Recent Reviews in De Smet, South Dakota

Delightful at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on July 16, 2016

Beautiful, comfortable room, wonderful friendly hosts, great dinner recommendation, nice breakfast. Overall, a delightful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful stay! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for the 4th time and this time we stayed 2 nights. Once more we enjoyed a most relaxing weekend and Jenny and Andy are just like old friends. I would rather stay here than in any hotel! Thank you again, Jenny and Andy, for everything! Linda and Melinda

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay on the prairie at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We spent two nights here and had a wonderful time. Andy and Jenny have really gone above and beyond in all ways. The rooms were private, comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. They were easy to work with and flexible with our schedule as we arrived late and decided to stay an extra night. If you are looking for some place to stay while visiting the world of Little House on the Prairie this is it.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent - clean and delicious breakfastd at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2016

G. lundberg

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2016

We had an amazing stay. Great room, and amazing service. Try the French toast is amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


A night in 'My Rose Garden' at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prairie House Manor! Our accomodations were wonderful and the breakfast was delicious! Andy and Jenny could not have been more pleasant!!! We loved The Little House trivia at breakfast as well as all of the special touches throughout the manor! We definitely recommend a visit there while in DeSmet!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Local Place at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

3.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

Great place to stay to visit Ingalls sites.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing!! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on July 01, 2016

What a wonderful place to stay! Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Prairie visit at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Two friends and I stayed a night in the Americana Medley room while we were in De Smet to see the Laura Ingalls Wilder attractions. The Todds were welcoming and easy to talk to, and provided information about De Smet that we found useful. We especially appreciated the information about the admittedly limited dining options in De Smet. The house the B&B is located in retains many architectural details that remind you you're staying in a historic home, without making you feel like you're staying in a museum. The B&B is centrally located and easily walkable to the LIW town sites as well as dining options, gas station/convenience store and the downtown shopping district. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Prairie House Manor to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a Laura Ingalls Wilder Experience at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.6 reviewed on June 23, 2016

Our trip to De Smet was a family adventure. I brought my daughter-in-law and 2 granddaughters to tour all the local sites related to Laura Ingalls Wilder. We stayed in the Rose Room which was perfect for the 4 of us. The girls loved playing games on the wrap around porch in the evening and breakfast was delicious and delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little b&b for the whole family at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

3.2 reviewed on June 15, 2016

Nice porch area and spacious room with our own bath. It was great that they allowed children and the pancake man for breakfast was a hit!

View more reviews for this inn


Prairie House Manor at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

Wonderful place to stay, with wonderful hosts. Highly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Our Stay at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on April 26, 2016

We stayed there for my birthday. Jenny made us feel right at home. Breakfast was great too. We will definitely be back

View more reviews for this inn


Where the Heart Is at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2016

If you are on the Laura Ingalls Wilder trail, or happy to be passing through this part of South Dakota, come to the Prairie Manor for home-style comfort and an old-fashioned welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Star Stay With Personal Touch at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2016

I was delighted to stay here. The house is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. I can't imagine how much work has gone into crafting this home, let alone keeping it in such pristine condition. Innkeepers Andy and Jenny go far, far out of their way to make you comfortable here. They made dinner recommendations (most everything was closed for the holiday, helped us find a great place to eat regardless) and even let us change rooms when we wanted to try something else on short notice. Their breakfast menu had many tasty offerings, and the food was impeccable. They have some kind of prestigious culinary credentials they are too modest to brag about-- I am sure of it! Best place to go and get away from it all and have every detail taken care of beyond your satisfaction. I've stayed in very nice and well well recognized hotels in big cities-- their amenities and service do not compare to what you will find here in DeSmet. I know I will give them more business in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Little Gem on the Prairie at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on October 14, 2015

This was one of my first experiences staying in a B&B and I must say, it exceeded my expectations! My sister and I stayed in the “My Rose Garden” room and it was absolutely wonderful! The beds and pillows were the comfiest I have ever used. We both slept very well during our stay. Very nice bathroom and the water pressure in the shower was strong which is a huge plus in my books. And I really appreciated that there was a fridge and microwave in the room. This made meals during our trip much easier. And Jenny’s breakfasts were absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I loved that we had different options each morning and it was always something that I hadn’t had before. And the coffee was so good! And I really appreciated that there were so many options for flavouring it. It helped made morning coffee a little bit special. Andy and Jenny have a wonderful place and have really managed to make it feel like a home away from home and they are so welcoming to their guests and make sure that they are taken care of. I really enjoyed our little chats in the morning with Jenny about our plans for the day and what we had done on our trip so far. If you get the chance to stay here, you should!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing on the prairie at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on October 11, 2015

Our hosts were extremely nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were outstanding and the room relaxing. From our point of view this is the best of De Smet!

View more reviews for this inn


Relaxing Stay at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on September 04, 2015

We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at the Prairie House Manor. Breakfast was delicious and I wish we could have stayed another day and spend more time on their porch.

View more reviews for this inn


Thank you, thank you, thank you for the perfect stay!! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 18, 2015

My teenage daughter and I stayed at the Prairie House Manor for 2 nights. Our stay was absolutely perfect! Jenny and Andy greeted us right away- very friendly and made us feel so welcome. Our room "Forever Blossoms" was very clean- the bed, pillows, and sheets were very comfortable. A great place to relax! The breakfasts were absolutely the best- so delicious!! We were given several different food choice options as well as a time best for us. You have to try Jenny's yummy raspberry puffed pancakes!! The outside landscaping is beautiful- lots of flowers, very good curb appeal. Overall, my daughter and I both would HIGHLY recommend this wonderful B&B. A very charming and inviting atmosphere. Thank you, Jenny and Andy, for making our trip to DeSmet so wonderful.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 11, 2015

A stay in the historic Prairie House Manor is an experience every visitor to De Smet should be lucky enough to enjoy. Built in the early 1890s by “Banker Ruth” of the Little House on the Prairie books by Laura Ingalls Wilder, it has been maintained in all its Victorian splendor. No matter how historic a bed and breakfast may be, what travelers are really concerned with are cleanliness and comfort. Prairie House Manor excels in both areas. Everything from the floor to the light fixtures is sparkling clean. You don’t have to worry about stray hairs or dust bunnies here! And it seems the innkeepers, Andy and Jenny Todd, live to make visitors comfortable. From the beds and pillows in the guest rooms, to the sofas and books in the living room, to the kid-friendly sunroom, you can relax in a homey environment. Hot chocolate, and lemonade are always available. There’s lots for the family to do while here, including toys for young ones, a pool table for the bigger “kids,” puzzles, trivia, and books for all ages. Or, just hang out and watch TV or surf the web on the free WiFi. Be warned, however: if you get a room with a Jacuzzi, you might not want to get out to enjoy all the other amenities! Let’s not forget the breakfast part of the deal. This is not merely some stale pastries and weak coffee. You get a real breakfast of your own choosing from a varied menu, always served with fresh fruit and your choice(s) of beverages. Pancake men are popular with children, while adults often choose egg strata, oatmeal, omelets, Belgian waffles, or other “grown-up” fare. Served at the time of your choosing in a pleasant breakfast room, breakfast is always delicious. This is the way to start your day. If you have any special needs or requests, the Todds will do everything they can to accommodate you. They treat everyone as they would want to be treated, so you will likely find that while you arrive as a guest, you leave as a friend. And that’s a wonderful thing.

View more reviews for this inn


wonderful stay on tour of Little House on the Prairie at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on August 11, 2015

Our family stayed at the Prairie House Manor and found the owners and facility to be fabulous. The location was perfect for walking through the town and we were a short distance from the Ingalls homestead. The owners were friendly and helpful. We had a great stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2015

Our family has never stayed at B&B before, the Prairie House Manor was absolutely wonderful. Andy and Jenny are very kind people. They open their home in a very comfortable way. Hot treats waiting in the afternoons and evenings, coffe, tea, cappuccino juice at your finger tips. The breakfast is made to.order and is very, very good. Services are off the charts. We really did feel at home. Took advantage of the parlor/living room to unwind. Jenny has opened her love of history with her books for your browsing pleasure. Enclosed porch with games, toys and seating for gathering also. De Smet South Dakota should be proud with this business in their town. The town and all of its businesses and residents are very pleasant and vwry proud of its history. Would we stay again absolutely. We give the Prairie House Manor total family thumbs up!

View more reviews for this inn


Little Town Vacation at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2015

We do not usually stay in a bed and breakfast when we travel, but we decided to on this trip, and we had an amazing experience. The house was beautiful, Andrew and Jenny most welcoming and attentive to our needs, and the breakfasts were delicious. Our whole family enjoyed our stay immensely.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Rooms & Meals, Great Location and Great Price at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 02, 2015

The house is very nicely decorated and comfortable. The hosts are friendly and make a very good breakfast. The price is very reasonable.

View more reviews for this inn


Our Stay at Prairie House Manor. at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.6 reviewed on June 28, 2015

Wonderful restoration, friendly hosts, DeSmet a nice little town.

View more reviews for this inn


Swampy 4 at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on May 11, 2015

Very comfortable and relaxing. Good company and great food.

View more reviews for this inn


fabulous time at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on October 06, 2014

We absolutely loved the three season porch and the fact we could bring our dogs with. We stayed in the Chinese garden and it was big and spacious, neatly decorated and had a Jacuzzi, much needed after a long drive there. The service was grand and the breakfast delicious. Would definitely revisit again especially in the early fall when its warm but not to hot to sit on the porch.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Prairie House memories at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on September 23, 2014

My girls and I drove from Colorado up to Prairie House Manor in August of 2014. It was a long drive and we arrived much later than anticipated but when we arrived all travel pains were soon forgotten. The room we chose was as lovely as the pictures and made us feel like little princesses. We were greeted by the hostess with cookies (delicious!) and hot chocolate and juice. The bed was very comfortable and after a quick soak in the hot tub we slept soundly. We are already plotting for a return trip. It was a truly wonderful experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Great experience at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.6 reviewed on September 23, 2014

We stayed in the Rose Garden room and loved it. We loved being able to relax and play game on the porch. The hot cocoa and cappuccinos were wonderful. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to our friends. Thank you.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome stay! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on September 11, 2014

The host/hostess were amazing and treated us so kindly and really made us feel at home. My daughter and I had a great mother/daughter retreat!

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Prairie House Manor (4.71)
Top
}