Touch of Ireland Guest House Reviews

Overall
4.5

View details

  • Guest room4.1
  • Services4.7
  • Value4.3
  • Cleanliness4.6
  • Dining4.7

Score Breakdown based on
54 Reviews

Write A Review

A cozy home away from home

4.2 on February 13, 2013

In all our trips to New Haven, and there have been many, this has been by far our favorite place to stay. Wish we had found it sooner. The McCanns were exceptional hosts and treated us royally. We look forward to staying here again.


Nice getaway

4.0 on January 29, 2013

I was impressed with the cleanliness of this B&B. the breakfast was plentiful. My only comment would be that although I was told cats do not go into the guest areas, I did have an allergic reaction. If you are as allergic to cats as I am, you eill have to pass on this lovely B&B, otherwise it is a great choice.


Nice Place Near Yale Campus and Museums

4.8 on January 17, 2013

Very nice 2 night stay for a January get-a-way. Our hosts are a very warm welcoming couple. The B&B is quite close to the Yale Museums we wanted to visit.


A Touch of Ireland During A Nor'easter

5 on November 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed with Jeanine and Michael during the first big snow of 2012. We slogged our way to 607 Whitney--cabs and shuttles were backed up in the snow--and were greeted with sympathy and a delicious hot cup of tea. Though we stayed for only one night, we were treated royally, with a car ride the short distance to Yale the next morning, help booking a cab to the train station for our departure, and more. The room was cozy and welcoming. The breakfast was outstanding. If you decide to stay at Touch of Ireland, you will have given yourself a gift.


A wee respite in New Haven

4.8 on November 05, 2012

This B & B is quite charming, and its proprietors even more so. It was like going to Grandma's quaint home for a visit. We were so well taken care of! Michael offered us Irish liqueur in the evening, and Jeannine fed us---oh, so well---in the morning. I would highly recommend this wee bit of Ireland in Connecticut.


Apple Waffles and Irish Sausage

5 on September 28, 2012

We were only there for one night but had a wonderful time. The breakfast was amazing (apple waffles and Irish sausage), and Jeannine was a wonderful host. She helped us out with maps and tips, and we felt right at home. Take a walk around the neighborhood while your there. It's lovely.


Lovely Bed and Breakfast

5 on September 12, 2012

We stayed for one night at this bed and breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautifully furnished and very clean, the owners are very friendly and nice, the resident kitty is awesome, and the breakfast was so good! The scones especially were amazingly good! We wish we could stay for longer!


We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return for another visit.

5 on September 10, 2012

Michael and Jeannine were very friendly and made us feel at home. Breakfast was delicious each morning. The location was also very convenient. We would definately return for another visit.


Charming B&B

4.8 on August 27, 2012

Spent 5 nights at the B&B while we helped our daughter move and get settled as she starts grad school at Yale. Jeanine was a great host and resource. Her breakfasts were outstanding and she even invited our daughter to breakfast. Will definitely return.


Stay in Touch of Ireland

4.4 on August 23, 2012

With two weeks on the road and multiple stays in chain hotels, it was relaxing to be in a home, even if for only a short stay. Our hosts, Jeannine and Michael were welcoming and accomodating. They were also knowledgeable about the local area and gave us great dining tips. Most of all, Jeannine is a wonderful cook and we were well fed! I would definitely recommend this B&B.


Best B&B ever!

5 on August 17, 2012

Touch of Ireland Guest House was a total experience of pleasure and satisfaction. The accommodation met our best expectation. The cordiality of Michael & Jeannine was cause for wonderful memories that one has with one's own best friends.. My wife & I now have two new wonderful friends. The cuisine was especially delightful. Second to nothing we've ever experienced. The garden purgula also gave us a splendid retreat for enjoying the pleasant weather along with watching an array of birds literally flocking to the generous feeders which Michael & Jeannine maintain. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay and look forward to returning.


Lovely, clean & quiet

4.8 on August 15, 2012

Our first time staying at a B&B and, because it was such a positive experience, this won't be our last. The bedrooms were clean & fresh with homey amenities such as a ceiling fan (in addition to the window air conditioner) and a sound machine. The bathroom was spotless, the towels were plush, and the basket of toiletries is a thoughtful touch. Jeanine (owner) asked for our input on breakfast which was nice since one of our daughter's can't eat eggs. Breakfast was delicious (apple waffles, Irish sausage, fresh fruit) and plentiful. After being on the road for several days, it was a treat to have a home cooked meal. If we find ourselves in New Haven again, we won't stay anywhere else.


nice

4.6 on August 07, 2012

The owners where so kind with us, and the house is full of decoration detaills, very cozy


Incredible, hospitable, classic B&B

5 on August 05, 2012

Touch of Ireland exemplifies what a family operated B&B should be. Jeannine and Micheal welcome you like family and treat you like royalty. The breakfasts are excellent, notable for the home-made baked good (that can also be found in the living room at any time of day), served in a glass sun room. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have a wonderful, homey feel. This is Irish culture at its best.


A TASTE OF IRELAND ON WHITNEY

4.8 on July 25, 2012

The breakfast room is beautiful down to the last detail. We loved the laced tablecloths.


So Homey

4.2 on July 07, 2012

As travelers that do not often stay at B&Bs we were pleasantly surprised by our experience. The McCann's service was accommodating but not intrusive. The beds were comfortable and the decor was homey yet not overdone. Breakfast was excellent.


A wonderful stay

4.4 on July 03, 2012

Jeannine was a terrific host and our room was quiet, clean and cool (it was very hot outside). Lots of nice touches and the breakfast was excellent.


Lovely place, kind owners!

3.8 on June 05, 2012

Lovely reception, great advice on the area, nicely appointed house. What more can you ask for?


Elisabeth Lewis's review

5 on May 28, 2012

Beautiful gardens,lovely rooms and outstanding breakfasts. I always have enjoyed my stays at "Touch of Ireland Guest House".


Overnight stay May, 2012

5 on May 21, 2012

We can't say enough about our stay. Everything was excellent.


Congenial hospitality in a great location

4.0 on April 23, 2012

Unable to get a reservation at the only commercial hotel I knew about in New Haven I decided to explore bed and breakfasts in the area. Touch of Ireland is just minutes away from Yale Divinity School where I had business for two days. Jeannine McCann is a gracious, knowledgeable hostess who provided a warm welcome and cooked an excellent breakfast. My room was clean, with ready access to a bathroom with shower. As the only guest I found the house quiet and restful and got a good night's sleep in the comfortable bed. I have already recommended this to the staff at Yale Divinity School for their guests.


Awesome !

4.4 on January 20, 2012

thanks for the wonderful time we had in your house. we felt so very welcome :-) loved the cookies and these great waffles for breakfast! next time we´re around we´ll come over again.


very nice and friendly stay by Michael and Jeannine

4.2 on November 22, 2011

we was for one night at the Touch of Ireland. It is a very nice B&B. we are there for visiting Yale University. Jeannine was very helpfully with the tips for New Haven and Yale. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty. We can comment the Touch of Ireland Guest House in New Haven.


Incredible breakfasts

4.6 on October 23, 2011

Four of us stayed at Touch of Ireland for two nights. The location is quite convenient for downtown New Haven, so if you are not afraid of walking or taking the bus, there is no need to move the car (a bonus as the driveway is a bit of a challenge). Jeannine was a wonderful host: The breakfasts were delicious (especially the wild blueberry muffins), there was wine and cheese at the end of the day and recommendations, including for restaurants, were excellent. Would definitely stay here again.


One night at the Tocuh of Ireland

3.8 on October 12, 2011

We had only one night at the B&B, but we enjoyed our short stay. The room was large and decorated lovely, and the host ware really friendly and helpful, and took good care of us. Thank you very much!


Comfortable, homey

4.0 on September 29, 2011

Our hostess, Jeannine was very welcoming, and friendly. The room was very comfortable, clean and pretty. We felt at home.


Lovely with exceptional hosts

4.2 on September 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wonderful breakfast and exceptionally friendly and welcoming hosts. Great location if you are visiting Yale. Plan to stay here again.


our stay in sept.20011

4.0 on September 26, 2011

Warm welcoming. Lovely decorated house and an excellent breakfast with some homemade goodies.


Outstanding!

5 on September 18, 2011

Owners are extremely personable, great cooks, and wonderful hosts. Their home is an idyllic, Irish abode, full of warmth-- and just a short walk from the Yale campus and many other New Haven treasures.


Very pleasant stay

5 on September 15, 2011

Excellent breakfast, extraordinary hosts. Would stay there again! Rooms nicely appointed. Highly recommend.


Review 1

3.6 on September 14, 2011

Felt like being home, no doubt I would repeat the experience when possible.


A Touch of Home

4.8 on August 19, 2011

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, relaxing surroundings, delicious food and accommodating hosts. What more can you ask for?


Catered to our food allergy needs

4.8 on August 17, 2011

My wife and I have very strange and very different food allergies that make breakfast a particularly difficult meal to care for. After booking our room, we received a call almost immediately from Touch of Ireland asking about how they could provide for us. The rooms are cozy, quaint, and altogether delightful. If I had one complaint it would be the constant slight low rumble of street noise when the windows were open, but there is almost no place in New Haven where you can avoid this during the summer. I would definitely go here again and recommend it to my friends.


Very Nice B&B

4.8 on August 12, 2011

Very nice, accommodations with extra touches like a basket of toilitries in the bathroom if needed (e.g. toothbrushes and toothpaste), plenty of shelf and drawer space, comfortable bed, excellent and generous breakfast.


Great service

4.4 on August 10, 2011

Our hosts were very accommodating to our schedule! Touch of Ireland is small but comfortable and very welcoming, in a location that served us very well.


Touch of Ireland Guest House

4.8 on May 26, 2011

We had a delightful stay at the Touch of Ireland Guest House in New Haven. The breakfast is wonderfully delicious, the hospitality extended by Jeannine feels like the kindness of a welcoming family. We would definitely stay there again.


Keep this B&B in your travel journal!

4.4 on May 16, 2011

The best part of an experience being far away from home is to feel like you fit with where you're staying, and when you say good bye, there's actually someone there who cares! Cares enough to take my sleeping daughter to the train station later while I dashed off to catch a plane home. From the cozy comfy twin beds upstairs, lots of blankets and bottled water, wifi treat, to the gourmet breakfasts (oh yes, the cranberry scones), lots of space to park our car, finding where to buy another suitcase in Hamden - well these are all the things that readers love to find out. The intangible and more delightful parts: gracious hosts with great manners with a lot of life and professional wisdom, folks who work hard at making your stay worthwhile. Thanks so much Jeannine and Michael!


My stay at Touch of Ireland

3.8 on May 11, 2011

Touch of Ireland Guest House was the perfect setting for my recent visit to New Haven. The hosts were warm ,welcoming and informative, but not at all overbearing, which is sometimes the case. The location was great, and the breakfast was yummy. My only wish is that the curb connecting Whitney Avenue to the TOI driveway was a little smoother, and this may be a city issue, not something the owners can address Everytime I drove in and out of the driveway in my low-slung Prius, I heard the bottom of the car scrape the curb.


Fantastic stay at Touch of Ireland Guest House

5 on April 24, 2011

I spent an extremely relaxing night at Touch of Ireland Guest House. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom large and clean, breakfast absolutely delicious, and the hosts so gracious and kind. Would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in New Haven.


beautiful house, friendly hosts

4.2 on April 16, 2011

Beautiful house, very friendly hosts. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. If you are visiting the area for a few days. I really suggest coming here. It feels more welcoming than a hotel room. Its relatively close to Yale. I walked from the house to Yale, but it is a 20min-half hour walk.


CALIDEZ Y AMABILIDAD

5 on January 19, 2011

Estuvimos en noviembre una noche.La habitacion era espaciosa ,con baño privado, tal cual habiamos visto en las fotos.La casa es muy bonita,acogedora y muy limpia.Te hacen sentir como si estuvieras en tu propia casa.El desayuno fantastico Jeannine es una cocinera estupenda,aun me acuerdo y se me hace la boca agua,ademas invito a desayunar a un amigo nuestro que estaba hospedado en otro hotel. Solo puedo decir que estuvimos charlando con ella muy amenamente,y que nos ayudo en nuestras dudas. Nuestra estancia fue perfecta y supero nuestras espectativas con su cali dez humana. Un 10. Muchas gracias por habernos echo sentir como si estuvieramos en nuestro hogar.


Great B & B

4.8 on January 03, 2011

Jeannine fixed an amazingly delicious breakfast and the house was so beautifully decorated for the holidays. Wonderful place to stay and socialize.


Great place to stay near the city!

3.8 on December 02, 2010

This guest house is truly beautiful, and reminded me of my grandmother's house. The decor is homey, yet tasteful and the beds are comfy!


Kudos to Jeannine and Michael at Touch of Irish Guest House

4.4 on November 10, 2010

Jeannine was very accommodating and worked with our schedule and plans to meet with our son. We felt very comfortable and welcomed upon arrival. The breakfast was one of the best we've had at a BnB. We will most definitely return.


Great stay, fantastic breakfast!!

4.6 on October 22, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Touch of Ireland! The owner was very flexible with check in time and even met us in the parking lot! Fresh baked goods and coffee/tea was always available. Breakfast was SO good! Overall fantastic value. Would stay at again and would recommend to other couples looking for a quaint place in CT.


Home instead of hotel

5 on October 19, 2010

Instead of the generic conference hotel at the same price, I opted for this B&B. Had wireless internet (without the hotel's extra charge), private bath, perfect mattress, so nothing was missing. Plus I was met with hot tea and a muffin, local info and menus, and had breakfast in candlelight. Fruit, spindrift apple waffle with Irish sausage, and again, no extra hotel restaurant bill. Jeannine was very accommodating. I walked back and forth to the farthest side of campus, about 40 minutes that saved me a visit to the gym, too. Beautiful neighborhood to walk through.


Just the Best

5 on October 05, 2010

We found a wonderful welcome at the "Touch of Ireland". The breakfast was fantastic and the personal touches just made our stay the best we had experienced in New England.


Ron

4.6 on September 18, 2010

Excellent accomodations in terms of amenities avalable, privacy. Breakfast very prompt and excellent.


Friendliest B&B

4.0 on June 25, 2009

Our hosts were extaordinary, and went out of their way to make us comfortable--including inviting us to join the other guests (and a cold beverage) in a congenial gathering in their lovely garden. They are justly proud of their B&B and it shows!


A Touch of Ireland - a comfortable and welcoming stay

3.8 on June 21, 2009

The hosts were congenial and thoughtful and made us feel welcome. The house is charming and full of the character of another time. Jeannine made interesting and tasty breakfasts. Felt very much like a home.


February review

4.0 on February 22, 2009

We had four great days at the Touch of Ireland B&B in New Haven. Conveniently located, well appointed, great breakfasts (and home-baked breads) and gracious service. What could be nicer! A great place to stay when visiting Yale or any other New Haven location.


Wonderful

3.0 on October 15, 2008

Gracious, quiet and accommodating (Jeannine even sewed the button on my husband's jacket), great food. Everything you'd want in a B&B.


In one word: wonderful

4.4 on April 29, 2008

The innkeepers do whatever they can to make your stay most comfortable. I especially appreciated the great breakfast as well as the fireplace in the evening. If you plan to visit New Haven, make sure you can sign in at the Touch of Ireland Guest House!


A true haven in New Haven

5 on February 11, 2007

We stayed last year for our anniversary and we're returning again. There's no words to describe Jeannine's fantastic gourmet breakfasts or her hospitality. Fairly close to the university and whole lot of other things (shopping & dining!) It really is a home away from home experience.

Innkeeper Response
Sharon, Without even a name I could tell you were the person who had posted this review. Thank you for the very glowing review. We look forward to seeing you again in March. Stay well.


Touch of Ireland Guest House

Details

  • Nightly Rate $135 - $199
  • Reviews (54) 4.5
  • Rooms 4

Contact Innkeeper

  • Phone 1-2037877997
  • Fax 1-2037877999
  • Toll free 1-8667877990
Top