Recent Reviews in Dubois, Pennsylvania

Bed great, but we had to skip Breakfast at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on July 01, 2014

My wife and I were returning home to Canada with a travelling companion from a conference in Virginia, and Du Bois seemed like a good half-way point for an overnight stay. We discovered the Inn at Narrows Creek on the web and were intrigued by the photos and the description. Despite arriving in a thunderstorm, we were entranced by the place as we drove up the entrance road. Linda welcomed us with a personal tour of our two rooms (the Apple and the Angel) and gave us advice on where to dine. We found the rooms very appealing and the beds very comfortable. In our room, the doors to the clothing cupboard/room and the washroom were somewhat awkwardly placed when trying to open both. But we had very few items to store for our overnight stay. After dinner, and after the storm passed, my wife and I were able to wander the grounds and enjoy the quirky gardens, fountain, pond and gazebo. Because we had a long drive ahead on the second day, we rose early and headed off before the breakfast hour, so we did not get to sample breakfast, which is served in your room from 8:30 to 9:30. So be forewarned. If you are spending just one night and in a rush to reach a destination the next day, this set-up may not be for you. Better to plan on two nights, with an opportunity to savour the grounds and the facilities. If you do need to skip breakfast, please let Linda and Henry know - as a courtesy. Also, if you prefer a B&B that lets you chat with fellow guests and your hosts over breakfast, this set-up will also not be to your liking. We didn't get a chance to comment on what we thought of the set-up, since we scampered off too soon.

View more reviews for this inn


Third stay and always worth it! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 16, 2013

Have been on a very restrictive diet for the past 10 weeks which requires fruit mixed with a shake and an oatmeal or eggs with spinach and salsa. Linda was very happy to help me out and even mixed me a shake for later in the day. This place is a great secret when visiting the DuBois/St. Marys area. It cannot be beat and the service is second to none. They have a customer for life.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful and lovely at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on March 19, 2013

My fiancee' and I really enjoyed staying here. The innkeeper was wonderful and served us delicious breakfasts both morning we were there. It was beautiful there and we can't wait to go back! We love the Sunflower Suite!

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely, charming Pennsylvania Inn! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on January 15, 2013

We discovered the Inn at Narrows Creek during a cross country drive. We absolutely loved it! Loaded with charm, the log cabin we stayed in was beautifully appointed in a charming rustic motif, comfortable, and homey. We didn't want to leave! We loved the comfortable living room, with cozy gas fireplace, leather couch, dining table &chairs. The bathroom had a wonderful jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious, french toast, fruit cup and baked bread, delivered to our room by the graciious and friendly Innkeeper, Linda. The service was excellent! We highly recommend this lovely B&B. Be sure to check out the store adjacent to the Inn with beautiful, charming country items for sale.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Place to Stay at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, our breakfast was wonderful, and the grounds beautiful. We would certainly stay again!!!

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Narrows Creek at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.2 reviewed on June 11, 2012

Spent one night at the inn. Our room was very clean and the innkeeper was very nice. The store was very nice to shop in and the prices were reasonable. The grounds surrounding the inn were very pretty.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Great Escape at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 29, 2012

From the time we turned in the drive till the time we left, we enjoyed every minute of our stay, & wished we could stay longer. We arrived a little early, but was gteeted with grace & showen to our room. The room, as well as the Inn was so inviting. We were close to Antique & Craft stores (also 1 at the Inn), which we had wanted to do. Plenty of veriety of restraunts also in the area. The gardens at the Inn were not in bloom yet, but they still called for you to enter & enjoy a walk, or sit on the gazebo and listen to the creek and birds. The bed was very comfortable, We slept thru the night which is unusual! We were served a lovely breakfast in our room. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We plan to return! 2 women who ran away from their husbands and home for 1 night

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Stay at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on April 15, 2012

We just finished breakfast and it was hot good. The Sunflower suite was cosy and nicely decorated with little extras like a house coat and a nice Jacuzy tub. Very convenient location. The double bed had nice linnes but tended to sink in the middle. I would also replace the shower head and fix the toilet sit. Minor issues though!

View more reviews for this inn


labor day stay at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 06, 2011

we were in town for the weekend and stayed at the inn at narrows creek. wow, such a lovely establishment from beginning to end and all parts in between. well worth the stop.

View more reviews for this inn


Great find at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 29, 2011

Wanted to find a .place to stay on ou.r journey that wasn't just a dirty hotel/motel for our family. I saw a good review about this inn and thought to give it a try. Glad we did. The hostess was very accommodating and lent us a crib for our baby. Our son was so excited to see the hidden bunk beds and actually slept thru the night while we slept in the separate bedroom. Something he doesn't normally do in unfamiliar places. The breakfast which was served to our room was homemade and delicious. Max the dog was very friendly and kept the kids entertained while we packed up the car. The grounds were beautiful and perfect to wander around. If your looking for a 5 star accommodation then this isn't it. But if you don't mind the quirky and country feel then this is it.

View more reviews for this inn


Best B&B Ever at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2011

This charming country B&B was the best I've ever stayed in. A beautiful inn, gardens & country store only matched by its outstanding cleanliness, great food and friendly owner.

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommended at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2011

Absolutely wonderful experience in every way! Can't wait to book another visit and stay longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Raindrops keep falling on my head at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

2.2 reviewed on May 20, 2011

Overly decorated in knick knacks lacking in taste. Narrow uncarpeted stairs. Overly heated small rooms. 1 window which was hard to open. 2 skylights - 1 over bed and 1 in bathroom which leaked during the night onto your head as you used the toilet. No discount was offered for our inconvenience. No dining room. The entertainment center consisted of a tiny TV. This was my first B & B experience and I am glad we tried another place to get what I expected.

View more reviews for this inn


Trip to DuBois at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on January 01, 2011

We spent two nights in one of the four person cabins. It was very rustic and cozy - we enjoyed our stay while scoping out the area for our youngest son's wedding. And of course my wife really loved the country store gift shop.

View more reviews for this inn


Cozy Stay While Traveling at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on December 30, 2010

We're yearly visitors to The Inn and really enjoy the convenient location off of I80. If you're a fan of breakfast, you don't want to miss experiencing one of the Inn's specialties, such as breakfast casserole, baked oatmeal or fabulous french toast. Breakfast includes fresh chopped fruit, orange juice, and muffins...plenty for 2 people ready to hit the road. The landscaping is quite charming and the country store a must-see. A true find!

View more reviews for this inn


What a delight! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on December 02, 2010

The Inn at Narrows Creek fit our needs perfectly on our trip through Pennsylvania. Unlike most B&B's, breakfast was served in our room, making for a relaxing and cozy morning. The proprietess was most accommodating, really made sure we were comfortable, and scurried about all morning in her "jammies" as she tended to the needs of her guests. My wife and I enjoyed the informality of the Inn. They also have a great little gift shop.

View more reviews for this inn


Inn at Narrows Creek at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on November 26, 2010

Totally enjoyable country setting. The themed rooms are cozy, the gift store is great and breakfast is very good. Have been there a few times and will go back.

View more reviews for this inn


dubois at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on November 12, 2010

Good value, responsive innkeeper, cute & comfortable

View more reviews for this inn


autum getaway at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.0 reviewed on October 31, 2010

Great location, minutes from RT80. Room was nicely decorated, TV was a bit small for the room though. Breakfast was served in the room and very yummy!

View more reviews for this inn


A lovely autumn weekend at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.8 reviewed on October 24, 2010

The Inn at Narrows Creek is enchanting - a truly lovely place. We hope to return for another visit next year.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice, country arts and crafts inn with relaxing garden at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

3.4 reviewed on October 22, 2010

This inn has a nice feeling to it with lovely arts and crafts decor. Beautiful garden to relax in with seasonal touches and close to Dubois, PA. Great stop for a PA Wilds road trip. We stayed in the Angel room, decorated with angels and teddy bears--a romantic setting with fireplace. Bed was a little firm for our liking and there's no thermostatic control in your room. We found it a little hot and stuffy in mid-October. Some traffic noise, especially with the window open. Poor water pressure in the shower. Nice breakfast: savory bread and egg dish with cheese and bacon, warm coffee cake, fruit cup, and apple cider. Served on seasonally inspired plates. Guest can make their own hot beverages with supplies provided in the room (coffee, teac, hot chocolate, cider).

View more reviews for this inn


Elk Watching at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.4 reviewed on October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Narrows Creek over the weekend of October 9th. In the area to watch the Elk. The Inn was very nicely appointed and quite comfortable. I read a comment about the small television but why on earth wold you worry about that. I was just fine to catch up with the news and scores. I wasn't there to watch TV anyways. As a professional chef I was quite pleased with the breakfast that was served to our room; great flavors and right sized portions. The gardens are lovely and you must allow time to explore them. On the constructive side, the shower head could be better but it was not a deal breaker. The cabin room was built to be authentic, right down to the sqeaky floor. That was the only thing that I bothered. As I walked I felt like I was disturbing others. But, this wasn't a deal breaker either. Some people commented about the traffic on the road but I never really noticed any noise. Dinner at Luigi's was fine. The atmosphere was better than the food but then I am very a vert critical diner. The Inn was very nice and I am sure we will visit there again the next time we stay in the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Value for the money at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

3.6 reviewed on October 06, 2010

The owners were nice. The place was so nicely decorated. However, the bed was too hard and the shower was terrible. The breakfast was great. However, the walls were too thin, so we could hear people in the hallway and the other room. Not cool. The country store was nice. The Dubois area was ugly.

View more reviews for this inn


A real gem! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2010

We were lucky to get a suite because of a cancellation. Everything was better than expected. A wonderful place to stay.

View more reviews for this inn


What a beautiful find! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 27, 2010

I am frequently in Dubois for business, and had tired of the hotels. I Googled for Bed and Breakfasts in Dubois... God was with me! The lodging is spectacular. Linda has perfected decorating that promotes comfort and serenity. I have not felt that peaceful for quite a while! I am hoping that she has rooms available for my future business ventures! In fact, me and my husband have reserved a room in November to celebrate my birthday! Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to stay with you!

View more reviews for this inn


What a great place!! at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 22, 2010

We were only there one night, and can't wait to go back. Clean and cozy, the bed was comfortable. We will definitely stay again!!

View more reviews for this inn


A little bit of heaven at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on September 17, 2010

I stayed one night at the Inn at Narrows Creek. I will return in the future. The setting is peaceful country. The service was excellent and the Shaffer's are attentive hosts. The room was well kept and decorated with numerous craftwork. The breakfast was very good. Check-in and check-out was a breeze.

View more reviews for this inn


The grounds and home are exceptional at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on May 25, 2010

The area is lovely, and the B & B has everything you could ask for, including a fabulous store and gracious innkeeper.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful relaxing atmosphere at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

5 reviewed on April 27, 2010

We stayed here for two nights for our seventh anniversary. The Bed and Breakfast is very peaceful and quiet. The breakfast served i our room was excellent and we would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. Linda is a gracious hostess.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely place at The Inn at Narrows Creek (DuBois, Pennsylvania)

4.6 reviewed on January 12, 2010

We love this inn and stop here every time we drive from NY to Chicago.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Inn at Narrows Creek (4.62)
Top
}