Free $50 gift card with a $250+ gift card purchase

Recent Reviews in Dubuque, Iowa

R-E-L-A-X'ING! at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on October 21, 2014

Very appreciative of the privacy and quiet of the SLH. Understated but pseudo-artsy / antique meets contemporary. A wonderful breakfast which included fresh fruit / raspberries. One of my favorite B&B's. A big shout-out to the Innkeepers! Jo & Lori

View more reviews for this inn


Great stay at The Redstone Inn & Suites (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on October 19, 2014

We booked at the last minute but we were made to feel very welcome. The owner was a gracious host, escorting us to our room, helping to carry our bags and explaining all the details for our stay.

View more reviews for this inn


A slice of heaven! at Four Mounds Inn & Conference Center (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on October 15, 2014

Possibly the best of the 40 or so B & B's we have stayed at in the last 30 years!

View more reviews for this inn


Lives up to all the wonderful things I'd read and heard at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on October 13, 2014

If you are in the Maquoketa or the surrounding Dubuque area, this is a wonderful place to stay. I'm usually a hotel person but decided to take the recommendation of others and book a room at Squiers Manor for my Maquoketa stay. I received a warm welcome and tour of the historic landmark. Innkeeper Kathy made me feel right at ease and checked with me about my schedule and needs. I most definitely recommend the candlelight dessert. There were at least 5 - 6 items to choose from that night. Breakfast was also just unbelievable. It was served on china with fresh fruit salad, homemade breakfast bread, egg casserole, seasoned potatoes and items from the manor garden. My room was beautiful and very comfy. I stayed in "Opals Parlor", lots of light and plenty of room, although the bathroom was a wee bit on the small side. Other rooms have large baths and jetted tubs so you have that choice. I would most definitely return to Squiers Manor if I'm in the area again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Susan & Don were great hosts. They wanted to make sure everything was right for us. We had never stayed in a B&B before, and it was a great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Quiet stay at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on September 29, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. It was very quiet- we never saw another soul which was a little unsettling to us but we enjoyed everything. It was nice to have movies to watch and the breakfast was wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Love put into property and it shows at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2014

Kathy and Virl and put years of love, decorating and attention into this property. It reflects an authentic Victorian atmosphere and it great fun to visit and experience another time. Walks around the neighborhood are also enjoyable. Good food, good conversation and well worth a reservation.

View more reviews for this inn


Mid-week anniversary celebration! at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2014

This experience exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, we had a horse drawn carriage ride on the property, and then the evening meal was superb in presentation and taste. Attending to all the details made this so memorable!

View more reviews for this inn


The Perfect Bed and Breakfast Experience at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for our tenth anniversary and were VERY pleased. I'm one of those shy people who likes Bed & Breakfasts in theory (it's nice to feel like you're staying in someone's home), but often find myself feeling uncomfortable (it can be awkward to feel like you're staying in someone's home.) Right from the moment we walked in, this place had all the warmth of a B&B without any of the awkwardness. The owner, Susan, made us feel right at home. You have access to all sorts of free stuff in a common area--a room that's super interesting but where you have the choice to mingle with others or hang out with your wife alone, without seeming unfriendly. We stayed in the Charlotte suite, which had its own door to the outside and was HUGE with a great hot tub and its own fireplace. Wine tastings at 5pm...not a wine drinker, but I kinda wished I had been. (My wife missed it one day and Susie went and got her a glass anyway.) The breakfast was AWESOME and they had veggie options for us--bonus. I always felt like Susan was there if I needed something, but I never once felt like I was intruding; so...bottom line: it had all the romance, warmth and intimacy you want for a romantic getaway, without sacrificing privacy. I've been to Galena about 4 times and stayed at 4 different places. This is where I'll stay next time I come. And the time after that. Oh! And get this: I forgot my charger. Susan just mailed it to us! That was so nice! : )

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing homemade breakfast! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 21, 2014

Plenty of hot coffee, fresh fruit and each day a different and delicious breakfast. The french toast was like none I've ever had. The entire place is very clean. Linens seemed to be fragrance free which I really appreciate. Guests are also invited to wine & cheese time each evening. I've stayed at several B & B's around the country and this was the friendliest one. Yet your privacy is respected at the same time. I stayed alone and felt very comfortable. I shall return!

View more reviews for this inn


Life Just Off the Mississippi at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on September 08, 2014

We originally stayed years ago for an Anniversary. My wife who grew up in Maquoketa and I came back from Chicago in late July for our 35th Anniversary weekend in the Bridal Suite and were joined at the Manor by her sister and twin daughters from California. We enjoyed the hospitality, history, beauty, and breakfast so much that we came back last weekend and met friends from Des Moines for for a boating day on the Mississippi. Hats off to Virl and Kathy! Guests are treated like family. Converstations between former strangers at breakfast are great. We'll be back often when visiting my wife's folks.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Labor Day Stay at The Solon Langworthy House (Dubuque, Iowa)

4.0 reviewed on September 06, 2014

Very responsive hosts. Great location to explore Dubuque and the Mississippi River. If you like privacy, you've got it here. Would stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Inn I've Stayed At. at Inn At Irish Hollow and Country English Cottages (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on September 02, 2014

The Irish Hollow Inn is amazing. We stayed in the Gardener's Cottage on 9/1/14. After driving down some hilly gravel roads while gazing out at the beautiful Illinois countryside, I finally arrived to check in at the inn. Matthew was there to greet me; He was very hospitable and explained the area (trails and the town of Galena) in great detail. He gave me a bunch of maps and informed me of dinner and breakfast times, which they make for you. You eat in the same building where you check in. Matthew’s service was truly wonderful. I work at hotels, so I notice the little things that the staff do to really Wow their guests. I left the main building, and drove to the next street where my cabin was. I also noticed the landscaping on their property was very beautiful. There was easily enough parking for two or three cars at the cabin. Upon walking up to the cottage, I heard music coming from the inside. It turns out they turned on classical romantic music for us, which was playing through their complimentary iPod-- through their surround sound speakers. There was chocolate and champagne set out for us as well, which was a nice touch. It’s a perfect space for two people to use, and it kind of resembles the inside of castle. Everything was very clean and there was a lot of detail put into keeping the place up to date. (Note, there were no phones or alarm clocks or TV’s in the cabin, which is a great plus). The Jacuzzi in the bathroom was very fun, and there was a double rain shower room if you needed it. (There’s even a sun room where you can sit out and watch the rain). The best part was the bed, which was extremely comfortable. Eventually it was 7pm so we walked over to have supper. One of the gentlemen seated us at an already prepared table. We had our delicious 7 course meal, which was enough to fill me up (and I eat a lot). The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast as well.

View more reviews for this inn


An Amazing B&B! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 30, 2014

We spent three nights at the Farmer's Guest House and felt right at home the minute we walked in the door. Don and Susan make you feel like family and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant from the outstanding breakfasts, tips on things to see in Galena, to making dining arrangements at local restaurants. We will most definitely stay there again if in the Galena area!

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B in Galena!!! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2014

This is our sixth stay at the Farmer's Guest House Inn and we have already booked another stay. Susan and Don are so accomodating! Susan makes the most delicious breakfasts and she is very attentive to any dietary needs. Both Susan and Don make a special point of getting to know all their guests. The rooms are so comfortable and clean! We have been to other B&B's but this one will always be our favorite!

View more reviews for this inn


Charming guest house with a killer breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights at Farmers' Guest House during a weekend getaway in Galena. Susan and Don were so nice and helpful during our stay. They go out of their way to accommodate any special needs and requests. We hadn't read many reviews beforehand, so the quality of the breakfast was a total surprise. Wow, it was amazing. The house was very clean and full of character and history. I would give Farmers' Guest House my highest recommendation to anyone looking for first class accommodations in Galena.

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 25, 2014

We had a wonderful room and breakfast was delicious!

View more reviews for this inn


Outstanding bed & breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 24, 2014

We just enjoyed our second stay at the Farmer's Guest House in Galena Ill and are ready to return for another stay! Innkeepers Susan & Don strive to give each guest a wonderful experience from the delicious breakfast served every morning to "wine time" in the afternoon. You will feel welcomed and "at home" during your stay! The rooms are each decorated nicely, housekeeping is excellent, and the gardens are well maintained.

View more reviews for this inn


Mini Cave Vacation at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2014

You think you are just checking in & going off to your room, but not when it comes to staying at the Squiers Manor...you get the history on the house...Our guide was Peggy & she was wonderful! Later that evening we meet Kathy & Virl & they made us feel like family! What a wonderful welcome we received & the conversations were like we knew each other for ever....You wont go hungry with the enormous,elegant & delicious breakfast....also there is Candlelight dessert where we meet some other guest & had wonderful conversations with.....Kathy & Virl really go above & beyond your typical B&B.....hope to visit them again soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic breakfasts, beautiful place, wonderful people at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2014

Just got home from a 3-night stay in the Charlotte suite at Farmers Guest House, and it was tough to leave. Every morning there was something homemade and delicious for breakfast. I ate every bite, and I'm not usually much of breakfast person. Don and Susan are so friendly and accommodating, making dinner reservations for guests, and always ready with recommendations for activities and restaurants in town. Also every evening there's a social hour, with wine and cheese. Perfect way to start the evening before heading into town for dinner. This was my first time at the B&B, and I hope to return. Wonderful place, can't recommend highly enough!

View more reviews for this inn


10 Year Anniversary at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.8 reviewed on July 30, 2014

Our accommodations were beautiful, affordable, comfortable, and educational. The staff was helpful and kind. We left (reluctantly!) feeling like family. We had a wonderful time at Squire's Manor and would definitely recommend it!

View more reviews for this inn


Comfortable stay and delicious food at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on July 28, 2014

We celebrated our 23rd anniversary with our stay at Squiers Manor and a concert in a town near-by. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Virl and Kathy are personable and made us feel at home. They served a delicious breakfast. We would definitely plan to stay there again if we had the opportunity. Tom and Carol

View more reviews for this inn


A Real Treat! at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2014

We just returned from a 3-night stay at Farmers' Guest House. On our next trip to the Galena area we will definitely stay there again. The food was a gourmet's dream--all homemade and delicious. There was even a cookie jar with yummy treats. The rooms were charming. The lovely garden area and the sitting rooms were spacious and homey. The owners, Susan and Don, helped lodgers with restaurant and entertainment reservations. Definitely a 5 star lodging!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely 1882 Mansion at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

4.6 reviewed on July 25, 2014

Delicious breakfasts and lovely setting in 1882 brick mansion with period furniture.

View more reviews for this inn


Higher expectations based on the web site. at The Richards House (Dubuque, Iowa)

2.0 reviewed on July 22, 2014

We did not expect to be staying in a place under construction. The exterior of the house is scary and our bathroom was still under construction, with unfinished plaster, unfinished fixtures and missing molding. On a scale of 1 to 10, this place is a 2 at best. Oh, and cats everywhere.

View more reviews for this inn


One of the best B & B at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 16, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed staying here, it is so clean and so must history we loved the house and the meal were awesome and even treats at night and when our plans changed and we had to leave early they worked with us and we got to come back at another and enjoyed more the second time.

View more reviews for this inn


The best place ever!! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2014

My husband and I went and stayed at the Manor a couple of months ago. It was really amazing!! Seriously, I couldn't have asked for or wanted anything more. Kathy and Virl, were so nice and accommodating. I told Kathy that she didn't need to fix breakfast for us, and I am so glad that she insisted. Holy Cow! Quiche, ham, french toast, green tomato bread...not to mention the dessert the night before. I think that Kathy and Virl should be the poster people of the Midwest. Thank-you again for such a great night, just what we needed. Sincerely, jess weiler.

View more reviews for this inn


1st experience at a bed and breakfast at Farmers Guest House (Galena, Illinois)

5 reviewed on July 04, 2014

Don and Susan were great and very helpful in planning where to eat and what to see. Loved being served a very delicious breakfast that Susan made. Met some very nice people too. Would recommend staying here.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B we have stayed at!! at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 29, 2014

Virl and Kathy go above and beyond for their guests. Breakfast is amazing!! There is desert in the evening and if you can't be there when it is served you can just go to the fridge and take it to your room. I am sure we all gained a few pounds! We asked the two gals that worked there for a place to eat supper and they gave us some great places to eat! It is true to B&B with some modern conveniences (cable tv and WIFI). There was a rain storm late evening and I sat out on the swing on the porch and watched the rain and lighting. All and all we love it and will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Squires Manor at Squiers Manor B&B (Maquoketa, Iowa)

5 reviewed on June 26, 2014

Everything about this stay was lovely, from the hosts (Kathy and Virl) who made one feel like a long standing friend, to the friendly other guests Very relaxing and welcoming.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}