Mellow Yellow Cottage Bed & Breakfast Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.7
  • Services5.0
  • Value4.9
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.4

Score Breakdown based on
23 Reviews

Write A Review

sunshine and relaxation

5 on September 02, 2012

Great place to stay- quiet location, great breakfast, extremely clean and comfortable accommodations, excellent attention to details. Every need anticipated and attended to. A first class vacation.


Quiet, Meticulous and Delicious

4.8 on July 26, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for a few days near the beach with my two grown daughters. Went back and forth trying to decide between Mellow Yellow and a hotel on the beach. Decided I wanted quiet and room for us to spread out over being right on the beach and having a swimming pool. Mellow Yellow Cottage was the PERFECT choice for us. First of all, I always feel like I have to clean most places I stay in (including hotels) before we even begin to unpack. Not so with Mellow Yellow Cottage...Wanda keeps the cottage meticulously clean as other reviewers have noted. The breakfast basket and all the goodies in the refrigerator were fresh and delicious. On a daily basis we received fresh fruit and other goodies, clean fluffy bath towels, trash removal and a tidy kitchen. The cottage is not in a neighborhood and sits well off the main road so it is very quiet. As opposed to us all being crammed in a hotel room, we had space to stretch out..my younger daughter read on the back porch, while my older daughter practiced yoga in the living room and I read in the bedroom. We drove the mile and half to Bethany Beach everyday where there is plenty of metered parking. Didn't miss having a swimming pool as the beaches in Bethany easily accessible from the parking areas. As others have noted, Wanda has a binder with lots of helpful information about area restaurants (with reviews) and points of interest. Wanda is also very accommodating. She let us park one car at the house and take the other to the beach before our check in time. I highly recommend Mellow Yellow if you are looking for an alternative to a weekly beach rental. Thanks again Wanda!


Great place

4.6 on July 26, 2012

Awesome little cottage. The place is spotlessly clean. Its about 5 min away from the beach and nice bike ride. Wanda is an awesome host, the breakfast package she prepared is really well thought. The only thing I wish we had was the ability to use the stove. For an extended period of stay this would be very useful and cost effective. Other than that, cant have any complain at all.


Love! Love! Mellow Yellow

4.8 on July 17, 2012

Wonderful!!! Wanda and Mellow Yellow!! What a great find. I was so very happy to find such a cozy, relaxing place only minutes from the beach. After enjoying the beach you can return and take a refreshing outdoor shower. Perfect location to bike into town. Wanda provides a full basket of such lovely treats. YUM!! I thoughly enjoyed speaking with Wanda. She was alwlays available to answer any questions and can recommend some of the local great eats. This was diffently an enjoyable vacation. Thanks to Wanda and Mellow Yellow Cottage.


Wonderful! Wonderful! Love this place.

4.8 on July 15, 2012

Wanda and Mellow Yellow!! What a great place to stay. Perfect location close to the Bethany Beach. The place is cozy and relaxing. Makes you feel like home away home. Never expericed such a wonderful feeling of comfort. The baskey of fruit and treats wanda offers are fantastic. This cottage is a an absolute dream!! Wanda is so down to earth and such a please to meeet and speak with. She made my vacation so enjoyable. Great people person. Just love her.


Perfect Honeymoon Cottage!

5 on September 21, 2011

My husband and I got married on the beach in Bethany on September 10th. We booked the Mellow Yellow for our wedding night. We were immediately drawn in by how warm and welcoming Wanda was. You can tell how much pride she has in her adorable little cottage. It was sweet how genuinely excited she was for us and we instantly felt right at home. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and well kept. We had a big basket of goodies and everything that we needed in the fridge. I think the best part was how originally I was going to order a bottle of champagne to have when we returned from the reception, but decided not to because of the additional expense. When we got in Wanda actually had a bottle and chocolates waiting for us on ice! It was such a sweet gesture. We could have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for $200/night, but we made the right choice by picking the Mellow Yellow for a much better price. You really can't beat the value and it is much nicer than some stuffy hotel. Thanks again to Wanda for helping to make our day so special! Mr & Mrs Ryan


Diamond in the rough

4.8 on September 18, 2011

Wanda was great. I had contacted her after finding the Mellow Yellow online because I had questions. She answered all my questions. She gave us great directions to get to the cottage. The treats that Dee left for us everyday were very good. The full size bed was a little uncomfortable, but was fine for the couple of nights that we stayed. Overall, great place, great innkeeper, great location to Bethany Beach boardwalk. Will definitely be returning.


Charming B&B

4.8 on August 08, 2011

A great place! I highly recommend, I look forward to going there again.


Perfect Hospitality

4.8 on July 30, 2011

Wanda was gracious and kind from the first time I called from California to inquire about the Mellow Yellow Cottage, which I had found online. We got lost driving there from BWI airport, and she called us by cell phone and kept in touch with us to guide us through the confusing route all the way from BWI to Bethany Beach. Then we arrived at the most charming, clean, well appointed cottage we could hope for, in a quiet neighborhood on its own lot - not attached to a larger house or complex. Every morning we would find not only a Continental breakfast basket, but Wanda had taken into account my wheat allergy and provided gluten-free muffins from a local bakery. And fresh cut fruit in the refrigerator complete with attractive garnishes, and many other unexpected treats. Jjust so many thoughtful touches that we felt personally cared for and loved by someone we had never even met! Finally on our departure day we did meet Wanda, and were not disappointed - such a kind person that we instantly felt like part of her family. I would definitely recommend this rental to my friends and family!


A GEM off the beaten path.

5 on July 25, 2011

Thanks Wanda! Can't say enough good things about your little cottage--it's cozy, beautifully appointed, and spotlessly clean. You were so accommodating, and thought of everything to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay. We will definitely be back!


Little Place with lots of charm

4.6 on July 19, 2011

You will love the homey feel of this cottage. The owner leaves a made-to-order basket of goodies, ensuring a great breakfast and your privacy. Owner very helpful!


Mellow Time in Delaware

5 on July 10, 2011

The house was neat as a pin, the wood floors shined and everything was warm and welcoming. Wanda had smooth jazz (our favorite) playing on the cable tv and the breakfast basket had our favorite lemon cake, cereal, etc. The privacy given by the beautiful pine trees in the yard seemed to close off the world and made for a peaceful setting. We made good use of the outdoor shower to wash away the sand from the beach - so convenient! The location of the house is within 10mi of Bethany Beach and only 7 miles from Ocean City. There were flyers and brouchures for a variety of activities and the guest book was filled with comments from other guests who spoke about the good times had, based on Wanda's recomendations. We highly recommend a visit to Nantucket's restaurant or the Kool Bean Cafe! My husband and I liked Bethany Beach, as it was not overcrowded like OC and seemed very family friendly. We have already told friends and family about Wanda's hospitality and think she will see them visiting soon...


you'll want to keep this place a secret

5 on August 22, 2010

only had time for a quick getaway to the ocean before the start of a new school year~ this cottage was perfect..uniquely private, spotless, tastefully decorated...loved the black and white kitchen floor, hardwood floor and special touches offered by the owner...mini banana bread, yummy fresh fruit we enjoyed a beautiful sunset kayak tour down the road in fenwick and explored the discoversea museum...look forward to a return trip...thx much


Wonderful Wanda

4.6 on August 21, 2010

Great b&b because: - fresh mint decorated local fresh fruit - luscious hot water in the outdoor shower - Innkeeper's personal attention to our needs - Comfortable, clean accommodations - fresh towels everyday - Great suggestions for parking, dining, beach - excellent location in quiet neighborhood Would definitely come back


Cozy, Peaceful and Clean

4.4 on August 11, 2010

A perfect retreat close to the beach. Wanda saw to every detail. Highly recommended.


DELIGHTFUL!

4.6 on August 08, 2010

Mellow Yellow is a delightful little cottage off the beaten path yet an easy drive to the beach. And I might add, it was immaculate inside and out! We were "greeted" by soft instrumental music playing and a beautiful bounty of "breakfasts-in-a-basket", which made us feel very welcome and instantly at-home. The refrigerator was also well-stocked to round-out our breakfast options. Wanda has put together a binder of local restaurants, places of interest & activities nearby, maps, comments and suggestions; this and the bulletin board of current town events was also appreciated, as was her availability when needed. She shared the best route to avoid heavy traffic, the best time to hit the beach, and the best area of the beach to go to if we wanted to avoid crowds. These little "hints" made our little vacation even more pleasurable, I'm sure! There was so much attention to detail, whether as an innkeeper or decorator, that we were thoroughly pleased with Wanda's delightful little Mellow Yellow Cottage and would certainly recommend it with highest regard! We look forward to returning in the future!


Great off-the-beaten-path alternative to overpriced hotels

4.8 on June 30, 2009

What an unexpected, marvelous find! We entered this spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained home after our long drive to the beach and found a platter of fresh fruit, and a homemade fruit bread along with the usual coffee, tea, and spring water. The is a lovingly cared for, quaint home on a quiet back street. The price is reasonable considering the amenities.


We loved it!

4.4 on August 01, 2008

Wanda was a great host - taking the extra time to include maps, flyers, etc. for the restraunt recommendations, golf courses, etc. & made herself very available to answer questions but also respected our privacy. The breakfast items were tasty and plentiful and the place is clean and modern. Noise was not an issue and all 4 of us got a great night's sleep. My parents and I both took flyers and would stay here again next time we are in DE.


Loved Mellow Yellow!

4.0 on July 29, 2008

We had trouble finding it in the dark. Wanda was very generous in reimbursing us for the night we spent in a motel. We are now going back again.


A Great Experience

5 on July 21, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Wanda Butler is a generous host, the place was very clean and quiet. Bethany Beach is a short bike ride, Dewey, Rehobeth and Ocean City, MD are less then a 30 minute ride in the car, great location but still close to the major attractions. Hope to visit again.


Perfect!

5 on July 16, 2008

What a great place - the food was very tasty for breakfast, the cottage was very welcoming and comfortable, and the location was as stated - a short bike ride away with the benefit of peace and quiet when you needed it! Highly recommended!


Mellow Yellow Cottage

5 on July 03, 2008

The Mellow Yellow Cottage was fantastic. It made our weekend!!


Fantastic!

5 on May 02, 2008

Definitely exceeded my expectations. The cottage was immaculate and tastefully decorated. We had the whole place to ourselves. The owners left a beautiful breakfast basket with everthing we could need. Even the fridge was stocked. We were only a minute from Bethany Beach. I would highly recommend if you're looking for a quiet, private, affordable place to stay at the beach.


Mellow Yellow Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $250
  • Reviews (23) 4.8
  • Rooms 2

Contact Innkeeper

  • Mobile 1-3024626111
Top