Dakota Bed and Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.7

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.6
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.5

Score Breakdown based on
40 Reviews

Write A Review

B&B Dakota Mexico DF

5 on July 13, 2014

During our holiday in DF we stayed at B&B Dakota. We were very happy we decided to stay there. Max is a very helpfull man, he mekes delicious breakfasts and it's very clean there.


Home Away from Home in Mexico City

5 on June 09, 2014

When traveling in Mexico I often start and end my trips in Mexico City. The Dakota B and B has always been the perfect place to stay while I'm there. I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Dakota again and want to share my reasons for choosing it as my home away from home in Mexico City. First, the location: Colonia Napoles, where the Dakota is located, is a very safe and pleasant neighborhood with excellent restaurants and shops. When venturing further afield there is also easy access to the Metrobus on Insurgentes only 3 blocks away. Second, the hotel: Guests at the Dakota will find their accommodations not only clean and comfortable but will also notice an overall abundance of good taste and attention to detail not usually found in such a moderately priced establishment. Third, the owners: Max and Ruth, are two of the most sincerely gracious and hospitable people I have ever met. Ruth prepares excellent and varied deysayunos to start your day while Max gives each guest helpful advice (in English or Spanish) on places to go and things to do while in Mexico City. Because of the Dakota B and B (and Max and Ruth) I have come to appreciate and enjoy my time in Mexico City. There is no doubt that I will be returning to Mexico City and the Dakota B and B.


Excelente lugar

5 on June 09, 2014

Muchas gracias por todo , pase una excelente estadia


Great place to stay!!! Max is the best!!

5 on April 28, 2014

That is the place you have to stay if you are staying close by the World Trade Center. Great location, very calm neighborhood, there are many restaurants around, supermarket 24hrs and very nice parks very close by. The B&B is managed for a more then helpfull guy called Max. max, thanks for everything, I had a great time at Dakota, and your mexican breakfast are just great. I would come back for sure. Highly recommended!!!”


Marvelous!

5 on April 12, 2014

Throw all of your tour books away. Max, a native of Mexico City, knows more about Mexico City than all of those books combined and will enthusiastically share his knowledge with you. He helped me plan trips, gave me maps, made suggestions of what to see and where to eat, and answered all of my questions. He's really a wonderful host! He even lent me his own Metrobus card (which he certainly did not have to do; it was incredibly generous). The rooms are very comfortable and quiet (and include a safe), the breakfasts are delicious, and the neighborhood is lovely, safe, and close to lots of things. I would definitely recommend this B & B to others and plan to stay again when I return to Mexico City.


Lovely stay, wonderful experience!

4.8 on March 30, 2014

I have had many positive B&B experiences in my time, but this may top them all. We had two lovely (and clean) rooms between the four or us, with a shared private courtyard (and a very charming garden to one side). Hard to think of any improvements. At first we thought the beds were hard, but after a side tip (lodging at three other places), we realized that by the standards of the area, the beds were probably above average (nice mattress toppers). The only suggestion I can come up with is to allow for the little bathroom "vent windows" to be closeable, so that bathroom noise doesn't have to be shared with those on the patio. :) The location is awesome. Safe feeling (we did a lot of late night walking), near restaurants and parks, and just far enough from Insurgentes (bus line). Max was absolutely amazing. Soooo accommodating, both before and during our stay (three nights). He helped us plan EVERYTHING, including walking tours, side trips, bus and taxi rides, touristy stuff (crowd avoidance, saving money,etc.). He arranged transportation for us on several occasions. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty; Max went thru extra effort to accommodate dietary restrictions. I hate to admit it, but, but we were high maintenance tourists, and demanded a LOT of Max's time. I'm sure he had other things to do, but Max showed nothing but patience and good humor with us throughout our stay.


Fantastic budget B&B in Mexico City!

4.6 on March 25, 2014

We stayed at Dakota B&B for three nights and it was an ideal choice for our stay. We wanted simple, clean, safe accommodation and that is exactly what we got. Max, our host, was fantastic. He was so helpful and pretty much organised our entire trip for us. We hadn't done much research and he gave us all the tips and information we needed to ensure we had a fantastic three days in this wonderful city. He very kindly drove us to our airport shuttle bus at an extremely early hour in the morning - thank you Max! Our room was spotlessly clean and the patio area outside the room was lovely. The B&B is ideally located for getting aroudn the city with great transport links and a great choice of restaurants etc. The breakfast was also excellent. We would definitely recommend this lovely B&B!


Una casa fuera de casa en el DF

4.6 on October 02, 2013

Excelente atención de Max. Un anfitrión de lujo. La habitación impecable, limpia, espaciosa, y con todas las comodidades. La ubicación excelente. Un solo aspecto a mejorar: el desayuno se sirve a partir de las 8:30, y a veces uno necesita tomarlo antes... Eso si, el desayuno es completísimo y delicioso. Altamente recomendable! Gonzalo Roca Schvartz - Argentina


Excellent!

4.4 on September 21, 2013

I've just moved to Mexico City, and stayed at Dakota B&B for a week. I'm really glad I chose this B&B. Max, the owner, is simply awesome: he knows everything about Mexico City and he's always willing to help, at pretty much any time of the day. The B&B is very well located; the area is safe, well served by public transport,not far from the center and full of restaurants, shops etc... I really enjoyed the breakfast too, as it varies every day and you get a good sense of what a Mexican breakfast is like. (It's not the standard hotel buffet breakfast, but it's good, filling and no food gets wasted...). The room was cleaned almost every day (except I think for the first day), and was always left in perfect conditions. There was a minor issue with my single room: it's not well ventilated, so it will get pretty humid after a shower. Apart from that, everything was perfect. Will definitely recommend it to family/friends!


Conveniently located in a safe area of Mexico City

5 on September 19, 2013

We were originally due to stay at the Dakota B&B for 5 nights but we extended this to 10 nights. The bed and breakfast is very well located and near the Metrobus which we used very frequently and without problems. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast is also very good, something different is served everyday. We were very impressed with the Dakota B&B and would certainly return again. Max (the owner) is extremely helpful and always offered us advice on how to travel around the city.


Wonderful B&B near the World Trade Center in Mexico City

4.6 on September 17, 2013

The Dakota Bed & Breakfast was everything I wanted and needed for my stay in Mexico City. I was attending a show at the World Trade Center, and the Dakota is an 8 minutes stroll, just as Max told me it would be. Unless you stop at Starbucks along the way. Haha! The neighborhood is attractive and safe and public transportation is convenient. Max, your host, can assist you with any needs you might have...and is truly a generous and thoughtful person. For those who don't speak Spanish...no problem. Max is fluent in English. The rooms are attractive and comfortable, and my room looked out to a gorgeous patio garden. Breakfast was quite good...and filling: fresh fruit, juice, coffee and a main entree such as delicious pancakes, eggs, etc. I'm so glad someone recommended this cozy B&B. It was perfect!


Recomiendo 100%

4.8 on September 03, 2013

Un B&B realmente agradable, manager super atento, habitaciones y jardín muy acogedores y un desayuno de primera. Allí estaré cuando vuelva al DF.


A Hidden Gem

5 on September 01, 2013

We had a great stay at Dakota Bed & Breakfast. The place was just what we were looking for: cozy, clean, and in a great location. As a bonus we were happy to see the decoration and design were really cool. The guy who runs it Max, made us feel at home and also made us feel we had a friend in town, he gave very thorough answers to any questions we asked. We also really enjoyed the breakfast, it definitely was not your regular b&b breakfast. I'm talking about blueberry pancakes and scrambled eggs with ham... yumm! -Kim & Joe, from NJ


Fantastic, welcoming B&B!

5 on August 27, 2013

This B&B is fantastic. Tucked away on a lovely street in a very safe and mature neighborhood. Which is also a really convenient location for getting around the City via the metrobus or taxi. The b&b is extremely well kept and is very clean. Lovely garden! The host, Max, is so welcoming and thoughtful. Also very helpful for planning trips and arranging taxis for us. We had a great time here and will stay here again for sure! Highly recommended.


comodidad y relajacion

4.2 on August 12, 2013

La atencion y el servicio fue excelente y la accexibilidad que brindaban en el hotel.


Excelente atención

4.8 on August 02, 2013

Muy bien ubicado, muy limpio, los desayunos son excelentes y la atención fenomenal


Agradable, limpio y bien ubivado

4.8 on July 31, 2013

Me hospedé 3 noches en Dakota B&B por un viaje de negocios al World Trade Center México y me gustó la flexibilidad de entrar y salir y su ubicación. El desayuno es fantástico y las habitaciones muy limpias y agradables.


. My stay experience

5 on July 30, 2013

For attending the LAC 2013 purpose, our office booked this hotel for me and we know nothing about that. When I sirstly arrived in the airport of Mexico city in the eearly morning on 16 July, unfortunately my customer failed coming to pick me up there. I was too much upset and tried to make a phone to Mr. Max. Then he replied like an old friend, "Mr Wu? Most welcome to Mexico city and what can I do for you. " then Mr. Max gave me enough information and guided me to go there by taxi. This is one house-type hotel, the first feeling for me is that I just arrived at my friends' house. Silent, warm and everything is farmiliar and comfortable to you. As my checking in is in early morning and Mr. Max offered me exclusive breakfast, which made me immediately feel a kind of home stay.


Confortable y agradable

4.4 on July 06, 2013

Muy limpio, habitación equipada con todo lo necesario y tanto Max como su esposa fueron muy agradables.


El lugar perfecto para hospedarse

5 on July 04, 2013

Mi novia y yo viajamos de Chile a México y por casualidad encontramos a Dakota. Realmente es un lugar comodísimo para quedarse, muy limpio, céntrico y con muchas alternativas culinarias en los alrededores. Pero lo que supera todo eso, es la excelente atención de Max, una persona muy amable y siempre preocupada de que estuviéramos como en casa. Si tienen dudas de qué recorrer o cómo llegar a un lugar, Max los va ayudar feliz de la vida. Cuando volcamos a México, volveremos a Dakota.


Excelente estadía

5 on July 01, 2013

Con mi pareja somos de Chile y en mayo estuvimos unos días en el DF. De verdad que Dakota superó todas nuestras expectativas: buenas habitaciones, limpio, céntrico, sector tranquilo. Además que Max fue un excelentísimo anfitrión, muy buena disposición para todo lo que necesitábamos. Muy claro en sus explicaciones para cuando íbamos a salir a recorrer la ciudad (conoce todo lo interesante para los turistas). Fue una gran estadía, 100% recomendado.


I recommend you this hotel!

4.6 on September 16, 2012

The owner of this hotel was very kind and breakfast was so delicious! Especially, I like the service of lending card of Metro Bus. I think this service is very useful for turists. And, turists who cant speak english also can use this hotel witha sense of security, because the owner can speak English. At the breakfast, you can enjoy mexican foods. The room always keep clean, and I could have the comfortable trip. I recommend you this hotel.


Me gusta mucho

4.6 on August 21, 2012

Se puede sentir muy cómodo y como en casa durante estar en Dakota. Servicio, desayuno, todo es muy bien.


Como en casa

4.6 on August 20, 2012

Trato familiar y estancia confortable. Incluso para largas estancias. Totalmente recomendable.


¡Una súper opción!

4.6 on August 08, 2012

El Dakota es un lugar súper limpio y agradable, que efectivamente es como aparece en las fotos. La atención de Max los hará sentir muy bien y la ubicación es favorable. ¡No les faltará nada!


Outstanding B&B in Mexico City

4.6 on July 16, 2012

The Dakota was a wonderful experience. Max went above and beyond to make sure that we had a good stay in Mexico City. He even sat down with us to explain where we could go and helped us with the public transportation. It was a great time in a very safe neighborhood in D.F.!


A Great B&B in Mexico City

5 on June 05, 2012

I've stayed at the Dakota several times during the past 2 years. I have always found the experience has exceeded my highest expectations. The rooms are spotless, the beds are comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious. Max, the owner, is always friendly, gracious and helpful. The Dakota is ideally located . . . only 2 blocks from Insurgentes Ave and the Metrobus. I heartily recommend the Dakota to anyone visiting Mexico City.


Dakota B&B: Excelente

5 on April 11, 2012

Un B&B excelente. Familiar, pequeño, me hizo sentir en casa. El servicio de primera. Mil gracias Siempre que tenga que estar en el DF me hospedaré en Dakota.


como en mi casa

5 on April 09, 2012

La atención es bien personalizada ya que el hotel es pequeño suele aprenderse el nombre los que se hospedan, tiene un desayuno diferente cada día estuve 2 semanas y recuerdo no repetir el mismo plato y muy importante si uno le pide algún plato en especifico tratan de prepararlo para el próximo día; Wifi :::: Free Si tienes planes de viajar a México te lo recomiendo es bueno bonito y barato


We went back to Mexico City, back to Dakota B&B, it was great

4.0 on March 14, 2012

We went back to Mexico City for a convention at the WTC and stay again at Dakota B&B, just one word WONDERFUL. Spacious, contemporary, clean. Great location for WTC and other amenities. The price is good and the breakfast/service great, Experience the place, you will love it.


Enjoy Mexico City and stay at Dakota B&B

5 on February 13, 2012

We went to a convention at the WTC in Mexico City and stay at Dakota B&B, the experience was great, price was VERY good, coffee was delicious and breakfast fresh. The house is very nice and the location was perfect, including that is easy to get from there to mayor attractions of the city.


An oasis in Mexico City

5 on January 20, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Dakota B&B and was completely delighted with the experience. Fantastically located, sparkling clean, with accesible public transportation in the center of Mexico City. Nice house, good breakfats and top-notch service. Professionally managed by Max, its owner, who spends all the time you need in introducing you to the biggest city in the world. He is completely updated with what is going on: exhibits, activities, events, routes and what to do, if you don't have a plan. I left with a feeling that I had been in a good friend's home, where I was expected and welcomed.


Estancia excepcional

4.0 on January 01, 2012

Dakota ofrece muchas cosas que me obligan a recomendarlo: La excelente ubicación (un barrio residencial del DF), limpieza absoluta, instalaciones en excelente estado (las fotos de la web responden exactamente a tal y como es el hostal), ambiente sumamente acogedor, se duerme riquísimo y, definitivamente, la atención personalizada de Max (el dueño), quien siempre está pendiente de que estés bien y que no te falte nada. A todas estas características se suma el precio de las habitaciones que es realmente cómodo, no vas a encontrar algo más barato que te ofrezca los excelentes servicios de este lugar. Una cosa que sí debo advertir es que el baño no está dentro de la habitación y en algunos casos se comparte, así que, si esto es un tema no negociable para ti, mejor asegúrate antes de contratar el servicio y coordina con Max... Yo no supe este detalle hasta llegar a Dakota pero perdió toda relevancia con las otras cosas que te ofrecen por tan bajo precio, además, como el hostal es una casa, casi no hay gente con la cual te puedas cruzar. Si vuelvo al DF, contrataré Dakota nuevamente.


muy recomendable lugar para hospedarse en DF

5 on December 09, 2011

muy buena atención y gran dedicación de la gente del lugar para con nosotros. muy lindo lugar muy bien conectado en DF


Great service and location!!!

4.6 on December 04, 2011

We visited Mexico City in October and November and we stayed at Dakota B&B for a little more than two weeks. The house and room were always kept clean and welcoming. The host is also great and well informed about pretty much everything you need to know as a foreigner! This is a great option if you're looking for a quiet home-like refuge in an enormous city like Mexico, without being too far from day and night downtown attractions.


My home in Mexico city, for real !!!

5 on September 30, 2011

I have visited mexico city several times in the last two years, every time I stay in this city I never feel like I'm far away home, because in Dakota Bed and Breakfast I really have everything I need.


Estadía muy placentera y útil

4.0 on September 30, 2011

Con Max y Ruth nos sentimos como en casa, con una cálida acogida y excelentes consejos para descubrir la gran capital mexicana. Una casa con pocos huéspedes, con un estilo muy "lounge", la habitación muy amplia y cómoda y riquísimos sus desayunos. Cerca de la bonita Colonia Condesa y a pasas de Metro Bus, un transporte público muy barato y muy efectivo. Mi recomendación está basada en la excelente relación calidad-precio de este B&B mexicano, la tranquilidad de sus espacios y las recomendaciones de su dueño.


Excellent place

4.0 on September 23, 2011

Max, he is the best, trust him 100%. Excellent recomendaciones just about everything. Best location in Mexico City. near restaurantes, Atractions and transport.


Great host! Great location! Great place!

4.6 on July 26, 2011

My husband and I recently spent 3 days at the Dakota B and B while vacationing in Mexico City, before going to Puebla. We enjoyed it so much, we extended our trip, returned to Mexico city and stayed an additional 4 days at Dakota B and B. The rooms were nice and clean, the shared bathroom was fine, and the common areas were pleasant. We enjoyed the nice breakfasts, which usually included fresh juice, good coffee, nice bread, and a main dish of eggs, french toast, or quesadillas. There was usually some special touch, like homemade jam. The best thing about the place, however, is the owner Max. He is deeply knowledgeable about Mexico City and he helped us to plan our days with easy public transportation, interesting (and sometimes off the beaten path) places to visit, and fun places to eat. He keeps a couple of inexpensive and good bottles of wine on hand for purchase, and several times he joined us in the evening for interesting discussions about Mexico City history, culture, and society. Fascinating! We were lucky during our visit to share the B and B with several interesting "housemates", including a classical violin trio who plalyed a concert for us (really they were practicing, but it was amazing). The location is great. It's super easy to get around using public transportation (which Max will guide you through) and most of the big tourist atrractions are quite close. If you need absolute silence, this isn't the place for you, as you can hear some house noises from the bedroom, but the neighborhood is tranquil and quiet, and the house rules suggest quiet hours from 10 pm to 8 am. All in all, Dakota is a great place and I highly recommend it!


Excelente. Como estar en casa...

4.2 on March 14, 2011

El dueño y encargado de Dakota se llama Max. Maneja su negocio de manera seria, y responsable. Max está pendiente de tu bienestar durante toda la estadía. Viajé a México con 3 compañeros más, desde Argentina. Dakota nos recibió cálidamente. Cada mañana, una propuesta distinta para el desayuno, y más tarde, Max se sentaba a la mesa con nosotros, y plano en mano nos sugería zonas y lugares para conocer. Las instalaciones son impecables. Aún recuerdo el aroma a esencia de canela que había en el W.C. Pocas veces ví una cocina tan limpia y ordenada como la de Dakota. La estancia allí, por cinco días; absolutamente placentera. Dakota se ubica en el centro geográfico de la ciudad de México, a 200 mts. de la Av. Insurgentes, por la que circula el Metro Bus. Insurgentes atraviesa la ciudad de Norte a Sur. Entonces desde Dakota es fácil y rápido llegar a cualquier sitio. Nuestro viaje continuó por Costa Rica, Panamá y Perú. Si tuviese que puntuar a Dakota B&B comparándolo con los cinco sitios en los que más tarde nos hospedamos, Dakota llevaría 1000 puntos. Gracias Max!!! De seguro regresaremos. Ariel.


Dakota Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $60 - $110
  • Reviews (40) 4.7
  • Rooms 6

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 52-5562844239
  • Phone 52-5546336001

Visit Website »

View details

Top