Akwaaba Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.4

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.7
  • Value4.2
  • Cleanliness4.2
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
32 Reviews

Write A Review

Pleasant & Personable

5 on February 12, 2014

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, and we were impressed! We initially wanted to book a stay at the Pennsylvania location but we waited too long and all of the rooms were booked. The owner personally called my boyfriend and I to apologize and inquire about reservations at the other locations. She even upgraded us to the Langston Hughes suite and free parking. The pm inn keeper called us along the way for our ETA and to ensure that we were able to access the home, as we were running an hour and a half behind (we live 3.5 hours away). Unfortunately we missed the inn keeper, but a delicious cheese and pastry platter and wine was left for us! The next morning we went downstairs for breakfast and were greeted by homemade banana nut pancakes, Turkey bacon, yogurt and fruit. We also had a really good conversation with the am inn keeper about the home and attractions in the area. The home was beautiful and maintained in all of its historic charm. The room was just as beautiful with its own bathroom and balcony. The neighborhood was walkable with many shops and restaurants. The location is also a 15-20 minute walk to the White House. I will definitely be staying there again as well as making reservations at the other locations. The staff were very personable and made us feel like we were family.


Pleasantly unique experience

3.0 on May 29, 2012

We just spent 2 nights 3 days at the B&B. It was a truly relaxing time. Our Innkeeper Marvi was wonderful! She went above and beyond to ensure that our every need was met with satisfaction. We did have our car broken in to on their lot. I suggest parking on the street if you're visiting on a weekend. There are plenty of spaces available. Breakfast was very tasty and elegantly displayed. Sitting and talking with the other guest over breakfast was a real treat. Overall we were satisfied with our first B&B experience and would definately recommend visiting. Now I'm anxiously awaiting her grand opening of the new B&B in Penn.


An absolute pleasure

5 on November 21, 2011

What can I say, everything about my stay was a pleasure. The house was beautiful and felt like a home. The room was wonderful. The breakfast was always varied and contained plenty of fruit, and took note of my being vegetarian. There were Evening refreshments, that allowed one to unwind and talk with fellow guests in an excellent atmosphere. The location was excellent, really close to a bikeshare station which was a wonderful way to get round DC. I have to make a special mention of Joanna, the Innkeeper, who was always happy to help with every detail and who always made one feel completely at home! 'Outstanding' exactly sums up my stay!


Wonderful

4.6 on October 25, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at Akwaaba and didn't want to leave! The room was gorgeous and the service was superb. The housekeeper was super helpful and always a pleasure to talk to. The food was fantastic. Would recommend to anyone looking to spend sometime in the city--easy access to Metro and a lot of interesting things in the neighborhood.


Wonderful stay

5 on September 22, 2011

We have stayed in many B&Bs but never have I had such a superb expereince. The rooms, service, hospitality, food and friendliness of satff was excelent. I would never stay anywhere else if I returned to DC.


Wonderful DC Accommodations!

4.0 on August 06, 2011

During a visit to Washington DC this July we were fortunate enough to book a two night stay at the Akwaaba Inn. As fellow innkeepers we were not disappointed. At our small B&B in Charleston, SC, we make every effort to treat our guests as family with true Southern hospitality. Akwaaba Inn afforded us the same experience. It is well maintained and personal. Its small size makes one feel right at home and the price was a bargain for its convenient location near DuPont Circle. Our room was clean and comfortable as was the entire facility. Perhaps the best part of our stay was the hostess, Joanna, who greeted us warmly and went out of her way to always prepare our choice of a sugar-free breakfast. We learned that she has special hospitality and culinary training which accounted for the delicious quiches she crafted each morning as well as her fabulous homemade afternoon delights. We especially enjoyed sitting at a dining room table enabling us to become acquainted with the other guests. The camaraderie was infectious! We plan to make Akwaaba Inn our second home on any future visits to DC and highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates a warm, friendly, comfortable, and economical B&B type experience. Kudos to proprietor Monique Greenwood, wonderful Joanna, and their competent staff. Our sincere thanks to all for an enjoyable stay. Jack & Annelise Simmons 15 Church Street B&B Charleston, SC


Wonderful DC weekend!!

3.4 on July 08, 2011

Overall, my stay at Akwaaba was wonderful!! The staff was friendly and very accomodating. The shower in the bathroom was a bit to small for my preference but, served its purpose!! Breakfast was delicious and the Happy Hour was refreshing. I certainly would revisit Awaaba at this location and the others throughout the Northeast. Overall, the Poetic Suite was lovely!!


Enjoyable Stay because the Inkeeper Joanna was special

3.4 on June 20, 2011

We booked the Inspiration Room for our anniversary. The B&B architecture is beautiful. Our room was a 4th floor walkup which we were informed of in advance. The inkeeper's conversation and knowledge of the area were also very helpful. Our room was light and airy. The 5 pm social hour was great. It too was somewhat dusty, and the area rug really needed to be shaken or vaccumed. In the evening, the room was beautiful as the innkeeper turned the clawfoot tub into an oasis and treated us to rose petals, and a warm bath, with a linen turndown. Candles were everywhere and there was a trail of petals to the bed and on the bed also. I have two small issues with our stay. Maybe its a pet peeve but the B&B is far to beautiful to have dust everywhere. The carpet was spotty in the dining area also. Additionally, the airconditioning unit in our room was so very noisy we had to turn it off. The attic fan which was in the skylight was also noisy. We will definitely look at other Akwaaba locations for our next getaway.


Our anniversary stay at Akwaaba

4.8 on June 15, 2011

Joanna is a wonderful host. We loved her. Her cooking was marvelous; all the extra touches were great; she was so kind and gracious. And she surprised us on Saturday night when we returned from a play. In honor of our anniversary, she decorated our room with rose petals, candles and soft jazz! What an awesome surprise!


Great service, great location, top-notch innkeeper!

5 on May 27, 2011

We just enjoyed a five day stay at Akwaaba in DC. The house is charming, the location terrific for walking to major DC sights/attractions and the innkeeper, Joanna, is gracious, friendly and a terrific cook. Breakfasts were hearty and late afternoon snacks and drinks were a treat after a busy day. The dining area is set up to eat with others or sit at a table-for-two. The house is in a lively neighborhood, but it was very quiet at night. We highly recommend Akwaaba for your DC stay.


The perfect place to stay!

4.8 on May 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week and it was amazing. The home-cooked breakfasts were excellent, our inn-keeper was super nice and very accommodating, and the rooms were beautifully decorated and well-furnished. On top of it all, they offer complimentary wine and snacks during "happy hour" from 5-7pm daily. And it's only a 7-minute walk to the DuPont Circle metro station. There's no reason to not stay here! We highly recommend the Akwaaba B&B!


Probably the best B & B I have ever visited in the USA.

4.0 on May 12, 2011

The welcome and service provided at this establishment was outstanding. The inn - keeper was a compete gem and all that you could wish for as a host. All reasonable requests were met and considerable help provided for first time visitors to Washington. The provision of afternoon tea was an unexpected delight, and computer and internet access was a considerable benefit. A great place to stay!


enjoyable stay

4.0 on May 11, 2011

A friendly place to stay close to so many things in Washington.


Shabby Chic

3.4 on April 28, 2011

Room was nice and large... could use some interior design detailing...Furniture was an eclectic mix with a few pieces in need of repair...Bathroom could use a makeover...Food was not your typical fare, but good...Wine time was wonderful and unexpected, nice time to meet guests and exchange info...Service was exceptional...The building itself and the public areas are all a joy to behold and it is in a great location. I would stay again and look forward to discovering other Akwaaba B & B's.


Highly Recommend

4.6 on April 21, 2011

We had the best experience here. The room was so beautiful and cozy. Joanna was very gracious and went out of her way to make us feel very welcome and taken care of. I plan to go back in the future. I highly recommend this B&B.


Historic Inn and Stay

4.8 on April 16, 2011

Breakfast and service was amazing! A great deal in the city!


Recent stay

4.0 on April 15, 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very nice. The top floor room was large and bright but the stairs were narrow and the bathroom/shower very small.


outstanding stay!

4.4 on March 31, 2011

Akwaaba Bed and Breakfast went out of their way to make our anniversary vacation exceptional! Their kindness and warmth made us feel like royality! And the daily breakfast was unbelievable, I think it was the highlight of my husband's days!


Will stay again

4.4 on March 30, 2011

I will seek out the Akwaaba house in other cities because the experience was so good. Joanna, the innkeeper, was helpful, friendly, and always willing and able to go the extra step (including providing umbrellas for rainy days). Joanna went out of her way to make our honeymoon a memory for a lifetime. Thank you!


Akwaaba B and B in D.C.

3.8 on March 30, 2011

Joanna, the innkeeper was fantastic. She had a wonderful sense of hospitality and helpfulness, was willing and had a great sense of humor. The inn is beautifully decorated in every sense and every corner. I would say it is inspired and that feeds my spirit. Breakfasts were delicious, there was a happy hour snack that was unexpected and was really delicious - chicken wings that were the most juicy and delectable I have ever had. Delicious walnut cake and other things as well, including wine. Bed were made daily and towels changed also.these kinds of service are hard to find in this day and age. It was well situated for visiting DC, via the metro, taxi or walking. Great dining choices were only 1 block away. All in all - Great!!!


Beautiful Place, Wonderful Host

4.6 on March 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Awaaba. The food was excellent and the innkeeper was so friendly and helpful. Would stay there again or try an Awaaba location in another city.


Recommended!

4.0 on March 12, 2011

Akwaaba is a real B&B and it is a great alternative to anonymous (and expensive) hotels if you happen to be in DC for business. The host is really kind and welcoming. Great value for money.


Loved It!

5 on March 11, 2011

Our staff were very impressed with their stay over at Akwaaba. It was one of the highlights of their trip to D.C.!


Akawaaba B&B Review

5 on October 11, 2010

My wife and I have traveled in Europe and stayed in B&B's and never have we had such a wonderful experience. After our stay my wife has made it clear that we will continue to stay at AKwaaba not only in DC, but in NY and New Orleans as well. Akaawaba charm goes beyound the history and beauty of the house. The comfort of the room met our needs but more importanlty during our five days we had hot fresh and unique breakfast. After a long day of visting the beauty of DC, we came back to a wonderful selection of hot horsedouvers and wine.


Akwaaba stay

4.0 on April 30, 2010

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Change of room to more expensive room was a big improvement and worth the difference in rate. Food very delicious. Other guests friendly and interesting.


Wonderful weekend in Langston Hughes' room

4.2 on April 29, 2010

I surprised my boyfriend with staying at a bed and breakfast for his birthday. He as well as I were quite surprised by how lovely and inviting Akwaaba was. As soon as you walk in, it felt like we were home. The Langston Hughes room was huge and the bathroom was...beyond what words can express (Yes it was that good). We definately took advantage of just relaxing in such a bright open space. We will definately come here again soon. I have already told my family about coming here and anyone else who may cross my path I will tell the same.


Healing Waters

5 on November 28, 2009

My stay at the Akwaaba came on the heals of a long stint of caring for my ailing mother. I found the environment to be an absolute healing experience for me. From beginning to end....the service was outstanding, the company of the other guests was enlightening, the innkeeper was delightful and the food was delicious. The facility is breath taking. In such a fast paced world as today....I felt as if I was immersed in a time and era of peace and tranqulity that has long since been lost. Thank you for the opportunity to recapture such a moment in time.


Perfect Weekend Retreat

5 on October 19, 2009

We had a perfect weekend at Akwaaba's DC property. Lovely Langston Hughes Room with balcony and jacuzzi and perfect attention from our hostess. Loved it!


Friendly

3.8 on August 24, 2009

Our hostess made the stay nice with her great cooking and conversation. The home is a bit run-down. The bare floors in our room and beat-up furniture was a let down. Not many electrical outlets (for phones to charge / lap top / hair dryer) and lighting was too dim in our room. TV was very small. One window was missing a shade. If it wasn't for the hostess, the stay would have been thoroughly disappointing.


A great place to stay

4.2 on June 04, 2009

We were travelling on business. Had some time to explore Washington and it was a great walk from the B&B to all of the major sites. The B&B was great, we used the dining room to meet in at Happy Hour (!) and to play some cards. Kristin was a wonderful host / innkeeper!


The Best Place I've Stayed!!!!

5 on October 17, 2008

My inlaws surprised my husband and I on our wedding night. This is by far the best place I've ever stayed. We're headed back this year for our anniversary. The service was outstanding and it is located in a great location. I would definitely recommend.


Great escape in the city

4.0 on June 06, 2008

Akwaaba was a delight. Beautiful, centrally located. They helped me surprise my fiance with some tasty treats. We had a lovely time.


Akwaaba Bed and Breakfast

Details

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2023283510
  • Toll free 1-8778933233

Visit Website »

View details

Top