Free $50 gift card!

Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

Weekend away at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.2 reviewed on January 30, 2015

Enjoyed the tour of the home and the history lesson. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed your company while we ate.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 25, 2015

What a relaxing stay! My husband and I really enjoyed ourselves. The setting was perfect, the accommodations were great, Dave and Bernadine were wonderful hosts, and the breakfast was delicious! We will be back. Deb S.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 22, 2015

I have reviewed Farmers Guest House before on trip advisor and I am glad to say it is still the best B&B in Galena. I had another wonderful weekend away (this time girlfriends get-a-way for my Birthday!) and was amazed at all the improvements Susan & Don have made to the FGH. The robes in the rooms, the lap desks, the breakfasts, the massage studio, the redecorated rooms - look at their website to see the pictures of the rooms! They continue to setp up in every area to a standard of excellence. I appreciated Susan asking at our check in about dietary needs and accommodating my friends requests - really above and beyond. The biggest thing for me, that will keep me coming back, when I walk into my room or one of the common areas, I can tell that it has been cleaned. I am a germ-a-phobe in some ways and at FGH I am at ease because you can just tell that it is clean. Really clean, but not smelling like disinfectant. Actually I loved walking in to the smell of fresh baked cookies! Farmers Guest House is so very comfortable, welcoming, and relaxing. Totally love it!

View more reviews for this inn


Could not have been better! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on January 17, 2015

From beginning to end, our expectations were exceeded. Hard to say what was the most delightful -- awesome vintage Xmas decor and then later the "normal" collection, the friendliness and knowledge and hospitality of Susan and Don, the innkeepers, the evening wine tasting, our comfortable thoughtfully appointed room or just simply the badly needed escape and pampering. Would definitely recommend without reservation, and hope to return this year.

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay in Galena at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

4.8 reviewed on January 03, 2015

The Farmer's Guest was our first time at a B&B and we're sold for the future! We had an ideal two night stay. The accommodations, common areas, and socializing met our very high expectations. We would strongly recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Galena, which was also a lot of fun with great dining options!

View more reviews for this inn


We'll Be Back! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 21, 2014

Warm and charming, the Stillman Inn provided us with a fantastic base of operations from which to enjoy our two-day stay in Galena. Our room was cozy and the period furnishings lent a real historical flavor to our stay. Dave and Bernadine, our hosts, were extremely friendly and accommodating…Dave's extensive knowledge of Galena, both past and present, provided us with a rich understanding of the history of the area as well as lots of ideas for activities to enjoy while there. Breakfasts by Bernadine were exquisite! Five stars across the board! We are looking forward to our next visit! Lynn and Warren from Chicago

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic B&B at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 19, 2014

The Farmer's Guest House was our first B&B and we loved it! It was very clean and comfortable, the Christmas decor was amazing and the Julia suite we stayed in was very spacious and cozy. The breakfast was amazing and Don and Susan were very helpful. They were extremely nice and inviting and made us feel at home. The inn is within walking distance of Main St. And they also have a spa room on site so you can relax without having to leave. We will definitely stay again!

View more reviews for this inn


Terrific B&B in Galena at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on December 03, 2014

Great rooms, hospitality and breakfast. The hosts create a warm atmosphere and are very attentive to your needs. Highly recommend, we will visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Greatest place to stay in Galena! at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 23, 2014

My husband and I had such a great time staying here, Dave and Bernadine are the kindest, funniest, and most hospitable people we have ever met & they put together a GREAT breakfast! They made our honeymoon experience amazing and we will definitely be back for future anniversary celebrations ! I highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to Galena! ¿¿

View more reviews for this inn


Dubuque/Galena Best Hidden Secret-November 2014 at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Redstone two times in the last 2 months. It is the most beautiful place I have ever seen. Inside it is exquisite. It boast history and it is so well maintained. It is one of the cleanliness places I have ever stayed. Both times. Its smells wonderful. The beds are so comfortable and firm. The Inn Keeper, Robert is amazing. It is a first class establishment. I would give it a 9 out of 5 and will be back many times. The Inn was full the second time we were there this last weekend Nov 15th. Robert is a gracious host. The breakfast is delightful and very healthy and very well made. We plan on spreading the word and bringing our friends and family here. The Redstone is amazing and Thank you Robert. You are the best. Cyndi

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Experience! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days in July 2014, our first time at a bed & breakfast. What a wonderful experience we had! Susan and Don made us feel like "old friends" the minute we walked in the door. Don insisted on carrying our bags while Susan gave us a tour of the common rooms. Susan's breakfasts are delicious and Don is the perfect "waiter." Both were so helpful in every way, making reservations, giving helpful hints for activities on Main Street, providing directions, etc. Charles tidied up our room every day. Felt like royalty! We also enjoyed sitting in the living room to read in the evening. It was just like home. I was so impressed with Farmer's Guest House that I returned in November for a Quilt Retreat. Again the same ambience, kind and helpful service and such a good time. (Susan even remembered that my husband had one food allergy! And he wasn't even with this time.) Same wine time in the late afternoon with much comradery. I'm already signed up for the Quilt Retreat next November. I guess you can say that this is my (our) one and only B&B!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing weekend at Bernadine's Stillman Inn (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 15, 2014

I have stayed at other bed and breakfasts and this was my favorite. Dave is wonderful the inn feels like you are at home. The breakfast will fill you for the day. :) the inn is a great location and you won't be disappointed. Will stay here again next year.

View more reviews for this inn


A+++ Bed & Breakfast, not to be missed at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2014

If you love Galena, and you love B&B's, this is one you should not miss. We had the most wonderful stay over Veterans Day. Our suite was absolutely wonderful, we couldn't have been more comfortable, and the hosts - Don & Susan - were so gracious and welcoming, felt like we were with old friends. So much to see at this wonderful lodging, I couldn't stop taking photos of all the marvelous decor, and even got a photo of our hosts. The food was fabulous, and the wine & cheese hour with all the other veterans and their spouses was a blast, what a perfect touch to the evening. Thank you so much for hosting all of us, you are truly a very special couple. And definitely in the right line of work, such a perfect fit. We definitely look forward to visiting again! Thank you for a wonderful experience!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Cold House and Dated Decor at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

2.6 reviewed on November 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hancock House for a couple nights. The outside weather was in the 40s-50s, and the inside of the house was VERY cold. The windows in our room were leaky next to the bed. The only supply of heat for the room was a small electric heater which couldn't keep up and made the room dry--resulting in a runny nose for both of us. There was a fireplace with a starer log that we lit but still were cold in the room. The dining room was also cold--I nearly shivered while eating my breakfast. I can't imagine how much colder this house would be in the winter! All of the decorations and furnishings were very dated. The house was spotlessly clean but needs updating. Based on my experience this one time, I wouldn't return again.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely Stay at The Hancock House at The Hancock House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on November 10, 2014

My husband and I had a recent trip to Dubuque, Iowa. It was our first trip to Dubuque and since we love to stay at bed and breakfasts and a friend had recommended The Hancock House. This stunning home and hillside property is well cared for and preserved by the owners, Chuck and Susan. We stayed in Mrs. Hancock's room with marvelous views of the city and river, a fireplace, clawfoot tub, and a step back in time with very comfortable features. Breakfast was amazing and we enjoyed talking with our hosts as well as other guests. We rate each of the review categories as "outstanding" but the system will only allow us to select the exceeds expectations categories. The Hancock House is is a perfect retreat!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Package at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 09, 2014

Stayed in the J.E. Squiers Room for our 44th anniversary the first part of Oct. What a great place to stay, the rooms were more than expected and the overall weekend was great. Don't forget the food was excellent just like home can not wait to go back

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful room, nice safe location, good stay overall :) at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on November 06, 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe room - BEAUTIFUL room but a little close to the entrance. Good amenities overall, owners were easy to contact, and like the description says they really value privacy. The breakfast felt more like a hotel experience with a help yourself continental breakfast in the kitchen. Great value for a B&B and we would certainly do it again.

View more reviews for this inn


The PERFECT Experience at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

5 reviewed on November 05, 2014

This B&B was absolutely incredible!! I have never felt more at home while away from home! I still can't get over how good Michelle's cooking was, and we saw SO MUCH of it for just an overnight visit! I will definitely be staying here again in the near future!

View more reviews for this inn


Great ambiance! at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.4 reviewed on October 28, 2014

I loved that while we were still in the city, it was a quiet neighborhood set in the historic district of Dubuque. Breakfast was fantastic with so much variety. The Deluxe Suite was worth every cent!

View more reviews for this inn


R-E-L-A-X'ING! at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2014

Very appreciative of the privacy and quiet of the SLH. Understated but pseudo-artsy / antique meets contemporary. A wonderful breakfast which included fresh fruit / raspberries. One of my favorite B&B's. A big shout-out to the Innkeepers! Jo & Lori

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2014

We booked at the last minute but we were made to feel very welcome. The owner was a gracious host, escorting us to our room, helping to carry our bags and explaining all the details for our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A slice of heaven! at Four Mounds Inn & Conference Center (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2014

Possibly the best of the 40 or so B & B's we have stayed at in the last 30 years!

View more reviews for this inn


Lives up to all the wonderful things I'd read and heard at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

If you are in the Maquoketa or the surrounding Dubuque area, this is a wonderful place to stay. I'm usually a hotel person but decided to take the recommendation of others and book a room at Squiers Manor for my Maquoketa stay. I received a warm welcome and tour of the historic landmark. Innkeeper Kathy made me feel right at ease and checked with me about my schedule and needs. I most definitely recommend the candlelight dessert. There were at least 5 - 6 items to choose from that night. Breakfast was also just unbelievable. It was served on china with fresh fruit salad, homemade breakfast bread, egg casserole, seasoned potatoes and items from the manor garden. My room was beautiful and very comfy. I stayed in "Opals Parlor", lots of light and plenty of room, although the bathroom was a wee bit on the small side. Other rooms have large baths and jetted tubs so you have that choice. I would most definitely return to Squiers Manor if I'm in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Susan & Don were great hosts. They wanted to make sure everything was right for us. We had never stayed in a B&B before, and it was a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet stay at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. It was very quiet- we never saw another soul which was a little unsettling to us but we enjoyed everything. It was nice to have movies to watch and the breakfast was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Love put into property and it shows at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2014

Kathy and Virl and put years of love, decorating and attention into this property. It reflects an authentic Victorian atmosphere and it great fun to visit and experience another time. Walks around the neighborhood are also enjoyable. Good food, good conversation and well worth a reservation.

View more reviews for this inn


Mid-week anniversary celebration! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2014

This experience exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, we had a horse drawn carriage ride on the property, and then the evening meal was superb in presentation and taste. Attending to all the details made this so memorable!

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Bed and Breakfast Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for our tenth anniversary and were VERY pleased. I'm one of those shy people who likes Bed & Breakfasts in theory (it's nice to feel like you're staying in someone's home), but often find myself feeling uncomfortable (it can be awkward to feel like you're staying in someone's home.) Right from the moment we walked in, this place had all the warmth of a B&B without any of the awkwardness. The owner, Susan, made us feel right at home. You have access to all sorts of free stuff in a common area--a room that's super interesting but where you have the choice to mingle with others or hang out with your wife alone, without seeming unfriendly. We stayed in the Charlotte suite, which had its own door to the outside and was HUGE with a great hot tub and its own fireplace. Wine tastings at 5pm...not a wine drinker, but I kinda wished I had been. (My wife missed it one day and Susie went and got her a glass anyway.) The breakfast was AWESOME and they had veggie options for us--bonus. I always felt like Susan was there if I needed something, but I never once felt like I was intruding; so...bottom line: it had all the romance, warmth and intimacy you want for a romantic getaway, without sacrificing privacy. I've been to Galena about 4 times and stayed at 4 different places. This is where I'll stay next time I come. And the time after that. Oh! And get this: I forgot my charger. Susan just mailed it to us! That was so nice! : )

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing homemade breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

Plenty of hot coffee, fresh fruit and each day a different and delicious breakfast. The french toast was like none I've ever had. The entire place is very clean. Linens seemed to be fragrance free which I really appreciate. Guests are also invited to wine & cheese time each evening. I've stayed at several B & B's around the country and this was the friendliest one. Yet your privacy is respected at the same time. I stayed alone and felt very comfortable. I shall return!

View more reviews for this inn


Life Just Off the Mississippi at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2014

We originally stayed years ago for an Anniversary. My wife who grew up in Maquoketa and I came back from Chicago in late July for our 35th Anniversary weekend in the Bridal Suite and were joined at the Manor by her sister and twin daughters from California. We enjoyed the hospitality, history, beauty, and breakfast so much that we came back last weekend and met friends from Des Moines for for a boating day on the Mississippi. Hats off to Virl and Kathy! Guests are treated like family. Converstations between former strangers at breakfast are great. We'll be back often when visiting my wife's folks.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}