thoughtful, fun, and inviting way. The breakfast is wonderful, the wine hour is fun and just what one needs after shopping or exploring Galena. There are many restaurants in Galena, and Don and Susan are very helpful in helping you choose one that fits your particular wants and needs. Couldn't do better than the Farmers Guest House. Don't miss this one!

View more reviews for this inn


Birthday weekend with sister at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We had a great time. Don and Susan were excellent and tended to our every need. This trip made me want to take another bed & breakfast sometime with my husband.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful room and Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

3.6 reviewed on July 08, 2016

My husband and I stayed on a Thursday night and checked out on Friday. The room was clean and decorated based on the time period the building was constructed. The service was great and the staff would do their best to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful and the fresh cookies available in the kitchen was an unexpected treat. We would stay at Farmers Guest House again the next time we head to Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Another Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2016

This was the second time we stayed at Farmers Guest House, and both have been excellent! The service, the food, the amenities, the atmosphere – everything is just wonderful. We will be heading back, and will be taking part in with the cooking classes offered by one of the owners.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect getaway spot outside Galena! at Aaron's Cottages and Goldmoor Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 28, 2016

We stayed in the French Cottage, which was immaculate and equipped with everything needed for a delightful stay. The owners have done a wonderful job, and every request was met with courtesy and promptness. Couldn't ask for a better experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Place to spend your 35th Wedding Anniversary. at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 22, 2016

My wife and I had been to Galena many times. Great little town. We decided to stay at a B & B for the first time. It was great. Robert and Douglas gave us the best service. The food was excellent. I highly recommend staying at the Aldrich House if you are ever in Galena. We will definitely stay again!!!!!!!!!

View more reviews for this inn


The best in the area! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 22, 2016

Spending a weekend in Galena for a birthday getaway, I booked Aldrich House based on the picture from their website and their promise of "no doilies". We were not disappointed when we arrived. We were greeted at the door by both Robert and Douglas and they gave a tour of the house and took our luggage to our room for us. Upon booking (months prior) I briefly mentioned to Douglas that we would be celebrating a birthday the weekend of our stay. When we arrived in our room after a night out we found chocolate covered strawberries with a happy birthday note for the birthday girl! What a pleasant little treat! I was so shocked he remembered. The room spacious, the house is over 100 years old and the beauty of the architecture is simply amazing. The private bathroom was furnished with the original clawfoot tub and the goat milk soaps smelled like heaven. We both would have loved to spend the entire morning in the comfy robes provided, but the town is so cute we had to explore. The house is a 5 minute walk into downtown, which is vibrant with shops and restaurants. Robert and Douglas really helped make this weekend very special. Breakfast both mornings was simply AMAZING. I can't say enough about how fantastic Aldrich House is. We will be back.

View more reviews for this inn


June 2016 Visit at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 20, 2016

We couldn't have asked for a better time! The accommodations are fabulous, the living room is so inviting and homey with the many quilts and afgans! The dining room is awesome! Spent our evenings playing games! Also working on a puzzle in the LR. And then there is the breakfast. They are so delicious, they are to die for! Susan, Don & George are there to help make your stay fabulous! We cannot wait until our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


great first time at a bed and breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on June 15, 2016

The owners of Farmer Guest House are so wonderful and the place is beautiful! The room was great and the suite worth it with the great bath tub with jets! Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING!!! We will be coming back and staying more than one night next time, that's for sure!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Great weekend with friends at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed Farmers Guest House. Don and Susan made everyones stay so enjoyable. The inn is clean. The hosts friendly. The breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. We plan on returning and hope to take a cooking class with Susan on our next visit!

View more reviews for this inn


anniversary get away at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2016

we had a wonderful time staying at the Farmers Guest house. Warm, inviting atmosphere helps you relax and feel like home. Innkeepers were great hosts along with Charles. Rooms were clean and comfortable with luxury linens and towels. Breakfasts were delicious and flavorful.We would highly recommend a stay here.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent breakfast and service!!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 31, 2016

We had an outstanding stay the weekend of May 21-23. Outstanding gourmet breakfast each day. Very close to Main St. We loved wine night each night too! We had issues with the AC in our room but Don and Susan moved us in to the cottage at no extra charge. We enjoyed our stay and will be sure to recommend the Farmer's Guest House to our family and friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible Bed and Breakfast!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 30, 2016

We had an amazing stay in the cottage room as part of a romantic weekend. Don and Susan are top notch hosts, welcoming, helpful and friendly. I really felt like we were old friends coming back. When I had questions before my visit, Susan was very responsive. She provided local dining recommendations and then offered to make the reservations for us. The cottage was fantastic--private, comfortable, romantic and immaculately clean. The breakfast was unbeatable--loved Susan's special twist on French Toast. We will come back again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Royalty Service at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 26, 2016

If you want to be treated like a King/Queen, then you must stay here. Don and Susan are the ultimate hosts. The place is immaculate and it's so relaxing! Susan makes a mean breakfast and you will NOT walk away hungry. After two days, I didn't want to leave. I will definitely be back.

View more reviews for this inn


1st B & B! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 19, 2016

Great hosts, food and location! Certain that we will return!

View more reviews for this inn


Setting and service shine at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on May 02, 2016

A wonderful wedding weekend was made all the more memorable by our stay at Aldrich House. Robert and Douglas' warmth and kindness elevated the entire trip, showcasing their beautiful home and restful experience. Their flexibility in accommodating our group was exemplary, providing a level of care and consideration well beyond our expectations. A heartfelt thank you to our hosts.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic Stay at this Lovely B&B at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

This is a beautiful home from the mid-nineteenth century, but with modern conveniences. Everything was sparkling clean! Douglas and Robert are fantastic hosts, who are easily engaged in conversation and clearly love talking about their home and Galena. The hosts and the home induce feelings of calmness and relaxation. Breakfast and Wine at 5:00 provided time for great conversations with other guests. We spent two nights at Aldrich Guest House, and breakfast both days was fabulous. Douglas and Robert were helpful with suggestions for restaurants, shops, and places to visit. We enjoyed the location and beautiful surroundings - in a quiet area, but only a short distance from the main street. This was our first time in Galena, but we will be back and will definitely stay at Aldrich Guest House again!

View more reviews for this inn


Great hospitality, facilities and food for the value at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2016

Farmers Guest House has the best hospitality, rooms, service and dining for the value, Don, Susan and Charles were very attentive and accommodating. We look forward to returning soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 21, 2016

This was our first time staying at a bed & breakfast and we were very happy with Stillman Inn, we made the right choice! The house is beautiful, the rooms are beautiful and Dave and Bernadine make sure you are taken care of! Dave was very informative about the house and Galena itself. Anything you need, they are sure to take care of! The breakfast was outstanding! We will be back!! Gary & Kim Crystal Lake, IL

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 16, 2016

We stayed overnight on 4/9/16 and had a wonderful experience. Our hosts were very welcoming. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Happy hour was very nice and breakfast was superb. We would definitely stay there again!

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic! at Aldrich Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on April 04, 2016

Douglas & Robert have hospitality down to an art. They have thought of everything. Aldridge Guest House is absolutely gorgeous! It's obvious when you step through the front door that its restoration has been a labor of love for these gentlemen. Breakfasts were beyond delicious, and coffee and scrumptious cookies were always available. We truly couldn't be happier with our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


Easter Vacation at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 28, 2016

First time staying at a B&B, but will not be the last. Don, Susan, and Charles are very welcoming and have all the little details down. Breakfast was AMAZING! We really enjoyed eating in the well decorated dining room with relaxing music in the morning. Wine time in the evening is also really nice. The house is right next to main street so we could walk everywhere. Our room was perfectly clean and we liked winding down at the end of the day by picking out a DVD from the big collection and watching it in our room.

View more reviews for this inn


A memory to last at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on March 14, 2016

The Inn was the perfect dream place to celebrate our 60th wedding anniversary. Dave wanted to fulfill all he could to ensure our expectations and needs were met. The food was outstanding! We would love to return!

View more reviews for this inn


Photos don't do justice at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on March 11, 2016

I stayed in the master suite, which is a stunning space that looks way better in real life than in photos. Everything was peaceful and lovely, and the breakfast was great. I also never met the owners, but they were very responsive too my request for an earlier breakfast. I would definitely stay again. The only minor thing was that the jacuzzi style bath took FOREVER to fill up and the water from the tap was not very hot. So, just be prepared for that.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}