Avenue O Bed and Breakfast Bewertungen

Insgesamt
4,6

Details anzeigen

  • Gästezimmer4,4
  • Dienstleistungen4,8
  • Preis4,6
  • Sauberkeit4,3
  • Restaurant 4,8

Bewertungsaufschlüsselung basierend auf
46 Bewertungen

Eine Bewertung schreiben

Great room & AMAZING breakfast!!

5 am November 22, 2014

Connie is a wonderful host and very friendly. Her breakfast was incredibly delicious & would definitely go back again! We stayed in the Rainforest Room which was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on, room was clean, whale jacuzzi tub is incredible and a perfect getaway. Great location, I would recommend to anyone & will definitely be back!!


Avenue O Bed and Breakfast--- THE place to stay!

5 am August 30, 2011

I could not have chosen a better place to stay for our wedding night. The atmosphere was amazing and Connie (our host) was the icing on the cake--- always helpful, understanding, and a great cook to top it off! Would reccommend to anyone!


Nautical Room

4,0 am August 22, 2011

A quaint B&B with charm. An older home feel and with all the unusual decorations and pieces of art adds to the ambiance. Breakfast was awesome and meeting others that stayed overnight was great. Close to the seawall shops and restaurants and not far from the Moody Gardens and Shlitterbaum.


Awonderful experience with exceptional service!

4,4 am August 14, 2011

Avenue O was an exceptional place to stay. The rooms were very nice, what you would expect in an older home, with modern conveniences provided. The cookies in the room daily were a nice touch, but the breakfasts were the highlight. We felt pampered and well taken care of. The hostess was knowledgeable about attractions in the area and had good recommendations on places to dine as well as visit.


Avenue O B&B, Galveston Tx

4,8 am Juli 23, 2011

We had a marvelous stay at Avenue O B&B! The room was clean, private and well provisioned. I will definitely stay there on my next visit! And Connie's homemade cookies are to die for!


Food was GREAT!

3,6 am Juli 18, 2011

The room was comfortable. It could use a bigger mirror somewhere. The hospitality was great. I am not a big traveler so the value was what I expected. The garbage was not taken out from the previous tenants. The food was excellent.


Such a great time!

5 am Juni 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for the weekend due to a wedding we had to attend in Galveston. Connie was amazingly sweet! The room was very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable!! I booked my stay with them because they are pet friendly, as long as they stay in a kennel while we are gone and they are on a leash when walking them, it was amazing! A great little getaway for all of us (including the dogs :P) Connie is such a great cook! She makes sure you don't leave hungry! I highly recommend this place and I will definitely be back! XOXOX


Great place to stay

4,6 am Juni 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights, 4 days and I proposed to my girlfriend on the first night. The room we stayed in (Rainforest Room) is romantic and secluded and the house and garden are impressive. The owner was so great...her meals were tasty and she was so excited to hear about our engagement. We'll be back and I recommend this to all. We plan on sending my soon-to-be mother and father in-law as a gift. This was our first B & B and certainly not our last. No more hotels for us.


O for Outstanding

5 am Juni 13, 2011

Connie Porter's breakfasts are culinary delights in their preparation, variety, and taste. Avenue O's rooms each have a different theme, reflected in its name. Some have large jacuzzi tubs. This was our second stay, so we knew what to expect. We will stay there again next time we visit Galveston. And they allowed us to bring our big dogs. (A side note: our dogs are well-behaved and non-destructive.)


Avenue O B&B

4,6 am Juni 09, 2011

The European Suite was fabulous and the staff and other guests were very kind to my boyfriend and I (gay couple, so don't be scared to book here!). I'm leaving the country for 8 weeks, so we wanted to do an away weekend with just the two of us and this was absolutely perfect. Definitely the best B&B I've stayed at on Galveston.


Relaxing Anniversary Weekend!

3,2 am Juni 07, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Avenue O for our anniversary this past weekend, and it was our first bed and breakfast experience, so we weren't sure what to expect. We stayed in the Rainforest Room, which was nice and big and instantly brought us back in time a few decades. The bathroom, although small, was clean, and the whale tub was fabulous! The only complaint that we have is that the rugs in the room were a bit dirty and could've used a good vacuuming-the bedroom even smelt of dirty rugs. Overall, the service was great! Connie was very welcoming and cooked a fabulous breakfast-if breakfast is one's main criteria for a good bed and breakfast, than look no further than Avenue O. We weren't even hungry for lunch until 2 in the afternoon! Overall, we had a nice, relaxing anniversary weekend.


Safari Room is an advenure

4,6 am Mai 26, 2011

Our stay in the Safari room was a very fun one. The atmosphere of the room was incredible, and they even allowed us to bring our 75 lb dog with us. The food was phenomenal and what we saw of the main house was really fun. Also, it is within walking distance to the ocean. The only thing that would have made the stay better is if the shower worked a little better. We still got clean, but it left something to be desired. Overall though, it was a great time at a great value. The daily cookies in our room were a nice treat too.


What is with Galveston?

2,4 am Mai 22, 2011

I have stayed in several B&B's and have always had good experiences, except in Galvestion. This is my second stay at a B&B in Galveston. Both times the rooms were not very clean. There was dried up toothpaste on the bathroom wall that was disgusting. The furnishings were old. The room was dark. The shower head in the bathroom kept slipping and I had to hold it up in order to take a shower. There was used coffee grounds in the coffee maker. I couldn't wait to leave. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable, the bath towels were very nice, and it was quiet. I would not go back. Both of my experiences at Galvestion B&B's were not very good. At this B&B I stayed in the room over the garage that was separate from the house. Maybe the other rooms are better.


awesome!

5 am Mai 18, 2011

It was peaceful and quiet couldn't ask for a relaxing weekend!


Good value

2,8 am Mai 09, 2011

Avenue O Bed and Breakfast was solid in terms of value and availability. The breakfast was good but not to my taste--I'm more of a salt in the morning person and not sweet. The bed was curiously uneven--seems to be missing part of the frame. The owner was very friendly and very accessible.


Dawn~n~James

5 am Mai 05, 2011

Our wedding reception was awesome, Connie's service was excellent and breakfast was to die for....The Rainforest room was definately a Big Hit for us! We plan to be back soon and spend our anniversaries there as well! Thanks again Connie!!!! Dawn~n~Jame Arbuckle


Great B&B Experience

5 am April 21, 2011

The room was great with a private balcony that overlooks the back yard. Connie made big fresh chocolate chip cookies that were left in our room every day. The breakfast were out of this world! Connie's version of French Toast was the best we have ever had. When the weekend came to an end, we didn't want to leave Galveston or Avenue O B&B.


SIMPLY AMAZING!

5 am April 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon last week and it was great! I must admit, the thought of staying at a bed and breakfast, to me, just sounded a little old fashioned and being a younger couple I wasnt sure we were going to enjoy it. Boy was I wrong! We are already talking about a date for our next stay! Connies breakfasts are amazing! Mike isnt a big breakfast person, and I am a VERY picky eater and we loved every meal! The B&B is much closer to the strand and seawall than we originally thought too. We loved staying in the rainforest room and eating breakfast (in bed) on the balcony. We will eventually stay in everyroom Im sure, but next time we will book the south pacific room and for a much longer stay. Mike & Kayla Davis


galveston

4,8 am April 18, 2011

great room and the "whale" tub was fun and relaxing. the breakfast were great and the host very knowledgable about the area.


Quite relaxing short stay

4,4 am April 12, 2011

We made a quick short stop and was not disappointed. Would recommend Avenue O Galveston to my friends and family, also Galveston has recovered well.


Really rested

5 am April 07, 2011

The decor in the Safari Room made me feel like i had really travelled to Africa. The bed and furnishings were very comfortable and I really got a kick out of the life-sized stuffed monkey sitting on the bed.


A Whale of an Experience

4,4 am April 04, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Avenue O B&B! The room was wonderful - I really love that balcony! The tub was very relaxing. Breakfast was amazing! I'd recommend this to anyone!


Anniversary Stay at Avenue O

5 am März 30, 2011

This was absolutely fantastic. The room was fabulous. It was beautiful, the house, the room, the grounds. The food was amazing. I do no think I have ever had such good breakfasts. My husband and I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to all that we know.


The perfect location and great service!

4,4 am März 17, 2011

We stayed at Avenue O before and after our cruise. It was very relaxing and close to everything! We walked to the beach and to restaurants. Plus the Mardi Gras parade was only a block away! The owners, Connie and Jim, were very helpful with suggestions and information about the area. They were always available if we needed anything. We saw three of the rooms and they were tastefully decorated and larger than your standard hotel room. One of the highlights was the delicious homemade chocolate chip cookies that appeared in our room everyday.We will definitely return when visiting Galveston.


Romantic Getaway

4,2 am März 01, 2011

Wonderful service from a very sweet lady! She answered any and all of our questions and made very good recommendations for resturaunts/activities. She was very helpful & a great cook! Breakfast was amazing- a 2/3 course meal in itself! The Rainforest Room was a very wonderful get-a-way and suprise for my husband! We loved the details and the hot tub in the room! It was a great experience and would definently stay there again if we have the chance in the future!


Avenue O B+B - a 3 day anniversary stay.

4,4 am Februar 09, 2011

Interesting, creative decors; great food (not skimpy!); excellent area recommendations.


very nice

4,6 am Februar 02, 2011

We were very pleased with the Avenue O Bed and Breakfast and would recommend it to others. The room was clean and comfortable, the host personable and helpful, and the food was great. I suggest you give it a try during your next trip to Galveston.


A great place.

4,8 am Februar 02, 2011

This is our second stay at Avenue O and we absolutely love it there. Connie is great and my husband thinks she has the best blueberry muffins ever. They have a great attention to detail.


Beautiful place, yummy breakfasts, free cruise parking

5 am Januar 31, 2011

This was our third time here. It's a great place to stay the night before a cruise (and you get free cruise parking), or for an island getaway. The breakfasts are indulgent and the hosts gracious and helpful. The grounds are really lovely.


The Perfect Place to Pop the Question

5 am Januar 28, 2011

It's been over six months since my then girlfriend and I spent an eventful weekend at the Avenue O Bed and Breakfast, and the magical warmth of those June evenings has not faded in the slightest. Connie and Jim provided the perfect ambiance for a young couple in love, and Connie's thoughtful touches in particular really helped seal the deal. We loved the yard and thoroughly enjoyed the playfully romantic atmosphere the jungle room had to offer. The meals were delicious and the service was phenomenal. Really, I can't speak highly enough of this place. Avenue O B&B will always occupy a special niche in our hearts, and we'd love to return and reminisce after a few years of growth and love. Thanks Connie and Jim, y'all helped start something beautiful, and for that we are eternally grateful. Sacha & Ian Schreckenbach


Love to stay here!

5 am Januar 21, 2011

Connie is wonderrful at accommodating most any request! The location is very convenient to both the gulf and downtown. I stay here whenever I go to the island. You won't be disappointed!


Comfortable rooms, and great breakfast

4,6 am Januar 14, 2011

We stayed in the Safari room and it was very comfortable and private. We had a great stay and enjoyed the breakfasts immensely (the warm chocolate chip muffins were outstanding)! The shower in the safari room is rather small...if you are over 6' you might have to duck in there), but that was only a minor issue. We'd love to come back!


Small Bathroom Big Man

3,6 am Dezember 29, 2010

Bathroom was a little snug, and the silverware needed washed a little better. The food was excellent and portions generous. The hot tub in the Rainforest Room is much bigger than the picture depicts. The pillow top bed is very soft. All in all I'd stay there again given the chance.


Exceptionable B&B

5 am Dezember 13, 2010

Remarkable gourmet breakfasts, genuinely friendly hosts, unique rooms, and Rusty the cat. Perfect. And 2 blocks down on 23d is the Jungle, a resonably priced eatery with the "best chile in Tx," cheesesteaks, etc. Connie is a font of information on Galveston besides being a great chef. I'm a egg-bacon-toast guy, but loved her meals and our conversations.


would recommend to anyone staying in downtown Galveston

4,4 am Dezember 09, 2010

Connie and Jim are warm and welcoming. Will be back!!


oh my god we are going back to get married there!!!!!!!

5 am November 15, 2010

we loved it!!! it was the first time i have ever stayed in a b&b, it was better than any 5 star hotel we have ever been in beautiful place, private the owners really took there time designing it they were so kind and even had a welcome card in our names awaiting us when we checked in, i would would and have told everyone i know about it, we went on veterans day because of a deal they were running, i never went anywhere that made me feel like i was at home " untill now", the owners are set up to do wedding, and any get togethers. so trust me on this call your family and frends and meet up in beautiful galveston texas and get together,we did and plan on going back and getting married at the Avenue O Bed and Breakfast.


We had a great stay!

5 am Oktober 27, 2010

This was our first time at a bead and breakfast and we were celebrating our first anniversary together. We had a great time and loved everything. We would definitely stay there again!


Avenue O Bed and Breakfast

4,6 am August 30, 2010

We stayed in the Rainforest room on the second floor of the main house. A balconey with table and chairs adjoining the room was great. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. The location is very convenient to the Seawall and an easy commute to the Strand area. Having a key to the front door and a key to your room gives you a lot of flexibility in your goings and comings.


Loved our stay

4,2 am August 25, 2010

We really enjoyed this stay, it was our first. The breakfast was amazing! The place is so comforting. I love the old historic looks. We cant wait to come back! Jarrod and Kristen


West's review

5 am April 01, 2010

Truly a labour of love this is. From beginning to end. What a Whale of a time !!! Whale, (ha, ha); want one in my house ! And the breakfast in bed ... oh my ... wanna go there again before too long. And the only way to really see Galveston is in a carriage, 360, no windows, no driving, just park it and, enjoy. And The Sky Bar, sooooo delicious. Have fun Yall!


Honeymoon Stay

4,8 am September 14, 2009

We stayed on our Honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The Rainforest Room was exceptional, and the whale tub was to die for. We had a great beginning to our Honeymoon.


very romantic

4,8 am August 07, 2009

My wife and I returned to Galveston for our anniversary, but this time chose a B&B rather than an over-priced hotel. What a smart choice! We had a nice welcome sign when we arrived. The rainforest suite was romantic. Connie had our champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries ready on a silver tray on our bed when we came back from dinner, and we enjoyed the free DVD library. The whale tub got plenty of use... definitely the biggest hit. The breakfast was incredible (and we loved meeting the other guests). This was our first B&B experience, but it sure won't be our last!


Satisfied Customer :)

4,6 am Juni 18, 2008

This was our second visit to Avenue O. All the rooms have a different theme, so this time we stayed in the Rainforest Room. It has a large, whale-shaped tub that is quite relaxing with plenty of room for two. It is much bigger than the picture on the website portrays. The bed was the most comfortable one we have ever slept in. Avenue O has close, easy access to the seawall or downtown. Connie does a great job of making you feel welcome and her breakfasts are OUTSTANDING.


complete comfort

5 am Mai 31, 2008

they totaly made me and my girfriend fill like family,i would recomend them to anybody. and the food it is 5 star quality.


Romantic get away

5 am April 01, 2008

The personal touches made this more than just another bed and breakfast. Connie was a wonderful hostess her attention to details made the stay very special. The South Pacific room made us feel like we were on our own island. It was very quite and private. The room is very romantic and has a two person full size jacuzzi. The special packages that Connie offers are worth the money because they add romance and excitement to the stay. Breakfast food was wonderful. We will be returning as much as we can.


Breakfasts are awesome and so are the friends we made

4,6 am Februar 06, 2008

We came for the Mardi Gras and stayed in the European Suite. It is located above the garage in the backyard, it’s old and the construction lacks attention to detail, but it is also roomy, clean and the double Jacuzzi tub was nice (although you have to get in to turn the tap on – an inconvenience). We became good friends with other guests making the Mardi Gras much more fun to attend. One couple stayed in the South Pacific room and I noticed it had better construction and a more cozy feel. Another couple stayed in the Safari room. It didn't have a nice feel when we visited them and It had a moldy odor. We speculated there may have been a water leak so this may eventually be fixed. I would personally recommend staying in the main house (ie; the South Pacific or Sunshine room) with the European Suite being a good choice for more privacy. Breakfasts were amazing. It was like eating out at some $$$$$ restaurant in a romantic European country. Soft music, great food, lovely décor and being treated like royalty. The location is excellent for the Mardi Gras, only a block off the parade route and a dozen blocks from downtown. Bikes were provided and we made good use of them. The neighborhood is a mix of run down homes and very elegant homes. Galveston is an interesting town to visit. The economy is depressed and it shows in the run down homes but we never felt unsafe. I recommend having a car to get around. The drive down the seafront is beautiful (f it’s not foggy) and a trip on the ferry is worth the fee (free). Moody Gardens is also worth the time to visit.


Avenue O Bed and Breakfast

Details

  • Übernachtungspreise $109 - $175
  • Bewertungen (46) 4,6
  • Zimmern 4
  • Akzeptiert Geschenkkarten

Gastgeber kontaktieren

  • Telefon 1-4094574255
  • Mobil 1-4094574255

Website besuchen »

Details anzeigen

Nach oben