The Majestic Lodge Reviews

Overall
5.0

View details

  • Guest room5
  • Services5
  • Value5
  • Cleanliness5
  • Dining4.9

Score Breakdown based on
14 Reviews

Write A Review

The Majestic Lodge

5 on April 11, 2013

Recently my two daughters, sons in law and 2 grandsons stayed at the Majestic near Castillo, Costa Rica. The Lodge is situated in the shadow of the Volcano and has a breath taking view of the Lake. The rooms were outstanding in every respect and the service was incredible! Each meal was cooked to perfection. It really was a vacation in a vacation. Nancy and her staff were the most gracious hosts and they really knew the area, the people and the activities and did not hesitate to go above and beyond the call of duty to help us coordinate hiking, boating, fishing, horseback riding and even ziplining activities. One of our party fell ill and needed some medication and Nancy had it to us in a matter of minutes. I can't say enough about the Majestic, will recommend it to all of my friends and can't wait to go back!!!


Nancy and The Majestic were outstanding

5 on March 31, 2013

Nancy and the crew of the Majestic were super. The grounds were beautiful and excursions were fabulous. Nancy had connections with all sorts of fab activities. Juan and Magdalini (prob spelled that wrong) were great. The resident dog "Sayso" was a huge hit with our younger son. The stories that will be told about the trip to the La Fortuna area will be something my children will talk about for years. Thank you...Renee P and family


Exceptional

5 on March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The staff is excellent. Very conscientious and friendly they couldn't do enough for our comfort. Very clean and excellent food. Will visit again soon. Thank you for a memorable experience. Will recommend to all our family and friends.


Highly Recommended

4.8 on January 03, 2013

Perfect combination of luxury and local charm - usually we have found one at the expense of the other, so we were thrilled to have both here. The place is simply beautiful, with great views of the volcano and Arenal lake. The craftsmanship of the lodge lends to the overall sense of luxury springing from the site - domestic wood species used throughout with beautiful details lend warmth and enhance the overall sense of comfort. Take the horseback ride to the falls - truly an "off the beaten path" experience that lets you see panoramic views of the lake and volcano as well as the jungle flora and fauna. The zip line and other more common attractions are close, while you can still enjoy the serenity at the lodge. This place is exactly as billed; no reason to stay anywhere else.


Breathtaking and Private

5 on December 17, 2012

My parents and I stayed at the Majestic Lodge last week and we were nothing but thrilled with our decision. From the moment we arrived, Nancy treated us like old friends. She works tirelessly to ensure her guests satisfaction - she booked our outings, gave us advice on the best tours, and shared her own Costa Rican experiences with us. If that wasn't enough, we were thoroughly impressed by the beauty and solitude of the location. Every window of the house has an incredible view of Lake Arenal, Arenal Volcano, or the surrounding mountains. The staff keeps the place ridiculously clean and tidy. Highly recommend staying here. Secluded, stunning, and well-managed. 5 stars; 2 thumbs up; whatever it takes - stay here!


Our Vacation

5 on December 01, 2012

What a great place to stay. We happened upon this place and were blown away. The facilities and decor were magnificent. And the weekend we were there they opened Howlers, a small Bar & Grille next door. What a party! The place was packed, and had live music and dancing. Although the menu was very limited the food was great. Best fries I ever had, and a cheeseburger that would have made Jimmy Buffet proud. This place is owned and operated by americans who have all been there over 5 years. And the real value of that was when my girlfriend had a disk problem with her back. Nan, the concierge, with a couple of phone calls was able to get her prescription refilled within minutes. It totally saved our trip as she was bedridden due to the pain. I gave they place 5 stars, and they totally deserve it.


Simply Amazing

5 on November 28, 2012

Our 7 day stay at the Majestic Lodge was simply amazing! The moment we arrived we were welcomed by a friendly staff who made us feel very much at home. The name "Majestic" truly captures the feeling of the B&B. From the attention to detail and quality of the architecture and decor, cleanliness, amazing views of the lake, volcano and rain forest, and the private setting that gives you the sense of "getting away from it all"...it truly lives up to its name. The convenient location near La Fortuna was perfect for adventures of white water rafting, hiking, zip lining, and horse back riding. The staff even arranged for the horses to pick us up at the house for a beautiful ride through the forest to swim at the waterfall. We also enjoyed relaxing evenings on the deck watching beautiful sunsets while listening to the monkeys settle-in for the night, and leisurely strolls along the shore of Lake Arenal. We chose to have our meals with the locals in El Castillo and La Fortuna to get a taste of Tico culture and, therefore, cannot rate the dining experience at the Lodge. However, our local dining experience was outstanding! We can't wait to visit again!


Paradise

5 on November 02, 2012

I stayed at the Majestic Lodge last year and I am already planning my return trip. When I first visited La Fortuna, I knew that I would have five days of hiking, zip lining, horseback riding and visiting the hot springs but what came as my greatest surprise was the Majestic. It is a beautiful inn that has an amazing view of Arenal and simply allows you to feel like you are on vacation. The staff is incredibly kind and accommodating and it is conveniently located so that it is easy travel to local destinations. Even though there I loved all of the activities that La Fortuna had to offer, my favorite memory from my trip was enjoying the hot tub and pool at The Majestic.


Welcome to Paradise!

5 on October 29, 2012

We arrived at Majestic Lodge and found the view of the Lake and Arenal Volcano breathtaking. We settled into our rooms and could not help but notice all the attention to detail and a decor that was so unique and warm. Nothing here was ordinary. The staff were polite, helpful and able to provide us with amazing, fresh tica (local) food that left us wanting to just move in and stay! There was more to do in the area than we could fit into our week and much of it close to the Lodge. The deck where we enjoyed our meals afforded a panoramic view of the Volcano and the hot tub was a great place to relax after a busy day of zip lining, hiking, horseback riding, and sightseeing. We would definitely return to Majestic. We feel like we made some special friends there and highly recommend it!


Maravilloso!

5 on October 26, 2012

Es un lugar espectacular, las vistas y paz que reflejan ese lugar son sencillamente maravillosos. Es como estar en mi casa de retiro, aun cuando no la tengo. Maravilloso


Spectacular views with perfect accommodations

5 on October 25, 2012

My friend told me about the Majestic Lodge tucked away in the city of El Castillo near the Arenal volcano, Arenal lake and national forest. Holding true to it's name the Majestic is more than I could ever began to imagine, the staff was always very attentive,pleasant making sure our stay was perfect and Nan made our stay even more enjoyable arranging tours with the zip-line, horseback riding,and nature walks. If you have the opportunity to visit Costa Rica you should definitely make your plans to stay at the majestic you will not be disappointed. I have decided to make a return trip after the New Year with both my son's and their families so they can experience the beautiful accommodations of the Majestic lodge and all the fun and exciting things to do in the surrounding city of El Castillo. I Sincerely thank Nan and her staff by giving them the 5 star rating they earned and deserve!


The truly Majestic Lodge

5 on October 25, 2012

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place! This house is beautifully appointed with personal touches and fine craftsmanship throughout. We practically lived outside on the huge "porch" with the pool and lounge area during the entire vacation. The photos don't do justice to how beautiful the home and setting are; quite magnificent! The view of the volcano and lake are breathtaking. We visited with our two college-age sons and enjoyed hiking through the rainforest and zip-lining nearby. We made trips to town to the hot springs on a few days, then back to the house for massages, which were wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helped us with any requests we had, including delicious breakfasts. This was a vacation lacking in the typical commercialism, but rather filled with the local flavor of the people and landscape, and one of our most memorable vacations ever.


What a place!!!

5 on October 21, 2012

Had the good fortune to stay at the Majestic on the recommendation of some expats in April ('12). We're a late-20s couple that has traveled extensively and the the Majestic might be our favorite getaway. We planned three days but ended up skipping the beach to stay longer. This lodge is just off the beaten path - away from the tour buses of Fortuna but still convenient to hiking, zip lines, great restaurants, and the hot springs. Photos don't do it justice. Easily the best views of Arenal we came across. We spent hours relaxing the outdoor pool/hot tub and then on the deck admiring the view. Great place to sit for breakfast or for a drink at the outdoor bar. The woodwork and stonework at the lodge is impressive to say the least. Someone spent a lot of time perfecting every detail. We had many of our meals at the lodge. Food is great and the staff is friendly helpful. They helped us arrange a horseback tour through the backcountry to secluded waterfalls - didn't see another tourist for the full 6 hours (and the pice was right!!!). What else can I say?


Elegance and Tranquility in the tropical rainforest!!

5 on October 01, 2012

After staying in this beautiful Villa, my husband and I knew that we had just found paradise! This gorgeous place had all of the comforts of home and the caretakers were exceptional! We stayed here for one week several years ago and vowed that we would someday move to El Castillo. There was so much to do and it was all right there. We ziplined, white water rafted, went to the waterfall on horseback and had many nice meals in this small little village. We met friends that we knew we have a lifetime! It wasn't so long after this encounter, that we moved to El Castillo and built our own home. We now live happily ever after in what we call Paradise!


The Majestic Lodge

Details

  • Nightly Rate $65 - $95
  • Reviews (14) 5.0
  • Rooms 7

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 506-8-703-1561

View details

Top