The Uptown House Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Service4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
132 Reviews

Write A Review

Definitely coming back!

4.2 on June 05, 2012

While attending a conference at the Hilton Washington in March 2012 I stayed here at the Inntown Uptown Inn and I am so glad I did. Usually I stay at a hotel in walking distance to the conference or I will stay at the hotel itself; however in order to save money I decided to stay at a Bed and Breakfast this year. I stayed in the cottage and I love it. It was enough room for three people and it has a full kitchen and living room area downstairs. The bedroom is upstairs with a nice size bathroom. Everything was clean and very comfortable. The cottage does have a spiral staircase; so if you have issues walking I don’t recommend the cottage but I do recommend the other rooms. The house is decorated with such care and the dining area and courtyard is lovely. There is off street parking but the neighborhood is quiet and there was never an issue of me finding parking right in front of the inn. The Inn is close to everything. It only took me about 15 mins or so (cab or car) in traffic to get to DuPont Circle. There are few places you can walk to but I recommend just catching a cab to DuPont Circle where most of the shops are located. Cabs drive around that area often so catching one is not a problem if you don’t want to drive into town. Breakfast every morning was very tasty and the Inn Keepers Sandy and David and their staff are sweetest people. For the price and service I am definitely coming back.


Sensacional

4.8 on May 01, 2012

Amei este lugar. A localização é ótima, o lugar é lindo, aconchegante, cheio de charme e o serviço é impecável. Todos foram muito atenciosos, me deram mapas e dicas de como aproveitar a cidade. O café da manhã é delicioso. Enfim, perfeito!


A great place to stay when visiting Washington DC

4.8 on March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Intown Uptown at the start of a 10 day visit to the States. Sandy and the rest of the staff were warm and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and well fed. Sandy's home baking is out of this world and her pumpkin bread is the very best way to start the day. Thank you so much for everything. We will be recommending you to all our family and friends and hope to be back in the not too distant future.


A jewel within the boundaries of DC

5 on March 12, 2012

The Intown Uptown Inn was a wonderful experience for me. The management treated me like royalty. The environment was perfect after having a stressful week. This was a great place to get away. I just can't wait to come back! Super Job!


Excellent B&B in NW DC

5 on March 12, 2012

This place is fabulous. Sandy and her staff are professional, friendly, and made us feel welcome during our entire stay. The house is in great condition, warm and inviting, and is located in a quiet area of DC. The food was absolutely excellent. We wish we could have stayed longer. Do not overlook this one when considering a place to stay in DC!!


Unexpected delight

5 on March 11, 2012

We found the Intown Uptown Inn at the last moment, and reserved the last open room. Sandy was beyond helpful, bringing tea up to the room, continually making sure we didn't need anything, and serving a delicious breakfast. The Room with a View did have a great view, but the room itself was worth staring at; it was absolutely gorgeous. We will definitely be back!


Great place to stay in D.C.

4.8 on August 14, 2011

Its been a while since I visited D.C. and I was looking for a B&B that was reasonably close to the mall and not too expensive; I found the Intown Uptown to meet both. But upon arrival, the place was well beyond my expectations: welcoming, informative, pleasant, great breakfasts, supplementary wine and cookies in the evenings and a truly helpful crew that is always available. There are two bus lines running to the mall 40-5 minutes ride, a bit long but not too bad. I highly recommend the Intown Uptown, and will definitely stay here again next time.


Home away from home

5 on July 24, 2011

We arrived very late in the evening and were pleasantly surprised by the ease of parking, Regina's warm welcome, and help finding a restaurant. The Hollywood room has lovely wood decor and a spacious bathroom. The bed is beautiful, more firm than soft. Since this room faces the front, expect some street noise from the bus at night. The morning meal starts with delicious hot offerings accompanied by a great selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, and a full continental breakfast. We loved lingering over coffee and chatting with the other guests staying at the Inn. The owner has wonderful taste in art and furnishings. The staff, especially Emily, were fun, friendly and resourceful. We felt right at home--reading the paper, petting the dog Myles and playing with the pug Bosco. Wifi and internet connection (with a convenient computer and printer on the premise) worked perfectly. In the evenings, Sandra has drinks and cookies laid out on the buffet waiting for you to indulge. Very civilized living! We highly recommend staying at the Intown Uptown Inn whenever you want a home away from home experience with a personal touch.


Wonderful place!

4.0 on June 24, 2011

We've just arrived from the US. In Washington, we spent 3 days in this lovely place. Besides being charming, people are the kindest possible. Very much helpful, with nice talk and suggestions. Everything was great, from decoration, to comfort and neighborhood. Convenience is also present here. Breakfast was the best we've ever had, when travelling. We had the impressionwe've spent some days in a friend's house, not in a inn. Nothing could be better!


A beautiful experience

5 on June 19, 2011

We had our wedding at the Intown Uproem Inn. It was so wonderful staying with the family and holding an intimate reception in the backyard. It was a magical experience and we stayed in the Wisteria room, which has a romantic jacuzzi. The staff treated us like family and my family was so comfortable and relaxed. Thanks!


Great B&B, a bit on the far side...

4.8 on June 09, 2011

The B&B is wonderful, the area is very nice and quiet. It is not close to downtown DC, but you can easily travel to/from it along 14th street with the bus 52 or 54 (it takes ~30min and cost $1.7). The neighboring area felt quite safe. Much of 14th street going up to the B&B is clearly low-income but does not look unsafe and we always saw lots of families around. We had to leave early so we did not try the breakfast, but tea, cold drinks, white wine and cookies were always available and a plus. Wireless was included in the price and worked perfectly. The only reason why perhaps I would not go back again is that it's far from downtown, but otherwise it was a very pleasant stay.


Great place for a stay in DC

4.0 on June 06, 2011

The house rooms and decor are really lovely. Breakfast is phantastic, and you don't need lunch after that! The Innkeepers are very nice and friendly and you realise immediately that they love their job.


A great place to stay

4.0 on June 02, 2011

Received a warm welcome from hosts Emily and Mike, nothing was too mucyh trouble, Emily made sure we knew how to get around Washington and provided us with smart cards for bus and metro. Room was delightful and very comfortable and breakfasts were fantastic and varied. Would recommend the Inn to friends/family visiting Washington.


Friendliness and Service are Hallmarks of this Inn

4.4 on May 27, 2011

The Intown Uptown Inn is what truly made our DC visit wonderful and memorable! Sandy, Emily and Mike were fantastic hosts/hostesses! Breakfast was always a delight; and the evening snacks and refreshments were wonderful after a long day of sight-seeing. And they bent over backwards to help us - they made restaurant reservations for us, printed out menus and directions, did a load of laundry for us (for a fee)... We had to switch rooms twice during our 10-day stay (not any fault of theirs - other guests had made reservations before us), and they willingly moved our bags from room to room for us, and just generally made us feel as comfortable as possible. What a fantastic B&B, and I will recommend it to all my friends who want to visit the DC area!!


Great experience!

4.8 on May 25, 2011

We could have spent a little less and stayed in a run of the mill chain hotel in Virginia. But we wanted a something special, and that's exactly what we got at the Intown Uptown. The entire staff was tremendous, including Myles the dog, who often greeted us in the morning. All the breakfasts were outstanding, and Sandra was a very gracious host who has done wonders with this house. We will absolutely stay here again on our next trip to D.C.


Best breakfasts

4.4 on May 01, 2011

Owner and Inn Keepers were warm and welcoming. Breakfasts were the best I've ever had at a B&B. A historic home with antique furnishings and very interesting history.


Nice B&B - great breakfasts

3.0 on May 01, 2011

A very charming B&B with great innkeepers and excellent breakfasts. Just a little too far out from city centre (eg The Mall) as it took an hour each way on the bus.


First time in DC!

5 on April 27, 2011

I would absolutely recommend the Intown Uptown Inn to anyone visiting DC. It was actually our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and we loved it! The Inn was a short drive to all the tourist sites. The bus station was also nearby for those that plan to use public transportation. There was plenty of parking in front of the Inn, and my husband and I never had to search for a place to park each night. The staff at the Inn were always available to answer questions, and gave great recommendations on where to go to get a bite to eat. The evening snacks/drinks were a wonderful treat. The homemade breakfasts each morning were so delicious. It was a one-of-a-kind experience sharing breakfast with other guests in the home. The rooms were great and exquisitely decorated. The bed was comfortable, and there were extra blankets in the closet. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean and modern in style. The bathroom in our room was like a spa---it was fabulous. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at the Inn.


Better than being at home.

5 on April 25, 2011

This is my first time staying at a B&B, so I don't have a comparison, but it was like being at home. The decor is beautiful and very unique. Each room has its own personality, so you can stay in Soho or you can feel like you are part of the Corleone family. The service, from beginning to end is excellent. Last but certainly not least, th eowner is there to meet her guests and serve coffee, She makes it really personal.


Elegant, peaceful, inviting!

4.8 on April 22, 2011

I stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn while on a business trip to DC this week. I heartily recommend them for a pleasant, quiet stay. The "Room with a View" is spacious, quiet (I didn't hear street noise at all and I'm a light sleeper), and well-appointed--and the view is across the valley to the National Cathedral. Common areas are an elegant reminder of early-20th-century architecture, beautifully restored. Proprietor Sandy and her staff are attentive without being intrusive, and the breakfasts are delicious. The one possible negative...if you don't come with a car, it's a bit far to walk to the Metro, and there aren't many attractive options for dining within easy walking distance. But if (as I do) you like being off the beaten track a little, you can't go wrong here!


Wonderful Week in DC

4.4 on April 16, 2011

I loved my week-long stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. The location was great- across the street from a bus stop that takes you right to the National Mall. A short bus ride let off at a metro station and shopping corner. The innkeepers were very friendly and were willing to do anything to make the most of your trip (calling restaurants, making attraction recomendations, etc). They kept the common rooms stocked with tour brocures, books, and coupons. The rooms were all unique; we toured each after guests had checked out- loved them all! Most have a private bath, huge bed, tv, closests, etc. Would love to come back


Great Stay for the Price

4.0 on April 16, 2011

This was my first visit to a Bed and Breakfast. It was amazing. The staff was super friendly, the room was perfect and the food was delicious. The best part was the area of town. I am already planning a return visit.


Superb Experience at Cherry Blossom Time!

5 on April 05, 2011

We stayed here with friends for 7 days and had a fabulous time! Breakfasts were superb and the added glass of wine before going for dinner was certainly enjoyed as we sat in front of the fireplace. All of the people who help run the inn are friendly, helpful and wonderful to talk to! We have already recommended this B & B to all our friends and family and will continue to do so. We'd definitely return here if we are ever so lucky to return to Washington!


Wonderful bed and breakfast

5 on April 02, 2011

I would highly recommend a stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. The Inn is absolutely beautiful, from the artwork to the furnishings to the rooms. The Innkeeper has done a superb job. Very comfortable accommodations. It is a convenient short bus ride to downtown. The gourmet breakfasts were excellent. And the end of the day wine was most welcome. But most of all, the staff are very gracious and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The Innkeeper, Sandy, is a class act! You will love it.


Another lovely stay at the Intown Uptown!

4.8 on March 16, 2011

This was my second stay at the Intown Uptown Inn, and I can't really think of a reason to stay anywhere else! Sandra is super friendly, and a great chef, and her staff members are also warm and welcoming. The sleeping arrangements are comfortable, and it's a great respite for the business traveler tired of chain hotel after chain hotel. My only complaint was the shared bathroom, which seemed to be always in use by the person staying in the room next to mine. This won't be an issue for most people who stay at the inn, as most rooms come with their own private bathroom. Thank you for another delightful stay at the Intown Uptown!


Washington's Best Kept Secret

5 on November 03, 2010

A beautiful, comfortable, tastefully furnished home! We stayed in the Hollywood room and loved both the room and the size of the bathroom! The convenience of the location, the beautiful neighborhood, the wonderful restaurants nearby made this a good choice. In addition,Sandy and her team of personnel were attentive to our needs in a friendly, warm manner. I have entered this inn into my phone and will definitely stay here on my returns to Washington!


PERFECT IN EVERY WAY

5 on October 19, 2010

The inn and the innkeeper are a pure delight. The place is so gorgeous and unique in every way. The bedrooms are to die for. The beds and bedding are super comfortable. The bathrooms are fabulous. And the breakfast, THE BEST!! I look forward to my next visit to DC so I can stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. I will be sure to call as far in advance as possible because it would be a major bummer to have to stay elsewhere.


STAY HERE! STAY HERE!

5 on October 05, 2010

My husband and I have been to many B&B's and this one deserves a great review. The pics on the website do not do it justice. The hot breakfast was extraordinary. The rooms clean and spacious and what a beautiful big victorian home! The bus runs right across the street (Sandy has tokens in the jar for easy access.). Great cookies and wine in the afternoon were a nice welcome back after a long day of touring.


A great stay

4.2 on October 03, 2010

This was our first experience with a B&B, and it will be hard to top. The room was beautiful, the staff was awesome (especially Regina), and the Innkeeper Sandy was a delight. Would have been hard pressed to stay in a hotel for less, and never would have had the high level of personal and friendly service we received here. If I travel to DC again, this will be my first choice of accomodation.


Amazing!!!

5 on September 17, 2010

Best place to stay in DC.. The staff are wonderful and very helpful and the space is amazing and clean...


Truly your "home away from home"

5 on August 14, 2010

This is an A+++ bed & breakfast right in DC. Though not on a Metro stop, you can easily hop on the city bus that comes often and head right down to the National Mall for a day of sightseeing. The accommodations were charming, clean, and spacious. Sandy almost anticipates your every need before you can ask. Her breakfasts each morning (included in the cost) are not typical. They are homemade, thoughtful creations from her kitchen that everyone in our family loved. Scones, muffins, yogurt, eggs, delicious coffee, etc. . . and served in an authentic fashion - no paper plates here! Can't say enough nice things about the Intown Uptown Inn and we will definitely be recommending this b&b to all our friends.


Wouldn't stay anywhere else in DC

5 on July 30, 2010

I had a fabulous experience at the Intown Uptown Inn. My room was clean, cozy and comfortable (lovely bathroom!); the breakfast, wine and cookies were wonderful; Sandy, David and the rest of the staff were super nice and accomodating; and, the location couldn't be more convenient. I loved being able to take bus tokens from the jar and simply walk across the street to take the bus. No more trying to park downtown. I will definitely come back and would recommend the Intown Uptown Inn to anyone traveling to DC.


Suprise and Delight

4.8 on June 26, 2010

Our overnight stay at the Uptown Inn exceeded our expectations. We could check in at 12:30 pm to a beautifully prepared room. The access to Washington, DC was direct . Each staff person was helpful and accomodating. We were suprised by the range of choices for breakfast. Especially delicious were the Bluberry Lemon Glazed Scones. Sandy was gracious enough to e-mail the recipe. Looking forward to a return stay.


Nous en sommes ravis

4.8 on May 27, 2010

Le meilleur B&B auquel nous avons séjourné à ce jour. Une hôte (Sandy) très attentionnée, des employés discrets et efficaces, les petits-déjeûners sublimes et santé pour un B&B, situation géographique dans un quartier paisible, stationnement facilement disponible et gratuit sur la rue juste en face et un allez en autobus jusqu'au centre de Washington paisible en 30 minutes environ. Nous avions choisi la chambre la moins chère qui avait comme seule fenêtre un puits de lumière. Ce petit inconvénient fût largement compensé par les immenses pièces de séjour au rez-de-chaussé pourvus de fauteuils confortables, d'une grande salle dîner avec tables individuelles ou de groupe, une très belle terrasse à l'arrière et un grand balcon. Cocktails et bière locales étaient disponibles et fûrent très bien appréciés à notre retour des visites de la ville. À noter aussi un ordinateur portable était disponible à notre étage. Bref, ce B&B a assurément un excellent rapport prix/qualité incomparable. S'Il pouvait y en avoir dans toutes les grandes villes du monde.....


Quiet charm in the middle of DC

5 on May 11, 2010

A beautiful home that you feel "at home" in. From the first hello to the final good by your are welcome to make Sandy's home your own. After a full day of sightseeing or business, you are welcomed by cold Lemon Drops or fine wines to relax and sit on the porch. Breakfast is a treat for all the senses overlooking the rose garden in the back yard. Wonderful place.


The Intown Uptown Inn is OutstandinIg!

5 on May 01, 2010

If you are looking to visit Washington DC - stay at the Intown Uptown Inn!! I cannot say enough wonderful things about my experience at this bed and breakfast!!!! I booked this B & B from a review I saw on Trip Advisor - and I am so happy I did. From the moment I picked up the phone to speak with Sandy the Inn Keeper to make a reservation for two rooms - I knew this would be a special experience. My Dad and I are New Yorker's that have traveled the world - Europe, Asia, etc. For this recent adventure, we were looking to have a four day adventure in Washington DC to celebrate my new awesome job! Upon our arrival, we were greeted at the door by a warm and welcoming Sandy and her loyal four legged co-host, the very sweet Mr. Miles. What captured me the most was Sandy's warm welcome, the elegant décor of the house, easy atmosphere, great service, nice guests and the delicious breakfast served every morning (something new & amazing every time!). I woke each day to the smell of coffee being brewed. In between our sightseeing, My father and I would spend each afternoon discussing how amazing each breakfast was & how we thought it was prepared. I am going to try to duplicate each dish, but I may have to call Sandy for the recipe if it doesn't turn out as good as hers!! You can't get this experience staying at a hotel. Getting around town is easy. You can take a public bus outside the Inn to downtown (approx. 30 min) or call a cab (approx. 15 min and $11 - a total bargain coming from NYC). On our last day, I was sad as I realized our time at the Intown Uptown Inn was coming to a close. If I could have stayed longer, I would have. I will definitely book for another (longer) stay again! After arriving home, my Dad said he felt like he wanted to call Sandy to tell her we got home ok........NOW THAT, is a great trip! :0)) Thank you to all at the Intown Uptown Inn. Hope to see you again soon!


Great B&B to stay in when visting D.C.

5 on May 01, 2010

There were so many choices when trying to find a B&B for our two-night stay in D.C., but after our stay here my wife and I felt that we picked the perfect place. We liked the location, far enough away from the busy downtown and tourist areas yet close enough with convenient access to public transportation. Sandy and her cute little dog Miles were terrific hosts and Sandy was very helpful with tips about getting around. The breakfasts were very good and always featured a unique special which we really enjoyed, but there were also other choices including fruit, yogurt, and cereal. The evening cocktails were a pleasant surprise and it was nice to enjoy a beer or wine on the back deck or the living room and chat with other guests before heading out for the night. We stayed in Soho which has recently been remodeled. The room was spacious, The king bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was nice and roomy. From talking with other guests, it sounds like the bathrooms in every room are very nice. The inn is tastefully decorated with antique furniture and historic paintings. The entire inn was very welcoming and comfortable. We very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning -- hopefully we can catch the cherry blossoms in bloom.


The owner and staff are amazing!!!

4.8 on April 24, 2010

Our stay at the Intown Uptown Inn was wonderful. Sandy and her staff go above and beyond. The Inn is beautiful - our room was cozy and inviting. Good breakfast - delicious cookies! We will definitely stay at the Inn again if we are ever in DC.


B & B at its best

5 on April 18, 2010

The room was lovely. The breakfasts were great. It was easy to connect with the rest of the city by using the bus and metro. We were very happy to spend a week at the Intown Uptown Inn.


We were guests resting on her cushion of hospitality.

5 on April 08, 2010

The Inn was conveniently located to public transportation in a quiet neighborhood. Street parking was available right in front of the inn. We were warmly greeted on arrival, each morning and upon return from our outings. The room was nicely appointed and bed was very comfortable. Breakfasts were sumptuous and afternoon drinks were a great way to unwind. Sandy was a most gracious host, and very informative and helpful. Would we stay with her again? You bet!


Superior

5 on March 26, 2010

The Absolute Best!!¿ Mar 24, 2010 I cannot rave enough...my granddaughter & I were treated to a memorable DC visit thanks to Sandy, Regina & assistants. Breakfasts were outstanding & every evening, wine & cookies awaited us when we returned from a active filled DC sight seeing day. My almost 17y/o granddaught particularly enjoyed the chip snacks & York mints! One evening a special treat...lemon drop martinis!! Our last evening & always remembered, will be the surprise bday cupcakes & "champagne" cider. I look forward to a return visit with another granddaughter in the future!!¿


Great B&B

5 on February 19, 2010

What a great find!! Eveything and everybody made us feel welcome. Wonderful breakfast, and nothing was too much trouble. Ideally suited for all the sights, would definately stay here again


A Gracious Oasis in Washington, DC

4.8 on December 13, 2009

From the moment my husband and I pulled up to the curb and I looked through the front door to see the tasteful Tiffany lamps, I knew this was a good choice. We were greeted warmly by a young woman who took us on a full tour of all the beautifully furnished public areas on the first floor, told us about the breakfast service, and wine service in the late afternoon. The public areas are furnished in carefully selected classic antique furnishings and appointments. Sparkling crystal chandeliers bathe each room in glowing light. Our greeter then produced a map and multiple suggestions for sight seeing and dining. Each of her suggestions proved to be good tips on DC and the restaurants reasonable, believe it or not. The food was prepared and presented to our pleasure and surprise. We were helped with our luggage and taken to our room. I had selected the Coreleone, a room furnished in Italian antique furniture including the bed, night stands, dresser, and armoire. The room was made complete with a lovely sofa. The bathroom with stall shower was totally revamped in contemporary fixtures and tile. Breakfast is served on tables covered with white cloths and served from silver, pewter, or antique ceramic platters. The breakfast area is graced with two fireplaces providing additional ambiance. Sandra, the inn keeper and her staff, are friendly and sophisticated. We stayed at the In Town Uptown Inn for three comfortable nights and four delicious breakfasts. This Inn is a real find. I recommend it highly.


B&B

5 on November 10, 2009

We went there for our Honeymoon in October. And stayed 6 days, and all were wonderful. I miss it greatly. Miles the guard dog was awesome and my bud. Sandy was great and personable. And her other staff was the same. If you go there ask about the Highlands Cafe and Grill, its wonderful. Have a great time at the INUI! I know we did. I want to be there now.


Great B & B

4.6 on October 28, 2009

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. Everyone was very attentive to any of my needs. I stayed in the Wysteria room which had a jacuzzi tub. Wonderful!! The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Excellent assistance in getting around town which I needed. I certainly would stay there again the next time I am in Washington DC.


Absolutley perfect!

4.0 on October 16, 2009

We (2 couples) had a marvelous experience at the Intown Uptown Inn. The Inn is an absolutely gorgeous house (home) that is unique and beautifully decorated. Sandy and her staff are not only knowledgeable and willing to help you in anyway with directions, activities and restaurants, but all are incredibility nice. All the rooms are different, eclectic and comfy. Breakfast is a great and different treat each day as well as wine or mixed drinks in the evening. Easy access to the Metro via a 10 minutes bus ride (bus stop right across the street). We parked on Sunday and didn’t need the car until Thursday when we left. We all felt this was a wonderful, low-key, comfortable choice of lodging.


Home Away From Home

5 on October 14, 2009

Sandy and the staff were absolutely wonderful. We missed them after returning home! We have stayed in several bed and breakfasts/inns and the Intown Uptown Inn is at the top of our list. The hospitality was wonderful, the breakfasts were the best, and the room was perfect. We would recommend a stay there for any traveler. We are telling everyone we see that they should make a trip to DC just to stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. And... yes there are few sights to see as well!!!!


Just a lovely place to stay

5 on October 06, 2009

The Intown Uptown Inn is just a lovely place to stay. Sandy is the perfect hostess - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is superb as is the glass of wine at the end of the day. I am looking forward to returning.


A Charming Inn

4.8 on September 30, 2009

The Intown Uptown Inn is a wonderful B&B, and Sandy (the owner) and her staff are so friendly and helpful. Miles "the house dog" is sweet and adorable. There is good parking, for free on the street right in front of the inn. We took the bus to Downtown DC and it was quite convenient with the bus stop right across the street from the inn (although you need to allow enough time for the trip - about 30 minutes). The breakfasts were wonderful! Sandy had the table set so beautifully. The food was delicious, one morning we had cheesy scrambled eggs and the other morning we had wonderful stuffed frenchtoast and sausage. Along with the hot dishes, there was fruit salad, yogurt, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice and great coffee! And after a long day of sightseeing, it was great having a late afternoon cocktail (one day it was white wine and the next day wonderful lemon-drop martinis) and some snacks waiting for us. We would definitely stay here again.


Great, Great Job

4.6 on September 30, 2009

The house is beautiful, and decorated perfectly. It was great taking my wife on a surprise trip and seeing her be impressed again, and again by the inn.The breakfast is delicious, the service is so attentive and thoughtful with everything, and our room was spotless(not a single dust bunny).


Wonderful - Hidden Gem!

4.8 on September 24, 2009

Great place to stay. Comfortable, quiet and staff was wonderful. I would recommend this to all.


A Very Special Place!

5 on September 22, 2009

Our trip to DC was a dream come true and made absolutely perfect by our stay at the Intown Uptown Inn. Sandy and her staff went above and beyond "extraordinary"; the food was superb, the building itself incredible, rooms extremely comfortable. . I really can't say enough. It was without a doubt, the perfect place to stay. To top it off it is within a block of the busline so we were able to do everything we wanted to do! Lori Crow, Washington State


wonderful and Amazing!

4.8 on September 14, 2009

This Inn has amazing staff and delicious food! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! It is a great location and so cozy. A real gem! Definitely would stay there again!


Fabulous breakfast and lovely room!

5 on September 08, 2009

Sandy: Lovely - gave us a larger room than we paid for because she wasn't full. Room: Huge bed, lots of TV channels, nice big bathroom. Tidy and nicely decorated. Location: Short bus ride from downtown. Bus runs late, so we could leave the car and have fun! Parking: Free on street. Breakfast: Delish!


What a Great Stay in DC!

5 on August 22, 2009

This facility is fabulous. Prices are similar to suburban motels. The full breakfast was great. The Intown Uptown Inn is on a bus line to downtown or the Metro or on-street free parking is available. Also drinks and snacks available in the afternoon. Each room is decorated delightfully and the owner, Sandy, and her staff are very accomodating.


We needed a rest.

4.6 on August 22, 2009

Our daughter thouht we needed a rest. We said we did not have time. She bought a gift cerficate to The Intown Uptown Inn (which I frequently call The Uptown Intown Inn). We only pulled ourselves away from the demands of our daily life when my daughter put her foot down. The Inn is only 20 minutes from our house. We walked in the front door and were greeted by a long wood floored center hallway lit by both ceiling lights and lamps with tiffany glass shades ending in a wall of glass looking out on the rear deck and yard. Our second floor room was lovely with a very large modern bathroom which had a jacuzzi tub and flat screen TV. The Inn was quiet, elegant, relaxing and peaceful. We enjoyed talking to Sandy, the owner, the lemon drop martini happy hour, the gourmet cookies and just relaxing and enjoying each other's company. What a treat! Our daughter was right. We did need a break and The Intown Uptown Inn was just the break we needed. We will visit Sandy and her lovely establishment again.


Intown Uptown Inn Rocks

4.0 on August 10, 2009

I would highly recommend the Intown Uptown Bed and Breakfast. The rooms were very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great breakfast, friendly host and interesting guests. Thank you Sandy and hope to see you again soon.


The Intown Gem!!

5 on August 09, 2009

I've never had a better experience!! By staying at the Intown Uptown Inn, I will never stay at a hotel again when I travel. Sandy is warm and kind, and will accommodate any special needs. I have an intolerance to gluten, so Sandy made me eggs for breakfast! David and Unity complement the experience as a top-notch operation. While in D.C., I told everyone I met where I was staying and how great it was. One girl actually said it would be a great idea to give her relatives a "weekend getaway" gift to the Inn!! When I go back to D.C. I will definitely stay here!!


Elegant and relaxing

5 on July 22, 2009

I wanted to stay at a B&B as a change of pace and this establishment was closest to my appointments. First impression as I entered the front door: calm, friendly, elegant, relaxing. Whitney the inn keeper on duty immediately made me feel like I was not on a business trip anymore but had stepped through the looking glass into The Uptown Intown's world of tension free muted beauty. My room was on the second floor on the front of the house. It's queen size been was comfortable with a chair and table seating area, as well as, a couch, all very tastefull and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and lovely with a jacuzi tub. Just great. I could go on ....the free happy hour lemon drop martinis(refills) and gourmet cookies---Yum!, the breakfast --Yum, the late night self pour bottle of cab---Yum! Never too much always better than the usual business hotel. I have completely changed my approach to business travel due to this experience. I now look into my B&B choices when making my travel plans.


The Intown Uptown Inn's Outstanding

5 on June 30, 2009

Everything was great, but the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic. Great hospitality, beautiful rooms.


Home sweet home

4.6 on June 25, 2009

The Intown Uptown Inn is everything you could want when you visit DC. Sandy and her staff provide a freindly comfortable atmosphere and a wonderful freshly prepared unique breakfast each day. My room was always clean and fresh and the huge whirlpool tub in my room was a real treat. The Inn is very convieniently located to downtown DC either by driving or the nearby Metro bus route.


I would come here again in a heartbeat!

5 on June 24, 2009

This is the first time I’ve ever chosen a B&B, let alone with a teenager, thinking that it would be a good life experience. And I assured the innkeeper that my daughter was well behaved as a courtesy. We stayed eleven nights on the top floor in the Soho room as I had requested the quietest room. The internet was conveniently located right outside our door. Forget the car as public transportation is right out the front door. Sandra, David, Unity, Whitney (and Myles) are all so accommodating, the rooms immaculate with each decorated in a different but elegant theme and the service and food. My daughter is fussy eater but she ate all of a whole-and-a-half of the delicious French toast with peaches and cream cheese sandwich (and every morning breakfast was always a different treat that pretty much sustained us throughout the day). And those lemon drop Martinis. I can never find the perfect bed that is all that comfortable...slept every night like a baby. In reading all the other reviews about other B&Bs this place is nothing less than extraordinary. As we were leaving for the last time and standing at the bus stop, looking back at the inn, my daughter suddenly had a lump in her throat and realized she would miss the place. Thank you so much, Sandy.


Intown

4.6 on June 24, 2009

My stay at the Intown Uptown Inn was very relaxing and comfortable. Sandra and her staff did a very good job of making my visit to Washington, D.C. a very positive experience.


Dreamy cozy place

4.0 on May 29, 2009

The rooms are so cozy and tastefully designed. We enjoyed our stay ever so much


Charming B&B in DC

4.8 on May 12, 2009

The Intown Uptown Inn is a charming B&B where special touches (and wonderful art!) are seen throughout. Sandy, the amiable owner/innkeeper, has done an outstanding job in transforming this old home into a welcoming haven where guests' every need is anticipated and attended. I loved staying in "Room with A View"--a room well worth the climb "to the top!" The view from this room is indeed a lovely one, and I liked the fresh flowers planted in the window boxes of the room's private balcony. Afternoon refreshments are offered guests each day, and they are always freshly prepared and delicious. I enjoyed having my coffee and cookies (plural!) on the back deck overlooking an attractive garden area. Breakfast at The Intown Uptown Inn is phenomenal--and the table setting and presentation is impressive. This is definitely an inn I would like to visit again and recommend to others looking for a comfortable place (with lots of extras) to stay at when visiting Washington. And the prices cannot be beat! --Maxine Pinson Contributing Editor, BedandBreakfast.com


Un gîte à découvrir!

5 on May 08, 2009

Si vous aimez les endroits qui ont du caractère et un charme indéfinissable, vous devrez alors vous éloigner des quartiers pour touristes afin de découvrir ce gîte carrément exceptionnel. C'est le vrai Washinton, avec sa vie de quartier paisible, tout en ayant rapidement accès au coeur touristique de la ville puisque vous êtes déjà sur la 14e rue, qui vous mène directement à la Maison Blanche. Bref, vous vivez sur la même rue que la famille Obama. Le bâtiment est élégant et confortable, les hôtes pittoresques et disponibles, les petits-déjeuners inventifs et exquis. Nous y retournerons à chaque fois que nous irons à Washington.


Keeper

4.0 on May 06, 2009

This Bed and Breakfast is a winner. Given the difficulty of finding a good place to stay in Washington, this is a genuinely warm, beautiful, and quiet place to stay. It is on the bus line, so you can retreat from the madding crowd when you want, and enjoy Washington, D.C. when you want. A keeper.


A lovely and charming place

5 on April 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at The Intown Uptown Inn very well. It is a very nice place and a good destination in the north of Washington D.C., a few miles away from downtown. Plenty of parking lots are available around, at no charge. Stops for public transportation are nearby, so forget about your car during the stay. The nice innkeeper and her stuff take great care of their guests. An opulent, delicious breakfast with fruit salad and cake is offered every morning. We stayed in the Soho room, a very nice, large and recently new refurbished room in the top floor of the Inn.


Inspiring

4.4 on April 15, 2009

I had a wonderful time at the inn. The host and the inn staff are gracious people it feels like a family. The location is great. There is a park right across. There are beautiful churches and Buddhist monasteries around giving the neighborhood a spiritual diversity. This is my first experience at a bread and breakfast inn and I have take an oath never to stay in a hotel again unless I do not find an Inn. The only suggestion I have is that the front yard can be improved with better gardening.


Charming B&B

4.2 on March 31, 2009

Charming B&B with old and new decor mixed nicely. Great service with excellent breakfast. Nice little touches through out the Inn.


IntownUptown review

5 on March 30, 2009

We had a most excellent time at this inn. All of the people were great-helpful and accomodating. Our stay was superb. The breakfasts are fabulously delicious The inn is filled with beautiful antique appointments, antique book collections and real paintings! You can leave your car and travel by bus ( or bus to the metro). We will go back!


The Best Part of My Trip!

5 on March 29, 2009

Coming to The Intown Uptown Inn after a day of intense sight-seeing in our nation's capitol was just like coming home! The coziness and relaxing atmosphere of the inn was what just what I needed to rejuvenate me for another day of exploring!


Great Service, Beautiful Rooms, Great Food - Definitely Want to Return

5 on March 24, 2009

We stayed for just one night as a celebration for an anniversary. We didn't have a lot of time to plan because we didn't know if we'd be able to get away, and we were so glad we stumbled across this B&B. It was beautifully decorated, clean, the service was great, the rooms were creative and fun--the bed was to die for, and the food was great--I usually don't drink coffee but I had 5 cups! We arrived before some other guests and were able to peek in some other rooms, and they were all beautiful. It's not within walking distance to the Metro stop, which is how we usually get around, but the bus stop is across the street. We ended up driving, and there is parking right out front.


The Intown UpTown Inn....Must Stay

4.6 on March 19, 2009

My fiancé and I started there for our 2 yr. Anniversary - what a wonderful BnB. We were greeted by soothing music and a warm fireplace when first walking in. We walked up to our room - in the back of the Inn - definitely very intimate and welcoming. The Inn Keeper has a great personality and makes you feel welcomed instantly. Breakfast was great. We would go back in a heart beat!


A perfect getaway!

4.4 on February 10, 2009

What a delightful experience! We were looking forward to having a a special time away to enjoy each other, to relax, and to find rest from our very busy schedule. We certainly found it here! Sandra was most gracious and we very much enjoyed our chats with David. (Myles was a special plus too!) We'd go back in a heart beat!


Loved the Intown Uptown Inn

4.0 on January 10, 2009

The Intown Uptown Inn is FABULOUS. All of the rooms are comfortable, elegant and eclectic, indicative of the passion and care that Sandy has put into the decorating. The breakfasts are incredible, and Emily is a wonderful chef. Everyone is welcoming and responsive. The location is also ideal. There is a wonderful sense of views - even though one is in the city, yet the access to downtown is quick and direct (whether by car or by bus). We can't recommend it enough!


Another good reason to visit Washington

5 on January 03, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Intown Uptown in May of 2008, yes I know this is tardy....sorry Sandy (the wondeful owner). We stayed for five days and loved this place so much I'm trying to invent reasons why we need to visit Washington again. You will enjoy this place for any number of reasons. Location, quiet away from the noise of everything and yet not far from anything. Also we loved the fact that a Kingdom Hall was one block away in this pleasant neighborhood. As owner Sandy is pleasantly interactive, helpful and informative as was her staff. The inn itself is bathed in natural light by many windows. Our room the Wysteria was well appointed with a jacuzzi and shower...nice indeed! The food, a full breakfast with delightful variety...just scrumptiously prepared with loving care fit for a dignitary. Come on man it can't be all that great, stop the hype you're thinking. Nope. It's all that. That's my finale answer. From V & M from California.


Charm in the Capitol

5 on October 30, 2008

I stayed at the Intown Uptown in from October 20 to the 24th (2008). When we arrived we were shown around the inn by David. I was traveling with another person and we had booked the Wisteria and Hollywood rooms. We found the rooms beaatifully decorated and quite comfortable. The whole house just had a nice, welcome feeling to it. After we settled in, David sat with us and filled us in on the city. Both of our rooms were outfitted with jacuzzi bathtubs. I used mine every evening! What a wonderful thing to have available for a tired body and sore feet! The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. Each mornings breakfeast was hearty and scrumptious. My favorite was the quiche. Clearly it had been made by scratch. Another wonderful surprise was having wine and fesh baked goodies waiting for us when we got back from our days adventures. I had some special health realted needs and the staff was able and willing to make sure I had available what I needed. Sandy, the innkeeper, has clearly made this a labor of love. She has surrounded herself with a like-minded staff to help. Alng with David, we also met Emily who was often responsible for the yummy evening goodies. I cannot say enough wonderful things. I appreciated everything about my stay there. I am even planning my next trip to DC-just so I can stay at the Intown Uptown Inn again!


Great place to stay in DC

5 on October 20, 2008

The Intown Uptown was a great place to stay. Very relaxing atmosphere and friendly, curtious staff. The breakfast each morning was completely satisfying and the wine in the evening was a nice touch. Close to metro, yet out of the "city." Will surely stay again.


The Inn Town Uptown Inn - the Best INN in DC

5 on October 15, 2008

What a wonderful weekend in DC! It is all because of the owner, Sandy and the staff, Emily, of the Intown Uptown Inn. They couldn't do enough for us. Sandy recommended and made reservations for us at a great restaurant the night we arrived. We loved the meal and the service. Emily helped us with every detail for our sightseeing and navigating around Washington. The Inn is absolutely magnificent, truly plush accommodations. They advertise a light continental breakfast - Wrong - It was a full course breakfast with all the trimmings. Thanks for making our get-away a most enjoyable experience. Carol & Frank


best b+b on our tour

5 on September 28, 2008

nice and helpful housekeepers beautiful room (with a view) delicious breakfast 30m bus ride to the mall


A Great Place To Stay

4.2 on September 26, 2008

We stayed in The Intown Uptown Inn for three nights and were overwhelmed by the incredibly beautiful house and garden as well as by the great service. Very warm athmosphere, it's like coming home to your family. The breakfast is extraordinarily tasty and features pieces from the US, Great Britain and the continental Europe. We'd always, always come again!


You Simply Must Stay Here

5 on September 03, 2008

This b&b was wonderful. My wife and I had the best time. This is the type of place that you'd like to move into if you could. We stayed in the Uptown room, which has a deep tub to soak in at night. The Wysteria room has a romantic bathroom as well, with a huge tub surrounded by windows and a seperate rock shower. It would be perfect for a romantic night. The inn is more modern and stylish than most. You won't find any creepy floral prints at this place. The only thing that's lacking is there aren't really any evening snacks. Just lemon water and candy. However, breakfast is better than it sounds on the website. There's always something hot and you can help yourself to as much as you like.


Great Anniversary Getaway

4.2 on September 02, 2008

We stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. When choosing which B&B to stay in, the reviews for each were very helpful. The Intown Uptown Inn reviews were very favorable...and we found them to be right on the mark. The Inn is beautiful, the room was comfortable and relaxing, the food was excellent and Sandy was a wonderful hostess. It is easy to get downtown via the bus and were able to see all the sights we wanted to.


Loved it!

4.2 on September 01, 2008

The Intown Uptown Inn is a great place to stay. The online photos don't do the rooms justice. It's even nicer in person. The atmosphere is relaxed. You really feel at home. There's plenty of parking, which is rare in DC. Plus, parking is free so you save some money. Stay here...you'll love it.


I want to go back

5 on August 24, 2008

We had a great time at the Intown Uptown Inn. Sandy and her staff were very friendly and helpful with our visit. We stayed in the Wysteria room and it was beautiful. The breakfast was very tasty!


Texas Visitors

4.8 on July 29, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn while visiting DC for site seeing in late July. Sandy was the perfect host, her Inn was fabulous, and the breakfast were delicious. We truely enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Intown Uptown Inn to all.


What a lovely B&B!

5 on July 27, 2008

We stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn for three days this summer - and it was the best B&B you can imagine. Sandy, the nice innkeeper, takes great care of the guests: She offers a opulent, delicious breakfast with fruit salad and cake every morning and helps you to get around in Washington. The interior of this house creates a warm atmosphere in which you feel at home immediately. It is very elegant. You can also sit in the backyard and enjoy nice summer evenings. Every thing is perfectly clean and tidy and the rooms are newly renovated. This is also a perfect stay for a honeymoon if you book one of the bigger rooms. Two computers with internet access are available any time, plus you can also use the B&B's Wifi. You definitely get more for your money than you can expect! There is nothing to complain about this B&B! It's great!


FABULOUS GETAWAY SPOT!!

5 on July 22, 2008

We have visited DC before and stayed in hotels, but for our third visit we chose The Intown Uptown Inn and it was a superb choice. Staying in such a beautiful oasis so close to the hustle and bustle of DC was great. We stayed in the beautiful "Corleone" room, but all the rooms are beatuifully furnished and well appointed. The Inn has a open and welcoming feeling and there are lots of areas to lounge around in. The back yard is spectacular and for the really hot days there is an automatic misting system to keep you cool. Sandy was a great hostess and was receptive to my special dietary needs. It was a great experience and we will definately be back! Also, we came upon a fantastic Italian restaurant, Fino, in Georgetown. Home made lobster ravioli and tiramisu to die for and extremely well priced. We went back the second night! Mirjana & Kelly Vancouver, BC Canada


My husband was a new-bee to B and B's

5 on June 28, 2008

This was a fabulous first time experience for my husband who had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast until we stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn. Did he enjoy the stay, oh my goodness "Yes!" he did. Sandy the Innkeeper and her place are going to be hard to beat where ever we stay the next time. Her hospitality, the outstanding breakfasts and her cozy, comfortable inn are just the best. Try it and I promise you will love it. We stayed in the Room with a View room and got to watch a fantastic lighting storm from our bed one night.


Exceptional

4.0 on June 23, 2008

My husband and I have traveled the east cost from the Florida Keys to the chilly coasts of Nova Scotia, and we both were extremely impressed by the quality, affordability and attention Sandy, Miles and the Intown Uptown Inn displayed. Jacuzzi bath tubs, rich antiques, gourmet breakfasts, comfortably pillowed beds, and other amenities greeted us each day for our stay. This is a must for anyone staying in the DC area.


What a Treat

5 on June 20, 2008

I truly enjoyed my stay at this B&B. I've been at other inns, however, this was far and above my expectations and what I've experienced in the past. The food is definitely gourmet and more than to be expected. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and welcoming. The inn keeper, Sandy, is helpfull and knowledgable. This home is wonderful. I highly recommend the Intown Uptown Inn. You will not be disappointed and will be absolutely pleased with this location!!!


Great Stay

4.6 on June 12, 2008

Always felt welcome, comfortable, and ready to return. "Like staying with good friends"


A Wonderful Stay

5 on June 02, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed for three nights in the Hollyhock room (shared bath) in May 2008 and it was fantastic. The room was big enough, had a comfortable bed, and the shared bathroom was shared with only one other person (a single room). It is in a pleasant neighborhood, but a little far from a metro stop but only one bus from downtown. Sandy was wonderful, and the breakfast was truly outstanding. It is almost worth it for the breakfast alone. I will certainly stay here again.


Excellent

3.8 on June 02, 2008

A warm and friendly townhouse with beautiful wooden floors and panelling, and classic literature on the shelves. The breakfasts were delicious and ample, the hosts ever helpful. The inn is in a quiet area in the north of the city and though the distance from the centre was reasonable, the bus/metro links were excellent.


Truly a Gem !!

5 on May 19, 2008

We stayed three nights in early May and were absolutely delighted with every aspect of our stay. We stayed in the Wisteria room which was charmingly furnished with a massive bathroom en suite. Sandra was a fabulous host and the breakfasts were a feast each morning. Nearby Columbia Heights has some graeat restaurants for evening dining. I would have no hesitation in recommending Intown Uptown to anybody planning a visit to the Washington.


Topnotch B&B !!!

4.6 on May 16, 2008

WARM HOST, COZY ROOMS, AND GOURMET BREAKFAST


A Beautiful Inn

5 on April 30, 2008

I took my girlfriend to the Intown Uptown Inn for her birthday and she absolutely fell in love with the place. The rooms are awesome and the people are so nice and courteous.


Delightful Place!

4.4 on April 30, 2008

The accommodations, the hospitality, the food - it was a wonderful stay!


Comfortable & Relaxing

5 on April 23, 2008

We spent 7 nights in a Room With a View and found it very quiet and comfortable. The bed was great, and after being on our feet all day seeing the sites in DC it was nice to come back to the Inn and be greeted by staff. We would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting DC. It was out of town by close to a bus and easy to get around right from the Inn. We did not have a vehicle and did not need one. We still have sites we did not see and look forward to another stay here.


Tranquility and Hominess in DC

4.4 on April 17, 2008

This Inn was a wonderful place to gather and be together for a group of four life-long friends. It was quiet and the common rooms were uncrowded with beautiful and comfortable period decor. It was close enough to downtown and the Mall by a direct bus route. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to DC.


Intown Uptown is where it's at!

5 on April 14, 2008

The breakfast was amazing! Well worth getting up early for. It was a perfect way to start the day. The innkeeper and staff are very friendly and went out of their way to get us directions to area attractions. The hot tub was a wonderful experience after a day of sightseeing. We will definitely be back.


Lovely Place, Delightful Experience

5 on April 12, 2008

This past March, I had the opportunity to travel to DC for a business trip. I perused the B&B website on line, but all of the downtown places I contacted were booked because of a convention. One of the B&B staff recommended the Intown Uptown Inn. Checking out the I/U Inn website, I was immediately drawn to the variety and simple charm of the design and décor of its rooms – a delightful mix of contemporary, traditional, and antique, without the fusty, fussy, but unimaginative appearance of so many B&B rooms I viewed. I was delighted by how lovely and fresh the house looked and felt. The rooms were an interesting blend of warm, spacious, colorful, open and friendly. The common areas, especially the dining areas where I enjoyed my breakfast, were also spacious and had the feeling of being tended by a creative sensibility and loving hand. I was also very grateful for the many ways in which Sandy, the proprietor, went out of her way to make my stay more comfortable, pleasant, and fun. Though a few miles from the city center, the I/U Inn is just a 20-minute cab ride from downtown, also accessible by public transportation. In the end, I appreciated being away from the city center and during my morning jogs enjoyed the hilly neighborhood of beautiful, architecturally diverse residences that line the surrounding streets. I stayed in the Hollywood room and was soothed by its muted earth tones and the large curved window characteristic of DC architecture. For my next trip to Washington, I will again be staying at the Intown Uptown Inn. Then, I’m going to stay in the Uptown room, a cozy romantic space with rose-colored walls, mahogany furniture and crisp white linens, overlooking the back garden – which promises to be a slice of urban paradise in spring and summer months. Myles, Sandy’s robust and feisty little pooch – part Westie, part Bichon – adds a special touch – making one feel safe, on the one hand, and, on the other, keeping the guests in line!


Great place to stay!

5 on March 22, 2008

This B&B is even better than a 4 star hotel. Sandra makes you feel really welcomed. The room was just beautiful/unique and the breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend the Intown Uptown Inn!


What a fantastic place!

5 on March 22, 2008

I was not sure if I had made the right decision to book a room at The Intown Uptown Inn because it was pretty far from the mall area where I planned to spend most of my time while in D.C. But once I arrived at the Inn, I knew that I had made the right decision. The Intown Uptown Inn is a GREAT place to stay in D.C. Sandy is so friendly and helpful...the perfect hostess. We stayed in "the room with a view" and it was wonderful. The breakfasts are delicious and if you can't eat what is planned for that day, Sandy is very accommodating. The house is beautiful. I wish that we had had more time to just hang around the house and relax. Sandy pays attention to every little detail; therefore, everything is perfect. There is a bus stop right there so getting downtown was easy, however, it takes awhile and the bus stops at every bus stop. But even with that, we were very glad that we stayed at The Intown Uptown Inn. I would definitely stay there if I visited D.C. again. Pamper yourself and stay at The Intown Uptown Inn next time you go to D.C. I guarantee that you will be glad that you did.


Simply the best

5 on February 28, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast is simply the best. My wife and I had a beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable room in this quiet, attractive Victorian house in Uptown NW DC. The breakfasts are amazing and Sandy is an incredible host: thoughtful, caring, knowledgeable, and committed to doing everything she can to make her guests' stay enjoyable. Myles (Sandy's little dog) is so sweet and adorable. The Inn is only a minute from the 14th Street bus stop, which goes both to the metro station and downtown at regular intervals. We give this Inn our very highest recommendation, and wish Sandy all the best.


What a Find!

4.8 on February 26, 2008

I don't write reviews, but this place has made me change my mind. You will love everything about your stay. Sandy and Dave were perfect hosts, and great people to know. Our room was so comfortable and clean.... stay in Wysteria. You will love the hot tub. Breakfast every day was delicious and "beautiful". The Lawn is only minutes away down 14th St. B&B's we think always beat a Hotel room, but the Intown was truly a "diamond in the rough". A classy place with charm, and very comfortable. Not a lumpy chair anywhere!! Next time in DC we will return. We only hope they won't be sold out by then.


Wonderful Anniversary Weekend at Intown Uptown

4.0 on December 22, 2007

My husband and I celebrated our 10th Anniversary at Intown Uptown B&B. We had a wonderful time in D.C. and really enjoyed the B&B. Sandy was an excellent hostess and her breakfasts were to die for :-) We stayed in Room with a View on the 3rd floor and loved the secludedness of it. The view was excellent and bed comfy. Our only complaint, if you even call it that, was that being on the 3rd floor it finally warmed up to 70 degrees by our last morning there--the rest of the house was warm cozy. But...I would take a drafty room in a gorgeous old house over a hot and stuffy hotel room, any day!!! We had a fabulous experience and would love to return soon. Thank you, Sandy. Oh, Rumbero's Restaurant is really good.


Affordable and delicious breakfast!

5 on December 04, 2007

The Intown Uptown Inn was a great place to stay. It was very clean and well decorated. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was quite spacious. We felt very welcomed by staff. Breakfast was always delicious and it was fun meeting other guest at breakfast. It isn't close to downtown but it was a breeze taking the bus. This bed and breakfast was very affordable.


Hope to stay there again.

5 on November 13, 2007

We stayed at the Inn last month. It was above and beyond our expectations. Our room was spacious,decorated with style,and very private. Even the bathroom was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. And the breakfast made us feel like royalty. We hope to return for a longer stay so we'll have more time to enjoy the common areas such as the hot tub in the backyard, the swing on the porch, and the antique filled front rooms.


Authentic antiques and warm hospitality

5 on October 25, 2007

This B&B is about 4 miles north of the White House area. The B&B is full of beautiful authentic antiques. Full breakfast is included and is delicious. I highly recommend it.


EVERYTHING was lovely!

5 on October 09, 2007

We stayed at the Intown Uptown Inn for almost a week and had a wonderful experience. The decor was charming, the staff were helpful and so friendly, the breakfasts were exceptional...truly you can't go wrong for the money, a great time and a real value.


Wonderful!!!

5 on October 08, 2007

My husband and I highly recommend the Intown Uptown Inn! The rooms were gorgeous and the food was fabulous. You feel at home and pampered all at the same time. Our trip to D.C. was more exciting and relaxing! Thank you so much for your great hospitality, Sandy. We will stay with you if ever in the area again. Keep up your excellence! Luke and Anna Moerke Olympia, WA


Superb B&B

5 on October 03, 2007

What a treat. My wife and I immensely enjoyed our stay. Consider staying with Sandy on your next trip to DC or if need to just get away for the weekend. You will not be disappointed.


A DC B&B. Yes, in the city but you feel like you're at home.

5 on September 24, 2007

Loved the attentive staff they all made me feel like I was right at home. This is one of the only B&Bs that serves a FULL breakfast. None of that grab and go stuff. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms have great tubs to soak and relax. The downtown is within a 10 minute bus ride where you can eat at a wonderful Latin American resturant, don't forget to ask the innkeepers for your coupon!Oh, and happy hour starts at 4-7pm, the wine at this place Rumberto's --I think--is great! Yes, you should stay here again and again!


A Welcome Respite

5 on August 07, 2007

We might be a bit biased as we arrived in DC after spending a week camping in state parks along the Blue Ridge Mountains. We were surprised by how many state and federal state parks are not equipped with showers...We stayed in the Soho on the third floor. A beautiful room with a large comfortable bed and charming architecture. The room was spacious and well furnished. The attached bathroom was bright with large windows that faced the setting sun in the west. It also had a rather large bathtub which was a welcome sight. Another highlight of our stay was the other guests. We met 6 during our stay and all were intelligent, articulate, well informed, and generally very interesting. Conversation at the breakfast table was both entertaining and informative. Breakfast was served in two courses...melons and pineapple followed by scrambled eggs with cilantro and sausage patties the first morning and stewed peaches followed by french toast and bacon on the second. They also serve flavorful and strong coffee made in a stove top percolator. In fairness I should mention that we were staying on the third floor of a vintage home during July and, as you might expect, it was a little warmer than some are accustomed to. On our first morning Sandy was kind enough as to inquire about the level of air conditioning but neither Kathy nor I objected to the temperature. For us the Intown Uptown Inn was a perfect choice. We had been away from the comforts of home for nearly a week and when we arrived Sandy made us feel as if we were family. If we have occasion to return to Washington we will surely try to stay here again.


An undiscovered treasure!

5 on August 04, 2007

What a delight – we found the Intown Uptown on the internet – and we certainly were not disappointed. The couple we were traveling with had never stayed in a bed and breakfast – what a way to introduce them! Although it’s a little farther out than I originally was looking for, the location was fine – and well worth the extra value for the price. Sandy is the right mix for an innkeeper – friendly and helpful. Also very accommodating as one of our party was allergic to down, and another had dietary restrictions. The breakfasts were excellent, and very substantial. The rooms were wonderfully eclectic – very roomy and very comfortable. Updated bathrooms are always a plus – and the husbands were happy with the flat screen TVs. I liked the idea of the open kitchen, with soft drinks and ice available. The common areas were inviting, especially the third floor computer area. We’ve stayed in many B&B’s – this is definitely on the “A” list!


honeymoon haven

5 on July 01, 2007

our children surprised us with a night's stay at the inn. sandy and her hard-working gardener were gracious, accommodating and caring. the pace was of a bygone day - the food delicious - we will return for our anniversary


English visitors

5 on June 19, 2007

Wonderful place to stay; we were so very well looked after in a beuatiful house with an exceptional room (Wysteria). Ideally situated for visiting city by public transport and for driving further afield.


Beautiful old Inn; Excellent hostess

4.6 on June 05, 2007

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Sandy is thoughtful and accommodating, and has seen to many small details that make this Inn a charming place and an excellent value. (I appreciated all the fresh cut flowers --and being able to check my email.) Our room was large, clean, comfortable, and we enjoyed the tastefully creative décor in the rooms and thorough this large, antique house. The breakfasts are excellent and beautifully served, and you will likely enjoy dining with your fellow guests. As others have mentioned, this Inn is not located within the central downtown area, so you will have to take a cab, bus, (easy & plentiful) or drive your car to downtown D.C. attractions. If that works for you, then you will probably love this Inn. (But if you are someone who prefers the uniformity of chain hotels in the middle of the tourist district, well, perhaps B&B’s are not for you.)


Iceing on the Cake!!

4.0 on May 30, 2007

We touroughly enjoyed our stay at the Intown Uptown Inn! Sandy, the owner operator there was nothing short of fantastic! She went out of her way to make sure we were well taken care of. The rooms were VERY GOOD and the breakfasts were FANTASTIC! We were made to feel very at home and welcome during our stay. We also enjoyed meeting fellow sojourners from othr parts of the country and world who were guests there also. We highly recommend the Intown Uptown Inn to make your stay in Washington D.C. complete.


Fantastic Stay

5 on May 21, 2007

The rooms are easily as nice as those in most boutique hotels, featuring very comfortable beds, soft linens, large jacuzzi tubs, wireless Internet, premium cable TV, etc. The innkeeper and her staff were fantastic, breakfasts were amazing, and it's on a major street, so buses or cabs to the downtown area are frequent and easy to catch. I will definitely stay here again for business or pleasure. Can't recommend it highly enough!


LOVED our vacation stay in DC

5 on May 17, 2007

Our room was absolutely lovely. Sandy was the perfect hostess, knows her city and how to help with traveling needs. The bus line runs practically to the doorstep, and the connection to the subway, which is very clean, is not far away. We rode the subway to Arlington Cemetary and to the Mall (Smithsonian, Monuments, etc.) The breakfasts at the Inn were AWESOME: delicious and beautifully presented. We met people from Canada and England, and talked about our day's plans. In the evening we used the jaccuzzi in the backyard to relax and unwind. We had a great time in D.C. and highly recommend the Intown Uptown Inn for your stay.


SO PLEASED TO HAVE FOUND THEM

5 on May 16, 2007

We are not regular B&B-ers, so we took a risk with this adventure. We couldn't have been happier with Sandy and the Intown Uptown Inn. Not only was our room wonderful, the tub fantastic, and the breakfast great, but the other guests shared similar interests and attitudes. We highly highly recommend this DC option.


Quirky & Serene B&B

5 on May 14, 2007

Wonderful place. Quirky, but quiet and serene. Sandy, the innkeeper, was a wonderful hostess and took care of every detail, down to personally delivering tea to my room when I was ill. Beautifully decorated rooms, great breakfast, quiet location... great place!


Friendly, welcoming comfortable

5 on May 10, 2007

The Intown Uptown is friendly, welcoming and comfortable in a way that made me feel like I was visiting old friends. Sandy and Daniel were incredibly friendly and helpful with directions, buses, cabs and touring advice. The 8 am sit-down breakfast was great for meeting and chatting with other guests and Chef Daniel's food was fabulous--pecan waffles, fresh fruit, excellent coffee. The location was much more accessible than I expected; it is on a bus line that connects to the metro and goes right into downtown, a couple blocks from the White House. Last, but not least, it's a great value. I paid $150 for a large room, nicer than DC hotels that charge a lot more, and had a jacuzzi bathtub and great breakfast.


Feel pampered in a beautiful home

5 on April 22, 2007

I loved this inn and all of the people who made sure I was well cared for during my stay. I was sick the evening I arrived, and came to a part of town I had never visited. I hadn't eaten all day, needed some food. The innkeeper’s friend offered to drive me to a supermarket. It was tremendously reassuring to be taken care of in that way while I was sick, and as I regained my health and self-assurance, I was delighted to meet the chef and the innkeeper. Many places boast about gourmet breakfasts, and then put a few muffins in a basket, offer cloth napkins, and think they're done. Intown Uptown offered unusual and delicious meals each day. The chef prepared meals that were unique and made with fresh and healthful ingredients. My personal favorite was breakfast pizza, with eggs, peppers, broccoli, and melted cheese, atop spinach and a fresh tomato--served after a first course of a fresh fruit parfait with a tempting variety of fruits, granola, and a drizzling of yogurt. Now that's a gourmet breakfast. The innkeeper worked on three different computers so that she could print a document I had created and needed for my meeting that morning and the chef hailed a cab, If you think I'm exaggerating, do yourself a favor and register for a room at the inn. Look at the website to select from an array of bedrooms and baths that are each a treasure.


Perfect vacation

5 on April 18, 2007

Staying at this inn was the perfect decision. It accommodated my party of 7 adults perfectly, with plenty of space and bathrooms. The place was clean, beautiful. The staff was super nice, I felt like they were part of my family at the end of the 6 days we stayed. Not one complain. Even the distance to the museums was no problem. Buses run by the house to the Metro station continuously. The neighborhood was beautiful and ecclectic, just like we like it.


Intown Uptown is as DC as it can be!

5 on April 13, 2007

We were not sure this would be a good idea, since we are used to big brand hotels. But our experience couldn't be better. Intown Uptown was by far better than expected. Intown Upotown is very much like DC. History is all around, and eleegance, friendliness and hospitality melt together to make a perfect environment. In our trip we also visited NY, were we stayed in a very expensive big brand hotel. Intown Uptown by far was a better experience. I can't wait to have another excuse to visit DC and stay at Intown Uptown, be it business or pleasure!!!


Cannot Recommend

3.2 on March 29, 2007

The location is far from the downtown area. This location borders a rough neighborhood of DC and the historical neighborhoods of Maryland. Must consider taking a cab, the bus or your own transportation as this is not located near a metro stop. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated nicely. The food served was below average and the service/hospitality provided was simply satisfactory. Unfortunately this B&B would not be recommended for a stay in the DC area.


tranquil setting in busy city

5 on March 26, 2007

Room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was luxurious. The Inn definitely added to our fond memories of Washington. Would enthusiastically recommend to friends.


good

4.4 on March 24, 2007

Good breakfast, friendly service and very clean room/bathroom Only complaint is a little far from downtown area


The Uptown House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $950 - $1100
  • Reviews (132) 4.7
  • Rooms 11

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2024601549
Top