Recent Reviews in De Smet, South Dakota

The best stay ever at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 27, 2016

I'd just like to say that this was the very best place to stay. The room was great and very homey, beds were extremely comfortable. The food was great and the owners were very friendly and nice. We stayed an extra night since it was much better than the camping we had planned for the next night and the price was right. My kids even loved everything there. We will definitely come back next time!!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful experience! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on August 25, 2016

The owners were friendly and gracious. The breakfast was expertly prepared and beautifully served. The house was quaint and so comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

View more reviews for this inn


Very Nice Family Friendly B&B for Laura Lovers at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on August 22, 2016

We had a wonderful stay overnight with our 4 kids. You read that right. They have rooms that can accommodate larger families. The rooms are clean and cozy and cheerful and decorated beautifully. The owner was friendly and our breakfast was great. The kids especially enjoyed their pancake men. There is a nice front porch to relax on with toys for children of all ages. We also like all the history books and local info available. If we pass through again we would definitely stay. We wished we had more time just so we could enjoy it longer.

View more reviews for this inn


A One Night Stand at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.2 reviewed on August 21, 2016

We enjoyed our one night stop over at the Prairie House Manor. Andy and Jenny were very gracious and pleasant. We felt very comfortable and welcome.We stayed in the Japanese Garden room with the hot tub and it was delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful home/family-friendly at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Comfortable home, friendly innkeepers who live on-site, fresh blueberry pancakes with cream cheese filling, excellent service at breakfast, info available about area attractions, great place for extended stay

View more reviews for this inn


Prairie House B&B at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.4 reviewed on August 12, 2016

Warm, accommodating, friendly owners! We loved our relaxing experience. Such a wonderful alternative to the "sterile" hotel room feel. We felt right at home in the beautifully decorated house. There is even a small area in front porch to keep our kids occupied while we relaxed with a cup of coffee:)

View more reviews for this inn


Great One Night Stay at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.2 reviewed on August 09, 2016

I was in town for the last night of the Laura Ingalls Wilder Pageant. Wish I'd had longer in that beautiful Japanese Garden room! The bed was incredibly comfortable, the jacuzzi tub was relaxing, and the hosts were helpful and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and I got to talk to some other guests who I ended up meeting up with later in the day out at the Ingalls Homestead. Great location in town and and overall great experience.

View more reviews for this inn


Ein Traum at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 08, 2016

Die Unterkunft ist einfach genial. Liebe Gastgeber. Es passte einfach alles. Wir kommen wieder.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful place, wonderful people! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 06, 2016

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed here in July. We were on a 3 1/2 week vacation changing hotels every night except for 2 several night stays. We were so glad we chose this as one of our places to just take our time in. Andy and Jenny were very friendly and helpful with tips on what else to do and where to go when asked. They checked on us making sure we had what we needed as well. Breakfast was delicious every morning!! The table came complete with a Little House on the Prairie trivia book which we enjoyed using while we ate. The room and bathroom were clean, beautiful and comfortable. One night we got back early with some down time and they have a nice size enclosed porch with games and toys for all ages so we enjoyed that as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Nice Find in DeSmet at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

3.6 reviewed on August 02, 2016

We came to see the Laura Ingalls Wilder Memorial and Homestead. The B&B is in the perfect location for touring both. The home was beautiful and we enjoyed seeing the uniqueness and charm of each room in the house. Andy and Jenny were wonderful hosts and provided a great breakfast. We loved the front porch and small town feel. Would have liked to have stayed two nights.

View more reviews for this inn


Little House dreamland at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

Warm, welcoming innkeepers. Wonderful breakfast. Family friendly.

View more reviews for this inn


Awesome stay in De Smet at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 30, 2016

Clean and quaint. Loved the owners, Jenny and Andy!

View more reviews for this inn


So glad we found this place! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 28, 2016

We found out about De Smet after reading the Little House books. So I planned a trip for myself, my daughter and my mother. We found The Prairie House Manor online, and I am so thankful. It was a quiet, beautiful, clean and spacious home. A perfect match for our trip. And the hosts are very friendly and helpful and want to make sure you get the full experience of the town. Breakfast was very good-- omelets and french toast and a pancake man. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

View more reviews for this inn


First B&B Experience a Success! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.4 reviewed on July 26, 2016

I was taking my grandson for an "experience" to DeSmet SD to see the Laura Ingalls Wilder pageant and Homestead. We went online to secure lodging and we saw the Prairie House Manor had an opening. I have never stayed at a B&B as my husband has a pre-conceived notion that you have to "eat with strangers." I decided to try it since he wasn't traveling with me and we had a great experience! The owners welcomed us so warmly, our room and bathroom facilities were exceptional, and the breakfast dining experience was first class! All the rooms have a different theme and our room was "Bird Song" and it was filled with birds and it was a delight! We peeked in an open room called American Freedom and it was all decorated in vintage Red, white and blue - very cool! I'd stay here again as my 1st choice in lodging! Thanks you Prairie House Manor! Deb Van Buren

View more reviews for this inn


Habenicht Family Little House on the Prairie Tour 2016 at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 26, 2016

What are warm and welcoming place to stay. Can't say enough good things about this B&B. Owners so friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. This is the place to stay in De Smet.

View more reviews for this inn


Delightful at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on July 16, 2016

Beautiful, comfortable room, wonderful friendly hosts, great dinner recommendation, nice breakfast. Overall, a delightful stay!

View more reviews for this inn


Another wonderful stay! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 13, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for the 4th time and this time we stayed 2 nights. Once more we enjoyed a most relaxing weekend and Jenny and Andy are just like old friends. I would rather stay here than in any hotel! Thank you again, Jenny and Andy, for everything! Linda and Melinda

View more reviews for this inn


Great place to stay on the prairie at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 10, 2016

We spent two nights here and had a wonderful time. Andy and Jenny have really gone above and beyond in all ways. The rooms were private, comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. They were easy to work with and flexible with our schedule as we arrived late and decided to stay an extra night. If you are looking for some place to stay while visiting the world of Little House on the Prairie this is it.

View more reviews for this inn


Excellent - clean and delicious breakfastd at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 09, 2016

G. lundberg

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2016

We had an amazing stay. Great room, and amazing service. Try the French toast is amazing!

View more reviews for this inn


A night in 'My Rose Garden' at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on July 06, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prairie House Manor! Our accomodations were wonderful and the breakfast was delicious! Andy and Jenny could not have been more pleasant!!! We loved The Little House trivia at breakfast as well as all of the special touches throughout the manor! We definitely recommend a visit there while in DeSmet!

View more reviews for this inn


Great Local Place at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

3.8 reviewed on July 05, 2016

Great place to stay to visit Ingalls sites.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing!! at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on July 01, 2016

What a wonderful place to stay! Highly recommend.

View more reviews for this inn


Prairie visit at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.8 reviewed on June 24, 2016

Two friends and I stayed a night in the Americana Medley room while we were in De Smet to see the Laura Ingalls Wilder attractions. The Todds were welcoming and easy to talk to, and provided information about De Smet that we found useful. We especially appreciated the information about the admittedly limited dining options in De Smet. The house the B&B is located in retains many architectural details that remind you you're staying in a historic home, without making you feel like you're staying in a museum. The B&B is centrally located and easily walkable to the LIW town sites as well as dining options, gas station/convenience store and the downtown shopping district. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Prairie House Manor to anyone.

View more reviews for this inn


Perfect for a Laura Ingalls Wilder Experience at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

4.6 reviewed on June 23, 2016

Our trip to De Smet was a family adventure. I brought my daughter-in-law and 2 granddaughters to tour all the local sites related to Laura Ingalls Wilder. We stayed in the Rose Room which was perfect for the 4 of us. The girls loved playing games on the wrap around porch in the evening and breakfast was delicious and delightful.

View more reviews for this inn


Great little b&b for the whole family at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

3.2 reviewed on June 15, 2016

Nice porch area and spacious room with our own bath. It was great that they allowed children and the pancake man for breakfast was a hit!

View more reviews for this inn


Prairie House Manor at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on June 08, 2016

Wonderful place to stay, with wonderful hosts. Highly recommended

View more reviews for this inn


Loved Our Stay at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on April 26, 2016

We stayed there for my birthday. Jenny made us feel right at home. Breakfast was great too. We will definitely be back

View more reviews for this inn


Where the Heart Is at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on February 08, 2016

If you are on the Laura Ingalls Wilder trail, or happy to be passing through this part of South Dakota, come to the Prairie Manor for home-style comfort and an old-fashioned welcome.

View more reviews for this inn


5 Star Stay With Personal Touch at The Prairie House Manor (De Smet, South Dakota)

5 reviewed on January 07, 2016

I was delighted to stay here. The house is beautiful and wonderfully maintained. I can't imagine how much work has gone into crafting this home, let alone keeping it in such pristine condition. Innkeepers Andy and Jenny go far, far out of their way to make you comfortable here. They made dinner recommendations (most everything was closed for the holiday, helped us find a great place to eat regardless) and even let us change rooms when we wanted to try something else on short notice. Their breakfast menu had many tasty offerings, and the food was impeccable. They have some kind of prestigious culinary credentials they are too modest to brag about-- I am sure of it! Best place to go and get away from it all and have every detail taken care of beyond your satisfaction. I've stayed in very nice and well well recognized hotels in big cities-- their amenities and service do not compare to what you will find here in DeSmet. I know I will give them more business in the future.

View more reviews for this inn


Top-ranked B&Bs

  1. The Prairie House Manor (4.71)
Top
}