The Quinnipiack Club Reviews

Overall
4.3

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Service4.3
  • Value4.5
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.9

Score Breakdown based on
72 Reviews

Write A Review

charming, reasonable, classic

3.2 on September 20, 2014

old world charm, club atmosphere, reasonable rates


old-fashioned, mostly pleasantly

3.6 on September 15, 2014

Much of this hotel felt to me and my daughter like a stopover in the past, because the building and decor remain largely what they must have been a century ago. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We did not dine in the hotel, only ate the modest buffet breakfasts.


Great value for overnight stay

4.6 on August 29, 2014

I found the Quinnipiack Club online while looking at hotels around New Haven. The room I found at the Club was much cheaper and better looking than the hotels I was seeing in my price range. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and convenient location.


Love been there!

3.8 on August 28, 2014

Clean, very good service. The breakfast was delicious. The only thing they could do is to change the shower curtain of the bathroom.


Exactly what I need

4.6 on August 10, 2014

The Q Club in New Haven is exactly what I need for my occasional visits to New Haven and my trips to New York. (I can leave my car with them for a modest fee and take a cab to the train station.) The rooms are great, service excellent, food good. Great value.


Staying at "The Club" in New Haven

4.6 on August 05, 2014

I almost hate to expose this gem to everyone else, but for location--close to the New Haven Green and Yale--you cannot beat The Quinnipiack Club. If you want to feel like you belong to a private club then this is the place. The room was comfortable and the continental breakfast in the dining room really helped to start our day. We were within easy walking distance of the Green (where we enjoyed music and exhibits at a festival) and a variety of restaurants. We also enjoyed a leisurely walk to the Yale Art Museum and strolled the campus. Our main purpose was to visit friends and now that we know about the Quinnipiack Club, we hope to return some day.


Summer weekend in New Haven/Yale

3.6 on July 30, 2014

Needed a flexible space in case our daughter also needed to stay with us (she did) and it gave us fantastic proximity to the city center, Yale and fund restaurant choices.


Nice place

4.8 on July 28, 2014

Very nice/neat/nostalgic. Staff was very friendly. Great location.


Excellent!

4.8 on July 28, 2014

Stayed one night, and I've already booked it again for 3 more nights next month. Great deal, great staff, great value, great location. I can't think of a bad thing to say! :D


A great stay at a great bargain

4.6 on July 20, 2014

I chose the Quinnipiack Club because of the location and because of the availability of specifically twin rooms at a very inexpensive rate. Unfortunately, my traveling companion had to change her plans, but the Club was still a very good value for a single visitor. The staff is very welcoming, the breakfast better than basic continental and the gentlemen's 1871 club ambience is charming. And half a block from New Haven Green is a wonderful location.


Great Stay!

5 on July 02, 2014

Great Place to stay. Amazing location and Great Stay. Definitely recommend. Clean, Great Price, Amazing location right in the middle of town, Friendly and helpful staff, Beautiful hotel and great breakfast. What else can I say.


Q Club

4.4 on May 28, 2014

Clean, incredible deal, delightful staff.


Perfect location, friendly staff

4.0 on May 16, 2014

It has the intimacy of a club, free parking behind the building, walking distance to all sights and restaurants. We liked the Yale guided tour and the exceptional Yale Art Museum, very much. We recommend this place!


Historic property

3.6 on April 03, 2014

Great location, charming historic building, fair price, friendly staff, beautiful dining room, decent continental breakfast, underused sauna and workout room available 24/7.


Historical and friendly setting

4.4 on January 30, 2014

The Q Club has a formal interior with much art on display. But it's not at all "stuffy" for visitors. The staff provides a very warm welcome. My spouse and I enjoyed our stay a lot.


Very friendly staff

4.4 on January 18, 2014

I stayed at the Q Club for a week and half when I first moved to New Haven from out of state. The building and the decor are like many similar buildings in New Haven, somewhat quaint but with modern facilities. It's a country club, quieter than a regular hotel I normally stay in, and the staff were super friendly. I had a bad cold, and so asked for hot water a few times at the beginning. In the next few days, the staff often asked if I felt better, whether I needed anything, and the like. When there was an issue with the heating in my room, the manager looked around and gave me a free upgrade to the only room left, which turned out to be a much nicer suite than my original room. And when I checked out, the manager looked at the bill, realized I had stayed for quite a few days, and simply gave me a good discount right away. That was really unexpected. It struck me that the staff cared more about making guests feel at home than running a business. I would certainly recommend the hotel to others.


Wonderful experience

4.8 on November 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at The Q Club for a trip to Yale. The staff was helpful, courteous and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast in The Carriage Room- the perfect ambiance to set the tone for our day. Thank you Q Club staffers!


Good value, great location.

3.0 on October 30, 2013

Very handy to the Yale campus


Great Stay in downtown New Haven

4.2 on October 25, 2013

The Q Club was a pleasant surprise. The building is historical and extremely charming. The room was clean and comfortable, with a nice retro decor. There was free wi-fi available and the breakfast is served in a spacious room. One of the best banana muffins I ever had! There is a U$ 12,00 charge for parking. It was a great value for money and I would definitely stay again.


Central, cheap but no-frills stay in New Haven

2.4 on October 17, 2013

First things first: the Q Club isn't a hotel, an inn or even a B&B - it's a private members' club which allows non-members to book rooms. As a result, the Q Club lacks a few of the finishing touches you would expect for the price paid, but it was far cheaper than anywhere else we could find in New Haven ($116/£80 including parking and tax) and very central. Central New Haven is a parking nightmare and the Q Club has a car park for guest use, but we were surprised to be told this was $12.50 per day - I would really expect parking to be included. There is also no WiFi in the rooms, which is something most guests will expect, though you are able to use WiFi in the lounge area. The Q Club lobby and lounge areas are very ornate, but when we were surprised at how small and dated the room was. The furnishings have clearly not been updated in some time and need refurbishment - the plug sockets were precarious, the windows cannot be opened and the bathroom needs modernisation. In addition, when we were drenched by a sudden downpour and planned to put the heating on in the room to warm up and dry our clothes, we discovered the thermostat didn't work and were told by the front desk that the heating would "automatically switch on soon" - but it never did. Unfortunately, much as I wanted to like the Q Club, I was left with an impression of it which can only be summed up by the phrase "fading glory". Breakfast was one of the Q Club's only saving graces - whilst there was no cooked breakfast there were bagels, croissants, muffins, fruit, yoghurt and more, and the dining area is very luxurious. The other saving grace is the Q Club's close proximity to Yale, as it is only a 10 minute walk away. So in summary, although I wasn't very impressed with the Q Club, as one of New Haven's only cheap and centrally-located accommodation options I would still recommend staying there - as long as you are aware that your stay will be basic and very much no frills.


Best kept secret in New Haven

4.8 on October 16, 2013

What a surprise is the QClub.....stay there when you are in New Haven for any Yale activity.


One night stand

3.6 on September 04, 2013

Nice, old and clean rooms. Breakfast was a failure sadly.


Great location!

4.2 on August 30, 2013

Our stay was great. The only problem we experienced was that though the staff were extremly friendly they often were not able to help us with questions. Also, we were not kept informed about activities such as the continental breakfast, etc.


A great stay at the Q Club New Haven

4.8 on August 25, 2013

Great in every way - well located, reasonable price, helpful & cheerful service, comfortable old-style room. Highly recommended.


Charming, with history

4.4 on August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Q-Club. They were undergoing renovations, so there was a fair bit of paint and plastering going on, but we loved the feel of the place. We walked two blocks up the street to the Graduate Club for our breakfast, since the kitchen was closed. Fresh fruit, homemade scones or muffins, oatmeal, coffee, tea, cereals, hot hardboiled eggs- very yummy, and in a delightful dining room. We'll be back!


Would come here again

4.0 on August 12, 2013

Good price, great character, great food, great staff, great location. Even got a mini personal tour of the Graduate Club!


Good place for a reasonable price

4.0 on August 12, 2013

Good place for a decent price. Nice people that help out when needed. the rooms and accommodations are very good and reasonably clean. do not have good WiFi coverage. The location is very good- close both to Yale and to the town center.


Excellent Stay

4.2 on July 10, 2013

Quinnipiack Club is a great little hotel to stay in if you are traveling to New Haven. I had a clean room, comfortable bed, good breakfast, friendly and effective staff, and safe location. I would highly recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay again if I returned to New Haven!


Excellent choice, with minor quibbles

4.0 on July 01, 2013

Cheaper than others (specifically twin bed room), respectable in tone (!), small, friendly staff, quiet, breakfast included. Unfortunate that you cannot open the windows (at least in the room that we chose), as the air conditioner was not adequate. Also they should be careful to inform guests that there is a $12 fee/night for parking. They didn't charge us however when we told them that we didn't know this.


Great deal!

4.8 on June 21, 2013

Very reasonably priced and conveniently close to Yale. The only downside is that WiFi can only be picked up in the common areas, not the rooms.


In the heart of New Haven

4.2 on June 06, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Q Club's stately elegance and great location. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A great value. We'll be back!


great place to stay in New Haven

4.2 on May 21, 2013

Really convenient to Yale campus, in a quaint, quiet and more personalized environment. Didn't eat there, but nice to have the dining room available


Yale parent

4.2 on May 08, 2013

Love this place - friendly, clean, and good value. Great location for Yale visit.


A gem in New Haven

4.0 on April 29, 2013

This is a sleepy old but comfortable inn at about half the price of other nice hotels in the area---my room and bathroom had recently been updated and were very comfortable. Some of the hallways, etc, are a little careworn but overall it is a nice place to stay when visiting a student at Yale.


Q-Club, April 4-5, 2013

4.2 on April 21, 2013

Clean comfortable room in a convenient location close to Yale.


Short NH Trip

4.0 on March 29, 2013

Stayed two nights at Q Club - perfect location for wandering downtown New Haven. Great old building as well. Breakfast was continental only which was not an issue for me.


Our stay

4.2 on February 21, 2013

We loved the place. Maybe not a 5 star hotel...but who needs that when you've got a great location, the friendliest staff, and very very comfortable accommodations. We will definitely go back.


A weekend back at Yale.

4.8 on January 23, 2013

A wonderful atmosphere and convenient to Yale activities.


Charming, Convenient

4.8 on October 17, 2012

The Q-Club has an old-world club feel to it, with a lot of history -- and an old-style bowling alley (not for public use) as well as a small gym. Perfect location for a visit to Yale or work downtown. The restaurants are open only to members, except for the continental breakfast buffet, which was ok but not outstanding. Overall, a great place to stay.


OUR STAY DURING YALE MOVE IN

4.4 on September 03, 2012

A great place to stay, very convenient for Yale campus, very friendly staff, Overall a very positive experience, great value for money.


A very good and comfortable experience!

5 on May 30, 2012

We were in New Haven for just one night for a private event. The QClub was the perfect place - well located, calm, elegant. Not newly refurbished, but the well-kept historic building (both rooms and public spaces) are beautiful in their classic way, wonderful art collection, and absolutely superb service. Nice continental breakfast included in a beautiful dining room overlooking the street. Highly recommend.


Club Experience

4.2 on April 15, 2012

If you are looking for a pleasant staff, large clean rooms and proximity to Yale, this place can be bested.


My first night in the U.S.

5 on February 23, 2012

I am a Chinese and spend my first night in the U.S. at Quinnipiack Club. I had a good night and thought this place wonderful. Its building and decoration style attract me most.


One night at the Quinnipiack

3.0 on February 13, 2012

Came into New Haven for one night. Service and accommodations at the Quinnipiack Club were good. It's centrally located and comfortable.


Convenient location and good service.

3.8 on February 07, 2012

Perfect place for visitng Yale and surrounding area. Many thanks for welcoming reception, flexibility of desk hours and access to wi-fi.


Absolutely Stunning

4.8 on December 12, 2011

Stayed here on business and was blown away by the food and amazing service. A must stay for anyone in the area. No gym, was the only negative...


Perhaps past its prime but still nice

3.0 on October 28, 2011

Beautiful building but some peeling wallpaper etc. Nice service. Dinner at the grille was very good but limited menu - not vegetarian friendly.


Quinnipiac Club — highly recommended

4.4 on October 13, 2011

Our room was enormous — really unusually spacious — with a comfortable bed, good lighting, quiet and mostly well-equipped (we needed to ask for a second cup and some cutlery, but most visitors probably won't be using the very serviceable kitchenette. We did, and it made our stay even better. Staff are friendly and helpful.


Just the ticket for YU and historic NH

4.4 on October 11, 2011

You can't get a better location for visiting Yale and downtown New Haven, and certainly the price makes The Quinnipiack a bargain. Although the hallways and rooms could stand some updating, our room and especially the bath was very clean, staff friendly and helpful when help was needed. It has some beautiful public rooms and the intimacy of the private club aspect. We'll be happy to stay at the Q on return visits.


Quinnipiack Club - September 15-18, 2011

4.0 on October 02, 2011

The suite that I was assigned was well furnished and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. The internet service enabled me to work efficiently and stay in contact with my office.


Q Club is traditional and good

3.6 on September 29, 2011

It was a very enjoyable trip 70 years into the past. Plush digs in the Exec Suite on the second floor. Couldn't afford it, but told myself I deserved to live like an Exec for one day. Only wished for a cocktail party en suite and enough chums for a couple rounds of bowling in the basement.


On Yale's doorstep

4.0 on September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Q whilst dropping off our daughter at Yale University. It was very well situated and was within walking distance of all the places we need to get to eg the Campus, banks, overseas students offices etc. We ate at the club on the Friday night and the food (a market garden menu) was probable the best food we had during our 2 week visit to the States- excellent! We would have eaten there again however for some reason the restaurant was not open on the Sat or Sun night. The continental Breakfast was also very good but an optional cooked breakfast was not available. (this could have been an isolated incident). The accommodation was very comfortable and the public areas impressive although were undergoing renovations. (this did not intrude on our stay). We will definitely be booking in again next time we visit and have recommended the Q to several friends who will be visiting our daughter over the next 4 years. Well done to Richard, Anthony and the rest of the staff.


What a well-kep secret!

4.6 on August 31, 2011

For those of us who are forced to look for available, reasonably priced rooms during any Yale parents' event (drop off day, Parents weekend, etc), we are usually left with The Study, Omni or New Haven Hotel ($$$$$) or the less-than-convenient chains in questionable New Haven neighborhoods. The Q Club is a great alternative---cool location, clean rooms, very good helpful staff and YES off-street parking included! I paid just over $100 per night which is 25% of what I would have paid at the others listed above. Security is good (I spent the weekend just before Hurricane Irene and there were flashlights left with very good instructions regarding safety in storms). There is a bit of an old feeling to the Club---a little care-worn and musty---but I kind of liked the charm of it vs the cookie-cutter pool smell of other hotel chains. DEFINITELY staying here again.


A Comfortable Home away from Home

4.4 on August 30, 2011

What a pleasant place and so near to downtown and Yale and many fine restaurants. I'll make this my home when visiting New Haven in the future.


Quinnipiack Club

5 on August 29, 2011

I was very pleased with the level of detail the club provide me and my guests during our stay and dining.


Q club

4.6 on August 28, 2011

I did not get to sample the food so can't comment on that, but the staff was wonderful and the bed was terrific!


Great, Reasonably Priced Place to Stay in NH

4.4 on July 25, 2011

I was surprised that this place is open to the public, not just members (as they indicate on their website). For someone looking for a clean, quiet, reasonably priced place to stay in New Haven, this is a great option. The staff was very helpful and the rooms are quiet, clean and pleasant.


Good value, great location, excellent staff.

4.8 on July 01, 2011

Very good rate for a location almost adjacent to Yale and the Green. They have reasonable parking, too. My only problem was that the cabled internet in my room wasn't working. (The guest-access computer was never busy, so it wasn't much of a problem.) Recommended.


Better than a hotel

4.6 on June 22, 2011

Very quiet, comfortable chairs in the room, huge closet, large chest of drawers. Commode a wee bit too close to the sink in the bathroom. Continental breakfast fresh and delicious. Right in the center of town, yet felt very safe and secluded. Overall a very classy place.


College tour 2011

4.8 on June 20, 2011

Terrific place to stay - clean, friendly and great location! Best value in New Haven.


Quinnipiack Club - June 2-5, 2011

4.0 on June 08, 2011

Staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was clean and well organized.


Old world style and elegance

4.4 on May 31, 2011

Ideal New Haven location, superb service and attention to detail. Rooms are very quiet and comfortable. This veteran traveller highly recommends it.


Graduation Weekend at the Quinnipiack Club

4.8 on May 27, 2011

This was our first stay at the club in 25 years. We had a spacious junior suite, which included a mini fridge and 2 closets. Plenty of room with tasteful decor. Flat screen tv, iron and hairdryer in room and many outlets for all of our electronics and high speed internet included. The Club staff from management, to catering, to waitstaff and housekeeping was competent and welcoming. We had one issue with bedding that was rectified immediately and pleasantly. We felt at home during this busy time. Our private dining experience for 45 exceeded all expectations, our guests are still raving about the food and the service. The Club catering staff worked closely with us until the time of the event and made the coordination and management of 9 families go smoothly. The food was outstanding even in comparison to a far more expensive and exclusive dinner experience the next night at other establishment. Continental Breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins and pastry are self serve in a quaint dining room with beautiful light. We also enjoyed the omlet station on graduation day. The Q club's environment is classic and elegant decor with down home friendly service. A perfectly wonderful visit.


Civilized, Comfortable, and a Great Value

4.6 on April 20, 2011

This is an excellent location, right off the Green in New Haven. My room (a junior suite - I believe their mid-level room) was extremely spacious. The decor of the club and the rooms is certainly dated, but everything was very clean, comfortable, and fully functioning. It's too bad the grill room and bar wasn't open later, and the breakfast included with the room price was strictly continental, but everything was very good and I would stay there again. Also, the parking behind the club was convenient and very reasonably priced.


March 11-12 at the Quinnipiack Club

4.0 on March 29, 2011

My 10 year old son and I had a wonderful time at this beautiful historical place! thank you very much for making is feel at home!


Great location for touring Yale

3.2 on February 15, 2011

My only complaint about the Q Club was that the front desk clerk failed to call our taxi at the prearranged time - but it worked out OK as when we came downstairs and reminded him, the taxi came very quickly and we were still on time to our train. Location/ proximity to Yale campus was great! Enjoyed reading about the history of the Q Club and experiencing it too


I will return to The Quinnipiack Club

4.8 on November 14, 2010

The manager, Richter Elser, runs the hotel with customer service top and foremost. I highly recommend this establishment, and its location is within a minute of Yale campus and a short walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and theatres etc. Breakfast was included and perfect. I did not eat other meals there, so cannot comment on the dining room.


A Well-Kept Secret!

4.0 on November 10, 2010

My wife and I like to stay at old clubs and we choose this one almost every time we visit New Haven. While the decor is a little dated, the rooms and suites are spacious, clean and quiet. Importantly, the beds are comfortable. Best of all, you can't beat the price for accommodations like this right next to Yale's campus. We have not tried eating dinner at the club, but the dining room is often crowded on the weekedns, so the food must not be bad. Breakfast fare is pretty standard (continental style, with hot breakfast usually available on request). Staff is very friendly and accommodating.


Lovely stay

4.6 on November 10, 2010

I had a lovely stay at the Quinnipiack Club this weekend. The hotel staff was helpful and welcoming and the room was clean, and comfortable with a nicely updated bathroom.


Totally unexpected

3.8 on October 11, 2010

I lived in New Haven for (10) years and never knew thais place had rooms for rent. It was very cute and a bargain considering the alternatives in the area. The staff was exceptionally nice and the continental breakfast was exceptionally tasty. Room was adequate, if a little small and the hallway leading to it could use a little repair, and the parking was a little pricey, but all in all this was a good solid value for New Haven Downtown. Worth the visit.


Yale Visit 2010

5 on October 11, 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and charming, and the food was delicious!


A Weekend Well Spent

4.6 on May 27, 2010

My family & I look back on our stay and consider it something of a private retreat. The location was ideal for our purposes (Yale University), and the staff could not have been more accomodating. Our compliments to the chef as well.


The Quinnipiack Club

Details

  • Nightly Rate $99 - $220
  • Reviews (72) 4.3
  • Rooms 21

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2035623147

View details

Top