The Inn at Fairfield Beach Reviews

Overall
4.1

View details

  • Guest room4.3
  • Service4.2
  • Value4.0
  • Cleanliness4.5
  • Dining3.4

Score Breakdown based on
70 Reviews

Write A Review

Great accommodation in a great location!

4.4 on October 29, 2014

The room was clean and spacious; the reception warm & friendly; and the location was a pleasant block walk to the beach! The room was very comfortable; however, the individual in the next room partied all night long, then held loud telephone conversations the next morning - could use better sound proofing between rooms.


Pleasant stay

4.0 on October 29, 2014

On the way from Boston to New York we decided spontaneous to stay in Fairfiled. The decision to try it in "The Inn" was a lucky pull. We feeled us very welcome. The staff made reservation in a good restaurant for us and the room had been very charming. We will come again when we will be again in this region.


Exceptional inn

3.8 on October 14, 2014

The owners clearly care about their property. It is well maintained with nice touches of flowers. The rooms exceeded my expectations; the property appears to have had a recent makeover. We recommend this Inn if you need a place to stay in Fairfield/Fairfield Beach!


Wonderful room and space!

4.6 on October 13, 2014

We stayed at The Inn at Fairfield Beach for a wedding this October -- a large number of the bridal party also stayed at the Inn along with us. It was such a delight to open the door to our room -- the room was absolutely wonderful; clean, bright and fresh. The place was spotless and it was nice and homey with a beach vibe. Everything was great, including the staff, and the complementary muffins in the fridge were delicious! I would most certainly recommend this hotel.


Enjoyable Stay

4.4 on September 30, 2014

Attended a wedding at Fairfield Beach. Reserved room 35 a 2 bedroom suite for two nights (Friday & Saturday). The Suite was well appointed & spotless. The staff accommodating & very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay at the Inn again.


not what I expected at all.

2.0 on September 16, 2014

First of all, I spent and extra 50 bucks a day because in the description of the room listed online, it implied it had a balcony overlooking the beach. This hotel is not on the beach, just very close to it. The balcony had a view of a neighbor's driveway. I let the balcony view not get to me when I saw how cute the rest of the room was. That was until I actually started using the room and kept getting sugar packets stuck to the bottom of my feet, because I guess they didn't find it necessary to pick those up since the last person that had stayed there. There was also quite a bit of hair in the tub. I would have said something if the staff stayed any longer than 7pm. Again, I let it go. When it came time to go to sleep, not only was there a party in a room close to mine, and no staff to call---but there is an extremely noisy bar across the street. I thought it was odd for a thursday night to have so much commotion at a "bed and breakfast" but I thought the next night would be better. It wasn't, this time there were police with megaphones trying to break up all the commotion that had leaked onto the street. I'm a 29 year old, I'm totally down with having a good time, but this was absurd. If you're trying to have a weekend of cheap partying, I guess this is the place for you. I actually was trying to accomplish some work, while hoping for a quiet tranquil place to stay. I would not stay at this place again. I feel like it was a total rip off.

Innkeeper Response
We appreciate your feedback as our staff strives to always better our establishment and create a better experience for all of our guests. Our staff does our best to arrange guests to be in the quietest rooms considering our location is near university student housing. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with noise and disturbance. Many university students live in the area during the school year (Sept.-May) which makes it challenging to control the noise level. We wish we had known so we could have worked these issues out with you in person. Our staff is available during the day starting at 9:00 AM we have a property manager available for guest needs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can find his information on the back of each guest room door and next to the guest check-in office door. After reviewing our room descriptions on the B&B website, we noticed our wording for rooms 31, 32 and 33 'overlooking Long Island Sound' could be misinterpreted as 'overlooking the beach.' We thank you for bringing this to our attention and have since edited each room description on that site. In the future, we do hope to serve you again and give you the experience you deserve and an experience that we are capable of giving each and every one of our guests. Thank you again for your review!


Nice suite close to the Long Island sound. Service was great and balcony was nice, though view of water is obscured

3.2 on September 09, 2014

Was in the celestial suite on 3rd floor with balcony. 100 feet away from the sound. Less than a mile away from the town of fairfield. Nice beach accommodations and service was great.


The Inn at Fairfield Beach

3.8 on September 03, 2014

We love this facility. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Hope to return, if their rates are within reason.


Wonderful Stay

4.8 on August 24, 2014

We were so glad to have discovered the Inn at Fairfield Beach! We stayed in the Harborside Suite and it was truly great. Thanks for everything, from welcome, to staff, to room to beach, everything. We'll be back! Family from Bordeaux, France


Perfect location for beach access

3.8 on August 17, 2014

We loved our room, it was spacious. Fabulous welcome basket and muffins daily. Beach access was perfect! Nice large parking lot for rental car. Bathroom was a little small but great stay overall. Exceeded my expectations! Will definitely go back again.


Lovely Place

5 on August 13, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights while visiting some friends just up the street. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. They left a basket of complimentary snacks on the table and muffins and juice in the fridge. That was just perfect for us. Also, it is a very easy walk to the beach from the Inn. We definately plan to stay there again next year.


Great location and nice room.

4.6 on July 16, 2014

Great location...the beach access feels like a private beach. Bathroom and kitchen looked like it had been very recently renovated. Would definitely stay again.


Great stay! Cant wait to go back

4.0 on June 07, 2014

Stayed for one night while my daughter attended college orientation. Loved the room and the location. Feels like home.


Pleasant surprise

4.2 on May 03, 2014

Was attending a funeral in the area, and only stayed one night. Can only comment on the room in which I stayed; the staff said it was the smallest, but I found it quite spacious and very tastefully appointed. Not really promoted as a B and B so I was surprised to find muffins, juice, and coffee in the room. Restaurant right next door and deli across the street. Beach an easy one-block walk. Main drag of Fairfield a short drive. Staff were extremely accommodating. Would definitely stay there again. Their video and web site is truly representative of what you can expect.


Great Stay

4.6 on April 28, 2014

Stayed at the Inn again, as I always do when in Fairfield. Staff is excellent. Would choose to stay again any time I am there. Love this place.


Clean, New England Fresh and Friendly Inn

5 on March 05, 2014

Staff was so friendly and willing to do anything that we needed. Our room was roomy, clean and the muffins and juice were a nice touch for breakfast! We have stayed here several times over the years and each time it exceeds our expectations! Thank you for all of your kindness!


A nice place to stay

3.4 on January 01, 2014

A nice quaint and clean Inn. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Nice size rooms with sufficient amenities. Right on the beach and close to Fairfield University and downtown Fairfield with plenty of dining options.


Overnight to attend funeral

3.8 on November 02, 2013

We got 2 rooms. The Safari suite was fine. This is the above evaluation.The Cape Cod was right next to the office and a light shone in the window all night and mosquitos hovered around it so that when we opened our door they got inside. Choose an upper level room and you will be glad you spent the extra money.


Nice room, but....

3.0 on September 30, 2013

We stayed in the French Country Studio for one night mid week. The room was nice and bright and the bed was very comfortable. The big negative that we had was the noise. I am pretty sure that some of the rooms are used as off-campus housing for the college, which means that you get to hear college kids coming and going at all hours. Also, our room was located right over the bar that plays pulsating club music until 1AM during the middle of the week. The Inn is probably better when school isn't in session or if you can get a room that is not over the downstairs bar.

Innkeeper Response
Hello, We apologize for the noise level from the neighboring property. Last weekend we had many alumni returning for a 50th year Rugby Reunion, an I fear perhaps many of them reliving the good old days at the Cafe. Unfortunately we have way of reducing the noise since the establishment is run by separate operators. We do not usually allow students to stay at the Inn, but there were students displaced from their home due to Storm Sandy, we made a exception for them since they were Seniors and were anxious to continue their studies in order to graduate in May. They will be leaving the Inn this week. Again, my apologies. Kind Regards, Mary Merkle


Sat of Labor Day w/end

3.8 on September 02, 2013

Stayed in the Bermuda Suite which was roomy, comfortable, nicely decorated, and clean. It has a nice kitchenette and even has a corkscrew if you bring wine. I didn't research it enough as far as location though. I thought the balcony overlooked the beach and that the inn was right on the beach. Instead, the balcony overlooked the rooftops of the buildings next door and the ocean is slightly visible. However, it is a short walk to the beach so I would hight recommend staying here.


Bright, clean and comfy, just 2 blocks from the beautiful beach

4.2 on August 21, 2013

I visited on a Thursday night in Aug 2013. The Inn's first floor was severely damaged by Hurricane Sandy, but the entire Inn has been renovated. I was on 2nd floor in the Beachside Studio. Spotlessly clean, and the bed was perfect, nice and firm. Muffins, OJ and coffee/tea in the kitchenette for breakfast the next morning. Seagrape Cafe next door is a popular bar for Fairfield U students, but all was quiet that night. Staff were lovely and helpful. Beach access is through a keyed gate; bring a beach cart if you want to haul a lot of stuff but it really is just a 3 minute walk through a peaceful beach community.


Clean, newly renovated room

3.4 on August 12, 2013

We stayed at The Inn at Fairfield Beach as a one night getaway in August. The Inn was easy to find and parking, although tight in some areas, was ample during our stay. I was disappointed that we received a ground floor room directly next to the office, but they were booked and couldn't move us. The room was completely new inside, it was clean and pretty. Unfortunately, there was a bench directly outside our window that attracted people to sit and talk, and we could hear every word. There was a bright light above the bench that was on all night and our shades didn't close enough to block it out. There is also a bar attached to the backside of the Inn which played loud music all night. It wasn't so loud that it kept us awake (but the people outside on the bench after midnight did). Walking around the town of Fairfield was really nice. There are plenty of restaurants and dessert places, there's lots of good shopping from clothes to books and in between. I was disappointed in our walk to the beach from the hotel, not realizing that a beach that overlooks the sound, rather than the ocean, would be so different. Don't plan on walking barefoot as there are rocks and shells galore. A good pair of water shoes would have made it better. We won't return because I was expecting a different beach experience, but it's a cute hotel with clean, up-to-date rooms, plenty to do nearby, friendly staff. Avoid the ground floor and you'll enjoy your stay.


We really enjoyed our stay

4.4 on July 31, 2013

We booked our room the night before for a little anniversary getaway. We found it online and liked what we saw and read about it. The room was very nice, comfy bed, the beach was a 2 minute walk from our door. The area surrounding the Inn was also very quaint and pleasant. We were really happy with our stay and are looking forward to going back very soon.


Wonderful Stay!

4.4 on July 28, 2013

We were given the name of the Inn at Fairfield Beach by the Admissions Office at Fairfield University. We were in Fairfield for a college visit with our daughter and decided at the last minute to stay for a few days. Not only was there a room available, but it was a lovely suite. We stayed in the Celestial Suite and couldn't have been happier. The room was immaculate - nary a speck of dirt or dust anywhere. The décor was theme-oriented (stars, moons etc.) but not overdone. The room was very homey and comfortable with a small kitchenette (sink, cabinets, counter, mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker), bistro table, living room with sofa, chair and gas fireplace, separate bedroom with flat screen TV, full bath and a lovely balcony with a view of Long Island Sound. The beach was only steps away with a private beach. There were many dining and shopping options just minutes away. We were also given a Fairfield University discount, so there was a lot of bang for the buck. The staff was remarkably nice and very accommodating. The only negative I have to report (and it's a minor one) is that I would have loved to have a cable TV guide. Being from another state, I had no clue what channels were available. Again, a minor. minor detail. All in all, I would definitely stay at the Inn at Fairfield Beach again and will recommended to family and friends. If our daughter is accepted at Fairfield University, we'll be staying at the Inn a lot! Thanks so much for a very refreshing travel experience.


A FANTASTIC STAY

5 on July 28, 2013

MY WIFE AND I WERE ABSOLUTELY FLOORED WITH THE CLEANLINESS, BEAUTIFUL, QUIET, AND VERY "ROOMY" ROOM. WE INTEND TO STAY HERE ON EACH VISIT TO CONNECTICUT. BARRY


We loved it and will return!

4.0 on July 10, 2013

What a memorable getaway! We recently traveled to the Inn for 3 nights and had the best time. The staff and service is remarkable. The rooms are VERY clean and there are tons of eateries close by. The beach is a few short feet away, so we had everything we wanted or needed within reach. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. We'll be headed back very soon.


Independence Day Stay

4.2 on July 09, 2013

We enjoyed the Inn at Fairfield Beach very much for the July 4th holiday. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, each one has its own unique features, and very comfortable bedding and furniture. We were walking distance from the beach and enjoyed swimming and sunning. The staff and innkeeper were very accommodating for our stay. They gave us beach towels and said that they have beach chairs for us to use as well. The room was ready when we asked it to be ready and they provided muffins, juice and coffee for an early morning breakfast. We will be back!


Lovely!

4.0 on July 08, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at the Inn, with access to beach and quiet, peaceful room... very clean and hospitable. A pleasant getaway :)


Very nice place

3.4 on June 17, 2013

We enjoyed out stay at this inn. The room was a very good size and a great location to the beach and downtown. The owners were very accommodating with our request for a early check-in. The only complaint was that room service did not make the bed when they dropped off fresh towels the second day.

Innkeeper Response
Please accept out apologies regarding the issue with housekeeping. Unfortunately, this occured due to a scheduling error with staff ( our fault) We have offered you a free night in the future, please call us direct to make the booking 203 255 6808. Thank you for your kind remarks, we hope to have more guests here from the Irish Festival in the future.


Better than expected!!

5 on May 23, 2013

Free upgrade to a better room! Sparkling clean nicely decorated room. Easy access to town. Friendly staff. Five stars across the board.


Recent Stay at The Inn at Fairfield Beach

4.4 on May 21, 2013

Excellent accommodations and Staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others


Lovely room and good location

4.6 on April 20, 2013

Our room was sparklingly clean, bright, and comfortable with room to move around. The staff were most friendly and helpful. During our spring stay, the area was quiet but not far from restaurants and shops.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to be up and running after 5 month closing due to SANDY. We are looking forward to a busy successful summer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Cheers, Miles


Great place, great value

3.8 on April 08, 2013

This was our first time staying at The Inn at Fairfield, and it exceeded our expectations!

Innkeeper Response
Now that you've found us , come on back. Thank you for your kind comments. Cheers, Mary Merkle


Inn at Fairfield Beach

4.0 on February 24, 2013

The place is wonderful! The staff is wonderful! I'll be back! i'll send friends!


We'll Be Back!

4.4 on October 02, 2012

This was our second weekend visit to the Inn. We once again, enjoyed the New England atmosphere, the spacious room (French Country Studio), close in parking, and the staff service. It's just a short walk to the restricted beach for panoramic viewing.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind remarks, hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Mary


Disappointing Stay and Staff

2.2 on September 26, 2012

First, what's nice. Just across the street from the beach. Room was spacious and clean. That's all we really would need for a fine stay. Except for the unfortunate location adjacent to THE college party bar in Fairfield - The Seagrape. Friday & Saturday nights the pulsating music from inside and a drunken crowd that spills out into the street, officially ending at 2 am in the bar, but continuing on until close to 3am outside, makes any kind of consistent sleep impossible. We had perhaps the worst room, street side, but guests we met on the other side complained also of the boisterous yelling, laughing and singing of the groups of college kids traveling the sidewalk around the hotel. First night, I went out at 1am to see what was keeping us awake. 2 Fairfield police cars were stationed there to ensure things didn't get out of hand. When I asked them when the bar closed, they said 2pm, but not to expect things to stop completely. I rolled my eyes and one said to me "that's why we never recommend this hotel." The next morning I spoke to the woman at the check in desk. She said she was sorry. She knew the "kids" were loud. She offered to recommend another hotel, but couldn't refund the next night's payment. (They bill in advance for this place. Now I know why.) Then she told me where the Rite Aid was up on Post Road so I could buy some ear plugs and Nyquil. I kid you not. Finally, she suggested if we can't beat 'em, we could join 'em. I think she was try to be funny. It wasn't. Saturday night. Same story. The Rite Aid ear plugs helped a bit, but when a frat party is happening a few yards away, waves of sound do make it through. Fortunately, a brief shower scattered the crowd at about 2:30. An extra half hour of sleep. So, what looks like a good location near the water is actually a terrible one. That's one issue. But the staff's lack of accommodation indicates a deeper issue with the establishment.

Innkeeper Response
While we were very upset by this scathing review, and have contacted the guest and the Owner has addressed this review at length. We hope that you will take the time to read all of our reviews on Trip Advisor & Bed and Breakfast before being swayed by the above review. Thank you in advance for taking the time to consider "THE INN" Kind regards Mary


TheBasel Inn even provided the perfect weather I requested.

4.0 on September 21, 2012

I spent three days in the Celestial Suite and it was fantastic.

Innkeeper Response
We have reopened after 5 months (damage from SANDY.) Come on back Mary


Great Stay

4.0 on September 08, 2012

Inn is charming, really clean & a short walk to the beach!


I could live here!

4.4 on August 31, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here while traveling through New England. We loved the room. It was spacious and very comfortable. My only complaint is that the weather did not cooperate for a walk on the beach...maybe next visit.

Innkeeper Response
Come on back, we'll be here waiting. Cheers, Mary


Wonderful Place to stay ;-) !

4.8 on August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful stay ,they have a great staff. We had a nice clean room with a pirvate balcony . parking was easy,close to the beach .Very happy that we stayed at the Inn at Fairfield Beach . Thanks for a wonderful time Dan & Maria Morrison

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your Kind remarks. Come back soon Mary


A delightful, cozy place to stay

4.8 on August 20, 2012

I brought my sister and my niece for a stay in the Greek Studio. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was just perfect - tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The Inn is located off the main roads in a peaceful area which meant a lot to us. We loved that the beach was just a short walk away - and took advantage of it! There are excellent restaurants just a few minutes drive from the hotel and shopping a mile away as well as in Westport which is only a 20 minute drive away. If we could go back tomorrow, we would!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind comments. Come back soon. Mary


A nice place for a stop by the beach

3.8 on August 16, 2012

I was only staying for one night, and the Inn at Fairfield Beach fit the bill just perfectly. The room was beautiful and spacious, and had great access to the beach (though figuring the direction there was a bit confusing). They don't have a kitchen in-house, so don't look for much on the breakfast side. Contrary to what another poster mentioned, we didn't have any problems with noise from the bar next door, even though our room was right next to their entrance.


This was a perfect stay at the beach!!

4.8 on August 01, 2012

We called to get the room to be near the beach but bad storms were predicted and we weren't sure we'd make it. The staff was wonderful and held the reservation for us until we arrived later that evening. The room was clean, adorable and full of amenities like a fridge, coffee pot, fireplace, and just felt like home. We were so happy to be there and just across the street from the beach!! Thank you Inn at Fairfield Beach for giving us a wonderful stay! We will be back!!


Diamond in the rough

4.2 on July 30, 2012

After a bit of confusion over the phone making the reservation, things got ironed out and the staff went overboard, allowing us a much more relaxed weekend for our daughter's wedding! Lesley was a pleasure to deal with upon our arrival and our room couldn't have been more perfect. Free parking was an added perk in the area and the pleasant surprise of juice and muffins for breakfast made one feel welcome. I will easily not hesitate to stay here again! Thank you all!

Innkeeper Response
Come back soon Mary


I liked it - and would definitely stay there again

4.0 on July 23, 2012

Pleasantly surprised - great room, clean, friendly staff who gave us a great recommendation for food - Avellino's - Italian food. It was AMAZING!! I loved the special touch of a continental breakfast even though it was just OJ and some baked goods in our fridge. They forgot to restock it though. :( I tried to find some sign of hair or dirt in our all-white bathroom and couldn't. LOVED that. The bed was super comfortable and linens crisp. The towels were soft and plush and smelled great....and I'm picky. They even had coffee WITH CREAMER in the fridge - not the powdery milk. LOVED that. Things they can't control but would have been nice - a better view, a better beach. Definitely give it a try...


Love this place!

3.6 on June 21, 2012

A really nice place close to the beach. We come here every year on vacation!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Come again Mary


Pleasantly surprised

4.6 on June 19, 2012

Great room. Super clean. The private deck off the room was great for the morning coffee. Being close to beach was a plus too. Can't wait to go back

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Come again. Mary


Relaxed and Lovin It!

4.0 on June 05, 2012

The location and the accessibility to the beach is awesome. Being close to the water and also within walking distance of downtown shopping and restaurants is wonderful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was like an oasis and blended in to the residential area it is a part of. I would definitely stay there again.

Innkeeper Response
Come on back. Mary


Comfortable and Extremely Enjoyable

4.4 on April 30, 2012

Service was great, room was clean and comfortable. Great location and friendly staff. Would definitely stay again!

Innkeeper Response
You are our type of guests. Please come again, memtion this review and rewill extent a 10 percent discount.


April 2012

3.8 on April 23, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay at the Inn. The location is convenient to a lot of night life and restaurants as well as to Fairfield Universtity. The room was clean, cozy and bright and we just generally enjoyed our stay. Thanks!

Innkeeper Response
Come again soon


Great Getaway

4.6 on December 04, 2011

The inn thoroughly exceeded my expectations. Rooms are modern, cheery, clean & homey. Staff and owner are personally invested and are happy to suggest local restaurants and are open to suggestions. The people at the inn all seemed so happy to be working there, and that added a lot to the atmosphere. Will definitely return & recommend!

Innkeeper Response
Come again


Good value Inn

3.6 on November 29, 2011

The Inn at Fairfield Beach is a good value if you need a cute and clean room in the Fairfield, Ct. area for maybe one night or so. The rooms are small, but nicely arranged and decorated. Although this Inn is near the beach, it is not directly on the water, you need to cross over a road and walk down the lane a bit. I am a good sleeper, and the room and bed were comfortable for me, but I would caution any light sleepers that the neighborhood is not quiet at all. Right behind the Inn is a bar (called a Cafe, but it's a bar) where the patrons tend to be quite loud, boisterous and profane. On both Friday and Saturday nights the fighting and loud swearing went on until 2pm despite it's proximity down the street from a police headquarters. I was a bit surprised the police were not out suppressing the altercations. During the daylight hours there was heavy machinery in the area operating steadily at high decibels. This is not something the Inn has any control over, just a cautionary note that if you like a quiet retreat, you probably won't find it here. Other than that, it was great! Inn is not far from great shopping opportunities.

Innkeeper Response
Come see us during the Summer months. Take advantage of the Mid week Summer Special. Cheers, Mary


"It's worth the stay..."

5 on November 08, 2011

Pamela David, provides the BEST service ever. This is an excellent place to stay with family and/or friends. The service is outstanding, my family and I had to send a Thank you card to Pamela David for such greats service!!!!


The Inn at Fairfield Beach

4.2 on November 06, 2011

Great location near beaches. Very clean room with breakfast cereals, milk, juice, coffee, tea already stocked in our room.


Wonderful

4.4 on October 17, 2011

The staff was more friendly then I could have asked for. And the location is perfect. I had a great experience and would recommend this inn for anyone who is looking to stay at Fairfield for a nice getaway.

Innkeeper Response
Come back soon. Cheers, Mary


Will stay again!

4.4 on October 10, 2011

We really liked staying here. We stayed in the "Shaker Suite", this past weekend. It's beautiful. However, one thing is that there is no one on staff at night and we were awakened at 2am by a lot of older kids/young adults being very loud upstairs outside on the balcony. And this went on for about 3 hours. This was my only issue. This is a family place, not for ruckus! This left us quite tired the next day, unable to enjoy the last day of our vacation and then have a long drive home. Despite this, we will definitely be back!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. I apoligise for the noise, Fairfield University is close by. I think they were have some kind of party next door. If you return to us, let us know in advance and we will offer you a 10% discount, and perhaps recomend a room further away from the noise. Kind regards, Mary Merkle


Cute location!

3.8 on September 12, 2011

Cute little place in a great location by Fairfield beach. Very clean and comfortable, would stay here again for sure.


The Lighthouse Suite

4.2 on August 25, 2011

Stayed at the Inn for two nights (Sunday/Monday). The Suite was exactly as shown in the photos. What I didn't realize when looking at the photo and booking the room was that there were no doors to the two bedrooms, hence no privacy. A bathroom in each bedroom was nice...no sharing. The bathrooms were set-up with soaps/shampoos, etc., just like any nice hotel would do for you. The room was very clean, AC's worked great, and housekeeping did a nice job cleaning up after our first night. "Breakfast" consisted of muffins and cans of OJ left in the fridge for us, along with bottled water, and a coffee maker set-up. The bar next door was the only real place to eat "locally" (walking distance), although there was a deli and pizza place across the street. Burger/Fries and a few other typical bar items were on the menu. I wasn't expecting much with regards to dining options so I wasn't disappointed with the breakfast and the outside places to eat. A lot more dining options were a driving distance away, and that is what we did. The inn is walking distance to the beach which is where we spent our two days. I felt the place was a little overpriced for a Sunday/Monday, but there isn't much in that area to compare to. Overall it was exactly what I thought I was getting into so there was no disappointment. Most importantly thing was that the place was VERY CLEAN, and the housekeeping staff did their job well.

Innkeeper Response
We thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We will take note of your comments and try to rectify where we can. Kind regards, Mary F. Merkle


Great little Inn on the Beach

4.4 on August 23, 2011

Last summer, I needed a place to stay in Fld, and having graduated from Fairfield U. many years ago, wanted to stay near the beach. Googled and found this Inn. Cozy room - bed and sitting areas; easy walk to the beach; short drive to Fld. center; and nice complementary continental b'fast of muffins, cereal, OJ, milk, bottled water, coffee and tea - there are microwaves and coffee machines in the room. Enjoyed my stay last year, so came back again when I had the chance this summer! I hope to make it an annual summer weekend tradition.


Great stay

3.4 on August 22, 2011

Arrived late on Friday afternoon and staff was very friendly and pleasant. My room was clean and comfortable. Would certainly return again if I was in the area.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for your kind remarks, we look forward to you returning to us. Kind Regards, Mary


The Inn at Fairfield Beach

4.0 on August 02, 2011

The room was just as the photo showed & was very clean. I did not have or need much interaction with the staff, but everyone was very pleasant. The location was great; walking distance to two nice beaches & a wide array of restaurants. It was quiet (at least during summer, from what I understand it's a hopping scene come fall). I was able to relax & enjoy myself which was the reason for my stay. The Inn more than met my needs & I was pleasantly surprised!

Innkeeper Response
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, please come again. Thank you, Mary


A GEM by the Sound!!

4.4 on June 23, 2011

This is a true Gem by the Sound! Who would ever think you could stay in such a Wonderful place just seconds off of Bustling I-95. The room was Bright and Light and Spotless. Every need was met. The Staff....like a loving Family! This is more a Boutique Hotel than B&B...but that is my preference! Lovely walking location as well. A True Gem and a True Good Price! Paul!

Innkeeper Response
Thank you for the great review. We pride ourselves on the inn and making our guest our top priority. We hope that you will join us again soon. Again thanks.


A "home-friendly" Inn

4.2 on June 20, 2011

I travelled all the way from Dubai,UAE, to meet up with some relatives and friends, and was amazed at the room, breakfast, service and smiling faces that greeted me.Prior to my arrival, the friendly staff helped me with transport details from Newark Airport.Kudos to the Front Desk Staff! Won't hesitate to return. O.R.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you, please come again. Cheers, Mary


Great spot

4.0 on June 13, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the room. Very convenient spot and clean lovely atmosphere. Came up for my Fairfield University reunion and was able to see all my favorite Fairfield spots because I was so centrally located. The room was pretty soundproof too considering it is next to a popular bar.

Innkeeper Response
Glad you had a good time, come again. Cheers, Mary


Great service!

4.0 on April 23, 2011

The people here were amazing. Very personable, very friendly. The guy at the desk even drove us to the train station! Definitely coming back during the summer to enjoy the beach :)

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back. Cheers, Mary


Nice Stay

3.8 on April 17, 2011

Stumbled upon the Inn while searching on google. We did not expect a breakfast - so we were actually pleased with the muffins and cereal being available. The proximity of the seagrape was a bonus too (we stuck with the pub fare). The one thing that stuck out to us was how clean the room we stayed in was. Extremely clean. I would recommend it.

Innkeeper Response
Thank you. Come on back. Cheers, Mary


LIU vs. Sacred Heart Baseball

4.0 on March 29, 2011

We wanted to check out the Inn to see if we would like to book again for our daughter's graduation in May. We have already booked 3 days in May because the rooms are nicer than they are in the pictures. Our stay was fabulous. We enjoyed every minute. The staff was extremely hospitable and room was unbelievable. You can not touch the value "Bang for your Buck" theory. We actually have discussed just shooting up there for an evening. We recommend the Inn without hesitation to all.


Way Overpriced, Non-Existent Staff

1.6 on January 07, 2011

This is not a B&B. They left us 2 muffins in the fridge, and cereal with no milk, just a pile of single-serving coffee creamers. 2 cans of orange juice (never seen cans of OJ before) and 2 waters were also included. We paid extra for a room with a fireplace. $180 for one night. The "fireplace" was a Pyromaster Electric Fireplace, with ceramic logs and a built-in heater. Also, ours was broken, so if there were any gas flames (and I'm not sure there's supposed to be), we didn't even have that luxury. I booked the hotel on bedandbreakfast.com. I called them during business hours twice before arriving, leaving a message once asking them to call me back and confirm my reservation. I never heard from them. We arrived a little after 5 and the office was locked up - our keys were left in a drop box for us. There was nobody to call for help or assistance. The next morning I complained about the fireplace to the woman at the front desk. She told me she'd let the owners know it was broken, and that was that. Oh, and we were there on Jan. 1, and were not informed that the inn's restaurant was closed that day; only the bar was open. Would have appreciated some heads up so we could have grabbed food near the train station instead of being limited to the only place within walking distance: a deli across the street. I emailed the inn and told them how dissatisfied I was, asked for some compensation, and told them I didn't want to leave them a bad review without giving them a chance to make it up to me. I never heard back from anybody, ever.

Innkeeper Response
We have an new administration at the Front desk. Give us anoth chance this summer. Cheers, Mary


The Inn at Fairfield Beach, A Pleasant Surprise!

4.4 on November 09, 2010

My husband and I needed last minute accomadations in Fairfield but really do not like chain hotels. The Inn at Fairfield Beach turned out to be a wonderful discovery! We were greeted by the friendly manager who happily led us to our room which had a view of the LI Sound. The room appeared to be recently updated and extremely clean. There was a very nice sitting area and separate sleeping area. a few delis and restaurants are within walking distance. We will definitely be back!


Very pleasant stay

3.6 on August 19, 2010

The quality of the "food" provided for breakfast really makes it a stretch of the imagination to call the place a B &B. Other than that, the Inn is a fine place.


The Inn at Fairfield Beach

Details

  • Nightly Rate $125 - $250
  • Reviews (70) 4.1
  • Rooms 14
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2032556808

Visit Website »

View details

Top