Rock Hall Luxe Lodging Reviews

Overall
4.8

View details

  • Guest room4.8
  • Services4.8
  • Value4.7
  • Cleanliness4.8
  • Dining4.8

Score Breakdown based on
13 Reviews

Write A Review

Wonderful experience at Rock Hall!

5 on March 04, 2012

We just got back from a two night stay at Rock Hall. The estate is magnificent, rooms spacious and lovely. The owners, Michael and Stella, are among the most gracious of innkeepers we have ever met. From the moment we arrived they were attentive to so many details to make our stay that much more enjoyable. Michael's cocktails and appetizers are delicious, breakfasts artfully prepared and equally wonderful. What is so impressive about Rock Hall is how much care and attention are given to the guests. Additionally the area is near all of the best Berkshire attractions. We have been to many bed and breakfasts...but Rock Hall is in a class of its own.


Amazing!

5 on June 07, 2011

We spent two days at Rock Hall in May. The experience was absolutely incredible. The breakfasts were amazing, with every detail taken care of, the property is immaculate, the evening cocktails were something out of the ordinary for a B&B...everything exceeded our expectations! The innkeepers do treat you like family rather than guests, but still provide a top-notch experience that rivals any Four Seasons I've ever been to. We would go back in a heartbeat!


This place is Amazing!!!!

5 on May 27, 2011

My wife and I took a quick trip out of NYC and spent two nights at Rock Hall this past week. We have travelled all over and this inn is in a category by itself. We were made to feel like we were friends of the owners rather than paying guests and that is not easy!! The food was fantastic and we were amazed that Michael smoked the trout for our breakfast just before we came downstairs! We took a private Mixology 101 Class and although we are wine enthusiasts the class was incredible and we came away with their signature cocktail shaker and some great cocktail recipes that we can make at home with fresh ingredients from any produce stand or farmers market (since we don't have Rock Hall's convenient garden outside our kitchen door) Rock Hall is an exclusive retreat with great service and interesting innkeepers that made sure we had the Spa Services we had asked for, handled our dinner reservations for us and even made arrangements for a local car service so we could enjoy our favorite wines without worrying about driving back to the inn. We're hoping there's some availability in August so we can convince some friends to take over the whole estate with us!


beautiful setting and very interesting innkeepers

3.4 on May 23, 2011

A beautiful setting in the Berkshires; close to wineries, excellent dining and many antique shops. Lovely grounds with a pool and spa. Very interesting innkeepers who make you feel welcome.


Superb, from beginning to end....

5 on May 09, 2010

I have stayed at the Post Ranch Inn in Big Sur, a bunch of Four Seasons hotels, a goodly number of FIVE STAR hotels in Europe and Japan, but for comfort, beauty, charm and attention to detail, this is as good as a New England B&B can get -- in fact, to call this charming, delightful home a B&B is doing it a disservice. Imagine, rather, that you are staying at your mom and dad's magnificent New England home....IF your mom and dad are meticulous perfectionists with, respectively, the taste of a Fifth Avenue fashion designer and the talent and charm of a sommelier, and they are plying you with magnificent food, gracious support and wonderful accommodations for your entire stay. Imagine that, and you approximate the experience at Rock Hall. Each room is spacious, delightful, charming and relaxing. The billiards room is, well, as good as anything you will ever play in. The living room, dining room and day room are as charming as a series of rooms can be. If you want to watch a movie, up to the third floor to sit in the private screening room...POPCORN MAKER is to the left.... Care to take a stroll? Try the front for the view of some specimen pines and other trees. The back yard (and to call it a back yard is like calling the Queen Mary a boat) has a breathtaking pool, hot tub and lawn. In short, the grounds are meticulous and lovely. When I was describing the place to my cousin, she asked if Colebrook is a "destination," and I said, "it is now." Finally, one more word about your host, Stella and Michael; that word is: delightful. Oh, and charming. Oh, and helpful. Oh, and caring. I will be back in the fall....


Wish We Could've Stayed Longer!

5 on February 10, 2010

From the moment my husband and I passed through the gates of the Rock Hall B&B we knew that we had chosen the perfect place to spend my 40th birthday weekend. Owners Michael & Stella greeted us upon arrival and acquainted us with the house, its amenities and history. We were thrilled with our room choice, chamber number 2. A highlight for me was the four poster bed with the most beautiful and comfortable bedding; I had a perfect night's sleep. My husband enjoyed the unique surround shower. Even though it was cold and icy outside we managed to keep very busy in the house. We enjoyed multiple games of backgammon by the fireside. Michael served us a delicious appetizer of shrimp and peppers wrapped in soft white corn tortillas while he gave us pointers on how to play the game. After dinner out we came back to enjoy a movie and popcorn in the theater. The breakfast that Michael prepares is sumptuous, we enjoyed his homemade gravlax and Stella's blueberry preserves. The house is so beautifully appointed and comfortable that we did want to leave, we felt we had just scratched the surface of what Rock Hall has to offer. We are very excited to re-visit in the summer when we can enjoy the pool, tennis courts and trails. The Somers are excellent hosts and their home is really a treasure. Rock Hall is the perfect romantic getaway nestled in a very beautiful area of Connecticut.


Special touches

5 on February 02, 2010

As previous reviewers have noted, Rock Hall is a wonderful place for a getaway. In addition to the general warmth, beauty and hospitality, it was the special touches that made the visit memorable for me. These included the evening drinks and deluxe happy hour nibbles, the amazing old fashioned surround shower and the movie room complete with popcorn and candy. Fun!


An amazing place to escape to

5 on February 02, 2010

3 of my closest friends and I recently escaped to Rock Hall for a girls getaway. Our expections were to exceeded beyond what we ever imagined by the hospitality of Stella and Michael (the Owners), the beauty of the Inn, local restaurants and accessibility to many fun things and the wonderful, home-cooked breakfast! I have recommended this Inn to other friends and family as well as my Publisher and Executive Editor. If there was ever a story to be told about the restoration and beautification of a B&B, this is it. My husband and I plan on returning this summer to enjoy the beautiful pool and grounds and my Uncle is planning on going to this resort with his bride of 25 years to celebrate their anniversary.


Wonderful getaway

5 on January 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited 19 Rock Hall Road last winter. We had seen a review on NY1 and afterward decided on a spur of the moment getaway weekend. Firstly, the house is beautiful. We were greeted by owners Stella and Michael, a lovely couple from NYC, who proceeded to give us a tour of the home. Their attention to detail in the restoration of this home was amazing and you could see their passion. Our room was so comfortable, the house enormous - we watched a movie in the private screening room, played in the billiard room and generally felt at home. Stella and Michael were super helpful in exploring the surrounding area, especially directing us to some amazing restaurants. We had to leave pretty early Sunday morning, so we didn't stay for breakfast, but Stella sent us off with a boxed lunch. So sweet! And included in that boxed lunch was THE most amazing gravlox sandwich (Michael's specialty). Ridiculously good. We'll definitely be back.


Rock Hall is fabulous for a girls' weekend

5 on January 29, 2010

Four of us stayed at Rock Hall early December to usher in a milestone birthday. We were looking for pampering, luxury, glamour, and comfort--and found it all at Rock Hall. We stayed in Chambers 1 and 2. Both are over the top, but you MUST upgrade to Chamber 2 which is the ULTIMATE. Stella helped us plan our "glamour girl" itenerary with a day trip to the spa and then a special dinner at a French bistro, and she even made the reservations on our behalf. Her and Michael could not do enough to make sure our stay was special and memorable. We loved the mansion and behaved like school girls as we explored the never-ending rooms and couldn't believe the level of care that it took to restore it to beyond its original glory. This was a girls' trip like none other, and I'd definitely recommend Rock Hall for small groups looking for a unique way to create a trip to remember.


Rock Hall – a near paradise

4.8 on October 23, 2009

We spent an amazing July 4th weekend at Rock Hall – our stay could not have been more perfect. The house and grounds are amazing … wonderfully restored with extra attention clearly paid to preserving the beauty and history of the estate. Innkeepers, Michael and Stella were exceptionally warm and personable, making us feel like close family while at the same time assuring that we were continuously pampered. Breakfasts were incredible; fine assortments of cheese, fresh local vegetables and fruit, and Michael’s amazing homemade gravlox. The grounds are beautiful; exquisite gardens, a spa-like pool area, and a wonderfully maintained tennis court. Rock Hall is ideally situated; a short drive from NYC, left us in the middle of a romantic paradise. Tanglewood is less than an hour away, and we especially enjoyed a concert at Infinity Hall in nearby Norfolk. Michael and Stella were a great source of advice for other things to in the area. Our room was exquisite and luxurious – I don’t think I ever slept in a more comfortable bed. Our stay was relaxing, memorable, and very special. We raved about our weekend and immediately recommended Rock Hall to our sister and brother-in-law for a special birthday getaway (they loved their stay as well). We can’t wait to spend another weekend at Rock Hall.


Loved Rock Hall!

4.4 on October 18, 2009

This B&B was amazing! The main highlights were... well there were a few! First the room: The linens were so soft, very high quality. The bathrobes and towels so divine you felt pampered. There was a fireplace in our room- so romantic! The manor:Absolutely stunning. You get a sense of the history, inside the home and on the grounds. There is a small apple orchard, so if you go in the fall you can pick your own apples- Stella provided us a bag to do so! In the summer the pool and jacuzzi are tantalizing. The tennis court is well maintained. Inside, there is a fine pool table, foozball, pingpong table, and ample books and board games. Service: Superb. Michael and Stella made cocktails and hors d'oeuvres in addition to the scrumptious breakfast! We had coffee liquer drinks and sauteed shrimp. For breakfast frittata, lox, fruit, granola, honey, homemade jam, all delicious! I only take off a bit for value because, although this was a heavenly experience, it was a bit expensive too. Definitely worth the indulgence!


The best B&B on the planet!

5 on September 16, 2009

My boyfriend and I just stayed at Rock Hall and had the time of our life. Our hosts, Michael & Stella, were friendly, interesting and accommodating. The hundred year old house is beautiful, wonderfully preserved and has a rich history that Stella can tell you all about. We had fun wandering around the gorgeous and expansive grounds, which house a swimming pool, a hot tub, a tennis court, a garden, a marked path through the woods, etc. Our room was lovely and got the most amazing sunlight in the morning. The house has a billiards room, a game room, a small movie theater (with popcorn!), fireplaces galore, and plenty of other rooms to relax in. Basically Rock Hall has everything you could want, and then some. And the breakfast! It was incredible - fresh, local, and delicious. I could have sat in the dining room eating until someone forcibly removed me. Basically, Rock Hall is a magical place and if you go, you will remember it forever.


Rock Hall Luxe Lodging

Details

  • Nightly Rate $300 - $450
  • Reviews (13) 4.8
  • Rooms 5
  • Accepts Gift Cards

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-8603792230
  • Fax 1-8666964980
Top