Recent Reviews in Des Moines, Washington

Anniversary get away at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on June 27, 2016

We chose to do a staycation for our anniversary. The B&B was in a perfect location on the water. The room's view was amazing and one could not help to gaze out the window all evening when the sun was setting. It is very close to restaurants and the beach. I would recommend heading down to Redondo Beach and have a picnic. Also, have dinner at East India Girll very lovely cuisine. Oh cannot forget the host she is very friendly and made the experience that much more comfortable.

View more reviews for this inn


Family time at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on May 29, 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Bayview room. The view was amazing. Elsie was a fantastic host. She had a few other guests that were great to visit with too. We spent some time reconnecting with family. The location was great. Relatively close to everything the Seattle area has to offer. We will absolutely stay there again!!

View more reviews for this inn


Best part of our vacation! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on February 08, 2016

We enjoyed our time in Seattle, but Elsie's was the best part. The location and view are amazing for the price, and she is such a sweetie! We would definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Best Part of Our Trip at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on January 15, 2016

My family stayed with Elsie for a week. She was so accommodating of our children, even taking the time to tell stories to my little girl. The view was fabulous, and we thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. If we get to Seattle again, we'll definitely return!

View more reviews for this inn


A True B&B at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on October 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I went to Seattle for a wedding and spent 3 nights at Elsie's Manor by the Bay and we truly enjoyed our stay. Elsie is just a delight to talk to and you immediately feel like you are more than just a guest in her home. The view of Puget Sound from our Bay View Room was breathtaking. Start off with a FULL hot breakfast (none of this continental stuff some other B&Bs call breakfast), go for a lovely stroll down to the bay (less than 7min away), do some shopping/sightseeing, treat yourself to a tasty dinner at one of the many local restaurants, and then you can come home and relax with a cup of English tea at the end of your day. Highly recommend staying with Elsie!

View more reviews for this inn


Mother and daughter get-away at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.6 reviewed on September 22, 2015

Very welcoming home. You feel comfortable with the many treasures from England. The attention to what you would like to eat even with special diet request is really great. Kathleen was so very nice and was accommodating to all our needs. I hope to visit again.

View more reviews for this inn


Great B&B at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on September 19, 2015

We absolutely loved staying at Elsie's Bay Manor. It's a perfect location outside of Seattle, far enough out of the hustle and bustle of the city, but close enough for easy access. The room is comfortable, and the breakfast is delicious. Kathleen was our host for this trip, and she is so welcoming! We can't say enough good things about staying at Elsie's!

View more reviews for this inn


Our first B&B at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on September 16, 2015

We were going on a long anticipated Alaskan Cruise... but the hotel prices in the Seattle area surprised us. So after some research we ran across Elsie's Manor by the Bay and it sounded wonderful by the reviews. We were not disappointed!!! Elsie and my wife communicated over the summer to make reservations. Elsie is an adorable English expatriate and wonderful hostess. She arranged for our pick up at the airport by her personable brother. The house itself is nicely decorated and has much history surrounding Elsie's life there with her family. Breakfast was HUGE --- coffee, fresh fruit, cereal AND a hot breakfast which changed daily... Elsie was very accommodating -- engaging in conversation with us when we desired and "buzzing" off as they say in England when we wanted privacy. We took a photo with her that I wish I could share here....

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful surprise at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on May 04, 2015

Our first time staying at a bed and breakfast. We spent 6 days with Elsie. She's full of personality and hospitality. Wonderful breakfasts. The room was impeccably clean, a little dated, and the bathroom was tiny. All that said, it was so much fun to stay with Elsie and we would definitely do it again.

View more reviews for this inn


Warm & Relaxing at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.4 reviewed on February 06, 2015

Elsie provided a warm family environment and is a wonderful host. The view of Puget sound is breathtaking! A quiet, down home get-away.

View more reviews for this inn


Most Charming! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on November 12, 2014

Elsie was a wonderful host that made us feel like family. We enjoyed our stay and breakfast the next morning. She is a warm and lovely lady and we will definitely return next year. The view was gorgeous, and we event got a peek of sunshine over the water while we visited.

View more reviews for this inn


A Little Taste of England at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.4 reviewed on September 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed with Elsie's beautiful home on the sound and it was such a lovely experience. Elsie and her family are lovely and go to great lengths to make sure of one's comfort. It was hard to leave!! We can't wait to make a return trip.

View more reviews for this inn


Home away from home! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on June 12, 2014

Staying with Elsie is so warm and frendly it's hard to describe. It's location is perfect, a view of the ocean, only a short walk to restaurants and the beach, and a very short, 10min or so, drive to SEATAC. Who could ask for more when staying in the Seattle area, especally when picking up, or droping off, at the airport. My place to stay when in the Seattle area!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, so much better than a hotel at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on June 06, 2014

Elsie’s was our first stop on a 3,000 mile road trip down the 101 to Carmel. We were greeted after a 10 hour flight from the UK to a cup of PG tips, proper English tea, wonderful. Elise and her friends and family made us very welcome and feel at home; it was like visiting an aunt you hadn't seen in a while. The lounge and decking have magnificent views over the bay with the Olympic Mountains in distance, something we didn't get tired of and were able to just sit and relax. Our room had the same view which was very comfortable and had all we needed. Elsie made sure we were never hungry with full breakfasts every morning, fruit to take out with us and cake when we got back, even a bottle of wine for the evening. We enjoyed our stay and chats with Elsie and Dale and would return to Seattle just to see them, it was the best start we could have had, so much better than a hotel where all you get is a good morning from a receptionist. A big thank you to you both xxxx

View more reviews for this inn


Quaint, peaceful - a delight at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.6 reviewed on February 26, 2014

Elsie makes the stay at her B&B a delightful experience. Peaceful and private, and the hospitality is wonderful. The Redondo area is quaint, busy & bustling but quiet & peaceful on the beautiful Puget Sound. I will be back!

View more reviews for this inn


Elsie's Manor by the Bay at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on December 17, 2013

Clean, warn and Welcoming! Will come again!

View more reviews for this inn


A taste of the past at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.6 reviewed on December 12, 2013

Elsie's London accent remains after a half century living in the US. Her sense of humor and vast experience of B&B's makes a night stay worth while.

View more reviews for this inn


Like home at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2013

It's a very nice place with ocean view, scene is fabulous esbecially sun set. Elsie is very kind and let us stay like at home. Everything is perfect! I'll be definately come back and stay longer.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.4 reviewed on June 19, 2013

We loved staying with Elsie. The location was beautiful, just a few minutes walk to the beach. Our room was very nice and Elsie was incredibly helpful and kind. Breakfast in the morning was great as well!

View more reviews for this inn


A wonderful place at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on June 07, 2013

We stayed at Elsie's on our way to Alaska but next time we will spend the entire week with Elsie! Her place is lovely with a beautiful view of the bay and the neighborhood is just like a beach community. Elsie Dillard is one of those people you meet that you wish you were related to so you would always be in touch. Wonderful stories and great food. I am so glad that I found her place on the web. Patty and David

View more reviews for this inn


Great place! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.4 reviewed on May 01, 2013

Elsie's is wonderful, quaint, clean, and homey. It's so cozy, and the hostess is sunshine on a gloomy, rainy Seattle day. She's full of tips and information about how to save money and spend your day. Meals are great. The room and restroom is tight quarters. But if you only need a place to leave your bags in a trusting place while you tour and a place to rest your head, then you won't mind. I'd definitely stay there again.

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic stay, Fantastic Hostess at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

3.8 reviewed on March 22, 2013

I thouroughly enjoyed my stay at Elsies! She's a generous and fine hostess. My room had everything I needed and Elsie went above and beyond and made me dinner after a late arrival!

View more reviews for this inn


A port in a storm at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2013

Elsie was a consummate hostess. She entertained us with stories of her life while cooking us a killer breakfast. I'm staying there again.

View more reviews for this inn


British hospitality at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on January 30, 2013

Our magical long weekend experience was heightened by our stay at Elsie's. Though the rooms were small, the convenience of a lavatory in the room that shared a bath was hugely helpful. Breakfasts were outstanding. The delight of Elsie was a major highlight of this time.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful Hostess and Accommodations at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on January 26, 2013

Elsie makes you feel at home immediately and her genuine kindness and great sense of humor only add to the charm of staying in her home. The upstairs rooms are cozy and breakfast is always tasty. The location is perfect - just 15 minutes from the airport and situated conveniently between Tacoma and Seattle.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful memories! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.6 reviewed on October 08, 2012

Elsie is one of the sweetest ladies I have ever met. She made my mother and I feel so welcome during our stay and we could of spent hours listening to all her wonderful stories. Her breaksfasts were delicious every day and we left with a full stomach out on our adventures. She was also so helpful in giving us advice on where to visit in the area and directions on how to get there. The view of the water from our cozy room was beautiful. If you want a home away from home I would highly recommend Elsie's! Thank you Elsie for many wonderful memories!

View more reviews for this inn


Home from home at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on September 30, 2012

A little bit of England in the Pacific North West. As ex-pats, we really enjoyed chatting with Elsie about various parts of England,"Coronation Street" and other things. To repeat the sentiments of a previous reviewer, it was like staying with a favourite auntie. Gorgeous views, with a great restaurant in walking distance.

View more reviews for this inn


Peaceful, homey setting at and with Elsie at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

4.8 reviewed on September 08, 2012

My wife and I enjoy Bed and Breakfasts because we like to experience the locations we visit the way the locals do. At Elsie's we got do do just that. Elsie was very welcoming and helpful with information concerning nearby restaurants and attractions. The B and B has a beautiful view of Puget Sound from the spacious living area. And it's only a 1/4 mile walk to the board walk on the sound. We took this stroll every evening (4) and some mornings that we were there. Also conveniently located just one mile from the main highway and half a mile away from the grocery store, should you need it. Elsie's breakfast was fantastic and made to order. We had so much food! We thought about asking her not to prepare so much but it was so good we couldn't. Elsie was also a pleasure to talk to. Funny and witty. She has a tremendous amount of knowledge as she has traveled the world and co-written books on B and B's. The feel of the home reminded me of my childhood at grandma's house. If you like a homey bed and breakfast, You'll love Elsie's.

View more reviews for this inn


Excelent!!!! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on August 21, 2012

excelent service Elsie is a wonderfull lady, great heart, the house is beautiful, excelent views, totally recomended.

View more reviews for this inn


Great location.... including NFL and MLB games! at Elsie's Manor by the Bay (Des Moines, Washington)

5 reviewed on August 20, 2012

Elsie, owner/hostess of this B&B, is a wonderful lady and fixes you an amazing breakfast each morning... at whatever best suits you. This is a great location, just minutes from Safeco field and the Seahawks Stadium. You can't beat her pricing either! We've stayed here 2 different times and will definitely come again. Bring cash, she keeps her costs low in part by not charging tourism taxes or taking credit cards.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. Elsie's Manor by the Bay (4.69)
Top
}