Recent Reviews in Culpeper, Virginia

Country Charm at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on September 26, 2016

This was by far the best B&B we have stayed at. We were in the pool suite for two nights to celebrate an anniversary and attend a nearby wedding. Wish we would have had more time to enjoy the property. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a full kitchen. The salt water pool was fantastic and just outside our door. Eric was a great source of information and offered recommendations for dinner among other things. Loved sitting out on the large front porch. Happy hour was an added bonus. They have thought of all the little extras to make your stay special. Breakfasts were delicious. We will return again so we can take advantage of all the amenities they offer. Culpepper is only 10 minutes away with plenty of dining options and cute shops. Lots of wineries to visit as well.

View more reviews for this inn


Superb Bed and Breakfast Close to DC at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.2 reviewed on September 10, 2016

My family and I have stayed at the Inn at Little Washington, Wedmore and other highly rated facilities in the area. This was our favorite. Charming property with very gracious owners. Super location and property with a real Chanticleer to wake you up in the morning. Great cinema room, arcade and game facilities, star gazing telescopes, a heated pool and forest trails.The one area for improvement was the food. I would have given 5 stars for value if the breakfast had been anything more than extremely pedestrian. Not a huge issue because of wonderful restaurants like Fotis near by, but something a property of this caliber should improve on.

View more reviews for this inn


Great Stah! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

4.6 reviewed on August 26, 2016

We loved Walden Hall! What a hidden gem! The owner's have invested their heart & soul into this place and thought of all the "little things" - gorgeous view, beautiful Pool we did not get to try, movie theatre, Ms.pacman, beer on tap! The home itself and rooms are impeccably decorated. The only glitch is if you care about noise do not stay in the main level room - you can hear every clank of a spoon or the doors opening and shutting as well as the people above (they tried to lessen the noise by setting the dining room table up the night before which was really nice but it still was bothersome). My one other piece of advice- you say happy hour is on the "weekends" but do not consider sunday the weekend but you do friday? It would be better to say "happy hour Friday & Saturday" We will definitely return but will stay on the top level! This place is worth checking out - and they are opening a brewery a few miles away!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing place and amazing staff! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 09, 2016

Our stay was absolutely fantastic, in spite of it being over 100 degrees outside while we were there! The rooms were perfect, and the hosts have thought of everything. We'll be back for sure!

View more reviews for this inn


Incredible, luxury getaway in the hart of Virginia wine country!!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 02, 2016

What was better? The delicious food, our gorgeous room? the theater room? the amazing location with bike riding and hiking right outside the front door? the magnificent pool. I cannot say enough about this B&B and Eric's wonderful hospitality. He made us vegan French toast. WE WILL BE BACK!

View more reviews for this inn


Unmatched Luxury! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 01, 2016

My wife and I have been frequent visitors to the Piedmont region since we moved to Northern Virginia seven years ago. We've stayed at almost every luxury inn and hotel in Charlottesville, Orange and Culpeper and nothing that we've ever experienced could hold a candle to Walden Hall. It was a truly unique and refreshing experience. The property has so much to do and experience that we ended up canceling our dinner reservations in Washington and ordered takeout to enjoy poolside. We finished our evening by watching the perfect sunset on the front porch. Utterly stunning! We tried to extend our stay but they were fully booked for the following night. Eric was gracious enough to let us check out late and stay on the property for a few hours to test out the movie theater and take one last dip in the pool. We love you guys! See you again in September! -Beth and Mike

View more reviews for this inn


Love This Place at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 24, 2016

This is not our first stay at Walden Hall, and it won't be our last! We love the rooms, the staff, and the setting. On this visit we hiked the Rose River Trail. It was beautiful! For our next visit to Walden Hall we are hoping for a longer stay that will allow for more time to explore the area.

View more reviews for this inn


Weekend Getaway at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 07, 2016

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at Walden Hall. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The property is beautiful and the rooms were well appointed. We definitely plan to make a return visit.

View more reviews for this inn


walden hall honeymoon experience at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 05, 2016

Best vacation we have had in a long time!! The inkeepers were amazing and made sure we had everything we needed and more. The breakfasts they cooked and served us on the front porch made us feel so spoiled! (: We stayed in the Longfellow loft and and it was a total luxury! My husband and I got in the whirlpool tub and watched a movie every night. We purchased some bath salts while we were there that were a very nice treat. The softest, fluffiest robes were included in our room and coffee maker, chocolates our room keeper left for us after she cleaned. The game room downstairs was really fun. We played pool every day we were there. Walden Hall thought of everything. We only left for food, haha. They had all the comforts and activities to do that we stayed comfortable and entertained for days. We wished we could have stayed longer. We will deffinetly be coming back!

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect stay! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 22, 2016

We travel to central Virginia twice a year and for the past five years we have stayed at the Inn at Little Washington for every visit. We decide to break the routine this year and booked with Walden Hall after seeing them in the Virginia’s Best awards magazine. They certainly did not disappoint. Walden Hall truly lived up to its reputation as one of Virginia’s great luxury retreats, making our special 30th anniversary that much more special. Here's what we loved: - the understated physical beauty of the property is undeniable, with gorgeous views of the countryside from every corner - the salt water, modern style pool and patio is a sophisticated, relaxing retreat after a full day of wine tasting - They have more amenities than a large resort: a movie theatre, real arcade, billiards, fishing, firepits… the list goes on and on.. - the complimentary tastings to their partner vineyards made our wine country exploration even more enjoyable (tip: talk to Eric about planning a perfect wine tour) - we loved the Walt Whitman Suite, taking advantage of the hot tub balcony with a glass of Virginia wine - the complimentary beer and local craft beer tastings in the club were a surprise! (About 50% of the property is not shown on the website so we were constantly finding new hidden places to relax and enjoy.) Of course, the real standout at the world's best hotels and resorts is outstanding service, and we experienced this level of service throughout our visit to Walden Hall. Eric and Evanne took excellent care of us, their recommendations on where to visit and top notch concierge service made our trip one of the best of the decade. Tucked back in the picturesque rolling hills, Walden Hall really is heaven in wine country. We can't wait to return.

View more reviews for this inn


55th B-day with 4 days of perfect retreat. 5+ at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 06, 2016

I took my husband for his 18th of April Bday. I searched via internet all VA B&Bs within 2 hours drive from DC. Walden Hall attracted my attention because of the highest reviews - all 5+. But there were only 11 (I learned that this is because it is a newly opened one and all reviews are from REAL people). I took a chance. This was the BEST B&B experience. We have traveled extensively around the word and the US. It is even better then the photos and the reviews. Rooms are spacious, extremely clean, with great design and all furnishings are of the highest quality. Bathrooms with the brand new equipment. Towel warmers, plush robes, fresh flowers, fantastic views on the pond and fields. Huge deck - a nice place to have a second cup of your morning coffee. The surprise is the Club! In the elegantly decorated basement, we played pool, darts, tasted draft IPA beer ( hand-made by the owners, free), watched a movie in a fantastic home theatre with an outstanding surround sound. There were an excellent gym, a small basketball and a hockey table. The outside pool was closed at that time. Though we will definately come back once it is warmer and we can enjoy the salted water pool. Breakfasts are great, eggs come from own chickens! Plenty of good quality coffee, nice offer of fruits, cereal, yogurts, croissants and various breads. The owners Julie and Dave surrounded us with such care that we felt like home. They graciously upgraded us to the Honeymoon Suite (four rooms suite) - luxurious heaven. Surprised my husband with a birthday chocolate cake, a candle and rose peddles all over the bed. Please do not waste time and money, give yourself a perfect gift! Retreat at the Walden Hall. Me and my husband are coming back in June and bringing my parents with us. Thank you, Julia and Dave, for making my husband's birthday such an unforgettable experience!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful, Relaxing Bed and Breakfast at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on April 25, 2016

We spent two nights at the Walden Hall Bed and Breakfast. The room was beautiful and clean. The innkeepers, Eric and Evanne, were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Their knowledge and contacts with the people in town was a great asset. It was very relaxing just to sit by the large pond which was very clean.

View more reviews for this inn


Best of the best! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on December 08, 2015

We just spent three wonderful days at Walden Hall. It is perfection. We stayed in the huge Whitman Grande Suite. The bed was SO comfortable with great pillows and a perfect bathroom. It seems every detail has been thought of and tastefully attended to, from comforts to decorations. The club was a real treat and we enjoyed having movie night in the theater. It was a little chilly during our stay but we were still able to enjoy the firepits and some fishing in the pond. A beautiful property, beautifully decorated. And the food: every breakfast was a wonder, great food, beautifully prepared and served. Eric and Evanne are perfect hosts. I can go on and on. My only caveat is that having stayed there we are now thoroughly spoiled for anywhere else.…

View more reviews for this inn


Fantastic weekend for a special occasion at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 18, 2015

We stayed at Walden Hall as a surprise weekend jaunt for my girlfriend's birthday. I had read the reviews on-line, and seen the pictures, and was very impressed. The photos and the reviews simply could not do the venue justice. The reality was FAR FAR better. Firstly, my experience of booking the reservation was very smooth, and when I talked to Eric, he was super helpful. As soon as I got off the phone, I knew that this was going to be a good weekend. He was congenial, resourceful, and full of great ideas for what we could do for the weekend. We arrived late, and Eric came and checked us in very quickly, gave a grand tour, and showed us all of the amenities. We were speechless - the house is spotless, modern, the lighting is amazing, and the suite we had - the Walden Grand Suite - it was beyond our expectations. The fireplace was gorgeous, complete with a lamb skin rug, the lighting was beautiful, the bathroom was great, and the shower was beautiful, complete with a his and hers shower. Eric was a phenomenal host, and he was attentive to our every need. Upon our arrival he gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (great!), and we enjoyed two amazing breakfasts at this beautiful estate. I would HIGHLY recommend this venue for a weekend or a night. It is well worth the time and money. Thank you Eric and Evanne!

View more reviews for this inn


The absolute best! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 14, 2015

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many of the top boutique luxury hotels. This is by far the best place I have ever stayed and I would HIGHLY recommend this inn to anyone considering a trip to Virginia or a calming getaway! The inn keepers Eric and Evanne were so warm and inviting. They went out of their way to accommodate me as a vegan not only with a scrumptious breakfast each morning but even during hors d'oeuvres. The food was so good in fact that even my husband, who is not vegan, was blown away by how good the vegan breakfast was. The rooms were immaculately clean and the ability to sit in the tub and have the fireplace on while watching a movie was absolute bliss… I am considering having a fireplace like that installed in my own home. It’s funny, I stumbled upon this inn on a simple web search and it turned out to be the most charming, coziest place I have ever stayed. I could not have asked for a better place to stay or better people to share it with, the staff members were fabulous. Thank you for making this trip so memorable for me!

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful Breakfast! A True Luxury B&B! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 13, 2015

Walden Hall was everything we expected it to be, and more! The room (and bed) was supremely comfortable and the suite was gigantic! The views were exquisite. The breakfasts were delicious and sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine was relaxing at the end of full day of sights and experiences. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone going to Virginia wine country!

View more reviews for this inn


Highly Recommened at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 10, 2015

Walden Hall was absolutely beautiful inside and outside. We stayed in the Longfellow Loft and loved it! The breakfast was our favorite part, so delicious! Walden Hall definitely exceeded our expectations and I would highly recommend staying!

View more reviews for this inn


The best B&B! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on October 03, 2015

My first visit to Walden Hall is one to remember! I needed a getaway after visiting family in Virginia and stumbled upon this gem of a place. It´s a beautiful house, and the interior design/decoration of the rooms merits a spread in home and architectural magazines. Aesthetically speaking, this is one of the loveliest B & B's I have ever experienced. (Honestly, I had begun to stay away from them in my travels over the years because I didn't like the decor or service of many.) Walden Hall has made a new believer out of me. I slept peacefully on the luxuriously soft sheets on a bed with just the right firmness and eagerly looked forward to the gourmet breakfasts served each morning. Delicious! Evanne and Eric make you feel at home, providing an astonishing number of amenities and delights. I did not have time to experience an in-room massage but I will be scheduling one on my next visit. Most of all, I appreciated their attention to detail. Eric made reservations at two wonderful restaurants during my stay and he somehow ensured that the vineyards knew I would be arriving for tastings. Clearly Evanne and Eric have a strong relationships with these places. I was so appreciative of the special requests that they put in for me. Truly a relaxing, peaceful, and elegant getaway. I'm sending all of my friends.

View more reviews for this inn


Beautiful, Peaceful, Fun.......Can't wait to return!! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 13, 2015

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Every inch of the home is gorgeous and sparkling clean and we felt very comfortable and at home. Our suite was stunning, just perfect with beautiful views. Eric and Evanne are such attentive and sweet people. We loved being in the saltwater pool at sunset. The club in the basement was a huge surprise. My only complaint was only having booked it for only one night. I am already planning our return trip!!

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing Experience! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on August 07, 2015

Our visit to Walden Hall was the most unique B&B experience that we have ever had! Instead of your typical stuffy B&B governed by cheery (or grumpy) retirees; Walden Hall provided a relaxed resort style atmosphere. The pros: -The details were amazing! Nightly turn down service, beautiful room designs, social happy hour, even artfully rolled Egyptian cotton towels in the gym. I could go on forever.. -More amenities than most large resorts! We spent hours by the saltwater pool, played billiards in “the club”, went fishing by the lake and stayed up late playing mrs pacman in the arcade! -Amazing Innkeepers! Evanne and Eric are probably the most thoughtful, caring and professional hosts that we have ever encountered. -Tons to do in the area! We had a lovely evening at Its about Thyme toured a local distillery and took a short drive up to Ducard Vineyards to sit and relax with some good wine. -Amazing breakfast experience! The meals are locally sourced, simple yet elegant and utterly delicious. We ate on the front porch and watched the birds fly around the gardens before taking a walk around the pond. The light classical music outside was an excellent touch! The cons: -We did not have time to use the fire pit or the theater! We will have to stay again for more than two nights so we can try to do a little of everything. We will be back very soon and will be bringing our friends! Thank you so much for your hospitality and congratulations on your success!

View more reviews for this inn


Fabulous weekend stay at Walden Hall! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 12, 2015

Erik and Evanne are wonderful hosts. We stayed in the luxurious Walt Whitman grande suite and spent the weekend lounging in the beautiful saltwater swimming pool. The bed and linens are top of the line, and the breakfasts on the large front porch were delicious with a gorgeous view. Happy hours were fun times to visit with other guests and try some great wines. Looking forward to future stays at this fantastic resort!! Highly recommended.

View more reviews for this inn


Amazing! at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on July 01, 2015

This new Inn allows you to reconnect with nature as Thoreau would have imagined but in a manor far removed from a sparse cabin on Walden Pond. The innkeepers Eric and Evanne are attentive but not intrusive responding to every small request with warm hospitality. The Inn and grounds are spectacular. We stayed in the Walt Whitman Grande and it was just that absolutely grand! Luxurious but touchable. The breakfasts were imaginative and delicious and they easily accommodated our gluten free requirement. They served wine and cheese, late afternoon, with local Virginia wines including our favorite winery DuCard. We stayed for three nights and it was a perfect getaway. Walden Hall would be lovely any time of year.

View more reviews for this inn


The perfect escape at Walden Hall (Reva, Virginia)

5 reviewed on May 28, 2015

Walden Hall is absolutely perfect. The grounds are amazing and our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. The best breakfast and cookies ever! The staff was phenomenal.

View more reviews for this inn


Lovely home in the woods, warm, friendly hosts... at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

3.6 reviewed on October 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn so that we would have close proximity to Old Rag Mountain and White Oak Canyon trails for hiking. The Diana room was generous in size and the soaking tub was a treat after our long days of hiking. The breakfasts were hot and good and the conversations enjoyable.

View more reviews for this inn


A Night away from DC at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

3.0 reviewed on July 29, 2014

It was a pretty nice B&B. It seemed a little pricey for what we got. Though we were trying to "get away", there was no cell service and no WiFi, which was a bit disconcerting, especially given that we had left our kids with a sitter and didn't like being unreachable.

View more reviews for this inn


Wonderful stay at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

3.8 reviewed on July 10, 2014

Even though we stay for just one night, my wife and I enjoy the stay that much that we have done this for twelve years.

View more reviews for this inn


A Grand One Night Stay at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on November 20, 2013

Will be back for the great hospitality!!! Seane and Frank are both wonderfully awesome people and really know how to make thier guests feel at home. Thank you so much

View more reviews for this inn


Easy access to Old Rag and Great breakfast at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

3.2 reviewed on September 27, 2013

The Inn keepers are very nice people. Shauna was extremely accommodating about a late check in on Friday night. Breakfast both mornings was delicious. The dining table was set each morning with lovely china. The cottage could use updating, but the bed was comfortable and the area is wonderfully quiet. The Inn is not far from Old Rag and made our hiking weekend convenient.

View more reviews for this inn


a lovely weekend at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

4.0 reviewed on September 04, 2013

very nice place. cottage was cozy and comfortable. Seane Malone is a lovely lady and the chef was a hoot!

View more reviews for this inn


Was there twice and hope to come more at Inn on Thistle Hill & Wellness Center (Boston, Virginia)

5 reviewed on June 05, 2013

An absolutely great place. Rooms are clean and breakfast is delicious. Frank (the chef) makes it a point that you know that all ingridients are bought at Amish market, organicaly grown, fresh and unlike anything that can be found in mainstream grocery stores. While you savor every piece, Frank and Shawna are like to talk and are full of stories from organic cooking to spas to recreation to what healthy eating really means. Absolutely outstanding place, I'be been there twice, 7 years ago as well as just recently and hope to make it a yearly get away.

View more reviews for this inn


Top
}